November 2022 Digital Edition

Page 1

Mid-South

Horse Review November 2022

Special Report: p.10

Versatility of the Thoroughbred

GREENER PASTURES THERE’S GOLD IN LEAVES P. 5

HORSE HEALTH

YOUNG RIDERS

HORSE TECH

TENDON & LIGAMENT INJURY REHABILITATION P. 8

MID-SOUTH JUNIOR RIDERS AT RRP’S THOROUGHBRED MAKEOVER P. 15

OTTB MAFIA , CONNECTING THE OTTB COMMUNITY P. 18


2

Mid-South Horse Review


November, 2022

3

CONTENTS

GAINSWAY FARM, Kentucky. Photo courtesy of Kentucky Tourism

Features:

P. 4. Publisher’s Note: A Legacy of Racehorses

P. 13 Clare Pinney and Holiday Stone and Secret Town

P. 10 Versatility of the Thoroughbred

P. 14 Caitlin Milford and Going Beserk

P. 19 Working Horse: Pather Creek’s Fall Roundup

Departments

Greener Pastures P. 5 There’s Gold in those Brown Leaves P. 6 Fall Vegetable Gardening Basics

Horse health:

P. 7 HELP! My Horse isn’t eating P. 8 Tendon and Ligament Injury Rehab P. 9 Feeding the OTTB, From Track to Farm

People & Horses

P. 12 Monique Cameron- Hamby, winner of RRP’S TB Makeover Freestyle Division P. 12 Haley Pruitt & Ringo P. 13 Laura Moquett and Whitmore

Young Riders P. 15 Julia Whitehead and Lee’s Luck

P. 24 Bull-O-Rama

Markeplace P. 25-26

Calendar of Events P. 27

P. 16 Cora Holla and She’s Forever P. 16 Zara Hamidi and Roho P. 17 Aly Mayhall and Toshita Forever

Horse Tech

P. 18 Connecting the OTTB Community through Digital

Competition Zone: P. 20 Nashoba Carriage Classic

P. 21 Brownland Farm’s Autumn Challenge P. 22 Mississippi Hunter Jumper Association’s Back to School Show P. 23 JLJ Productions

Haley Pruitt on Ringo competing at RRP’s TB Makeover By CanterClix On the cover: Black horse portrait in autumn landscape at sunset By kwadrat70 | Adobe Stock Photography


Mid-South Horse Review

4

Publisher’s Note November 2022

Volume 35 | Number 3 Publisher & Owner

Lauren Pigford Abbott labbott@mshorsereview.com 901- 279- 4634

Office & Accounts Manager Andrea Winfrey andrea@mshorsereview.com 901-867-1755

Advertising & Marketing Consultant Alicia Johnson alicia@mshorsereview.com 901-337-7786

Social Media & Marketing Coordinator Kinley Brady info@mshorsereview.com 901-275-7677

Contributing Writers & Photographers Michele Harn Juliana Chapman Gary Cox Paul Nolte Chris Cooper

Main Office:

6220 Greenlee St. Suite 4 Arlington, TN 38002 901-867-1755

Subscriptions

A Legacy of Racehorses

Abbott’s family history and love of the Thoroughbred This issue focuses on the Versatility of the Thoroughbred and nine Mid-south riders who competed in the Retired Racehorse Project’s Thoroughbred Makeover National Symposium and Expo, presented by Thoroughbred Charities of America. This focus issue was important for us to publish to help highlight how Thoroughbreds are more than racehorses who are only suited for English riding sports in their second careers. RRP’s Thoroughbred Makeover has 10 divisions that eligible, retired racehorses can compete in. Those divisions are Barrel Racing, Competitive Trail, Freestyle, Polo, Dressage, Eventing, Show Hunters, Show Jumping, Working Ranch and Field Hunters. It is one of the largest national shows incorporating an array of English and Western disciplines. Our Midsouth riders competed across English and Western divisions and helped show how versatile the Thoroughbred can be with retraining and restarting post track life. Those who know me personally know that I love my Thoroughbreds. Thoroughbreds run in our family and I feel a deep commitment and connection with the breed. My mother’s family grew up in Lexington, Ky. In racing’s off-season my maternal grandmother would travel, by ship, to Oriental Park Racetrack in Cuba. My grandmother worked as a track groom and handler, which was not the typical job for a 16-year-old girl in the early 1900s. My mom said she was always a woman before her time. I think if our grandmother could see my sisters and me now she would be proud we are Thoroughbred owners and try to push us towards every show in the south. She loved competition! The Thoroughbred has become my family’s legacy and the connection I have with the breed is unique and special. When I grew up, Thoroughbreds dominated the Hunter and Jumper rings. I have seen that change over time. Even though many do not feel Thoroughbreds can be competitive in upper shows, there seems to be an unestablished “club” for Thoroughbred owners like myself. We love them and we wouldn’t dare own any other breed than the Thoroughbred, in fear of betraying them and ourselves. My new horse, King Kevin, Jockey Club named Fire Makers Star, last raced in August, 2020. He had 18 starts, two firsts, three seconds and earned $41,625. I first met him in September, 2020. He was way too tall for me at 17.2 hands. And he was foot sore. My initial thoughts were, “this horse is huge, and he’s lame, and right off the track.” My top requirements for my new horse were: one not taller than 16.3 hands, retired sound from the track, and had been restarted. Well, he didn’t meet any of my criteria so I walked away. December rolled around and he had a couple months of downtime. His shoes had been pulled and he was no longer lame. I thought, “ok, I’ll look at him again.” By January I had him vetted, and the following week I had his Jockey Club papers to officially retire him as a racehorse. He needed a lot of groceries and time to settle into his new life. King Kevin has been living the life, because I still haven’t ridden him. Shortly after I purchased him I became pregnant and paused his training completely. He has now been restarted with trainer Robyn Miller and for three months she has been taking it slow to discover all his buttons and gears. Thankfully, he has come to peace with traps, and flags, and I am grateful I was not the one to desensitize him to those things. Thank you Robyn! Hopefully in the next few months I will be riding my too big, too lanky, six-year-old Thoroughbred and I will remember why I chose him: his sweet face, brain, athleticism and curiosity. My hope for this issue is to share why Thoroughbreds are so special, and why they are amazing and versatile sport horses. They take time and patience, but they can take a rider into any discipline or show ring he or she desires. Don’t discredit the Thoroughbred. They are amazing sport horses that have a will and a heart like no other.

Subscriptions are $45 annually for print and digital access. email: andrea@mshorsereview.com To submit articles, artwork and press

releases please email: info@mshorsereview.com

Lauren Pigford Abbott Publisher & Owner

We cannot guarantee publication or return of manuscripts or artwork. reproduction of editorial content, photographs or advertising is strictly prohibited without written permission of the publisher.

Published by

Ford Abbott Media, LLC

www.midsouthhorsereview.com

Abbott and her mother, Mary Ann Pigford, with Abbott’s Thoroughbred, King Kevin.


November, 2022

5

Greener Pastures

There’s Gold in those Brown Leaves By Michele Harn

Yards in the Mid-south have gone from green to brown as deciduous trees shed their leaves, covering the grass. This “brown gold” is a natural carbon source that improves lawns, gardens, and can protect tender plants over the winter. So grab your rake and collect this bountiful fall harvest. Turning brown leaves into soil improving material is easy. It does take a bit of hand labor, but the effort will return multifold next spring. After leaves are gathered into piles the next step is most important: shred the leaves. Leaves can be hand raked into piles then shredded with a leaf shredder or a lawn mower. Or use your lawn mower to simultaneously shred and pile them. Shredding the leaves begins the breakdown process and keeps them from matting which can prevent water passing through. Once shredded, the leaves can be used in multiple ways. Compost - Adding shredded leaves to new compost piles helps balance the nitrogen/carbon ratio. Green materials like grass, horse manure, and vegetable kitchen scraps are considered nitrogen sources. Adding leaves and other brown materials provides needed carbon to the compost pile. Leaves also add open structure space to the compost pile which aids in aeration. Just as water is the most essential element for horses, a healthy compost pile requires moisture. A dry pile won’t compost, but a wet pile will rot rather than decompose. Frequently turning the pile will speed the process, ensuring proper composting temperature is achieved. Getting a compost pile to the proper temperature not only benefits the microbes doing the decomposing but it also kills pathogens and weed seeds.

