Issuu on Google+

Washburn University

TheReview

Check out video coverage of the Survivor auditions at www.washburnreview.org!

Survivor Edition

Serving Washburn Universit y since 1873

WWW.WASHBURNREVIEW.ORG • (785) 670-2506

volume 138, Issue 22 • wednesday, March 14, 2012

Outplay

it

Outw

Outlast

1700 S.W. College • topeka, kan. 66621

Washburn community responds, assists in Harveyville Summer Workman

WASHBURN REVIEW

Washburn faculty and students recently volunteered to clean up after a devastating tornado hit the Kansas town of Harveyville. Located 30 miles southwest of Topeka, an EF-2 tornado blew through the town causing an estimated 40 percent destruction and taking the life of one man who sustained serious injuries during the tornado that hit around 9 p.m. Feb. 24. “It started just south of the downtown area and cut through the whole town,” said Will Gilliland, adjunct professor of physics. Gilliland and his wife are members of the Southern Hills Mennonite Church, which offered support to victims in the town. Gilliland acted as reconnaissance after traveling to Harveyville the next morning and assess-

ing the damages. “When we got there on Wednesday, they already had street debris cleaned up, and the roads were clear.” Gilliland said. United Way of Topeka, the American Red Cross and United Way of the Flint Hills all worked in conjunction with various volunteer groups and residents of Topeka to provide cleanup and volunteer efforts to the residents of Harveyville. “Harveyville is so close to Topeka that so many feel connected to it

and really wanted to help,” said Jamie Hornbaker, director of communications at United Way of Topeka. S h e added that of the 1,600 volunteers, a majority of them were residents of the Shawnee County area, and many were also Washburn University students. “There was such a big response at first, and we sort of pulled back to give them a chance to asses the situa-

Sports Sports

A&E

Photo by Kelly Andrews, Washburn Review

Found Art: Senior artist Kaylee Hesse uses found objects for most of her art. She also includes sculptures and prints in her senior art exhibit in the art building.

‘What you see is what you get’ Kelly Hurla

WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo by Luke Warnken, Washburn Review

Taking Your Best Shot: Junior guard Martin Mitchell looks to pass the ball during the second round of the NCAA tournament.

Bods lose in second round Luke Warnken

WASHBURN REVIEW

In front of a packed house at D.L. Ligon Coliseum, Midwestern State University was able to muster up enough energy to stop a second half rally by the Washburn Ichabods. The matchup between the No. 1-seeded and high-flying Mustangs and the sharp shooting No. 4-seeded Ichabods was worthy of attendance. The self proclaimed “Lob City of the Lone Star Conference” got out and

tion,” said Gilliland. “The psychological side of it takes a while to set in.” He added that now it’s important to join in with the long-term recovery. Gilliland said many residents still need help clearing debris and repairing roofs and shingles. “Right now, donations of money to relief organizations like the Red Cross and United Way can help considerably,” said Gilliland. Hornbaker agreed and added that now it’s important for Washburn students who want to help try to do so through fundraising and group organizations. Hornbaker also asks that any Washburn students interested in volunteering call 211, which is the United Way information line, or email harveyvilletornado@gmail.com. Summer Workman is a senior English major. Reach her at summer.workman@ washburn.edu.

running early with a three pointer by guard Michael Loyd and a big time dunk by forward Darrick Thomas. The stands erupted after the dunk as the Mustangs took a 5-0 lead. “Unbelievable crowd support for their basketball team here at Midwestern State University,” said Washburn men’s head basketball coach Bob Chipman. The ultra-athletic MSU squad and their crowd provided an intimidating atmosphere, but the Bods were able to overcome early jitters. Forwards Jo-

seph Smith and Alex North provided some instant success from the bench as Washburn cut down the Mustang lead to three. Back up point guard Jared Henry scored back-to-back buckets to give Washburn its first lead at the 10:38 mark in the first half. MSU was not deterred as they stretched their lead back to seven as halftime closed in. Junior guard Martin Mitchell sank a three-pointer to bring the score to 33-29 at break.

Continued on page 9

A May graduation is something that couldn’t have come sooner for Kaylee Hesse, an art student who has been in attendance at Washburn University since 2005, never switching majors. Before Hesse graduates, her senior art exhibit, “What You See is What You Get” will be on display. The exhibit is currently presented in the downstairs gallery of the Washburn Art Building on campus and will remain there until March 30. The art building will be closed in accordance with spring break, however. Hesse’s gallery talk, for faculty and art majors, is taking place today at noon. Her gallery reception, open to the public, will be held Friday, March 16, from 6 to 8 p.m. If a student can’t make it to the gallery talk or reception, a guest signin book will be available to make a mark when viewing the exhibit. Hesse encourages guests to sign in and com-

Fake Patty’s Day is Wednesday, March 14th. Celebrate with us in front of the Outtakes store from 11am to 1:30pm!

Live Music!

Say Ch ee Photob z ooth!

cials! e p s e r o t Books e % on Fak . Save 30 ts ay T-shir D s ’ y t t a P

ment on their thoughts of the exhibit or even (jokingly) draw a picture. Since high school, Hesse has surrounded herself with art. She struggled to find a job in high school, so her mother urged her to find something else to get interested in. Hesse sold her first piece of art around the age of 17 and knew from that moment on that art was something that was going to stick around for awhile. “If you can see something in a piece, it is not intentional,” said Hesse. “I leave it open to the viewer's imagination.” Hesse describes her collection as mostly printmaking, with a touch of sculptures. One sculpture in the piece, entitled “Iron Horse Yoga” includes a series of railroad ties. The various positioning of the pieces remind Hesse of yoga poses. “For the rest of my prints and work, I experiment with the found materials,” said Hesse. “I use various and different processes, with most of my

Continued on page 5


News

C

A2

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

alendar Washburn hosts ‘Survivor’ casting call

Wednesday, Mar. 14

Not In Our Town: Light in the Darkness: 12-2 p.m., Kansas Room, Memorial Union “More Than a Gunshot Wound: The Every Daye Violence in Karamoja, Uganda: 12 p.m., Contact department of sociology and anthropology for location. Phi Alpha Theta movieName of the Rose: 7 p.m., Henderson 208, Historical film night

Thursday, Mar. 15

WT’s Fine dining: 5-8 p.m., Chef’s Corner Cafe at Washburn Tech, Building A, $15 to attend Crane Observatory Open House: 8:30-10 p.m., Crane Observatory, Stoffer Science Hall Fast Forward-networking social: 5:30-7 p.m., Jones Huyett Partners, 3200 SW Huntoon

Friday, Mar. 16

Autorama: 8-10 a.m., Washburn Tech, Building K, car wash, interior vacuum, window wash and fluids check. Men’s and Women’s tennis vs. Southwest Baptist University: 2 p.m., Washburn Tennis complex Lady Blues softball vs. Southwest Baptist University: 2 p.m., Washburn softball complex

Saturday, Mar. 17

Men’s and Women’s tennis vs. University of Nebraska at Omaha: 12 p.m., Washburn Tennis Complex Lady Blues softball vs. University of Nebraska at Omaha: 2 p.m., Washburn softball complex

Sunday Mar.18

All week: No classes. Enjoy the Spring Break. The Life Changing Story of Associate Justice Carol D. Codrington: 3 p.m., Kansas Room, Memorial Union

Monday, Mar. 19

All week: No classes. Enjoy the Spring Break.

Tuesday, Mar. 20

All week: No classes. Enjoy the Spring Break.

Don’t see your event in the calendar? Call the Review newsroom at 670-2506 to have your event included in an upcoming edition. It’s FREE.

Derek Koehler

WASHBURN REVIEW

Students may see their fellow Washburn classmates on the CBS hit reality series Survivor in the future. Monday evening, Washburn hosted an open casting call for the show in Memorial Union. More than 150 people attended the casting. Before participating, applicants were required to fill out a quick application. Contestant hopefuls then gave a one minute speech stating reasons why they want to be on the show. WIBW taped their auditions. Brian Haug, account executive of WIBW, was delighted with the turnout. “This event is an excellent opportunity for Washburn,” said Haug. “If someone is selected to cast from here they will get a chance to be on national television, which would be great publicity for the university.”

Haug has previously handled casting calls for Amazing Race and Survivor and has attended the last six Survivor finales. Casting calls have never been held at Washburn University before. “ T h i s event turned out to be successful, we had great public support,” said Haug. “ A m a n d a Hughes from university relations was awesome and helped us get the facility for this event and we had great publicity getting people here.” There are advantages to hosting the Survivor tryouts at Washburn University. “Washburn has a beautiful campus, and it has a terrific setup and everyone is glad to be

here” said Haug. Among the contestant hopefuls was Kore Lippoldt, senior at Washburn. Lippoldt said she w a s

glad she got the opportunity to attend tryouts. “I actually met a guy that flew in from Michigan in the union and he pulled me aside and asked me if I was going to audition for survivor, I thought about it and mustered up the courage to audition,” said Lip-

Author exposes racial misconceptions Yaxuan Gao

of people, but one thing I hope to benefit from this experience is to learn to perform.” Austin Robertson, a junior from University of Kansas, found out about Survivor tryouts on WIBW’s website. He was happy to get an opportunity to come down and meet people from many different parts of the country. “I tried out because it sounded like fun. It was something new,” said Robertson. “The application process was easy; they didn’t tell you what they’re going to do. I think they like to leave it open ended, overall very easy. One thing I plan to benefit from this event is the million dollars, just kidding. Mainly the experience I think it would be a lot of fun to be on the show and see different parts of the world.”

