Issuu on Google+

the review washburn university

Serving Washburn University since 1873

WWW.WASHBURNREVIEW.ORG • (785) 670-2506 • 1700 S.W. College • topeka, kan. 66621

volume 137, Issue 1 • wednesday, August 25, 2010

Washburn welcomes students

Morgan Hall returns to complete accessibility Christina Butler WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo by Josh Rouse, Washburn Review

Welcome Week Fun: Lucas Mullin, Vice President of Washburn Student Government Association, joined the festivities of Washburn Welcome Week 2010. The inflatable obstacle course was just one of many activities for students to experience during their afternoon on the Union Lawn before rain drenched the city.

Richard Kelly WASHBURN REVIEW Many new students now have a good understanding of Washburn University and it’s only the first week of classes. Sundaes on Sunday and the Big Screen Event of “Iron Man 2” capped off Welcome Week 2010, which provided numerous opportunities for social engagement, trips around the university, and experiences that are

intended to relieve stress as classes began this week. For a student coming in who doesn’t know too many people, Welcome Week can be a great way to open up doors. “The SOC’s [Summer Orientation Counselors] and student leaders did a lot to help make us mingle, like at the Playfair and Rock the Rec,” said Kristen Onions, freshman. “It was just the fact that they were making sure we were introducing ourselves to each other and meeting new people and

changing our groups around.” Freshman Robert Miller said Welcome Week is a quick way to feel comfortable with the university and know what Washburn is all about. “When I first got here, it was like I already felt at home and connected with the people here,” said Miller. “I like the school a lot so far.” For more reserved students, Welcome Week may have seemed a bit overwhelming. While some freshmen were able to use the week to break out of their comfort zone, that could not be

said by all. “I think the biggest problem with the freshmen is a lot of them are shy and scared and most of them from my dorm, they won’t home this weekend,” said Miller. “But I don’t think it has anything to do with the school. I just think a lot of them are scared. It’s a whole new experience, so they’ll get used to it.”

Please see WELCOME page A5

Farley unveils new Ichabod mascot Kelsie O’Connell WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo by Samantha Corber, Washburn Review

Student Orientation Counselors and CAB host 10th annual Casino Night for Welcome Week

RN O C POP DA! E E FR D SO AN

tional blue suit, top hat, and more realistic facial features giving the Ichabod mascot a humanistic feel. “The other mascot was starting to fall apart, and it was time to change him,” said Amanda Hughes, assistant director of University Relations. “He had more puppet-like features. He had human hands and a plastic face. Now we’ve upped the quality.” With the improved look of the Ichabod mascot, the question of the mascot’s attitude remains. “Ichabod hasn’t changed at all,” said Hughes. “Ichabod is going to remain the same. He always will, because that’s our tradition.”

Kelsie O’ Connell is a freshman mass media majorReach her at kelsie.oconnell@ washburn.edu.

Mulvane Art Museum showcases a new collection of rare Dali prints

sports

A7

A2

Career & Graduate School Fair Job & Internship Seekers:

Meet and talk with potential employers.

Career Explorers:

Ask questions about career opportunities in many fields.

Christina Butler is a freshman modern languages major Reach her at christina. butler@washburn.edu

Washburn athletes are taking full advantage of new facilities

a&e

news & opinion

Grand Unveiling: Dr. Farley stands by the new Ichabod mascot during the introduction last week. The mascot replaces the prior one, which had been used since the 1980s.

Last Friday, Washburn staff members and students gathered on the north Union lawn to witness the introduction of the new and improved Ichabod mascot. Following the appearance of Jerry Farley, Washburn President, and the cheers of eager staff members and alumni, the mascot danced and posed his way down the aisle in a grand attempt to show off his classic, yet updated, new look. Washburn staff members, in particular, were buzzing about the new Ichabod look, waiting in anticipation of the event. “It was time for a new one,” said Kathy Reser, director of the Memorial Union. As the crowd continued to look on, Farley spoke of Ichabod Wash-

burn’s commitment to education and the meaning behind the mascot. “Isn’t it about the most unique one you’ve ever seen in the country?” said Farley. “We are not an animal of some kind. We’re not an insect of some kind. We are a real person.” The mascot, important to the history of the school, has not been changed since the 1980s. With the previous mascot’s outdated features, the change to the mascot was welcomed. Students of all ages were drawn to the ceremony. Many of the new freshmen seemed unsure of what the previous mascot looked like. “I had a general idea of what it looked like, but not down to the last detail,” said Alyssa Carver, freshman. “The new one looks good, though.” The design of the Ichabod, originally created by Washburn Alumnus Bradbury Thompson, was designed for the need of an updated look. The new look includes the tradi-

Students will definitely feel more comfortable and accomodated for when they walk into a class on a warm or cold day this fall in two campus buildings. During the summer, a large part of Morgan Hall and the Memorial Union were closed because of construction, which will improve classroom environments for students. With the previous system, the ventilation was difficult to control, leaving classrooms too warm on fall afternoons. The constructions purpose was to “upgrade [the] mechanical systems and ventilation system,” said Nelda Gaito, Project Manager at the Washburn Facilities Department Washburn University didn’t want to close all of Morgan Hall at once in order to complete the ventilation work. So updates were spread over three summers. The lastest construction began last summer; however, Morgan has been updated nearly every summer for many VENTILATION years. “Last UPDATES summer we had done the previous round of renovation work and [the] three consecutive summers before that we had done classroom renovations, where we went in and painted, and put in new furniture,” said Gaito. “[We] kind of updated the classrooms. Then, before that we had done the ceilings and light fixtures in the corridors, so each summer we do something we know we can get done in 10 weeks.” In 2009, the first and second floors of the north front and the east upper wing were renovated. The work this summer consisted of the east lower wing and the center wing. On the agenda for the summer of 2011 is the ventilation renovation of the west wing. “With this system we are hoping we can take better control of the classrooms so the [students] are more comfortable while they are in there,” said Gaito. Most ventilation systems become outdated after 15 to 20 years. Over the years, the system at Morgan has been “patched and cobbled,” together. In contrast, a computer will be able to regulate temperature according to each room’s specific usage allowing the system to be more energy efficient. “[When the computer knows a class or activity is coming] it will gear up and gear back when there is not a heavy demand,” said Gaito.

Don’t forget:

A10

September 8, 2010 | 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Lee Arena

Copies of your resume Notepad & pen Great interpersonal skils Knowledge of the organizations

Network to learn about careers, jobs, potential employers! Participant list at: www.washburn.edu/services/career


News • Wednesday, August 25, 2010

A2

C

alendar

Thursday, aug. 26 All University Convocation Washburn Room 12:30 p.m Campus Ministry Burger Bash Campus Ministry House 5 p.m. Sorority Recruitment Informational Meeting Kansas Room 7 p.m. Bod Squad Membership Meeting LLC Lobby 8:15 p.m. Friday, aug. 27 Saturday, Aug. 28 Cheer Tryouts Room 125, Petro 10 a.m. Sunday, Aug. 29 Kick Off Mass and Taco Feast Catholic Campus Center 4 p.m. Monday, Aug. 30 Union Daze- Pepsi Product Tasting Memorial Union 10 a.m. Council of Organization Presidents (COPS) Kansas Room 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, Aug . 31 Scorch on the Porch Memorial Union Lawn 11 a.m. Workshop: Academic Success with ADD/ADHD Morgan 122 12:30 p.m. Council of Organization Presidents (COPS) Kansas Room 5:30 p.m.

The Bod Beat Scorch brings music, food to campus Kelsie O’ Connell WASHBURN REVIEW The Union lawn was filled with the sound of students and staff, along with the raging chords and vocals of “The Magnetics” as Scorch on the Porch began last Friday. The band kicked off their set with a cover of “Shut Up and Let Me Go,” famously performed by the Ting-Tings. The band mixed and matched their own style into the song with a riff from “Party in the USA” by Miley Cyrus. They also dove into songs by: Tom Petty, Sublime, Gorillaz and others as well during their performance.      Some students could hear the festivities going on from inside nearby buildings. “I was in the cafeteria having lunch with friends and heard the band playing outside,” said Tricia Cares, freshman. “We

Photo by Regina Budden, Washburn Review

Got It Covered: The Magnetics cover popular songs and played many of them during Scorch on the Porch. The band was well received by spectators, who could be seen dancing on the steps of the Memorial Union. had to go outside and see what was going on.” The newness of the event brought a bit of excitement for some students as well.

“There were a lot of people out there,” said Carlie Morris, freshman “I didn’t even know where to start.” Along with the music, fes-

tivities included free cupcakes in honor of Ichabod Washburn’s 212th birthday. There were also  sidewalk sales from the Washburn Bookstore, as

well as a seven-hole Frisbee golf course. Scorch on the Porch has been a tradition for many years. With each outing come a different lunch menu and atmosphere, since many of the events have themes. Jerry Farley, President is a big fan of the Scorch on the Porch series, because he believes that it is a good way for students to meet other students. The Magnetics looked for encouragement as they rolled through their set, to which they received applause. “Two thumbs up?” said one of the members. The Magnetics continue their performances in the area including Manhattan and Kansas City Kelsie O’ Connell is a freshman mass media major. Reach her at kelsie.oconnell@washburn.edu.

