Issuu on Google+

FASHION AFFAIR

the heart of fashion

MAY 2014

our25thissue

i t ’s b l ac k , w h i t e a n d re ad a l l o ve r

Vanity PROJECT The

celebs par tner with charities to create a billboard for good

ORIGINALITY FULFILLED Fashion That Defines YOU


2

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


timeless Photographed by: MELASSI PHOTOGRAPHY Art Direction: M&D Agency Styling: Maya HARAGHI Mua/hair: Eden TONDA Model: BrickaVictoria @ DMA Model Agency

Dress: Emilio Pucci Necklace: Melany Rowe | The Master Peace Ring: Marni Earrings: CĂŠline


Dress: Melany Rowe | The Sylist Heels: Rene’ Caovilla

4

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Body: Arzu Kaprol Skirt: Antonio Berardi Jewelry: Melany Rowe Earrings: Céline Hair Pin: Jason Wu may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  5


Dress: Melany Rowe | Serenity

6

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Dress: Melanie Rowe | So Classy Hair Pin: Jason Wu Jewelry: Melany Rowe may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  7


Dress: Melany Rowe | So Classy Heels: Rene’ Caovilla 8  FASHION AFFAIR | may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  9


Nanine $65.95

10

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


MAJOR LEAGUE

presents

Photographed by Diego Diaz Stylist: Ashley Charbonneau Art Direction: Jimmy Matsuki Model: Angelina Nawojczyk (Hollywood Management Models)

Tana $59.95

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  11


Shaelynn $59.95

12

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Pearl $49.95

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  13


14

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Felecia

$59.95 Barcode Bracelet $22.95

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  15


Rose Gonzales creates hand crafted jewelry and fashion accessories that symbolizes who she is as a design professional. This creative passion started at a very young age and has only continued to grow more inspiring with each design. Rose states that, “What is meant to be, cannot ever leave a person!� Launching, Rose Gonzales, her own brand label, is the result of this intuitive artistic passion. Her fun, energetic, and trendy label showcases her ideas, displays her creativity, and utilizes many of her skills as a designer. Rose has a strong business savvy, a keen eye for style, and an innate understanding of high fashion trends. Her recent collections are being sold in many boutiques worldwide. Her brand, Rose Gonzales, is growing more popular every day. Inspired by the challenge of creating fresh, new designs Rose Gonzales continues to work in her studio on her up and coming collections.

Rose, in her early years, built her career on a platform of design from The Center for Creative Studies and Wayne State University in Michigan. After many successful years in Michigan, to fully embrace her dream as an artist, a move was necessary. Rose now lives in Sarasota, Florida with her husband Roy, whom she has been married to for almost 16 years, and her three amazing children: Raquel 13, Lorenzo 12, and Selena 9. They hold her heart! Her family is a major part of her inspiration and success. Rose finds time to balance work and play as she continues to grow in her true passion of jewelry design. More of her artistic design accomplishments include Trendy Teams, a team spirit company sold in many Universities nationwide, including Canada. w w w. ro s e g o n z a l e s. c o m


Dress and Headpiece by: Imma ClĂŠ (immacle.com)


w w w. ro s e g o n z a l e s. c o m


A-LINE IS A CONTEMPORARY WOMENSWEAR BRAND DISTINGUISHED BY SLEEK, INNOVATIVE TAILORING AND QUALITY, NATURAL FABRICS. THE DESIGN CONCEPT: MERGING RELAXED URBAN STYLE WITH FEMININE ELEGANCE. CREATING COLLECTIONS THAT BEFIT THE LIFESTYLE OF THE WOMAN OF THE NEW MILLENNIUM. Founded in 2013 by Anne-Sophie Kohler, A-line is an evolution of the designer’s previous brand ventures over the past three years. A-line delivers collections comprised of everyday wear essentials featuring unique, modern silhouettes and considered embellishments – comfortable, yet creative style for the carefree city dweller.


“I wanted to break down the boundary between clothing genres, professional to social, night to day, casual to formal. For the modern day woman these elements of life often blend together, a wardrobe should reflect that. We want our customers to look good, feel comfortable and never have to worry whether they are over or under dressed.�


“London is known to be boundary breaking when it comes to fashion, I try to maintain that element of the unexpected in A-Line designs.�


A European sensibility is captured in the A-line aesthetic, with Anne- Sophie taking inspiration from her combined French and German heritage. Casual coquettish chic is complimented by functionally engineered cuts that are structured with a seemingly architectural influence. England, where AnneSophie studied and has set up home and studio, also informs her creative process. “London is known to be boundary breaking when it comes to fashion, I try to maintain that element of the unexpected in A-line designs.” Nestled in the heart of East London’s Shoreditch, the A-line studio is proud of the area’s diverse and cutting edge talent, which it supports where possible by partnering with local photographers, models and creatives. Anne-Sophie also remains true to her brand aesthetic and lineage in the production process, with A-line being proud to manufacture, as well as source all fabrics and trimmings within the EU.

A brand with a fashion conscience, all suppliers adhere to ethical standards as well as EU regulations. Signature A-line items include, deconstructed jackets with a sense of flow to the fit, mid- length sheath dresses flattering to the female form, classically tailored shorts and trousers, as well as tops with innovative cuts and fabrics. Quality fabric of natural fibre is very much a cornerstone of any A-line collection, which would typically be comprised of materials such as woven crepe, silk organza, cotton satin, wool tweed and nappa leather. Subtle prints and contrasting textures are other A-line delineating features. A-LINE IS AVAILABLE THROUGH SELECTED STOCKISTS ACROSS EUROPE AND THE USA, AS WELL AS INTERNATIONALLY THROUGH THE BRAND SITE AND OTHER E-COMMERCE PLATFORMS.


SPRING/SUMMER 2014 COLLECTION For Spring/Summer 2014, Ralph & Russo hail us back to Haute Couture’s heyday - a world in which glamour was rife and reality was forfeited for fantasy.


RALPHandRUSSO.com


E

ach look is a reminder of the glorious 1940s and 1950s: high points in fashion that were so magically captured by the likes of Walde Huth, Henry Clarke, Irving Penn, Willy Maywald and Lillian Bassman. This season’s woman oozes such allure. Soignée and confident, each model could have effortlessly stepped out of an iconic portrait by any of those photographic masters. The power and drama of that era’s black-and-white fashion imagery is reflected in the cinched waists, the graphic silhouettes and the generous volumes of classic ball gowns - in gazar and organza - that epitomise sophistication. These are goddess

gowns that would have sent Ava Gardner’s and Rita Hayworth’s hearts aflutter. But the collection is not just all oomph. Super-femininity also underlies every aspect of this ‘bouquet’.

Structural floral corsages blossom majestically on shoulders, and drapes of georgette swirl organically into crisp roses - some bursting at the hips into cascading trains.

Embellishment has been inspired by the romance of an archetypical French garden - Jardin à la Française. Ornate patterns are intricately hand-embroidered on silk crêpe and Chantilly lace in salmon and rose-pink, with the palette extending to dusty blues, pale greys and shimmery silvers, in light georgettes and tulles.

Working in true couture tradition, Ralph & Russo demonstrate atelier skills that attest to why they were invited to membership of the allprestigious Chambre Syndicale de la Haute Couture, making this duo the first British brand in a century to show on the federation’s official schedule. An exceptional garment boasts as many as 1,600 hours of hand embroidery, 800,000 beads and crystals and 120 hand-made fabric buttons.

Chiffon neckties flutter delicately over razor-sharp tailored suits, and bowbelts fasten petal-like peplums that finely frame 50s-shaped pencil skirts.


RALPHandRUSSO.com


RALPHandRUSSO.com


demonstrates a lesson in the art of flattery: the svelte shapes and timeless appeal that have got this young maison de couture where they are today and enabled them to build such a steadfast and devoted client base. With a finale of voluminous, sweeping gowns in raspberry red, royal-blue and white, Tamara Ralph and Michael Russo are flying the Union Jack for Great Britain, bringing Paris Haute Couture Week to a close with a landmark in fashion history.

