Issuu on Google+

It is with humility, gratitude and anticipation I accept the position of President of the Osceola County Association of Realtors®. We have been blessed with a rich history in this great organization and I recognize the many achievements of those whom have served before me. 2011 will be an opportunity to build upon the foundations laid by my predecessors and utilize my experience to guide our association into a prosperous and productive future. As we embark on a new year, it will remain incumbent upon us to focus on our mission of contributing to the success of our members, while adding value to our community. As such, it is my commitment to you, our valued members, to serve with integrity, professionalism and sincere dedication in staying true to our shared goal. As a longtime member of OSCAR and active Realtor® in our community, I understand the unique needs of our members and live them on a daily basis in my own career. I am empathic to the challenges many of us have faced as we experienced the economic downturn in our economy and shift in our profession in recent years. I value the importance of sound business practices, ongoing professional development, quality customer service and wise public policy decisions – all of which affect our businesses and the lives of the people we serve on a daily basis. Additionally, I fully appreciate the importance of private property rights and the value of home ownership in the lives of American citizens. It is with pride I reflect upon a hallmark in the founding of our great nation the right of individuals to own a piece of the American Dream. As Realtors®, it is our privilege and responsibility to be advocates for the aforementioned. To help entrepreneurs, and families alike, navigate the complexities of real estate transactions and be a trusted voice in and for real estate throughout our communities. It is our duty to protect the ideals of our Founding Fathers and ensure generations to come have the opportunity to achieve and live their American Dream. So, OSCAR members, I ask and invite you to join me… • Join me in making the Osceola County Association of Realtor® a beacon in our community. • Join me spreading the importance of private property rights and home ownership. • Join me in serving our organization and ensuring the future of our profession and community remain strong. Thank you for the trust you have placed in me to serve you and I look forward to working with you throughout 2011. God Bless,

Tim Weisheyer 2011 President

“Nobody can do everything, but everyone can do something.” — Unknown Author

January 2011

Creating an Environment for Change by Carol K. Platt, CRB During the 2010 Florida Realtors® Convention, Association Executives gathered to discuss the challenge of continuous change. Within the real estate industry and, as a result, within real estate professional associations, constant change has been the norm rather than an individual or cyclic event. Our speaker gave an interesting scenario of membership reactions to change. Six percent really have no patience to wait for change to happen. They are excited about impending changes and frustrated if they don’t happen fast enough. These members are great in helping associations change by providing much needed research into change options and effectiveness. Twelve percent of members want to help drive and implement the change. There is no one better to put in charge of the logistics of changes needed in all types of areas. When these members are not helping to implement change, they are bored and moving on to other things. Thirty-two percent of members usually just want to be a part of the change. They don’t want to be left out or left behind. They want to help reap the rewards of change. However, thirty-two percent of members are really complacent about change. They are naturally apprehensive about changes and they want to have complete information and time to think about the changes before participating. These members really challenge leadership and staff to help meet their needs through providing enough information and communication about services or products that will change. What some members see as positive progression, others do not see anything positive about at all! Another twelve percent of members are really irritated about changes in their normal routine, product or service. Once they see the benefits and watch changes work in positive productive ways for other members, they will join the progress. Unfortunately, an average of six percent of members will do everything they can to stop any and all changes from taking place. Our group had few really good suggestions for solving problems for this type of membership group and satisfactorily servicing those members, but it was good to see such a strong desire among my colleagues to be able to help those members.

January 2011

There were very good suggestions for helping staff adjust to change and our speaker even suggested using a change predictive index questionnaire on all new hires in staff since this industry continues to evolve. These are good suggestions for real estate office staff as well, plus these suggestions could help brokers assist their associates utilizing strong change management techniques. It’s important to explain what the future holds if change is successful and what will happen in the future if you don’t change. Depending on personal characteristics, our speaker recognized distinct progressive actions toward change: denial, anger, fear, sorrow, experimentation, acceptance and celebration. So, if change is not over until you party, then perhaps that’s why the real estate industry has been so responsive to change. We are always ready for the party! I wish you a terrific New Year ahead that’s full of positive proactive change. I look forward to working with President Tim Weisheyer and President Elect Renee Clark to treasure and honor the past, while embracing the future. 2011…I think OSCAR is ready! ■

We Thank the Sponsors Of The


Installation Banquet Gold Sponsor Harmony Gold Preserve Silver Sponsors Charles P. Castellon, PA MFRMLS Bronze Sponsor Qubty Financial Group Titanium Sponsors Prominent Title VBA Consulting Group Stewart Approved Title

Farewell 2010 by Veronica Malolos

relationships with these organizations vital to our members’ development and growth. 2. Education & Resources • OSCAR continues to offer free continuing education to our members as part of the annual $15 education dues.

