Page 1

QQuuQaQaururtataeerrtrteeIIrsrsssIIususseseuu–e–eVV––ooVlVl.o.oll.. 22rr002121070511–7–5TT––hhTiTirhrhddiirrdd XXXXXIXVXXXIIVNXIIN r r e e e e m m m m m m m No.oNo.II.oII.IIIII SSuuSSuu I

nn bulibclaictiaotio u P P d d e e AllAlBlreBre

iysDitsDirstirtbsirtubirbtuiiubtoitunoitoninoInnInInWInWaWasWahsasihnhsignihntgiogntnotgo,ntno,I,ndI,dIdIada D D y y y t t t t i i i i n n n n ahaohh,ooh, ,o, umumuu m m om oComm OOreOrgeOreogrgeoogo CCoCm abiaibaia n,nn,M,nMo,MnoMotnanotatnaantnaa, an,&a,&,&B&BrBirtBritsirithsitshihCshCoClouColm uibm uloum lbm Published Since 1988 Published Since 1988 SPOKANE, WASHINGTON SPOKANE, WASHINGTON USAUSA

www.horse-previews.com www.horse-previews.com

30th International

In F

Fjord Horse Show August 25-27 Sandpoint, ID

www.PNFPG.org


P.o. Box 427 • spokane, W a 99210-0427 • (509) 922-3456 Summer 2017 • Third Quarter Issue Volume 29 • Issue 3

Features places to Ride Near Spokane by Ken Carmichael ................................... 4 To buy or Not to buy Is This horse for You? by Ann Kirk ............................................... 8 baxter black On The Edge of Common Sense horses Kin hurt Ya ................................. 12 Veterinary Knowledge ~ Ageless Horsemanship helpful hints When hauling horses Dr. Misty Parker, DVM ............................. 16

content Advertisers Index ..................................... 30 Advertising Rates ..................................... 31 Classified Advertising............................... 28 Clubs & Organizations ....................... 26-27

hORSE pREvIEWS MagazINE

30th International Fjord Horse On Our Show in Sandpoint, Idaho! Front Cover The Pacific Northwest Fjord Promotional Group (PNFPG) was started in 1986 by a small group of Fjord horse owners. Since then the club and the breed has grown in the Northwest area. There are currently over 1300 Fjords registered in the Northwest. The Norwegian Fjord horse is one of the world’s oldest and purest breeds. Domesticated over 4,000 years ago, they are relatively small (13.214.2 hands) but a very strong and agile breed from the mountains of Western Norway. The Fjord horse is an intelligent and willing companion. They have a charming and gentle disposition. Their strong body and extraordinary power allows them to be used for most any discipline. Their docile nature makes them an excellent

Quarterly Schedule

jaNuaRY / WINTER - 1st Quarter Issue apRIl / SpRINg - 2nd Quarter Issue julY / SuMMER - 3rd Quarter Issue SEpTEMbER / fall - 4th Quarter Issue Deadline is always 15th of the preceding month EDITOR Helen V. Boyd-Schwartz SalES & aDMINISTRaTION Donna Eslick pRODucTION: Patrick McHale, Devon McCarthy, Ashley Teel publIShER: Exchange Publishing, LLC. OffIcE lOcaTION: 304 W. Third Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201 cONTacT DETaIlS: Tel: 509-922-3456 • 1-800-326-2223 Fax: 509-455-7940 • Text: 509-998-3231 Mail: PO Box 427, Spokane, WA 99210 HorsePreviews@spokane.Exchange www.Horse-Previews.com

Photo credit Sue Wilson

schooling horse for children and a friend to therapeutic riders. Fjords possess a presence about them that charms all who see them. On August 25th-27th the PNFPG is excited to return to Sandpoint for the 30th Annual Fjord Horse Show at the award winning Bonner County Fairgrounds. Our three day event is filled with many of the disciplines that the Fjord horse competes in around the world. We have English and Western riding; single, pair, four in hand and unique hitch driving; ridden and driven trail courses; as well as many fun Gymkhana games, and for the first time this year a Driven Derby competition. The public is welcome to come watch these wonderful horses and their owners do what they love. Our classes run from 9am to approximately 5pm Friday and Saturday and 9am to 12pm on Sunday and are completely free of charge. We want to share our love of the Norwegian Fjord horse with you! Please visit our website: www. pnfpg.org

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 2


22nd ANNUAL PRODUCTION SALE SEPTEMBER 16, 2017

“Proven Cow Horses with Speed, Good Bone, Feet and Withers”

Featured Sires:

Ima Tuf Lena, Genuinely Busy, Perkster, Cowboys Frenchman and Streakn N Moven

PERKSTER

Dash For Perks x PC Boonwood x Boon Dox John Stallion Fee: $1000 Eligible for: Future Fortune, Inc, 5-State Breeders Futurity and BBI 5 Panel Tested N/N Standing at Chinook Vet Clinic

GENUINELY BUSY

IMA TUF LENA

A Golden Buckskin son of Tuf N Busy and a Lenas Wright On mare Cow Horse Deluxe! His colts have looks, color, ability and a people pleasing attitude.

A Buckskin son of Tuf N Busy. He sires colts with big hips and kind, gentle dispositions. Easy to train. Tuf’s colts have a lot of repeat buyers.

Working Ranch Horses Since 1888 For Further Info/Catalog

Stan & Nancy Weaver • 406-378-2600 • P.O. Box 589 • Big Sandy, MT 59520 WeaverHorses.com • weaver@midrivers.com

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 3


Places to Ride Near Spokane By Ken Carmichael, Back Country Horsemen - Ponderosa Chapter It seems like it took longer than normal for the ground to dry out enough for safe riding in several areas. This has required us to be a little more creative and use extra precautions. Those of us who like to trail ride tend to have our favorite places. Here are a few of mine. The Bureau of Land Management Land (BLM) west of Spokane provides open ground with draws and gullies. These areas provide lots of open ground, good trails and some camping spots if you want to stay overnight. They are all good for long day rides. The closest to Spokane is Fish Trap Lake off Interstate 90 exit 254. I can think of three good Fish Trap Lake parking locations to get you to the different areas. My favorite location for an overnight stay is the Escure Ranch (Rock Creek Recreation Area) south of Sprague. Ponderosa Back Country Horsemen is working with BLM on more trail and Four riders on colorful horses trailhead improvements. at Escure Ranch

Now we have two corrals, highline poles, outhouse, horse water and picnic tables. You can ride for days here. Ponderosa Back Country Horsemen are PONDEROSA CHAPTER improving the trailhead at Lakeview Ranch north of Odessa. We are repairing old mustang corrals so they are suitable for trail stock. Not a lot of other facilities here but nice place to ride. We will also be improving the trail at the Telford Recreation Area between Davenport and Creston. For state parks we cannot miss Riverside State Park. There are 7 trailheads including the great equestrian area at the south end of the park. Here we have the 140x240 arena, 60 foot round pen, announcers stand, trail course and equestrian camping. Me down by the river in If you know the way you can ride Riverside State Park across 12,000 acres all the way to Lake Spokane on good dirt trails. Then when it gets too hot for this low country riding there is Mt. Spokane State Park. This will put you in the mountains not too far from home

UPCOMING HORSE SA Dates include Catalog sale and open consignment & loo UPCOMING HORSE SALES UPCOMING HORSE SALES July 22, 2017 Catalog sale and open consignment & loose horse sale. Dates include CatalogDates saleinclude and open consignmentCatalog & loose horse sale. July 6 Deadline:

July 22, 2017 The ORIGINAL Catalog Deadline: July 6 Hermiston Horse Sale The ORIGINAL Catalog Deadline: July 23, 6 Catalog Sept. 2017 Deadline: Sept. 6 HermistonatHorse Sale Located the Northwest Catalog Deadline: Sept. 6 Located at the Northwest All open consignment and loose horses can consign Dates include Catalog sale and open consignment & loose horse sale.t Livestock Commission Sale Barn All open consignment and loose horses can consign the day of the Livestock Commission Sale Barn

July 22, 2017 Sept. 23, 2017

UPCOMING HORSE SALES

GINAL Horse Sale Livestock Commission Sale Barn sale. &for pictures before for better adv sale. Submit infoSubmit & picturesinfo before better advertising! Catalog Deadline: Sept. 6 e Northwest LOWER CONSIGNMENT FEES! Entryhorses formscan are available online Catalog Deadline: July 6 available open consignment and loose consign the day ofatthe& looseonline CONSIGNMENT FEES! ission SaleLOWER Barn All Entry forms are Dates include Catalog sale and open consignment horse sa CATALOG SALE

Sept. 23, 2017

July 22,HORSE 2017 UPCOMING SALE

The ORIGINAL sale. Submit info &www.HermistonHorseSale.com $100 Fee / 8% Commission CATALOG SALE pictures before for better advertising! Hermiston Horse Sale Catalog Deadline: Sept. 6 ocated at the Northwest $100 Fee / 8% Commission NMENT FEES! OPEN CONSIGNMENT Entry forms are available at July 6 Catalogonline Deadline: All open consignment and loose horses Sold atcan our consign the day of the ock Commission $50 FeeSale / 8%Barn Commission The ORIGINAL at our May 2017 G SALE sale.Sold Submit info & pictures before forSale better advertising! OPEN CONSIGNMENT May 2017 Sale Hermiston Horse Sale Commission Catalog Deadline: Sept. Sold at our Sold6atSold our at our $50 /FEES! 8%TO Commission SUBSCRIBE OUR at the Fee Northwest ERLocated CONSIGNMENT Entry forms are at May 2017 Sale available online May 2017 Sale Sold at our May 2017 and loose horses can consign theSale day of E-NEWSLETTER! vestock Commission Sale Barn All open consignment May 2017 Sale IGNMENT CATALOG SALE

