Page 1

2013-14

Review & Impact Report


Partnerships In the East of England, we at East Anglian Air Ambulance (EAAA) are a member of a regional pre-hospital critical care network which delivers enhanced emergency medical and trauma care across the region. All 999 calls received by the East of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust (EEAST) are monitored by the critical care desk, staffed by a specially trained dispatcher and highly skilled paramedic. Their role is to identify the most serious or life-threatening incidents and send appropriate resources to help treat severely ill patients. At the scene, these enhanced medical teams work alongside ambulance crews to ensure the best possible pre-hospital care before transferring the patient to hospital.

We are proud to be a member of this network which includes EEAST’s critical care paramedics and other emergency care charities: the Suffolk Accident Rescue Service, Norfolk Accident Rescue Service, Beds and Essex Accident Rescue Service, Essex and Herts Air Ambulance Trust and Magpas Helimedix. Like us at EAAA all the charities in the pre-hospital critical care network rely entirely on voluntary donations to support their work. Working closely with these partner organisations EAAA is sharing best practice and helping deliver the best care for patients in our region.

July 2013 - June 2014 Another successful year Our thanks go to several very important groups of people: our supporters, donors and volunteers who make our work possible and the people who work for EAAA; all these people dedicate time and energy to making sure we provide the best patient care. In this review of the year July 2013 to June 2014 you will see we have again achieved so much including : • Attended 1,730 missions this year, and over 15,000 missions since we began saving lives in 2000 • 8,000 new lottery players • Strong and positive media coverage including Channel 4’s 24 Hours in A&E and feature articles in regional glossy magazines • Increased social media presence broadening our audience base and securing considerable support by way of corporate donations • Alastair Wilson OBE appointed as our Medical Director • Volunteer Brett Houghton attended 10 events flying a scaled replica EC135 remote controlled helicopter, an exact copy of Anglia Two, bringing our missions to life at events • Achieved a full year of mission availability throughout the hours of darkness • All critical care paramedics fully trained in night vision goggles and night operations • Anglia Two crews attended 224 missions in the hours of darkness

We said farewell and thank you to our Chief Executive of three years Tim Page. Tim made a great impact in developing our organisation and we wish him well in his new post. Our two clinical experts, Dr David Zideman and Professor Tim Hodgetts, who both made a huge impact on EAAA also moved on to other work early in the new year. At the very end of the year we said a sad farewell to Steve Whitby who joined us as a volunteer and retired as our Chief Operating Officer. And finally a thank you to our Trustees who give their time and energy freely. This year we said goodbye to David Barker and Ted Witton, both of whom have energetically supported the charity since its formation. And we welcome Penelope Walkinshaw as a new trustee to the board.

Andrew Egerton-Smith, MBE Chairman of Trustees

Patrick Peal, Chief Executive

1


Fundraising highlights Cambridgeshire - Lap of Anglia 2014 - This was the second year of the Lap of Anglia, a 400 mile, four day circuit of our region. There were storms and punctures along the way but everyone finished, raising the grand sum of £7,800. The Lacey Lunch is held every year by the amazing Lacey family of Fulbourn who in May 2014 celebrated 25 years of providing lunch for friends and supporters raising a staggering lifetime total of over £600,000. Bedfordshire - Any Currency Any Age is an initiative started in Bedfordshire in December 2013. The concept was to ask the people of Bedfordshire to donate any foreign currency that was either obsolete or couldn’t be changed at banks or currency bureaus. Working in partnership with Cash 4 Coins, collection points have been distributed throughout Bedfordshire in several supermarkets and more than thirty high street banks within Bedford and the Luton area. This campaign has proved to be a huge success in raising the profile of the Charity and in raising funds. The foreign currency is converted to sterling by Cash 4 Coins and to date we have raised £13,604. Norfolk - Volnteer Jamie Edghill celebrated raising over £150,000 for EAAA in the last 10 years. Jamie is one of our longest serving volunteers and plays an important role in the Norfolk fundraising team. Suffolk - Sandy Sutherland is a dedicated supporter and former patient who held his annual night of music with his band ‘The Martells’ to raise funds for the EAAA. To date Sandy has donated £16,918. In 2015 Sandy is hoping to smash his £20,000 target on Saturday 21 March as he takes to the stage once again! Glyn Collins contacted us in April 2014 with an enquiry about becoming a volunteer photographer at events across Suffolk. Since then, Glyn has wowed everyone with his skillful eye; he is not only one of our most dedicated and called upon volunteers but also gave up a week to be trained to fly with our crew to film them on missions. In his spare time, Glyn runs his own company the Greek Olive Company. 2

