Page 1

Volume 17:6

EVIEW R May 17, 2018

SENIOR EDITION

Valedictorian

Salutatorian

BEN ASDELL will attend UCLA in the fall to study Engineering.

COLLIN PRINCE will attend UCLA in the fall to study Computer Science and Engineering.

Senior Retreat Playlist

Staff writer Max Cross compiles a list of Senior Retreat songs chosen by the senior class. These popular tunes range from “Just Breathe” by Pearl Jam to “Thunder” by Imagine Dragons. See more on page 3.

roncallimedia.com

What will you miss about RHS? Staff writer Sophia Egold discusses adjustments seniors will make after graduating. She reminisces on her favorite and least favorite aspects of Roncalli in a staff editorial. See more on page 6.

Senior-heavy baseball team

Staff writer Cameron Irwin delves into the operations of the baseball team, gathering insight on two potential MLB athletes. Read more about some of the seniors leading the team on page 8.


news

www.roncallimedia.com

Passing the torch

Banich to become assistant principal of student activities next year BY GRACE MURPHY Staff Writer

O

ver the summer, assistant principal for student activities Mrs. Shellie Hartford knew she would not be returning to Roncalli High School in the fall. Her husband took a job in Florida, and she would be relocating with him. In her twelfth year at the school, Hartford has been a core member of administration for as long as many Rebels can remember. Hartford found herself on Roncalli’s campus under unique circumstances. After teaching for five years, she worked as a social worker at Big Brothers Big Sisters for nine years. Business teacher Mr. Michael Wantz was volunteering as a Big Brother when a new administrative position was created at Roncalli High School: assistant principal for student activities. “It’s [Wantz’s] fault,” Hartford said. “He encouraged me to apply.” Along with the offer from Roncalli, Hartford had to consider offers from her current job at Big Brothers Big Sisters and from Southport Presbyterian. “I didn’t know what to do,” Hartford said. “I was praying that I needed a sign. I was visiting my grandma in Kentucky, and two Catholic priests were holding the door for the restaurant we went to and they nodded at me. I called [principal] Mr. [Chuck] Weisenbach from the restaurant accepting his offer.” Now, Hartford is again uncertain about where her life will take her next. She will be moving to Florida at the end of the school year.

PHOTO BY GRACE MURPHY

GOOD MORNING, RONCALLI: Assistant principal for student activities Mrs. Shellie Hartford makes the morning announcements. This is one of the many responsibilities Mr. Kevin Banich will take over next school year.

“It’s a God thing,” Hartford said. “God has plans for things so I am praying and staying open to his answer.” Hartford could have left for Florida right before school started in August but wanted to see the upcoming school year through to assure a smooth transition of power. Mr. Kevin Banich became aware of the opening, applied, interviewed and was offered the job. He has been shadowing Hartford this semester to prepare to take on her responsibilities, including freshman orientation, the student assistance program, the scholarship process, senior picnic and much more. Because of his new administrative duties, Banich will only be teaching one class next year: AP World History. “The most difficult part will be not having my classes,” Banich said. “I will miss the little family atmosphere.” Banich has big shoes to fill, as Hartford’s accomplishments permeate throughout Roncalli. Her work in creating, building up and maintaining the Roncalli ski club has impacted hundreds of students since its founding in 2006. “[Hartford] has given me the opportunity to do something that I love in the winter that many people don’t get to take part in,” senior Ally Lewis said. Within the walls of Roncalli, Hartford’s positive attitude and welcoming personality have left a tremendous impact on students and faculty alike. “I have great respect for her insights,” Weisenbach said. “I think she’s a trusted peer that I can go to and get a solid insight on the issue. As principal, I have valued the pulse she has on the areas she oversees.” Despite Hartford’s accomplishments, she is absolutely confident in Banich’s capability as the new assistant principal for student activities. “I have the utmost love and respect for [Banich],” Hartford said. “He will go above and beyond.” Banich continues to take on more responsibility as the semester continues, making sure he is fully prepared for next year. “[Hartford] is the biggest advocate for making sure that kids enjoy their time at Roncalli,” Banich said. “Every decision she makes as an administrator has kids’ best interest in mind. It’s incredible.” Roncalli may be saying goodbye to a long-time, widely-loved Rebel, but the school is in good hands with its new administrator.

Teac h er A d v i ce teachers’ high school photos

life advice

- Mr. Scott Marsh

“You do not have to have your life mapped out. You’re always changing, so your life path is not going to stay the same.”

- Ms. Corrine Owens

2

When I Grow Up Seniors recall childhood dreams, share chosen career paths post-graduation "I wanted to be a cowgirl when I grew up. I had this pair

“I wanted tocowgirl be a cowgirl up. I and hadmy this of red boots thatwhen I woreI grew all the time, pair of red cowgirl boots that I wore the time, parents got me one of those cheapall guitars from and my parents got mepursuing one ofsomething those cheap guitars Walmart. Now, I am in theatre or fromtelevision/film. Walmart. Now, I am pursuing something in but I'm still performing which is pretty fun, theatre ornot television/film. I’m still performing as fun as wrangling horses I suppose."which is pretty fun, but not as fun as wrangling horses, I Shannon Mitchell suppose.”