As I recall the evening I was installed as your 2010 President, I remember the OSCAR theme I delivered to you for my year: “Let’s Forge Ahead in 2010”. Did we fulfill the goals we set forth that evening? Despite the continued downturn of the economy and the obvious effects to the local real estate industry, did OSCAR forge ahead? Perhaps the best way to measure OSCAR’s 2010 achievements is to see how well the 2010 accomplishments stand up to our 3 year Strategic Plan according to the 5 primary areas: 1.

Member Services

• One of the best decisions made by the OSCAR Board of Directors in 2010 was to advance the technology offerings to our members as part of member benefits included in the member dues. These include: Reality, Point 2 and Listingbook. We also negotiated free one year membership for our members to TotalCommercial. com. • We increased our Affiliates membership by more than 61%. • Our Staff has made great strides in improving service by striving to make every contact memorable in a positive way. • OSCAR has identified the 3 phases of the member experience (new member, developing member and experienced member) focusing professional development on these three phases. • Our website has been fully re-designed offering more as a one-stop information resource. Social Media presence for OSCAR includes Facebook, Twitter and YouTube. • Events such as the Diversity Festival, the Affiliates Trade Show, Young Professionals and Affiliates/Brokers Appreciation Socials increased networking opportunities for our members. • The President’s Blog offers insights on the various Leadership activities and Board of Directors decisions that impact every OSCAR member and our community. • OSCAR worked very closely with our State and National Associations (FR, NAR, WCR to name a few) and MFRMLS further strengthening our strategic

• Education highlights for the 3 member phases include the Law Symposium, Broker Round Tables, classes on the new FR contracts and property management, designation classes for SFR, SRES. E-Pro, etc., entry level education and online video tutorials. • Participation in the 2010 Florida Realtors® Convention increased to 107 members. • OSCAR established REBAC Provider status. • OSCAR sponsored the Oscar Toastmasters club leading to the establishment of an official Chapter which includes members from various sectors of our community. • The Tuesday MLS Marketing meetings consistently regained record attendance offering additional practical education to our members. • Monthly regional commercial marketing meetings have been ongoing with CFCAR and CCIM. • 781 members attended at least 1 class with 289 receiving designations. 137 CE credit classes were taught with 19 classes attended by 30 students or more. 557 members attended MLS training. • OSCAR continues to offer and promote Valencia Community College as well as establishing a key relationship with Stetson University. 3. Public Policy & Government Affairs • The two biggest achievements of OSCAR in shaping local policy in 2010 are 1.) The local effort by our REALTORS® in defeating Amendment 4 at the mid-term elections and 2.) Successful collaboration to improve research, mobilize community efforts and negate the $200 portion of the foreclosure filing fee ordinance proposed by the City of Kissimmee. • OSCAR REALTORS® participated in City and County meetings as guest speakers. • OSCAR adopted a position on Airport Noise Zoning and Regulations. • The OSCAR Candidate Screening Committee recommended candidates for endorsement by the BOD supporting 12 candidates with a 67% win ratio. • OSCAR registered our AE as our Governmental Affairs

January 2011

Director at NAR. • OSCAR RPAC made goal despite its many challenges this year providing funds that result in strategic relationships with local and state elected officials crucial to the advancement of local and state REALTOR® issues. • A “Behind the Scenes” tour was held with the Osceola County School Board. 4. Community Awareness and Involvement • OSCAR supported various charities this year including the HAITI Disaster Relief, the FR “Support Our Troops Project”, the Red Cross Central Florida Region through the “Salute to the Armed Forces” Golf Tournament, “Ride for the Red” and the Red Cross Clothing Donation Box onsite. We also supported “Help Now of Osceola” with the delivery of much needed funds for the Holidays. • OSCAR received $30,000 in earned media in local publications and state magazines featuring member achievements like “30 under 30”. This helps to increase consumer awareness of the value of OSCAR REALTORS®. It also promotes the REALTOR® brand in Osceola. • We participated in the Florida REALTORS® Statewide Open House. • We sponsored and organized a successful event with the St. Cloud Chamber and the Leadership Team provided much needed OSCAR presence at community events which adds to establishing OSCAR as the leading local trade association in our area. • An increased effort toward celebrating Board and member achievements this year is evident at the 2011 Awards and Installation Banquet. 5. Association Operations • The hiring of our Association Executive in March of 2010 indeed led to the much needed stabilization of our Association. The consequent hiring of a permanent Communications Director has also greatly contributed to OSCAR’s many technological advancements. • Further training of the Staff in e-Pro, Rapattoni and team building has strengthened Staff support. • An OSCAR Realtor® Federal Credit Union Ambassador was appointed by NAR. • OSCAR has identified new sources of non-dues revenue through new sponsorships and advertising, investment income, technology add-ons to name a few. •

OSCAR exercised budgetary oversight and took advantage of cost cutting measures to obtain the most benefit for the least expenditure leading to a positive

January 2011

fiscal position in 2010. •

We established a fund investment policy, and completed the 2009 and 401K Audits instituting audit recommendations.