Students gamble on making friends at Casino Night Regina Budden WASHBURN REVIEW Casino Night never gets old, according to some, as this Welcome Week activity recently celebrated its tenth year running. Mary Bannwarth, the Campus Activities Board director of varieties and entertainment, said she felt the pressure when they started planning this year’s Casino Night because of the significance of the anniversary. Although the attendance was not a record—last year was slightly bigger—Bannwarth felt that it was just as successful. “My favorite part was seeing the amount of students that came because it’s not a mandatory event,” she said, “There were a lot of people who stayed for the whole thing.” Although various reasons drew different students, the social atmosphere was a big influence on attendance. “I think it’s fun to get dressed up and meet people,” said Kara Peterson, a freshman who attended Casino Night with her roommate Alyssa Crawford. “It seems like a lot

events.” Part of CAB’s focus, said Bannwarth, was to show new and returning students that Topeka businesses have a lot to offer. This year, CAB members visited local businesses to ask for underwriting and donations, and were able to get Cici’s Pizza, Olive Garden, Chili’s, The Classic Bean Photo by Josh Rouse, Washburn Review and Juice Stop Going All In: Student Orientation Counselor Joe Muiller deals a game of blackjack to students to be some of at his table. Students of all experience were encouraged to partake in the festivities. their main contributors. The event of people are more accepting.” decorated with sorority letters The girls were lured by in an attempt to both recruit and was largely affected by the movement to go local by CAB’s the prospect of new friends and have fun. winning a prize or two. “It’s like a 50/50 sacrifice,” switch from an Arkansas-based “A T.V. would be nice for said Billinger, “These events gaming company to Jacks and our room,” said Crawford. are some of the best ways to Aces Events, LLC, which is loJunior Jane Billinger was meet incoming freshmen that cated in Kansas City. “This company was somethere with fellow sorority sis- we wouldn’t normally meet ters armed with green Greek because we’re upperclassmen. what cheaper, and we were testwristbands and clothespins I was recruited at one of these ing the waters to see who else

was out there,” said Bannwarth, “We wanted to see what more local businesses would be, closer to Topeka.” Jacks and Aces supplied the tables for poker, blackjack and craps, as well as supplying a lighted entryway arch, Plinko game and a feathered showgirl. “Our main focus was on little details this year, we wanted to go with details to make it look sharp,” said Bannwarth. Apparently this tactic worked out well, because Blake Bryant, a Washburn junior, returned for his third Casino Night and was anticipating “an overall better experience.” “This year they’ve really gone out of their way to step things up,” he said. “I was really excited to play Plinko because I watched Bob Barker and ‘The Price Is Right’ every day from, like, age 4-10.”

Regina Budden is a senior mass media major. She can be reached at regina.budden@washburn.edu

Wednesday, Sept. 1 Activities, Majors and Study Abroad Fair Washburn Room 11 a.m. Chilling in the Catacombs Ice Cream Party Catholic Campus Center 5 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 2 Union Daze - Washburn Wheel, Spin to Win Memorial Union Lawn 10 a.m. Workshop: Make the Career Fair Work for YOU Shawnee Room 12:30 p.m. Sorority Recruitment Information Meeting Shawnee Room 4 p.m. Sorority Recruitment Orientation Kansas Room 7 p.m.

Don’t see your event in the calendar? Call the Review newsroom at 670-2506 to have your event included in an upcoming edition. It’s FREE. For upcoming Washburn athletic events, go to www.wusports.com.

Law school brings heavy agenda for 1Ls Robert Burkett WASHBURN REVIEW While Welcome Week events took place last week with social events being the focus, some students were hard at work preparing for a whole new process. Traditionally, students just entering Washburn look forward to all the new faces and spend a majority of their first week getting to know new students and in some cases, roommates, as they settle into life at school. Across campus near the corner of 17th St. and Macvicar Ave., one building houses the exception that proves the rule. Washburn School of Law, a school of tradition in its own right, typically skips forward past a majority of the social networking opportunities and moves straight into the reality of law school. “[Students] have to read two books in advance of school and review a whole bunch of web material,” said Michael Schwartz, co-director for law teaching and learning. In addition to the material, students are also put in situations that give the students, “a microcosm of law school,” according to Schwartz. “We have students go through the process of how to read law briefs as well as how

to write one,” said Schwartz. the students embark on their “We also have them experience law school careers. what a law school exam is like “We divide the students so they get a taste of what’s into smaller groups and let expected before school really them decide on a set of rules starts in full force.” that they will abide by and will For students the differ- hold each other responsible ence between their experience for following,” said Schwartz. with under“The groups graduate col- “ then come lege and law up with an It’s not what I school is a oath of proexpected. The definite confessionalism trast. that [Dean entire week was “It’s not of School of centered around what I expectLaw Thomas ed,” said Will Romig] narclasses. Lawrence, rows down - Will Lawrence first year law to a single Freshman Law Student student “The choice for the entire week class. That was centered oath is then ” around classadministered es.” to the students by a Among the biggest differ- judge or justice of [The Kansas ences that Lawrence noticed Supreme Court].” were some of the lessons that But at the end of the week, the faculty strives to convey students feel like success is a during first week. more achievable task with all “The work load is much of the preparation the school bigger than in undergrad provides. school,” said Lawrence. “They “It’s a lot of time consumsay that for every one hour in ing work but I feel confident I’ll undergrad school you should be able to get things done,” said spend two hours studying but Lawrence. in law school, faculty said it would be more like a one to four hour ratio.” Beyond the increased demands on students, some other activities are undertaken with Robert Burkett is a senior mass an eye toward driving home media major. He can be reached at professionalism and ethics as robert.burkett@washburn.edu

President’s Press -paid for by WSGAStudents of Washburn, Hello all and hope your first week of classes are going great! It has been so great to see everyone again! This week is our first WSGA meeting and it will be a committee’s night, so everyone will get to dress casual and meet with their committees (we have 4 committees—spirit, communications, campus affairs and allocations..) We also have some very exciting news! We are looking for a Student Affairs director to serve on our Executive Staff! Like I have said numerous times before, we have the best jobs in the world being able to serve students ALL the time and work right here on campus. We have competitive pay and are looking for someone with a fun personality who will be good at connecting with students from all over campus. Please come talk to me if you have any questions at all, but we would love to have you apply! Also—we are taking applications for freshman elections! We have 5 open seats on our Senate held specifically for freshmen each Fall so get involved and join WSGA! Planners are in, so make sure and grab one—we have plenty down by the WSGA office in the lower level of the Union. I hope you all have a wonderful semester and PLEASE come meet Lucas and I! Our office is in the lower level and we would love to help you get more involved or just answer any questions you may have about Washburn or college in general. College should be the best years of your life (or so they say) and Washburn is the best place to make that happen. JOIN BOD SQUAD—info meeting TOMORROW (Thursday, Aug. 26 at 8:15 in the LLC Lobby). Let’s have an awesome year!! Go Bods! Caley Onek WSGA President


A3

Wednesday, August 25, 2010 • News

Balancing a budget ISS makes connection

Washburn signs contract with new Internet provider Richard Kelly WASHBURN REVIEW

Richard Kelly WASHBURN REVIEW With new, exciting steps come new responsibilities. Moving onto campus is no different. As if transitioning into a brand new environment wasn’t enough change, students now have to deal with budgeting their money. While students on campus have meal plans to help pay breakfast, lunch and dinner costs, some students will have to begin saving portions of their paychecks, pay tuition out of pocket, pay their own phone bills, and develop ways to end college debt free. Daniel Furman, from Lee Summit, Mo., lived with one of his best friends’ parents for the last five years. Now in the LLC, Furman recently got a

job at Target for 15-20 hours per week. Furman was adamant about trying to support himself and not put any pressure on anyone else. While he has some financial aid, he’s otherwise funding college completely on his own. So, his first step to saving money starts with cutting down on outside food costs. He said that’s one of his biggest expenses he has in a month. “I try to eat here on campus and save a lot of money doing that. I’d probably spend like $500 a month eating out otherwise,” said Furman. He also is prepared to leave college with a small amount of debt but plans on keeping his finances fairly stable by saving at least some money from each paycheck. Ryan Schademann of Kansas City, Kan. is also a fresh-

man living on campus for the fall semester. This is his first time living out of his home and is receiving a small amount of financial aid and assistance from his parents but is funding the rest on his own. While he isn’t getting a job just yet, Schademann plans on doing so once he’s settled in to school. Students are still getting adjusted to their college life, some of these realities have not sunk in completely with the prospect of moving out still exists fresh in their minds. “I don’t think its hit me yet,” said Schademann. “But up until now, this has just been exciting for me. I’ve been waiting for this for 18 years.”

