Issuu on Google+

Washburn University

TheReview

Fore more coverage of WWE at the Expocentre, go to www.washburnreview.org.

Serving Washburn Universit y since 1873

WWW.WASHBURNREVIEW.ORG • (785) 670-2506

volume 138, Issue 7 • wednesday, October 3, 2012

1700 S.W. College • topeka, kan. 66621

Nursing students create smoke-free campus survey

Amanda Narverud

WASHBURN REVIEW

A group of five Washburn University nursing students are interested in making Washburn a smoke-free campus. For a class project the students decided to conduct the campus-wide survey to see how students, faculty and staff would react to a smoke-free campus. Josh Schell, Erin Thomas, Erin Morris, Kate Wise and Donald Sortonis are the students behind the Washburn Smoke-Free Campus Interest Survey. The main concern regarding smoking on campus is evident; it is about having healthy students and faculty at Washburn. “[One] benefit [of making Washburn smoke-free] would be not having to walk through someone’s smoke when on campus,” said Wise. “Usually this is unavoidable and over time, secondhand smoke can cause serious health problems in people who don’t smoke. Also, this could potentially get some students and staff to cut back or quit smoking.” The Washburn Student Health Services on campus offers students pamphlets and brochures with valuable information on how to quit smoking, and the many health hazards associated with smoking. Any student may also talk with the nurse practitioner to discuss their options when they are trying to quit smoking. The nursing students conducting the interest survey

A&E

hope that their project raises awareness and makes way for any future programs to help students and staff quit smoking. “Another goal of ours is to raise awareness of the effects of secondhand smoke by posting information on campus with approval,” said Schell. In December of 2009 the city of Topeka passed the Clean Indoor Air Ordinance No. 19315. According to the city of Topeka, the primary purposes of the ordinance are to improve and protect the public’s health by eliminating smoking in public places and protect the right of non-smokers to breathe smoke-free air. “I don’t have anything against smoking, it’s a personal choice and I respect that,” said senior marketing major, Shea Kirsop. “The only thing that affects me is when I walk through the smoke, though rarely does it even bother me.” According to the Centers for Disease Control and Preventions, nearly 50,000 Americans die each year from lung cancer and heart disease attributed to secondhand smoke exposure. “Although smoking and secondhand smoke have been proven to have negative effects on the overall health of society I feel it’s our choice if we want to smoke or not,” said Chris Hill, freshman kinesiology major. “It’s one of our rights as an American, to be free. We also pay to attend school here, it should be our choice.” In July of 2010 Kansas issued a state-wide ban on smok-

Photo by Mike Goehring Washburn Review

Blowing Smoke on Campus: The debate is beginning on campus, whether smoking should be allowed. Five nursing students created a survey for students and faculty to take, sparking the conversation of who is right? Smokers or non-smokers? ing that Washburn’s campus clearly falls under. Kansas was the 35th state in the nation to restrict smoking in public areas. The state-wide ban states that it is illegal to smoke in indoor places, including restaurants, job sites and bars. The part that principally pertains to Washburn is that it is illegal to smoke within 10 feet of a doorway or open window of

an establishment where smoking is prohibited. “I personally have tried to get the campus, specifically WU-Police, to enforce the policy of smokers to be at least 10 feet away from building entrances…with no avail. They said they were enforcing that policy already. But I didn’t see any changes,” said junior biology

Inscape challenges creativity Amanda Narverud

students, who make all the decisions about everything from submission process, to Every year, students enroll content, to design,” said faculty in a capstone course in the advisor and writer-in-residence, English department compile Tom Averill. “It offers students Inscape Magazine; a literary a complete taste of what it’s like journal featuring poetry, short to have a literary magazine.” fiction, creative non-fiction and The annual submissions visual art from the region and period is Aug. 1 to late beyond. October. The deadline for the Washburn University 2013 Inscape Magazine is undergraduate Wednesday, s t u d e n t s Oct. 24. The founded Inscape 2013 issue will “Inscape is a Magazine in be published 1972. It began in the spring small magaas a literary with zine with a lot semester publication for a release party of heart students and in April of the surrounding ” 2014. There T o p e k a is no entry fee - Elise Barnett community and individuals senior English but has now may submit one major merged with fiction piece, the academic one nonfiction curriculum for English piece and up to five poems. majors with a creative writing According to senior emphasis, at Washburn. English major, Elise Barnett, The editorial process of the review process is blind. the magazine takes place in Meaning that the names of the EN384: Publishing Lab, the authors do not appear on the capstone course for English work that is submitted until majors with a creative-writing it has been accepted for the emphasis. magazine. All submissions “It is completely run by to Inscape are considered for WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo by Amanda Narverud, Washburn Review

Submit Your Creativity: Inscape Magazine is displayed and sold at the Ichabod Shop. The 2013 issue of Inscape will be released in the Spring semester. the Inscape Magazine Award, given to one fiction, one nonfiction, one poetry and one art contributor from each issue. Averill says that in the past several years, Inscape has gone from a journal of Washburn students and the Topeka community writing to an international journal of very high quality. Submissions can be made at the Inscape Magazine website, inscapemagazine.org.

“Inscape is a small magazine with a lot of heart,” said Barnett. “This year’s staff is really dedicated to creating something unique and inspiring, something that branches away from what people think of as ‘typical Midwest.’” Amanda Narverud is a junior mass media major. Reach her at amanda.narverud@washburn.edu.

major, Anthony Davis. “If Washburn’s campus was smoke free, I believe that people would be happier and healthier.” The group is planning to meet with WSGA to find out what future steps they need to take to make Washburn a smokefree campus. The survey started Sept. 26 and will end Oct. 10. The group plans on sharing the

results of the survey after it closes. Students can find a link to the survey on MyWashburn under personal announcements.

Amanda Narverud is a junior mass media major. Reach her at amanda.narverud@washburn. edu.

Professor to read at ESU Tess Wilson

WASHBURN REVIEW

Each year, Emporia State University offers a class regarding playwriting and screenwriting, in which students have the chance to meet a playwright or a screenwriter at a scheduled reading and talk. “We try to bring in a playwright or a screenwriter to help enlarge our students’ view of the art and trade of writing for stage and screen,” said Kevin Rabas, Associate Professor and Co-Director of ESU’s Creative Writing program. This year, ESU will be hosting Penny Weiner, published playwright and Washburn professor. “Weiner will read from her plays as well as talk about issues and elements in her craft,” said Rabas. “She’ll talk about what it takes to write plays, from their initial genesis through workshop and scriptin-hand readings to their eventual full production.” Weiner recently directed a script-in-hand reading of a collaborative adaptation of the work of another Kansas native, Gary Jackson. The reading of “Missing You, Metropolis” was an innovative and extraordinarily unique one, and there’s a possibility Weiner might cite her recent experience at ESU next Friday.

“I’ll be in classrooms, doing workshops, discussing structure, character and theatricality,” said Weiner. In her own classes at Washburn, Weiner is known for approaching the art of playwriting with passion and enthusiasm. This event will not only be a platform for education and exploration, it will also serve as a showcase for some new work. “I’m requesting to use the work of two former students and might work with a piece I’m developing,” said Weiner. Because the event is free and open to the public, Rabas hopes the entire community – academic and otherwise – will be able to take advantage of such a great opportunity. “We expect that students, faculty, staff and community members will come and enjoy Weiner’s presentation,” said Rabas. “Attendees will come away from her reading and talk inspired and filled with essential playwriting knowledge. That is my intuition, expectation and hope.” For a night of education and entertainment, head to ESU’s campus for the reading that will take place from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m., Oct. 12 in Plumb Hall.

Tess Wilson is a senior English major. Reach her at tess.wilson@washburn.edu.


