Issuu on Google+

Washburn University

Check out more Huff N’ Puff coverage online at washburnreview. org .

TheReview Serving Washburn Universit y since 1873

WWW.WASHBURNREVIEW.ORG • (785) 670-2506

volume 138, Issue 4 • wednesday, September 12, 2012

1700 S.W. College • topeka, kan. 66621

Career and graduate fair is today in Lee Arena Tricia Peterson

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Washburn University Career and Graduate Fair has something for every Washburn student, no matter if they are seniors or freshmen. Some may think it’s only for third and fourth year students, but much more is offered in addition to graduate employment. Washburn University Career Services holds a career fair twice a year, but the one in the fall is called the career and graduate fair because, in addition to

companies looking for internships and jobs, they invite graduate programs from around the area, as well as Washburn’s own graduate program. The career and graduate fair is from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., today in Lee Arena. “This is an opportunity for our students to have access to about 90 organizations under one roof to ask questions, and in many cases apply for jobs and internships,” said Kent McAnally, director of career services. “[It’s also great] to get some career information about taking the

next step in their career development.” For seniors looking for employment there will be 75-80 employers present that are looking for people to fill their organizations full time. For sophomores or juniors who are seeking internships there will be around 30 employers who will be offering internships. These will be denoted by an orange flag on the table, which is a new idea career services plans to make permanent. Although many students aren’t currently looking for careers or internships, John Dahstrand,

assistant dean of student success and retention, encourages first and second year students to check our the fair. “I think our career fairs are very important and they are for all students, not just students who are seniors who are graduating,” said Dahlstrand. “It’s a good opportunity for students to learn about internships, either during the semester or over the summer.” Even if students aren’t looking for employment or internships at the moment,

utilizing the fair early is a good idea. “Sixty-one percent of on campus recruiting takes place in the fall,” said McAnally. “That is not just for December graduates, that is for May graduates also.” Dahlstrand also says that it’s a good time to break the ice for students who may be nervous about meeting employers. This fair gives them the opportunity to talk to employers in a casual way and to get their foot in the door.

“For first year students to go, there isn’t any pressure on them to find an internship, or a job, but to just kind of experience it,” said Dahlstrand. “It helps them when they need to find that internship or job when they have to graduate.” Even then, these students have an opportunity to get a part time job. Businesses such as Menards and CoreFirst Bank & Trust will be there looking for part-time workers. Tricia Peterson is a junior mass media major. Reach her at patricia.peterson@washburn.edu

Washburn welcomes McCullough to SW department Michelle Boltz

on her 2006 Harley Davidson Softail Deluxe. “Kansas is very biker friendLeslie McCullough comes ly,” said McCullough. to Washburn from San AntoShe recently joined the local nio, Texas, to teach for her first Harley Owners Group, and rides year in the social work departevery chance she gets. ment. For the past 24 years, McMcCullough is also an artCullough has ist, and uses a been a psychowide variety of therapist at an “ The general population doesn’t get the media such as equine facilitatwatercolor, pen meaning of social work. it’s not just ed psychotherand ink, pencil, child protective services. You have to apy business, stained glass working with and sculpture. look at a person as a whole, not as a horses and chilWhen she lived problem, help them find a place and dren. She was in Alaska for a give them the tools they need. one of the first year, she had the ” opportunity to licensed social - Dr. Leslie McCullough workers to bedo some scrimsocial work professor come an equine shaw, carving psychotherapist designs into in the field. bone. “I was originally going to be is an art form. How you yourself “Only natives got to carve an art therapist, but then I discov- present it is your art.” into ivory,” said McCullough. ered horses,” said McCullough, What made McCullough She goes on to say there is “It’s kind of like doll therapy, ex- much more to social work than choose social work is abundant: cept they play with you.” The good counteracts the bad. some think. So far, her experience at “The general population The paperwork and long hours Washburn has been a positive doesn’t get the meaning of social make it well worth it. one. “It’s like a calling. It teaches work. It’s not just child protec“The people are very friend- tive services,” said McCullough. you to be grateful, especially the ly and welcoming,” said Mc- “You have to look at a person as smaller things, and not to take Cullough. “The social work de- a whole, not as a problem. Help them for granted. What you’re partment made me feel at home them find a place, and give them able to accomplish is profound.” when I came to interview here. the tools that they need.” “Roll up your sleeves and Washburn is a comfortable place McCullough also teaches prepare to work hard. It’s goto be.” contemporary issues in social ing to be an amazing ride,” said She currently teaches four work, seminar and field practi- McCullough when asked what courses, two of which prepare so- cum I, and social work practice I. advice she would giver her stucial work majors for their practiWhen not teaching, Mc- dents. cum; and two others in practice Cullough lives and breathes Michelle Boltz is a junior mass skills, in how to talk to people. horse work, playing with her dog media major. Reach her at miOne of her favorite courses to and cat, as well as riding around chelle.boltz@washburn.edu. WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo courtesy of Leslie McCullough

A horse in the country: Leslie McCullough, social work professor at Washburn University, enjoys working with horses and has in the past used them as part of her equine therapy experiences. She is currently enjoying her new role as a professor.

teach is micro human sehavior and social environment, because it relates closest to her bachelor’s degree, only 21st century style. “This course teaches about the mind, body and spirit and how each relate with our well-being,” said McCullough. “Social work

Lady Blues volleyball and soccer open up MIAA play at home against ESU while Washburn welcomes Northeastern State University

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Photo by Luke Warnken, Washburn Review

Gearing up for Conference Play: Tim Collins gets his team ready to play Emporia State this Friday. The game will be Washburn’s first home game and their MIAA opener.

Taming the Tigers: Washburn jumped out to a 42-0 lead at halftime against the Fort Hays State Tigers. The Ichabods pulled off of the gas in the second half coming away with a 45-20 win.

Photo by Abby Mies, Washburn Review

Serving up Wins: Junior libero Courtney Churchman prepares to serve against rival Emporia State University. Washburn won the match 3-0 in their first home game of the season.

Check out more sports photos at www.washburnreview. org


News

A2

C

alendar

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Premium Misc.

Wednesday, Sept. 12

Honors Program Meet & Greet: 4 to 5 p.m., Henderson 103 Thursday, Sept. 13

Wake Up With Washburn—Clarence Taylor: 7 a.m., Bradbury Thompson Alumni Center David Hartley Landscape Drawings: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Neese Gray Theatre Lobby, Garvey Fine Arts Center Inside Peanuts—The Life & Art of Charles M. Schulz: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center, Mulvane Museum Planetarium Open House: 7:15 to 8:15 p.m., Stoffer Science Hall

Biography

Sci-Fi & Fantasy

Home, House & Garden

Check Out

General/Romance Fiction

Life Sciences

Mystery

Check Out

Math, Computer & Ologies

Reference Spirituality Romance General Paperback Sci-Fi & Fantasy

Volume Buyers

WM

Image courtesy of the Topeka Shawnee County Public Library

Maps and legends: The 2012 Friends of the Library Sale will be held Sept. 14, 15 and 16 in the Agricultural Hall at the Kansas Expocentre. The 2012 sale will offer a wide variety of books to pick from.