Thank you to our amazing donors You raised incredible sums of money for EAAA, over £107,000 was raised through the year by supporters who filled up a coin collection box at home, took a collection amongst their friends or supported us by volunteering for our street and store collections. An incredible £225,000 was raised by individual supporters who did everything from holding a cream tea to climbing Kilimanjaro, jumping out of aeroplanes, shaving their heads and much more. By attending events held by us, and enjoying anything from a ball to a cycle ride, a vintage tea party to a model helicopter air display, our fantastic supporters enabled us to raise over £25,000. Our corporate supporters raised over £40,000 for us with their staff holding fundraising events and even their customers supporting us with donations and gifts. And finally, over 1,200 families chose to support us through a donation in memory of a loved one this year, achieving a magnificent total donation of £224,990.

To all our wonderful supporters who give so tirelessly, we extend a huge thank you. 3


Operations Cambridge Ipswich

Regional distribution

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) visited during February and both bases were under intense scrutiny. It is a reflection of the professionalism of our clinicians and the attention to detail of the Operations team that both inspections were passed with no areas of concern noted. The results are available on the CQC website.

Night Missions 19

19

Norfolk 32%

20 18

17

(Anglia One 426, Anglia Two 128)

Suffolk 16%

(Anglia One 135, Anglia Two 137)

10

(Anglia One 11, Anglia Two 358)

May

Apr

Mar

Feb

6 Jan

5

Dec

Other 25%

6

Nov

(Anglia One 0, Anglia Two 96)

7 Oct

Bedfordshire 6%

10 8

Jun

Cambridgeshire 21%

Sept

Bedford

(Anglia One 40, Anglia Two 399) 4

In May the Norwich crew shift increased from 10 to 12 hours providing vital extra cover during the busy evening drive-time which has proven very effective with 24 incidents being attended between May and June.

Norwich

Aug

Anglia One, the Norwich based aircraft undertook 612 missions whilst Anglia Two attended 1,118. This higher figure is due to the two shifts which cover day and night from 07.00 to 23.59. Within those mission numbers, we treated 1,237 patients with the Anglia One crew seeing 478 people and Anglia Two crew seeing 759.

Peterborough

Jul

Our medical crews attended 1,730 missions, a rise of 20% on the 1,440 missions of the previous year.

During the year we have undertaken some huge projects

Early in 2014, we started work on selecting and introducing a clinical database that will provide accurate patient data and essential statistical information in an easily accessible format. Latterly we worked closely with Essex and Herts Air Ambulance on developing this system which will enable us to share costs and learning. The systems will go live in 2015.

New equipment is always being developed to improve patient chances of survival and recovery and this year we have run trials on several items to test their relevance and usefulness aboard our aircraft. These trials include monitoring systems, an ultrasound device and an automatic CPR machine. A major achievement of the year was the lighting of the Addenbrooke’s helipad. Until now the only hospitals in the East of England with a lit helipad were in Norfolk. The new lighting system is operated by the pilot whilst approaching the helipad and operating hours increased to 21.00 hours. This development will make a significant difference to patients flown in during the shorter days of winter. We continue to be the only air ambulance in East Anglia, and only one of a very few in the country, to fly during the hours of darkness; this year we attended 146 people who were caught in accidents and medical incidents and our night HEMS operations continue in earnest. 5


Theo’s story Five year old Theo’s weekend started normally. On Saturday he was happily running around with his friends at a birthday party. On Saturday night he had a bit of a temperature and a mild cough. On Monday morning he was looking off colour so his Mum, Laura, took Theo to the GP surgery. The doctor gave him steroids and a nebuliser but there was no improvement. As Theo’s breathing was getting worse the doctor called a paramedic who decided to call for the air ambulance.

“At Addenbrooke’s Laura heard the words she had been so desperate to hear ‘I don’t expect Theo to die’.”

They were in Halesworth, an hour away from the Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital by road, and with Theo getting worse they didn’t want to take any chances. The helicopter arrived within minutes and the team aboard assessed Theo and realised that they needed to stabilise him and then get him to hospital as soon as possible. They were concerned that Theo might stop breathing inside the helicopter, and with limited space in the cabin, decided to intubate Theo on the ground before transporting him. Pilot Steve Norris noticed that Laura was finding the whole situation incredibly difficult, and so took her outside to talk through the helicopter procedures and what to expect on the journey to hospital aboard Anglia One. A journey which took Laura 55 minutes the following day by road took just 12 minutes by helicopter, and as soon as they touched down a team of nurses and doctors took Theo for a chest X-ray and then up to intensive care. Theo had pneumonia and so was transferred to Addenbrooke’s Hospital which is equipped for seriously ill children.