Richard Kelly is a junior mass media/social work major. Reach him at richard.kelly@washburn.edu

Washburn University students and faculty are now satisfied to know a much faster Internet system is powering the campus. After hiring an outside consultant service last spring, it was determined that the Washburn Internet be updated to accommodate for increased usage. The Kansas Research and Education Network, has now replaced the previous vendors for internet service. The bandwidth has now increased from 60mbps between both WUPublic and Tsunami combined to a speed of 1gbps for the new WUPublic connection through KanREN. KanREN also operates for the Kansas Board of Regents schools, such as the University of Kansas and Kansas State University. The new Internet connection is now comparable to the speed proposed by the use of the Google Fiber Project. Bob Stoller, Assistant Director for Information Systems and Services at Washburn, compared the Washburn internet to any other utility the campus needs. “It’s just like the electric lights and the plumbing,” said Stoller. “It’s a utility. People need it and they need it to work in a responsive manner. Washburn offers more and more online classes. If you’re on campus, you have to go out over the Internet to access those things or if you’re off campus you need it to get in. You just don’t want something like this to be a trouble point.” The response to the changes has been positive. The Wash-

burn School of Law was the new wireless access points, first area on campus to receive which will now combine with access to the new operating the updated speed for a better system and noticed an immedi- all-around Internet capability at ate difference. the university. “The law school building “Getting good signal was the first one that moved strength has been made beover to the new system and cause of more access points in immediately they were say- the ceiling and then, once that ing ‘oh, this is traffic reaches wonderful’ and the access were so excited “ point, now it’s It’s just like the about it,” said travelling over Stoller. “We’ve a wire so when electricity, lights, had very good it gets to the or the plumbing. response.” Internet, it’ll Wes LawIt’s a utility. People have a super rence, sophohighway trafneed it and they more, has seen fic to run on need it to work in a few problems instead of a with the InterHighway 75,” a responsive way. net cutting in said Stoller. and out in origThe one- Bob Stoller inal usage, but time cost for Assistant Director, ISS has been satthe design and isfied with its ” construction performance of new wires, the last week. combined with “I do notice that web pages the equipment needed for the have loaded faster,” said Law- new updates cost the univerrence. “Especially in using sity$26,186. The new operating YouTube, I certainly notice that system will only cost the univideos load faster. I don’t have versity roughly $23,000 more the pausing and stutter play I per year, while giving them a used to have.” 1667% increase in bandwidth. While ISS has not had a The contract that ISS signs direct response from student with KanREN will be on a housing, the new operating sys- yearly basis and will depend on tem is able to allow for students the performance of the service. to have complete access to the Stoller does not expect any Internet and all downloads at complications with service and all times, which is different expects the company’s contract from the previous vendors. will be renewed yearly. Reception was updated to include areas that had almost no access prior to changes. According to Lawrence, he struggled with access in the basement of Mabee Library and Henderson at points last year. And in updating, Garvey, Richard Kelly is a junior mass meHenderson, Carnegie, and Ma- dia/social work major. Reach him bee Library have all been given at richard.kelly@washburn.edu

Onek sets high expectations for WSGA projects Richard Kelly WASHBURN REVIEW Even though meetings begin tonight for Washburn Student Government Association, goals for the year are already in mind. WSGA resumes its weekly Wednesday duties this evening. The allocations, spirit, campus affairs, and communication committees all meet separately after a briefing between them all. Senate meetings between all WSGA members will take place the next week, which will be the pattern of meetings for the semester. Caley Onek, WSGA President, knows that while it’s early in the year, each committee begins its planning for the year now, based off of the budget each of them has to work with. It’s hard to say what exactly

they’re planning on working on s o m e t h i n g for the year, but Onek has some we’re wantideas of what they’ll focus on. ing also, where She wants students to also play we’d have difa role in those decisions, but ferent TV’s knows while they have propos- around campus als, none of them are definite. that do advertisNevertheless, committee mem- ing for student bers have hope for their ideas. groups. I think One of the ideas for the or- Vice President ganization is Bodbox, which is [Lucas] Mullin similar to the Redbox concept actually spoke that allows for individuals to with Dr. [Alan] rent movies out of a machine. Bearman [Dean of University “As of right now, we’re set- Libraries] and we’re going to ting up our committees for our try to work with him to see if lecture series,” that may be a partsaid Onek. “We nership we could STUDENT know we’ll have to form.” GOVERNMENT help The a speaker in the candifall at some point. dates for Vice That’s a pretty big one right off President of Academic Affairs the bat. Also, we’ll be working and the Vice President of Adon the Bodbox idea we have, ministration and Treasury will which is something we want to be on campus soon, according see. to Onek. She highly suggests “The Bod Screens are students take advantage of the

opportunity. “Those people will be coming on campus and we’re going to want students to meet them and ask them questions as well and be involved in that process,” said Onek. “Those are two really big positions on our campus and that’s something I hope students get involved with.” Committee meetings also begin for other organizations soon. Some WSGA members are also active in other promi-

nent campus groups. Onek also was sure that this involvement will help WSGA know where to focus their attention for the year. Much of the WSGA executive staff is either new or is switching from another position. “We have five members returning from our executive staff from last year,” said Onek. “Everyone, except our public relations director, is changing position and that’s been a

big adjustment for us. It is different responsibility. But we have some new faces this year, which I think will be great. I’m not worried though because the people that we do have I know have had experience with other leadership positions at Washburn.” Richard Kelly is a junior mass me dia/social work major. Reach him at richard.kelly@washburn.edu

New professor brings experience, diversity to campus Robert Burkett WASHBURN REVIEW With seasons of change comes the inevitable, “new faces in new places,” at the beginning of the school year. The mass media department, seeking to transform itself into a place where students get a quality education in cutting edge media techniques, has added faculty this year. Jaeyoon Park began her education about as far away from Topeka, Kan. as one can imagine. Park grew up in Seoul,

South Korea as many youth do, watching television and movies. Her natural interest grew during the 100-year anniversary of film, which was commemorated in South Korea with numerous film festivals and screenings. After attending the different festivals, Park developed a passion for film. “I was watching two or three films a day and thinking this could be something I could do,” said Park. After getting her bachelor’s degree, Park was accepted to Columbia University’s English

language program in New York goals. City, a program renowned for “In television you spend so its intensive study curriculum. much time not even writing but After Columbia, Park ap- just doing meetings and I just plied to get her master’s degree found there wasn’t enough time at New York University but due for self growth and reading like to the financial realities of a I enjoy,” said Park school like NYU, Deciding that Park went back she wanted someFRESH home and earned thing else from FACES her masters in her professional South Korea. life, Park applied After graduation, Park for admission to doctorate prowent to work in the television grams all over the United States business in South Korea as a and was accepted at the Univerwriter. The intense schedule sity of Kansas. of the industry however didn’t “When I was coming from sit well with Park’s personal the airport for the first time to

Check us out online!

WR

online

washburnreview.org

twitter.com/wureview

facebook.com/wureview

Lawrence, I just thought to myself, ‘what have I got myself into’,” said Park “It was so dark compared to being home in Seoul.” After working on her dissertation Park began looking for a position at a university and saw that Washburn was hiring. She applied and immediately stood out among the applicants. “Our department is moving to have more emphasis on digital film techniques and her experience and background was perfect for what we were looking for,” said Kathy Men-

zie, chair of the mass media department. Park hopes that her experiences in the professional world, coupled with her extensive studies in film will allow her to find the success she has sought throughout her career. “I look forward to meeting students and getting to know the Washburn community better,” said Park.

Robert Burkett is a senior mass media major. Reach him at robert. burkett@washburn.edu


A4

Opinion • Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Electorate needs to involve itself in voting process P90X: Editorial Staff Not just for WASHBURN REVIEW meatheads

Regina Budden WASHBURN REVIEW

Picture a Facebook profile picture of a young man, muscles bulging, itty bitty body straining to look ripped without anyone being able to tell that he’s flexing. Most guys from my high school have taken various similar photos and placed them prominently out there for the world to see and me to laugh at. Generally, when I see photos such as this, I chuckle and move on, but the other day, my older brother messaged me a photo, and told me to look at the conversation that accompanied it. I cannot repeat the entire conversation without sprouting chest hair, but it looked something like this: “I look so ripped, but I’m still gaining some weight,” guy 1 “Yeah, me too, man, but for me it’ll be losing weight,” guy 2 “Oh, bro., you have to just be dedicated,” guy 1 “Oh, I’m dedicated for sure, man,” guy 2 And on and on. As my head filled with nearintelligent advice from “bro.” to the other (these men are not actually brothers) on how to get swoll and eat as much raw meat as possible, I realized that they were not actually parodying anything. This is really just how they talk. I also realized that they both referenced the P90X workout program. I immediately dismissed it as a program where FROM THE you eat live cattle EDITOR and lift cars for fun, neither of which sounds like “my kind of thing.” Eventually I saw a video of an actual P90X workout. One word: intense. What’s more, nowhere did Beach Body Tony say “meatheads only” or anything like that. Instead, I found a well-planned exercise regimen that seemed to be fit for a wide variety of people. It piqued my interest to see the diverse exercises that the sets were divided into, especially because a lot of my personal issues with exercising are because the thought of devoting a half hour to an hour of my time to the same activities seems revolting. Multitasking is a way of life, just like veganism or being a plumber, and the variance of activities appealed to me. However, the title alone, Power 90 days Xtreme, sounded like a disaster. Until my first day of class. Several people, normal people, mentioned that they were trying P90X, and although it has been kicking their behinds, they are digging it. These people are excited about working out, they “can’t stop,” and yet they all possess brains adequate for discussing things other than their times at the gym and the protein pills they are packing up on. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think that all people who work out have thick skulls and drag their knuckles. It’s just comforting to know that some people have managed to find a balance between their workouts and having a real life. However, don’t count on seeing me P90X-ing anytime in the near future. Or at all.