Anthony Fast

edu from any computer that was connected to the Internet. Bryant is still concerned that there could be more done to reach students with disabilities. “While I think it’s a good solution for faculty in those departments to encourage students to vote and provide them access, history shows that when people are provided a designated polling site, the turnout is higher,” said Bryant. According to the WSGA constitution, updated in 2010, “a polling site is defined as any computer terminal on campus owned by Washburn University, or any location on Washburn University property, operated by the Washburn Student Government Association for the sole purpose of encouraging or gathering student votes.” “We tried to reach as many students as we could,” said McGown. “But it just wasn’t possible this year for us to be everywhere we wanted to be and this was the best way we could reach out to as many students as possible.” Computers are available to students throughout campus, both in public areas and designated computer labs, located in Morgan, Henderson, Stoffer, Garvey and Petro. The full list of computer labs is available on Washburn’s website under the Information Systems and Services tab.

Photo by Andrew Escandon, Washburn Review

Spreading Diversity: Sherman Alexie, famous Native American author, addresses Washburn students Friday night. Alexie spoke about his childhood growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation and the challenges he has faced as an adult. An hour later, Alexie communicated with 40 Washburn students. He shared his experiences in a small town and the basketball team in high school. He also talked about his college life. He felt he was separated by his accent, experiencing cultural shock and amazement at how white people call others by last name. He was also misunderstood by his college classmates, because he could speak many languages. “It is really a small town and everyone is related to another, even our teacher,” said Alexie. “We were isolated. So when we moved to Seattle, my parents were so excited about this.” At the end of the student meeting, students applauded Alexie. “I liked the speech,” said Cassandra White, a freshman

history major. “He talked about his own experience and his personality and both were very exciting.” At 7 p.m., Alexie gave another public speech. Most of the chairs in the room were full. His jokes amused people and made the atmosphere very engaging. He related his feelings from when he visited London. He thought he was the only Indian in London until ran into an childhood friend from the same reservation. He also talked about the Internet and his daily life. “It was a very attractive speech,” said Chenchen Hao, a senior English major, “I liked his facial expression, jokes and his attitudes toward life.” Yaxuan Gao is a junior political science major. Reach her at yaxuan.gao@washburn. edu.

Graphic by Kelsey Wagers , Washburn Review

Derek Koehler is a senior mass media major. Reach him at derek.koehler@washburn.edu.

WSGA polls WU WASHBURN REVIEW

WASHBURN REVIEW

On March 9, Native American writer Sherman Alexie gave three speeches at Washburn University. His speeches were welcomed by audiences, from children to adults. He spoke about his childhood, hometown, college life and his experiences overseas. Alexie is an author, poet and screenwriter, named one of the NewYorker’s 20 top writers for the 21st century. His books have won national awards, and his film “Smoke Signals” is famous, as well. At 3:30 p.m., Alexie met Washburn faculty at Henderson 100. His topic was diversity in America. There were more than 60 people who attended, and laughter filled the room. He recalled his childhood and experiences on the Spokane Indian Reservation in Wellpinit, Wash. He also talked about his school life, including college. Alexie said white people had many misunderstandings about Indians ranging from culture to daily life. “I try my best to connect with white people as a normal one, but they treated me as a minority,” said Alexie. “I hope people change their mind and treat brown people just as you do to white ones. It is diversity.” After the meeting, the audience spoke highly of it. “I enjoyed the speech, because he was entertaining to listen to,” said Kelly Erby, a professor in the history department.

poldt. “I went into this event just wanting to say I auditioned for Survivor. I don’t expect to be cast but if I am selected to be casted, that would be awesome. One thing I plan to benefit from the show are obviously survival skills and stepping out of my comfort zone.” Te r r i Payne a ninth grade teacher from Manhattan, Kan., seemed to be excited to participate in the tryout. “I signed up for this event because, first of all, I love adventure. I watch Survivor and from other castaways on the show, I know I can do better,” said Payne. “The application was fast and easy, yet nerve racking. I wasn’t really wanting to perform in front of a bunch

While another year of elections for the Washburn Student Government Association has come to a close and the winners have been announced, accessibility to specific polling sites for students with disabilities is still an issue. Shawn Bryant, a senior political science major, recently proposed an amendment to the WSGA’s constitution that would have reserved a spot specifically for students with disabilities. While that amendment was voted down, both sides agreed that the WSGA could do a better job reaching out to students with disabilities. “I spoke with Taylor McGown, the WSGA president, after the vote on my amendment,” said Bryant. “We discussed setting up a specific polling site in student services for elections.” WSGA did not set up a designated polling site in student services for last week’s elections due to concerns over resources and the need to separate candidates from voters. “Normally we have more senators that are not running for re-election, but this year we only had two,” said McGown. “So we were limited on the number of people we had who could work at our usual polling sites and there was only one student manning two computers in those locations as it was.” Students could vote online through www.my.washburn.

Graphic by Maggie Pilcher, Washburn Review

Anthony Fast is a senior mass media major. Reach him at anthony.fast@washburn.edu.

Panel discussion gives students edge in the job market Brian Dulle

WASHBURN REVIEW

Getting a job, getting an internship or even getting into graduate school is a challenge that all college students have to face at some point. Washburn University’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi honor society held a panel discussion last Wednesday titled “Be Active: How to Make Yourself Competitive in a Tight Economy.” The panelists were William Beteta, executive director of Heartland Visioning, Brett DeFries, instructor for the English department at Washburn, Jenalea Randall, corporate communications specialist from Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Topeka, Marsha Sheahan, vice president of public relations for

Topeka Chamber of Commerce, and Jim Zimmerman, vice president and deposit services manager at Capitol Federal. Each panelist discussed their own personal experiences through college and gave advice to students about what they should be doing now to prepare for graduation. “Applications are skyrocketing because nobody can find a job,” said DeFries. “People are desperately trying to get into graduate schools to hold off getting a job and become more prepared which makes a lot of sense, but it can cause an extra strain, financially speaking.” DeFries said that he would recommend to students who plan on going to graduate school, to take a year off, especially those that are graduating at the age of 22.

“Because I think the field is so competitive, it’s a good idea to take a year to plan your graduate applications because it will take you far longer than you ever guessed to apply to graduate schools,” said DeFries. “Applying to seven, eight or even 10 schools is not too many, and anything less than that is probably too few. Applying for graduate programs is expensive, as well, and if a person is applying to eight or 10 schools, it is going to cost about $1,000 in the end.” Sheahan said that students need to be flexible and willing to try new things when searching for a job. “You have to be able to be flexible enough to take on what is new, such as technology, and put yourself out there to be able to learn those new things,” said

Sheahan. “Keep yourself open to learning always and ask for those opportunities.” Randall said that students should consider non-profits as they’re job hunting. “Most students will probably think ‘no way’ because of student loans to pay off and non-profits are known for low paying,” said Randall. “I was at the Capper Foundation for five years, did pretty much everything there and it was an amazing training ground and a great experience.” Randall said that students should develop long term goals for what they want. “It sometimes doesn’t get stressed enough, but having an idea of where you want to go doesn’t mean that your goals can’t change, but it does give you some purpose for what you

want to do for your next step,” said Beteta. Beteta said that volunteer work on a resume counts just as much as a paid position. “If you are doing the same work at a volunteer job that you would at a paying job, it’s work experience,” said Beteta. Randall said that students should take advantage of being the new kid when they start a job. “Don’t be afraid to ask questions, listen and learn from those who are experienced and have a wealth of knowledge to share,” said Randall.

Brian Dulle is a senior mass media major. Reach him at brian.dulle@washburn.edu.


A3

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Time to turn up heat Our Staff in Lee Arena please Contact Us

Phone: (785) 670-2506 Fax: (785) 670-1131 www.washburnreview.org Print Editor-in-Chief Rob Burkett Online Editor-in-Chief Brian Dulle Advertising Manager Elisa Gayle News Editor Megan Hash Sports Editor Josh Rouse A&E Editor Tricia Peterson Photo Editor Linnzi Fusco Graphic Design Editor Katie Child Assistant Editor Jordan Loomis Copy Editors Josh Rouse • Richard Kelly • Chandler Loomis •Jordan Loomis Production Assistants Ryan Hodges • Kayla Norton • Kelsey Wagers Writers Shelby Atadgi • Rob Burkett • Kelly Andrews • Michelle Boltz • Yaxuan Goa • Jinglan Jiang • Matthew Kelly • Jordan Loomis • Ivy Marcus • Ryan Ogle • Fatima Oubaid • Josh Rouse • Cynthia Rose • Sam Sayler • Michael Vander Linden • Summer Workman Photographers Kelly Andrews • Ryan Burge • Rob Burkett • Louie Cortez • Tesa DeForest • Andrew Escandon • Mike Goehring • Jordan Loomis • Josh Rouse • Petr Seredkin • Kelli Thomas • Robin Warren • Alex Voskoboyev Assistant Online Editor Bryce Grammer Videographers AJ Dome • Hao Dong • Bradley Hernandez • Andrew Huff • Ivan Moya • Rodolfo Parisi • Michael Vander Linden • Luke Warnken Advertising Staff Autumn Kirchner • Anne Poulsen • Chris Young Business Staff Sarah Roth Adviser Regina Cassell

The Washburn Review is published every Wednesday throughout the academic year, excluding holidays and some other dates. Copies are free for students, faculty and staff, and can be found at numerous locations around the campus of Washburn University. Subscriptions to the Washburn Review are available at the following rates: 13 issues for $20 or 26 issues for $35. For more information, please visit our Web site at www.washburnreview.org or call (785) 670-2506. The Washburn Review is a member newspaper of the Associated Press (AP), the Kansas Associated Press (KPA) and the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press (KACP). The Review was the 2009 winner of the All-State award, given to the best four-year public university newspaper in the state of Kansas. The Washburn Review accepts letters to the editor pertaining to articles appearing in the Washburn Review or on issues of importance to the Washburn or Topeka community. We do not accept mass letters to the editor. Please limit letters to less than 400 words. Letters must be submitted via Word document if possible, and there must be a phone number where the person can be reached for verification. Please e-mail letters to wureview@gmail.com. The Review reserves the right to edit all submissions to the paper for length, libel, language and clarity. Because of volume on the opinion page, we are unable to print all letters and are unable to return submissions.