News

A2

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

C

WIT provides auto services

alendar

Wednesday, Oct. 3

David Hartley Landscape Drawings: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Neese Gray Theatre Lobby, Garvey Fine Arts Center Mexican Buffet: 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., Memorial Union Stauffer Commons Debate Watch 2012: 8 a.m., Washburn University Mabee Library

Fatima Oubaid

Thursday, Oct. 4

WASHBURN REVIEW

David Hartley Landscape Drawings: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Neese Gray Theatre Lobby, Garvey Fine Arts Center Kansas City Art Museum Day Trip: 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Crane Observatory Open House: 7:30 to 9 p.m., Stoffer Science Hall Friday, Oct. 5

Autorama: Building K, Washburn Tech David Hartley Landscape Drawings: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Neese Gray Theatre Lobby, Garvey Fine Arts Center Interview Day Team Meeting: 12: 30 to 1 p.m., Memorial Union, Corner Store Faculty Development Workshop—Student FERPA: 2 to 3:30 p.m. Volleyball vs. Southwestern Oklahoma State University: 2 p.m., Lee Arena Women’s Soccer vs. Missouri Western: 6 p.m., Yager Stadium Volleyball vs. Southeastern Oklahoma State University: 6:30 p.m., Lee Arena Saturday, Oct. 6

Volleyball vs. Harding University: 11 a.m., Lee Arena Football at Lincoln University (Mo.): 2 p.m. Volleyball vs. Southern Nazarene University: 5:30 p.m., Lee Arena Sunday, Oct. 7

Women’s Soccer at Northwest Missouri State University: 1 p.m. Monday, oct. 8

Fall Break Leadership Institute at WU Senior Day: Memorial Union, Stoffer Commons David Hartley Landscape Drawings: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Neese Gray Theatre Lobby, Garvey Fine Arts Center Tuesday, Oct. 9

Fall Break David Hartley Landscape Drawings: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Neese Gray Theatre Lobby, Garvey Fine Arts Center Volleyball vs. Missouri Southern State University: 7 p.m., Lee Arena Don’t see your event in the calendar? Call the Review newsroom at 670-2506 to have your event included in an upcoming edition. It’s FREE.

Stock photo

Photo by Julian Mullican, Washburn Review

Rolling, Rolling, Rolling: Participants in Zeta Tau Alpha’s skate party at Sk8away show off their moves in support of breast cancer awareness. Think Pink week runs through Oct. 4.

ZTA thinks “Pink” for awareness Shelby Atadgi

WASHBURN REVIEW

Washburn organization Zeta Tau Alpha is hosting their annual Think Pink week Saturday, Sept. 29 through Thursday, Oct. 4. The week is based on collecting donations in unique ways for breast cancer education and awareness, their national philanthropy. “All over the country, ZTA chapters work hard to raise funds for breast cancer education and awareness because it’s something we can advocate with genuine passion,” said Shelby Robke, Think Pink chair. “Many women in our chapter here at Washburn have a personal connection to someone who has battled breast cancer, so we care about raising funds to help those who continue to fight.” Think Pink week started off with the ladies of ZTA tabling at the football game last Saturday. The following Monday, Oct. 1, ZTA hosted a skating party at Sk8away at 815 SW Fairlawn Road. The Big Man on Campus Contest was held Tuesday, Oct. 2. This is an annual event in which eight fraternity men compete for the title of “Big Man on Campus.” The men had several performance events judged by a selected judging panel. The last event of Think Pink week will take place Thursday, Oct. 4 at On the Border Mexican Grill, at 1235 SW Wanamaker Road. ZTA will be handing out flyers for the event in the Memorial Union. If you bring the fly-

Photo by Julian Mullican, Washburn Review

Wheels: Members of ZTA pose with their skates on during a party at Sk8away on Oct. 1. ZTA is hosting their annual Think Pink week to support breast cancer awareness. er into On the Border from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m., the restaurant will donate 10 percent of your bill to breast cancer education and awareness. “Each year Zeta Tau Alpha strives to make it bigger and better than the last,” said Robke. “One of the keys to continuing success for Think Pink Week is publicity; getting the word out about the work ZTA is doing is one aspect of fundraising upon which we can always improve.”

If one’s vehicle is in need of a little extra attention, no worries. Starting Oct. 5 and continuing every other Friday this semester, the Washburn Tech Auto Collision program will be hosting “Autorama.” “Autorama” is a fund-raiser for the Washburn Tech SkillsUSA student organization. All funds raised make it possible for students to compete in the Kansas and national Skills USA competions, which are usually held every April and June. Skills USA is a national, non-profit organization serving post-secondary and high school students who are preparing for careers in technical, trade and skilled service occupations. This year more than 40 Washburn Tech students participated. Some of the Autorama services include an exterior wash, interior vacuuming, check and refill washer fluid, check and air tires, check lights, wash windows and inspect wiper blades. A $20 minimum donation is requested along with a previously scheduled appointment time. “Autorama” will be held in the Auto Collision program facility, building K in the far northeast corner of Washburn Tech. Appointments will be made on a first come, first serve basis until all the slots are filled. For more information or to schedule an appointment please send a request, no later than 48 hours in advance of your preferred appointment date, to Eric Showalter via email at eric.showalter@ washburntech.edu.

Photo by Julian Mullican, Washburn Review

Big Man on Campus: Daniel Minton, pictured above, was named the winner of the Big Man on Campus contest as part of Zeta Tau Alpha’s Think Pink week.

Fatima Oubaid is a sophomore mass media major. Reach her at fatima.oubaid@washburn. edu.

Got a question?

Shelby Atadgi is a junior mass media major. Reach her at shelby.atadgi@washburn.edu.

Massage Therapy School got you stressed or sore? Custom massages will relax and relieve those aches and pains. MaryLou Herring, NCTM Hair Care Etc. Style Salon Call today! (785) 845-5452

1801 SE 29th St. touchofmedicine.com

Need an answer?

Ask Raz! At RealWorldRaz@gmail. com

Check out more news w w w.Wa s h b u r n R e v i e w. o r g

w w w.Wa s h b u r n R e v i e w. o r g

w w w.Wa s h b u r n R e v i e w. o r g


A3

News • Wednesday, October 3, 2012

“Debate” focuses on gay marriage

Photo by Alex Sonnich, Washburn Review

Debate: John Corvino, a professor of philosophy at Wayne State University in Michigan, and Maggie Gallagher, a newspaper columnist and former president of the National Organization for Marriage, brought their book tour to the Washburn campus last week. Corvino and Gallagher appeared in support of their book “Debating Same-Sex Marriage.” Corvino started his argu- their significant other if they where the attending students polygamy is a fairly common nesses like foster homes and Colton Goeffert WASHBURN REVIEW ment by making a point about have had to be hospitalized. stood on gay marriage. This variant among small tribal so- wedding planners that chose how gay marriage doesn’t Corvino then clarified that the was accomplished by a show cieties,” said Gallagher. not to serve same-sex couples Gallagher continued by would be seen as bigoted, or Last Tuesday in Hender- take anything away from peo- marriages he is working for of hands. When asked who son 100, a debate on the top- ple who want a traditional are “civil marriages, not re- was in support of gay mar- saying that marriage as an worse be forced by the govligious marriages,” meaning riage, almost all of the hands idea boils down to “three ernment to serve those couic of same sex marriage was marriage. held. “Marriage licenses are he’s not asking the govern- in the room went up (Hender- persistent truths”, the first of ples. She also feared that gay John Corvino, a gay not some sort of finite re- ment to force Catholic priests son 100 can seat 150 people which is that humans are at- marriage would become the man, professor of philosophy sources, that one we run out to marry same-sex couples. and was almost full.) When tracted to an act that creates norm. at Wayne State University, of them they’re gone,” said Corvino also addressed the Gallagher asked the room new human life. Copies of “Debating argument, who was opposed to gay mar“Newsflash: Sex between Same-Sex Marriage,” the Mich., and promoter of gay Corvino. “Giving marriage “slippery-slope” rights was on the pro-gay to gay people does not mean which boils down to “If we’re riage, four hands went up. men and women makes ba- book co-written by Corvino marriage side of the debate. taking it away from straight going to allow same sex mar- When she asked who thought bies,” said Gallagher. and Gallagher, is available riage, why not polygamy, in- it was “none of their busiThe second of these for purchase, courtesy of the Corvino’s opponent was people.” Maggie Gallagher, a newspaCorvino continued by cest, bestiality?” In response, ness” approximately 10 hands truths Gallagher proposed Washburn Bookstore. Corwas “Society needs babies,” vino and Gallagher hosted a per columnist, writer of sever- saying that some of the rea- Corvino said that these are went up. “I think the place to start to continue to exist. Lastly, brief book signing after the al books, former president and sons that he and other homo- different types of marriage former chairman of the board sexual individuals want gay and should be judged on their is to recognize that marriage the third idea was “children event. of the National Organization marriage are because of the own, calling out people who is a virtually universal human need to have a father as well for Marriage, an organization benefits a marriage provides. use this argument as “chang- social institution […] between as a mother. Colotn Goeffert is a Other concerns that Gal- sophomore English major. male and female, I like to that opposes gay marriage, as One of these benefits is “next ing the topic.” Gallagher’s first act when say at least one man and one lagher voiced were that, if gay Reach him at colton.goeffert@ well as domestic partnerships of kin” which allows a partner to visit and make decisions for she took the stage was to ask woman, because quite frankly, marriage became legal, busi- washburn.edu and civil unions.