Regina is a senior mass media major. Reach her at regina.budden@ washburn.edu.

Bod on

by one party has had on the legislative agenda. For the first time in Supreme Court history, women make up a third of the makeup of the bench. Without a democratic congress it would be hard to believe that President Obama’s choices for the bench would have passed through. One also has to take note of the healthcare law that was passed and realize that Congress in large part, not the president, was the architect of the passage of the law. Stopping to learn a little bit about people who want to make potentially life changing and even world changing decisions in the name of the citizens of this country is the least that

street What are you doing

the

But not for everyone

With the beginning of the school year many changes take place throughout the country. Leaves turn their colors, the clash of pads are heard as football teams take to the gridiron and sighs of relief as soaring temperatures drop from triple digits signal the beginning of fall. Every two years though, another fall event takes place. One that people of intelligence and civic-mindedness seem to take less notice of with each passing. The 2008 election not withstanding, non-presidential year elections are typically less

well engaged by the electorate. Without the perception of making a dramatic impact to the nation’s fortune that come in electing a new president, most voters choose to stay warm at home as results are tallied from those that show up. No matter your political affiliation, the editorial staff this year challenges students of all ages, backgrounds and philosophical beliefs to embrace the chance to help determine in small part, the future of the country by participating through the right to vote. Looking at the first two years of the Obama administration, one has to be keenly aware as to the effect that a Congress dominated

one person should be expected to do. No one is being asked to make a major sacrifice here. Mohandas Ghandi, noted spiritual and political figure of India once said, “Be the change you want to see.” If we are to be a nation of great ideas and tolerance for all, should we not be passionate about those that represent our beliefs and desires? The next time you see the news think about that first Tuesday in November and resolve to be the change you want to see and make a difference in that voting booth no matter what side of the political spectrum you stand on.

With students quickly realizing how much college costs and how little McDonalds costs, we asked students what they are doing to stay fit at Washburn.

Kris Suthard Freshman

“I go jogging around the campus.”

Zachary Nehring Junior

“I really like the cardio, I think it’s the best stress reliever.”

Yulieth Armstrong Freshman

“I go to the wellness center and excercise on the elliptical or treadmill.”

Kelsey Rumbaugh Freshman “I eat healthy and I never take the elevator, I always take the stairs.”

to stay fit at WU?

Jordyn Buntain Freshman

Shaun Small Junior

“I like to do crunches, go to the rec three times a week.”

Brett Johnson Junior “I lift weights.”

“I try to eat well and work out.”

The Washburn Review Contact Us Phone: (785) 670-2506 Fax: (785) 670-1131 ww.washburnreview.org Print Editor-in-Chief Regina Budden Online Editor-in-Chief Josh Rouse Advertising Manager Ashley Shepard News Editor Richard Kelly Sports Editor Kate Hampson A&E Editor Kate Fechter Assistant Online Editor Jordan Shefte Photo Editor Tesa DeForest Copy Editors Robert Burkett • ReAnne Wentz Production Assistants Shelby Kampsen • Emily McCall • Maggie Pilcher Writers Michelle Boltz • Christina Butler • Hannah Cockerill • Samantha Corber• Kacey Hunter • Kelsie Klotzbach • Timothy Lake • Robert Miller • Peter Newman • Kelsie O’Connell • Sam Sayler • David Wiens • Anjelica Willis Photographers Molly Adams • Erik Boeselager • April Ewing • Linnzi Fusco • Zachary Lambert • Mallory Shehi Senior Videographer Brian Dulle Videographers Ryan Hodges • Adebayo Oladapo • Adam Stephenson Advertising Staff Anna Henry • Jaimie Luse

Bradi Jensen Freshman “The hike down to the rec and the hike back were excercise enough .”

Interviews and photos by Adam Stephenson

COMIC CORNER

Business Manager Lily Pankratz Adviser Regina Cassell The Washburn Review is published every Wednesday throughout the academic year, excluding holidays and some other dates. Copies are free for students, faculty and staff, and can be found at numerous locations around the campus of Washburn University. Subscriptions to the Washburn Review are available at the following rates: 13 issues for $20 or 26 issues for $35. For more information, please visit our Web site at www.washburnreview.org or call (785) 670-2506. The Washburn Review is a member newspaper of the Associated Press (AP), the Kansas Associated Press (KPA) and the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press (KACP). The Review was the 2009 winner of the All-State award, given to the best four-year public university newspaper in the state of Kansas. The Washburn Review accepts letters to the editor pertaining to articles appearing in the Washburn Review or on issues of importance to the Washburn or Topeka community. We do not accept mass letters to the editor. Please limit letters to less than 400 words. Letters must be submitted via Word document if possible, and there must be a phone number where the person can be reached for verification. Please e-mail letters to review@washburn.edu. The Review reserves the right to edit all submissions to the paper for length, libel, language and clarity. Because of volume on the opinion page, we are unable to print all letters and are unable to return submissions.

© The Washburn Review Copyright 2010

Corrections The Greek symbols used in the graphic for “Sororities step up for sisterhood” are incorrect. Apologies to Alpha Phi and Kappa Alpha Theta. The barbeque event tomorrow at Alpha Delta was incorrectly listed to start at 6 p.m. It will run from 5-7 p.m.

Cameron Hughes is a sophomore art and graphic design major. Reach him at cameron.hughes@washburn.edu.

Giovani’s Pizzeria and Cafe is spelled with two N’s. Sorry for the confusion.


A5

News • Wednesday, August 25, 2010

WELCOME: Students lose initial nerves

Limbo: Mike Sershen, who performs janitorial duties in the Memorial Union, limbos during the Welcome Week festivities.

Beat it: Evan Thomas, drummer for Neocircus, lays down sweet rhythms Friday at WU Fest.

Photos by Josh Rouse, Washburn Review

Touchdown: Elisa Gayle, a member of Alpha Phi, competes on the inflatable “Touchdown” game. The point of the game was to makes as many touchdowns as possible while tethered to an opponent on the opposite side of the mat. with the event. There was one main suggestion that Onions Onions said the orientation made though. counselors knocking on student “The only thing I could doors and the effort to inundate see is to advertise more what all students into activities made the specific events are so we it a lot easier for know,” said Onstudents. She saw ions. “I mean, WELCOME people who may with Catch the WEEK have stayed in Bus, we didn’t their rooms othreally know what erwise that became more social it was until we got there. But it through all the events. was explained well when we Onions and Miller thought got there, just not really before the university did a good job that.”

Continued from page A1

Beyond the initial fun factors of Welcome Week, there were also some valuable resources gained from the experience, which Onions said was one of the best points of the week. “This [event] helps advertise when the different groups meet and why you might prefer this group over another group or if you prefer hanging out with certain people or working in a different place,” said Onions. “Being introduced to the pro-

Bubbleboy: Students enjoyed racing in giant inflatable balls Friday at Washburn University’s WU Fest, part of Welcome Week.

fessors when we’re walking on campus and going to the classrooms, it lets us know that the professors are actually people. They’re not just there to teach us but to also help us connect and be a part of the university”

Richard Kelly is a junior mass media/social work major. Reach him at richard.kelly@washburn.edu.

The bird is the word: Washburn students enjoyed a dizzying ride on the “Whirly Bird” ride during Friday’s WU Fest festivities. The College Republicans were in charge of operating the ride.

Thieves and Liars: Justin Richmond, lead singer of Neocircus, performed with his band at WU Fest near the belltower.

Woo!: A mixture of new and returning students flooded the Memorial Union lawn Friday for WU Fest.


A6

News • Wednesday, August 25, 2010


review a&e washburn university

wednesday, August 25, 2010

Dali’s Inferno: Mulvane showcases rare print series

Photo by Michael Hager, Mulvane Art Museum

Dali’s World: Hager explained that the Dali prints were donated anonymously and had been in the basement, where the permanent collection is stored. The Mulvane is open Tuesdays from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Wednesdays through Fridays 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and weekends 1-4 p.m..

