Issuu on Google+

The Review

Washburn University

Volume 138, Issue 11

November 14, 2012

washburnreview.org

Lawrence shelter tells their story at Washburn

Photo by Julian Mullican Washburn Review

Sharing Sensitive Stories: Members of the Lawrence Community Shelter sat and discussed stories of their life and their work with a room-full of students on Tuesday, Nov. 13. The panel discussion was part of Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week on campus. More events pertaining to homelessness awareness are scheduled on campus for the rest of this week.

AJ Dome

WASHBURN REVIEW

Stereotypes were broken and stories were told during Tuesday night’s Faces of Homelessness Panel discussion in the Shawnee Room of the Memorial Union. Approximately 50 people gathered to hear members of the Lawrence Community Shelter discuss the problem of homelessness in the Topeka/Lawrence area, and share stories of their own experiences. “A lot of people think of homeless people as a person who likes to get drunk and not do anything,” said Dustin Allen, a 10-year employee of the shelter. “That’s so far from the truth it’s not even funny.” Laughs permeated the heavy topic, to lighten the mood and bring the discussion into a different light. “Happy Birthday” was sang in the style of Elvis Presley to junior Angelique Flinn, by shelter case manager Brian Blevins. However sad or humorous, the main focus of the evening’s discussion was breaking stereotypes and telling stories. “When you see homeless people, I hope you don’t judge them by their actions,” said James Gaillard, a friend of the Lawrence Community Shelter. Gaillard shared his personal life story, as did the five other panel members. Gaillard, an

Army veteran from Operation Desert Storm, was discharged from the military for marijuana use. He would later be diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, and was homeless off and on for

ed on 10th and Kentucky in Lawrence, has been over-populated for three years, and has served 726 people so far this year. The Topeka Rescue Mission serves about 2,000 people a year, in comparison to Lawrence’s projected 1,000 for 2012. The new shelter in Lawrence is a 25,000 square-foot complex with an

graphic by Kelsey Wagers, Washburn Review

many years. “In war, you see things you don’t want to see,” said Gaillard. After falling back on God and his faith, Gaillard decided to do something positive with his life, and give back to others who might be struggling with similar situations. “I’ve crawled out of this stagnant life I used to live,” said Gaillard. “Only doing something positive could actually help me stay where I want to be.” Gaillard is one of 23 fulltime staff members of the Lawrence shelter, which is currently undergoing a change in location. The current shelter, locat-

additional four acres o f open ground, for a playground and like items. “We’ve got resources out our ears,” said Brian Blevins, a case manager at the shelter. Blevins shared his story as well: abused as a child, recovering alcoholic, and who could have been a successful country-western singer. He went through 13 treatment facilities for alcoholism. After sobering up and getting a degree from the University of Kansas, he came back to work at the shelter. “I am Brian Blevins again,” said Blevins. “I don’t

know who that other monster was.” The main theme of the discussion: community involvement. According to the panel members, the community within the shelter, as well as the surrounding area, is equally important to the success of the Lawrence Community Shelter and Topeka Rescue Mission alike. “We goof around a lot, but we cry a lot too,” said Blevins. “We invest a lot of love in clients.” The discussion was not solely aimed at Lawrence issues. Topeka’s homeless problem--and ways that the community is combating it--was also discussed. “If you don’t serve the poor with love, they will hate you for it,” said shelter director Loring Henderson. The Lawrence Community Shelter has had a long-standing internship program with Washburn. This internship is available for students focusing on programs related to social work, and have a strong interest in helping others. For more information, visit www.lawrenceshelter.org.

Homegrown Hunger Events: Wednesday 11/14 Oxfam Dive! Film Documentary about dumpster diving. 6-8pm, Henderson Center 112 Thursday 11/15 Cab event Grocery Bingo 7:30pm, LLC Lobby Thursday 11/15 Oxfam American Hunger Banquet 6-8pm, Washburn Room A

AJ Dome is a junior mass media major. Reach him andrew. dome@washburn.edu

Want to get involved? Donate at places below: Volunteer opportunity

Money

Food

Toiletries

Shoes/ clothing

Rent/ utility help

Let’s Help

Topeka Rescue Mission Salvation Army

Doorstep

Planet Aid Boxes

✓ ✓

✓ ✓


News

C

alendar

Wednesday, Nov. 14

Capturing the Spirit: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center/Mulvane Museum Gallery Lasting Impressions: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center/Mulvane Museum Gallery Thanksgiving Buffet: 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., Memorial Union, Washburn Room Leadership Institute Advisory Board Meeting: 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., Bradbury Thompson Alumni Center Women’s and Gender Studies Brown Bag—Senora Presidente: noon to 1 p.m., Memorial Union, Stauffer Commons Women’s Basketball vs. Southwestern College: 5:30 p.m., Lee Arena Dive! Living off America’s Waste: 6 to 7:30 p.m. Men’s Basketball vs. Peru State College: 7:30 p.m., Lee Arena Thursday, Nov. 15

Capturing the Spirit: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center/Mulvane Museum Gallery Lasting Impressions: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center/Mulvane Museum Gallery Diversity Initiative—Storytelling: noon to 1:30 p.m., Mabee Library Oxfam America Hunger Banquet: 6 to 8 p.m., Memorial Union, Stauffer Commons Crane Observatory Open House: 7 to 8:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 16

High School Art Day: 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Capturing the Spirit: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center/Mulvane Museum Gallery

A2

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Washburn cites training, support for added online tuition costs Rahul Venkat

WASHBURN REVIEW

This article is the second of two about higher tuition rates for online education at Washburn. This week’s article examine’s the administration and faculty’s take on the issue. The previous article, which appeared in the October 24 issue of the Review examined students’ perspectives. In October the first part of this series gathered students’ reactions to higher online tuition rates. Some students did not mind paying $192 more for a 3-hour course. Some students preferred taking classroom courses for the in-person interaction and access to professors. However, others, especially in the nursing program, were faced with no classroom alternatives to certain online courses. This last group of students felt strongly that their online courses cost them much more and delivered an inferior learning experience. This second article discusses online courses from the perspective of the university, and it takes into account cost considerations. Washburn’s $64/hr surcharge for online courses is high among its peer institutions. Only Kansas State University, with a surcharge of $100, charges a higher differential. But charging an online premium is not uncommon among universities in Kansas and in the United States. Training faculty in the use of online technology and offering help desk support are the driving factors behind the surcharge, according to faculty and administrators interviewed for this article. Angel is currently Washburn’s online course management system, and the university is taking bids to replace Angel with another system beginning with the next academic calendar year.

According to Stewart Murphy, Director of Online Education, Angel and any online system requires more tech support and training for faculty. “With classroom courses, professors might just elect to put up some files. But in an online course you have to replace all the elements that happen in the classroom, such as discussion, submitting assignments and returning them graded, the online quizzing, and the communications between professor and student,” said Murphy. “So yes, there are more activities and tools, and therefore more training and support.” Faculty investment of time and labor is another factor, according to information provided by Nancy Tate, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs. A typical online course saves a professor two-and-ahalf hours per week standing and lecturing in the classroom. But the same online course also adds 10 hours per week for the professor to read and to respond to students’ posts, concerns, and inquiries. By contrast, in a classroom setting these concerns can be handled more efficiently, as a professor can answer common concerns for students all at once.

