Issuu on Google+

Washburn University

TheReview

Check out the Bod Magazine for your chance to win a gift card to a local Topeka business.

SERVING WASHBURN UNIVERSIT Y SINCE 1873

WWW.WASHBURNREVIEW.ORG • (785) 670-2506

VOLUME 138, ISSUE 1 • WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 29, 2012

1700 S.W. COLLEGE • TOPEKA, KAN. 66621

Sorority recruitment begins at WU

Paws in the park

Photo by Andrew Escandon, Washburn Review

Sisters for Life: Hayley Strutt, Washburn student, talks to Washburn women interested in joining Greek life. Formal sorority recruitment is set to take place Sept. 4-8 and will provide information about sorority life.

Photos by Kelsey Wagers, Washburn Review.

Rain doesn’t matter: Despite soggy conditions on Aug. 25, the 16th Annual Paws in the Park event, held in Gage Park, attracted hundreds of animals and their owners. “Pawriates” was the theme for this year’s event, which began with a one mile mutt strut through the park. Paws in the Park raises money for Helping Hands Humane Society.

Amanda Narverud

WASHBURN REVIEW

The first meeting for sorority recruitment happened on Aug. 24 at 2:30 p.m. in the Kansas room. Delanie Atteberry, psychology major, junior and panhellenic recruitment chair, talked to the crowd about the general activities about to take place. Sorority recruitment starts formally with two orientations, though students only have to attend one. The first meeting will be today at 3:30 p.m. in the Vogel Room. The next meeting will be tomorrow at 7 p.m. in the Kansas room. At these orientations, each chapter will hand out a financial spreadsheet as well as have a presentation prepared. Sept. 4 from 5 to 9 p.m. is when sorority Greek Night takes place.

To see more photos from Paws in the park, visit www.washburnreview.org

During Greek Night, students will receive their recruitment counselor; as well as, attend four chapter meetings. The purpose of this is that students get all the information about the chapters, helping them select what chapter they would like to be a part of. “So our process is a process of mutual selection,” said Gary Handy, assistant director for student activities and Greek life. “We want you to interact with the chapter members as much as possible so that they get to know you and you get to know them as much as possible.” The second day of recruitment, tour night, will start off the same way but in the Washburn room B, again at 5 lasting till about 9 p.m. On this night students will learn more about the chapters, talk to the women to see if it’s a good fit for both

The negative thing about [sorority recruitment] is the ranking system. I didn’t really like that you rank one out each night, not going through it yet, I don’t know if that is going to be enough time. - Kara Protasio Sophomore mass media major

parties and tour the facilities. On the second night, students will be asked to go to Henderson Hall and rank the chapters based on which they have preference towards. Philanthropy night, the third night, will start in the Kansas Room at the same time as the previous night. This night is all about getting to know more about philanthropy, the chapters’ non-profit organizations. This can also be called “craft night” because students will be making a craft about whichever organization they are placed with on that night. “On that night, you really want to listen. The chapter’s orga-

Continued on Page 3

Sports Sports Washburn soccer looks to change their woeful ways Louis Bourdeau and Luke Warnken

and Leah Talley. Despite only having three seniors on the

WASHBURN REVIEW

After a dismal 2011 season which resulted in a 1-14-3 record, the Washburn Lady Blues soccer team will look to claw their way out of the bottom of the MIAA. First stop; the fall 2012 Drury Invitational. The Lady Blues will play the host team, the Drury University Lady Panthers at 7:30 p.m., Fri. Aug. 31 at Harrison Stadium in Springfield, Mo. The Blues will then face off with the Missouri S&T Lady Miners at 12 p.m., Sat. Sept. 1. “I always have two or three things we focus on each game, depending on us, not the opponent,” said Tim Collins, Washburn head coach. “We were invited to this tourney because of our record. But we are better than our record last year and we are even better this year. We won’t be easy to beat.” Collins enters his tenth season at Washburn University with a win-loss-tie record of 77-74-29 at the start of this season. The Lady Blues will be led by three seniors, including the dynamic duo of Tia Stovall

Last year left a bad taste in everyone’s mouth and the team has come in prepared to not have that happen again.

- Tim Collins Washburn head soccer coach

team, the Lady Blues haven’t had troubles adapting to one another. “I would say the unique thing about our team is the amazing chemistry everyone has on the field no matter if it’s the starters on field or the “super subs” coming in,” said

Lara Doescher, a junior midfielder from Waddell, Ariz. “It really makes a difference when the talent doesn’t lack when the players on the field change.” Washburn will have to turn some heads this year to gain any respect. The soccer team was voted to finish 12th in the MIAA, barely edging out Missouri Western who was voted to finish last. But don’t count Collins and his team out just yet. And if Doescher has any say, the Lady Blues will look to make Drury pay for inviting them. “My goal for the Drury tournament is to be able to dominate the air in the midfield, complete accurate passes to our forwards in the final third of the field and take lots of shots on goal,” said Doescher. Doescher, a transfer from Paradise Community College, will look to be a scoring threat for the Blues. WU only managed to come up with nine goals all of last season while surrendering 38 goals. The Drury Invitational will be a good starting point for a team trying to get back on track. Drury finished 8-8-2 last season while Missouri S

College Colors Day Friday, August 31st, Show your Ichabod Spirit Be spotted by the prize patrol wearing Washburn colors and win!

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Kicking Off the Season: Tim Collins, Lady Blues soccer head coach, talks to his team during a drill at practice. Collins is hoping to build off of his team’s perserverance last season. & T failed to reach .500 with a 5-9-2 record. And with a solid fan base behind them, the Blues will look to give the fans something to cheer for. “It is important to the readership of The Review to know what the difference their presence makes,” said Collins. “Being involved with your school means supporting your teams, and we will be electric. We strive for family atmosphere

that is positive and fun.” Yager Stadium will look to hopefully host two winning teams this fall as the Lady Blues continue to mesh together. “This is the closest team I’ve ever had. Last year left a bad taste in everyone’s mouth and the team has come in prepared to not have that happen again” said Collins. No matter the outcome of the first two games of the 2012

It’s Game Time! Come celebrate the first home football game of the season with us and be sure to check out our game day specials! *see store for more details

season, there is no where to go but up. “Come watch us and be a part of what we achieve!” said Collins. Louis Bourdeau is graduate criminal justice major and Luke Warnken is a sophomore athletic training major . Reach them at louis.bourdeau@washburn.edu and luke.warnken@ wahsburn.edu

Washburn Bookstore WUBookstore washburnbookstore.edu


News

C

alendar

Wednesday August 29

Leadership Institute @ Academics & Majors Fair: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Memorial Union, Stauffer Commons, Washburn Room A Inside Peanuts—The Life & Art of Charles M. Schulz: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center, Mulvane Museum Sorority Recruit Orientation: 3:30 to 4:30 p.m., Memorial Union, Stauffer Commons, Vogel Room Thursday, August 30

Inside Peanuts—The Life & Art of Charles M. Schulz: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center, Mulvane Museum Union Daze—Scorch on the Porch: 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., Washburn Memorial Student Union Alumni Association tailgate party: 4:30 to 6 p.m., Yager Stadium Football: WU vs. University of Nebraska at Kearney, 6 p.m., Yager Stadium Sorority Recruitment Orientation: 7 to 8 p.m., Law School/Legal Clinic, Kansas Room 117 Friday, August 31

College Colors Day: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Memorial Union, Stauffer Commons Inside Peanuts—The Life & Art of Charles M. Schulz: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center, Mulvane Museum Volleyball vs. Barry University: Noon, Rubin Arena Volleyball vs. University of Southern Indiana: 4 p.m., Rubin Arena Women’s soccer at Drury University: 7:30 p.m. Saturday, September 1

Volleyball vs. Saginaw Valley State University: 9 a.m., Mahoney Gymnasium Inside Peanuts—The Life & Art of Charles M. Schulz: 11 to 4 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center, Mulvane Museum Volleyball at Palm Beach Atlantic University: 3 p.m. Sunday, September 2

Women’s soccer vs. Missouri S&T: noon, Harrison Stadium Tuesday, September 4

Inside Peanuts—The Life & Art of Charles M. Schulz: 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center, Mulvane Museum Sorority recruitment: 5 to 9 p.m., Memorial Union, Stauffer Commons

Don’t see your event in the calendar? Call the Review newsroom at 670-2506 to have your event included in an upcoming edition. It’s FREE.