- Shannon Mitchel

"I have always wanted to be a member of the WWE roster as a wrestler or a commentator. Since I watched my first Wrestlemania, I knew at that moment that I was bred to become apart of the wrestling business. I have a feeling that it courses “I have always wanted tome belife. a member of the through my veins and gives I have no doubt that it is the WWE roster ascareer a wrestler aup commentator. Since that I willor end achieving."

I watched my first Wrestlemania, I knew at that Kameron Dreesen moment that I was bred to become apart of the wrestling business. I have a feeling that courses through my veins and gives me life. I have no doubt that it isWhen theI career I will end up achieving.” grew up, Ithat wanted to be a firefighter. I would always change what I wanted to do, and at one point I wanted to be a paleontologist, another I wanted to be a teacher, but firefighting was always something I've thought about ever since I was about 5. I joined Central Nine and it showed me that no matter who I was or what I looked like, if I truly wanted this I would in 110%. to do, and at would always change whatputI wanted

- Kameron Dreeson

“I one point I wanted to Adair be a paleontologist, another I Smith wanted to be a teacher, but firefighting was always something I’ve thought about ever since I was "Well, I like most kids, dreamed of being a professional athlete, but about 5. I joined Central Nine and it showed me I could not see myself in such a field [now]. I remember when I was that no amatter who I was or whatschool, I looked like,help if Ihim boy, I would go into my grandpa's and I would preparethis for the school year. always made me want to be a truly wanted I would putThis in 110%.” teacher. My younger self would probably chuckle because when I was little I was all about the money, but now I know I can still make decent money doing a job I'd love doing."

- Adair Smith

Zach Wallem

Adair of Smith “Well, I like most kids, dreamed being a professional athlete, but I could not see myself in such a field [now]. I remember"When whenI Igrew was up, a boy, I would go into my grandpa’s I wanted to be a mechanical school, and I would help him prepare for the school year. engineer. Now, I am going into the priesthood. I was This always made me want to be a teacher. My younger inspired by the Holy Spirit to pursue this career path. self would probably chuckle because when I was little I younger self would think, 'That's was all My about the money, butprobably now I know I can stillpretty make cool, Ianever thought about that!'" decent money doing job I’d love doing.”

- Zach Wallem Sam Hansen When I was a little kid, I always told my parents that I wanted to be a doctor and play in the NFL, NBA, and MLB “When all I grew I wanted tothe befirst a mechanical at the up, same time. I think question my younger engineer.self Now, going into thetopriesthood. I of wouldI am ask is, 'Are you going be making a lot was inspired byNow the IHoly Spirit toapursue this career money?' am going to be businessman, and I they have potential to make lots of money." path. Myknow younger selfthewould probably think, ‘That’s

pretty cool, I never thought about that!’” Jack Hegwood

- Sam Hansen “When I was a little kid, I always told my parents that I wanted to be a doctor and play in the NFL, NBA, and MLB all at the same time. I think the first question my younger self would ask is, ‘Are you going to be making a lot of money?’ Now I am going to be a businessman, and I know they have the potential to make lots of money.”

- Jack Hegwood GRAPHIC BY KARA HOUSE

GRAPHIC BY ELIZABETH BRADLEY

“Start saving money immediately.”

5.17.18

“Don’t go through the college years devoted to the high school boyfriend.”

“Laugh more. Don’t worry so much about everything.”

- Ms. Linda Simpkins

- Ms. Kathy Peach

“Stock up on tiny cartons of milk. They’re not readily available after grade and high school.”

“18 is not 21. Keep your nose clean, and stay out of trouble.”

- Mr. Ryan Costello www.roncallimedia.com

- Mrs. Kathy Nalley-Schembra


www.roncallimedia.com

5.17.18

Succeeding under Ratliff

Roncalli sweeps competition, students gain experience for future jobs BY MEGHAN LOONEY Copy Editor

T

he Roncalli drafting and design program, led by Mr. Jim Ratliff, has a long and impressive record in the National Association of Women in Construction competition. They began competing in the early 1990s and have won the national championship 12 times. This year, they hope to continue that tradition. Thankfully, they have a good start as senior Patrick McManama earned first in the statewide competition and in the five state regional competition, which means he will be in the running for the national championship. Fellow seniors Khaing Thu and Landon Lahey got second and third, respectively. The drafting students knew that in order to do well and create their best drawings, they had to begin early in the year. “I usually get the syllabus for the contest in late July,” Ratliff said, “and then as soon as the students arrive I give the syllabus [to them].” The students then get to work in the fall and spend months working on their projects. “We started the first day of school,” McManama said. “[We worked] until the end of the third quarter.” While Mr. Ratliff provides guidance for the students, they mainly work on their own throughout the year. “The students come up with their own design, and I just

help them tweak the design so that it will be functional,” Ratliff said. “It’s always their own design, and I’m there everyday [to help].” Even though the students enjoy what they’re doing, the process of creating a portfolio for the competition can be long and arduous. “It was definitely tedious and a lot of research and planning,” McManama said. “You kinda just had to grind it out [because] you didn’t want to fall behind.” All the work was worthwhile as the Roncalli drafting program swept the NAWIC statewide competition. It was also worth it as many students gained more experience in the drafting, design and engineering fields. Seven Roncalli drafting students are planning to continue architecture and design in college. Senior Elizabeth Woodruff is going into interior design, Lahey is planning on going into landscape architecture and McManama, John Mosher, Chris McKay, Michael Shirley and Joey Geibel are going into architecture and planning. Even though these students are relatively new to the drafting field, they are already so prepared and experienced, and they attribute that to their teacher.

news

Songs Senior Retreat of

GRAPHIC BY MAX CROSS

What’s Inside?