Rob Hull, professor of finance, teaches an online course in the business school. He said the biggest time investment involves the learning curve associated with changing online technology. “The startup time of training for online courses is greater, but if you can teach the same course for at least three years then it begins to consume less time. But the biggest deterrent to teaching an online course is the constantly changing technology,” said Hull, referring to online course management systems, such as the upcoming termination of Angel and the adoption of a new system. “When they do this, it is like starting all over again because you basically have to start the course from scratch.” For Kerry Wynn, professor of history, her online courses involve the same investment of time but a different allocation of that time. “For an online course once I’ve posted lectures, I don’t have to deliver them, so in that way it is less work. I write the lectures, and while I re-evaluate them every time I teach the course, I don’t have to standup and deliver 50-minute lectures,” said Wynn. At the same time, Wynn

Veterans’ Day

Lasting Impressions: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center/Mulvane Museum Gallery

Paint Washburn Art Auction: Memorial Union, Stauffer Commons

Sunday, Nov. 18

Lasting Impressions: 1 to 4 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center/Mulvane Museum Gallery Monday, Nov. 19

Men’s Basketball vs. Bethany College: 7 p.m., Lee Arena

Don’t see your event in the calendar? Call the Review newsroom at 670-2506 to have your event included in an upcoming edition. It’s FREE.

10/24 at 18:25 in Mabee Library - Information report, suspicious person, report taken.

10/25 at 23:35 in the Living Learning Center, 1801 SW Jewell Ave. - information report, suspicious activity, report taken.

Running for Healthier Lives: 9 to 11 a.m., east side of Petro

Photos by Andrew Escandon, The Washburn Review

The Eagle Has Landed: A Fox Model Blackhawk helicoptor, flown by the Kansas Air National Guard, landed in Memorial Union Lawn. Highland Park High School JROTC color guard presented their colors. Brothers in Arms: (From left to right) Steven Baker, Blackhawk crew chief, and Washburn biochemistry major; Casey Atkins and Sean Mullus pose in front of the Blackhawk helicoptor. Thomas Romig, dean of the law school, spoke about soldiers and shared examples of American’s military.

of university funds, and he is largely removed from setting online tuition rates and from discerning additional costs required for online education. But as the bursar, Selden compares the cost of a Washburn education to those of its peers, and he believes Washburn students are receiving value for their tuition money. The baseline tuition, he believes, is a significant reason for this. “Overall, Washburn provides an excellent value in the learning experience, and the part I’m very happy about is that a Washburn education is affordable when it’s compared with the other universities in our state,” said Selden.

Rahul Venkat is a senior computer science major. Reach him at RahulVenkat@outlook. com.

Campus police reports 10/25 at 10:42 in Petro Allied Health Center, 1901 SW Mulvane St. - Burglary/Theft/ Building Currency, report taken, person of interest indentified.

Saturday, Nov. 17

Capturing the Spirit: 1 to 4 p.m., Garvey Fine Arts Center/Mulvane Museum Gallery

finds she is slowed by assignments, which are submitted online. “The grading actually takes longer online. For me it’s much faster to write than it is to type. So I’m much faster at reading, marking, and making comments on papers when they’re in [hardcopy] form,” said Wynn. “So for online courses, the tasks are different and the workload is allocated differently, but the time commitment is the same.” Although Washburn, among its peer universities in Kansas, charges a high online premium, Washburn’s baseline tuition of $225/credit-hr places Washburn in the middle of the pack. This fact encourages university bursar Richard Selden. Selden handles collection of tuition money and disbursement

10/27 at 12:20 Washburn Village, 2001 SW Jewell Ave.Theft currency, report taken, area checked, currency not found. 10/31 at 10:39 in Parking Lot 18, 1750 SW Boswll Ave. information report, warrant arrest, report taken, individu-

al taken to the department of corrections by WUPD.

11/1 at 1:16 at 1800 block of SW Jewell Ave. - Trasnporting open container, notice to leave, report taken, one arrest for open container, one notice to leave served.

11/1 at 2:31 in Parking Lot 7, 1951 SW Plass Ave. - Information report, alcohol violation, report taken, alcohol seixed and destroyed, referred to dean of students.

11/1 at 8:20 in Washburn Institute of Tech., 5724 SW Huntoon St. - Theft currency, report taken, not able to locate missing currency.

11/6 at 8:00 in Washburn Institute of Tech., 5724 SW Huntoon St.-Theft, cell phone, report taken, area checked, cell phone not located.

Massage Therapy School got you stressed or sore? Custom massages will relax and relieve those aches and pains. MaryLou Herring, NCTM Hair Care Etc. Style Salon Call today! (785) 845-5452

1801 SE 29th St. touchofmedicine.com


A3

News • Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Students discuss ‘spiral of silence’, oppression

To this day, the Nazi regime’s rise to power baffles scholars and observers, even nearly 70 years after its fall. People are astonished how one nation, in a human lifetime, could transform from a thriving center of sciences and humanities into a regime of war and genocide. This disturbing transformation has been the subject of numerous articles, essays, studies and retrospective analyses. Leslie Reynard, Washburn professor of communications, has taken interest in how social ideas begin as minority views, gather momentum and finally cross a ‘tipping point’ at which the ideas become majority views. Likewise, social ideas can begin as majority views then reverse course and regress toward the same tipping point going the other way before they fade into the minority. ‘Spiral of Silence’ describes this phenomenon. Last month, Reynard was the featured speaker at the home of Jerry Farley, Washburn’s president, who hosted a gathering of 25 students for dinner and intellectual discussions. Farley’s roundtable dinners are held once a month, and students are chosen at random. For the honor, a Washburn professor of distinction is asked to lead and to moderate the discussion, and past topics have included the national debt, healthcare policy and gun control. With the 2012 elections, Reynard stated this would be the first presidential election for many college students. “I speak to groups about democracy, civil discourse and deception,” said Reynard. “With the election coming up, I wanted to tie in my talk with the ‘Spiral of Silence’ and encourage students to discover their intentions and feelings about the election and to determine whether students would be either actively participating in the process or avoiding it.” ‘Spiral of Silence’ emerged from the pioneering work of German political scientist Elisabeth Noelle Neumann. After World War II, Neumann pondered the rise of the Third Reich, and she asked, “How could

