Page 1

Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway The Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway is more than a road, it’s a journey into America’s transportation history with more than mere pictures and stories, but also historical sites galore. The Whitewater River Valley is waiting for you to drive its roads, hike its trails, or paddle its waters while enjoying its beautiful scenery, charming towns, recreational offerings, and so much more. In fact, there’s so much to see and do here that we’re thinking of changing our name to the Whitewater Canal Scenic DOway. The Byway’s Canal Route mirrors the settlement of the Whitewater River

Valley beginning on the Ohio River in Lawrenceburg and winding north to Hagerstown. More than a single route, this Byway has a bonus with three additional driving loops to help you discover the richness of the entire valley, not just the historic canal route. This is where Indiana began with Native American settlements and the hunting grounds of the Miami and Shawnee tribes. Their trails up the twin forks of the Whitewater River were followed by pioneers and trailblazers seeking space and prosperity. Many roads and highways still follow these familiar routes. As the Northwest Territory was opened to settlement, farmers were seeking better and faster ways to move their products to markets back east. When the Erie Canal opened in 1825, “canal fever” gripped the Great !

1


What to Look for Along the Byway

Transportation History

Outdoor Recreation

Food and Wine

General History

Lodging

Tips for Traveling the Byway LOOK FOR RED – The sites directly on the Byway’s or Loop’s designated routes will be titled in orange. LOOK FOR BLUE – As you travel through a town or city, there will be many sites to see so those off the route will be marked in blue. LOOK FOR Off-the-Trail – These are significant sites farther away from the Byway and Loops, but might be worth a visit, depending upon your interests. LOOK FOR WEBLINKS - Several sites along the Byway have websites with more information–hours, days of operation or their own brochures. So, click and connect, and plan ahead for your visit. !

Lakes region and numerous river communities dreamed of a canal system that would crisscross the heartland. The Whitewater Canal was created to connect the Ohio River to east central Indiana. Initial funding was provided by the Indiana General Assembly as part of the 1836 Mammoth Internal Improvement Act which supported canals, roads and a railroad. The design of the canal called for a 76-mile route starting at Nettle Creek near Hagerstown and following the Whitewater River’s West Fork to Connersville, Brookville, and Harrison, Ohio, and then turning back to Lawrenceburg on the Ohio River. The canal’s design was quite ambitious as it required 56 locks, seven dams, and several aqueducts to accommodate the 491-foot drop or 6.7 feet per mile. In comparison, the Erie Canal’s descent was 1.7 feet per mile while the Wabash and Erie Canal was only 1 foot per mile. The State of Indiana started construction on the canal at Lawrenceburg in 1836. The first boat arrived in Brookville in 1839. Construction was suspended shortly thereafter due to budget problems and wasn’t resumed until 1842 under the leadership of a new private company – White Water Valley Canal Company. The canal was completed to Laurel in 1843 and boats were arriving in Connersville in 1845. The financially strapped company borrowed money from a Cincinnati financier to complete the canal to Cambridge City in 1846. A private group of investors formed the Hagerstown Canal Company to finish the last eight miles from Cambridge City to Hagerstown in 1847. Upon its completion, the Whitewater Canal cost nearly $1.2 million or $15,000 per mile. Meanwhile, another group of investors built the Cincinnati and Whitewater Canal from Cincinnati to Harrison, Ohio and connected to the Whitewater Canal in 1843. A major flood in 1847 severely damaged the canal and permanently closed the portion from Cambridge City to Hagerstown and from Harrison to Lawrenceburg. Additional floods in 1848, 1850, and 1852 caused extensive 2


damage that led to the canal’s abandonment in 1856. Seven years later, the Indianapolis and Cincinnati Railroad purchased the canal and laid the rails on the towpath. A stretch of the canal from Milton through Connersville continued to provide hydropower into the mid-20th century. While the canal era lasted less than 30 years, elements of the canal have been used ever since. And many canal structures still exist throughout the region. Along the Byway, you’ll see lock ruins, get to ride a canal boat through the only covered wooden aqueduct left in the country and visit an operating grist mill in Metamora, a historic canal town which still feels like 1838. Common lore has it that fathers and sons went to the Civil War on boats and came home on trains. Today, the Whitewater Valley Railroad’s excursion train will take you on a scenic ride from Connersville to Metamora. And, since it’s built right on the canal’s towpath you can see canal ruins only visible from the tracks. In the northern reaches of the valley you can get an inside look at the region’s rich automotive heritage in Richmond and Connersville, once called “Little Detroit.” Horses and buggies, gave way to farm equipment, automobiles, and busses. See the old cars in local museums, see their manufacturing sites, and the change in the landscape brought on by the roads, bridges, highways, and interstates of the automobile era. Today, we are a more mobile society with everything and everywhere within reach. It’s interesting that many are seeking ways to get away from it all. If you find enjoyment in the great outdoors, the Byway offers hiking, biking, and paddling trails that help you slow down to relax or play. There’s also great camping, fishing, and horseback riding available. Golfers will find courses for all skill levels. In the winter, there’s skiing and tubing. Off-roaders and racing enthusiasts can get their thrills in the Valley. The Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway takes some time to explore and you can choose when, where, and how you do it––from a one-day excursion, a long weekend, or an extended adventure––but make sure to do it.

!

3


The valley offers great bed-and-breakfasts or traditional lodging, inviting restaurants, and an opportunity to experience the rhythm of the Whitewater River. Whether you stay on the Canal Route or venture off onto its three loops, you’ll find that a trip though the valley can truly refresh the soul.

DO Experience the Byway X

The Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway follows the the route of the historic Whitewater Canal up the western portion of the Whitewater River Valley. And while the drive along the primary route takes you on scenic highways and features the area’s rich transportation history, we would be selling you short if we didn’t share the rest of the Valley with you. With the Byway’s four routes, sister byways, and historic corridors you can explore more than 200 sites across 300+ miles. Along with the historic Canal Route, the additional loops will take you through small towns and cities, along the Whitewater’s East Fork and Brookville Lake, along the Old National Road, into the “Village of the Spires,” and even to the real-life home of the movie Hoosiers. There are also Off-the-Trail sites to add interest to your travels. It wouldn’t be a real road trip without enticing restaurants, interesting landmarks, small towns and fun things to see and do. So, click on the weblinks to get more details about sites, and connect to local tourism bureaus to round out your trip with food and lodging. Traveling the DOway isn’t about seeing its sites through a windshield. So, stop in our charming cities and towns, take a walking tour and explore the valley on foot and at a slower pace. This digital driving guide can help you plan the trip you want to take. We’ve provided site descriptions, photographs, and travel-friendly directions to take you through the region. Print the pages you want or download them into your smartphone. Just choose your route, grab your camera, hop in your car, and make a little history of your own. Go on, enjoy the Whitewater Canal Scenic DOway! !

4


Whitewater River Valley Driving Guide Map

!

5


Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway... ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! You Choose You can do it all or pick any part you wish. With the Byway’s digital driving guide you can choose between the Canal Route or the three designated Byway Loops. Spend time on the Presidential Pathways Scenic Byway or head to the Historic Michigan Road Corridor for a bonus excursion. As in the early days, this is where all the roads meet, so there are four state and national scenic byways that intersect the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway. You can stay on the trail or venture off through the country knowing that if you are in the Whitewater Valley, you’re never far from a mapped route or a fun-filled adventure. So, click on the name of the route or routes you want to explore and then print or download what you you need. The beautiful, rolling hills of the Whitewater Valley are ideal for getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, which also means that cell phone and internet service is spotty. So plan ahead, but don’t be afraid to ask people for help, they’re a friendly sort.

Canal Route On this 78-mile drive, you will follow the route of the historic Whitewater Canal. The Canal Route begins in Lawrenceburg at the Ohio River and winds up through hills and valleys before straightening and flattening at its completion in Hagerstown. Don’t just drive it. Park the car and explore the Valley on foot and at a different pace. From the Canal Route, head off in many directions on one of its three loops or sister byways. Canal Route

East Fork Loop (Loop 1) While the Canal followed the West Fork of the Whitewater River, the East Fork was bustling as well. On this 46-mile trip starting in Cambridge City, you will travel on the National Road, the nation’s first “interstate” road. You’ll visit charming towns and historic cities and take in the beauty of Brookville Lake before arriving in Brookville. East Fork Loop

Oldenburg-Batesville Loop (Loop 2)

OldenburgBatesville Loop

This 35-mile loop will take you through the hills and valleys that look much like they did when the white settlers arrived. You’ll see charming towns linked to their religious and German heritage. It’s a great opportunity to roll down the windows, slow down, and explore the natural beauty of the Valley.

Dearborn-Ripley Loop (Loop 3) Starting in Lawrenceburg, this 47-mile loop shows off many homes built by the Valley’s early industrialists in their desire to work and live near the Ohio River. You’ll see early educational institutions and visit the town whose Indiana story became a national treasure in the movie Hoosiers. The circular trip concludes in Greendale in the shadows of the world’s largest whiskey distillery and its history in the Valley. !

Dearborn-Ripley Loop 6


Historic Michigan Road Corridor An extended route into the far western reaches of the region, this 107-mile journey takes you on circuitous route before arriving at the Historic Michigan Road. This was the state’s first northsouth road built to complement the east-west National Road. This route takes you along Ripley County’s section of the Michigan Road and some interesting Off-the-Trail sites. You can also visit the Historic Michigan Road website to learn more about the entire route.

Presidential Pathways Scenic Byway A state scenic byway that traces the lives of two U.S. presidents from southwestern Ohio. William Henry Harrison (9th President) and his grandson, Benjamin Harrison (23rd President). The elder Harrison is buried in Cleves, Ohio. The Ohiostate byway extends 47 miles from the Ohio River area to Hueston Woods State Park north of beautiful Oxford, Ohio. Considered a sister byway to the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway, the two connect in West Harrison/Harrison just as two canals did nearly 170 years ago.

Historic National Road The 824-mile Historic National Road connected the eastern seaboard in Maryland to the western interior in Illinois. The Byway carries the highest national designation as an AllAmerican Road and is called “The Road that Built the Nation.” In Indiana, 156 miles stretch across the state from Richmond to Terre Haute. It shares a route with the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway’s East Fork Loop.

Ohio River Scenic Byway This 943-mile, history-rich byway meanders along the Ohio River banks, hugging its shoreline and offering almost continuous views of the river through Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois. The history of the Ohio is found both in rural landscapes and quaint river communities, covering periods from Native American habitation through western settlement, affecting transportation patterns and industrialization. It intersects the Whitewater Canal Byway in Lawrenceburg.

Indiana’s Historic Pathways First tread by the hoofs of bison, Indiana's Historic Pathways has since become a route for pioneer exploration, stagecoach travel, and, finally, modern highways. The 250-mile route begins in Lawrenceburg along US 50, which it shares with the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway, and also in New Albany following US 150 until they meet in Shoals and travel to historic Vincennes. Drive along the Pathways and you'll be treated to rural countryside, rolling hills, memorable historic districts, peaceful forests, and to a fuller understanding of Indiana's past.

!

7


Canal Route Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway On this 78-mile drive, travelers will follow the route of the historic Whitewater Canal. The Canal Route begins in Lawrenceburg at the Ohio River and winds up through hills and valleys to Brookville, Metamora, and Laurel before leveling out north of Connersville. Then its covers the short stretch to Cambridge City and its completion in Hagerstown. Don’t just drive it. Park the car and explore the Valley on foot and at a dierent pace.

Canal Route

Start Here

!

8


Historic Lawrenceburg Indiana’s fourth oldest city, it was founded in 1802. The next major settlement down the Ohio River from Cincinnati, Lawrenceburg was a center of the flat boat trade for people and agricultural products moving up and down the Great Miami River from Ohio and the Whitewater River from southeastern Indiana. The area’s abundance of grain and river access led to the city’s rise as a distillery center and earned its nickname as “Whiskey City USA.” The Ohio River still sets the rhythm for the region here. Barges filled with coal, grain, and other products constantly flow up and down the river as it winds its way through America’s heartland. Towns and people get tighter here as the valleys narrow and the river is lined by a succession of towns somewhat indistinguishable from each other. Yet, each has its own identity if you slow down enough to notice. The Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway starts here as did its namesake canal. The Byway intersects the Ohio River Scenic Byway, and Indiana’s Historic Pathways Scenic Byway in Lawrenceburg as all three use U.S. 50, once called the Atlantic-Pacific Highway connecting New York City with Los Angeles.

Recreation

!

Lodging Transportation Food History &Wine

General History

Levee Walk/Bicentennial Memorial Gate This beautiful space was created in 2002 to celebrate the city’s founding. A threeplaque series pays tribute to founder Samuel Vance and the flatboat which brought early families and their belongings to this river community and its valley.

1

Directions

Start at US 50 and Walnut Street. Take Walnut Street SE (toward the river) 0.5m.

9


GT CR

HC

LS

8

5 4 6

2 1

3

LT

N 7

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

2

Whitewater Canal Terminus Erected in 1966, this marker designates the southern terminus of the 76-mile long Whitewater Canal that spurred development in region.

Directions

Walk to the Levee Walk and turn left (up river) and go 500 feet to marker.

!

Lawrenceburg, Indiana

Did you know? Before the 1926 federal highway numbering system was initiated, key routes or “auto trails� had descriptive names. US 50 through Lawrenceburg was the Atlantic-Pacific Highway connecting New York City with Los Angeles. 10


3

Directions

Reverse directions and see the marker on the way back to the Memorial Gate.

Directions 92 Walnut Street

Abraham Lincoln Speech Newly-elected president Lincoln gave a preinaugural speech from a train platform on his way to his swearing-in ceremonies in Washington, DC in 1861.

Hunt House Hotel The first building on this site was a tavern built in 1812. In 1817, Jesse Hunt erected a hotel, Indiana’s first three-story, brick building. Subsequent buildings served travelers until closing in 1988. The current structure was saved from demolition and now serves as headquarters for United Community Bank. A plaque on the building tells the building’s complete history.

4

Go back on Walnut Street two blocks NW to the southeast corner of Walnut and High Street.

LT

Modes of Transportation Marker A plaque on the adjacent corner of the Hunt House building tells the story of the city’s key role in railroad development in Indiana and the west.

Recreation

The trailhead is at the Levee Walk at the Bicentennial Gate heading downriver to connect with the Aurora segment.

Lawrenceburg Trail This paved rail-trail sits atop a former NYC rail line and follows an active CSX rail line along the scenic Ohio River. Connects to the Aurora Trail.

Lawrenceburg RR Depot The B& O Railroad, one Indiana’s first railroads, built a depot here in the early 1900s. In 2007, it was purchased and converted into a portion of the Lawrenceburg Public Library. Open to the public. !

5

Directions

Turn left onto High Street, go one block and turn right onto Vine Street. Go one block to West William Street and turn left. Go 1/2 block and depot is on the left before Mary Avenue.

11


Dearborn County Courthouse The present courthouse was built in 1873. It is the third structure on this site (1810, 1828, 1873). For a period from 1836 to 1844, the county seat was relocated to the town of Wilmington.

6

Directions 215 West High Street

Turn left (SE) on Mary Avenue and Courthouse is on the right.

7

Vance-Tousey House Set apart by its soaring spiral staircase and grand riverfront façade, the house, built by Lawrenceburg’s founder, Samuel Vance in 1818, is considered one of the finest examples of Federal-style architecture in the State of Indiana. It now serves as home to the Dearborn County Historical Society. Open to the public.

Directions 508 West High Street

Go one block to High Street turn right (SW) and go 0.2m.

Angevine Log Cabin This log cabin was built by James Angevine in 1820 and was his second in Lawrenceburg. He was born in New York City and became a successful grocer before moving to this county in 1818 where he purchased 1,100 acres of land in York Township. The Dearborn County Historical Society is the cabin’s caretaker. Open to the public.

Directions 508 West High Street Same location

Directions Eads Park - Lawrenceburg’s 290 West Eads Parkway Governors Take Front Street (behind cabin) A memorial and a historical marker in the park NE 0.6m to 1st Street. Turn left honor two of Indiana’s governors born in the city. and then turn right on Main Albert Gallatin Porter was the 18th governor Street for one block to the Park. serving from 1881-1885. Winfield Taylor Durbin served from 1901-1905 as Indiana’s 24th governor. 8

!

12


Lawrenceburg Historic Architecture Tour A downloadable/online guide provides pictures and stories of 33 significant structures in a 17block area of downtown Lawrenceburg, some of which are included here. The Beecher Presbyterian Church (left) is included on the tour.

Take a Walk

Dearborn-Ripley Loop (Loop 3) This scenic 47-mile loop starts and ends in Lawrenceburg at the intersection of US 50 and Main Street. Head west on US 50 to Aurora then onto Dearborn-Ripley Loop Moores Hill, Milan, and Greendale. You’ll see historic homes, stop by an early college, learn about Hoosier Hysteria (basketball) and the region’s whiskey distilling heritage. HC

HOLLYWOOD CASINO Experience the excitement of playing over 3,200 slots, 41 poker tables, or 89 game tables. Situated on the Ohio River, the floating hotel also offers casual to fine dining and entertainment.

Recreation

GT

The trailhead begins at the entrance to Hollywood Casino.

777 Hollywood Blvd. Lawrenceburg, IN 47025 888-274-6797 www.hollywoodindiana.com

Greendale Trail Paved rail-trail which sits atop a former NYC rail line and follows an active CSX rail line along the scenic Ohio River. The 1.2m trail goes from Greendale to Hardinsburg. Competition Go-Kart Racing Enjoy high-speed European go-kart racing on a 950-ft. track at this upscale indoor racing center, where the precision karts can reach speeds of up to 35 miles per hour! In addition to open racing for adults and youths (certain restrictions apply). the facility offers special corporate and group events. Helmets, driving suits and safety rules are always provided to racers in order to maintain an environment of safety and fun.

!

Recreation

CR

Recreation

890 Rudolph Way Lawrenceburg, IN 47025 (812) 539-4949 (513) 564-8080 www.competitionracing.net

13


Lawrenceburg Speedway Located at the Dearborn County Fairgrounds, the Lawrenceburg Speedway is famous among area racing enthusiasts who flock to the track on Saturday nights for sprint car, modified and pure stock racing on the 3/8 mile oval. Motorcycle races are held on Friday nights. Track season is May through October.

LS

Recreation

351 E. Eads Parkway (US 50) Lawrenceburg, IN 47025 (812) 539-4700 www.competitionracing.net

From Lawrenceburg ! to New Trenton GO

17

16

A bit of history...

Hardinsburg

15

An early flatboat landing, this village was named for Henry Hardin who settled here in 1796. Hardinsburg held promise of being a bigger shipping port than Lawrenceburg until that fateful morning when the Great Miami River decided to change her course leaving Hardinsburg high and dry. With the river now a mile and a half from town, the residents of Hardinsburg looked hopefully to the coming of the Whitewater Canal through their village. Canal Locks 1 and 2 were located near Hardinsburg.

14 13

SR

GA 12 11

10

Base Map Image %om Google Maps !

____ Canal Route ____ Presidential Pathways

14


Off-the-trail

10

Take US 50 East/Eads Parkway from Eads Park 2.1m to Walnut Street in Hardinsburg. Turn onto Walnut Street and turn left at Main Street and continue to Oxbow’s entrance.

Oxbow, Inc. Wetlands Nature Preserve Over 1,100 acres of protected wetlands provide a wildlife haven in the Great Miami floodplain on the shores of the Ohio River. The “oxbow” was created when floodwaters changed the river’s course in the 1800s. Open to the public.

1st Principal Meridian Marker A stone pillar was placed here November 27, 1838 to mark the 1st Principal Meridian line used for public land surveys under the system designed by Thomas Jefferson. It also serves as the Indiana-Ohio state line marker and was on the right bank of the Whitewater Canal as it crossed the state line.

SR

Recreation

21010 State Line Road Lawrenceburg, IN 47025 (513) 333-0333 http://www.sugarridgegc.com

11

From the Park, take US 50 east 0.2m to SR 1 (Belleview Ave.). Turn left 0.4m, then right onto Oberting Road (Byway route), proceed 2.6m to State Line Road, marker on NW corner.

Sugar Ridge Golf Course The 18-hole public golf course is 6,106 yards long from the longest tees. With many rolling hills and narrow, winding greens, the course is sure to test any golfer's ability while remaining fun to play at the same time.

Elizabethtown, Ohio An early stopover for drovers taking their livestock to market in Cincinnati. Once home to several businesses. Today, the American Discovery Trail, the only coast-to-coast, non-motorized recreational trail, splits here with the Northern Midwest Route heading to Oxford and into Indiana near Richmond on its way to Lake Michigan. The Southern Midwest Route heads west to Lawrenceburg then traces the Ohio River downstream across Indiana. !

Directions 19347 State Line Road

12

Directions

Continue east on US 50 for 1.1m. Turn left on Lawrenceburg Road to follow the Byway.

15


Presidential Pathways Scenic Byway A state scenic byway that traces the lives of two U.S. presidents from southwestern Ohio. William Henry Harrison (9th President) and his grandson, Benjamin Harrison (23rd President). The elder Harrison is buried in Cleves, Ohio. The 47-mile byway travels from the Ohio River area to Hueston Woods State Park north of beautiful Oxford, Ohio. Considered a sister byway to the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway, the two connect in West Harrison/Harrison just as the canal did nearly 170 years ago. A complete route guide is available here. A quick 11.7-mile loop will let you visit Shawnee Lookout Park, President William Henry Harrison’s Tomb overlooking the Ohio River and the Whitewater Canal Tunnel in Cleves. Click here to jump to those sites at the beginning of the Presidential Pathways Byway Route.

Green Acres Canoe and Kayak Rentals On the site of the former Long Island Beach Amusement Park, people now GA Recreation venture into the Whitewater River for canoeing, kayaking, tubing, and 10465 Suspension Bridge Road rafting. Also on site are picnic areas Harrison, OH 45030 and a miniature golf course. Pick (513) 353-4770 www.greenacrescanoe.com between 3-mile and 8-mile trips. West HarrisonHarrison Canal Junction A two-sided marker shows the location of the junction of the Whitewater Canal and the Cincinnati and Whitewater Canal improving the connectivity between Indiana and the important Cincinnati markets. 13

!

Directions Proceed north on Lawrenceburg Road 7.2m. Cross the river, the marker is at NW corner of next intersection with Campbell Road on the left.

A bit of history... Old Harrison Bridge

During the Civil War, Morgan’s Raiders left a path of destruction across Indiana and Ohio in 1863 and burned the wooden bridge over the Whitewater River to slow the pursuit of the Union Army. A suspension bridge was built as a replacement and it remained in use until it fell during the 1913 flood. The bridge crossed the river at the Ohio-Indiana state line adjacent to Canal Junction. For more pictures, visit Green Acres Canoe Rentals.

16


Harrison, OH West Harrison, IN Settlers arrived in the Harrison area in the early 1800s. Most were Revolutionary War veterans or others lured by the promises of abundant forested land located within the network of navigable rivers flowing to the Ohio. Othneil Looker, a leading citizen, built a home of lumber in 1804 and set about providing instruction in reading and writing to his fellow settlers. He eventually served as the fifth governor of Ohio in 1814. By 1810, the four blocks of the original town centering on the intersection of Market (now Harrison Ave.) and Walnut Streets were platted. The town has been called Harrison since 1814, in honor of General William Henry Harrison (later president), a resident of nearby North Bend. The electric railway came from Cincinnati through Anderson's Ferry, cutting o at Valley Junction and coming up the Whitewater Valley along Kilby and Campbell Roads into Harrison. The main line went to Lawrenceburg and Aurora. The Harrison terminal was at the corner of Harrison Avenue and State Street. The first car came into town July 4, 1900, and the last went out November 30, 1930. Located on a main route, Harrison Pike was the earliest road, followed by US 52, and today’s Interstate 74 connecting Cincinnati and Indianapolis.

Outdoor Transportation Food and Recreation History Wine

Kaiser Mill/Hardware Originally built ca. 1840 as a hydraulic powered flour mill on the Whitewater Canal. The mill was converted to steam in 1879 and operated as a mill from 1840 to 1950. It is presently operated as Kaiser Hardware. !

General History

14

Lodging

Directions 201 North State Street

Proceed north 0.8m, building is on the left.

17


Braysville Cemetery Braysville Cemetery is on ground originally given for burial purposes by Judge Solomon Manwarring. The oldest grave marked by a stone bearing a legible inscription is that of Hannah Case who died in 1818. Take a walk and look for the earliest stones facing the river and canal, while later stones face the road.

15

Directions

2552 Harrison-Brookville Road (Old US 52) Continue north on State Street, it becomes Harrison-Brookville Road and proceed 3.7m to cemetery on left.

Grand Oak Golf Course The 18-hole course features 6,363 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72. Designed by Dr. Michael Hurdzan, ASGCA, the Grand Oak golf course opened in 1989. GO

Recreation

370 Grand Oak Drive West Harrison, IN 47060 (812) 637-3943 www.grandoakgolfclub.net

16

Directions 4080 US 52, New Trenton

Continue NW 2.6m on US 52 to New Trenton. Go past North Street and it’s the second drive on the right.

!

Rockafellar Tavern Built in 1816, it is one of two early taverns serving this canal town. The left entry door gave access to the tavern and the right door to the family quarters. Private residence of Bob and Doneta Hawkins.

A bit of history...