PHOTOS BY MEGHAN LOONEY

DESIGNING FOR THE FUTURE: Seniors Bonnie Wagner, Elizabeth Woodruff, Joey Geibel and Landon Lahey work on designing structures on the computers. The students that continue architecture and design will be well prepared as they will use similar programs.

HARD AT WORK: Seniors Landon Lahey, Khai Thu and Patrick McManama stand around industrial technology teacher Mr. Jim Ratliff as he shows them a drawing. Ratliff helped his students with their own projects and checked in with them to make sure they were completing their work.

Senior Retreat is considered to be a time for seniors to come together, forget about their worries and seek out God in a new setting. This playlist, which includes songs from all of the retreats, was created by polling students via Google Form for their favorite songs from the experience.

Senior Transformations How the class of 2018 has grown and changed over its years in the Roncalli halls GRAPHIC BY ISABEL LAUT

Will Allen

Jacob Bowman

Connor Mahern

Morgan Kincaid

Autumn Peoni

Abbey Cole

www.roncallimedia.com

Nick Ramos

Natalie Stigall 3


SENIOR EDITION American Musical and Dramatic Acad. New York City, N.Y. 11 hr. 4 min. Natalie Stigall

Anderson University Anderson, Ind. 59 min. Katelyn McClary

Ball State University Muncie, Ind. 1 hr. 10 min. Will Allen Kameron Dreesen Joey Geibel Will Gibson Ty Hall Sean Hornek Amber Kunkel Grace Mappes Grace McGuire Patrick McManama John Mosher Shane Moylan

Michael Okerson Macy Oller Emily Painter McKenna Sayre Tony Schott Megan Scott Michael Shirley Kyler Simmons Maddie Stone Dylan Williams Olivia Wright

Bellarmine University Louisville, Ky. 1 hr. 48 min. Chandler Gibson

Kelly Grube

Bradley University Peoria, Ill. 3 hr. 19 min. Cameron Irwin

Butler University Indianapolis, Ind. 22 min. Nick Armstrong Alexis Bell Lauren Fey Shannon Mitchel

Cade Mitchell Andrew Shelby Christina Rike Devon Widdifield

Case Western Reserve University Cleveland, Ohio 4 hr. 54 min. Carolina Whitaker

DePauw University Greencastle, Ind. 55 min. Sam Sedgwick

Kayleigh Winter

Duquesne University Pittsburgh, Pa. 5 hr. 41 min. Olivia Origer

Flagler College

www.roncallimedia.com

Indiana University Bloomington, Ind. 1 hr. 2 min. Claire Alfery Jackson Annee Victoria Annee Natalie Bednarz Dom Bleizeffer Austin Bogie Emily Coffman Sam Curtis Story Ellis Mason Foxlow Lucy Furiak Conner Gore Emma Harmon Katelin Hess Sierra Holtsclaw Joe Kirkhoff Harrison Koppenhofer Scout Leffler Ally Lewis Matthew Looney

Connor Mahern Chloe Mann Bryson Meek Dalton Minor Emily Morris Blake Powell Ryan Pirau Nick Ramos Maggie Reeves Janet Roll Dave Schrader Emily Schubach Max Stevenson Sam Szentes Jack Wade Zach Wallem Nick Williams Maddie Young Ryan Zakrowski

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Ind. 16 min. Fatima Amezcua Emma Anttonen Bri Beeson David Brinker Abby Cole Ashley Conner Joey Cross Anna Ferguson Haley Fitzgerald Bailey Frigon Grace Guerrettaz Collin Henn Tanner Jackson Rachel Knierman Isabel Laut Lexi Lawson

Katie Lewis Kenzie Lincoln Myles Lyngh Brody McHugh Tyler Melloh Jacob Reed Shane Sanneman Matthew Shanahan Lisann Sizemore-Dalton Macy Skibinski Katherine Spees Luke Tippett Chris Walsh Laura Wood Nicola Wood

Louisiana State University Baton Rouge, La. 12 hr. 26 min. Chelsea Miner

Loyola University - Chicago Chicago, Ill. 3 hr. 18 min Adam Wolf

Marian University Indianapolis, Ind. 20 min.