39 Sloane Street, SW1X9LP London, United Kingdom


RALPHandRUSSO.com


Carnival

of

CHAOS Photography by Steven Paul Photography | StevenPaul.Photography Model: Nea McLin - MMG - Model Management Group Hair Stylist: Robbie Minjarez | Makeup Artist: Anny Chow Creative: Virginia YuKhan | Assistant: Carlo Smith Ramsay Wardrobe provided by Steven Paul

36

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Step right up, step right up! Welcome to the carnival of chaos; hang on – it’s going to be a wild ride. In the circus of life, our heroine faces her deepest fears. Despite being successful and accomplished, our heroine – like everyone – fears life’s chaos. At the end of the day, no matter how successful and accomplished we are, we cannot control everything in our lives. Trying to do so only leads to exhaustion, stress, anxiety and heartbreak. Fashion photographer Steven Paul’s latest cinematic shoot captures our universal fears of loss and longing, failure and success, and our desire to make real connections. Our heroine, wearing 60s-inspired clothing and vintage accessories, is perfectly coiffed and presented. Against the backdrop of a supermarket or even a busy street, she blends right in to the rhythms of daily life. But here, at the carnival, her fears are on the main stage.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  37


38

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Against the garish electric lights, the arcade games and the wonder wheel of thrills, our heroine takes a moment to reflect on the carnival that is her own life. Model Nea McLin from MMG (Model Management Group USA) perfectly captures the tension of perfection and success with the fear of letting go. Accepting that we cannot control our lives is both liberating and terrifying. As Nea strolls through the carnival, she questions her self and her past decisions, revisiting the choices she’s made that have brought her to this moment. Overwhelmed with emotions, Nea chooses not to break down, but instead to use these emotions to be even stronger than before.

“The carnival was a natural choice for this powerful fashion shoot,” says Paul. “The bright lights, games and rides are the perfect metaphor for the craziness of our lives. How often do we feel that life is simply ‘rigged’ against us? Like a carnival game that we simply cannot win or a Ferris wheel that towers over us, life can seem impossible at times.”

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  39


40

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  41


42

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Paul worked closely with New York based freelance makeup artist Anny Chow to capture Nea’s innocence, vulnerability and – ultimately, her strength. Hair stylist Robbie Minjarez created Nea’s iconic upset 60’s hair, balancing the look’s prim and proper tradition with playfulness. Stylist and Art Director Vicky Yukhan partnered with Paul to help complete Nea’s look, selecting the Mad Men-inspired clothing and vintage accessories.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  43


StevenPaul.Photography

44

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


But rather than fighting the carnival of chaos, our heroine Nea is determined to not only make it out alive, but to make it out stronger and better than before. She came here on a mission: to confront and embrace her fears.

“There’s a beautiful, ironic contrast between accessories like her delicate gloves and pearls and the carnival’s garish lights – we wanted to highlight that,” said Paul. “While Nea is very mature and has been hardened by many of life’s challenges, she still has a playful, loving side, a true innocence about her,” continued Paul. “At the same time, she’s not naïve. She knows that part of being strong is not burying all her negative experiences but embracing these powerful emotions. Rather than being guided by a fear of failure or loss, she understands these potential outcomes exist, but so do success, connection and happiness.” Life is a crazy game, and Nea’s playing to win. may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  45


Group Think of Fashion TV “Groupthink” is a psychological phenomenon that occurs within a group of people, in which the desire for harmony or conformity in the group results in an irrational or dysfunctional decision-making outcome. b y

D a w n n

K a r e n

When explaining “Group Think of Fashion TV” one needs to consider three factors:

“Scandal” (scripted TV series) are among the most popular and highly rated.

conditions under which a group is formed.

This psychological group phenomenon can be seen in every television series:

that unites a particular group; and

Keeping up with the Kardashians

1. Group Formation - The

2. Group Dynamics- The factors 3. Group Cohesion- The loyalty

of each person to the group; the amount of conflict that occurs within the group; the (presence) existence of an in-group and an out group. These all influence fashion in some way. Additionally, other criteria must be taken into account such as: the conditions under which a group is formed; the factors that unite a particular group; the loyalty of each person to the group; the amount of conflict that occurs within the group; and the presence of an in-group and an out-group all influence fashion in some way. There is a miscellany of reality TV and scripted TV series all showcasing a study of one or more of the mentioned phenomena with families distinctively displaying their personalities through their sense of fashion. “Keeping up with the Kardashians,” “Braxton Family Values” (reality TV series), and “Real Housewives of Miami” and

“Group Dynamics” of siblings should be taken into consideration. Kardashian- Jenner clan’s fashion distinctly display each person’s personality.

Braxton Family Values

“Group Dynamics” of siblings should be taken into consideration. Siblings (of Singer Toni Braxton) fashion also distinctly display each personality. Tamar Braxton is “the baby” character with an over-the-top personality. This is indicated in her fashion. She wears high-end labels and is not afraid to tell us. Traci Braxton is “the wannabe” character with a smaller personality. This is indicated in her fashion as well. She displays her personality through fashion and is seemingly trying to find herself amongst her sisters. In the initial shows her confidence is low around her sisters and this is displayed subtly through her fashion. However, in the newer episodes Traci is taking risks in her fashion appearing much more confident.


Real Housewives of Miami

“Group Cohesiveness” of this cast should be taken into consideration. This particular casts’ fashion appears to have a “Group Cohesiveness” centered on blonde hair.

Scandal

“Group Formation” should be considered here. The main character, Olivia Pope, has saved her entire group. She is portrayed as super woman. Played by actress Kerry Washington, Olivia frequently dons businessconservative attire during work, but elegantly dons classic gowns during events. Her color scheme seems to stay in the neutral color family. Huck is the deranged calculated silent killer. His clothes are oftentimes grungy. Each character distinctly displays their personality via fashion as well. Dawnn Karen is the founder of the Fashion Psychology field from Columbia University. She linkedin.com/in/dawnnkaren | Cell: 646-504-1730 is based in NYC servicing twitter.com/FashPsycSucc clients worldwide.

instagram.com/FashPsycSucc FashionPsychologySuccess.com

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  47


ORIGINALITY FULFILLED By Sam Russell | wardrobedept.com

“If we cannot be ourselves, there is no need for a mirror.” - Anonymous

48

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  49


A

pricot Collection will not be your partner in misfortune. Quite the opposite actually. Founded in 2012 by Michelle Herscu; Apricot Collection is that dream poured into reality. If you ever struggled to find clothing options that accentuated your natural body type features, you may be quick to relate. Michelle wanted to find styles that looked good on her (and not just on the model from the ad). Having a child meant that her look was about to start a new chapter. It’s notably true that brilliant inspirations often come from daily frustrations. This is good news for you. The hard work and research has already been done. Click on “Deals” and get the latest scoop on the best fashions on sale. Follow the fun Apricot Collection “Blog” and get exciting wardrobe options, just in time for those of you that have run out of creative ways of pulling it together. Save those creative juices for all the Mommy time that is needed of you. Apricot is your personal stylist now, minus the hefty Hollywood bill of course! Peruse the Apricot Collection web-site and let the obvious sink in. Your friends at Fashion Affair would never steer you wrong.

50

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


APRICOT-COLLECTION.COM

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  51


I

t’s that time of month again where we bait you. We don’t mean to be bossy, but either dress like a leader or work for someone else that does. What better way could the easy-on-the-eyes Beltran brothers keep out of trouble and juggle a busy dating schedule? Launch an über cool watch company; any excuse to have the ladies touch your arm. When you are done staring at them, check out the Original Grain signature wooden and stainless steel watch designs---definitely next in line to win you over. Water resistant case, these 100% all natural wood designs integrate the Japanese Miyota Quartz movement. Crazy affordable, high in quality and masculine in design. Looking for sweet inspiration this Father’s Day? Perhaps we could meet on purpose next time. *Find out how to be a Campus Rep!


OriginalGrain.com may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  53


54

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


OriginalGrain.com

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  55


F

illet us open to see that we are full of Fashion Affair finds. Everything is seasoned just right on our pages this month. Travelers from all over the world are captivated by the patterns and forms of the cityscape in Morocco. This exotic cross section where the stylistic influences of Africa, Andalusia, and the Mediterranean have converged for centuries creating a timeless aesthetic and a standard of beauty appreciated worldwide. This is a land of old school artisans and weavers whose fabrics evoke a mastery of intricacy, symmetry, and detail. This is the inspiration for Bou Jeloud The best adventures await those who are willing to take that road less traveled. Wearing Bon Jeloud gives the impression of a well-heeled traveler with a heavily stamped passport. We know deep down your tougher than a two dollar steak, but do dress on the outside like you want a gentleman to open the door for you.