Sept. www.HermistonHorseSale. July23, 22,2017 2017

Sept. 23, 2017 www.HermistonHorseSale.com

sale. Submit info & pictures before for better advertising! www.HermistonHorseSale.com Sold at our Or Call 541-567-6655 Sold at our Sold

www.HermistonHorseSale.com

Commission 0 Fee / 8%SUBSCRIBE Commission TO OUR

Sold atFEES! our OWER CONSIGNMENT May 2017 Sale E-NEWSLETTER! N CONSIGNMENT

CATALOG SALE

May 2017 Sale May 2017 Sale online at Entry forms are available

May

www.HermistonHorseSale.com Sold at our Soldat atour our Sold 0 Fee 8% Commission E TO/Fee OUR $100 /www.HermistonHorseSale.com 8% Commission Sold at our JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 4

May 2017 Sale

May 2017 Sale

May 2017 Sale May 2017 Sale Or Call 541-567-6655


CHILI FEED

2

RAFFLE

CRAZY HAT CONTEST

fall fun ride and

nd annual

Scavenger Hunt FUNDRAISER

what

Scavenger Hunt: Find items as you ride through the Equestrian area. Plus! Chili Feed, Raffle, Door Prizes, Crazy Hat Contest, Music Address does NOT appear on google maps or mapquest. See our website (www.pbchw.com) for direc�ons or email Ken (below) for specifics.

where

Riverside State Park Equestrian Area 3402 N Equestrian Lane Spokane, WA 99224 “Discover Pass Free Day”

when

Saturday, September 30, 2017 9am - 1pm *All riders MUST return to the PBCH booth by 1pm to turn in their results 1pm through the a�ernoon: chili feed, door prizes, awards for scavenger hunt/hat contest, raffle, music

cost

!

safetyrules

! one rider per horse

Equestrian camping — 20 sites Pre-Registra�on received by Reserva�ons at September 22: $20 per rider Register at event: $25 per rider NEW! www.parks.state.wa.us/223/reservations — OR — 888-226-7688 Chili Feed: $5 per person Select Riverside State Park, Bowl & Pitcher Raffle �ckets: $5 per �cket then Equestrian Area Cash or check only Overflow camping is across the road

● ride at a safe distance ● no stallions please ● no dogs please ● no running horses ● no li�ering please ● no alcoholic beverages on trail ● be courteous when passing other riders ● minors must be accompanied by Parent or Guardian ● all riders must sign a liability release

3/12/2017

The ride area is well defined over relatively level but rocky ground and varies in difficulty. Some experience is required.

Sponsored by Ponderosa Back Country Horsemen

OF WASHINGTON INC® PONDEROSA CHAPTER www.pbchw.com

Looking for more info? Contact Ken Carmichael 509-466-2225 or kcarmichael2225@gmail.com www.pbchw.com

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 5

Click to our website www.pbchw.com for a detailed fact sheet


D

D

D D D D

Road Deer Park, WA 99006 D D D D DD D

Diamond Horse Boarding D DD D Pine n affordable price! D DD D D Ranch Your

r/Heated Water 309 East Insert Road Deer Park, WA 99006 Horse FULL SERVICE BOARDING dual Runs PREMIER D D D ATTENDANT D D DD D … Needs WITH RESIDENT eaning Us!

Premier Horse BoardingMy Granddaughter on Bluff

◆ Outdoor shelters in 40x50 steel fenced pens, cleaned a/Orchard weekly, Grass heated Hay water Personalized care at an affordable price! on ◆ Premium alfalfa/grass hay, fed 2x daily

*

with some great scenery. We are working with other recreational interests on expanded facilities which will include equestrian camping.

309 E. Insert Rd. Deer Park, WA 99006 D (509) D D 723-8166 (425) 681-0142 D dleigh@cnw.com D D D

Just one more is Rustlers Gulch on Fish and Wildlife land north of Spokane. I want to do lots more exploring there.

overlooking Riverside State Park

Now there are literally scores of good riding locations within shouting distance of Spokane in national forests, state parks, county and city property. I just mentioned my favorites and I imagine everyone out there has their own favorite as well. We are very fortunate to have these public lands but it takes work to maintain them and retain access for horses.

Your ◆ Supplements/ grain fed when supplied by owner Horse B 50’ x 50’ Individual Runs ◆ Heated wash rack,Needs tack B Weekly Pen Cleaning room, parking Us! B

Outside Shelter/Heated Water

*Additional services upon request

B

◆ Indoor lighted Premium Alfalfa/Orchard Grassarena Hay

B

On-Site Attention

B

services upon request $300 Monthly * *Additional ◆ Endless Trails

Indoor & Outdoor

-723-8166 or De: 425-681-0142 com ForRiding more information Arenas

80x144

◆ Outdoor arena 150x250 ◆ Turn Outs Available

Proud Distributors of: Noble & Gates MilesPanels & miles of◆ LubriSyn - Joint Supplement

groomed trail riding trails MAMA SAID

That is where Back Country Horsemen (BCH) comes in, along with many other volunteer organizations including the Washington Trails Association (WTA). We advocate for equestrians, have education programs (including Leave No Trace) and move dirt (build and maintain trails). It is all fun and we enjoy riding where we have made a difference. If you want to learn more about trails and help maintain access to them you can contact the Ponderosa chapter of BCH at www.pbchw.com or kcarmichael2225@gmail.com Or call me, I love to talk horses 509-466-2225.

DASH

APHA Reg#910883 2007 Homozygous • Black & White Tobiano • 15.2 hands, 1150 lbs Contact Doug: 509-723-8166 or De: 425-681-0142 Sire: Heza Blue Tomcat • Dam: Goin to the Cash Bar E-mail: dleigh@cnw.com For more information “Rocket has a great disposition and great conformation that he is passing onto his foals from a variety of mares! Rocket is homozygous for the tobiano and black gene so guaranteed a colored foal and all black based! All of his foals to date have been awesome and are very versatile! His oldest offspring are 3 & 4 this year and there are some being trained for hunter/jumper, English Pleasure, Western Pleasure and barrel racing! Also check out Rocket’s excellent pedigree! Please consider breeding your mare or mares to Rocket and you will also be a very happy and proud owner of a beautiful Rocket foal!”

aka Rocket

2017 Breeding Fee: $500 • Non-Refundable Booking Fee: $150

er aka Casp

Poco Buenos Ghost

AQHA Reg#4504586 2004 Cremello • 14.3 hands, 1050 lbs • Sire: Buenos Twisted Doc • Dam: Pocos Miss Miranda “Casper has a great foundation pedigree, great disposition & conformation. He has offspring that are excelling in the roping pen, speed events, cow horse events and also great trail riding and family horses! And to add to all that he adds the great colors of either palomino, buckskin, smokey black or even smokey grullas, depending on the color of the mare!” 2017 Breeding Fee: $400 • Non-Refundable Booking Fee: $150

Young prospects available for purchase by both stallions

C&S paint and Quarter Horse Ranch

“A big thank you to everyone who has chosen to breed their mare or mares to Producing good working and using horses and adding color as a bonus one of our stallions in 2016 and over the past 10 years! Also, thank you to all of you who have purchased a horse from us! It is your support and hearing the Elk, WA 99009 • 509 220-7712 wonderful stories of the resulting foals or the progress of our home bred horses that keeps us doing what we love every year! ”— Charlene & Steve Ulrich horsedr37@aol.com Like us on Facebook!

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 6


LIFETIME WARRANTY

Because We Believe in the strength of our Buildings!

The BesT Buildings in The norThwesT are BuilT By

call now for Your estimate! 40x48x42 Monitor Style

EvEry Building Custom dEsignEd to Fit your nEEd! Any sizE! Any option! 0% Down Financing now available oac!

AG BUILDINGS • HAY COVERS • BARNS • GARAGES • SHOPS • RIDING ARENAS • STORAGE

We use… patented laminated Columns on your Building, not solid sawn poles!

3x THAN NEEDED

What do You Want Your Building held up BY?

