Issuu on Google+

the review washburn university

The Lady Blues softball team was swept by Emporia State in the recent edition of the Turnpike Tussle A7

Serving Washburn University since 1873

WWW.WASHBURNREVIEW.ORG • (785) 670-2506 • 1700 S.W. College • topeka, kan. 66621

volume 137, Issue 24 • wednesday, APRIL 6, 2011

McLeland looks to strike down WU funds

U W

final budgetary process and that money would be reinstated to Washburn,” said Storey. Storey feels that the senate will be much more objective in determining Washburn’s fate. “I think cooler heads and smarter minds will prevail in the end,” said Storey. Kansas senator, Garrett Love agrees that the senate will not allow the cut to Washburn’s funding, and is confident that the senate will support Washburn and restore Washburn’s funding to where it was last year. “The house’s budget has the Washburn cut in there, but the senate has Washburn funded at the level it was funded at this past year. At this point I feel cautiously confident that the funding will remain where it previously was,” said Love. Love has an interest in this bill not only as a Kansas senator, but also as a Washburn graduate and former president of the Washburn Student Government Association. Love believes with Washburn University, the state receives a relatively high return per dollar spent when comparing the number of student graduates alongside the amount spent by the state on the university, and that Washburn has been a good investment for the state in general. He does not personally support the proposal to cut Washburn’s funding, and feels that making such a drastic cut to one university would not be a wise decision. “I am not a supporter of that decision, and don’t find it to be good policy,” said Love. “With the fiscal situation we are in, if we decided to cut higher education across the board as for a much smaller percentage, that would make more sense, but the way it would be, Washburn would lose 50 percent of it’s funding with the rest of higher education held harmless, and that doesn’t make a lot of sense to me.” Love said that none of the representatives t h a t support the Graphic by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review cut have given any sort of we’re a great deal as explanation as to why the cuts would far as money for tu- be good for the state of Kansas, and ition, but if we had to that has been part of the frustration inlay people off, dou- volved in his opposition to the bill. Love encouraged students to adble classes up, and cut some of our classes, vocate for Washburn through the upthen the integrity of coming challenges, and in the future. “Stay connected and involved,” the university is lost, and the students do not said Love. “A lot of decisions being made are affecting a lot of folks in a lot get what they pay for.” The senate will not of ways, and for young people, myself approve this bill accord- included, it’s going to be affecting us ing to Storey. He assured for the rest of our lives. This goes far the students that the he beyond definitively involving Washhas spoken with Kan- burn, but what’s going on matters, and sas senators, and is confident that they for college students, it’s important to will support Washburn on this matter. be involved.” Storey is certain in the end Washburn’s state funding will be restored. “They understand what the problem is, and they understand how this happened, and I’m convinced in my own mind that that would be input- Matt Kelly is a junior mass media major. ting into the complete budgetary and Reach him at matt.kelly@washburn.edu Storey has fought attempts to raise Washburn’s tuition in the past. Although last year he did give in to a vote for a Washburn tuition increase, he has always tried to “hold tuition down.” Storey said that in losing half of its state funding, Washburn would have few reasonable solutions that would allow it to maintain its reputation as a relatively affordable school with a highly competitive class structure. “If you raise tuition to a certain point, then we aren’t as good a deal as we are now. Right n o w

W

WU

WU

U W

U

W

U W

U

W

U

WU Hays, or Pitt State, as far as the regional schools, the primary reason for that is that we have a local funding base,” said Anderson. Bob Storey, member of the Washburn University Board of Regents agrees that Washburn is a good use of state dollars, and good for Kansas in general. The expense for the state per student is relatively small, and since most Washburn students remain in Kansas after college, in a way the state is investing in itself. “The amount the state gives us; they’re getting a good deal,” said Storey. They’re getting people coming into the state of Kansas, and their getting people educated from the state of Kansas at Washburn University at a very small cost.”

Wa s h burn because it receives state funding without being governed by the Kansas Board of Regents. This means that McLeland can propose cuts to Washburn without effecting Wichita State University. “It’s happened before, particularly from Wichita legislators,” said Storey. “The Wichita legislator that did this had their airport funding cut. That’s kind of a personal matter. Now that Wichita State is in the Board of Regents system, they don’t anymore have the concern about state aid that Washburn does. This individual had done this before. He tried to cut funds out of Washburn before because Wichita had lost some money.”

Annie’s Place delivers quality food and is notorious for their homemade pies

a&e

The Topeka Community Cycle Project continues to grow and help Topeka citizens

A3

Storey said the repercussions would be “complete chaos” if the bill is passed. Washburn would be forced to consider laying employees off, furloughing employees, and raising tuition to make up the $5.5 million denied by the state It was Rep. Joe McLeland, R-94th district who initially proposed the cut to Washburn’s state funding. Storey, like many others, believes that McLeland did so as retaliation to a bill which cut funding to Wichita airports, and h a s targeted

WU

news & opinion

Washburn Board of Regents members, Kansas senators, university president and vice presidents alike are all baffled by the recent proposal to cut Washburn University’s state funding by 50 percent. The Kansas House of Representatives passed a budget involving a $5.5 million cut to Washburn funding last T h u r s d a y. However, last week the budget passed by the Kansas senate maintained Washburn funding from the state. The house and senate both working on the same budget, typically start at the governor’s recommended budget. Gov. Sam Brownback recommended Washburn maintain the $11 million in funding it was granted by the state last year. Needless to say, the 50 percent decrease in state funding proposed by the house has been a surprising deviation, t o some, from the g o v e r n o r ’s recommendation. If the cut in Washburn’s funding is approved by the senate, the changes would take effect May of next year. This would be devastating to Washburn, and would inevitably force the university to not only decrease quality of service, but to increase tuition as well. “It would be a seven percent cut in one year if that $5.5 million is eliminated,” said Rick Anderson, vice president of administration and treasury. “That would be difficult to adapt to when you have to implement a budget July 1, and you get your reduction in May sometime. That’s a two month turn around, so the likelihood of us being able to say we’re going to cover it all from revenue, or all from expenses: probably not. It’s probably going to be a combination of revenue enhancement, i.e. primarily tuition, together with figuring out where we’re going to reduce our cost structure, and those are both painful exercises.” Anderson assured students that Jerry Farley, Washburn president, has spent most of last week advocating for students at the capitol building, trying to reverse any misconceptions of Washburn being a private university, and therefore not deserving of state dollars. “The president has been at the capital most of this week, visiting with various legislators both on the house

side and the senate side, and I think the governor’s office, promoting that we’re not a private university, we are a public university,” said Anderson. Anderson also stressed how surprising it is that Washburn has been targeted for such extreme cuts in state funding considering that Washburn is one of the best investments of state dollars when compared to other universities in Kansas higher education. Washburn is the last remaining municipally funded university in the country, and requires a relatively small amount o f state funding partially for this reason. “The state invests a lot less into Washburn than they have to into say Emporia State, or Fort

A6

The Topeka RoadRunners head to Wichita Falls tied at one in their best-of-five playoff series

sports

Matt Kelly WASHBURN REVIEW

A8


News • Wednesday, April 6, 2011

A2

Calendar

The Bod Beat Taylor receives university award

Wednesday, April 6

PRESS RELEASE

Brown Bag international lecture International House Noon OPEN meeting Henderson Learning Resources Center 107 3 p.m. Nall Speak Off Room 100, Henderson Learning Resources Center 6:30 p.m. Presentation, Hypnotist Kevin Hurley Washburn Room A, Memorial Union 7 p.m. Thursday, April 7

Scorch on the Porch Memorial Union Lawn 11 to 1:30 p.m. Crane Observatory open house Stoffer Science Hall, Washburn University 8:30 to 10 p.m. Friday, April 8 WU opera: “Carmen Condensed” White Concert Hall, Garvey Fine Arts Center 7:30 p.m. Saturday, April 9 WU opera: “Carmen Condensed” White Concert Hall, Garvey Fine Arts Center 7:30 p.m. Sunday, April 10 Sunday Mass Catholic Campus Center, 1633 S.W. Jewell Ave. 6 to 7 p.m. Ichtus Sunday dinner Ichtus Campus Ministry house 6 to 8 p.m. Monday, April 11 Film, “Every War Has Two Losers” Mabee Library 4 p.m. Ichtus Sunday dinner Ichtus Campus Ministry house 6 to 8 p.m. Tuesday, April 12 Baseball Falley Field, Washburn University 2 p.m. SOAR awards Washburn Room, Memorial Union 6 p.m. Wednesday, April 13 Webinar: “Know Behavior Styles to ACE Your Interview!” Kanas Room, Memorial Union 2 p.m. OPEN meeting Henderson Learning Resources Center 107 3 p.m.

