Issuu on Google+

Washburn University

Volume 140, Issue 18

February 19, 2014

WASHBURN

www.washburnreview.com

REVIEW

White/McAfee announce WSGA presidential run without opposition Patrick Barry

WASHBURN REVIEW

Washburn Student Government Association election season has arrived. Elections will be held for president, vice president and senate seats. “The main goal is advocating for students,” said Jessie McGown, current vice president of WSGA. McGown encourages students to voice their concerns and get involved. Any Washburn student that is interested in becoming involved should stop by the Student Activities and Greek Life office or by the WSGA office. Both are located in the lower level of the union. All students are encouraged to vote for candidates that will advocate for them or to get involved. The first pair of president and vice president candidates were announced Feb. 12. Cassandra White, a junior history major, is running for president. Her running mate is Randi McAfee, a junior criminal justice major. White has been involved in WSGA since the fall of 2011. White has served as special events director where she was involved in planning events such as WU Fest, Yell Like Hell and the Lecture Series. In addition, she served on Spirit Committee to help plan for the homecoming. She also served on the Food Service Committee where she pushed for all prices to be posted for students in the corner store. Currently, White is working with Rich Connell, director of facilities services department, to move the college readership newspaper dispensers to more highly trafficed areas. “I enjoy working to make the

Photos by Patrick Barry

Above: (From left to right) Cassandra White and Randi McAfee are running for WSGA president and vice president, respectively. Both have two years of experience in the senate and one year of experience on the executive staff. campus a better place,” said White. White also talked about having experience in multiple parts of WSGA as a senator and as an executive staff member. She says her experiences on campus, and in class, have been fulfilling. “Because I’ve had a very fulfilling experience at Washburn I feel as though this is my opportunity to give back,” said White.

White emphasized that president is a position of advocacy and this is a role she is enthusiastic to fill. Senators and executive staff members have more direct roles for specific tasks. The president is supposed to represent the students. “Elect a president that you think will be an advocate for you, and will make the time and effort to be an advocate for you,” said White.

WASHBURN CAREER FAIR Wed | Feb 19 | 10 am Located in Petro Allied Health

At this point, White and McAfee are the only candidates that have been announced. Their tagline is “Connecting students to what matters, because students matter to us.” It is rumored that there are some potential candidates from within WSGA who may run a campaign against White and McAfee. Students have until Feb. 28 to run

www.ichabodshop.com

for the positions. For more information, visit http://www.washburn.edu/currentstudents/wsga/Election%20 Information%20and%20Forms. html. Patrick Barry, patrick.barry@ washburn.edu, is a senior anthropology major.

follow us on:


2 News

washburnreview.org

February 19, 2014

FDA approves anti-smoking campaign targeted to youth

Washburn Law introduces new admissions program

Colton Goeffert

Ivan Moya

WASHBURN REVIEW

The debut of a new breed of antismoking campaign began on Feb. 11. It is specifically targeted at minors, and is being spearheaded by the FDA. For the first time in the history of the FDA, these anti-smoking ads will target those in the 12 to 17 -year-old age bracket.
The ads will reach teens by appearing during commercial breaks on television and radio stations, as well as in the advertising space of popular teen magazines. The anti-smoking ads will also appear in public places and websites across the Internet.

 The campaign, which is referred to as “The Real Cost Campaign,” was developed to show teens “the real cost” of smoking.

T h e campaign itself takes two routes of attack in its effort to combat teen smoking. The first of these methods, outlining the health risks associated with smoking, has been seen before and has been the staple of anti-smoking campaigns since their inception. All of the old favorite risks from the days

of D.A.R.E. are here: cancer, yellowed teeth and wrinkled skin, to name a few.
 The second method of attack takes advantage of the teenage desire for independence and self-control. It does this by demonstrating the loss of control a person undergoes after succumbing to the grasp of an addiction. They make this point in the ads by having a miniature unhygienic man, a metaphor for cigarettes, follow teens around barking orders at them and forcing them to

not only for them, but also people around that person,” said Hayley Harris, a junior psychology major. The ads, which cost $115 million, will run for a year with ads targeting more specific groups of teens being aired as the year progresses. Groups on the target list include smoke-less tobacco users, Native Americans and teen members of the LGBTQ community. “[The ads] are informative and really carry the message,” said Bruce Kamanga, a Washburn

WASHBURN REVIEW

By the fall of 2014, Washburn University will be adopting a new Law School Admissions Program for the undergraduate students. The policy was recently adopted by the Board of Regents in December with the intention to provide a new access to law school for Washburn students. Washburn is one of the few law schools that still offer a spring enrollment session. Under the new policy, an undergrad would be able to finish off their last semester of their bachelor’s as a full time student at the Law School. The candidate will be required to finish all of the university required classes, general education classes and major classes in seven semesters. The classes at the Law School would replace roughly 15 hours in upper division credit to meet the requirement for the bachelor’s degree. “I’ve been pushing it through for about two years,” said Steve Cann, prelaw coordinator. The Law School has been approached to include a policy like this before, but this is the first time that any such policy will be implemented. Cann commented that enrollment has affected the renewed push to adopt this policy. Cann does not project a high influx of students to apply, however. The projected number of students expected to enroll, get accepted and follow through with all the requirements is a modest number. “You have to be pretty darn sure you want to go to law school to do all this,” said Cann. The program was initially designed for incoming freshmen. The prelaw coordinator would work in conjunction with the potential candidate to ensure that all required classes would be done ahead of schedule. Requirements for incoming freshmen to the program include

being placed in the top quartile of the ACT, which would equate to a score of at least 28. The candidate must also have a minimum high school G.P.A. of a 3.5. “I probably would have explored the option,” said Michael Kitowski, first-year law student.

Graphic courtesy of sxc.hu

Kitowski is currently in his second semester at the law school. He was also an undergraduate student at Washburn. Washburn’s law school is the only school he applied to prior to graduating. The program is also available to current Washburn students. Current undergrads must demonstrate the ability to attain an above average score on the Law School Admissions Test of around 155. This can be done by taking the test prior to applying in the program or by taking a diagnostic LSAT. The student must also maintain a college G.P.A. above 3.0. For more information about the LEAP program, contact Steve Cann in Henderson room 223.

Ivan Moya, ivan.moya@washburn.edu, is a senior mass media and political science major.

Graphic by Andrew Escandon

“smoke” him. The commercial then concludes with the message that if teens wouldn’t take that kind of bullying from this man, they shouldn’t take it from cigarettes. “I think it [the campaign] is great because there’s proven research that smoking can lead to lung cancer, and is a health hazard

student pursuing his master’s in business administration.

Colton Goeffert, colton.goeffert@washburn.edu, is junior associate of science major.

Photo courtesy of Washburn Law


C

February 19, 2014 News 3

washburnreview.org

alendar

Wednesday, February 19

150 Years of Teaching: Tools and Technology: Mulvane Museum Gallery (10 a.m. to 5 p.m.) Spring Career Fair: Lee Arenac (1:30p.m. to 3:30 p.m.) Fist Year Experience Scholar Awards: Washburn Room B (11 a.m. to 1 p.m.) Mabee Library open house: Washburn University - Mabee Library (1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.) FYE Scholar Awards: Washburn University Bradbury Thompson Alumni Center (start time: 3:30 p.m.) Thursday, february 20

Wake Up With Washburn: Bright Funds CEO Ty Walrod: Bradbury Thompson Alumni Center (7:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m.) Letter of Intent Day: Washburn Institute of Technology (8 p. m. to 3 p.m.) Business & Industry Open House: at Washburn Institute of Technology (9:30 a.m .to 2 p.m.) 150 Years of Teaching: Tools and Technology: Mulvane Museum Gallery. (10 a.m. to 5 p.m.) Crane Observatory Open House: on the 4th floor in Stoffer Science Hall (7:30 p.m. to 9 p.m.) Friday, february 21

150 Years of Teaching: Tools and Technology at Garvey Fine Arts Center/Mulvane (10 a.m. to 5 p.m.) Baseball vs. Lindenwood University: Falley Field (2p.m.) Saturday, FEBRUARY 22

Alumni Reception: Phoenix: Away (12 p.m. to 1 p.m.) Baseball vs. Lindenwood University: Falley Field (start time: 1 p.m.) Men’s Basketball at Emporia State University: Away (7:30 p.m.)

