VSB In Review: 2016-2021

Page 1

VSB: 2016–2021

IN REVIEW


1 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS


WELCOME FROM

THE DEAN

Welcome to Villanova School of Business! I hope the following pages offer a helpful overview of the School’s operations and special initiatives as well as some of our greatest achievements within the past five years. As aligned with Villanova University’s Strategic Plan—Rooted. Restless.—VSB’s mission guides our priorities and helps us: • • • • •

Drive academic excellence Champion impactful faculty and student research Innovate curriculum Provide professional development opportunities Advance diversity, equity and inclusion

Since August 2016, we’ve seen outstanding growth in these areas while developing business leaders for a better world.® I’ve been honored to serve as your dean and look forward to the ongoing success of VSB and each individual within our community. Together we are stronger.

Joyce E. A. Russell, PhD The Helen and William O’Toole Dean

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 2


IN THIS REPORT 4

5

7

STUDENT FAST FACTS

VISION AND MISSION

VSB FAST FACTS 2021

&

UNIQUELY VILLANOVA

9

11

15

ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

STRATEGIC PLAN

FACULTY-STUDENT COLLABORATION

16

17

21

VSB HONORS INITIATIVE

FACILITY UPGRADES

GROWING STAFF OPPORTUNITIES

22

23

24

ENHANCING OUR AUGUSTINIAN MISSION

CENTERS OF EXCELLENCE

ADVISORY COUNCILS

25 FUNDRAISING ACHIEVEMENTS

3 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS


STUDENT FAST FACTS UNDERGRADUATE CLASS OF 2025

GRADUATE AND EXECUTIVE PROGRAMS

6,983

407

928

APPLICANTS

ENROLLMENT

ENROLLMENT

4,574

398

38%

EARLY ACTION APPLICANTS

EARLY DECISION APPLICANTS

TOTAL PERCENTAGE OF WOMEN

25%

19%

ACCEPTANCE RATE

AVERAGE INCREASE IN MBA SALARY UPON PROGRAM COMPLETION

RANKINGS

UNDERGRADUATE CLASS OF 2021 OUTCOMES

98.9

%

SUCCESSFUL PLACEMENT FOR UNDERGRADUATES**

97.4

U.S. NEWS & WORLD REPORT

%

5

#

PARTICIPATED IN AT LEAST ONE INTERNSHIP

ONLINE GRADUATE BUSINESS PROGRAMS

69,031 86.1%

$

AVERAGE STARTING SALARY FOR UNDERGRADUATES

#

16

ONLINE MBA

POETS & QUANTS

#

INTERNATIONAL EXPERIENCE

9

#

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM

17

ONLINE MBA

TOP UNDERGRADUATE ALUMNI EMPLOYERS BARCLAYS

ERNST & YOUNG LLP

PARAMOUNT

BOSTON COLLEGE

GOLDMAN SACHS

PRICEWATERHOUSECOOPERS (PWC)

CITI

JOHNSON & JOHNSON FAMILY OF COMPANIES

SAP AMERICA, INC.

COMCAST NBCUNIVERSAL

KPMG LLP

SEI

DELOITTE

MCKINSEY & COMPANY

WAYFAIR

DEUTSCHE BANK

MORGAN STANLEY

** Students who secured full-time roles three months post-graduation or continued their education

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 4


VSB VISION AND MISSION VSB provides business education grounded in the liberal arts and fundamental business principles. Our vision and mission statements represent this solid foundation, which can be built upon to address evolving business needs and trends.

VISION To create a rigorous academic learning environment that transforms lives, nurtures creativity, embraces an analytical approach, espouses a global perspective and develops ethical leaders who positively impact society.

MISSION The Villanova School of Business fosters an atmosphere where students and our community can develop intellectual curiosity, experiences and values needed for lifetime learning. We collaborate with the business and academic communities to create, share and apply knowledge to produce strategic, innovative solutions that solve evolving business problems. Strengthened by our Augustinian Catholic tradition, VSB is a community of mutual respect, inclusion, professional development and continuous improvement. 5 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS


UNIQUELY VILLANOVA VSB is set apart from other business schools by our unique ability to instill our core values in future business leaders, guided by our Augustinian heritage.

