Issuu on Google+

Volume 5774 Issue 6

January 2014/ 5774 Tevet & Shevat

CBI Announcements

3

Youth

Rabbi’s Message

4

Cantor’s Message

8-11 Life Cycle Events

16

Mitzvah Men’s Club

11 Mitzvah Grams

17

4

Women’s League

12 Donations

18

President’s Message

5

Buns Family Library

13 Advertisements

Executive Director’s Message

5

Adult Studies

13

Calendar

14

Engagement Committee

6-8

22-27


B’nai Israel Review

January 2014

CONTACTS

Our Mission Through our congregational life, our goal is to provide the opportunity for our members and friends to experience Jewish life to its fullest. We want to transmit the ideals of Conservative Judaism to our children and grandchildren, to enable them to be knowledgeable and responsible participants in Jewish life, sensitive and ethical human beings and reliable custodians of an enduring heritage. Through the synagogue, we want to find strength and inspiration in worship and study, in the sharing of lifecycle events, in acts of caring, in reaching out to the wide Jewish and non-Jewish communities, and in concern and support for Israel.

Rabbi Jacob Luski, D.D. 727.381.4900 x207 Rabbi.luski@cbistpete.org Cantor Jonathan Schultz 727.381.4900 x305 Cantor.schultz@cbistpete.org

Ongoing Activities at CBI

Participate in Aliyot The Ritual Committee of Congregation B’nai Israel encourages worshippers to participate in services by performing aliyot. If you like to receive an aliyah , please call the synagogue office at 727.381.4900, or kindly speak to one of the ushers when you enter the sanctuary, and every effort will be made to accommodate your request. Those wishing to receive an aliyah on Shabbat morning are asked to arrive at services no later than 9:30 am. We look forward to your participation.

Executive Director Susan Goldstein

Daily Services

Become a Minyanaire! Support our Daily Minyan in the Chapel: Sunday Morning: 9:00 Monday—Friday mornings: 7:45 Sunday—Thursday evenings: 6:30

Office Drop Box As a reminder, there is a Secured Drop Box available at the shul and at your service when you are in the building. It is located outside the Synagogue office across from the Judaica Shop. You can drop off messages, contributions, etc when coming to classes, events, meetings, or when dropping off children at school. It is an easy way to communicate within the congregational family. Drop-in sometime!

Junior Congregation All B’nai Israel children, ages 9 -13, grades 3 - 7 are invited to participate in a special, age-appropriate Shabbat Service in the Chapel.

execdir@cbistpete.org Bonnie Halprin Pauline Rivkind Preschool Director 727.381.4900 x211

Come just for the joy of davening together. You'll be glad you decided to join the growing number of CBI members and friends who do.

preschool@cbistpete.org Youth Director 727.381.7900 x 209

Continental Breakfast The Mitzvah Men’s Club provides a Continental Breakfast for all worshippers on Minyan Mornings in the alcove of the Social Hall. Please join the Minyanaires for the morning Shaharit service and relax and schmooze over breakfast—bagels, cream cheese, coffee cake and coffee/tea.

Shalom, Morry Bornstein, Ritual Chair

727.381.4900 x202

Youthdir@cbistpete.org Pauline Rivkind Talmud Torah Education Director Ilana Dayan 727.381.4900 x310 prttdir@cbistpete.org Community Engagement Liz Sembler 727.424.0513

Sponsorship Opportunities If you are interested in sponsoring an Oneg Shabbat on Friday evening or a L’Hayim following a Morning Minyan in honor or memory of a loved one or a special occasion, please contact the Synagogue office.

lizsembler@aol.com Torah Reader/Educator Deborah Marmon 727.381.4900 x205 dmarmon@cbistpete.org Office Manager Pam Askin 727.381.4900 x203

Online

officemgr@cbistpete.org

LIKE us on Facebook

Communications Coordinator

Sign up to support us on GoodSearch.com

Melissa Hertzfeld

You can also make payments and donations on our website! cbistpete.org

727.381.4900 receptionist@cbistpete.org Accounting

B’nai Israel Review Publishes 11 times a year by Congregation B’nai Israel 300 58th Street North St. Petersburg, Florida 33710 727.381.4900 FAX 727.344.1307 cbisptete.org All rights reserved. No part of this document can be copied without the permission of Congregation B’nai Israel

727.381.4900 x204 accounting@cbistpete.org President Laurie Reiskind lauriesr@tampabay.rr.com Women’s League President Alice Ettinger Men’s Club President Jesse Rodman USY President Hannah Terzi

2


CBI Announcements Women’s League needs

Save the Date

YOU

Please Join Us for Women’s League Shabbat and

To help bake your own recipes/cake mixes to be used for Kiddushim.

Got Shabbat? Dinner

If interested, please contact Ruth Ann Mizrahi at 727.347.6688 or ruthannmizrahi@gmail.com

January 31, 2014 6:00 pm service followed by dinner February 1, 2014 9:00 am service followed by Kiddush luncheon

Rabbi Office Hours

Directory

New: Rabbi Jacob Luski will be available for any congregant to stop by for any questions or conversations they may have Wednesday afternoons from 2:00—4:00, January 8, 15, 22.

Mailing List

Appointments not necessary.

Reserved Parking We regret the following omission in the Membership Directory: The name and picture of Ilana Dayan, PRTT Director, on the” Dedicated Staff” page.

Ricki Lewis Laurie Reiskind

Please keep in mind the 6 reserved parking spaces are reserved 24 hours a day for our dedicated synagogue leaders.

3

Not receiving weekly emails from CBI? Have you previously received emails, and may have accidently unsubscribed? Join our mailing list! Visit the homepage of our website at cbistpete.org. Halfway down the left side of the page, you will see “Join Our Mailing List.” Enter your email in the given blank. Then you will be asked to which lists what you would like to be added. Choose the lists, and it is that easy! Start receiving our emails today and stay updated with everything CBI!