Elise Barnett WASHBURN REVIEW The second floor of the Mulvane Art Museum recently became more surreal. A new exhibit of Salvador Dali prints is currently on display for museum visitors. According to the Encyclopedia Britannica, Dali was a Spanish painter, sculptor, graphic artist and designer born in 1904. His more famous works represent a unique, surrealistic style that visually explored the theories of Sigmund Freud on subconscious imagery. Melt-

ing clocks, burning giraffes and human figures with half open drawers expanding from them were among some of the more well-known subjects of Dali’s popular work. The works featured in the Mulvane exhibit are more comprehensible, but just as imaginative. The feature of this exhibition is a series of 100 prints detailing the story of Dante’s “Divine Comedy.” Michael Hager, Exhibition Preparer for the Mulvane and adjunct professor for the art department, and Carol Emert, Curator of Exhibitions and Collections for

the Mulvane, are the masterminds behind this exhibit. Hager explained that in 1951, the Italian government commissioned Dali to illustrate Dante Alighieri’s masterpiece for the anniversary of the late poet’s 700th birthday. When the project became public in 1954, the Italian people were so angered by the hiring of a Spaniard, that the Italian government rescinded their commission. Dali finished the collection on his own accord and now 99 original prints and one copy show the complete story in the Mulvane Art Museum’s

upper level. Hager created the copy himself, and the Mulvane is currently in search of the missing print to complete the collection. Each section of Dante’s epic poem is comprised of 33 cantos, except “Inferno” which has 34. While Dali’s collection has the same number of images per section, as there are cantos. The story follows Dante Pilgrim on a three-day journey through hell, then up the mountain of purgatory and finally into the paradise of heaven. Dali’s images depict each stage of the journey of Dante along with his three guides: Vigil, Beatrice and St. Bernard. “Originally when prints were used for communication, they were made to be displayed like this at an angle on a table, not actually framed on a wall,” said Hager. “They were meant to be read like a book on a pulpit. I am blown away by the fact these are all woodcuts. I, as a printmaker myself, find it hard to believe. There are over 3,000 blocks.” Hager said Dali did not do the prints himself. “He painted the originals in watercolor and then had a master printer, I think in Spain, do the prints,” said Hager. “The master printer chose to do it in woodcuts.” The same master printer created the other prints in the exhibit as well. On one side of the gallery hangs a collection of prints illustrating pieces of the story of Don Quixote, and on the other side hangs elaborate, vibrant images of horses. If visitors look closely at the horse, they can see that

some of the hard white lines on is proud to own them. the images are actually places “This is a very rare, very where the print has been em- good thing to have and it’s bossed which created raised ours,” said Hager. “It’s here in edges and gives the prints a Topeka.” shadow effect. Hager explained In the small area between the process for embossment. the two large galleries is an ex“They print the color and hibit of bowties. These are not then they make a plate and add the common article of men’s something to the top and then clothing, but several artists’ inrun it through the press with terpretation on the subject. no ink and emboss it,” he said. This collection was com“That’s exactly how they do posed in honor of Jerry Farley, greeting cards. With greeting Washburn University President. cards they do it all at once. With This collection is composed of this it has to dry for a week or paintings, photographs, pottery a month.” and glasswork. Hager continued, explainThe second upper gallery ing that each is currently print is from featuring art“ the same ist Joelle Ford This is a very rare, printing. and her colWhen prints lection titled very good thing to are made the “Reinvenhave, and it’s ours. printer will tions.” It’s here in Topeka. make a cerThe style tain number is a combina- Michael Hager of each print. tion of postExhibition Preparer/ All of the modernism Phototgrapher, horse prints and pop art. are number Ford uses orMulvane Art Museum 142, which dinary objects means they ” such as paint are a comcans or paint plete set and can lids to crea complete printing. ate works of art. “These are one of the few “It is very pop,” said Hagcomplete collections in the er. “Pop artists normally paintworld,” said Hager. “There are ed but they would paint these probably two more like this in kinds of things.” the world. One of the reasons All three unique collecwe got in touch with the mu- tions will be on display at the seums in Florida and in Spain museum until Sept. 26. was to tell them we had this, and they told us that we have something very rare. They can’t believe this exists.” The Dali exhibit is definite- Elise Barnett is a sophomore ly a once in a lifetime event for English major. Reach her at elise. many people and the museum barnett@washburn.edu.

World Cup: same location, new menu items ‘Other Guys’ spoofs

Photo by Zachary Lambert, Washburn Review

World Cup: Offers coffee drink, smoothies, sandwiches, breakfast and baked goods. World Cup Espresso and Café is located at 1501 SW 21st St.

Michelle Boltz WASHBURN REVIEW

Just a hop and a skip away from campus is World Cup Espresso and Cafe, located next to the Ichabod Laundra-Bar near the corner of 21st St. and Washburn Ave. World Cup opened its doors in 1990, and is locally owned by Don and Glenda Leftwich. Inside, one can find a warm, friendly atmosphere with comfortable nooks to relax in and unwind after a day of classes and work. Free WiFi is available for use during business hours while Washburn students and faculty get a 10 percent discount for all food

and beverage purchases. World Cup offers freshly brewed coffees, teas and smoothies, and also has decaf and organic teas available. They also order their own private blend of organic black Chai tea that comes from Boulder, Colo. Two of their most popular frozen coffee drinks are the mocha kicker and the peanut butter snowball kicker. Their smoothie flavors include: strawberry banana, cherry, mango, peach and green apple. Children and adults alike can enjoy making their own unique flavors and blends of smoothies. For those students wanting to enjoy a snack with their

HELP WANTED:

Taco Villa, 5300 SW 21st. Apply in person. 20 hours per week. Short order cook. Wages negotiable, meal per shift.

drink, Glenda Leftwich bakes the majority of World Cup’s baked goods from scratch. The items include breads, muffins, cheesecake, cookies and biscotti that are available every day. Available Monday through Friday, the breakfast casserole, which contains: hash browns, sausage, cheese and egg is another menu favorite. Saturday mornings feature biscuits and gravy, and Wednesdays quiche is featured on the menu. Shawn Rowland, a barista and crepe extraordinaire, started making crepes for breakfast and lunch in September 2009. They’re not just for dessert anymore. “They’re customizable and made completely from scratch,” said Rowland. Crepe prices range from $4 to $6. There are two menus offered, breakfast and a weekly lunch menu. Two of the most popular lunch crepes are the Southwest Chicken and a Mediterranean Vegetarian Crepe. On the sweeter side, the Banana-Nutella and BananaBread Crepes are the top choices. On the weekends, the World Cup Western Crepe is the top seller. Crepes are available: Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m., Saturdays 8 a.m.-noon, and 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Sundays. There are two new sandwiches on World Cup’s menu. The “Big Hot One” consists of half a loaf of garlic bread filled with ham, turkey, Colby jack and provolone

cheeses, which are then grilled. It satisfies the biggest appetite at $6.25. The second sandwich is the “Homemade Chicken Salad”, choice of croissant or wholewheat bread, is $4.55. They often sell out of chicken salad during lunch because of its popularity. “We are family owned, and take a lot of pride in our service and that our customers are happy with our product,” said Rowland. Tammy Dreasher, a loyal customer for the last five years, visits World Cup as much as possible, sometimes twice a day. “I’ve been known to walk four miles just to get a coffee, and it’s nice to know that they know my face, and know what I want,” said Dreasher. Kyle Moreland, manager, has had a special holiday tradition for five years where he performs along with other local-area musicians as free entertainment for the public. The annual event is called “Kyle Moreland Christmas.” Moreland also produced a CD titled “Build Yourself a Boat,” which came out in 2006 and is $5. Hours are 6:30 a.m. to 9 p.m. on Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. on Saturdays, and 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Sundays.

Michelle Boltz is a sophomore mass media major. Reach her at michelle.boltz@washburn.edu.

NOW LEASING:

Bristol Ridge Apartments. 1 & 2 Bedrooms. W/D in each apartment Cable Paid, Pool. $100/Bedroom Deposit. Call 785-233-5959. www.firstmanagementinc.com

famous cop dramas David Wiens WASHBURN REVIEW

David Ershon, portrayed by Steve Coogan, on a failure to apply for proper scaffolding permits. Ershon, as it turns I will admit that the out, is a billionaire investment prospect of sitting through tycoon who is about to scam another movie starring Will some poor suckers out of Ferrell was hardly an intriguing 75 billion dollars to pay off another company to whom he one. Granted, he did some owes money. Ferrell’s disarmingly great work up to and including “Anchorman,” but when he offbeat character is not much played essentially the same of a stretch from that of his character for “Talladega characters during his SNL Nights,” “Blades of Glory,” and days, but the fact that he has “Semi-Pro.” I grew pretty sick played the arrogant dunce so of him. However, when I found often during the past few years out Ferrell was not playing a actually makes his performance mildly talented yet incredibly here quite effective. Wahlberg, arrogant simpleton my interest after having played a detective in quite a few other movies, was piqued. gives a nuanced “The Other performance to Guys” is the latest MOVIE what easily could in a long line of have been a flat REVIEW films attempting character. to lampoon the Although buddy cop genre, but unlike most, it actually many would see it as a shortcoming, what I most follows through. While many comedy admired about “The Other movies poking fun at the over- Guys” was that it never tried to the-top violence of the genre push the emotional tension to wind up imitating it more than the forefront of the storyline; mocking it, “The Other Guys” a lot of comedies will intensify just drinks from an open can of the emotional stakes between whoop-ass rather than trying characters to elicit sympathy or to down it all in the last thirty manufacture a greater sense of minutes of the movie. Because importance and more often than of this, they get a lot more not it kills the momentum of the laughs out of the final act than plot. When Hoitz and Gamble they would have if they’d used argue, or when Gamble’s job it all trying to ramp up the interferes with his marriage it still plays more comical than action. Will Ferrell plays Allen dramatic. I would hardly call “The Gamble, a gullible pencilpusher who ends up doing other Other Guys” one of the funniest detectives’ paperwork for them. movies I have seen this year, Terry Hoitz, played by Mark but it is the funniest cop spoof I Wahlberg, is Gamble’s short- have seen since “Hot Fuzz.” tempered partner longing for the action and glory that his coworkers receive. When Hoitz finally drags David Wiens is a junior English Gamble out of the office, major. Reach him at david.wiens@ Gamble still insists on pursuing washburn.edu.


Arts & Entertainment • Wednesday, August 25, 2010

A8

Band rocks Rock Creek Marina Saturday nights

Hill’s Bark Park provides place for dogs, owners to connect, learn, play together

Photo by Taylor Jaimes, Washburn Review

Jack of all trades: The Steve Kile band plays different genres and various gigs. Kile plays multiple instruments at one time.