56

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014

boujeloudusa.com


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  57


ISAACMIZRAHI.COM


I

saac Does it Again! It’s weak in the knees kind of news. The Isaac Mizrahi 2014 accessories collection is out! You’ve heard of Isaac; he has been a leader, (not follower) in the fashion game for almost 3 decades. Since his debut collection in 1987, his designs have come to stand for timeless, cosmopolitan style. His snappy one liners, (both on and off screen) and severely focused passion for fashion has brought such fashion wisdom and joy into our lives. It’s refreshing to find that quick witted thinking in all of his details. The secret has been out for some time now, New Yorkers cannot have Isaac just to themselves anymore. I am sure someone in the South is starting a hollering contest over his perfectly sized Satchels, Clutches, Bucket Bags, and Hobo’s. Classically unique and exciting to the palette.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  59


A

happy life comes with busy feet. If you have paid your dues and scoured the shopping options to find affordable, eclectic, and comfortable options, then your tireless hunt has finally paid off. The vibrant prints and soft, flowing fabrics of Sienna Rose contemporary women’s apparel embrace the free spirit and easy style of Southern California. The original Mushka by Sienna Rose, Inc. collection translates high fashion trends into figureflattering, functional fashion including bohemian-inspired dresses, tunics, knit tops and skirts in artistic prints, notable for their stunning colors. These versatile pieces effortlessly transition from the workplace to a relaxed day at the beach, from a casual luncheon to an evening soiree. Something fearless in the eyes of a Sienna Rose woman. It’s no small task transitioning from a long work day to happy hour with the cool peeps in your life. Sienna Rose is that pizazz in a room full of beige ideas.

60

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


SIENNAROSE.COM

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  61


HOUSE OF iKONS The Global Launch

The House of iKons, Lady K’s newest business endeavor, is already generating buzz throughout the international fashion media after its successful September 2013 London Fashion Week rebranding debut. The ethos behind House of iKons is to bring the world of fashion under one roof, to be a place for fashion innovators to come and exhibit from around the world. House of iKons joins Lady K’s other endeavors of Lady K Media and Lady K Event Management.

Yen, a designer based out of Abu Dhabi, UAE is one of the main official royal designers and exhibited at House of iKons London Fashion Week debut has been busy ever since. As the first designer from Abu Dhabi to exhibit on international shores with the Lady K team for his first international show ever, his is also a success story of what the Lady K brand can accomplish for designers: his LFW September 2013 collection was picked up by LA and Metropolitan Fashion Week as the Grand Finale! Yen stated, “To be invited to LFW under the Lady K banner of House of iKons is a great honor. I have received a lot of international exposure since the show last year. Paris Hilton also showed great interest in my collection and has a few pieces from me which she wore in her new music video. I was also contacted to send a few pieces during the Oscars. I have complete confidence in this show coming up September 2014.” Preparations are already underway for the 2014 London Fashion Week scheduled to take place September 13th at the gorgeous Hilton London Paddington Hotel. The faces for the London Fashion Week event will be Harriadnie Beau Phipps, international super model, who will be the official spokeswoman, and Paula Souza, international model.

62

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Designers from around the world who will be exhibiting at this event will be coming in from places such as Dubai, LA, Paris, Egypt, Oman, Abu Dhabi, and India. Some of the names of the designers who will be featured have been released. These names include: Yen, Rocky Gathercole, Albert Martincich, Sherin Mansoor, Ashley Lloyd International, Leyla Rose, Johnny Bagadiong, Fashionsistas, Boy Penda, Micheal Conde, Boastie, Marmar Abdel, and Daveygurlee just to name a few! All have been busy creating collections never seen before. Taking America by storm with clients such as Britney Spears and Katy Perry, Rocky Gathercole is also eagerly anticipating the House of iKons LFW event. “It will be great to get my collection to the London market.” When asked what it was like to work with such big names such as Britney and Katy, Gathercole replied, “Katy Perry is such a sweetheart, such a sweet personality. While working on her Dark Horse video, she showed no star complex. Britney Spears was a very shy person, but also very sweet and down to earth.” Also exhibiting under the Lady K banner is the Boy Penda label, who stated that “the show last year was phenomenal and I’m looking forward to exhibiting again this September 2014. The founder and owner of House of iKons, Lady K, knows how to drive new and up and coming designers which I have not seen before with any other fashion show. Since then, I’m doing really well. I was approached by two major buyers at the LFW show last year. I’m now designing under Louis Vuitton also. I know this year’s show will be bigger than the last.” And it’s not just London the House of iKons will grace in 2014. With the great international PR team of Showline Media, Lady K Enterprises will officially launch the “House of iKons Fashion Week” in Dubai, in UAE in November 2014! Lady K stated, “The launch in November of 2014 is a celebration over two days to give the world a taster of what to expect for the official calendar House of iKons Fashion Week May of 2015. I have been informed by my amazing PR team, Showline Media, that there will be some very, very high profiled dignitaries at the event whose names we will be releasing closer to the time.” cont...

Model | Harriadnie Beau Phipps Photographed by Marina Dean Francais

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  63


64

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014

Spring/Summer 2014 SKY Collection Photographer David Kerr


When asked why a Fashion Week in Dubai, Lady K replied, “Dubai is becoming a major player in the fashion industry with amazing undiscovered talent throughout the UAE. But also want to bring in international talent from outside the UAE. The aim is make the Fashion Week one of the top five in the world in the next 3 to 5 years. I want Dubai to become known as the top international place for fashion. I want the House of iKons to be the international platform for all designers around the world and give them the exposure they truly deserve whether it be to the media, press, buyers, music, or film industries. There are some beautiful uncut diamonds out there and I want them all to shine bright!” In such a short span of time, Lady K is now reaching international shores, searching for undiscovered designers with raw talent, driven to give these brilliant individuals a platform to showcase and achieve international exposure. “I want to showcase the next generation of ‘iKonic Designers’.” HouseOfIkons.com ladykmedia.com

CEO of Lady Enterprises and Owner/Founder of House of iKons Lady K photographed by Muzna Butt Photography.

“I want to showcase the next generation of ‘iKonic Designers’.”

MARMAR HALIM may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  65


FASHIONISTAS Photographer Rene Connage-Durant

ROCKY GATHERCOLE

66

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


YEN DESIGNS Photographer Romir Aranas

“Katy Perry is such a sweetheart, such a sweet personality. While working on her Dark Horse video, she showed no star complex.” -Rocky Gathercole

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  67


68

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


 THE FIRST ONLINE RETAILER AND MANUFACTURER FOR EMERGING DESIGNERS CELEBRATES ITS INTERNATIONAL LAUNCH Established in Paris in October 2011, MonDéfilé.com (meaning ‘My Fashion Catwalk’ in English) is an online store with an original fashion concept. This innovative website encourages avid fashion followers and consumers to engage with emerging fashion designers. The site offers interactive participation between the creator and the consumer; the members of the public are asked to vote for their favourite designer, whose collection will be produced and sold on the website. WHAT IS MonDéfilé.com?

MonDéfilé.com is the first online retailer and manufacturer for emerging fashion designers. This cutting-­‐edge Parisian start-­‐up aims to promote young designers by offering them the opportunity to have their collection produced in the MonDéfilé.com workshops and publicised on the international website. Each month, MonDéfilé.com selects a handful of promising fashion designers who create an exclusive garment, accessory, or piece of jewellery, inspired by some of the season’s most popular trends. These selected designs are then put to the public vote, as the consumers choose their favourite designer to be put forward for a permanent place in MonDéfilé.com’s community. All collections of ready-­‐to-­‐wear, jewellery, bags, and accessories created in exclusive collaboration with talented fashion designers are produced on-­‐demand in MonDéfilé.com workshops and delivered worldwide to customers within 15 days. MonDéfilé.com ultimately provides the fashion-­‐savvy consumer with the opportunity to buy exclusive designer clothing at affordable prices, while providing production resources and exposure to undiscovered fashion talents.

AN AWARD-­WINNING ENTERPRISE

MonDéfile.com was launched in October 2011, attracting more than 15,000 subscribers in France alone within just two years. There are also now over 100 referenced designers and a catalogue of more than 1,500 exclusively-­‐ designed garments and accessories available to purchase directly from the site. MonDéfilé.com stands apart from its competitors due to the unrivalled support that the designers receive from the company. The team reviews every proposal and sketch, helping designers through each stage of the collection process from inception to manufacturing. For every single item that becomes available on MonDéfilé.com, the company takes full charge of the production, monitoring, and the quality control of the pieces.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  69


ABOUT THE MonDéfilé.com TEAM

Jeanne Coëffé, Founder: She graduated from HEC Paris Business School in 2006, and worked for 4 years in Paris, London and Beijing. She initiated the project’s original idea. Sarah Fénérol, Co-­founder & Creative Director: She graduated from IFM Paris (Institute of Fashion and Management), and has been immersed in the creative world since her young years. At MonDéfilé.com, she selects, approves, and helps the designers to achieve their collections.

Thomas Meron, Co-­ founder & Production Director: He graduated from HEC Paris business school in 2005. He is the one taking care of the choice of high quality fabrics, and oversees the production of all garments made in MonDéfilé workshops. If you’d like more information about MonDéfilé. com or to schedule an interview with Jeanne Coëffé, please e-­‐mail Abbie (International Press and Communications) at a.sanders@mondefile. com.