From the Rabbi

January 2014

You may recall that for centuries, people believed Aristotle was right when he said that the heavier an object, the faster it would fall to earth. The philosopher was regarded as one of the greatest thinkers of all time, and so it follows that he MUST be right! Nearly 2,000 years after Aristotle’s death someone actually tested the theory. In 1589 Galileo Galilei summoned learned professors to the base of the “Leaning Tower of Pisa.” He pushed two weights from the top of the tower, one light and one heavy. They landed at the same instant. But the power of belief was so strong, that the professors denied their eyesight! They continued to teach that Aristotle was correct. Galileo and others also tried to convince the educators of his day that the earth revolves around the sun. But they would not believe anything so radical and eventually forced him to recant his support of the Copernican theory. He lived the last years of his life under house arrest. Erwin Soukup compiled a list he calls “The Seven Steps to Stagnation.” You have heard these statements before. Most of us have said them! They are:       

We’ve never done it that way before. We’re not ready for that. We are doing all right without trying that. We tried it once before. We don’t have money for that. That’s not our job. Something like that can’t work.

There is tremendous power in belief. Our beliefs shape our future; what we believe to be true, quite literally becomes true for us! There is a bold and exciting tomorrow awaiting anyone with the courage to believe something new CAN HAPPEN – things CAN BE DIFFERENT! Your life can be stagnant or things can change. Tomorrow can look very different than today, for those who believe. Will you stagnate or will you believe that you can be different in 2014? Joanne joins me in wishing you and yours a happy and innovative New Year. Shalom,

From the Cantor The Jewish calendar constantly guides us to see wonder and majesty in the world. This month, two seemingly unrelated events are the observance of Tu Bishvat, and our reading in the Torah about the Exodus from Egypt. These events always come together, as they do this year in mid-January. Tu Bishvat was a rabbinical idea to recognize a New Year for trees. It was a very early appreciation of ecological sensitivity, noting that we cannot take for granted the role of trees in the larger balance of our ecosystem. It focuses our attention on the Land of Israel, noting that it is wondrous not only as the ancient and modern homeland of the Jewish people, but a unique ecosystem, valued by Jews and non-Jews alike. From the rare black iris seen just for a few days in the Negev to ancient knurled olive trees, we see this as a land that is truly blessed for its beauty and gifts to all species of life. We know how precious each drop of water is in the land of Israel. When we say mashiv ha-ruach in our daily prayers, we are reminded to take no drop of water (or flake of snow) for granted as a dimension of how God sustains our lives. The Exodus was a prototypical miracle. The Jewish people presumably could have made their way out of Egypt as escaping ethnic refugees. But the point of the story is that we became free through God’s wondrous intervention. The crossing of the Sea was an occasion for Moses’ song and Miriam’s dance. Our Torah makes it clear that this was an event of great meaning for all generations. The Exodus is an event in which the Jewish people bond to one another through God’s power manifest in the crossing of the Sea. Tu Bishvat and the Exodus remind us that we are children of the Miraculous. God is with us in so many ways; in Israel, the land is on the threshold of spring. May we celebrate Tu Bishvat and relive the Exodus, affirming our relationship to God as children of God’s miracles, filled with thanksgiving and wonder. B’shalom,

4


From the President

January 2014

This is not an easy article to write. It is not my intention to paint a gloomy picture of CBI’s future, but rather this is my opportunity to respond to a number of congregants who have recently questioned me or commented to me about the many changes taking place at CBI. Changes, it seems, many of you do not like. I recognize that change makes people uncomfortable; it also provides opportunity. You, my fellow congregants, have charged me with the responsibility of leading the board to ensure CBI’s future. To do that, the volunteer leadership has made some very difficult decisions. This board is following the groundwork begun by our predecessors. As a corporation with legal responsibilities to its employees and members, certain details regarding job duties and compensation as well as individual member financial information is confidential. For this reason, I may be unable to answer some questions posed to me with specific answers. What is public information however, is, CBI is a Kehilla, a sacred community of people who come together to share Jewish life cycle events and support each other through them. We learn and pray together, laugh and cry together. Everyone regardless of financial situation is welcome and encouraged to be a member of our community. As utility, salary and health care costs continue to rise, our revenue is decreasing due to fewer members, and an even smaller percentage who can afford to pay full dues. With fewer members, we have fewer lifecycle events housed at CBI. Related to the economy, donations from members, revenue we count on to pay above costs is also decreasing. While we strive to provide the diverse opportunities for synagogue participation, we must explore and implement new ways to deliver these services in a less expensive and less labor intensive manner without sacrificing the unique personality of CBI.

CBI had been most fortunate throughout its history to have some very wonderful employees who have worked with us for many years. In recent years, some of those people have retired and taken with them years of historical knowledge and love of CBI and its members. We at CBI have been sad to see them leave, honored them, and taken steps to keep CBI moving forward with new staff. As we continue to move forward, I ask you to support the work of the board, embrace the changes and welcome our new staff and our new members.

From the Executive Director The journey continues………………. What is the only thing that is constant in our lives? CHANGE! It’ is easier for some of us than for others, of course, but none of us gets a choice; change happens. As we ponder change at CBI as part of the strategic planning process, we’re going to be consulting with, and listening to, you. We want to be sure that we share a vision. We’ll be weighing what we hear you say against our capacity in terms of finance, talents, and abilities. In order to do that, we’ll be doing two things that involve YOU. In addition to asking what you consider the most important “wants and needs” of our kehilla, we want to know what talents and strengths you can contribute. We want to hold “holy conversations” with you as, together, we look at and assess our strengths and weaknesses (internal factors) and opportunities and threats (external factors). Together, step by step, we will work to ensure CBI’s future as we honor its past. Please respond positively when Alice Ettinger, our 1st Vice President, or another member of the Strategic Planning Committee asks you to participate in the process. Best wishes for a happy 2014 that’s filled with joy and positive change! B’Shalom,