1- 855 - SHOPSNW WA #solidsl890JN id#RCE-30127

www.SolidStructuresnw.com JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 7


Ann Kirk To Buy or Not to Buy - Is this the Horse for You? Summer is here and it is time to get a new horse. Whether this is the first horse you will ever own or you are thinking of adding another to a long (or short) list of horses you will have obtained, I would like to offer you some helpful hints from my experience as a trainer, clinician and horsewoman. Hopefully these tips can save you money, frustration and even serious injuries and expensive hospital bills. Before you even begin looking through the classifieds and online ads, there are a few guidelines you should have in place. You want to determine what kind of riding you are interested in doing. Do you want a horse to show and work with just in the arena or do you want one that you can take long, leisurely rides on out in the country? Or do you want both? I have found that trail horses can transition to the arena a lot easier than an arena horse can take to the trail. The arena walls give a horse boundaries and a controlled environment that seldom changes unless we make it change. You should determine your level of expertise. Is this your very first horse? If so, how old are you and how much experience do you have with horses in general? If it is not your first horse, how many horses have you owned in your life and how long have you ridden your current mount. I see many people who have ridden their whole lives but have only ridden a few horses. They buy one when they are young and ride it for 15-20 years until it has to be replaced. It may

not have been the best trained horse but the two learned to mesh and all was well. When it comes time to replace old Betsy, they have aged the same 15-20 years and are less confident to start with another horse. Or they think the new one will be just as easy and find they are soon uncertain even if the new horse behaves better because they don’t know how “bad” the new horse will become when he gets upset. Another important consideration is the finances. You should do the research, find out what horses you like are selling for and determine what you can spend for your new horse. And, unless you are a very experienced horseperson already, you should figure some training or lessons into the initial cost of your horse. Training a horse to be a good solid riding mount takes time. And time can also mean money as you learn to handle and ride the horse safely. Don’t let someone sell you a horse for lots of money based on its potential unless you have figured the cost of extracting that potential into your budget.

TrAil CliniC AugusT 19-20

My goal is to connect

you with your horse by teaching you sensible,

Elk, Washington

hands-on exercises that will reduce frustration and make your

partnership possible. You are personally

invited to come and join

this fun-filled, incredible journey that will make your goals a reality!

need More Confidence? let Ann Kirk guide You With sensible Horsemanship

Contact: Ann Kirk www.AnnKirk.com email: info@annkirk.com (509) 292-2475

Teaching the Art of Reading the Heart - Sensible Horsemanship JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 8


LMF Digest “911”

®

PROBIOTIC - PREBIOTIC - B VITAMINS

HELPING RESTORE DIGESTIVE ORDER

digestive upset

diet change

constipation

loose stool

worming

transporting

800.344.0563

stress

trailering

vaccinations

www.lmffeeds.com

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 9


So what constitutes a good horse? What are you looking for? I tend to believe that “pretty is as pretty does” when it comes to the final decision. Always keep that in mind. Don’t pick a horse just because they are shiny or the right color or come when you whistle to get a treat. Horses that rub on you or walk into you can seem affectionate and cute at the time but may become dangerous if they have no concern for your space. There may be many little things about a horse you like but does he meet the original criteria for why you are buying one? He doesn’t have to be perfectly trained, but can he handle being pressured, surprised, exposed to new things and separated from the other horses without becoming agitated and emotional? And the opposite is also true. The horse may have lots of hours of training on it but still not have much selfcontrol or discipline. Baseline personality cannot be trained into a horse. When you start looking at horses, here are a few more rules to follow. Though you should always set an appointment, let the owner know that you want to see the whole session with the horse. Ideally, I want the horse to be in a small enough area that I don’t have to wait an hour for the seller to go fetch him from the back forty, but a large enough pen to see how easy he is to catch. And then all the stuff that follows such as standing tied, being groomed including feet, being saddled, etc. It is usually not a good sign to show up and find the horse already saddled and sweaty. You don’t want one you have to wear out to ride.

WindDrift Farm AQHA Horses Schipperke Dogs Standing: ANADO ACE AQHA Usually a Few Young Horses for Sale 27210 W. Hallett Rd. • Medical Lake (Espanola), WA 99022

509/299-4143 • e-mail: winddrift@earthlink.net

To Enhance & Secure Your Investments

As you watch the seller work with the horse, try to put yourself in their place and ask yourself if you would be comfortable handling the horse the way it is behaving. If the seller will not ride the horse, be careful. My rule is if the owner won’t ride it and they can’t find someone who will, I will not consider getting on. I will make my decision as to the purchase by treating the horse as an unrideable horse. If I do buy it, I will expect to have to get some training on it before considering getting in the saddle. Be sure the purchase price reflects the possibility that the horse is not safe to ride and will need training to be safe. If you are buying a horse as a trail horse, be sure to see it ridden on the trail and to have someone you trust ride it on the trail also. It is also important to find out if the horse is only good when it has buddies along or if it is fine riding alone. Same for an arena horse; see it ridden as such. I have seen people buy a horse that is sold as a trail mount that they only tried out in the arena and then have the horse run away with them on the trail because it didn’t have the bridle control or the emotional discipline necessary to handle the unexpected. Perhaps one of the best tips I can offer is find an experienced horse person whose judgment you really trust and have them do the final evaluation on the horse you are looking at before you buy. Because that person’s time is valuable, you should go look at the horse of interest a couple of times first to weed out the ones that are obviously not an option. Don’t make any promises until you have it evaluated by someone who has handled lots of horses and who can help you make an informed decision. Remember, the owner wants to sell the horse and some sellers will do all kinds of things to convince you it’s your perfect horse. It is also a good idea to have a vet check done at the seller’s expense to be sure there are no underlying problems, especially if the horse is aged. I know this is a very short list of the things to consider when buying a horse. But it is a start. Just be careful, take your time and good hunting. Next article, I will talk about selling a horse but until then, have a great summer and stay safe. God Bless........Ann Ann Kirk is available for Sensible Horsemanship Clinics, Workshops and New Horse Evaluations in your area. For more information and other Sensible Horsemanship articles, go to www.annkirk.com. Beginning Sensible Horsemanship is available in a DVD series.

ArAbiAn Horses For sAle IAHA Sweepstakes Stallion

Craftsmanship & Integrity Craftsmanship & Integrity Shalwyn • Commercial Commercial, Farm, Home• Home Arabians • Landscaping • Farm Established 1983 Gerwyn & Diane Jones 411 Caldwell Road Currently Booked Through September, Landscaping Walla Walla, WA 99362-9712 Now Scheduling for Fall! 509-276-1140 509-529-4067 Proprietor: 509-276-1140 Austin Wells Email: shalwyn@charter.net Established 1983 Lic. #NORTH4F96004 Proprietor: Austin Wells Lic. #NORTH4F96004

Visitors Welcome

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 10

Rev.19:11-16


The Only

TrAilEr

in iTs clAss

HoT sHoT

clAssic ii

ADVEnTurE MX ii Wilson HAnD rAncH

MAVEricK

ouTlAW

Full Service Shop insalling B&W hitches & Tekonsha Brake controllers

509-927-1701

Servicing All Brands of Trailers complete parts Dept.

WE TAKE TRADE-INS!

HUBER TRAILER SALES 18502 E. Broadway • Greenacres, WA 99016 • At Barker Exit Off I-90 509

892-0587

www.HuberTrailers.com JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 11

800 424-7114


On The edge Of COmmOn SenSe by Baxter Black, DVM

Horses Kin Hurt Ya! Horses kin hurt ya! SOMETIMES ON PURPOSE! I looked up at the pig-eyed backyard horse. The roll of fat down the crest of his neck quivered as he snorted and flared his nostrils. He was not pleased that I’d managed to get a halter on him in the first place. He belonged to a thirteen year old kid who rode him faithfully at least once a month. This horse was used to bein’ the boss and he did not tolerate my attempts to force my wishes on him. I tried to calm him but the suspicion never left his eyes. Maybe I’ll try him without a twitch, I told myself with optimistic bravado. I picked up my plastic syringe of Ivomec paste, took a firm grip on the halter and gently eased the tube into his lips. He froze for a moment. I pushed in another inch and he exploded! He reared up! I fell back losing my syringe but tangling my other hand in the lead shank! He pawed and struck at me, hooves flashing on either side of my head! My hand came free and I toppled over backwards. He ran to the

corner of the corral while I lay there with my heart pounding in my throat. That night I noticed a razor thin cut runnin’ along my cheek. A rough edge on one of his hooves, I guessed. So Close. Horses kin hurt ya! SOMETIMES IN SELF DEFENSE! Dr. Voss was demonstrating to my vet class how to castrate horses standing up (the horse, I mean). “Reach up between his legs and grasp the testicles. Inject the local anesthetic into the cord. Then stop and wait a couple minutes,” he instructed. “So the anesthetic will have time to take effect,” interjected the A-student gunner. “No,” said Dr. Voss, “So you can quit shakin’!” Horses kin hurt ya! SOMETIMES ACCIDENTALLY! Ol’ Ben opened the big barn door. His four Belgian draft horses tromped on in. Ben tried to close the door but the horses had knocked it off its overhead rail. He backed up to the heavy door and tried to lift it back on the hanger. It wasn’t easy in the boot suckin’ mud. He had it balanced precariously just about to drop into the groove when one of the horses bumped into the door from the inside. It toppled over on Ben like a giant shoe sole squashing an ant! The horses spooked and thundered out of the barn...clattering the length of the door! Ben tunneled out from under and lay there gasping like a winded salamander ‘til somebody found him. He survived, just like I did. It happens all the time. Close calls. Horses kin hurt ya! — www.baxterblack.com

11515 E. Trent, Spokane Valley, WA 99206

From the show ring to the trail - we’ve got you covered!

Western and English tack clothes, gifts & more! We Now Sell Wine! Great Selection of Equine Inspired Wines!