“The more I have learnt about the events on the day of my heart attack the more I have realised the debt of thanks I owe the EAAA crew. Without their expertise, tenacity, professionalism, and the vital, split second decisions and interventions that they undertook I would not be here today.”

Greg’s story 2014 hadn’t started well for Greg Lindsay-Smith. He had been diagnosed with throat cancer in January, but as the year went on, the treatment was working and things were looking up.

At Addenbrooke’s Laura heard the words she had been so desperate to hear ‘I don’t expect Theo to die’. He is now back to normal – playing football, fishing in his grandparents’ pond and running around with his friends and siblings. There is still some work to do to find out why Theo contracted pneumonia so quickly and seemingly without any good reason, but thanks to so many people who helped Theo on 23 June he has returned to his normal self.

One August morning he left his flat to go for a walk, and while he was out he collapsed. Unrelated to his cancer diagnosis, Greg’s heart had stopped – he later found out due to a blocked artery. Both a land ambulance and the air ambulance were called, and the crew from the land ambulance were doing CPR on Greg when the EAAA crew Drs Antonio Bellini and Vicky Smith and critical care paramedic Ben Caine arrived. They hooked Greg up to the AutoPulse – a new piece of equipment that performs chest compressions.

Theo and his family visited our base in Norwich to meet the paramedic who helped to save him that day, and the pilot who flew him to hospital in just 12 minutes.

Greg’s heart had stopped for around 40 minutes, and with the AutoPulse nearing the end of its cycle the crew were concerned that Greg wouldn’t survive, but just in time, Greg’s heart started working again.

Since Theo’s accident the team has been trialing a piece of equipment called an i-STAT, which at £3,000 helps the crew to make a diagnosis.

Greg has since met the crew who attended him, and talked about his experience to a meeting of pre-hospital emergency medicine clinicians.

Reflecting on this particular rescue, Dr Vicky Smith said: “What saved Greg that day was the chain of events; a bystander who was competent in CPR, the EEAST paramedic administering CPR on scene, early defibrillation, good CPR with the AutoPulse, and a quick transfer with ongoing care to the hospital.” Greg told us; ‘‘The more I have learnt about the events on the day of my heart attack the more I have realised the debt of thanks I owe the EAAA crew. Without their expertise, tenacity, professionalism, and the vital, split second decisions and interventions that they undertook I would not be here today, nor would I have just celebrated my 50th birthday. On that day I had no idea that I would need them so desperately, these wonderful people saved my life, and everyone who has ever made a donation had a hand in it too. I hope no one reading this will require their services, but I urge you to help them in any way you can. You never know!”

7


Thank you To the organisations which support us as their charity of the year

Barclays Bank BlackRock Bullock Fair Charity Shop Cliff House Holiday Park Cretingham Golf Club Emersons Climate Technologies Retail Solutions Environment Agency Fish & Duck Marina Fraser Dawbarns Freebridge Community Housing. G’s Fresh Gladwins The Grange Country Park Grant Thornton Accountants Hadleigh High School Hammond Autoserv Hugh J Boswell Inkviro JTF, Peterborough

8

Kerry Foods Kings Lynn Corn Exchange Magdalene IT, St Ives Mediterranean Shipping Co (UK) Ltd Michell Instruments Midwich (Diss) The Moon and Sixpence, Waldringfield Orwell Park School, Ipswich Perenco Ridgeons Savills Scotia UK Smurfitt Kappa Suffolk Centre Caravan Club Suffolk Life TUI (Based at Luton Airport) Turners of Soham Ufford Park Hotel Golf and Spa Winch and Blatch of Sudbury

Supporting the East Anglian Air Ambulance lottery is one of the easiest and most sustainable ways to keep us flying and saving lives You can become a lottery player by visiting our website, or calling us (details on back page). Each Friday the winners are randomly selected from all our lottery members. Each ‘chance’ costs just £1, and you can sign up to as many chances as you like each week.

Our supporters are so generous, our income from lottery players has increased by 25% on last year. Thanks to them and the many other people who join our twice yearly raffle, our raffle income has increased by a staggering 27% this year.

More than 8,000 people have joined our lottery this year knowing they are supporting a vital service and also perhaps hoping they might be lucky.