VERITAS Creative problem-solvers tackling emerging business challenges with expertise and integrity, paired with courage, resolve and strength of character

UNITAS An inclusive community of collaborative leaders who think holistically and work across disciplines

CARITAS Humble servant leaders who are ethical, empathetic decision-makers focused on the greater good

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 6


VSB FAST FACTS 2021

118 FULL-TIME FACULTY

ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS AND PROGRAMS VSB’s five academic departments are home to our undergraduate and graduate degrees. ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS AND CHAIRS

70 STAFF

Accounting & Information Systems Chair: Michael Peters, PhD Economics Chair: Erasmus Kersting, PhD Finance & Real Estate Chair: Shelly Howton, PhD Management & Operations

1,736 UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS

Chair: Kevin D. Clark, PhD Marketing & Business Law Chair: Matthew Sarkees, PhD DEGREE PROGRAMS Bachelor of Business Administration Master of Business Administration (MBA) Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA) Master of Science in Business Analytics (MSBA)

928 FULL- AND PART-TIME GRADUATE STUDENTS

Master of Science in Finance (MSF) Master of Science in Church Management (MSCM) Master of Accounting with Data Analytics (MAC) Master of Business Taxation with Data Analytics (MBT) VSB OPTIONS FOR NON-BUSINESS STUDENTS Summer Business Institute Academic Year Business Minor Program

7 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS


CURRICULUM UPDATES VSB’s programs are continually updated to integrate cutting-edge research and practice. With input from VSB’s expanded advisory councils, alumni and practitioners, faculty update curriculum to best prepare our students for the future of work. With the dean’s appointment of Steve Padovano as an executive

DID YOU KNOW?

-in-residence, the new Applied Quantitative Finance program for undergraduates was created. This program better prepares finance

VSB is one of the less than 2%

majors to contribute to the dynamic financial landscape by focusing

of the world's business schools

on the quantitative side of financial markets, targeting the practical

accredited by the Association

application of quantitative techniques and utilizing financial theory.

to Advance Collegiate Schools

In partnership with KMPG, LLP, VSB led the modernization of the MAC degree by bringing to market a first-of-its-kind Master of Accounting with Data Analytics (MAC) program that integrated data, analytics and the latest technologies transforming the accounting industry.

of Business (AACSB) in both business and accounting. Jennifer Whinney, assistant dean of Accreditation and Strategic Initiatives, works

A new Master of Business Taxation with Data Analytics (MBT)

closely with Dean Russell for

was created to integrate advanced coursework in tax and accounting

business and Mike Peters for

with quantitative applications in modeling, data and analytics, and

accounting and has led VSB

technology. The program was developed in partnership with KPMG, LLP,

through two successful reviews

and is designed to prepare students for the expanding expectations of

in the past six years.

today’s tax professionals. The Master of Science in Finance (MSF) was reimagined, adding in technology, data and quantitative analysis to provide students an advanced finance education with experiential and applied components.

With the appointment of Jeffrey D. Kudisch, PhD, as associate dean of Corporate Relations and Executive Education and

The newly redesigned Masters of Business Administration (MBA)

faculty directors Bret Myers,

program will enable students to take courses on campus, online, in a

PhD, in sports and Katie Iacocca,

hybrid or cohort format. In addition, the MBA curriculum now offers

PhD, in healthcare, VSB has now

a specialization in Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning

partnered with other colleges

(ML), which exposes students to increasingly important technologies

and units across the University

across all business disciplines.

for new programming. 2016–2021 IN REVIEW 8


ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE OF VSB VSB LEADERSHIP

Joyce E. A. Russell, PhD

Wen Mao, PhD*

Julie Pirsch, PhD

Jonathan Doh, PhD*

Aronté Bennett, PhD

The Helen and William

Vice Dean

Associate Dean,

Associate Dean,

Associate Dean,

Teaching & Learning

Research & Global

Diversity, Equity

Engagement

& Inclusion

O’Toole Dean of VSB

BUSINESS PROGRAMS SENIOR LEADERS

DID YOU KNOW? Melinda German, MBA*

Manuel Nuñez ’03 MBA*

Jeffrey Kudisch, PhD

Associate Dean,

Associate Dean,

Associate Dean,

Undergraduate

Graduate Programs

Corporate Relations, Executive Programs

Programs

& Events

SENIOR STAFF

Since 2016: VSB has hired 14 new net staff positions and supported 39 total promotions. VSB has added 10 new faculty positions to meet growing demand.