Don’t see your event in the calendar? Call the Review newsroom at 6702506 to have your event included in an upcoming edition. It’s FREE. For upcoming Washburn athletic events, go to www.wusports.com.

Photo by Rob Burkett, Washburn Review

Read between ‘The Line’: Audience members ask questions following the showing of ‘The Line’ in the Vogel Room on Tuesday. The movie asks the question of where to draw the line for consent. STAND (Students Together Advocating Non-Violent Dating) and YWCA Center for Safety and Empowerment sponsored the event.

Lecture discusses Haiti earthquake Charity Hockman WASHBURN REVIEW

year later, a lot of things have not changed on the surface level in Haiti. Most of the reason It is rare to have two such for this is because there is a lot large earthquakes happen in of controversy and drama on such a short period of time, who will repair what. A variety but it is important not to forget of countries and organizations pledged funds to Haiti. Howabout Haiti. “Tragically, Haiti is prob- ever, several lawyers of bureauably being overshadowed by cracy hinder distribution. Buhler explained that what is happening in Japan,” there is still said Baili no building Zhang, di- “ or residence rector of InTragically, Haiti that has 24ternational is probably being hour elecPrograms, on tricity. EvWe d n e s d a y overshadowed by erything is at the Brown what is happening run on a genBag Lecture erator, even at the Internain Japan. hospitals, tional House. which make A d a m -Baili Zhang black outs Buhler was Director, a constant the guest International Programs problem. speaker who ” The blackshared his outs can last own personal experience with the nation of one hour or days. Butler said most Haitians Haiti. Buhler visited Haiti for have no trust in the government, the first time in January, 2010. “Flying into Port-au-Prince and the improvement efforts of you can see white tents every- the country. Buhler believes where, its sad to see, but it’s the these feelings are justified bebest thing they have right now,” cause the government does not support the people. said Buhler “On the Haitian flag it Buhler explained that a

says, ‘Working together makes us stronger.’ It’s so ironic,” said Buhler. “Because there are no collective efforts in the country, Haiti is a history of distrust and does not have a clean government record.” Buhler acknowledged that he has seen firsthand evidence and people’s lives changed, but as a whole not a lot of people. The future for Haiti is unclear, but Buhler has a lot of hope for the country of Haiti. “The only way to improve Haiti is with the government’s help,” said Buhler. Seeing Buhler’s love for Haiti is easy when he speaks abouy the country and the people. He explained that Haiti has a lot of potential if utilized correctly. The country is full of rich land that is not deforested. Once the country is rebuilt, tourism will thrive again. “Haiti has the potential to be the crown jewel of the Caribbean,” said Buhler.

Charity Hockman is a member of Regina Cassell’s advanced newswriting class.

News never sleeps. If you can’t either, check us out: washburnreview.org

I had never considered myself lucky to have diabetes, but it Glenda Taylor, Washburn was certainly a new way to look University professor and de- at the challenges of blood testpartment chairwoman, art, was ing and insulin management.” recently awarded the Living Taylor’s process of living Well at Washburn award. with diabetes has also helped The Living Well at Wash- her grow in other arenas. burn award is given to Wash“I’m proud of the few burn University employees athletic accomplishments I’ve who are committed to keeping had,” said Taylor “I think it’s themselves healthy as well as more a matter of stubbornness rewarding individuals who pos- than ability, but even that can sess the self-leadership skills be a virtue at times.” necessary to maintain their own The athletic accomplishwellness status. ments Taylor is reTaylor has been ferring to are much active all of her life. LIVING WELL more than that. She AWARD After being diagregularly places nosed with Type 1 within the top three diabetes as a young adult, it places in her age group in cybecame even more important to cling events. Taylor to maintain her exercise Taylor’s achievements habits because she didn’t want are impressive on any level, diabetes to define who she was. but the fact that she has lived Living with diabetes for decades with diabetes and may be a challenge at times, achieved them is truly inspirbut through the years she has ing. found that being active and eatLiving Well nominations ing healthy just makes her life are accepted on a continual bamore fun. Taylor stays fit by sis. Nomination forms can be participating in numerous cy- found at: washburn.edu/main/ cling events during the year. studentlife/SRWC/employee“I remember one time wellness/Living-Well.html someone asked me about why For more information, conI wear a medical ID bracelet,” tact Celeste Hajek, coordinator, said Taylor. “When I told her Employee Wellness Program, I had type I diabetes, she said, at 670-1314. ‘You’re lucky to have a disease that makes you live so healthy.’

Hurley hypnosis act comes to WU PRESS RELEASE Watch hypnotized volunteers go on a dream vacation, forget what their name is, pet imaginary animals, fly airplanes, and dance like superstars as hypnotist Kevin Hurley performs live at 7 p.m. Wednesday, April 6, in the Washburn Room, Memorial Union, Washburn University. Hurley’s love for hypnosis, magic, theater, current events, comedy, and audience participation makes his shows unique.

With more than 1,100 notable performances, Hurley has entertained celebrities such as Justin Timberlake, Bill Clinton, Tom Petty, and Snoop Dogg. Companies like Apple, AT&T, McDonald’s, PNC Bank and Pepsi have hired “The Kevin Hurley Show” for their highest profile events. Campus Activities Board is sponsoring the event. For more information, call 785670-1222. The event is free and open to the public.

President’s Press -paid for byWSGAHello Everyone, I hope that everyone is having a fantastic week! Caley Onek and I are in our final days in office, and I cannot believe how fast time has gone by! I wanted to to take this time to thank everyone who has been a part of our administration, as well as people who have been a part of my Washburn experience these past four year! I first joined WSGA when I was elected as a Freshman, and have not had a free Wednesday (meeting nights) since then. I have served a mix of positions that have made me the person I am today. Without the support and dedication from people from every corner of campus, I would not have been able to have the best four year of my life. If you are one of those people and are reading this today, thank you! :) Caley and I have poured our heart and soul into this amazing organization and Washburn as a whole, and we would not have wanted it any other way. As we move on to go out into the ‘real world,’ we challenge you all to get involved, make a difference, and be thankful to have such an amazing place to build your foundation. Washburn and everyone here are considered family and we look forward to hearing about all the amazing things that you will do for the school that has given us so much! As always--GO BODS! Lucas Mullin Vice President WSGA


A3

News • Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Courtesy of Lindsay Edwards

Peruvian sights: Washburn junior Lindsay Edwards stands in front of Machu Piccu in the Urubamba Valley of Peru. Prior to her trip, Edwards took time to learn the culture of Peru to understand what her trip would be like.

Courtesy of Maria Sigala

New experiences: Washburn junior Maria Sigala, far right, enjoys time at Universidad de Santiago in Santiago de Compostela, Galicia. Sigala was the only Washburn student on her trip and had to make that adaptation.