A2

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Ichtus Burger Bash draws crowd Organization’s mission is to “reject apathy” Keely Brown

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Ichtus Burger Bash started at 6 p.m. on Aug. 26. This function was put on by the campus ministry, Ichtus. Ichtus is the Greek word for fish but putting the Washburn spin on it: Ich for Ichabods the t for the cross, and us for the students of Washburn University. “The reason for the change was because it just seemed more fitting,” said Elizabeth Evans, junior and English major. “K-state has a group named Ichtus but we wanted to put more of Washburn into it.” Ichtus house is located at 1621 S.W. Boswell, and is across from Morgan Hall. The purpose of having the Burger Bash was for the students of Washburn UniverPhoto by Andrew Escandon, Washburn Review sity to be able to get free food and learn a Beat it: Students participating in The Catholic Campus Center’s Kick-It Off Mass on Aug. 26 take their turns swinging at a pinata. The little more about the organization of Ich- Campus Center hosts a variety of different activities throughout the year. tus. Eduardo Bousson, Campus ministry’s pastor, Eduardo Bousson, has been course, they aren’t comfortable with the involved with Campus Ministry since whole idea. Lucy Curtis, occupational therapy July, 2009. Bousson found his calling to become a pastor at the University of Puer- major and transfer student from Emporia, talked about leading once a month misKeely Brown pus Center invites you to discuss the to Rico. sions. WASHBURN REVIEW book “What’s Your Decision?” which “We strive to “The missions presents a time-tested, trustworthy apknow God’s love and can be anything from Students and faculty gathered to- proach to decision making based on St. seek to let God’s love “ Let’s Help to resgether at The Catholic Campus Cen- Ignatius’s knowledge to making good be known. We are open By reject apathy cue missions or even ter at Washburn University, located at decisions. minded and open-heartwhat I mean is, teaming up with the 1633 SW Jewell, held Kick it Off Mass Catholicism by Fr. Barron Class ed. And even when Catholic organization on Aug. 26 at 6 p.m. will be held September 9 at 7-8:30 we are affiliated with we don’t really on campus to help The mass, based on the last sup- p.m. Catholicism is a ground breakthe United Methodist think about how promote awareness per, included a variation of different ing documentary film series. CatholChurch, everyone is everything we do about homelessness.” activities. icism illustrates the truth, goodness, welcome.” The mission of The campus center also holds dif- and beauty of the Catholic Faith that Ichtus has three affects other people this organization for ferent activities throughout the year. A has never been seen before. This provalues of which they in the world. this year is to reject few are listed below. grams is created and hosted by Father reflect as a Washburn apathy and become Wednesday Adoration is held ev- Robert Barron. The program is intendcommunity: love, mys- Eduardo Bousson more evident in the ery Wednesday from 1-5 p.m. This al- ed for multiple applications including tery and transformaPastor, Campus Ministry Washburn University lows you to spend as time with God as Lay Minister Formation Programs, tion. Love represents and Topeka commuyou would like. Catechetical Certification, Adult Faith what Jesus taught peoQuick Journey Thru the Bible will Formation, and Whole Community ple to do, mystery rep” nity. “By reject apathy be held September 5 at 6-7:30 p.m. Catechesis. resents the things that what I mean is, we The activity is an eight part introducOther programs include: Feast of people don’t know, tory program to the Bible Timeline the Nativity (Christmas Party), Friday complexity and grace. Transformation don’t really think about how everything System. It also includes a meaningful December 2 at 5-9 p.m., Spring Kick represents the final outcome, both person- we do affects other people in the world. We are concerned with are spiritual growth overview of salvation history. Off Mass (Minute to win IT), Sunday al and communal. NUN-RUN will be held Septem- January 22 at 6-10 p.m., Mardi Gras “I know college students always love and we get so caught up in that we forget ber 28-30. It is a weekend experience Party, Tuesday before Ash Wednesday free food and on Sunday at 6 p.m. we have about our community,” said Bousson. Students can sign up online for a in which single Catholic women are at 6 p.m., and Senior Mass and Recepthat for students,” said Bousson. Sunday invited to visit Sisters’ convents of var- tion, last Sunday before finals week. night Ichtus meets for an informal time of weekly newsletter about Ichtus at www. ious religious beliefs. For more information about upsharing and a home cooked meal provided ichtuswu.org. If students are interested in learning more about this organization eiFinding Your Soulmate Without coming events visit www.wucatholic. by the church. Loosing Your Soul will be held Sep- com. On Tuesday nights, they meet for Bi- ther e-mail eduardo.bousson@washburn. tember 10 at 6-7:30 p.m. A student ble study at 5:30 p.m. in the newly remod- edu or call (785) 233-1844. Also, students can follow Ichtus on lead group of women will discuss the eled Ichtus house. Facebook at Ichtus at Washburn or Twitter book “Finding Your Soulmate WithThursdays are set aside for worship. out Loosing Your Soul” by Jason and “It’s an intimate, informal experience at CMatWU. Christalina Evert. Sign-up now for this with student led music and prayer, and a event. Keely Brown is a freshman radiology stumessage relevant to your daily experi- Keely Brown is a freshman radiology student. What’s Your Decision will be held dent. She can be reached at keely.brown@ ence,” said Bousson. Any student in this She can be reached at keely.brown@washSeptember 10. The Catholic Cam- washburn.edu. organization can lead a prayer, unless, of burn.edu.

Catholic Campus Center offers variety of activities throughout semester

WU’s “Safe Ride” still on the road AJ Dome

WASHBURN REVIEW

267-3777. That’s the number Washburn students can call if they need a “safe ride” home after a night out. Washburn’s Safe Ride service is a partnership between Capitol City Taxi and Washburn Student Government Association. The service is available for students between the hours of 11 p.m. and 3 a.m. throughout the school year. “This program’s been around longer than I’ve been here, and I’ve been in this position for seven years” said Kevin Moten, manager of Capitol City Taxi. According to the Safe Ride program’s web page, there are some requirements for using the service: —Students must show their WU ID. —Only one ride per night is allowed. —Allow 30 minutes for the taxi to arrive. Charges are still given for no-shows. —Rides are only given from drinking establishments

Stock photo

A student cannot get a ride from one bar to another. They have to go home. “I’ve taken a bunch of students home before using Safe Ride,” said Moten. “Most of the kids I’ve driven are great, and very thankful.” WSGA’s budget director Jessie McGown receives the bill from the taxi service, and WSGA pays the tab. The bill has the names of students who use the service each month. “That’s probably a lot of money,” said Roberto Brown, a sophomore vocal performance major. “My dad used to be in the cab business. I know that taxis are not cheap.”

bill for signs of abuse--names that show up frequently, or in regular intervals. If abuse is occurring, that particular student’s privileges will be revoked—”you abuse, you lose.” According to Moten, the benefits of Safe Ride outweigh the cost. “What’s more expensive, a cab bill or a DUI?” said Moten. “We hope to help out all of the students that call us.” Moten said he is “very honored” to be part of this program, and he wishes more students would participate in Safe Ride. AJ Dome is a junior mass media student. He can be reached at


A3

News • Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Activities, majors fair The sweet taste of “free” explores future possibilities Amanda Narverud

WASHBURN REVIEW

Students will soon be able to see the variety of activities, organizations and opportunities Washburn University has to offer. The activities and majors fair and study abroad fair are resources for students who want to broaden their horizons and get involved on campus. The activities and majors fair is being held today from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Washburn Room of the Memorial Union. There will be the opportunity to learn about a wide variety of campus organizations and student activities including Greek life, international club, campus activities board, and more. Kent McAnally, the director of Washburn University Career Services, will be at the fair telling students the services and resources his department has to offer. McAnally will be at the fair to inform students that career services assist students with making decisions about majors and career paths, including sponsoring events such as the career and graduate school fair on Sept. 12. “We are also the place on campus to get help with

Washburn Review file photo

Photos by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Activities Galore: Students are given opportunities early in the semester to get involved. Through events such as the Activities and Majors Fair and Study Abroad Fair, the hope is students will find a place at WU. resumes, interviews and the job search,” said McAnally. “Finding us is as easy as 1-2-3: We’re in Morgan 123.” The career and graduate school fair is a resource for Washburn students. In two weeks, there will be more than 80 employers and graduate programs under one roof; a rare opportunity, sponsored by career services, to ask questions of the people who do the hiring for internships and jobs. The fall 2012 fair will offer a new emphasis on internships. McAnally said they expect

Chug, Chug, Chug: Washburn University Union Daze provides multiple events for Washburn students. One of the events, a free Pepsi product sampling, took place on Tuesday. Products such as vitamin water and raspberry tea were available. Other events of Union Daze include College Colors Day and Scorch on the Porch, which will include food, games, prizes, music and more. The events are sponsored by the Washburn University Memorial Union.

more than 20 internship employers to be present at the fair. The activities and majors fair and study abroad fair will also provide students with valuable information regarding international studies. To learn more a bout career services, visit www.washburn. edu/services/career.