TSCPL Friends book sale approaches Amanda Narverud

WASHBURN REVIEW

The 2012 Friends of Topeka and Shawnee County Library book sale will offer a wide variety of books to pick from. They have nearly 100,000 books ranging in genres such as: life issues and wellness, business and finance, and cooking. Friends of the TSCPL is a not for profit 501(c)(3) organi-

zation that was formed to establish closer relations between the TSCPL and the people it serves; to aid, promote, develop and advance the operation of the library. According to tscpl.org the prices at the sale are as follows: hardbacks, large paperbacks, DVDs and audio books - $2, small paperbacks, records, CDs and all children’s books - $1. There will also be premium

collection (books signed by the author, special editions and like-new fiction and non-fiction) that will be individually priced. The sale begins at 6 p.m,. Friday, Sept. 14 and ends at 9 p.m., for Friends members only. Members have the opportunity to preview the books and have the first choice to purchase. Memberships are sold at the door for $20.

Poet shares works in Mabee

The sale is open free of charge to the public from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Saturday, Sept. 15 and 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Sunday, Sept. 16. Sunday is a bag day, when shoppers can fill a grocery sack (provided) to the top for $5. Cash and checks only are accepted at the book sale, and an ATM will be available onsite. The book sale proceeds are donated back to the TSCPL for

David Hartley Landscape Drawings: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Neese Gray Theatre Lobby, Garvey Fine Arts Center Inside Peanuts—The Life & Art of Charles M. Schulz: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center, Mulvane Museum Women’s soccer vs. Emporia State University: 6 p.m., Yager Stadium

AJ Dome

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Tramp’s first ever talking film is marching to Washburn. Washburn’s History Honor Society, Alpha Beta Beta, will be showing the film “The Great Dictator” on Wednesday, Sep. 12, in Henderson Learning and Resources Center in room 207. This movie night is free and

Saturday, Sept. 15

Football vs. Northeastern State University: 6 p.m., Yager Stadium Delta Gamma Pancake Feed: 10 p.m. - 2 a.m. Sunday, Sept. 16

Monday, Sept. 17

David Hartley Landscape Drawings: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Neese Gray Theatre Lobby, Garvey Fine Arts Center Tuesday, Sept. 18

Constitution Day Celebrations: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Washburn University School of Law iREAD Lecture featuring Joe Drape: 7 p.m., White Concert Hall

Don’t see your event in the calendar? Call the Review newsroom at 670-2506 to have your event included in an upcoming edition. It’s FREE.

Photos by Rodolfo Parisi, Washburn Review

Amanda Narverud is a freshman mass media major. She can be reached at amanda.narverud@ washburn.edu.

open to the public. In this Academy Award-winning film from 1940, Charlie Chaplin portrays dual roles: a Jewish barber suffering from amnesia after serving in World War I, and a fascist-style dictator of a fictional country. When these two characters cross paths, Chaplin’s signature slapstick shenanigans ensue. The film is a comedy meant to reveal insights into Germany’s Nazi regime before World War II. Chaplin wrote, produced, directed and starred in this movie. “The Great Dictator” has a 95 percent “Fresh” rating on the film critique aggregate site Rotten Tomatoes. The film is preserved in the U.S. National Film Registry by the Library of Congress, and is ranked number 37 in the American Film Institute’s “100 Years, 100 Laughs” list. AJ Dome is a junior mass media major. He can be reached at aj.dome@washburn.edu.

Capitol takes a day off for movie Amanda Narverud

WASHBURN REVIEW

Jamaican Poet: Jamaican poet Kwame Dawes shared selections from his numerous books and told the stories behind his poems in the Mabee Library on Sept. 5. Dawes is the award-winning author of 16 books of poetry, fiction, non-fiction, criticism and drama. Dawes is the Chancellor’s Professor of English at the University of Nebraska. Dawes said that it was a good experience sharing his works because he received good feedback fro m the audience. “One of the opportunities it gives me when I do a reading, is to read works that I haven’t read a lot of, “ said Dawes. “I was available to read new works that haven’t yet published.”

programs throughout the year. The 2012 Friends of the Library Book Sale will be Sept. 14, 15 and 16 in the Agricultural Hall at the Kansas Expocentre. For more information visit www.tscpl.org/friends/ book-sale

Historical Movie Night shows classic Chaplin

Friday, Sept. 14

Inside Peanuts—The Life & Art of Charles M. Schulz: 1 to 4 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center, Mulvane Museum

Business

Cooking Cashiers

Men

Arts

Large Print

Women

Career & Graduate School Fair: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., Lee Arena Inside Peanuts—The Life & Art of Charles M. Schulz: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center, Mulvane Museum

Children Life Issues

Cashiers

David Hartley Landscape Drawings: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Neese Gray Theatre Lobby, Garvey Fine Arts Center

Concessions

Info

Records

History

Ichabod Mascot Tryouts: all day

Leisure

Media

Enjoy a movie on the statehouse lawn at 7:30 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 13. “Ferris Beuler’s Day Off” will be shown on the south side of the statehouse. Attendees are encouraged to bring friends and blankets to enjoy the movie. The Capitol discourages lawn chairs on the grass, but they are welcome on the sidewalk. Picnics are also welcome, alcohol, however, is not, and vending stands will be available including, SodaWorks with vintage soda and Hot Rod Hot Dogs and more. The 1986 film is about a

high school wise guy that is determined to have a day off from school, despite of what the principal thinks of it. Movie on the Lawn is part of Top City Thursdays and is presented by Downtown Topeka, Inc., Matthew W. Gassen, Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library and seveneightfive magazine. The 1978 classic “Grease” will also be shown during the Movie on the Lawn series, Thursday, Sept. 27. Amanda Narverud is a freshman mass media major. She can be reached at amanda.narverud@ washburn.edu.


A3

News • Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Review donates check to Jayhawk revival Tricia Peterson

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Jayhawk Theatre has many plans for the future and at this month’s First Friday Artwalk they became $400 closer to their goal. The staff from Washburn Student Media donated a check to go toward the revival of the theater. The money was raised this past spring at their annual Jayhawk Theatre Revival Battle of the Bands in April. The group has also been selling their leftover t-shirts at Top City Thursdays throughout the summer. “I’ve been with this project since the beginning and Washburn students and the Washburn Review have been one of the most tremendous psychological boosts for us,” said Kathy Duncan, operations director. “They have always been a fiscal resource for us because they have done the concert now for some time, and it is a shot in the arm when you are doing a project to hear young people come in and say they want Topeka to have this project.” The theater, which was built in 1925 and opened in 1926, is located at 720 SW Jackson St. in the Jayhawk Towers. To get to the theatre one must first enter the Upstage Gallery where there are various displays of art from artists from around the country. This gives people a reason to come into the theater and promotes visitors to explore the theater as part of their visit, and hopefully get people interested in helping restore it. “[The theater] started with vaudeville – we are going to have every kind of entertainment in here, from music to stage to independent films to even video conferencing for businesses,” said Doug Jones, president of the board of direc-

tors and an instructor at Washburn University. “We will have a room that can hold over 100 people for weddings and things like that. We will have events where people will come at like 3 a.m. to watch the Bolshoi ballet live as it’s really actually happening in Russia. “ With plans like these, a lot of money is needed from many places. Jones described the work that needs to be done and that includes many specialists in different areas. “We are approaching big corporations, and we have a grant from the city that we are doing right now, and a grant from the Kansas State historical society,” said Jones. “We are out approaching people for six-figures and more than that, and name/gift opportunities and stuff like that.” Jones said the money needed to fully renovate the theater comes to $8.7 million. This includes restoring the painting of the Goddess of Agriculture, all new, up-to-date equipment and new seats. Originally the Jayhawk held 1,500 seats, but with the population’s growth in size, literally, the seats now are made bigger. The theater will have 900 seats after the work is completed. “We are on the front edge of seeking the banks and corporations,” said Jones. “We want to have all of the latest technology.” In the future, the Jayhawk hopes to have all types of entertainment available. When it opened in the 20’s it was one of the first buildings in Topeka that had air conditioning. Their shows were mostly Vaudeville-type until 1953 when a CinemaScope screen was installed that could project 3D movies and regular films. Jones remembers going to the Jayhawk to watch movies when he was a boy.