Studying abroad comes with memories, customs, precautions Jennie Loucks WASHBURN REVIEW

One reality, however stereotypically American it may be, is that many students who are considering the option of studying abroad are also considering the limitations and laws on alcohol consumption in the country of their interest. However important this idea may be to students, there are also many other useful tips and precautions that students must learn about before immersing themselves into a new culture. Tina Williams, study abroad programs coordinator, once attended a conference where a speaker made an analogy about the wonders of alcohol consumption for students abroad. “He started out by explaining that chewing gum is illegal in Singapore. It is not sold anywhere, and it is only used for therapeutic purposes. Much like there are restrictions in the United States on alcohol, there are the same restrictions in Singapore for chewing gum,” said Williams. “When a student comes to the U.S. where

chewing gum is everywhere, it just seems so awesome that he or she must get involved in the hype of gum. This is a great comparison to alcohol, but the idea students need to remember is, everything in moderation. The urge to get sloppy makes that ugly American profile abroad.” One student, Hilary Larson, a Spanish major who studied abroad in Spain last summer said that the consumption of alcohol seemed to be much more common in Spain than it is in the United States. “It seemed very common at dinner and was a must at social events,” said Larson. “The laws also seemed to be much more lenient. Open containers weren’t an issue, and no one in my group was ever carded while purchasing alcohol or attempting to get into a bar or a club.” Williams said that while this is the case in many countries outside the United States, she cannot reiterate enough the importance of moderation. “The question students must ask themselves is, ‘Would I do it back home?’” said Williams. “We don’t want to scare

students with boundaries and take a taxi from the airport in limitations, but you must use Kansas City to Topeka because your common sense. It will not that’s just what they’re used to only be beneficial, but also edu- back home.” cational to your experiences.” Packing is also an issue that There are also many other, many students find themselves equally important, concerns stressing about, primarily with overlooked by the more than over-packing. Too much stuff 400 students coming and leav- makes for difficult traveling. ing Washburn Williams who chose to suggests that study abroad. “ the essenThe question Williams tials should students must said that many suffice, and students both expensive ask themselves is coming to and items, espe‘Would I do it back leaving the cially those U.S. to study with a power home?’ abroad don’t cord should - Tina Williams consider what be left at Coordinator, transportahome. Study Abroad Programs tion methods “ B e they will be ing overseas ” where outlets using upon arrival at their new country. and voltage are different, you “In many countries, pub- are almost guaranteed to burn lic transportation is the main something out like your Chi way students will get around. [hair straightener],” said WilStudents must research times liams. of day that are good for travel, Carrying on with the “only areas of town to avoid, and not essentials” theme, many U.S. make assumptions based on universities and host universitheir experiences back home,” ties encourage their exchange said Williams. “The same hap- students to leave the valuables pens for students coming to at home. Countless places the U.S. We have had students that students travel are tourist

capitols of the world, which unfortunately means that the pick-pocketing and thievery is present in the community. “It is very important to be aware of your immediate surroundings at all times,” said Williams. “It’s okay to be overwhelmed with everything around you, but don’t let your guard down; people are looking for you.” Illnesses and culture shock are also two very important issues that students should research and be aware of before leaving home. The Center for Disease Control has a website which lists breakouts, diseases and recommended vaccinations for every country in the world, many countries broken down by region. The Shawnee County Health Department also has a travel clinic where this information can be obtained, and where vaccinations can be received. Although there is no medicinal cure for culture shock, the more research a student does on their destination, the more prepared her or she will be for the changes when he or she gets there. “I know it’s a nasty topic, but traveler’s diarrhea happens frequently,” said Williams.

“Always pack Imodium A-D and Pepto Bismol caplets.” For students leaving Washburn, the International House also takes extra measures to ensure students’ questions are answered before they embark on what could be the most educational experiences of their lives. On April 8, the Study Abroad Orientation will take place, with information session covering a wide variety of topics from safety to pre-departure check lists. “We take every measure we can to prepare students to take the journey of their lifetimes,” said Williams. “Our hopes are that they have lifechanging experiences and that maybe they’ll sign up to go on another trip or a longer trip.”

Jennie Loucks is a member of Regina Cassell’s advanced newswriting class.

City cycling project encourages using alternate transportation Ashley Nadeau WASHBURN REVIEW

The still unseasonably cold March air is disrupted by the sounds of drills and bike chains as a team of volunteers breathe life into the downtown community. The Topeka Community Cycle Project is a volunteer-run organization that reclaims and distributes bicycles. Currently located on Kansas Avenue in downtown Topeka, TCCP opens its doors to those interested in cycling and recycling or anyone in need of transportation. “Giving people a mode of transportation, without a financial obligation, is our main goal,” said Cari Powell, Washburn University alumna and TCCP volunteer. “Bicycles are reliable, safe and viable alternative to driving a car. You can get around five times faster on a bike than walking and if a low income person would like a job then their radius of where they can get a job is expanded times five.” Through its earn-a-bike program, TCCP provides free bicycles to anyone willing to

donate 10 hours of their time. Earn-a-bike recipients can volunteer in many different ways, learning valuable skills along the way. “They can’t take their earn a bike home until our mechanics have checked it out,” said Powell. “Part of that is teaching them how to fix it up themselves,” she said. The perceived founder of TCCP and Washburn law student, Robert Fitzgerald, feels community involvement is another positive of the program. “Topeka is an exceptional community to cycle in, with the Shunga trail,” said Fitzgerald. “We have a great group of people and this has been great opportunity to get involved in the community.” Although Fitzgerald may be one of the key reasons TCCP came to be, he doesn’t credit himself as founder of the project. “We have over 180 volunteers over the course of the year,” said Fitzgerald. “It’s been a whole community effort, one person isn’t responsible for anything.” Fitzgerald encourages Topekans to help out in the

community by recycling their bikes. “People can help, if they have bikes in their garage they aren’t using they can donate them to us,” said Fitzgerald. “We recycle all the bikes here and if they can’t be used for earn a bike, we take the functioning pieces and make them

available for other bikes, nothing ends up in a landfill.” Along with contributing with recycling and the earn a bike program, TCCP also supports the community with a variety or events. “We will open during the ReThink Topeka event and we will be having a bike sale the

Collection Bureau of Kansas is

LOOKING for collectors.

Are YOU looking for a full or part time job that leaves your nights and weekends free? Can YOU work in a fast paced, laid back, and fun work environment?

785-228-6612 or email aubrey@cbofks.com

week after that,” said Powell. “We’ve worked with the Craftavists, making recycled art out of bike tubes and stuff.” TCCP and the Craftavists, a local group dedicated to art and activism, are working together to create handmade bicycle-inspired art. This artwork will be available for sale during

Photo by Richard Kelly, Washburn Review

the ReThink Art Walk on April 9 at the TCCP shop at 423 S. Kansas Ave.

Ashley Nadeau is a junior mass media major. Reach her at ashley. nadeau@washburn.edu

We like pancakes. We like the Washburn Review. So should you.

No, really, you should.

washburnreview.org


A4

Regina Budden WASHBURN REVIEW

Regina Budden is a senior mass media major. Reach her at regina. budden@washburn.edu.

Editorial Board WASHBURN REVIEW

As an institute of higher learning, Washburn should always find lessons in everyday experiences. This recent run-in with a few Kansas state representatives has been most instructional. This seems to be a case of “If they send one of ours to the hospital, we send one of theirs to the morgue.” Basically, the lesson is this: if the state denies your city airfield subsidies, try to cut funding from the only municipally owned university in the country. Kansas Rep. Joe McLeland proposed to cut $5.5 million from Washburn’s state funding after a House Appropriations Committee cut $5 million in airfare subsidies from Wichita, McLeland’s home town.