Lee Every, MPA

Jennifer Whinney,

Cathy J. Toner, JD

Assistant Dean,

MA, MLIS

Assistant Dean,

Finance &

Assistant Dean,

Talent & Staff Development,

Administration

Accreditation &

Community & External

Strategic Initiatives

Outreach

*Additional VSB senior leaders report to these individuals.

VSB hired 49 faculty, increasing representation of both women and underrepresented groups. There were also 37 faculty promotions in the same time period.


DEVELOPING BUSINESS LEADERS FOR A BETTER WORLD® VSB strives to have a positive impact on society. To that end, we’ve developed cross-disciplinary programs, created opportunities to learn about nonprofits and established new concentrations to create business leaders who are poised for the future of work.

Sustainable Enterprise Executive Education & Development (SEED) SEED combines the leadership expertise of faculty from VSB with Villanova’s Sustainable Engineering program.

Business Without Borders (BWB) BWB introduces VSB students to business opportunities within nonprofit companies. Through presentations, events and discussions, students are exposed to opportunities and can use their business skills to serve the community and our mission.

Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) Concentration Offered as a minor at the undergraduate level and a specialization within the MBA program, the three-course concentration examines the components of AI, including natural language processing, expert systems, supervised and unsupervised machine learning, and robotics.

Community & External Outreach

With Dean Russell’s appointment of Cathy J. Toner, JD, assistant dean, Talent & Staff Development, Community & External Outreach, VSB partnered with more than 30 schools and organizations to share business knowledge to build a pipeline to bring more women and students of color into business education.

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 10


DEVELOPING THE VSB STRATEGIC PLAN 2020–2025 With help from the VSB community, we developed a framework to focus on our top three strategic imperatives.

TOP THREE STRATEGIC IMPERATIVES COMPETENCIES

DIVERSITY, EQUITY & INCLUSION

RESEARCH

Technology, Data and Analytics; Communications; Ethics and Leadership; Teamwork

Create an inclusive, equitable and diverse community.

Enhance quality of research, impact and student engagement

RENEWED COMMITMENT DIRECT STUDENT IMPACT:

STRENGTHEN VSB TO SERVE STUDENTS

-L iberal Arts Core, Business Foundation and Global Perspective - Teaching Innovation - Integrated Advising and Professional Development/Career Support - Holistic Experience

-T alent and Training - External Engagement - Organization and Governance - VSB Brand and Visibility - Facilities and Infrastructure - Advancement

CONTINUED FOCUS ON PROVIDING AN EXCELLENT STUDENT EXPERIENCE

OCTOBER 2017

MAY 2018

VSB Strengths, Weaknesses and Strategy Discussion Meetings: Hosted meeting with all VSB stakeholders

VSB Strengths, Weaknesses and Strategy Discussion Meetings: Hosted meeting with Dean's Advisory Council

11 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS


PROGRESS ON THE VSB STRATEGIC PLAN: 2020-2025 Competencies for Our Students With the dean’s appointment of an associate dean for Teaching and Learning, Julie Pirsch, PhD, VSB made great progress in the area of building our students' competencies. Key faculty serve as core course coordinators to review the undergraduate curriculum to find ways to weave in our four priorities (below) and to ensure that students are having a consistent experience in all core classes. We also created a new faculty director role and appointed Manuela Priesemuth, PhD, to examine issues of ethics; environmental, social and corporate governance; and sustainability in our core curriculum and to make recommendations for enhancements. We are now redesigning our MBA curriculum in similar ways. VSB’S PRIORITY COMPETENCIES FOR STUDENTS ARE: 1. Technology, data and analytics acumen across disciplines 2. Business communication skills 3. W orking effectively in diverse and global teams 4. Ethical, humble servant leadership

SEPTEMBER 2018

OCTOBER 2018

NOVEMBER/DECEMBER 2018

Presentation with VSB Dean’s Council: Review aspiration statements for initial feedback