Ellie Bischoff Hank Daniel Sophie Daniel Kaitlyn Dinkel

Columbus, Ind. 41 min. Blanca Martinez

Mappi Future P

How far will you be

Graphic by: Lizzy Hosty, Dave S

Lizzy Hosty Merrick Strykowski Khaing Thu Bonnie Wagner

Michigan State University East Lansing, Mich. 3 hr. 50 min. Colten Panaranto

Muskingum University New Concord, Ohio 3 hr. 49 min. Grace Lawrie

Northern Kentucky University Highland Heights, Ky. 1 hr. 49 min. Jordan Jenkins

Indiana University-Purdue Columbus

5.17.18

Kyle Moore

Ohio Northern University Ada, Ohio 2 hr. 58 min. Hannah Irmer

Indiana University Southeast

The Ohio State University

New Albany, Ind. 1 hr. 36 min.

Columbus, Ohio 2 hr. 43 min.

Grace Matthews

Tyler Hicks

Armed Force

Max Linton Hunter Miller

Ohio Technical College Ivy Tech Community College Indianapolis, Ind. 17 min. Sam Bramlett Kara Brown Michael Cento Ana Garnica Noah Kill Garret Lucas Nicole Matthews

Jordan Raines Michael Rico Cade Sanders Adair Smith Cheyenne Webb Mark Zehnle

Cleveland, Ohio 4 hr. 48 min. Cauy Sprinkle

Armed Forces

Ohio University

Max Linton Hunter Miller

Athens, Ohio 3 hr. 53 min. Grace Silver

St. Augustine, Fla. 13 hr. 46 min.

Florida Atlantic University Boca Raton, Fla. 16 hr. 56 min. Dawson Wojtowicz

Franklin, Ind. 26 min. Mark Cobb Katie Lauer

Jason Stephen Brent Guerin

Class of SENI SUPERLA

Maiya Mahoney

Franklin College

Work

MANNY GALLEGOS

GRACE MURPHY

CONNER GORE

MOST LIKELY TO GO TO IT FOR A COMPUTER PROBLEM

MOST LIKELY TO FIND THE CURE FOR CANCER

MOST ATHLETIC (MALE)

Katie Strange

DOMINIC CLOUSE BEST

Indiana State University Terre Haute, Ind. 1 hr. 18 min. Anthony Monroe Nicholas Stuck

Christian Walker

KELLEN SCHREIBER

MASON FOXLOW

MOST LIKELY TO COME BACK TO TEACH AT RONCALLI

LIFE OF THE PARTY

JEN SMITH

BEST LAUGH

as chosen classmat Google


SENIOR EDITION

www.roncallimedia.com

5.17.18

ing Out Plans

e from Roncalli?

Schrader, Kathryn Witsaman

Oxford College of Emory University Cassandra Petroff

Pennsylvania State University College Township, Pa. 7 hr. 44 min

Anahi Murillo

St. Xavier University Orland Park, Ill. 2 hr. 54 min.

Shelby Brobst

Dom Clouse

Purdue University West Lafayatte, Ind. 1 hr. 22 min.

Jones Asher Jack Baker Pete Baker Jack Bauer Hannah Brinker Kyle Carpenter Nicole Clifford Kieran Corcoran Allison Cougill Jason Croddy Michael Dill Tyler Doerr Luke Dow Cam Fath Liz Fox Siana Fox Trevor Frank Michael Frausto Grace George Luke Hanley Brian Hendricks Danielle Henke Izzy Jahnke Kaitlyn Keigley Brendan Klaas

Landon Lahey Lauren Liberto Katey Limcaco Jordyn Mattingly Murphy McManama Faith Miller Hayden Moran Cade Morgan Kate Morse Ethan Newett Nate O’Mara Luke Parrett Nicholas Plahitko Hannah Rollins Olivia Shaul Patrick Shilson Sarah Shover Jen Smith Ali Stong Patrick Todd Gabrielle Viduya Emileigh Wilham Grant Utley Alex Woods

Terre Haute, Ind. 1 hr. 15 min. Jacob Bowman Christapher Dobbs

Trine University Angola, Ind. 2 hr. 35 min.

University St. Xavier ofUniversity Alabama Tuscaloosa, Ala. 7 hr. 47 min.

Indianapolis, Ind. 6 min. Kassie Bales Amelia Banister Izzy Brown Nate Comley Natalie Chida Taylor Hehmann Courtney Hollcraft Conley Jones Lucas Keller Miranda Lopez Reaghan Molitor

Autumn Peoni Sophia Ray Evan Reid Vinny Romano Alex Ruble Madeleine Russell Jack Tichenor Hannah Uberta Casey Venable Kathryn Witsaman Evan Wray

University of Kentucky Lexington, Ky. 2 hr. 51 min. Gracie Gilliland Megan Ruth

University of Louisville Louisville, Ky. 2 hr. 7 min. Nick Schnell

Jeff Amodeo

Liam Collier

University of California, Los Angeles Los Angeles, Calif. 31 hr. Ben Asdell

University of Indianapolis

Patrick Condi Ally Fanning

Reese McGinsie

Collin Prince

Caleb Spayd

University of Notre Dame Notre Dame, Ind. 2 hr. 40 min. Morgan Kincaid Katie Kolis

Grace Murphy Dianna Perez

University of Southern Indiana Evansville, Ind. 2 hr. 58 min.