Enrollment decline announced at board meeting Amanda Narverud

WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo by Andrew Escandon, Washburn Review

Board Meeting: Washburn’s board of regents met Sept. 27. The president’s report included the most recent set of enrollment figures.

By law, Washburn University is governed by a nine member board of regents. The board of regents met Thursday, Sept. 27 in the Kansas room of the Memorial Union. The president’s report included the recent announcement of Washburn University’s enrollment numbers.

Washburn’s enrollment declined 1.36 percent. This was noted as being a result of the new admissions criteria Washburn adopted a year and a half ago. It was also noted that the high school graduation rates have been decreasing and may be a factor in the enrollment. The president’s report also included a summary of the success of the recent career and graduate fair held on Sept.

Washburn alum to deliver lecture Ryan Ogle

WASHBURN REVIEW

Washburn alumnus Chris Goering, Associate Professor of English Education at the University of Arkansas and founder of LitTunes.com, will deliver the 2012-2013 Klemmer Lecture, which is set to take place at 4 p.m. Thursday Oct. 11 inside Carol Chapel. Presented by Washburn’s English department, Goering’s speech is titled “Reversing the Educational Apocalypse: An Arts and Literacy Way Forward.” The speech will address what Goering calls the “educational apocalypse” our public education system is currently experiencing. As a former English teacher at Washburn Rural High School, who also served as assistant football, debate and forensics coach, the importance of maintaining a productive public education system is not lost on Goering. “I happen to believe fully in the power of public education and the vision of our forefathers for creating a country through our school system,” said Goering. “What has become apparent to many, myself included, is the fact that many large corporations are taking anti-public education stances. A fact due to their influence (money) that could

seriously cripple public education in America.” Goering cites a voucher system recently put into place in Louisiana that threatens to undermine public education and create a private school monopoly as an example of the many problems our public schools are facing. He admits

“ I happen to believe fully in the power of public education and the vision of our forefathers for

creating a country through our school system

-Chris Goering professor

that lessening the grip the corporate world has over schools won’t be an easy task; the professor feels that the power of music and art could play vital roles in the struggle. “I’ll use this talk to advocate for an arts and literacy focus in the curriculum and also in the discussion about education through the caveat of music,” said Goering. “In short, I’m keenly interested in the research possibilities opened up when educators

start writing songs about their experiences.” Aside from being a respected educator and lecturer, Goering also writes and records his own music. In 2009, he released an album entitled “Where He’s Going” and hopes to have new material available sometime next year. However, it’s the convergence of his two passions for which the professor has become most well-known. In 2007, Goering launched LitTunes.com, an open-access, commercial-free collaborative online community that offers ways to integrate popular music into the classroom. With contributions from educators across the country, LitTunes.com has become a valuable resource for teachers of all grades and subjects when trying to motivate and engage students. Though inspiration for LitTunes.com is based in teaching methods Goering used while teaching at Washburn Rural, the website won’t be the focus of his presentation at the Klemmer Lecture. However, the professor is looking forward to his return to Washburn, where he played football for a year and a half and was an officer in the Washburn Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society. “My time at Washburn

was nothing short of fantastic, so it is an incredible honor to be asked to return, especially given the past outstanding Klemmer Lecturers of the past, some of whom are my heroes,” said Goering. “My parents attended in the 70’s and it was always highly regarded in my home. It still is for the simple fact that the quality of the teaching was so high--we had terrific faculty members in the English Department and many of them I still consider to be personal heroes.” As a presenter at the Klemmer Lecture, Goering joins a list of highly-respected names in the fields of literature, education and writing. Danny Wade, associate professor of English, mentions the likes of Ted Kooser, Tom Romano, Sir Christopher Ricks and Sherman Alexie as previous presenters. The Klemmer Lecture is named in honor of former Washburn English instructor and founder of Inscape literary magazine, Jo Ann Klemmer. “Without Jo Ann’s contributions, the Klemmer Lecture would not be possible,” said Wade. “As a result, she contributes to our professional development and growth as English professors.”

Ryan Ogle is a sophomore mass media major. Reach him at ryan. ogle@washburn.edu

12 and visit from Joe Drape, a New York Times journalist and author of the book “Our Boys: A Perfect Season on the Plains with the Smith Center Redmen.” Also discussed was a purchase of a simulator for the school of nursing and a grant KTWU channel 11 received for a back-up power system. The board of regents meeting concluded with a presentation

from Gordon D. McQuere, dean of the college of arts and sciences. His presentation included a summary of the college of arts and sciences and assessments of the quality of programs and quality of faculty in the college. Amanda Narverud is a junor mass media major. Reach her at amanda.narverud@washburn. edu.

“Last Comic Standing” contestant to come to WU Jordan Loomis

dic events around the country. Ashley has entertained in over 100 campuses so far Two weeks from now, throughout her career. Covering everything Oct. 16, Washburn University will welcome new talent from her marriage, race, upamongst the student body bringing, and personal enas the Washburn University counters with others, Ashley’s Campus Activities Board wel- performance has been called a humorous hit on college comes comedienne campuses everywhere. Why? Tracey AshSimply because Ashley ley to the strongly believes in the Bradbury phrase “laughter is the Thompbest medicine.” son CenFrom always knowter at 8 ing that she wanted to p.m. The make people laugh, event will to making it happen, be free. Ashley worked hard Throughout the last to hone the perforyear, CAB has mance she’s perwelcomed other fected and now all Graphic by Katie Child comedians such of that hard work as B.T., from the critically ac- has paid her a good fortune claimed HBO movie “Suck- and soon she’ll share it with ers,” who visited Washburn the students of Washburn University a year ago in No- University. vember. CAB also welcomed comedienne Melissa Villasenor, from America’s Got Talent, last January. Ashley will be the first comedic act booked by CAB at Washburn University this semester. Known as the semifinalist on NBC’s “Last Comic Standing 5” and as “Best Female Performer” by the Campus Jordan Loomis is a sophomore Activities Magazine, Ash- double major in mass media ley now performs on college and art. Reach her at jordan. campuses and at other come- loomis@washburn.edu

WASHBURN REVIEW


Opinion Opinion

A4

BOD

ST

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

There has been talk on campus about banning smoking. We wanted to know what students thought about it.

Election season pairs Our Staff poorly with Facbook

“What do you think about the proposed smoking ban?” “Smoking is a personal choice.”

“It takes away rights and there would be a riot.”

Tricia Peterson

WASHBURN REVIEW Cameron McCormack, senior, history

Heather Gary, sophomore, English education

“In favor of the ban.”

“Neutral, it should be the choice of the students.”