Photo courtesy of Anthony Roth

Goddess of What?: This painting, found above the stage in the Jayhawk Theatre has an interesting story behind the woman who is supposedly the Goddess of Agriculture. In 1925 the artist wanted to paint the Goddess of Agriculture and decided to paint his mistress. At the time, nobody knew about it, but over the years, the artist’s secret came out. “I used to come here on Jackson street to get in line for 101 Dalmations, and other Walt Disney Films, I was like seven or something like that,” said Jones. “We’d come down and watch movies.” For more information about the Jayhawk Theatre go to their website at jayhawktheatre.com or their Facebook page. The Upstage gallery also has their own Facebook where they post which artists they are featuring and other news.

Tricia Peterson is a junior mass media major. She can be reached at patricia. peterson@ washburn.edu.

Photo by Ryan Burge, Washburn Review

Big Money: Bita Givechi and Student Media presents Doug Jones with a $400 check to go to the revival of the Jayhawk Theatre. The money will go towards upkeep, utilities and other costs associated with keeping the 86-year-old building. Each year Student Media holds a battle of the bands and donates the proceeds to the theatre.

Work your bod for WU’s Most Fit Amanda Narverud

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Washburn University Student Recreation and Wellness Center is hosting the WU’s Most Fit Competition Sept. 18-20 in the SRWC. The competition will consist of six different modalities completed in the following order: Cardiovascular endurance, lower body strength, core strength, upper body strength, flexibility and balance. “Student should compete because it is a fun event where you can see how fit you are.” said Ben Saathoff, assistant director of the SRWC. “You will be able to determine if your current exercises routine needs a little work or if you are on track to your fitness goals.” Individuals may participate during any of the listed times: —Tuesday, Sept. 18: 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. or 7:30 to 9 p.m.;

—Wednesday, Sept. 19: 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. or 5:30to 8:30 p.m.; and —Thursday, Sept. 20: 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. or 6:30 to 9 p.m. The competition is open to any Washburn student or current SRWC member. Registration is at the time of the event and participants should dress in workout clothing, including workout shoes. Students are required to bring their Washburn ID to get into the SRWC. Participants will compete against other students and SRWC members in equivalent age and gender groups. Visit www.washburn.edu/ campus-life/recreation-wellness/fitness-and-wellness/fitness-competitions/wu-most-fit for more information about age divisions and the six modalities that compose the competition. SRWC’s website also provides details regarding the bench marks for each fitness

modality based off of the 2011 competition results. Individuals who reach the established bench marks in the modalities can win a WU Fit T-shirt. Saathoff says that one of the benefits of being involved in the competition is to find the holes in a person’s exercise routine and find new ways to improve their overall wellness. There will be a male and female crowned WU’s Most fit for each age group. The winners are determined by who accumulated the most points from all six modalities for their age group. SRWC is expecting the event to have positive results. “The event was successful in previous years,” said Saathoff. “Each year we get more participants trying the event.” Amanda Narverud is a freshman mass media major. She can be reached at amanda.narverud@ washburn.edu.


Opinion Opinion

A4

BOD

ST

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2012 marked 11 years since the tragedy of 9/11. We at the Review wanted to know where people remember being on that fateful day.

“Where were you 11 years on during 9/11?” “Sitting in the principal’s office because I was in trouble and watching coverage on TV.” Bryce Korf, sophomore, theater

“I was walking to recess in the fourth grade and I remember lookinb over and seeing the junior high watching the towers burn on TV in the lunch room.”

Gary Atchison, senior, nursing

Brian Cervantez, junior, mass media

Amanda Richards, senior, anthropology/sociology

“I was in the middle of the school in seventh grade when a teacher came in and told the other teacher about the tragedy and my teacher turned on the TV.”

“I was a sophomore in high school. I was in my third class when the second plane hit the tower. I remember crying silently as the building went up in flames.”

Let’s get physical... maybe Washburn Review

WASHBURN REVIEW

The grapevine is telling us that Washburn will announce that PE198 courses will no longer be required for graduation during the general faculty meeting Sept. 13. The PE198 requirement has long been a thorn in the side of students, with continuing education students especially frustrated upon the realization that they need gym credits to graduate. Many students feel that the course is unnecessary, because it doesn’t fit in their major. Students also complain that they resent paying for a course which many feel is irrelevent to their major. This is not to say that the entire kineseology department should be eliminated. There is certainly a place for keeping PE198 as a requirement for incoming freshmen. PE198 courses offer a variety of benefits to young, impressionable students, with the health and wellness portions of the classes being invaluable to students living away from home for the very first time. According to the National Association for Sports and

“I was in middle school history class watching replays of it on television.”

Jason Griffin, Senior, anthropology

Interviews and photos by Bradley Parrales

Jimmy Bert, sophomore, nursing

“I lived near Chicago at the time and we were supposed to go to a planet tanning that day, but the trip in the second grade was canceled. We spent the day playing games and watching the news instead.

If you are a student who is interested in creating a cartoon every week, (and getting paid!) please email patricia.peterson@ washburn.edu for more details.

Contact Us

Phone: (785) 670-2506 Fax: (785) 670-1131 www.washburnreview.org

Physical Education, PE classes benefit students with improved physical fitness, skill development, healthful physical activity, support of other subject areas, self discipline, improved judgement, stress reduction and many other benefits. While life experience has already taught continuing education students these lessons, it is important for incoming freshmen to learn about making healthy lifestyle choices and learning that making the wrong choice can have serious, even deadly, consequences. If Washburn does indeed drop the PE198 requirement, then the health and wellness portions of the class should certainly be added into another class and made part of the Washburn First Year Experience.

Remembering a tragedy, 9/11

Graphic by Maggie Pilcher, Washburn Review

Tricia Peterson

WASHBURN REVIEW

All day Tuesday, Sept. 11, everyone was talking about the 9/11 anniversary. One class period was almost entirely dedicated to discussing where we were when the planes hit. It’s been 11 years, and every year the same thing. Everyone relives that day, and this year I decided to think about the past 11 years instead of that one day. It changed my life in ways I will never understand, but I can understand what did happen afterward. I proceeded to graduate high school and work meaningless jobs for a few years, before deciding to attend college. I don’t know that if the towers weren’t hit that I wouldn’t be doing the same thing, but these are some of the things I think about on 9/11. Even though none of my family or friends were directly impacted the day the towers fell, many have served in the military since then. My aunt was retired from the military at

Our Staff

the time, so she wasn’t asked to serve. One of my close friends from high school signed up to serve his country, went to Iraq and came back a different man. Now, two of my cousins are in the Navy and the Marines, inspired by my aunt to serve their country. One could say we would have gone to war regardless of 9/11 happening, but it still wouldn’t be the same. I don’t think people would be so willing and happy to go to a foreign country if the offense hadn’t been so personal. The fact that we were attacked on our homeland, with no warning really pissed a lot of people off, and rightly so. At the time I was only 17, a senior in high school. Not that my age had anything to do with it, I feel like nobody knew what the future held that day, but I feel like at the time I was naïve to what the attack really meant. I still don’t fully understand the impact of that day. We can all watch the Datelines, 60 Minutes and movies, but if we weren’t there that day, I just don’t think we can understand the devastation. Even though this tragedy happened 11 years ago, I feel like it wasn’t that long ago. Then I remember I was 17 when it happened and it feels like a century.