Business Leaders Forum: Solicited ideas from VSB advisory council member attendees

Faculty and Staff Town Hall Meeting: Presentation and discussion of Teaching and Learning aspiration team progress

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 12


PROGRESS ON THE VSB STRATEGIC PLAN: 2020–2025 Diversity, Equity & Inclusion VSB has led efforts to create an inclusive, equitable and diverse community that serves all members and stakeholders with equality, justice and mutual respect. With the dean’s appointment of Terrill L. Drake, MBA, associate dean, Strategic Initiatives, in 2018, and the subsequent 2021 appointment of Aronté Bennett, PhD, as the as the associate dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, VSB has made significant progress on DEI initiatives. •E stablished VSB’s Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (ODEI) in July 2020 •L aunched the VSB ODEI website to provide centralized resources •F ormalized Heritage Month celebrations for the VSB communitiy to engage in cultural growth •P articipated in University meeting with VU Black Student Union and VU Student Government to address concerns

•R aised awareness about VSB’s commitment to DEI through media relations and at conferences •H osted trainings such as “Inclusive Classroom,” “Building Community through Listening” and “Inclusive Hiring Training” •D esigned “Allyship in the Workplace” session for VSB 2000 Backpack to Briefcase and MSF students •E stablished task force to make recommendations to support the increased DEI efforts in coursework across all disciplines •C reated the Veritas Voices series to provide a safe space to discuss events affecting our underrepresented students •E stablished a VSB Course Materials Fund to provide financial assistance to VSB students for books and supplemental course materials •F ormalized partnership with University’s Office of Veteran and Military Services

APRIL/MAY 2019

AUGUST 2019

SEPTEMBER 2019

Submitted final aspirational and enabling statements with objectives, key results, timing and budget

Leadership discussion to prioritize and implement plans

Presented the strategic plan structure and content to faculty and staff

13 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS


•M aintained representation of women in the undergraduate and MBA programs at or above 40%

•C reated new research awards to recognize faculty contributions to quality of research and research with impact

Research: Impact and Student Engagement

•A dded more named assistant professors, endowed chairs and professors to retain top scholars in VSB

VSB’s strategic focus on research is consistent with Villanova University’s identification of research as one of the key strategic priorities. With Dean Russell's appointment of an associate dean for Research, Jonathan Doh, PhD, we have ensured that VSB has elevated its research enterprise by assessing and enhancing the appropriate motivators, incentives and resources to achieve greater scholarship among faculty.

•R edesigned the VSB Honors program to highlight research conducted with students and provided more funding

Drawing inspiration from Villanova’s unique Augustinian values and intellectual tradition, VSB seeks to become known as a business school that emphasizes research with impact. • Increased research and travel budgets for all faculty as well as increased summer funding each year since 2016 for all faculty with research contributions

FALL 2019

SPRING 2020

2020–2025

Stakeholder Meetings: Shared strategic plan with advisory councils, alumni, donors, recruiters and friends of VSB

Solidified operational plans and began full strategy implementation with the VSB community

Continuously track progress to elevate success across VSB and Villanova enterprise

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 14


Recent faculty-student research pair Diogo Martins ’22 VSB and Xiaoxiao Li, PhD, the Megan ’07 and Matthew ’06 Baldwin Associate Professor, Economics

THE POWER OF FACULTY-STUDENT COLLABORATION FOR RESEARCH WITH IMPACT

Research is central to the mission of Villanova University and the Villanova School of Business. This priority was underscored as a key pillar of both the Villanova University Strategic Plan, Rooted. Restless., and the Villanova School of Business Strategic Plan. Unlike many other research-intensive universities, however, Villanova and VSB are committed to engaging both undergraduate and master’s-level students in our research enterprise. This commitment stems from our dedication to the teacher-scholar model, but also from our desire to integrate research into the student experience and facilitate faculty-student research collaboration in a manner that benefits both students and faculty. Since 2018, we have made this commitment an integral part of our Honors curriculum, and we continue to foster research collaboration in the graduate student fellows program. 15 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

These collaborations have yielded numerous publications in leading journals, book series, teaching cases and other outlets. They have also led to internships, full-time positions and graduate study by the participating students. The ongoing collaborative faculty-student projects and their research outputs have resulted in important new research insights and impactful practical and policy contributions.