• A conservative 2011 Budget was developed and approved. I am proud and honored to have served such a dedicated 2010 Board of Directors who, despite the many difficult decisions we had to face as a BOD this year, kept our focus on OSCAR’s goals and in the end, delivered a very positive and productive “2010” as a Team. To the many Committee members and leaders… OSCAR could not have done it without you at the grassroots level. All of our volunteers deserve OSCAR’s undying appreciation and acknowledgement of their contributions to our Association. I am also grateful to our entire OSCAR staff team, Carol Platt, Bob St. Gordon, Yessica Colon, Chris Florence, Anneris Rivera and Eli Perez for delivering excellent support to our members, going above and beyond our expectations this year. To our Affiliates, OSCAR and I are always appreciative of your support this year and every year. I wish the very best to the 2011 OSCAR Leadership Team and I am confident that OSCAR will continue to move forward on a very positive direction, achieving greater and better things in the years ahead. To all OSCAR members, it was my honor to have served you as your 2010 President and I look forward to serving you in other capacities in the years ahead. ■

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Wednesday, January 26, 2011 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM

Carol K. Platt, CRB

Association Executive

Chris Florence

Communications/Technology Director

A Nichol’s Worth of Information by Nick Nichols

Bob St. Gordon


Anneris Rivera

Membership and Educational Administrative Services

Yessica Colon

If you are not aware of the NEW changes to newly created or revised forms, you are not staying up with the program! The 4 Form Simplicity forms that are either newly created or revised are as follows: Revised Short Sale Addendums (SSA-3) — many changes

Membership and Event Services

NEW Auction Addendum (AA-1) — A new form that has been needed

Eli Perez

Revised Commercial Contract (CC-4) — many paragraphs that have been revised

Leader and Member Services

1105 Shady Lane Kissimmee, Florida 34744 407.846.0117 • 407.846.0217 fax In order to share the wealth of information contained in this newsletter in an efficient manner, please submit your articles via e-mail or fax by the 10th of the monthly. Please clearly indicate that submission is for the Osceola ReVIEW. Articles: Advertising: For advertising inquiries please contact Bob St. Gordon at the Association Office. Your advertising defrays the cost of publishing. Thank you for your support. The Osceola ReVIEW is published exclusively for the Association by The Baker Press Orlando, Florida 407.290.5800 • 407.290.5977 fax Disclaimer: The Osceola ReVIEW is published for the member and affiliates of Osceola County Association of REALTORS®, Inc. by The Baker Press, Inc. as a courtesy. The Baker Press, Inc. nor the Association assume any responsibility for article content or advertising message as submitted for inclusion in the newsletter. Advertising and articles are not endorsed by the Association, nor is there any implied warranty by the Association or its staff.

new manual Florida Realtors® Exclusive Right of Sale Listing Agreement preparation manual — We have needed this manual for years! You need to go to and read about the above changes.

KNOWLEDGE IS POWER Sharpen your saw! OSCAR Association Leadership Tim Weisheyer, PA Renee Clark Veronica Malolos Susan Graves David DeLoach Kim Goodwin Danny Villazon

President President-Elect Immediate Past President Vice-President Treasurer Secretary Legal Counsel


Daisy Cid William Nichols Arlene Conow Angel Ortiz Karen Dierickx Denise Sacks Cheryl Grieb Hemendra Thakkar Richard Knapp

January 2011

Daily Real Estate Daily RealNews Estate News Did You Know: Net Worth, Home Owners vs. Renters By Danielle Hale, Research Economist In the past 12 years, the net worth of the typical home owner has ranged between 31 and 46 times that of the net worth of the typical renter. Home owner equity is a substantial component of home owner wealth. The Federal Reserve’s Survey of Consumer Finances, conducted once every three years, provides a snapshot of family income and net worth along with basic demographic details and more detailed information on where families keep the wealth they have accumulated. The most recent survey, concluded in 2007, offers a picture of the situation before home price declines and the tumbling equities market hit household balance sheets. At that time, median home owners had well over $200,000 in net worth or 46 times that of the median renter who had just over $5,000. Furthermore, $200,000 was the median value of owners’ homes. Looking at aggregate data, the National Association of Realtors® estimated the impact for renter and home owner households through mid-2010 taking home price and stock

January 2011

Average Net Worth: Renters vs. Home Owners






$250,000 $200,000 $150,000 $100,000

Homeowner net worth ranges from 31 to 46 times that of renters

x31 x36 x46 x46 x41

$50,000 $0 Renter


Source: Federal Reserve Survey of Consumer Finances, *2010 is NAR Estimate

market performance into account. The result suggests that despite declines in equity and housing markets, homeowners have a net worth orders of magnitude greater than renters. How has the recovery of the stock market and a sluggish housing market affected owners and renters? For the first time ever, the Federal Reserve resurveyed the 2007 participants in 2009 to directly measure how the crisis and recession affected their finances. These results are expected later this year. This is one in a series of commentaries by the Research staff of the National Association of REALTORS®. Read more commentaries at