© The Washburn Review Copyright 2012

Corrections: While The Review strives for accuracy, we sometimes make mistakes. Any corrections will appear here.

Rob Burkett

WASHBURN REVIEW

Spring break is on its way. Students on the verge of mental meltdown are about to descend upon warm weather cities in search of a good time. While a good time will surely be had by yours truly as well, a quick word to the student heading out into the world of beer bongs, keg stands and all that comes part and parcel with the spring break experience. There will be a desire to party hard and push yourself to the limit. Find the limits but do it in a way that keeps yourself and those around you safe. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in 2009 there were 10,839 alcohol related deaths in alcohol-impaired driving situations. While this statistic is not that significant in a country of 300 million people, keep in mind that is just of the people who were killed. This doesn’t mention anything about the amount of people who were merely injured in these types of situations. For those thinking “this doesn’t apply to me,”

keep in mind that according to CDC statistics, 1 out of every 3 people killed in an alcohol related

car accident were between the ages of 21-24. If these numbers don’t make you pause, then perhaps thinking about the other victims of these avoidable accidents is something to consider. Of the nearly 1,400 traffic deaths involving children 14 years or younger, 14 percent of them were a result of an encounter with a drunk driver. While this is just 181 children, does anyone looking for a good time on spring break want to be the one that potentially kills a child? The other aspect that needs to be considered is for all you young ladies out there heading out to have a good time. Keep your eyes open and your wits about you. According to Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network, the nation’s largest anti-sexual assault organization, college women are four times more likely to be sexually assaulted than any other age group. This number goes up dramatically during spring break. RAINN offers a few tips for young women out on spring break. Number one being, don’t take drinks from strangers. A guy might very well be attractive, but why take the chance? Outside of that, have a great time and try and get that tan started before you are stuck in class for another month and a half. See you when you get back!

BOD

ST

Opinion Opinion The Washburn Grad Fair is just around the corner. For those of you still going to school after this year, what do you want to be when you grow up?...

“If you graduated today what would you do?”

“Labor and delivery nurse. It seems interesting to me. I like helping people.”

“Selling cars. Because my grandpa did. It’s something I like to do.”

“I’d like to be a pediatric nurse. I love kids.” Halie Wilkens, sophomore nursing

David Culpeper, freshman undecided

Elizabeth Hamilton, freshman

nursing

Kaitlynn Long, junior mass media

“I want to be an event coordinator for a sports team. I like to plan things and I love sports.”

Graphic by Maggie Pilcher, Washburn Review

Rob Burkett is a senior mass media major. Reach him at robert.burkett@washburn.edu.

“The ideal job would be a kindergarten teacher. Out of all of the possibilities of the children I can teach, I want to teach kindergarten because that is the grade in which children learn to read.”

Ashley Hoosier, freshman elementary education

The 2012 Kaw Yearbook Your book of memories is under construction. However it isn’t too early to place an order.

With your order, you’ll get a unique keepsake President Jerry B. Farley bobblehead doll that will forever remind you of your years as an Ichabod.

Pre Order Pricing: $15 for students $30 for everyone else

Call 670-1198 to place an order today!

Lucas Scott, sophomore social work

“Child protective services. As a former police officer, I am very passionate about protecting young people from various dangers in society.”

Interviews and photos by Sean Donnelly

Do you think Washburn should keep both KN 198 and EN 300? Yes both classes are helpful.: 21%

EN 300 yes, KN 198 no: 57%

KN 198 yes, EN 300 no.: 7%

KN 198 no, EN 300 no.: 0%

Go to washburnreview.org and vote on the current poll!

from an unscientific poll on washburnreview.org


A&E

A4

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

‘Wet Ink’ a huge success Rocket features children’s art Kelly Hurla

Michelle Boltz

WASHBURN REVIEW

I recently spent half of the night out, not drinking with friends, but one thing about the night didn‘t have flaws and uncertainties. Last weekend’s student penned plays, “Wet Ink” definitely did not disappoint. The evening started with “Flaws and Uncertainty.” I was aware that the play would be dramatic. I wasn’t ready for this level of drama. The topic was unexpected, yet it was something that mattered. The main character Shelly, discusses her relationship with her girlfriend Andrea. You meet her girlfriend, but shortly after is when the tragedy takes place and the play truly moves for- ward, with many shocking twists. “She never hated herself until you told her you should,” said Shelly’s character. She often argued with Andrea’s mother, Diana. The mother was highly unsupportive of their relationship throughout the play’s entirety. The play was a good example of just how easy hate can spin a situation out of control. “Drinking with Friends,” although a close call, is my favorite Washburn theatre department production to date. The only bad part of the play was when it was over. I could have watched it again and again. The dialogue

WASHBURN REVIEW

The Dream Rocket Project was created in 2009 through the International Fiber Collaborative and was co-created by Jennifer Marsh, who is currently teaching Design I at Washburn. Linnzi Fusco, senior art major, helped Marsh with the current display at the Children’s Discovery Center. The Dream Rocket Project is nationwide and bePhoto by Kelly Andrews, Washburn Review Not So Wet Behind the Ears: Three student-written plays premiered gan while Marsh was this weekend.. They addressed real-life problems but still kept the crowd in graduate school at Syracuse with laughing. the help of 2,500 was offensive and at times, “How come I never buy fellow art stuhighly inappropriate. I loved it. tampons?” The guy asks his dents. One of the The actions of Leah were by far girlfriend. first projects the the funniest I’ve seen in awhile. They comically discuss Dream Rocket Her karate-like “Mit- their relationship and the rela- Project was insubishi” moves tionship of their mutual friends. volved with was literally had I loved the story behind how wrapping an entire m e the couple met: at a party abandoned gas stawith the girl singing the tion with artwork, covlyrics to a popular Buck- ering about 6,000 feet. laughing cherry song. Although Their next mission is to out loud. I felt the shortest play of wrap the entire Saturn V Moon like I really knew the night, it left a Rocket in Huntsville, Ala. in the characters from lasting impression. May and June 2014. The Satthe brief moments Overall, “Wet Ink” urn V Rocket is located at the I got to know them was a fine production. U.S. Space and Rocket Center. on stage, and left wanting to What’s true for all three is In the Huntsville community, make late n i g h t that the dialogue and actions there are over 500,000 people M c - were completely honest and as that have been working on the D o n - real as can be. I only wish that Saturn Rocket and are excited alds runs with student written plays were put about the project. them for m o r e on by the theatre department “We love the opportunities more often. to expand what we do,” said chickSeriously, I’ll bring the en nuggets. nuggets. “A Night In” was also entertaining and comical. It started off a little slow, Fatima Oubaid just viewing the couple sitting Graphic by Katie Child, Washburn Review WASHBURN REVIEW around on their night in. It fi- Kelly Hurla is a junior mass nally begins with a simple, yet media major. Reach her at jarring question. Art can be expressed in kelly.hurla@washburn.edu many different ways, and Mack Schroer, a Washburn fine arts graduate, helps to prove this to be true. From doing paintings and sculptures, to digital arts, such as 3D modeling and even animation, Schroer has done it all. Schroer started his interest in art in the second grade and since then has gained over 20 years of experience. “I had to draw a picture of Charlotte’s Web for my second grade class, and when I was done, my mom framed it,” said Schroer. “My teacher also loved it, so I got to go to the other second grade classroom and show my drawing to them. Everyone started clapping for me and really enjoyed it. I felt like that was my moment to shine and I’ve kept up with art and have loved it ever since.” Throughout his time at Washburn, Schroer did a lot of freelance work, including quilt designs, character designs, creating cartoon designs for The Review, painting an ornament for the White House and so much more. “There are so many good experiences available at Washburn,” said Schroer. “Washburn Graphic courtesy of Chris Lombardo fessions, and even a few lists everyone needs a bit of funny was able to create the opportuabout elevator, ATM and dating in their life. nities for me, and I just maxietiquette. 4. If you can not remem- mized them.” The best part may very ber the last time you picked up Schroer uses his own face well be the easy read and or- a book that wasn’t for class, it to create a lot of his artwork, ganization of a book of lists. may be about time you did. If making his work not only very In a hectic college schedule, you can and it was not “Tastes unique, but it also draws peospending hours on dry material Like Human” you have been ples’ attention. is often the last thing on many missing out. “I’m kind of revealing a students’ minds. After all, the e-book is only little piece of my multifaceted “Lists allow for organiza- $2.99 on Amazon.com, and if personality in my self-portraits tion and even ranking of im- you’re anything like I was when that I think people feel at cerportance,” said Enzo Fustagno, I discovered this book, all of sophomore business major. your friends gathering around So in the spirit of Boivin you to read it, as well, will be and Lombardo: The Top 3 Rea- well worth a few dollars. sons To Read This Book 3. The easy read and nature of the book allows even the busiest of students time and ability to sit down and dive in. Shelby Atadgi is a sophomore 2. Genuine laughter can- psychology major. Reach her not often be found in college at shelby.atadgi@washburn. textbooks of any nature, and edu