5


From the Engagement Committee

January 2014

What is Side by Side at CBI? This year the CBI Engagement Committee is focused on helping our membership develop new relationships and strengthen existing ones– with each other, with our clergy, with our heritage, and with God. We have titled this initiative SidebySide at CBI – joining together, building community. You can see our logo below. Our goal is to enhance personal connections at CBI so that when you participate in services, programs, meals, and fellowship, your experience is enriched even more. How can you help this along? First, find your way in – attend a service, a class, a social event. We are blessed at CBI with so many Jewish opportunities! Come to minyan and be counted as part of our daily prayer community. Join Mitzvah Men’s Club or Women’s League. Volunteer in the office. Watch a Sunday afternoon movie. Learn Talmud. Sing your heart out at Shabbat services. Then, for each of the things you attend, bring a friend, a family member, a colleague, a neighbor. Or reach out to someone who’s there whom you don’t know and introduce yourself. When you do so, you are joining together, building community, SidebySide at CBI. At one of our Friday evening Shabbat services recently, we recited the closing prayer “May the Door of This Synagogue.” It encapsulates beautifully SidebySide at CBI. The opening and closing lines of this prayer are: May the door of this synagogue be wide enough to receive all who hunger for love, all who are lonely for fellowship... May this synagogue be, for all who enter, the doorway to a richer and more meaningful life.

side by side

So please, come inside our CBI doors. Come Be Included…SidebySide at CBI

Gift Shop

at

CBI

joining together

Torah Fund TORAH FUND DINNER

CBI Women’s League Judaica Shop Hours Mondays 11:00 am—2:00 pm 3:00 pm—5:00 pm Tuesdays 3:00 pm—5:00 pm Thursdays 1:00 pm—3:00 pm Shop the Judaic Way!

Honoring: Livia Wein CBI’S 2014 WOMEN’S LEAGUE JACKIE JACOBS WOMAN OF ACHIEVEMENT Wednesday, February 19, 2014 at 6:00 pm Guest Speaker: Rabbi Gail Swedrow, Assistant Hillel Director and Campus Rabbbi, University of Florida RSVP to Anita Helfand at 727.347.2300 or anita1121@msn.com by Wednesday, February 12. Your check made payable to CBI Women’s League is your reservation, covert $20, plus suggested donation to Torah Fund. GIFT OPPORTUNITIES

Contacts

Chai~$18 Koach~$28 Benefactor~$180 Guardian~$300 Associate Patron~$600 Patron~$1200

Ellen Bernstein 727.345.0237 Anita Helfand 727.347.2300

Visit the Judaica Shop for: Hanukkah items, ceremonial objects, Kiddush cups, candlesticks, Shabbat Candles, shofars, honey dishes, tefillin, tallitot, Challah plates, boards, knives, and more!

We special order!

TORAH FUND 5774 (2013~2014) Mishpachah: Family In choosing Mishpachah as the theme for the 5774 TorahFund pin, we acknowledge both the sanctity that comes with being one big family and the complexity of our families and relationships. Our families are diverse and this pin, reflecting that diversity, is something to be worn proudly by all women. Your Torah Fund donations support the Jewish Theological Seminary, Ziegler School of Rabbinic Studies, and Schechter Institute of Jewish Studies, and help shape the future of Judaism. We proclaim that we, as women in all walks of life, proudly shape the future of our threethousand year old history. 6


A-Team: CBI’s Advocacy for Israel Committee

January 2014

AIPAC Policy Conference 2014 : March 2-4 You’re invited to support AIPAC throughout the year and especially encouraged to join CBI’s representation at the AIPAC Policy Conference ’14 in Washington, DC. AIPAC is a grassroots movement of activists committed to ensuring Israel’s security and protecting American interests in the Middle East and around the world. AIPAC is supported financially only by private donations. The organization receives no financial assistance from Israel, from any national organization, or any foreign group. AIPAC is not a political action committee - it does not rate, endorse, or contribute to candidates. How can such an organization - with only a few hundred professionals - become one of the most effective lobbying organizations in Washington, DC? It’s because of us - 100,000 active members. During the upcoming Conference, over 13,000 attendees will hear from national and international leaders about Israel and its relationship with the rest of the world. While attending the Policy Conference you will gain greater insight into the challenges facing Israel. For example, you’ll hear about: – detailed analyses of Syria, Iran, Turkey, Egypt, and other nations – new technologies, like the Iron Dome and David’s Sling, that protect Israel’s citizens and soldiers – Israel’s humanitarian efforts that extend throughout the world – current breakthroughs in medical technology that are saving lives today – actions taken by the IDF to minimize civilian casualties when defending the people of Israel What makes AIPAC particularly effective? On the last day of the Conference, attendees head to Capital Hill to lobby our Representatives and Senators to support a strong US-Israel relationship. Imagine the impact on elected officials when 13,000 constituents show up on their doorsteps! What’s even more impressive is that these attendees decided that the US-Israel relationship is so important to them that they are willing to take time from their jobs or other activities, and to pay their own expenses to deliver their message. There is no amount of professional lobbying that can compete with this. Eric Pastman eric_pastman@yahoo.com

Many tangible means exist to show your support for Israel. One of the simplest ways is to buy products from Israel. The easy part is that so many items can be purchased locally, eg, CBI Women’s League Judaica Shop, Jo-El’s Kosher Deli & Marketplace, grocery stores, wine merchants, jewelry stores, department stores, etc. Just a few ideas include: ritual items (tallitot, kippot, tefilin, mezuzot, candles, …) wearing apparel, eg, shoes and bathing suits cosmetics, especially from the Dead Sea area books, software, and music CDs art and jewelry, especially silver stamps, and coins & medals foods (oranges, canned items, cookies, chocolates, teas, herbs, …) wines flowers Nationally, Buy Israel Goods (BIG) is a consumer guide for the retail purchase of Israeli products sponsored by the America-Israel Chamber of Commerce (AICC) and StandWithUs (SWU). These two groups formed a relationship, along with other like-minded organizations, to join in the effort to support Israel when you Buy Israeli Goods. They have combined their extensive years of experience, resources, and relationships in the pro-Israel community to further promote Israeli goods and services. As a starting point, you can use the web site to identify Israeli products likely to be available in retail store in a market area, and the stores that may carry them. On the web site, you can also find online retailers who carry Israeli products. To learn more about AICC, go to “buyisraelgoods.org,” and to learn more about SWU, go to “standwithus.com”.         