Bod on

And yes, we realize that In spite of assurances, the this act was not merely retali- situation still leaves us wonation. How do we know? Be- dering who is driving the lucause a politician said so. And nacy of this political season? even though he has mentioned Between the blatantly racist no other motivation for his pro- Arizona-esque policy that is posal, we know that he is an under debate, the proposal to honest politician. cut state arts funding and atHar har har. tacks on public funding of uniSnide commentary and the versity education, it seems that fear of tuition hikes instead of trying to trim aside, we understand the budget, this Kansas that the budget has REVIEW’S state legislature is goto be balanced someing back to colonial VIEW where. Tightening procedures of slash and our collective belts is burn. never pleasant, and the whole Why take the time to read state is going to have to make through bills to curb wasteful tough decisions. This, however, spending when we can just pass was not one of those. resolutions to defund programs Senators from all over the entirely? state have made it clear that You’re totally right, KanWashburn should not fear a sas legislature. Why trim sandbudget loss and that this mea- wich crusts when you can just sure was an impractical low throw away the sandwich? blow. Sorry if the rhetoric gets

redundant, it’s just politics. The point is that even if this measure is stopped by the senate, it’s tragic that this was even considered in the first place. We have to cut wasteful spending, and probably even reduce some Kansas luxury spending. But when pursuing legislative action, it seems that Rep. McLeland needs to remember that revenge is a dish best served cold. When you have to share the state with the same people you’re trying to screw over, it’s a dish best not served at all. Enjoy your break, Rep. McLeland.

The views expressed in the Review’s View are those of the Washburn Review editorial board and are not necessarily the views of Washburn University.

street What are the benefits

As posters for summer study abroad programs spring up on the walls, the Review asked what motivates students to spend that kind of time and money.

Sara Richards Junior

“Studying abroad gives you a whole new look on your major.”

Ivan Moya Freshman

“You can take different types of classes you probably couldn’t take here.”

Taryn Dewerff Freshman

“I think it gives students a chance to experience a different culture and compare it to their own.”

of studying abroad?

Stacy Cook Freshman

“I think it gives people a chance to have a culture shock and it would be totally fun and exciting.”

Alex Dreher Freshman “I think students would have a great experience with it and I have heard they are a lot of fun.”

Andrew Escandon Freshman “Getting to know new people and all that good stuff.”

Amanda Haug Freshman

“They can make someone a more well rounded person.”

Molly Baker Sophomore

“They give people a chance to see new places while getting an education.”

The Washburn Review Contact Us Phone: (785) 670-2506 Fax: (785) 670-1131 www.washburnreview.org Print Editor-in-Chief Regina Budden Online Editor-in-Chief Josh Rouse Advertising Manager Ashley Shepard News Editor Richard Kelly Sports Editor Kate Hampson A&E Editor Linnzi Fusco Assistant Online Editor Jordan Shefte Photo Editor Tesa DeForest Copy Editors Robert Burkett • ReAnne Wentz Production Assistants Ryan Hodges • Cameron Hughes • Maggie Pilcher Writers Elise Barnett • Michelle Boltz • Nicholas Birdsong • Louis Bourdeau • Kate Fechter • Matthew Kelly • Jaimie Luse • Robert Miller • Tricia Peterson• Sam Sayler • David Wiens • Anjelica Willis Photographers Molly Adams • Porchia Brown • Mike Goehring • Candice Morris• Zachary Lambert • Brittany Pugh • Mallory Shehi Senior Videographer Brian Dulle Videographers Bryce Grammer • Adam Stephenson Advertising Staff Anna Henry • Stephanie Wilhelm • Elisa Gayle Business Manager Scott Moser Adviser Regina Cassell

The Washburn Review is published every Wednesday throughout the academic year, excluding holidays and some other dates. Copies are free for students, faculty and staff, and can be found at numerous locations around the campus of Washburn University. Subscriptions to the Washburn Review are available at the following rates: 13 issues for $20 or 26 issues for $35. For more information, please visit our Web site at www.washburnreview.org or call (785) 670-2506.

The Washburn Review is a member newspaper of the Associated Press (AP), the Kansas Associated Press (KPA) and the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press (KACP). The Review was the 2009 winner of the All-State award, given to the best four-year public university newspaper in the state of Kansas.

The Washburn Review accepts letters to the editor pertaining to articles appearing in the Washburn Review or on issues of importance to the Washburn or Topeka community. We do not accept mass letters to the editor. Please limit letters to less than 400 words. Letters must be submitted via Word document if possible, and there must be a phone number where the person can be reached for verification. Please e-mail letters to wureview@gmail.com.

Interviews and photos by Adam Stephenson.

N’S RO ME ER CA ORN C

On March 26, a young Libyan woman named Iman AlObeidi burst into a hotel filled with international journalists and screamed that members of Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi’s troops had abducted and raped her. Security grabbed her, covered her head with a jacket and whisked her away to Tripoli for imprisonment—in full sight of camera crews from around the world. Now Al-Obeidi is reported to be staying with her sister in Tripoli, trying to simultaneously avoid government troops and contact foreign news services to tell her story. Her family told CNN that she is a law student. Her government broadcast that she is a mentally unstable alcoholic with a history of prostitution and theft. In the United States, some have called for her to be given asylum on our continent. Others have criticized that this is a propaganda move by rebels who seek international attention. Al-Obeidi just claims that she seeks for the world to know the truth about what is happening in her country. The way she describes it...it’s just very harrowing. Now there are two parts of this whole incident that make me, as a woman journalist, angry enough to do something totally irrational. As a woman, the idea of her being raped is abhorrent, period. To fathom that her government would try to cover it up by painting her as a prostitute and thief is worse. To think that her being a prostitute and thief would even matter is also pretty sickening. I’m not condoning prostitution or theft, both are societal wrongs. However, as a woman and as a person, I have to speak out against anyone attempting to justify or even endorse rape. No matter who the victim is, rape is something that is never excusable. FROM THE Ever. Aside EDITOR from this is also the fact that Al-Obeidi went to a roomful of journalists to speak out about having been kidnapped and raped by her own government and, aside from a few men who bounced off of the security guards, was allowed to be hauled off by the government again. I understand that in territory like Libya where the leadership doesn’t play by the rules, one has to fear for ones safety. However, this also calls into question the ethics of “journalistic ethics.” By staying out of the way and merely reporting as the government re-abducted Al-Obeidi, the journalists did exactly what their pledge says is right. But was it really right? Can it really be considered ethical to stand by and just be “objective” as violence is being enacted on another human being? I don’t want to move this to the political arena or use AlObeidi as a poster child for the anti-Gaddafi movement, but on an individual level her case brings up several issues of human rights on the international scale.

Editors question legislative methods

the

Troubles from Libya raise human rights issues

Opinion • Wednesday, April 6, 2011

The Review reserves the right to edit all submissions to the paper for length, libel, language and clarity. Because of volume on the opinion page, we are unable to print all letters and are unable to return submissions.

© The Washburn Review Copyright 2011

Corrections If your information was inaccurately printed, please let us know and send an e-mail with “Correction” in the subject line to wureview@gmail.com. Or you may call or leave a message at (785) 670-2506 Thank you to Dale Rusche for the photo of the sports broadcast crew that ran in the preview bar last issue.

Cameron Hughes is a sophomore art and graphic design major. Reach him at cameron.hughes@washburn.edu.