John Hunt Morgan Heritage Trail The Byway intersects the John Hunt Morgan Heritage Trail. In 1863, Confederate Brigadier General Morgan led 2,000 troops on an 18-day raid through southern Indiana and across Ohio. The band swept through here in July 1863. To slow down the pursuing Union soldiers, they took horses and other loot and burned wooden bridges, including the one over the Whitewater River. They were eventually captured in northeastern Ohio. The Indiana trail, with numerous markers and storyboards, follows their infamous raid from Corydon to West Harrison. 18


Snow Hill Covered Bridge Also known as Johnson's Fork Covered Bridge, this single span Howe Truss structure has a length of 72 feet. Built 1894-1895 over Johnson's Fork Creek by John H. Horn and William H. Butts, it was an important route to Cincinnati markets. Named for local landowner Lemuel Snow, a Revolutionary War veteran. Public access to bridge.

17

From downtown New Trenton, turn east on New Trenton Road and proceed 3.3m to Johnson Fork Road. Turn left and go north 0.7m to Snow Hill Road, bridge on left.Return to New Trenton.

From New Trenton to Metamora BH 40

O-the-trail

Base Map Image %om Google Maps 37

39 38

Metamora Inset MC

Brookvi*e Inset

19

WF

18

WC

____Canal Route !

_____Oldenburg-Batesvi*e Loop _____East Fork Loop (Loop 1) (Loop 2) 19


Take a Bike Ride...The Vatican Ride Two bike trails (17 miles and 44 miles) give riders the opportunity to travel the rolling hills of Franklin County and visit four or seven beautiful Catholic churches, tracing the history of European immigration in the Whitewater Valley. The longer trail includes St. Peter’s Church just west of New Trenton on St. Peter’s Road and Holy Guardian Angels Church on U.S. 52 in Cedar Grove (on the Canal Route). Click here for an online map of the two bike trails.

Oldenburg-Batesville Loop (Loop 2) The intersection of US 52 and SR 1 is the eastern terminus of a scenic 35-mile loop to experience the German heritage of Oldenburg and Batesville while traveling through rural Ripley, Franklin, and Dearborn counties. The official route begins in Metamora. Oldenbu

rg-Bates v

Mound Haven Restaurant and Auto Camp Named for an Indian mound that was removed when US 52 was built through here in 1929, Mound Camp was one of many “businessmen’s fishing camps” serving leisure travelers coming from the city on trains and in their new automobiles in the 1920s and 1930s. Families would rent a small cabin for the weekend to fish, camp, eat fried chicken dinners, and visit the dance halls. The former dance hall is a restaurant/lounge, while the former restaurant is a gift store and banquet hall. 19

Directions

Intersection of Little Cedar Road and US 52 Continue on US 52 West 0.8m. Church is on the right.

!

ille Loop

18

Directions 9238 US 52, Brookvi*e

Return to New Trenton turn right (W) on US 52 and go 7.1m. Two buildings are on the right side.

Little Cedar Baptist Church The first Baptist church in Indiana and one of the earliest in the Mississippi Valley. Built in 1812, this is the oldest church building still on its original location in the state. Interior shows rifle openings in walls, a balcony and raised pulpit. Burial plot adjoins church. Read the marker or pick up a leaflet to learn more. It is currently owned and operated by the Franklin County Historical Society. Public access. 20


Whitewater Canoe Rental Scenic canoe trips, kayaking, tubing, rafting, and riverside camping on the Whitewater River are great for individuals, families, and groups of any size. With three locations on the River, Whitewater Canoe Rental operates mid-April through mid-October conditions permitting.

WC

White’s Farm and Flea Market In operation since 1922, the family business hosts an expansive flea market every Wednesday from daylight until noon, a miscellaneous auction from 11 am until 1 pm, and a livestock auction starts at 1 pm.

Recreation

11162 US Highway 52 Brookville, IN 47012 (765) 647-5434 whitewatercanoerental.com

WF

Recreation

3028 Holland Road Brookville, IN 47012 (765) 647-3574 www.whiteswebsite.com

Brookville Situated on a bluff and in the valley at the junction of the east and west forks of the Whitewater River, it is one of Indiana’s oldest settlements. Becoming Franklin County’s seat in 1811, the town boomed when a federal land office was located here in 1820. When the land office moved to Indianapolis in 1825, the town languished until the Whitewater Canal began construction in 1836. Later, the railroads sustained the local economy as the canal was discontinued. Located at the confluence of the Whitewater River’s East and West Forks, Brookville’s history of flooding led to construction the Brookville Dam on the east fork in the mid-1960s. Wander up and down the hills, enjoy the architecture, learn about the notable state and national leaders from here, and visit the parks on the two forks in this charming, historic town.

Outdoor Transportation Food and Recreation History Wine !

General History

Lodging

21


Base Map Image %om Google Maps 36

WC

32 30

31 33

29

35

34

28

25 26 24

27

22 23 21

N

20

Brookville

____Canal Route

Morgan’s (Canoe) Outdoor Adventures The fastest flowing river in Indiana, the Whitewater River is considered a Class 1 stream and great for canoeists of all skill levels. Morgan’s invites visitors to canoe, kayak, raft, and camp from its 120-acre facility overlooking the River. !

_____East Fork Loop (Loop 1) MC

Recreation

7040 Whitewater River Lane Brookville, IN 47012 (765) 304-4904 www.morganscanoe.com

22


Brookville Governors Marker Brookville played a leading role in early Indiana. Four governors, including three consecutive officeholders, were from here. The marker tells their years of service.

St. Michael’s Catholic Church Original church was built on this site in 1845. A Catholic school was added in 1855. The present church was built in 1862 and enlarged in 1902. The school buildings are adjacent to the church.

22

Directions 250 HighStreet

Next to the Church.

Directions

20

Continue on US 52 towards Brookville 2.5m. Marker is on the right in front of the Ford automobile dealership.

21

Proceed WNW on US 52/SR 1 for 0.5m, turn right on 3rd Street and go two blocks to Franklin Street. Turn right and then right into church entry.

Noble Family/ St. Michael’s Rectory On the grounds of the rectory is a marker for the home of the illustrious Noble family, which included a physician, elected leaders, federal officials and an Indiana governor. Private residence.

23

Wallace Family Marker Two markers indicate the homesite of David Wallace, an early state governor. His son, Lew Wallace, was an accomplished military leader, public servant, and the author of the epic Ben-Hur.

24

Directions 371 Main Street

Return to Main Street/US 52, turn right to another marker just south of the courthouse.

!

Directions 145 St. Michael’s Blvd.

Directions

Continue between the Rectory and the School and marker is on the left.

Governor Hammond Marker A marker indicates that Abram Hammond, governor of Indiana 1860-61, lived in Brookville as a boy in the old Yellow Tavern, now the site of the county jail.

23


25

Directions 459 Main Street

Proceed north one block to courthouse.

Franklin County Courthouse Originally constructed in 1852, the clocktower is all that remains from the original structure. During its renovation in 1910, the Courthouse was converted into a NeoClassical architectural style. It is now one of two county government buildings.

Did you know? When the railroad purchased the canal and laid the rails on the canal’s towpath, many of the train depots were built directly over the canal and the water flowed underneath the stations.

Seminary and Historic Marker Built in 1829, the Seminary functioned for two decades. The town purchased the building in 1862 for use as a public school, but eventually it went into private hands. Today, the restored building serves as a museum of the Franklin County Historical Society.

Brookville Historic District Federally-designated in 1975, the marker recognizes Brookville’s early contributions to Indiana’s settlement and its efforts to preserve its historic structures.

27

Directions 412 5th Street

Turn right on 5th Street north of the courthouse and proceed 3 blocks to Mill Street.

Indian Trading Post Plaque A marker placed by the local DAR Chapter marks the site of an early French trading post. Brookville Federal Land Office Plaque A marker indicates the site of the land office 1820-25.

29

Directions 26

813 Main Street

Directions Marker on Courthouse lawn.

28

Directions

North of 6th Street on the west side, between the second and third storefronts.

766 Main Street !

Howland-GoodwinStrohmeier Home Built in the 1850s by John Howland, it was later owned by the Goodwins, a Brookville banking family. It now houses the Brookville Chamber of Commerce and the Franklin County tourism bureau. 24


Directions 30 919 Main Street

Directions

31

SW corner of Franklin and 10th Sts.

Turn right on 10th Street and go one block. House is on the right.

Governor James Brown Ray House and Marker Built in 1821, Ray was Indiana’s 4th governor serving from 1825-31. Elevated at age 31, he was the youngest governor to serve. He was also the only Senate President ProTempore to be governor. An early proponent of canals, he later switched allegiances to railroads. The house’s Palladian window was thought to be too ostentatious and nearly cost him the gubernatorial election. Private residence First Methodist Church and Cemetery The church, the oldest in Brookville, was built by the Methodists in 1821-22. Through the years, several denominations have called the church building home. Many early settlers are buried in the church’s cemetery.

!

33

Brookville Carnegie Library Dedicated in 1912 and starting with approximately 600 books; collections and services have expanded to meet needs of local patrons. One of 1,679 libraries built in U.S. with funds from philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. Indiana built more Carnegie libraries than any other state.

32

Directions 1010 Franklin Avenue

Across 10th Street on the NE corner.

Directions

Just past the old high school on the right side.

Brookville College A marker on the southwest lawn of the old Brookville High School indicates the site of the College established in 1852 and run by the Methodist church until closing in 1872. The town purchased it for use as a school until it was razed for the current building in 1912. The school was home to the Brookville Greyhounds until 1988 when it merged with Laurel High School to create Franklin County High School. It was converted to a county government building in 2006.

25


Brookville Park • Brookville Grandstand Marker Baseball’s history here traces its roots back to 1867. In 1922, a 1,000-seat grandstand was constructed for fans of the town’s semipro team. The current structure was built in 2006 following a fire.

34

Directions

Continue past cemetery to Mill Street. Turn right and marker is on the left overlooking the park.

Hermitage • Bed & breakfast The original house was built in 1835. In 1898, noted Indiana artists J. Ottis Adams and T.C. Steele selected this site to set up their 19room home and studios, where the Hoosier Group painted for many years. Today, it operates as a bed and breakfast.

Across the street from the school.

35 Directions

Did you know? The Brookville Dam was completed in 1975 as a flood control and recreation project. The cold water of Whitewater River’s East Fork flows through the Brookville Town Park after its release from the Brookville Dam just north of town. The stream offers great trout fishing. South of town the East Fork and West Fork merge.

Brookville Lake The 5,260-acre lake is the centerpiece of the 16,000+ acres along the Whitewater River East Fork. There are two state recreation areas, over 30 miles of trails, and miles of pristine shoreline. Brookville is on the lake’s southern end with the flood-control dam.

650 East 8th Street Continue on Mill Street to 8th Street, turn left and proceed 2.5 blocks.

Road Trip Oxford Pike This early road winds through beautiful farm country on its 16mile route to Oxford, Ohio, home of Miami University.

Off-the-trail

36

Return to Main Street, turn right and take SR 101 across the river and take the first road right.

37

Directions

Continue north on SR 101 to the first road on the left after crossing the river. Turn left onto Overlook Road and follow the signs.

!

26


Whitewater Canoe Rentals Scenic canoe trips, kayaking, tubing, rafting, and riverside camping on the Whitewater River are great for individuals, families, and groups of any size. With three locations on the River, Whitewater Canoe Rental operates mid-April through midOctober conditions permitting.

WC

East Fork Loop (Loop 1) This 46-mile loop begins in Cambridge City and ends in Brookville. Visit the Brookville Lake overlook (north on SR 101) then return to the Canal Route heading west on US 52 from Brookville to Metamora. W

hitewate

Recreation

BH

11162 US Highway 52 Brookville, IN 47012 (765) 647-5434 whitewatercanoerental.com

Boundary Hill Marker This marker sits on the 1795 Greenville Treaty line extending from the Ohio River to Fort Recovery, Ohio creating “The Gore, a wedge of Indiana originally part of the Ohio Territory. The marker is located in the hillside of a dangerous curve on US 52.

Directions

14994 US 52, Brookvi*e Continue west 1.2m. House is on the right.

!

Brook Hill Golf Club The 18-hole "Brook Hill" course features 6,361 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 71. Designed by Denis Griffiths, ASGCA/Gary Kern, ASGCA, the Brook Hill golf course opened in 1975.

Directions

From US 52 and SR 1 intersection, go west 1.7m on US 52. Sign is on the left. Caution: dangerous curve.

39

rk Loop

Recreation

1175 Fairway Lane Brookville, IN 47012-8975 (765) 647-4522 www.brookhillgc.com

38

r East Fo

Boulder House William Mittendorf, a Cincinnati businessman collected rocks on his commute to the city and spent the next 40 years creating this unique landmark. The north side of the home faced the original Brookville Road (SR 39). When US 52 was routed south of the house, through an old canal ice field, Mittendorf moved the front porch to the south side of ! the house. Private residence 27


Whitewater Canal Trail Yellow Bank Trailhead This one-mile leg of the Whitewater Canal Trail, on the old Big Four Railroad line, begins at Yellow Bank Creek and provides hikers with access to an old canal lock and railroad remnants. Open to public with parking.

41

Directions

40

18077 US 52

Directions US 52 at Yellow Bank Road

Continue west on US 52 for 3.8m.

Proceed 0.1m to the trailhead on the left.

Whitewater Canal Site Rest Area Part of the State Historic Site, this road side rest area and shelter house is from a bygone era of automobile travel, so grab a picnic basket or carryout dinner and enjoy this quite spot along the historic Whitewater Canal.

Metamora 1838 Canal Town Platted in 1838, the town’s prosperity rose and fell with the Whitewater Canal’s fortunes. The canal bisected the town and growth was rapid on both sides. The canal continued to provide water power even after the railroad took control of the towpath. In the 1930s the passenger trains ceased and then U.S. 52 was rerouted north of the town. In the 1940s a concerted effort resulted in the Whitewater Canal State Historic Site and the town began its resurgence. The site includes a working grist mill, canal boat, the Duck Creek Aqueduct, Gordon’s Lock, and the southern stop of the Whitewater Valley Railroad. The town is the trailhead for the Whitewater Canal Trail and home to the Whitewater Valley Gateway Park.

Outdoor Transportation Food and Recreation History Wine !

General History

Lodging

28


Gordon’s Lock #24/ Millville The state of Indiana restored this lock as part of the 15-mile long Whitewater Canal State Historic Site. At its height, the town of Millville had a cotton mill, a flour mill and seven houses of which only one remains.

42

Directions 18752 US 52

Continue 0.4m west on US 52. There is an egress for parking on the left.

N

SC

41 48 47

42

46 45

43

Metamora

43

Directions

Continue west to Metamora, cross Duck Creek and turn left on Columbia Street and go three blocks, cross the canal and turn left onto Main Street and proceed 0.2m to Aqueduct and trail.

!

44

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Aqueduct over Duck Creek The 70-foot, covered wooden aqueduct carries the canal over Duck Creek, 16 feet below, and is the only covered aqueduct in existence in the nation. It’s on the National Register of Historic Places and is one of Indiana’s three National Historic Civil Engineering Landmarks. 29


Whitewater Canal Trail Metamora Trailhead This 2.6 mile section of the trail begins near the Duck Creek Aqueduct. Hikers will find the covered canal aqueduct, beautiful natural areas, railroad markers, a restored canal lock and “Twin Locks,” two lock ruins within 500 feet of each other at the trail’s end. Open to public with parking.

44

Directions Park in the lot across the road from the Aqueduct.

Canal Boat Ride Visitors can step back in time to 1838 and take a ride on the Ben Franklin III, a horsedrawn canal boat, through the Duck Creek Aqueduct. The State Historic Site is operated by the Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites, Inc. Admission charged. Metamora Grist Mill Originally built as a cotton mill in 1845, it was converted to a grist mill in 1857, and then burned in 1899. When rebuilt the following year, it was converted to the brick mill we see today. Now part of the state historic site, visitors can stroll through the first floor of the mill and see corn meal, flour, and grits being ground much as it was years ago. Products produced at the mill are available for purchase. Free admission.

45

Directions

Take Main Street back to town and purchase a ticket for the canal boat ride.

46

Directions

Continue on Main Street to the Mill at the west end of town.

Whitewater Valley Railroad The Whitewater Valley RR began in 1867 on the canal’s towpath and later became part of the Big Four Railroad. Today’s Whitewater Valley Railroad runs a 19-mile excursion train from Connersville to Metamora, on tracks it purchased in 1983. !

47

Take a Ride

Board the train in Connersville for the scenic trip to Metamora and back.

30


Metamora Historic Walking Tour Throughout the town, there are brass plaques sharing the stories of the historically significant buildings. So take a walk and enjoy the town.

Take a Walk

Whitewater Valley Gateway Park Serving as a regional visitors center for the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway, the park has a fully-functioning campground with utility hookups and a bathhouse, and a conference center/banquet hall in the historic Brookville Depot. The Whitewater Canal Byway Association which promotes the history, culture, and artists of the Whitewater Valley is headquartered in the park. Future plans include an interactive history pavilion, a visitor’s center, and an artisan showcase, educational center, and outdoor amphitheater.

48

Directions

Cross back over the canal on Columbia Street and return to US 52 and a Park entrance is directly across the highway.

Oldenburg-Batesville Loop (Loop 2) This scenic 35-mile loop explores the region’s German and religious heritage in Oldenburg, the “village of spires,” and Batesville, and rural areas of Ripley, Franklin, and Dearborn counties ending near Brookville. Heading off the trail takes you through beautiful hills and valleys.

Take A Loop • Proceed west on US 52. Cross the bridge and turn onto SR 229. ville

Oldenburg-Bates

Did you know?

Salt Creek Ranch

An 1870s Italianate structure, the Metamora Masonic Lodge it is thought to be the only lodge in the state with its cobalt-blue windowpanes intact.

(Horseback Riding) Salt Creek Ranch offers 600+ acres of wooded trails near beautiful Metamora. Enjoy the scenic beauty as you ride the trails though the hills and water. Rent a rustic cabin or plan a hayride.

!

SC

Recreation

21040 US Highway 52 Laurel, IN 47024-9708 (765) 698-2044 http://visitsaltcreek.com

31


Laurel The Whetzel Trace, an important east-west pioneer trail across southern Indiana (completed in 1819) began in Laurel and ended at the White River Bluffs near Waverly in Morgan County. The trace drew attention to the little hamlet, until the Whitewater Canal passed through and the town prospered as a major shipping point. Just east of town is the Laurel Feeder Dam that provides water to the Whitewater Canal State Historic Site in neighboring Metamora. Visit the town’s historic buildings, a noted cemetery, a bandstand and travel the winding Dam Road to the feeder dam.

49

Directions

Continue west on US 52 1.6m to SR 121. Turn north on SR 121 and proceed 4.2m to Laurel. Marker is on the left side.

Whetzel Trace Starting Point A historic marker tells of Jacob Whetzel and his men blazing a 60-mile trail from Laurel to the White River. The Trace was a significant achievement and led to the settling of central Indiana.

Old Jail Built of Laurel limestone 50 in 1891, the Laurel Jail is Directions located on Commerce Continue on SR 121 for 0.2m to Commerce Street. Turn right and Street which was once the jail is on the right. Laurel Canal Basin. The Jail has two small cells and was used as a calaboose where a customer could be held until they recovered Did you know? or until the County Sheriff The Whitewater River is the fastest flowing river in sent someone to pick Indiana with a 491-foot drop in only 76 miles. This steep fall is the them up. reason it took 56 locks on the Whitewater Canal to move boats up and down the canal from Lawrenceburg to Hagerstown.

!

32


64

63 62

61 51 50 49

N 52

Laurel

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

51

Directions 200 East Pearl St

Laurel Hotel A canal era structure at the corner of Pearl and Franklin Streets, formerly known as Hunsinger’s Tavern. It is located immediately west of the Whitewater Valley Railroad tracks and is the destination of the “Train to Dinner” excursion. Open for business. !

Continue on Commerce Street as it becomes Hill Alley Street and go two blocks to Pearl Street. Hotel is on the left.

33


52

Off-the-trail (must see)

Take Pearl Street SW and cross the river, turn right onto Dam Road and proceed 1.2m. Parking is on the right side. Caution: You will walk across the railroad track to get to the dam.

Haspin Acres With 750 acres of rolling woodlands, there’s plenty of racing, riding, camping, and fishing for everyone. For off-road enthusiasts there is dirt-drag racing, two motocross tracks, and trail riding, including the challenging “Devil’s Backbone.”

HA

Recreation

21208 Laurel Road Laurel, IN 47024 (765) 698-2420 www.haspinacres.com

Laurel Historic Walking Tour See the historic White Hall Tavern, the Murray House, the Conwell House, and other structures.

Directions 53

220 West Pearl Street

West of the Laurel Hotel 0.2m on Pearl Street.

Laurel Feeder Dam #4 Restored in the 1940s as part of the Whitewater Canal State Historic Site. Also located here is the Regulator, used to control the amount of water than enters the canal, and Jinks Lock #29. This feeder dam supplies water to the canal from Laurel to Yellow Bank Creek. Public access.

Take a walk...

Seminary/Collegiate High School This three story brick building at the corner of Pearl and Lafayette streets was erected in 1852 as the Laurel Collegiate High School. The building is presently owned by the Laurel Masonic Lodge. Private

Indian Mound/Old Wooden Bandstand The Laurel Bandstand is located on SR 121 at the highest point in Laurel, the intersection of High and Washington Streets. Author Meredith Nicholson described this as one of the loveliest spots in Indiana. The site, once known as Monument Square for the Adena Indian mound at the summit, was donated to the town for a park by James Conwell in 1836. Public access.

!

54

Directions

Return to SR 121/ Washington Street and turn north and it is straight ahead.

34


55

Directions

Stay on SR 121 as it turns left onto High Street and go one block to Lafayette Street. Marker is on NW corner.

Francis Shoup Historic Marker Born in Laurel in 1834, he served as a brigadier general in the Confederate States of America army. A marker in the corner of the cemetery tells of his career.

Laurel Cemetery The gravestone tells of Aunt Nel, a slave liberated by James Conwell in 1812 at age 75, she passed away in July 1852 when she was 115 years old. Writers Elizabeth Conwell Smith Willson and her husband Byron Forceythe Willson are also buried here. He wrote The Old Sergeant in 1863.

Mahan Park Part of the Fayette County Parks system, this is one place where S.R.121, the canal, railroad, and the Whitewater River are within a few feet of each other. The ruins of Canal Lock #38 is nearby. Public access with parking. 57

Directions

Turn left(n) and go 0.6m. Mahan Park sign is on the right.

56

Directions

Continue NW on SR 121 one block and go a little farther for cemetery parking.

Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary The 600-acre site is an eort to preserve and maintain forests and meadows as a wildlife refuge for birds and other native organisms, and serves as a laboratory for its owner, the Indiana Audubon Society. Open to public, donations accepted.

MG

Recreation

3499 S. Bird Sanctuary Rd. Connersville, IN 47331 765-827-5109

Whitewater River Campground Oering 100 sites on the Whitewater River and next to the Whitewater Valley Railroad. Beautiful river beach with trophy small mouth bass and bird watching guides. Coin operated laundry, heated showers, fishing ponds, canoe & river tube rental. Full hook-up and primitive WC Recreation camping. Weekend activities and music on the 1618 SR 121 South Connersville, IN 47331 river stage. (765) 825-4885 www.campindiana.com/Campgrounds/Whitewater.html

!

35


From Laurel to Cambridge City

WI 77

Cambridge City Inset ____Canal Route

SW

_____East Fork Loop (Loop 1) EK

76

Connersvi*e Inset

WB

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

WC

58

57 MG

A bit of history...

Post Office Murals

In 1933, in the depths of the Great Depression, the Treasury Department’s Advisory Committee on Fine Arts met and created The Public Works of Art Project. “Designed to “extend relief to the professional class, its object being to employ artists who were unemployed in the decoration of public buildings and parks.” One the major construction projects funded by the New Deal Congress include the erection of new post office buildings in many communities throughout the country. The post office served as the most public of all public buildings, and this program of painting murals in post offices would allow the people all over the country to view at least one thing of beauty.“ There were thirty-seven murals painted in Indiana post offices. Of these, four can be found in the Whitewater Valley–Aurora, Batesville, Cambridge City, and Liberty–each listed in the driving guide. So stop by and take a look. Don’t be surprised if the locals wonder what you’re doing. Excerpts from A Simple and Vital Design:The Story of Indiana Post Office Murals, John C. Carlisle. Photography by Darryl Jones, Indiana Historical Society, 1995 !

36


Connersville The village began as a settlement around John Conner’s trading post on the west bank of the Whitewater River. In the first half century of its existence Connersville grew from a log trading post to a flourishing town and county seat of Fayette County. With the completion of ! the Whitewater Canal it became an agricultural center, followed by furniture making. There were 13 turnpikes in operation in the county by 1856, and two newspapers were published. John J. McFarlan arrived in 1856 and established the McFarlan Buggy Company and the Roots Brothers began the manufacture of rotary positive blowers in 1859. Once headquarters to the Canal, the city welcomed the Whitewater Valley Railroad in 1867. The canal continued to supply hydraulic power well into the 1950s. In the late 1890s, buggy makers and subsequently automobile companies dominated the city. Known as “Little Detroit,” the city was once home to twelve makes of cars, including Lexington, McFarlan, Cord, and Auburn. In WWII, the city became a major supplier of jeeps and airplane parts. In the post-war years Connersville was the nation’s leading dishwasher maker and it continues to supply auto parts and rotary blowers today.

Outdoor Transportation Food and Recreation History Wine

General History

Lodging

Did you know? The Whitewater Valley is composed of two distinct land forms defined by glacial boundaries–Tipton Till Plain’s nearly flat to gently rolling farmlands in the northern part and the Dearborn Uplands characterized by slopes and thin soils overlaying ancient bedrock. Both are found in the area around Connersville.

!