The BIG web site covers markets that include over 75% of the Jewish population of the United States. Watch this site for expansion of listings and of geographic coverage. Products from Israel meet highest quality standards, and many have unique features or designs not available in competing products. Many of these products can easily be incorporated into your regular shopping needs, while others are great for gifts or other occasional use. Collectively, the frequent purchase of Israeli products will have a broad and significant impact on the Israeli economy and its citizens, and perhaps even on its ability to survive. Byron Kolitz 7


January 2014

Perhaps it’s because someone presented a Shabbat morning sermonette that touched your heart. Or maybe a volunteer worked hard to make a CBI Shabbat dinner extra special. Or a young child sang her heart out in the PRRT musical. Sometimes you just want to reach out to a fellow congregant and say, “Good job! You made my CBI experience even more special!” In Hebrew, when someone completes a service ritual on behalf of the congregation, we say “Yasher Koach!” This is our way of saying, “Good job!” Literally “straight strength,” yasher koach is a blessing for increased strength so that one can continue to perform these rituals well. The CBI Engagement Committee created a special postcard that you can fill out and send to fellow congregants when you want to say to them, “Yasher Koach!” We’ve printed both sides below so you can see what it looks like. We keep the cards on the bookshelf next to the entrance to the sanctuary. Next time you are at CBI, please pick up a few so you have them handy when you want to extend your gratitude to another CBIer for a job well done. The CBI Engagement Committee

8


Pauline Rivkind Preschool

January 2014

This month the preschool, and all preschool aged families, are welcome at the Annual PJ Library Havdala Party on Saturday, January 11, beginning at 6:30 pm. This year we have a special treat in store. Our teenagers from USY will be doing a story telling! All will enjoy cookies and milk before heading home to bed! Pauline Rivkind Preschool will have our Annual Father’s Football Friday on January 31. Dads, uncles, grandpas are all welcome for some ball playing, followed by our Shabbat Celebration. Save the Date: Sunday, February 9, 4:30pm - 6:00pm The Pauline Rivkind Preschool Annual Pasta Dinner/Silent Auction Everyone is welcome to enjoy some homemade pasta, garlic toast, salad, Italian ice and to bid on beautiful artwork from our preschoolers!

Pauline Rivkind Talmud Torah Shalom! Thank you to all our PRTT families, Patty and Leonard Adelson, Patzi Gil, Pam Himmel, Debbie Marmon, Sandi and Jesse Rodman, Hazzan Jonathan Schultz, and Louis Zerin for helping with the amazing “The Village of Chelm” program. I am so very proud of our students. They did a wonderful job and we are all thrilled with the way they performed. An extra “thank you” to our PRTT families for helping our students get prepared and for working on their costumes. It was a great experience for the children. I hope this experience will encourage them to learn more Hebrew, History, and more about our Jewish Culture, so that they can find greater depth and joy in their lessons and prayers. Our Winter Break begins on December 17. Classes resume Tuesday, January 7, 2014. Just a week later we will hold our annual Tu B’Shvat Seder. Again, I congratulate the children, families, and volunteers to bring so much joy with “The Village of Chelm” program. Kindest regards, Ilana Dayan Education Director 9


Youth Department

December 2013 2014 January

Recap: Last month 13 of our USYers attended the “Snow Ball,” a subregional, semi formal dance. Our chapter was the most represented among the five chapters. Be sure to check out the photos! The following weekend we went to Airheads, which turned into a Girls Only Bounce Party! Kadima had a Cookie Decorating Contest, where everyone was a winner! The cookies were donated to Fire Station #9 on Fifth Avenue and 66th Street. January is an exciting month for USY and Kadima. We have a very busy schedule ahead. Be sure to mark your calendars, and RSVP to Bonnie at youthdir@cbistpete.org

Save the Date: Yom Disney is coming up on Sunday, February 16. Only paid up members in USY and Kadima may attend. Please get your forms and fees into Bonnie if you have not yet done so! The deadline for CBI Summer Program scholarships is February 12, 2014. Don’t be late ~ participate!

College Connection

KADIMA Tuesday, January 7, 6:00 pm. Soup and Boreakas Dinner for all Kadimaniks and Families The cost is $6 per adult and $4 per child. This will be a delicious way to hang out!

Do you have a college student in the family?

Friday, January 10, 4:45 pm Kadima will meet at Toby Weinman for Shabbat dinner, then come back to CBI to lead in Shabbat services.

CBI wants to stay connected. We need your help.

Sunday, January 19, 12:00 - 2:00 pm KADIMA COLOR WARS A light lunch will be included

Please email the following information to Pam LeCompte at plecompte@wittner.com

USY Saturday, January 11, 6:30 pm PJ Party USY has invited the youth group at TBE to a very special joint program and sleep over on Saturday, January 11. The program is a PJ Party, starting with the USYers doing a read aloud for our preschool aged children during the PJ Library program, beginning at 6:30 pm. Wednesday, January 15, 5:30 pm USYers will be meeting for our Monthly Dinner Hang Out at Paisano’s. Contact Ari Zimmer if you want to attend.

Student name

Current college mailing address

Cell phone number

College attending, year in school, and graduation date

Parent name and email address

We will once again send mailing and “care packages” to our college students. To insure YOUR child receives his/ her mail and package we must have a current address and email address.

Wednesday, January 29, 6:00 pm Hebrew High Dine and Dash

10


Photo Caption Scholarships

January 2014

Summer Program Scholarships Congregation B’nai Israel offers its own scholarships for all USY and Ramah summer programs. The deadline for this application is February 12. For a complete list of all 12 programs and their application visit the CBI website at: http://www.cbistpete.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/ HERE.pdf  New Scholarship offered by USY called One Happy Camper grant. This $1000. scholarship is offered by the Foundation of Jewish Camps and can be used for USY on Wheels or a Jewish summer camp. Check out the website: https://www.onehappycamper.org/cipms/home.aspx  Covenant Fund applications are now available through January, 17 

Check out the website: Www.jewishpinellas.org 

Mercaz Women’s League Israel Essay Contest – This year’s theme is “Women in Zionism: Past & Present” celebrating the upcoming 30th anniversary of women in the Conservative rabbinate. Deadline is Friday, March 7 Check out the website: www.mercazusa.org For more information about all scholarships contact Bonnie Halprin at Youthdir@cbistpete.org or 727.381.4900 x209