University of Cincinnati Cincinnati, Ohio 1 hr. 43 min. Chris McKay

Elizabeth Woodruff

Adrian Daves Melissa Kurz

Olivia Smith Annie Sullivan

University St. Xavier of Tennessee, University Knoxville Knoxville, Tenn. 5 hr. 16 min. Miya Heckman

Notre Dame, Ind. 2 hr. 45 min. Kimberly Madden

Jacob Luedeman

Evan Elliot

Saint Mary’s College

r

St. Louis, Mo. 3 hr. 46 min.

Oxford, Georgia 8 hr. 38 min.

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

es

St. Louis University

Kathleen Soller

University of Dayton Dayton, Ohio 2 hr. 1 min.

Sophia Egold Ali Mattingly

Benton Stegemiller

Valparaiso University Valparaiso, Ind. 2 hr. 35 min. Jasmine Murillo

Vincennes University Seton Hall University

Force

Brown Strevels Wampler Wilkerson

Undecided

South Orange, N.J. 10 hr. 31 min.

Evansville, Ind. 2 hr. 47 min.

Meghan Looney

Shelby Zins

St. John Fisher College

Javier Briones Ty Hall Sam Moore Ivan Smith

University of Evansville

Rochester, N.Y. 8 hr. 41 min. Ally Currens

University of Florida Gainesville, Fla. 12 hr. 50 min.

Vincennes, Ind. 2 hr. 8 min. Hayden Harper

Dylan Holok

St.Wabash Xavier University College Crawfordsville, Ind. 1 hr. 2 min. Drew Fleming Sam Hansen Jack Hegwood

Brandon Ping Evan Schiefelbein Kellen Schreiber

Sydney Young

Walsh University North Canton, Ohio 4 hr. 48 min.

f 2018 IOR ATIVES

Rita Brockman

Washington University in St. Louis St. Louis, Mo. 3 hr. 48 min. Natalie Fikes

LAUREN FEY

DYLAN HOLOK

SHANNON MITCHEL

MOST ATHLETIC (FEMALE)

MOST LIKELY TO HAVE TO SEE MS. CUMMINGS BECAUSE THEY FORGOT THEIR LUNCH MONEY

MOST LIKELY TO STAR IN AN NBC SITCOM

Western Kentucky Bowling Green, Ky. 3 hr. 30 min.

Emma Barnett

Xavier University

JACOB LUEDEMAN BROMANCE

by their tes via Form

Aleksey Oehrle

Cincinnati, Ohio 1 hr. 45 min. Grace Elo Manny Gallegos

SHANE MOYLAN

MEGHAN LOONEY

CHELSEA MINER

MOST ADDICTED TO THEIR PHONE

MOST LIKELY TO BECOME PRESIDENT

MOST LIKELY TO MOVE OUT OF THE COUNTRY

Madeline Zingraf


opinion

www.roncallimedia.com

5.17.18

Big adjustments

Hand In Hand With SAINT JOHN XXIII

What seniors will, will not miss about their time at Roncalli BY SOPHIA EGOLD Staff Writer

W

hen the final bell rings to end the last period of our high school careers, there are numerous feelings that will overwhelm us as seniors. Of course this time is well-awaited and many of us have waited for this day since the moment we stepped foot inside Roncalli, but the truth of the matter is that there are many factors about Roncalli that we will miss. After taking a poll earlier this semester about what seniors will and will not miss about Roncalli, a consensus arose that the majority of us will miss our Roncalli family. Roncalli has given me, and many other students a positive environment to come to every day where we are surrounded by people that we know will always have our backs. Seniors Collin Henn and Kim Madden also agree that they will miss their Roncalli family the most when they leave. “I found it very easy to create a family atmosphere in my time at Roncalli because of the genuine kindness and love that floods the halls,” Madden said. It is very unlikely that if I went to a public school that I would be able to know every single person in my class, but with Roncalli, I can confidently say that I know every person’s name in my class. Even when I see people outside of class, there is never a doubt in my mind that the person is going to smile or say hi to me. That is just how people are at Roncalli. “Things are done a certain way here that aren’t done anywhere else,” Henn said. “Once you are exposed to it and begin to experience it everyday, it becomes second nature, and everyone just goes with it because it’s what you do.” Being able to come together during liturgy and other assemblies is one of my favorite parts of Roncalli because that is when the family atmosphere is the most prominent. “When the whole school sings Lean On Me at the end of Liturgy, you cannot help but be overwhelmed with love and compassion that comes from the students as they sing,” Madden said. Even though community is a huge part of what I will miss the most about Roncalli, there are aspects of our school that I will not be too sad to leave behind. This fact just comes with high school in general. One of the feelings most prevalent

The Rebel Review wants you, as a Roncalli student, to learn more about our school’s namesake. [Each month, we will be including a paraphrased excerpt from the book “A Pope Laughs,” by Kurt Klinger] PHOTO BY NICK PERKINS