Hours: Monday-Friday 9:30am-5:30pm Saturday 9:30am-5pm Open late by appointment

509-927-5891

www.SpokaneTackTrunk.com • sales@spokanetacktrunk.com JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 12


s of e r c A & s e r Ac

! S L A I R E T A M E er to Do-It-Yourselfers! nce! FENC e We C a t stall Your F In or… Let Us TEE POSTS

FARM gATES

gAME FENCINg

5’6” 1.33lb $

350

6’6”x330’

6’ 1.33lb $

Bring in or mention this ad for 10% Off All Farm Gates, Hutch West, Powder Mountain and Tarter

330’ ROLL FIELD FENCE 32”, 39”, 47”

CaLL for PriCe!

NON-CLIMB HORSE FENCE 4x100’ .....

135

$

$

Premium Posts & Rails Highest Quality!

42

$

89 58

12x12’ Complete Kit Call for Price!

8’ Rails $ 12

WOW!

6

BARBED WIRE CLASS 1

3-hole Posts $ 52

6x100’

$

300

$

HORSE SHELTER

9

6x50’

$

330’x7’6”

8000

2-hole Posts $ 03

5x100’

136

$

$

Lowest Prices ever!

69

100’x7’6”

MONTANA SUPER BRACE

4x100’ 5x50’

Deer Netting Keeps the Deer Out! FREE Consultation!

6x100’ ..... $19784

SPLIT RAIL CEDAR

36

61

gARDEN FENCINg

5x100’ ..... $16513

4x50’

$

WOW!

10’ T Posts

4-5”x7’ Treated Drivers

Drill Stem Corner Brace

2x4 WELDED WIRE $

8’x330’ 12”sq

WOOD POSTS full Bundle or Per Price

We Price Match

Lower Prices!

8’x330’ 6”sq

360

2pt Commercial ................... $5645 4pt Commercial ................... $5745

10

110

ALL ITEMS LIMITED TO STOCK ON HAND. PRICES SUBjECT TO CHANgE

(509) 342-7410

A division of Idaho Fence Company

Open Mon-Fri: 8am-5pm

2430 W Seltice Way Post Falls, ID I Residential & Commercial WA #MILDFC911C3

2430 W. Seltice Way

Serving Washington and Idaho Since 1973

ID #001040-C4

More than just a fence store… Open Mon-Fri: 8am-5pm

IDAHO FENCE COMPANY

W Seltice Way Post Falls, ID 83854 I 208.687.2296 I 208.687.2196 WA2430 #MILDFC911C3 ID #001040-C4

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 13


Insurance for All of Your Farm & Ranch Needs…

We Know Horses! Cattle! Crops! and Can Insure Most Related Operations! Clinics • Shows • Boarding Stables Farms • Breeding Operations • Training Riding Lessons • Mortality • Major Medical Call us for a Quote Today! Ask for Fran Jenne Office: 509/935-6256 Toll Free: 1-866/200-2230 PO Box 108 • Chewelah, WA 99109

“Bask”, Pencil by Susan Hedstrand

Fran.jenne@hubinternational.com

For all your Excavation, Dirt Work & concrEtE nEEDs!

Decorative Stamp concrete • Site prep • LanD cLearing BoBcat work • roaDS & DrivewayS • Septic & Sewer graDing • concrete conStruction • DemoLition & more!

Public & residential

public & residential precision demolition, removal and clean up of existing structures, excavation and over lot grading for streets and infrastructure, underground utilities, foundations. expert at meeting special situation requirements.

commercial

cost containment, specializing in ontime, responsive demolition, excavation, grading and site preparation for projects of all sizes.

High-End custom

multi-level excavation, specialized foundation and footer support excavation, as well as underground utilities and demolition of pre-built site locations with site preservation a priority.

CALL TODAY FOR YOUR FREE ESTIMATE!

509-936-4200 • www.LoveToDig.com Owner/Operator: Chuck Young • LIC# LOVEDDL831BQ

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 14


We Build Quality Fences to last!

Summer 10% OFF! Special with mention of this ad!

Excellent Quality I Locally Made I Custom Orders Welcome

Stay Tuff Fencing –

A fixed knot fencing makes it an excellent alternative for chain-link & hinge-joint fencing – even for the smallest of animals; and costs 30%-50% less than chain-link. Useful life of the fence is 3 to 4 times that of traditional hinge-joint fencing. Can be installed with wood or steel posts and rails. Stay Tuff Fencing offers a 10 year manufacturer warranty on material.

EquiFence Power Fencing –

Designed for maximum visibility and delivers a short, sharp but safe shock to develop respect for the fence. Gallagher Equi-Fence is permanent horse control that takes less than half the time to build and can cost as much as 50% less.

Deer & Elk Fencing – Deer & Elk fence can be built

with a variety of materials and designs, from pressure treated or rough cut wood to composite materials. Wire mesh can be added to help with predator control or keeping your small animals in.

Custom Gates & Panels

Excellent quality, locally made, custom orders welcome.

Excavator available for Ground Management, Water Lines & Automatic Livestock Watering Systems • Rock Drilling ! FREE ESTIMATES

509-998-9570

Do it right the first time …Give us a call! All proposals are based on footage as quoted within the written proposal. Any increase in end-project footage will be adjusted & billed accordingly. Lic# ALLTETF903JA

Serving Spokane for Over 15 Years I www.AllTerrainFence.com JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 15


veterinary knowledge

ageless horsemanship

Helpful Hints When Hauling Horses by Dr. Misty Parker, DVM McKinlay & Peters Equine Hospital - Spokane, Washington

I am, by nature, a planner. When I became a mother, that instinct intensified. It’s a quality that drives my husband crazy. He can, however, appreciate it occasionally, like the occasions when we haul horses. Horses, by nature, are fragile and accident prone. What can intensify that? Putting them in a gigantic box on wheels and bumping them down a long road; hence the importance of planning. The intent of this article is to offer suggestions and provide guidance when preparing for a trip with your horse(s). Keep in mind; some of these plans need to be set into motion weeks before you hit the road! (1) Paperwork. A health certificate and coggins testing are required for any interstate travel. If you are traveling to Idaho, Washington, Oregon, or Montana you can get a health certificate/coggins combo that is usable for six months. All other states only accept a thirty day health certificate. Coggins

tests are good for six months, or one year, depending on the state you are traveling to. If you are traveling to Montana please visit their website link (animalhealthimports.mt.gov) for additional paperwork and payment that they require. Remember that rules and regulations change periodically and it is always a good idea to contact your veterinarian and double check legal requirements. Be honest with your veterinarian about any recent health issues and do not travel with a sick horse. Doing so would be risking life threatening respiratory issues (shipping fever). Brand inspections, regardless of whether the horse is branded or not, are required when a horse is being moved out-of-state (that includes any travel across Washington and Idaho state lines) or offered for sale at any public livestock market. Three different brand inspection options are available. A temporary brand inspection is only good for thirty days. It is appropriate with a change of ownership or a one way trip out of the state (no return). An annual brand inspection is good for one full year and allows movement in and out of the state. A lifetime brand inspection is good for life, unless the horse changes ownership. In order to get any brand inspection completed, either registration papers or the original bill of sale needs to be presented to the brand inspector, who will then submit it to the state.

Take a STep TowardS a GreaT weldinG Career!

Welding School Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced

Basic welding to application & process specific classes Stainless & Aluminum to Steel & Exotic Metals

INDUSTRY STANDARD CERTIFICATIONS

STICK, WIRE, TIG WELDING OUT-OF-POSITION WELDING PLASMA CUTTING PIPELINE WELDING

“ We Teach You Welding” WELDING SAFETY TRAINING EQUIPMENT SETUP TRAINING Learn More at

www.Oxarc.com

4003 E. Broadway • Spokane, WA

509-535-7794

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 16

716 S. Oregon • Pasco, WA

509-547-2494


www.McKinlayPetersEquine.com

Lameness/MRI/Surgery Full Service Reproduction Center Internal Medicine/Critical Care/Isolation Barn 24 Hour Emergency Service

Complete, Compassionate Care for the Horses in your Life Serving the Inland Northwest & North Idaho Since 1993

509-928-6734 | 509-238-4959 | 208-457-8813 (Idaho Residents) JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 17


(2) Get your horse physically fit for travel. Be current on vaccines, deworming and farrier care. Consider diseases and/or parasites your horse may be exposed to when you arrive to your destination. Vaccinate 3 weeks prior to ensure protection. Make sure your horse’s hooves are in good condition for a comfortable haul. Riding in a horse trailer requires constant balancing and is actually as much exercise as walking for the same duration of time. (3) Trailer safety. Make sure your trailer is of adequate size for your horse and is in good working condition. Checking the tires, flooring, ventilation, brakes and lights. Know that in the summer the inside of the trailer can be up to 20 degrees warmer than ambient temperature. Good ventilation is extremely important, year round. Not only for temperature control but also for easy breathing. Make sure when your horse is in the trailer that it is tied so that it can get its head down to wither height. That way the horse can cough and adequately clear its airways. Please do not allow the horse to stick his/her head out of the windows while in motion. Doing so can lead to severe injuries. Consider putting a fly mask on your horse for eye protection if you have a stock trailer. I’d like to suggest that you ride in a horse trailer yourself – not on the roadways of course, but try riding around in a big open parking lot so you can gain an appreciation for the balance it takes to stay on your feet. This exercise will teach you to be a respectful driver and not take any corners on

Indiana Harness Co. “Quality Repair at Affordable Prices”