Mulch - Shredded leaves are a natural mulch for tender plants, flower beds, and gardens. Use six inches over fall garden plants to extend the harvest season. Annuals planted in the fall will also appreciate a winter blanket as they establish their roots. There are a few leaves to avoid in the garden as they inhibit plant growth. Leaves from walnut trees, eucalyptus, and camphor laurel should be thoroughly composted before using in garden or flower beds. Shredding is key as whole leaves will form a mat that prevents water penetration into the soil. Soil - Shredded leaves can be tilled or forked directly into garden soil in the fall. Earthworms love leaves and will multiply this winter. Next spring you’ll be rewarded for your efforts when you find happy worms doing their job in your garden. Worms aerate the soil and leave castings (fecal matter) to enrich the soil. Since trees pull calcium, magnesium, and trace minerals out of the soil, leaves will add these minerals back. Fall is also a good time to add composted manure to your garden. Feeding your soil in the fall increases soil fertility for spring planting. Leaf Mold - Leaf mold improves water retention, soil pH, and soil texture, While composting is a hot process driven by high temperatures and microbes, making leaf mold is a cold process accomplished with fungi over longer time. Moisture is still key so keep the pile moist, but not wet. Covering the pile will speed the process and yield usable leaf mold in about a year. Freshly fallen leaves have the ideal ratio of carbon to nitrogen so they will decompose more quickly. Adding fresh leaves to older ones will improve the process

Adding shredded leaves to new compost piles helps balance the nitrogen/ carbon ratio. Green materials like grass, horse manure, and vegetable kitchen scraps are considered nitrogen sources.

as older leaves have less nitrogen. Shredding the leaves also helps the fungi do their job. Oak and holly have higher lignin (cellulose) content which takes longer to decompose, so include a variety of leaves for a better and quicker end product. Use leaf mold to a depth of 3 inches max and keep it away from plant root crowns to avoid plant rot. Add it directly to the garden to lighten soil texture, add nutrients, and retain water. The smell of healthy leaf mold will remind you of a walk in the deep woods. In the Mid-south, late fall is the perfect time to prepare the garden for a restful winter and successful spring, so as you’re raking and shredding leaves, dream of the bounty your gardens will yield next year.


Mid-South Horse Review

6

Greener Pastures

Fall vegetable gardening basics

By Christopher Cooper, Ph.D., UT-TSU Extension Shelby County Agent

It is once again the time of year when the county extension offices field questions about fall vegetable gardening. As summer turns to autumn, many of the cool-season vegetables such as broccoli, carrots, greens, and cauliflower produce their best quality and flavor as temperatures begin to cool. Growing a good, productive fall vegetable garden re-

Crops such as cabbage, collards and broccoli can be seeded in the fall.

quires proper planning and sound cultural practices. Before you prepare the soil for a fall vegetable garden, it is best to have a soil test performed. Soil test kits are available at the Shelby County Extension Office, and other county extension offices throughout the Mid-south. Once your soil is tested, remove any crop residue or weeds from that area. Broadcast lime and/or fertilizer in the prepared garden bed as needed according to your soil test results. Crops such as cabbage, collards and broccoli can be seeded in the fall. If sowing seeds, the surface of your soil

Gilliland Farms Top Quality Horse Hay All our hay is STORED IN OUR BARN. We have added 52,000 sq. ft. of barn space to preserve the quality of our hay for our great, loyal customers.

• Guaranteed Nutrition • No Herbicides • Moisture Monitored • Delivery Available

B e rm u d a S q u a re s : $ 1 2 Bermuda Rolls: 4x 5, 700-800 lbs. $120 2 String 50-60 lb sq. bales of new crop ALFALFA LOTS OF LEAVES & GREEN: $15 PER BALE AT OU R B A R N Pine & Hardwood Shavings available

M i ke G i l l i l an d : ( 90 1) 63 4- 3 91 2 mgilliland@gillilandfarms.com 4300 Watk ins | Memphis, TN 38127

should be kept moist until the seedlings emerge. Continue to provide adequate moisture throughout the growing season for your crop to flourish. Young seedlings require frequent, light watering until the root systems become established. Most of the vegetables grown in the fall require at least one inch of water per week. Vegetable plants will need consistent watering throughout the winter. Water the garden deeply when needed rather than watering in frequent, shallow applications. Healthy plants are less susceptible to insects and disease. Be sure to check plants frequently for insect and disease damage. Use low impact pesticides to control pests. Insecticidal soap and neem oil are also beneficial in controlling pests in the garden. As always, read and follow the label directions carefully prior to application. Protecting tender vegetables through the first frost is essential. Floating row covers supported by stakes work well. Bed sheets are an alternative to floating row covers. Individual plants can also be covered with milk jugs, paper cups or a bucket. When covering plants be sure to keep any material from directly touching the plants. Give fall vegetable gardening a try. If you have any questions, contact Christopher Cooper, Ph.D, UT-TSU Extension Shelby County Agent at 901-752-1207. Enjoy fall in the garden. Programs in agriculture and natural resources, 4-H youth development, family and consumer sciences, and resource development. University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture and county governments cooperating. UT Extension provides equal opportunities in programs and employment.


November, 2022

7

Horse Health

Help! My Horse Isn’t Eating By Michele Harn, M.S.

This morning at chore time your eager-eater was the last to make his way into the barn. Maybe it’s just the cold nip in the air, or maybe it’s something more serious. Horses are continuous eaters. Most are very eager eaters. A horse that is slower than normal to eat, or worse yet, not eat at all, needs immediate evaluation. As with any suspected illness, check his temperature, pulse, and respiration (TPR) along with capillary refill time and mucous membrane color. Is there any obvious swelling, lameness, nasal discharge, or cough? Is there a normal amount and consistency of manure? It’s good to check for normal values and write them down when your horse is healthy. Even though these measurements may be normal, your horse’s behavior may be telling you that something isn’t quite right. Addressing the abnormal behavior right away will give your horse the best chance for a good outcome. Putting off further investigation could prove costly, and even deadly, if you wait. Lack of appetite in a horse can be caused by an almost endless list of diseases, health changes, or management problems. Your veterinarian is your best partner in sleuthing out the causative agent at work. Gathering basic information before calling the clinic will help your vet decide how quickly, or if, your horse needs to be seen. Be ready to provide your horse’s TPR, vaccine history, regular feeding practices, stalling, travel history, medications, changes to the herd, and whether other horses on the farm are also affected. A thorough history and physical exam should lead to a short list of possible causes and suggest further testing

or observation. Horses can go off-feed, or be slow eaters, for reasons as simple as dental abnormalities or as complicated as infectious diseases. Or it may be the new hay isn’t as palatable. It’s vital to consult with your veterinarian as you encourage your horse to engage in normal eating. Even though he may eagerly eat his grain, if he refuses hay there is an increased risk of laminitis. Sudden changes in diet lead to sudden changes in the normal gut microbes which can lead

Lack of appetite in a horse can be caused by an almost endless list of diseases, health changes, or management problems. Your veterinarian is your best partner in sleuthing out the causative agent at work. to medical crises such as colic or laminitis. Most horses return to normal eating behavior once the primary problem is addressed, but careful management of their diet as they recover will help prevent further complications. Remember that forage (hay, grass, beet pulp) and water are the basis of the horse’s diet and should be the focus as he recovers his appetite. With proper treatment and a little TLC, your equine partner should be back to energetically running up for his morning feed.

Section Sponsored By:


Mid-South Horse Review

8

Section Sponsored By:

Tendon and Ligament Injury Rehab By Michele Harn, M.S

Three-legged lame. Dead lame. Moving a little off. These are phrases no horse person ever wants to hear. But if you own horses long enough, you will hear them. Lower limb injuries can be mild to severe, have a long list of causes, and an equally long list of treatment modalities. A little preparation ahead of the need will give you peace of mind when you have to face caring for a lame horse. As with every aspect of keeping horses, it is essential to establish a baseline normal for each horse. Taking note of the horse’s normal way-of-going will help you detect changes in movement. Do a regular visual and physical exam of your horse’s legs. Check for swelling, bumps, or heat. Some horses are quite stoic and will not show the level of pain they’re experiencing. Observing the horse daily and knowing the horse’s “normal” will allow you to quickly find problems. “An ounce of prevention…” It’s true of all athletes. Properly conditioning your horse for the job will help to prevent soft tissue injuries. When muscles fatigue there is an increased risk of tendon and ligament injury. Careful warm-up and cool-down are essential parts of conditioning as well. Strengthening muscles and the cardiovascular system through various exercises, cross-training, nutrition, and hoof care are essential parts of preparing your horse to be safe and successful at its job. It takes a village. Gathering a team of experts to assess the injury and formulate a rehabilitation plan is key to a quick and full recovery. A diagnostic veterinary exam early after onset of lameness can pinpoint the injury and

hopefully prevent further damage. It may be necessary to enlist help at the barn to treat the horse during times you cannot be there. Know ahead of time who can help assist you in your horse’s care if your horse becomes lame. Inflammation is the enemy. In the first three weeks after a soft tissue injury, the goal is to reduce inflammation. Ice or cold-hosing for 15 minutes at a time, several times a day as recommended by your veterinarian to help bring down inflammation. Your horse may need to be confined to stall rest, anti-inflammatory medications, and bandages. Leg wraps should be a part of the First Aid supplies in your barn. Injuries can often times occur after hours or when vet clinics and farm supply stores are closed. Three weeks after onset to injury is when the healing process begins. Depending on the area where you live, there are many treatments available for soft tissue injuries. Controlled exercise is often the first therapy and can be supported with shock wave treatment, cold laser, underwater treadmill, and functional electrical stimulation. Regenerative medicine therapies include platelet-rich plasma, autologous protein solution or bone marrow aspirate injections. These relatively new therapies harness the horse’s own power to heal, combined with high-tech devices. A specially trained veterinarian will draw a small amount of your horse’s blood, run it through a specific device depending on which treatment is needed. This medical device concentrates the horse’s healing cells which the vet then injects back into the injured area. Both soft tissue and joint injuries can be treated this way. Dr. Liberty Getman,