The Cheapest, Best, Easiest Web Site for Realtors® by Kemp Howland, GRI, SFR OSCAR Technology Committee Amazingly, the first decade of the new millennium is behind us, along with the best and worst of economic times. If you have survived thus far the rollercoaster ride of real estate sales in the 21st century, congratulations! Although the real estate industry has been tumultuous recently, the world of technology continues to innovate and offer real estate practitioners a veritable smorgasbord of hardware, software and methodology to make us more productive and, ultimately, more profitable. Realtors® today have a host of new products and services from which to choose. In fact, the options are so plentiful they may be confusing and intimidating. Let’s look at what is currently available and what is expected in the near future. Using QR codes We can give our customers access to information which we have tailored to their individual wants and needs. Agents who understand this technology will be publishing the QR codes on business cards, letterhead, in magazine and newspaper advertising, to enhance both the consumer experience and the chances of capturing and keeping the prospect. What other technology allows you to print a one-inch graphic which, when viewed on a smartphone, will send your customer to any internet location you wish to direct them, and provide information you want them to have? QR codes rock! Smartphones Have certainly helped make our lives easier. We can unlock electronic lockboxes with our smartphones. We are able to access the MLS, as well as government sites, to provide our customers with data, photos, videos and neighborhood information, all while driving through a subdivision or walking through a listed property. We can configure our smartphone to accept credit card deposits. We can verify identities and even submit signed contracts using our smartphone. In the near future, look for smartphones to take a picture of your buyer’s check and deposit the escrow directly into the title company account. Today, smartphones can track your day-to-day business expenses. Soon, you will be able to make purchases using your smartphone. This tool of the future is changing nearly every aspect of our professional lives. Computing in the cloud Is here to stay. For Realtors® it started with the MLS. Next was Transaction Desk®, then Mongo Fax®, and now you have the advantage of electronic signatures, all supported by applications running on servers

in the cloud. Brokers may be interested to learn that they no longer need to make huge investments in computer hardware and the constant maintenance and upgrading that accompany asset ownership. For as little as $350 per year, a broker can have a dedicated server in the cloud, which will support all of the company’s applications, databases, employee records, financial software, etc., and can host the company website! It’s safe, secure, and accessible from anywhere. It offers total control over company email and employee/agent access. These cloud-based services are available to the broker on whatever scale she or he may require. On-site servers, network storage, back-up programs and local hardware are fast becoming a thing of the past. Expect the virtual real estate office to become the de facto standard in the near future. Social networking Continues to evolve, currently offering fan pages, instant text message broadcasting, realtime communication and a virtual soap-box to announce opinions and disseminate news and information. Realtors® who master control of their social networking efforts will enjoy great rewards for their efforts. Those who do not will forever wonder why they have no fans, results or sales. Blogging Often misused or simply ignored by many Realtors®. Blogging will become the Realtor’s® best friend for farming, prospecting and lead management. Once the Realtor® community grasps the power and efficiency of blogging (and learns how to employ the technology to their advantage) we will witness the creation of genuine Realtor® rock stars. The ability to write and publish one’s thoughts and opinions to a global audience offers the Realtor® an unprecedented opportunity to create an aura or persona with universal appeal. This technology has been largely ignored by all but a fraction of the one-million plus Realtors® in the U.S., and is being grossly under-utilized by the rest. The single most important innovation for the enhancement of an individual’s real estate practice is the evolution of the blog, and blogging software such as Wordpress®. Websites Endure as the least expensive, most efficient way for a Realtor® to advertise him or herself. Many Realtors® still do not understand that the presence of a website on its own does nothing to promote the Realtor®. You can have the best information in the world, but if you are not directing prospects to your site, it is a waste of time. Savvy use of QR codes, ad placement, link management, Tweets®, text messaging and even Google AdWords® will help buyers and sellers find your website. Once they do, you need a system for retaining them. You need to provide them with something they cannot get anywhere else. This is the part that is critical to Realtors®. Without a compelling answer to the simple questions, “Why should I visit your website? What makes your website different than any other Realtor® site?” the agent cannot expect anyone to visit more than once. Internet users are always asking, “What is in it for me?” when they look at a

January 2011

website. If the answer is, “Not much!” they move on. Creating A Customer Experience For individual Realtors®, the future just gets brighter and brighter. Cheap, easy to maintain web sites allow the Realtor® to display his or her services in ways that were either unbelievably expensive or non-existent just a few years ago. Creating a sticky website is the great challenge for Realtors® in 2011. The key to getting people to your website is to offer something unique, useful, and of value. In so doing, you create the reason homebuyers and sellers will beat a path to your door. Ask your customers what they want and give it to them. Use your social network to let everyone know what you offer. Keep the content fresh and timely. Offer useful widgets and information they cannot

Mortgage Interest and Real Estate Tax Deduction Facts by Danielle Hale, Research Economist In recent weeks, many proposals, suggesting a variety of changes to the tax system, have been discussed. The estimates below are for the complete elimination of these two tax benefits at current marginal tax rates, one of the most extreme possible changes.