Tricia Peterson is a junior mass media major. Reach her at patricia.peterson@washburn.edu

Print Editor-in-Chief Tricia Peterson Online Editor-in-Chief Brian Dulle Advertising Manager Raz Potter Promotions Manager Bita Givechi News Editor Ryan Hodges Sports Editor Luke Warnken A&E Editor Kelly Hurla Photo Editor Mike Goehring Graphic Design Editor Katie Child Copy Editors Richard Kelly • Fatima Oubaid • Abby Brinker Managing Editor Bradley Parrales Production Assistants Linnzi Fusco Writers Shelby Atadgi • AJ Dome• Kelly Andrews • Michelle Boltz • Jordan Loomis • Ryan Ogle • Fatima Oubaid • Colton Goeffert • Alexander Sonnich • Keely Brown • Landry Fhrenbacher • Louis Bourdeau • Amanda Narverud Photographers Kelly Andrews • Ryan Burge • Louie Cortez • Andrew Escandon • Mike Goehring • Jordan Loomis • Ashley Russell • Amanda Narverud • James Sims • Sarah Rush • Alex Voskoboyev • Eric Gordon • Keely Brown • Linnzi Fusco • Emily Lingenfelser Graphic Designers Katie Child • Kelsey Wagers • Sarah Williams • Brent Koehler • Ashley Russel Videographers Bradley Hernandez • Andrew Huff • Rodolfo Parisi • Luke Warnken Advertising Staff Autumn Kirchner • Chloe Callahan • Keely Brown •Ryan Burge • Autumn Kirchner Business Manager Sarah Roth Adviser Regina Cassell

The Washburn Review is published every Wednesday throughout the academic year, excluding holidays and some other dates. Copies are free for students, faculty and staff, and can be found at numerous locations around the campus of Washburn University. Subscriptions to the Washburn Review are available at the following rates: 13 issues for $20 or 26 issues for $35. For more information, please visit our Web site at www.washburnreview.org or call (785) 670-2506. The Washburn Review is a member newspaper of the Associated Press (AP), the Kansas Associated Press (KPA) and the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press (KACP). The Review was the 2009 winner of the All-State award, given to the best four-year public university newspaper in the state of Kansas. The Washburn Review accepts letters to the editor pertaining to articles appearing in the Washburn Review or on issues of importance to the Washburn or Topeka community. We do not accept mass letters to the editor. Please limit letters to less than 400 words. Letters must be submitted via Word document if possible, and there must be a phone number where the person can be reached for verification. Please e-mail letters to wureview@gmail.com. The Review reserves the right to edit all submissions to the paper for length, libel, language and clarity. Because of volume on the opinion page, we are unable to print all letters and are unable to return submissions.

© The Washburn Review Copyright 2012

Corrections: While the Review strives for accuracy, we sometimes make mistakes. Any corrections will apprear here.


Sports Sports

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

A5

5 6

Hughes continues to overpower opposing defenses Jordan Loomis

to watch Hughes play. “Coach Herron contacted Senior outside hitter Hilary me through e-mail shortly afHughes was ready for the 2012- ter,” said Hughes. 2013 season. Now, as a senior member The kinesiology major was of the volleyball team, Hughes, first motivated to play volley- along with fellow seniors, Jesball by her father. Hughes first sica Kopp and Jessica Fey, are started playing volleyball in steadily falling into their leadthe 5th grade through a YMCA ership positions. medal league in Wisconsin. “Being a senior does bring “My dad had a passion for about many responsibilities the game and signed me up for to not only be a leader, but to my first medal league,” said also keep practice competitive Hughes. “Since that day, my and help the younger girls get parents have always been so accustomed to this fast-paced supportive.” game,” said Hughes. “Kopp, She then continued on to Fey and myself are working play throughout middle school together to make sure we stay and then at Wisconsin Heights focused to reach our team goals High School in Mazomaine, and have a successful season.” Wis., where she played on a Hughes is also a personal traveling volleyball team called fan of the crowds during a volthe Wisconsin Select Volleyball leyball game, Club. “I’d like to give a personal “My dad was also always shout out to the men of Sigma on the sideline as he was a coach Phi Epsilon who have been for the JV volleyball team at my there at all our home games cheering us on high school,” and raising havsaid Hughes. oc for our op“The love ponents,” said and joy I see “ It has been Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review Hughes. “Let’s in my parents have another On the Attack: Senior outside Hilary Hughes may not be wearing the red and white W of Wisconsin University, but the Wisconsin native has been faces when wonderful being a wearing the blue and white W of Washburn University with pride. Heading into the Lady Blues home opener against Emporia State University, Hughes great season!” they come Lady Blue. H u g h e s leads the team in kills with 100 and also leads the team in points with 116.5. to watch me motivates me looks back at - Hillary Hughes her experience had a blast playing with them to keep playAs the three senior girls ous in the first eight games of laugh and tear and every six Lady Blues senior as a Lady Blue these four years.” ing the game steadily prepare for their final her senior season. She leads the am workout together,” said I love.” The senior describes play- year together, Hughes hopes team in kills with 100, averag- Hughes. “This season will be outside hitter volleyball playIt was er with great ing for Herron as nothing but that they will continue to stay ing four kills a set. The native the best we’ve ever had.” ” during those pride. an honor. in touch. of Black Earth, Wis., also avhigh school “It has “These past four years with “These past four years with erages 2.24 digs per set. The years that Hughes first sent been wonderful being a Lady Coach Herron have been a pure these girls have been four years 2011 all-MIAA honeree looks a video of game footage and Blue,” said Hughes. “I have blast and so successful thanks I will never forget about,” said forward to finishing her career skills to Washburn University made memories and friends to his coaching,” said Hughes. Hughes. “I hope to be friends with her fellow senior team- Jordan Loomis is a sophomore head volleyball coach, Chris that I will cherish for the rest “Kopp, Fey and I have all hope with them for the rest of my mates. double major in mass media Herron, who ended up attend- of my life. I love my teammates to make this season truly a life.” “We have been through and art. Reach her at jordan. ing a tournament in Wisconsin more than anything and have memorable one for him.” Hughes has been danger- every win and loss, every loomis@washburn.edu.

WASHBURN REVIEW

Taylor starts off strong for WU

Photo by Luke Warnken, Washburn Review

Flying High: Redshirt senior Jahmil Taylor (23) helps lead a veteran WU defense. After two games, Taylor leads Washburn with 18 tackles. 11 of his tackles have been solo tackles.