“the goal of regenerative medicine therapy is to restore the injured area to as near normal tissue composition as possible by isolating and concentrating the horse’s self-healing properties.”Dr. Liberty Getman, Equine Technical Services Veterinarian, Zoetis

Equine Technical Services Veterinarian, Zoetis, says, “the goal of regenerative medicine therapy is to restore the injured area to as near normal tissue composition as possible by isolating and concentrating the horse’s self-healing properties.” Horses are designed to move. Unless your horse is 5 out of 5 lame, your vet may encourage hand-walking. Movement helps blood and lymph flow which will help increase healing. Walking provides stretching to the soft tissues and helps keep the hooves sound. A stalled, injured horse is more prone to laminitis. Your veterinarian will set-up an exercise schedule based on the severity of the initial injury and the progress your horse makes with treatment. Keeping a written list of medications, treatments, and exercise protocol at your horse’s barn will ensure all his therapies are delivered on-time and correctly. Some horse owners choose to send injured horses to an in-patient facility for rehabilitation. There are equine rehabilitation centers across the country that provide advanced treatments in their facility. KESMARC (Kentucky Equine Sports Medicine and Rehabilitation Center) in Versailles, KY is a leader in rehabilitation services providing cutting-edge therapies supported by top veterinary clinics. Your local veterinary clinic may also provide advanced therapies. Early, aggressive treatment will start your horse on the road to recovery. With dedication to his treatment, patience on your part, and a good dose of time, your equine athlete will hopefully have a full recovery and return to work after proper rehabilitation.

Fawcett Lumber Company 7300 Hwy 18-S | Hickory Valley, Tn 38042 Pressure Treated Lumber Large Dimensional Timbers Cedar Split Rail Fencing Cannonball Track System Complete Hardware Supplies Agricultural Drainage Culverts Call ahead for pick up Bring a trailer or buy one here © MSHR

Call:

731-764-2582 731-764-2847 Open 7-5 M-F | Sat 7-12 In Business 60 Years!


November, 2022

9

Feeding the OTTB: From Track to Farm

Section Sponsored By:

By Michele Harn, M.S

Imagine being an Olympic athlete who just won a silver medal. Now imagine being immediately told your new career is in an office. The shift from going 90 miles-per-hour to driving in a school zone can lead to a cascade of physical events. Thoughtful feeding can successfully ease the recently retired racehorse into a farm lifestyle.

Gastric ulcers are a known problem for horses in high levels of competition or stress. A veterinary exam can determine whether treatment is needed for the retired race horse. The vet may also suggest specific feeding strategies to assist healing the horse’s stomach. A healthy gut makes for a healthy horse.

Knowing how a racehorse is managed during its racing career is helpful in guiding the horse into its next career. Most high performance equine athletes are fed a calorie dense diet spread out over four to five grain feedings a day. It’s not uncommon for these horses to get 50% of their diet from grain. Whenever possible, find out exactly what type and how much grain, supplements, pharmaceuticals, and hay were fed to the horse while at the track or in training. As with all horses, feed changes should be made over seven to 10 days to allow gut microbes to shift accordingly. Free choice hay will benefit not only the horse’s digestive tract, but also keep him mentally happy as he transitions to a slower lifestyle. The biggest shift in diet for the horse coming off the track is the change from a heavily grain based diet to a hay based diet. High quality, free choice hay is essential as the racehorse transitions to a different career. Because horses are designed to be continuous grazers, free choice hay keeps their gut happy. Consider a hay with higher levels of protein if the horse lacks a full topline. Remember to always provide plentiful, clean water as well. Horses eating a dry diet will consume more water than those on pasture. Gastric ulcers are a known problem for horses in high levels of competition or stress. A veterinary exam can determine whether treatment is

needed for the retired race horse. The vet may also suggest specific feeding strategies to assist healing the horse’s stomach. A healthy gut makes for a healthy horse. Race horses typically have a body condition score of 4-5 out of 10; most will move to a 5-6 for their retirement career. Many horses right off the track are younger so they are still filling-out as they finish growing. Whereas sugar from grain was a primary calorie source at the track, shifting to fat as a calorie source is a safe, efficient way to increase the horse’s body condition score while avoiding the pitfalls of a high sugar diet. Added protein through a ration balancer, higher protein feed, or amino acid supplement can help the horse develop a fuller topline. While it may not take long for the horse to put on weight, the topline will take months of proper nutrition and exercise to fully develop. Slow, steady progress should be the goal as the horse moves from being a racehorse into his or her next career. Most ex-racehorses enjoy the slower pace of farm life and make the transition well. Careful feeding can ease them through this change of lifestyle, while consultation with your veterinarian and nutritionist will ensure a successful post-racing life for your athlete.

“Excellent pasture management is an essential part of avoiding fall pasture laminitis.” Cashel Trail Saddle Collection Exclusively made for Cashel® by Martin Saddlery®, Cashel’s saddles are built to provide comfort and security for horse and rider. Designed around Martin’s Axis True Fit Saddle Tree, we go out of our way to make sure we offer horsemen the utmost in fit, function and value in a trail saddle. No matter what you need, we have the right saddle for you.

cashelcompany.com


10

Mid-South Horse Review


November, 2022

Thoroughbreds dominate America’s racing industry. When people envision the Thoroughbred they think of famous racehorses like Secretariat, Seattle Slew, Zenyatta, and who can forget Rich Strike’s historic and infamous Kentucky Derby win this past May. Thoroughbreds are bred to be high endurance athletes who perform at top speeds and power. However, racing careers for the majority of Thoroughbred racehorses end at the age of four. For other equine performance industries it is when most horses start their competitive careers. In the past, off the track Thoroughbreds were seen for the most part in the hunter and jumper show rings. As times evolved and the popularity of the Warmblood grew, the hunter/ jumper industry saw fewer Thoroughbreds entering the rings. Thoroughbreds developed a reputation of being hard keepers: not keeping weight as easy as other breeds, prone to lameness issues with poor hoof health and refined bone structure. They also developed a reputation of being high strung and not as consistent as other breeds, making them harder to ride and train. However, with the help of non-profit organizations there has been a surge in Thoroughbreds resurfacing in multiple disciplines. The negative reputation these horses developed is now being reversed through better education of overall

11

management and training for off the track Thoroughbreds. OTTBs are highly re-trainable and can be competitive in any discipline. They are exposed to more surroundings on the track compared to other breeds. They have also been handled daily since they were weanlings, and their willingness to please and learn surpasses other breeds. The Retired Racehorse Project was formed in 2010 and by 2015 the organization hosted the Thoroughbred Makeover and National Symposium, presented by Thoroughbred Charities of America, in Lexington, Kentucky. Hundreds of participants came to compete, watch and support the first national symposium and expo. According to The Retired Racehorse Project’s website, www.therrp.org, its mission is “to facilitate placement of Thoroughbred ex-racehorses in second careers by increasing demand for them in equestrian sports and serving the farms, trainers, and organizations that transition them.” The impact of RRP’s educational programs and Thoroughbred Makeover has been substantial. According to RRP’s website since its inception “RRP’s educational programming along with its signature event, the Thoroughbred Makeover and National Symposium, have made a significant impact on the Thoroughbred aftercare industry by jump-starting demand for retiring racehorses and serving as a complement to other aftercare organizations and initiatives.” Since 2013, 4,048 entries have been accepted from 46 American states and four Canadian provinces. And while not every horse registered will compete in Lexington, Ky, 3,641 horses have been impacted by the Makeover process. Kristen Kovatch Bentley, Communication Manager for

“RRP’s educational programming along with its signature event, the Thoroughbred Makeover and National Symposium, have made a significant impact on the Thoroughbred aftercare industry by jump-starting demand for retiring racehorses and serving as a complement to other aftercare organizations and initiatives.”

RRP said, “While the Makeover is not for every horse retiring from racing, the educational structure of the competition process ensures that participating horses transition smoothly to their next chapter after the track.” RRP’s Thoroughbred Makeover and National Symposium presented by Thoroughbred Charities of America took place October 12- 15. RRP hosted 281 horses in 426 individual performances across ten riding sports: Barrel Racing, Competitive Trail, Dressage, Eventing, Field Hunters, Freestyle, Polo, Ranch Work, Show Hunters and Show Jumpers. The Mid-south had over 10 riders and horses compete in Lexington at the Makeover. We take a closer look at the midsouth competitors and their retired racehorses; why they choose an OTTB, as well as their biggest challenges throughout the retraining process and their goals for their Thoroughbreds’ second careers.