Martine Leherpeur (founder of the eponymous fashion consultancy firm in Paris), has been tracking the progress of MonDéfilé.com since the project’s inception: “This project is a breath of fresh air and an innovative way to see the fashion world. It is a great opportunity for young talented designers who are trying to make a name for themselves”. In two years alone, MonDéfilé.com has received substantial recognition from fashion and e-­‐commerce professionals: - Winner of the Paris City Hall « Coup de Cœur » Innovation Prize 2013 - Winner of the Paris Chamber of Commerce and Industry “E-­‐commerce Prize 2012” - Finalist of the Paris “Great Innovation Prize 2012” - Laureate of the Paris Entrepreneurship Network since October 2012 - Nelly Rodi, an internationally-­‐renowned trends consultancy firm, has been mentoring the MonDéfilé.com team since December 2012.

70

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


“This project is a breath of fresh air and an innovative way to see the fashion world. It is a great opportunity for young talented designers who are trying to make a name for themselves�. -Martine Leherpeur

(founder of the eponymous fashion consultancy firm in Paris)


Shamekh Al-Bluwi Architect - Visual Artist - Fashion Illustrator Instagram: @shamekhbluwi | Facebook.com/shamekhbluwi

72

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


74

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


RTW Fall 2014 Collection Marchesa

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  75


RTW Fall 2014 Collection Givenchy


RTW Fall 2014 Collection Jean Paul Gaultier


Shamekh Al-Bluwi Architect - Visual Artist - Fashion Illustrator Instagram: @shamekhbluwi | Facebook.com/shamekhbluwi

78

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


RTW Fall 2014 Collection Alexander McQueen

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  79


circus circus

THEs pSHOW MUST GO ON ring/summer 2014 collection Photographed by | Will Dy Designer | Nelson Buhain Makeup and Hair | Ivy Peralta and Kerwin Solo Model | Julia White

80

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


82

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  83


84

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


86

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  87


yourself EXPRESS ON THE COVER:

Model | Kirstie Melnyk HMUA: Renee Rampersad | Makeup by Renee Photographer | Donna Lewis - Donna Lynn Photography Wardrobe/Styling provided by | Amanda Diaz


Donna Lynn Photography | donnalynnphotography.ca


Donna Lynn Photography | donnalynnphotography.ca


94

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Mismash is designed for the natural, feminine and powerful woman of today. She is a true fashion lover and is always in tune with the trends.

In our collections you will find a mixture original and elegant patterns, focused on details, that define the feminine silhouette and specially suits women’s neck and chest, while it stands for a philosophy that encourages She has a natural, smooth way of moving and women to value small things of life. delicate gestures. Her secret is her simplicity. Mismash successfully presented its first Her natural way of moving, her delicate collection during the Who’s Next tradeshow gestures and her feminine essence make her in Paris 2012. Now we proudly present our irresistible. Her secret is her simplicity. fourth collection, which has received a great Our collections are about the things that make response. her different from the rest; the small details. Today, the collection can be found at many The way she curls her hair, how she caresses showrooms and the major tradeshows all the sand… all these details she loves and around the world, also in Canada or the USA. values in life. The originality of its designs with its romantic and vintage touch, the quality of the materials, Mismash means mixture, miscellaneous. the handmade details, our affordable prices An original, yet contrasting, combination of and the “know how” behind the Smash Group, elements. This is exactly what our brand and are the key ingredients of this new brand from its garments are about in every collection: Barcelona. the mixture of quality materials using delicate applications such as patchwork, laces, beats and tulle. may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  95


96

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  97


Shirt: Paul Smith Jacket: Canali Dress: Jamilah knight Pant: Urban outfitters 98  FASHION AFFAIR | may2014


sheTHEMAN

Cedeno--Photographer | Cedeno cedenophotography.com Fashion Stylist | Allan Virgo Makeup/Hair | Karla Hirkaler Model (Major Model Management) | Taylor Burns

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  99


Shirts: Woolrich Tie: Paul Smith Pant: Cooperative Shoes:Prada

100

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Shirt: Uniqlo Dress: Allan Virgo Pant: Imadeline Boots: Breckelles

Top, pant: Allan virgo Shirt: Canali Shoes:Hawkings Mc Gill may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  101


Jacket: Theory Shirt: Folk Tie: Boglioli Skirt: Jamilah Knight Shoes: Dr Martens

102

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Jacket: Anjiques Blouse: Coincidence & Chance Shirt: Carhartt Skirt: Allan Virgo Boots: Marsell

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  103


Shirt: Allan Virgo Skirt: Pins and Needles Pant: J Brand Shoes: Prada


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  105


Shirt: Equipment Top/Skirt: Allan Virgo Pant: Theory Shoes: Fiorentini & Baker 106  FASHION AFFAIR | may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  107


inner

and beauty FASHION with Alicia R. Camlibel, Ph.D., LPC, Psychotherapist

Honoring Thy Mother

Holidays are loaded with emotions. Although they are supposed to be happy and joyous, for many they are riddled with sadness and stress. There is a “holiday” that Americans will be celebrating this May that for many is not one that is happy and joyous. The holiday is Mother’s Day. Beginning in April, Americans are bombarded by retail companies to send our mothers gifts, take them to brunch, buy them jewelry, and send them flowers all in an attempt to celebrate our mothers. 108

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


I have to admit that although I love my children, love being a mother, love being a wife, and love spending the day together, since I lost my own mother almost 12 years ago to cancer, Mother’s Day makes me sad as it is a reminder my mother is not here to celebrate with us. It is a reminder that my children don’t know her personally. There are many motherless mothers in this world and unfortunately it is a part of life. There are millions out there for whom Mother’s Day is not a happy one and there are numerous reasons why such as: a woman struggling with infertility, the mother who lost a child, the man who had a dysfunctional mother, the woman whose mother abandoned her as a baby, the person whose mother is dying. Just as all holidays bring up emotional baggage, there is something about being a mother, wanting to be a mother, not having a mother, outliving your children, that is especially emotional and especially sad. Therapy is said to be a corrective process. Through acknowledging struggles, processing them, and learning new ways to cope and understand ourselves, others, and our behaviors, a person in therapy learns new ways to move forward. For those who struggle with this day, it is okay to acknowledge these feelings and to honor yourself and where you are at in this journey of life when you are ready begin to find meaningful ways for you to honor yourself and the mother you are grieving. I know for myself, celebrating my children and husband who have made me a mother is one way that I honor my own mom. Other examples are: for those who don’t have a good relationship with their own moms there are a few things to remember; your mother has taught you something even if it’s how you don’t want to be in this world. If you have/ had a dysfunctional relationship with your mom, learning from her mistakes is a lesson you have taken from that relationship.

inner fashion & beauty

For many of us, and for many reasons, Mother’s Day is a day of melancholy and for some, even sadness.

For others, having female figures in their lives who have acted as a maternal figure, is a way to honor and celebrate mothers and vice versa for those who do not have children or wish to have children there are people in your life who you have acted maternal towards and that should be celebrated. You do not have to give birth to be a mother. For some it is visiting a grave site, baking a special dish that reminds you of your mother, and for others it can be lighting a candle in memory. It is not easy and I unfortunately don’t have all of the answers. But by honoring the important woman in our lives and celebrating ourselves as women, we are taking a step towards healing. So, I am hoping you will honor yourself and honor the mothers in your life in a way you see fit and is tolerable and comfortable for you this Mother’s Day. I dedicate this month’s column in honor and memory of my own mother, Kathleen Camlibel, who I know would want me to celebrate life, celebrate and appreciate my family, and who I know is looking down upon us smiling. Until next month...

