Page 1

London’s Air Ambulance Annual Review 2015/2016


Contents

Page

Chairman’s Report

4

A Year in Highlights

6

Medical Director’s Report

8

About London’s Air Ambulance

10

Our NHS Partners

11

Our Vision, Mission & Values

12

Delivering on Our Mission

14

Our Patients

15

Delivering on Our Key Objectives

16

Patient Liaison Nurse

17

‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ Campaign

18

Thank You to All Who Contributed

19

Special Thank You to the London Freemasons

20

Second Helicopter Goes Operational

21

Our Strategic Objectives 2016/2017

22

The Institute of Pre-Hospital Care

24

Our Finances

26

Documentaries

28

Year in Review

29

Thank You to Our Supporters

30


Chairman’s Report London’s Air Ambulance has enjoyed a milestone year in 2016, delivering world class pre-hospital care by air to a greater number of critically injured Londoners thanks to the introduction of our second helicopter and the successful extension of our summer daylight flying hours. A record £10.7 million was donated by our supporters and partners, a year on year increase of 12.4% (2015: £9.5 million). Your support allowed us to treat 1,821 patients this year, in many cases saving lives which may otherwise have been tragically lost. To date, over £4.2 million has been raised or committed towards the Your London, Your Helicopter campaign including a generous pledge of £2 million from the London Freemasons. Despite incurring very significant expenditure during the financial year to carry out technical upgrades and to fit out the new second helicopter, we still succeeded in generating net income for the financial year ended 31 March 2016 of £2,029,619, which was broadly in line with the prior year. The continuing trend of positive financial performance over the last three years has directly enhanced our operations and has enabled us this year to fulfil our promise to London to deliver the second helicopter. Our operational success also owes much to our close partnership with Barts Health NHS

4

Trust and London Ambulance Service NHS Trust. We gratefully acknowledge the significant support which has been so readily forthcoming from these critical partners. Notwithstanding our continued solid financial performance, there can be no let-up in our fundraising activities. The flying of extended daylight hours and the operation of the second helicopter will alone increase our costs by £1.2 million p.a. Notwithstanding this increased financial pressure, our effort and determination to grow our income even further remains relentless as we strive to achieve financial sustainability and resilience for the Charity. It is with enormous gratitude that we give our thanks to Graham Hodgkin, our Chief Executive Officer who retired from his position at the end of September after nearly four years at the helm. Since joining London’s Air Ambulance in late 2012, Graham has been an outstanding leader and overseen a period of immense transformational change at London’s Air Ambulance, not least the step change in our financial performance and the acquisition of our second helicopter. You can read Graham’s reflections on his tenure on page 29. The search process for a new CEO to build on Graham’s achievements and develop our strategy for the next five years is now well underway and we look forward to updating you in due course.

The Institute of Pre-Hospital Care at London’s Air Ambulance (“The Institute”) continues to provide a powerful platform for education, innovation and research in pre-hospital care. The Board regards these activities as a vital part of the development of a vibrant future for the Charity. Finally on behalf of the Board of Trustees, I would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to all our supporters, both existing and new, for your unbelievable support. Without you, the vital work of the Charity to save the lives of the people of London would simply not be possible. We look forward to working with you all this year to consolidate and expand the role of this unique service. We are determined to deliver on our promise to you to continue to be the world class prehospital care service that this special City deserves.

Mark Vickers Chairman of the Board of Trustees London’s Air Ambulance

5


A Year in Highlights April

May

June

July

August

September

October

November

December

January

February

March Extended daylight flying hours commence for a second summer.

Cyclists raise £25,000 in Ride London.

Celebrities come out in force to back ‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ campaign.

‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ campaign tops £4 million. Jeremy Hunt experiences exemplar of London’s Major Trauma pathway. The first summer of extended daylight flying hours is underway.

REBOA wins Charity Times Awards for its Cross Sector Partnership with Barts Health NHS Trust and the London Ambulance Service.

Pre-hospital brain scanner trial commences.

BBC Two’s ‘An Hour to Save Your Life’ broadcast. London Freemasons push fundraising total to £1 million.

