Riverton Review Print Newsletter - March 2021

Page 1

MARCH 2021

RIVERTON REVIEW Official Newsletter of the Riverton, Utah City Government MAYOR’S MESSAGE

Support Our Community by Supporting Local Businesses By Mayor Trent Staggs At the heart of any thriving community, you will find good people, good businesses, and good governance. I believe we have all three of those going for us here in Riverton. As we have assessed the impact COVID-19 has had on our community, it is clear that it has tested the resiliency of all three of those components; however, one of them has been hit particularly hard over the last year: our businesses. Knowing that many of our businesses are strained, and some financially struggling, Riverton City is launching a marketing and public

education campaign called “Local First” to support our businesses.

tremendous impact on our local community.

The goal of the campaign will be to educate residents on the benefits to our community by buying local and to encourage residents to support local businesses more often and where possible.

I know that shopping local can sometimes be difficult given the geography and layout of our city but consider this: $0.55 of every dollar spent locally stays in the local economy, according to Local First Utah, and that’s probably at minimum. I encourage you to think local first and consider supporting a Riverton business the next time you need groceries, or gas, or go out to eat. You will be benefiting our community if you do.

The benefits to a community when residents buy goods and services from local businesses are clear. The graphic below shows the most significant benefits we see when residents support businesses in Riverton. Please consider these benefits the next time you plan to buy a product or service, and ask yourself, “Can I spend my dollars locally?” By adjusting your shopping habits and directing your spending dollars to businesses in Riverton, where possible, you can have a

I admire all of you, our residents, businesses and employees for the strength and resolve you’ve shown in the face of such challenging times. Let’s keep going. If each of our 45,000+ residents begin to think local first, just imagine the prosperity and opportunities that will be opened to our community!

5 Benefits of Shopping in Riverton

It stimulates the local economy and keeps more money in the community.

It creates and sustains employment for residents to work closer to home.

RIVERTON REVIEW | MARCH 2021

It allows goods and services you need and want to be offered nearby.

It keeps fees and taxes for city services low by keeping sales tax dollars in Riverton.

It fosters a community that cares about and invests in itself.

PAGE 1


COUNCIL MESSAGE

Transportation and Connectivity MAYOR Trent Staggs tstaggs@rivertonutah.gov 801-208-3129

CITY COUNCIL Sheldon Stewart - District 1 sstewart@rivertonutah.gov 801-953-5672 Troy McDougal - District 2 tmcdougal@rivertonutah.gov 801-931-9933 Tawnee McCay - District 3 tmccay@rivertonutah.gov 801-634-7692 Tish Buroker - District 4 tburoker@rivertonutah.gov 801-673-6103 Claude Wells - District 5 cwells@rivertonutah.gov 801-875-0116

CITY MANAGER David R. Brickey dbrickey@rivertonutah.gov 801-208-3125

CITY OFFICES

City Hall............................... Cemetery............................ Animal Control.................... Building............................... Code Enforcement.............. Fire Dispatch (UFA)............. Justice Court....................... Parks & Recreation............. Planning & Zoning.............. Police.................................. Public Works....................... Recorder.............................. Utility Billing........................ Water...................................

By Councilman Sheldon Stewart During the month of January, UDOT closed east-west traffic flow on 12600 S for an estimated 7 to 8 months to facilitate the completion of a freeway style interchange on Bangerter Highway that will significantly improve traffic traveling in this area of Riverton. To facilitate the construction of a freeway style interchange, UDOT had to purchase the Texas Roadhouse property, necessitating the business relocate. This closure will also have impact on the businesses surrounding this area during the closure period. As part of Riverton’s Local First initiative, we would encourage you to find ways to support these businesses during this time. As part of many of our business friendly initiatives, such as the elimination of the business license fee, Riverton City has launched a

Local First initiative to encourage support of Riverton businesses. This includes businesses impacted by the 12600 S interchange project. I encourage residents and neighbors to continue supporting businesses located in this area. As we look forward to completion of this interchange in late 2021, we still have more to do as residents and a city. During this legislative session, we are hopeful that by the time you are reading this article our state leaders have provided funding to complete the interchanges along the remainder of Bangerter Highway and that prioritization be given to 13400 S, 2700 W and the Bangerter-I-15 connection. It is hoped that action will be taken to improve east-west flow, improvements to and completion of Mountain View Corridor and prioritizing these over projects tied to U-111 (Bacchus Highway). This message is a call on our state leaders to: 1. Identify an east-west corridor in conjunction with and supported by local leaders.

2. Improve safety along Mountain View Corridor to prevent the high fatality rate of accidents along this road with early warning throughout the enter length of the road. 3. Eliminate limitations with Mountain View Corridor projects tied to completion of connections in other counties. 4. Fund Improvements to Mountain View Corridor and the completion of this road. 5. Create accountability with UTA related to services provided to the southwest region of Salt Lake County instead of prioritizing projects based on unfair calculations and formulas and accounting for dollars collected in regions and the spending of those dollars. As we work with and encourage our state leaders to take action on these projects, we will see significant improvements in the quality of life for Riverton residents.

801-254-0704 801-208-3128 801-208-3108 801-208-3127 801-208-3108 801-743-7200 801-208-3131 801-208-3101 801-208-3138 385-281-2455 801-208-3162 801-208-3128 801-208-3133 801-208-3164

FIND US ONLINE! @rivertonutahgov www.rivertonutah.gov PAGE 2

As part of Riverton’s Local First initiative, we would encourage residents to find ways to support the businesses impacted by the Bangerter and 12600 S construction closures.

