2021-2022 LSSSCA Updates & President's Message

Page 1



To expand the image and influence of school counselors in the state of Texas.


To empower school counselors with the knowledge and skills in order to promote professionalism and ethical practices by providing leadership, advocacy, and professional development.



Greetings, Texas School Counselors and Supporters, We are excited to share an update on our professional organization for school counselors in Texas. The Lone Star State School Counselor Association (LSSSCA) is the Texas chartered division of the American School Counselor Association (ASCA). Our vision is to expand the image and influence of school counselors in our great state. Our mission is to empower school counselors with the knowledge and skills in order to promote professionalism and ethical practices by providing leadership, advocacy, and professional development. Please take a few minutes to review this update concerning our highlights, professional development, resources and more.


• Over 2,400 members in five years and counting

• • • • • •

Recognized as the largest membership state division of ASCA Six (6) successful professional conferences Established a school counselor evaluation tool - T-SCESS School Counselor of the Year (three of our SCOY were national finalists) Lone Star Awards Listed on Texas Education Agency’s website as a resource for school counselors


The LSSSCA Annual Conference is an opportunity for school counselors to learn, grow and network with other school counselors across the state. This conference provides school counselors with knowledge and resources they can implement at their schools. Please join us November 7-9, 2021 for our annual conference, Leading in Love, featuring keynote speaker Principal Baruti Kafele.


Keep updated with Texas and National school counseling initiatives Join committees to make an impact in the school counseling profession.

RESOURCES Texas School Counselor Evaluation System (T-SCESS) The T-SCESS was developed by LSSSCA. It is aligned to the ASCA National Model and uses the same language, components, and supplemental evidence documents as the National Model. ASCA & Texas Model - Side by Side Document Both ASCA and Texas Models are comprehensive school counseling programs. Our design is ASCA based and school counselors in Texas must include certain components of the Texas Model. This side by side document allows you to see the correlation between the two models.

AWARDS & PROFESSIONAL RECOGNITION Lone Star Awards The Lone Star Awards recognize effective and outstanding school counseling programs. This process also prepares school counselors to apply for the national ASCA RAMP award. Following this process helps school counselors with the implementation of an effective and data-driven school counseling program. Lone Star School Counselor of the Year Recognizing that professional school counselors devote their careers to serving as advocates for Texas students and ensuring student success, the Lone Star School Counselor of the Year (SCOY) Award honors outstanding professional school counselors in Texas. Through an extensive outreach process, school counselors, teachers, administrators, and others are encouraged to nominate professional school counselors who run exemplary school counseling programs. What’s New for 2021-2022 We are recognizing the following professionals at our conference in November: • Superintendent of the Year • Campus Administrator of the Year • Counseling Supervisor of the Year We encourage you to share this information with all your districts and school counselors. One of our main goals this year is to connect with others and help our rural and/or small school districts. We look forward to connecting and building partnerships with you! Sincerely,

Tiffany Rhodriquez Tiffany Rhodriquez President, LSSSCA

2021-2022 LSSSCA LEADERSHIP Patricia Freberg Executive Director

LSSSCA BOARD Tiffany Rhodriquez President Conroe ISD Dr. Dana Jackson President-Elect Grand Prairie ISD

Dr. Summer Martin Past President Richardson ISD

Kashunda Davis College, Career, & Military Readiness VP Grand Prairie ISD

Tracy Stafford Counselor Educator VP Irving ISD

Paige Pendary Elementary VP Richardson ISD

Amber Moffitt Secondary VP (Former Grand Prairie ISD)

Sheila Lashley Small District VP Aledo ISD

Dr. Courtney Jackson Counselor Supervisor VP Cedar Hill ISD

Dr. LaShanda Lewis Director of Advocacy Round Rock ISD

Shannon Jenkins Director of Communication & Technology Keller ISD

Dr. Stephanie Cook Director of Leadership & Training Frisco ISD

Tiffany Gilmore Director of Membership Garland ISD

Kristin Koulabouth Secretary Eagle Mountain Saginaw ISD

Lydia Joiner Treasurer Conroe ISD

Jenny Patrick Emerging Leader Llano ISD

Melissa Ferguson Emerging Leader Rockwall ISD

Dr. Sylvia Lopez Conference Chair (Former Dallas ISD)

Tiffany Blackwood Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Chair Prosper ISD

Robin Fishman Ethics Chair Richardson ISD

Dr. Myra Ortega Lone Star Awards Chair Socorro ISD

Nichole Morales Publications Chair Canutillo ISD

Monica Dominguez School Counselor of the Year (SCOY) Chair Socorro ISD

Ashley Wright 2021 School Counselor of the Year Representative Conroe ISD

Stephanie Learner Texas Education Agency (TEA) Liaison


www.lonestarschoolcounselor.org lonestarcounselor LSSSCA1 lonestarcounselor lone-star-state-school-counselor-association