Amanda Narverud is a sophomore mass media major. Reach her at amanda.narverud@washburn.edu.

Alumni association plans trip to Hays Jalisa Loving

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Alumni Association is hosting a road trip for any student or faculty member wanting to attend the Ichabod football game in Hays on September 8.

The trip will include deluxe motor coach transportation, boxed dinner and a game ticket that will be provided for a fee of fifty dollars. It is also bring your own booze. Passengers are expected to leave the Washburn campus by 3 p.m., with an immediate but late re-

turn after the game. They must have a minimum of 36 passengers signed up by Aug. 27. If you would like to RSVP please send an email via campus mail to Susie Hoffman at susie@ washburn.edu, or give them a call at 670-1641 and pay by credit card.

community. This Friday on August 31, Washburn Tech will be joining forces with the Community Blood center to fulfill the urgent need for blood. Prospective donors will meet in the

basement confere n c e r o o m between 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Stock photo. Anyone under 16 years old will need a parental permission form which will be available at the front desk in the STEP office. Adults over 16 years old, with a minimum weight of 115 pounds and all eligible faculty and students are welcomed to donate, no appointment necessary. Every registered donor will receive a free commemorative t-shirt.

WTI plans annual blood drive Jalisa Loving

WASHBURN REVIEW

This past summer 700 units of blood had to be imported from outside areas to meet the needs of the Topeka

Check out more news

w w w.Wa s h b u r n R e v i e w. o r g w w w.Wa s h b u r n R e v i e w. o r g

w w w.Wa s h b u r n R e v i e w. o r g

Come by the Student Media office for your yearbook and Dr. Farley bobble head today. Only $15 for both! The Student Media office can be found in the North West corner of the basement in the Memorial Union.

Photo by Damaris Gonzalez, Washburn Review

Brothers and Sisters: Maggie Sigler, Delta Gamma president, talks about sorority life at Washburn to interested students. Sigler stressed the positive impacts sorority life has had on her and could have on other students.

Sorority recruitment begins at WU Continued from Page 1

-nization is really important to them and is really important to the community,” said Atteberry. Again on this night, students will be asked to return to Henderson hall ranking their top three chapters. On the fourth night, or preference night, students will attend a ceremony of one of the chapters or possible two of the chapters. “Preference night is a really special night,” said Atteberry. “It’s a lot different

than the others. You’ll only go to two events most likely and you actually witness one of the ceremonies, which is a really big deal because most ceremonies are private.” Then, for the last time, students will be asked to rank their top two chapters. It’s important to remember through this whole process, the chapters are ranking the students as well. “The negative thing about it (sorority recruitment) is the ranking system,” said Kara Protasio, sophomore mass media major. “I didn’t really like that you rank one out each night, not going through

it yet, I don’t know if that is going to be enough time.” To learn more about sorority recruitment, visit washburn.edu/campus-life/ student-activities/greek-life/ sororities/index.html.

Amanda Narverud is a sophomore mass media major. Reach her at amanda.narverud@washburn.edu.


Opinion Opinion

A4

BOD

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Recently, Schlitterbahn opened in Kansas City and now Oceans of Fun isn’t the only water park within driving range for students. Which one is better between the two?

ST

Brownback approves Our Staff funding for capitol ing?

Do you prefer Oceans of Fun or Schlitterbahn?

“What’s Schlitterbahn? I have never heard of it.”

“I prefer Oceans of Fun just because I’m older and I have never been to Schlitterbahn.” Brail Watson, senior vocal and cello performance

Jeff Herschll, radiology technology

“I prefer Schlitterbahn because I am originally from Texas. That’s what is big down there.” Christian Sauerman, freshman, fine arts

“I prefer Oceans of Fun because it has the wave pool.”

Brian Pusch, freshman criminal justice

“I really dislike Schlitterbahn because it’s so boring. There is not much to do and the slides are boring. They are not as fast compared to if you go to Oceans of Fun. Schlitterbahn is more for little kids.”

“Oceans of Fun because there is just more stuff. I enjoyed it more.” Katie Barnes, sophomore nursing

Alecia Espinoza, sophomore education

Interviews and photos byTricia Peterson

What was your favorite Welcome Week activity? Moving In 10% Rock the Rec 30% Casino Night 20% Campus Picnic 10% Traditions Night 30%

Go to washburnreview.org and vote on the current poll! from an unscientific poll on washburnreview.org

Tricia Peterson

WASHBURN REVIEW

Every time I look downtown, I see that damn crane. For the past couple months, I have been wondering when they were going to get rid of it. It can’t be cheap, especially because it’s the tallest free-standing tower crane in North America, standing at 340 feet. Since 2008, this crane has been a part of Topeka’s skyline, and my question is, when will it be gone? I went back and read the first article, by CJOnline, to be written about the assembly of the crane, and it says “the exterior masonry restoration is a four-year project, which began in early 2008.” It’s late 2012, so they are already way behind schedule. Today, it was brought to my attention that another $12 million was approved by Gov. Sam Brownback and legislative leaders. Also, that the first estimated $300 million, for renovating the capitol, has been far exceeded already. It’s also said that the Kansas Department of Transportation will have to fork over $7 million. I just don’t understand why. Brownback wants to spend all this money on renovating a building that looks fine to me, instead of putting money where it really matters, such as education or employment. Why are there people losing their jobs, and why is tuition going up, when we have the money to spend on renovating a build-

One part of the newest article from CJOnline that makes me skeptical is the fact that for most of the article the focus is the visitor center and marble flooring in the bathrooms. Then, it goes on to say that Brownback wants KDOT to pay more than half of the costs because, “It’s the grounds and the roads around the capitol. That’s the connection with KDOT.” The article says that the money wouldn’t be taken from salary money, but five percent (or about 40) KDOT employees were laid off in the beginning recently. The only item on the list of problems being fixed that have anything to do with the grounds was the sprinkler system. “Lindsey Douglas of KDOT said the $7 million would not come out of construction projects, but would come from operational savings or federal funds if they can be secured,” according to the article. So, let’s make the federal government pay for our state building or fire people so they can pay for it. Make KDOT pay for it, and we will fire 40 employees. Everything they say is contradictory, and doesn’t really make sense. Other items on the list to be fixed include lighting, security, an orientation room and a classroom equipped for audio-visual presentations. I think some of these things are important, but not as important as jobs for our citizens and education costs. I am a student, paying for my own education, so of course I think my lower tuition is more important than marble flooring. Especially when the floors that are already there are just fine, and there are cheaper options. Tricia Peterson is a junior mass media major. Reach her at patricia.peterson@washburn.edu

Campus Police Report

8/22 at 14:04 in Parking Lot 11 - Burglary/Theft/vehicle, cell phone, cig., currency - report taken, no suspects at this time 8/22 at 20:36 in Living Learning Center - Information report, disturbance - report taken: non residents escorted from building - referred to dean of students. 8/23 at 6:42 in Carnegie Hall - Information report vicious dog - report taken, ind. not hurt, animals left campus, Animal Control called 8/23 at 6:43 in Morgan Hall - Information report, discharge of a firearm - report taken, ind. being attacked by a vicious animal. 8/23 at 7:30 in Morgan Hall- Assist outside agency warrant arrest - report taken, ind. taken to Dept. of Corrections. 8/23 at 15:19 in Morgan Hall - Information report, disturbance - report taken, ind. calmed down and continued enrollment process. 8/23 at 18:30 in Morgan Hall - Possess with intent to use simulated cont. substance - report taken, referred to municipal court, referred to dean of students. 8/24 at 16:54 in West Hall - Information report, unwanted persons - report taken, magazine salesmen, out of the area when WUPD arrived. 8/24 at 17:23 in Mabee Library - Information report, disturbance - Report taken, on arrival dist. over, 1 ind. had left area and was not located. 8/25 at 16:17 in Petro Allied Health Center - Information report alcohol violation - report taken, alcohol seized and destroyed. 8/26 at 17:05 in Morgan Hall - Information report, complaint - report taken, while getting info. an arrest warrant confirmed, taken to Dept. of Corrections by TPD 8/26 at 3:16 in Henderson Learning Center - Information report, elevator problem - report taken, trapped ind. taken out of elevator by TFD, WU Maintenance called.