JOINING TOGETHER: Freshman Orientation gives new students the opportunitiy to experience the Rebel family for the first time. The seniors try to make sure the freshmen feel welcome and help them feel comfortable at Roncalli.

among seniors is that the rules restrict us. “In a way, my least favorite part of Roncalli is the strict rules and constant surveillance over every action of every student,” Madden said. I know that I will not miss having a mini heart attack in the middle of class when someone’s phone accidentally goes off and praying that it wasn’t mine. I know that I will also not miss rushing to the bathroom during a passing period and freaking out upon realizing it’s my third tardy for that class. Homework is also another aspect of Roncalli that I will not be sad to leave behind. College is a new experience to have a couple of days to finish homework because I will not have the same class every single day. I will not miss having the same schedule every single day, so a mix in schedule will be a nice refresher after Roncalli. “[In college], we will have a day or two between classes to complete assignments instead of trying to cram seven assignments for seven classes all into one night,” Henn said. As I speak for the majority of my senior class, I believe that we have created a family here at Roncalli, and leaving it behind is going to be a big adjustment. However, after four years, it is time to go our separate ways and welcome the rest of our lives.

Papa and Mamma

A

fter his election, Angelo Roncalli was so deeply moved that he sat in the Sistine Chapel with his eyes closed for a long time before he was ready to receive the homage of the cardinals. With a jerk of the hand, each cardinal moved the automatic mechanism removing the canopy above his chair. The only canopy left was the one above Roncalli’s seat. It was the single visible symbol of his new dignity. The fifty cardinals present waited in thoughtful silence until the new Pope accepted the nomination. It appeared an eternity to them before the necessary ceremonies were begun: the Pope’s acceptance, his choice of name, his explanation of his choice, and the exchange of caps. In reality, only a few minutes had passed. After the doors of the conclave were opened and the members of the papal family who were present were permitted to present their congratulations, John confided to a friend: “The long pause after my election? I was so moved, so overcome, that I thought of home. My thoughts returned to Sotto il Monte, to Mamma and Papa...And when they dressed me in the white papal soutane, I remembered the moment when my mother dressed me in white for my first communion.”

Letter from the editors

Reminiscing on the newspaper year, saying goodbyes Hey Rebels,

It seems like just yesterday that we were writing our first letter from the editors way back in September, in our very first edition this year. Back then, we promised to update our online presence through our website and social media and we hoped we delivered. We have been honored to serve as your Editors-in-Chief this year, and hope that we put out a quality newspaper, both in print and online. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to rhsrebelreview@gmail.com or by swinging by room 203. PHOTO BY ELIJAH MAHAN

RONCALLI MEDIA STAFF: Front row: Kara House, Madison Aldrich, Grace Silver, Sophia Egold Second row: Will Allen, Lizzy Hosty, Grace Murphy, Meghan Looney Third row: Max Cross, Elizabeth Bradley, Isabel Laut, Dave Schrader Fourth row: Ryan Brandenburg, Nick Perkins, Cameron Irwin, Nicholas Plahitko

Sincerely, Lizzy Hosty and Dave Schrader

2017-18 Editorial Policy

Roncalli Media Staff Staff Writers

6

Lizzy Hosty Dave Schrader

Editor-in-Chief Editor-in-Chief

Grace Silver Meghan Looney

Online Editor Copy Editor

Julie Albertson

Adviser

Maddie Aldrich Will Allen Elizabeth Bradley Ryan Brandenburg Max Cross Sophia Egold

Kara House Cameron Irwin Isabel Laut Grace Murphy Nick Perkins Nicholas Plahitko

We accept submissions from all faculty, staff and students, which can be emailed to rhsrebelreview@gmail.com or delivered to Room 203. Please keep these letters short, roughly 200-300 words. They will be accepted under the circumstances that they are signed and noted to which article it is in response. Letters that contain misinformation or are meant to libel another will not be published. The decision to publish any content will be decided by Roncalli Media adviser Julie Albertson. We also accept photographs and articles written by students, teachers and staff members.

www.roncallimedia.com


5.17.18

www.roncallimedia.com

Senior sets ISSMA record

fine arts

Dow achieves three golds at ISSMA state competition, reflects on band experience at Roncalli