Washburn campus police report

February 07

09:14—Criminal damage to property freight container; Washburn Institute of Tech.; report taken: No suspect(s) at this time: investigation continues. 16:28—Motor Vehicle accident; on campus location in front of 1839 SW Jewell Ave.; report taken: photos taken.

February 08

13:03—Information report intrusion alarm; Facility Services; report taken: area checked: no forced entry:

alarm cleared & reset.

February 10

00:16—Information report/ medical call/alcohol violation; Bradbury Thompson Center; report taken: treated at scene: taken to the hospital by AMR ambulance.

February 11

15:10—Information report, building fire; Carole Chapel; report taken: probable cause dust from const.: alarm cleared and reset.

February 11

13:03—Information report/ possible electronic harassment; Living Learning Center; report taken: possible suspects identified: investigation continues.

February 17

00:16—Attempted rape/sexual battery/criminal restraint ; Living Learning Center; suspect ID’d: taken to DOC: referred to the dist. attorney referred to the dean of students.

February 16

07:45— Information report disturbance; Living Learning Center; report taken: persons involved ID’d referred to the dean of students.

POLICE ;

WU

;

Washburn hosts political forum Ezgi Gulec

WASHBURN REVIEW

Five professors from different schools held an open topic session Feb. 13, to talk about current topics on Kansas politics. With this year being an election year for the Kansas state governor, most topics covered were about the most pressing issues concerning the race. Bob Beatty, Washburn University, was the first professor to speak. He raised concerns about how Kansas should keep the integrity of elections. He believes that no one party should be in control of an election and that there are other ways to host an election. The next speaker was Ed Flentje, from Wichita State University. Flentje brought up tax issues that have been hurting Kansas over the past couple years.

“We are shifting the tax burden from business owners to their employees and in my opinion, that is difficult to justify,” said Flentje. He goes on to say that Kansas tax payers are going to end up paying almost $400 million in debt to make it through this year. Next, Burdett Loomis, from the University of Kansas, spoke about the governor’s raise. He discussed how both candidates had raised money and had been very close at raising the same amount. Brownback, on the last day of his campaign, took out a $500,000 loan, which made him look like he had raised more money and support. This topic, in particular, was important due to his opinions on how the race was going to go. Kansas is notorious for being a republican state but Loomis says that Paul Davis, democrat, has

a pretty good chance against his republican adversary, Governor Sam Brownback. Next to talk was Mark Peterson from Washburn University. He gave a very interesting, yet disturbing, lecture on the physical state of Kansas. He talked about how there is little to no hope for post-graduate work in Kansas. By the end of 2013, there were only 10,000 new jobs per year, and, he believes, that is a result of the Brownback regime. The population has been in decline as a result from the recession and is still declining. These are alarming facts that brought much discussion. The last speaker was Michael Smith from Emporia State. Smith wanted to talk about higher education and how money and academic freedom issues are being affected. He discussed how bigger universities, such as the

University of Kansas and Wichita State University get more money from the state because they are “research” schools. These bigger schools are also allowing more job opportunities, but he raised concerns about how that is affecting the smaller schools. He states that being from Emporia State, he feels like they are the forgotten ones. This event was open to the public and was only about an hour and thirty minutes. Information about Kansas was shared. With this year being an election year, it is important to follow debates in order to be able to make an appropriate voting decision this coming November. Ezgi Gulec, ezgi.gulec@ washburn.edu, is a senior mass media major.

Topeka Metro to launch new smart fareboxes Michelle Hodges

WASHBURN REVIEW

Topeka Metro will launch their new Odyssey “smart” fareboxes on the Topeka Metro bus fleet starting Feb. 24 to replace the current fareboxes. The last upgrade was over 16 years ago. The new “smart” fareboxes will have several special features that will be advantageous to bus riders, and will assist with route planning by providing data of when and where riders board. “It’s a ‘smart’ farebox, it can receive cash and gives back a change card, similar to how a gift card is used. We will also receive daily ridership data that we have not had before,” said Susan

Duffy, general manager for Topeka Metro. Fares and costs of monthly passes will remain the same. However, with the new smart farebox, Topeka Metro will issue a 10-ride card instead of 10 tickets. the new farebox will keep track of how many rides a rider has used and how many they have left and prints the remaining balance on the card. Another new feature, the 31day pass is a bargain compared to the current monthly pass. “Some riders don’t always get paid at the first of the month and the 31-day pass allows purchasing flexibility,” said Duffy. “And for six months in a year, a rider will get to ride seven extra days

with the 31-day pass.” The new monthly pass will last for 31 days from the day the rider activates it. For example, if a pass is purchased on the first of the month but is not used until the fifth, the 31 days starts with its first use. Riders can purchase two or three monthly passes at a time, and begin using the new pass once the old one expires. There will be two open houses at the Quincy Street Station, located at 820 SE Quincy. The workshops will explain about the new farebox system. An example of the new farebox is currently on display. The dates and times for the open houses are Feb. 18 from 3 to 5 p.m. and Feb. 19 from 7 to

10 a.m. Any questions can be answered during these two sessions. Duffy reminds riders that once the change has taken effect, old tickets can still be used until May 1, or exchanged for new tickets. For more information about the new fareboxes, visit the Topeka Metro website at www.topekametro.org.

Michelle Hodges, michelle. hodges@washburn.edu, is a senior mass media major.


4 News February 19, 2014

washburnreview.org

Obama creates new task force to decrease sexual assault at universities Timothy Lake

WASHBURN REVIEW

President Barack Obama created a task force in January to increase federal enforcement to prevent sexual assault at colleges and universities. According to a memorandum by the White House Council on Women and Girls, 1 in 5 college students have been assaulted and only 12 percent of them reported violence. Rosemary Henderson, a senior psychology major, says that she feels safe on campus and Washburn may be better than some universities because it is a smaller campus. This makes it easier to have better connections and response times, as well as the presence of Washburn police department and call buttons. She says that in her dealings with

WUPO they madequick responses in the past whenever she needed help. In 2010, there were three forcible sexual offenses at Washburn, one in 2011 and zero in 2012, according to the Annual Campus Security and Fire Safety Report for 2013. The report encourages that a victim’s first priority is to get to a safe place and obtain any necessary medical treatment. They should report the incident as quickly as possible as time is critical to gather evidence and apprehend perpretators. They should also take steps to preserve evidence including clothes worn before and after the assault and avoid showering or bathing until after seeking medical attention. Captain Chris Enos says that even if students have washed their clothes or taken a shower it’s not

too late to report a sexual assault. Enos says one of a few ways to decrease the risk of sexual assault is the buddy system. Also make sure to keep track of drinks and keep them in sight and if you feel uncomfortable get out any way you can. If there are concerns about a specific individual let residential living or the police department know, be aware of the environment, keep a cell phone close and do whatever you can to escape. “Its hard to do that [give advice] because so many of the victims think they did something wrong,” said Sergeant Nikki Wiecken. “Know that it’s not your fault.” Wiecken says not to be afraid to report sexual assault and there are other resources to use, such as the YWCA, and going to hospitals. She said that reporting sexual assaults can encourage other victims to

come forward and tell their stories. Wiecken says that WUPO does not want to re-traumatize victims, but wants to do everything they can to help that individual heal. The police department will investigate every case and will not force anyone to do anything they are uncomfortable with. Wiecken says that she wants people to know that it happens a lot. Many don’t know because many victims don’t report it. Washburn is its own community and that if it increases education over sexual assault, it can expand out and help to decrease the instances of sexual assault. Jericho Hockett, psychology lecturer at Washburn, says that she feels safe in general and that Washburn has many resources to help individuals feel safe such as the Safe Zone program. She says

that there can always be more done to protect students. “The ultimate message to give is the idea that you’re not alone, there are support systems in place and anybody facing those struggles or other struggles can overcome them,” said Hockett. When someone experiences a traumatic event they can often find themselves in despair, but there is absolutely hope for recovery.