Alicia Camlibel | aliciacamlibelphd.com facebook.com/AliciaRCamlibelPhdLPC


Spring/Summer 2014 Collection

jumina.no

Photographed by Wanda Kujacz   FASHION AFFAIR | may2014

110


Clothes and accessories in natural materials and organic cotton. Beautiful handmade clothes with a mystical look of Norwegian fairytails.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  111


112

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


jumina.no

Photographed by Sam I Am Photography

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  113


114

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


jumina.no

Photographed by Sam I Am Photography

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  115


WORK OF

HEART by Jeni Tetamore

116

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Brodrick m a t t

&

a n d r e w

Matt and Andrew Brodrick, the brothers and brains behind the hip new men’s clothier “Freenote,” desired more than for themselves and their future customers than jeans and jackets that would fall apart after the first washing, but would rather, like fine wine, only get better with age. Their designs exude the timeless quality and effortless style of the American West and James Dean all wrapped in a package committed to fine workmanship mostly done right in the United States. Their dedication to quality and equality make them a force to be reckoned with.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  117


q&a

FAM: What is it like working with your brother? It’s been really fun so far – even though we’re close and get along really well, we are two very different people. It’s great though – we each bring different strengths and experiences to the table and end up complementing each other well when it comes to the business-side of things. FAM: What individual strengths and talents do you each bring to the business? At the company that we both worked at previously for ten years, Matt started off on the finance side of the company where he eventually held the Director of Finance title, before transitioning into design and production, as the Director of Accessories and Apparel. Andrew worked in sales and operations – his title prior to leaving the company was Director of North American Sales. FAM: Why did you choose to design specifically men’s jeans and clothes? The company we worked at before this was aimed towards a younger demographic. After being there for more than ten years, we’d outgrown the industry and wanted to make something that we could be proud of and would actually wear ourselves – something with better construction, fit, and quality. FAM: What makes your clothing so unique?

118

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Because our product is all manufactured domestically, we feel like we’re doing our part to help support the US economy, but we also are able to maintain much better creative control from original design to final product. We are able to actually go to our production houses and change up stitching, detailing or whatever it might be on a moment’s notice if it’s not coming out just right. We also have an in-house patternmaker, who is absolutely amazing – he’s actually an architect by trade and then parlayed his drafting skill set into a career in technical design. He has a very impressive and well-rounded background, having created patterns for everyone in the industry, including: Disney’s costume department, denim for a skateboard company, and custom suits for high-profile celebrities. FAM: While you have more than a decade of experience in the business, what have you learned since opening your own company? Knowing how you deal with your obstacles is everything – anyone in the world can have a good idea, but in order to execute that idea, you have to move through obstacles. You have to learn new ways to adapt, to be fluid and flexible, and that you can’t always stick with your original plan, or you won’t succeed. FAM: Where do you find inspiration for your designs? We looked to the explorers of the west, cowboys and railroad workers for their simplicity and grittiness – the utility and durability of their workwear is the foundation of the collection. We also looked at infamous pioneers and rebels, those on the frontier of the Wild West, bootleggers,

and rock and rollers. Finally, we looked to the distinguished vibe of that traditional “Southern Hospitality” for some refinement. The result is a mix of modern and well-fitting, updated basics that exude effortless style, all inspired by authentic American culture and its timeless icons. FAM: What do you hope your customers gain by wearing your clothes? Appreciation for a well-made product, the realization of the value of quality over quantity, and to continually discover details as they wear the garment. Each of our pieces is built-to-last, features a classic design, and is meant to be a staple in one’s wardrobe that actually gets better with time, similar to your favorite pair of broken-in leather boots. FAM: Where do you hope to go next with your business? Your designs? Our launch collection, Autumn/Winter 2014, is set to ship to retailers September 2014. Prior to that, we will offer a small capsule collection in several select retailers, beginning June 2014. We had a great reaction from retailers and the general public throughout this past tradeshow season -- we hope that we can continue this momentum with sell-through in the fall and success for our retailers.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  119


f r e e n o t e c l o t h . c o m

120

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


f r e e n o t e c l o t h . c o m

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  121


freenotecloth.com 122

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


A

ndrew Brodrick, co-founder of Freenote, adds, “We place utmost importance on the quality and craftsmanship of our product, but also on those who help to create it. By housing all manufacturing domestically we ensure product is made responsi- bly. At the same time, we maintain complete creative control from original design to final product.”

Brothers Matt and Andrew Brodrick founded Freenote in 2013. Combined they have 20 years of experience in the gar- ment industry and their experience ranges from design and production, to sales, operations and finance.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  123


124

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Freenote is a classic menswear apparel brand that is committed to providing a high-quality and effortlessly stylish collection to its consumers. By combining premium materials sourced from the United States and Japan with impeccable craftsmanship throughout its production based solely in the US, the company ultimately offers a durable set of staples that will outlast trends. Freenote was launched in 2013 by brothers Matthew and Andrew Brodrick and is headquartered in San Juan Ca- pistrano, California.

Freenote is made in the USA and is inspired by authentic American culture and its timeless icons.

freenotecloth.com A Classic Menswear Collection Manufactured Exclusively in the United States

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  125


freenotecloth.com A Classic Menswear Collection Manufactured Exclusively in the United States

126

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


“Our line was inspired primarily by timeless American icons. The foundation of the collection is based on the durability and simplicity found in early work wear. Pioneers, rebels, the Wild West, the first rock and rollers, traditional “Southern Hospitality” culture, rail road workers and cowboys, all inspire the distinguishing design elements that recur throughout the line,” “The result is a set of classic, high-quality staples that will outlast trends.” -Matt Brodrick co-founder of Freenote


blackwhite &

SARTORIAL ELEGANCE 128

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Photography: Iris Huber --> http://www.ansichtsweise.de/ Dresses/Designer: Aviatrix Prêt-à-Porter de Luxe ---> http://www.aviatrix.de/index.php Fur/Leather Bracelet: Sammler Berlin | www.sammler-berlin.com Model: Rabia Maddah (Agency Donna Models Hamburg) http://www.donnamodels.de/women/commercial/0732 Hair-and MakeUp by: Lisa Évoluer https://www.facebook.com/Art.Of.LisaEvoluer


gray..

shades of

Gray is unemotional, detached, impartial. It is the color of compromise, being the mix between two other non-colors. While is it quiet, subdued, it also offers a sense of calm and relief from the madness found in the world. The closer the gray comes to black, the more dramatic it becomes while the closer it edges toward white, the more it illuminates. Gray symbolizes sorrow, security, and maturity while also being the color of intellect, knowledge, and wisdom. Put some gray in your life when you want to: • Emphasize your willingness to comply • A neutral, non-invasive feeling • To reduce the intense energy of another color • To feel detached or isolated

It can have a cooling effect on vibrant colors, making them stand out while muting their vibrancy. Wearing gray often suggests efficiency, but can suggest a lack of imagination, so it should be worn wisely. Adding color to gray will help express efficiency and personality.

130

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


QUOTES “Better gray than garishness.”

— Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres

“If I see everything in gray, and in gray all the colors which I experience and which I would like to reproduce, then why should I use any other color? I’ve tried doing so, for it was never my intention to paint only with gray. But in the course of my work I have eliminated one color after another, and what has remained is gray, gray, gray!”

— Alberto Giacomettii

“The man who can see all gray, and red, and purples in a peach, will paint the peach rightly round, and rightly altogether. But the man who has only studied its roundness may not see its purples and grays, and if he does not will never get it to look like a peach; so that great power over color is always a sign of large general art-intellect.” “The fundamental gray which differentiates the masters, expresses them and is the soul of all colour.” — Odilon Redon

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  131


Black Diamond Bow Ring $4,300.00

THE BLACK DIAM ND 18kt oxidized white gold - black Pave Diamonds (1.39ct) mimiso.com

The black diamonds, also called ‘carbonados’, are only found in Brazil and the Central African Republic. They are the hardest and oldest diamonds that exist, dating back to between 2.6 and 3.8 billion years old, their porous nature making it necessary to be created in an environment where the gases were easily trapped in the rock. Additionally, black diamonds are generally very small. Larger diamonds are made up of smaller diamonds that have all fused together. Some scientists even theorize that black diamonds did not originate on the planet at all, but rather were formed in outer space due to the type of hydrogen found within the diamonds themselves! LORE: • Indian Culture – associated with stone with snake and spider eyes and with Yamam, the Hindu god of death. The belief was that coming across the stone was a sign of impending death • Italian Culture – the stone was beneficial and called “the stone of reconciliation”. A marriage in trouble could be saved if husband and wife both touched the stone. • Persian mythology sees diamonds and other gems as the source of much crime and suffering • Malaysians beliefs stated that if a diamond had the gray or black inclusion, it represented the diamond’s soul, and if it were removed from the mine the mine would “die”. • They grant us the courage to look within without illusion


Black Diamond Claw Ring $22,500

-18k yellow gold and black rhodium with 4.64cts atelierminyon.com

“I never worry about diets. The only carrots that Black Diamond interest me are the Black Diamond Earrings number you get in Necklace $989.99 a diamond. ” 3.50 carats of Brilliant Round black $1,875.00 diamonds setting in a 10K black gold

MEDIUM BLACK DIAMOND NECKLACE WITH GREY TANGLED PEARLS tombinnsdesign.com

– Mae West

rhodium plating stud style treasuresjewelry.com

The Black Star of Africa is perhaps the largest and most valuable black diamond found to date weighing in at 202 carats and valued at $1.2 million dollars, although it is said that the Black Diamond of Bahia is 350 carats. However, that diamond is so hard that it is unable to be polished so remains in its natural state. may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  133


black&white onEtsy... Images courtesy of designers on Etsy.com

irisdesign1 Black/White Chandelier Earrings $65.00

manictrout

Zebra Necklace $105.00

VivaBoutique

One-Piece Black/ White/Pink Swimsuit $65.00

MStreetStudio Custom Vintage Rhinestone Black and White Cuff Bracelet $400.00

filzzundco

Cosmetic Bag or Purse $27.66

134

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


Nuichan UglyDucklingGalAngel

Black and White Swimsuit SALE! 50% off NOW $85.00!