RIVERTON REVIEW | MARCH 2021


PUBLIC SAFETY MESSAGE

Preparing to Serve the Community By Chief Wade Watkins

TEXT MESSAGE ALERTS

Unified Fire Authority’s Recruit Class #54 started February 1, 2021. The class has 36 new recruits preparing to be firefighters, many of which will serve in Riverton City upon their completion of recruit camp. Their camp will last 16-weeks and will cover the fundamentals of becoming a firefighter. Many of the recruits have been preparing for years to be here. Some with years of experience representing other agencies. Others have taken a shot at this pursuit with little understanding of what was ahead of them. The first day of recruit camp is challenging to say the least with physical limits pushed followed by educational hurdles to ensure they are understanding the information. The challenges that these recruits

4

WAYS TO CONNECT WITH RIVERTON

n rivertonutah.gov/alerts

Get emergency alerts and notifications on important city updates on your cell phone 3-4 times per month. UFA’s Recruit Class #54 has 36 new recruits preparing to be firefighters. Many will serve in Riverton upon their completion.

face is eased with the lessons they’re learning about teamwork and supporting each other.

driver training. They are anticipated to graduate and serve within your community May 26 of 2021.

As they diligently continue through recruit school some of their challenges and learning will consist of functional physical training, fire behavior, effective communications, firefighting tactics, emergency

If you or someone you know has interest in becoming a firefighter please visit unifiedfire.org/becoming-a-firefighter or follow us at @ufafiretraining on Instagram.

Run the 2021 Riverton Half Marathon or 4Life® 5K You’ve made that resolution to be more healthy and get out more, so this is the perfect opportunity. Be part of a Riverton tradition and come participate in one of the valley’s best races. The race is designed for all ages and abilities with medals and prizes awarded for participants and winners. REGISTRATION NOW OPEN! Race: Saturday, March 27 Time: 9 a.m. (Half Marathon) and 9:15 a.m. (4Life® 5K) Location: Riverton City Park, 1452 W 12600 S, Riverton, Utah Register: rivertonutah.gov/half

RIVERTON REVIEW | MARCH 2021

EMAIL NOTIFICATIONS

n rivertonutah.gov/subscribe Get the latest city updates, e-newsletters, event information and other news delivered right to your inbox.

SOCIAL MEDIA

n @rivertonutahgov

Connect with Riverton City to get quick updates, essential information, event details and more on the platforms you use.

NOTICE Riverton City will begin maintenance on the secondary water system on Monday, March 22. Please ensure your ball valve is closed before that date.

PAGE 3


UPCOMING EVENTS

RIVERTON REVIEW

Riverton’s Teen Egg-Streme Chase “Chase the clues, be the first, win the prize”.

Come enjoy a new Easter tradition with the kiddos at the Riverton Bunny Hop! Families make their way around Riverton City Park visiting stations with punch cards to get candy or prizes and to participate in fun Easter activities. Mr. and Mrs. Easter Bunny will be in attendance for a quick visit and photo with the kids. Families may arrive anytime between 10 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and begin their participation at any station. Punch cards will be turned in for a grand prize drawing! Masks required. Saturday, April 3, 2021, Riverton City Park, 1452 W 12600 S 10 a.m. - Noon (Arrive by 11:30 a.m.) for children 12 & younger

Clues will lead teens to safe local destinations, shops or landmarks throughout Riverton. Pre-register online beginning March 15. Only those who register will be able to redeem prizes. Clue cards will be available at Riverton City’s Recreation Department starting at Noon on Friday, April 2. Teens will have until 5 p.m. that day to return to the Recreation Department at City Hall with all the specifically marked eggs. Grand prizes given to top three. Friday, April 2, 2021 | Noon – 5 p.m. | Teens 13 – 18 years Register online at rivertonutah.gov/teen-easter

MISS RIVERTON 2021

Applications for Miss Riverton 2021 are now being accepted! The winner will receive a $2,000 scholarship (attendants win $500 each), and will represent Riverton City at various events throughout the year. Miss Riverton 2021 will also be eligible to participate in the Miss Utah competition. The competition is open to women ages 17-23 who live in Riverton. The crowning of Miss Riverton 2021 will take place Saturday, April 24, 2021. To register or learn more, please visit rivertonutah.gov/missriverton.

Register: Start Smart Sports

Not Your Parent’s Art Show

QPR Suicide Prevention Training

Register: Tennis League Registration

Register: Pickleball League

Registration is now open for spring Start Smart Sports programs for kids age 3-5, including Baseball, Soccer and MultiSport. Register online.

Come see original art pieces created by young local artists at the Old Dome Meeting Hall. Free and open to all.

Suicide prevention is everyone’s business. Join Healthy Riverton for a FREE QPR class to learn how to respond to someone in crises.

Riverton City’s flexible tennis league is for all abilities, with one match played per week. Register online at rivertronutah.gov/recreation

Join Riverton City’s pickleball league to play in a fun, social and competitive environment. Partners rotate weekly. Register online at rivertronutah.gov/recreation

• Registration is now open Programs Begin May 4

• Visit March 8 - April 28, Open House: March 8, 6:30-8 p.m.

• March 18, 7 p.m., CR Hamilton Indoor Pavilion

• Offered Monthly, May-August

• Sessions Begin in April

For details or registration information, visit rivertonutah.gov/recreation

PAGE 4

RIVERTON REVIEW | MARCH 2021


Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.