BY NICHOLAS PLAHITKO Staff Writer

G

etting a gold at ISSMA is no easy task. Earning that award requires practice, talent, hard work and focus during the performance before the judge. Some particularly musical students often opt into competing in two separate instruments for the competition, but for senior Luke Dow, even that wasn’t enough. Dow signed up for Group 1 piano, snare drum and marimba performances and earned a gold rating in all three, making him the first Roncalli student to earn such a rating in three separate categories. Group 1 is the only division of ISSMA that can move onto state, requiring participants to memorize more challenging songs from a list. Dow’s family instilled a love for the musical arts within him and his older sister very early on in their lives. The diversity of instruments playing in their home ranges everywhere from percussion to string. These, among a few other percussion instruments including timpani, drum set and quads, are Dow’s specialty. “I’ve been playing piano for thirteen years and snare drum and marimba for six,” Dow said. Dow did not come from one of the South Deanery grade schools, instead graduating from Doe Creek Middle School in New Palestine, so coming to Roncalli was a challenge. “I met many of my first friends through band,” Dow said. “And [band director and teacher] Ms. [Kathy] Peach is one of the most loving people I know.” Dow became a familiar face in the band room and could often be seen practicing pieces on various instruments after school. This dedication, work ethic and passion for music is one of the factors that earned him the position of section leader for the drumline. Dow worked in close junction with the drum majors, seniors Jeffrey Amodeo and Adam Wolf to ensure smooth performances all season. “Since [Dow] was the section leader for drum line, we relied on each other [a lot],” Wolf said. “He was who I looked to if the tempo was off or if something needed to be changed.” Dow’s leadership and dedication was felt by Peach as well. “[Dow] cares a lot, [and] he is very loyal and hard working,” Peach said. “He leads by example and does a great job.” In the weeks leading up to his stellar ISSMA performance, Dow prepared tirelessly.

“For piano, I already learned the solo in a previous year, and it was one of the [options] for Group 1,” Dow said. “For snare, I would set up my practice pad and spend an hour each day practicing my solo, and… I would stay after school and practice on the schools marimba for four hours a week.” Dow plans to continue his musical career in college, with the idea of trying out for Purdue University’s marching band drumline. This is in conjunction with his plans to study physics after high school. “It is never easy to say goodbye,” Peach said. “I think we have all enjoyed having [Dow].” Wherever the road leads, Dow has given a lot to the Roncalli band community through his leadership and immense talent and will be missed as they wish him well.

PHOTO BY MEGHAN LOONEY

PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT: Senior Luke Dow practices his piece on the marimba. This is one of the three instruments that Dow performed on at the 2018 ISSMA State competition.

Turning passion into career Witsaman plans to continue her love for art in college and as a career for people in need of therapy BY GRACE SILVER Staff Writer

S

enior Kathryn Witsaman discovered her love for art at an early age. She tried playing sports, taking up an instrument and writing stories, but nothing seemed to fascinate her as much as art and drawing. “I always enjoyed being creative, and art was another way for me to express this creativity,” Witsaman said. “[In grade school], I even got my mom to sign me up for an art

PHOTO BY GRACE SILVER

DETERMINED DOODLES: Senior Kathryn Witsaman sketches a picture of hair for her AP Studio art class. Witsman has been doing art since she was in grade school, but started to take it much more seriously in high school.

class at the community center.” Art started out as a hobby for Witsaman, but she soon started to research possible careers involving art and a new love she found during school: psychology. After much time spent researching careers, she stumbled upon art therapy. “Art therapy is an upcoming career that uses art as a therapeutic method to help people deal with obstacles,” Witsaman said. “I want to pursue this because it is a way for me to use art to help others and make a difference in their lives.” Art therapists work in all kinds of environments, such as schools, nursing homes or hospitals. They also experience working with all types of patients--those who are abused, soldiers who have PTSD, cancer patients. “I was talking to an art therapist when I was visiting Herron [School of Art and Design],” Witsaman said, “and she said she took the uniforms of soldiers, shredded them up and turned it into paper to draw on. It’s neat because [she] takes something that represents horrible experiences and turns it into something beautiful.” During her time at Roncalli, Witsaman started to take her art more seriously and see her art as more than just a hobby. As she drew more, she was able to see her improvements. After taking three years of AP studio art, she has been forced to try new things and think outside of her comfort zone. “I think [Witsaman] has become more confident in her decisions and has explored many more options in her work,” art teacher Mr. Mark Stratton said. “She is willing to take bigger chances than in the past.” After a long decision process, Witsaman decided to go to the University of Indianapolis (UIndy), even though she was accepted into Herron (IUPUI’s school of art). UIndy has a more specific and structured program that focuses on Witsaman’s major of art therapy. “I really like the program at UIndy,” Witsaman, “so I decided to go there because I felt like it would be a better fit for me and my major.” To get into UIndy’s art program, she had to present her portfolio (a collection of her works) and go through an interview to get scholarships. Witsaman started an Instagram page (@Sketched_Stuff) her freshman year so others could follow her artwork throughout her high school career. From quick sketches, to precisely drawn masterpieces, Witsaman proves she can conquer any piece of artwork. “It’s kind of scary to be an art major in college,” Witsaman said, “but I’m super excited for the opportunities it presents and being able to do something I love for a living.”

www.roncallimedia.com

7


sports

www.roncallimedia.com

One final round-tripper

5.17.18

Seniors look to leave lasting impact on LaPinta as their final baseball season wraps up BY CAMERON IRWIN Staff Writer

A state championship as sophomores. A loss last year in the regional championship to the eventual state champion Cathedral Irish. Through three or four years of baseball, this senior class has played well into June on their journey to the state championship. This year plans to be no different. Just as senior athletes have dominated the majority of the rosters this year, the baseball roster is not an exception. Nine seniors dominate the official 17-man roster. For the majority of these nine seniors, this is their second or third year with varsity experience. This is a group of battle tested players. Among the nine seniors is one of the captains, outfielder and pitcher Nick Schnell.