Winners of the Retired Racehorse Project’s Thoroughbred Makeover and National Symposium, presented by Thoroughbred Charities of America are highlighted on page 10. Photos are as follows: 1. Racing Ace, ridden by Amanda Gomez in Show hunters. 2. Hieronymus, ridden by Isabel Wells, a Junior rider in Competitive Trail. 3. Not Gonna Happen, ridden by Brooke Frederick in Barrels. 4. Mike Mike, ridden by Cameron Sadler in Field Hunters. 5. Anna One Anna Two by Bushwood Polo (Team) in Polo. 6. Prince of New York, ridden by Chris Bennings in Show Jumpers. 7. Dont Ask Kinmon, ridden by Alice Beckman in Ranchwork. 8. Buckeye Warrior, ridden by Holly Zecchin in Dressage. 9. Supreme Irene, ridden by Monique Cameron in Freestyle. 10. She’s a Bold One ridden by Jenna Denver, a Junior rider, in Eventing. Photos courtesy of CanterClix.


Mid-South Horse Review

12

Versatility of the Thoroughbred

People & Horses Out Foundation. He was rehabilitated from 2 fractured legs. We used the motto “BROKEN CRAYONS STILL COLOR.” In your opinion what makes the Thoroughbred special? Thoroughbreds are amazing athletes and are SO willing to please. Thoroughbreds love having a job. They are enthusiastic partners and have beautiful movement. They are also amazingly versatile. What has been the biggest challenge throughout the retraining process? Irene was a very emotional mare and required an exceptional amount of patience and structure.

Monique Cameron-Hamby and Supreme Irene, Winners of RRP’s TB Makeover Freestyle Division. Photo by CanterClix

Monique CameronHamby Monique Cameron-Hamby has been training horses since 1989. She trains out of Rockin’ H Ranch in Hackett, Ark. Monique starts colts and trains and exercises racehorse. Prior to 2019, she did not do any showing. Since then she has shown in Trail and Obstacle competitions. Her main focus is starting colts and fillies of any breed, but 99% of her clients own Thoroughbreds. Tell us about your OTTB: Supreme Irene is a 5- yearold bay mare out of Kisses for Caroline by lntidab. She was

born in Wisconsin on May 24, 2017. Irene is owned by Don and Connie Redden. She raced at Churchill Downs, Arlington Park, Prairie Meadows and Hawthorne Race Course finishing her career with 15 starts: Zero wins, 2 seconds, 1 third and $9,180.00 in winnings. I started young horses and trained racing horses for the Reddens when I had a training center “All the Kings Horses,” in northern Illinois. I chose freestyle and competitive trail for Irene because I thought the slower pace and focus would suit her personality and abilities at this point in her training. Is this your first TB Makeover, if not how many have you shown at? This was the 2nd horse I have trained for the Thoroughbred Makeover. Wally K finished 6th in Competitive Trail in 2019. Wally K was adopted through the Galloping

Who has helped you the most during this retraining process? The horses from the past: My experience with thousands of young Thoroughbreds over 35 years has helped me the most. Breyon Johnson, Cheryl Reyher and Bonnie Gerdes were 3 of the many wonderful people involved in this undertaking. One word that describes your mount? WOW!!! Monique and Supreme Irene finished first overall in the Freestyle division. Here is her recap of her experience: “What an amazing and fun experience the Makeover has been! We went to Kentucky with only 2 people who had been practicing this freestyle routine! Ten different people at the Makeover jumped in and filled the parts and moved the props at lightning speed. The teamwork was phenomenal. My thanks to everyone. Don and Connie Redden who own Supreme Irene have always been truly dedicated to their ex-racehorses’ futures. I hope the training Irene received will assure her friends wherever she goes. “Perhaps the greatest kindness you can do any horse is to educate him well.” T Roberts

Haley Pruitt Haley Pruitt, an Amateur rider from Lakeland, Tenn., rides with trainer Emma Miller at Southwind Stables in Olive Branch, Miss, and has been riding for seven years. Haley started riding in the Hunter/Jumper discipline, but since her horses have been at her home barn she has been riding in multiple disciplines. She mainly shows in Show Jumping and Eventing. Tell us about your OTTB: Ringo, JC Name: My Little Tip, is a 2017 Thoroughbred gelding. He raced 11 times, primarily at Oaklawn. Ringo placed third one time, earning $5,916. I bought him from my family who bred, trained, and raced him. I trained him for Show Jumping because it is what I am most familiar with, but we have dabbled a bit in trail riding, cow sorting, and Hunters. I had initially wanted to compete in Showjumpers and Show Hunters, but he has proven to be quite brave and fast, so we switched plans and went with Eventing. Why did you decide to enter RRP? In 2019, I got my first two horses off the track from my family. We went through a large learning curve together. I got to teach them everything they knew off the track, and they taught me how to take care of and retrain horses. Through this experience, every achievement felt so special, and they just turned out to be the best horses I could’ve expected. Therefore, when I learned about this show and the fact that people take these OTTB’s and train them in any discipline imaginable, and because people loved being able to experience these moments, it became a dream to show here one day.

In your opinion what makes the Thoroughbred special? Everything. They are so versatile, willing, forgiving, full of personality, and competitive. They go from hard working, strenuous jobs on the racetrack to great lesson horses, amateur horses, or upper-level horses. They face every new challenge wholeheartedly and successfully. What has been the biggest challenge throughout the retraining process? For myself, finding the time to ride and train. I have a lot of weeks where I don’t have time to ride and lots of weeks where I may only get to ride once or twice. For Ringo, his nerves. When I first got him, he was so nervous, and it made me question if I was going to be able to train him. It took us seven months to really get along and start working well together. Who has helped you the most during this retraining

Photo by CanterClix

process? My trainer, Emma Miller, who helped us work through the nerves and anxiety we both have. She has also helped me with his flat work and jumping.

What were you most nervous about? Jumping—I think every time we have a jumping show, I freak out thinking I don’t know how to jump anymore and that it is all going to go wrong. It never does with him though so it’s a misplaced fear. Advice you would give to anyone looking to purchase an OTTB? Consult your trainer first and utilize their eye and experience while shopping. I have gotten all three of my horses, including Ringo, on a bit of a whim without informing my trainers. Other than that, find the horses that gives you a special feeling, and then take your time, listen to them, and be willing to ask for help.


November, 2022

13

Versatility of the Thoroughbred

Laura Moquett

Laura Moquett is an assistant trainer for Moquett Racing. She trains her horses on the side and utilizes coaching as much as possible. Her RRP horse, “Whitmore,” won the 2020 Breeders’ Cup Sprint and was named the 2020 American Champion Sprinter at age seven. Whitmore’s other major wins included the 2017 Phoenix Stakes and 2018 Forego Stakes. He was also known for his winning record at Oaklawn Park, in Hot Springs, Ark. He won the Hot Springs Stakes four times in a row and the Count Fleet Sprint Handicap three times. His career earnings were over $4.5 million. Tell us about your OTTB: Whitmore is a 9-year-old gelding that last raced at Saratoga. He ran 43 races finishing 1513-5. Whitmore and I met in our racing barn when he was shipped in as a 2-year-old. I decided to train him for the TB Makeover in Competitive Trail since he was a very curious horse. I wanted to give his body another year to recover before doing the strenuous activities that the other disciplines require. Did your horse have any racing injuries? If so, tell us a little about that injury and the rehab process: Yes, he had a small fracture off the top of his medial sesamoid at the suspensory attachment. He had surgery at Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital with Dr. Bramlege and recovered at Rebecca Makers farm in Lexington, KY. He shipped down to the Oaklawn training center in Benton, AR in December to start his retraining. Time constraints made it difficult for me to start him properly until we got back to Kentucky in May. Retraining was very low key physically and focused mainly on quiet trail riding and obstacle training. Why did you decide to enter TB Makeover? I really wanted Whitmore’s fans to be able to read the next chapter in his story. Hopefully it piques someone’s interest in OTTB’s

and makes them connect with the RRP and start an OTTB of their own. It is a great way to get a quality athlete that can compete in whichever discipline you choose. In your opinion what makes the Thoroughbred special? Thoroughbreds are created to be athletes. This gives them so many options as sport horses. Also, their will to please is unparalleled. What has been the biggest challenge throughout the retraining process? My biggest challenge has been to find enough time to cram years’ worth of training into a few months! That’s what makes the challenge so fun! Who has helped you the most during this retraining process? My racetrack family has helped me the most during this process. They’ve made it possible to have the time it took to work with Whit as much as possible! I could not have got-

Photo by CanterClix

ten him to this level without their support! What are your hopes for this horse? That Whit will be a relaxed and willing partner for the future. I’m not sure what discipline or level that will entail, but I feel like Competitive Trail was a great place to start! Advice you would give to anyone looking to purchase an OTTB? Study your sport and know what you’re looking for. Understand that retraining takes an investment in time and money. Having coaches set-up to help with that is key. At the end of the day, you’ll have a partner for life! What keeps you motivated throughout the training process? I’m always searching for the moment when my horse understands what I’m asking of him. (Best feeling ever!) Their response to my questions is what makes me keep working.