Drew Egnoske

WASHBURN REVIEW

The success of a defense relies heavily upon its leadership, especially at the linebacker position. It’s the linebacker who sets the tone and pulls a unit together so it’s no wonder why the linebacker is called the “quarterback of the defense.” Leadership is something that the Ichabod defense has plenty of. They return eight starters from last year’s squad, but even an experienced group of individuals needs someone who can bring them together and make them a team. Enter in middle linebacker Jahmil Taylor, a redshirt senior out of Aurora, Colo., majoring in kinesiology. Taylor’s stats have steadily increased every year, culminating last year when he recorded 112 tackles, four

sacks, a forced fumble and two interceptions. “You gotta be physical, hit everything that touches the ball. You gotta be fast and assignment sound,” said Taylor. Taylor is also accompanied by fellow linebackers, juniors Bryce Atagi and Willie Williams. Between the three of them last year, they recorded nearly 300 tackles and eight sacks. “It’s like a family to me,” said Taylor. He is especially close with Atagi with whom he has developed a special bond. “When we’re out there we know what each other is doing,” said Taylor. “If something happens it usually works out because we know what each other is doing.” Defensive coordinator Brock Luke relies heavily upon

Taylor to keep his defense in line. “He’s one of our leaders defensively and team wise too,” said Luke. “He does a good job with keeping the guys going in practice if they start trying to just go through the motions.” Taylor knows that the potential is there for his team to accomplish even more than they had a year ago when the Ichabods experienced their first playoff win. “Win the MIAA first of all, get to the playoffs and win the national championship,” said Taylor. Taylor knows that in order for his team to do well on the field they have to search within themselves first. “It’s an internal motivation to want to be the best. We’re all out there and on the same page, the same goal,” said Taylor. “It’s what you gotta do.” Washburn’s defense will rely on Taylor to challenge them every day and demonstrate his belief of what it takes to lead. “A true leader is someone who leads by example,” said Taylor. “When you’re feeling a little bit of doubt, you look to him and he clears up all the doubt you had.” So far WU’s defense has been up to the task. In the first game of the season, against the University of Nebraska-Kearney, they had three red zone stops that added up to zero points for the Lopers. In last week’s thrashing of Fort Hays, the defense forced two turnovers, and almost a third, in the first quarter alone as they held the Tigers to zero points in the first half.

Drew Egnoske is a senior mass media major. Reach him at drew.egnoske@washburn.edu.


A6

Sports • Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Washburn soccer prepares for tough MIAA schedule

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Needing a Win: After an 0-4 start on the road, Washburn returns back home for their home opener Friday, Sept. 14 against Emporia State University. The Lady Blues will look to get their first win on home turf.

Luke Warnken

again in overtime, this time 3-2 to Colorado Christian University. “It obviously is really frustrating and I feel bad for

WASHBURN REVIEW

Losing is never fun. Losing nail-breakers in extra time is just heartbreaking. The Lady Blues soccer team fell victim

my players and for my team because we’ve worked ever so hard,” said Tim Collins, Washburn head soccer coach. “We’re better than we were last year

and to have some of the same demons crop up that we’ve worked really hard to eradicate is not what you expect and not what you want.” Things didn’t get much better in Washburn’s next game as the Blues got shutout by the Orediggers of Colorado Mines. The 3-0 loss left WU with a 0-4 record heading into conference play. The final outcome may seem terrible for Washburn, but the No. 5 ranked Orediggers beat their two previous opponents 8-0, so a 3-0 loss is nothing to be ashamed of. “The only thing that matters from the perspective of the public is the final result,” said Collins. “We’re going to get wins this year. No doubt in my mind.” Washburn will have a shot to change their season around as conference play starts Friday, Sept. 14. WU will try to get their first victory, and win their conference opener, against rival Emporia State University at home.

Simoneau changes from star pupil to mentor Drew Egnoske

got good ideas when we are sitting in meetings,” said head coach Craig Schurig. Schurig also doubles as the quarterbacks coach and works closely with Simoneau on developing the talent at the position. After finishing the 2011 season with over 4,000 yards, 38 touchdowns and finishing second for the Harlon Hill award, the road to the next level looked promising. That opportunity never came however, and Simoneau found himself back at Washburn as a graduate assistant helping to mold the young quarterbacks that the Ichabods must rely on this year. “I haven’t heard much so far and I’m gonna focus on my classes and this team,” said Simoneau. In the mean time he is staying in shape by throwing to receivers on the team as well as former teammate Joe Hastings. “Whatever happens, hap-

WASHBURN REVIEW

When it comes to coaching a college football team, a head football coach relies heavily upon both his assistant coaches, as well as graduate assistants. Graduate assistants are often former members of a team who come back to gain invaluable experience with the hopes of one day becoming coaches themselves. The Washburn football team has seen its fair share of grad assistants connected with its program, but none with the eminent career that Dane Simoneau had while playing for the Ichabods. Simoneau, who graduated last year, established his name at the top of 35 separate school records, some of those with exclamation points. “I think it’s real valuable because the young quarterbacks can talk to him, plus he’s

pens,” said Simoneau. “I’m still working out, throwing to guys out here and staying ready.” Schurig is also hopeful that Simoneau will get a chance to play in the NFL. “He’s gotten a couple of calls from teams but nothing happened. Hopefully it does,” said Schurig. “He is just gonna stay in shape if it does happen.” Sophomore quarterbacks Mitch Buhler and Joel Piper are grateful to have Simoneau to mentor them through their development as the next feature signal caller for the Ichabods. “He’s a friend, a mentor, and a teammate to me,” said Buhler, who has started the last two games for Washburn this season. “He pretty much mastered the offense when he was here so he’s like a second coach on the field who’s been there. It really helps us out.” Piper, a junior college transfer from Butler Community College, also appriciates

“I was really impressed we recognized and pulled out the positives against Mines,” said Collins. “We’re ready to go against Emporia State.” ESU comes into the Turnpike Tussle 2-2, coming off of a 1-0 loss to Upper Iowa University. The Lady Hornets will look to spoil Washburn’s home opener but Collins and company have other plans. Despite their losing record, Collins sees something in this year’s squad that he didn’t see last year. “We attack with a flair,” said Collins. The Lady Blues have managed to outshoot every opponent with the exception of Colorado Mines. Washburn must work on those shots leading to goals to bring home some victories. The Lady Blues’ win column may not be indicative of the Blues fierce style, but rivalries have a tendency to bring out the best in teams. “It’s always bloodthirsty when you play Emporia State,” said Collins. “There will be a

lot of fans on both sides. We’re really looking forward to the opportunity to play in front of our fans.” Spearheading the Lady Blues offensive attack is junior midfielder/forward Caysie Beetley. Beetley has scored all three of Washburn’s goals this season. Senior Tia Stovall and freshman Sara Specht both have chipped in an assist on one of Beetley’s goals. Beetley will need some scoring help before the Blues can become an offensive juggernaut. Washburn must also learn to finish games. “We’ve been in this situation [overtime] before and we know we’ve prepared for it,” said Collins. “We’re going to take it one game at a time and we want a lot of fans out there to watch us get a positive result against Emporia.”

Luke Warnken is a sophomore athletic training major. Reach him at luke.warnken@washburn.edu.

SRWC congratulates 700,000 customer

having Simoneau on the sideline. “He helps with the little things and the things that you can’t notice on your own,” said Piper. “He knows a lot about these teams we are playing.” Simoneau’s mentorship has been paying dividends on the field so far. Buhler was able to find the end zone twice in the Ichabods first game against the University of Nebraska-Kearney. Last Saturday, against Fort Hays, Buhler added four more scores to his total. Hope has brought Simoneau back to Washburn and hope is what he holds on to as he awaits his future career. “Hopefully come spring time, some teams will have some needs,” said Simoneau. Courtesy of SRWC

Drew Egnoske is a senior mass media major. Reach him at drew.egnoske@washburn. edu.

Fitness Center Celebrates: Marcellis Washington is a junior from Hiawatha, Kan and was the 700,000th visitor to the SRWC. He is majoring in social work and visits the SRWC regularly. His favorite aspects of the SRWC are the fitness loft and the indoor track. What he likes best about being an Ichabod is the friendly atmosphere on campus and in Topeka.