Collin McKinney, freshman, pharmacy

Alex Money, freshman, engineering

“I want smoking to stay because most people stress without their nicotine.”

Carlie Klingman, freshman, biology

Interviews and photos by Bradley Parrales

Vanessa Nunez, sophomore, mass media

“I definitely don’t like smoking, however, I think it’s taking away a certain freedom from students who do smoke. I don’t agree with the ban.”

Graphic by Maggie Pilcher, Washburn Review

Do you think WU’s campus should be smoke free? yes

56% 33%

no don’t care 10%

Go to washburnreview.org and vote on the current poll!

from an unscientific poll on washburnreview.org

It’s election season and all the assholes are out. Not that they aren’t out on any regular day, but it seems like they have more to say during this time. Usually I am a huge Facebook checker, always posting, always commenting and liking different things. Lately though, I have avoided Facebook as much as I can, only posting Instagram photos and fluff. Every morning I wake up and get on my phone to check the “news” my friends post. Lately, I just don’t do it. If I want to be happy when I wake up, I avoid social media altogether. Whether it’s Obama or Romney sending an email for money, or an uncle or sister posting “Why You Shouldn’t Vote For Obama/Romney,” I don’t want to hear it right when I wake up. The people that really bother me are the ones who post five or six different posters or articles that say the same thing, and they all come from the same

source. I always want to comment, but that is fueling the fire. I think that is what annoys me the most – I can’t comment and argue because then it will start this three-day debate between you and that friend, on a public forum. Then you always end up arguing with a friend of your friend’s, whom you don’t even know in “real” life. This has happened, and when I finally meet this person face-to-face, it’s always awkward, and it’s like, ‘do I like this person and give them another chance even though they really pissed me off on Facebook, or do I judge them for everything little thing they wrote in their arguments?’ Personally, I think it’s your own decision who to vote for and would rather people keep their opinions to themselves. Stop trying to convince me to vote for someone, and leave me alone. I tried posting something political the other day and immediate received three long paragraphs about what that person thought about my post. Then, other friends posted their arguments and this went on for two days. I never even posted a rebuttal, and that is when I decided, no more. All this being said, I really do like that people my age and younger are paying attention to the election and caring about it. I don’t want people to think I don’t. Just keep an open mind that there are opinions other than your own. Tricia Peterson is a junior mass media major. Reach her at patricia.peterson@washburn.edu

You should examine what Question: I’m havyour motivations are and figure ing sex with a guy I can’t stand, but I can’t seem to out why exactly you keep coming back and what the drive is stop. What do I do? This is a loaded question which causes me to ask one of my own. The real question here is: why do you want to stop? If it’s because you see him as a jerk (or slimeball, or beneath you, or whatever the case may be), but he makes your toes curl, then what’s the issue? If it’s not abusive and you’re safe emotionally as well as physically, stop worrying about it. All is fair in love and war, and from the sounds of it, you two are playing “clash of the titans.” Not so simple though if you want to stop because you’re left feeling ashamed or bad about yourself after you guys are done. Or worse, he makes you feel bad about yourself in some way. If that’s the case, there are huge red flags, particularly probing at self-esteem issues or indicators that you’re punishing yourself for something.

to self-destruct. In this context, there is definitely something to pay attention to. Another dynamic would be whether or not you want to stop and you actually can’t. If you have a physical compulsion and climb on him to itch that scratch simply because he’s there, you’re looking at some kind of sex addiction, which would allude to the previous answer as something to really examine. So, rather than asking me what to do, ask yourself why you do it. But as I said, if it’s the first one, safely get what you guys need to get, roll over, and go back to loathing in the morning. If you would like Raz’s advice, email your question to realworldraz@gmail.com. Look for this column every week on this opinion page for your answer.

Contact Us

Phone: (785) 670-2506 Fax: (785) 670-1131 www.washburnreview.org

Print Editor-in-Chief Tricia Peterson Online Editor-in-Chief Brian Dulle Advertising Manager Raz Potter Promotions Manager Bita Givechi News Editor AJ Dome Sports Editor Luke Warnken A&E Editor Kelly Hurla Photo Editor Mike Goehring Graphic Design Editor Katie Child Copy Editors Richard Kelly • Fatima Oubaid Managing Editor Bradley Parrales Production Assistants Linnzi Fusco, Ryan Hodges Writers Shelby Atadgi • AJ Dome• Kelly Andrews • Michelle Boltz • Jordan Loomis • Ryan Ogle • Fatima Oubaid • Colton Goeffert • Alexander Sonnich • Jensen • Landry Fhrenbacher • Louis Bourdeau • Amanda Narverud Photographers Kelly Andrews • Ryan Burge • Louie Cortez • Andrew Escandon • Mike Goehring • Jordan Loomis • Ashley Russell • Amanda Narverud • James Sims • Sarah Rush • Alex Voskoboyev • Eric Gordon • Keely Brown • Linnzi Fusco • Emily Lingenfelser Graphic Designers Katie Child • Kelsey Wagers • Sarah Williams • Brent Koehler • Ashley Russel Videographers Bradley Hernandez • Andrew Huff • Rodolfo Parisi • Luke Warnken Advertising Staff Autumn Kirchner • Chloe Callahan • Keely Brown •Ryan Burge • Autumn Kirchner Business Manager Sarah Roth Adviser Regina Cassell The Washburn Review is published every Wednesday throughout the academic year, excluding holidays and some other dates. Copies are free for students, faculty and staff, and can be found at numerous locations around the campus of Washburn University. Subscriptions to the Washburn Review are available at the following rates: 13 issues for $20 or 26 issues for $35. For more information, please visit our Web site at www. washburnreview.org or call (785) 670-2506. The Washburn Review is a member newspaper of the Associated Press (AP), the Kansas Associated Press (KPA) and the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press (KACP). The Review was the 2009 winner of the All-State award, given to the best four-year public university newspaper in the state of Kansas. The Washburn Review accepts letters to the editor pertaining to articles appearing in the Washburn Review or on issues of importance to the Washburn or Topeka community. We do not accept mass letters to the editor. Please limit letters to less than 400 words. Letters must be submitted via Word document if possible, and there must be a phone number where the person can be reached for verification. Please e-mail letters to wureview@gmail.com. The Review reserves the right to edit all submissions to the paper for length, libel, language and clarity. Because of volume on the opinion page, we are unable to print all letters and are unable to return submissions.

© The Washburn Review Copyright 2012

Corrections: While the Review strives for accuracy, we sometimes make mistakes. Any corrections will apprear here.


A5

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

A&E

Students create a ‘starry night’ Tricia Peterson

WASHBURN REVIEW

been donated was initiated by the teens taking action, so it’s incorporating things that are already existing in the community,” said Roe. “Then the clothing goes to the Topeka Rescue Mission. We are getting lots of different areas [of the community] involved. This is an outreach of the Topeka Library and the Sabatini Gallery - community building is the biggest intent of this project.” The project participants started by collecting winter clothing for those in need beginning in early September. Even though the project is almost complete, there are still many chances to donate clothing. Collection boxes are being painted by teens in the community and one is currently available in Yeldarb Gallery. The clothing donated was used to “paint” and re-create a large-scale mural of Vincent Van Gogh’s Starry Night. After the display is taken down the clothing will