Timothy Lake, timothy.lake@ washburn.edu, is a senior English major.

Tablets vs. printed paper: What’s your choice? Ya Xu

allow for that, there are some steps involved that make it less convenient for students to do that.” Brian C. Thomas, an associate physics and astronomy professor, also noticed students bringing laptops to his class. “In my astronomy class I have an e-book option, so I know some of my students use that, but the majority still get the regular paper book. I think it is a good option to use e-books. For the students it’s a lot cheaper, and I use a homework system online, which is linked to the e-book. It is really useful,” said Thomas. Though laptops are convenient, they can also cause distractions in class. However, Thomas has his own way to handle it. “In terms of using tablets or laptops in my class, I don’t have any problem with it. Some of them may be doing things that are not related to the class, but my philosophy is that if they are not disturbing the class, I don’t care what they do,” said Thomas.

WASHBURN REVIEW

Carrying two or three textbooks with 600 pages each is a common scene for college students. “I take my laptop, three to five textbooks and a separate bag with personal stuff with me to class,” said Lucy Hesse, a law school graduate. “Usually I take notes on my laptop, but there is one class where laptops are not allowed, so I’ll take pen and paper.” However, for Nick Chim, junior criminal justice major, it’s easier for him to use e-books for classes. “I just bring my laptop pack to class, and I have my folders with notes, pens and laptop in it. Mostly I use a notebook to write down the notes and then type it later,” said Chim. “I will use e-books if possible. It’s more convenient to only have a laptop. And print books are more expensive usually. Technology is booming.” Though e-books can take a whole lot of weight off students’ shoulders with tablets only taking up a few square inches in their bag, there are still quite a few fans of printed books. “I prefer textbooks because you don’t get the same feeling from reading through a tablet as through a book,” said Hesse. “It’s more beneficial for us to interact with the text rather than use the e-books.” According to Bradley Siebert, an assistant English professor,

Photo by Ya Xu

Mobile Learning: Zach Johnson, junior physical education major, uses a tablet with a ebook in his literature class. Tablets eliminate the weight of textbooks. students do use tablets or laptops sometimes. Maybe two or three of his 80 students are using e-books a semester, but this semester not as many of them are using tablets as they did last semester. For those who use technology

in class, Siebert expressed his understanding. However, he still holds concerns about it. “With an e-book, it seems less likely that the students will study the book and mark it up, though a lot of students avoid writing

in their books, underlining or highlighting things,” said Siebert. “I always like students to potentially interact with their books by marking them up and writing notes to themselves in the margins. Though e-books do

Ya Xu, ya.xu@washburn.edu, is a Enlgish education major.


February 19, 2014 News 5

washburnreview.org

WU Career Fair: Finding jobs just got easier Lauren Doherty

Terry Richardson

WASHBURN REVIEW

WASHBURN REVIEW

Looking for a job? How about trying the career fair. Searching for a job can be a daunting process. For those who could use some guidance, Washburn offers services that can increase their odds of getting the job they want. Just before graduation, students focus on their next task: job searching. Many have gone through the rough process of applying over and over again. With the coming of the career fair, Washburn is happy to share tips to get you a step ahead. Starting a job search is tough, Washburn has several ways to help. Career services, resumé roadshow and the career fair are all opportunities that help guide students. Thinking about all the applications that must be filled out, with resumé and cover letters to write can be a daunting task, not to mention preparing for interviews. Washburn is offering its annual spring Career Fair in Lee Arena. Students can visit the fair to meet employers, make connections and receive tips for resumé and portfolios. Students can also talk with potential employers to ask questions and receive a better visual of what that job involves. “It’s the perfect venue to ask questions,” said Kent McAnally, director of Career Services. McAnally says that networking is very important in the workforce. It’s vital to make connections with people, which is hard to do online with only a resumé. “You are highly unlikely to get a job without meeting face to face,” said McAnally. Deborah Moore, director of human resources at Washburn, gets a first hand view of resumés and cover letters. As the human resources staff sorts through resumés, Moore offers some tips on how to make sure a resumé makes it through to the next level.

Washburn Tech’s M-Tech program offers new training initiative

WASHBURN CAREER FAIR Wed | Feb 19 | 10 am Petro Allied Health

Explore career opportunites and network with professionals Professional dress expected “First, always fill out applications completely and check spelling,” said Moore, who has a personal pet peeve about misspelled words. “I can’t tell you how that turns a person off,” said Moore Both McAnally and Moore recommend including activities to show that the applicant is well -rounded. The point of a resumé is to get an interview, but it does not get you the job. When it comes to interviews, Moore says, always dress professionally whether in person or online. Don’t wear jeans or a holey shirt. Arrive 10 minutes early and always turn your phone off. Moore says to answer questions completely but don’t go on and on. When job searching, a person has to sell themselves differently from others because that is what will stand out to the employer. “Be aware of what they can ask you,” said Moore. The interviewer can only ask job related questions. After the interview, send a thankyou note. The feel of the work place and age of the employer will determine whether to send the thank you in the mail or email. With older employers, it may be better to send a letter in the mail. By doing this, it will keep the applicant’s name fresh in the employer’s mind.

A big question is what are employers looking for? Four of the biggest skills are team work, communication skills both in person and on paper, creative thinking and problem solving and leadership. Though some fields require a degree in the major like nursing and education, others do not. Studies have shown that most people who graduate from college do not get a job in the career field they studied for. Some people have grown tired of their current job and decided to change careers. McAnally says he had a bachelors in music education and masters in music performing arts. After 20 years of being a music teacher, he wanted to do something else. McAnally says that it’s ok to change careers but to make sure to have an idea of a job specifically, otherwise it will be a struggle job searching. One final tip: Be confident and yourself at interviews. Employers want to get a better idea of whom they may be hiring.

Lauren Doherty, lauren.doherty@ washburn.edu, is a senior mass media major.

Washburn Tech’s second session of the new training program, manufacturing technology, also known as M-Tech, began Feb. 18. Washburn Tech developed the program with the help of several local manufacturing and production facilities such as Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Mars Chocolate North America, Frito-Lay, Bimbo Bakeries and Del Monte. The program offers pre-hire training that will ultimately lead to certification for participating, successful students as certified production technicians. It was also developed in cooperation with the K a n s a s Department o f Commerce. It is targeted at individuals that are either unemployed or underemployed seeking to gain the skills or training specifically needed in the manufacturing and production field. “M-Tech provides training that is specifically targeted to meet the needs of our area manufacturers,” said Clark Coco, dean of Washburn Tech. “Adults can complete this training quickly and be prepared for quality jobs while local companies remain competitive with a skilled workforce.” The M-Tech program is a handson, intensive training program that operates the same as an average work day. Classes operate from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday and run between four and eight weeks. The courses offered are forklift operation; maintenance awareness; manufacturing processes/ production; and quality, safety and workplace skills. The program gives students the opportunity to meet local hiring managers and

learn what it is like to be out on the production floor. Students are also guaranteed an interview by one of the cooperating companies. “Floor Technicians work on the floor and are responsible for making fast, important decisions,” said Luci Zieman, recruiter for Washburn Tech University. “As a technician it is your responsibility to keep the line running.” Individuals who are interested in participating in the M-Tech program should first visit either the Topeka Workforce Center or inquire by phone by contacting Gina Coffman at 235-1622. Next, contact Zieman at Washburn Tech, 670-2373, and ask for an M-Tech application. A commerce scholarship is available to eligible students. P r e assessment tests will be given to determine every student’s skill level before beginning. Classes start every other week. “This project will support a robust Kansas economy by preparing workers with the skills required by business,” said Pat George, secretary of Kansas Department of Commerce.“We are excited to support local prosperity with the first Workforce AID pilot project for these excellent Topeka regional companies.”