Wet Ink

Marsh. Marsh describes Huntsville as being “a town full of engineers that are nervous about fabric.” The Saturn V Rocket is 365 feet tall and is 50 feet taller than the Statue of Liberty. As to date, there are approximately 8,000 pieces of artwork being displayed in 351 cities, 19 countries worldwide and in 49 states in the

U.S. Most of the pieces submitted are about two feet by two feet and are based on a wide variety of themes. Some of those themes include love, peace, community, space, education, science, technology, equality, freedom and community. Any type of media can be used, creating endless possibilities such as with cloth,

yarn, plastic canvas and much more. “Art Education develops self-esteem, appreciation of the work of others, self-expression, cooperation with others, and critical thinking skills,” said Marsh. “All of these skills are vital to the success of our future leaders – our children.” In celebration of National Youth Art Month, some of the artwork created by various artists and groups nationwide and are currently displayed at the Children’s Discovery Museum until the end of March 2012. Some of the local art on display comes from schools such as St. Mary’s and Rossville grade school. Future display locations will include the Mulvane Art Museum on July 1-31, 2012 and the Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site from May 1 to June 30, 2013. For more information about how to get involved in the Dream Rocket Project, feel free to visit www.thedreamrocket.com.

Graphic courtesy of Jennifer Marsh

Michelle Boltz is a junior mass media major. Reach her at michelle.boltz@washburn.edu

Artist uses own face for art

Book of lists easy, amusing read WASHBURN REVIEW

A recent delve into the book “Tastes Like Human: The Shark Guys’ Book of Bitingly Funny Lists” by Noel Boivin and Christopher Lombardo proved to be an entertaining end to a boring week. “Tastes Like Human” is a book of lists, as the title suggests, compromised of topics that one might find oddly interesting, insanely amusing or even practical. The introduction opens the book up to the quirky and almost sarcastic side of the authors with their reasons behind creating this book of lists. For example, Noel Boivin and Chris Lombardo say “they give people who don’t follow the news and aren’t obsessed with people something to talk about - top films featuring fruit in the title…or top celebrities with whom I would readily fornicate if they suddenly took an interest in poor, unknown people who make up fantasy lists in bars.” This book can be seen as the e-print version of television’s World’s Dumbest in many of its lists, including things such as “Top 8 Criminal Prank Calls” or “Top 8 Great Achievements While Sitting Down.” If you’re looking more for laughs, I might suggest taking a look at the section of lists concerning the “Top 15 Reasons Sharks Are Better Than Cats” or perhaps “5 Ways To Spruce Up Your Resting Place.” Speaking of which, have you ever considered giving your gravestone a theme song to be pressed as people walk by it? I, for one, may have something to add to my list thanks to this book. Practicality also appears in “Tastes Like Human” in lists about college degrees and pro-

Photo courtesy of Mack Shroer

Break on Through: Local artist Mack Shroer uses his own face in most of his artwork. He can be found at Bosco’s downtown on Saturday nights drawing portraits. tain points in their life,” said Schroer. “People will see an emotional state in one of my self-portraits that they are maybe going through or have already gone through, and they can really empathize with it.” After graduating Washburn, Schroer did an internship with the Sony company in Seattle and came back and did more freelance work around Topeka. Schroer currently draws portraits on Saturday nights at Bosco’s downtown and has recently started a film production company called Rockhaven Films with a small group of people. The company is a pre-production, production and post-production house, where writing, filming and editing takes place. The company includes a wide variety of services including feature films, still pictures, weddings, music

Check out more news

@

videos and more. Schroer recently had an art showing at SOHO Interiors, located at 3129 SW Huntoon St., on March 2nd, which featured his “The Conquest of the Aztecs: A Series of Watercolor Studies” work. Be sure to stop by SOHO Interiors to check out some of Mack Schroer’s work. More of his work can be accessed online at mschroer.wordpress. com or his animations at www. youtube.com/mylichtenstein. Schroer can also be contacted about Rockhaven Films and his self-portrait artwork is available on facebook at www.facebook. com/mack.schroer. Fatima Oubaid is a freshman mass media major. Reach her at fatima.oubaid@washburn. edu

w a s hb

Shelby Atadgi

nreview. r u

org


Arts & Entertainment • Wednesday, March 14, 2012

A5

Bed race awakens Topeka Shelby Atadgi

WASHBURN REVIEW

On March 17, downtown Topeka will be a sight to see as the fourth annual Great Topeka Bed Race kicks off. Participants will glide down 6th Avenue from SW Van Buren Street to SW Jackson Street in decorated beds. The race begins at 9 a.m. and beds will line up for safety inspections an hour before. The bed race is a St. Patrick’s Day tradition for Housing and Credit Counseling Inc. and many other sponsors including WIBW, Stormont Vail Healthcare, Capital City Bank, FHLBank Topeka and Capitol Federal Savings. Participants donate a $100 to HCCI and one is able to win a variety of prizes for first, second and third places, as well as “Most Creatively Decorated Bed.” Prizes range between $25 to $150, as well as honorary titles and trophies. This race has had an active local audience since it began four years ago and continues to

draw in crowds of people looking for something to do before the St. Patrick’s Day parade. This year, Ralph Hipp, WIBW news anchor, is the honorary race chairman and will be among those hosting this event. “I would really like to watch it at some point,” said

Matt Alexander, undeclared freshman. “It sounds pretty interesting.” All entry fee’s go to HCCI in their goal of helping the people of Topeka with their debts and other financial difficulties. “This race is really about helping build awareness of who we are and what we do,” said Lynn Crabtree, HCCI employee. HCCI has been a part of downtown Topeka since 1972 and is governed by a volunteer board of directors, who search

to counsel and educate people on reaching their goals. Their hope is that the bed race will engage young adults and students in the process of understanding options available for t h e i r student loans. The bed race offers a fun and unique opportunity for locals looking to compete while supporting an important community service. T h e deadline for race entry is tomorrow, March 15. Anybody interested is encouraged to visit www.hcci-ks.org/WEBBEDRACE.pdf for rules and entry forms.

Graphic by Kelsey Wagers, Washburn Review

Shelby Atadgi is a sophomore psychology major. Reach her at shelby.atadgi@washburn. edu

CD features interesting lyrics Kelly Hurla

WASHBURN REVIEW

Entitled “People and Things,” Jack’s Mannequin’s new release discusses just that. Black cats, cold weather, dreams and people running around are all a part of this album. The first song, “My Racing Thoughts” is alright, but does nothing special for me. I do like a few lines in the song: “I’ll need all day tomorrow, to recover from today.” With the second song, I found what I was looking for. This song makes me want to move, the lyrics are relateable and it is a little more upbeat. “Release Me” asks the listener to “release me, take another piece of me, there won‘t be another left unless you let go.” I like music that makes me feel something, and this song certainly does. “Television,” keeps talking about leaving your television on, although it appears to have a deeper meaning. I feel that this relates to a relationship gone wrong, speaking about “maybe we’re a broken record… we’re making sound, but only for the noise.” The fourth track is quicker paced, although it discussed never feeling a certain type of cold before. I like the clever lyrics “waiting but the cold’s got a hold on me, hold on to me.” “Hey Hey Hey (We’re All Gonna Die)” is a surprisingly upbeat tune. The lyrics speak

@

w a s hb

Check out more news v i e ew. r n r u

org

of being a “glass passenger,” although I am not quite sure of the meaning. The sixth track, “People, Running” is about just that. The song states that we are all just people running around. It includes some interesting lines such as “You take your girlfriend to a drug deal, fall in love, and now she wears a diamond ring.” “Amelia Jean,” interested me only because I share the same, terrible, middle name.