Check out the Washburn Review on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @wureview

shburn Review 9/12/12 Crossword

Across 1 5 8 12 13 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 25 28 29 30 33 37 38 39 40 43 45 46 47 50 54 55 57 58 60 61 62 63 64

Farmer’s yield Agent (Abbr.) Despot Macrame Antitoxin Seaweed Assist Rapidly Filth Master’s degree Failure Maiden name Frock Pictures Blowhole Hitch Hosts Roughneck Perjurer Petroleum Scarlett O’Hara’s home Planetary neighbors, possibly? ___-pants Fem. suffix Skewer In the middle Acrobatic Transgression Netherlands capital Poem Coffee shop Bergen, for one Fencing sword Sign Watered-silk Smear

1

2

3

PuzzleJunction.com

4

5

12

13

16

17

19

20

22

23

6

31

25

26

27

29 33

41

34

35

36

2 4 8 3 1

43

42

49

3 7

44

50 55 59

62

51

56

52

53

57

60

61

63

64 66

65

67

Copyright ©2012 PuzzleJunction.com

65 Auto need 66 Arrange 67 Doctrines Down Holding device Spiritual leader Body of water Favorite News account Delete Purplish brown Slight amount Catapult Gibe Grades Beauty parlors

1 6

14 Sp. domestic sheep 23 Deflected 24 Fixed charge 26 ___ de mer 27 Stir up, like an argument 29 Costa del ___, Spain 30 Shade tree 31 Mine (It.) 32 Convertible 33 Not hers 34 Needlefish 35 Humorist Buchwald 36 Negative vote 38 Singleton

41 42 43 44 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 56 59 61

Ft. parts Hymn Political arena Metric unit Royal house of Scotland Cravat Florida city Gather Texas A&M student Mechanic’s needs Expression Gauls Commotions Compass pt. Gov’t. agency

7 2

6

5

46

54

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 13

To solve the Sudoku puzzle, each row, column and box must contain the numbers 1 to 9.

39

45

58

11

21

32

40

10

15

38

48

9

18

24

37

47

8 14

28 30

7

The Washburn Review 9/12/12 Sudoku

5

2

1 8 8 2 2 9 7 4 6 3 Copyright ©2012 PuzzleJunction.com

Washburn Review is currently hiring sports writers! Apply online at: Solution www.washburnreview.org 2 4 6 1 8 5 9 7 3 8 3 9 6 4 7 5 2 1 7 1 5 9 3 2 8 4 6


A7

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Humorous art evolves artist Tricia Peterson

WASHBURN REVIEW

One local artist, who deems himself the Iron Florist, used his past profession to inspire artwork and create a new one. Working in restaurants in and around Topeka for many years, Randy Fay became sick of the daily grind. “I was a chef and I worked in food service for 25 years, a chef for six, and I did all the fruit garnishes and stuff,” said Fay. “I told my wife one day, on our rollercoaster of life, I said, ‘You know, I am tired of all the restaurants I’ve been in, and I want to do something different.’” Using his talents in carving fruit and vegetable garnishes, he applied the same technique to working with metal. At first the products weren’t very good, but with time, he got better. His work includes a teddy bear trapped inside a barbed wire tumbleweed, a spark plug that is crafted into a bug, called “Spark Bug” and other metal works. He uses old nails for bug legs and forks and spoons for shells and smaller bug legs. All of Fay’s art is made of recycled material, most he tries to get for free or next to nothing. “I started doing this, and started with flowers, but they were a little cartoonish,” said Fay. “Everything was painted and I was going in debt. Since then I have gotten better, I think I’ve evolved.” He has evolved so much that he’s had work on display at the Upstage Gallery for the past year and a half. Pam Renovato chose his work because it was environmentally conscious, but also because it was interesting and humorous at the same time. “I chose [Fay] because his art is green, it’s all recyclable,”

WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo Courtesy of Anthony Roth

said Renovato. “What’s fun about [Fay] is sometimes you’ll try to pick out what material he used to create his art. He has a really good sense of humor, he has a bicycle with a lawnmower attached to it that he just calls it riding lawnmower. It’s his literal titles that are so humorous, he is beginning to get a following just from his humor. It’s also very unique, detailed and intricate. Everything he creates is all recycled, it comes out of the trash.” Fay’s art is so popular he has to replace his art all the time. His art will continue to be in the Upstage Gallery for an indefinite amount of time. “[Fay] is long term, he is one of our core artists, we

always carry [Fay’s work],” said Renovato. “He has anywhere from 10-50 [pieces], generally we carry a lot and his things sell very quickly so he has to continually supply us with his stuff.” Fay’s work is on display around Topeka, mostly at the Upstage Gallery at 720 S.W. Jackson St. where his recent show opened at September’s First Friday Artwalk on Sept. 7. More of his work can be found in the North Topeka Arts District at The Eclective at 900 N. Kansas Ave.

Her contribution, however, turned out to be much more than just cheering after each song. Playing the yen to Dennis’ yang, the bassist adds a welcome sense of balance and chemistry to the well-oiled machine that is Gutwretch. “Stef is really laidback. I’m pretty uptight at times and she’s the exact opposite of that,” said Dennis Brown. There are other benefits to her presence as well. “A lot of chicks dig us because she’s in the band,” said Hendrix. In January of this year, Gutwretch introduced Bradley, a veteran of the Topeka metal and punk scene, as their new front man. His energy, charisma and blend of aggressive growls and melodic crooning, which Brown describes as “powerful and laden with emotion,” fit the band’s bottom-heavy and driving brand of metal to a tee. The band immediately started fine-tuning their existing material and penning new tunes, perfecting the style they describe as “heavy-crunchymelodic-metal” in the process. Within a few months Gutwretch was ready for the stage. Since then, audiences in Topeka, Lawrence and Kansas City have all been floored by the band’s weighty sonic pummel.

While each of their shows have been a success, the band is careful about over-exposing themselves. “We want to be that band that only plays in Topeka three or four times a year, but when we do, you really want to come see us,” said Dennis Brown. “We don’t have designs to be anything more than a regional band.” Along with playing to a larger audience, the band also likes to bring variety to their set. “We like to bring somebody new to the table, either to open or headline, each time we play,” said Essman. “That way, people get to see a different show and a different band that they haven’t seen before.” A calculated approach and quality over quantity mindset isn’t the only thing that keeps the Gutwretch gears turning so smoothly. Spend five minutes in a room with these five very different, yet extremely cohesive and complimentary personalities, and you’ll see a group of people with a genuine love for what they do. “We just want to play out and have fun. I’ve been in bands that I thought would be successful, but now I think those bands were taken too seriously,” said Bradley. “All of us are taking a ‘just go with it’ approach with this band. Whatever happens will happen, but we’re going to have fun doing it.”

Tricia Peterson is a junior mass media major. Reach her at patricia.peterson@washburn.edu

Rock marks the spot Ryan Ogle

WASHBURN REVIEW

The last several months have seen a powerful new force rise up within the local heavy rock/metal scene. Featuring vocalist Jerry Bradley, guitarists Dennis Brown and Brandon Essman, bassist Stefanie Brown and drummer Brian Hendrix. Topeka’s Gutwretch is quickly becoming a favorite amongst the circlepitting masses. Through a mutual love of archery, the band’s guitarists planted the initial seeds of Gutwretch when target practice branched out into band practice. Gutwretch’s earliest material came when the pair would load up their guitars and practice amps along with their archery gear and exchange riff ideas after honing their skills at a local range. “Dennis showed me how to kill shit in the woods and I showed him how to kill shit on stage,” said Essman of the band’s genesis. Shortly thereafter, Brown’s wife Stefanie picked up a bass and joined the fun and drummer Brian Hendrix rounded out the core lineup. “I thought I was just going to be a groupie,” said Stefanie Brown.