Terry Richardson, terry. richardson@washburn.edu, is a freshman mass media major.

“Religion must be the cause of affection. It must be a joy-bringer. If it become the cause of difference, it were better to banish it. Should it become the source of hatred, or warfare, it were better that it should not exist. If a remedy produce added illness, it were far better to discard the remedy. A religion which does not conform with the postulates of science is merely superstition.” Bahá’í Sacred Text

(785)-271-5857

www.bahaitopeka.com


6 Opinion February 19, 2014

washburnreview.org

Advice for Students

Q: I have this co-worker who is a total bitch and likes to start drama at work. What can I do to avoid it? A: You should slap her. Just kidding. As much as we would all LOVE to do that, unfortunately that’s not an option. Everyone has that one person, or sometimes more than one, who loves to be the center of attention all the time. Or they get bored and find some way to stir things up for their pleasure. Personally, I’ve never thought those types of people were worth having in my life. I’m not going to lie: There are several of those types at my work. On top of that, there are also those people who constantly talk shit about them behind their back but

are their “right-hand” minion in all the drama (which I’m sure they probably are at your work as well). Those are the people I try to stay away from. And I do so by not acknowledging their pettiness. Sure you can be nice to them; that’s just common courtesy and compassion that clearly needs to be spread, but don’t go above and beyond that. Don’t make plans outside of work to do “friend” things. Basically, avoid their bullshit. I know this sounds a bit overused, but you’re not at work to make friends or relationships, of course that’s always an added bonus. You are there to make a living and get your job done. People get so caught up in other things that they forget the

BOD

ST

workplace isn’t high school. Work should be a a place where we need to be professional and maintain professional relationships. Somehow that’s become a lost asset. People constantly need to turn everything into a contest of who’s on top. And it’s so petty. I know I have wishful thinking, but I’m not sorry for it. Why can’t we all get along without the need to be up in everyone’s business or knowing their whole life story? It doesn’t affect our life or help us get our job done, so why do we need drama? I’ll never understand it. No matter what you do there’s always going to be drama whether you like it or not. The best advice I can give you, as an individual, is to try not to get caught up in it. I know it may be hard at times but don’t feel obligated to befriend the drama just because everyone else at your work is. Yes, we all want to have friends in the workplace or know what’s happening, but in the end it’s not benefiting you or your career. Don’t get sucked in or

acknowledge it and you’ll be fine. At the end of the day you know who you are and you don’t need other people dragging you down with them. Find other people at your work who are dedicated to their job, not the drama, and are genuine people. Those are the people you should surround yourself with and they’ll be the ones who will benefit you.

What movie do you want to see in theaters and why? By: Fatima Oubaid and Jessica Herrera

“‘One Chance;’ I’ve seen lots of previews for it and it seems like a very inspirational movie.”

“The new ‘X-Men’ movie coming out because I’m a huge fan. I own almost all the movies.”

Martha Custis, senior, English

Tirzah Richards, spanish

junior,

“‘That Awkard Moment’ because Zac Efron is in it and he’s gorgeous.”

“‘Frozen’ because everything I’ve heard about it is good. Everyone I’ve talked to has given it good reviews.”

Malanie Beeghly, senior, business

Tyler Savery, junior, mass media

Contact Us Phone: (785) 670-2506 Fax: (785) 670-1131 www.washburnreview.org Editor-in-Chief Kara Protasio Advertising Manager Mike Kerls Production Assistants Jamie Schartz • Andrew Escandon Kaw Editor-in-Chief Mallory Luney Art Director Andrew Escandon Assignment Editor Jennifer Lauber Assistant Assignment Editor Ivan Moya Multimedia Manger Shannon Kennedy Head Copy Editor Fatima Oubaid Online Editor Salvador Lopez Copy Editors Russell Budden Jessica Herrera Leigh Camper Writers Kara Protasio • Jennifer Lauber • Shannon Kennedy • Jake Wingo • Ivan Moya • Qiujie Li • Colton Goeffert • Fatima Oubaid • Brian Cervantez • Mairui Li • Cindy Rose • Jamie Schartz • Ya Xu • Scott Stormann • Terry Richardson • Annastasia Glover • Ezgi Gulec • Patrick Barry • Jacqui Savage • Andrew Escandon Photographers Scott Stormann • Terry Richardson • Mallory Luney • Abby Mies • Ivan Moya Graphic Designers Andrew Escandon • Chelsea Howe • Gabe Palma Cartoonist Chelsea Howe Kaw Yearbook Staff Mallory Luney • Kara Protasio • Jamie Schartz • Kelsi Baird • McKayla Douglas Advisor Regina Cassell


February 19, 2014 Opinion 7

washburnreview.org

WU apathy crushes Vladimir Putin’s Russia: Origins student elections of icy struggle, part one of three Editorial Board

WASHBURN REVIEW

Washburn University is experiencing a new kind of epdiemic. The number of those that actually engage in campus politics has decreased at an accelerating rate. The number of those people stepping to a voting both is low and the number of people who even know the platforms of candidates are even lower. It becomes problematic when students can’t even answer the basic question, “What does Washburn Student Government Association actually do?” In the spring of 2011, Taylor McGown and Michael Kitowski won the presidential race for Washburn University’s Student Government, beating out Rizki Aljupri and Nicholas Campbell with a vote count of 448-281. Slightly less than 800 students voted in the presidential race. Fast forward to the spring of 2012, Eric Benedict and Caprice Cortez won their presidential race largely unopposed despite the decision to switch out the vice presidential nominee halfway through the election season. In the spring of 2013, Shelbie Konkel and Jessie McGown won 53 percent of the votes; 282 votes to be exact. Less than 600 people voted in the presidential elections. Spring of 2014 is here and the election season presents students with only one official candidacy once again. The vote count and sparse number of candidates in election should be concerning for the student body of Washburn, but no one seems to be alarmed. It’s as if a culture of apathy has been systemically integrated to the culture of Washburn. Even just focusing on the voter count alone it’s troubling to believe that less than 10 percent of the students voted in the elections

considering that voting booths were stationed in the student union and the Living Learning Center. The Washburn Student Government Association (WSGA) receives student activity fees from every student and is in charge of not only funding their own projects, but is also responsible for allocating money to multiple student organizations as well. They are the financial oversight to the funding request of crucial events that require thousands of dollars. It is precisely this reason that voter apathy presents a paradoxical situation. Why is it that WSGA is allowed to keep a record of what student organizations do year round, but WSGA is not held to the same standard by the student body? Not only were the votes sparse to begin with, but as the years have continued the number of votes have decreased. Perhaps the feeling of voter apathy has intersected with the idea of running altogether. Two of the past four years present a tacit political climate with only one clear frontrunner. In both cases, the candidates have already been in WSGA for a few years and are recognized by the elected senators. The races have seen a lack of physical promotion material on campus and energetic races. It is now considered a rare gesture for a presidential ticket to organize times with student organizations and ask them what they would like to see in the next WSGA administration. Needless to say, today’s race is a safe race.