37


Dearborn Crossing Tower and Rushville Depot– Whitewater Valley Railroad The Whitewater Valley Railroad purchased, moved, and restored two historic structures on this site–Dearborn Crossing Tower from Lawrenceburg and the Rushville Depot. Future park plans include a working turntable and roundhouse. Admission charged

59

Directions

Continue north 0.4m on SR 121. The house is on the left.

Whitewater Valley Railroad Railyard The railyard houses many operating engines and cars, as well as many in a state of restoration and salvage. The non-profit organization also stores and maintains railroad equipment here. The excursion train leaves from its Connersville Depot.

60

Directions

Indiana 121 and South Grand Avenue Across the highway from Elmhurst Mansion.

Recreation Willowbrook

1982 West Country Club Road Connersville, IN 47331 (765) 825-2216 www.willowbrookconnersville.com

!

Directions

Continue north on SR 121 2.1m to its intersection with Veterans Parkway. Structures are on the NE corner.

Elmhurst Mansion The center section of the home was built in 1831 as the residence of Oliver H. Smith. By 1850, it was the home of Samuel W. Parker, President of the Whitewater Valley Canal Company. Parker died in 1859 and is buried on the property. Through the years it’s been a school, a military institute, and currently operates as a Masonic Lodge. Private

600 Indiana State Road 121

WB

58

Country Club The 18-hole course at the Willowbrook Country Club facility in Connersville features 6,277 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72. The course opened in 1963. 38


75

Connersville 74

72

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

73

70

Outdoor Recreation

71

69

Transportation History 63 62

68

61 65 64 66

Food and Wine 67

General History 59

N

60

Lodging

!

39


Connersville Depot/Whitewater Valley Railroad Headquarters Leaving from this historic station, the railroad offers a 19mile excursion train from Connersville to Metamora, providing a glimpse of the importance of railroads to the Valley. It is unique as its tracks were laid on the historic canal’s towpath. The organization restores engines, cars and railroad structures and is developing a railroad park south of town. It also offers training for people interested in operating trains and other railroading jobs. Open to public, admission charged. 62

61

Directions 455 Market Street

Go north on SR 121/Grand Avenue 0.8m to 5th Street. Turn right on 5th Street and then immediately right onto Market Street to the depot’s parking lot.

Directions

201 West 6th Street Return to Grand Avenue, turn right and proceed one block. Building is on the left.

Directions

63

NW corner of 6th Street and Grand Avenue Across from McCombs and Son Company.

!

Interurban/Whitewater Canal Intersection McCombs and Son Co. has been located at the former intersection of the Whitewater Canal and the Indiana and Cincinnati Traction Co. for over 100 years. The building’s lower windows facing Grand Avenue opened directly onto the canal to off load shipments. The interurbans provided same-day shipping to and from Indianapolis and were delivered to the business’ front door on 6th Street. Private business.

Roots Blower Plant Historic Marker A historic marker in front of the fire station indicates the site of the Roots Woolen Mill and the birthplace of the Roots Blower. The current manufacturing plant, owned by Dresser Industries, is located in the Connersville Industrial Park.

Did you know? Auburn Central Manufacturing of Connersville manufactured over 28,000 Willys-Overland Jeep bodies for the military in World War II.

40


Fayette County Courthouse The plans for the first courthouse were approved in 1819. The second structure was built in 1849 and some elements survived two extensive remodelings, including an 1890 effort that removed a spire and columned porch and replaced it with the current dome. Renovations in 2005 revealed ornate murals that had been painted over. They are now visible on the 2nd floor.

Directions

65

111 East 4th Street Continue south on Central Avenue to 4th Street. Turn left and building is on the right.

64

Directions 412 North Central Avenue

Turn left onto 6th Street then turn left again onto Washington Street and then left again onto 5th Street. Go two blocks to Central Avenue and turn right.

Canal House Built in 1842 as the headquarters of the Whitewater Valley Canal Company, the beautiful building has also been a bank, private residence, a VFW post, and is now owned by Historic Connersville, Inc. Open to public, limited hours.

Fayette County Museum Explore Connersville through time––a log cabin and country store, American Kitchen and old school house, Lexington and McFarlan automobiles, the Pikes Peak Hill Climb Trophy won by an early Lexington and more. Open to the public, limited hours. Ca* ahead (765) 825-0946. Connersville’s “Firsts” Marker From an early Whitewater Valley Indian trail to trading posts, schools, and now a restaurant, this site played a significant role in Connersville’s history. A historical marker tells the timeline of development. 66

67

Off-the-trail 103 Vine Street

Turn right onto 5th Street/SR44/ SR1. Cross the Whitewater River and turn right on SR 1, building is on right.

Directions Corner of North Eastern Avenue and East 4th Street (in the Wendy’s parking lot)

Continue east on 4th Street to Eastern Avenue, turn left, go two blocks, on the right side.

!

41


68

John Conner Trading Post Marker This historic marker tells the story of John Conner building a Trading Post on the Whitewater River in 1808 leading to Connersville’s founding. For years, East Connersville was a separate settlement until a bridge connected the two sides.

Directions 832 N. Eastern Avenue

Return to Eastern Avenue on 5th Street and turn right, go 3 blocks to 8th Street. Marker in front of Moose Lodge on the right side.

A bit of history...

McFarlan’s Connersville Industrial Park Bounded on the east by Western Avenue and the Whitewater Canal, the park extended %om Mount Street to 21st Street.

Historic Homes As an early industrial powerhouse, Connersville was the home to many successful business families–McFarlan Anstead, Rex, Roots, Stant–and they built many beautiful homes along Grand and Central Avenues. Private residence. 69

John B. McFarlan purchased a Connersville carriage (buggy) business and then bought others and consolidated them into McFarlan Carriage Company. The company later became an automobile manufacturer in Connersville. In 1887, the company needed more space so McFarlan established the 82acre site called “John McFarlan’s Corn Patch.” Hoping to reduce his costs by drawing other companies to the site, it became the nation’s first industrial park in 1887. Twenty-two automotive-related companies eventually had buildings here with access to the canal, railroads, and cheap natural gas. The industrial park is still home to many diversified manufacturers.

Directions

Continue north on Eastern Avenue to 11th Street. Turn left, go one block to Central Avenue. Turn right and go to 15th Street then go left to Grand Avenue. Continue to 9th Street.

!

42


Connersville Furniture Factory The old Connersville Furniture Factory was once powered by water from the Connersville Hydraulic Co. The head race and turbine were located on the north side of the building and the tail race ran underneath the building and out the south side where it rejoined the canal. The remnants are still visible on the north side and the outlet arches are visible on the south side. The six-story structure is the tallest building in southeastern Indiana. Private

Directions

71

1485 Western Avenue Continue north two blocks north on the right side.

Spartan Bowl 1981 North Grand Avenue

Home to two Boys State Basketball Champions, 1972 and 1983, the sunken gymnasium has been the Connersville Spartans’ home since 1958. It seats 5,847, making it the nineteenth largest high school gym in Indiana. The attached building is now the middle school. Phil Cox, Indiana’s 1972 Mr. Basketball and Matt Howard, Butler University star, both played here.

!

Directions 1220 Illinois Avenue

Turn right onto 9th Street pass St. Gabriel Church/School on right. Turn right onto Western Avenue and go 3 blocks, building is on the left. On the way you’ll pass under a railroad viaduct marking the south end of the industrial park.

City Cemetery This is the final resting place for most of the city’s earliest settlers dating back to the mid-1800s. See many unique and ornate monuments including Vivian Allison’s doll house built by her parents in 1900.

A Bit of Hoosier Hysteria...

73

70

Stant Manufacturing Co. The world's leading manufacturer of automotive fuel, radiator and oil filler caps and other parts, Stant made its early mark by automating the manufacture of piano tuning pins. For over 110 years, Stant has been an innovative parts supplier to the automotive industry and its world headquarters is in the Connersville Industrial Park.

72

Directions 1620 Columbia Avenue

Located in the industrial park on the west side of the railroad tracks along Western Avenue. • Continue on Western Avenue to 20th Street, turn right and go four blocks to the Spartan Bowl.

43


Kunkel’s Drive-In Stop by this 1950’s era drive-in and order from your car and have the tray delivered by a car hop or step inside and enjoy the great burgers, shakes, and flavored cokes. Open for business

Roberts Park A gift to the city from General James Roberts in 1902, it’s home to the Longwood covered bridge (relocated here in 1984), and the Miller Community Building. There are also shelter houses, playgrounds, an aquatic center, and an amphitheater. The park is adjacent to the Fayette County Fairgrounds.

Directions 4747 Western Avenue

74

2402 North Park Road

Continue east on 20th Street to Park Road. Turn left and go four blocks north. Drive-in is on the right.

Did you know? 75

Directions 2900 Park Road

Proceed north on Park Road. There are entrances after 27th Street, at 28th Street and 30th Street.

76

Go west on 30th Street/SR 1 seven blocks to Western Avenue. Turn right and follow SR 1 north for 1.1m. Waterworks are on the left.

Water Works at Carbon Motors Located on the old Whitewater Canal along S.R. 1, these industrial ruins belonged to the Connersville Hydraulic Company which used the canal to provide hydropower to the city until the 1950s.

!

Directions

Lockport Feeder Dam #6 was rebuilt by the Connersville Hydraulic Company and was used to feed the canal to the south end of Connersville. Today, only remnants remain on private property. Lockport was a paper town along the canal that never materialized. It was the site of a boat yard and three canal locks. Other feeder dams serving the canal were located at Cambridge City, south of Connersville, Laurel, Brookville, New Trenton, and Harrison.

44


EK

Recreation

5579 W. County Road 300 N Connersville, IN 47331 (765) 679-1655 www.cornyfun.com

Eklund’s Crazy Acres Offering a corn maze, a haunted maze, games, rides and more for the whole family. They even offer professional pumpkin carving lessons. Come get a little “crazy” at Crazy Acres.

ShraderWeaver Nature Preserve This 96-acre property is a national Natural Landmark and contains open fields, a woods, and a pioneer homestead. There are two self-guided trails through the preserve lauded for its springtime wildflowers. Public access and parking.

Did you know? The Milton Quaker Church split in the 1800s. When the north side congregation dissolved, its building was purchased by a private business which built around the structure that is still inside the factory. The newer church on the south side later burned down, but cemeteries remain at both locations.

WI

Recreation

2290 S Germantown Rd Cambridge City, IN 47327 (765) 478-5638

!

SW

Recreation

Co. Rd. 450 W. & 600 N. Go north 0.2m and turn left on Bentonville Road/CR 700 N. Proceed 4.4m, turn left onto 600 N and go 1.0m to entrance.

Town of Milton The Whitewater Canal as well as two later railroads went through this little town. The old Masonic Lodge downtown was built in the 1840s as a warehouse for the canal. Looking east from the lodge beyond River Street you can see the canal basin and its route through the town.

77

Directions

Return to SR 1 and turn left(n) for 3.2m to its intersection with Canal St. Turn right onto Canal Street, lodge is on the right.

Winding Branch Golf Course The 18-hole course features 5,752 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 71. Designed by Kermit LaGrange, the Winding Branch golf course opened in 1971.

45


78

Boyd Road Canal Prism A remnant of the canal channel, towpath and berm bank between Milton and Cambridge City can be seen on the left/west side of the road which is also old State Road 1.

Directions

A Bit of History...

From Milton, go north on SR 1 to the first road on the left and turn onto Boyd Road.

Railroad Viaduct Chartered in 1847, the Indiana Central Railway was the forerunner of the main line of the Pennsylvania system. In 1910 the tracks were elevated through town to ease the steep grade across western Wayne County.

”The Dinky” Interurban

79

Directions

Upon entering Cambridge City on Boyd Road/Center Street pass under the dormant railroad viaduct.

Cambridge City

By 1914 there were 1,825 miles of interurban tracks in Indiana. One of the shortest lines in the state was an electric trolley which ran two miles between Milton and Cambridge City. George Callaway, who lived in Milton, was a member of the railroad board for the line that connected Richmond and Indianapolis. It is said that he insisted on the Milton spur so he could get to work in Indianapolis.

In 1827, the National Road crossed the Whitewater River and gave rise to Cambridge City. In 1835, the post office was established and the town platted the following year. The town grew rapidly with the completion of the Whitewater Canal in 1846 connecting the region with the Ohio River. At one time, four separate railroads intersected here. Drive around and see historic National Road structures, canal buildings, the old canal bed, railroad bridges, and drive-in restaurants. Stop by and visit the Indiana National Road Interpretive Center just west in Mount Auburn and learn more about America’s first great road.

Transportation Food and History Wine !

General History 46


84 83 88 86

85

82 81

87

89 80 79

90

78

N

Cambridge City

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Vinton HouseAntiques & Museum

Former Canal 80 Directions Warehouse 1 East Church Street Originally a Whitewater Canal warehouse built in 1853, After passing under brothers John and Charles the Railroad Viaduct Bertsch purchased the brick continue two blocks and building is on the building in 1879 and it became the pattern shop of Bertsch & northeast corner. Company, a steel rolling machine business. Dr. James Bertsch renovated the building into a health clinic. !

Built in 1847 at the intersection of the National Road and the Whitewater Canal, the Vinton House Hotel accommodated travelers by boat or wagon and also served as a stage coach stop, a telegraph oďŹƒce, and post oďŹƒce. The canal basin was just a few feet from the rear door of the building.

Western Wayne Museum Western Wayne Heritage Inc. maintains a museum with displays and artifacts about the Whitewater Valley on the 3rd floor of Vinton House. 81

Directions 20 West Main Street Proceed to US 40/National Road/Main Street and turn left. Vinton House is on the left.

47


82

Single G Horse Mural In 1912, a Cambridge City-bred pacer named Single G was sold at local auction for $275. Between 1913 and 1927 the stallion ran in 434 heats, set numerous records and earned over $120,000. Voted by horsemen as the “greatest pacer in the first half of the twentieth century.” The mural was painted by Pamela Bliss in 2010.

Directions 113 West Main Street

83

Across the street(n) from the bank in the middle of the block.

Directions 100 West Main Street

Go one-half block west on US 40. Mural is on the bank building on the southwest corner.

Opera House The grand Italianate three-story commercial building built in 1868, hosted all types of community events. The first floor is still in use, but the Opera House has been silent since 1923 when a new high school included a modern auditorium.

Cambridge City Post Office Mural The mural, Pride of Cambridge City, was painted by Samuel F. Hershey in 1941-42 as part of the Public Works of Art Project during the Great Depression.

Overbeck Pottery Inside the new Cambridge City Public Library, the museum preserves the creative pottery produced in Cambridge City by the six Overbeck sisters from 1911 to 1955. Their work is considered important in our nation’s art history. The collection includes pottery, oil paintings and watercolors. Open to public. A historic marker telling of the Overbeck House and Studio is located on East Main Street/U.S. 40 just east of the Whitewater River.

!

84

Directions 227 West Main St

Continue west one block on the north side.

85

Directions 600 West Main Street

To museum, continue west on Main Street/US 40 to the library on the left. Historical marker is east of the river on Main Street.

48


A bit of history...

!

National Road/US 40

!

Conceived by George Washington, the Historic National Road, the nation’s first federally funded interstate highway, connected the eastern seaboard in Maryland to the western interior in Illinois. It was created by Congress in 1806 and reached Indiana in 1827. The 156-mile stretch across the state from Richmond to Terre Haute was completed in 1834. It is commonly called “The Road that Built the Nation.” It was paralleled by railroads, became US 40 as part of the federal highway system, and later bypassed by Interstate 70. It is now an All-American Road, the highest national scenic byway designation.

Huddleston Farmhouse Inn Museum Weary travelers making the difficult journey westward on the National Road in the mid 19th century stopped at the Huddleston farm for meals, provisions, shelter, and feed and rest for their horses. Completed in 1841, this 22-acre farmstead has been beautifully restored by Indiana Landmarks and the house’s first floor serves as the National Interpretive Center for the Historic National Road. Open to public. 86

Directions 838 National Road, Mount Auburn Continue west 0.2m to farm and museum on the left.

Dublin Historic Marker A group of reformminded Congregational Friends held a convention here in this National Road community in 1851 and approved a platform calling for women’s rights as well as supporting temperance and abolition.

Off-the-trail

87

National Road/US 40

Continue west on US 40 for 1.2m to downtown Dublin. The marker is on the north side of the highway.

!

Turn around and go east 0.8m back into Cambridge City or go off the trail for a quick trip to Dublin.

Vintage Post Card Mural Modes of Transportation painted by Carly Mattingly and is a reproduction of a post card showing the city’s transportation history. The building is the former Danner’s 5 & 10 store that a local family started. The Indiana chain once had as many as 70 stores.

88

Directions 35 West Main St

Reverse direction and return to Cambridge City 2.0m to the northeast corner of Foote Street at Main Street. Mural is on side of building.

49


Take a Walk

Cambridge City Historic Tour A walking tour of Cambridge City’s many historic structures including homes, business buildings, parks, and public buildings.

89

Directions

Major General Solomon Meredith Marker A historic marker on US 40 tells of Meredith, the commander of the famous Iron Brigade, the only brigade of troops solely from the midwest (IN, WI, MI), at the Civil War’s Battle of Gettysburg. He returned here after the war to his farm.

Continue east on US 40, cross the Whitewater River and go two blocks to the marker on the southwest corner of Gay Street.

Oakland Farm Meredith Family The 22-room mansion, built by the town’s founder Ira Lackey in 1836 and purchased by Solomon Meredith in 1851, is the centerpiece of the farm operated by Meredith, his son and daughter-in-law, Virginia Claypool Meredith. She ran the award-winning livestock farm, was called the “Queen of Agriculture,” wrote a column for the Breeder’s Gazette, founded the University of Minnesota’s home economics department and was Purdue University’s first female trustee. Private residence.

90

Directions South Meredith Street

Turn right on Gay Street go one block, then left on Church Street and then right on Meredith Street. Home/farm is at the end of the street on the right.

Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway East Fork Loop (Loop 1) Beginning at SR1 and U.S. 40, this 46-mile loop winds through the eastern Whitewater Valley. Travel the Old National Road east to visit Centerville then onto Richmond’s many historic districts and sights. Head south on US 27 to Liberty and south on SR 101 to Brookville. This route will take you to Whitewater Memorial State Park or Brookville Lake. Whitewater

!

East Fork L

oop

50


HH

Recreation

201 N. Woodpecker Rd. Hagerstown, IN 47346 (765) 489-4373 www.hartleyhillsgolf.com

Hartley Hills Country Club Golf Course The 9-hole course features 3,007 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 36. Designed by William H. Diddel, ASGCA, the Hartley Hills golf course opened in 1930.

Hagerstown The town of Hagerstown was platted in 1832 and early religious groups spurred the community’s growth. In 1847, the Whitewater Canal was completed from Hagerstown to Cambridge City. Later, the Big Four Railroad built on the canal’s towpath connecting the town by rail. Passenger service was discontinued in the 1920’s but freight service on the Big Four continued until 1931. The Pennsylvania railroad line from Chicago to Cincinnati also came through Hagerstown and that active line belongs to Norfolk Southern Railway. In 1895 a new Hagerstown business was organized, the Railway Cycle Manufacturing Company. Charles N. Teetor invented a “railway cycle” which became the Light Inspection Car for inspecting railroad tracks. Later the company (Teetor-Hartley Motor Company, 1914) manufactured automobile motors. It produced many engines for Indiana car makers and the Auburn was their largest customer. The company sold the motor division, but kept the growing business making piston rings. In October 1926, the name was changed to the Perfect Circle Company. It became one of the largest piston ring manufacturers in the world, eventually owned by Dana Corporation who closed the local facility in 1995. Charles N. Teetor and his brothers were leaders in the early automotive industry. C.N. Teetor’s nephew, Ralph, continued to invent new products for the company such as the Speedostat, known today as cruise control.

!

51


BS

107

102 103

N

101

104 105 106

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Hagerstown Whitewater Canal Terminus Marker A stone marker, placed in 1947, designates the northern terminus of the canal. Looking south on the waterway, the feeder canal for the basin is at the foot of South Perry Street, now a factory parking lot. The feeder came o the Whitewater River at a southwest angle about ½-mile above Main Street.

!

91

Directions 407 East Main Street

Proceed north on SR 1 to SR 38. Turn left and go 0.8m west to marker on left just before the bridge.

52


92

Directions 96 1/2 East Main Street

Continue west on SR 38/Main Street for 2 blocks. Museum building is on the right.

93

Culinary

48 East Walnut Street Go one block west and then turn left on Plum Street. Turn left onto Walnut Street and shop is on the left.

Abbott’s Candy Shop A budding hometown restaurateur, W.C. Abbott turned to butterscotch candy and launched Abbott Candy in 1890. The family continues to operate the business in a church building dated to 1851. Stop by for a sweet treat.

Perfect Circle Corporation Memorial A memorial to the founders and workers of Perfect Circle, a local automotive company with a successful 100 year run includes two pillars telling the Teetor family story beginning with bicycles and evolving to pistons and cruise control.

!

Hagerstown Museum and Arts Place The Independent Order of Odd Fellows (IOOF) building (c.1880) is a three-story, iron front structure, with retail on the first floor and the museum on the second floor. Originally it was an auditorium for opera, dramas, skating, dancing, and basketball. The walls of the museum are decorated with murals painted in 1913 by local artist Charles Lucien Newcomb. It also features a collection of historical artifacts related to the Perfect Circle Corporation, including a railroad pedal car and items pertaining to the Whitewater Canal. Open to public.

94

Directions

Did you know? Two out of Indiana’s three Historic Civil Engineering Landmarks are located in the Valley––National Road from Richmond to Dublin and the Duck Creek Aqueduct on the Whitewater Canal in Metamora.

552 South Washington St.

Reverse direction and go 2 blocks west and then turn left on Washington Street. Go 0.5m south to marker.

53


95

Directions

Continue south to Hagerstown Airport then turn left onto Scout Lake Road to see the south end of the lake.

Hagerstown Airport Built in 1957-58, the airport has one of the longest grass airstrips in use in the U.S. A local chapter of the national Experimental Aircraft Association operates here.

BS

Scout Lake Once a canal basin, the lake was widened after its purchase in 1929 by Ralph and Nellie Teetor as a gift to the Girl Scouts. It operated as Camp Wapi-Kamigi until its closing in 1995. 96

Directions

Return to Washington Street and follow it south along the airport’s western edge or return to downtown.

Lightcroft - Teetor Home The home was built by Charles N. Teetor and included formal gardens including two ponds, a Japanese pavilion and bridge. He was an entrepreneur who rose from abject poverty, invented the inspection cycle-car for railroads and started the Perfect Circle Co. that became a Fortune 500 Company. Private residence.

97

Directions

Turn left onto Main Street and head west 0.2m then veer left onto Turnpike Rd. Continue west for 0.2m and the home is on the northeast corner of the intersection with Tidewater Drive. Continue on Tidewater Drive to SR 38. Turn right to see Lightcroft from the highway.

Recreation

16447 SR 38 Hagerstown, IN 47346 (765)489-5753 www.eatmorestrawberries.com

Bell’s Strawberry Farm (Seasonal) Park next to the fields and grab containers from the farm. Bells will even teach novices how to get started. So come for the day to pick several flats or a single quart. You can even stop in to purchase a box of berries that are already picked.

Congratulations! You have reached the northern end of the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway’s Canal Route. We hope you enjoyed your time traveling through the Whitewater Valley. Plan to take one of the Byway’s three Loops, travel the Presidential Pathways Scenic Byway, the Historic Michigan Road Corridor or one of the three national byways. There is a lot to do in one trip, so come back again and again to experience all the Valley offers. !

54


East Fork Loop p East Fork Loo

Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway Loop 1

" " " While the Canal followed the West Fork of the Whitewater River, the East Fork was bustling as well. On this 46-mile trip starting in Cambridge City, you will travel on the National Road, the nation’s first “interstate” road. You’ll visit the charming towns of Centerville and Liberty, the historic city of Richmond, and take in the beauty of Brookville Lake before arriving in Brookville.

!

55


DO

Centervi*e Inset

11

10

12 JJ

CE

1

From Cambridge City to Richmond East Germantown/ Pershing A conflict over the town’s name began in World War I as some proposed changing the name from its German reference to honor U.S. General Pershing. The townspeople nixed the name change, but the postmaster convinced the Postal Service to adopt the new name. A historic marker along U.S. 40 honors the town’s Civil War band.

1

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Directions

From US 40/ National Road and the intersection of SR 1, go east 1.0m on US 40.

DO

Dougherty Orchard Family owned and operated since 1883. The farm is about 400 acres of pristine country side. It offers a variety of apples, peaches, and other produce. The orchard also has a petting zoo, fresh cider, apple cider doughnuts, pick your own pumpkins/apples, and a variety of family friendly adventures.

Recreation

1117 North Dougherty Road Cambridge City, IN 47327 765.478.5198

A bit of history...

George W. Julian Born in Centerville in 1817, like many in his era Julian was self taught and became a teacher and attorney. An avid anti-slaver, he was the Free Soil Party’s US vice presidential nominee in 1852. As a congressman, he helped pass the great Homestead Act. He later moved to Irvington, an early Indianapolis “suburb,” founded by his brother Jacob.

!