Taylor Jaimes WASHBURN REVIEW Every Saturday at Rock Creek Marina and Resort a two-man band gets the crowd going. The Steve Kile band plays all genres of music; acoustic rock, country, rockabilly and the blues. The band also tries to entertain song requests. Every musician has musical influences that shape their musical style. The Steve Kile band is no different “My major musical influences are Lynyrd Skynyrd, Peter Frampton, Merle Hagget, James Taylor, Pantera and Steely Dan,” said Steve Kile. The Steve Kile Band has been playing together for five years. Scott Goacher is the other half of the band, playing percussion and also sings. The group has traveled and played gigs all over northeast Kansas. The band plays all different types of gigs, from playing in bars to playing at weddings. “We have an event at Skinny’s Sports Bar and Grill on September 24,” Kile said. Kile is a music teacher at Shawnee Heights where teaching kids is his number one priority. Goacher in contrast, is a private drum teacher. The band does write their own songs although they have not published any of them. “I play the guitar with my hands, the foot bass with my feet and I also play the key board,” said Kile. “I have an excellent drummer and we both sing.” The band plays in the

ballroom at the Rock Creek Marina and Resort, which is located right next door to Mulligan’s On the Lake. Mulligan’s On the Lake is open Thursday from 4:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., Friday from 10:30 a.m. to 2:00 a.m., Saturday from 7:30 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. and Sunday from 10:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. “Our specialties are fried chicken and BBQ, we smoke our own BBQ right here at the lake,” said John Thelen, owner of Mulligan’s On the Lake. “We also serve all kinds of sandwiches and wraps.” Mulligan’s as a company originated at a golf course, “I also own another restaurant, Mulligan’s, at Lake Perry Country Club,” Thelen said. “Both of the restaurants cater. We cater all types of events from parties and weddings to family reunions.” The people who come to Rock Creek Marina and Resort get to transition between delicious food from Mulligan’s On the Lake and The Steve Kile Band’s great music. “Our advice to people who want to start their own band would have to be practice,” Kile said. “They would need to learn to play songs from memory and to not use lyric sheets.” There are so many exciting things to do at Rock Creek Marina and Resort. People come in off of their boats, get replenished at Mulligan’s On the Lake and get to enjoy a nice night dancing and singing along to The Steve Kile Band’s music. Taylor Jaimes is a freshman nursing major. Reach her at taylor. jaimes@washburn.edu.

Photo by Zachary Lambert, Washburn Review

Bow Wow! Hill’s and the Parks and Rec of Topeka turned an old baseball diamond into a play area for dogs. Dogs, dog owners and non dog owners can enjoy the Bark Park..

Elise Barnett WASHBURN REVIEW Most Topekans have heard of a large piece of recreational real estate known as Gage Park. A section of that park some may not be familiar with is Hill’s Bark Park. Collaboration between Hill’s Pet Nutrition and the Parks and Recreation Department of Topeka in 1999, turned a rundown baseball diamond in to a duo of parks for dogs. Since then dog owners of Topeka have been enjoying a safe and welcome environment in which their precious puppies can socialize.

In 2005, the Friends of Hill’s Bark Park Association was founded to serve as an advisory board to address any issues with concerning the park, to discuss and implement improvements to the park, and to organize fundraising events to help fund those improvements. “Our big yearly fundraiser is called Bark-a-Pawlooza” said Mario Porras, vice president of the FOHBA. Bark-a-Pawlooza, is held every spring while, the FOHBPA also holds a number of small events throughout the year. The park is still funded in part by Hill’s, who donated the money for a new pavilion to provide shade and

shelter to patrons on either side of the park. Construction on the pavilion was recently completed so rain and intense heat aren’t the imposition they used to be to owners at the park. The park is divided into a small breed side and a large breed side. A list of which breeds are typically allowed in each section can be found on the information boards located in each side of the park. Local dog owner Amanda Smith and her Asha, Great Dane-Boxer mix frequent the large breed side of the bark park. Smith has seen dramatic improvements in Asha’s demeanor. “It has calmed her down so much. She’s not tearing stuff up at home,” Said Smith. It is important for every dog to have a time and place to release that pent up puppy energy. For Smith and Asha that place is Hill’s Bark Park. “I try to bring her every day,” said Smith However, allowing ones dog to get some well-deserved exercise is not the only reason to visit the park. The experienced dog owner is a well of information. Having a problem with chewing or digging? Ask fellow dog owners at the park and someone will have a remedy for you. Even many veterinary technicians bring their own dogs to play at the park. “A lot of information is exchanged.” Added Smith,

“Everybody’s very social.” Current Washburn student Rebecca Radziejeski and Max, her Labrador-Boxer mix also visit the park often. Radziejeski like the fact that “everyone is involved with the dogs.” Regardless of whether you are a dog owner of not, every Topekan can take pride in the park and what it provides for the Topeka community. “There’s a GAGE lot of pet owners out there and it PARK just shows that Topeka really cares,” said Porras. Hill’s Bark Park is more than a local attraction. Dog owners who do not have a fenced yard or live in an apartment consider the park a godsend. All dogs are welcome at the park. There are no breed restrictions and the rules to the park are simple and posted both on the FOHBA website and on the fences in front of the park. The next time you visit Gage Park, check out the barkpark, near the Tenth St. and Gage Blvd. entrance. If you like what you see and support the cause, drop a quarter in the donations box that sits between the two sides of the park. “If everyone dropped in a quarter every time they came, it would be a big help.” Porras said.

Elise Barnett is a sophomore English major. Reach her at elise. barnett@washburn.edu.

Book proves inspiring, repetitive Kelsie Klotzbach WASHBURN REVIEW What do you believe in? This year’s iRead is called “This I Believe”. This book is full of others’ beliefs written in essay form. It may challenge your beliefs and opens your eyes to other people’s opinions. Some may make you angry, sad, happy or even change your belief on a certain subject. In “Remembering All the Boys,” Elvia Bautista is a caregiver for the mentally handicapped and disabled. She believes that everyone deserves

daughter did. flowers on their grave. With all the love she had She lost her brother due to gang violence. However, she for her daughter, she decided puts flowers on the grave of the to give that love to others by volunteering and person that killed giving money to her brother. She BOOK charities. does this because REVIEW While I she believes thought that all that cold, bare the essays would gravestones look lonely, like people have be opinions from the “average Joe” perspective, most are forgotten them. “In giving I connect with actually written by well known others,”said Isabel Allende, a people. One example is Albert Einstein. Others are someone novelist. After losing her daughter who specialized in writing. who was in a coma for a year, Also included are professors Allende looked back on her and authors. Some were Nobel daughter’s life. She “led a life Prize winners. It was kind of disappointing. of service.” Isabel felt like she needed to give back like her I think hearing from people you

have never heard of would be more moving than hearing from renowned people or writers. Some stories moved me, made me upset or challenged what I believe. However, about halfway through the book, it seems as though every personal story and belief is the same. The book becomes monotonous. It all sounds the same. The book is worth reading because it gives you a different perspective of beliefs. But “This I Believe” gets very boring and almost makes you want to stop reading the book altogether. Kelsie Klotzbach is a freshman mass media major. Reach her at kelsie.klotzbach@washburn.edu.

If it’s ‘Stir Fry Vs. the World,’her money’s on Stir Fry: An opinionated recap April Ewing WASHBURN REVIEW Sometimes, just sometimes, it’s absolutely fabulous to be a nerd. On the first day of class when you’re waving your hand up in the air with the answer, it’s fabulous to be a nerd. When that hot guy/girl in class has IT problems and needs technical support. So when a graphic novel becomes a movie and you’re invited to a Facebook event that podcasts and reviews

such awesomeness, it is fabulous to be a nerd. Enter the creators of Stir Fry Cinema, who are really easy to spot with their brand spanking new ”Stir Fry Vs. the World” t- shirts. Stir Fry consists of two very special reviewers, Andrew Reynolds and Eli Lister, longtime friends and film aficionados’ who usually don’t have the pleasure to review movies of “Scott Pilgrim VS. the World” caliber. Stir Fry takes pleasure in seeking out epically terrible

movies. To prove themselves “nerdcore” pop quizzes over the worthy of reviewing “Scott hidden “nerdlore” throughout Pilgrim”, they went through the film(hint: ALL of Scott and reviewed notoriously ‘s T-shirts mean something), bad movies for seven days of there were raffle prizes and an different genres improvised rap. OPINION based on the Other than suggestions of their Stir Fry’s recent PIECE fans. They basically event, they can review bad movies, be found on their as their motto states, “so you website, www.stirfrycinema. don’t have to.” com or by following them on Topekans Lister and their facebook page. Reynolds planned quite an Their weekly podcasts awesome after party following cover unfavorites, such as the movie. Along with a “Snakes on a Plane” and “Black live podcast, complete with Dynamite.” There is also a

blog about random thoughts that cross their mind while reviewing the movie. Planning for their next event is a very exciting time for Stir Fry. They feel it was their largest yet. After the movie half of the audience stood up when asked if they were with Stir Fry Cinema. The after party also was a big hit, with over 30 guests. “This is great,” said Lister. “Our count is up. Usually our events are attended by four.” The next chance to catch Stir Fry live will be at the !