Photo by Rahul Venkat, Washburn Review

By Crooked Steps: Leslie Reynard, Washburn professor of communications, recently spoke to a round table discussion hosted by Washburn president Jerry Farley on the subject of social ‘tipping points.’ Farley hosts a different roundtable discussion every month. this all have happened, and why When group members did the German people allow were shown a drawing of lines this to happen?” and asked to pick out the lonReynard said Neumann’s gest line, the naïve subject se‘Spiral of Silence’ theory ex- lected the true longest line, but plains how human beings, “do the conspirators voiced their not want to be part of a per- selections for the shortest line. ceived minority,” regardless of The naïve subject, after a few whether or rounds of not they’re discusin the mision with “ It wasn’t anything nority. peer pres“Peosure from I had heard about ple fear rethe conin my classes. I jection and spirators, didn’t know what social isolachanged his tion, so the pick and to expect when more they selected the they invited us here true shortest perceive they’re in line as repto dinner, and it the minoriresenting turned out to be a ty on social the longest stimulating converissues, the line. more silent “We’re sation. they will be ” very, very on those issusceptible —Maggie Sigler sues,” said as human Senior, legal studies Reynard. beings to S u r social conp r i s i n g l y, trol,” said this fear isn’t limited to oppres- Reynard. “We have an internal sive governments and heated monitor for embarrassment, political issues. It also happens fear of rejection and punishin low-stakes, benign situa- ment by authority.” tions. Reynard cited a classic “This causes us to take a study in which a human sub- particular stance or action, “if ject was grouped with five to we feel we are accepted, or to seven ‘conspirators’ who were shrink back from it if we feel presumed by the subject to be that we are not accepted.” naïve volunteers for the same Reynard believes the U.S. experiment. has conditions which make it

susceptible to ‘Spirals of Silence.’ She challenged students to identify views which might be majority views but appear to be minority views because so few people voice their opinions. Students named government surveillance as one area in which Americans may be perpetuating a spiral of silence. Students agreed that surveillance was value-laden and pertinent to many Americans. But they also believed that the issue was not very well publicized and that people weren’t raising the issue out of fear that their views were in the minority. Students also identified America’s treatment of prisoners of war, and how this treatment has brushed aside 35 years of the U.S.’s commitment to agreements at the Geneva Convention. One student voiced her opinion that, “to be held indefinitely in those types of conditions, and to have an entire country look the other way when not every captive was found to be a terrorist,” was akin to the Communist Red Scare of the early 1950s. Reynard concurred, saying, “We seem to be taking everyone who’s a follower of Islam and labeling them a terrorist.” Reynard said that most research on the spiral of silence has been focused on television

and print, which were two mass mediums of the 20th Century. Reynard would like to see the theory tested on social media because, “social media has become so vast so quickly. Viewpoints are diverse, and social media allow opinions to be distributed and expressed anonymously.” Students interviewed after the event came away with favorable impressions of the evening and of professor Reynard’s talk. “I appreciated the opportunity to have intelligent conversation for an evening. I liked hearing about the ‘Spiral of Silence,’” said Maggie Sigler, a senior majoring in legal studies. “It wasn’t anything I had heard of in any of my classes. I didn’t know what to expect when they invited us here for dinner, and it turned out to be a stimulating conversation.” Kelsey Fowler, a second-year law student, was encouraged in her belief that peers of her generation think about political and social issues. “I got out of this many different perspectives, and a

Stock photos.

showing that our generation is engaged,” said Fowler. We have different perspectives, but people still care. It may not be party politics that we care about, but we care about the issues because these are issues we’re going to have to live with.” For Cassandra Blackwell, a senior majoring in history, her knowledge of social issues was deepened by attending the roundtable discussion. “I knew some of the issues from my courses in communication. But one area which amazed me was the magnitude of surveillance and privacy issues,” said Blackwell. “They are not considered issues, because they lack publicity. And I think they should be discussed more. But it never ceases to amaze me how much everyone is willing to engage in an intellectual discussion, especially in the presence of Washburn’s president, in his home.”

Rahul Venkat is a senior computer science major. Reach him at RahulVenkat@outlook. com.

Donation helps fund new training center at Washburn Tech Fatima Oubaid

WASHBURN REVIEW

Washburn Tech recently received a $10,000 grant from the Ingersoll Rand Foundation, which will help fund the development of the new Midwest Training Center for climate and energy control technologies. The training center will offer a series of certifications collaboratively developed in conjunction with the National Coalition of Certification Centers. The center’s goal is to provide existing and new workers the additional training needed to help current and new firms grow in the region. The MTC will achieve this goal by providing a system of connected and stackable credentials to existing technicians, to new students and to displaced workers for multiple programs and industry sectors. The center will also provide train-the-trainer opportunities to secondary and post-secondary instructors throughout the Midwest.

“Trane is honored to support Washburn Tech in the development of the Midwest Training Center,” said Keven Ward, the public sector consultant for Trane. “The training center will serve business and industry throughout the Midwest region by producing trained employees with nationally recognized certifications, and to provide access to short term training and certifications for incumbent workers as well.” The MTC is scheduled to be open later this fall and certification programs will begin the first week of December. Washburn Tech leaders anticipate over 30 emergent workers will be trained in industry specific certification programs by the end of January 2013. To learn more about the Midwest Training Center please visit www. washburntech.edu. Fatima Oubaid is a sophomore mass media major. She can be reached at fatima.oubaid@ washburn.edu.


Opinion Opinion

A4

Opinion Editor finds ‘home’ Kelly Hurla

WASHBURN REVIEW

Sitting on the front steps, one single tear trickled down my cheek and landed by a snowflake. Even through the pain, I could see simplicity and yet the beauty of the moment. I bowed my head, told myself to suck it up. I wiped away the next tears before they could fall. I was freezing, but I refused to go back inside. It didn’t feel like my home anymore, and it wasn’t in two days anyway. Two boxes, one laundry basket and a box of Honey Bunches of Oats. Five years ago, these items were everything I was left with when my mother decided to leave and take most of my belongings with her. It was simply clothes, blankets and a few movies. Staring out the back window of the truck I was in, I looked at these possessions as my lifeline. I felt almost numb. I knew I could still be sad. I knew that I had every right to be angry, but at the time the numbness eased my heartbreak. Living with my alcoholic mother, wasn’t exactly ideal. But I shuttered to think of the things I would lose, whether I would be able to finish school, carry on or even come close to fulfilling my dreams of becoming a writer. The small town that I’m from doesn’t have sheltered liv-

Question: I saw in the news that a woman was fired from her job for calling the president the n-word on Facebook and saying she hoped he was assassinated. Can employers really do that? It depends. Due to increasing popularity of social media, employers, schools and agen-

ing or rescue missions. What it does have is a knack for people talking and not going straight to the source. I was a teenager, abandoned by my family who chose drugs and alcohol over me, but some people around town had heard differently. I not only heard the voices of my mother in my head telling me I’ll never do anything with my life or become anybody, but it felt as if the town itself now shared the idea. While some people waited for me to fall on my face, others embraced me. What I’ve discovered is that I don’t need nice material things. I found that I can comfortably sleep basically anywhere. Whether it’s the couch, the floor, in a car, it’s all the same to me. A home to me is a place where I can feel welcome, where I will always feel welcome. The family who took me in is one I consider my family to be today. It took losing everything to find my place to call “home” no matter where my life may take me. It’s when you have nothing to lose that you truly have everything to gain. Five years ago, I would have never imaged that I would be in a position to provide for myself enough to live day to day and to get a college education. Today, I do my absolute best to take nothing for granted. I try to see humor in every situation, and I remind myself that it could always be worse. Maybe I’ll always like to prove people wrong. The thing is, I don’t really mind. So while I joke around too much, and at times, can be too honest, I live with a different appreciation.