Community art projects not only bring the community together, they also make the community a better place. Betsy Roe, adjunct art instructor at Washburn University and associate curator at the Alice C. Sabatini Art Gallery in the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library, is in charge of a new community art project called “Seams Like Van Gogh.” Last week, members of the community helped to build the recreation of the famous artwork. “It’s a community art project, which means, it benefits the community and involves the community,” said Roe. “You don’t Photo byMike Goehring, Washburn Review have to be an artist, Seamless Art: Betsy Knabe-Roe, Matt Linn and other students hang art in preparation for the Frist Friday Art Walk. The title of the piece is “Seams it’s a participatory Like Van Gogh.” type of artwork.” This project will be unveiled at October’s will not be harmed during this classes at Washburn, as well to art class. “Sitting there alone com/SeamsLikeVanGogh. First Friday Artwalk For those who didn’t process.amusonec as other classes required the you actually get to think about iv . D Oct. 5, and will to bring students to help roll clothing how things are going to look participate this year, but would o conlikes . V sRoe o t t t i l s u g e t j c a ju be available for community up, wrap it with string and then how everything is going to still like to, Roe encourages in ndi one um, the c m s a a t i viewing until Oct. 14 place the clothing in the correct sit. Basically how each piece those interested to donate ip s bl ro. D dic liqu us. lla d a u e am . A lac nu us ur nc ib c at the Yeldarb Gallery. place on the mural. is going to coming together to clothing. She hopes this will et rho da l liqu assa pat tate on t t t e a m u rh vi ec t, Participating groups make a whole different picture become a yearly project. “I thought it was quite ns ege gra met ac volu vulp rat, are no o e n t a s rn co c ,c et ariu e no sit is le m, u one tum a, o nisl include Teens Taking Action The Yeldarb Gallery is than what you are looking interesting because m s r a el v squ rcu au ore . D dic as lis e Review m cu and TSCPL Teen Advisory located at 900 N. Kansas Ave. at, I thought it was kind of it’s using a different sit s vGraphic m s lWashburn n u , a Goehring, te by sMike i m r q r a n a r i ro es du to ie le lo su tr rto uet edo ltric Pel cur are ec e lent ben tor uam Board, with additional support interesting.” medium to display o t v i q . h n el m u m iq b o p is in r ali t a, cifrom MB Piland, Yeldarb ipsubrtor, libeerMaur , ut sellusilla p enas ibulunt al art,” said Mike For more information, the Tricia Peterson is a junior am itu qua a fa t o u m e m c e g a . s t b s e Ve iq ra art, re is donated se ull tri- equ ien todiathe Gallery, NOTO artists Loand Vasquez, computer project has its own Facebook mass media major. Reach her PhTopeka rin MaRescue ae together Alwith n s f r N u l r a . . i o t p e. t. C t c er. la u i. M Viau er sa un rus rat od. tae o. P u therp perfect e m who gu pawas t u t those Topeka Rescue Mission. m scel tMission page called “Seams Like Van at and this science major and a vi usneed ul du is. e patricia.peterson@washur ncid pfor u a o t s n s a r a a cte ti ida a eui cu n j lu ver mc tis at a qu oqu . rra vofor s av aclothing. o clothing e so. i her burn.edu. sstudent of Roe’s introduction a do “The clothing that’s Gogh,” the URL is facebook. way Her la to gn ta honThe t e t se rpiwinter l n v d u n t a v r a u a , r i e a a v er mi et en put su is n s m eif tu ae g et m s po ue r ort e l l i v i et u m uam isus nis ed , vu mal soc icul h e vit rbi acu neq el, p a r ta e s et sl m id nib t q i i r l Mo ae l odo er v ng. i . , s A itu por ngu s eg t n Cu ur r us ae . b ue t. vit mm orp isci e t ri r vit gue ug equa ura cto s co ariu ore mod sce va a co amc adip i ns m on eu l . C au ero us v t la uis , na ittis tu ul llis e s e m co unt m et g ri ,e en t c io ita am cid iqua t eg s va elit met onte s sa m eli t od ng va i v d i d u tin Al es isi ue t a m ctu i c on en er isc t ne liq il q a u si r. s c eleif endr adip rta Do nc a ulum olo retr , fac ntes na rien ris l u po ur ia c h on nu stib id d pha ibh elle mag artu au m e r p in n to lac Don an ipsu ti. ve cula oin na n is p tor is p ec m c t au isse is. ene to ten hi i. Pr n ur ena auc is d ue n l n s o A lis s. I ven ndit agn neq no end iacu m. t, ju se p , e s sp is u ra s i t u ci nas bla et m od ris . Su cul men lace end ce mus bus uism s a p it ip atti is i ndi ta p Sus va nati m e c s m ilis co or a. u a e s i p l p iqu s c l s le fa ni la in nu Al d. gil oda se m us d rin is s ndis etiu pur ris i en f u is att pe pr ia, a r s u m m n n Ma nc t. Su tis i laci mi Nu gia bor rbi ipit o feu is lo . M susc fel pien ed s sa lit, vetweet us the correct movie or Be the first to song @wureview#bitasquotes or on Facebook and win a free gift card. Rules and regulations apply.

"We've made living biological attractions so astounding that they'll capture the imagination of the entire planet"

Bita’s Quotes

Washburn University

Health Care Career Fair

Graphic by Katie Child, Washburn Review

Bristol Ridge 1 Bedroom $540 2 Bedroom $645

bristol_ridge@yahoo.com 785-233-5959

A quiet community with 6, 9, and 12 mo leases.* Includes FREE cable and trash, washer/dryer in the unit, a pool, & fitness center. Deposit only $99! *(Shorter term leases subject to different pricing)

Wednesday, October 17, 12pm to 2:30pm Washburn Room in the Memorial Union Professional Dress Recommended Open to everyone Correct Care Solutions Craig HomeCare DaVita Inc. HCR ManorCare Holton Community Hospital Interim HealthCare Kansas Rehabilitation Hospital Key Rehabilitation KUMC Rural Health Education & Services KVC Behavioral HealthCare Inc. Lawrence Memorial Hospital Midland Care Connection

Pathway Family Services Providence Medical Center & St. John Hospital Rebound Physical Therapy Salina Regional Health Center Shawnee County Health Agency Stormont-Vail HealthCare Summit Care, Inc. The University of Kansas Hospital US Navy Health Care Visiting Nurses Washburn University Allied Health Department Morgan 123 785.670.1450 www.washburn.edu/services/career Facebook: WU Career Services


A6

Ghost tours offered Landry Fehrenbacher WASHBURN REVIEW

Ghost Tours of Kansas is a business owned and operated by Cathy Ramirez, a native of North Topeka. This year marks her eighth year running the ghost tours business. A ghost tour event consists of loading people onto a bus or trolley which then proceeds around a designated area. The tour will make 10 to 12 stops per tour where the guide tells stories of the haunting at each location. Each tour will also have one to two areas where the vehicle is unloaded for the passengers to take photos and possibly have their own hands on experience. Ghost Tours of Kansas also offers a Psychic Fun and Feast which includes a dinner in a haunted restaurant, history and ghost story presentation. The night is then topped off with personalized psychic readings for each guest by Topeka psychics Lena Townsend or Jo Flowers. Tickets for bus tours typically run $17 per person during the off season, November to September, and $20 per person during the peak season in October. Everyday-Legacy Paranormal from Wichita and Kansas Paranormal Research Society of Topeka are responsible for the majority of the investigations that contribute to Ghost Tours. “When Cathy hears about a business having activity and wants to be included on

the tours, she usually sends a team within that region to go and investigate,” said Renee Solis, an assistant case manager and investigator at EverydayLegacy Paranormal. “When everything comes together on the tour, it has the history, the ghost stories from witness or employees of the company

Putting ghost stories, history and evidence together makes for one great tour.