56


Centerville Once a major city along the historic National Road (today U.S 40), Centerville is now a picturesque small town located in Wayne County. In 1836, Centerville was the first town along the National Road to have its section paved with stone. During the California Gold Rush, more than 150,000 covered wagons passed through the town. Original streets were 100-feet wide, but with the increased activity in town when it became the county seat, the width was decreased to 65-feet. Buildings with common walls were erected in front of original buildings. These original buildings could then be reached through the archways. The five existing Archways, dating from 1823-36, are unusual in the interior of the U.S. There are five remaining arches along Main Street –– Backenstoes Archway (c.1835 at 139 E. Main St.) Dill Archway (c.1830 at 109 S. Morton Ave.) Shortridge Archway (c. 1820 at 205 W. Main St. ) Lantz Archway (c. 1823 at 212 W. Main St.) and Malone Archway (c. 1836 at 119 W. Main St.). Once the county seat, an armed conflict arose with nearby Richmond as to who would have the jail and courthouse. Visit the public library, which is built into the old sheriff ’s house, to learn the interesting story. Centerville’s decline as a commerce hub paralleled Richmond’s rise as a railway center. Come enjoy the architecture, history, beautiful farms, and antiquing in the area. Governor Oliver P. Morton Home Built in 1848 by Jacob Julian, the Federal-style house was a later residence of Morton, Indiana’s Civil War governor. Morton was a strong and cunning supporter of the Union cause using suppression of the General Assembly and private loans to finance the war effort. Private residence

!

2

Directions

Proceed 7.3m east on US 40 to Centerville. Turn right at Willow Grove Road. Marker on left.

57


7 4

10

9 8

6

11

2 5

3

N

Centerville

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

3 A bit of history...

!

!

!

!

Whitewater Seminary and College

Begun as a county seminary in 1827, the school provided basic education to such luminaries as Gov. Oliver P. Morton, George Julian, Gen. Lew Wallace, Gen. Ambrose Burnside and Dakota Territorial Governor John Burbank. It evolved into a college and a public school. The building was continuously expanded; in 1840 the East wing was built, then in 1848 a center section was added and it became the Whitewater College. In 1865 it became the Centreville Collegiate Institute. The building was again sold in 1870 and became Centreville High School. It then burned in 1891. The Union School (pictured right) was built on the site, and then was torn down and the current elementary school was erected.

Directions – Continue on Willow Grove Road 2 blocks to School Street, turn left and go one block to Ash Street and school is on the southeast corner.

!

58


Lantz House Inn Bed & Breakfast This "archway house," was originally the home and shop of wagonmaker, Daniel Lantz. The building next door, built in 1826, was originally a saddlery and a blacksmith shop. The Inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and now operates as a bed and breakfast.

4

Directions

214 West Main Street Go north on Ash Street. to US 40/National Road/Main Street. Turn right, building is on the left.

! ! ! ! Robert Underwood Johnson Home

Born in Washington, DC in 1853, but raised in Centerville, Johnson graduated from 5 Earlham College and then began Directions a 40-year career with Scribner’s 111 West Walnut Monthly/Century magazine, Street eventually its editor from 1909-13. He was a leading figure Continue east onehalf block to Spruce in the passage of the American Street, turn right Copyright Law and was a strong and go one block. backer of John Muir and his House located on efforts to protect natural spaces. the southeast Private residence. corner. 6

Directions Early Wayne County Jail • Centerville Public Library The battle for the county seat traces its roots to this building built in 1867. With the advent of railroads Richmond became the leading city in the county and its citizens wanted the courthouse and the jail. Efforts to move the records to Richmond resulted in armed conflict. Two holes above the Main Street door were made by a six-pounder cannon positioned in the archway across the street. The public library took over the building in 1997 and renovated it to its current state. Visit the library to learn the exciting tale of two rival towns. !

Corner of East Main and 1st Street Continue 4 blocks east on Main Street to library building.

Jacob Julian House Built in 1856, for Julian an 7 attorney, bank president, and Directions 120 East Plum Street two-term state legislator. Fearing economic hardship for the town Continue to next street past the library, turn left when the county seat was moved on North First Street. Go to Richmond, he moved to one block and house is Indianapolis and co-founded the on the northeast corner. “suburb” of Irvington on the National Road. Private residence

59


Mansion House The 1840 pioneer-era inn served as the office for the Western Stage Company where stagecoaches changed horses. It was also the site of one of the first women's temperance crusades in 1858. On June 30, 1858, several women stormed the bar armed with axes, and smashed several whiskey barrels after learning the barkeep was selling liquor to school boys. Most of the women ended up in jail overnight. Owned by Historic Centerville, Inc. 9

Directions 214 E Main Street

Immediately behind the Mansion House.

Directions 10 Marker 1:

9392 US 40 Located west of Centerville on the north side, just west of Hildebrand Road.

11

Marker 2: 5382 US 40

East of Centerville on the north side across from the Dollar General Store.

!

8

Directions 214 E Main Street

Turn right onto Plum Street and go one block and take a right onto Second Street. Turn right onto US 40 and house is on the right.

Salisbury Courthouse The first courthouse serving Wayne County was built in 1811 in Salisbury, a now extinct town between Centerville and Richmond off the National Road. In 1818, the county seat was moved to Centerville. After many uses and moves over the years, the log structure was reconstructed at this site in 1998. It is the only original log court house still standing in the old Northwest Territory. Tours by appointment only -

National Road Mile Markers Two of the original National Road markers can still be found along U.S. 40 between Richmond and Centerville. These small stone markers informed travelers of their location – “SL (state line) 9M, “R” Richmond 4 1/2M, and “C” Centerville 1M. Both markers are on private property, but can be viewed from the road.

60


Cope Environmental Center In 1948, Jim and Helen Cope chose to pursue a sustainable lifestyle on their 30-acre farm which involved the use of alternative energy, energy conservation, composting, and organic gardening. In 1992, they were joined by their colleague Francis Parks and the center has grown to 102 acres and offers many programs for kids and adults alike. Open to the public, donations accepted.

Recreation

4910 Shoemaker Road Centerville, IN 47330 765-855-3188

CE

12

Greenville Treaty Marker In 1795, General Anthony Wayne agreed to a treaty with twelve Indian tribes, led by Chief Little Turtle, to secure lands in the future state of Ohio and southeastern Indiana. The treaty line runs on a angle from the Ohio River to Fort Recovery, Ohio, creating a wedge of Indiana land called “The Gore.” White settlers spilled into the Whitewater Valley to seek land and opportunity. This stone marker sits on the treaty’s line through Wayne County.

Directions

Continue east past Airport Road 1.3m and turn left into the McDonald’s Restaurant. The marker is between the parking lot and the highway.

J&J Winery J&J Winery, located at the cross roads of America on Old National Road between Richmond and Centerville, Indiana, is an aesthetic hidden gem. Enjoy the sprawling, picturesque setting, the award winning wines, and authentic, Italian wood-fired pizzas.

Earlham College Founded in 1847, Earlham has its roots in the Great Migration of Quakers from the eastern United States, especially from North Carolina, to the Northwest Territory in the first half of the nineteenth century. It is the thirdoldest institution established by the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) in the nation. The four-year, coeducational liberal arts school is situated on an 800-acre campus with 600 acres in a natural state for environmental studies. !

JJ

Culinary

3415 National Road West Richmond, IN 47374 765-965-9463 www.jjwinery.com

13

Directions

801 National Road West Continue east from Centerville 4.4m to the entrance to college’s entrance.

61


Richmond The Queen City of the Whitewater Valley, it sits astride of two historical thoroughfares, the Old National Road (U.S. 40) and the East Fork of the Whitewater River. A natural cleft in the valley’s bedrock created the Whitewater Gorge and water power and other natural resources led to Richmond’s founding by Quakers in 1806. Quakers form North Carolina and Virginia moved into the area and founded the Friends Boarding School which became Earlham College. Richmond was home to farm equipment manufacturers, car companies, buses, and lawn mowers. At one time Wayne County was home to 260 mills at 166 sites processing milling grains, flax, wool and wood because of its accessibility to water power. This was the second largest number of mills in a single county, trailing only Monroe County, New York. Richmond was also a railroad center connecting Cincinnati to Chicago and Columbus to Indianapolis. Famed architect Daniel Burnham designed the historic Pennsylvania Railroad Depot and the surrounding district is being revitalized. The old C&O railroad has been converted into the Cardinal Greenway, Indiana’s longest rail trail. While Interstate 70 winds around Richmond, drive through town on U.S. 40 to get a sense for the splendor and nostalgia of the old National Road. Walk through historic districts and visit the county’s amazing museum.

Recreation

!

Lodging Transportation Food History &Wine

General History

62


N

20

18

DR 21 15

13

19

OR

22

14 16

17

Richmond - West Joseph Moore Museum of Natural History Located on Earlham’s campus, the museum is open to the public and its exhibits include an Egyptian mummy, a pre-historic mastodon, allosaurus skeleton, a planetarium, as well as birds and mammals in their natural habitat. Admission %ee, donations accepted.

14

Directions

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Earlham School of Religion/Bethany Theological Seminary The Earlham school, founded in 1960, was joined by the Bethany school in 1994 to share a common campus, library, and several administrative positions. The schools offer a joint curriculum as well.

15

Directions 228 Co*ege Ave. From the college’s main gates, proceed on US 40 0.3m, then turn right onto College Avenue

Dennis Science Hall Enter at the Earlham College main entrance and follow the signs to the museum.

!

63


HA 29

23 26 ST 28

30 31

27

RG

32

MP

Richmond - East

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Richmond Art Museum Housed in historic McGuire Memorial Hall at Richmond High School, the museum’s collections include important works of American Impressionists, particularly from the Hoosier Group, Richmond Group, and the Taos School, as well as a significant ceramics collection of the work of the Overbeck Sisters. It is believed to be the only public art museum connected with a public high school. Admission %ee, donations accepted. 16

Directions 350 Hub Etchison Parkway

Return to National Road and go east 0.4m to 1st Street SW. Turn right and then veer left onto Hub Etchison Parkway. Go 0.2m, museum is on the right.

!

Civic Hall Performing Arts Center Built in 1939 as Richmond High School’s gymnasium, Civic Hall became an entertainment venue in the late 1980s. A part of Richmond Community Schools, it can seat 924 people on two levels. It annually hosts a wide variety of national touring shows, regional groups, and school performing arts events.

Directions

380 Hub Etchison Parkway 17 Next door to the Art Museum.

64


Did you know? Inside McGuire Memorial Hall is a Landmark of American Music plaque recognizing Richmond High School as the “Birthplace of the First High School Orchestra” in a public high school in the nation.

Cardinal Greenway Trail Get back to nature on the longest rails-totrails project in Indiana. The 57-mile paved trail on the old C&O tracks from Richmond to Muncie to Gas City continues to add sections. Public access with parking.

18

Directions

Hugs the Whitewater River on the old C&O Railroad line. For access points and parking areas see Trail Map.

Need a Bike? If you want to ride the Cardinal Greenway or the hills and valleys along the Whitewater River, but forgot to bring your bike, rent one in Richmond. Cycling and Fitness Warehouse" 213 North 3rd Street! ! ! Richmond! ! ! ! 765-935-5047! ! !

!

Ike’s Bike Shop 111 South 6th Street Richmond 765-962-5480

Whitewater Gorge Park A 3.5 mile trail through the magnificent gorge carved by the river takes hikers from Thistlethwaite Falls to the Test Woolen Mill ruins. In between are Directions 19 steep cliffs, beautiful scenery, Along the River in the industrial ruins, the National Road Gorge. bridge, and views of the Wayne County Courthouse. Public access.

65


20

Thistlethwaite Falls In the early 1800s, Timothy Thistlethwaite blasted a new channel in the East Fork of the Whitewater River to direct the water over this rock formation to provide more waterpower to his nearby sawmill. It is located in Whitewater Gorge Park. The National Road and Bridge Just south of the towering Main Street bridge on the east side of the river, you can see old stones built into a mound of earth. They are ruins of the National Road Bridge, Richmond's first bridge over the Whitewater River. In use from 1834 to 1895, it was the first covered bridge in Indiana, a magnificent span resting on stone piers thirty feet above the water. The 1834 first National Road bridge boasted seven wooden arches, two teamways, and two walkways. Imagine the relief of settlers traveling west on the Cumberland Road (later called the National Road) when they found they would not have to ford the river and haul their wagons up the western bluff along a gully.

1895

Through the years, three other bridges have spanned the Whitewater River Gorge with the latest completed in 2004.

Starr-Gennett Walk of Fame Tracing its roots to 1872, Starr Piano Company’s main offices and manufacturing sites were in the Whitewater Gorge. In 1915, a recording division was launched under the Gennett record label. The company changed through the years, but its studios are nationally recognized as the “Birthplace of Recorded Jazz” with many of the greats, including Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington cutting records here. The ruins of its facilities line the river along with the Walk of Fame, initiated in 2007. A series of 78-rpm record-like medallions are placed in the walk to honor the famous musical artists who recorded here. There is also a city tour of significant Starr-Gennett sites. Public access. !

Directions

Reverse direction and veer to the right onto Sim Hodgin Parkway. Take it 1.4m to US 27/Chester Blvd. Turn left(n) and proceed 1.3m to Waterfall Road. Turn left(w) and proceed to the river.

1921

21

Directions

Return to Chester Street/US 27. Turn right and go 1.2m to US 40 West/North A Street. Turn right and stay on US 40 as it turns left and then turn right onto Main Street. Go 0.1m to S. 1st Street and turn left and follow it down into the Whitewater Gorge.

22

Directions

Along South 1st Street in the Gorge.

66


Did you know?

OR

Take a walk... Boundaries: South

of South A Street (US 40/ National Road eastbound) to South E Street and from the River to 11th Street.

Old Richmond Historic District Richmond’s oldest neighborhood, commonly called German Village, covers more than 250 acres and has a charming mixture of private residences, cozy restaurants, shops, and exterior murals. The district contains more than 213 structures of historical importance. Stop by the Old National Road Welcome Center and pick up a brochure for a self-guided walking tour.

Take a walk...

RR

Boundaries: Fort Wayne

Avenue to North 11th Street Between North D Street and North E Street.

The Starr-Gennett Recording Studios in Richmond, Indiana, are referred to as the “Cradle of Recorded Jazz.” Because of its proximity to the nearby railroad, recording activity frequently had to cease as boxcars would rumble by the recording studio.

Historic Downtown Richmond Architecture Walking Tour With its history dating back to the Old National Road, Richmond’s downtown has a rich collection of architectural buildings and styles. Take the historic Architecture Walking Tour to see 27 buildings in a seven-block long stretch along Main Street.

DR

Take a walk... Boundaries:

Between North A Street(US 40/ National Road westbound) and South A Street (US 40 eastbound) and from the River to 10th Street.

Stop by the Old National Road Welcome Center and pick up a brochure for a self-guided walking tour.

Railroad Depot Historic District Comprising four city blocks, the district has also been called the "Hoosier Bowery." It is an architecturally significant group of 19th and early 20th century commercial and industrial buildings. The Pennsylvania Railroad Station is the focal point of the district and is undergoing extensive restoration. Today, these buildings house antique stores, fun and fabulous restaurants, a chocolatier, unique shops, murals, and more! !

67


A bit of history...

Henry Clay’s Famous Slavery Speech On North 8th Street near St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in 1842, Clay, the Whig Party presidential candidate, was presented with a petition by local Abolitionists to free his own slaves. After saving the petitioners from the wrath of his supporters, he then ridiculed and berated the antislavers in his speech telling them “to mind their own business.” His remarks were used to flame Abolitionists in the east and it contributed to his failed presidential bid.

Pennsylvania RR Depot Designed by famed architect Daniel Burnham, the depot was built in 1902 in Neo-Classical style. It is the third depot to stand on the site, the first was a small structure between two tracks. The second Union Passenger Station was large enough that trains passed through the building. The landmark is undergoing private renovation and it anchors the historic district.

Gaar Mansion and Farm Museum The Gaar Mansion was built in 1876 for Abram and Agnes Gaar, co-founders of Gaar-Scott and Company, the leading manufacturer of threshing machines and steam engines from 1842 to 1911.

23

Directions Between 9th and 10th on North E Street

Turn right(e) onto Main Street, then turn left(n) onto 10th Street. Continue 7 blocks to North E Street and the depot.

Off-the-trail On this 23-mile round trip you’* visit a historic farm, see an old mi*, and learn about the Underground Railroad at a state historic site.

26

25

Their Second Empire style mansion originally cost $20,000 to build. Completely renovated, the home contains many original pieces and unique features you won’t want to miss. Admission charged. 24

HL

Off-the-trail 2593 Pleasant View Road

24

Proceed east on E Street to 12th Street. Turn left (n) and continue 1.4m as it becomes SR 227 and Middleboro Pike. Turn right on Pleasant View Road and go 0.4m to the farm entrance.

!

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

68


25

Off-the-trail

SR 227, Middleboro Return to SR 227 and turn right (NE) and proceed 4.0m to Middleboro. Follow SR 227 left and cross the Whitewater River. the mill is just north of the

Cox’s Mill at Middleboro This home, just north of the Whitewater River in Middleboro, was once a mill. It was built in 1860 by Joseph Cox, grandson of Jeremiah Cox, a founder of Richmond. It is the second mill on this property. The first, a stone building that still stands closer to the river, was constructed in 1826 by Jeremiah Cox II, son of Richmond's founder. Private.

bridge on the right.

26

Did you know? Indiana’s highest elevation, 1,257 feet, is located northeast of Fountain City on the Wayne County/Randolph County line. In this general area are the headwaters of eight major rivers including the Whitewater (East and West Forks), Wabash, Big Miami, White, Salamonie, Mississinewa, and St. Mary’s.

Levi Coffin State Historic Site The “Grand Central Station” of the Underground Railroad for fleeing slaves in pre-Civil War days, this registered National Historic Landmark is a Federal style brick home built in 1839. More than 2,000 fugitive slaves were ushered to freedom through the Coffin House. See where the runaway slaves hid and how they were transported in false bottom wagons. The History Channel has listed the Levi Coffin House as one of the top 25 most historic sites in the United States. Admission charged, check for hours.

Off-the-trail

113 North US 27 Fountain City Proceed north on SR 227 for 2.6m to Wallace Road. Turn left and go 4.4m to US 27. Turn right and go 1.6m into Fountain City. House is on the right. Head back to Richmond on US 27 South.

HL

Recreation

1972 Highland Rd Richmond, IN 47374-9239 (765) 983-7287

Highland Lake Golf Course The 18-hole course features 6,981 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72. Designed by John Budzale, Highland Lake golf course opened in 1972.

!

69


ST

Take a walk... Boundaries: From N

9th Street to N. 16th Street between North A Street and North E Street.

27

Directions 1150 North A St.

Starr Historic District The Starr Historic District contains 120 structures of historic significance. The focal point is the Hicksite Meetinghouse (Wayne County Museum). The district is an early Victorian neighborhood, developed by Charles and Elizabeth Starr who moved to Richmond in 1825. The Starr family influenced Richmond's early development and later owned Starr Piano. Stop by the Old National Road Welcome Center and pick up a brochure for a selfguided walking tour of the Starr Historic District.

Come south on US 27 and it becomes one-way on North 8th Street. Turn left on Main Street and go to 12th Street, turn left(n) and go one block to North A Street. Turn left and museum is on right.

Take a walk...

Tiffany Windows Trail Richmond is home to an impressive collection of Louis Comfort Tiany Stained Glass windows with four sites within five blocks. Come see Reid Memorial Presbyterian Church, Morrison-Reeves Library, First Presbyterian Church, and St. Paul’s Episcopal Church. Stop by the Old National Road Welcome Center and pick up a trail brochure.

!

Wayne County Historical Museum "This gem of a museum is like a miniature Smithsonian, NY Metropolitan, and Wi*iamsburg a* ro*ed into one." (statement %om a we*-traveled visitor) In 1930, the Wayne County Historical Society accepted the gift of extensive personal collections from Julia Meek Gaar, and the gift of the historical Friends Meeting House from the Whitewater Monthly Meeting of Friends (General Conference) commonly known as Hicksites. The beautiful Meetinghouse grounds were purchased and two adjoining lots were added later. Today, the complex includes eight buildings on a compact site, the museum is a unique repository of Wayne County and Richmond history from early pioneer life through the industrial revolution into modern times. Several early automobiles manufactured in Richmond are on display. Admission charged.

70


Reid Presbyterian Church Begun in 1904 and dedicated on May 13, 1906, it was given by Daniel Reid in honor of his parents. The building cost $295,000 at the time of its construction (approximately $7 million today). All 62 windows were created by Louis Comfort Tiffany. Tours by appointment.

29

Directions

Continue on US 40/East Main Street to 22nd Street. Park entrance is on NE corner.

Glen Miller Park The 194-acre park has beautiful woods and public areas adjacent to the National Road. The city purchased the property in 1885 from Pennsylvania Railroad executive Colonel John Miller. Public access.

!

28

Directions 1004 North A Street

Go one block west on North A Street, church is on the right. Proceed to 8th Street turn left and go three blocks to US 40 east, turn left.

E. Main St-Glen Miller Park Historic District The district comprises an almost ninetenths mile stretch along East Main Street, including the Glen Miller Park. With its wide thoroughfare and ornate residences, the distinctive street is commonly called “Millionaires Row” featuring the Gennett Mansion located at 1829 E. Main Street.

MP

Take a walk... Boundaries: E.

Main Street between 18th and 30th Streets.

Stop by the Old National Road Welcome Center and pick up a brochure for a self-guided walking tour of the Glen Mi*er Historic District. 30

Directions 22nd Street & East Main St.

At the entrance to Glen Miller Park.

Madonna of the Trail Statue In commemoration of pioneer mothers of the covered wagon days, this statue is the ninth link in the Great National Shrine erected by the Daughters of the American Revolution along the National Road Trail. There are only 12 statues along US 40 from Bethesda, Maryland, to Upland, California. Public access. 71


Did you know? The Madonna of the Trail statue in Richmond was dedicated in 1928 by a little-known Missouri judge, Harry S Truman, later to become the 33rd President of the United States serving from 1945-1953.

Toll Gate Marker During the later half of the 19th century, the National Road was controlled and operated by the Wayne County Turnpike Company with a toll gate at 23rd Street, this remained the major eastern entrance and exit from the city. Public access.

Richmond Rose Garden The Richmond Rose A.A.R.S. Garden is open 365 days a year and admission is free. The garden is wheelchair accessible and restrooms are available in Glen Miller Park at the concession building. The E.G. Hill Memorial Rose Garden and the Richmond-Friendship Garden are also in the park. The garden’s peak bloom periods are June and September, but gorgeous roses can been seen throughout the summer months. RG

Directions

At the base and to the right side of the Madonna of the Trail statue.

Recreation

2500 National Rd. E. Richmond, IN Dawn to Dusk (765) 962-1511 www.waynet.org/nonprofit/ rosegarden

!

31

HA

Recreation

801 Elks Country Club Road Richmond, IN 765-962-3745 www.hayesarboretum.org

Hayes Arboretum Hayes Arboretum is an educational center on 466 acres in Richmond. There are unique plant collections, rock and fossil collections, and miles of hiking and running paths. Other features include 3% of Indiana’s old growth forest, many acres of reforested woods, an 1833 dairy barn that acts as a Nature Center, the Hayes Museum, Adena and Hopewell Indian mounds, ponds, fields, and wetlands. Open to the public.

72


32

Old National Road Welcome Center Stop by a pick up travel brochures and walking tour maps of historic districts or find out additional information about the Whitewater Valley. It also serves as a state welcome center so there is visitor information for all things Hoosier. Clean, public restrooms are a bonus. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Go south on Elks Road to US 40/East Main Street. Turn left and go east 1.4m then turn right on Industrial Parkway.

Richmond Elks Country Club The 18-hole features 6,566 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 70. The Elks golf course opened in 1964.

Abington Tucked in a river valley, and listed on the Indiana Historic Site and Structures Inventory, circa 1840, the old time country store offers a few antiques, pottery, collectibles, and deli-sandwiches.

33

Directions 5701 National Road East

RE

Recreation

2100 US Hwy. 27 South Richmond, IN 47374 (765) 966-2015 www.elks649.org

Off-the-trail

Take National Road/US 40 back into Richmond. Turn left(s) on US 27/8th Street and go 7.4m to Potter Shop Road. Turn right(w) and go 1.9m to Abington.

Liberty Country Club The 18-hole course features 6,375 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 70. Designed by Alex Campbell, the Liberty golf course opened in 1927. LC

Recreation

1391 N US Highway 27 Liberty, IN 47353-8767 (765) 458-5664 www.libertycountryclub.com

!

Did you know? A boulder with a bronze tablet sits on the west side of US 27, a few miles north of Liberty, and marks the birthplace of Joaquin Miller, a 19th century writer called the “Poet of the Sierras.”

73


Liberty The government seat of Union County, the state’s third smallest county, Liberty sits east of the Whitewater River in the county’s center. On the courthouse square you’ll find the Templeton Cabin, the oldest surviving log structure in the county and a marker for Civil War Major General Ambrose Burnside, noted for his military prowess and his whiskers or “sideburns.” It is the northern gateway to Brookville Lake and home to Whitewater Memorial State Park.

Outdoor Recreation

Food and Wine

General History

Lodging

Union County Courthouse The present building is the county’s third courthouse, and second on this site. Built in 1890, the massive limestone structure of modified French and Spanish Romanesque style has a tower with a four-faced clock.

35

Directions

Turn right at SR44/ W. Union Street and go one block to the CSX tracks. Historical Society is on the right side.

!

Liberty Depot and Museum The Liberty train depot sits adjacent to a major east-west CSX line connecting Indianapolis and Cincinnati. The depot is now used as a local museum by the Union County Historical Society. Open to public, limited hours.

34

Directions 26 West Union Street

Return to US 27 and continue south 6.8m to the center of Liberty.

!

74


N

LC

35 36

37 34 38

39

Liberty

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Ambrose Burnside Historic Markers A commemorative stone that identified the birthplace of Civil War General Ambrose Burnside is located on just south of the train depot. It was originally east of Liberty, but was moved when US 27 was widened. Burnside invented one of the first successful breech-loading rifles and it was used extensively during the Civil War. He had a distinguished military career, commanding the first amphibious assault by U.S. troops and was one of the few generals to utilize African-American troops in combat. Burnside was one of the co-founders of the National Rifle Association and served as its first president.