review a&e washburn university

entirety is 16 pages long. “The entire poem asks to look at names and the idea of Poet Albert Goldbarth read names, to what extent are we some of his poetry in the Mabee represented by our names, and Library Monday, March 30. how we are not,” said GoldOriginally born in Chicago, barth. “How do new names Ill., Goldbarth now resides in come into being and to that Wichita, Kan...... and is a Pro- extent, the final section looks fessor of Humanities at Wichita at the idea of words as they die State University where he has out of our language even as taught since 1987. He has writ- new words are cycled up from ten around 30 poetry books and below and being used for the has received various awards. first time.” His newest books include Another poem Goldbarth “Kitchen Sink: New and Select- read is one he told the crowd he ed Poems 1972-2007” and “To wants etched on his gravestone, Be Read in all 14 lines. 500 Years: This poem is P o e m s called “Shawl” It is a sonnet size and is about a 2009.” He is also the poem and I told my book, and not only poet an electronic wife this is the poem book, Goldto receive the National I want on my grave, barth insisted, Book Critbut a real pashould she outlive per book. It is ics Circle Award for about a ride on me. Poetry not a Greyhound - Albert Goldbarth bus, and how only once, Professor of Humanities, the night is but twice. Wichita State University coming on and E r i c McHenry, a the light shinWa s h b u r n ing on the page assistant is like a shawl. professor who teaches English “I kind of like this poem, and poetry read Goldbarth’s it seems to stand for me, who I poems since his college days. am and what I am about,” said McHenry met Goldbarth when Goldbarth. “It is a sonnet-size McHenry wrote an article for poem and I told my wife this is the Topeka Capitol-Journal pro- the poem I want on my grave, filing Kansas poets. They ended should she outlive me.” up becoming friends and have The final poem Goldbarth stayed in contact since, which shared was titled “The Clothes” is how Goldbarth came to do about a movie or play director his reading here at Washburn. who tells a story about himself “It seemed to me he was stealing clothes from a launwell received.” said McHenry. dromat. Goldbarth used a high“He is very dynamic, very en- pitched animated voice for this gaging, very entertaining, fun- poem, taking on a whole new ny and a little bit edgy and all of persona and acting the poem those things I think are good for out instead of just reciting it. holding people’s attention. PeoGoldbarth has many books ple were telling me afterword available for purchase in stores they enjoyed the reading.” as well as online. There are a The first poem Goldbarth couple of poems available onread was a long one, about the line, but not near as many as idea behind names, who gives he has published. The Poetry objects names and where they Foundation has some of his come from. He only read the work as well as a more detailed final section, which is one of history of Goldbarth. It’s webtwelve, and even commented site is www.poetryfoundation. that he couldn’t read the entire org. poem because it would take up Patricia Peterson is a sophomore the entire 45 minutes. The pub- mass media major. Reach her at lished version of the poem in its patricia.peterson@washburn.edu

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Senior’s exhibition in ‘Constant Motion’

Washburn’s newest student senior art show features Loren King, a Bachelor of Fine Arts major who is graduating this spring. His gallery talk took place in the Art Building on April 5. King’s show features three types of mediums: photography, oil paint, and etching. King’s favorite medium to use is photography and it is also his emphasis. The theme for King’s exhibit is “Constant Motion,” and has dedicated his show to his 6-year-old son Eliott. A series of King’s photo displays are titled “A New York Second.” In fall of 2010, King and his family took a trip to New York City to see a parade. This was King’s second trip to New York. He created his works using a slower shutter speed. He took over 400 photos and created a 100-page book in Marydorsey Wanless’s photo

Wichita poet reads work at Washburn Tricia Peterson WASHBURN REVIEW

Moving on: BFA student, Loren King’ senior show recently opened at the John R. Adams Gallery in the Washburn Art building. His exhibition features primarily photography but also includes oil painting, etching and a book of photographs. His work shares a common theme of movement and texture. He began pursuing his degree at Washburn in 2000, and after taking a break to be with his son, he will graduate in May, 2011.

Michelle Boltz WASHBURN REVIEW

Wednesday, APRIL 6, 2011

design class. picked up a paintbrush since Other photos in his exhibit 2006. He enjoys keeping his represent the quiet moments mediums in movement, whether set to Kansas. it is a pencil One of King’s or paintbrush, photos, “Presspecially Photographically, I ewhen ident Bush mixenjoy capturing the ing colors Speaks War,” in 2002, exstrokes photos and bringing and presses the of paint. One them to life. political frusof King’s fatrations of vorite pieces post9/11 - Loren King in his exhibit times. titled “It’s ElSenior Art Major iott,” which “Photographically, I was of his enjoy capturson’s sonoing the photos gram. Anothand bringing them to life,” said er personal favorite of King’s King. paintings is called “Nina, A Gift Bachelor of Fine Art stu- to My Father.” He went on to dents are required to have an explain that Nina Simone was individual show with at least one of his father’s favorite Jazz two to three types of mediums, musicians. He has sold two and to have a professional gal- copies of the original print. lery student show. A Bachelor Upon graduation, King of Fine Arts degree does not re- plans on producing some quire a minor, but requires more graphic art with his brother, of an emphasis on courses. Un- and taking a break from art to til just recently, King had not spend quality time with Eliott,

who will be starting kindergarten in the fall. When not a student or making art, King works full time at St. Francis Hospital cleaning surgical instruments. He does plan on continuing his photography and painting in his studio. “The garage is where it all goes down,” said King. “Don’t know where I’m going from there, we’ll see.” King’s advice for future art students: “Don’t be afraid to experiment with types of photography, and try different things.” King started pursuing his art degree in 2000, and took a break after Elliott was born in 2006. He returned in spring of 2010 to finish his requirements to graduate. King’s show opened on April 4, and will be on display until April 15.

Michelle Boltz is a sophomore mass media major. Reach her at michelle.boltz@washburn.edu

Art exhibition showcases student work Kate Fechter WASHBURN REVIEW

The Mulvane Art Museum on campus celebrated the opening of the annual Washburn Art Department student exhibition on Friday, April 2. The opening was from 5 to 8 p.m. at the museum and was in conjunction with the First Friday Artwalk. In addition to showing 54 works from 37 students, awards from the museum and the art department were announced. Cindi Morrison is the director at the Mulvane and explained the exhibit and the awards given. “It’s a show we do every year in the spring,” said Morrison. “There is a call for entry, and this gives students the chance to submit a disc with their selections on it. Every year we select a juror and they select the pieces that will be in the exhibition. There were also three awards that were given out tonight. The Pollack Award through the art department, the Joan Foth award and the National Pen Women’s award were given out tonight.” Deedra Baker, senior art major, received the Pollack Award. In addition to having work in this exhibit, Baker also recently had her senior show at the Art Building. “The Pollack award has

been around since 1976,” said Morrison. “It has been given away by two people who were interested in art. Their son, who passed away, was very into art so they decided it would be nice to set up a fund to help encourage students to continue to create their art.” Sami Sallaway received the National Pen Women’s Award and Jessica Wilson’s charcoal piece “Hay Bales” won the Joan Foth Award. “It is in memory of Joan Foth who used to teach here at Washburn,” said Morrison. “She passed away last year and her work is in many collections, both private and corporate. We thought since she influenced so many students, it would be nice to give an award in her honor. We will be giving it away every year.” Sallaway graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in December and her piece in the exhibit is a costume she made inspired by Bizet’s opera, Carmen. At the opening, she wore her piece and was a living sculpture. “This was a workshop project where we could do whatever we wanted,” said Sallaway. “While my degree is in art, I also do a lot of theater and musicals. This was a way for me to combine the two. I decided to use old, recycled clothes. It symbolized how Carmen is a very recycled show, done

over and over again. So I gave it a fresh face, taking two old things and making it into something new.” For some students this was their first student show. Dion Henderson is a senior Bachelor of Fine Arts student and although he took first place for a photograph in the Topeka Art Guild ‘Big Kansas’ exhibit last fall, this is his first student show. “I have a set of three called ‘Death Morph,’ which is a morphing progress of a bowl,” said Henderson. “I also have a piece called Abstract Form, which is cart block and wheel thrown ceramics.” Not all of the students in the show are art majors. Tony Hurt is a senior human services major and is minoring in art. Hurt had several pieces in the student show last year and this year has a sculpture in the show, “Spirit Vessel 1,” from a set of five. “It is porcelain, thrown on the wheel, altered with slab techniques and a wood technique; a technique of making ceramics look like wood that I discovered and have been incorporating into a lot of my work,” said Hurt. Both Hurt and Henderson had positive things to say about the work of their fellow artists participating in the show and the show itself.

Image courtesy of Mulvane Art Museum

Branching out: Mulvane Art Museum celebrated the opening of the annual Washburn Art Department Student Exhibition last Friday. The exhibition features work from numerous Washburn art students. For many students this was their first juried exhibition. “It’s exciting,” said Hurt. “There’s a lot of great work in there and a lot of innovative ideas that are coming out of the young students—a lot of emerging artists. It’s a great show because it doesn’t focus on just one media either. It also allows students to experiment and stay outside the box a bit.” The show will run at the Mulvane until May 5. On April 19, the museum will have an

event in connection with the show, Conversations: Connecting Art to Our Lives. In addition, ‘Surface and Form,’ ‘Works from Four Chinese Artists,’ and ‘David Hicks Overmeyer: a Kansas Original’ are still on display upstairs at the museum. For more information, including museum hours, visit the museum website at www.washburn.edu/mulvane. “There’s a lot of diversity

here,” said Henderson. “It’s rich in texture, color and form. I think it would be great for everyone to come look at.”