DID YOU KNOW? Faculty research productivity was 11% higher in the period from 2016 to 2020 than 2015 to 2019, including more articles published by our faculty in top-tier journals. VSB engaged in formal research collaboration with more than 55 of our talented students through various campus initiatives. VSB launched the Research Scholars program in Fall 2019 by matching 25 students who served as research assistants for our faculty. VSB established an Adjunct Faculty Committee. Our adjunct faculty have a significant impact on our students’ educational experience. This committee provides more structure to implement pedagogical changes and encourage engagement by providing training and resources, tailoring information to their unique needs, and offering a better understanding of how their courses fit into the overall learning goals at VSB.

THE VSB HONORS INITIATIVE In 2017, Associate Dean for Research and Global Engagement Jonathan Doh, PhD, and Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs Melinda German proposed a redesign of the VSB Honors program, emphasizing a series of ongoing and high-impact curricular and extracurricular initiatives. The following year, VSB Honors Faculty Director Beth Vallen, PhD, and other faculty and staff helped to launch this new offering. One element of this new program was the development of the Business Scholars Seminar. This seminar, required of all first-year Honors students, was designed to expose these highly qualified students to some of the key theoretical concepts and empirical findings that underpin the main subfields of business. Each week, a different faculty member from one of the business disciplines—Accounting, Analytics, Economics, Finance, Real Estate, Management, Marketing, Information Systems and International Business—shares his or her perspective on the core research findings within an area of that discipline, often relying on the faculty member’s own research as a key contribution. This has been an invaluable experience for our Honors students.

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 16


FACILITY UPGRADES TO SUPPORT THE ACADEMIC MISSION In the last five years, Dean Russell has been excited to initiate many upgrades to Bartley Hall. Working with Assistant Dean of Finance and Administration Lee Every and Director of Major Giving for VSB Brendan Glackin, we have been able to secure donor funding and make improvements to support the needs of teaching, research, learning, working, studying and more. These projects were made possible through both fundraising and University support and have positively impacted our students, faculty and staff.

2016

2017

The completion of the Curley Exchange and the Scully Terrace has made these areas a hub for students gathering to learn, work and socialize. These renovations were made possible by the generosity of Kevin Curley ’80 VSB and Michael Scully ’70 VSB and benefit the entire Villanova University community.

Seven classrooms in Bartley Hall outfitted with upgraded furniture and equipment.

17 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

The EMBA classroom at the Inn at Villanova was renovated, and an additional formal study room for students was added.


Behavioral Lab for Student-Faculty Research VSB opened the Laboratory for the Advancement of Interdisciplinary Research (LAIR). The LAIR is a behavioral research lab that provides physical space for VSB faculty and students to conduct research studies and course projects that require the use of surveys, interviews, focus groups and other primary resources. The lab is an essential step in promoting groundbreaking and collaborative research for all Villanova University faculty and students, and it has already aided VSB in hiring top scholars to join our faculty.

2018 Lecture Hall 1010 was revamped with upgraded technology and named for Frank ’81 VSB and Maura Perier. The HVAC system was upgraded to significantly improve learning and working environments.

2019 VSB’s Communication & Marketing office suite moved to a more open, creative space to create room for the Victoria and Justin Gmelich ’90 Lab for Financial Markets (see next page). The Centers of Excellence office suite was expanded to create more open workspace to accommodate growing teams.

The Clay Center was redesigned and digital studio was upgraded and moved to the ground floor.

2021 Lecture Hall 1001 was revamped with enhanced technology and named for Charlene and Marc ’82 VSB Tilker. Classrooms on the ground floor and third floor were refreshed with a more modern look and movable furniture. Ceiling, lightning and carpet upgrades were made throughout Bartley Hall.