34

Directions

Historic marker is on northwest corner of courthouse lawn.

36

Directions

Stone marker is located south of the depot adjacent to the railroad tracks.

He is most famous for his unique side whiskers now called “side burns.�

!

75


Liberty Post Office Mural The mural, Autumn Fields, was painted by Avery Johnson in 1938-39 as part of the Public Works of Art Project during the Great Depression.

37

Directions 29 East Union Street

Return to courthouse square and continue east on Union Street one block. Building is on the left.

A Little Bit of Hoosier Hysteria...

Rivalry in the Same School 38 39 West Co*ege Corner, Indiana/Co*ege Corner,

Ohio Sharing the Indiana-Ohio state line, the towns have many interesting stories about time zone changes. The community’s school straddles the state line and the gymnasium is bisected with the eastern half in Ohio and western half in Indiana. Players used to shoot from one side and score an hour earlier or later depending on the direction.

Off-the-trail • US 27 East

To the school: Go 7.5m to State Line Road, turn left(n) and take the second street (Huston St.) right and go to the end of the street–230 Ramsey Street.

!

Directions SE corner of Courthouse Square

Templeton Cabin On the southeast corner of the courthouse lawn is the oldest surviving log structure in the county. Dating to 1804 near Dunlapsville, the cabin was enlarged in 1807 and relocated in 1938 as a memorial to the county’s pioneers.

Did you know? Cottage Grove, located on US 27 between Liberty and the Ohio state line, sits at a major railroad interchange with north-south Indiana Eastern Railroad on the old C&O line and the east-west CSX Railroad on the original Cincinnati, Indianapolis, and Western line.

76


From Liberty to Brookville

Whitewater Memorial State Park Originally established by Union, Fayette, Franklin, and Wayne counties as a memorial to the men and women who served in World War II, it became an Indiana State Park in 1949. A part of the Brookville Lake-Whitewater Memorial State Park Complex, it is a great family getaway because of its 200-acre Whitewater Lake, access to Brookville Reservoir, and other recreational facilities.

40

41 42

40

KH HLG

43

Directions

From the courthouse, take SR 101 south 1.7m to the park entrance.

Treaty Line Museum at Dunlapsville Once a thriving settlement, Dunlapsville is now known for its collection of historic buildings, many of which were relocated from land flooded by Brookville Lake. The non-profit Treaty-Line Pioneer Village is now open part-time, for special events or private reservations.

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

O-the-trail

From the park, take SR 101 south 1.7m to Dunlapsville Road. Turn right and go 2.7m, cross the bridge and take the first road on the right, Old Dunlapsville Road, turn right and go to the museum.

!

41

77


Brookville Lake A flood control project on the Whitewater River’s East Fork created this 5,260-acre lake in a 16,000-acre site. The lake property has more than 25 miles of hiking trails, boating opportunities, and is a nationally known recreational and sport fishing site. Two beaches and more than 400 campsites make this an ideal family vacation spot.

42

Recreation

To Quakertown SRA, go back to Dunlapsville Road and jog left to the park entrance.

43

To Mounds SRA, return to

US 27 turn right(s) and go 6.0m to park entrance.

The Quakertown State Recreation Area is on the lake’s northern reaches. Mounds State Recreation Area services the southern end of the lake.

KH

Recreation

15179 Old State Road 101 Liberty, IN 47353 (765) 458-7431 www.kentsharbor.com

Harbor Links Golf Course The 18-hole course at the Sagamore Resort facility is tucked along the shores of Brookville Lake. It features 7,004 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72. Designed by P.B. Dye, ASGCA, the course opened in 2002.

HLG

Recreation

15179 Old State Road 101 Liberty, IN 47353 (765) 458-9999 www.golfharborlinks.com

Kent’s Harbor at Brookville Lake Providing the best in boats and waterfront recreation for over 30 years. Featuring a marina, boat rentals, all kinds of skiing equipment, waterfront condos, Ainsley’s Cafe, and Harbor Links Golf Course at Sagamore Resort.

The Loop is finished Continue south 7.5m on SR 101 to Brookville to complete the East Fork Loop.

!

78


OldenburgBatesville Loop Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway Loop 2 This 35-mile loop will take you through the hills and valleys that look much like they did when the white settlers arrived. You’ll see charming towns linked to their religious and German heritage. It’s a great opportunity to roll down the windows, slow down, and explore the natural Valley.

Oldenburg-B

atesville Loo p

!

79


13 12

Oldenburg Inset 11

CR

Batesvi*e Inset LF EW

14 9 IL

Oldenburg-Batesville Loop

1

Directions 3127 State Road 229

From Whitewater Valley Gateway Park in Metamora, take US 52 west 2.3m to SR 229, turn left(s) and go 7.9m to Michaela Farm.

!

CV

10

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Sisters Cow Barn and Michaela Farm Michaela Farm is a farm renewal eort of the Oldenburg Franciscans, serving as a center for natural farming practices, environmental education, and spiritual renewal. The farm has gone through many changes since its founding in 1854. The landmark brick barn was built in 1907-1909. Shop open public, tours by appointment. 80


Oldenburg Settled by Irish in 1817, the town was officially platted in 1837 by German speculators who named it for the northern Germany province. Taking on its German flavor with the inmigration of German Catholics from Cincinnati, the town preserves its religious, cultural, and architectural heritage. Oldenburg is called the “Village of the Spires” because of its churches and religious institutions. Drive along the “strasses” (streets), visit the Franciscan sisters’ farm, the church building, and eat at the local restaurants. Come back the third week of July and celebrate FreudenFest.

Outdoor Recreation

Food and Wine

General History

4 1 2

5

3

N

Base Map Image %om Google Maps !

Oldenburg 81


2

Immaculate Conception Convent The present motherhouse of the Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis was built in 1901 and the Chapel of the Immaculate Conception, next door, dates from 1891. Their Oldenburg Academy for girls was founded in 1885. Tours by appointment.

3

Directions 22143 Main Street

Continue winding south and west 1.0m on SR 229. The convent is on the right.

Directions 3027 Pearl Street

Head west on Main Street then turn right onto Pearl Street. Church is on the right.

4

Directions

Reverse direction. Go to the north end of Pearl Street.

Holy Family Church The parish was founded in 1837. This is the third structure to serve this parish, this beautiful brick church was constructed in 1861 with a steeple rising 187 feet above the surrounding valley.

Holy Family Cemetery/ Immaculate Conception Convent Cemetery The convent cemetery on the east side is distinguished by its rows of simple white stone crosses and fieldstone chapel. The parish cemetery on the west side is noted for its unusual iron grave markers.

5

Directions South Pearl Street Return from the Cemetery on Pearl Street to SR 229/Main Street. Continue 1/2 block, building and marker are on the right.

Oldenburg Town hall A historical marker in front of the town hall tells of many milestones in the town’s history. While platted in 1837, the town was incorporated in 1869. The cornerstone of the town hall was laid in 1878 on George Washington’s birthday, February 22.

!

82


Take a Bike Ride...The Vatican Ride Two bike trails (17 miles and 44 miles) give riders the opportunity to travel the rolling hills of Franklin County and visit four or seven beautiful Catholic churches, tracing the history of European immigration in the Whitewater Valley. Both trails begin in Oldenburg. Trail 1 showcases Oldenburg, Enochsburg, and Hamburg. Trail 2 sends bikers to churches in Oldenburg, St. Peter’s, Cedar Grove, Brookville, and two country churches. Click here for an online map of the two bike trails.

Batesville When the Indianapolis-Lawrenceburg railroad cut through northern Ripley County, the town of Batesville was born. The enormous stock of timber in the area attracted buyers and craftsmen, mostly Germans from Cincinnati, and they began Batesville’s primary industry of woodworking. Around 1900, there were six furniture factories, two coffin and casket plants, two sawmills, a door and sash company, and a novelty works. Today, Batesville is home to Hillenbrand Industries’ Batesville Casket Company, Hill-Rom (medical technologies), and Sherman House, a legendary Indiana restaurant since 1852.

Outdoor Recreation

CR

Recreation

22087 Pocket Road Batesville, IN 47006 (812) 934-6348 www.cricketridge.com

!

Food and Wine

General History

Lodging

Cricket Ridge Golf Course The 9-hole course features 2,789 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 35. Cricket Ridge Golf Course opened in 1990.

83


N

8

Batesville

6 7

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

6

Sherman House Restaurant and Inn One of the state’s oldest dining establishments, it has been a restaurant and lodging destination since 1852. Ideal for a weekend getaway, the Sherman House continues to be a crossroads meeting place for friends and families. 7

Continue south on SR 229, cross I-74 and continue 0.7m on Walnut Street/SR 229 to Boehringer Street, turn left, then right on Main Street. Two blocks on left.

Directions 3 West George Street

Go south on Main Street to end of block and PO is on the corner.

!

Directions 35 S. Main Street

Batesville Post Office Mural The mural, Building the Industrial Foundation of Batesvi*e, was painted by Orville Carroll in 1938 as part of the Public Works of Art Project during the Great Depression.

84


8

Directions 15 West George St.

To Historical Society, turn right onto George Street and go one block. Building is on the left.

EW

Culinary

3794 E. CR 1100 North Batesville, IN 47006 812-933-1500

Batesville Historic Downtown Take a drive through Batesville’s charming downtown. Stop at the Batesville Area Historical Society to learn more about the area’s German history and industrial heritage.

Ertel Cellars Winery A family winery, located on 200 acres in the rolling hillsides of Ripley County, began growing grapes in 1999 and then opened for itself in 2006. The winery produces seven varieties of grapes and its offerings include a tasting bar, lounge, restaurant and wine market.

Stagecoach Inn This Greek Revival brick home just east of the village of Morris provided food and lodging to weary travelers. It was also a safe house for travelers on the Underground Railroad. See the historical marker in the front yard. Private residence. IL

Recreation

13137 North Spades Road Sunman, IN 47041-9167 (812) 623-4653

!

9

Directions East SR 46, Morris

Return to intersection of SR 229 and SR 46. Turn east onto SR 46 and proceed 4.3m, through Morris, and the home is on the left.

Indian Lakes Golf Course The 9-hole course at the Indian Lakes in Sunman, Indiana features 3,051 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 36. Designed by Robert Renault, the Indian Lakes golf course opened in 1986. 85


10

Penntown Historic Marker Originally platted in 1837 as Pennsylvaniaburg and later changed to Penntown. A marker at one of the settlement’s churches tells the community’s history.

11

Off-the-Trail (north) 17440 St. Mary’s Road Batesvi*e

Turn left at SR 101, cross I-74 and then veer left onto St. Mary’s Road for 4.9m. The road becomes Sunman Road then St. Mary’s Road again to the church.

Off-the-trail (north)

Continue on St. Mary’s Road for 2.7m to its intersection with Castle Road. Marker is on the right. Continue 3.2m to Brookville or return to SR 46.

!

Penntown Continue east on SR 46 for 3.0m to SR 101. Turn right and go 0.1m then angle left onto CR 1300 N. Go to next intersection, church, cemetery and sign are on the northeast corner.

St. Mary-of-the-Rock Church Established in 1844 in this cradle of German Catholics, the church is one of the stops on the Vatican Ride bicycle route created by the Franklin County Convention, Recreation, and Visitors Commission.

SS Philomena and Cecilia Church Established in 1844, along with the tiny village of Oak Forest. This church is also a stop on Franklin County Tourism’s Vatican Bike Ride.

13

Off-the-trail (south)

12

Off-the-Trail (north) 16194 St. Mary’s Road Brookvi*e

Continue north on St. Mary’s Road as it winds 3.4 miles to the church.

Intersection of Treaty Lines Marker A historical marker denotes the intersection of boundary lines of two major treaties – Treaty of Greenville and the Treaty of Grouseland – between the U.S. Government and the Native American tribes leading further settlement in Indiana.

86


14

St. Leon Pole Raising Marker A historical marker marks the site and tells the story of the political “pole-raising” performed during every presidential election since 1892.

LF

Recreation

Directions

Continue on SR 46 from SR 101 to SR 1 (7.7m) turn left on SR 1 and go 0.5m to St. Leon.

Lobenstein’s Farm Home to one of Southeastern Indiana’s largest pumpkin festivals, the annual event is held the first three weekends in October and draws about 30,000 people. Visitors are able to pick their own pumpkins from the field, enjoy hayrides, craft booths, and a petting zoo. For more information, call 812-576-3177.

29703 Post Road St. Leon, IN 47032 (812) 576-3177 Learn more...

CV

Country View Golf Course The 18-hole course features 5,625 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72 . Designed by Terry Zimmer, the Country View golf course opened in 1999.

Recreation

7211 Hyland Rd Guilford, IN 47022-9709 (812) 576-5000

Almost finished... Continue north on SR 1 for 5.1m to its intersection with US 52. This completes the Oldenburg-Batesville Loop. You are now rejoining the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway’s Canal Route. From here you can turn left and return to Brookville or turn right and head south to Lawrenceburg.

!

87


DearbornRipley Loop Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway Loop 3 Starting in Lawrenceburg, this 47-mile loop shows off many homes built by the Valley’s early industrialists in their desire to work and live near the Ohio River. You’ll see early educational institutions and visit the town whose Indiana story became a national treasure in the movie Hoosiers. The circular trip concludes in Greendale in the shadows of the world’s largest whiskey distillery and the history of brewing in the Valley. Dearborn-Ripley Loop

!

88


Dearborn-Ripley Loop 10

12

9 VB 8 11

13

BO

14 7

6

PN HL

BF

Greendale Inset 5

MT SO

Aurora

Aurora Inset Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Overlooking a prominent bend in the Ohio River, Aurora was originally founded as Decatur by a Cincinnati businessman in 1804. A group of 20 men from the tri-state region purchased the land in 1819 and renamed it Aurora. Industry and river traffic have been the pillars of Aurora’s economy. The importance of river commerce is expressed in two unusual downtown street names—Importing and Exporting. In the 1850s, Thomas Gaff, an industrialist and civic leader, built Hillforest Mansion, a major visitors’ attraction.

Recreation !

Lodging Transportation Food History &Wine

General History 89


1

Aurora Post Office Mural The mural, Down to the Ferry, was painted by Henrik Martin Mayer in 1938 as part of the Public Works of Art Project during the Great Depression.

2

Directions 501 3rd Street

Take US 50 west 3.7m to SR 56/Importing Street and then take first right onto Bridgeway Street. Go two blocks and Post Office is on the corner.

First Presbyterian Church With a presence in Aurora prior to the 1826 construction of a Seminary (school), leading Presbyterians built the first stage of this church in 1850 and five years later added the the second floor sanctuary, bell tower, and four-faced clock which was the oďŹƒcial time-piece of the City of Aurora until 1981. St. Mary’s Catholic Church is across the street.

Directions 215 4th Street

Continue on Bridgeway Street to 4th Street. Turn left and go 3 blocks. Church is on the left.

Aurora Base Map Image %om Google Maps 1 2 3

AT

N

4 !

90


3

Directions 213 Fi-h Street

Turn right onto Judiciary Street and go one block to the Mansion.

AT

Recreation

Southern trailhead begins 0.8m south of 5th Street on SR 56.

Hillforest Mansion Local industrialist and steamboat owner Thomas Gaff constructed the home in 1855 and it remained in the family until 1926. The Italianate home is unique in its openness and its steamboat-like turret on the third floor providing a magnificent view of Aurora and the Ohio River. Open to public, admission charged.

The northern trailhead begins at Manchester Landing Street at US 50 and SR 48.

Aurora-Lawrenceburg Trail The 3.5 mile trail connects the two cities on the former New York Central railbed. The trail hugs the Ohio River and crosses refurbished bridges and encourages hikers and bikers to enjoy the history in these early Indiana communities. Public access.

Did you know? On the bank of the Ohio River in Aurora, opposite the Eagle Hotel, Pinkney James built the steamboat CLINTON 1823-24. The July 4, 1824, launching caused much celebration and firing of cannon. ~Dearborn County Sesquicentennial Committee

Veraestau When Jesse Holman combined the Latin words for spring, summer and fall to name his property Veraestau in 1810, he hoped winter would never touch his home. In a way, it never has. Set high above the Ohio River in Aurora, Indiana, the landmark home captures a long sweep of Indiana’s architectural history and exemplifies historic preservation. Today, Veraestau serves as Indiana Landmarks' Southeast Field Office, and is open each weekend April through December for tours and rentals. !

4

Off-the-trail

Go one block SE to Market Street, turn right and continue on Market Street/Dutch Hollow Road 0.7 m. Turn onto Glen Marry Road for 0.5m to Veraestau Lane.

91


Did you know? In a settlement called Cochran(e), on the western edge of Aurora, stood the early train works of the Ohio and Missisippi Railroad. The railyard served the trains moving freight and passengers from Cincinnati to St. Louis.

BF

Recreation

7096 State Route 48 Aurora, IN 47001 (812) 926-1807 Learn more...

Busse’s Farm The farm offers a wide variety of bedding plants for purchase, including 19 different varieties of tomatoes, peppers, zucchini, eggplant and herbs. In the fall, choose from approximately 2,500 pumpkins and 500 gourds, or pick from the farm's vast selection of mums. Open April through November.

Mt. Tabor Alpaca Farm This 89-acre farm located in the rolling hills of Dearborn County is home to a large herd of alpacas, gentle animals prized for the super-soft fiber. Enjoy a special behind-the-scenes tour of this scenic farm, where you will learn more about these magnificent animals and meet the farm’s other inhabitants, including goats, honeybees and horses. Advance reservations required.

MT

Recreation

9267 Mt. Tabor Rd. Aurora IN 47001 812-926-3732

A Bit of History...

Wilmington Salatin’s Orchard Started in 1984 as a hobby, it has since grown into a full-time business. Salatin's Orchard grows and sells 24 varieties of apples and produces its own cider. Apples that have fallen on the ground, however, are never used for cider or sold. Instead, the fallen apples are donated to the Red Wolf Sanctuary in Rising Sun to feed the bears that live there.

!

On September 26, 1836, Wilmington became the seat of justice for Dearborn County, moving from Lawrenceburg. It remained the county seat until April 1, 1844 when it returned to Lawrenceburg. SO

Recreation

10514 Chesterville Rd Moores Hill, IN 47032 (812) 744-3481

92


5

Directions

Return to US 50 at SR 56/SR 350. Head west on SR 350 for 10.7m to Main Street. Turn left and go 1.0m into town and to the landmark.

Carnegie Hall– Moores Hill Moores Hill College, a coeducational institution was founded in 1854. Its first building Moore Hall, (b. 1856) burned down in 1915. Carnegie Hall (b. 1908) remains on the site even though the college relocated in 1917 and became the University of Evansville. Tours by appointment only.

6

Directions

Stay on Main Street, turn right on Adams and then left onto Old SR

Hoosier Links Golf Course The decades old golf course nestled in the heart of the farmland of southeast Indiana features 7,404 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72. With four sets of tees the course fits everyone. For those up to a real challenge, try the Black Monster tees. HL

Recreation

488 N. Country Club Drive Milan, IN 47031-8311 (812) 654-2440 www.hoosierlinksgolf.com

!

350/Carr Street for 2.1m to Milan. Continue west on Carr Street one block

Milan-– Story behind the movie Hoosiers The story of the “Milan Miracle,” captured in the epic movie Hoosiers, the small town high school’s upset of mighty Muncie Central to win the 1954 Indiana High School Basketball Championship is still celebrated here on the town’s water tower. Visit the Milan ’54 Museum for memorabilia of the team’s historic run. Milan was a railroad town and had a large warehouse complex for the whiskey distillery in nearby Lawrenceburg. Donations accepted, check for hours.

to the Milan ’54 Museum.

A bit of history...

John Hunt Morgan Heritage Trail The Byway intersects the John Hunt Morgan Heritage Trail. In 1863, Confederate Brigadier General Morgan led 2,000 troops on an 18-day raid through southern Indiana and Ohio. The band swept through here in July. The raiders crossed the Ohio River south of Corydon, traveled north to Salem, then northeast toward Vernon, south to Dupont, then east and north into Versailles. From there they headed east-northeast toward Milan and Sunman, and then eastward across northern Dearborn County to West Harrison and across the Ohio state line into Harrison, Ohio.

93


7

Directions

From Milan proceed north on SR 101. Cross SR 350 and continue 0.9m to Old Milan. The marker is on the right at the intersection of SR 101 and Old Milan Road.

Morgan’s Raid Marker • Old Milan In 1924, the Ripley County Historical Society placed a series of stone markers along the Raid’s route through the county. Several markers are included in this guide.

Morgan’s Raid • St. Paul’s United Methodist Church Morgan’s raiders camped in St. Paul Cemetery, approximately 48 miles from their last camp. Morgan set up his headquarters in the Ferris School House on the southeast corner of the intersection, now a private residence.

8

Directions

8930 N State Road 101, Sunman Continue north of Milan 7.2m on on SR 101 to its intersection with Asche Road. The church is on the northwest corner.

9

Directions

121 South Meridian Street Continue north on SR 101 2.2m into the town of Sunman. The marker is just south of Classic Pizza on the right side of the street.

Did you know? The town of Sunman was established in 1856, three years after the Big Four Railroad placed a major crossing here. The railroads don’t stop in Sunman anymore and the town focuses on Interstate 74 for economic prosperity.

!

Civil War 83rd Indiana Voluntary Infantry • Sunman

A Ripley County historical marker tells of the sacrifices of Sunman’s young men serving in Company G of the 83rd Indiana. The well traveled group fought in several major battles, including General Sherman’s famous “March to the Sea.” 94


10

St. Paul’s Catholic Church • New Alsace Established in 1833 as a parish by the first bishop of Cincinnati, pioneers built a log church on the site of the current rectory. German Catholics built New Alsace around the church as the land resembled their homeland. A school offered classes in the log church in 1834. The present church was built in 1837 and the school in 1921. Morgan’s Confederate troops raced through here on their eastward flight.

Off-the-trail

From New Alsace, turn right onto Yorkridge Road and go 2.6m to Yorkville. Take a slight right

From downtown Sunman go east 0.8m on Eastern Avenue, jog right at County Line Road then left onto North Dearborn Road. Proceed east for 4.4m to New Alsace.

Recreation

Scenic Road This onto Burtzelbach Road. Proceed 2.9m winding to Bonnell Road. route travels through the (Easy Option) Turn same valley as the original Indianapolis left and wind along Bonnell Road 3.7m & Lawrenceburg Railroad. The road to Guilford and weaves under the overhead railroad and rejoin the Byway historic bridges span streams that crissLoop at S.R. 1. cross the route. The Adventure Option (Adventure Option) route (recommended for SUVs and a*-wheel Turn right onto drive vehicles) is a loop on partiallyBonnell Road 0.7m paved and gravel roads with steep hills. then turn left onto Some creeks will be forded so use Konradi Road. Take the rugged 3.5m extreme caution and avoid fast moving loop to Bonnell Road water. It’s a scenic drive, so it’s okay to and then head east turn around. Enjoy, but travel at your to S.R. 1 at Guilford. own risk. !

9798 N. Dearborn Road, Guilford

Very Berry Patch (seasonal) 9569 Yorkridge Road The Very Berry Patch offers Guilford IN 47022 a variety of items depending (812) 623-1433 on season, including berries, pumpkins, gourds and mums. Business hours at The Very Berry Patch vary according to Learn more... season, so you may wish to call before visiting.

VB

11

Directions

St. John the Baptist Catholic Church

Established in 1824, it is the second oldest Roman Catholic Church in Indiana. The original log meeting house was replaced by a framed structure in 1842. The first brick church was built in 1847 and the present building was dedicated October 19, 1879. 12

Off-the-trail 25743 State Route 1, Dover Continue east on North Dearborn Road 3.3 miles to SR 1 at Dover. Turn left and go north 0.3m to the church on the left.

95


13

Directions

Turn around and go south on SR 1 for 5.0m to East Fork Road and turn right. Go 0.1m to the church and cemetery on the right.

14

Directions SR 1 & Main Street

Continue on East Fork Road 0.2m and merge onto SR 1 then 1.2m to Guilford. Turn right onto Main Street, then left to the bridge.

Stone Chapel Erected in 1821, the early Methodist Church served a congregation for more than 125 years. The church building and cemetery are maintained by a local endowment fund.

Guilford Covered Bridge Built in 1879 over Tanners Creek, by Archibald M. Kennedy & Sons of Rushville, prominent bridge builders. The 103-foot bridge is open to traďŹƒc. It was relocated to the park in 1960 and was rehabilitated in 1997. Public access. PN

Recreation

19074 Perfect Lane Lawrenceburg, IN 47025-8266 (812) 537-3754 www.perfectnorth.com

Beiersdorfer Orchard Beiersdorfer Orchard is a family-owned business operating in Southeastern Indiana. While specializing in apples and apple cider, we have a wide selection of mouthwatering fruits such as peaches, pears, plums, etc. to meet your needs. Open year-round.

!

BO Recreation

Perfect North Slopes If it's winter action you crave, then head for Perfect North Slopes. Here you can ski down family-friendly trails, snowboard on heart pounding double black-diamonds, or slide down a 750-foot tubing run. Whatever your course of adventure, you can count on one thing at Perfect North Slopes: plenty of snowy fun. With twenty picturesque trails and open slopes, skiers of all abilities will love. For those that love sled riding, go for a slide on the snow tubing hill. With multiple lanes to choose from and a surface lift to get you back to the top, this is the perfect family activity.