Track nine, “Hostage,” is a little different than the previous tracks. The lyrics speak of not holding you hostage but not setting you free either. “Restless Dream,” is a track I enjoyed. It has a sadder tone, but appears to be honest and true. “Guess I’ve missed you from the day that we first met,” is a memorable line. My interpretation of the track is that you will never be a memory, because you’re more like a restless dream. The 11th and final track of the album is entitled “Casting Lines.” Of all the tracks, I feel like this one really brings it home. It has good lyrics, a quicker pace, it’s upbeat, and I actually believe the emotion behind the words. As I said, I enjoy music that makes me feel something. I like lyrics that have a purpose, or that I can relate Graphic courtesy Jack’s Mannequin to. Ultimately, all of these It ended up being my favorite songs have close to the same track on the album. I could sound or vibe to them. If I lisactually feel some emotion tened to the album again, it throughout the song. The lyr- would only be to put on as backics “I’ll write you when I know ground music when I study. Alwhere to begin,” stuck with me. though I think that this may not The lyrics also talk about how be the right fit of music for me, he can still feel her when the it might be just what someone wind dives down. else is looking for. “Tore up like your baby blue jeans, I was stepping through a fog,” starts off the eighth track, “Platform Fire.” Those lines and then the ending “I’m a man on a wire, you’re Kelly Hurla is a junior mass talking me through” were my media major. Reach her at favorite lyrics from this song. kelly.hurla@washburn.edu

Senior uses found material for her art Continued from page 1 imagery being non-objective abstraction.” Hesse goes on to say that if she uses real subject matter, she worries it will limit her explorations. Keeping her personal life out of her work was something Hesse strived for in the beginning. The surprise and anticipation of the art is one of Hesse’s favorite aspects of printmaking. She explains that you never know what you’re going to get when you roll a print through the press. Through her art work and daily life, Hesse goes by the words of her exhibit’s title. “I don’t pull additions,” said Hesse. “Every plate that I make is different than the other,

Photo by Kelly Andrews, Washburn Review

Found Art: Senior artist Kaylee Hesse tries to stay away from using her personal life in her art. Instead she experiments with found treasures. maybe by a zilch or what not, but it’s always gonna be different, and I always like that.”

Kelly Hurla is a junior mass media major. Reach her at kelly.hurla@washburn.edu


5 6 Ichabods, Lady Blues fall short Sports Sports

A6

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Photo by Luke Warnken, Washburn Review

Taking Point: Junior guard Martin Mitchell assesses the defense during the NCAA tournament game against Midwestern State University. Mitchell and company lost but will return the entire team next year.

On the Prowl: Senior guard Stevi Schultz (left) looks for an open teammate during the opening round of the NCAA tournament. Washburn dispatched West Texas A&M University 68-36.

Photo by Jordan Loomis, Washburn Review

Photo by Rob Burkett, Washburn Review

Photo by Luke Warnken, Washburn Review Lose Something Back There?: Junior guard Laura Kinderknecht flashes Looking to Shoot: Junior guard Will McNeill peers through the defense of Northwest Missouri State University during the opening round of the NCAA past an Emporia State defender. Washburn beat ESU in the three previous tournament. Washburn lost the previous two meetings against the Bearcats but were able to come out victorious in the postseason. meetings between the two teams but were unable to win a fourth game.


A7

Sports • Wednesday, March 14, 2012

A year to remember

Michael Vander Linden WASHBURN REVIEW

“A year ago, most people didn’t know this, but I was ready to be done with basketball.” This statement, made by the 2012 All-MIAA Player of the Year Ebonie Williams, might come as a shock to some people. To understand this comment, though, one must go back all the way to the beginning of Ebonie’s life. Williams grew up, not in one place, but several places. After her mother married a Navy guy, Ebonie was forced to move around a lot. She remembers spending several years in Virginia, and down to Florida with her biological father for a couple of years, and back up to the Washington D.C./Maryland area. “Then, my mom got a divorce, and turned my whole life around,” said Williams. “We went from having everything we wanted, to living in my grandmother’s house with nine people.” Reluctantly, she remembered

money being quite a problem for the family. However, she always relied on basketball to get her through. While living with her grandmother, she noted it was kind of a rough area to grow up in. “You don’t really realize all of the bad stuff going on around until you look back,” said Williams. “Then it’s like, ‘Dang, did that really happen?’” However, growing up in this environment made for a stronger Ebonie. With the neighborhood around her being a challenge, Ebonie looked to the game of basketball that sat out in her grandmother’s driveway. She admitted to never being serious about it, but just picking it up for fun. “I definitely didn’t think it was going to lead me to college or anything,” said Williams. “I just had a knack for it.” After wondering which high school she would attend, she met with a coach from Notre Dame Academy in Virginia named Mike Teasley. Teasley, while having a strong résumé

himself, was the brother of a new rookie sensation, the Los Angeles Sparks’ Nikkie Teasley. With both coach and sister working with Ebonie on her game, she was able to help the team to a high school state championship, along with being named as the area’s Player of the Year. “Mike Teasley affected me as a player and a person in life,” said Williams. “I wouldn’t be the person I am today without him.” With such accomplishments in high school, Ebonie chose to go to Seton Hall, where she started her college career off with a bang. She was named to the Big East All Conference Team and the All-Rookie Team. Two other big factors came into Ebonie’s life around this time: music and a boyfriend. “I got this internship at Atlantic Records near the college and met a lot of famous people,” said Williams. “I love all types of music and even wanted to get into the entertainment industry with a business degree.”

Her boyfriend, Kansas State guard Jamar Samuels, made a major impact on her. She noted that he was the one that was there from the beginning, helping her through good times and bad. And a few bad times she had recently. After last season, Ebonie questioned whether she wanted to continue her career in basketball. However, after making the decision to come back for a senior year, she admitted she had no regrets. “This year has been such a relief and has been so refreshing,” said Williams. “I can only thank God for that.” The biggest accomplishment for Ebonie this year comes not from her accolades or the victories on the court, but from her family. “As long as my family is happy with what I’m doing, then nothing else matters to me,” said Williams. Michael Vander Linden is a freshman biology major. Reach him at michael. vanderlinden@washburn.edu

Photo by Jordan Loomis, Washburn Review


A8

Sports • Wednesday, March 14, 2012

WU handles WTAMU Rob Burkett

WASHBURN REVIEW

Upset special was not on the menu Friday night as Washburn tussled with West Texas A&M University in the first round of the NCAA playoffs. The Lady Blues, having just come off a successful weekend with a MIAA tournament title, looked to continue their roll. Roll they did, but in a more unconventional way. Showing the ability to turn to many different facets of their game, junior forward Dana Elliot turned up the heat in Lee Arena. Shooting 5-for-9 in the first half, including 2-for-3 from beyond the three point line, Elliot was the benefactor of some lucky bounces. “I wouldn’t say I exploded,” said Elliot. “The ball was just coming off the goal toward me so a lot of my points were from putbacks.” Elliot finished the game shooting 7-for-12 from the floor, scoring 18 points to lead the team. While Elliot gave the team the offensive punch the Lady Blues were looking for, the Lady Buffs didn’t give up so easily. With scrappy play from senior forward Ashley Leven, WTAMU trailed by just three points with just over five minutes left to go in the game. A change in defense by the Lady Buffs however would be just what Washburn head coach Ron McHenry was looking for. “We had seen them run the 2-3 zone on the film we had on them,” said McHenry. “I don’t want to say we were playing

tight but as soon as we saw that zone we were like, ‘oh, we’ve seen this, we know how to attack this’ so it just worked out real well for us.” Indeed it did work out as Washburn took advantage of the strategy change, knocking down three points from four different players, reeling off a 12-1 run to end the half. The second half, the Lady Blues opened up a shock and awe campaign of their own, going on a 10-2 run to open the half, including scoring the first eight points of the half. “Give them credit,” said West Texas A&M Head Coach Krista Gerlich. “We pride ourselves on playing the first and last three minutes of halves strong but they came out and played really strong to start the half.” While Elliot might have been the catalyst for Washburn in the first half, senior center Cassie Lombardino and senior forward Stevi Schultz came on strong in the second half. “In the second half they were pressing with their zone,” said McHenry. “We did a lot more over the top to our bigs inside to get us some quick points.” With the lead up to a 20 point just three minutes into the second period, Washburn never looked back. At points throughout the half the Lady Blues opened up leads as large as 32 before the final horn sounded. Washburn won 68-36. Rob Burkett is a senior mass media major. Reach him at robert.burkett@washburn.edu.

Bods tame Bearcats in NCAA tourney Luke Warnken

or three multiple times in the second half but the Bods kept strong behind an unbelievable Will McNeil performance. The Third time is the charm. 6-foot-1 junior guard did his On neutral soil the Washburn best post impression. McNeill Ichabods were finally able to spent most of the second period get over the hump and defeat posting up around the elbow the Northwest Missouri State or baseline and taking the ball University Bearcats. hard to the hole. “We couldn’t let them beat “I feel like my team needs us three times,” said Wash- me at all times,” said McNeill. burn Head Coach Bob ChipThe Bearcats were unable man. “Our guys wouldn’t allow to contain or even guard Mcthat.” Neill without fouling him. McThe No. 4 seeded Bods got Neill managed to foul out two off to a sluggish start against NWMSU guards and got to the the No. 5 seeded Bearcats in charity stripe eleven times, hitthe first round of the Division II ting ten of them. tournament. NWMSU jumped Ulsaker followed suit, out to an early 10-1 lead four managing to get to the line and a half minutes into the eleven times. The former Mr. game. Washburn was able to Basketball of Kansas struggled gradually work their way back to sink the freebies only making into the game. six of eleven, but in the closing The Ichabods kept battling minutes Ulsaker made two free as freshman forward Christian throws as Washburn ran away Ulsaker provided a boost off with a 69-60 win. of the bench. Ulsaker knocked Ulsaker finished with 14 down two free throws and fol- points as the Ichabods’ bench lowed them up with scored a considNCAA a big three. erable chunk of “I heard the TOURNAMENT Washburn’s bench. Northwest coach Junior guard Marsay to put No. 51 on me, and I tin Mitchell did not start for the though that was an insult,” said Bods because he accidentally Ulsaker. over slept but was instrumental The 6-foot-5 McPherson, in the win. Mitchell began the Kan. product proved he had second half strong sparking the range hitting both of his three- Bods on his way to scoring 14. point attempts on the night. McNeill had a game high for “It was a make or break Washburn scoring 20 points time for me,” said Ulsaker. “If against the Bearcats. I make it I get to play more, but “I just want to congratuI I miss it I’m going to be on late Northwest. They’re a great the bench. team and they’ve had a great Ulsaker’s three brought year,” said Chipman. the Bods to a one point deficit Washburn will have their at the 2:53 mark in the first pe- hands full against No. 1 seeded riod. Washburn failed to score Midwestern State University in the rest of the half, trailing 32- the second round of the South 28 at half. Central Regional. The athletic Statistically speaking both Mustangs like to get out and run teams played pretty even in the and play in your face defense. first half. The Bearcats shot a The win against NWMSU higher percentage than the Bods was Washburn’s seven in a row and claimed one more rebound and the Bods look to continue than their counterparts. the magical run. Washburn was not dis“It’s a one-game season,” heartened with their first half said McNeil. “We have to come play. out hard and can’t have a slow Junior forward Bobby start like today.” Chipman hit a big trey to start off the half. Sophomore guard Alex North a couple of minutes later hit a jump shot to give the Bods their first lead 36-35. Washburn wouldn’t relinquish their lead for the rest of the Luke Warnken is a sophomore game. history education major. Reach Northwest threatened, him at luke.warnken@washcutting the lead down to two burn.edu. WASHBURN REVIEW