Mitzvah Men’s Club This past summer the CBI Mitzvah Men’s Club (MMC) was singled out as a Quality Club Award Winner at the FJMC’s (Federation of Jewish Men’s Clubs) convention in Boston. A hearty “Yasher Koach” to each one of the hardworking and fun loving guys who earned this prestigious award! 2014 will be another banner year for MMC, starting with the annual WORLDWIDEWRAP on Superbowl Sunday, February 2. This year’s featured speaker will be the Tampa Bay Rays broadcaster NEIL SOLONDZ. FJMC has a great website called Mentschen that you can find at mentschen.org. It’s an online forum featuring articles and comments by men’s club members on any number of topics that are right on. You can go to the site at any time (no login required) and read what’s on the minds of men from all over the country. Feel free to add your own comments or even to submit an article to get the flow going on what’s important to you. We are very fortunate to have a national support organization like FJMC. MMC pays only $11 per year for each member for all the services, ideas, support and ruach FJMC provides. That’s quite a bargain. Feel free to log on to the main FJMC website at www.fjmc.org and see for yourself. Jesse Rodman 11


Women’s League

January 2014

A Lesson on Social Media From Women’s League Defining Social Media Facebook: Users create profiles with photos, personal interests, and other information. Users communicate through private or public messages and a chat feature. They can also create and join interest groups and “like” pages, some of which are maintained by organizations as a means of advertising. Sisterhoods should have their own Facebook pages. CBI has its own Facebook Page under “Congregation B’nai Israel of Saint Petersburg.” Twitter: Social networking and microblogging that enables users to send and read text -based posts of up to 140 characters, known as "tweets." Blogs: A type of website or part of a website regularly updated with new content. Blogs are usually maintained by an individual with commentaries, descriptions of events, or other material such as graphics or videos. Entries are usually displayed in reversechronological order. Pinterest: Pinboard-style photo-sharing where users create and manage theme-based image collections such as events, interests and hobbies. Users can browse other pinboards, “re-pin” images to their own pinboards, or “like” photos.

Set up an email account at Gmail.com 1. 2. 3. 4. 5.

Go to www.gmail.com

6. 7.

Write everything down and put it in a safe place.

Click the red button that says Create An Account in the upper right Make your name. For example: First name: Alice Last name: Ettinger Make your email simple: Aliceettinger@gmail.com Make your password easy for you to remember, but with letters and numbers. For example: (Shaggy112) (My first dog and my birthday month and day.) Once you have established an email account, you can sign up to receive emails from Women’s League and CBI by giving CBI your email address.

Facebook Setting up an account

1. 2. 3. 4.

Go to www.facebook.com Click sign up Use your newly created gmail account for Facebook Use the same password as on gmail Use the same name: For example: First name: Alice, Last name: Ettinger

Completing your Facebook (FB) profile

1. 2. 3.

Upload your profile picture (whatever you want). Put other information that you would like to share. Locate friends either by their email or name and request their friendship. Once you have a few friends, your newsfeed will be up and running and FB will stop defaulting you to the Welcome page.

Creating Facebook albums and posting pictures from events

1. 2. 3.

Create albums of all of your events by going to your wall and onto your status bar and clicking add photo You will then be prompted to upload photo/video or create an album. Use the simple uploader (words are highlighted in blue) to upload your images. Once they are uploaded, caption them and tag people who are your friends. This will help to generate interest and get you into the newsfeeds of your friends.

Liking Facebook pages

1.

Look for pages with content that you can share with your friends. Once on the page, click the like button. You will now see their posts in your newsfeed. Don’t forget to like CBI’s page! Share content they post that your friends will find interesting and valuable by clicking on share, writing your communications.

*Please let us know if you are interested in learning more about social media, and we can continue our lessons. 12


Buns Family Library

January 2014

THE RIGHTEOUS MEN By Sam Bourne If you enjoyed The Di Vinci Code, then you���ll love The Righteous Men. The book was written by Sam Bourne, a pseudonym for Jonathan Friedland, an English Journalist who writes columns for The Jewish Chronicle, a British publication, The London Evening Standard and The Guardian, in addition to his other writings. He also presents BBC Radio 4’s contemporary history series, The Long View.

CBI– HADASSAH BOOK DISCUSSION CLUB MEETINGS Next Meeting: January 15, 2014, at 10:00 am in the Buns Family Library The Next book that will be discussed is

The English Assassin, by Daniel Silva.

The Righteous Men is a mixture of murder, whodunit, intrigue and the Chassidic world. Written in 2006, we follow brand new rookie NY Times journalist Will Monroe as he is sent to investigate a murder in Montana of a well known Militia Man. During the investigation he finds that the militia man’s death shares some of the same attributes as a murdered New York City pimp two days ago and a murdered businessman in Thailand yesterday. When he returns home he can’t find his wife until he gets a text that she’s been kidnapped. Frantically searching for her, he begins receiving cryptic and threatening text messages and e-mails. He enlists the help of two friends, one an ex-girlfriend and the other a computer nerd. The clues lead them to, of all places, Crown Heights, New York, the heart of the Chassidic community. He learns that the Chassidim have kidnapped his wife for safe keeping but refuse to let him see her. The story swiftly turns to reveal the Kabbala theory that there are believed to be thirty six Righteous Men alive in each generation who sustain the world and that if they should die the world will end. Throughout the book, these Righteous Men are being murdered around the globe. The Chassidim are trying to desperately solve this mystery through their world wide organization. All I can say is that The Righteous Men is a real page turner and one you’ll have a hard time putting down. Lou Bader

Adult Studies Lunch with the Rabbi

Torah For Seniors, led by Rabbi Jacob Luski

Deli Lunch and Mishna Study with Rabbi Luski meets monthly on Wednesdays at noon in the CBI Atrium. Enjoy lunch, schmooze and learn, “what, when, where, and why,” of the Mishnah in an informal atmosphere.

Tuesday, January 21, 11:00 am (Philip Benjamin Tower)

Law Shabbat

Wednesday, January 15, noon

Saturday, January 25, 2014, 9:00 am

RSVP to the CBI Office at 727.381.4900

Genesis and the Big Bang Theory

by Tuesday, noon

Talmud Made Easy

Participate in this exciting, interactive-style learning session with Professor Steven Cantor of Plymouth state University, New Hampshire. Discuss the physics of the Big Bang Theory and the biblical description of the creation of the universe as presents in Genesis. Discover the harmony between modern science and the Book of Genesis.