Contact Us

Phone: (785) 670-2506 Fax: (785) 670-1131 www.washburnreview.org

Print Editor-in-Chief Tricia Peterson Online Editor-in-Chief Brian Dulle Advertising Manager Raz Potter Promotions Manager Bita Givechi News Editor Ryan Hodges Sports Editor Luke Warnken A&E Editor Kelly Hurla Photo Editor Mike Goehring Graphic Design Editor Katie Child Copy Editors Richard Kelly • Fatima Oubaid • Anjelica Willis • Abby Brinker Managing Editor Bradley Parrales Production Assistants Linnzi Fusco Writers Shelby Atadgi • AJ Dome• Kelly Andrews • Michelle Boltz • Jordan Loomis • Mike Crayton • Ryan Ogle • Fatima Oubaid • Colton Goeffert • Alexander Sonnich • Keely Brown • Landry Fhrenbacher • Louis Bourdeau • Amanda Narverud Photographers Kelly Andrews • Ryan Burge • Louie Cortez • Andrew Escandon • Mike Goehring • Jordan Loomis • Ashley Russell • Amanda Narverud • James Sims • Sarah Rush • Alex Voskoboyev • Eric Gordon • Keely Brown • Linnzi Fusco • Emily Lingenfelser Graphic Designers Katie Child • Kelsey Wagers • Sarah Williams • Brent Koehler • Ashley Russel Videographers Drew Egnoske • Bradley Hernandez • Andrew Huff • Rodolfo Parisi • Luke Warnken Advertising Staff Autumn Kirchner • Chloe Callahan • Keely Brown •Ryan Burge • Autumn Kirchner Business Manager Sarah Roth Adviser Regina Cassell The Washburn Review is published every Wednesday throughout the academic year, excluding holidays and some other dates. Copies are free for students, faculty and staff, and can be found at numerous locations around the campus of Washburn University. Subscriptions to the Washburn Review are available at the following rates: 13 issues for $20 or 26 issues for $35. For more information, please visit our Web site at www.washburnreview.org or call (785) 670-2506. The Washburn Review is a member newspaper of the Associated Press (AP), the Kansas Associated Press (KPA) and the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press (KACP). The Review was the 2009 winner of the All-State award, given to the best four-year public university newspaper in the state of Kansas. The Washburn Review accepts letters to the editor pertaining to articles appearing in the Washburn Review or on issues of importance to the Washburn or Topeka community. We do not accept mass letters to the editor. Please limit letters to less than 400 words. Letters must be submitted via Word document if possible, and there must be a phone number where the person can be reached for verification. Please e-mail letters to wureview@gmail.com. The Review reserves the right to edit all submissions to the paper for length, libel, language and clarity. Because of volume on the opinion page, we are unable to print all letters and are unable to return submissions.

© The Washburn Review Copyright 2012

Corrections: While the Review strives for accuracy, we sometimes make mistakes. Any corrections will apprear here.


Sports Sports

A5

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

WU spikers begin tough year in Florida

Jordan Loomis

WASHBURN REVIEW

This season the Lady Blues volleyball team will be participating in the Palm Beach Atlantic Hyatt Place Sunshine Classic tournament located in West Palm Beach, Fla., on Aug. 31 and Sept. 1. Heading into the tournament, the No. 7 Lady Blues will look to start strong after a fantastic 2011 season. And having competed in a tournament like this upcoming one last year, both WU volleyball coaches are ready for the change. The first change this season has been the leadership on the court. According to head coach Chris Herron and assistant coach Taylor Pohlman, the leadership this season for the volleyball team has been great. “Our senior girls have really accepted their roles and have so far been outstanding role models,” said Herron. With the previous season leaving a lot of room for

younger players – eight freshmen to be exact – Pohlman also believes strongly in the senior players. WU will need some underclassman to step up on the front line to compliment senior All-American Jessica Fey. “I personally think that we have a solid core group of three senior girls who are playing a major role in shaping this season’s freshmen for the upcoming season,” said Pohlman. Having red-shirted four of the eight freshmen players this season, Pohlman ensures her strong belief behind the girls eligible to give the Washburn Lady Blues their best opportunities to win throughout the season. “With the region changes, the girls know they are going to have to be more focused than ever before in order to accomplish their team goals, and I believe the seniors can get that done,” said Pohlman. Going into this tournament, Herron has created one mindset for his players – to

5 6

Photo by Drew Egnoske, Washburn Review

Straight Aim: Sophomore quarterback Mitch Buhler earned the starting nod over Joel Piper after a solid fall camp.

Bods open against Lopers Drew Egnoske

WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Flying High: The seventh ranked Lady Blues will pack their bags and head to the east coast for the Palm Beach Atlantic Hyatt Place Sunshine Classic. There the Blues will play four matches in beautiful Florida. work hard, yes, but to also understand that every team is capable of beating them. “We simply try to make our players understand that if

they give their best effort, then at the end of the match, all of us can walk off feeling good about ourselves,” said Herron. The tournament opens with the Lady Blues facing off against Barry University. BU finished 11-17 in Steve Hendricks’ first year at the helm. “They are going to be a completely new team that we don’t really know what to exFri. 8/31/2012 pect from,” said PohlBarry University West Palm Beach, FL Rubin Arena12 p.m. man. The Blues then Fri. 8/31/2012 move on to play the University Of Southern Indiana West Palm Beach, FL Rubin Arena 4 p.m. University of Southern Indiana who lost the conference player-ofthe-year last season. They replaced her with Sat. 9/1/2012 a Division 1 transfer Saginaw Valley State Univesity West Palm Beach, FL Mahoney Gymnasium 9 a.m. Molly King. “Both teams have Sat 9/1/2012 a week to modify their Palm Beach Atlantic University West Palm Beach, FL Mahoney Gymnasium 3.p.m. systems for a win,” said Pohlman. “So we’re not going to let our team down.” The team will have to regroup after

2012

two tough matches and square off against Saginaw Valley. “They have a great program and had a really successful season last year, so we are looking forward to a great match,” said Pohlman. Even with the hard work ahead of them, the Lady Blues have a special reward so far this season that’s just outside of their reach. “Thanks to some of our teams’ parents’ donations, we’re going to take the girls snorkeling and reward them for their hard work after the girls play hard throughout the tournament,” said Pohlman. The Lady Blues’ last match is against host Palm Beach Atlantic University. But regardless of winning or losing, the Washburn Lady Blues are definitely ready for their upcoming tournament. “We’re truly looking forwards to competing and enjoying the experiences we will share on this trip,” said Herron. Jordan Loomis is a sophomore double major in mass media and art. Reach her at jordan. loomis@washburn.edu.

Young Lady Blues look for Kopp to lead by example

Drew Egnoske

WASHBURN REVIEW

Jessica Kopp returns to the Lady Blues volleyball team this year and will play a decisive role in their success. Accompanied by fellow hitter, Jessica Fey, the two will lead their team onto the court to show if they can live up to their No. 1 MIAA ranking. If they are to be successful, Kopp will have to show that her leadership and many years of playing volleyball have allowed her to carry her team

to success. She was recently picked as a captain and head coach Chris Herron believes she has what it takes to lead the team. “I just trust Kopp…totally trust her,” said Herron. “You’re gonna get her best at everything, every time.” Fellow senior teammate, Fey, also trusts Kopp. “She has a lot of energy all the time and brings a lot of intensity, so those are two good things to have,” said Fey. “It’s kind of tricky for the other team because they never know what

she is gonna do.” Much of Kopp’s success on the court begins with her success in the classroom. At Lee Summit West High School in Lee Summit, Mo., Kopp had a 4.5 GPA and graduated second in her class. At Washburn she has been on the dean’s honor roll every year and is pursuing double majors in biology and Spanish. “I take my academics very seriously” said Kopp. “I’m trying to get into med school so I really have to keep my GPA up.”