What did your OTTBs pick up on quickly? Holiday Stone – Jumping. Secret Town - relaxation and translations. Who has helped you the most during this retraining process? Boo Montgomery (fellow pro whipper-in at the Mells). What were you most excited about leading up to RRP? Showcasing these horses’ talents. What were you most nervous about? How my horses will cope in a fast group again.

Clare Pinney Clare Marie Pinney has been riding for 37 years and has been a horse trainer for 28 years. Pinney trains and rides out of Hyde Away Farm in Lynnville, Tenn. This was Pinney’s third time competing in the Thoroughbred Makeover and National Symposium, presented by Thoroughbred Charities of America. Tell us about your OTTB: I have two horses. Holiday Stone raced at Belmont Park, Trudeau, Saratoga, and Keeneland to name a few. I found him through Jennifer Reisenbichler and Natasia Linnd. I love Eventing and Foxhunting and he is so workmanlike I thought he’d excel in these disciplines. Secret Town raced at Belterra, Turfway, Mahong, Mountaineer, and Ellis. I found her through her owner Lei Ruck-

Photo by CanterClix le. She is super relaxed so she is doing Field Hunters and Dressage. What other breeds and disciplines have you ridden and shown? The list is long! I have ridden and shown Welsh ponies, Friesians, Warmbloods, Arabians, Tennessee Walking Horses, and Quarter Horses. In your opinion what makes the Thoroughbred special? The heart and courage they have and the drive to win. What has been the biggest challenge throughout the retraining process? Time! I manage a full service equine barn and I am a professional whipper-in for the Mells Foxhounds. Making time to focus solely on them has been tough.

What are your hopes for these horses? Holiday Stone will be a staff horse for Foxhunting and I hope to Event him at upper levels. Secret Town is going to be a Field Hunter for her owner. Advice you would give to anyone looking to purchase an OTTB? Go with a reputable reseller and always have a PPE (pre-purchase exam), but remember you can’t ride the X-rays. What keeps you motivated throughout the training process? My love for training horses. One word that describes your mount? Holiday Stone – Workmanlike, Secret town - Kind


Mid-South Horse Review

14

Versatility of the Thoroughbred

Caitlin Milford

Caitlin Milford is an Amateur rider from Elkmont, Ala. She rides with trainer Meris Greges of Cotton Meadows Farm. Caitlin has been riding for 25 years in Dressage and Eventing. She has competed through training level eventing and first level dressage. Tell us about your OTTB: Going Beserk (barn name “Ender”) is a 2018 OTTB by Kitten’s Joy out of Anura by Giant’s Causeway, bred by SF Bloodstock LLC. He raced twice, once at Gulfstream Park in Florida and once at Canterbury Park in Minnesota. He won a total of 700 dollars on the track and was retired after it was clear he didn’t have the desire to run. He was purchased off the track by an Eventing trainer in Lexington, KY and advertised for sale in late August of 2022. I reached out to the reseller who currently had him, and then had a friend of mine visit the farm to see him ridden. She raved about him, talking about his curious personality and wonderful movement. I had him vetted, and the vet performing the pre-purchase was very enthusiastic about his sweet personality and his athletic ability. I’ve always loved Dressage, so it wasn’t a hard decision to enter into dressage at the RRP TB Makeover. He’s taken to it so well, and it’s been so rewarding to watch him learn throughout these last months. Why did you decide to enter the TB Makeover? I think that the RRP competition has helped build the reputation of the Thoroughbred as a wonderful partner for a wide variety of riders, and I wanted to be a part of that. They do a fantastic job showcasing the versatility of the breed. In your opinion what makes the Thoroughbred special? I believe that the combination of their heart and athlet-

icism really makes them shine as partners in any equestrian sport. I’ve ridden many different breeds, but there’s something about the Thoroughbred’s mind and willingness that will always set them apart for me. What has been the biggest challenge throughout the retraining process? The biggest challenge for me has been keeping Ender focused. He has talent and is willing, but he’s a baby so sometimes we get distracted. What did your TB pick up on quickly? He’s been a quick study at pretty much everything we’ve tried our hand at, but he’s had a natural ability for Dressage since day one. Who has helped you the most during this retraining process? My trainer, Meris, has helped me a lot with our dressage. My friends, Savannah and Laura, have also been a huge help, keeping me motivated even when things got hard. What were you most excited about leading up to the TB Makeover? I was most excited about getting to build my OTTB’s resume and giving him a positive experience in a huge environment. Advice you would give to anyone looking to purchase an OTTB? This really depends on what kind of horse you’re looking for. If you’re looking for an amateur friendly, young horse that you can bring along by yourself, then I’d recommend that you purchase through a reputable reseller. I personally want to know a little more about my potential horse’s temperament and rideability before I commit to what’s hopefully a long-term partnership. I also strongly recommend that you invest in a pre-purchase exam. A thorough vetting can save you from a lot of heartache and unexpected bills.

Photo courtesy of Caitlin Milford


November, 2022

Versatility of the Thoroughbred

15

Young Riders Julia Whitehead Julia Whitehead, a Junior rider from Collierville, Tenn, who rides out of her family’s personal barn. Julia has done all of the retaining of her OTTB, Leland, but she has received a lot of help from her employer and trainer, Robyn Miller, of Point Pleasant Farm in Mount Pleasant, Miss. Robyn has coached Julia and Leland with her expertise in natural horsemanship since May 2022, and it has made a huge difference in both Julia’s riding ability and Leland’s training. Tell us about your OTTB: Name: Lee’s Luck, known as “Leland,” is an 8-year-old gelding who retired from racing in December, 2021. He had 65 starts, making him a “war horse,” and won over $100,000 on the track. I found Leland through Canter USA’s Illinois affiliate, and fell in love with him the first time I saw his sweet face. Leland was the perfect horse for me in the Ranch discipline because of his short stature, 15.1 hands, and his stocky build that resembles a quarter horse. Did your horse have any racing injuries? If so, tell us a little about that injury and the rehab process: Leland retired completely sound, even after 65 starts and as an almost 8-year-old horse. Why did you decide to enter TB Makeover? I wanted to test my ability as a trainer and challenge myself by transitioning a horse straight off the track to a new and quite different career.

Photo by CanterClix

What other breeds and disciplines have you ridden and shown? I have ridden several breeds including Quarter Horses, Warmbloods, Mules, and Mustangs, and currently have

Section Sponsored By: a Quarter Horse mare who I show in Ranch versatility, cow work, and obstacle competitions. In your opinion what makes the Thoroughbred special? I love Thoroughbreds because I find they have a love of people and a lot of try. They are raised around humans and have a lot of handling from a young age, and that is all they know. They learn to fit into our world incredibly well, and all of the Thoroughbreds I have worked with love people and try their hardest to please. What has been the biggest challenge throughout the retraining process? Leland has struggled with confidence, especially when alone, so a big challenge has been getting him to trust me instead of looking to other horses for comfort. Who has helped you the most during this retraining process? My mom has been very supportive throughout the entire training process and has been a huge part of my success. She has been willing to go on any adventure that Leland and I might want to go on. She has cheered us on at home and at competitions, and has cared for him when I wasn’t able to. What are you most excited about leading up to TB Makeover? I am very excited to meet new trainers and their horses, and watch these recently restarted Thoroughbreds compete in their new disciplines, including everything from Eventing to Ranch work to polo. One word that describes your mount? Willing


Mid-South Horse Review

16

Versatility of the Thoroughbred - Young Riders

Section Sponsored By:

Cora Halla Cora Halla, a Junior rider from Jackson, Tenn., rides out of Oak Grove Stables and takes lessons with trainer Danielle Tursky. She has been riding for seven years. Her OTTB, She’s Forever, barn name Grace, was a project Cora took on herself, doing all the retraining and prep for the TB Makeover. Tell us about your OTTB: Grace’s Jockey Club name is She’s Forever. She came off Spendthrift Farm and raced at Churchill Downs and Keeneland, among others. She’s a 4-year-old, born April 4, 2018, and ran in 14 races. Her placings were 1 first, 0 second, and 2 thirds and she won $34,495. Grace’s last race was December 18, 2021. I found her on the OTTB marketplace on Facebook, and I decided to train her in Show Jumping because that is my passion and she took to jumping very well and seems to really enjoy it! Why did you decide to enter TB Makeover? This has been my dream for years. I thought it would be a very educational and exciting challenge. What other breeds and disciplines have you ridden and shown? I have ridden a variety of breeds, such as Quarter Horses, Thoroughbreds, Draft crosses, Warmbloods, Arabian crosses, ponies, and a few Gaited horses. I have mainly shown in Hunters, Dressage, and Show Jumping, but in my early years of riding I did Barrel Racing and Western Pleasure.