Family friendly flick Danielle Greenup

Our Rollercoaster of Life: Randy Fay proudly displays his interesting art, inspired by life as a chef. Fay deems himself the “Iron Florist.”

Ryan Ogle is a sophomore mass media major. Reach him at ryan.ogle@washburn.edu

A&E

What do you get when you cross a hippy family with a military one? Watch “Yours, Mine, and Ours” to find out. The movie was directed by Raja Gosnell and is an improved remake of the 1986 film, which starred Lucille Ball and Henry Fonda. Dennis Quaid and Rene Russo seriously out do themselves in this 2005 family comedy. The storyline is very easy to follow and I would recommend it to all ages. The film starts out introducing Admiral Frank Beardsley, played by Quaid, and Helen North, played by Russo. Frank, a widower with eight children, is returning to his home town of New London to run the Coast Guard Academy. His children are very well disciplined with charts and salutes, and even though they move around a lot, they all would love to have a permanent home. On the other hand, there’s Helen, a free spirit designer who is also a widower, but has ten children. Her kids live in chaos and very much enjoy it, just like their mother. It turns out that Helen and Frank were high school sweethearts and when they find each other at a reunion, they instantly get their spark back. Without even telling their children, they get married on the spot. This is when they break the news and both sets of kids absolutely refuse to be a part of this new conjoined family. Once they are all forced

to move into an old lighthouse with the two families, numerous pets and a housekeeper, the real problems begin. Although Frank and Helen are very happy together, the 18 kids

Graphic by Linnzi Fusco, Washburn Review

aren’t. Bathroom schedules and group hugs don’t mix very well to them and the idea of “living like a big circus group” does not appeal at all. So as the two families continue to clash, the kids realize that they are just too different to get along and the parents realize that they have very different opinions and views on how to discipline the kids. Instead of hating each other, the children decide that they should join together and rebel against their parents.

They cook up a plan to end the marriage and once again have split families. The plan forces them to see the good in each other and right when they want to call it off, their plan succeeds. Now, facing some unexpected consequences, they will all have to decide what they really want and how far they are willing to go to get it. Full of family values and real life situations, this Netflix Pick of the Week is sure to not disappoint. If you want a movie to make you laugh, think and tug on your heart strings, this movie is for you. So add it to your movie night and enjoy!

Danielle Greenup is a freshman nursing major. Reach her at danielle.greenup@washburn.edu

Graphic by Katie Child, Washburn Review

Building community with style Tess Wilson

WASHBURN REVIEW

In their second collaboration this year, two local designers continue on their mission to unite Topeka through fashion and entertainment. Terry Dudley II, of T.R.E.A.L., and Ashia Ackov, of Mismatched Misfitz, are joining forces for a runway show on Sept. 13 at the Holiday Inn Holidome at 605 S.W. Fairlawn Rd. The show will feature the work of both designers, who are the first to point out the differences between their styles. “I would have to compare my style to Ecko and Sean John,” said Dudley. “It’s upscale but casual.” Ackov, on the other hand, describes Mismatched Misfitz as “wild and crazy.” “I would describe my line as 50’s Audrey Hepburn meets 80’s Madonna,” said Ackov. The show will not only serve as exposure for Dudley and Ackov, but also as an opportunity for local models to experience the world of fashion. At a rehearsal on Monday, Ackov shared her excitement about some of the new models participating. “We have some first-time models walking,” said Ackov. “We’re giving an opportunity to those people who normally wouldn’t be able to walk because, say, they’re five-footfour.” But the models and designers won’t be the only ones

Graphic by Kelsey Wagers , Washburn Review

strutting their stuff this Thursday. The event - aptly named “When Music and Fashion Unite” - will also feature live music and entertainment provided by KC Reign and Stric-9. From Kansas City and Lawrence, these local groups will bring their individual, contrasting styles to the event. Part of the motivation behind this mixedmedia collaboration comes from the motto that inspired the acronym that can be seen on much of Dudley’s apparel: “Together Risin’ Equally And Lovin’ It.” Featuring both dancers and rap artists, KC Reign has performed at various events in and around the Kansas City area. The designers are excited to feature KC Reign and Stric-9, an alternative rock band formed in Lawrence, in the same show. “We’ll have different genres of music and different styles of fashion, all in one,” said Dudley. “Nobody excluded, everybody included.” The Thursday event will

serve as Stric-9’s first live show, which Dudley and Ackov hope will earn the relatively young band some local exposure. “I really want to make it a good experience for them,” said Ackov. A strong focus on building local community - shared by Dudley and Ackov - makes this event a special one, and promises a welcoming and stimulating environment for designers, models and musical guests alike. Both designers plan to make the show a semi-annual event, and hope to see Topeka united through this showcase of individuality. “I see it as a melting pot,” said Dudley. “We’re all coming together to provide a positive atmosphere, a way to break up the monotony of the week and a relaxing place to listen to some music and see some nice clothes.” Those interested can browse through Ackov’s handcrafted fashion at www.freewebstore.org/ MismatchedMisfitz.or find their own T.R.E.A.L. apparel at http://www.trealfashions.com.

Tess Wilson is a senior English major. Reach her at tess.wilson@washburn.edu


A8

A & E • Wednesday, September 12, 2012

“Sculpture walk” around campus Celebrate literature Michelle Boltz

WASHBURN REVIEW

This year there are seven sculptures that are included in Washburn’s 17th annual outdoor sculpture exhibition that appeal to everyone’s viewing pleasure as they stroll around campus. Each sculpture has its own place on campus where they can best be viewed by all. “It’s very successful and is tribute to Washburn to have this exhibit. Not only for our campus, but for our community,” said Rugena Hall, one of the members of the campus beautification committee. Greg Inkmann not only helps select the pieces displayed, but also installs them both around campus and inside of the Mulvane Art Museum. Inkmann knows the campus well enough to know where each piece will provide the best fit, maximum viewing, or the best amount of sunlight. Some of the sculptures require a 360 degree viewing, and some require movement in the wind. Inkmann has been a member of the campus beautification committee since its start in 1995. Inkmann received his Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in 1999 from Washburn, and has a sculpture displayed inside of the union. Inkmann’s sculpture, a white bird, is located near the Corner Store. The campus beautification committee, as well as a special panel of jurors, starts the process in choosing sculptures as early as the second week of

June. Deadlines for submissions are May 31. “New jurors every year make it interesting,” said Hall, “Different jurors look at it with a fresh perspective.” It is also key having the right jurors for the process. “It’s important to have a jurist who has adequate sculpture knowledge and art credentials when choosing a sculpture in competitions,” said Inkmann. Jurors try to select pieces in every medium possible, something that art students, as well as the community as a whole, can appreciate. “Every year we’re surprised at the new kinds of art,” said Hall. Once the pieces have been chosen, the previous year’s entries are then taken down, and the new selections are installed by the end of July. One of the criteria that are most important when choosing a sculpture is safety. For this year’s exhibition, there are six new sculptures. President Jerry Farley personally chooses the sculpture that gets displayed in front of Morgan Hall every year. This year features “Life (Portal to the Future),” a stainless steel sculpture by Zachary Bowman of Cedar Falls, Iowa. There are two sculptures, “Lady Negril (Mujiere de Negrill)” and “Denver Boy,” which is located by Washburn Village, by George Paley of Lawrence, Kan., that are made from mixed media. Another featured piece is