Kopp plans to attend either University of Kansas Med or University of Missouri Med after a fifth year at Washburn to finish up her second degree. She believes that her mental toughness is just as important as her physical abilities are. “Volleyball is a very mental sport,” said Kopp. “You have to have a high IQ to see where the spots are on the court to place the ball.” Last year Kopp started in 20 games while totaling 218 kills and 147 digs. On Oct. 29 against Missouri Western, she had her first ever double-digit kill match and then repeated this act twice more in the NCAA tournament against Arkansas Tech and an eventual loss against Central Missouri the team that tied them for a share in the MIAA Championship. Her success on the court earned her MIAA honorable mention. She hopes to build upon that success this year and

develop her role as captain. “I try to provide a really good example for the other girls and hopefully set the example for what a leader should be.” said Kopp. “If someone is down I need to help pick them up and I need to stay tough mentally.” She believes they are ready for the challenges of the season which starts with a trip to West Palm Beach, Fla. to face Barry University in the 2012 Palm Beach Atlantic Hyatt Place Sunshine Classic on Friday, Aug. 31. They will then travel to Bolivar, Mo. to compete in the Southwest Baptist Purple Bash. Their first home match will be on Sept. 11, against Emporia State at 7 p.m in Lee Arena.

Drew Egnoske is a senior mass media major. Reach him at drew.egnoske@washburn.edu.

Taco Villa Now Hiring! Looking for dependable people with flexible schedules seeking part-time employment. Good pay with benefit potential! Restaurant experience preferred. Stop by from 2pm - 3pm during the week to apply. Located at 21st and Fairlawn, behind the Toy Store.

Monday - Thursday: 11am - 9pm Friday & Saturday: 11am - 10pm Sunday: 11:30am - 7pm

Washburn University football takes the field on Thursday, Aug. 30 against the University of Nebraska-Kearney (UNK) Lopers. Last year at this time, the Ichabods were armed with an offensive juggernaut, quarterback Dane Simoneau. WU head coach Craig Schurig then took his team on an amazing run that ended with a 10-3 record, the best in school history. With a new year comes new faces and the roles that they play will be crucial to the success of the team. Thursday’s contest will be the first opportunity for Schurig’s team to answer questhat have SPORTS tions nagged them COLUMN all offseason and finally take to the gridiron against a newcomer to the MIAA conference. The Ichabods went all offseason without a No. 1 at quarterback. Sophomore Mitch Buhler won the quarterback battle that played out between him and fellow sophomore quarterback Joel Piper, but Buhler saw only limited playing time behind Simoneau last season (11-20, 167 yds, 1 TD). He will have to show early that he is ready to lead an offense that has plenty of weapons for him to throw to including DaJuan Beard, 2011 All-American honorable mention. But look for UNK to bring some pressure to the unexperience WU offense. UNK’s defense is very talented with 8 starters returning. Expect them to pressure Buhler constantly to see what he is made of. Defensive tackle Justin Thiel and defensive end Dex Schwieger will look to penetrate the Ichabods offensive line and create havoc in the backfield. “They’re a good team and they have a lot of experience coming back this year,” said senior left tackle Steve Dieckhaus. “They have a couple of stand outs on the d-line (Thiel and Schwieger)” said Dieckhaus. Dieckhaus was a 2011 honorable mention All-MIAA and offensive captain. Dieckhaus and the Bods offensive line is equally as talented as the Lopers devensive front and it will be their job to keep Buhler upright in the pocket. While Buhler is adjusting to the speed of the game, the Ichabods will rely a lot on the run game. Donnie Lockhart leads a backfield that has just as much to prove as does the new quarterback. Lockhart is a redshirt freshman who was very talented in high school at the local Shawnee Heights High School where he racked up 1,700 yards and 23 touchdowns as a senior. His downhill running style will be complemented by junior Hayden Groves and redshirt freshman Kameron Stewart who are more shifty. All three running backs are very talented. The offense will need the help of their defense to stop the

Continued on page 6


A6

Talley focuses on big senior year

Sports • Wednesday, August 29, 2012 The Washburn Review 8/29/12 Sudoku

Lady Blues soccer team is To solve the Sudoku puzzle, each row, column and box ready for their first official seamust contain the numbers 1 to 9. son game on Aug. 31 against Drury in Springfield, Mo. “We have a lot to prove this year, and I feel that everyone’s in the right mindset to play. I’m really excited to see how it turns out,” said Talley. Being a part of the Washburn Lady Blue’s soccer team is an experience Talley will miss dearly. “It has been such a great experience and has really helped me grow as both a player and a person,” said Talley. “It has added so many great memories to my life, through rough time and exciting times! I am so thankful for it all.” Talley’s coach of four The Washburn Review 8/22/12 Crossword PuzzleJunction years, Collins, is proud of the Copyright ©2012 PuzzleJunction.com player she has become. “Leah came in this year with a purpose. She knows Across 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 it’s her last year in the game at a high level and wants it to 13 14 15 1 Tritons be memorable,” said Collins. 5 Thwart 18 16 17 “She’s taken the time during 9 Bear dipper the summer to go above and 20 21 22 19 13 Burn plant beyond the call of duty and is 14 Figure out 23 24 ready for this season, as both a 15 Gimme a Break player and a strong leader.” 25 26 27 28 29 30 star, Carter Talley is a leader that 16 Inexorable 31 32 33 34 knows just how valuable her Solution 18 Cripple experience as being a Lady 36 37 35 19 Boy Blue has been. 20 Singer Guthrie 394 7 1 9 3 6 40 38 “It feels like these four 8 5 2 21 Garments years have flown by with these 8 5 9 1 4 432 7 6 3 41 42 23 Remain girls, but I have made some 3 6 2 7 5 8 9 4 1 24 Bench 44 45 of the best friendships I will 9 8 6 5 7 1 3 2 4 25 Porter ever have with them. We went 46 47 48 49 28 More threadbare 5 4 7 3 2 9 6 1 8 50 51 52 through all the good and the 31 Utopian 541 55 53 bad times together,” said Talley. 2 3 8 6 4 5 756 9 32 Tree trunk “Tim is a great person who has 7 1 5 4 9 3 2 859 6 58 57 33 Morose always focused on more than 6 9 8 2 1 5 4 3 7 35 TV cop Peter ___ 60 just soccer with his players. He 61 62 2 3 4 6 8 7 1 9 5 36 Levered cares about us and our futures.” Copyright ©2012 PuzzleJunction.com 37 Dog food name Talley’s advice for her 38 Vitriolic 61 New Mexico city 12 Charity 36 Terminate freshman teammates this sea39 Injure 62 Shade trees 14 Dress holder gradually son is a simple one. 40 Make tea 17 Of birth 40 Contempt “Don’t take any moment 41 Flow out Down 22 Crone 42 Sign of assent for granted because before you 43 Panoramas 23 Shocks 43 Spar know it will be over,” said Tal44 Forfeiture 1 Nobleman 24 Bay State city 45 Auspices ley. 45 Footless 2 Chigger 25 Latvian port city 46 Persia 46 Not outdoors 3 Recounted 26 Draw out 47 Egypt. river 49 Ger. title of 4 Envision 27 Fabric 48 Goulash respect 5 Indiscretion 28 Watered-silk 49 Hawaii town 50 Pride 6 Bread spread 29 Exorcist actress 50 And others 53 Hotel name 7 Sickbed items Burstyn (Latin) 54 Started (Abbr.) 30 Pakistani 51 Microbe 57 Downwind 8 Weakened monetary unit 52 Likelihood Jordan Loomis is a sophomore 58 Not fired up 9 Consummate 32 Rascals 55 Genetic double major in mass media 59 Unit of length 10 Bring up 34 Cleaning material (Abbr.) and art. Reach her at jordan. 60 Information 11 Incision implements 56 Affi rmative loomis@washburn.edu.

7

8

4 9 2 7

5

7

6

3

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Focused In: Senior Leah Talley looks to help change the Lady Blues’ losing ways. Talley led the Blues last year with four goals on the season.