Kate Fechter is a junior art and psychology major. Reach her at kate.fechter-stamper@washburn. edu


A6

Arts & Entertainment • Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Annie’s Place offers personalized dining “Mile High Pie” rates exceptional Tricia Peterson WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Piece of pie: Julie Blackman, a 15 year employee of Annie’s Place, puts the finishing touches on one of the restaurant’s delicious pies. Annie’s Place prides itself on offering a personalized dining experience.

Walking into Annie’s Place, I got the homey feel of a family restaurant that has been around for awhile. The front of the menu explains that Jim and Lisa Haskell started Annie’s Place in 1986, to give Topeka a more personalized dining experience. That is what I got when I dined there. The waitress was very nice and quick. Looking at the menu I noticed it has all the usual categories, appetizers, soups, salads, burgers, sandwiches, and entrees. The salads were pretty much what you would find everywhere, including a chicken strip salad, and a chicken fiesta salad. I did notice that they make their own homemade bun bowl for their soups, which is unusual, but it was a hot day and I was not feeling the soup. I decided on a cheeseburger, but not just any burger—this one is called Annie’s Alouette Burger, and comes with an herb cream cheese slathered atop the

medium-well burger. It The crust was flaky and comes with lettuce, tomato, sugary, and the apples were pickle and onion on the side, baked to perfection, tender and potato chips. You can pay but not mushy. I opted out a little more and get their Hot on the ice cream and caramel Air Fries, which are baked sauce which added turns it and come with no seasoning into the “Mile High Apple on them. Diners can also Pie” because I wanted to taste get soup, salad or fruit with the pie and only the pie – their meal. I wanted to try the good decision. The ice cream Hot Air Fries, little wedges and caramel would have been of fresh-cut potato which good, but the pie honestly were crispy on the outside doesn’t need it, but if you and tender on the RESTAURANT want it go ahead, inside. The bun it’s your slice, not REVIEW was homemade mine. and grilled lightly so it gave Annie’s Place does the edges a slight crunch. online ordering at www. The cream cheese melted and anniesplacetopeka.com and oozed all over my fingers, but you can pick up a menu to take it was okay because it tasted home if you stop in. There is so good. I love cream cheese also a menu on the website, and if you do too—which I so if you don’t have a menu am sure many of you do—this just check that out. They offer is the burger for you. a pie of the month, different Homemade pie is always every month. This month is a winner for me, and I think Key Lime. Make sure you get Annie’s Place knows how to there early because once they do it right. Although I was run out they are out, until already full, I had to get some tomorrow. pie because Annie’s is known for their homemade bakery items. When I ate the pie I forgot what I had eaten before Tricia Peterson is a sophomore the pie, it was if the pie was Mass Media major. Reach her at patricia.peterson@washburn.edu. all I had. It was that good.

Confessions of a Pearl Jam addict Ryan Hodges WASHBURN REVIEW

are a mixed bag. The albums Relief.” The alternate verwere mixed to near-perfection sions of “Better Man,” “Corat the time of their original re- duroy” and “Nothingman” Hello, my name is Ryan... lease, so a full remix was not tacked onto the end of “Vitaland I’m an addict. really necessary. The remas- ogy” are interesting but ultiMy friends and I have a ters here add a bit of muscle mately unnecessary. theory that a person’s taste in to the mix, but as with most The standout of the packmusic matures, and then atro- remasters, there is a downside. age is the inclusion of “Live at phies, during high school. We In this case, while the songs the Orpheum,” which showbelieve this explains why so themselves had an added kick, cases the band at its peak. This many people still think hair the vocals are muddied deeper was the band’s third night in bands are a good idea. into the backBoston, hav“ For me, that period en- ground. previously Back then, no show ing compasses the years 1992 The boplayed at the through 1996, the middle of nus tracks was just another Boston Gar“grunge.” In 1993 and 1994, added to both show. dens, and was Pearl Jam released a pair of albums aren’t recorded be-Tim Quinlan fore a crowd classic albums, “Versus” and as revelatory “Vitalogy.” “Versus” spawned as they could Pearl Jam crew member of about 2,700 the rock radio staple “Daugh- have been. The people. Kurt ” Cobain had ter,” while “Vitalogy” gave us acoustic demo the classic “Better Man” and of “Hold On,” a song which been found dead a few days earned the band a Grammy appeared in full electric ver- prior to the show and the band for the song “Spin the Black sion on 2003’s “Lost Dogs,” was nearing the end of an emoCircle.” here sounds like something tional tour that would eventuAs part of the band’s 20th from Bon Jovi’s back catalog. ally culminate in the firing of anniversary festivities, both I love the song, but I just have drummer Dave Abruzzese. albums are being re-released this overwhelming urge to In an interview with the in “Legacy,” “Deluxe” and for sing “Dead or Alive” after lis- website, twofeetthick.com, Pearl Jam junkies like myself, tening to it. “Cready Stomp” is longtime crew member Tim “Super Deluxe” editions. Each an awesome instrumental that “Skully” Quinlan gave some album has been remastered would have been a good addi- insight into the night’s unique and features a trio tion to the original setlist. of bonus tracks. “Versus” if singer “I remember that show MUSIC The “Deluxe” and Eddie Vedder had and yes it was a crew set list REVIEW “Super Deluxe” ever gotten around show. If I remember right editions also add to writing lyrics it was Karrie Keyes’ idea. I on a CD recorded during the for it. “Crazy Mary,” a staple think she convinced Ed [Vedband’s legendary performance of the band’s live shows for der] to let ‘us’ [the road crew] from April 12, 1994, at Bos- many years, was specifically make a setlist up. I think we ton’s Orpheum Theatre. written for the band by singer- all added our two-cents worth The remastered version songwriter Victoria Williams (our favorite songs) but Karrie of “Versus” and “Vitalogy” for the tribute album “Sweet came up with the order. I can’t

remember what songs I asked for probably “Footsteps” or “Immortality.” The crew’s setlist was filled with rare songs, covers and tracks from the thenunreleased “Vitalogy.” Opening with the song “Oceans,” the band eases into the show slowly, but by the third song in the set, things begin to get a little weird. “Sonic Reducer,” a cover of the Dead Boys punk classic, features Mark Arm from opening band Mudhoney (and Pearl Jam precursor Green River) sharing vocals with Vedder in an intense performance. The band’s cover of Neil Young’s “Fuckin’ Up” later in the set can only be described as “face-melting.” “Hard to Imagine,” a song recorded for both “Versus” and “Vitalogy” that went unreleased until the 1998 soundtrack to the movie “Chicago Cab” and later on Pearl Jam’s 2003 collection “Lost Dogs” is heard in early, ragged glory as a bonus download for people who ordered the deluxe and super deluxe editions through the band’s website. Also included in the mix are a pair of b-sides, “Alone,” from the “Go” single, and the Red Hot Chili Pepper’s inspired “Dirty Frank” from the “Even Flow” single. The show also featured early performances from “Vitalogy” including “Not For You,” “Immortality,” “Tremor Christ” and “Better Man,” a song which actually dated back to Vedder’s pre-Pearl Jam band, Bad Radio. Played just days after Cobain’s death, “Immortality,” still a work in progress, comes across as plaintive and desperate.