Floor Length Skirt - Black and White Maxi Skirt

$55.00

Videnda

Raven Landscape Bird Black and White Necklace, Keychain, Magnet or Pendant $6.50+

AncyShop

Yoga Pants $59.00

Lollytout

Black and White Painted Pumps $255.66


2014 Rudsak Runway Photos: Toronto Fashion Week Spring 2014 slice.ca

StyleHenge.com


blRUNWAY ack &white TRENDS

becomegorgeous.com may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  137


vissbiz.com

lushome.com 138

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


In Feng Shui

In Feng Shui, gray belongs to the Metal element and should be used in the following Ba-Gua areas: - West (Creativity and Children) - Northwest (Helpful People and Blessings - North (Career and Path of Life - Avoid a strong gray presence in the East and Southeast as these are Wood element areas and Metal destroys Wood. - Avoid a strong gray presence, or at least avoid it being the main color, in any bedroom. See diagram for more info!

architect-magazine.com

fengshuidana.com

agreatinvercargill.blogspot.com


black & white animlas!

AROUND THE GLOBE

140

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


There are, of course, a slew of black and white animals around the world. There are the obvious ones like zebras and pandas and skunks and orcas, but did you know there is a black and white Ethiopian tufted monkey? Or a panda ant? Or the crinoid shrimp?

- White Tigers are viewed as the ruler of Fall and the governor of metal elements - Giant Panda symbolize a calm and peaceful man living in a stress-free environment. Also considered a symbol of peace. - Orcas, who are not actually whales but dolphins, and symbolize family and protection, strength and perseverance. - Kingsnakes are generally docile, curious and gentle.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  141


smokin HAUTE Photographer | Cathy Du Model | Venusia Morena Zampaloni Stylist | Alessia Brugnoni Tomassini Makeup | Genny Mignani Hairstylist | Luca Ciarrocchi

142

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  143


144

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  145


146

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  147


WAN

COLUMN WRITTEN BY SAM RUSSELL

1. A St


| travel

t

he world is a great, big place full of wonder and possibilities, most of which we have yet to explore. With our newly minted column, “Wanderlust,” we hope to introduce you to locations new and old, trendy and vintage. So, whether you are taking time for yourself or suddenly find your business travel bag in hand and en route to one of our eclectic locations, we will get you all the dish and even show you how to dress like the locals. Welcome to Detroit, unveiled...

NDERLUST wan·der·lust

trong Desire to Travel

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  149


DETROIT

Michigan

150

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


P

aramount in my mind is the true comeback city of Detroit. If you are ever lucky enough to visit for a brief affair, you will be humbled by the kindness of the locals, the savvy business deals going down and let us not forget the unexpected shopping. There is a re-birth in the pipeline, absolutely undeniable and palatable in the air. The locals speak of it, businesses are getting wind of it; this city is soon going to hold reign as the Paris of the Midwest.

Your trip might need to be extended, there is so much to see in Detroit. The Motown Historical Museum, Fisher Building, Belle Isle, Neighboring Dearborn, MI and the charming neighborhood of Greek town; much is in line to seduce your time. We asked to be taken to the heart of it, a two day jaunt to Motor City. Geographically desirable and a short 20 minute drive from the main airport is the grand wonderment of the Westin Book Cadillac Luxury Hotel.

* Opt for a luxury sedan from the airport only $65 * Opt for a speedy shuttle from the airport only $25 http://www.rideskoot.com/


4 - S t a r H o t e l | 1 1 1 4 Wa s h i n g t o n B l v d | D e t r o i t , M I 4 8 2 2 6 | ( 3 1 3 ) 4 4 2 - 1 6 0 0


T

he Westin Book Cadillac gives downtown Detroit substance, and is the ideal anchor for the vast activities that await you. It’s central location is a short cab ride from mid-town, hands down a must stop for that tight shopping schedule. If your social calendar runneth over, you are in a big city after all and must plan accordingly. A savvy $200 million renovation has restored the grand space of The Westin Book Cadillac back to its original splendor. Check in on the spacious second floor, but not before passing a visual maze of eateries, a coffee shop and the aroma of the hotel spa before introducing yourself to the luxury that awaits you. Don’t dare miss the guest lounge, also on the second floor.Truly, truly dramatic event spaces that must be seen in person to truly understand its significance. Now included in the National Register of Historic Places, the Italian Renaissance-style hotel, built by Detroit’s famous Book brothers, was the tallest building in Detroit and the tallest hotel in the world at its completion in 1924.

bookcadillacwestin.com

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  153


guest

the

registration

154

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


4 - S t a r H o t e l | 1 1 1 4 Wa s h i n g t o n B l v d | D e t r o i t , M I 4 8 2 2 6 | ( 3 1 3 ) 4 4 2 - 1 6 0 0


C

areful to not miss your appointments on your next business trip to Detroit. It’s easy to get seduced on the 2nd floor of The Westin Book Cadillac; you have not seen a guest lounge quite like this. Easy Internet access and plenty of room to spread your work out. Spark up a conversation with another Hollywood celeb passing through town or become invisible: only to be pleasantly interrupted from time to time by the oh so endearing staff. Need a bit to eat but want to skip the scene at the swank Michael Symon ROAST Restaurant on ground level? I prefer to eat with my under-eye travel bags in private, too.

The Boulevard 156

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014

room


Moto&r Bar

restaurant lounge

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  157


Premium the

room

158

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


R

omance blossomed when my travel-worn boots made a pit stop to the boundless sized suite. Detroit’s bustling skyline and dramatic city views were in absolute contrast with the warm silence experienced on the high up floors. Room service is quick and the large curtains easily shade the room in total darkness; if you so desire. You get the immediate sense of being in a large apartment and not in a hotel room. Choose Westin not just as a place to stay, but as a place to heal. If bad hotels with uncomfortable bedding robbed you of your traveling confidence, that process to re-mend you is about to begin. Let Westin Book Cadillac put you back together again.

perks...

*453 guest rooms, including 35 generously sized suites * Perfect for productions. Recently Hosted American Idol Season 13 *Valet Parking and Self Parking Available * Rooms are extraordinarily spacious--averaging 475 square feet--*42-inch LCD flat screen television *Lap top size safe * Heavenly Bed & Bath * Everything is fresh and unscented--warm masculine tones everywhere you look. * Interesting program available where you can opt to not have your bed turned down for one night and you get an instant $5 credit to any of the 4 eateries inside the hotel!

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  159


the

VenitianBallro

160

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


| travel

oom

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  161


H

UMAN is that immediate pulse on what the locals are manifesting in Detroit. If a strong kismet energy pulls you in on some random day, that is the sweet soul of Jill the owner, eager to make you feel right at home with unique jewelry and local artisan discoveries.

Get the Detroit Look...

HUMAN 4240 Cass Ave. Ste 106 Detroit, MI 48221 detroithuman.com

Thrift On The Ave. 4130 Cass Ave. Ste B Detroit, MI 48221

thriftybroads.wix.com/thriftontheave

162

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


| travel

D

etroit has an undeniable history of wealth and style. Can you imagine what that means for the savvy thrift community? Thrift On The Ave is run by a fresh mix of young minds. It’s that upscale boutique feel at much warmer prices. Come back often because the fierce shoe, jewelry and clothing selection is changing daily.