Jordan Loomis

WASHBURN REVIEW

Having played soccer her entire life, Leah Talley, senior forward and biology major, hasn’t come to terms yet that this is her last season as a Washburn Lady Blue. “It’s crazy to think that this is my last year of competitive soccer,” said Talley. Talley first started playing soccer when she was just six years old for the Wichita Wings, her grade school club team. She then moved on to play for the Cholita Strikers and then against a more competitive league in Maize High School. “My Cholita Strikers coach and high school coach, Jay Holmes, told me that I should pick up soccer,” said Talley. “So I tried it, and I fell in love with the sport. I’ve been playing ever since.” Talley’s college career began at Washburn University

two years after her first meeting with Tim Collins, Washburn Lady Blue’s head coach. “Coach Collins had sent me a camp brochure to my house when I was a sophomore in high school,” said Talley. Talley committed to Washburn in December of her senior year of high school. Collins says that Talley’s growth as a player began with

Player Feature: Leah Talley

her athleticism. “She has worked hard to increase her abilities in lateral movement, strength and flexibility,” said Collins. On the field, Talley’s technical ability of play has been her biggest area of growth according to Collins. “Her vision while she plays and her ability to read the game have all improved tremendously over the years,” said Collins. According to Talley, the

1 9

2 3

4 2

8

6 4 9 3 5 4 1

Offensive lineman Dieckhaus looks to impress this season Ichabods welcomes new MIAA foe Continued from page 5

Drew Egnoske

WASHBURN REVIEW

There will be many new faces on the offensive side of the ball for the Ichabods this year. They have a new starting quarterback, Mitch Buhler, and the running backs will be led by freshman Donnie Lockhart. With new personnel in these skill positions, the offense will rely heavily on experienced linemen. Enter in Steve Dieckhaus and his crew of seasoned veterans. Dieckhaus, newly appointed team captain, will lead his group of hog mollies as they attempt to repeat last years success of finishing 5th in the nation for total offense. Being physical in the trenches is what Dieckhaus recognizes as the first step to accomplishing the team’s goals. “We always want to be the most physical team,” said Dieckhaus. “That’s one of my main goals that I try to relate to the whole team. I think if we do things like that then our other goals of conference and national championships will fall into place.” Dieckhaus finished last year with as a honorable mention all-MIAA for his play at right tackle but he doesn’t focus on those types of accolades and instead looks at the individual things that he must do to propel his team towards the playoffs. “I want to be known as the most physical guy in the conference, who doesn’t take a play off and leaves everything

Photo by Andrew Escandon, Washburn Review

Bring on the Lopers: Senior Steve Dieckhaus makes the transition from right tackle to left tackle. Coming into the 2012 season Dieckhaus has made 28 consecutive starts. on the field,” said Dieckhaus. Entering his senior season, Dieckhaus is expected to show both his experience and his leadership as he moves from right to left tackle. “He’s a great player and impacts the line with his leadership,” said offensive line coach Eric Eisenbarth. “He leads by example and he’s very vocal.” Eisenbarth likes the example Dieckhaus has established for the younger players through his aggressive style of play. “The guys see that and they understand it,” said Eisenbarth. “They learn it better by seeing it instead of me just saying it.” The veteran left tackle believes it is very important

to know when to be that vocal leader. “It’s gotta be specific and it’s at the right time and moment,” said Dieckhaus. Dieckhaus commands a tight group who view each other as brothers, constantly saying the word “together”. “I’m playing for you, play for me,” said Dieckhaus. “We’re playing for each other, and we bring that camaraderie and togetherness.” When it comes to his relationship with sophomore quarterback Mitch Buhler, Dieckhaus believes the young signal caller has what it takes to lead. “He’s young and he’s stepping up,” said Dieckhaus.

“He’s a true sophomore coming in and I encourage him to control the offense more and more.” Dieckhaus hopes that his gameplay this year will translate into a chance at the next level. He has some insight from former teammate Brian Folkerts, recently with the New Orleans Saints. “Folkerts was my roommate so I got to see first hand how it works,” said Dieckhaus.

Drew Egnoske is a senior mass media major. Reach him at drew.egnoske@washburn.edu.

Lopers. UNK runs a spread offense which requires a defense to be fast and swarm to the ball. That is exactly what the Bods have. They will be led by linebackers Jahmil Taylor and Bryce Atagi, both second team All-MIAA selections a year ago. Aric Kaiser, UNK quarterback, is a redshirt freshman and will have to endure the constant barrage by a seasoned defense who returns eight starters. This group is full of play makers who dominated fall camp. Nonetheless they are not taking UNK’s potent offense lightly. “They’re really good at what they do. We all have to be assignment sound on the zone read and speed option,” said

Atagi. “If one person makes a mistake and doesn’t do their job it could be six.” Washburn’s secondary will need to prove themselves against the Loper’s spread attack. Because UNK will want to pass the ball, the Bods secondary will need to produce plays. If there is one place Solution on that nextthep Ichabods defense is suspect it is in the secondary, because they are mostly unproven. The Bods return only two starters in their secondary in junior cornerback Devon Connors and sophomore Calvin Kenney who switches back to safety after starting the final eight games at corner. Drew Egnoske is a senior mass media major. Reach him at drew.egnoske@washburn.edu.

Turn in to Washburn Review’s twitter for live updates of Thursday’s games against the Lopers!


A&E Jam session rocks NOTO A7

Ryan Ogle

WASHBURN REVIEW

Topeka’s NOTO Arts District, which spans across four blocks of old North Kansas Avenue, has become the city’s most popular destination for artists of all mediums to congregate and showcase their abilities. A growing number of galleries, studios, boutiques and shops dot this historic street and inside any one of them, art lovers can find a wide array of paintings, etchings, jewelry and several other examples of creative craftsmanship on display and for sale. Community support for the local artists has been impressive to say the least. Try to find a parking spot in the area on the first Friday of any given month if you need proof of that statement. While the flood of support has done wonders for many a local artist and given Topeka a much needed shot of

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

culture in the arm, it has been practitioners of the visual arts who have received most of the attention. Auditory arts, or music has been little more than a backdrop to the overall scene. That’s all about to change. On an ordinarily quiet Thursday night, the streets of NOTO are sleeping in preparation for the stampede coming for the next First Friday Art Walk, a rumble can be heard from behind the walls at 917 N. Kansas Ave. The building, better known as J&J’s Gallery Bar (formerly Ruffnecks), has become home to what is becoming the city’s newest regularly scheduled outpouring of artistic expression; an open jam session. Every Thursday night, local musician Judd Mason [Emotional Feedback, Midgetpounder, The Cleaners, Paradigm Shift Kit], along with artist Alex Lancaster, can be found at J&J’s playing host to the aptly-named Open Playtime for Musicians, Artists & Freaks

Photo by Ryan Ogle, Washburn Review

Jam Nights Bring Entertainment: Local musician Judd Mason lets it rock for the crowd. Judd encourages anyone to come out and enjoy the jam sessions. Featuring The Fumps. With a core collective of players that often consists of Topeka music scene veterans such as Mark Banks, Lance Massey, Yosr Kaboudan, Glen Mandeville

and Michael Wagner, among others, Mason leads these free-flowing, eclectic and rhythmically-charged jams with an animated flair. To the uninitiated, the fluidity of these