Photo by Ryan Hodges, Washburn Review

Rearviewmirror: To celebrate Pearl Jam’s 20th anniversary, the band is re-releasing a series of albums as deluxe editions. The “super deluxe” box for “Versus” and “Vitalogy” contains five LPs, three CDs, a cassette of the band’s “Self Pollution Radio” broadcast as well as other memorabilia from that time period. Finally, the show ends on a quiet note with “Elderly Woman Behind the Counter in a Small Town.” Again commenting on the night’s performance, Quinlan said, “Back then no show was just another show…” The “Legacy” and “De-

NOW LEASING:

Bristol Ridge Apartments. 1 & 2 Bedrooms. W/D in each apartment Cable Paid, Pool. $100/Bedroom Deposit. Call 785-233-5959. www.firstmanagementinc.com

luxe” editions of “Versus” and “Vitalogy” are available in stores now, and the “Super Deluxe” edition can be purchased at pearljam.com. Ryan Hodges is a junior social work major. Reach him at ryan. hodges@washburn.edu.

For news that’s

RIGHT ON TARGET washburnreview.org


review sports washburn university

Wednesday, april 6, 2011

Lady Blues blanked Robert Burkett WASHBURN REVIEW

Fans ready to get past drama

As spring sports kick into full swing, the “Turnpike Tussle” once again took center stage last weekend. The Emporia State University softball team came into Topeka ranked No. 16 in the country and left, at the very least, preserving its standing with a two-game sweep of the Lady Blues. The struggles of Washburn is mostly attributed to the offensive struggles that the team is going through as the team was held too no runs on just seven hits in the doubleheader. “We have to find a way to score runs, said Lisa Carey, Washburn head coach. “Our big hitters aren’t coming through.” In the first game, Washburn held the Lady Hornets at arms length, only giving up one run in the first three innings. The Lady Blues got some hitting from Marisa Tetuan, freshman, getting on base with a single in the first along with Lauren Himpel, sophomore, who also singled in the third inning. Alex Zordel, sophomore, added a double in the fourth inning as well. Washburn would stranding its runners as the Lady Hornets pitching proved difficult to overcome ESU would eventually wear down Washburn’s pitching effort by Lindsey Moore, junior, breaking out for three runs in the fourth inning and five runs in the fifth. The final in the first game would end up 9-0. Washburn regrouped for the second game of the afternoon, as both teams faced off in a scoreless first four innings. The Lady Hornets got on the board in the top of the fifth inning with a leadoff homerun off of Washburn pitcher Kelsie Novotny, sophomore. Novotny

Kate Hampson WASHBURN REVIEW

be able to get past the Pujols drama to make the playoffs. This season, the Milwaukee Sports fans are breathing a Brewers have a great lineup and sigh of relief because baseball a couple good pitchers to carry the load and they will win this season is finally here. Fans are in need of a break division. The Cubs will extend from the drama of the NFL and their championshipless seasons the NBA. With the prospect of to 104. On to the American League no NFL games next season and the superstar drama the NBA and the AL East. The Yankees provides us, more pressure lies will once again buy another on Major League Baseball to division championship but the produce an exciting season that Orioles will, surprisingly, finish can emotionally sustain fans in second and win the wildcard race. Baltimore has young playthrough the winter months. It was an exciting start to ers waiting to break out as suthe season last week, with two perstars and will make a name unexpected teams boasting un- for themselves this season. Boston is going to defeated records: the have a disappointBaltimore Orioles EDITOR’S ing season, carrying and the Texas RangCOLUMN its spring training ers. This may prove woes into the reguto turn out to be a season that no lar season. one can predict. Sounds about In the AL West, the Ranglike the NCAA Tournament. Let me start with the Na- ers will continue the trend they tional League. First, I don’t started last season and take the think that San Francisco can re- division. They will, however, peat as the World Series Cham- fight off Seattle, which will pions. Its run to the champion- make its comeback this season, ship last season was a mix of but just miss out on October behitting its stride at the perfect cause of the breakout Orioles. And last, the AL Central. time with great pitching and very timely hitting, much like Minnesota is going to win the the Colorado Rockies team did division this season and the Royals aren’t going to be near in 2007. The Rockies, in fact, are the top yet again. But, they will going to win the NL West for have a better season than last, the first time in franchise histo- just not quite good enough for ry, with a powerful lineup and a the playoffs. Fans should be solid pitching staff. Colorado’s shooting for a winning season. All in all, this MLB season records of late have reflected the is going to exciting and a great play of possible Hall-of-Fame way to spend free time in the first baseman Todd Helton. If summer. If you have never exhe is healthy and can produce a season up to his standards, the perienced a major league game, Rockies will rock the NL West. it is a relaxing way to spend The Giants will be in a close a summer afternoon or night. second, followed by the Dodg- Pick college night or dollar hot ers, then Padres and in last, the dog night and you’ll have an even better time. Diamondbacks. Play ball. In the NL East, expect the

Sam Sayler is a sophomore English major. Reach him at samuel. sayler@washburn.edu

Photo by Tesa DeForest, Washburn Review

Eye on the ball: A Washburn player awaits a pitch during the Lady Blues game against Emporia State University. The Lady Blues totaled seven hits in the double-header but didn’t record a run. only allowed one earned run and struck out three in seven innings of work. The Lady Blues gave up two unearned runs in the sixth inning. Katie Schroeder, freshman, Lauren Himpel, sophomore and Lindsey Moore and Marissa Martin,

both juniors each had base hits for the Lady Blues. With the doubleheader sweep by ESU, Washburn’s current losing streak in the “Turnpike Tussle” moves to 25 games. The Lady Blues hope to snap their losing skid against

their next opponent, Pittsburg State University, on the road playing a doubleheader 3 p.m., April 8. Robert Burkett is a senior mass media major. Reach him at robert. burkett@washburn.edu.

Phillies to live up to expectations of their larger-than-life pitching staff and win their division. It is going to win the weak East division easy, by at least five games. The Braves will finish second but out of the wildcard race. The NL Central might be an interesting division to watch. I don’t think the Cardinals will

Kate Hampson is a senior mass media major. Reach her at katelyn. hampson@washburn.edu.

Interested in working in the media???

Student Media is for you!

Photo by Tesa DeForest, Washburn Review

Close call: Washburn’s Jacque Horejsi, catcher, left, catches a throw from a teammate as No. 16 Emporia State University’s Jessica Brewer, center, slides in safely behind her. Washburn lost both games in the double-header, 0-9 in the first game and 0-3 in the second.

Apply today as a writer, photographer, editor, and more! Apply in the basement of the Union or online at www.washburnreview.com.

Soccer coming to Topeka Robert Burkett WASHBURN REVIEW

Topeka may soon be the home of the world’s biggest sport. Move over MLS, the Professional Arena Soccer League is coming to town. The PASL initiated the process of creating a new franchise, the Kansas Magic. B.J. Latas, the owner of the new franchise, is optimistic about the future of arena soccer in Topeka. The real test of the popularity of the sport will come in the form of an exhibition game on April 30 between the Magic and Illinois

Piasa. Latas and Kansas Expo- The wait and see prospective is centre officials are hoping for something that both sides see a strong turnout selling around as a logical point to start from. 4,000 seats. Latas expressed his According to Latas, the Expogratitude for the working part- centre doesn’t want to commit nership with the Expocentre to a season’s worth of dates until there is proof of that they have dethe popularity of the veloped throughout INDOOR sport in the commutheir process. SOCCER nity via attendance “We need to numbers for the exprove to them that we deserve to play here,” said hibition date. Beyond the possibility of Latas. “They have given us the soccer in Topeka, the Exporight tools to get this done.” Beyond the exhibition centre also is keeping itself game, the PASL and the Ex- from committing at the present pocentre have no long-term time in part due to the fact that commitments in mind as of yet. with the arena football Kansas

Koyotes and the hockey team Topeka Roadrunners currently housed at Landon Arena, it would be a tight fit for the facility to house another tenant on the schedule. The Expocentre will continue to watch and proceed cautiously as the process for another professional franchise in Topeka proceeds.

Robert Burkett is a senior mass media major. Reach him at robert. burkett@washburn.edu.