Study Abroad PhotoEssay Contest

April Ewing is a junior social work major. Reach her at april.ewing@ washburn.edu.

International Programs

Study Abroad Fair www.washburn.edu/iip

Have the perfect photos that sum up your study abroad experience? We want them! In fact, we may even PAY you for them! The following prizes will be awarded for the three best photoessays:

Breakroom on September 9th. They will be showing “Bubba Hotep” around 8:30 p.m., free of charge. As a matter of fact, Stir Fry draws zero profit from the events. “The only profit we get is from the raffles,”said Lister. “But really it isn’t profit because we turn it around and spend it on more raffle prizes.”

1st Place: $100 2nd Place: $75 3rd Place: $50

Visit the WU Study Abroad website for more information: wwww.washburn.edu/iip/photocontest.html ww.washburn.edu/iip

Deadline for entries: Sept. 1st.

!

!

Austria Belgium China England Finland France Germany Japan Mexico Netherlands Paraguay Spain Sweden Taiwan !

and more

!

!

Wednesday, Sept. 1st 11:00 am – 2:00 pm Memorial Union !

Featuring: 2011 Programs Meet: Program Coordinators, Study Abroad Participants and International Students Spring Study Abroad Admissions & Scholarship Application Due: Oct. 15th Visit: www/washburn.edu/iip for more information

“Turn Your Semester into an Adventure”


review sports washburn university

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Shefte prepared for soccer success Luke Schuckman WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo by Gene Cassell, Sports Information Director

Ready to start: Jordan Shefte, a senior on the Lady Blues soccer team has started every game of her career and is ready to go out with a bang.

Lettering four years in any collegiate sport is an accomplishment, but for senior Lady Blue Jordan Shefte, it is just one of many accomplishments she has completed. Shefte, a senior defender on the soccer team from Omaha, Neb., has started all 64 matches since her freshman year, which ranks seventh in Washburn history. Her attitude and hard work has made her a team leader and a captain for the team. The younger Lady Blues have looked up to her and realize why Shefte has been successful. “You can always have fun with her because of her carefree attitude,” said freshman Lady Blue Danielle Curtis. “But when Jordan’s on the field she’s all business.” Head Lady Blues soccer

coach Tim Collins contributes masters in health promotions Shefte’s success to her smart and education, while being a and aggressive defensive play. student physical therapist for “Jordan has so much the MU football team. He feels knowledge of the game,” Col- their time away will help them lins said. “It’s grow stronger almost surreal and help their that it’s going “ future marJordan has so to be her final riage in the year playing long run. much knowledge for us, she is “I’ve of the game. definitely a been her winner.” wakeup call Shefte, at 6 a.m. for - Tim Collins just recently soccer camp Lady Blues soccer coach became enbecause I had gaged to to be at the former WU training room student-athat 5:15 at MU ” lete Steve for football,” Kinderknecht. Kinderknecht The two met at WU in a mass said. “We have a schedule media class, which is also where we talk in the morning Shefte’s major. Kinderknecht and lunch time and then Skype played baseball for the Icha- at night so we are still talking bods last year and graduated often which definitely helps.” with a degree in physical theraShefte agrees and believes py program. He is currently en- she found a good man for her to rolled at Mizzou receiving his spend the rest of her life with.

Training staff pays dividends for athletes

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

A helping hand: The Washburn Athletics training room provides student-athletes a chance to warm-up before practice on stationary bikes and ellipticals. The training room is also used for treating injuries and getting taped for matches and games. Works machine that is located by the pool at Petro Allied Health Center. The HydroWorks includes an underwater treadmill and three different ams, sophomore student-trainer, water hoses that are crucial for believes student-athletes should rehabbing deep bone bruises, take advantage of the facility muscle strains and tears. The machine can before going on be used at the field “ any water “The enviNow that time is temperature ronment is real paying off and got hot or cold nice compared and is only to other teams me back on the one of two in the conferfield. machines ence,” Adams along with said. “Athletes - Michael Wilhoite Cameron should use the Senior football player University room to help in the NCAA prevent injury Division II and to make sure they can ” level. Senior perform at the football highest level.” Burns also feels athletes player Michael Wilhoite uses must be smart on and off the the HydroWorks regularly and feels it’s a great addition WU field to stay successful. “Athletes need to realize athletics for its athletes to get what they do in their daily lives back on the field. “The HydroWorks have affects their injury,” Burns said. “From what they drink, eat or been very beneficial for my stress fracture I had on my do in their daily lives.” One of the features about foot,” Wilhoite said. “I basithe training room is the Hydro- cally lived in it and in the pool

Student-trainers make world of difference to student-athletes Luke Schuckman WASHBURN REVIEW Ask any successful athlete and they will claim injury prevention and care are keys to staying healthy. That is why the Washburn University training staff is considered a vital tool to performing at the highest level. The training staff is led by three primary doctors; John Burns, Steve Ice and Michael Rodriguez who are assisted by 31 student-trainers. Stepping into the training room, athletes can be seen at work either rehabbing an injury or preparing for their upcoming practice or game. The sounds of tape being wrapped around the ankles or wrists of athletes can be heard, while the sound of the bikes, bands and elliptical equipment being used to get muscles warmed up and stretched out before practice are a common theme. Colene Ad-

to rehab in the summer and now that time is paying off and got me back on the field.” The staff also makes custom mouth pieces for their athletes. These mouth pieces are specifically molded for their mouth and help prevent concussions. The trainers and student trainers also oversee practices to help assist in stretching and be on the site for in case possible injuries occur. Overall, Washburn has one of the best training staffs in the nation and what they do is sometimes overlooked. Freshman basketball player Jeff Reid puts it best on how a studentathlete should use the training room. “Athletes should use the training room as needed, but not abuse it,” Reid said. “If you use the staff correctly it will greatly payoff for you on the court or field.”

Luke Schuckman is a senior management major. Reach him at luke.schuckman@washburn.edu.

“We complement each other so well,” Shefte said. “The distance was scary at first, but it will all work out for the best in the end for both of us.” For the upcoming season Shefte’s team goals include winning the MIAA title and to compete for a national title run. The Lady Blues were preseason picked fourth by the coaches, but Shefte believes this team could make more noise in the conference and national picture. “As long as we show up with a great attitude and go to work every day, we should have a good shot at achieving our team goals,” Shefte said.

Luke Schuckman is a senior management major. Reach him at luke. schuckman@washburn.edu.

Adjustment necessary for freshmen athletes Hannah Cockerill WASHBURN REVIEW

freshman, from Overland Park. “It is definitely harder because the team and coaches expect more of athletes than in high Transitioning from high school.” school to college is a big difWith more competition ference. Its apparent not only come harder and longer practicin academics, but also in athlet- es. The Lady Blues soccer team ics. The freshmen on the Lady held training practices two to Blues soccer team are no dif- three times each day to prepare ferent. the women for the beginning of During this time, students their season. Their first practice deal with leaving their comfort started at 6 am and consisted of zone to experience new things. running the entire campus. LatThis can include leaving their er the team would go to a one family, friends, and home to hour weight lifting session and better themselves in college then a practice to end the day. where students can participate The upperclassmen strive in sports and other extracur- to welcome new teammates and ricular activities. integrate them to the team, not Freshman student-athletes just as individuals playing toare considered new meat. This gether. The team made tie dye can mean hazing or playing shirts to wear on game days as pranks on the new players. At a team bonding activity. Group most schools, beactivities are all ing a freshman LADY BLUES attempts to conmeans its time to nect the women SOCCER prove yourself. as a whole and One major differbuild commuence at Washburn is the upper nication, which will help the classman on the soccer team team in the long run make new are welcoming. friendships and also help them “It would be intimidating play better together as a group. if the upperclassmen weren’t so Life is full of transitions supportive,” said Caysie Beet- and they may be difficult but ley, a freshman from Califor- very rewarding in the end. The nia. Lady Blues soccer team’s upBeetley said that she didn’t perclassmen have made the think being far away from freshman feel very welcome by her friends and family would using simple gestures to invite be hard because she has new them to activities; this has built friends on the soccer team and friendships that may last a lifeher extended family isn’t far time and help the team’s sucaway. But being injured as hin- cesses on the field. dered her a little in the LLC. The Lady Blues play their “The dorms are very nice first game is Sept. 3 in Austin, but I am on the third floor and Tex. against St. Edwards Union crutches, while the rest of versity. Their first home game the team is on the first floor. is Sept. 9 in Yager Stadium at This makes it a little difficult 6 p.m. to hangout with the team,” said Beetley. Another major part of making the transition is the extreme increase in competition. “There is more competi- Hannah Cockerill is a freshman tion, but that makes it more ex- social work major. Reach her at citing,” said Taylor Mayhew, a hannah.cockerill@washburn.edu. Check us out on facebook for special discounts and offers!

Provides:

Contact Larry Schuckman www.schuckentertainment.com

• 35 years of experience • Karaoke • Latest in music entertainment for any event • Character appearances for kids

“The party will never be dull, with Schuck Rattle ‘N’ Roll”


Sports • Wednesday, August 25, 2010

A10

Weight room provides advantage Sam Sayler WASHBURN REVIEW

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Plenty of weight: The new athletics weight room on campus has new state of the art equipment, and a lot of it.