Stephen Wein continues his class studying Talmudic text along with its selected commentaries. The classes are in English, and Steve explains it all. All materials are provided. The class involves textual analysis and lively discussion and is open to all. No previous knowledge necessary. Wednesdays, January 15 and 29, 7:00 pm (Buns Family Library)

Tuesday, February 4, 7:30pm *For more information on these events, check the Adult Studies Program Book, or call the CBI office at 727.381.4900 13


January 2014

January 2014 Shevat/Adar 5774 Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wedn 1

9:00 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan

5

6

7

8

12

13

14

15

19

20

21

22

26

27

28

29

9:00 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan

9:00 Morning Minyan 9:00 PRTT, All Classes 5:00 Jewish Federation’s Women of Distinction 6:30 Evening Minyan

9:00 Morning Minyan 9:00 PRTT, All Classes 12:00 Kadima Color Wars 6:30 Evening Minyan

9:00 Morning Minyan 9:00 PRTT, All Classes 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 4:45 PRTT, Alef– Hef Classes 6:30 Evening Minyan 6:30 PRTT Soup & Bourikas

7:45 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 12:00 Deadline to RSVP to January’s Lunch with the Rabbi 4:45 PRTT, Alef– Hef Classes 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 11:00 Torah 4 Seniors at Philip Benjamin Tower 4:45 PRTT, Alef– Hef Classes 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 4:45 PRTT, Alef– Hef Classes 6:30 Evening Minyan

14

7:45 Morning Minyan 5:00 Intro to Judaism 5:00 Women’s League 5:30 Torah Class for H 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 12:00 Lunch with the R 5:00 Intro to Judaism 5:30 Torah Class for H 5:30 USY Dinner at Pie 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 5:00 Intro to Judaism 5:30 Torah Class for H 6:30 Evening Minyan

7:45 Morning Minyan 6:00 USY Dine and Da 6:30 Evening Minyan 7:00 Hebrew High 7:00 BACA Concert


January 2014

Shabbat Schedule 

Friday, January 3 Kabbalat Shabbat Candlelighting 5:30 pm Saturday, January 4 Morning Service, 9:00 Sedra Bo, Minha, Maariv, Havdala, 5:30pm

Friday, January 10 Kadima Shabbat, 8:00pm, Candlelighting 5:35 pm Saturday, January 11 Morning Service, Shabbat Shira, January Simha Shabbat, and Kiddush 9:00am, Sedra Beshalah, Minha, Maariv, Havdala, 5:35 pm

Friday, January 17 Kabbalat Shabbat, Bar Mitzvah of Mattan Melamed, 5:30 pm, Candlelighting 5:41pm Saturday, December 21 Morning Service, Bar Mitzvah of Mattan Melamed, and Kiddush, 9:00, Sedra Shemot, Minha, Maariv, Havdala 5:40 pm

Friday, January 24 Carlebach Kabbalat Shabbat 5:30 pm Candlelighting 5:46 pm Saturday, January 25 Morning Service, 9:00, Sedra Mishpatim, Minha, Maariv, Havdala 5:45 pm

Friday, January 31 Women’s League Shabbat, followed by Got Shabbat? Dinner 6:00 pm, Candlelighting 5:52 pm

nesday

e Board Meeting Hebrew Readers

Rabbi

Hebrew Readers ezano’s

Thursday 2 Rosh Hodesh Shevat 7:45 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan 6:45 Choir Rehearsal

9

7:45 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan 6:45 Choir Rehearsal

16 Tu B’Shevat 7:45 Morning Minyan 6:30Evening Minyan 6:45 Choir Rehearsal

23

7:45 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan

Hebrew Readers

ash

30

7:45 Morning Minyan 6:30 Evening Minyan

Friday 3

7:45 Morning Minyan 5:30 Candlelighting 5:30 Kabbalat Shabbat

10

7:45 Morning Minyan 4:45 Kadima Dinner at Toby Weinman 5:35 Candlelighting 8:00 Kadima Shabbat

17

7:45 Morning Minyan 5:30 Kabbalat Shabbat, Bar Mitzvah of Mattan Melamed 5:41 Candlelighting

24

7:45 Morning Minyan 5:30 Carlebach Kabbalat Shabbat 5:46 Candlelighting

31 Rosh Hodesh Adar 1

7:45 Morning Minyan 9:00 PRPS Father’s Football Friday 5:52 Candlelighting 6:00 Women’s League Shabbat followed by Got Shabbat Dinner

15

Saturday 4 Sedra Bo 9:00 Shabbat Morning Services, Kiddush 5:30 Minha, Maariv, and Havdala

11 Sedra Beshalah 9:00 Shabbat Morning Services, Shabbat Shira, January Simha Shabbat, and Kiddush 10:00 Junior Congregation 5:35 Minha, Maariv, and Havdala 6:30 PJ Library Preschool Story Telling with USY 7:30 CBI –Ish Bowling at Ten Pins

18 Sedra Yitro 9:00 Shabbat Services, Bar Mitzvah of Mattan Melamed, Kiddush 5:40 Minha, Maariv, and1 Havdala

25 Sedra Mishpatim 9:00 Shabbat Morning Services, Law Shabbat, and Kiddush 10:00 Junior Congregation 5:45 Minha, Maariv, and Havdala


Life Cycle Events

December January 2013 2014

Mazal Tov ACHIEVEMENTS: 

Jennifer Sternberg on being CBI Women’s League Honoree for the Jewish Federation’s Women of Distinction Award

Livia Wein on being CBI’s Honoree for the Jewish Federation’s Women of Distinction Award

BAR & BAT MITZVAH: 

Marilyn and Dr. Morris LeVine, Bruce and Mary Ann Marger, and Susan and Dr. Steven LeVine on the Bat Mitzvah of their granddaughter and daughter, Danielle Faith LeVine

Rabbi Ronald Bernstein-Goff and Tikva Melamed-Goff, Drs. Paul and Lynda Fleisher, and Elan and Nicole Melamed on the Bar Mitzvah of their grandson and son, Mattan Melamed

BIRTHS: 

Dotty Goldblatt, May Levine, Chuchie Weissman, Ron and Jayne Weissman, Bruce Levine and Sheri Weiner, Chesna Levine, Lucas and Sherrie Levine on the birth of their great-grandson, grandson, and son, Jack Hudson Levine

Dr. Robert and Jennifer Sternberg on the birth of their granddaughter Noa Alexandra Sternberg

Mattan Melamed Mattan is a seventh grade student at Morgan Fitzgerald Middle School. He runs track, plays volleyball, and is a member of the Rebel Wrestling Club. He also enjoys art, music, and singing. He is a member of CBI’s KADIMA. His special Bar Mitzvah Project was in honor of his brother, Gilad. To raise awareness and funds for the American Heart Association, Mattan organized a team to participate in the 2013 Tampa Bay Heart walk this past November.