In your opinion what makes the Thoroughbred special? I love how big and powerful they are. They are sensitive and high strung which makes them a challenging and exciting horse to ride and train. They always put forth 100% effort into everything they do. What has been the biggest challenge throughout the retraining process? The biggest challenge was learning how to ride and train a large, young, and very spirited horse after mainly riding an older, slower Quarter Horse pony. What did your TB pick up on quickly? She picked up on jumping very quickly. She is very brave over fences and jumps with room to spare. Who has helped you the most during this retraining process? My mom.

Photo by CanterClix

What were you most excited about leading up to the TB Makeover? Being in a big show environment and hopefully showing all the hard work that we put into this.

What were you most nervous about? I was nervous about going without a trainer because she was not able to make it this year, but thankfully she was available when I texted for help. What are your hopes for this horse? I hope to continue her training in Show Jumping, and start to train her in Eventing. I hope to continue to move up the levels with her in either one of these disciplines. Advice you would give to anyone looking to purchase an OTTB? I would look for one that has good strong legs and kind eyes. I love horses that are curious, brave, and have a desire to learn. messenger we went out to see and ride Sox. I instantly fell in love. Sox competed in Dressage and Show Hunters because of his natural uphill gates and floaty movement, as well as his incredible jump with snappy knees and braveness to fences. Did your horse have any racing injuries? If so tell us a little about that injury and the rehab process: None Is this your first TB Makeover? If not, how many have you shown at: Yes! This is my first TB Makeover. What did your TB pick up on quickly? Jumping! Who has helped you the most during this retraining process? My trainer, Amy Walsh, my mom, and Sox’s care team What are you most nervous about? How big the environment is! One word that describes your mount? Extraordinary

Zara Hamidi Zara Hamidi, a Junior rider from Bentonville, Ark, rides out of Horses for Healing. She has been showing in Dressage and show hunters for six years under the guidance of her trainer, Amy Walsh.

Photo by CanterClix Tell us about your OTTB: Roho, or as he is known around the barn, Sox, is a 5-year-old from the Cherokee Casino Will Rogers Downs in Oklahoma. Sox only ran twice and made a total of $160 due to his lack of speed. He placed 7th and 9th in his two races. I put an ISO out on Facebook and I found him thanks to his previous owner commenting. After talking with his previous owner through Facebook’s

To See more photos of these Mid-South riders and their OTTBs from the TB Makeover scan code below or visit: www.midsouthhorsereview.com/versatility-of-the-thoroughbred


November, 2022

17

Versatility of the Thoroughbred - Young Riders

work ethic. What has been the biggest challenge throughout the retraining process? Dealing with equine health issues and maintaining a consistent training schedule while balancing school. What did your TB pick up on quickly? Dressage Tests Who has helped you the most during this retraining process? My trainer, Kate Menees, and my mom.

Aly Mayhall Aly Mayhall is a 17- year- old Junior rider. She rides out of her home barn in Wilmer, Ala. with her trainer, Kate Menees. Aly has ridden her entire life. She has ridden in all disciplines but competed in Eventing and Competitive Trail at RRP’s Thoroughbred Makeover. Tell us about your OTTB: Toshita Forever is a 7-yr-old mare with 50 starts: 1 second, 5 thirds. Her last race was at Evangeline in LA on 9/9/21. Toshita Forever was at New Vocations in Covington, LA which was close enough for us to see her in person. I was looking for an eventing horse. Did your horse have any racing injuries? If so tell us a little about that injury and the rehab process: She retired sound.

Photo courtesy of Leslie Mayhall Is this your first TB Makeover? If not how many have you shown at: This is my first Makeover. Why did you decide to enter RRP? To see how my skills training an OTTB compared to professional trainers and to honor my grandmother who always supported my equine activities. What other breeds and disciplines have you ridden and shown? I have ridden and shown Quarter Horses in ranch, polocrosse, English, horsemanship, Eventing, halter, showmanship, obstacles, and speed events. I have shown and ridden Tennessee Walking Horses in flat, equitation, Dressage, obstacles, halter, showmanship. And Thoroughbreds in Eventing, flat, jumping, and equitation. In your opinion what makes the Thoroughbred special? Their intelligence, willingness to learn, and strong

What were you most excited about leading up to TB Makeover? Showing in a world class venue. What were you most nervous about? The possibility of her melting down around such a chaotic environment and extended time in a stall. What are your hopes for this horse? I hope she will become an upper level eventer horse. Advice you would give to anyone looking to purchase an OTTB? Don’t discount the older “warhorses.” They usually have more experience in a variety of venues and if they are still sound, they will probably stay sound. What keeps you motivated throughout the training process? The desire to strengthen the bond between my horse and me. One word that describes your mount: Willing


Mid-South Horse Review

18

Horse Tech Connecting the OTTB Community through Digital By Juliana Chapman, The Tech Equestrian

Thoroughbred specific shows and more,” she explained. Currently there are more than 200 users on the app. “My goal is to double that by the New Year and a long-term goal is to keep growing and expanding the users and information in the app,” she shared. Given how versatile the breed is, there may be equestrians who ride in different disciplines, but they all have the common ground of owning or riding a Thoroughbred. “Even though it is geared towards the Thoroughbred, it is a welcoming space for equestrians of all disciplines,” said Lauren. “I wanted to bridge the gap between disciplines and connect OTTB owners of all backgrounds.” Platform Power The app provides a platform which allows you to read the blog, share your activity on the wall, make a profile, connect with members, participate in forms and post in groups. “As we increase members and add more content, the opportunity to connect will be even greater,” Lauren pointed out. “I’m also planning on creating another tier of the app that includes access to more in-depth educational content, as well as giving back to the OTTB community,” she shared. Experience the OTTB Mafia Brand on Etsy Lauren features her prominent brand on a dedicated Etsy store page called OTTB Mafia. “Our most popular selling item is the black and white logo hat,” said Lauren. “We also have socks, t-shirts, and Thoroughbred stickers which make great gifts for the upcoming season.” If you are looking for OTTB merchandise, this is a great place to start to support the breed. Lauren Simmons, founder of OTTB Mafia app As we know there are no limits to the versatility and intelligence of the Thoroughbred. So, it is no surprise that they are a fan favorite in the digital world as well. The Tech Equestrian had a chance to find out more about an exciting new educational community-based app from founder and creator, Lauren Simmons. Lauren has dedicated her talent to this wonderful breed by introducing a community app that features a diverse mix of news, opportunities, events and more making it an ideal one-stop digital resource for Thoroughbred owners, riders, and enthusiasts. First Love Lauren grew up riding in Maryland and started taking lessons at the age of six. “It was immediate; as soon as I started riding, I was hooked,” shared Lauren. Her ‘go to’ discipline is hunters and equitation and at the age of 12 she advanced from ponies to horses as her skills grew. “I have so many fond memories of my first horse Romeo who was an off the track Thoroughbred, and that pretty much started my passion for off the track thoroughbreds,” she said. At the moment Lauren does not have a horse but has experience owning several OTTB’s over the years and plans to be in the market soon for another one. A Name to Remember The OTTB Mafia app launched in June 2022. Asked about the name choice for the app, Lauren said she wanted to create a memorable and unique name for the app so that people would remember. “Mafia,” which literally means a group of people with similar interests or backgrounds, seemed to work since OTTB Mafia is a community-based app around the common interest of the Thoroughbred,” she explained. In creating the app, Lauren specifically looked at featuring all things OTTB in one location. “I designed the app to make it easy for users to seek advice, participate in forums, find training tips, post OTTB related jobs/volunteer opportunities, see upcoming

Tech Test Drive “I encourage everyone, whether they own or ride a Thoroughbred to download the app for free along with following OTTB Mafia on Facebook and Instagram.” Her main channel of marketing is through social media, and she is planning to go to more horse shows to help spread the word including events in Aiken, South Carolina, and the Carolina Horse Park. “As equestrians these are exciting times to ride and share your experiences with those near and far by leveraging technology. I think in five years we will see technology really take off in the equine industry and this includes an emphasis on using technology to help with safety precautions in the sport, as well as in veterinary diagnostics,” said Lauren. OTTB Mafia Website: https:// ottbmafia.com Facebook: @OTTB.MAFIA Instagram: ottb_mafia Download the free OTTB Mafia App on Google Play & the Apple store

Juliana Chapman is a contributing writer for the Mid-South Horse Review, and the founder of The Tech Equestrian, a technology and lifestyle blog centered on connecting equestrians and creating awareness of the latest technology solutions in the horse world. Sample blog post on the OTTB Mafia page.


November, 2022

19

Working Horse Panther Creek’s Fall Roundup Photos and Content by Paul Nolte

During the annual fall roundup, held the week of October 10th, calves were weaned from their mothers and three, large Angus bulls were rounded up for a quick medical check and vaccinations. The three bulls had other ideas though. The bull roundup became an event of its own. The youngest bull wanted nothing to do with the other two, and decided he was not going onto the stock trailer. By the end of the day the cowboys and cowgirls sorted and worked the bulls, herd of cows and calves, making it an exciting fall event on the ranch.