NCAA Tournament Roundup Men’s games East Region

First Round No. 1 Franklin Pierce 59, No. 8 Philadelphia 58 No. 5 Bloomfield 91, No. 4 Mass.-Lowell 83 No. 3 Adelphi 66, No. 6 C.W. Post 65 No. 2 Stonehill 65, No. 7 District of Columbia 61 Second Round No. 5 Bloomfield 69, No. 1 Franklin Pierce 60 No. 2 Stonehill 68, No. 3 Adelphi 58 Third Round No. 2 Stonehill 75, No. 5 Bloomfield 70

Atlantic Region

First Round No. 1West Liberty 119, No. 8 East Stroudsburg 82 No. 4 West Virginia Wesleyan 57, No. 5 Winston-Salem 54 No. 6 Wheeling Jesuit 79, No. 3 Charleston (W.V.) 76 No. 2 Shaw 62, No. 7 Indiana (Pa.) 54 Second Round No. 1West Liberty 99, No. 4 West Virginia Wesleyan 69 No. 2 Shaw 92, No. 6 Wheeling Jesuit 68 Third Round No. 1 West Liberty 89, No. 2 Shaw 78

South Central Region

First Round No. 1 Midwestern State 62, No. 8 St. Mary’s (Texas) 54 No. 4 Washburn 69, No. 5 Northwest Missouri State 60 No. 3 Arkansas Tech 79, No. 6 West Texas A&M 68 No. 2 Tarleton State 69, No. 7 Missouri Southern 52 Second Round No. 1 Midwestern State 72, No. 4 Washburn 63 No. 3 Arkansas Tech 64, No. 2 Tarleton State 63 Third Round No. 1 Midwestern State 77, No. 3 Arkansas Tech 61

West Region

First Round No. 1 Western Washington 79, No. 8 Grand Canyon 73 No. 5 Cal State Chico 75, No. 4 Humboldt State 68 No. 3 Seattle Pacific 70, No. 6 Dixie State 68 No. 2 Alaska-Anchorage 80, No. 7 Montana St. Billings 68 Second Round No. 1 Western Washington 74, No. 5 Cal State Chico 65 No. 3 Seattle Pacific 80, No. 2 Alaska-Anchorage 67 Third Round No. 1 Western Washington 56, No. 3 Seattle Pacific 50

South Region

First Round No. 1 Alabama-Huntsville 69, No. 8 Benedict 61 No. 4 Florida Tech 61, No. 5 Saint Leo 56 No. 6 Eckerd 60, No. 3 West Georgia 53 No. 2 Christian Brothers 85, No. 7 Florida Southern 74 Second Round No. 1 Alabama-Huntsville 82, No. 4 Florida Tech 71 No. 2 Christian Brothers 60, No. 6 Eckerd 6 Third Round No. 1 Alabama-Huntsville 68, No. 2 Christian Brothers 59

Midwest Region

First Round No. 1 Bellarmine 66, No. 8 Lewis 57 No. 5 Findlay 50, No. 4 Northern Kentucky 49 No. 6 Indianapolis 66, No. 3 Hillsdale 62 No. 7 Kentucky Wesleyan 64, No. 2 Southern Indiana 58 Second Round No. 1 Bellarmine 86, No. 5 Findlay 63 No. 7 Kentucky Wesleyan 91, No. 6 Indianapolis 77 Third Round No. 1 Bellarmine 79, No. 7 Kentucky Wesleyan 74

Central Region

First Round No. 1 Colorado School of Mines 82, No. 8 Augustana 69 No. 5 Minnesota State Moorhead 82, No. 4 S.W. Minn. St. 66 No. 6 St. Cloud State 77, No. 3 Bemidji State 72 No. 2 Metro State 79, No. 7 Adams State 74 Second Round No. 1 Colorado Mines 80, No. 6 Minn. St. Moorhead 60 No. 2 Metro State 76, No. 6 St. Cloud State 64 Third Round No. 2 Metro State 73, No. 1 Colorado School of Mines 64

South East Region

First Round No. 1 Montevallo 96, No. 8 Barton 87 No. 4 Lincoln Memorial 67, No. 5 King (Tenn.) 60 No. 3 Anderson (S.C.) 77, No. 6 Columbus State 64 No. 7 Wingate 73, No. 2 S.C. Aiken 70 Second Round No. 1 Montevallo 61, No. 4 Lincoln Memorial 60 No. 3 Anderson (S.C.) 71, No. 7 Wingate 63 Third Round No.1 Montevallo 86, No. 3 Anderson (S.C.) 73

Quarterfinals

March 21 Highland Heights, Ky. No. 2 Stonehill vs. No. 1 West Liberty, TBA No. 1 Midwestern State vs. No. 1 Western Washington, TBA No. 1 Alabama-Huntsville vs. No. 1 Bellarmine, TBA No. 2 Metro State vs. No. 1 Montevallo, TBA

Semifinals

March 22 Highland Heights, Ky. Stonehill/W. Liberty winner vs. MSU/WWU winner, TBA UAH/Bellarmine winner vs. Montevallo/Metro winner, TBA

National Championship

March 24 Highland Heights, Ky. Semifinals winners, 1 p.m.

Women’s games Central Region

First Round No. 1 Wayne State 78, No. 8 Minnesota State Mankato 74 No. 4 Augustana 82, No. 5 Colorado-State Pueblo 76 No. 3 Fort Lewis 69, No. 6 Mary 58 No. 2 Metro State 58, No. 7 Minnesota-Duluth 47 Second Round No. 1 Wayne State 63. No. 4 Augustana 40 No. 2 Metro State 60, No. 3 Fort Lewis 42 Third Round No. 1 Wayne State 50, No. 2 Metro State 36

East Region

First Round No. 1 Bentley 77, No. 8 District of Columbia 58 No. 5 Franklin Pierce 78, No. 4 Pace 68 No. 6 Holy Family 71, No. 3 Dowling 64 No. 2 Southern Connecticut State 58, No. 7 C.W. Post 57 Second Round No. 1 Bentley 54, No. 5 Franklin Pierce 52 No. 6 Holy Family 71, No. 2 Southern Connecticut State 61 Third Round No. 1 Bentley 84, No. 6 Holy Family 73

West Region

First Round No. 1 UC San Diego 84, No. 8 Cal State Chico 66 No. 4 Western Washington 65, No. 5 Cal St. Monterey Bay 58 No. 3 Grand Canyon 49, No. 6 Cal Poly Pomona 48 No. 2 Alaska Anchorage 65, No. 7 Cal State L.A. 56 Second Round No. 1 UC San Diego 81, No. 4 Western Washington 66 No. 2 Alaska-Anchorage 77, No. 3 Grand Canyon 58 Third Round No. 2 Alaska-Anchorage 68, No. 1 UC San Diego 63

Midwest Region

First Round No. 1 Ashland 87, No. 8 Maryville (Mo.) 62 No. 5 Quincy 75, No. 4 Northern Kentucky 65 No. 3 Wisconsin-Parkside 73, No. 6 Indianapolis 66 No. 2 Ferris 74, No. 7 Drury 56 Second Round No. 1 Ashland 71, No. 5 Quincy 69 No. 3 Wisconsin-Parkside 71, No. 2 Ferris 57 Third Round No. 1 Ashland 78, No. 3 Wisconsin-Parkside 65

South Region

First Round No. 1 Rollins 71, No. 8 Western Alabama 44 No. 5 Delta State 86, No. 4 Alabama-Huntsville 47 No. 6 Valdosta State 59, No. 3 Fort Valley State 47 No. 2 Florida Southern 68, No. 7 Florida Tech 52 Second Round No. 1 Rollins 69, No. 5 Delta State 59 No. 6 Valdosta State 67, No. 2 Florida Southern 63 Third Round No. 1 Rollins 56, No. 6 Valdosta State 54