• New & used Western & English saddles • Rodeo & pack equipment • Custom belts & wallets • Custom working & show chaps • Cell phone cases • Blanket & saddle repair • Dog collars & harnesses for walking • Custom holsters & saddle scabbards Tack & Training Aides including: Custom designed halters, bridles, breast collars, etc FREE advice for the novice horse person 40+ years experience & family owned

509-535-3400

2425 N. Vista, Spokane WA (next to the “Big R” on Trent)

two wheels. Remembering to brake and accelerate slowly will also help provide a smooth ride for your horse. (4) First aid kit. Try to keep this organized so that in an emergency, things are easily accessible. I always recommend taping your veterinarian’s phone number to the inside lid of the first aid kit. An adequate first aid kit should contain a thermometer, a stethoscope, bute (prescription p r o d u c t ) , banamine (prescription product), oral sedation (prescription product), bandage material (including telfa pads, cotton, brown gauze, and vetrap), duct tape, betadine or chlorhexidine scrub, dry gauze, a pair of scissors, water, towels, and a flashlight. (5) Feed, water and bedding considerations. Dust free bedding and wetting down the hay help maintain a well ventilated environment. Don’t fill the hay manger or hay bag completely full, again for ventilation purposes. Offer water at each stop. Giving oral electrolytes can help stimulate thirst. Some horses do not like to drink unfamiliar water so consider adding flavoring (Kool-Aid or Gatorade) before your trip or bringing water from home. Other ideas on keeping your horse hydrated during travel include water soaked hay pellets or beet pulp mashes. Keeping a horse well hydrated can significantly decrease the risk of colic. As some states only allow certified weed free hay, be sure to look up state regulations on feed (6) Minimize stress. A very large percentage of horses that travel regularly will have gastrointestinal ulcers. Ulcers are caused by stress. Big boxes on wheels are stressful. Gold standard, especially if your horse is a “high anxiety” horse, would be to use Gastro Gard (by weight, orally, once a day) a few days before travel, during travel and for a day or 2 after travel. In conclusion, I’d like to leave you with a couple random wrap-up thoughts. Like I said, I am a planner… not necessarily organized. Familiarize yourself with any medications you have so that you know when and how to give them. Know the normal vitals for your horse(s). If you don’t know normal then it is hard to recognize abnormal. The quicker you become aware of a problem and address it, the more favorable the results. Safe and happy travels! Misty Parker, DVM McKinlay & Peters Equine Hospital.

lady raven stables Call Ray & LeeAnn Hancock 509-993-7758 509-953-4511 509-466-6075 www.ladyravenstables.com pyroray@windwireless.net lhancock@windwireless.net

Jed McKinlay, DVM • Bob Peters, DVM Misty Parker, DVM • Robert K. Schneider, DVM Jake Lynch, DVM 509-928-MPEH (6734) • Email: debbie@mpevh.com www.McKinlayPetersEquine.com

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 18


s R s e a g d o d R l e l l c i N N o. Presents W

Little Buck Winners

Sierra Showing Tula

liTTle BuCk gaMiNg seRies July 9 • July 23 spiN To WiN

Reining & Ranch Riding schooling show

August 6 • October 22

Pleasant Valley Stables, Mead WA

Check Us Out On Facebook Often for the Most Recent Deals! Family Owned & Operated

Will RogeRs saddle Co.

13011 N. Freya, Mead

509-466-0106

or Toll Free 1-877-707-2801 Open Mon. - Sat. 9am - 5pm • Closed Sunday

www.willrogerssaddle.com

Buy - Sell - Trade

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 19


CHOPPED STRAW ANIMAL BEDDING ■ Extremely Clean ■ ■ ■

All our products are packaged in easy to transport, weatherproof, ■ no mess 4.0 mil bags

Wheat Straw Quick & Easy to Pick with Less Waste Save Time & Money Environmentally Friendly Fabulous Bedding for ALL Animals

Certified Weed Free Grass Hay!

Certified Weed Free Chopped Grass Hay-Mix of High Quality Timothy, Brome, Orchard Grass & Tall Fescue.

Available at Your Local Feed & Pet Store. Check our website for a store near you: www.LazyJBedding.com email: lazyjbedding@air-pipe.com • 877-885-2064 • 208-274-4632

THE TRADITION CONTINUES, WHERE EVERYONE IS WELCOME!

Eastern Oregon Trade & Event Center

Let us help you sell your horse!

1705 E Airport Rd. Hermiston, Oregon

New Location, Same Great Sale!

Sat, Oct. 14 & Sun, Oct. 15 Remember, we are the people’s sale, open to all classes of horses for all classes of people. Catalog DeaDline august 23

21,000 copies of our sale catalog promoting the horses for sale will be distributed all over the great Northwest. High Selling Horse. From our May 2017 sale: Lot #48, Royal Checks, consigned by Justin and Tiffany Cherry, purchased by Ronald Corta for $7,800. Top 5 sale horses average $6,920; Top 10 sale horses averaged $6,035!

Randy: 509-778-3467 Any questions please call Mailing: PO Box 549, Prosser, WA 99350 Email: horseextravaganza1@gmail.com Website: HermistonHorseSaleExtravaganza.com

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 20


JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 21


JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 22


SPORTSMAN’S PARADISE! 20616 N Day Mt Spokane Rd, Mead, WA 99021

• Amazing views overlooking Green Bluff • 2 story contemporary home w/ basement • Built in 1945, complete remodel in 2010 • 3 bed, 3 bath, 3,473 sq.ft. • Open floor plan, fireplace • Gated entry, fenced yard & sprinkler system • Forced air, propane & central AC • 15 minutes to shopping & restaurants in Mead School District • Huge 4 car heated garage/ shop (22’x48’) 12’ door & ½ bath

For a virtual tour

• Well designed private horse facility surrounded by cross fence pastures! • Horse barn w/ indoor arena (60’x144’) 12+ stalls & 2 runs & ¾ bath & laundry • Fancy shop (22’x40’) heated & insulated w/ cabinetry & concrete floor • Good well

$

999,000 65 acres

SUZY DIX Lic. # 13922

www.SuzyDix.com

(509) 994-9300

An Expert You Can Trust With Your Property Investment

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 23


4848 W Casberg Burroughs Rd Deer Park, wa 99006

345,000

$

Home on 20 acres of fenced and crossed fenced pasture. Multiple outbuildings, 3 wells and 3 septic/drain fields. Full description and contact info on www.Zillow.com For Sale By owner Julie Heinrich

360-708-0992

509-466-4500 Call Today for a List of Horse or Rural Properties Currently on the Market!

We Specialize in Rural Properties!

ECHO VALLEY RANCH HORSE BOARDING dEER PaRK, Wa

12x12 Stalls with Large Runs, 60x40 Lighted Indoor Round Pen, Two Large Outdoor Arenas 100x125 & 200x300, Heated Water, Stalls Cleaned Daily, Quality Hay Fed Twice Daily, Trails Nearby, Stress Free Environment, References Available.

! D L O S

Recent Sales:

5266 Bear Ridge Way............................................ $232,900 13707 E Blanchard Rd.......................................... $365,000 233/ 225 Camden Rd............................ pending $200,000 7711 W Oregon Rd..................................................$389,000 5549 S Swenson Rd................................................ $420,000 Thank You For Trusting Exit Real Estate North!

509-936-2039 or see our Facebook at

Echo VallEy Ranch hoRsE BoaRding

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 24


HORSE PROPERTY IN DEER PARK, WA

Beautiful 17 Acres Two Nice Barns • Fenced & cross fenced • 2 great wells • Completely remodeled 1600 sq.ft. home, 3 bedroom, 2 bath • Huge garage with storage, workshop, mechanic area & tractor carport • 2nd large barn for hay storage • 3 minutes to Hwy 395, only 12 minutes to Spokane

$

329,000

MLS #201717744

David Atherton

Real Estate Marketplace NW, Inc.

509-216-8589

PRIVATE REAL ESTATE LOANS (no Personal residence loans)

25,000 - 200,000

$

$

Will also Buy or Loan on Contracts in Escrow, Annuities, Lawsuit Settlements, also Buy Equipment or Tools!

I can often fund In a week to 10 days APPLy by A SImPLE PhONE cALL!

Northwest Legal Services, Ed Anderson, Sr. Paralegal

Edward andErson • Kingston, id 509-994-2557 • spoefa2@yahoo.com JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 25


HORSE CLUBS & ORGANIZATIONS

Let’s Get Acquainted! Mail or call us with your organization’s name, meeting place, contact person & telephone number for publication. This is a FREE service to Horse Organizations in Eastern / Central Washington, North Idaho, Northeastern Oregon, Western Montana & Kelowna, British Columbia. www.horse-previews.com/clubs.html ClUB

Meetings

P.O.C.