21874 Kuebel Rd. Guilford, IN 47022 (812)487-2695 www.beiersdorferorchard.com

96


Greendale Greendale was laid out in 1852, but not recorded until 1883. North and west from the city of Lawrenceburg, the town of Greendale lies along an extended gravel ridge. It overlooks the broad valley of the Great Miami and has a fine view of the surrounding hills, the Kentucky hills just across the Ohio, Fort Hill and the range of beautifully rounded elevations on the farther side of the Miami, reaching to the bold promontory that juts out overlooking the confluence of the Miami and the Whitewater Rivers. To the west overlooking the town, standing some three or four hundred feet above it, is the long range of hills that are led up to by the old state road, that has had such history to recount of the early pioneer days when it was a thoroughfare and along which the men and women who peopled the country to the west took their way.

Recreation

Directions

15

Continue 4.9m south on SR 1 to Nowlin Avenue. Turn right and go 1.2m to cemetery.

Lodging Transportation Food History &Wine

Greendale Cemetery Situated on land given to Col. Zebulon Pike in 1803 for payment of his Revolutionary War service. A memorial at the entrance shares the story. Also, George Dunn, president of Lawrenceburg & Indianapolis RR, is buried here with a carved train as his headstone.

Lawrenceburg & Indianapolis RR marker A marker notes the route of the railroad, the state’s first chartered rail company. It was completed in 1853 largely due to eorts of George Dunn. Later that year, the name was changed to the Indianapolis & Cincinnati RR.

!

General History

16

Directions

Continue 0.6m south on Nowlin Avenue to intersection with Probasco Street. Marker is on SW corner.

97


10

____ DearbornRipley Loop (Loop 3) ____ Canal Route

15

17

N 16

18

GT CR

Greendale

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

*Note - SR 1 no longer fo*ows Ridge Avenue through Greendale but ends at I-275

Greendale Historic District Many beautiful homes were built along Greendale’s Ridge Avenue by prominent distillers, industrialists, and other businessmen. One of them, William H. Probasco, president of the People’s National Bank, built this home in 1868. Private residence.

!

17

Directions

Continue east on Probasco Street 4 blocks to Ridge Avenue on the corner. Turn south on Ridge Avenue and go 0.2m to Cook House.

98


Lawrenceburg Distillers Founded as the Rossville Union Distillery in 1847, purchased in 1933 by Jos. Seagrams & Sons and built into the world’s largest distillery capable of producing 85,000 gallons of alcohol per day. Currently owned by MPG Ingredients Inc. producing whiskeys, gins, and neutral grain spirits. Not open to the public.

18

Directions

Continue south 0.1m on Ridge Avenue to Distillery entrance.

The “Spirits” of the Whitewater Valley The Whitewater valley has a rich heritage in distilling, especially whiskey. With its readily available grain and access to river and canal markets, the businesses sprang forth from immigrants bringing the trade from Europe. At one time, Lawrenceburg was called “Whiskey City USA.” The first commercial venture, Dunn and Ludlow Distillery, began in Lawrenceburg in 1807, nine years prior to Indiana’s statehood. John B. Garnier, an immigrant from France, established J. B. Garnier Malt House & Brewery in 1840 and it continued until 1916. In 1896, Garnier's son-in-law, Victor Oberting took over the business. Thomas and James Gaff of Aurora had three different distilling endeavors—T. & J.W. Gaff & Co (1846-?), Aurora Brewing and Malting Company (1871-73), and Crescent Brewing Company (1873–1899). Gaff also got into shipping and moved spirits up and down the Ohio River. The Squibb family built a distillery called Old Quaker in Lawrenceburg in 1846 and sold under the names Chimney Corner, Old Dearborn, Rock Castle, and Gold Leaf Rye. Just before prohibition ended Schenley bought the plant and several others and rolled them into a new conglomerate. Schenley closed the plant in the 1980s. During the valley’s settlement many other individuals built distilleries and breweries. There were at least four operations in or near Brookville, six in northern Dearborn County, two in Metamora, one in Oldenburg, and five in Batesville.

End of the Loop Continue 0.5m south on Ridge Avenue in Greendale/Main Street in Lawrenceburg to US 50 and the Dearborn-Ripley Loop’s end.

!

99


Presidential Pathways Scenic Byway

A state scenic byway that traces the lives of two U.S. presidents from southwestern Ohio – William Henry Harrison (9th President) and his grandson, Benjamin Harrison (23rd President). The elder Harrison is buried in Cleves, Ohio. The 47-mile byway extends from the Ohio River area to Hueston Woods State Park north of beautiful Oxford, Ohio. Oxford is also home to Miami University, known as a “public ivy” in academic circles. Considered a sister byway to the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway, the two connect in West Harrison/Harrison just as two canals did nearly 170 years ago.

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

!

100


From Elizabethtown to New Haven

Make the Connection From the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway in Lawrenceburg, head east on US 50 a short distance to Elizabethtown, Ohio and begin the trip from there.

9 CH

10

8

1

Continue east on US 50 for 1.1m to Elizabethtown.

MW

Elizabethtown, Ohio An early stopover for drovers taking their livestock to market in Cincinnati. Once home to several businesses. Today, the American Discovery Trail, the only coast-tocoast, non-motorized recreational trail, splits here with the Northern Midwest Route heading to Oxford and into Indiana near Richmond on its way to Lake Michigan. The Southern Midwest Route heads west to Lawrenceburg then traces the Ohio River downstream across Indiana.

GA

6

1

4

7

5

3

2

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Shawnee Lookout Park With over 1,100 acres, tucked between the Great Miami River and the Ohio River, the park has wonderful natural areas, three trails, great fishing, and an 18-hole golf course. The park includes an archaeological center showcasing the Hopewell and Shawnee cultures. The area is thought to be the oldest continuously occupied Native American hilltop settlement in the nation. 2

!

Directions

Directions 2008 Lawrenceburg Rd.

Turn right onto Lawrenceburg Road, cross the Great Miami River and continue right to the park entrance, 2.3m.

101


President William Henry Harrison Tomb Harrison's tomb and monument on Mt. Nebo in North Bend contains the remains of William Henry Harrison, ninth president of the United States. An obelisk of Bedford limestone, with a marble entranceway, rises 60 feet above the tomb. From the terrace, visitors have a spectacular panorama of the Ohio River valley. Open to the public. 3

Directions

Take Lawrenceburg Road back toward Elizabethtown 0.6m to Dugan’s Gap Road. Turn right, then road becomes Cliff Road, go 3.3m to the park.

Congress Green Cemetery Early pioneer families, including the Symmes, Harrisons and Eatons are buried here. The tombstones give clues to the history of this area. Please be respectful of these founders who envisioned so much and worked so hard in the early years of the state.

4

Extending 1,780 feet, the tunnel had one entrance in Cleves, the other in North Bend. It was 24 feet in diameter with a water depth of about four feet. Almost as soon as the tunnel was complete the canal’s days were numbered. The canal closed in 1856 and the railroad utilized the tunnel until 1884.

Directions

Across Cliff Road from Harrison’s Tomb.

Directions 300 South Miami Avenue

Cincinnati-Whitewater Canal Tunnel This Ohio canal was built in the 1830-40s to connect to Indiana’s Whitewater Canal. Rather than build a system of locks to move the canal boats up and over the hill separating North Bend and Cleves, a canal tunnel was built, one of only twelve canal tunnels built in the U.S.

5

Go south from the Park and turn left on Brower Road. Proceed 0.2m across US 50 to Miami Avenue. Turn left and go north 0.5m. Pass the school and Ridge Avenue on the

The tunnel was abandoned and sat in relative obscurity for over 100 years. The construction of US 50 took the North Bend end of the tunnel. The Cleves entrance and a portion of the tunnel remain although the tunnel has become almost completely filled with silt over the years. There are continuing efforts to preserve and restore the tunnel, now one of only four in existence.

right and two parking spots are on the left, then walk to the tunnel.

!

102


Harrison-Symmes Museum This building is one of two left in Hamilton County that served as a Grand Army of the Republic hall. The GAR built the building after the Civil War and later deeded it to the township. It now serves as a museum for local artifacts. The building is named for President William Henry Harrison and John Cleves Symmes, a Northwest Territory pioneer who help in the founding of Cleves and North Bend. Open Sunday a-ernoons.

A Bit of History...

Suspension Bridge Road Originally the site of Calloway’s Ford, a suspension bridge was built over the Whitewater River in 1869 connecting Cincinnati to Indiana. It was the only bridge that remained standing on the Whitewater and Great Miami Rivers locally after the 1913 flood. It was replaced by a steel truss bridge in 1920 and again with the current bridge in 1984. The river crossing is next to Green Acres Canoe Rental. Stop by and learn more history about the bridges.

!

6

Directions 112 South Miami Avenue, Cleves Continue north on S. Miami Avenue 0.2m and building is on the right.

7

Directions 25 East State Road

Continue north on S. Miami Avenue 0.1m to State Road (Ohio Route 264). Turn right and and go 300 feet to church on the right. Take US 50 west 1.8m to Kilby Road, turn right and proceed north. Visit Green Acres Canoe Rental to learn more about the historic suspension bridge that once spanned the Whitewater River.

Cleves Presbyterian Church The church was organized in 1830 and ground was given by William Henry Harrison. The original log church was used for twenty years until the present structure was built. Future president Benjamin Harrison was baptized here. The church contains several Harrison family items.

Green Acres Canoe and Kayak Rentals On the site of the former Long Island Beach Amusement GA Recreation Park, people now venture into the Whitewater River for 10465 Suspension Bridge canoeing, kayaking, tubing, and Road Harrison, OH 45030 rafting. Also on site are picnic (513) 353-4770 areas and a miniature golf www.greenacrescanoe.com course. Choose between 3-mile and 8-mile trips.

103


West HarrisonHarrison Canal Junction A two-sided marker shows the location of the junction of the Whitewater Canal and the Cincinnati and Whitewater Canal improving the connectivity between Indiana and the important Cincinnati markets.

8

Directions

Proceed north on Kilby Road past Suspension Bridge Road for 3.7m to Campbell Road. Turn left and go 2.3m to its intersection with South State Street. The marker is at the NW corner of the intersection.

Harrison, OH West Harrison, IN Settlers arrived in the Harrison area in the early 1800s. Most were Revolutionary War veterans or others lured by the promises of abundant forested land located within the network of navigable rivers flowing to the Ohio. Othneil Looker, a leading citizen, built a home of lumber in 1804 and set about providing instruction in reading and writing to his fellow settlers. He eventually served as the fifth governor of Ohio in 1814. By 1810, the four blocks of the original town centering on the intersection of Market (now Harrison Ave.) and Walnut Streets were platted. The town has been called Harrison since 1814, in honor of General William Henry Harrison (later president), a resident of nearby North Bend. The electric railway came from Cincinnati through Anderson's Ferry, cutting o at Valley Junction and coming up the Whitewater Valley along Kilby and Campbell Roads into Harrison. The main line went to Lawrenceburg and Aurora. The Harrison terminal was at the corner of Harrison Avenue and State Street. The first car came into town July 4, 1900, and the last went out November 30, 1930. Located on a main route, Harrison Pike was the earliest road, followed by US 52, and today’s Interstate 74 connecting Cincinnati and Indianapolis.

Outdoor Transportation Food and Recreation History Wine !

General History

Lodging

104


A bit of history... John Hunt

Morgan Heritage Trail

9

Directions 10580 Marvin Road Continue north on State Street 0.7m, turn right onto Harrison Avenue. Proceed 4 blocks, turn left onto Hill Street/New Biddinger Road and cross over I-74 and turn

Governor Othniel Looker House Gov. Looker was the 5th Governor of Ohio (1814) after serving in the Ohio House of Representatives and the Ohio Senate. He served with Gen. George Washington during the Revolutionary War. He built the first milled lumber dwelling in Harrison. Private home, group tours by appointment.

right onto Marvin Road and go 0.7m to home.

The Byway intersects the John Hunt Morgan Heritage Trail. In 1863, Confederate Brigadier General Morgan led 2,000 troops on an 18-day raid through southern Indiana and Ohio. The band swept through here in July. To slow down the pursuing Union soldiers, they took horses and other loot and burned wooden bridges, including the one over the Whitewater River. They were eventually captured in northeastern Ohio. The trail follows their infamous raid. See the historical marker at the corner of Harrison Avenue and State Street.

Did you know? Benjamin Harrison, 23rd President of the U.S., was born in North Bend, Ohio and moved to Indianapolis to begin his law career at age 21. Before becoming president in 1889, he was a Union Army brigadier general during the Civil War and a U.S. senator from Indiana. He is Indiana’s only president and the only grandson of another president.

!

CH

Circling Hills Golf Course The 18-hole course features 6,350 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 70. Designed by Greg Guinen, the Circling Hills golf course opened in 1994.

Recreation 10240 Carolina Trace Rd Harrison, OH Â 45030-1604 (513) 367-5858 http://www.circlinghills.com

105


Miami-Whitewater Forest This massive park offers 4,022 acres that include an 18-hole golf course, three nature trails, campgrounds, an 85-acre fishing lake, a soccer complex, a water park for kids, and Shaker Trace Trail, a 7.8-mile loop. The park is restoring 700 acres of wetlands and prairies. Open to the public.

10

Continue on Marvin Road 0.5m to Carolina Trace Road. Turn right and go 1.4m to New Haven Road. Turn left, go 2.1m to Mt. Hope Road. Turn right and go 0.7m to park entrance.

Shaker Trace Trail Located in the Miami-Whitewater Forest, the trail has two loops – a short 1.2 mile inner loop and the extended 7.8 mile outer loop. Both begin and end at the Harbor. The entire trail is paved and gently graded with distances marked along the trail at every .2 miles. Along the way, see restored wetlands and prairie, as well as creek beds and farmland.

MiamiWhitewater Forest Golf Course The 18-hole course Recreation MW features 6,780 yards of golf from 8801 Mount Hope Rd the longest tees for a par of 71. Harrison, OH 45030-9223 Designed by Hamilton County Park (513) 367-4627 http://www.greatparks.org District, the Miami-Whitewater golf course opened in 1962.

Did You Know? William Henry Harrison, who became the Ninth President of the United States, served only 32 days as president before succumbing to pneumonia. He had homes in Vincennes, Indiana (the capital of the Northwest Territory, Louisiana Territory, and the Indiana Territory) and North Bend, Ohio.

!

Directions 9001 Mount Hope Road

Directions New Haven

11

Retrace route from Mount Hope Road to New Haven Road. Turn right, go to New Haven. Turn left onto Oxford Street and take an immediate left onto Baughman Road and cabin is behind the Fire Station.

Passmore Cabin As one of the earliest Crosby Township symbols, this log structure is believed to be the first cabin built in the village of New Haven. The cabin stood on Lot 29 on the northeast corner of Willey Road and Passmore Street. The original cabin was 16 x 18 ½ feet. Room additions had been added to the north and east sides. The cabin is owned by the Crosby Township Historical Society and was reassembled on this site in 2002. Tours by appointment only. 106


From New Haven to Reily Base Map Image %om Google Maps

White Water Shaker Village The White Water Shaker Village was established in 1824 by the United Society of Believers in Christ's Second Appearing, generally called "Shakers." It is the only one of four Ohio Shaker villages retaining most of its original buildings in their original settings. The village contains 22 buildings, including at least two “family� houses with women living on one side and men on the other side of the house. Tours by appointment only. 12

14

13

12

Directions 11813 Oxford Road

11

Return to Oxford Road, turn left and go 2.2m to Village on the left.

13

Directions Okeana, Ohio

Continue north on Oxford Rd/ Race Lane Road 3.1m to Ohio 126 (Cincinnati-Brookville Rd). Turn left onto highway and go 0.4m and take a slight left onto Okeana-Drewersburg Road. Building is on the left.

!

Morgan Township Hall Built in 1858 for township meetings, it was used as a school. Disenchanted with President Lincoln and the ongoing Civil War, the first Copperhead Society was organized in Butler County in 1863, using the hall for its meeting place. The building houses a small museum and a historical marker tells about the turbulent times.

107


14

Governor Bebb Preserve This preserve appeals to nature lovers, history buffs, and outdoor recreation enthusiasts. The park takes its name from William Bebb, 19th Governor of Ohio, whose 1799 birthplace cabin and boyhood home is the centerpiece of the Pioneer Village. Public access.

15

Directions

Return to Ohio 126 and turn right, go 0.7m to California Road and turn left. Proceed 1.1m to Ohio 129 (HamiltonScipio Road), turn right. Go 1.8m east to Sample Road/ Ohio 732 turn left. Go 2.9m to town.

Continue through Okeana to Church Street and turn right, then left onto Ohio 126W. Continue west 3.4m to Bebb Park Lane, turn left and follow entrance signs.

Reily – Smalltown Ohio

Revolutionary War artist John Ward Dunsmore, painted the most famous depictions of Revolutionary War heroes including Betsy Ross making the first US flag. The Reily Historical Museum stands at the corner of Main Street and SR 732 across the street from the Indian Creek Tavern.

Indian Creek Pioneer Church Indian Creek Pioneer Church was built in 1829 and was restored in 1960. The adjoining cemetery, which dates back to 1810, is reputedly the first land sold in Butler County for public burial. It is the site of the Annual Salute to the Pioneers hosted by the Restoration Committee. Continue on Indian Creek Road to the Unitarian Universalist Cemetery. Park admission charged. 16

Directions

Directions

Did you know? Ohio and Indiana shared the same fervor for transportation systems. Ohio constructed a 1000-mile canal network between 1825 and 1847. By World War I, the state’s interurban electric rail network had nearly 2,800 miles of track connecting the state’s cities, towns, and rural communities.

1899 Oxford-Reily Road Continue north on Ohio 732 for 0.3m and church is on the left.

!

108


Oxford In 1803, a college township was set aside in the almost uninhabited woodlands of northwestern Butler County. In 1810, a year after Miami University was chartered, the Village of Oxford was laid out and the first lots were sold. In the following year the first school was built and by 1830, with a population of over 700, the Village of Oxford was incorporated. A charter form of government was adopted in 1960 and a decade later population growth had turned the village into a full-fledged city. The original boundaries of the city consisted of the Mile Square. A number of annexations during recent decades increased the size, resulting in the city currently consisting of approximately six square miles. Miami University was founded in 1809, and has about 14,000 undergraduate students today. Miami University is the second oldest liberal arts educational institution in Ohio. Miami University is well known for development of the McGuffey Readers by W.H. McGuffey, that began publication in 1836. The six readers were based on landmarks of world literature that had good basic values. The readers were used over one hundred years in United States schools. The McGuffey Museum is on the Miami University campus located on the corner of Oak and Springs Streets.

Outdoor Transportation Food and Recreation History Wine

General History

Lodging

Oxford Visitors & Convention Bureau Stop by and learn more about this vibrant city and Miami University. From music in the park to historic homes to the birthplace of Caroline Scott Harrison, Oxford has something for everyone in the family.

!

17

Directions 30 West Park Place

Continue north on Ohio 732 for 6.1m and wind into Oxford. Just past the intersection with High Street/US 27 on the left.

109


From Reily to Hueston Woods

23 HW 22

Oxford Inset 24

IR 16 15

Oxford Community Arts Center The original portion of this building housed the Oxford Female Institute, a post-secondary school for women. The Institute eventually became part of Miami University. Today, the beautiful building is a centerpiece for community art exhibits, classes, and performance events. 18

Directions 10 S. Co*ege Avenue

Return to High Street and turn right. Go two blocks west to College Avenue, turn right and Center is on the left.

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

Miami University The foundations for Miami University were first laid by an Act of Congress signed by President George Washington, stating that an academy should be located Northwest of the Ohio River in the Miami Valley. Founded in 1809, it is the 1oth oldest public university in the nation and second oldest in Ohio. Five museums and the Freedom Summer Memorial are open to the public.

19

Directions 501 East High Street

Return to High Street and go 8 blocks east, across the downtown, to the campus.

!

110


21

17 18

19

20

N

Oxford, Ohio

DeWitt Log Cabin The log house of Zachariah Price DeWitt is now the oldest remaining structure in Oxford Township, built before Oxford Township, the town of Oxford, or Miami University even existed. It stands on the east bank of Four-Mile Creek about three hundred yards north of Route 73. Located on university land, the structure is leased to the Oxford Museum Association, which restored this rare example of early 19th-century log construction. Open Sundays a-ernoons during summer.

!

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

20

O-the-Trail 4824 Oxford Trenton Road

Continue east on High Street/US 27 and then turn left onto Ohio 73/Oxford Trenton Road. Proceed 1.0m and cross the river, farm is on the left.

111


Did you know?

Indian Ridge Golf Course The 18-hole course features 7,001 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72. Designed by Brian Huntley, ASGCA, the Indian Ridge golf course opened in 1999.

IR

Recreation

2600 Oxford Millville Road Oxford, OH 45056 (513) 524-4653 www.golfindianridge.com

22

Off-the-trail

Backtrack 0.1m to Kelly Drive. Turn right and go 0.3m to Brown Road. Turn right and go 3.3m to farm museum on the right side.

!

Caroline Scott, later Mrs. Benjamin Harrison, was one of the Ohio Female Institute’s first graduates. As First Lady, Mrs. Harrison had electricity installed throughout the White House, established the China Room to show off past Presidential China, and helped design the now famous West Wing. She was also the first President General of the Daughters of the American Revolution.

Doty Pioneer Farmhouse This property was purchased from an early pioneer by Samuel Doty in 1844. Soon the neighborhood became known as the Doty Community and included a school, other farm houses, and the Campbellite Church and cemetery located just south of the house on the west side of Brown Road. The Pioneer Farm and House Museum, now part of Hueston Woods State Park, is open to the public. For tour information.

Black Covered Bridge One of the few remaining covered bridges in southwestern Ohio and the only one in Butler County on its original site, this bridge was built in 1868-1869 to give access to a saw and grist mill owned by James B. Pugh on Four Mile (Tallawanda) Creek. One of the longest and most impressive of Ohio’s covered bridges, it is unique for its combination of two truss types—Childs and Long— within a single structure. Public Access 21

Directions

From downtown Oxford, go north on Ohio 732/Main Street 0.7m to Corso Road on left. Turn left and drive to bridge.

112


23

Directions

From Black Covered Bridge continue north on Ohio 732 4.0m to the park entrance.

Hueston Woods State Park After serving with General Anthony Wayne in the Indian Wars, Matthew Hueston bought land in 1797 and set aside the woods for his descendants. Now a state park with 3,596 acres, including a man-made lake of 625 acres, 12 miles of trails, a 96-room lodge, and an 18-hole golf course. HW

Recreation

6962 Brown Road Oxford, OH 45056-9793 (513) 523-8081

Hueston Woods State Park Golf Course The 18-hole course features 7,005 yards of golf from the longest tees for a par of 72. Designed by Jack Kidwell, ASGCA, the Hueston Woods Golf Course opened in 1969.

Miami & Erie Canal Side Trip Just east of the byway, the 300-mile canal connecting Toledo, Ohio and Cincinnati was completed in 1845. Visit Middletown or Hamilton to take in the M&E Canal Trails along the Great Miami River. Or stop and see Middletown’s murals about the canal’s history.

24

Off-the-Trail Head east from Oxford on Ohio 73. Take Ohio 177 southeast to Hamilton (15m) or stay on Ohio 73 to Middletown (20m).

!

The End of the Byway Presidential Pathways Scenic Byway officially ends in Hueston Woods State Park. We encourage you to explore other routes throughout the Whitewater River Valley.

113


Historic Michigan Road

Indiana’s First State Highway

An extended route into the far western reaches of the region, this 107-mile journey takes you on US 50, an early coast-tocoast highway and then off onto the winding Chief White Eye Valley Trail all before arriving at the Historic Michigan Road. The state’s early leaders decided to build a north-south road to complement the east-west National Road. The 270-mile Michigan Road begins in Madison then heads to Greensburg before turning northwest toward Indianapolis and onto Michigan City. Over the years, highways have altered its original route, so take this trip and travel the early route or stay on US 421 to Versailles and Osgood then rejoin the road in Napoleon. Base Map Image %om Google Maps

!

114


Getting to The Historic Michigan Road

Take US 50 west to Dillsboro and then onto SR 262 then right onto SR 62. Take this scenic highway 27.7m to its split with SR 250. Take SR 250 2.3m to Michigan Road.

Base Map Image %om Google Maps 3 2

4

1

____ MichiganRoad - - - - US 421 Route

•••• Byway-Michigan Road . . Connector

Big Oaks Wildlife Refuge The 50,000-acre refuge, the largest in Indiana, includes parts of three counties. as In its original use as the Jefferson Proving Ground from the 1940s to 1995, it served as a munitions testing facility for the US military. The Indiana Air National Guard still uses 1,000 acres at the site. The wildlife refuge property is available for hunting, fishing, wildlife observation, and photography. Admission charged.

1

Directions

Turn left (s) on US 421 and go 0.3m to Big Oaks entrance. Follow brown visitors signs to the Park Office.

Two ways to go... From Big Oaks, go north on US 421 6.3m to its intersection with South Old Michigan Road. The original road runs north to Napoleon. An alternate route goes off-the-trail and follows US 421 into Versailles and onto Osgood before reconnecting with Michigan Road in Napoleon. !

115


Directions 2 From US 421 proceed north 6.0m on Old Michigan Road through New Marion and the pillar is on the right side of the road.

Directions

3

Continue north on Old Michigan Road for 4.5m to intersection with US 50. Marker is on southeast corner.

Michigan Road Historic Marker Begun in 1832, as Indiana’s north-south complement to the National Road, it ran from Madison to Michigan City and opened up central and northern Indiana to future settlement.

Continue north on Old Michigan Road for 9.2m to Napoleon.

4

First Ripley County Circuit Court This stone pillar marks the site of the county’s first court was convened in 1818 at Benjamin Brown’s house. This stone pillar was placed by the Ripley County Historical Society in 1922. A county historical marker in located in New Marion.