Notable Shopping:

flowingflava.com Willis St, Detroit, MI 48201 (313) 831-4901 thehandmadeco.com 1217 Woodward Ave, Detroit, MI 48226 (313) 373-6514 thesomersetcollection.com 2800 W. Big Beaver Road Troy, MI 48084 (248) 643-6360

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  163


164

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


NEW BALANCE RUNS WITH WESTIN

W

estin has recently partnered with New Balance to provide athletic shoes and apparel during your stay, for a fee. Simply dial Service ExpressÂŽ and request your shoe and clothing size and they will be conveniently delivered to your guest room. Shoes come with socks that are brand new and apparel is provided fresh and clean. Upon departure, simply leave the items in your room in their carryall. Visit the hotel web-site for more details! Locals take running seriously here. Join a group run: run-detroit.com

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  165


Leather Paneled Dress: Drome for Saks Fifth Avenue Ankle Boots: Chanel Necklace: Pluma Italia Rings: Isharya 166

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


RACHEL M O D E L o f t h e M O N T H

r e y n o l d s Photographed by Gregory Keith Metcalf | gregorykeithphotography.com Photo Assitants: Samantha Zachrich, Alyssa Gonzalez Producer: Alexis Walker | Production Assistant: Matthew Smith Stylist: Angela Chung | MUA: Carol Wood | Hair Stylist: Annet Larkin Model/Actress: Rachel Reynolds Instagram: @rachel1reynolds | Twitter: @rachel1reynolds

To be considered, submit your story and best work to Model@FashionAffairMagazine.com may2014

|

FASHION AFFAIR  167


Perhaps the most fundamental value instilled in me while growing up in Louisiana with two very athletic parents was the importance of physical exercise and the benefits it brings for both mind and body. I remember Runner’s World Magazine and the Venus Swimwear catalogues coming to our house when I was kid. I also remember admiring the physiques and dedication of these athletes and fitness models. It was years later when I was fortunate enough to then become one of those Venus swimwear models.

Bathing Suit: Haus of Pink Lemonaid Earrings: Isharya Bangle: Karine Sultan Shoes: Jimmy Choo 168

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


I was actually a letter athlete attending LSU when I began my modeling career. Being a competitive runner, I was able to experience great victories and disappointments. This taught me how to handle the ups and downs of castings and auditions. I responded to an open casting call to be the next host for E’s “Wild On!”. I was one of the top five finalists to host the show! I didn’t get the role, but it did propel me into my eleven-year career as a model on “The Price is Right”. “TPIR” is a dream to me. I have had the opportunity to work with such wonderful people while doing what I love.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  169


Denim Top: Ralph Lauren White Denim with Red Ikat Cut Off Shorts: Isabel Marant Shoes: Chanel Bangles (Left to Right): M.C.L, M.C.L., M.C.L., Pluma Italia Ring: Isharya

RACHEL

r e y n o l d s 170

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  171


RACHEL

r e y n o l d s

172

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


“

I currently travel to and from Baton Rouge, Louisiana and Los Angeles, California with my husband David Dellucci, a retired Major League Baseball outfielder, and our precious one-year-old daughter, Ruby. Since becoming a mother, I now have daily inspiration, making goals to ensure her happiness and success in life.


I t a l i a n

F a s h i o n

ACADEMY

s t y l e s

174

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014

Shereen Reda

e g y p t i a n

a c t r e s s


Location: Italian Fashion Academy Photographed by: Khald Hamdy Styling: Stefania Gulina and Bardees Abdel Waheb Designers: Golden dress with sequins motives: Yousra El barkouky Golden dress with lace embroidery: Nadine Ezzat Red and Gold dress: Zeina Hosny Fuchsia dress: Stefania Gulina MUA: Josra Ibrahim

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  175


D

aughter of the famous Egyptian dancer and choreographer Mahmoud Reda and his Serbian wife, Shereen Reda began her career on TV as a model for commercial before moving on to act with many famous Egyptin actors. In the 80s, Shereen married the famous Arabian and Egyptian singer, Amr Diab. While the marriage did not last due to the heavy workloads that often separated them, they did have a daughter together, Noor. Acknowledging that beauty has a place within the movie industry, Shereen also states, “I think directors don’t call you for your beauty, but for your talent. Surely it mattered, but not as much as my talent, which is much more lasting.” She enjoys pushing the boundaries, ensuring that audiences do not view her as just another pretty face, but as someone serious about her craft and fully emerged in her character. When asked if she felt like she still needed to prove herself, she replied, “Not to others, mainly to myself. I like to excel in my work. I wouldn’t be satisfied if I didn’t try my best in all that I do.”

176

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


“I think directors don’t call you for your beauty, but for your talent.”

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  177


178

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


F

amily, of course, played a part in her career choice, but fortunately she never felt pressured to become an actress. Her father’s fame and her mother’s involvement certainly opened doors to the cinema, as they had both been working in the field for a long time, but surprisingly she did not feel overly influenced by this in her own career choices and feels grateful that her own daughter is interested in things beyond theater. Shereen continues to be busy, currently wrapping filming the last scenes in her new movie and on a TV series, which will be broadcasted during one of the most important season of the series, the Holy Month of Ramdan. Additionally, she has two more movies which will be released in the Middle East this summer, The Blue Elephant and Out of Order. She hopes audiences love watching them as much as she loved making them.

i t a l i a n f a s h i o n a c a d e m y. c o m

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  179


Alessandra Ambrosio Cara and Poppy Delevigne, Sienna Miller

Coachella 2014 is over (for now), and festivalgoers came out in droves to listen to their favorite bands, discover new ones and enjoy the outdoors. Among the thousands of music lovers, many celebrities also showed up to the two-weekend event. The growing imagebased social network, We Heart It, compiled the top user-generated images of celebrities enjoying the massive music fest – proving they love the outdoors, the sun, and channeling their inner hippie. Check out some of the fabulous fashions that were seen on your favorite celebs.

180

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014

Katy Perry and Lea Michele

Kate Bosworth


Vanessa Hudgens and Austin Butler

Emma Roberts

Shay Mitchell and Ashley Benson

Jordan Dunn Chanel Iman

w e H E A RT i t . c o m Paris and Nicole Hilton

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  181


in fin

BEAUTY

e feather

182

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


The Phoenix is RISING 4 oz Rose Water Spritzer

$30

Bringing you back to your original glory is GODDESSY Organics. Think %100 pure, all natural & organic skin care line that is safe enough for the entire family. Custom blended oils, herbs, and aromatherapy will have you animated again. Looking for sweet inspiration, start with the Pure Rose Water. “Organic roses were part of sacred beauty rituals by the Ancient Greeks, Romans and Egyptians. For centuries, many civilizations used organic roses for cosmetics and medicines. Organic roses have antibacterial antiseptic, and astringent properties. Additionally, they are ideal in moisturizing, hydrating, curing most skin problems, preventing wrinkles, and ensuring anti-aging of even the most sensitive, problematic skin.” ---Stephanie AdamsNicolai Founder & CEO of GODDESSY Organics ** Coming Soon....Pure Aromatherapy Oils and so much more!!

goddessyorganics.com

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  183


Guided by the stars above and every beauty writer committed to youth in a jar; your beauty arsenal will never be the same now. Olivina is a splendid collection of bath, body, & home products rich in olive & grape seed oil, made naturally in the heart of Napa Valley, California. The major stand-outs to the team here at Fashion Affair would be the body butters. No animal testing means human approved. If that sounds a little old-fashioned, GOOD! That is the intent. No paragens, no sulfates, no nasties, no rubbish, and no funny business. Just good intentions.

$16.95

Hand & Body Lotion

184

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


olivinacom

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  185


togospa.com 186

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


| beauty EYES by ToGoSpa is our promise to you. Drop the heathens off at the mall this weekend and do something nice-- just for you. Easy to apply moisture packed collagen gel pads are designed to provide instant cooling relief for eyes suffering from last nights’ party...I mean dark circles, fine lines, or under-eye bags dilemmas. The ICE Water won the team over here after the first usage: Each silky application is infused with a combination of natural high-density marine collagen, enzymes, amino acids, natural marine minerals, trace elements, proteins and vitamins. With just one 20 minute application, you will see improved elasticity, texture, and overall appearance of the skin below the eye. This should bring that twinkle back.

(6-30 gel pads)

$25-$99

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  187


carringtonfarms.com 54 Oz

$26.99

“I personally take four tablespoons of coconut oil per day, either on my salads, in my cooking or in my cups of green tea. I will not go a day without coconut oil.” 12 0z

$7.99

The Lone Ranger sold his horse on e-bay and ditched that wagon a long time ago. Do try and keep up with the times: Your new hero coming to rescue is Carrington Farms. Carrington Farm’s cold-pressed Organic Extra-Virgin Coconut Oil is the most nutritious oil and the perfect choice for health and energy. It’s no secret that Coconut Oil has been celebrated as “the healthiest oil on earth.” Unrefined Organic Extra-Virgin Coconut Oil is simply pressed and bottled so it retains its original nutrient content, flavor and color. While your other half masters the perks of cooking with coconut oil and tests it on popcorn, you are still marveling in front of that bathroom mirror as the results stare back at you. Repair your garden-worn hands in seconds, the results are jarring. A little messy at first, be patient. Coconut oil absorbs fast and it will not be necessary to reapply. Test on scrapes and bruises, again the results are astounding. Store in a dry and cool place, no need to refrigerate. 188

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014

-Miranda Kerr


sweetsalvageskincare.com

The team at Sweet Salvage Skincare has a Bee in their Bonnet. A calling, you might say, to produce and sell only the best of Mother Nature’s bounty. Every sweet find is made with completely biodegradable, nontoxic, and thoughtfully sourced ingredients and the formulations are as gentle to the planet as they are to your skin and hair.