Kelly Hurla is a senior mass media major. Reach her at kelly. hurla@washburn.edu

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

BOD

“What role should the government play in homelessness?” “I think the government should always increase public assistance with poverty to reduce levels as much as possible, because it helps the economy.”

Lukas Ryan Utz, sophomore Political Science

Jean-Luc Chinal , senior Psychology

“I like bearded ladies.”

Abby Geiss, sophomore Theater

Bayo Oladapo, senior Sports Management

“I think they should do a lot more so that people don’t have to stand on the streets and beg for money.” - Rachel Williams, sophomore History

Interviews and photos by Alex Sonich

cies are paying attention to what affiliates are doing with Facebook, Twitter and blogs. As a result, private and public corporations and businesses (including higher education and vocational schools) have modified employee handbooks, citing that any misappropriation or inappropriate conduct that tarnishes their company can result in termination, suspension

ST

This week is national hunger and homelessness awareness week, so we wanted to know…

or other forms of discipline for violations of company policy regarding social media, and, if fired, will deny unemployment. There are variations of this, but if Cold Stone Creamery has this clause written in, it is well within their rights to fire this employee, especially given the dramatic public backlash. Denise Helms’ words not only caught the attention of the California population, but the Secret Service as well. The government has charged several people with class D felonies for threatening bodily injury or death against the president, vice president, secretary of state or cabinet members (ac-

Anthony Ho, sophomore Education and Psychology

“There is huge room for the government to actually go around and legitimately find ways to help these people earn an income and feel supported.”

“If people have no options like because of foreclosure, they lost a job, stuff like that, the government should step in and help them out as much as possible.”

“I believe the government has an obligation to its people so they should provide as much support as they can.”

Graphic by Maggie Pilcher, Washburn Review

cording to Fox 40 News out of Sacramento, Calif.). What people fail to realize is that digitally, whatever you write online is public to some degree, and if it comes to threatening other people, there will be consequences. Businesses have received public attention for their policies which involve human rights issues (think Chick-fil-A, Hobby Lobby), resulting in accolades or criticisms accordingly. Stanford and other Ivy League schools have also recommended to applying students to make sure their Facebook accounts are “PG” as social media exposes you to them, and vice versa. Stanford stated that if

you post something you don’t want your grandmother to see, to refrain (see U.S. News). Moral of the story: be aware of your rights, and the policies of the companies you are affiliated with. More importantly, be aware of what you say: whether now or later, words can come back to bite you.

If you would like Raz’s advice, email your question to realworldraz@gmail.com. Look for this column every week on this opinion page for your answer.

Our Staff Contact Us

Phone: (785) 670-2506 Fax: (785) 670-1131 www.washburnreview.org Editor-in-Chief Tricia Peterson Advertising Manager Raz Potter Promotions Manager Austin Abernathy News Editor AJ Dome Assistant News Editor Alexander Sonnich Sports Editor Luke Warnken A&E Editor Kelly Hurla Photo Editor Mike Goehring Graphic Design Editor Katie Child Copy Editors Richard Kelly • Fatima Oubaid Managing Editor Bradley Parrales Production Assistants Linnzi Fusco, Ryan Hodges Writers Shelby Fehrenbacher • AJ Dome• Kelly Andrews • Michelle Boltz • Ryan Ogle • Fatima Oubaid • Colton Goeffert • Alexander Sonnich • Landry Fehrenbacher • Louis Bourdeau • Amanda Narverud • Tricia Peterson • Kelly Hurla • Jensen Moore • Raz Potter • Kyle Kelly Photographers Kelly Andrews • Louie Cortez • Julian Mullican • Andrew Escandon • Mike Goehring • Ashley Russell • Amanda Narverud • Sarah Rush • Alex Voskoboyev • Linnzi Fusco Graphic Designers Katie Child • Kelsey Wagers • Sarah Williams • Brent Koehler • Ashley Russel • Xintong Liu Videographers Bradley Hernandez • Andrew Huff • Rodolfo Parisi • Luke Warnken Advertising Staff Autumn Kirchner • Sarah Williams Kaw Editor-in-Chief Kayla Norton Business Manager Sarah Roth Adviser Regina Cassell The Washburn Review is published every Wednesday throughout the academic year, excluding holidays and some other dates. Copies are free for students, faculty and staff, and can be found at numerous locations around the campus of Washburn University. Subscriptions to the Washburn Review are available at the following rates: 13 issues for $20 or 26 issues for $35. For more information, please visit our Web site at www. washburnreview.org or call (785) 670-2506. The Washburn Review is a member newspaper of the Associated Press (AP), the Kansas Associated Press (KPA) and the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press (KACP). The Review was the 2009 winner of the All-State award, given to the best four-year public university newspaper in the state of Kansas. The Washburn Review accepts letters to the editor pertaining to articles appearing in the Washburn Review or on issues of importance to the Washburn or Topeka community. We do not accept mass letters to the editor. Please limit letters to less than 400 words. Letters must be submitted via Word document if possible, and there must be a phone number where the person can be reached for verification. Please e-mail letters to wureview@gmail.com. The Review reserves the right to edit all submissions to the paper for length, libel, language and clarity. Because of volume on the opinion page, we are unable to print all letters and are unable to return submissions.

© The Washburn Review Copyright 2012

Corrections: While the Review strives for accuracy, we sometimes make mistakes. Any corrections will appear here.


A&E Real life ‘Hitch’ visits WU A5

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Amanda Narverud

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Washburn Room in the Memorial Union was filled with students last Thursday, eager to hear the dating tips that have helped students across the country. The real-life dating doctor, David Coleman, visited Washburn University to offer advice on dating and relationships. The 2011 Entertainer of the Year, known throughout the country as the “reallife Hitch,” coaching clients through the crazy, confusing world of dating. The event was sponsored by the campus activities board, Student Recreation and Wellness Center, inter fraternity council, panhellenic council, health services and first year experience. Coleman has been named the National Collegiate Speaker of the Year 13 times. He is a popular speaker in the college market and provides programs that directly address the issues facing today’s students and

staff. With a master’s degree in college student personnel administration, and thousands of appearances, Coleman understands the developmental needs of today’s student and his programs address those areas. Coleman began his presentation by explaining how to tell within five minutes i f

usually plan time to hang out a few days ahead of time, when ever their schedules allow some free time. “Even though we both attend Washburn, we’re lucky if we see each other twice a week,” said Tran. “We usually just eat dinner and watch movies. If it’s still daylight out, we might go for a walk around campus.” He explained his ABC’s of initial interest: attraction, believability, chemistry and desire. Students enjoyed segments of the presentation ew that were vi Re n r dedicated to picku hb as up lines. Students W s, r e challenged Coleman with ag W ey the beginning of a pick-up line el s K by someone to see if he knew the second ic ph a Gr w a s half, Coleman has thousands of right for y o u . pick-up lines memorized and Lynnie Tran, a j u n i o r challenges students to stump mass media major, met him with one he has never her boyfriend of almost two heard. years during her freshman Coleman emphasized his year on campus. Tran said they belief that first and second

dates should be limited to one hour; this allows for an exit if the date goes terribly wrong, while it also allows for the desire for more time when the date is over, hopefully resulting in another date. Washburn has an enrollment of about 7,000 students with a variety of dating situations and an extensive list of date experiences. Bianca Martinez, a junior biology major at Washburn and a member of CAB, has been with her high school sweetheart for two years. Martinez said that she gets to see her boyfriend every day, since they both attend Washburn. She said that they typically go on simple dates. “Dinner at home, $2 movies or fishing and riding the paddle boats at Lake Shawnee,” said Martinez. “Our main thing is to have fun and spend time together. How expensive the date is doesn’t matter.”