49ers Saddle Club American Mustang & Burro Association Appleatchee Riders Association Arabian Horse Club of Central Washington Back Country Horsemen of WA, I.E. Chapter Back Country Horsemen of WA, NE Chapter Back Country Horsemen of WA, Ponderosa Chap. Back Country Horsemen of ID, Panhandle Chap. Back Country Horsemen of WA, Ferry County Chap. BC Draft Under Saddle Club Big Sky Morgan Horse Assocation Big Sky Fox Trotter’s Association BitterRoot Back Country Horsemen Blackjack Saddle Club Blue Mountain Dressage & Combined Training Assn. Blue Mountain Morgan Horse Club Cabinet Back Country Horsemen Cayuse Kid’s Saddle Club Cleveland Bay Association of North America Coeur du Cheval Pony Club Columbia Paint Horse Club Country Kids 4-H Crab Creek Riders Backcountry Horsemen Dash of Class Mounted Ladies Drill Team Drover’s Jr. Rodeo Club Eastern Montana Appaloosa Horse Club Eastern Oregon Arabian Breeders Eastern Washington Jr. Rodeo Association Eastern Washington Quarter Horse Association Free Rein Therapeutic Riding Gentlemen on Horseback Gold ‘n’ Grouse Horse 4-H Club Grant County Horse Association Heron Saddle Club Horse Wyse Instruction I.E. Arabian Horse Club I.E. Barrel Racing Assoc. I.E. Miniature Horse Club I.E. Morgan Horse Club I.E. Mustang Horse Club I.E. National Showhorse Club I.E. Quarter Horse Association I.E. Tennessee Walking Horse Club Inland Northwest Dressage Association Inland Northwest Driving Society Inland Northwest Paint Horse Club Inland Northwest Pinto Horse Club John Wayne Pioneer Wagons & Riders Justin Time Morgan Youth Club Kootenai County Saddle Club Lewis Clark Saddle Club Melody Riders Saddle Club Mid-Columbia River Arabian Horse Club Mid-Valley Saddle Club Missoula Back Country Horsemen Montana Paint Horse Club Morgan Single-Footing Horse Assn. (MSHA) Mounted Mischief 4-H Club National Barrel Horse Assn. WA District 03 National Barrel Horse Assn. WA District 04 NW Intermountain Team Penning Association NW Paso Fino Horse Association

Monthly, Lewiston, ID, www.49ersaddleclub.org Monthly, Richland, WA 3rd Wednesday monthly, Appleatchee Clubhouse, Wenatchee, WA 1st Wednesday monthly, Club - 3rd Thursday, C’s Pizza, Union Gap 4th Tuesday, Wildlife Council Building, 6116 N Market, Spokane, WA 3rd Saturday monthly, www.nebchw.com 1st Tuesday monthly, INB Airway Heights www.pbch.org - connie@pbch.org 1st Wednesday monthly, 6pm, Norther Inn, Republic, WA Check website for meeting: www.bcdraftundersaddleclub.com Alternate month - see website for dates Call for information on meeting dates 3rd Thursday monthly, www.bchmt.org E.O. Wednesday, Blackjack Saddle Club Arena, Thompson Falls, MT See www.freewebs.com/bmdcta Call for meeting place & time, Hermiston, OR 2nd Tuesday monthly, 7pm 1st Sunday montly, Princeton, ID info@clevelandbay.org 1st Monday monthly, Legacy Farms, Loon Lake,WA 2nd Tuesday monthly, Kennewick, WA Deary, ID 1st Monday monthly, Moses Lake, WA 1st Monday monthly Call for information 1st Monday monthly, evenings, Billings, MT Call for meeting times Call for information on meeting dates 3rd Wednesday monthly, any breed welcome Call for Volunteer Training Information Gentlemen on Horseback Yearly week long ride since 1948 Every Wednesday, Location TBA Third Monday monthly, Moses Lake Municipal Airport 2nd Tuesday monthly, Heron Community Center, Heron, MT Clinics throughout the Inland Northwest Check our website for current info & meeting schedule For info on Open & Novice Barrel Races: Monthly Meetings Meetings TBA Last Thursday of month 6pm, Denny’s, Sprague & Pines, Spokane, WA 3rd Wednesday monthly Monthly Meetings - time and place vary 3rd Sunday, every other month, 3pm, Timber Creek Cafe Call for meeting & activity dates 1st Tuesday monthly, November through March Monthly meetings, contact us for location, Spokane, WA Meetings - call or e-mail for information 1st Tuesday monthly (except Jan, June, July & Aug), JWPWR.org Monthly, Thunderhead Farm, Moscow, ID Go to website for info: www.kcsaddleclub.com 1st Tuesday monthly, Clarkston, ID 1st Thursday monthly, 7pm, Chewelah WA 2nd Wednesday monthly 1st Tuesday monthly, 6pm, Apple Tree Restaurant, Lebanon, OR 3rd Wednesday monthly, 7pm, Opportunity Resource, Missoula, MT Check website for events: www.montanaphc.com Bruce Olso, 45 S 1100 E, American Fork, UT 84003 Meets 2nd & 4th Thursdays, Federal Way, WA Call for meetings and race dates For more information and race dates, see our website Call for information on meeting dates, www.NITPA.net www.nwpfha.com

Ken Smith 509/780-9614 Barbara Rehfield 509/588-5130 509/663-3175 www.appleatcheeriders.com Kay Coe, Chairman 509/457-8626 www.iebch.org Jim Hudkins 509/954-7446 jchudkins1@netzero.net Ken Carmichael 509/466-2225 www.pbchw.com Connie Glass 208/687-3608 Lloyd Odell (Pres.) 509/779-4244 info@bcdraftundersaddleclub.com Monica Cassidy www.bsmha.org Mark Goss 406/360-6355 Brad Pollman 406/546-6492 bpollman20@aol.com Scooter 406/827-4523 Trish Prince pprince@bmi.net Nancy Eidam 541/561-6644 P.O. Box 949, Libby,MT 59923 www.bchmt.org Brad Minden 208/858-2026 Tracie Traver 865/300-7133 Laura 509/499-4975 LaNay 509/627-4641 Alexcia Livingstone 208/877-1636 Bill Bailey 509/750-8196 Fran Jacobson 360/825-3525 JP Melton 208/691-1003 Brenda Robison robison.brenda@yahoo.com Julie Errend 541/922-2704 Benny Beck 509/750-6497 dpaulaj@aol.com Erva Hatfield 509/925-9172 Sandy Jones 509/979-1468 Scott Wiggins 509/868-1641 Janice Schoonover 208/263-9066 Cecil Newkirk 509/989-9586 anewkirk@nctv.com Leanne 406/847-2363 www.horsewyse.com 406/266-3311 Kari 509/939-0151 Heather 509/981-0455 or www.iebra.net Sue 509/291-5765 Meri 509/226-2448 mberberet@comcast.net Lea Williams 509/994-9829 Janet Gorman 509/276-2605 Judy Malby 509/447-4663 or 509/991-2894 Chris Hutchinson 208/676-1633 Joy Terry 509/995-6327 Cynthia Wahl 509/466-0109 Debbie Kruger, 208/687-9404 Shannon 509/951-8053 shannon@gozags.com Kathy Cowan 360/886-1729 Lisa 208/882-0832 Tami 208/591-4783 Becky Wright 208/791-1819 Oly Burnett 509/935-4006 Debra 541/567-3134, Linda 541/567-0041 Kim Winburn 541/990-5134 Mike Moore 406/370-7549 Gail Morris 406/866-3434 Gary 801/885-4714 253/740-1665 or www.mountedmischief4-h.org Amber Gray 208/882-3304 Casie Monge 509/939-4175 www.nbhawa04.com Sonni Gilbert 509/990-0268 nwpasofinohorse@gmail.com

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 26


HORSE CLUBS & ORGANIZATIONS

Let’s Get Acquainted! Mail or call us with your organization’s name, meeting place, contact person & telephone number for publication. This is a FREE service to Horse Organizations in Eastern / Central Washington, North Idaho, Northeastern Oregon, Western Montana & Kelowna, British Columbia. www.horse-previews.com/clubs.html ClUB

Meetings

NW Small Equine Club in Graham, WA North Country Riders North Idaho Appaloosa Horse Club North Central Idaho Backcountry Horsemen North Idaho Draft Horse & Mule Association Northeast Zone Western Games Division/ WSH Northwest Mounted Shooters Northwest Pattern Racing Association Northwest Saddlebred Association Northwest Stallion Service Auction Northwest Friesian Horse Club Northwest Quarter Horse Association Okanogan Valley Cutters Oregon Foundation Quarter Horse Club Oregon Quarter Horse Association Oregon Trail Appaloosa Club Pacific Assn. of the Andalusian & Luitana Horse (PAALH) Pacific Northwest Fjord Promotional Group Palouse Back Country Horseman Palouse Dressage & Eventing Palouse Empire Appaloosa Club Panhandle Backcountry Horsemen Parelli Natural Horsemanship Pierce County Chapter Backcountry Horsemen Puget Sound Buckskin Horse Club Puget Sound Hunter/Jumper Association Reining Horse Association of the Northwest Ride and Tie Association Rockin’ H Arena Rocky Mountain Breeders Association Sanders County Rocky Ridge Saddle Club Sapphire Arabian Horse Club S.C.O.P.E. Sheriff Mounted Patrol Selkirk Driving Association Selkirk Valley Backcountry Horsemen Snohomish County Western Games Assn. (SCWGA) South Central Zone of W.S.H. Southwest Washington Paint Horse Club Spirit Lake Horse Rescue & Youth Ranch Spokane Area Small Horse Association Spokane County Mounted Search & Rescue Spokane Morgan Club Spots of Fun Appaloosa Association St. John Saddle Club St. Maries Saddle Club Tekoa Community Fair Assocation Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders & Exhibitor Assn. of WA ThreeMtnsRanch Trails & More Treasure Valley Back Country Horsemen Treasure Valley Paint Horse Club UpRiver Saddle Club Valley Renegades Vigilante Appaloosa Club Washington Bred Paint Registry Washington Cavalry Association Washington Foundation Quarter Horse Assn. Washington Ponies Of the Americas Washington Reining Horse Association Washington State Horse Park Western Montana Quarter Horse Association W.S.H. NE Zone Games Division Yeehaw Riders

1st Friday each month at Graham Fire Station 70th and 224th Ride To Succeed - 7910 W. Burroughs, Deer Park, WA

P.O.C.