- Cathy Ramirez Owner, Ghost Tours of Kansas

but also personal experiences investigators had at that location.” Ghost Tours currently does tours of Holton, Leavenworth, Manhattan, Atchison, Wichita, Abilene, Lawrence, St. Joseph Missouri and three separate Topeka tours: West, North and Downtown. By 2013, Ramirez is hoping to add Dodge City, Kansas City, Shawnee and Emporia to the list. “Each tour is different and tailored to the exciting history and haunts that are featured,” said Lena Townsend, owner of Peaceful Whispers business and registered metaphysical practitioner. “A perfect example is the Abilene tour, it offers an old west feel and

WASHBURN REVIEW

White Concert Hall will host a concert featuring both the Washburn Orchestra and Wind Ensemble. The concert will take place at 7:30 p.m., Oct. 4. It will feature a guest appearance by bass player, James VanDemark, a bass instructor at the Easton School of Music in Rochester, N.Y. VanDemark will be playing with Washburn violin instructor, Diana Seitz. The Orchestra, containing approximately 55 students, will play two classical pieces. The first classical piece will be “Hungarian March” by Hector Berlioz. The second piece the Orchestra will play is the overture of the opera “Ruslan and Lyudmila” by Mikhail Glinka. T h e second half of the concert

Graphic by Kelsey Wagers, Washburn Review

contains only one piece, to be performed by the Wind Ensemble. This ensemble is comprised of 49 members. The 49 players will play James Barnes’ Third Symphony. Barnes, a composer of and instructor at the University of Kansas, was commissioned by the United States Air Force Band to write this piece after the death of his infant daughter. “The third movement is his tribute to her,” said Norman. “It’s one of the most beautiful pieces I’ve ever heard.” Jon Ward, a Washburn student who is a junior in music education, will be playing the trumpet in Barnes’ Third Symphony and described it as “One of the most moving pieces I’ve ever played.” The Orchestra and Wind Ensemble Concert will last approximately an hour and a half, and admission will be free. Less than one week after the orchestra and wind ensemble concert, another will take place at 5:30 p.m. Oct. 10. The Capital City Marching Band Festival will feature nine high school bands from towns as far away as Kansas City. The bands will be rated by

NOTO venue reinvents name, image Ryan Ogle

to the booming NOTO arts district exhibiting works from guests get to carry lanterns the art world’s emerging and while on the tour to really take Topeka’s NOTO Arts established artists,” said Jona them back to that old west feel.” District is about to welcome Rupnick, who has been one of Ramirez has six different an old, but yet new friend to the driving forces behind the speaking engagements the neighborhood. When the re-branding. scheduled at various libraries longstanding watering hole at Though Rupnick arrived in Topeka and the surrounding 917 N. Kansas Ave. celebrates in North Topeka prior to the its grand re-opening and will NOTO fever sweeping over area in October. “I attended Rochester officially become known as J&J Topeka, her choice of location Grade School and was always Gallery Bar during October’s was no coincidence. Settling on this historic stretch of on the lookout for the Albino First Friday Art Walk. Known most recently as N. Kansas Avenue after the Lady,” said Ramirez. “I Ruffneck’s, the business is original Ruffneck’s, located in suppose that is what peaked my doing much more than simply Emmett, Kan. was lost in a fire; interest in ghosts.” changing its name. Owners Jona Rupnick decided that North Ramirez’s interest in and John Rupnick, both Prairie Topeka would be the best place the Albino Lady and other Band Pottawatomie Tribal to start anew. ghost stories continued as she Members, intend on making “I chose this area, for started going door to door to J&J Gallery Bar a major part one, because of the cost,” said businesses and public places to of the arts and entertainment Rupnick. “The rates are very collect, compare and research explosion currently going on in reasonable and I like the old stories. Her goal was to find the NOTO. By giving musicians, buildings. Another reason was history as to why a ghost would performance artists and visual that I knew there had been artists all a place to showcase discussion about a riverfront dwell on such places. their skills, J&J is offering project, arts district and “Fire, suicide, murder, love a new twist on the local bar possible casino. That’s what triangle, drowning, any number scene. got me motivated to buy and of events. Eventually I joined One of J&J’s most striking get established in this area.” up with ghost hunters to help features is the rock wall, The bar owner admittedly confirm stories. Putting Ghost dating back to the building’s took a gamble with her choice Stories, history and evidence construction. This wall is to of locale, due to the area’s lesstogether makes for one great be affixed with track lighting than-stellar reputation, and the and serve as a place for move had many close to her tour.” Ramirez has recently Native Americans and other shaking their heads in doubt. written a book titled “Where’s contemporary artists to show However, it seems as if her and sell their wares. The back decision has begun to pay off the Ghost?” which chronicles area boasts a black light art in many different ways over the the challenges and successes room and live music stage. The last several months. she has faced being a ghost atmosphere is unique and sets “We see a lot of new faces, hunter and starting the Ghost J&J apart from other NOTO especially on First Fridays. Tours of Kansas. businesses. I’m excited about the changes More information and “J&J Gallery Bar will because it’s brought in a lot be theReview hip newest addition of revenue as well as new a full list of tour dates Theand Washburn 10/3/12 Crossword events can be found at www. ghosttoursofkansas.com as well as links to all of her allies in paranormal investigations. Across 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Landry Fehrenbacher is a senior English major. Reach him at landry. fehrenbacher@washburn.edu.

Concerts at WU

Colton Geoffert

A & E • Wednesday, October 3, 2012

a team of five judges, but not in a traditional competition style, as it is just a festival . The judges in question will be representatives from universities across the state, including Kansas State University, Fort Hayes University and of course Washburn University. After all nine high school bands have played, the event will end with a performance by the Washburn University Marching Band. “All profits from the festival will benefit the activities that the [Washburn] bands do,” said Norman. Examples of activities may include, but are not limited to, commissioning new pieces of music and funding another high school marching band festival that will take place in January. The admission fee to the Marching Band Festival will be $7 for adults and $4 for children above age six, as well as for students from outside of Washburn. Admission for children six and under is free. The Marching Band Festival will also have free admission for Washburn students who present their Washburn ID. Colton Geoffert is a freshman undecided major. Reach him at colton.geoffert@washburn. edu.

Washburn Review is currently hiring writers! Apply online at: www.washburnreview.org

WASHBURN REVIEW

1 4 8 13 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 23 25 26 29 31 34 35 36 37 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 52 56 57

13

14

15

people that wouldn’t normally be down here,” said Rupnick. “In addition to that, I’ve been able to connect with a lot of performers and artists that are excited about what’s going on down here and want to be involved. We’re all able to connect with each other and find a place to work together. I’ve always been an art advocate. I really enjoy everything going on here.” J&J has already hosted a number of local bands and featured a diverse array of area artists. Every Thursday night, local musician Judd Mason hosts an “anything goes” open jam session and Rupnick plans to continue featuring live music, both inside and in the back courtyard, which will allow passers-by to witness the diverse array of art J&J has to offer. The grand re-opening is a two-day event set to kick off during this weekend’s First Friday Art Walk and carry over into Saturday night. Friday night will feature chainsaw performance artist Matt Fund and music by The Cleaners in the courtyard from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. Saturday night, J&J will play host to local acts Confined in Flesh, Hawg Stompr and Midgetpounder.

Ryan Ogle is a sophomore mass media major. Reach him at ryan.ogle@washburn.edu. PuzzleJunction

8

9

10

11

12

16

Poetic contraction Footwear 18 19 17 Disney character 21 22 20 Norse deity, ruler of the Aesir 23 24 25 Area unit 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 Distant Skin defect 35 36 34 Jet name 37 38 39 Satellites Coalition 41 42 40 Steak type 44 45 43 Genghis, for one Fishcake 46 47 ingredient 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 Tx. city Hair style 57 58 56 Coach 60 61 59 Utopian Opera 63 64 62 Hawaii’s ___ Copyright ©2012 PuzzleJunction.com Coast Of unsound mind, 58 Of all time 9 See 6 Down 35 Months (Abbr.) legally 59 Modernize 10 Berth 36 Ennobled Keystone State 60 Author Ambler 11 Emaciated 38 Noisy fight city 61 Defy 12 Conditional 39 Expel Formerly 62 Kernels words 44 Arm joints Translucent 63 Zealander 14 String of pearls 45 Threat minerals 64 Right away 22 Buzz off 46 Helped Japanese coin 24 Nimbus 47 Washstand Other Down 26 Has breakfast 48 Bonsai Powerful 27 Worship 49 Actress Russo Pub feature 1 Burial chamber 28 Bolsheviks 50 Toboggan Crimes of the 2 Fan favorite founder 51 Actress Sorvino Heart playwright 3 Storage unit 29 Emerged 53 Lendl or Pavlov Henley 4 C. Amer. trees 30 Closed hand 54 Roman ClanThe member 5 Body of water 31 Mishandle Emperor Washburn Review 10/3/12 Sudoku Bell sound 6 Viva voce 32 Eastern Christian 55 Increased Doctrine 7 Actress Garr member 56 Accounting Actress Bonet 8 Panda's meal 33 Impertinent entries (Abbr.) To solve the Sudoku puzzle, each row, column and box must contain the numbers 1 to 9.