MIAA adds two schools, potential for two more

bye week in the seventh week Josh Rouse of the season, Schurig said it WASHBURN REVIEW would be tough to fill the nonConference expansion has conference slot. Ultimately, he been a popular topic this sum- said Washburn may only play mer for the NCAA. While the 10 games next season. “[Lincoln will] be in our Pac 16 never came to fruition, schedule next year, and that’s the trend toward expansion is why we won’t be able to do still alive in Divison II. The MIAA, officially ex- the Colorado Mines game anypanding to 12 teams this year more, because Lincoln comes in every sport but football with in and it rotates our schedule,” the addition of Lincoln Col- said Schurig. “Our first game lege, is looking to add a few next year will be a conference more teams. The MIAA’s CEO game.” If the other two schools Council decided in June to actively pursue a 16-team confer- were to join the MIAA, the ence. In July, four more schools membership count would jump expressed interest in joining the to 16 schools by 2013 (Southconference—Central Oklahoma west Baptist doesn’t resume and Northeastern (Okla.) State MIAA football affiliation unfrom the 16-member Lone Star til 2013), which would almost Conference, Nebraska-Kearney certainly require the conference to separate into from the Rocky divisions. Even Mountain Athwith 14 teams, letic Conference divisions are and Lindenstill a possibilwood, Mo., an ity. NAIA school “That’d from the Heart of be kind of America Athletic neat, an EastConference. West [format] On July with crossover 29, Central Courtesy of the MIAA games, that’d Oklahoma and be pretty cool,” Northeastern acsaid Schurig. cepted invitations extended by “Hopefully we’d make it where the MIAA to join the league. you don’t really have any nonNebraska-Kearney got the goconference games to play, mayahead from its regents to officially seek membership in the be Kearney comes in.” With the possibility of the MIAA, and will join if acceptMIAA essentially becoming a ed. No official word has been super conference, it is unclear given on Lindenwood, yet, although the Sioux City Journal how the NCAA would react reports that Lindenwood will as far as regional alignment in the NCAA playoffs. At the end join the MIAA in 2012. “Everything that I hear is of last season, three Lone Star that it should be a go, so we’ll Conference teams made the have those Oklahoma schools,” playoffs in the Super Regional said Craig Schurig, Washburn Four, while only one MIAA head football coach. “I think it’s team (Central Missouri, 11-0, a good thing. It adds to the con- MIAA champion) made the ference, obviously, with some playoffs in the same region. new schools adding excitement Abilene Christian, the No. 6 to it. You just never know what seed in the Super Regional can happen to a conference. Four and final team to qualify You saw that with the Big 12.” for the playoffs, had an 8-3 reSchurig expected the cord. MIAA schools Washburn, changes to happen within a Missouri Western and Central two-year timeframe if things go Missouri had the same record but were not chosen by the through as planned. “You see some schools committee. With the MIAA’s like the Big 12 where they were sudden growth spurt, the conable to do it in one year, and ference may be put into a difNebraska already leaving in ferent region for playoffs. “I’m not sure how that will ‘11,” said Schurig. “I believe work, there’ll probably be some we would ‘12, but there’s no telling if someone were to jump sort of realignment,” said Schuship. Right now, 2012 is my rig. “It definitely seems like our region is pretty loaded, but it’ll best guess.” Lincoln College will join be interesting to see what hapthe MIAA in football in 2011, pens with realignment. Confercutting Washburn’s non-confer- ences change so fast.”

ence schedule to one game, although Schurig said they have yet to schedule a non-conference game for next fall. With a

Josh Rouse is a senior mass media major. Reach him at joshua.rouse@washburn.edu.

For over a semester, athletic teams at Washburn have had a new and improved weight room. There are many advantages to having one of the best training facilities in the MIAA and possibly in all of Division II. Athletes thrive and improve their athletic ability in the weight room constantly. With extra space, there is now the possibility of multiple teams being in it at one time. “The new weight room is bigger so we can fit a lot more people and equipment in it,” said Joe Hastings, a senior football player. “The new

equipment is state of the art and we get the full potential out of everything. I think we are very lucky to have the equipment and it gives us an edge over the other teams since their equipment is older.” Whiting Fieldhouse, used as a practice and training gym, is above the weight room, and is percieved to be a great addition for all of the athletes who use it. New air conditioning make training more comfortable for the athletes. It is also is connected to the sports information department, as well as trophy cases for all of the athletic teams to be displayed. “I like that it is an excellent recruiting tool,” says Tim Collins, head coach of the Lady Blues soccer team. “We can

show potential recruits all the extra space and equipment. I like that we can have multiple teams in their at once. No team ever says, ‘We need to use this now.’ The luxury of the new weight room comes with its own set of rules, but they appear to be agreeable to the players. The reason for the rules is to keep the weight room a clean environment for everyone, as well as making sure it is safe for everyone. “The rules are pretty obvious ones and everybody pretty much goes by them,” says Hastings. “For example, there is no bad language. Also, a graduate assistant or coach has to be in there with the student-athletes at all times.”

The new weight room seems to be an improvement in every way from the athletes’ previous accommodations. Along with the athletes, the coaching staff also seems ecstatic with the new arrangement. “I like that there is a great atmosphere in there. Everybody gets along in there. They just need to do what they need to do and put everything back where they found, sometimes better than they found it,” said Collins.

Sam Sayler is an undecided sophomore. Reach him at samuel.sayler@washburn.edu.

Blues ranked No. 6 nationally Brian Dulle WASHBURN REVIEW There will be high expectations for this upcoming year’s Washburn Lady Blues volleyball team after being picked second in the MIAA preseason coaches’ poll and ranked No. 6 in the American Volleyball Coaches Association preseason coaches’ poll. Junior right side hitter Breanna Lewis, who should play a big role in the teams success, is thrilled by the news. “It is very exciting to know people think we’re that good, but we need to be able to back it up,” said Lewis. “Anytime you’re ranked really high, people are going to come out and fight harder and we need to come out and play our best game all the time. It’s going to be a tough time holding that spot but I think we can do it.” During the 2009 season the team went 33-5 and are preparing for the 2010 season the same way they always do. “Winning is an expectation,” said Chris Herron, head volleyball coach. “Our kids come to school here as recruits because they expect to win. It’s about the mind-set of the player and if the mind-set of the player is not driven, then they do not play here. They come in ready

Photo by Mike Goehring, Washburn Review

Set for success: The Lady Blues volleyball team scrimmages Baker University in Lee Arena on Tuesday. The team is ranked sixth in the country in the preseason AVCA poll. to win.” The 2010 Lady Blues team is returning with most of the starters from last season except one and there are three freshman. With the loss of Kate Hampson, who finished her career as Washburn’s all time leader in assists and ranks second all time in the MIAA in career assists, the Lady Blues are preparing the new players to take her place. “We do not worry about what we do not have but what we do have. It is not something we worry about, I would love to have Kate on the team every year, but I can’t,” said Herron.

WU’s Desir named to third All-American list

The Lady Blues volleyball team has gone to the NCAA Tournament six years in a row and is looking for a seventh trip but according to Herron, it is not something they are even thinking about right now. “It is a team goal but we do not even think about it right now. We only worry about what is tonight and then the next night, and then the NCAA tournament will take care of itself,” said Herron. With the 2010 Lady Blues volleyball team being ranked No. 6 in the preseason poll, it’s a question of whether or not it will bring stress on the team.

According to Herron there is no pressure on the team this year. “We have been ranked so much, we have not even brought it up. We do not talk about it at practice, it is just a rank. It does not matter, it’s where we are at the end of the year that matters.”

Brian Dulle is a senior mass media major. Reach him at brian.dulle@washburn.edu.

HALF PRICE FOR STUDENTS IS BACK!

PRESS RELEASE

a redshirt freshman and also received second team All-American honors from the Football Washburn's sophomore Gazette and d2football.com. He defensive back Pierre Desir finished the season with 33 tohas added his third tal tackles and 25 preseason Allsolo stops adding American award a fumble recovery after being named and returned his to the d2football. first career intercom squad which ception 38 yards was released tofor a touchdown day. Desir was also against Colorado named to the ColMines. He averlege Draft Service aged 29.4 yards Preseason and the per kickoff return Lindy's Preseason on 10 attempts inAll-American cluding a 73 yard Photo courtesy of Gene Cassell teams. return against Desir was Pittsburg State named first team while being named all-MIAA after leading the con- the Ichabods' defensive player ference with seven intercep- of the game three times. tions and 13 passes defended The Ichabods open the seaand seventh in forced fumbles son this Saturday at Colorado in his first season on the field as Mines.

Tac o Villa Hours:

Monday-Thursday: 11am-9 pm Friday & Saturday: 11am-10pm Sunday: 11am-7:30pm

Location:

21st and Fairlawn in the Toystore building Dine in and carryout Visa and mastercard accepted

Immediate Availability!

•1, 2, 3 & 4 Bedrooms •Washer/Dryer, Pool, Weight Room & Movie Theater •Rates Starting at $425/Person includes furniture and utilities

College Hill Apartments • 1425 S.W. Lane • 785-232-5555

Must present student ID. Offer valid until 9.30.2010. Some restrctions apply.


2010-11 issue1