Panther Creek Stables is a sprawling, working cattle ranch in north Mississippi. It is also a multi-discipline; English and Western, equine facility teaching riding lessons and offering Equine Assisted Therapy.


Mid-South Horse Review

20

Competition Zone Nashoba Carriage Classic Oct 14-16, 2022 Once again this year Mother Nature did her best to deter the competent carriage drivers, but she did not prevail. Starting at 10:24 am Saturday, there was a weather delay due to unexpected lightening and heavy rain, but the show continued at 2:00pm with a few modifications in the schedule in order to finish before the culinary delights were served later in the evening. Midsouth drivers were joined by road warriors from Texas, Kentucky, Nebraska, and New York. Several drivers noted this was a bucket list event for them and they were excited to participate. Joining the 35 driving entries were 5 Sidesaddle riders who also rode in Sunday’s Magnolia Drive, replete with mimosa’s and a poker run. The weekend kicked off Friday night with “Juleps in Germantown” and 20 entries in the Driving Derby, where speed and accuracy win. Held annually in October at the Germantown Charity Horse Show grounds in Germantown, TN, this pleasure driving show recognized by the American Driving Society has become an important event in the carriage show calendar. For more information about the show, carriage driving, and the Nashoba Carriage Association go to www.nashobacarriage.org Photos by Paul Nolte: https://www.paulnoltephotography.net

Tri-County Farm Services

Shop for Holiday Gifts, Hunting Gear & Horse & Farm Supplies. We have Gift Cards and More!

Visit Us: Tri-County Farm Services 2274 McIngvale Rd. Hernando, MS 38632

Contact Us: (662) 429-0681 stephanie@tricountyfarmservices.net www.tricountyfarmservices.net

In Business Since 1992 | Locally Owned | Exceptional Customer Service


November, 2022

21

Brownland Farm’s Autumn Challenge Series

Caelinn Leahy aboard Steve Schaefer’s, Zarkava won the $30,000 Brownland Farm Grand Prix

$30,000 Brownland Farm Horse Show Autumn Challenge Grand Prix! David Jennings who defended his title and took home the blue aboard, Follow Me, owned by The Follow Me Group. Photos by Lili Weik | https://liliweik.photostockplus.com

$7,500 Autumn Country Welcome Stake winner was awarded to Stephanie Collier aboard Caretoo, owned by Fernando Comune

The $10,000 Brownland Farm Autumn County Hunter Derby winners, Kelly Mullen on Cloud 9, owned by ETA Equestrian LLC

$7500 Welcome Stake winner, David Jennings aboard Lee Hatcher’s, Ziggy Blue PVF


Mid-South Horse Review

22

Mississippi Hunter Jumper Association’s Back to School Show

Ella Thomas and Keepsake Winners of Southern AgCredit Flat Equitation Challenge

Florence Bearden & Lowercase, Champion in walk trot and cross rails Photo By Nathalie Bearden

Ages 8–12 Ages 5–95

Ages 9–13

Meryl Bearden & Gayfields Class Pet, Reserve Champion in Short Stirrup Photo By Nathalie Bearden

Christine Moody MYM Honey Bee 2nd in equitation challenge

BOOKS MAKE GREAT GIFTS FOR HORSE-CRAZY KIDS Find the Best Horse Books at

Trafalgar Square Books HorseandRiderBooks.com


November, 2022

23

JLJ Productions Barrel Races


Mid-South Horse Review

24

Bull-O-Rama

Photos and Content by Paul Nolte cord number of sponsors and a packed house to cheer on the 29 riders. Neither the riders nor the stock, provided by BuckWild Bucking Stock, disappointed. Jayden Jackson had a high score of 82 points in the Junior Division. In the Open Division, Mr. Rooster Mckeeman of Celina Tenn. had two qualifying rides with scores of 86 and 88.5 for the overall win.

Northwest Mississippi Community College in Senatobia, Miss. held its annual fundraiser, Bull-O-Rama on Oct 22nd. The event raises money to help cover the school’s rodeo teams travel and rodeo expenses throughout the year. Coach Will Lummus and the team had the support of a re-


November, 2022

25

Marketplace Classifieds BOARDING Hillside Stables – Boarding with 2x daily feeding, stall cleaning and turnout. Retired/aged horses welcomed. Wound care/rehab available. Riding lessons -English or western. Includes covered arena, round pen and wonderful wooded trails. Full board $500.00. We are located, south of Collierville/Germantown, east of Olive Branch. www.HillsideStables.wordpress.com 901/857-7500 Premier Horse Boarding & Training. Full & pasture retirement board. Excellent care w/lots of amenities. Outdoor arena. Moscow, TN. 901-3313500 Dana Boarding at beautiful WHITE OAK FARM: Located on 40 acres in northeast Shelby County at 10023 Rosemark Rd. Fullboard $400/month. Board includes stall cleaning/shavings and morning/evening feedings. Numerous amenities include large stalls with windows, stall fans, heated waterers, turnout pastures, lighted outdoor arena or inside barn riding, crosstie area with hot/cold wash rack, fly spray system, Bermuda hay grown and baled onsite. Gated facility with owners and farm manager living on property. Call Sammy 901-833-3075.

HAY FOR SALE 4 X 5 Hay Rolls for sale. Top Quality mixed grass. Text or call Suzy 901497-1131 HORSES FOR SALE Caballos en venta: Quarter Horse weanlings, 2-year-olds, Blue Roans,Palominos & Buckskins Good conformation, easy movers: $850 & up.Foundation bred Stallions at Stud. 662-292-7384 or 662-292-0368. HORSE TRAINING Horse gentling & training the correct way. 6 days/ wk training & desensitizing. Quality grain & hay. Must have current Coggins/vaccs. Michael 901857-8060 SADDLE REPAIR

SADDLE & TACK REPAIR: Van’s Leather Craft. In stock new and used saddles and horse health products. Off Hwy. 309, 1909 Bubba Taylor Rd., Byhalia, MS. (662) 838-6269.

Lakeland: Barn & Barn Apartment for rent. 14 Stall barn with wash rack and tack room. 4 pastures totaling approx. 20 acres. $2,000 per month. (901)-3389686

Marketplace Business Cards 60 Front St., Suite 3 Rossville, TN 38066

MICHAEL BRYAN BRokER/owNER 901.849.5185 CELL

901.401.2208 Office Michael@BryanRG.com BryanRG.com

WE OWN AND SHOW HORSES, TOO! WE KNOW THE IMPORTANCE OF HAVING QUALITY INSURANCE COVERAGE FOR YOUR ANIMALS! WE OFFER MORTALITY INSURANCE, MEDICAL COVERAGES, & LIVESTOCK TRANSIT INSURANCE! CALL US FOR A QUOTE TODAY &LET US HELP YOU PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

William cole, owner & Producer 662-578-8300 office

tricia Wright, Producer 901-870-7733 cell

colelivestockinsurance@gmail.com

insuranceequine@gmail.com

10955 Hwy 6 W • Batesville, MS 38606 WWW.coleagencyliveStock.coM

©MSHR

Leigh Ann Carkeet Specializing in

Equestrian Properties ©MSHR

2260 Hwy 51 S. | Hernando, MS 38632

C raft Bee r S t at i on

EXXON 870 E. Commerce Hernando, MS (662) 469-4680

901-550-8892

leighanncarkeet@gmail.com

662-469-9055

www.louiesfamilyrx.com


Mid-South Horse Review

26

BOLIVAR, TN 38008

14840 HWY. 18 SOUTH

731-658-3931

HOURS: M-F: 7:00AM - 4PM

Specializing in Trailer Repair & Trailer Brakes We handle all automotive needs

©MSHR

New Hope Saddles & Tack 750 New Hope Road Ripley, TN 38063 Cell: 731-697-3356

Email: rlangly@bellsouth.net Saddles & Tack <> Saddle Repair Custom Leather Work

Hay Far

p a pBermuda Hay T

RALEIGH FEED STORE

FEED * SEED * FERTILIZER * BEDDING 4284 Fayette Rd. | Memphis, TN 38128 901-386-0923 Scott Lewis, owner Heather Lewis, mgr. find us:

We carry

dog food

619-436-9884

© MSHR

© MSHR

m

Round & Square Bales winter storage available

Mic hael Anderson Akin Equine BC_Layout 1 6/17/2022 10:45 AM Page 1

AKIN EQUINE VETERINARY SERVICES

MARK A. AKIN , DVM Practice limited to Lameness and Performance Issues associated with the Equine Athlete

©MSHR

By appointment only: 601-813-1128 cell 901-854-6773 (85-HORSE) MAkindvm86@gmail.com