Lottery revenue

£2,986,609 (2013)

+25% £3,740,314 (2014)

Raffle revenue

£150,489 (2013)

+27%

£191,321 (2014) 9


The future We have had such a good year that we feel even more confident of greater improvement in the year to come. We believe that our future looks very bright. Our new EC145T2 is being kitted out to make it the very first air ambulance in the country with this amount of cabin space. Among the many benefits of the EC145T2 is the ability to load patients even more quickly, a ground breaking bridge that fits over the stretcher allowing essential equipment to be carried with the patient, and the introduction of a two pilot operation, will allow our superb clinical teams to focus fully on the needs of our patients. We are planning a campaign to encourage all local hospitals to improve or build new helipads and to make sure that all will be suitable for night time work. By the end of 2015 our ambition is to have two night

capable aircraft, making our night time service more widely available across the six counties covered by the East of England Ambulance service. And whilst the operations team plough ahead with more improvements to systems and equipment, the fundraising team is busy inventing new ways of encouraging local people to support the charity and to keep our helicopters flying. During 20152016 we are planning an exciting project for schools which will highlight the need and value for more awareness of CPR. Later in 2015 we will host our first ever challenge event – called Revolution, it will be a tough challenge for the toughest of people. More information about this and all our exciting events is on our website.

We said a very special thank you to our volunteers in September and we will be using the fabulous Elveden walled garden again this year for a special event to recognise the people who support us and for the many people and families who may have been affected by our service.

On behalf of everyone at EAAA and all our patients and their families – thank you.

Grant making Trusts

Legacies

Trusts and legacies contribute considerably to our income and thus our ability to respond to people in distress. The following trusts are just a few of those that have generously supported us in our endeavours over the past year and we thank them all for their contribution in helping us provide a lifesaving service.

Through your legacy planning we are able to save more lives, in fact this year the gifts that have been left to us have funded about one in four of our missions. It is a topic we don’t like to think about, but not planning your will can make life complicated for your family and friends. If you die without a will, the law decides who gets what, so your will lets you be clear about what happens to your money, property and possessions after your death.

The Leslie Mary Carter Charitable Trust

Your will lets you choose where you can make a powerful difference to peoples lives. It also ensures that your family does not pay more Inheritance Tax than it needs to.

H de L Cazenove Charitable Trust The Gale Family Charity Trust The Hedley Foundation

You can write your will yourself but you should always get legal advice to make sure your wishes are interpreted in the way you want them to be.

Heveningham Hall Country Fair Trust

£1,574,277 £1,450,051

The Lady Hind Trust £1,210,928

The Edith Murphy Foundation The Spurrell Charitable Trust

£758,818

The Swire Charitable Trust The Annie Tranmer Charitable Trust

£484,061

£530,751

Jun 09

Jun 10

Jun 11

Jun 12

Jun 13

Jun 14

These statistics show the annual increase in legacy income that EAAA has received over the past five years. From 2009 to 2013 legacy income has grown by 150%

There are three main types of gifts in wills: • Pecuniary gifts/bequests of a specific amount of money • Specific gifts of possessions or objects, such as jewellery, collectables, or cars • Residuary gifts/bequests of a percentage of the remainder of assets

10

11


Finances The following charts give an overview of the charity’s General Fund income and expenditure in the financial year to 30 June 2014

Lottery & raffle** £2,827k

Donations, grants & collections £1,628k

INCOME

Governance costs £59k Fundraising & administration £1,299k

TOTAL £6,830k

Events £906k

Legacies* £1,088k

Other £381k

* Total legacy income for the year amounted to £1,450k of which 75% (£1,088k) has been credited to the General Fund and 25% (£362k) has been allocated to a Special Projects and Capital Development (Designated) Fund. ** Net of expenses. The above summary has been extracted from the audited accounts for the year ended 30 June 2014. The full annual accounts, the Trustees Report and the audit report can be obtained from the Charity Commission website www.charitycommission.gov.uk or from the Charity’s registered office. 12

Helicopter operational & medical costs £4,863k

EXPENDITURE TOTAL £6,221k

300 volunteers keep us in the air


2015 - 2016: How you can help • Join our lottery • Make a donation • Sign a Gift Aid declaration • Organise a fundraising event • Take part in a sponsored challenge • Volunteer your skills • Remember a loved one • Remember us in your will • Tell others about us

Website: www.eaaa.org.uk | Tel: 08450 669 999 Facebook: East Anglian Air Ambulance Charity | Twitter: @EastAngliAirAmb | Pinterest: East Anglian Air Ambulance | YouTube: eaairambulance Registered Office: East Anglian Air Ambulance, Hangar E, Gambling Close, Norwich, NR6 6EG | Charity No: 1083876

Profile for East Anglian Air Ambulance

EAAA Annual Review 2013-2014  

The Annual Review and Impact Report for EAAA for the financial year 2013-2014.

EAAA Annual Review 2013-2014  

The Annual Review and Impact Report for EAAA for the financial year 2013-2014.

Advertisement