South East Region

First Round No. 1 S.C. Aiken 71, No. 8 Catawba 69 No. 4 Lander 77, No. 5 Limestone 68 No. 3 Wingate 64, No. 6 Barton 59 No. 2 Clayton State 51, No. 7 Tusculum 26 Second Round No. 4 Lander 61, No. 1 S.C. Aiken 55 No. 3 Wingate 64, No. 2 Clayton State 63 Third Round No. 4 Lander 72, No. 3 Wingate 67

Atlantic Region

First Round No. 1 Edinboro 69, No. 8 West Chester 65 No. 5 Indiana (Pa.) 77, No. 4 Bloomsburg 76 No. 6 Gannon 61, No. 3 Johnson C. Smith 50 No. 2 Shaw 92, No. 7 West Virginia Wesleyan 78 Second Round No. 1 Edinboro 70, No. 5 Indiana (Pa.) 56 No. 2 Shaw 64, No. 6 Gannon 58 Third Round No. 2 Shaw 70, No. 1 Edinboro 53

South Central Region

First Round No. 1 Washburn 68, No. 8 West Texas A&M 36 No. 5 Emporia State 64, No. 4 Tarleton 56 No. 3 Pittsburg State 74, No. 6 Central Missouri 70 No. 2 Northeastern State 53, No. 7 Newman 45 Second Round No. 5 Emporia State 71, No. 1 Washburn 65 No. 2 Pittsburg State 68, No. 2 Northeastern State 54 Third Round No. 3 Pittsburg State 79, No. 5 Emporia State 67

Quarterfinals

March 20 San Antonio No. 1 Wayne State vs. No. 1 Bentley, 1 p.m. No. 2 Alaska-Anchorage vs. No. 1 Ashland, 3:30 p.m. No. 2 Shaw vs. No. 3 Pittsburg State 7 p.m. No. 1 Rollins vs. No. 4 Lander, 9:30 p.m.

Semifinals

March 21 San Antonio WSU/Bent. winner vs. Alaska/Ashland winner, 7 p.m. Rollins/Lander winner vs. Shaw/Pitt St. winner, 9:30 p.m.

National Championship

March 23 San Antonio Semifinals winners, 8 p.m.


A9

Sports • Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Bods drop heart-breaker in second round, 72-63 Continued from page 8

After only coughing up the ball three times Saturday night, Washburn turned it over seven times in the first half against MSU. “They take a lot of pride in playing hard,” said Chipman. “Their defense and their crowd I thought had us out of pace most of the night.” The Bods still managed to shoot 48 percent from the field and hung with the taller Mustangs on the boards in the first period. Sophomore guard Jeff Reid tied the game up at 34 two minutes into the second half. Reid finished with five points, but spent much of the night on the bench in foul trouble. Despite having one of their best perimeter shooters sitting on the sidelines, Washburn still shot 44 percent from behind the arc in the second half. Washburn was able to cut the lead down to one at the 6:07 mark as junior guard Will McNeill

hit 1-2 from the free throw line. en, but a crucial 14 of their 36 McNeill, who has made a living rebounds came on the offenfrom the charity stripe this year, sive end. Those rebounds lead only attempted two the entire to 36 points in the paint and 14 game. The Mustangs constantly second chance opportunities, changed defenders, bodying the defining stats of the game. McNeill at all times. MSU also got to the line 29 “It’s frustrating. It’s a times compared to Washburn’s physical 10. game,” said “ W i t h McNeill. “I I wouldn’t trade them their backs wasn’t comagainst the for anybody. I love ing in expectwall, big man them all. ing them to Bobby Chipgive me any man nailed a calls.” trey to bring The offi- Bob Chipman the Ichabods cials kept the WU head basketball coach back within game tight in four with the first half, ” 3:02 left in but seemed to the game. let things get T h e a little more chippy in the sec- Mustangs answered with an ond half. MSU used it to their alley-oop dunk that silenced a advantage, wreaking havoc on Washburn comeback. Washthe boards. burn was unable to body up the “They go after the boards,” MSU big men who constantly said Chipman. “They really are got tip ins, offensive rebounds tenacious.” and won the jump balls. The Mustangs only won “They got more loose balls the battle of the boards by sev- than we did,” said McNeill.

The Bods were just not able to get the loose ball or hit the big shot when they needed it most in the second half as they succumbed to the hometown favorites 72-63. “We turned it over 14 times, more than we normally do,” said Bob Chipman. “We definitely got a lot of great offensive looks,” said McNeill. “Just wish we would have gotten it inside more.” The MIAA tournament champions and regular season co-champions have no reason to hang their heads. Washburn finished with a stunning 25-8 record and return everybody next year. “I wouldn’t trade them for anybody,” said Bob Chipman. “I love them all.”

Luke Warnken is a sophomore history education and physical training major. Reach him at luke.warnken@washburn.edu.

Photo by Luke Warnken, Washburn Review

Pulling the Trigger: Freshman guard Kyle Wiggins prepares to unleash a shot during the second round game against Midwestern State University. Washburn lost against MSU, 72-63.

Chipman has solid junior year

Photo by Alex Voskoboyev, Washburn Review

Here Comes The Pitch: Freshman pitcher Mark Biesma winds up to deliver a pitch during practice. The Ichabods finished the first series of the MIAA conference schedule against Pittsburg State 1-3.

Bods go 1-3 against PSU Michael Vander Linden WASHBURN REVIEW

Washburn took to the road to open up their conference schedule at Pittsburg State this past weekend. While things did not go exactly as they wanted, there were many positives to come out of each game. Game one started well for the Ichabods as they were able to score two early runs in the first inning. A home run in the fourth inning by John Calhoun put the Bods up 3-0, but one run by the Gorillas in the fourth and three in the sixth put Washburn down a run going into the last inning. Singles by Richard Swan and Marcus Peavler gave them a chance to at least tie it, but the next two batters were retired to finish the game 3-4 in favor of the Gorillas. Game two saw a back and forth battle between the teams on the scoreboard. After building a four run lead in the second inning, spotlighted by a double by Josh Wilder, Pitt responded with six on their own in the third inning. The Bods did not back off as they put three more up in the fifth inning but a pair in the sixth and seventh by the Gorillas put the game away as Washburn lost 8-11.

After a rain delay moved the double header from Sunday to Monday, the Bods seemed to build up their hitting magic as they erupted for 23 runs through both games. Game 1 truly turned out to be a massacre as Washburn started the game with a 12-0 run through the first three innings. Although Pitt earned one in the fourth, the Bods added five more through the last three innings to win the game 17-1. This game was highlighted by the six homeruns by the Ichabods. This tied a school record that went all the way back to when stats were first being recorded in a single game, 1999. The second game seemed it would go just as well as the Ichabods jumped out to a 3-0 lead in three innings. However, the next three at bats for Pitt did them well as they put five runs on the board. A double and a homerun by the Bods gave them the lead once again, but the Gorillas tied it in the bottom of the ninth to send it to extra innings. After a back and forth offensive struggle, Pitt finally scored one in the 12th inning to finish it 7-6. Michael Vander Linden is a freshman biology major. Reach him at michael.vanderlinden@ washburn.edu.

File photo, Washburn Review

Man In the Middle: Junior forward Bobby Chipman skys for a block against Fort Hays State University earlier this season. The forward helped lead Washburn to an MIAA title this season. Bobby Chipman is the son of Washburn basketball Head Coach Bob Chipman.

Michael Vander Linden WASHBURN REVIEW

As one would go in to a basketball gym looking for a Chipman, some might be surprised to find two men standing in front of them: Head Coach Bob Chipman and starting forward and son, Bobby Chipman. With a dad as a head coach, one might think a lot of pressure is on young Bobby to succeed. He admits, there are more than average, but notes that there is a difference between Coach Chipman and dad. However, to understand Bobby now, one must look at his life growing up. As young Chipman grew up, he always remembered being at a gym. Most might assume basketball was involved, but they would be surprised to hear Bobby talking about volleyball. “My sister was an amazing volleyball player,” said Chipman. “I remember going and watching all of her high school games, then even going to K-State to watch her college games.” On the contrary, Bobby did spend quite a bit of his time in the gym shooting hoops, as well. He always remembered

being with the Washburn team, on a major winning streak his traveling with them, eating Senior year and knocking off team meals, sitting on the end the number one teams in the of the bench, and just hanging state, Hayden and Highland out with them. Park, who both were on nearly “Basketball was a big part 40 game winning streaks. of me growing up,” said ChipNot only was Bobby sucman. “Other than school, bas- cessful on the court, but he ketball was really it.” maintained strong academic Bobby started learning standards. After maintaining the game of basketball at a a 4.0 GPA all through high very early age, and after learn- school, he was accepted into ing, never wanted to leave the the National Honor Society. gym. He remembers going to This was a big accomplishment his dad’s camps at ages 4 or 5 for him. and developed a lot earlier than Another important stage most kids did. for any senior is choosing what Life took a negative flip for college to attend. After visitBobby growing up. Most re- ing several different colleges member that awkand hearing several ward phase through scholarship invitaPLAYER middle school and tions, Bobby realFEATURE maybe high school; ized something. Bobby looks back at this phase “Ultimately, I knew I was not so fondly. going to go to Washburn and “Everyone else was getting play for my dad,” said Chipbigger, stronger taller, and I was man. 5’8 140 pounds as a freshman,” College life did not change said Chipman. “Let’s just say it a whole lot for Bobby as he was a goofy stage of my life.” maintained focus on two prioriBut eventually, Bobby ties, basketball and academics. grew out of this stage and His academic life has concaught up with everyone else. sisted of receiving several acaHe got onto an AAU team the demic scholarships, including summer before Senior year and a MARCO business leadership says this is where he really de- scholarship. As assumed, leadveloped his game. ership is a big deal to Bobby Bobby, playing at Wash- and he is deeply involved in the burn Rural remembers going Leadership Institute.