901-277-4198

1 7 2 9 0 H w y. 7 6 • S o m e r v i l l e , T N

RELIABLE hobby or backyard farm sitting service Fee based on your individual needs, number of animals and specific tasks Veteran owned and operated | References available

Elaine Haw, DVM Kakki Wright, DVM

3718 MS-309N Byhalia, MS 38611 Office: (662) 895-7943 Fax: (662) 893-0048

THE ORIGINAL EQUINE PROTECTAVEST BLAZE ORANGE HORSEWEAR

FOR HUNTING SEASON AND RIDING SAFETY & VISIBILITY WWW.PROTECTAVEST.COM

Charles Mercer, DVM • Chara Short, DVM Allison Parnell, DVM • Miranda Easom, DVM

Phone: 662•893•2546

6740 CENTER HILL RD • OLIVE BRANCH, MS 38654 Clinic Open: Monday - Friday • 8:00 am - 5:00 pm


November, 2022

27

November Calendar of Events AGRICENTER SHOWPLACE ARENA 7777 Walnut Grove Rd., Memphis, TN http://www.agricenter.org/events/ NOV. 5-6: Volunteer Ranch Horse Show GERMANTOWN CHARITY ARENA www.gchs.org (901) 754-0009 NOV. 5: WTHJA Schooling Show NOV. 10-13: WTHJA Harvest Time Show NOV. 17-20: WTHJA Memphis Charity Show TENNESSEE MILLER COLISEUM MTSU Murfreesboro, TN www.mtsu.edu/ tmc NOV. 5-6: National Academy Championship Horse Show UT MARTIN AG PAVILLION & EQUESTRIAN www.utm.edu/departments/agnr/pavilion.php (731)881-7221 NOV. 4-5: Booster Club Barrel Race NOV. 17-18: Equestrian Team meet WILLIAMSON COUNTY AG EXPO PARK Franklin, TN (615) 595-1227 www.williamsoncounty-tn.gov/index. aspx?NID=594 NOV. 20-22: 4-H Livestock Camp NOV. 25-26: 4-H Horse Camp TENNESSEE HS RODEO ASSOCIATION (731) 658-5867 http://tnhsra.com Nov. 12-13: Cleveland, TN LITTLE BRITCHES RODEO www.nlbra.com, mslbra.org/schedule Nov. 12-13: Brandon, MS #7-8 Dec. 3-4: Brandon, MS #9-10 4-H https://4h.tennessee.edu/Pages/default.aspx https://extension.tennessee.edu/western/Pages/default.aspx http://extension.msstate.edu/4-h https://ag.tennessee.edu/AnimalScience/UTHorse/Pages/Shows. aspx#AnchorTop FIRST SUNDAY: Millington, TN. West Union Cumberland Presbyterian Church, 3099 West Union. Woodstock Ghost Riders 4-H Club. 3 pm. Info: Lydia Holland 901-282-9709; facebook: Woodstock Cuba Ghost

Riders COWBOY CHURCH Sarah, MS. 548 Bryant Lane. Bryant Lane Cowboy Church. Info: facebook Wynne, AR. CR 381. Three Trees Cowboy Church. Info: threetreescowboychurch.com; facebook Collierville, TN. 1656 N. Col-Arl. Rd. Old West Special Trails. Sunday 10:30 am. HORSE SALES/ADOPTIONS FIRST SATURDAY: Houston, MS. Triple E Livestock. Tack 10 am. Horses 2 pm. Info: A.J. Ellis 662401-9760; 662-266-2808 FOURTH SATURDAY: Holly Springs, MS. Marshall County Fairgrounds. Marshall Co. Livestock Exchange. 662-317-9021 FIRST, THIRD, FIFTH FRIDAY: Woodbury Livestock Market, 2403 McMinnville Hwy. Tack 5:30 p.m.; Horses 8 pm. Info: (423) 447-8119 FIRST SATURDAY: Hattiesburg, MS. T. Smith Livestock Sales. Tack 10:30 am. Horses 1:30 pm. Info: 601583-0828 SECOND SATURDAY: Gleason, TN. West TN Auction Barn. 330 Fence Rd. Tack 5:30 pm. Horses 8 pm. Info: Chucky Greenway 731571-8198 SECOND & FOURTH SATURDAY: Scotts Hill, TN. Scotts Hill Stockyard. Info: James Linville 731-5493523. www.facebook.com/scottshillstockyard SECOND & FOURTH SATURDAY: Carthage, MS. Farmers Livestock Marketing. Tack 1 pm. Horses 5 pm. Info: 601-267-7884; 662-317-9021 BARREL RACING http://www.nbha.com; https://ibra. us/shows/US-TN-WEST DEC. 2-4: Memphis, TN. Lucky Dog Barrel Races. Info: www.luckydograces.com DRESSAGE www.midsouthdressageacademy.org, www.TNDressage.com, www.tvdcta. org, kentuckydressageassociation. com, https://sites.google.com/view/ greystonedressage/home NOV. 5-6: Cleveland, TN. Tri-State Exhibition Center. Centerline Schooling Show. Info: Tricia Miles 239860-2265 NOV. 19-20: Hernando, MS. MidSouth Dressage Academy. Turkey

Trot USDF show. www.midsouthdressageacademy.org EVENTING http://useventing.com; www.river-glen.com NOV. 11-13: New Market, TN. River Glen Fall HT. www.river-glen.com NOV. 19: Olive Branch, MS. Southwind Stables. Combined Test. Info: facebook HUNTER/JUMPER http://wthja.com, https://mhja.info, www.brownlandfarm.com, www. mthja.com, www.ethja.org www.gulfcoastclassiccompany.com NOV. 5: Germantown, TN. GCHS Arena. WTHJA Schooling Show. Info: www.wthja.com NOV. 10-13: Germantown, TN. GCHS Arena. WTHJA Harvest Time. Info: www.wthja.com NOV. 17-20: Germantown, TN. GCHS Arena. WTHJA Memphis Charity. Info: www.wthja.com PAINT/PINTO www.apha.com, www.missphc.com, tphconline11.homestead.com, www. volunteerstatepintoorg.com DEC. 9-11: Murfreesboro, TN. Miller Coliseum. Vol. State Pinto Org. www.volunteerstatepintoorg.com QUARTER HORSE SHOWS www.tqha.org, www.mqha.org, www. wtqha.org, www.midsouthquarterhorse.com, facebook Mid-South Breeders DEC. 2-4: Harriman, TN. Roane State Expo center. TQHA Hillbilly Classic. Info: www.tqha.org DEC. 10-11: Holiday Classic MSU Horse Park Starkville, MS www. mqha.org RANCH HORSE www.americanranchhorse.net, www. volrha.com OCT. 9: Moscow, TN. Gould Arena. Ranch Horse Show. Info: Parker Bradford (901) 651-1145 NOV. 5-6: Memphis, TN. Show Place Arena. VolRHA show NOV. 13: Moscow, TN. Gould Arena. Ranch Horse Show. Info: Parker Bradford (901) 651-1145 RODEOS & BULL RIDING www.ipra-rodeo.com, www.prorodeo.com, www.lonestarrodeocompany.com boy Church Rodeo

NOV. 5: Houston, MS. Hayseed Cowboy Church Rodeo DEC. 1-10: Las Vegas, NV. Thomas & Mack Center. Wrangler National Finals Rodeo. ROPING www.ustrc.com, www.jx2events.com JUL. 9-10: McDonald, TN. Tri State Exhibition Center. USTRC Signature Series. AUG. 12-14: Memphis, TN. Show Place Arena. USTRC Memphis Qualifier. NOV. 4-5: Mulvane, Kan. Kansas Star Arena. National Finals Steer Roping NOV. 29-30: Las Vegas, NV. South Point Arena. Wrangler National Finals Breakaway Roping. TUESDAY: Moscow, TN. Team Roping practice, Sonny Gould Arena, 1985 Poole Rd. 6-9 p.m. $25 Info: 901-491-1678. TUESDAY: Humboldt, TN. Goodrich Arena. Calf roping, Breakaway, Gymnastics. 5:30-8 PM. Info: 731-426-2530 SADDLE CLUB SEP. 3, 17: Holly Springs, MS. Marshall Co. Fairgrounds. Ingrams Mill Saddle Club Shows OCT. 1,8,29: Holly Springs, MS. Marshall Co. Fairgrounds. Ingrams Mill Saddle Club Shows SUNDAYS: Memphis, TN. 4269 N. Watkins. Cook’s Lake Saddle Club. 2 pm. Start April 10. Info: Wes (901) 570-3595 STOCK HORSE/WORKING COW HORSE www.americanstockhorse.org, https:// www.mtsustockhorse.org/events. html; www.tnsha.org NOV. 18-19: Murfreesboro, TN. Miller Coliseum. Info: www.tnsha. org TEAM PENNING & RANCH SORTING www.ustpa.com, www.rsnc.us NOV. 11-12: Moscow, TN. Gould Arena. Ranch Sorting. Info: 901-6511145


28

Mid-South Horse Review