Landry Fehrenbacher

Photo by Abby Mies , Washburn Review

Trick Of The Mind: One of the seven new sculptures for the 17th annual oudoor sculpture exhibition is displayed. This sculpture is titled “Mirage” by Alan Dietrich. “Closer Separation” by Benjamin Pierce of Cape Girardeau, Mo., and is made from steel. “Column,” is a unique wooden sculpture that is nestled in between Benton Hall and Memorial Union, and was created by Joe Forrest Sackett of Albuquerque, N.M. “Mirage,” made from steel, petrified wood, photo vinyl, and dinosaur bone, was made by Alan Detrich of Lawrence, and is located near-

by Yager Stadium. Located by Henderson is “Lantern Light,” by Ye Yushan of Beijng,China. Lantern Light is one of four sculptures given to cities in the United States by the Chinese government to commemorate 30 years of formal Sino-American diplomatic relations. Michelle Boltz is a junior mass media major. Reach her at michelle.boltz@washburn.edu

Deals just for WU Colton Goeffert

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Ichabod Shop (formerly known as the Washburn Bookstore) is located on the lower floor of the Memorial Union. Founded in the 1900’s, the Ichabod Shop has played host to numerous events and sales. Among these events are “Scorch on the Porch,” secret sales, holiday events, and the newest event, “TecKnow.” “TecKnow” is a technology based workshop covering topics including new hardware, software and other tips. Another event the Ichabod Shop hosts are its “Make and Take” events, one of which will be held on Sept. 26 in the Memorial Union, where students are invited to participate in some arts and crafts, which they can take home with them. On Monday the Ichabod Shop hosted the resume roadshow, which was an event where students looking to get a job could bring in their resume for review in preparation for

the career fair being held today. During this event the Ichabod Shop offered discounts on resume paper, portfolios and other resume necessities. On Sept. 19, from 11:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., the Ichabod Shop will host a Scorch on the Porch for International Talk Like A Pirate Day. There will be a pirate themed band playing and the Washburn Dining Service will also bring in some pirate

will also feature a special tent with activities and projects just for children to keep the festival Topeka is preparing to entertaining for all ages. host its next Kansas Book Mary Brownback states “In Festival on Sept. 15 at the conjunction with my husband’s Kansas History initiative to M u s e u m improve the between 9 a.m. percentage of and 4 p.m. The fourth-grade Kansas Book students reading Festival is at or above designed as a grade level, I way to celebrate have assembled the best of a team to plan a Kansas literature and book festival for the a way to recycle Graphic by Kelsey Wagers , Washburn Review state of Kansas. books into We believe places in need of a collection. we’ve created an event that, The festival is funded while appealing to both adults entirely through donations and children, will promote and grants to keep the festival literacy and encourage a free and open to the public. life-long love of reading by Donations of new and used bringing authors, publishers books during the past six and illustrators together with weeks will be distributed to the people of Kansas.” For local libraries and non-profit a full list of authors, contest associations in need. A long winners, directions, and list of Kansas authors will be other information visit www. presenting their works, having kansasbookfestival.com. meet-the-author sessions, panel discussions, book signings and sales. Awards will be presented to the winners of the 2012 Kansas Book Festival Writing Landry Fehrenbacher is a Contest as well, showcasing senior English major. Reach some of Kansas’s most talented him at landry.fehrenbacher@ high school writers. The event washburn.edu

WASHBURN REVIEW

but then reopening at 4 p.m. and closing at 8 p.m. It is at these times the Ichabod Shop has special football sales. For family day, Sept. 29., the Ichabod Shop will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. “On that Friday and Saturday [Sept. 28 and 29] is what we call our ‘Biggest Sale of the Year’, [which is] the only time of the year you

themed m e a l s . Graphic by Kelsey Wagers , Washburn Review With September c a n also being the start of football b u y season, the Ichabod Shop is o n e adapting itself accordingly, item and get the next item [of maintaining its regular hours, equal or lesser value] half price,

on any Washburn branded items,” said Kay Farley, the Director of the Ichabod Shop. On Halloween, the Ichabod Shop will be hosting its annual Hall-o-WU-een party at 2 p.m. at the Union Marketplace. At the party there will be costume contests, of varying categories, with prizes for the winner. Though the Ichabod Shop does sell textbooks, there is a lot more that the store offers as well. There are snacks ranging from candy to chips and nuts, there are general reading books, Washburn water bottles and T-shirts. “They have really cute shirts, very fashionable,” said Veronica Shastal, a freshman psychology student. Soon though, there will be a few new items. According to Farley the Ichabod shop will carry both Apple and Windows computers within the next six to eight weeks. Shastal revealed she also plans to expand the Washburn apparel line into “something professional, something you could wear to work. something for someone a little older than a college student.” All profits made by the Ichabod Shop stay on campus to provide funding for services and programs for the students at Washburn.

Colton Goeffert is a freshman undecided major. Reach him at colton.goeffert@washburn.edu

Class offers opportunities Graphic by Kelsey Wagers , Washburn Review

Ashley Russel

WASHBURN REVIEW

The First Friday Art Walk in Topeka occurs on the first Friday of each month all around Topeka. Art galleries around the city open up their spaces to exhibit these once-a-month shows to varieties of visitors including Washburn students, art-lovers and locals. The North Topeka Arts District along North Kansas Ave. is a more condensed area of galleries, antique shops, restaurants and bars. It is a growing arts district new to Topeka with the potential to bring more art into the community. At the heart of NOTO is the NOTO Community Arts Center, 922 N. Kansas Ave. At this September’s First Friday, Washburn’s AR 223 “Graphic Design I” students displayed their work at the arts center with help from Washburn’s graphic design professor Azyz Sharafy. “I got in touch with the businesses and I told my students to work with the Topeka businesses to get reallife experience- so I gave them the addresses and contact information,” said Sharafy. Graphic design students from spring 2012 and this fall semester were given the assignment to design posters promoting Topeka’s local businesses. “We worked in class, did critiques and saw the results. We got back to the businesses to get their approvals,” said Sharafy. The posters, promoting businesses such as Studio 831, Topeka Carnival Supply and

Bristol Ridge 1 Bedroom $540 2 Bedroom $645

bristol_ridge@yahoo.com 785-233-5959

A quiet community with 6, 9, and 12 mo leases.* Includes FREE cable and trash, washer/dryer in the unit, a pool, & fitness center. Deposit only $99! *(Shorter term leases subject to different pricing)

used without the approvals from the businesses. “Part of the students’ learning is getting the approval for the business they were working for- that’s how real graphic design works.” Washburn’s AR 233 students had a show last year on Kansas Ave. at CoreFirst Bank. “This year we decided to combine the SOTO show from last year with NOTO for more promotion,” said Sharafy. “I think it’s a good way for students to make a connection.” Part of being an art student at Washburn is developing connections with the Topeka community. “Being able to connect with a business gave me a taste of what I would be doing in the real world,” said Tiffanie Locke, graphic design major. Locke designed a poster promoting Personally Yours- a gift shop located at 3601 SW 29th St. Locke is just one of the 20-30 graphic design students who got the opportunity for this real-world experience. “I was excited about the project because that’s what I want to do- graphic design,” said Locke. NOTO has direct partnerships with Topeka Public Schools and Washburn’s Mulvane Art Museum, allowing for more connections in the arts within Topeka. “The connection between the businesses and art department and Topeka develops a community,” said Sharafy. Connections in the art world are key when promoting, whether it be promoting an artist’s own work or promoting a business with design help from the artist. “A lot of people don’t know what we teach- this project is a good way to promote our graphic design,” said Sharafy. Anyone that missed Sept.’s First Friday can attend the Oct. 5 art walk. Ashley Russel is a sophomore art major. Reach her at ashley. russel@washburn.edu


2012-13 Issue 4