Schnell is a heavily recruited player out of high school, both at the collegiate and professional level. Dozens of major leagues scouts have traveled to LaPinta to see him hit. Yet, as of now, Schnell has committed himself to continuing his career as an outfielder for the University of Louisville. “I wanted to go somewhere that was going to make me better, and the competitiveness is going to make me a better player,” Schnell said. “And I really liked the coaching staff.” To add to his current accolades as a 2016 state champion, Schnell is a two-time First Team All State and a preseason Perfect Game All American. The best players from the east and the west meet in San Diego over the summer as All Americans and play a game against each other. From past rosters, many players selected to this famed game have ended up in the Major League. The statistics speak for themselves. Schnell is hitting .522, a team best. He’s on pace to break the single season record for average originally set at .460. He has 10 homeruns, a school single season record, holds the record for career homeruns, and has driven in 24 runs. Pitchers are afraid to throw to him, a testament to his 23 walks this year. As of now, Schnell is projected to go 31st overall in the draft to the Tampa Bay Rays, according to Baseball America. For those looking to tune in, the first 43 picks will be televised on MLB Network on June 4th. With this type of caliber roaming the outfield, paired with junior record holder Tommy Hansen for three consecutive grand slams, and senior speedster Mark Cobb, the Rebel outfield won’t be allowing many drops. This year, Cobb, the Franklin College commit, is hitting an absurd .451 with 18 RBIs. Once on base, he is always a threat to steal second. Even more impressive is his plate discipline. Cobb has walked 17 times compared to seven strikeouts But, there isn’t just one MLB caliber player on this roster. Senior pitcher and third basemen Colten Panaranto is also receiving Major League interest from close to 10-12 teams.

PHOTO BY TJ LAMARCA

CAREER DAY: Senior Nick Schnell steps into the box for his fourth of five at bats in a 14-4 win over Franklin Central, in which he hit three home runs. Schnell went four for four on the day with three home runs, five RBIs, and threw out an FC runner at home from dead center field in front of Major League scouts.

To read more, visit roncallimedia.com

Athletes demonstrate grit Two seniors battle the daily struggles of high school while defeating cancer

BY MADDIE ALDRICH Staff Writer or the average high school senior, juggling athletics, schoolwork, extracurriculars, possibly jobs, along with college applications is exhausting. Adding a life threatening illness on top of all these struggles is something a typical high schooler cannot begin to fathom. However, for two seniors, this became a reality. Senior Shane Moylan battled and defeated a rare form of non-Hodgkins lymphoma not only during grade school, but also during his sophomore year. Kathleen Soller, a senior as well, found out at the end of her junior year she had Primary Mediastinal Large B-Cell Lymphoma, which she also defeated. While spending days in Riley receiving chemotherapy treatments, both Soller and Moylan remained involved with their extracurriculars along with demanding course loads. During Soller’s senior year alone, she was on the gymnastics team, cross country team and first-ever girls lacrosse team. She was a board member for both South Deanery Dance Marathon and Anna’s Celebration of Life. Soller is also a student council co-president, holding the record for most Stu-Co points ever earned (147), and a member of the ski club. “I didn't want cancer to be the reason I couldn't participate in anything,” Soller said. “Doing the things I loved kept my mind off how sick I was and always improved my mood.” Moylan has been a four-year member of the boys volleyball team as well as being the girls volleyball manager this year. Like Soller, he was also on the South Deanery Dance

Marathon committee, which benefits Riley Hospital, where they were both treated. While continuing their regularly scheduled routines, they inspired those who surrounded them. “Seeing Kathleen so positive and hardworking makes me more diligent,” said sophomore teammate Cassidy Cross. “She helps us stay organized and focused and she has been a great inspiration [for the team].” Soller and Moylan have both decided to pursue a degree in nursing, due to the influence of the nurses at Riley. They both intend on returning to Riley Children’s Hospital, this time as employees rather than patients. “I really want to give back to Riley for all the things they did to help me,” Moylan said.“I would not be here today if it was not for them.” Moylan and Soller have created their own unique legacy here. While balancing the ordinary life of a student athlete constantly going to battle for the name across their chest, they also fought and won in a fight for their lives. Their fight against cancer is truly admirable to those who surround them and their willingness to not let cancer define themselves, but instead use it to find great success. This is not something found in your everyday high schooler. With illness behind them and goals set ahead of them, the two only have good things to look forward to in their futures.

PHOTO BY NICK PERKINS

PHOTO BY KAMERON DRESSEN

F

CAN YOU DIG IT?: Senior Shane Moylan passes the ball with a teammate before the Metro Tournament hosted in the Woodshed. Moylan and his team won the tournament, advancing them further in the series.

8

D UP: Senior Kathleen Soller defends the ball from a Cathedral player as she attempts to score. Soller is one of the captains of the inaugural Roncalli girls’ lacrosse team.

www.roncallimedia.com

Rebel Review: 5/18  

The official newspaper of Roncalli High School, Indianapolis, Indiana

Rebel Review: 5/18  

The official newspaper of Roncalli High School, Indianapolis, Indiana

Advertisement