Can you ‘Totally Recall?’ Graphic by Kelsey Wagers

Landry Fehrenbacher WASHBURN REVIEW

“Total Recall” is a loose remake of a 1990s action flick starring Arnold Schwarzenegger. I say loose remake because it doesn’t do a great job of sticking to the original plot, but it does have similar characters and focuses around the theme of creating and deleting memories. Even if you haven’t seen the original or read the synopsis of the movie, the movie quickly becomes overly predictable. The theme of “Recall” is about how people are able to have memories created, and is set up within the first ten minutes. Within these first ten minutes we are also shown and told how the main character has dreams of what appears to be him acting as a soldier or agent. With these two items alone, even the most novice of moviegoers will be able to draw a diagram for the remaining plot. One of the saving graces of the movie was its costume and set design. The world that “Total Recall” is set in is a futuristic world with fantastic gadgets, but it is also

a world consumed by poverty, overpopulation, and pollution. It paints a very realistic picture of a possible future instead of the sunny optimistic ones frequently shown in movies. This aspect of the movie is somewhat humbling. The scenery of the city is so elaborate and thought-out that it draws you in as though you were there. The costumes of the characters were also well put together, combining elements of future tech, sleek modern attire and a dash of late 1980s throwback. The action in the movie wasn’t overly impressive but it wasn‘t lacking either. The main character, Quaid, seamlessly performs many action packed brawls. What makes some of these brawls even more eye catching is that they are done without the camera breaking so we see him lay out several enemies in a single camera shot. A number

of the action sequences, car chases and explosions are done with impressive CGI, or computer generated imaging, effects without going too over the top. This way, the movie doesn’t become solely about “pretty fire.” As is expected in an action movie, the dialogue is corny and forced throughout the movie. It sounds like a bad 90’s action movie full of one line puns and bad jokes. The fact that the dialogue lacks substance is bad for the actors because the movie really does have a cast of great stars. None of them are really allowed to shine except for Colin Farrell, whose confused facial expressions sell his character many times over. There are a few other problems with the movie, one of which is the love story. There is an obvious romance that happened between Quaid and the woman but the story is never revealed nor does it ever develop. Yet, it is a constant exclamation point every time the two are together. This creates a question that is never answered and leaves the viewer angry at the end for not having

the closure they wanted. A few characters act out of place in the movie as well. Kate Beckinsale plays what is supposed to be a highly trained agent but is constantly losing her temper, acting too rashly and disobeying orders. Cohaagen is a very powerful and rich leader of his own private army, yet he goes marching into battle on the front lines with a battalion of machines. These small quirks help to lead the movie to where it is going but create some disbelief and tension within the audience. Overall, “Total Recall” is an action movie, no more, no less. There are lots of explosions and there’s a decent plot. Don’t go in expecting deep characters, drama, romance or even a comedy. It is a movie worth watching once, maybe twice if nothing else is on. It is not a movie worth paying more than the Redbox price. My verdict, wait until it’s on Netflix. Landry Fehrenbacher is a senior English major. Reach him at landry.fehrenbacher@ washburn.edu

J&J’s Gallery Bar, who has become open to the idea of booking bands and hosting more shows since the weekly jam nights began. Mason, a Topeka native who recently returned home after spending over a decade in California, started the jam nights out of a desire to become involved with NOTO’s First Friday events and bring a musical element to the table. With the help of Lancaster, who operates out of a studio above Yeldarb Gallery, and digital artist Troy Komahcheet, Mason and his troupe planted their feet on the small, makeshift stage in the back of J&J’s and things have been growing each week. Musicians and fans of all styles are encouraged to pick a Thursday night and head out to 917 N. Kansas Ave. and take part in the experience. Ryan Ogle is a sophomore mass media major. Reach him at ryan.ogle@washburn.edu

Show WU your colors Shelby Atadgi

WASHBURN REVIEW

Students may encounter a navy blue and white filled campus on Aug. 31 in light of College Colors Day. Started by a national interest in 2005, College Colors Day has spread to campuses all throughout the nation as it allows students to show their school pride all day long. Colleges often put on various events to accompany the recognition. At Washburn, students and faculty participate in a prize patrol. The prize patrol consists of a group of staff members who patrol the premise of campus giving out spontaneous prizes to those students they see sporting their school colors. Prizes include gift cards, iCard center coupons, Bod Bucks, Washburn watches, cups and more. For students who do not already have a Washburn color t-shirt, the Ichabod Shop will be selling College Color Day t-shirts at their sidewalk sale at the Scorch the Porch event on Thursday. To go along with this

event, the Ichabod Shop and Russell Athletics will also be having a 50 percent discount available on Russell Athletics items through Aug. 31. In order to get the discount, students should go into the Ichabod Shop, scan the Russell Athletics, College Colors Day sign with their smart phones and follow the directions on their device. Staff members who help with this event include Deena Anson, director of university relations, Adrianne Johnson, merchandise manager, Krysta Gaiser, marketing director and Janel Rutherford, assistant director of business services. To learn more about College Colors Day go to collegecolorsday.com.

Shelby Atadgi is a junior psychology major. Reach her at shelby.atadgi@washburn.edu

Stage set for transformations Elise Barnett

WASHBURN REVIEW

Graphic by Linnzi Fusco

jams might some sort of twisted symphony where guitars march in lockstep with the driving pulse of multiple percussionists and space-age keyboards dance around the room with hypnotizing effect. What the listener hears, however, is very organic and open-ended. As the weeks roll on, Mason would like to see it blossom into something even bigger. “I want to create something for the artist that needs an outlet to be as extreme as they want,” said Mason. “Anyone and anything is welcome to come out and take part in this.” While the thought of a belly dancer twirling around a heavy metal guitarist, who has found a temporary kindred spirit in a sitar player might seem off of anyone’s beaten path, it’s exactly the kind of artistic free-for-all Mason and Lancaster are hoping for. The venue hosting these events has fully endorsed their visions. “They’ve been very supportive,” said Mason of

While most of us spent the summer months pursuing activities as far from campus as possible, a small contingent of Washburn students were rehearsing, perfecting and performing in the Washburn University summer production of “Circle Mirror Transformation.” Now, as classes resume and life once again awakens on campus, the cast and crew prepare for the fall opening of their summer project. “A summer show is actually quite a bit different than a fall show,” said Samantha Heath, senior theatre major. “You don’t have classes. You’re going to the place especially for rehearsal.” For many of the cast it was their first time working on a summer production and the transition took a little getting used to. “It was a pretty new experience,” said Bryce Korf, a sophomore also studying Theater with an emphasis in Directing. “I would show up with my book bag and it would be weird because I didn’t have anywhere to go.” Though the timeline of a summer show is greatly accelerated, the students

are better able to handle the pressure with the absence of classes and homework. “Studying lines in the summer was much easier,” said Korf. Even with the lighter atmosphere of a summer audience, Korf, who plays the character of James, is optimistic about the show as a whole and what it will bring to Washburn in the fall. “The show itself is very new,” said Korf. “When I first read the script, I didn’t really know, but as the play came out and we started doing it, I really began to love the show.” “Circle Mirror Transformation,” written by Annie Baker, chronicles the experiences of five individuals as they participate in an introductory acting course. Though each character brings in his or her own baggage and history to the group, part of what makes the play unique is its sense of improvisation, its sense of reality. “I’ve never seen anything like it before,” explained Korf. “I don’t think many other people have seen something like it before either. It’s basically real life and it’s brought to stage. Given the show’s contemporary nature, audiences can expect a taste of what a real acting class at Washburn might actually be like.

“It’s new age-ish, but it’s not Avant-garde,” explained sophomore Theater major Abbey Geiss. “This show is about five people that are in a theater class, so you actually get to see kind of like a behind the scenes look at how actors prepare for things, how you learn to act.” Different from many of Washburn’s previous theatre productions, “Circle Mirror Transformation” is much more involved with the present action of the characters, only informed by each character’s past without a lot of exposition or back story told on stage. “You only get to know things about the characters through how they act with the other actors,” said Geiss. “There’s no prologue or epilogue really that tells you about them. It’s really cool. If you’re going to do theater here at Washburn and you see this play that is what you can expect.” “Circle Mirror Transformation” will reprise for the fall with performances on September 6 , 7, and 8 at 7:30 p.m. and a matinée performance Sept. 9 at 2 p.m. Tickets are free with a Washburn student ID. Elise Barnett is a senior English major. Reach her at elise. barnett@washburn.edu


A8

A & E • Wednesday, August 29, 2012

‘Fryed’ foods impress for less Tricia Peterson

WASHBURN REVIEW

The name “Fryer Shack” says exactly what the place is, a shack. This shack however, offers up some tasty dining. I decided that would be the best place to start reviewing this semester, especially because not many people know that it’s there. If you are looking for a cheap lunch that also tastes great, you should definitely check it out. With $5 specials for certain menu items available to Washburn students, it’s hard to beat that deal. This is great for anyone with a limited budget, not just students. The walls in this shack are made of metal and there is a single-unit air conditioner. Within the same walls is extremely limited seating. With a bar area for four or five people to sit, two booths and two small tables, it’s pretty crowded and definitely gives the feeling like one is standing in an actual shack. Fortunately, the day I chose to go was cool outside, making it bearable to sit out in the patio area.