Washburn Review, wureview@gmail.com

Patrick Barry

WASHBURN REVIEW

The winter Olympics has drawn the world’s focus to Sochi, Russia. The excitement over the games has been upstaged by controversy over Russia’s recent law against homosexual propaganda to minors. The recent law has led to many individuals calling for a boycott of the Olympics. The Fair Games Project sent out a public service announcement titled “Russia declares discrimination newest olympic sport.” It is a video depicting Russian athletes beating homosexuals in front of Russian Federation flag-waving crowds. At the center of the controversy over Russia’s policies is Vladimir Putin, the president of the Russian Federation. Many in the western media have criticized Putin. He is the face of Russian policy and signed the law against homosexual propaganda. He has also been seen in Sochi at Olympic events. To understand the controversial events in Russia, it is necessary to know about Putin and Russia. Putin graduated from Leningrad State University in 1975 as an international law student. He wrote a PhD thesis titled “The Strategic Planning of Regional Resources Under the Formation of Market Relations” and joined the communist party after graduation. He began his career with the KGB starting in the second chief directorate in counter-intelligence. He was soon transferred to the first chief directorate where he monitored foreigners and consular officials in Leningrad. He also maintained ties to his old university, keeping an eye out for potential KGB recruits. He resigned from the KGB in 1991 at the rank of lieutenant colonel on the second day of the KGB’s attempted coup against Mikail Gorbechev.

Putin worked his way up through the local government in Saint Petersburg (formerly Leningrad), and then went to work at the national level in Moscow where he oversaw the transfer of assets belonging to the Soviet Union and Communist Party to the Russian Federation. In 1997, Boris Yeltsin, then president of Russia, appointed Putin deputy chief of presidential staff. One year later he was appointed head of the FSB, the successor of the KGB. That same year he was appointed a permanent member of the security council of the Russian Federation. He was appointed one of the three first deputy prime ministers Aug. 9, 1999. On that same day, Yeltsin made Putin acting prime minister. Yeltsin later announced he wished Putin to be his successor and Putin agreed to run for president. Putin was elected prime minister Aug. 16, 1999. He was not as well known to the Russian public and was not expected to last. Yeltsin unexpectedly resigned Dec. 31, 1999, and, according to the Russian Constitution, Putin became the acting president. His first move as president was to drop charges of corruption against Yeltsin and his family. Putin was elected president March 26, 2000, with 53 percent of the vote. During his first term, Putin won a power struggle with Russian oligarchs. It was thought that the hostage crisis involving Chechnyan rebels in a Moscow theatre which left 103 dead, would hurt his career, but Putin still received a record public approval rating of 83 percent. Putin was elected to his second presidential term in 2004 with 71 percent of the vote. His second term was spotted by crises and conflicts over Chechnya. In 2005, he created the National Priority Projects to improve Russia’s health care, education, housing and

agriculture. He was criticized for his crackdown on media freedom by liberals in Russia and by westerners. Several groups protested Putin during his second term, but his approval ratings with the majority held strong. The Russian Constitution prevented him from running for a third consecutive term. The day after Putin gave the presidency to his successor, he was presidentially appointed as prime minister. He held this position between 2008 and 2012. During this time, the recession hit Russia hard. Putin was largely credited with Russia’s recovery and resistance to the recession. In 2012, Putin was elected to his third, but non-consecutive, term as president. Thousands protested the election, but he still received 63.3 percent of the vote. Opponents accused Putin of corruption. Outside of Russia many were suspicious of the Russian democratic process. Putin had the support of several oligarchs and of the Russian Orthodox Church. Amidst accusations of corruption, the stage was set (with Putin at the center) as the world watched the increasing levels of protest. Patrick Barry, patrick.barry@ washburn.edu, is a senior anthropology major.


8 News February 19, 2014

washburnreview.org

February 19, 2014 News 9

Photos courtesy of Washburn Kappa Alpha Theta Fraternity

Live Like Thetas: (above) Thetas strike a pose with the boys from Sigma Phi Epsilon during their performance at Yell Like Hell. (below) The sisters smile for the camera at a tailgate party before a Washbrn football game in 2013. The Thetas are celebrating 100 years of sisterhood.

Celebrating 100 years of Greek life Cindy Rose

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Kappa Alpha Theta fraternity celebrates its 100 year anniversary in April, but they are starting the party early. “It is the oldest sorority on the Washburn campus and it is preparing for its next 100 years,” said Gary Handy, director of Student Activities and Greek Life. The event will be Feb. 21 from 5:30 to 7 p.m. in the Bradbury Thompson Center. “We will be going over the history of Theta,” said Olivia Marshall, chief operating officer of the chapter. “We are just looking to get out there and let people know about us and let them know that we are here and

that we’re ready to do a lot of awesome things.” The Thetas will talk about their history on campus with a slideshow covering 100 years and several articles from the past will be on display to view. Food and beverages will be provided. The fraternity will also celebrate its centennial anniversary in April in Kansas City with alumnae from all over the country, including the president of all Thetas in the U.S. and Canada. The alumnae will also tour Washburn University where they will see all the changes that have occurred throughout the years. Theta is looking for more women who would like to have

an incredible life experience, learn how to be strong leaders and learn to become their best selves. Their motto is “Leading women.” They want to show what it is like in a Greek

organization. “We would love to share what Theta is to anyone who is interested,” said Marshall. The fraternity is a non-profit group whose philanthropic cause is with an organization called

CASA. A chapter of CASA in Shawnee County is supported by Theta by raising awareness for their cause and through donations and fundraisers throughout the year. They are a special volunteer court appointed advocates to abused, neglected and foster children as they go through the court system. Each volunteer stays with a child throughout the entire process as a constant representative of that child as he or she goes through the placement procedure. The fraternity has had three houses over the years. One was blown down by the tornado of 1966 and another is now occupied by a fraternity. But

the Thetas want prospective joiners to know that they still do all the things other sororities do, including building life-long relationships with women who are successful and strong. They stand not only for personal excellence but in helping others to be leaders also. For more information about the Thetas, visit alphaupsilon. kappaalphatheta.org or visit Facebook.com/washburnTheta, Twitter@WashburnTheta or contact Amanda Ahrens, president, at amanda.ahrens@ washburn.edu.

Cindy Rose, cynthia.rose@washburn.edu, is a senior mass media major.

Photos courtesy of Washburn Kappa Alpha Theta Fraternity

Long Live Theta: Four Thetas show their sisterhood pride during pledge week. After a century of sisterhood, the girls are still bringing in fresh faces to the family.

Live Like Thetas: (above) The Kappa Alpha Theta chapter enjoys frozen yogurt at Orange Leaf. This is one of many exciting activities in the life of a Theta.

Photos courtesy of Washburn Kappa Alpha Theta Fraternity

Fun and Fellowship: The girls enjoy some downtime with their sisters. One of the benefits of going Greek is always having a group of close-knit friends to hang out with.


10 Sports February 19, 2014

washburnreview.org

Lee ends basketball career at Washburn Kara Protasio

WASHBURN REVIEW

As the last regular game of the season approaches, both men’s and women’s basketball teams will honor the seniors as they could potentially be playing their last home games. For both teams, recognizing the seniors won’t be difficult. This year, the women’s basketball team has Kara Lee as the only senior. A Seaman High graduate, Lee has always known about Washburn, though It wasn’t until 2013 that she became an Ichabod. Lee started her first two college years at Hutchinson Community College. Her freshman year she averaged 3.8 points and 2.3 rebounds that helped her team win a championship title and a 30-3 record. As a sophomore, Lee doubled her stats by averaging 6.6 points and 4.3 rebounds. Her team won a conference and regional championship and were also the runner ups to the national championship. Lee transferred to the University of Missouri-Kansas City for her junior year, where she played in 27 games. However, she didn’t like the environment here. “Hutch and UMKC was hard for me because I’m a home-town person and now that I’m home it’s comforting and stress-free.” Lee started basketball in the first grade. Her mom enrolled her in the YMCA league in Topeka. She continued to play basketball because of her grandpa, whose love for the game kept her going even when she didn’t want to play. “I try not to think about things, just to play, that’s what my grandpa