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 18


The Victoria and Justin Gmelich ’90 Lab for Financial Markets opened in 2019 and was made possible through a $3 million commitment from its namesakes. This new lab doubled the size of its predecessor and is now centrally located in the building. The lab has quickly become integral to the learning experience at VSB, helping our faculty and students to bridge theory and practice to solve real-world business challenges. Elements of VSB’s new strategic plan will further leverage and expand the capabilities of the lab across disciplines for both student learning and faculty research. VSB appointed David Ratigan, PhD, as the director of The Victoria and Justin Gmelich Lab for Financial Markets. He is an assistant professor of the practice, Finance & Real Estate, and has created coding courses to provide VSB students with cutting-edge skills needed in the marketplace. He also ensures that all VSB students have access to the lab through their required coursework to enhance their skills. 19 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS


The Lab for Financial Markets was designed to replicate a Wall Street trading desk with capabilities that extend well beyond the financial world, including: A large classroom with 28 workstations and seating capacity for 70, nine 75-inch LED screens and fully integrated video conferencing capabilities A smaller lab with 13 additional workstations designed for group projects and research High-powered equipment capable of handling complex, data-intensive computations necessary for curricula involving machine learning and artificial intelligence Access to research and real-time data through Bloomberg, FactSet, Wharton Research Data Services, TraderEx, SDC Platinum, Morningstar Direct, SNL Financial/ IW Financial and other databases Access to ArcGIS, a geographic mapping system used in real estate Virtual reality capabilities for 3D data visualization for advanced analytics

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 20


GROWING STAFF OPPORTUNITIES VSB Staff Advisory Council In 2018, Dean Russell established the VSB Staff Advisory Council (SAC) as a way to gain valuable input from its professional staff members. Dean Russell has worked with the council to create a best-in-class working experience and an environment where people feel engaged, valued and appreciated while doing meaningful work to support their personal and professional growth as well as the mission of VSB and Villanova. Professional Development The SAC offers staff career development throughout the year to provide relevant training to all staff members. These are largely run by our own faculty and staff, which enables us to showcase our own talents, build a stronger sense of community and save money. Promotions and New Positions VSB has significantly increased the number of staff positions to support VSB’s movement to a nationally ranked business school and has supported staff promotions in order to successfully retain these outstanding members of the VSB community. Rewards and Recognition In 2017, Dean Russell redefined the Staff Excellence awards to recognize the great work of VSB’s staff. The following seven Dean’s Excellence awards are granted annually; they recognize our exceptional staff and reward them with a monetary gift, plaque and public acknowledgment. • • • • • • •

Innovation Award Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Award VSB Ambassador Award Student Champion Award Veritas, Unitas, Caritas Award Rookie Impact Award TEAM (Together Everyone Achieves More) Unitas Award

21 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS


ENHANCING OUR AUGUSTINIAN MISSION As Dean Russell often says, “VSB is not just another business school; rather, VSB is a business school built on our Augustinian Catholic values." To this end, a number of initiatives have been created or enhanced over the past six years. •T hrough our partnership with Rev. Kevin DePrinzio, OSA, PhD, vice president of Mission and Ministry at Villanova, and Matthew Manion '11 MSCM, faculty director of VSB's Center for Church Management, we have conducted education on the Augustinian mission and values to VSB's senior leadership team and Staff Advisory Council. •E nhanced VSB community service as a Schoolwide collective of faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends: • St. Thomas of Villanova Day of Service • Special Olympics—partnership and sponsorship •D ay of Service for campus recycling and preparing meals for shelters • MLK Jr. Day of Service •C reation and support of numerous DEI committees and an interfaith committee to ensure VSB is welcoming and inclusive to all •S haring our Augustinian Catholic mission and values with all entering student classes. •S trong support of the VSB Center for Church Management

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 22


CENTERS OF EXCELLENCE Daniel M. DiLella Center for Real Estate Supports the advancement of scholarly research, teaching, curricular innovation and business leadership in the area of real estate The Elenore and Robert F. Moran Sr. Center for Global Leadership Promotes the guiding principles of cross-cultural awareness, ethical international business relationships and responsible global leadership by offering educational programs, research, and service and outreach activities

VSB’s Centers of Excellence drive the School’s pursuit of scholarly achievement, encourage cutting-edge research, help guide curricular design and connect theory to practice through external engagement. The Centers of Excellence remained a strong engagement tool through increased activity with advisory council membership contributions, new pledges and outright gifts. Several of the Centers’ advisory councils introduced junior-level councils as a feeder to their traditional advisory councils to help younger alumni engage with our Villanova community and our senior-level advisory council members. VSB hired more staff to support the work of the Centers that provided additional student programs.