Joni Woodrring 253/405-9650 Melissa Stockman 509/276-9862 Maureen Leen 208/265-7286 Sally Wilson 208/937-1074 Mike Nagle 208/875-0024 Call for details Audre 509/496-4028 2nd Saturday of the month Rachel Peters 208/661-7971 2nd Thursday, Apex Physical Therapy, Airway Heights, WA Marie 509/244-2985 Email for information Courtney starryasb@aol.com Call for information Ken Bridges 253/472-8001 Will Bron 509/830-3362 Monthly Meetings Rosemary Hoff 509/525-8308 Omak Stampede Grounds, Omak, WA Heidi Wittig 509/683-1030 Call for information Rebecca Rust-Krell 503/805-9174 1st Tuesday monthly, call for details, PO Box 537, Newburg, OR Keri Croft 503/537-9845 Monthly meetings in Central Oregon, Check website www.otahc.org www.paalh.com Colleen Pedrotti 250/992-1168 Meets twice yearly Karl Froelich kj@froelichfamily.net 1st Tuesday monthly, 7pm, Deary Community Bldg., Deary, ID Bob Henriksen 208/835-6722 Meets every other month Becky Paull 208/798-9594 Kathy Hodl 509/291-3971 Members only meetings 3rd Saturday monthly, 7pm Karen Kimball 208/772-2434 2nd & 4th Sunday monthly Dan & Gretchen Thompson 406/862-1331 Jack Gillette 253/847-1626 Every 4th Wednesday, 7pm, Elk Plain Grange, East Spanaway 2nd Thursday monthly, Silver Spurs Club House, Silverdale, WA Lynn Travis, PO Box 1730, Silverdale, WA 98383 North of Seattle Ame Seelow 360/678-7470 Monthly meetings Norm Poser 509/924-8625 www.rideandtie.org Melanie Weir Melanie.weir11@gmail.com 4015 N Christensen Rd, Medical Lake, WA 99022 509/998-5039 rockin-h-arena@hotmail.com www.montanarmba.org Gail Morris 406/866-3434 Monthly meeetings 1st Tuesday, Noxon, MT Shannon 406/827-3399 1st Thursday monthly, www.sapphireAHC.org Miriam Henn 513/403-6371 Michelle LeVar 509/951-9225 smountedpatrol@spokanesheriff.com Monthly meetings, Group Patrol Spokane County Bi-monthly meetings Louise Casey 509/226-0582 Monthly meetings, call for location Merle Olsen 208/267-2272 www.svbch.org Western Games shows, Winter season, ES Fairgrounds, Monroe, WA www.scwga.com 3rd Thursday monthly, 7:30pm, Pasco McDonalds Netta Goodin 509/547-0923 3rd Tuesday monthly, 6:30pm, LaCosta Mexican Rest., Vancouver, WA facebook.com/swwphc swwphc@aol.com TBD 208/791-6130 www.spiritlakehorserescue.org 1st Monday monthly, 6:30pm, Deer Park Pizza Factory Kristen Florez 509/220-0335 2nd Thursdays monthly, 6:30pm, Busy Bee, Airway Heights, WA Phoebe Duke phoebed@yahoo.com www.spokanemorganclub.org 509/796-2140 Monthly Events & Meetings Call for meeting times Cheryl/Dam Moriarty 509/299/4191 St. John, WA Holli Bafus 509/648-3815 3rd Wednesday monthly, Federal Building Diane Farrell 208/245-3388 2nd Wednesday monthly at C&D’s www.TekoaWA.com/newsletters.html Monthly Meetings, call for times & locations Kirk Peters 253/639-3392 27405 S Cheney Spangle Rd, Cheney, WA 99004 509/370-8231 http://threemtnsranch.vpweb.com/ Priest River, ID trailsnmore.weebly.com trailsnmore@gmail.com Joanne Richey 208-880-7483 4th Tuesday monthly, 7:30pm Bonnie Freeman 208/880-4776 Schooling Show last Friday in March, Albert Arena Anne Gahley 208/286-7050 2nd Tuesday monthly, URSC Arena Clubhouse Debra Zimnicki 208/245-6868 Terri 509/993-4662 3rd Tuesday monthly, The Grubstake, Helena, MT Anita Wilson 406/235-4266 www.WABredPaints.com Shelley Bridges 253/472-8001 Meets Saturdays Bob Davisson bob@14thvirginiacavalry.org 2nd Saturday monthly, Noon, Buzz In Steak House, Ellensburg, WA Ginny Howard 509/588-3614 Call for more information Linda 360/736-9150 Jeanine Kern jeanine@ebs-northwest.com Open April-October annually, Cle Elum, WA www.washingtonstatehorsepark.org 1st Friday monthly, S 7th St, Missoula, MT Debby Cress 406/777-1802 Monthly meetings & summer events Melissa Stockmen 509/276-9862 Call for meeting info Laura 509/499-4975

Please contact us with your current club information 509-922-3456 or 1-800-326-2223 or e-mail horsepreviews@exchangepublishing.com. This is a FREE service!

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 27


CLASSIFIED

SUMMER 2017

HORSES

MISCELLANEOUS

TACK & TRAILERS

Registered Arabian, Seldom Needs Shoes smart, athletic, ridden with rope hal‑ ter or bit; Half‑Arab cross, quiet, responds to leg cues. Both used for mountain riding, they load, easy to trim/ shoe, cross water, dependable. $1250 each. 509/994‑4599 Spokane

Lucky Acres Brand Panels, Bow Gates & Shelters. All products fabricated from 1‑5/8” 15 gauge galvanized steel tubing. 12 5‑rail 56” tall panels $105. 12 5‑rail matching bow gate $205. 12x12 plywood compatible shelter (excludes plywood and roof tin ‑ framework only) $1,095. Lucky Acres Fencing, Inc., Lewiston, ID. 208/746‑1228, www.LuckyAcres.net

Will Rogers Saddle Company Summer’s here, time to deal with those flies! We have fly sprays, masks & sheets in stock! Stop by and see our awesome selection of new & used saddles, our stock changes daily, we’ve still got that Ray Holes saddle! Show season isn’t far away, treat yourself to some new show tack this year! Update your calendars, Spin to Win series: August 6th & October 22nd. Little Buck Series: July 9th & July 23rd, both at Pleasant Valley Stables in Mead. Pick up entry forms at the store, or we can email them to you too! Specials offered on Facebook daily, make sure you like our page! Amazing deals on multiple purchases of items for your whole team, just ask. We have contacts at over 60 different companies for any special order you need, we’re happy to help! Join our email list so you receive exclusive deals! We support High School equestrian teams (WAHSET) & 4H members. Major credit cards accepted, convenient layaway program. Buy, sell, trade www.WillRogersSaddle.com 509/ 466‑0106 Mead

Gorgeous Palomino/ Paso Fino Mare, Gaits well, easy going, $2100. 208/476‑4631, Orofino 27 Horses For Sale Cutting, Racing Lines, 1‑ 16 years, all levels of work, ride & train, $750‑$10,000. North Pasco, 509/531‑5211

BOARDING Echo Valley Ranch Horse Boarding 12x12 stalls with large runs, 60x40 lighted indoor. Round pen, (2) large outdoor arenas, 100x125 & 200x300, heated water, stalls cleaned daily, quality hay fed twice daily, trails nearby, stress free environment, references available. See our Facebook at Echo Valley Ranch Horse Boarding. 509/936‑ 2039 Deer Park Boarding! Lady Raven Stables Has New stalls for your boarding needs. Indoor/ outdoor arenas, round pen, miles of trails, wash rack, heated tack room, 8 minutes from North Division Y. www.LadyRavenStables.com Call 509/953‑ 4511; 509/993‑7758 Northwest Trails Boarding Happy Healthy horses. Excellent care, recommended by Deer Park Vet Clinic. Catering to those who really care for their horse’s well being. Large, lighted arena, three round pens, large paddocks & pastures with shelter. Endless miles of beautiful trail riding. Natural Horsemanship training & lessons available, friendly, helpful atmosphere. www.northwest‑trails.net 509/276‑6345 Deer Park

Portable Panels Nice Sized, 7’ Long, 5’ tall, transportable panels, perfect for horses, galvanized 1‑1/4” diameter thin walled tubes, ten panels with chains for attachment, $150. CdA, 208/765‑5374 Dry Shavings Very Little Dust, 32 Cubic yards per load, $250 per load, plus delivery, 208/683‑2496 or 509/999‑8765

FARRIERS Barefoot Hoof Trimming 4PB‑S.A.I.D. Method, nature’s correct healthy & preferred alternative to metal shoes. J.B. Healy, third generation farrier. 509/456‑5555 Balanced Barefoot Trimming Practitioner Pete Ramey School of Natural Hoof Care, $30 maintenance trim. Bud, 509/939‑5752

Trailer Repair: We Do The Works! Please contact 509/276‑2469 or 406/546‑5698

TRAINING / INSTRUCTION

TACK & TRAILERS Spokane Tack Trunk English & Western saddles, tack, clothes & much more. We have horse themed wines too! From the trail to the show ring, we’ve got you covered! Find us on Facebook & Instagram. 11515 E. Trent, Spokane Valley. 509/927‑5891 www.SpokaneTackTrunk. com

We Can Start Your Ranch Roping Horse Develop confidence in your dressage horse & train solid trail horses; common sense training with Rob Dotts & Sally Shepard, a team of trainers with more than 45 years of experience; no gimmicks used, just good horsemanship. Northwest Trails, Deer Park 509/276‑6345

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 28


4006 N. Division • Spokane, WA

POLE BUILDINGS GARAGES SHOPS BARNS LIVING QUARTERS

STEELSA044BD

Any Size and Configuration Available

Call 800-833-9997 Today!