Dr. Stephen Kobernick Husband of Debbie, Father of Alyssa and Max

Edward Leibson

Aside from local family and friends, Mattan will have family coming from California, Maryland, North Carolina, South Florida, Tallahassee, Texas, West Virginia to share this Bar Mitzvah celebration.

Brother of Marvin Leibson

Dr. Paul Rosenberg Brother of Dr. Stanley Rosenberg

He will be called to the Torah Saturday, January 18, 2014. Please join us in wishing him Yasher Koach.

May He who comforts Israel, Grant you solace in your bereavement. 16


Join us in wishing Mazal Tov! to members celebrating their birthdays, anniversaries and B’nai Mitzvah. Your good wishes can be part of their memories, while at the same time, supporting B’nai Israel’s commitment to help our schools, youth groups and Synagogue through your donations to our Mitzvah Fund.

“MAZAL TOV!" TO OUR

“YOM HULEDET SAMEAH!” TO OUR

JANUARY ANNIVERSARY

JANUARY BIRTHDAY CELEBRANTS

CELEBRANTS □ 1 Eileen & Michael Richman □ 18 Dr. Starr Silver & Byron Kolitz □ 21 Amy & Andrew Giskin □ 27 Livia & Steve Wein □ 31 Sharon & Alan Koenig

CELEBRATE YOUR BIRTHDAY AND

□ 1 Bonnie Walker

□11 Erika Kauffman

□24 Dr. Charlene Wygodski

□ 2 Dr. David LeVine

□11 Gerald Werner

□24 Kathleen Buns

□ 3 Barbara Colen

□12 Leonard Bader

□24 Martha Terry

□ 3 Dr. Michael Slomka

□12 Alice Ettinger

□26 Dr. Greg Engelman

□ 3 Jeffrey Strait

□14 Shirley Grossman

□27 Dara Rosen-Gould

□ 4 Dr. Lawrence Goldberg

□14 Nancy Rosenberg

□27 Leo Weinshel

□ 4 Dr. Mark Gordon

□14 Shevy Silverberg

□28 Dr. Arthur Marlin

□ 4 Phyllis Hirschfield

□16 Selma Rosenberg

□29 Sami Dayan

□ 4 Jacqueline Wertel

□18 Thomas Epstein

□30 Audrey Dantowitz

□ 5 Morris LeCompte

□18 Michael Seltzer

□30 Karen Kauffman

□ 7 Dr. Fred Feld

□19 Larry Feinman

□30 Ellen Podgor

□ 7 Barbara Noonberg

□19 Stephanie Stein

□31 Jack Eidelman

□ 9 Dr. Nancy Landfish

□20 Dr. Loren Isakson

□ 9 Roberta DeBlasio

□22 Dr. David Piper

□ 10 Helen Wertel

□23 Cantor Jonathan Schultz

ANNIVERSARY AT SIMHA SHABBAT SATURDAY,

In Honor of: ___________________________ Check the names of everyone to whom you want to send a Mitzvah Gram. Send this form together with your check, minimum $10 donation each, to: Congregation B’nai Israel, 300 58th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33710,

January 11, 2014 9:00AM

or donate online at cbistpete.org *The minimum donation per acknowledgement is $10. Please print: Your Name: ______________________________________________ Address: _________________________________________________ City, _____________________________Zip: __________________ Telephone: ______________ 17


Donations

January 2014

Adult Studies

In Memory of

Mitzvah Fund

In Honor of

Lou Bader

Bill Dolgoff

Marilyn Wittner

Jane & Don Silverberg’s 60 Anniversary

Sheryl & Larry Feinman

Manny Fiel

Marilyn Benjamin

Jane & Don Silverberg’s 60 Anniversary

Mickey Walter & Son

Edward Leibson

Myrna & Murray Rubin

The Bat Mitzvah of Danielle LeVine

Buns Family Technology Improvement Fund Araceli & Alan Gross

In Honor of

Parker Gold & Family

The Hebrew School donating mezuzim to his childhood synagogue, Temple Israel in Merrick, NY Margot & Michael Benstock’s Anniversary

The birth of Noah Elias Wein

Dr. Patricia Cottrille

The birth of Jaron Liam Lynn

Billie & Morry Bornstein’s Anniversary

The birth of Emma Isabelle Gross

Karen Sher’s birthday Pam Askin’s birthday

Camp Ramah Fund

In Honor of

Susan Goldstein

The Bat Mitzvah of Danielle LeVine The Bat Mitzvah of Danielle LeVine

Sonya Miller

Jane & Don Silverberg’s 60 Anniversary

Cantor’s Discretionary Fund Lucille Ginsburg

In Memory of

Beverly Dikman

Jerry Gilbert’s Birthday

Anita & Lorri Helfand

Bill Dolgoff

Linda & Jack Goldfarb

Jerry Gilbert’s birthday Janet Augenbraun’s birthday

Dorothy Goldblatt’s birthday

Chana Olmstead

Edward Leibson BACA

Chana Olmstead

Vivian & Dr. Ed Lurie

Betty Elias

Ellen Jo Glassman Adult Studies Endowment Fund Ben & Rita Thomas

In Memory of

Gail S. Warren Legacy for Leadership Fund Liz & Greg Sembler

In Honor of

Helen Glassman

Marc & Laurie Reiskind

The Marriage of Debbie Marmon’s daughter Charles Bresinger’s retirement

Sandy & Mike Slomka

Charles Bresinger’s retirement

Linda & Jack Goldfarb

The naming of Emma Isabelle Gross Dr. Charlene Wygodski’s honor from the Maimonides Society In Memory of