Mortgage Interest Deduction Facts: • 51 million—or 68 percent—of the approximately 75 million owner-occupied houses in the United States in 2009 had a mortgage. • 38.5 million taxpayers claimed a deduction for mortgage interest, deducting a total of $470 billion, in 2008. • The average taxpayer claiming the MID deducted $12,200 from taxable income in 2008. • Therefore, the average taxpayer saved $3,050 in taxes by claiming the mortgage interest deduction1. • The total tax savings from the MID in the United States in 2008 was $117 billion.

Real Estate Tax Deductions Facts: • 42 million taxpayers in the United States claimed a deduction for real estate taxes in 2008, deducting a total of $172 billion.

obtain elsewhere. Engage them by asking what they would like and then deliver it and more. This will get and keep visitors to your website. These are the technological opportunities to consider as we enter the new year. Computing in the cloud, better use of our smartphones, better blogging, enhanced social networking, video, podcasting, interactive websites and streamlined office infrastructure are available enhancements. Your only decision is choosing where to start. ■ Kemp Howland is a career-long member of OSCAR. His company, Howland International, helps real estate professionals understand and implement web-based video and audio technology.

• The total savings from the real estate tax deduction in the United States in 2008 was $43 billion.

Eliminating Deductions: Losses for Home Owners and the Nation If the mortgage interest and real estate tax deductions were eliminated, the loss would not be a one-year event; homeowners lose out on these potential savings each and every year. The present value3 of these lost savings could total $3.2 trillion. The value of all owner-occupied real estate in the United States in 2009 was $19.3 trillion4. If the lost tax savings are fully capitalized into the price of houses, the average decline in value in the United States would be 17 percent. From the individual perspective, the median priced home in the United States in the third quarter 2010 was $177,800. A decline in value of 17 percent, as projected, would mean a loss in home value of $29,500 for the typical home owner. These estimates, because they are based on a complete elimination of these deductions, can be viewed as a high-end estimate. Other changes will result in smaller losses to home owners. Additionally, national results are computed by looking at national averages. A very different picture can result when looking at the state level depending on the characteristics of the housing market, tax payers, and homeowners. For state information, contact ■ 1. Marginal rates range from 10 to 35 percent. A 25 percent rate was used to calculate the tax savings.

• The average taxpayer claiming the real estate tax deduction subtracted $4,090 from taxable income in 2008.

2. Ibid.

• Therefore the average taxpayer saved $1,020 in taxes as a result of the real estate tax deduction2.

4. As measured by the American Community Survey. The Federal Reserve Flow of Funds for 2009 estimated the market value of household real estate to be $17 trillion which would raise the estimate of the decline in value to 19 percent.

January 2011

3. Present value calculation assumes 5 percent discount rate and 1000 year time horizon.

Behind The Scenes by Tim Weisheyer Chair, Public Policy Committee The wheels on the bus go round and round – around Osceola County that is, transporting several members of Osceola County Association of Realtors® on November 10, 2010 to schools in the District for a “Behind the Scenes” tour. This was the inaugural event hosted by OSCAR to provide a peek into the classrooms and education system of Osceola County. The first stop was the Osceola County School for the Arts (O.C.S.A.), where Principal Charles M. Lisby joined the group and shared some of the accomplishments of his faculty and students and highlighted some extraordinarily talented students. Aside from being treated to numerous musical performances, Realtors® were able to sit in on several classes, including Acting, Creative Writing, Algebra 1, and AP Art classes to name a few. OSCA is a unique campus whereby students are exposed to various styles of music between classes which adds to the artistic atmosphere of the school. Additionally, OCSA students perform a recital every Wednesday in order to showcase their talents and to hone their skills for future events. The School for the Arts has enjoyed an “A” grade for 6 consecutive years, received awards for best high school in 2008-2009, has a graduation rate of 95% and sends 70% of its students to Post-Secondary education – all achievements to be recognized and praised. The second stop on the tour was the Technical Education

Realtors® riding the school bus Becky Chirillo, Mary Cooper, Angel Ortiz and Janet Summerton.

Realtors® at Education Foundation with Directors Kathy Carr and Marcie Hill.