Image Courtesy of news.uwlax.edu

Amanda Narverud is a junior mass media major. Reach her at amanda.narverud@washburn.edu.

Pizza pub packs a punch Richard Kelly

than you expected. Finishing three of the four slices, I’m full On a cold and rainy and ready to take my final piece Saturday night in Topeka, home with me. College Hill Pizza Pub was The restaurant itself can packed with students looking hold roughly 50 patrons, to grab a bite. with room for 20-30 more I entered the restaurant on the outside patio (weather at 1418 SW Lane St. around permitting.) On this Saturday, 1:40 a.m. and then watched as as patrons ran into the the bar crowd began rolling in restaurant to dry off, I ordered about 2 a.m. The crowd was a pepperoni pizza. Roughly steady, as servers took orders 10 minutes after ordering, my and then concurrently helped name was called at the front dish out piping hot 10” pizzas counter, and I walked up to to customers. grab my box of pizza goodness. It was my Opening the FOOD third time at box, the first thing REVIEW College Hill Pizza I noticed was how Pub, and there’s a hot my pizza was. reason I will continue to return. It was to the point I burned my The environment is cozy, with mouth on first bite. Granted, it tables along the south wall. was delicious, but I learned my Most tables are equipped lesson to let it cool off. with small TV’s, and the Looking at the other walls are filled with beautiful patrons around me, everyone photographs taken on the was trying different toppings. Washburn University campus. That’s one virtue of the pizza Orders are taken in a pub. Their toppings consist of sandwich shop style, as you everything from pepperoni to select everything on your pizza, green peppers to lamb. Yes, down to the cheese and sauce lamb. I compliment them on used. A one-topping pizza is their originality in that regard. $5 plus tax, and the restaurant As aforementioned, after also serves multiple alcoholic three slices, I was down for the beverages and soft drinks. count. I couldn’t eat anymore. When you get your pizza, As I prepared to leave, I you may wonder if it will be admired the fact this pizza joint enough to feed your hefty pizza was taking a chance telling craving, but rest assured, these patrons it’d stay open ‘til 3 10” pizzas pack more punch a.m. Fridays and Saturdays.

Did Someone Call The Dating Doctor?: David Coleman visited WU’s campus to discuss dating and give students advice for their love lives.

TriBODS and Film class to host ‘Documatters’ Fatima Oubaid

WASHBURN REVIEW

WASHBURN REVIEW

Washburn’s student film organization, TriBODS, and students enrolled in MM405: The Documentary Film are collaborating together to host DocuMatters, an event that will showcase three different documentary films; Finding Kalman (Jacobs and Weisman, 2010), Police Tape (Wolf, 2011) and Divide (Miller and Ugarte, 2012). S t u d e n t s will introduce, analyze and lead a discussion over the documentaries. A student will introduce a selected film to the audience before each screening, then another student

Photo by Julian Mullican,Washburn Review

Different And Delicious: Anthony Muňoz, a College Hill Pizza Pub employee, prepares pizza for customers. College Hill Pizza Pub is located at 1418 S.W.. Lane St. The restaurant is a nice break from the IHOP and Denny’s I regularly go to for late night eats. So, in all, check out College Hill Pizza Pub. It’s different, it’s delicious and

best of all, it won’t break the bank. As a college student, that sounds like a home run to me. Richard Kelly is a senior mass media and social work major. Reach him at richard.kelly@ washburn.edu.

Washburn Student Media is currently hiring a Radio Coordinator and radio personalities for Airbods Radio

will give a short presentation summarizing the analytical findings after each film’s screening and finally there will be a discussion session after all three film screenings. There will be a chance for audience members to ask questions about any of the three screened films. The event is free and open to the public. DocuMatters will be from 6-8 p.m. this Thursday Nov. 15 at the Break Room. The Break Room is located downtown in Topeka at 911 S. Kansas Ave. Fatima Oubaid is a sophomore mass media major. Reach her at fatima.oubaid@washburn. edu.

Adopters needed for United Way ‘s Christmas Bureau Fatima Oubaid

WASHBURN REVIEW

United Way of Greater Topeka needs adopters for this year’s Christmas Bureau. Approximately 3,000 families will be hoping to be adopted. Adoptions for the Christmas Bureau can happen in a variety of ways. One way is that local nonprofit organizations pull together and adopt a large number of families in need. Some families are adopted by companies, groups, or private individuals. The remaining individuals are made possible through donations to the Christmas Bureau. “We are expecting more than 9,000 people total of all ages this year seeking help,” said Tom Baumgartner, director of volunteer engagement for United Way of Greater Topeka. “Every number is expected to

be up this year. We anticipate more families and a larger total number of people served. It is expected that the size of individual households will also be greater. When times get tight, households often combine to help share in expenses.” The Christmas Bureau has been a part of Topeka’s history for the past 71 years thanks to the generosity of hundreds of volunteers. The intake process for families needing assistance will be held from Nov. 2 until Nov. 10 at Let’s Help and the Antioch Family Center. For more information about how to adopt a family or to be involved email cb@ unitedwaytopeka.org or call 785.273.4804

Fatima Oubaid is a sophomore mass media major. Reach her at fatima.oubaid@washburn. edu.