Record £10.7 million is raised in financial year 2015/16. 6

City Bridge Trust extends funding for the Patient Liaison Nurse role for a further two years.

Second helicopter is in service!

1821 patients are treated in financial year 2015/16. 7


Medical Director’s Report Helping us care for the seriously ill and injured in London is the combined effort of a wide range of people and organisations; from our supporters, through to the teams at Barts Health NHS Trust, the London Ambulance Service, London’s Police Services, London Fire Brigade and other voluntary agencies in London. We are truly grateful for everyone’s contribution. We constantly strive to save lives and enhance the quality of our patients’ recovery by delivering the highest standard of care, as quickly as possible. The second helicopter has long been an aspiration of ours. When we can fly, we can be by a patient’s side up to eight times faster than in a car. This time saving can ultimately mean the difference between life and death. Our second helicopter is now operational and the resilience it provides to our service and London is invaluable with operational availability of one helicopter at 83% rising to 98% with two helicopters for the first nine months of 2016. The importance of this for the population of London cannot be overstated. We have recently lost two of the very people without whom London’s Air Ambulance might not have been established or survived to save lives today - our colleagues Richard Earlam, one of the founding fathers of our service, and Andrew Cameron, who also helped establish the service and saw

8

the Charity through some of its most challenging years as a CEO. Both, without doubt would have been touched by the generosity of the people of London and what we have achieved this year. We are deeply committed to advancing pre-hospital care for London and the world through education and this year has seen fantastic progress. We are acutely aware of the need to inspire the next generation of doctors, paramedics and pilots and to support this we have launched the innovative HELIMED app in June 2016, developed by Milo Creative in partnership with science education centre, Centre of the Cell at Queen Mary University of London. The Institute of Pre-Hospital Care at London’s Air Ambulance continues to provide a powerful platform for education, innovation and research in pre-hospital care. The maiden year of our BSc in Pre-Hospital Medicine, delivered in partnership with Queen Mary University of London’s Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry, was a huge success and I am exceptionally proud of our second cohort of 17 students. They all passed with flying colours and are on track to pursue successful careers. Meanwhile, our internationally recognised Pre-Hospital Care Course goes from strength to strength as 36 doctors and paramedics new to care in high-performing air ambulances were trained by The Institute this year.

We are delighted that Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta (REBOA), the technique we were the first in the world to introduce into pre-hospital environment last year, continues to save lives as we refine and improve the intervention to include a broader range of patients. The financial support we receive from donors is pivotal to all of this. We can only deliver innovative procedures and lead the world in pre-hospital emergency care with your support. Thank you for helping us save lives,

Dr Gareth Davies Trustee and Medical Director London’ s Air Ambulance

9


Helicopter by Daylight

About London’s Air Ambulance London’s Air Ambulance is the Charity that delivers an advanced trauma team to critically injured people in London in partnership with Barts Health NHS Trust and the London Ambulance Service. Our team, which at all times includes a trauma doctor and paramedic, perform advanced medical interventions, normally only found in the hospital Emergency Department, in time critical, life threatening situations. Our missions commonly involve serious road traffic collisions, falls from height, industrial accidents, assaults and injuries on the rail network.

Rapid Response at Night

Our NHS Partners treatment can be initiated on-scene, giving the optimal outcome for the patient, often avoiding admission to an Emergency Department and use of an ambulance asset with many receiving diagnosis and treatment in their home or community.

Based at The Royal London Hospital and founded in 1989, we operate 24/7, using a helicopter in daylight hours and rapid response cars at night and in adverse weather conditions.

London’s Air Ambulance has been involved in the emergency medical response to the majority of major incidents in London over the past 27 years. These incidents include the Paddington, Cannon Street and Southall train crashes, the Bishopsgate and Aldwych bombings, the Soho nail bombings, and the 7th July terrorist attacks in 2005 when we dispatched 18 medical teams and flew medical supplies to the incident sites across London, helping to triage and treat over 700 patients.

The Physician Response Unit car, staffed by a doctor and a paramedic, carries specialist drugs and equipment to treat a range of medical incidents including patients who suffer from cardiac arrest. A high level of diagnostics and

London’s Air Ambulance has an international reputation for clinical excellence and delivers pioneering procedures, many of which have been adopted across the world, including prehospital open heart surgery, blood transfusion and REBOA.