Center of Osceola County (TECO), located on Simpson Boulevard. This institute, and its sister, the Professional And Technical High School (PATHS), are designed to “provide education which prepares and inspires all to their highest career and academic potential by integrating technical and academic training.” TECO/PATHS are comprised of both high school and dual enrollment students who are learning trade skills as well as general academics. The programs are also available to adults who wish to continue or complete their education. Jeannette Eddy, Director at TECO, accompanied the group as we visited several classes and enjoyed hands-on participation. Realtors® were provided the opportunity to observe the HVAC training center, receive instruction from Graphic Design students, visit with Phlebotomy students and discuss architecture with the Architecture (CAD) class. Some were even treated to first-hand experience on electrical wiring and were able to showcase their electrical skills. Our tour of these campuses concluded with a wonderful lunch with Superintendent, Dr. Michael Grego, prepared by the Culinary Art students in Mr. Newell’s class. The last stop of the day was at the new facilities of the Osceola Education Foundation. The Education Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to

Realtors® showcasing electric wiring skills Tim Weisheyer, Renee Clark, Kim Goodwin, Mary Cooper and Anneris Rivera.

January 2011

supporting public education, teachers and students. Led by a volunteer board of directors, the Foundation currently awards over one hundred thirty ($2,000) scholarships each year to Osceola County graduates. The Foundation is also the organization responsible for wonderful programs such as “Take Stock in Children”, “Bookmark Buddies” and “A Gift for Teaching”.

throughout the community through the generous donations of individuals and organizations, such as OSCAR. As you can see, the Behind the Scenes Tour was a great success and wonderful opportunity for Realtors® to learn about the exciting educational opportunities in Osceola County. Watch for information on the next “Behind the Scenes” tour and make sure you get on the bus!

A Gift for Teaching is a tri-county operation which provides needed school supplies to teachers and students

Realtors® touring the Culinary Arts Department at TECO/PATHS.

Tim with Dana Schafer and Martha Mann - Public Relations Office at the Osceola School District.

Osceola County School Superintendant Dr. Michael Grego sharing with Realtors®.

January 2011

Realtors® with Principal Charles Lisby at OCSA.

Advertising/Publication Osceola News Gazette

Paula Stark 108 Church St., Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office 407-846-7600 Fax 407-846-8516 Email Website

The Real Estate Book

Tammy Birchler 2305 NewPoint Parkway, Lawrenceville, GA 30043 Office 407-581-1490 Fax 407-581-1491 E-mail Website

agent marketing services Concordia Film Studios International, Inc. Kemp Howland 355 Falling Waters Drive, Kissimmee, FL 34759 Office 407-222-4847 Email Website

Attorneys Keating Schlitt, PA

Nancy Campiglia 250 E. Colonial Drive, Orlando, FL 32827 Office 407-425-2907 Fax 407-425-6345 Email Website

Law Office of Daniel Villazon

Daniel Villazon, P.A. 1420 Celebration Blvd., #200, Celebration, FL 34747 Office 407-483-0041 Email Website

Construction/Repair/Renovations A Better Choice Pools

Michael Evans 3213 13th Street, Saint Cloud, FL 34769 Office 407-414-7379 Fax 407-870-9978 Email Website

All Seasons Pool Service, Inc. James Watts 185 E. Airport Blvd., Sanford, FL 32773 Office 407-871-2020 Fax 407-407-3215 Email Website

Metro Door Service

Joe De Lorie 2182 Cypress Bay Blvd., Kissimmee, FL 34743 Office 407-414-4756 Email

Servpro of Osceola County

Dan Hougaard 1710 Kelley Avenue, Kissimmee, FL 34744 Office 407-933-0707 Fax 407-933-5014 Email Website


W. Turner Wallis 900 Shady Lane, Kissimmee, FL 34744 Office 407-847-2179 Fax 407-847-6140 Email Website

Financial Services/Institutions Qubty Financial Group

David Qubty 7680 Universal Blvd., Suite 405, Orlando, FL 32819 Office 407-370-3030 Fax 407-370-2040 Email Website

Qubty Financial Group

Sami D. Qubty 7680 Universal Blvd., Suite 405, Orlando, FL 32819 Office 407-370-3030 Fax 407-370-2040 Email Website

Trustco Bank

Sarah Near 1525 East Osceola Parkway, Kissimmee, FL 34746 Office 407-932-0398 Fax 407-932-0719 Email Website

HEALTH & BEAUTY Benefit Advisors

Judy Taylor 111 E. Monument Avenue, Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office 407-931-2872 Fax 407-933-2176 Email

Home Builders/Developers KB Home

Amanda Parah 9102 South Park Center Loop, #100, Orlando, FL 32819 Office 407-587-3403 Fax 407-587-2386 Email Website

Maronda Homes

Olga Ortega 955 Keller Rd., #1500, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714 Office 407-846-4397 Fax 407-846-4398 Email Website

Standard Pacific Homes

Jesus Alvarez 200 S. Orange Avenue, Suite 124, Orlando, FL 32801 Office 407-304-2803 Fax 407-304-2835 Email Website

Inspection Services Budget Services, Inc.