Sunflower PROMPT

CARE

One factor that has taken up young Chipman’s attention has been his relationship with girlfriend Caysie Beetley. With the many dates and hang out sessions he spends with her, he realizes that other than studying, she is where most of his time is spent. On the court, Bobby has enjoyed a very successful junior year of college. Of course the MIAA championship the Ichabods won became the highlight of the year, Bobby remembers the beginning of the season. “We’re all young, with zero seniors on the team,” said Chipman. “But we knew this year could be a big year for us and vowed to each other that we would win the championship this year; somehow we pulled it off.” With the accomplishments of his junior year being so high, one can only put next year’s team in even higher regards. Bobby is looking forward to finishing his senior year with Washburn and his dad and making it a year he’ll never forget.

Michael Vander Linden is a freshman biology major. Reach him at michael.vanderlinden@ washburn.edu.

Do you miss your TLC?

Dr. Iris Gonzalez is now taking appointments at Sunflower Primary Care. 3405 NW Hunters Ridge Terrace Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66618 Phone 785-246-3733


A10

Sports • Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Blues lose in second round

Photos by Rob Burkett, Washburn Review

On The Move: Senior guard Ebonie Williams drives toward the lane against Emporia State. Williams missed a game winning shot opportunity with less than 24 seconds in Washburn’s loss in the NCAA tourney

Rob Burkett

Washburn Review Having won in emphatic fashion on Friday, the Washburn Lady Blues looked to go for the four-peat against second round opponent and “Turnpike Tussle” foe Emporia State University. However, this turned out to be easier said than done as Emporia State took the court with what Washburn head coach Ron McHenry described as loose play. “I didn’t think playing four times was the big difference,” said McHenry. “But sometimes when you’re not expecting to win, and you’ve been beat three times, what do you have to lose? I thought that was really what their mentality tonight was. They just weren’t fearful to lose. It can work both ways. We had pressure of being the No. 1 seed and hosting, where they were pretty loose and ready to play.” In the first half, the Lady Blues came out on fire. With Photo by Rob Burkett, Washburn Review explosive shooting and crashShot Denied: Senior guard Stevi Schultz gets blocked while attempting ing the boards in the first eight to shoot over Emporia State forward Sarah Wood. Schultz was named a minutes of the game, Washburn member of the all Southcentral regional team. built a 15-5 lead. This lead however didn’t phase ESU. “We fought back in this teams fought, the momentum year against Washburn when game,” said Emporia State head began to swing toward ESU. At it counted most, 71-65. Aftercoach Jory Collins. “Washburn the 15-minute mark, the Lady wards McHenry gave credit to is so aggressive on defense that Hornets opened up an 11-point ESU. if you pass on a look, you might lead on a 9-0 run. The lead “We just didn’t seem not get another one the rest of would continue to balloon to look like ourselves all night,” the possession. I thought we as much as 13 points before the McHenry said. “(The Hornets) had players tonight that took Lady Blues cut the lead down came out with a purpose and the first open shot.” to just two points with less than used the on-ball set, I bet 60 In particular ESU guard 30 seconds left in the game. or 70 percent of their sets were Jocelyn Cummings let the game Playing pressure defense, that play.” come to her as she went 3-for- Washburn was able to force a Washburn ended the sea4 from the floor in turnover getting a son 29-5 on the year. The Lady NCAA the first half and 10steal from senior Blues won the regular season TOURNAMENT for-14 to finish the guard Stevi Schultz. and MIAA conference postgame with 27 points. Many of The ball would quickly find its season tournament as well. the points came off of plays de- way into the hands of senior Emporia State moved on to signed to attack the rim. Some- guard Ebonie Williams. Shoot- play Pittsburg State University thing that Cummings took ad- ing from the corner with just 24 in the South Central regional vantage of all night. seconds left to go in the game, championship game, where the “I just thought it could’ve Williams’ potentially game- Lady Gorillas won 79-67. been the last game for our se- winning shot went off target. niors and I didn’t want that to ESU would hit four free throws happen,” said Cummings. “I as Washburn fouled to try and just kept taking it to the hole.” stay in the game. When the Rob Burkett is a senior mass At the half, Washburn clock hit zero, Emporia State media major. Reach him at trailed just three points. As both earned their first win of the robert.burkett@washburn.edu.

Photo by Jordan Loomis, Washburn Review

Tough As Nails: Junior forward Dana Elliott looks to drive downcourt against West Texas A&M in the first round of the NCAA playoffs. Elliott contemplated playing softball at Washburn before settling on basketball.

Elliott brings toughness to court Luke Warnken

The swagger Elliott carried was not necessarily a bad thing. Washburn Review Head coach Ron McHenry was Back when Eddie Sutton aware of his junior forward’s was the head men’s basketball cockiness but saw it as a posicoach at Oklahoma State, he tive, not a negative. would have his players practice “She was a winner and in football pads. The idea was a really good athlete,” said to make them physically and McHenry. “Always had a little mentally tough as well as learn savviness to her.” how to take a charge. A more mature Elliott saw Washburn University’s much more action her sophofootball coaches might need to more year, playing in 28 games. look on the basketball court for In her junior year, she contintheir next star ued to step up “ recruit. and became a I’m not really the And no integral part best player out there, she is not on of the team. the men’s bas- but I’ll push people Elliott started ketball team. around. I’m the person 12 games in “I actu- who will make you her junior ally played campaign, tight end mad on defense. averaging 3.9 when I was in - Dana Elliott rebounds per junior high,” Washburn junior forward game. It’s the said Washthings ” little burn junior that Elliott forward Dana does that Elliott. “I made a couple of make her a good player. touchdowns.” “She’s a physical kid. She Don’t be deceived by the doesn’t mind hitting you hard slender 5-foot-11 frame, the on screens,” said McHenry. Wamego, Kan. standout loves Junior forward Sierra to punish players on the court. Moeller went down with a hand “I’m not really the best injury during the first game of player out there, but I’ll push the MIAA conference tournapeople around,” says Elliott. ment. Elliott stepped in and “I’m the person who will make took her spot as the starter and you mad on defense.” fared well, scoring seven points Elliott was a gifted athlete and pulled down seven boards in volleyball, basketball and against Central Missouri in her softball in high school. Her first first start since November. love was actually softball, not “It’s different because at basketball. The former short the start of the game you have stop participated on the United to have the energy right away,” States junior softball team trav- says Elliott. “I get a lot more eling to play in Holland and tired starting than I did coming Italy. off the bench.” Elliott intended to play Her defining moment of the both basketball and softball at MIAA tournament came behind Washburn, but there was just to the arc, something unfamiliar much on her plate. for the former high school post. As a result, she decided Up by one with 1:37 left in the to stick with basketball. El- game against UCM, Elliott sank liott played limited minutes her a big time three to give Washfreshman year, playing in 15 burn the momentum. The Lady games as a forward and scored Blues went on to defeat UCM nine points on the year. and eventually Emporia State ���I had a big head as a fresh- in the championship game. man,” says Elliott. “She’s gotten more com-

Comfort, Style and Convenience

1425 SW Lane 785-232-5555

Apartments at New Lower Prices!

The Lofts @ College Hill

Luke Warnken is a sophomore history education and physical training major. Reach him at luke.warnken@washburn.edu.

@wureviewsports

1 BR start @ $640 2 BR start @ $750 3 BR start @ $950 4 BR start @ $1040 Townhomes start @ $1070 Ask about our by-the-bedroom specials, starting at $355!

Taco Villa Monday-Thursday 11 a.m.- 9 p.m.

Friday & Saturday 11 a.m.- 10 p.m. Sunday 11:30 a.m.- 7 p.m.

21st & Fairlawn in the TOY STORE building

fortable this year,” said McHenry. “She’s a lot more confident in herself.” Elliott and the Lady Blues saw their season come to an end in the second round of the Division II tournament to the pesky Lady Hornets of Emporia State. In her final game as a junior Elliott shot 2-for-7 with seven points. She had a a team high seven rebounds. Elliott still has another year of eligibility. The grind it out punisher on the court has a much softer side off the court. She may cause bruises to her opponents but soon it will be her job to heal. “I knew I wanted to go to nursing school,” says Elliott. “My mom actually graduated from Washburn and I wanted to stay close to home.” The nursing major keeps busy with school and basketball but does manage to watch a movie or two here and there. “I like a plethora of movies,” says Elliott. It does not matter if it is an action movie, comedy, drama, or even a sappy love movie, Elliott loves them all. Simply put, she just loves to have fun. After her senior year at Washburn, Elliott would like to move to Colorado with good friend and teammate senior center Cassie Lombardino. “We really liked Colorado when we went there,” said Elliott. “I want to be a mountain woman.” The mountains will have to wait one more year. The Washburn punisher has some unsettled business to finish her senior season as the Lady Blues look to reload and go after another MIAA title and possibly a Division II National Championship.

785-272-8030

Follow our Twitter account to get updates about Washburn sports!


2011-12 issue22