Sandy & Mike Slomka

Dr. Stephen Kobernick

Bloom & Wygodski Family

Dr. Stephen Kobernick

Library Fund

In Memory of

Anita & Lorri Helfand

Larry Solomon

In Memory of Cantor Sharon Brown-Levy

Chana Olmstead

Ina Colen

Rose Gotler

Betty Sue & Joel Shane

Bill Dolgoff Morris Shane Edythe Shane

Harold Wolfson

Jessie Tucker Barbara & Jerry Colen

Dr. Paul Rosenberg

Millie & Lenny Gelfond

Bill Dolgoff

Sheri Frogel

Sarah Dareman

Marilyn & Dr. Morrie LeVine

Bill Dolgoff

Marilyn Benjamin

Max Stettner

Debbie & Dr. Jody Berner

Dr. Stephen Kobernick

Sherry Hardage & Dennis Barth

Annette Barth

Music & Concert Endowment Fund Susan Goldstein

In Honor of

Isaac Winters Lorraine Maller Fund

In Memory of

Flor & Henry Maller

Dr. Stephen Kobernick

William Wolfson

18

The marriage of Debbie Marmon’s Daughter


Donations

January 2014

Pauline Rivkind Fund

In Memory of

USY Fund

In Honor of

Myra & David Gross

Dr. Paul Rosenberg

Charlotte & Harold Goldberg

Pauline Rivkind Preschool Fund The birthday group

In Honor of

Charlotte Wygodski’s honor from the Maimonides Society, December Anniversaries

Liz & Greg Sembler

Susie Schwartz & Marilyn Benjamin

Sheryl Goff

The birth of Noah Elias Wein

Janet Augenbraun

The birth of Noah Elias Wein

Sandy & Herb Brasch

Sidney Brasch

Claire & Ron Yogman

The birth of Noah Elias Wein

Karen & Dr. Mandel Sher

Dr. Stephen Kobernick

Pauline Rivkind Talmud Torah

In Memory of

Claire & Ron Yogman

Dr. Paul Rosenberg

Gail & Mike Frye

Rose Frye

Rabbi’s Fund

In Honor of

Drs. Leslie & Mitchell Weiss

Dr. Stephen Kobernick

Diana & Joe Rosin

The marriage of Joe Gross

Susan & Dr. Steven LeVine

Dr. Stephen Kobernick

Myrna & Murray Rubin

In appreciation

Leah Sandler

Bill Dolgoff

Sheila Knapp

Rabbi Jacob Luski’s birthday

Esta Blaxberg

The birth of Noah Elias Wein

USY Pilgrimage Fund

In Memory of

Anita & Lorri Helfand

The birth of Emma Isabelle Gross

Lillian Rosen

Chana Olmstead

Rabbi’s Fund

In Memory of

Helen Kahan

Her husband and brother

Joan Benstock

Her father, Herman Kline

Sharon & Art Schloss

Morris Teckler

Anita & Lorri Helfand

Harry Winters

Hariet Lieberman’s birthday

In Memory of

Chana Olmstead

Shirley Greenman

Bill Dolgoff Vera & Larry Green

Dr. Paul Rosenberg Mali & Dr. Fred Feld

Irwin Schantz

Sheila Knapp

Her grandmother, Freida Kriger

Aldena & Larry Lew

Milton Lew

Don’t miss an opportunity to donate to CBI! Visit cbistpete.org/donate and simply fill out the form with your credit card number. Couldn’t be easier! We’re making some revisions to the site so, in the meantime, please indicate in the “add a message” section to whom you would like your donation acknowledged.

Bertha Stein Joyce & Harold Seder

Dr. Paul Rosenberg

Anita Sher

Her father, Otto Weiskopf

Beverly Dikman

Gertrude Berger

Myrna & Murray Rubin

Loved Ones

Her father, Isadore Joseph Silverstone

Send a check payable to Congregation B’nai Israel to: Congregation B’nai Israel of St. Petersburg c/o Kesef Accounting Services P.O. Box 159 Montvale, NJ 07645 OR to the synagogue office. Please indicate to which fund you wish to donate, the occasion for the donation (e.g., in honor of, in memory of), the name of the person you are honoring or remembering, and to whom you wish acknowledgement of your donation be sent. If the acknowledgement is not going to a CBI member, please note the recipient’s address. Donation to Women’s League or Mitzvah Men’s Club should be made directly to those affiliate organizations.

You can donate online at: cbistpete.org/donate 19


January 2014

20


January 2014

21


December January 2013 2014

2014 Mah Jongg Cards $8 Standard Size $9 Large Size Deadline is January 15 Make check out to:

CBI Women’s League

(Make sure to include your address) Mail to: Susan Scheinert 9228 Silverthorn Road Largo, Florida 33777 Questions: Email isitme777@aol.com

www.jewishpinellas.org 22


January 2014

23


December January 2013 2014

Please Patronize Our Advertisers!

24


January 2014

www.goldbergeyemd.com

Come join us! For membership information please contact:

Rhoda Ross – Membership VP

St. Petersburg Chapter

25


December January 2013 2014

Women’s League Catering is special. Trust us with you simcha and you’ll discover that in addition to the delicious food, the great attention to detail, and the unbeatable value, there’s one thing that separates us from the rest. With everything we do, from the first phone call to the serving of each carefully prepared dish, we do it with all our heart. Give us a call and see for yourself.

Contact Information: Alice Ettinger 727.954.4805 26


January 2014

27


Congregation B’nai Israel B’nai Israel Review 300 -58th Street North St. Petersburg, FL 33710-7889 Tel: (727) 381-4900 Fax: (727) 344-1307 Website: www.cbistpete.org 24 Hour Telephone Voice Mail

Change Service Requested

28

Non-Profit Organization U.S. Postage PAID St. Petersburg, Fl. Permit # 618


Bnai Review January 2014