Ed Hogan 3617 Crosley Ave., Saint Claud, FL 34772 Office 407-892-8811 Fax 407-892-8516 Email Website

Wayne Home Inspections

Wayne E. Glover 1533 Trumbull Street, Kissimmee, FL 34744 Office 407-935-1127 Fax 407-935-1483 Email Website

January 2011

Real Estate Schools/Education IFREC Real Estate Schools

Robin Pickett 5029 Edgewater Drive, Orlando, FL 32810 Office 407-644-7277 Fax 407-647-5227 Email Website

Title/Escrow/Insurance Services A-Z Team Title, LLC

Bernard S. Edwards 102 Park Place Blvd., Suite A-3, Kissimmee, FL 34743 Office 407-932-0529 Fax 407-932-1587 Email Website

First American Title

Deborah Dudley 1101 Miranda Lane, Suite 101, Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office 407-273-1955 Fax 866-621-6816 Email Website

Premiere Title Agency, LLC

Vickie Deaton 113 E. Monument Avenue, Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office 407- 350-4401 Fax 407- 350-4414 Email

Prominent Title Insurance Agency, Inc.

Stewart Approved Title, Inc.

Real Estate Closing Solutions


Betty M. Dobbie 827 Cypress Parkway, Kissimmee, FL 34759 Office 407-343-1560 Fax 407-343-1561 Email Website

Heidi Foster 7575 Dr. Phillips Blvd., Suite 140, Orlando, FL 32819 Office 407-615-8550 Fax 407-615-8555 Email Website

Shopsmart Insurance, Inc.

Rayelynne Ketchum 1201 Emmett Street, Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office 407-957 -9000 Fax 407-957-8055 Email Website

Final Negotiation, LLC

Rhonda Owen 1201 Emmett Street, Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office 407-846-0978 Fax 407-846-6573 Email Website

Jonathan Reich 1201 Emmett Street, Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office 407-933-7866 Fax 407-931-0083 Email

Stewart Approved Title, Inc. Becky Sheive 1201 Emmett St., Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office 407-846-7477 Fax 407-846-6573 Email Website

A Message From GE Security A Mesage from GE Security How to Convert your iPhone into a Supra Key Real estate agents can now use their iPhone to open key boxes. If you have an iPhone and want to use it as you Supra key, please follow these three steps: 1. Contact us and enroll in eKEY Basic service. 2. Obtain an eKEY adapter from our one of our offices or from Supra. You may contact Supra at 1-800-676-6703 3. Download and install the eKEY application. Refer to the eKEY QuickStart for instructions on how to download and start using the eKEY application. The adapter is compact and lightweight. It snaps onto your keychain when not in use. It also doesn’t have any batteries to charge or change. It simply draws a small amount of power from your iPhone when it communicates with an iBox.

January 2011

2011 Awards & Installation Banquet

Cynthia Shelton and 2011 President Tim Weisheyer

2010 President Veronica Malolos and 2011 President Tim Weisheyer

2010 Real Estate Office of the Year Goodwin Realty

Tim St.Gordon and Association Executive Carol Platt

2010 Realtor Rising Star of the Year Daisy Cid 2011 President Tim Weisheyer

Harmony Golf Preserve

2011 President Tim Weisheyer and his lovely family

Celebrating our History — Embracing our Future!

Happy New Year! 2

3 OSCAR Toastmasters Club 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm


10 New Member Welcome 9:00 am - 12:00 pm OSCAR Toastmasters Club 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm

January 2011


Martin Luther King Day


OSCAR Toastmasters Club 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm Warning – Rapattonni Merge Intermittent OSCAR Login Ability FR 23 MLS iMAPP 9am - 12pm 24 Mid Winter Create Profess’l CMA 1p-3:30p Meetings OSCAR Toastmstrs 5:30p-6:30p






MLS Learn & Earn Marketing Session , 8:30 am - 9:30 am Form Simplicity Training 9:45 am - 11:15 am, 11:30 am - 1:00 pm

18 MFRMLS Strategic Planning Session 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Quickbooks for Real Estate Professionals 9:00 am - 1:00 pm



OSCAR Toastmasters Club 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm


Valentine’s Day


OSCAR Toastmasters Club 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm

February 2011


President’s Day


New Member Welcome 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

OSCAR Toastmasters Club 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm


January 2011


Deadline - FL Realtors Leadership Academy 8:00 am - 9:00 am

OSCAR Toastmasters Club 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm



WCR Meeting at NeNe’s 9:00 am

MLS Listing Maintenance 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

WCR Business Resources 9:30 am -11:00 am


MFRMLS Strategic Planning Session 1 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Commercial Marketing Session 8:30 am - 10:00 am