23 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

Center for Church Management Equips church leaders and communities with sound business principles to advance the mission and stewardship of their faith VSB’s Center for Church Management offers the only graduate program for clergy and laity in church management from a Catholic business school in the U.S. The Center for Marketing and Consumer Insights Leverages the expertise of VSB’s world-class faculty and an advisory board of practitioners from leading corporations to support initiatives that foster an unmatched student experience Center for Business Analytics Strives to develop analytical capabilities and support our cross-disciplinary faculty and staff to become recognized for excellence in analytics education, practice and research.


ADVISORY COUNCILS

In the past five years, the membership and diversity of our advisory councils has grown. Additionally, the following two councils were added to our portfolio in 2017:

Diversity on Advisory Councils Efforts to increase diversity, particularly female representation, across advisory councils have yielded improvements.

Graduate Business Alumni Advisory Council Leverages the large and long-established MBA alumni base (EMBA, OMBA, PMBA) to tap into our Villanova network and create meaningful programming for our graduate programs.

•D ean’s Advisory Council female membership increased from 10.9% in 2016 to 37.1% in 2020. •A ccounting Advisory Council female membership increased from 9% in 2017 to 15% in 2021.

Undergraduate Young Alumni Council Provides a unique engagement tool to help us foster strong recruiting relationships with organizations and stay apprised of current business trends relevant to undergraduate business education.

•F inance Department Advisory Council female membership increased from 5.5% in 2016 to 24% in 2021. The types of industries represented on the councils as of 2020 are also quite diverse. Top industries include:

53 Investment Advisors (Wealth Management) 50 Banking and Investment Banking 34 Accounting and Professional Services 28 Real Estate/Real Estate Investments 19 Media and Entertainment 19 Pharma 18 Consumer Products 17 Consulting


FUNDRAISING ACHIEVEMENTS

DID YOU KNOW? Since 2016, over $40 million has been raised to support faculty research and teaching innovations, enhancing students' skills, building improvements to Bartley Hall and the Inn at Villanova classroom, DEI programming, and scholarships for students.

25 VILLANOVA SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

We are so grateful for the financial support we received from numerous stakeholders, especially our alumni. Financial support is critical for VSB to enhance our learning environment, elevate our profile as a producer of groundbreaking research and enrich the overall educational experience. Dean Russell worked with our Development team to increase contributions across endowments, restricted gifts and unrestricted funds.

Dean’s Fund for Strategic Initiatives FY 2021

$957,067

FY 2020

$986,230

FY 2019

$1,053,044

FY 2018

$1,045,291

FY 2017

$840,662 1842 Day

2021

$920,901

2020

$666,417

2019

$401,335

2018

$324,200

2017

$258,688


NEW ENDOWED FACULTY POSITIONS Since 2016, VSB has created the following positions: Kevin J. Hughes Family Senior Research Fellow Three new named assistant professors •T he Vincent B. DiDomenico, Jr. ’88 Endowed Assistant Professor •T he Swift Family Endowed Assistant Professor •K evin Tedeschi ’71 Endowed Assistant Professor

Three new endowed chairs/professors • Hovnanian Family Endowed Chair • KPMG Endowed Professorship •T he Villanova University Endowed Professorship in Business

2016–2021 IN REVIEW 26


Villanova School of Business 800 East Lancaster Avenue Villanova, PA 19085

DID YOU KNOW? VSB TURNS 100 IN 2022! As we look ahead, we reflect on our past and the legacies you have all helped to create. VSB is celebrating 100 years of business education since 1922. Stay tuned for more details on the events starting in August 2022. Dean Russell and the VSB community invite you to share your photos and memories with us. Please send to: VSB100Anniversary@villanova.edu.

@VillanovaSchoolofBusiness

@VU_Business | @VSB_Dean

@villanovabusiness

Villanova School of Business

CELEBRATING 100 YEARS!


Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.