Bristol Ridge 1 Bedroom $540 2 Bedroom $645

Apply online:

washburnreview.org

bristol_ridge@yahoo.com 785-233-5959

A quiet community with 6, 9, and 12 mo leases.* Includes FREE cable and trash, washer/dryer in the unit, a pool, & fitness center. Deposit only $99! *(Shorter term leases subject to different pricing)


A6

A & E • Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Alumni plans cruise to Mexico

Danielle Greenup

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Washburn University Alumni Association has organized another group trip that is sure to impress. This time they will be embarking on a five night Western Caribbean cruise abroad Royal Caribbean’s Liberty of the Seas, to Belize City and Cozumel, Mexico. The trip will be five nights long, extending from Nov. 2429. The group will be meeting in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. There will be a welcome reception the evening of departure as well as a cocktail party on the second evening of the trip. Prices for inside cabins begin at $369 per person for double occupancy. Other cabin options are available at a higher rate if one desires. It should also be noted that airfare is not included in this price. Belize City is located

between Mexico and assistant director of Washburn Guatemala. It is often called Alumni Association. “Glass “The Jewel,” because it has bottom boat tours, tours of the the longest barrier reef in the Mayan ruins, opportunities for Western Hemisphere and has snorkeling and scuba diving a very modern Caribbean and just a chance to be a tourist charm. There and take in are many miles the culture.” of tropical rain “ T h e Besides beautiforest to take Washburn in and explore. ful scenery, both A l u m n i Cozumel is Association locations offer an island off now has more of the eastern 3,000 wonderful excur- than coast of Mexico members. where visitors It connects sions. may explore members ” its or even look with the - Robin Moser university by for gold and silver jewelry Assistant Director, keeping them in the shops of Alumni Association i n f o r m e d San Miguel. on activities This island is that bring also known for the alumni snorkeling. together to promote fellowship “Besides beautiful scenery, and serve the alma mater. both locations offer wonderful “I am most excited about excursions,” said Robin Moser, meeting other Washburn

alumni and the excursions,” said Amanda Hughes, 12 year member of the association. In addition to hosting a number of events for alumni and friends, the association also offers traveling opportunities like this one several times a year. “It’s a tropical vacation at the end of November, what’s not to love?” said Moser. The activities and entertainment on board will provide a great time. For anyone interested in booking the cruise, call 1.800.465.3595 extension 13412 to book your cruise. The special Washburn booking code is: 6795202.

Danielle Greenup is a a freshman nursing major. Reach her at danielle.greenup@washburn.edu. map generated on Google maps

Washburn Review

Film soars to expecations

NOW hiring writers! Apply online at:

www.washburnreview.org

Washburn Review 11/7/12 Crossword

Across 1 5 9 12 13 15 16 17 18 19 21 23 24 25 27

1 12

2

3

PuzzleJunction.com

4

5 13

6

7

8

9 14

10

11

15

Type of store Mocked 17 18 16 A Gabor sister 19 20 21 22 Boundary Eng. river 23 24 Weight unit 25 26 27 Ireland Israeli dance 28 29 30 31 32 33 Function 35 36 34 Kinsman Deduce 38 39 40 41 37 Cruise 42 43 Coal fragment Deceivers 44 45 46 Some addresses 47 48 49 50 (Abbr.) 28 Sports car items 51 52 53 54 55 56 31 Correspond 58 59 57 34 Afr. perennial 35 Geller, for one 61 62 60 36 Chomp Copyright ©2012 PuzzleJunction.com 37 Weapon 38 Peaches Down 22 Conclusions 39 Trivial 42 Lure 24 ____ T. Nelson 40 Two-wheeled 43 Gap 1 Insect of Coach vehicle 2 Norse deity, 44 Fragrances 25 Cartoon 41 Lean 46 Evening (Fr.) ruler of the character 42 Carnivores 47 Finally! Aesir Little ___ 44 Guide 48 White Fang 3 Fiend 26 Rel. painting or 45 Baseball shoe author 4 Souvenir statue addition 51 Prophet 5 Nonbeliever 28 Sack 46 Transparency 52 Lawful 6 Stealthy move 29 Court 47 The Thin Man 55 Roman date 7 Always (Poet.) dog proceedings 57 Receptions 8 Genetic material 30 Sea eagle 49 Olfactory 58 Sidestep 9 Notched 31 Whale parts sensation 59 Thin Man 10 Heroism 50 Roman 32 Unit The Washburn 11/7/12 character Review 11 Prayer wordSudoku 33 Your (Fr.) Emperor 60 Carney, for one 14 Frugality 36 Type of school 53 Sick 61 Suggestive look 15 Alumni or house 54 Pool stick 62 Rum 20 Jackrabbit 38 Containers 56 Droop

Movie poster courtesty of IMDb.com

AJ Dome

‘ WASHBURN REVIEW

ery, but “Cloud Atlas” is without a doubt beautiful, polarizing and sometimes graphic. It’s Ambitious. well-deserved of its “R” rating, That’s the buzz word sur- but it’s not a tasteless rating. rounding what is now my fa- It’s a film with realistic details, vorite film this season, and per- right down to sounds and texhaps all year. tures, but with magical ideas “Cloud Atlas” is composed and intense visuals. It relies on of six separate story arcs, all the pictures to hook you from interconnected by a continuous the very beginning, with some theme, spanning 500 years with overlaid voiced-over dialogue the actors portraying several and a small sampling of each different characters throughout. individual story. After that, the The six main actors within the stories remained separated in film all get their limelight, but content and even genre--jumpit’s the ever-changing state of ing from drama to dark comedy their appearance which is most to action/adventure. The way obvious--and most impressive. it sneaks up on you is subtle, Tom Hanks, like a silent black MOVIE Halle Berry, cat, ready to pounce Jim Broadbent, and dig its claws REVIEW Jim Sturgess, into your spine. And Doona Bae and Hugo Weaving when it does, it’s certainly efare the biggest players within fective; I was riveted to my thethe worlds of “Cloud Atlas.” ater seat for the entire two hours Hugh Grant also stars in what and 45 minutes of run-time. might be considered the scariFortunately, it doesn’t feel est role he’s ever performed. I like a long movie. It actually mean, c’mon, Hugh Grant just leaves you yearning for more, isn’t what comes to mind when silently wishing that it would filmmakers need a large, im- continue, even though you feel PuzzleJunction.com posing, heavily made-up native satisfied with the conclusions. warrior. But Grant pulls it off in It’s kind of like life, actually. the most surprising way imag- I’m sure at the very end some inable, and I am in no way pro- people feel compelled to conTo solve the Sudoku puzzle, each row, column and box viding a spoiler by saying that. tinue, even though they’re satmust contain the numbers 1 to 9. The most impressive part isfied with the results. of this film is the cohesiveness This idea of continual conof the stories. Three directors nections involving basic conare credited with bringing this cepts of life and living is the monumental film to light. The recurring theme I mentioned Wachowski siblings (Lana earlier. If this sounds like a and Andy of “The Matrix” difficult subject to film, that’s series), and German director because it is. “Unfilmable” has Tom Tykwer adapted the film been used to describe this story, from a 2004 novel of the same yet it’s out in theaters now, and name, tackling the stories as critics are divided. Some love Solution on next page separate short films, and then it, some hate it, but there’s no splicing them together into the middle ground. I like it when a biggest picture of all. film does that. Speaking of the “bigNow, “Cloud Atlas” gest picture of all,” this film doesn’t come controversy-free. was funded by independent In one of the stories, a few of sources, including the German the actors are portraying Asian government. With a budget of characters. The actors are $102 million, it’s one of the white, so they were made to most expensive independent appear Asian through makefilms of all time. up, prosthetics, and computer And it shows. Of course graphics, with a heavy focus the Wachowskis are no strang- on the shape of their eyes. It’s ers to excellent digital imag- pretty obvious, and it doesn’t Copyright ©2012 PuzzleJunction.com