3 4 9 7 4 1 5 6 3 6 1 6 7 2 Solution on next pa 8 4 3 9 7 9 8 1 Copyright ©2012 PuzzleJunction.com

Check out the Washburn Review on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @wureview


5 6

A7

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Sports

Bods revenge first loss of season with blowout of SBU

Photo by Abby Mies , Washburn Review

Bearcat Blowout: Washburn’s Jaime Myers (31) returns a punt against Southern Baptist last Saturday at Yager Stadium. The Bods took care of the Bearcats easily with a 42-14 win. Myers, a redshirt freshman linebacker, had two tackles and had 46 yards off of eight punt returns.

Jordan Loomis

WASHBURN REVIEW

After an embarrassing loss last week to 0-3 Central Oklahoma, the Washburn Ichabods found a way to redeem themselves. On Family Day at Yager Stadium, the Washburn Ichabods held strong against Southwest Baptist University with a 42-14 victory.

Washburn took to the board first as sophomore quarterback Mitch Buhler passed to junior tight end Tore’ Hurst for a 13-yard TD pass. Southwest Baptist countered soon after with a 9-yard touchdown reception by Just Duhaney, tying the game at 7-7. The Ichabods pushed ahead 21-7 as junior running back Hayden Groves and Hurst both scored a touchdown.

Freshman receiver Jordan Hart soon followed suit as he took a 47-yard pass from backup quarterback Joel Piper in for a touchdown to bring the Ichabods lead to 28-7 at the half. The third quarter remained idle as both Washburn and Southwest Baptist held each other offensively for all moments of play. Washburn came back strong at the start of the fourth

as redshirt freshman, Kameron Stewart, took possession and ran in a 2-yard run putting the Ichabods at 35-7 against Southwest Baptist. Stewart broke the boundary this season as the first Ichabod football player to go over the 100 yard mark. A feat, not only remarkable for a freshman, but also impressive as his 104 yards were on 20 carries. “It’s key to our offense

Skinny’s Ad

and Kameron did a great job,” said Craig Schurig, Washburn head coach. “We should be consistently getting down those yards.” Stewart was called upon after starting running back Donnie Lockhart and second team running back Groves both went down with injuries. The quiet-spoken Stewart seemed surprised at being the first to break the century mark. “We always talk in practice about being the next man up and I just tried to do that,” said Stewart. “I feel like I have to go out and do what coach expects of me. I have to go out and do what the team expects of me, every game. No exceptions.” Southwest Baptist answered early in the fourth quarter to bring the score to 35-14. But redshirt freshman receiver Connor Crimmins snagged a 19-yard touchdown pass pushing the score to 42-14 as Washburn got its sixth win over Southwest Baptist University. The Washburn coaching staff was happy with their team’s fourth quarter performance, one of the team’s strongest throughout the entire game. “I was very happy with how we played in the fourth quarter,” said Schurig. “I was pleased with the balance we had between our offense and defense. The defensive line held their own against Southwest Baptist strongly and did

a great job shutting down their base offense.” Schurig was not the only one who thought his team played much better against SBU than UCO. “I also thought this game went really well,” said Buhler. “We came out strong as a team and ran the ball very well on our offensive end.” Buhler, who struggled at times in last week’s loss at UCO, was proud of how the team has improved over time. “We were a lot stronger on our offense today and it was a great emphasis overall being able to move the ball as well as we did,” said Buhler. “The main concept of our offense is our movement down the field so we will definitely continue pushing this hard in our next game.” Washburn (4-1, 4-1 MIAA) held the Bearcats to only 145 yards in the game while racking up 408 total yards. The No. 20 ranked Bods travel this weekend to Jefferson City, Mo., to play Lincoln University (0-5, 0-5 MIAA).

Jordan Loomis is a sophomore double major in mass media and art. Reach her at jordan. loomis@washburn.edu.


A8

Sports • Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Lady Blues fall short to top ranked Lopers

Photo by Mike Goehring , Washburn Review

Standing Strong: Washburn was able to steal away the first set against the No. 1 ranked UNK Lopers, but hitting errors ultimately doomed the Lady Blues who fell 3-1. Washburn lost 22-25, 25-21, 25-23, 25-16 and fell a spot in the AVCA rankings to fourth. Washburn will look to rebound as they defend a 42 game home match winning streak as the Lady Blues host the 10-team 2012 Lady Blues Fall Classic at Lee Arena Oct. 5-6

Luke Warnken

WASHBURN REVIEW

In the biggest game of the season thus far in Division II volleyball, the No. 3 ranked Washburn Lady Blues came out ready to play hardball. The Blues showed no fear when they stepped on the court to face off against the No. 1 ranked University of Nebraska-Kearney Lopers at UNK’s Health & Sports Center. “We were ready to play,” said Chris Herron, Washburn head coach. Washburn shook off any jitters and rust from their game the night before. The Lady Blues trailed early in the opening set but Washburn was able to claw their way back, claiming the first set 25-22 behind a stellar performance by senior hitter Jessica Kopp. Kopp tied her career high with 15 kills, but the Lopers responded and

proved why they were top team in the country by winning the next three sets to win the match. “We passed well. We served well,” said Herron. “Usually when that happens, you win.” In the second set the game was tied at 21-21 after 17 ties in the set. Washburn was unable to take the lead and steal away the second set as they fell 25-21. The third set was déjà vu for the Lady Blues who again found themselves tied with UNK at 21. And for the second time the Blues were not able to pull through losing 25-23. Washburn dropped the fourth set for their first loss on the season. “In this case we didn’t swing it well,” said Herron. “We did those two things [pass and serve], but man did we make a lot of hitting errors.” Washburn did a phenomenal job in the first set, holding

the Lopers to .020 hitting percentage and just .189 for the whole match. But a poor fourth set that resulted in the Blues hitting .000 cost WU tremendously. “The bottom line is that if you play small in a big game, that reflects on you as an athlete,” said Herron. “You can’t play small in big games.” Washburn’s .115 hitting percentage and 28 team errors left room for error and ultimately cost Washburn a chance at handing UNK their first lost of the season. Standout seniors Hilary Hughes and Jessica Fey both struggled as Hughes finished the match with an abysmal .020 hitting percentage and Fey ended with a not-to-good .040. Three Washburn players finished below .050, a staggering number. “We out blocked them, we out dug them, we just didn’t hit well,” said Herron. “It’s a

fine line when playing the No. 1 team in the country. Things have to go your way.” Both teams came off of sloppy performances the night before. For the first time this season UNK was forced into a fifth set before defeating a pesky Emporia State University. Washburn played a much more improved Fort Hays State University Tiger team looking to catch the Lady Blues looking ahead. The Blues managed to escape the trap game with a 3-0 win, but the game was not pretty in the eyes of their head coach. “We just kind of played well enough to win the first two games. There wasn’t any umpf,” said Herron. “In game three yikes. We were down 2010 and down 24-17.” Kopp was her consistent self, posting 11 kills and 11 digs. Fey had a much better performance against the Tigers

with 12 kills on .304. It was an ugly performance for the Lady Blues, but enough to get the win. “To win at 24-17…it just doesn’t happen. I don’t know if we beat them or if they lost,” said Herron. “I didn’t feel like that we gave our best effort. We were looking ahead to the next night. They were anxious to play to Kearney.” Now the Lady Blues must respond after losing for the first time this season. Washburn returns home Oct. 5-6 as they host the Lady Blues Fall Classic. The 10-team event will have some familiar faces in teams like MIAA foes Emporia State and Missouri Western State. With a straight face Herron turned down the idea of another let `down. “It’s not the same, because on Friday, kids are in class,” said Herron. “There’s not going to be the gigantic crowds that

we’ve had.” The No.4 Washburn Lady Blues (14-1, 5-1 MIAA) will look to avenge their loss and keep a 42 home match streak going against Southwestern Oklahoma State University and Southeastern Oklahoma State University Friday. “We hope kids can pop in if they don’t have a class,” said Herron. “We certainly appreciate all the people that have attended our matches.” The Lady Blues will round out the Fall Classic against Harding University and Southern Nazarene University on Saturday. Washburn will regroup for another run at the Lopers later this season. “We look to playing them [Kearney] again,” said Herron.