used to tell me, just to calm down and play and that’s what I am hoping to do,” said Lee. “When I got the call that she was coming back home and that she was going to school at Washburn, wanting to know if we needed her, we were definitely excited to have her back home. It’s a rarity for a 6-foot 4-inch kid to come back home and want to be apart of your program. We are fortunate to be her hometown,” said Head Coach Ron McHenry. His assistant coach Brett Herber agrees. “She was definitely a good addition to the team considering she was originally going to walk on to the program,” said Herber. Lee has played 23 games as an Ichabod and averages 17.4 minutes per game. She averages 9.6 points and 4.4 rebounds per game. Tonight, Lee and the Ichabods will take on Fort Hays State University at 5:30 p.m. in Lee Arena. The last time the Ichabods played the Lady Tigers was earlier this month. The Bods lost 62-69 in a close battle at Hays. “I really want our team to win. If we can rebound and do some of the good things we did, I know we can have a different outcome this time, especially with senior night I want a win.” Lee started the game, but only played 11 minutes of the entire game. She scored only five points, but had two steals. Lee fouled twice early in the first half of the game and was pulled from the game. In the second half Lee got into more trouble and fouled out of the game. “Obviously we want to have her

in the game longer than 11 minutes and have her playing at a high level. She is used to chasing around 6-foot post players and now she is playing against a 6-foot 4-inch kid who’s like her. Now it’s a much better match up for her and this is why she was brought in to do what she does,” said McHenry. As for the future, Lee will not be going far from the team. In fact, she will be sitting next to them as the

student assistant as she continues to finish her degree. Lee aspires to be a coach or physical education teacher. “Kara is just a really talented player. The only disappointment is that we don’t have her more than one year because I think she has some really unbelievable tools and talents. She is a great teammate. It’s hard to step in your last year with a brand new team and try to mix

personalities. She did great job of doing that,” said McHenry.

Kara Protasio, kara.protasio@ washburn.edu, is a junior mass media major.

Graphic by Chelsea Howe


February 19, 2014 Sports 11

washburnreview.org

Fisher fishes for the home win Jake Wingo

WASHBURN REVIEW

Typically, the point guard is the main distributor on any basketball team. However, when you have a team full of good passers, that duty gets shared amongst everyone. Junior guard, Korey Fisher started the season as the Ichadbods’ backup point guard, and an upgrade as a three-point shooter at the position. Sophomore guard Chris Deanes, the team’s original starting point guard, was more of a pure point guard with the ability to get to the rim and kick the ball out to one of the several good three-point shooters. Without much size in the starting lineup, the Bods need as much help from outside as they can get, and Fisher gives them just that. While he is just third on the team in assists per game, he is shooting nearly ten percent better from behind the arc and averaging an assist more per contest. “The best part of my game is my ability to find ways to put the ball in the hole,” Fisher said. “With my

crafty dribbling I’m able to pull up on my defender or drive to the lane, and I also have the vision to see my open teammates.” With fellow junior guard Kyle Wiggins playing with the ball in his hands most of the time, Fisher’s shooting ability is of even more importance. When Deanes and Wiggins are on the floor together, it leaves two players that need the ball in their hand to be productive. Because their styles are similar, Deanes is a great replacement for Wiggins off the bench whenever he needs a breather or get in foul trouble. “My role is to keep the team together, control the pace and tempo of the game, get the offense started, get my teammates good shots, as well as getting myself good shots,” Fisher said. Fisher, at 6’ 2”, also gives the team a bit more flexibility on the defensive end of the floor. The New Jersey native is able to cover either the point guard or shooting guard on the opposing team, while

Deanes, at 5’ 11”, is normally restricted to the shortest player on the other team. “Defensively I’m good at reading the man I’m guarding and seeing if he can shot or if he’s a good driver,” said Fisher. “I’m long enough to play off of a faster guard and still be able to get a hand up on his shot, and if it’s a man who isn’t as fast I can get up on him and try to cause a turnover.” Fisher, like most athletes, wants to continue playing basketball after his college career, and says he doesn’t want to make the same mistake he’s seen other players make by hanging up the jersey too soon. “I would love to continue playing ball

overseas,” he said. “I hear stories from guys before me and they always say they should have stuck with it and always tell me every chance they get to keep playing for as long as you can and that’s what I love to do.” Fisher will take the court tonight as the Ichabods take on Fort Hays State at 7:30 in Lee Arena. Jake Wingo jake.wingo@ washburn.edu, is a sophomore mass media major

Graphic by Chelsea Howe


12 Puzzle Page February 19, 2014

washburnreview.org

Winter Olympics Word Search AERIALS BIATHLON BOBSLED DOWNHILL FIGURE FREESTYLE GOLD HOCKEY ICE JUMPING LUGE OLYMPICS RUSSIA SILVER SKATING SKICROSS SKIING SNOWBOARDING SOCHI SPEED

SPORTS WRITERS NEEDED! Find us in the lower level of the Union, or go online to

www.washburnreview.org


February 19, 2014 Arts and Entertainment 13

washburnreview.org

Local pizza joint has whole package Fatima Ouibad

WASHBURN REVIEW

Pizza is pretty much my whole life. I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So when I hear about a pizza place I’ve never been to before, you can bet that I am going to be all over that. That is why I was quick to check out AJ’s NY Pizzeria here in Topeka. Usually New York style pizza doesn’t really impress me because I am a Chicago-born girl, but I decided to give it a shot. My first experience with New York pizza was last spring when I traveled to New York City for the first time. I went there

Ph oto by

Fa tim aO

ub aid

expecting amazing pizza because of all the reviews you hear on TV and read about, but I was not impressed. Of all the food I ate in New York the pizza was the least impressive, which is why I was shocked when I tried AJ’s. It is seriously some of the best pizza I have eaten in Topeka, and that is quite an accomplishment considering we have so many different pizza places here. At AJ’s they have a wide selection of pizzas and appetizers you can order, not to mention different alcoholic beverages and a lovely bar. I ordered a barbecue chicken specialty pizza, toasted ravioli appetizer and water, because I’m not 21 and alcohol is not my style. I wasn’t quite sure how the toasted ravioli was going to be but it was really tasty. It was crisp and stuffed with ricotta cheese but it didn’t overpower all the other filling,

which I thought was refreshing. I also enjoyed that I didn’t have to wait forever to get my food; it came much sooner than I expected. The pizza was just the right amount of cheese and barbecue sauce, and probably the best combination of the two I’ve ever had. I was so impressed with everything, I went back and tried something new. This time I got a chicken parmesan pizza. This wasn’t as good as the barbecue chicken but still satisfying enough. It had thin-crust and they weren’t stingy with their chicken toppings like most places are. Another advantage I think AJ’s has over other pizza places is it’s atmosphere. It has space and a good table selection. Unlike Pizza Pub, which has limited space and is so loud all the time you can barely hear your company. It was great because I could watch the basketball game, hear the people I was with and enjoy delicious pizza. It has that whole bar atmosphere, but without the loud noise. It’s almost a combination of a coffee shop and a sports bar but with pizza. I love it and recommend it to everyone. It’s definitely a family, friend, or night out kind of place. AJ’s NY Pizzeria is located at 1930 Westport Drive and is open from 11 a.m. to 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and closes at 10:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday. For more information visit http://www. ajsnypizza.com/. Fatima Ouibad, fatima.ouibad@ washburn.edu, is a junior mass media and psychology major.

Netflix original show premieres season two Jamie Schartz

Anyone interested in politics or how the government works will legitimately enjoy the show, and those who don’t will likely find themselves as addicted as I did. To be perfectly honest, I prefer the ‘90s show “The West Wing.” It’s very similar to “House of Cards” but with a much more positive spin. Everything goes exactly according to plan in “The West Wing,” while “House of Cards” provides a much more accurate (or at least seemingly accurate) story of how the government works. Check out both shows on Netflix.