Courtesy of ksexpo.com

Changing surfaces: The Kansas Expocentre will trade its hockey ice for soccer turf when the Kansas Magic make their debut on April 30.


A8

Sports • Wednesday, April 6, 2011

‘Runners falter in playoffs, tied 1-1 Richard Kelly WASHBURN REVIEW

There was no let up in the Topeka RoadRunners effort Saturday night. The same couldn’t be said about Sunday. Aided by three goals before the 10-minute mark of the first period on Saturday, Topeka trounced the Wichita Falls Wildcats 5-1 in the first game of their five-game series to begin the North American Hockey League playoffs. For Topeka, who lost three of their final four regular season games, putting together a complete effort was important. “[Topeka head] coach [Scott] Langer said this was probably the most complete game we’ve played in a little bit,” said Chris Bond, defenseman, who had two assists. “That’s great to start the playoffs. Hopefully we can carry that momentum into the rest of the series.” Forward Nate Milam scored on a redirected shot from Bond at 3:44 to give the RoadRunners a 1-0 lead. Forward Davey Middleton fired a

one-time shot past goaltender Matt Green to increase the lead to 2-0 at 5:27. At 6:19, on the powerplay, forward Mikhail Sentyurin fired a rebound past goaltender Rasmus Tirronen to cut the lead to 2-1. But at 7:22 another redirection from a Bond gave forward Kyle Buffardi his first goal as a RoadRunner. Bond said it felt satisfying to help a player get his first goal with the team. “It’s always nice to see a guy get his first goal,” said Bond. “It took me a while to get my first goal. It’s a special feeling and for it to happen in the playoffs makes it that much bigger.” Topeka held a 17-13 shot advantage after the first period. In the second period, at 9:52, forward Kyle Sharkey extended the RoadRunner lead to 4-1. Wichita Falls generated few quality chances in the period, partially in credit to a 16-7 shot advantage for the RoadRunners and solid defensive play. Sharkey said even before the second period, Topeka had control of the game’s momentum.

“We got to the rink and we made 21 of 26 saves in the were ready to go,” said Shar- loss. key. “That first 10 minutes of But, redemption is one the first period really set the of the best inspirations and on tone, and we were able to main- Sunday, Wildcats goaltender tain that for the whole game.” Green had first-hand evidence. Milam scored another Green, who gave up five goal at 3:11, goals on 45 increasing the shots in the 5-1 lead to the 5-1 “ loss on SaturWe played a de- day, made key final score. Langer Sunday cent game. It came saves noted that to stymie the down to a face-off RoadRunners his team’s all around effort the Wilddraw in the defen- as is what was cats defeated sive end, we lost it the RoadRunneeded in the first game of 1-0 in clean and it ended ners the series. overtime. up in the back of “[The deE a c h fense] was abteam had opthe net. solutely able to portunities to support our of-Scott Langer win the game fense tonight,” Topeka RoadRunners in regulation, said Langer. with Topeka Head Coach “They took hitting numer” ous goalposts care of those shots, and our and Wichita forwards did a good job of get- Falls having multiple shots that ting down there and had good trickled close to the goalline. screens, and that adds offense. However, at the end of regulaIt was a good night.” tion, the score remained tied at Tirronen stopped 25 of 26 zero. shots in the victory as Green Early in the extra session,

at 2:19, forward Richard Young fired a one-timer past goaltender Eric Rohrkemper to send all of his teammates onto the ice as they celebrated a victory which tied their series with Topeka at one apiece. “We did a lot of good things but ran into a very hot goalie, and they kept us outside to where we couldn’t get to some of those rebounds that we normally get to,” said Langer, “We played a decent game. It came down to a face-off draw in the defensive end, we lost it clean and it ended up in the back of the net.” Langer couldn’t blame Rohrkemper for the goal. “Eric played outstanding,” said Langer. “He gave us a chance to win the game. We just didn’t give him any offense.” After amassing 17 shots in the first period on Saturday night, Topeka repeated that effort Sunday, as they took a 17-8 shot advantage into the locker room. During the second period, Wichita Falls successfully killed off two 5-on-3 penalty kills as the RoadRunners peppered Green with shots.

But the 39 shots in the contest just couldn’t beat the Wildcats’ goaltender. “It’s just a matter of finishing,” said Langer. “We hit a few posts and we had some opportunities there on the doorstep that we didn’t put home. You’ve just got to be a little hungrier in the playoffs. They [Wichita Falls] had something to prove down there and [Green] played outstanding.” The victory was Wichita Falls’ first win against Topeka since Nov. 13, 2009 and ended their 16-game losing streak against Topeka. The best of five series now shifts to Wichita Falls for games three and four, which will take place Friday and Saturday night. If necessary, game five will be in Topeka on April 11.

Richard Kelly is a junior mass media/social work major. Reach him at richard.kelly@washburn.edu

Photo by Richard Kelly, Washburn Review

Photo by Richard Kelly, Washburn Review

No such luck: Brian Christie waits on a pass from a teammate on Sunday night. Christie had an assist in Saturday’s 5-1 victory but was held pointless as Topeka fell on Sunday 1-0 to the Wichita Falls Wildcats.

I want to break free: Nate Milam races past Chris Leone as he skates towards the Wichita Falls goal on Saturday night. Milam wound up scoring twice in the contest but couldn’t replicate the performance Sunday.

Tennis bounces back Sam Sayler WASHBURN REVIEW

Washburn tennis made strides this past week with the Lady Blues clenching a close 5-4 victory March 30 against Emporia State University and the Ichabods easily defeated the Hornets, with a lopsided 8-1 victory. The Lady Blues then made April fools out of Johnson County Community College in an 8-1 victory. After a disappointing set of matches in Oklahoma, beating ESU was a welcome change of pace for both Washburn tennis teams. “The guys just came out very focused, especially against a rival school,” said Dave Alden, Washburn head coach. “That’s exactly what I was hoping they would do.” Both women’s teams were

undefeated in conference play ahead and she just had to stop. heading into the match, making She couldn’t finish.” “We still need to get health, the Lady Blues’ victory crucial but everybody stepped up. We for their success in the season. “Emporia had beaten played good doubles, especial[Southwest Baptist University] ly our No. 3 doubles. I’m very and Northwest [Missouri State proud of [Elektra Hunter and University],” said Alden. “If Annie Doole]. Even with Rainey injured they had beaten us, they probably would have secured the reg- and an under-the-weather Elekular season conference champi- tra Hunter, the Lady Blues still onship. For us to have beaten made short work of JCCC on a them on their home court is a rescheduled April Fools match. “We pretty good thing.” A recent set- WASHBURN much rolled them, except for that one back for the Lady TENNIS match,” said junior Blues was the injury of Morgan Rainey, team cap- Whitley Zitsch. “They’re No. tian, who hurt her leg playing 2 girl was hurt, so she defaulted her match. We got that match in Oklahoma. “[Rainey] and Whitley for free, kind of. The rest of [Zitsch] played a decent dou- their girls were good, but we bles match,” said Alden. “She were definitely better than fought, and then once we fin- them. None of the matches ished, and once we were able to were really that close.” Both Washburn teams travclench the match, Morgan went

el to NWMSU on April 6, then off to Rockhurst University on April 8 before the Lady Blues come back home to play Truman State the next day. “[NWMSU] will come out and play well at home,” said Alden. “They always do. This is our year to go and play all these teams on the road. I’m very impressed with what we’ve done. It’s hard riding in a van and getting out to play. It’s a lot easier when you’re doing it at your home courts.”

Sam Sayler is a sophomore English major. Reach him at samuel. sayler@washburn.edu

Check out the Review ONLINE!

THE LOFTS AT COLLEGE HILL NEW ER LOW S E PRIC

Immediate Availability!

3 BR start @ $950 1 BR start @ $600 4 BR start @ $960 2 BR start @ $695 Ask about our by-the-bedroom specials!

The Lofts At College Hill • 1425 S.W. Lane • 785 232 5555


2010-11 issue24