US 421 Route

From the US 421 intersection with Old Michigan Road, proceed north on US 421 7.0m to the village of Correct. the

US Coast & Geodetic Survey Marker A national survey initiated by President Jefferson, placed markers throughout the country creating a national coordinate system to assist in communication, transportation, mapping, and scientific applications.

Pine Hills Golf Course The 9-hole course near Holton, Indiana features all the hallmarks of Indiana golf. Designed by Robert Kimball, the Pine Hills golf course opened in 1991.

PH Recreation 3206 W US Highway 50 Holton, IN 47023-9206 United States P: (812) 689-3533 http://www.pinehillsholton.com

marker is on the southeast corner of the CR 450 S crossroads.

!

116


Versailles Laid out in 1818, it was named for the famous French city and its palace. It sits at the intersection of the east-west Cincinnati-St. Louis highway (U.S. 50) and the north-south Michigan Road (U.S. 421). Morgan’s confederate troops sped through here on its famous Civil War raid. Visit Versailles State Park, drive by Tyson Auditorium and learn of the Tyson family ties to Walgreen’s Drug Stores.

Outdoor Transportation Food and Wine Recreation History

9

General History

Lodging

7 10 8

5

6

Versailles

!

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

117


6

5

US 421 Route 1387 E US Highway 50 Versai*es Turn right on US 50 and go east 6.7m to the Park entrance.

Versailles State Park Take a drive through the beautiful rolling hills of southeastern Indiana to Indiana’s second-largest state park. Morgan’s Raiders made its Civil War journey through these lands. You can hike, ride horseback, or enjoy its mountain bike trails. Or, just laze around the 230-acre lake created by the Civilian Conservation Corps during the Great Depression. Visit the Busching Covered Bridge over Laughery Creek. Admission charged.

Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Memorial At the entrance to Versailles State Park is a memorial honoring the young men of the CCC from 1933 to 1942. The National Park Service purchased the land and hired the CCC to convert it into a Recreational Demonstration Area. The CCC built roads, bridges, buildings, planted trees and more. The property joined the state park system in 1943.

Did you know? Ripley County Courthouse Constructed during the Civil War, a remodeled twice, the building’s clock tower was a memorial to local leader Charles Grether. The courthouse lawn has several markers explaining the town’s occupation by General John Morgan and his Confederate Raiders in July, 1863. 7

The National Muzzle Loading Rifle Association hosts its annual Spring National in June and the National Championship in September in Friendship, Indiana just south of Versailles. Shooters from around the world compete in muzzleloading rifle, pistol, shotgun, musket, bench and slug guns, as well as tomahawk and knife throwing.

US 421 Route 115 N Main St

Return to Versailles on US 50. Turn right onto Main Street and go the courthouse square.

!

118


8

Underground RR Trails Spend a day,or two, traveling the countryside and learning about the history of the Underground Railroad through Ripley County. Five driving tours are outlined in a free booklet that you can follow, mile by mile. 9

US 421 Route

Go south on Main Street 1 block to Tyson Street, turn right (west) and go 2 blocks to the church on the right. For other structures, visit the tourism office.

Did you know? Infamous Confederate General John Hunt Morgan was a Freemason. During his raid through Versailles, Indiana, his troops stole several officers’ jewels items from the Masonic Lodge. Morgan required his men to return the property. A historic marker on the courthouse square gives more details.

!

US 421 Route

Information is available at the Ripley County Tourism Bureau and Ripley County Historical Society, both on the Courthouse Square in Versailles.

Downtown Versailles – Tyson Legacy “Uncle Jim” Tyson, born in Versailles, was a co-founder of Walgreen’s drug stores chain and he gifted the town with a large block of stock. He endowed the Methodist Church, library, the waterworks, the gymnasium/ auditorium, and a school, all with a distinctive architectural style that sets them apart from comparable towns.

10

US 421 Route

Reverse direction on Tyson Street and take it back to its intersection with Main Street. It’s on the southeast corner of the Courthouse square.

Historic Yellow Dog Tavern Built circa 1820, two years after the town was founded. Locally-made, wood-mold bricks were used to create its 12" thick support walls. The two-story building has always served as a hotel and tavern (rest stop) for travelers and local folks alike. Today, it operates as a local restaurant. 119


From Versailles to Napoleon 16 15 14

13 12 11

____ MichiganRoad

Versai*es Inset

- - - - US 421 Route

PH 3

Base Map Image %om Google Maps

By Hoosier Hands Indiana Artisan Trail Self-directed art trails through the rolling hills and river towns in seven counties in southeastern Indiana. Choose between the Clis and Valley Trail, Canal and Rivers Trail, Towers and Spires Trail, and Forests and Farms Trail.

!

120


US 421 Route Osgood North of Versailles on the Michigan Road, Osgood gained favor when the Ohio and Mississippi Railroad cut an eastwest route through the town. Don’t miss Damm Theatre and other landmarks.

11

US 421 Route

From US 421 turn left at Ripley Street, pass the library turn right at Walnut Street. The marker is just south of the RR tracks.

Return to US 50 and go west to US 421 North and proceed 4.2m into Osgood.

Ohio and Mississippi RR Marker Completed from Cincinnati to St. Louis in 1857, The railroad was supported locally by the town and was home to a depot, freight house, engine house, turntable, stock pens and sidings. The marker tells more. 12

King Steam Car Origins

In 1897, Henry King, owner of the Osgood Foundry and Machine Shop, and his assistant built the King Steam Car featuring rear drum brakes and pinion steering. King’s home with the mansard roof still stands and a historical marker in the yard tells more. Private residence. US 421 Route

13

117 North Buckeye Street Retrace route to US 421 and turn left (north) and go one-half block. Theatre on the left, Damm Building on right.

!

US 421 Route

Cross the tracks, turn left onto Railroad Avenue. Go two blocks then turn right onto Sycamore Street. House is in the first block on the left.

Damm Building & Damm Theatre Louis Damm Building - Originally a bakery, the family opened a movie theatre in 1914. The 400-seat Damm Theatre was built across the street in 1921 and still operates today.

121


Town of Napoleon

Platted in 1820, Napoleon became a key stop on an early stagecoach route connecting Cincinnati to Indianapolis. There are several historic buildings including an old flour mill, an early bank building and brick homes.

Ye Olde Central House

14

A local preservation group seeks to preserve, maintain and operate the building for performing arts and arts education in the region. The 1838 Federal style structure once served as the Drover’s Inn and tavern on an early stagecoach route.

15

Directions

Railroad House Hotel

8961 N Us 421, Napoleon

A marker on the side of the presentday restaurant, Bonaparte’s Retreat, tells of this building’s significance to the Underground Railroad and of the town’s role of hosting the Free Soil Party convention in 1851.

Continue north on US 421 for 5.7m to Napoleon. The building is located on the left side of US 421 just north of Main Street/ SR 229.

Berry Trace Historic Marker An early pioneer road that started in Napoleon and ran west to the Flat Rock River north into central Indiana. Napoleon is the last stop on the Michigan Road before it turns toward Greensburg and Indianapolis.

16

Directions Corner of US 421 and Wilson Street, Napoleon Proceed one block north and the marker is on the northeast corner.

!

Directions 8961 N Us 421, Napoleon

Continue north on US 421 for 5.7m to Napoleon. The building is located on the left side of US 421 just north of Main Street/ SR 229.

Back to the Byway or Follow the Michigan Road You have completed our section of the Historic Michigan Road. Head back to Batesville or Lawrenceburg to hop back on the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway or continue on US 421 (Michigan Road) to Greensburg and follow its journey through Indiana. To return to the Byway, take SR 48 east to SR 229 north to Batesville or remain on SR 48 to Lawrenceburg. Or, head northwest on Old Michigan Road for a scenic trip into central Indiana.

122


Food, Wine and Lodging ! ! ! ! ! ! ! along the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway Here are just some of the many places to eat in the Whitewater Valley. Find out more options at WhitewaterCanalScenicByway.org. Restaurants are listed here by town in the order the town appears on the byway and its loops. Restaurants There are numerous culinary delights throughout the Valley. From brewpubs to casual dining spots, to chocolatiers. So the choice is yours. Check on the location on your route and visit the appropriate tourism site for a complete dining guide. J’s Dairy Inn Liberty

Dearborn County (Indiana) Aurora • Lawrenceburg • Greendale Hamilton County (Ohio) North Bend • Cleves • Harrison Franklin County (Indiana) Brookvi*e • Metamora • Laurel

GhyslainChocolatier

Richmond

Fayette County (Indiana) Connersvi*e Kunkel’s Drive-In Connersville

Wayne County (Indiana) Cambridge City • Hagerstown • Centervi*e • Richmond Union County (Indiana) Liberty Butler County (Ohio) Oxford Ripley County (Indiana)

Great Crescent Brewery Aurora

Batesvi*e • Milan • Versai*es • Osgood

Wagner’s Village Inn Oldenburg

!

The Hearthstone Metamora

123


Lodging

Bed and Breakfasts Philip W. Smith B&B Richmond

Herman Leive House - Aurora The Brookville Inn - Brookville The Metamora Inn - Metamora Stonebridge Inn and Spa - Batesville The Hermitage B&B - Brookville Huntington B&B - Milan Newman-Vollmar House B&B - Osgood Brookville Inn Brookville

Victorian Garden B&B Osgood Schaefer’s B&B - Sunman Thorpe House Country Inn - Metamora Lantz House Inn - Centerville Philip W. Smith B&B - Richmond

Stonebridge Inn & Spa Batesville

Martha E. Parry B&B - Richmond Girls Night Inn - Richmond Carriage Lamp B&B - Liberty Potters Wheel B&B - Richmond The Doctor’s Inn - West College Corner Maplevale Farm B&B - Oxford (OH) Metamora Inn Metamora

White Garden Inn - Oxford (OH)

Hotels and Motels There are additional hotels, motels and other lodging options so visit the counties’ tourism websites.

!

124


Timeline The Whitewater Valley’s Layers of Transportation

Early Trails

Canals, Early Roads, and Early Rail

1800-1830s

1830s-1860s

Native American, Trailblazers and Pioneers Native Americans living in the Ohio Valley and Great Lakes region traversed its streams by canoe and connected their villages on well-worn paths over land. One in particular followed the Whitewater River up the valley then from the east fork to the west fork at Connersville and then cross country to major settlements in Munseetown (Muncie) or Andersontown (Anderson) both on the White River. In 1787, the U.S. Congress established the Northwest Territory in the Great Lakes region including Ohio and Indiana. William Henry Harrison, with ties to Indiana and Ohio, was named Territorial Governor, led a successful military campaign which vaulted him to the US presidency. Pioneers made their way down the Ohio River and then headed into the interior along streams such as the Whitewater River. As new settlers flooded into the territory, the Native Americans resisted ! the incursions. Little ! Turtle, the Miami ! Chief and General Anthony Wayne led their sides in battle. After several setbacks, Wayne !

and the US government prevailed resulting in the Treaty of Greenville in 1795 that opened up Ohio and a wedge of southeastern Indiana called The Gore. From there a few adventuresome souls began blazing trails over land connecting river settlements across Indiana, often following historic Indian routes. Many early Indiana trails began in the Whitewater Valley, including Whetzel’s Trace, Berry Trace, Kibbey’s Road, Quaker Trace and the Brookville-Brownstown Road. In 1811, construction on the National Road began in Cumberland, Maryland and it was completed to Vandalia, Illinois in 1838. The road reached Indiana in 1827 at Richmond and construction continued westward reaching Terre Haute in 1834. The road spurred rapid emigration to the Midwest and laid the foundation for other road-building efforts.

Farm to Market and Western Migration Following the opening of the Erie Canal, canal fever

swept across the nation. In 1836, Indiana’s legislature passed the ambitious Internal Improvement Act calling for the construction of two railroads, three main roads and three canals, including the Whitewater. The Whitewater Canal’s surveys showed that to accommodate the 491 feet fall over 76-miles would require fifty-six locks, seven dams and 125


Rise of Railroads 1830s –present twelve aqueducts. Canal construction with public financing began in 1836, connecting Lawrenceburg to Brookville. Private funding constructed the canal to Connersville by 1845 and Cambridge City later that same year. Private business interests funded the canal’s extension to Hagerstown by 1847. Extensive flooding in 1847 and again in 1848 led to runaway repair expenses and ultimately the canal’s demise. Early plans called for it to connect to the White River at Muncie or Anderson, but time and money ran out on Indiana’s canals. In 1865, the president of the Indianapolis and Cincinnati Railroad purchased the White Water Valley Canal Company and soon laid the White Water Railroad on the canal’s towpath. The Canal continued providing hydraulic power to several towns and Connersville continued using it into the early 1950s. In the 1940s, the Whitewater Canal Association was formed to save the canal around Metamora. In 1945, the state of Indiana created a state memorial which included the restoration of the Laurel

! ! Feeder Dam, and the Grist Mill, Duck Creek Aqueduct and Gordon’s Lock (#24). Many other sites and canal remnants can be found along the Byway.

!

Also included in the infrastructure plan was the Michigan Road. Created to connect the Ohio River and Lake Michigan, it was the state’s north-south response to the east-west National Road. The road began at Madison and headed northeast to Napoleon and the northwest to Greensburg and Indianapolis. The northern segment required negotiations with the Potawatomi Indians to get access through their lands. The road connected the future state capital city with Logansport, Rochester, Plymouth and South Bend before heading due west to Michigan City. A more direct route was not possible because it impossible to cross the Grand Kankakee Marsh in northwest Indiana. The Act also called for construction of two railroads one of which–Lawrenceburg and Indianapolis Railroad–became the state’s first chartered railroad. Completed in 1853, the line changed its name to the Indianapolis and Cincinnati Railroad and later became part of the Big Four system.

Creating and Connecting National Markets In 1832 the state of Indiana chartered the Lawrenceburg and Indiana Railroad, the state’s first railroad. By the 1850s, rail lines were springing up everywhere. President Lincoln’s inauguration and funeral trains both made stops in the Whitewater Valley and are designated by historical markers along ! the Byway. From 1860-1900, railroads expanded and consolidated into huge rail networks. Located between Cincinnati, St. Louis, Indianapolis, and Chicago, the valley was crisscrossed by the Big Four RR, Ohio and Mississippi RR, Nickel Plate, and the Panhandle. Railroads 126


Bicycles and the Good Roads Movement 1880s-1920s continued to dominate transportation until automobiles, trucks and highways pushed them aside. Railroad depots were symbols of a community’s importance. By 1920, over 1,500 depots were spread across Indiana’s landscape. Early depots were functional buildings, while laterbuilt, larger depots were more deliberately architecturally marvels, such as Richmond’s depot and Union Station terminals in Indianapolis and Cincinnati. As rail companies abandoned underperforming lines and consolidated routes, things were bound to change. In 1980, the federal Staggers Act deregulated the railroads and created opportunities for short-line railroads to step in and continue service for key industrial customers off the main lines. Short lines still operate key railroads in the region. In the mid-1970s, the non-profit Whitewater Valley Railroad was formed and began a excursion train from Connersville to Brookville on the Penn Central line. In 1983, the group purchased 18-miles of track from Connersville to Metamora and now provides regularly scheduled rides from May through October and special events including the official “Polar Express.” In addition to its collection of engines and cars in its museum, the group has also restored the Dearborn Crossing tower and the Rushville Depot in its new park south of Connersville. Step back in time and ride the train along the old Whitewater Canal. All Aboard! !

As railroads abandoned tracks, bicycle groups jumped on an opportunity to turn rails-to-trails. One of the earliest effort in Indiana was the Cardinal Greenway, reusing parts of the C&O railway from Richmond to Sweetser.

Pedaling to Prosperity In the 1880s, well before the advent of automobiles, bicycling turned people’s focus toward independent, long distance travel resulting in a desire for “good roads.” This well-organized movement pushed for public paving of roads connecting cities and towns. The goal was to afford bicyclists the same privileges as those of horse-drawn vehicles. As automobiles moved to the forefront of transportation, business and user groups began promoting the building of the famous Lincoln-Highway (east-west) and Dixie Highway (north-south) In the Whitewater Valley, there were at least three bicycle companies and one bicycling club. The most famous bicycle was constructed by Charles Teetor of Hagerstown. In 1894, Teetor worked in a bicycle shop in nearby New Castle. At the request of his cousin, Charles Hartley, superintendent of the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad, he built a four-wheeled bicycle that could be used to inspect railroad tracks. Thus, the Railway Cycle Manufacturing Company was born and soon its was shipping inspection cycles all over the world. This was one of many first for the Teetor family. Come to Hagerstown and learn more about the Teetors, Teetor-Hartley Corporation and Perfect Circle Corporation.

127


Interurbans (electric rail)

The Automobile’s New Freedom

Automobile:Roads and Highways Part 2

1898-1941

1900s-present

1910s-present

Creating the First Wave of Commuters At the turn of the 20th century, electric trains , called interurbans, swept across the midwest connecting small towns and big cities alike. By 1914, Indiana’s mass transit system spanned 1,425 miles, second only to Ohio.

from horses to automobiles signaled a big change with twelve different cars manufactured in Connersville, fourteen in Richmond, and two in Lawrenceburg. While some cars were well-known, Auburn, Cord, Lexington, McFarlan and Davis, the region was prominent in auto parts making bodies, lamps, radiators, jeeps for the military and even inventing cruise control. The region still plays a major role in the automotive industry and the legacy lives on. The automobile changed more than the mode of transportation, it changed the American landscape. People began traveling for leisure, giving rise to auto camps, parks, drive-in restaurants, auto dealers, service stations and more.

Interurbans connected Richmond east and west, and Connersville to Indianapolis. Even small-town Milton was connected to Cambridge City with a smaller passenger car called “The Dinky.” In the lower part of the Valley, trains connected Lawrenceburg and Harrison to Cincinnati through Valley Junction, a major railroad interchange. With the advent of the automobile and the freedom to go wherever and whenever, the last interurban in Indiana ceased in 1941. Today’s discussions of light rail have brought the spotlight back to a transportation legacy left behind.

Freedom to Move As the industrial revolution hit full stride, companies in Whitewater valley were making horse-drawn buggies and mechanized farm equipment. With the advent of the combustion engine, the move

!

Connecting, then Bypassing Following in the footsteps of bicyclists, National Auto

Trails began in 1910 as an outgrowth of the Good Roads Movement. Trails were the forerunners of today’s interstate highways connecting cities all across the country. As the Crossroads of America, eleven different trails traveled through Indiana, including the Lincoln Highway, and the Dixie Highway, two of the earliest auto trails. Inconsistencies in building, maintenance, and support led to the creation of the U.S. Highway System in 1926. Indiana developed its own auto trails with seven trails through the Whitewater Valley with interesting names––Minute Man Highway, National Old Trails Road, French Lick Route, and the AtlanticPacific Highway. Prior to 1920, Indiana began numbering its main highways, starting with five Main Market Highways in 1917. Many of these roads became 128


New Trails 1950s-present U.S. Highways with the arrival of the national system in 1926.

The next big change came after World War II with the introduction of Interstate Highways, championed by President Dwight D. Eisenhower, who crossed the country with the 1919 US Army Convoy on the Lincoln Highway. Interstate highways paralleled U.S. highways and skirted cities and towns––Interstate 70 traced U.S. 40 and I-74 shadowed U.S. 52––shifting commerce and development all across the nation.

Seeking Spaces and Places With the creation of state and national parks to protect natural areas, people began to travel from place to place seeking new experiences. These parks created trail systems to let visitors explore the wonders of these natural spaces. The first park in the region, Versailles State Park, began as a federal project during the Great Depression and was built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. The Whitewater Memorial State Park, near Liberty, was established as a living memorial to to the men and !

women who served in World War II. In the 1970s, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers dammed up the East Fork of the Whitewater River as a flood control project resulting in Brookville Lake and its undeveloped shorelines. Beyond the parks, trails advocates have created other systems in the region––Whitewater Gorge Trail, Richmond; Smalley Lake, Connersville; Whitewater Canal Trail, Metamora/Brookville; and the AuroraLawrenceburg Trail. Other nature sites have shorter trails as well. Cycling groups have been developing trails on abandoned railroads-Cardinal Greenway–– and creating designated bike routes on highways and back roads in the valley, such as the Vatican Ride through Franklin County. Canoeing, and subsequently kayaking, has been a part of the valley since the Native Americans lived here. Running the river is still a very popular activity on the Whitewater River. Unofficial driving trails, such as the Vatican Ride (bike trail) and the Chicken Trail, respectively, are the latest addition to the Whitewater Valley’s extensive trail system.

Reconnecting Communities––Creating Experiences Established by Congress in 1991 to preserve and protect the nation's scenic roads and promote tourism and economic development, the National Scenic 129


Scenic Byways 1991-present Byway Program recognizes roads for their archeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational, and/or scenic qualities. The program is administered by the Federal Highway Administration along with state transportation departments. There are five state or national byways in parts of the Whitewater Valley. At a glance... The Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway with its 78-mile Canal Route and three Byway Loops. The National Road Scenic Byway which roughly follows U.S. 40 from Maryland to Illinois, entering Indiana at Richmond. It is an AllAmerican Road, the nation’s highest designation. The Ohio River Scenic Byway is a national scenic byway following the river through Ohio, Indiana and Illinois. Indiana’s Historic Pathways Scenic Byway is a national scenic byway that traverses southern Indiana following US 50 and US 150 from the Ohio River to historic Vincennes on the Wabash River. The Presidential Pathways Scenic Byway is a state byway that parallels the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway in southwestern Ohio and celebrates the the legacy of two U.S. presidents. The historic Michigan Road, Indiana’s first north-south “highway” from Madison to Michigan City, is initiating byway designation. It travels through Ripley County––part of the Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway Association–– and is spotlighted in this guide. !

Photograph and History Acknowledgements Phillip Anderson Paul Baudendistel Big Oaks Wildlife Refuge Brookville Inn Cardinal Greenway Coachbuilt.com Connersville Parks and Recreation Cope Environmental Center Dearborn County Convention and Visitors Bureau Lawrenceburg Public Library District Dougherty Orchards Eklund’s Crazy Acres Ertel Cellars Winery Fayette County Government Franklin County Convention, Recreation & Visitors Commission Franklin County Government Gennett Mansion Ghyslain Chocolate Cafe Great Crescent Brewery Jim Grey Town of Hagerstown Bob Hansen Haspin Acres Hayes Arboretum Hermitage B&B Hillforest Mansion Historical Marker Database (www.hmdb.org) Indiana Audubon Society Indiana Department of Natural Resources Indiana Historical Bureau Indiana Landmarks J’s Dairy Inn Kent’s Harbor Lee Lewellen Sharon Lutz MacDuffe Family Phyllis and Jerry Mattheis Metamora Inn Milan ’54 Museum Oxbow, Inc. Philip W. Smith B&B Presidential Pathways Scenic Byway James Resh Richmond/Wayne County Convention and Tourism Bureau Ripley County Government Ripley County Tourism Bureau Inezeta Stiver Stonebridge Inn and Spa Dan Tate (http://dantate.featuredblog.com/) Wayne County Historical Society Emmett Vaughan Wagner’s Village Inn Whitewater Canal Byway Association Whitewater Valley Railroad Ron Yurcak

130


Alphabetical Site Index"

"

"

"

"

1st Principal Meridian Marker!

!

!

!

!

!

15

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

53 73 15, 101 12 29, 53 40 89 91 90 10

•B• Batesville (IN), City of ! ! ! ! ! ! Batesville Post Office Mural ! ! ! ! ! Batesville Historic Downtown/Batesville Historical Society!! Bell’s Strawberry Farm (Hagerstown, IN)! ! ! ! Berry Trace Historic Marker (Napoleon, IN)! ! ! Bethany Theological Seminary (Richmond, IN)! ! ! Biersdorfer Orchard (Guilford, IN)! ! ! ! Big Oaks Wildlife Refuge (Madison, IN)! ! ! ! Black Covered Bridge (Oxford, OH) ! ! ! ! Boundary Hill Marker (Brookville, IN)! ! ! ! Boulder House (Brookville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Boyd Road Canal Prism (Cambridge City, IN)! ! ! Braysville Cemetery (West Harrison, IN)! ! ! ! Brook Hill Golf Club (Brookville, IN)! ! ! ! Brookville (IN), Town of! ! ! ! ! ! Brookville Carnegie Library! ! ! ! ! Brookville College! ! ! ! ! ! Brookville Dam !! ! ! ! ! ! Brookville Federal Land Office Plaque! ! ! ! Brookville Governors Historic Marker! ! ! ! Brookville Historic District! ! ! ! ! Brookville Lake! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! Quakertown State Recreation Area (Liberty, IN)! ! Mounds State Recreation Area (Brookville, IN)! ! Brookville Park/Brookville Grandstand Marker! ! ! Ambrose Burnside Historic Markers (Liberty, IN)! ! ! Busching Covered Bridge (Versailles, IN) ! ! ! ! Busse’s Farm (Aurora, IN)! ! ! ! ! By Hoosier Hands Artisan Trail! ! ! ! !

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

83 84 85 54 122 63 96 115 112 27 27 46 18 27 21 25 25 26 24 23 24 26, 78 78 78 25 75 118 92 120

•C• Cambridge City (IN), Town of!

!

46

•A• Abbott’s Candy Shop (Hagerstown, IN)! ! ! Abington (IN), Village of!! ! ! ! American Discovery Trail!! ! ! ! Angevine Log Cabin (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! ! Aqueduct over Duck Creek (Metamora, IN)! ! Auburn Central/Willys-Overland Jeeps (Connersville, IN)! Aurora (IN), City of! ! ! ! ! Aurora-Lawrenceburg Trail (Aurora, IN)! ! ! Aurora Post Office Mural ! ! ! ! Auto Trails! ! ! ! ! !