Or on-line: www.FindSSA.net JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 29


ADVERTISERS STALLIONS Anado Ace WindDrift Farm ...........................10 Mama Said Dash C & S Ranch ..................................6 Perkster Weaver Quarter Horses .................3 Poco Buenos Ghost C & S Ranch ..................................6

BARNS & BUILDINGS

NW Cover-All – Fabri-Steel..........21 Solid Structures..............................7 Steel Structures of America, Inc ...29

BREEDERS

C & S Ranch ..................................6 Shalwyn Arabians ........................10 WindDrift Farm Quarter Horses ...10

EVENTS

Hermiston Horse Sale ....................4 Hermiston Horse Sale Extravaganza ...............................20 Pacific NW Fjord Group ....... Front,2

INDEX

EVENTS continued

MISCELLANEOUS

FACILITY

REAL ESTATE

Ponderosa BCH Scavenger Hunt ....5 Sport Train Rides ..........................30 Weaver QH Production Sale ..........3 Diamond Pine Ranch ....................6 Lady Raven Stable .......................18 Upriver Stables ............................30 Wendy Cola/Horseboarding ........24

FEED & ACCESSORIES

Lazy J Bedding.............................20 LMF Feeds .....................................9

FENCING

All Terrain Fence ..........................15 Jasper Enterprises ..................... Back North 40 Fence Company............10 Washington/Idaho Fence .............13

HORSES FOR SALE

WindDrift Farm ...........................10 Shalwyn Arabians ........................10 Weaver Quarter Horses .................3

Chuck Young/Love To Dig ............14 HUB International .......................14 OXARC .......................................16 Barbara Frye ................................24 Dave Atherton .............................25 Ed Anderson RE Loans .................25 Julie Heinrich ..............................24 Suzy Dix......................................23

SADDLES, TACK & CLOTHING

Indiana Harness Co. ...................18 Spokane Tack Trunk .....................12 Will Rogers Saddle Co. ................19

TRAINERS

Ann Kirk Horsemanship.................8 Gerry Cox Horsemanship ............30

TRAILERS & TRAILER REPAIR

Huber Trailer Sales.......................11 Washington Auto Carriage ...........22

VETERINARIAN

McKinlay & Peters Equine............17

HorsemansHip Classes

Scenic Pend Oreille

Teach your horse to be ultra-responsive to your lightest and quietest cues

RIvER TRAIN

Beginners to advanced, young to old! Private lessons or group clinics at our ranch or I can travel close if needed View our videos on YouTube (Gerry Cox Horse) or on Facebook

Mountain House Stables Arena

2017 SEASON RIDE DATES AuguSt 12 & 13 • 12pm & 3pm AuguSt 26 & 27 • 11am & 1pm & 3pm SePt. 30 & Oct. 1 • 11am & 1pm & 3pm OctOber 7 & 8 • 11am & 1pm & 3pm OctOber 14 & 15 • 11am & 1pm & 3pm The Newport WA Priest River ID Rotary Club introduces a NEW Excursion Train Ride departing from Newport, WA traveling 12 miles along the beautiful Pend Oreille River! GET www.SportTrainRides.com • 1-877-525-5226 TIckETS! Email Questions to sporttrainrides@gmail.com Partially Paid for by City of Newport Hotel/Motel Tax Funds

775 Old Arden Highway, Colville, WA 99114

509-685-1977

Upriver Stables Limited stalls available n Trained stock for sale n 12x12 matted box stalls (Some paddocks) n Daily turn-out may be included n 65’x144’ covered arena n 55’ round pen with solid walls n

3001 N. Idaho Rd

Home of Upriver Morgans

Convenient wash rack/ heated water n 3 tack rooms & some cross tie areas n Safe fencing throughout n Harness training & instruction n

— Appointments Please —

Liberty Lake, WA 99019

509-926-0028

Easy access: 1 mile from I-90, Exit 299 - Liberty Lake, WA

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 30


P.O. Box 427 • Spokane, W A 99210 -0427 • (509) 922-3456

P.O. Box 427, Spokane, WA 99210 • (509) 922-3456 • 1-800-326-2223

ADvErTiSing rATES Ad Size

Dimension

Ad Size

B&W Color

Dimension

B&W Color

Front Cover ............. 7.5”w x 10”h .......................... $250

Full Page ..........................7.5”w x 9.83”h ....... $135 ..... $170

Centerfold...................................................................... $295

Half Page Horizontal ........7.5”w x 4.83”h ......... $90 ..... $115

Back Cover .................. 7.5”w x 10”h .......................... $200

Half Page vertical .............3.66”w x 9.83”h ....... $90 ..... $115

Inside Back Cover ......... 7.5”w x 9.83”h ......... $147 ..... $182

Quarter Page ....................3.66”w x 4.83”h ....... $62 ....... $82

FULL PAGE

HORIZONTAL

Display Advertising

We can professionally design your ad using your graphics, photos and text. There is no additional charge for graphic design so your ad does not have to be submitted camera ready. Give us a “neat” sketch or rough draft with any specific directions, we will do the rest! Please make sure to provide the best quality photographs possible. Your ad copy, or photographs can also be accepted via e-mail.

Classified Advertising

$4.50 for 25 words or less. Mailed in ads are accepted with your check. Or telephone in your ads with your credit card, 509-922-3456 or 1-800-326-2223.

Electronic Ad Submission

We accept ads via email in .pdf format. Please ensure that all photographs are at least 160dpi and balanced for newsprint output. Please ensure color ads are CMYK. If you have any questions about .pdf files, please call us. e-mail the files to: HorsePreviews@spokane.Exchange

VERTICAL

HALF PAGE

HALF PAGE

Bus. Card–1/8th Page .......3.66”w x 2.33”h ....... $39 ....... $49

QUARTER PAGE

Distribution

Over 7500 copies of Horse Previews are distributed quarterly in Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Montana and British Columbia. Pick up your FREE copy early at your western, tack, feed, farm & horse supply stores. Distribution is the first Thursday of January, April, July and October. Please contact us if you are interested in becoming a distribution point.

Special Position

All ads are positioned run of paper (ROP) at standard rates, without preference. Ads requesting premium or specific position other than ROP will incur an additional 15% charge.

Deadline

Ads must be reserved by the 15th of the preceding month to be published in the next quarterly magazine. We are often able to accept ads a few days after the 15th, so please contact us if you require extra consideration.

BUSINESS CARD

Electronic Edition

The Horse Previews Magazine on-line edition is uploaded the first Thursday of every January, April, July & September. Our web site can be found at: www.Horse-Previews.com You can also contact us via e-mail: HorsePreviews@spokane.Exchange

Subscriptions

$ 10 per year United States; $14 per year Canada; $20 per year International. Payment in advance.

The Fine Print

Payment by your personal check or money order must accompany all mailed in advertisements. Please type or print your ad neatly. We are not responsible for accuracy from handwritten copy. Horse Previews will not be responsible for misinformation, misprints, typographical errors, etc., herein contained. We reserve the right to edit, alter, or refuse any advertising or articles for publication. Neither Horse Previews nor its advertisers intends prejudice because of age, creed, disability, origin or sex. Reproduction without permission is prohibited. All rights reserved ©2015 Horse Previews Magazine, P.O. Box 427, Spokane, WA 99210-0427. Exchange Publishing, LLC. Revised December 2016

JULY 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 31


DOWELED RAIL FENCING 3 or 4 RAIL FENCING

4 Installs Easily 4 Less Expensive than Vinyl or Metal 4 Stains or Paints Easily 4 Very Strong & Durable 4 Pressure Treated to A.W.P.A. Standards Our wide range of sizes & larger inventory allows our dealers to supply your post needs for the following; as well as many other applications for one acre or a hundred.

ORCHARDS LIVESTOCK VINEYARDS AGRICULTURAL a Call Today for u! Dealer Near Yo v v v v

J

SPER ENTERPRISES, INC. Chattaroy, WA

800-238-6540 visit us at www.jasper-inc.com email at sales@jasper-inc.com

Quality s Matter To Us…

v v v v

STAKING EQUESTRIAN TRELLISING MUCH MORE

Horsepreviewssummer2017  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you