WASHBURN REVIEW

Netflix released season two of its popular original show “House of Cards” Feb. 14. I have to admit I’m not entirely sure what to make of this show. I’m addicted to it in the sense that I watched all 26 episodes in two days (as most Netflix users have probably done at some point), but it doesn’t actually interest me that much. The show follows the career of democratic house whip Francis “Frank” Underwood. A unique aspect of the show is how Underwood speaks to the audience directly, as if we were an intern under his charge. Kevin Spacey plays Underwood, and he’s downright creepy when he looks directly into the camera. If he were a candidate in real life, he’s the kind who would have won voters by intimidation. To help the story along, Underwood is married to Claire, who runs the Clean Water Initiative. It’s convenient because they are both very powerful in Washington, and their marriage can be described as utilitarian in the way they use their power to advance the career of the other and because they don’t have children. Another important character is Zoe Barnes, a reporter who goes underground as Underwood’s mouthpiece. Through her, Underwood essentially sets the government up with the people he wants in power. Barnes’ character, played by Kate Mara, is my favorite character in the show. She shines as a won’t-back-down, tough-to-thebone woman working in a man’s world. Season two opened with a bombshell. It was so unexpected that I had to replay the scene a few more times to be sure I saw it correctly. Unfortunately, that storyline died out by the end of the season, although it was set up to be a roller coaster. Spoiler alert: an important character dies. Underwood moves up in ranks from a representative to the vice president of the United States, and he continues to manipulate various government figures as he wants. I’m not politicalminded enough to know if the government actually works that way, if Underwood is just a super-manipulative man or if the writers gave him more influence than he would actually have. Underwood’s wife eventually gives up the Clean Water Initiative and takes up civil service. She spends season two fighting rape in the military after

Photo courtesy of collider.com

some of her dirty laundry is pulled out to air. Underwood also becomes a much darker character for the first half of the season. I don’t completely understand why it was necessary, but it did seem to be a natural reaction to the traumas she was being forced to relive. I give “House of Cards” four out of five stars. It’s dry and slow-paced at times, and mindbogglingly political at others, but for all its faults (and my claims that I’m bored by it) I couldn’t help but finish the entire show in one weekend. It also explores topics that are currently under civil dispute such as homosexuality and conflicts with Asian countries.

Jamie Schartz, jamie.schartz@ washburn.edu, is an undeclared freshman major.

Photo courtesy of Netflix


14 Arts and Entertainment February 19, 2014

washburnreview.org

Blue Velvet: Misunderstood masterpiece

Patrick Barry

WASHBURN REVIEW

From an early age I had always been fascinated by film. I specifically adored film as an art. Years spent in art and theatre schools allowed me to better understand the medium. I became more critical and was no longer able to be satisfied with films that did not challenge the audience. One director, David Lynch, is a master of art using surrealism to push the audience into the heart of darkness within our minds. I remember the first time I saw a David Lynch movie; I restarted the film when the credits finished. I could not believe what I had experienced. I had an affinity for thrillers, but had never really been terrorized by a movie. After I saw “Blue Velvet”, I knew there was nothing that would hit my psyche that hard again. At first I could not tell if I enjoyed it. I felt unclean. something had been taken from me. It took time to understand what happened. I needed guidance, so I took to the Internet to read every critic’s opinion I could find. The film remains controversial, even after more than 25 years. The ultimate movie gurus, Siskel and Ebert, were in absolute disagreement over it. As a lover of film and a glutton for psychological challenges, I watched the film again and again to settle the internal debate raging in my subconscious. After the fifth view and

pages of notes I had scrawled as I watched to capture the cinematic brushstrokes, I knew that this movie should be regarded as a masterpiece specifically because of the way it is both brilliant and disturbing. The film opens with an unforgettable score by Angelo Badalamenti, followed by Bobby Vinton singing the song “Blue

sarcastic living Normal Rockwell world of white picket fences and green lawns. The camera takes you below the surface of the lawn to see the insects crawling violently under the surface. This opening brilliantly foreshadows the story. Lumberton apears too good to be real, but there is something disgusting under the surface. A man has a stroke while watering his lawn and this draws his son Jeffery (Kyle MacLachlan) home from college to help at the family hardware store. While walking home, Jeffery finds a severed human ear. He takes it to the local sheriff and is told to let the police handle the rest of it.

to be beaten. The film is an exploration of evil. It juxtaposes sexual violence and depravity with white-washed suburbia. At every turn we are made to feel fear and disgust. When I saw “A Clockwork Orange” by Stanley Kubrick, I thought I had seen terror in sex and violence, but Lynch took it farther and deeper into the darkness. I felt the pain, anxiety, fear and confusion of the characters. Many critics argued that there was no reason to make such a disturbing film, but they missed the point. Lynch wants the audience to feel the horror beneath the surface that we ignore. I found the movie

Dennis Hopper in one of the most powerful roles in any film. He plays a sociopathic, drug addict that serves to terrorize the other characters and the audience to perfection. The

Photo courtesy of derekwinnert.com

Gone Crazy: Dennis Hopper plays a violent sociopath who abuses laughing gas while sexually abusing a lounge singer. Hopper’s performance is exceptional and terrifying. Velvet” as you pass through a surreal American town. Lumberton is a slow and

Jeffery’s curiosity compels him to investigate with the sheriff’s naïve daughter, Sandy (Laura Dern). They deduce that the ear may have something to do with the missing husband of the mysterious lounge singer, Dorothy Vallens (Isabella Rosellini). Jeffery hatches a plan to sneak into the lounge singer’s apartment to learn more, but has no idea what he is about to discover. Curiosity slowly transforms into voyeurism as Jeffery hides in her closet watching her. Frank (Dennis Hopper), the man who has kidnapped the lounge singer’s husband and child, storms in beating the woman between deep breaths of laughing gas in a ritualistic rape involving fetishized blue velvet. Jeffery is forced to watch while trapped in the closet. After Frank leaves, the lounge singer finds him in the closet and forces him to strip and have sex with her at knifepoint. We are made to feel the gut wrenching horror of this and just as your mind begins to recover, the lounge singer asks

disturbing, but that is why it needs to be seen. It was not made to be an escape. It raises many hard questions of philosophy, psychology, violence and sexuality. Although it can disturb like no other film I have encountered, Lynch gives us hope in the end when a robin eats one of the insects violently moving under the lawn. The film should be seen for its message and also its art. Lynch is a technical master. Film is storytelling through light and sound. These two ingredients come together in one of the most haunting scenes I have ever viewed. The actor Dean Stockwell lip-syncs Roy Orbison’s “In Dreams” using a hand-held work light as a microphone that lights his grotesquely made-up face from below. He sings in a surreal scene that brings the evil Frank to tears. Surrealist touches like this, are what make Lynch’s films unforgettably beautiful even when they terrorize you to a spiritual core. The film also contains some of the most stunning works of

violence is intense and the sexual perversions are disgusting, but Hopper immersed himself seamlessly into the character. He goes from manic episodes of violence, drug abuse and sexual deviance to being moved to tears by music. His character is both terrorizing and tear jerking. His sadness is played so well that it hurts to watch. “Blue Velvet” is an artistic masterpiece. The technical brilliance and the unforgettable performances make it too important not to see. I cannot guarantee that anyone will enjoy the film, but that is not the nature of art. If you want to be well versed in the medium, you must explore the experimental works that can be highly disturbing. This film is not appreciated because too many people see movies simply as entertainment as opposed to art. This is a work of art and needs to be respected and viewed accordingly. Patrick Barry, patrick.barry@ washburn.edu, is a senior anthropology major.