Luke Warnken is a sophomore athletic training major. Reach him at luke.warnken@washburn.edu.

Herron gets milestone 400th win in romp of Fort Hays State

Photo by Abby Mies, Washburn Review

Leading the Way: Washburn head volleyball coach got his 400th career win as his 14-1 Lady Blues team defeated FHSU last Friday. In 11 seasons at WU Herron has racked up 325 wins and only 56 losses.

Luke Warnken

WASHBURN REVIEW

In a world where statistics

mean everything, the only true number that counts in sports is the one in the win or loss column. Moral victories are great ,

but actual victories speak much louder. Respect isn’t earned by punching in numbers and trying to find the “right” formula, even if Moneyball says otherwise. Winning defines a career. For Washburn head volleyball coach Chris Herron, winning is something he and his team have become accustomed to. The former Benedictine College coach earned his 400th career victory last Friday after the Lady Blues defeated Fort Hays State University 3-0. For Herron it was just another game. He didn’t even realize he was close to reaching another coaching milestone. “I would not have known had my mother not accidentally e-mailed me and said congratulations on win 400,” said Herron.

It was a nice gesture by Herron’s mother. The only problem; it was only win number 399. “Then she sent a text, and I didn’t get it immediately,” said Herron. “I had already read the email.” Herron’s didn’t realize that Washburn’s win over Northwest Missouri State University was only win number 399. But it didn’t upset Herron very much. “I had no clue what she was talking about,” said Herron. Win 400 was the least of Herron’s worries as the Lady Blues geared up for a shot at No. 1 ranked Univeristy of Nebraska-Kearney. The win over the Tigers the night before the UNK game gave Herron a re-

cord of 400-85. Herron’s stunning .825 winning percentage is one of the top in NCAA history among Division II coaches. Herron, an intense coach on the court, was modest about his achievement. “It means I’m old and I’ve coached a long time.” Herron has had a prolific coaching career at WU. In 11 season at Washburn Herron has accumulated 325 wins and only lost 56 times. The Lady Blues have made it to the NCAA tournament nine out of the past 10 seasons. Washburn has had at least one All-American in nine of the 10 years and have won the MIAA four times during Herron’s regime. After a 32-3 record last year, Herron and the Lady Blues have all eyes on a national title.

“This senior class, I just think so highly of them as people, as players,” said Herron. “They’ve had to put up with me. They have my dying respect.” The outcome of last Saturday’s match may not have been in Washburn’s favor, but the no ranked No. 4 Lady Blues are looking to add on to Herron’s already outstanding career. A national championship would be a nice addition.

Luke Warnken is a sophomore athletic training major. Reach him at luke.warnken@washburn.edu.

Veteran linebackers lead the way for the Washburn defense Drew Egnoske

WASHBURN REVIEW

When one of Washburn’s linebackers make a play it usually has a ripple effect through the whole team. To the individuals that make up this group, it’s just business as usual. That is because these guys are constantly making plays. Whether it is during practice or a game, there is always one in a position to make a big play. Success for the LBs starts with the leader of the group, Jahmil Taylor. He has set an example for the underclassmen to follow. Taylor views himself as a hybrid type of linebacker who can play physical but also drop back and use finesse as well. “I’m inspired by and grew up wanting to be Ray Lewis,” said Taylor. “He plays the game with passion and does it because he loves it. He has an amazing level of dedication.” Taylor also points out that he likes the fact that a former teammate of his gets to play on

the same field as Lewis every Sunday for the Baltimore Ravens. Cary Williams has played in the NFL since 2008 and was drafted by the Tennessee Titans before ultimately finding a home in Baltimore as a starting cornerback for the Ravens. “I’m pretty envious of Cary because he has the opportunity to play with one of the greats and he came from the same place as I am at right now,” said Taylor. Taylor has sat out the last two games because of injury, but he isn’t too worried about his absence being a problem. Willie Williams is an outside linebacker that Taylor sees a lot of talent in. He has watched the redshirt junior from Berkeley, Mo. improve every year that he has been at Washburn. “Willie Williams is a great athlete and can play almost any position on the field,” said Taylor. “I think he is finally starting to incorporate the mental aspect of football into his game.” Williams grew up in a suburb of St. Louis and didn’t play football until his freshman year

of high school. “Where I lived not many people played organized sports,” said Williams. Williams high school career was very successful and he was named to the all-metro and all-state teams at linebacker. Williams decided that going to school in Topeka to major in history was the right move for him. “I lived and went to school in a mostly all black area so I came to Washburn to get a culture shock and to see what a small town lifestyle was like,” said Williams. He has incorporated his big-city lifestyle into his gameplay and has become a very vocal leader of the defense. He also gets a lot of his inspiration from the same player Taylor does. “I look up to Ray Lewis because he is vocal and still makes plays,” said Williams. “He goes full speed all the time and is a vocal leader. He leads by example and that’s what I try to do.” Jaime Myers and Bryce

Atagi round out the linebacker quartet. Atagi plays middle linebacker with Taylor while Myers, a redshirt freshman, plays opposite of Williams on the outside. Myers, a coverage type of linebacker, uses strength and speed to disrupt opposing offenses. He credits his success at the collegiate level to strength and conditioning coach, David Trupp. “He does a great job getting us ready,” said Myers. “He knows how the body feels and knows the lifts necessary for us to perform well.” Myers is very impressed by the leadership he sees in his fellow linebackers and believes they are guys to emulate in his future growth. “Like every team we make mistakes but what’s good about this group of guys on our defense is we have the leaders to step up and tell everyone ‘hey we need to step it up’ or ‘hey this is not how we play,’” said Myers. Myers grew up in Norman, Okla., the home to the Okla-

homa Sooners. His childhood memories are filled with watching them play and trying to replicate their success in his own play style. “I was a Sooner fan growing up. All I could remember is being a child walking around on Saturdays hearing everyone yell ‘Boomer Sooner,’” said Myers. “Everyone I hung out with played sports so every day it was football or basketball or tag. We just liked to be active kids.” His thorough understanding of the Sooners and how they play the game has taught him that the key to being successful is to not be selfish. “There is no one greater than the team so I’m just trying to do my part and give the team my best effort,” said Myers. Myers really enjoys the company of his fellow linebackers, especially that of Atagi. The aggressive play style that Atagi has is truly inspiring to Myers. “Bryce is an aggressive player and has a full speed, knock you out type of mental-

ity,” said Myers. “I love it, he knows how to make plays and it helps our defense out.” Atagi is another vocal leader on the defense who sees it as his duty to rally his players to get them in the right mindset. “I like to lead the charge and be loud,” said Atagi. Atagi, a redshirt junior, is a native of Shawnee, Kan. where he excelled at both running back and defensive back in high school. He ultimately made the decision to play at Washburn because they gave him the opportunity to play the position of his choice. The man of Samoan descent started as a sophomore for Washburn and has become a vital part of the defense’s identity. Taylor and Atagi share a special bond that has created an effective run-stop tandem. “Whenever we are on the field together, we are always on the same page and know what each other is doing,” said Atagi. Drew Egnoske is a senior mass media major. Reach him at drew.egnoske@washburn.edu.


2012-13 Issue 7