3

3 9 8 1 5 4 8 1 5 4 4 9 2 7 5 3 6 2 3 7 1 5 2 4 8

mesh with the high quality of the rest of the film. It’s also not the best choice as a director if you’re wanting to stay politically correct and remain artistically detailed. However, do not discount this film solely because of this plot device. “Cloud Atlas” has an intrinsic value worth far more than anything race or political correctness can affect. Don’t let negative critiques fool you. To quote my best friend Tyler, “if you’re looking for something to hate, you’re going to find it.” This film is about people and the interconnectedness of their lives. Deja vu, intrinsic memories, small ripples of change spanning centuries--in reality, it has no clear beginning or end. It just continues forever, and with “Cloud Atlas,” we’re sampling a small fictional piece of humanity’s puzzle. I have a friend who’s studying film at the University of Southern California right now. He described “Cloud Atlas” to me like this: “It’s a movie in the same sense that a Lamborghini is a car.” I’m going to take that description in a slightly different direction. “Cloud Atlas” is to cinema what the Bugatti Veyron is to cars. For those unfamiliar with the Veyron, it’s a $1.7 million German machine with a 16-cylinder engine, capable of mind-boggling numbers. It only takes two seconds to reach 60 miles per hour, and it tops out at 253 miles per hour… possibly more, if you dare. Bugatti Veyron, meet “Cloud Atlas.” It’s much like you: dramatic, beautiful, scary at times, exciting at others and very ambitious. And most importantly, “Cloud Atlas” doesn’t cost a million dollars. Just $9 will transport you through time and space, telling the story of how we’re all connected, whether we know it or not. It’s $9 well spent. AJ Dome is a junior mass media major. Reach him at andrew.dome@washburn.edu.


5 6

A7

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Sports

Lopers snap Lady Blues’ 51-game home win streak Kyle Kelly

WASHBURN REVIEW

The stage was set on Saturday night for the biggest match of the season. The No. 3 ranked Washburn Lady Blues took on the No. 4 Nebraska-Kearney Lopers in a winner-take-all match for the MIAA regular season conference championship. The Lady Blues came into the match with a record of 30-1, while the Lopers were 29-2. Washburn’s lone loss came at the hands of the Lopers earlier this season. After the Lady Blues took the first two sets, the Lopers ran the table and took the final three sets to take the match and win the MIAA regular season conference championship. This was Nebraska-Kearney’s first season as a member of the MIAA, and they won the conference with a record of 16-1. The Lady Blues saw their school-record of 51 straight home victories come to end on the final day of the regular season. The Lady Blues started out the match strong, taking a close first set, 25-22. At this point, the Lady Blues clearly had the momentum, as they won handily in the second set, 25-18. The longer break between the second and third sets seemed to kill the Lady Blues’ momentum, as they looked

Photo by Abby Mies , Washburn Review

Digging In: Washburn libero Courtney Churchman (in white) volleys back during a ghome match against Lindenwood University. The Lady Blues went into Saturday’s match against the No. 4-ranked Lopers of UNK with a 51-game streak. After winning the first two sets the Blues dropped the next three losing only their second match of the season. Both losses have come at the hands of the Lopers. UNK also clinched the regular season MIAA title. completely flat in the third set, as the Lopers took the set 25 -13. The Lady Blues were able to keep it close in the fourth set, but fell just short, 27-25. To match the theme of the

game and the weekend, the winner-take-all match came down to the fifth, and final set. Washburn jumped out to an early 7-3 lead, but the Lopers quickly closed the gap to tie

it three different times. The Lady Blues took a 15-14 lead, and served for match point, but Nebraska-Kearney was able to score three straight points and capped the match with a kill

Skinny’s Ad

from Ariel Krolikowski to take the conference championship. Senior hitter, Hillary Hughes, led the Lady Blues with 18 kills and a season-high 21 digs. This match marked

Hughes’ third straight match in which she recorded a double-double. “There’s no one person to blame, we all played so hard,” said Hughes. “Things just didn’t go our way at the end. We had so many opportunities to win, but we just couldn’t capitalize on them. We’re going to get them next time.” Kelsey Lewis also recorded a double-double, as she tallied 13 kills and 14 digs, while Marissa Cox had 11 kills. Despite the loss, the Lady Blues will still host the first round of the MIAA tournament on Tuesday, Nov. 13, where they will play host to Fort Hays State. “Getting refocused will be a challenge of the coaching staff,” said Chris Herron, Washburn head coach. “It’s going to be a real challenge because this is a tough one to swallow. The match was everything it should have been. You’re talking about 19-17 in the championship match in game five.” If the Lady Blues win on Tuesday, they will continue in the MIAA tournament on Friday and Saturday.

For coverage of Tuesday night’s game check out washburnreview.org

Kyle Kelly is a senior public relations major. Reach him at kyle.kelly@washburn.edu.


A8

Sports • Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Concussions continue to plague football

Drew Egnoske

WASHBURN REVIEW

There is a lurking danger that is in the back of every players’ mind. It is the athletic clock that will determine the final time that a player will strap on his helmet and shoulder pads. A player can sometimes know when that clock is close to expiring, but for many they will never know the exact time it will stop ticking. The covert strike that might end a players’ career often times comes in the form of a concussion. Concussions are a serious and dangerous problem for athletes and as medical research continues to improve, so does the treatment of the symptoms. Unfortunately, there is still a long ways to go in understanding what the repercussions are for continued blows to the head that result in brain injuries. Symptoms have ranged from dizziness and confusion to the most extreme in the form of memory loss and suicide. “The longer someone goes without taking care of their symptoms from a concussion, the longer it will take for them to recover and the risk for long term issues and a second concussion increases,” said Austin Hills, an athletic trainer at Washburn. Hills graduated from Washburn in 2011 and played football for the Ichabods. He coordinates treatment of concussions with team physicians and makes sure the department is following the proper procedures set forth in their policies. “We all want the student athlete to get back to play as soon as possible, but all of us here put the student athlete first and care about their health and well-being when it comes to concussions,” said Hills.

Photo by Abby Mies , Washburn Review

Heads Up: Washburn quarterback Mitch Buhler was sidelined this last Saturday against Emporia State after suffering a concussion during the game against Missouri Western. Buhler was anable to practice all week after failing to pass certain cognitive tests and physical examinations. The tragic ending to AllPro linebacker Junior Seau, said to be the result of a chemical imbalance in the brain, caused by concussions, shows just how serious they are and the need

to treat them. But suicides by football players linked to concussions is not a new phenomena. Dave Duerson, Ray Easterling, and Kenny McKinley are all recent cases of former NFL

players committing suicide. Part of the danger that a player faces when dealing with concussions is himself and differentiating between playing hurt and playing injured.