February 19, 2014 Arts and Entertainment 15

washburnreview.org

Recovering from “Winter’s Tale” compels audience, which overcomes harsh criticism Flappy Bird-flu Andrew Escandon

WASHBURN REVIEW

“This is stupid,” is a common first response to Flappy Bird, a notoriously simple, mobile game made for Apple and Android users. This response is typically followed with “Help me; I can’t stop” and involuntary spasms when not playing. In the game, one tries to navigate a poorly-animated bird through a series of pipes by tapping on the screen. The bird rises with each tap, and falls in between taps. If the player waits too long to tap, the bird plummets to the ground—or into a pipe—and he or she must start over. The first question is: Is this even a game? Yes and no. Given the complete absence of a strategic or critical thinking component, I would have to say no, this is not a game by modern standards. In an age of highly detailed, three-dimensional games with realistic physics, it seems counterintuitive that there would be a place for this pixelated, avian oddity. Over 50 million people downloaded the game following its release. Then, according to an interview with Forbes, the game’s creator, Dong Nguyen, suddenly decided to remove the game from online app stores, citing the game’s addictive properties. So just what, exactly, is behind Flappy Bird’s widespread popularity? Simplicity is the obvious answer—simplicity in both

aesthetic and function. Not only is Flappy Bird reminiscent of the original Super Mario Bros game for Nintendo, but it takes us back to the days when all players cared about was the number counter in the top corner of the screen. It strips away all other frivolous things like levels or characters or turning (why would you take away turning?) so that one can focus solely on what is truly important—beating others’ scores. What is more, is this competition can become internalized with the player’s focus shifting toward beating his own score. This mindset can lead to a self-defeating attitude based on unrealistic expectations. For instance, if a player achieves a high score, he expects himself to always perform at that level; if he does not, he feels dissatisfied. The biggest problem with Flappy Bird is that it feeds off a player’s innate desire for competition. Perhaps it is because we are biologically wired to be competitve. If a friend gets past one set of pipes, a player will naturally want to get past two, and so on. Perhaps it is because we crave the social reward for having achieved a high score. The important thing is for the individual to not allow themselves to be consumed by the game. Don’t forget there is a life outside of that four-inch screen.

Andrew Escandon, andrew.escandon@washburn.edu, is a senior creative advertisingw major. R O

Keely

Jacqui Savage

WASHBURN REVIEW

This past weekend I went to see the movie “Winter’s Tale.” Before watching the movie, I checked out the trailer and the reviews to get an idea of what I should expect. Based on what I saw and read I was thinking I wouldn’t like the movie at all. However, I decided to give it a chance anyway. Jessica Brown Findlay, who formerly played Sybil in Downton Abbey, plays the lead female role in Winter’s Tale as Beverly Penn. She is stunningly beautiful and a believable actress. Russell Crowe plays a demon named Pearly Soames who spends most of the movie trying to catch Peter Lake, a thief who attempts to steal Beverly’s heart, played by Colin Farrell. As usual, Farrell does a superb job as leading man. The movie follows Peter Lake,who, as a baby was placed into a little boat and left to float at sea. He ends up washed on land, and is taken in by Pearly Soames who, we find out through dialogue, trained him for a life of crime. Lake eventually quits working for Soames and is constantly on the run. With a nudge from the magical white horse, Lake ends up stopping to break into a wealthy residence and unexpectedly meets the beautiful Penn who ends up, even after knowing he is a thief, asking him for tea. Penn is a beautiful, classy, talented, piano-playing redhead that looks at life in a positive manner even though she’s dying of consumption. Lake quickly changes his mind about stealing

Photo courtesy of http://cdn4.moviemagik.in

Shakespeare Strikes Again: Winter’s Tale premiered in theatres on Valentine’s Day, 2014. The movie grossed $8 million in its opening weekend. though there were a few little things that could be questioned. For example, towards the end of

“And they’ll vote for me because I’m the best liar, because I do it honestly, with a certain finesse. They know that lies and truth are very close, and that something beautiful rests between.” -Mark Helprin, Winter’s Tale

by

Jane Martin

& DU

*for mature audiences

February 21, 22, 28 & March 1 @ 7:30 and March 2 @ 2:00

tickets available @ box office 1 hr prior to performance students, staff & faculty - free w/ID general admission - $8

from this woman and her family after meeting her results in falling in love with her. I, like many other viewers, were surprised that the plot involved much more than the romance, especially since the previews primarily focuses on the romance side of the story. So some could be confused to find time travel, demons, angels and a flying horse. And I was shocked to see Lucifer being played by Will Smith wearing earrings and a Jimi Hendrix t-shirt. I was surprised I liked the movie;

the movie, one of the characters looks around 80, yet according to the timeline she should have technically been 110. Someone actually paying attention to the math could find himself uttering “Huh?” But that minor “huh” moment is quickly lost with the beauty and magic of the story. After all, the movie is about miracles, right? So perhaps this could be possible. Basically anyone with a good imagination should have no problem filling in

any holes. And anyone believing in the battle of good versus evil, love at first sight and miracles should have no problem following this movie. I was given the impression by the reviews that the main characters wouldn’t have chemistry, the story line would be hard to follow and it was not worth watching so I went to this movie expecting not to like it. However, I was surprisingly pleased with it and will probably watch it again. What I learned most from “Winter’s Tale” was that you can’t always trust the reviews.

Photo courtesy of imdb.com

Jacqui Savage, jacqueline.savage@washburn.edu, is a junior mass media major.


16 Arts and Entertainment February 19, 2014

washburnreview.org

LEGO builds up expectations in theaters Colton Goeffert

WASHBURN REVIEW

The “LEGO Movie” is fantastic. From start to finish it’s a joyous thrill ride filled with humor, romance and, shockingly enough, a moral about believing in yourself as well as a statement on the nature of order versus chaos. The film follows Emmet, a generic construction worker minifigure on his journey through multiple realms in an effort to stop Lord Business from bringing about the end of the world. Each of these realms represents a major LEGO theme ranging from the old west to the pastel “girl’s” set and even Bricksburg, the main metropolis from the LEGO City sets. The humor in the movie is fantastic, taking advantage of LEGO’s rights to other properties like “Harry Potter,” DC Comics, “Star Wars” and “Lord of the Rings” to introduce characters from those franchises to Emmet and his crew and then put the whole lot of them into strange and hilarious circumstances. The voice acting falls prey to the recent movie trend of getting celebrity actors known for live action roles rather than actual established voice actors. The most notable of these celebrities is Morgan Freeman as the blind, wise sage character,

Photo courtesy of imdb.com

Everything is Awesome: Princess Unikitty, Benny the Spaceman, Emmet, Batman, Vitruvius and Wyldstyle are the main team in the LEGO Movie. Throughout their quest they learn to work together to take down the evil empire of Lord Business. Vitruvius. All the voice acting is well done but a special mention has to go to Will Ferrell, who is usually a comedic actor, giving a beautiful delivery of a set of emotional and serious lines. The music for the film is extremely well done as well. Tegan and Sara teamed up with The Lonely Island for the extremely catchy main song “Everything is Awesome.” The song is such an ear worm that I’m still humming it days later. Former Devo member Mark

Mothersbaugh composed the score which does an excellent job hyping up awesome moments and accentuating the emotional scenes. The film’s story and animation are both great as well. The story usually plays fast and loose with logic, instead of relying on humor and wow factor, though  when the film takes a break from laughs and wows it can really touch a person emotionally. The Animation follows certain

rules of LEGO, if you will. Things don’t stretch or bend the way they would in a typical cartoon, instead staying rigid to emulate the plastic the world is built on. The animation of liquid and rubble is particularly clever, relying on 1x1 round stud blocks. While the film is made using 3-D animation, it’s done in a style that makes you believe it’s real. The stop motion effect, in particular, is a nice touch as it is a nod to the thousands of fan-

made LEGO videos that actually employ the technique. All in all, “The LEGO Movie” is well worth your time and money. It’s a treat for both kids and adults, with jokes for both.   The animation, writing, voice acting and music are all top- notch. If you haven’t seen the LEGO Movie yet, you’re robbing yourself of a wonderful experience.

Colton Goeffert, colton.goeffert@washburn.edu, is a junior associate science major.

Curious about

student MEDIA? WRITE STORIES. TAKE PICTURES. host podcasts. shoot video. Be part of a team. Get paid.

The Washburn Review is looking for talented students to create fresh, new content . Follow campus events and find out what’s going on in your community. Whatever it is you want to do, the Washburn Review has a place for you.

GGoo to to www.washburnreview.org www washburnreview org a and nd ffind ind out out what the FOX Student Media is all about!


2013-14 issue 18