Body Wash

$16

Come on to the scene after washing up with the Lemon Verbena & Lavender Body Wash. Sweet almond oil and avocado oil make this ideal for dry skin. Dead Sea minerals and Apple Cider come into play as well, every ingredient is carefully researched before infused. The scent is a yin-yang of sensual notes; very, very appetizing to your senses. This is strong enough for him and gentle enough for her. No need to get territorial, there is enough to go around.


That bump you heard was the postmaster running me over in his little truck. Eager to get our latest Fashion Affair discovery in my hands, caused for such an embarrassing misstep. Call me over overzealous, as I have spent my entire beauty career waiting to hear what Keeki Pure & Simple so effortlessly announces as their mission statement.

Ginger Blossom Body Lotion

$11.99

“Team Keeki wants to teach individuals how to care for themselves by learning how to read labels. Understanding what is in toxic products and also understanding that our skin is our biggest organ. It is so very important to know what is going into our bodies as well as the planet. Or skin is our largest organ, and it absorbs 60% of what we put on it.�


| beauty

keekipureandsimple.com ‘Good-for-you’ Organic & Gluten Free Products..... Pure and Simple. may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  191


192

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


e y l u r e . c o m / k a t y - p e r r y. h t m l

The feeling is much too strong, we are smitten. From the popular Katy Perry by Eylure false lash collection, four brand new luscious eyelash styles accompany her growing collection with longstanding beauty innovators, Eylure. Hand-picked personally by Katy: The Lovely Lolita, Banging Beauty, Punk Princess and Feline Fierce styles are strip lashes, come with adhesive, are handmade with 100% natural hair and each style is reusable.

$7.99

They say no one looks you in the eyes these days. That is about to change. Katy Perry Color Pop Lashes by Eylure are $7.99 and can also be purchased at http://www.madamemadeline.com.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  193


*Buy 3 Jars and get 1 FREE + overnight shipping!

That’s a savings of $79! Visit website for details!

194

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


If you want a good future, then don’t waste the present. Athena 7 Minute Lift repairs, restores and rejuvenates aging skin, increasing health and vitality for maximum reduction of the appearance in fine lines and deep wrinkles. The healing properties of essential oils extracted from the herbs of the Aegean eco-system have been blended, balanced, and treated with oldworld techniques to create cutting-edge, highperformance cream with clinically proven results.

7minutelift.com

You will hit a certain age where pulling it all “together” will be a process. The time is now to look towards the women of the Greek Isles for their graceful aging tips.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  195


Blow It Up Volumizing Gel Foam

$17.95

Do not let the unwelcoming echo of winter get you down. As the winter months fade, the harsh elements may have already left an impression on your hair. Turn up the volume and channel your inner sex appeal with a little help from your friends at Fashion Affair. Sexy Hair is a product of passion, founded by a dynamo with wits as sharp as his scissors. Michael O’Rourke built an empire by breaking all the rules. Sexy Hair is that splash of red in a world of black and white ideas.

196

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


SEXYHAIR.COM

Channel your inner Phoenix with a plethora of choices from Sexy Hair. Get Your Curl On. Get Your Smooth On, Get Sexy Again.... The above should fancy fine with your soul. After all, we did not invent the rain, we just have the best umbrella.

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  197


0f POWER love

the

helping others in the name of

FASHION 198

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  199


The Vanity Project

– a new branding concept that partners with both celebrities and charities alike to create an out-of-the box marketing platform from start for finish. Not only does The Vanity Project create apparel and cool products for their clients, but this B2B2C company also takes care of inventory, shipping and fulfillment, hosting ecommerce platforms for these products, creating innovative and fresh social media campaigns for them, and getting the end consumer, or in this case fans, followers or supporters, involved and connected with these charities and celebrities by building a unique brand for each one. Omri Bojko, cofounder of The Vanity Project, describes it as “the cool factor—creating a way for charities to begin thinking like a business.” As one of their latest projects, together with the Ian Somerhalder Foundation (ISF), (http://bit. ly/1lD7GWe), The Vanity Project released the ISF Retail Line; allowing their supporters to rep ISF in style. Other collaborations include RYOT.org, with support from Olivia Wilde and Sophia Bush, Ryan Miller’s Steadfast Foundation and the National Basketball Retired Players Association.

200

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014

How many times have you gone to a charity event, where all you look forward to is free drinks and a random selection of silent auction items you can bid on? The Vanity Project is the meaningful bond between the charities, celebrities, and their supporters, through branded apparel that create a lasting connection. Taking it a step further, Omri and Jason, creators of The Vanity Project, have now started to create prize fulfillment perk items and products for various crowdfunding campaigns, including their latest endeavor with charity sweepstakes company, Omaze. com, which features celebrity experiences with Bryan Cranston, Aaron Paul, George Clooney, Arnold Schwarzenegger and more. The Vanity Project’s crowdfunding services help other companies expand their reach, their creativity, and also fulfill orders in an efficient and timely way, since TVP handles inventory, shipping, and fulfillment in this aspect as well. TVP has positioned themselves as the only company who services this industry in a complete manner for fulfillment and crowd-funding for over 50 non-profit organizations. Campaigns TVP has worked on have a reach of over 100,000 participants with more than one million dollars raised for charities. For more information on The Vanity Project, please visit www.thevanityproject.org.


A BILLBOARD FOR GOOD thevanityproject.org

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  201


202

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


We’ve worked on numerous high profile campaigns including: Celebrities: George Clooney Ian Somerhalder Olivia Wilde Sophia Bush Aaron Paul Bryan Cranston Athletes: Jared Allen Vontae Davis Sean Smith Andre Brown NBA Retired Players Association may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  203


MUSIC IS MEDICINE MARIAH DEEP V-NECK $35.00

C

204

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


BUFFALO BAYOU TEE

BUFFALO BAYOU PARTNERSHIP

CCH JOHNNY TEE

$35.00

CHICAGO COALITION FOR THE HOMELESS

$35.00

may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  205


206

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014


may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  207


TVP FOUNDERS... Omri Bojko serves as a Managing Partner with The Vanity Project and co-founded the company with Jason Sochol. Omri leads creative design and product development for the company. Before founding TVP, Omri worked for 3 years as an equity derivatives trader at Spot Trading LLC, a leading proprietary trading firm based in Chicago, Illinois. Omri spent a year in the firm’s rotational trading program before specializing in trading healthcare and technology sector derivatives. In the healthcare and technology group Omri was charged with finding opportunities and mispricings in the equity derivatives of over 600 companies using the firm’s proprietary pricing models and technology. Omri was also responsible for monitoring the firm’s algorithmic trading models for companies in these sectors as well as pricing sophisticated scenarios in healthcare stocks such as corporate takeovers, rights offerings, and FDA approval or denial of new drugs. Over the past few years Omri has been involved with event planning and fundraising for several nonprofit groups and foundations including the Fabretto Children’s Foundation and The University of Chicago Cancer Research Foundation. Omri graduated from Northwestern University in Evanston, IL with a bachelor’s degree in History and completed a post- graduate finance certificate at The University of Chicago.

208

  FASHION AFFAIR

|

may2014

OMRI BOJKO


JASON SOCHOL Jason Sochol serves as a Managing Partner with The Vanity Project, having co-founded the Company with Omri Bojko from its inception. Jason manages all nonprofit and social impact relationships for the company. Jason comes to TVP having formerly worked for Jones Lang LaSalle, a commercial real estate services firm based in Chicago, Illinois. Jason worked in the firm’s Capital Markets Group for four years, with a primary focus on corporate finance and financial accounting advisory, single tenant, net lease and sale- leaseback sales, capital placements, and equity raises for clients such as General Motors, Bank of America, Proctor & Gamble, Morgan Stanley Private Equity, and Mesirow Financial. Additionally, Jason has been involved in recent years with a number of philanthropic organizations, including the Inspiration Corporation, The University of Chicago Cancer Research Foundation, the Cabrini Green Tutoring Program, and A Better Chance of Westport. Jason graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in History from Northwestern University in Evanston, IL with a minor concentration in Business. He also completed a financial certificate program at the University of Chicago. may2014 | FASHION AFFAIR  209


may 2014|fashionaffairmagazine.com | The Heart of Fashion


Fashion Affair Magazine May 2014