Each day, the Fryer Shack posts on their Facebook page their available specials. Then what you, the student, need to do is tell the cashier which five-dollar deal you want. They don’t even charge sales tax so it totals to $5 even. This time, I chose the pulled chicken sandwich and curly fries, which also came with a fountain drink. I just don’t think you can beat that. When I received my meal it came in a little red basket, overfilled with curly fries. They also offer a variety of other sides, including sweet potato fries, onion rings and fried dill pickle bites. The sandwich was a decent size and comes with pickles and barbeque sauce, which was sweet with a touch of spiciness. The curly fries looked strange to me, but tasted pretty amazing. They are crispy and curly but aren’t like your typical curly fries that have some sort of seasoning on them. These were normal French fries but curly. I liked them better than McDonald’s fries. I was so impressed when I left the first time that I decided

Photos by Damaris Gonzalez , Washburn Review

All ‘Fryed’ Up: Tricia Peterson samples the food outside of a local eatery, The Fryer Shack. Peterson enjoys critiquing cuisine in the area. I needed to come back and try other menu items. During my second go-round I ordered the number two deal, which is a single cheeseburger with all the

fixings. I already knew I loved the curly fries, so I wanted to give something else a chance. I chose the fried dill pickles and wasn’t disappointed.

Most fried pickles are greasy and sometimes the batter is all wrong and falls right off the pickles. These, on the other hand, weren’t greasy at all and the batter held up well to the pickles. The portion was large and I could not eat all of them. The Shack’s hot dogs also caught my attention. They use all beef hot dogs and deep fry them, then top them with interesting ingredients. You can usually get the hot dog meal for less than $5, and it is served with a side and a drink. I will definitely be returning to try one of the hot dogs, or the deep-fried burger.

The discount is a huge draw for students, but I think it’s also great that the food is good. Go check it out and tell them you read about it in the Washburn Review. The Fryer Shack is located at 1221 SW Huntoon Street which is pretty close to campus, and not far out of your way.

Tricia Peterson is a junior mass media major. Reach her at patricia.peterson@washburn.edu

Meals and deals Painting the town in new exhibits

Scorch on the Porch event but Michelle Boltz REVIEW c us WASHBURN the discounted food item alters WASHBURN REVIEW m one a v willD each time. Thursday’s deal Vi chips, are two new exhibits n There o. . On Thursday, Aug. 30, the consist of an Ichadog, o t tare li just a cothat s coming to the Mulvane e u Memorial Student Union will cookie and a beverage. j g it ec , Art Museum on Sept. 8. One is in ndmusic n m kick off it’s first Scorch on the Asidescfrom and amsixth tu uthe i blathe.Porch Annual PaintAmerica, Do icalso Porch event of the semester. food, dScorch ip s on q s. is lalatraveling exhibition o i d l r u which a u u e Starting at 11 a.m. on offers sale by lac n cus representative .A ib u amheld ur oancsidewalk l a e of contemporary t t s n t a liq as pa ta the Union Lawn students willte the rIchabod t ho byesome id Shop. c t, hWithin t paintings of America’s a u r v e m u be greeted with music nfrom this sale students s ge -exhibit features its second stop in Topeka, and t,artists. re This ra et ac vol ulp top a n a g o e v er rn co an acoustic duo. , Deriving a variety oftitemsc sold c us ocan n find am u ne leoincluding mediums and will include the Grand Prize i it shop n m amany sl , , o nidifferent et arKan., from Kansas mCity, by the school s s u i e o m t s r u v a variation of Purchase Award painting u e . D iattire. c as illuminates a beelpresenting Bartholomewitwill au and lis or Washburn d sq arcsupplies by Clive Tyler from Taos, e l u v e m s regional painting styles. m n u m willr end ac selections r from a roson ethe nt sus, trScorch u rto es llself-written r i will be NM. Tyler’s painting is titled sq Porch i o e i l d o PaintAmerica e c t Other r iclassify songs. rt uet ee their re atec1:30epm. doThey en opportunities to uam cu music ltrand on exhibit Jan. 20, Riverside in the Rockies, to through l n bibin .P haof nto l u s q m Rock. many participate Scorch on the o p liq a, v i e i n uasmReggae s , er ur l u i a p s t l r andr is aorganized a include 2013, t faci- by depicting the headwaters of the u ellu llPorch a nathisibu their semester m t to songs, ib Mata myspace.com/ u , l r e i s executive obartholomewband. ua bit director qu llaRodi- Seel. Colorado River. en ec Vest dates ue en. diam Pha ring upcoming a nse ufirst es Sept. 19 andAliqPaintAmerica’s a r “We are delighted to have q r ea i s f u .24. Pr i Scorch o r. N ultstopMathis t thes. Porch p non will. MOct. . C t e c a the support of the Mulvane e i a a u . . d s doffering u . .V u at year r er Dollar o vitShelby lla uiMuseum utwasrpatetheuCoutts gpsyalso toAtadgi is a junior s ur nbe m u Art Museum,” said Seel. p s a ci a pu aatFive d o i t s n t Kan. ju cin El u que “We couldn’t ask for a better u errof Art Meal s Dorado, major. Reach lat a aher ui cus nchology a Chartwell’s. d from ti Deal a i q m r i e o t . n v r PaintAmerica will make n a o s o v e i a v a l iThe rmeal o eachn shelby.atadgi@washburn.edu a deal ag isroffered us ta rhat ive at i, v ul en tat ad nat a g

Shelby Atadgi

m o m if r u v t t n u ae i et s p que por et m e us m isi e d ve ulp ales ciis lus ele u , v m so cu h e b e n am ua is or e lac o n vel . it liq ur r rta ue s get, isl um ridi nib s d r g a A t n s , e e o o n e. ue at. rabi or p cong ius eet d. C etur ariu vit mm orp isci ta e g i u c r o r v u c t p v co am adi gu i a nseq t. Cu auc eros s va t lao ism nas tis l um con eu m t u t , u "He i ul llis o e n i e s e g m et c r , u io en t ita am cid iqua t eg s va elit met onte s sa m eli t od ng va i v d u tin can n end eri isci Al es ilisi que it a t m ctu ecsays, iq Son o . l n r a u c s r p a if n l s c a m lo r c uluplay Do nyou et a , fa nte gna urie ris us ele end adi ort o r me r d a h u p u e u b a h a t n l i i n st id ph nib pel r m par ma ec no m r p in c to lac Don an ipsu ti. ve cula oI'm in nnot o is a tireally s memory, t e c au isse is. ene to ten hi i. Pr n ur ena auc is d ue n l n s o n t I s q o i n git's e sure how But li s.it goes. nd iacu m. A t, ju se p n d e a e n v , n s sp s u s a cie nas bla et m od isu . Su culi ent acer endi sad and it's sweet and I s m r e s s u c m it is im pl sp ia bu ui va nati m e when I scip att isis ond rta . Su knew it complete, c m il o u a pe iqua a s ales fac nisi in p null l l l i e A d. s wore a younger man's d m u id ng o ss en fri tis s ndi etiu pur ris s clothes."uri at spe n pr nia, mau m Ma nc t. Su tis i laci mi u N gia bor rbi ipit o feu is lo . M susc l n fe pie ed s sa lit, e v tweet us the correct movie or Be the first to song @wureview#bitasquotes or on Facebook and win a free gift card. Rules and regulations apply.

Bita’s Quotes

supporting partner and the Museum’s facility will be an excellent venue to exhibit the show. We’re Graphic by Kelsey Wagers proud to bring this wonderful exhibit to Topeka.” The second new exhibit is a traveling show called Paint Washburn, which is organized in conjunction with Washburn’s 150th celebration. It will open with an artist reception on Sept. 7, from 5-8 p.m. Paint Washburn is on exhibit until Nov. 17. The works from Paint Washburn

will then be available for both silent and live auction from 7-11 p.m. in the Washburn Union. Admission is $50 per person, which includes music, desserts and appetizers. Proceeds from the auction will support a permanent, commissioned art piece in recognition of Washburn’s sesquicentennial. To make reservations for the auctions, please contact the Washburn Alumni Association for further information. Reservation deadline for this event is Nov. 2.

Michelle Boltz is a junior major. Reach her at michelle. boltz@washburn.edu


2012-13 Issue 2