!

!

!

!

!

Page #

131


Cambridge City Historic Tour! ! ! ! ! Cambridge City Post Office Mural ! ! ! ! Canal Boat Ride/Whitewater State Historic Site (Metamora, IN)! Canal House (Connersville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Canal Junction Historic Marker (Harrison/West Harrison)! ! Canal Route/Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway! ! ! Canal Warehouse (Cambridge City, IN)! ! ! ! Carbon Motors Water Works (Connersville)! ! ! Cardinal Greenway Trail (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! Carnegie Hall (Moores Hill, IN)! ! ! ! ! Centerville (IN), Town of! ! ! ! ! Centerville Public Library/Early Wayne County Jail!! ! Chief White Eye Valley Trail! ! ! ! ! Cincinnati-Whitewater Canal Tunnel (Cleves, OH)!! ! Civic Hall Performing Arts Center (Richmond, IN)! ! Circling Hills Golf Course (Harrison, OH)!! ! ! City Cemetery (Connersville, IN)!! ! ! ! Civil War 83rd Indiana Voluntary Infantry Marker (Sunman, IN)! Civilian Conservation Corps Memorial (Versailles, IN)! ! Henry Clay (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! ! Cleves Presbyterian Church (Cleves, OH)! ! ! ! Clinton Riverboat (Aurora, IN)! ! ! ! ! Cochrane (Aurora, IN)! ! ! ! ! ! Levi Coffin State Historic Site (Fountain City, IN)! ! ! College Corner/Union School Basketball Court! ! ! Competition Go-Kart Racing (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! ! Congress Green Cemetery (North Bend, OH)! ! ! John Conner Trading Post Marker (Connersville, IN)! ! Connersville (IN), City of ! ! ! ! ! Connersville Depot/Whitewater Valley Railroad (Connersville, IN)! Connersville’s “Firsts” Historic Marker! ! ! ! Connersville Furniture Factory! ! ! ! ! Connersville Historic Homes! ! ! ! ! Connersville Water Works at Carbon Motors (Connersville, IN)! Cope Environmental Center (Richmond, IN)! ! ! Cottage Grove Railroad Exchange (Liberty, IN)! ! ! Country View Golf Course (Guilford, IN)!! ! ! Cox’s Mill (Middleboro, IN)! ! ! ! ! Cricket Ridge Golf Course (Batesville, IN)! ! ! Cycling Fitness and Warehouse (Richmond, IN)! ! !

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

•D• Damm Building & Damm Theater (Osgood, IN)! ! ! ! Dearborn County Courthouse (Lawrenceburg, IN)!! ! ! Dearborn Crossing Tower/Whitewater Valley Railroad (Connersville, IN)! Dearborn-Ripley Loop/Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway– Loop 3! ! DeWitt Log Cabin (Oxford, OH)!! ! ! ! ! Dinky Interurban (Milton, IN)! ! ! ! ! ! Doty Pioneer Farmhouse (Oxford, OH)! ! ! ! ! !

50 48 30 41 16, 104 6, 8 47 44 65 93 57 59 114 102 64 105 43 94 118 68 103 91 92 69 76 13 102 42 37 40 41 43 42 44 61 76 87 69 83 65

121 12 38 6, 13, 88 111 46 112 132


Dougherty Orchard (Cambridge City, IN)!! Dublin Historic Marker (Dublin, IN)! ! Duck Creek Aqueduct (Metamora, IN)! !

! ! !

! ! !

! ! !

56 49 29, 53

•E• Ead’s Park – Lawrenceburg’s Governors! ! ! ! ! Earlham College (Richmond, IN)!! ! ! ! ! Earlham School of Religion (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! East Fork Loop/Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway – Loop 1! ! ! East Germantown/Pershing (IN), Village of! ! ! ! East Germantown Civil War Marching Band! ! ! ! East Main Street-Glen Miller Park Historic District (Richmond, IN)! Eklund’s Crazy Acres (Connersville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Elizabethtown (OH), Village of! ! ! ! ! ! Elmhurst Mansion (Connersville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Ertel Cellars Winery (Batesville, IN)! ! ! ! !

12 61 63 6, 27, 50, 55 56 56 71 45 15, 101 38 85

•F• Fayette County Courthouse (Connersville, IN)! ! ! Fayette County Museum (Connersville, IN)! ! ! First Methodist Church and Cemetery (Brookville, IN)! ! First Presbyterian Church (Aurora, IN)! ! ! ! First Ripley County Circuit Court House (New Marion, IN)! First Women’s Rights Convention Historic Marker (Dublin, IN)! Franklin County Courthouse (Brookville, IN)! ! !

! ! ! ! ! ! !

41 41 25 90 116 49 24

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

!

!

68 71 29 108 23 105 57 25 18 35 16, 103 97 97 98 13 61 27 96

! !

! !

51 54

•G• Gaar Mansion and Farm Museum (Richmond, IN)! ! Glen Miller Park (Richmond, IN)!! ! ! Gordon’s Lock #24/Millville (Metamora, IN)! ! Governor Bebb Preserve (Okeana, OH)! ! ! Governor Abram Hammond Marker (Brookville, IN)! Governor Othneil Looker House (Harrison, OH)! ! Governor Oliver P. Morton Home (Centerville, IN)! Governor James Ray House and Marker (Brookville, IN)! Grand Oak Golf Course (West Harrison, IN)! ! Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary (Connersville, IN)! ! Green Acres Canoe and Kayak Rentals (Harrison, OH)! Greendale (IN), City of! ! ! ! ! Greendale Cemetery! ! ! ! ! Greendale Historic District (Probasco House)! ! Greendale Trail! Greenville Treaty Line Marker (Richmond, IN)! Greenville Treaty Boundary Hill Marker (Brookville, IN)! Guilford Covered Bridge (Guiford, IN) ! ! ! •H• Hagerstown (IN), Town of ! Hagerstown Airport! ! !

! !

! !

! !

133


Hagerstown Museum and Arts Place! ! ! ! Governor Abram Hammond Marker (Brookville, IN)! ! Harbor Links Golf Course (Liberty, IN)! ! ! ! Hardinsburg (IN), Village of! ! ! ! ! Harrison, OH/West Harrison, IN ! ! ! ! Harrison-Symmes Museum (Cleves, OH)! ! ! ! Caroline Scott Harrison! ! ! ! ! ! President Benjamin Harrison ! ! ! ! ! President William Henry Harrison Tomb (North Bend, OH)! Hartley Hills Country Club Golf Course (Hagerstown, IN)!! Haspin Acres (Laurel, IN)! ! ! ! ! Hayes Arboretum (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! Hermitage Bed and Breakfast (Brookville, IN)! ! ! Highland Lake Golf Course (Richmond, IN)! ! ! Hillforest Mansion (Aurora, IN)! ! ! ! ! Historic Michigan Road Corridor!! ! ! ! Historic National Road Scenic Byway! ! ! ! Hollywood Casino (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! ! ! Holy Family Parish Church (Oldenburg, IN)! ! ! Holy Family/Immaculate Conception Convent Cemetery (Oldenburg, IN)!! ! ! ! ! Hoosier Links Golf Course (Milan, IN)! ! ! ! Howland-Goodwin-Strohmeier Home (Brookville, IN)! ! Huddleston Farmhouse Inn Museum (Cambridge City, IN)! ! ! (National Road Interpretive Center) Hueston Woods Golf Course (Oxford, OH)! ! ! Hueston Woods State Park (Oxford, OH)! ! ! ! Hunt House Hotel (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! ! !

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

53 23 78 14 17, 104 103 112 105 102, 106 51 34 72 26 69! ! 91 7, 114 7, 49, 53 13 82

! ! ! !

82 93 24 49

! ! !

113 113 11

•I• Ike’s Bike Shop (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! ! Immaculate Conception Convent (Oldenburg, IN)! ! Indian Creek Pioneer Church and Cemetery (Oxford, OH)!! Indian Lakes Golf Course (Sunman, IN)! ! ! ! Indian Mound/Old Wooden Bandstand (Laurel, IN)! ! Indian Ridge Golf Course (Oxford, OH)! ! ! ! Indian Trading Post Plaque (Brookville, IN)! ! ! Indiana’s Highest Elevation Site ! ! ! ! ! Indiana’s Historic Pathways Scenic Byway!! ! ! Intersection of Treaty Lines Marker (Brookville, IN)! ! Interurban/Whitewater Canal Intersection (Connersville, IN)!

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

65 82 108 85 34 112 24 69 7 86 40

• J• J & J Winery (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! Robert Underwood Johnson Home (Centerville, IN)! George W. Julian (Centerville, IN)! ! ! Jacob Julian House (Centerville, IN)! ! !

! ! ! !

61 59 56 59

!

! ! ! !

!

134


•K• Kaiser Mill/Hardware Building (West Harrison, IN)! Kent’s Harbor at Brookville Lake (Liberty, IN)! ! King Steam Car Origins (Osgood, IN)! ! ! Kunkel’s Drive-In (Connersville, IN)! ! !

! ! ! !

•L• Lantz House Inn Bed and Breakfast (Centerville, IN)! ! Laurel (IN), Town of! ! ! ! ! ! Laurel Cemetery!! ! ! ! ! ! Laurel Feeder Dam #4! ! ! ! ! ! Laurel Historic Walking Tour! ! ! ! ! Laurel Hotel! ! ! ! ! ! ! Lawrenceburg (IN), City of! ! ! ! ! Lawrenceburg and Indianapolis RR Marker (Greendale, IN)! Lawrenceburg Historic Architecture Tour! ! ! ! Lawrenceburg RR Depot!! ! ! ! ! Lawrenceburg Speedway! ! ! ! ! ! Lawrenceburg Trail (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! ! ! Levee Walk/Bicentennial Memorial Gate (Lawrenceburg, IN)! Liberty (IN), City of! ! ! ! ! ! Liberty Country Club Golf Course ! ! ! ! Liberty Depot and Museum! ! ! ! ! Liberty Post Office Mural! ! ! ! ! Lightcroft-Teetor Home (Hagerstown, IN)! ! ! Abraham Lincoln Speech Marker (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! Little Cedar Baptist Church (Brookville, IN)! ! ! Lobenstein’s Farm (St. Leon, IN)! ! ! ! ! Lockport Feeder Dam #6 (Connersville, IN)! ! ! Governor Othneil Looker House (Harrison, OH)! ! ! •M• Madonna of the Trail Statue (Richmond, IN)! ! ! Mahan Park (Connersville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Mansion House (Centerville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary (Connersville, IN)! ! ! McCombs and Son/Interurban and Canal Intersection (Connersville, IN)! ! ! ! ! McFarlan Industrial Park (Connersville, IN)! ! ! McGuire Memorial Hall (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! Major General Solomon Meredith Marker (Cambridge City, IN)! Oakland Farm/Solomon Meredith/Virginia Claypool Meredith! (Cambridge City, IN) Metamora (IN), Village of! ! ! ! ! Metamora Grist Mill/State Historic Site! ! ! ! Metamora Historic Walking Tour!! ! ! ! Metamora Masonic Lodge ! ! ! ! ! MGP Distillery Inc. (Greendale, IN)! ! ! ! Miami and Erie Canal (Middletown, OH)! ! ! ! !

! ! ! !

17 78 121 44

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

59 32 35 34 35 34 9 97 13 11 14 11 9 74 73 74 76 54 11 20 87 44 105

! ! ! !

72 35 60 35

! ! ! ! !

40 42 65 50 50

! ! ! ! ! !

28 30 30 31 99 113 135


Miami University (Oxford, OH)! ! ! ! ! Miami-Whitewater Forest (Harrison, OH)!! ! ! Miami-Whitewater Golf Course (Harrison, OH)! ! ! Middletown (OH), City of! ! ! ! ! Milan/’54 Museum (Milan, IN)! ! ! ! ! Michaela Farm/Sisters Cow Barn (Oldenburg, IN)! ! ! Michigan Road Historic Corridor!! ! ! ! Michigan Road Historic Marker (Holton, IN)! ! ! Glen Miller Park (Richmond, IN)!! ! ! ! Joaquin Miller “Poet of the Sierras” (Liberty, IN)! ! ! Milton (IN), Village of ! ! ! ! ! ! Milton Masonic Lodge ! ! ! ! ! ! Milton Quaker Church ! ! ! ! ! ! Modes of Transportation Marker (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! Joseph Moore Museum of Natural History (Richmond, IN)!! Moores Hill (IN)/Carnegie Hall! ! ! ! ! John Hunt Morgan Heritage Trail ! Harrison, OH/West Harrison, IN History!! ! ! Historic Stone Marker (Old Milan, IN)! ! ! ! Ripley County, IN History! ! ! ! ! St. Paul’s Methodist Church Marker (Sunman, IN)!! ! Versailles Historic Marker! ! ! ! Morgan Outdoor Adventures (Laurel, IN)! ! ! ! Morgan Township Hall (Okeana, OH)! ! ! ! Governor Oliver P. Morton Home (Centerville, IN)! ! Mound Haven Restaurant and Auto Camp (Brookville, IN)! ! Mounds State Recreation Area /Brookville Lake (Brookville, IN)! Mount Tabor Alpaca Farm (Aurora, IN ! ! ! ! •N• Napoleon (IN), Town of! ! ! ! ! ! National Road/US 40 (Cambridge City, IN) ! ! ! National Road Bridge (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! National Road Interpretive Center/Huddleston Farmhouse ! National Road Mile Markers (Centerville, IN)! ! ! National Muzzle Loading Rifle Championship (Friendship, IN)! Old National Road Welcome Center (Richmond, IN)! ! Noble Family/St. Michael’s Rectory (Brookville, IN)! ! •O• Oakland Farm/Solomon Meredith/Virginia Claypool Meredith! (Cambridge City, IN) Ohio and Mississippi RR Marker (Osgood, IN)! ! ! Ohio River Scenic Byway!! ! ! ! ! Old Harrison Bridge (Harrison/West Harrison)! ! ! Old Jail (Laurel, IN)! ! ! ! ! ! Old Milan (IN)/Morgan’s Raid Marker! ! ! ! Old National Road Welcome Center (Richmond, IN)! ! Oldenburg (IN), Town of!! ! ! ! ! !

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

110 106 106 113 93 80 7, 114 116 71 73 45 45 45 11 63 93

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

18, 105 94 93 94 118, 119 22 107 57 20 53, 78 92

! ! ! ! ! ! !

122! 7, 49, 53 66 49 60 118 73 23 ! !

!

50

! ! ! ! ! ! !

121 7 16 32 93 73 81 136


Oldenburg Town Hall! ! ! ! ! ! ! Oldenburg-Batesville Loop/Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway – Loop 3! Opera House (Cambridge City, IN)! ! ! ! ! Osgood (IN), Town of! ! ! ! ! ! ! Overbeck Pottery (Cambridge City, IN)! ! ! ! ! Oxbow, Inc. Nature Preserve (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! ! ! Oxford (OH), City of! ! ! ! ! ! ! Oxford Community Arts Center (Oxford, OH)! ! ! ! Oxford Pike (Brookville, IN)! ! ! ! ! ! Oxford Visitors and Convention Bureau (Oxford, OH)! ! !

82 6, 20, 31, 79 48 121 48 15 109 110 26 109

•P• Passmore Cabin (Harrison, OH)! ! ! ! ! Pennsylvania RR Depot (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! Penntown Historic Marker (Penntown, IN)! ! ! Perfect Circle Corporation Memorial (Hagerstown, IN)! ! Perfect North Slopes (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! ! ! Pershing/East Germantown, Town of! ! ! ! Pine Hills Golf Course (Holton, IN)! ! ! ! Post Office Murals (description). ! ! ! ! ! Aurora Post Office! ! ! ! ! ! Batesville Post Office! ! ! ! ! ! Cambridge City Post Office! ! ! ! ! Liberty Post Office! ! ! ! ! President Benjamin Harrison! ! ! ! ! President William Henry Harrison Tomb (North Bend, OH)! President Harry S Truman! ! ! ! ! Presidential Pathways Scenic Byway! ! ! !

106 68 86 53 96 56 116 36 90 84 48 76 105 102, 106 72 7, 16, 100

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

•Q• Quakertown State Recreation Area /Brookville Lake (Liberty, IN)! !

78

•R• Railroad Depot Historic District (Richmond, IN)! ! ! Railroad House Hotel (Napoleon, IN)! ! ! ! Railroad Viaduct (Cambridge City, IN)! ! ! ! Governor James Ray House and Marker (Brookville, IN)! ! Reid Presbyterian Church/Tiffany Windows (Richmond, IN)! Reily (OH), Village of! ! ! ! ! ! Richmond (IN), City of! ! ! ! ! ! Richmond Art Museum! ! ! ! ! ! Historic Downtown Richmond Architecture Tour !! ! Richmond Elks Country Club! ! ! ! ! Old Richmond Historic District ! ! ! ! ! Richmond Rose Garden! ! ! ! ! ! Ripley County Circuit Court Historic Marker (New Marion, IN)! Ripley County Courthouse (Versailles, IN)!! ! ! Roberts Park (Connersville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Rockafellar Tavern (New Trenton, IN)! ! ! !

67 122 46 25 71 108 62 64 67 73 67 72 116 118 44 18

!

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

137


Roots Blower Plant Historic Marker (Connersville, IN)! ! Rushville Depot/Whitewater Valley Railroad (Connersville, IN)!

! !

40 38

•S• St. John the Baptist Church (Dover, IN)! ! ! ! St. Leon Pole Raising Marker (St. Leon, IN)! ! ! St. Mary of the Rock Church (Batesville, IN)! ! ! St. Michael’s Catholic Church (Brookville, IN)! ! ! St. Paul’s Catholic Church (New Alsace, IN)! ! ! St. Paul’s Methodist Church/Morgan’s Raiders Trail (Sunman, IN)! SS. Philomena and Cecilia Church (Brookville, IN)!! ! Salatin’s Orchard (Moores Hill, IN)! ! ! ! Salisbury Courthouse (Centerville, IN)! ! ! ! Salt Creek Ranch-Horseback Riding (Metamora, IN)! ! Scenic Road (Dearborn County)! ! ! ! ! Scout Lake (Hagerstown, IN)! ! ! ! ! Seminary and Historic Marker (Brookville, IN)! ! ! Seminary/Collegiate High School (Laurel, IN)! ! ! Shaker Trace Trail/Miami-Whitewater Forest (Harrison, OH)! Shawnee Lookout Park (Elizabethtown, OH)! ! ! Sherman House Restaurant and Inn (Batesville, IN)! ! Francis Shoup Historic Marker (Laurel, IN)! ! ! Shrader-Weaver Nature Preserve (Bentonville, IN)! ! ! Single G Horse Mural (Cambridge City, IN)! ! ! Sisters Cow Barn and Michaela Farm (Oldenburg, IN)! ! Snow Hill Covered Bridge (New Trenton, IN)! ! ! Spartan Bowl (Connersville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Spirits of the Valley - Distilling History! ! ! ! Stagecoach Inn (Morris, IN)! ! ! ! ! Stant Manufacturing Company (Connersville, IN)! ! ! Starr-Gennett Recording Studios (Richmond, IN)! ! ! Starr-Gennett Walk of Fame (Richmond, IN)! ! ! Starr Historic District (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! Stone Chapel and Cemetery (Guilford, IN)! ! ! Sugar Ridge Golf Course (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! ! Sunman (IN), Town of! ! ! ! ! ! Suspension Bridge Road (Harrison, OH)! ! ! !

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

95 87 86 23 95 94 86 92 60 31 95 54 24 34 106 101 84 35 45 48 80 19 43 99 85 43 67 66 70 96 15 94 103

•T• Templeton Cabin (Liberty, IN)! ! ! Thistlethwaite Falls (Richmond, IN)! ! Tiffany Windows Trail (Richmond, IN)! ! Toll Gate Marker (Richmond, IN)! ! Treaty Line Museum (Dunlapsville, IN)! ! President Harry S Truman (Richmond, IN)! Tyson Legacy/Downtown Versaillles! !

! ! ! ! ! ! !

76 66 70 72 77 72 119

!

119

! ! ! ! ! ! !

! ! ! ! ! ! !

•U• Underground RR Trails/Ripley County Tourism (Versailles, IN)! !

138


Union County Courthouse (Liberty, IN)! ! ! ! ! Union School Basketball Court (West College Corner/College Corner)! US Coast and Geodetic Survey Marker (Correct, IN)! ! !

74 76 116

•V• Vance-Tousey House (Lawrenceburg, IN)! ! ! ! Vatican Bike Ride (Oldenburg, IN)! ! ! ! Veraestau (Aurora, IN)! ! ! ! ! ! Versailles (IN), Town of! ! ! ! ! ! Downtown Versailles – Tyson Legacy! ! ! ! Versailles State Park! ! ! ! ! ! Very Berry Patch (Guilford, IN)! ! ! ! ! Vintage Post Card Transportation Mural (Cambridge City, IN)! Vinton House Antiques and Museum (Cambridge City, IN)!!

12 20, 83 91 117 119 118 95 49! 47

! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

•W• Wallace Family Marker (Brookville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Waterworks at Carbon Motors (Connersville, IN)! ! ! ! Wayne County Historical Museum (Richmond, IN)! ! ! Early Wayne County Jail/Centerville Public Library (Centerville,IN)!! West College Corner (IN)/Union School Basketball Court! ! ! West Harrison, IN/Harrison, OH!! ! ! ! ! Western Wayne Museum/Vinton House (Cambridge City, IN)! ! Whetzel Trace Historic Marker (Laurel, IN)! ! ! ! White’s Flea Market (Brookville, IN)! ! ! ! ! Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway ! Canal Route! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! Dearborn-Ripley Loop – Loop 3! ! ! ! ! ! East Fork Loop – Loop 1!! ! ! ! ! ! Oldenburg-Batesville Loop – Loop 2! ! ! ! Whitewater Canal Site Rest Area (Metamora, IN)! ! ! ! Whitewater Canal-Cincinnati & Whitewater Canal Junction ! (West Harrison, IN/Harrison, OH)! ! ! ! Whitewater Canal State Historic Site ! Whitewater Canal Site Rest Area (Metamora, IN)! ! ! ! Gordon’s Lock #24/Millville (Metamora, IN)! ! ! ! Aqueduct over Duck Creek (Metamora, IN)! ! ! Canal Boat Ride (Metamora, IN)! ! ! ! ! Metamora Grist Mill! ! ! ! ! ! Laurel Feeder Dam #4 (Laurel, IN)! ! ! ! Whitewater Canal (Northern) Terminus Marker (Hagerstown, IN)! ! Whitewater Canal (Southern) Terminus Marker (Lawrenceburg, IN)!! Whitewater Canal Trail – Metamora Trailhead ! ! ! ! Whitewater Canal Trail – Yellow Bank Trailhead (Brookville, IN)! ! Whitewater Canoe Rental (New Trenton & Brookville, IN)!! ! Whitewater Gorge Park (Richmond, IN)! ! ! ! ! Whitewater Memorial State Park (Liberty, IN)! ! ! ! Whitewater Seminary and College (Centerville, IN)! ! ! Whitewater River Campground (Connersville, IN)!! ! !

!

23 44 70 59 76 17, 104 47 32 21 6, 8 6, 13, 88 6, 27, 50, 55 6, 20, 31, 79 20 16, 104 28 29 29 30 30 34 52 10 30 28 21, 27 77 65 58 35

139


White Water Shaker Village (Harrison, OH) ! ! ! Whitewater Valley Gateway Park (Metamora, IN)! ! ! Whitewater Valley Railroad (Metamora, IN)! ! ! Whitewater Valley Railroad/Connersville Depot! ! ! Whitewater Valley Railroad Railyard (Connersville, IN)! ! Willowbrook Country Club Golf Course (Connersville, IN)!! Wilmington, Village of! ! ! ! ! ! Winding Branch Golf Course (Cambridge City, IN)! !

! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

107 31 31 40 38 38 92 45

•Y• Ye Olde Central House (Napoleon, IN)! ! (Historic) Yellow Dog Tavern (Versailles, IN)!

! !

122 119

!

! !

! !

140


Thanks This guide book was prepared by Phillip Anderson, ReThink! as a consultant to the Whitewater Canal Byway Association. The project was funded by a Historic Preservation Education Grant from Indiana Humanities and Indiana Landmarks. We would like to thank all those who provided photographs, site entries, and historical information. Also thanks to the community leaders who reviewed the document: Charles Whiting, Dearborn County; Bob Hansen, Fayette County; Candy Yurcak, Paul Baudendistel, Terry Duy, and Gail Ginther, Franklin County; Duane Nickels, Union County; Mary Walker, Phyllis and Jerry Mattheis, and Bob Hansen, Wayne County; Sharon Lutz, Hamilton County; and Bonita Porter, Butler County. Special thanks to Adam Peaper for creating the comprehensive Whitewater Valley map. We hope this guide provided the road map to an exciting adventure for all those who visited the Whitewater Valley. We invite you to come again to experience the changing seasons and the vibrant culture in this beautiful are of southeastern Indiana and southwestern Ohio. The Whitewater Canal Byway Association is a nonprofit organization working in collaboration with all stakeholders to promote the Whitewater region and its history as a unique and valuable asset, the development of which will serve to enhance the economic vitality of the region and the quality of life for current and future generations. Whitewater Canal Byway Association PO Box 95 Metamora, IN 47030 www.whitewatercanalscenicbyway.org !

141

Whitewater Canal Scenic Byway Driving Guide  

A four-color, turn-by-turn driving guide to more than 260 historical, recreational, scenic, and cultural sites in the Whitewater Valley. The...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you