The challenge for trainers comes in the form of detecting and educating players to know that it is okay to tell someone if they have a concussion. In the NFL, a player risks losing money if he is diagnosed with a concussion. It could even spell the end of his career. Because they don’t want to lose money, it can result in sustained injuries to the head going without proper treatment. That is an intense load to put on an injured brain. “It feels like your head is going to explode and you feel like you’re in a fog place. It’s very hard to think or even concentrate for long periods of time,” said Devon Connors, cornerback for the Ichabods. Connors suffered a concussion earlier in his career and the fear of what could happen if he gets another one is always playing in the back of his mind. “It’s probably one of the worst things to go through because it can effect you in the long run,” said Connors. “Your symptoms can vary depending on the typed of concussion you get and some can end your career.” A recent study published by the medical journal Neurology concluded that football players are three times as likely to be diagnosed with a neurodegenerative disease such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s. Once a person receives a concussion, it is very easy for them to get a second one also known as “Second Impact Syndrome.” This causes excess fluid to build up in the brain and can lead to death, among other things. “The brain is very susceptible to injury and with increased pressure on the brain it starts dying within 3-5 minutes.” said Hills

Washburn’s Athletic Department uses a series of tests and guidelines from the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA) and the National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA). This establishes a base-line for each athlete before the beginning of a season. Then if it appears that an athlete has a concussion at any point afterwards, they are measured against the original base line test to see the severity. Hall of Fame running back Earl Campbell sustained injuries during his NFL career that have left him using a wheelchair for a majority of his daily activities. Campbell played during a time when medical research was not as advanced as it is today and concussions were something that no one wanted to acknowledge. Today’s knowledge on medical treatments, especially for concussions has come along way since Campbell retired in 1986 but there is still a long road ahead as well. Another challenge for trainers and physicians is that no two concussions are the same. Each individual who receives a concussion reacts differently so the in lies another challenge. “There is no ‘one size fits all’ protocol for concussions,” said Hills. “Research on the effects and treatment of concussions is ever-changing and we have just scratched the surface on what we will learn.”

Drew Egnoske is a senior mass media major. Reach him at drew.egnoske@washburn.edu.

Ichabods drop third straight game Bulls out muscle Runners in Topeka

Photo by Abby Mies, Washburn Review

Tough Treading: Washburn’s Tyrell Brown (5), stiff arms an Emporia State defender during Saturday’s Turnpike Tussel meeting. Brown and the Ichabods got blasted by the Hornets losing 55-23.

Drew Egnoske

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Ichabods ended their season on a disappointing note as they fell to Emporia State at home on Senior Day 55-23. Washburn started the game off strong with a forced fumble by T.J. Shine and recovered by Jahmil Taylor. Running back Hayden Groves then scored the go ahead touchdown early in the first quarter. Emporia State answered back with a touchdown of their own and took the lead 7-6 because Washburn kicker Jeremy Linn missed the extra point. Washburn then scored a field goal on their next drive to take the lead and held it until the end of the first quarter. The flood gates opened in the second quarter when ESU scored 17 unanswered points and 21 more in the third as well. Washburn held Emporia to only 10 points in the fourth quarter while scoring 14 them-

selves. This was all for nothing as they finished the game and their season with a loss. “I thought we didn’t finish the season strong and that the team didn’t play with enough

through their collegiate career at Washburn. “It’s been an awesome experience to be with the Washburn family,” said Steve Dieckhaus, senior offensive lineman. “I wouldn’t change it for anything.” Dieckhaus recently received First Team All MIAA honors for his play this season. Tight end Tore’ Hurst was named to the Second Team All MIAA. Kyle Duncan, Corey Walker, Jayveri Kelly, Bryce Atagi, Jahmil Taylor, Devon Connors, Willie Williams and Aaron Hummert all received honorable mentions as well. With the departure of the 2012 squad of seniors it is now time for new leaders to step up. Groves believes that he can be a leader going into the 2013 season and sees leading by example as a key aspect for that to happen. “I want to become the starter next season,” said Groves. “Bigger and stronger” are things that he says he will focus on for offseason conditioning. “I want to be a team lead-

“ It’s been an awesome experience to be with the Washburn family. I wouldn’t change it for anything.

- Steve Dieckhaus senior offensive lineman physicality,” said Groves. “We were a young team that needed a year under our belt.” As disheartening as this loss was for head coach Craig Schurig, his players were able to find something positive to focus on afterwards. It was senior day after all and gave those who were playing their last game a chance to think back

er and lead by example,” said Groves. “Doing the little things and making sure everyone is working hard and on the same page.”

Drew Egnoske is a senior mass media major. Reach him at drew.egnoske@washburn.edu.

Photo by Richard Kelly, Washburn Review

RoadRunners Get Bullied: Topeka forward Peter Halasch is taken down from behind in fron of Amarillo’s goal during a game on Saturday. After throttling the Bulls 5-2 Friday the Bulls defeated the Runners 4-2 on Saturday.

Richard Kelly

WASHBURN REVIEW

Armed with momentum, the Topeka RoadRunners were forced to kill off a five minute penalty kill early in the third period of Saturday’s game. Unfortunately, they couldn’t keep Amarillo off the board for all of it, giving up the eventual game-winning goal at 6:37, as the Bulls defeated the RoadRunners 4-2 at Landon Arena. Following a game-tying goal from forward Dan Dupell early in the period, Topeka (144-2) kept Amarillo (12-2-3) at bay most of the powerplay, but forward Ryan Cole made sure forward Kyle Sharkey’s spearing major came back to haunt the RoadRunners. He scored on a deflection of defenseman John Rey’s shot. “We did a great job most of that penalty kill, but it takes just one to basically put the game away,” said RoadRunners head coach Scott Langer. In the first period, Topeka struck first as forward Sean

Gaffney scored a powerplay goal at 6:02. Later in the period, Amarillo had a chance to tie it on a penalty shot, but goaltender Mackenzie Sawyer turned aside forward Gage Christianson. Forward Tyler Gernhofer tied the contest at 18:45 of the period, reversing Topeka’s Friday fortune, where two of their five goals were scored late in the period. In the second period, forward Mike Davis gave Amarillo a 2-1 lead when his shot found its way past Sawyer. Amarillo outshot Topeka 23-18 in the first two periods. In the final period, following Dupell and Cole’s goals, forward Omar Mullan sealed the victory with a goal at 8:02. Topeka made a frantic rush to tie the game late, but goaltender Collin Delia held strong to preserve a Bull victory. “I thought we got some pretty decent chances, especially in the first period,” said Langer. “They’re a good team, but tonight we made it very easy for them to win on the road.” Despite the final score,

Langer said Sawyer’s effort was solid. He made 28 saves on 32 shots. “[Sawyer] played pretty well tonight,” said Langer. “Some of the ones he did face, he did a great job on them. The other ones were just deflections that went off of things.” The end result contrasted Friday’s contest, where Topeka scored four powerplay goals on its way to a 5-2 win over Amarillo. One of the biggest highlights of Friday’s game was Sharkey, who had a hat trick, scoring a goal in each period. Topeka now travels to Springfield, Ill. to play the Springfield Jr. Blues this coming Friday and Saturday. They will then return to Landon Arena to face the Texas Tornado Nov. 23-25.

Richard Kelly is a double major in mass media and social work. Reach him at richard.kelly@ washburn.edu.


2012-13 Issue 11