2 GRI 1 8:00 am - 5:00 pm


27 GRI 1 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

GRI 1 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

MLS Learn and Earn Marketing Session 8:30 am - 9:30 am

22 MLS Learn and Earn Marketing Session 8:30 am - 9:30 am



Awards & Installation Banquet 6pm - 11pm


22 FR Mid Winter Meetings


GRI 1 8:00 am - 5:00 pm



MLS Learn and Earn Marketing Session 8:30 am - 9:30 am


21 FR Mid Winter Meetings

Short Sale Foreclosure Certification Course 9:00 am - 4:00 pm



MLXchange Basic 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

FR Mid Winter Meetings

MLS Learn and Earn25 Marketing Session 8:30 am - 9:30 am

MLS Learn and Earn Marketing Session 8:30 am - 9:30 am

MLS Listing Maint. (Spanish) 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm


FR Mid Winter Meetings

Executive Committee 26 Meeting, 8:00 am BOD Meeting 9:30 am - 11:00 am Anti-Trust Training 31 10:00 am - 11:30 am GRI 1, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm OSCAR Toastmasters Club 2011 BOD Luncheon Workshop Professional Standards 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm Training , 1 pm - 4 pm 11:30 am - 1:30 pm

MLS -MLXchange Introduction (Spanish) 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

New Year’s Day

MLS Learn and Earn Marketing Session 8:30 am - 9:30 am








GRI 1 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

WCR Board Meeting 8:00 am - 9:30 am

WCR Business Resources 9:30 am - 11:00 am Agent Web Page Setup16 9:00 am - 12:00 pm MLS Advanced 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm






Commercial Marketing Session 8:30 am - 10:00 am

WCR Bunco Fun Night 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm Executive Committee 23 Meeting, 8:00 am BOD Mtg, 9:30 am-11am MLXchange Basic, 9 am-12 pm MLS Listing Maintenance 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm


Happy Valentine’s Day


new real estate offices

welcome new members

Better Built Homes Realty................... Alan Randel 7600 Soutland Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32809 Office: 407-856-5646 • Fax: 407-277-3165 Email:

Aiden J. Lynch...............................Coldwell Banker Feltrim

Central Leaders Management, Inc.. Richard P. Garzon 120 Broadway Avenue, Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 407-529-9557 • Fax: 888-843-2488 Email:

Debbie J. Dawson..............................Fusilier Realty Group

Florida Horizons Real Estate........ James McCarthy 2429 S. Highway 27, Suite 125, Clermont, FL 34711 Office: 352-270-3032 • Fax: 352-270-3033 Email:

Alan Randel................................ Better Built Homes Realty Allyssa Sarah Rodriguez...... Century 21 Premium Properties Charles Seymour Smith................................ R P Realty Inc Eric Freeman..........................Coldwell Banker West Realty Gordon Kyle.......................................... IRIS International Graham Aistrop.................................Watson Realty Corp. Gretchen M. Aquino.................Keller Williams at The Lakes Jerry Wiltse..................................... Wiltse Appraisals, Inc Jorge Sanchez.......................................... DGL Realty, LLC

IRIS International.......................Reeve T. Leventhal 7234 Regina Way, Orlando, FL 32819 Office: 407-448-5085 • Fax 321-445-4231 Email:

Julissa Xiomara Romo.......... Century 21 Premium Properties

RP Realty, Inc......................Charles Seymour Smith 2700 Westhall Lane, Maitland, FL 32751 Office: 866-429-4187 • Fax: 866-647-4086 Email:

Mariluz Burgos.................... Coldwell Banker Ackley Realty

Virtual Villas, LLC........................... Daniel W. Barto 606 Market Street, Kissimmee, FL 34747 Office: 407-378-4355 • Fax: 407-566-8374 Email: Wilste Appraisals, Inc...........................Jerry Wilste 1738 Lee Janzen Drive, Kissimmee, FL 34744 Office: 407-870-2265 Email:

Justin P. Cabral.................... Coldwell Banker Ackley Realty Krista Falcon.......................... Harmony Real Estate Co LLC Loly Silva.............................................. Agent Trust Realty Michael C. Nelson............. Keller Williams Homestead Real Richard P. Garzon............ Central Leaders Management Inc Sarita Cabrera............................. Prudential Florida Realty Stefan O. Johansson....................................... PACT Realty Steven R. Dubois................ Keller Williams Homestead Real

new affiliate offices All Seasons Pool Service, Inc............. James Watts 185 E. Airport Boulevard, Sanford, FL 32773 Office: 407-871-2020 • Fax: 407-407-3215 Email: Metro Door Service.............................. Joe De Lorie 2182 Cypress Bay Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL 34743 Office: 407-414-4756 Email:

January 2011

January ReView