10

We operate in partnership with both Barts Health NHS Trust (“Barts Health”) and London Ambulance Service NHS Trust (“London Ambulance Service”). Barts Health employs and remunerates the registrars who are attached to us, typically for six months, and the consultants who are permanently associated with the service, as well as providing direct financial support in the form of a monthly grant and the helipad facilities required for our operations. London Ambulance Service similarly provides the paramedics who are attached to us, typically for nine months. As part of their rota, an advanced trauma paramedic operates from the London Ambulance Service Emergency Operations Centre and is responsible for dispatching our team to the most critically injured people in London, 24 hours a day. Patients are treated under the governance of the NHS. The regulatory requirements of the Care Quality Commission are covered by Barts Health and London Ambulance Service for all clinicians attached to the service. 11


Our Vision

Mission Map 2015*

Transforming the world of pre-hospital care.

*Number of patients treated in calendar year 2015

Our Mission To provide our patients with the world’s most innovative and effective pre-hospital care.

Our Values Our values sit at the centre of everything we do.

Passion

Excellence

We believe that our passion drives us and makes our organisation unique.

We constantly innovate in order to achieve excellence in all that we do.

Teamwork

Resilience

We each perform a critical role and together we provide our worldleading service to enhance the outcome for patients.

We demonstrate flexibility and strength in our determination to achieve our goals, often in the most extreme of situations.

Professionalism

Transparency

We each strive to be the very best in our field and to deliver it in the most effective way possible.

We demonstrate honesty and integrity through the openness of our communication.

12

In 2015 our advanced trauma doctors and paramedics treated

1826

PATIENTS 13


Number of patients treated across London

Delivering on Our Mission

1821

Bringing the hospital to the patient

08

46

08

OPEN HEART SURGERY

ANAESTHETICS

BLOOD TRANSFUSIONS

RTC

607 14

Our flight speed

436

t

m rau

511

9

a

mph

Other

267

24/7

Molly A road traffic collision in North London left Molly trapped in her car under a truck for a significant amount of time. The injuries that Molly sustained included a displaced pelvis and a broken left leg in two places. She has since decided to enrol on a Paramedic Science degree. “I wish no one ever goes through what I did, but I hope one day I can help someone, like how I was helped,” said Molly.

Dave Dave was hit by and dragged under a van while cycling to work in North London. The front wheel stopped directly on top of his chest. Dave stopped breathing and his heart stopped beating. Just over a year after the collision, and having made a remarkable recovery both physically and mentally, he has been volunteering for the Charity and has recently taken on a role with the London’s Air Ambulance Community team. Sacha Sacha was crushed by a 300kg tree branch on a school trip to Richmond Park. Having been hit on the head by the equivalent of a large motorcycle, the sevenyear-old suffered severe head injuries. The falling branch also broke his leg, both arms, his pelvis, back and five of his ribs. The doctors did not believe he would ever walk, talk or write again. Three months later, Sacha defied all their expectations.

mph

Average speed of traffic in London

Patients treated by mechanism of injury

Falls from height

We treated on average five people every day

April 2015 – March 2016

In the financial year under review, we treated 1821 critically injured patients, administering advanced medical procedures, including the innovative REBOA procedure, when minutes are vital for survival and recovery.

Each month we perform:

HERE FOR YOU

Our Patients

Alex Two weeks before her 21st birthday, Alex was focused on hailing a taxi when she stepped out onto the road and was hit by a van. The injuries that Alex sustained included a severe head injury, collapsed lungs and cracked ribs. Following her recovery, she resumed her university studies and has made plans to go inter-railing across Europe.

Scott Scott had been cycling the same commute to work from Wandsworth to Herne Hill for three years. What started out as an ordinary Thursday morning, quickly turned into the unexpected when he was hit by a lorry, his left leg getting trapped underneath one of its wheels. Scott started walking three months after his accident and is now back at work.

15


Delivering on Our Key Objectives Until recently we had been serving London with only one helicopter. Thanks to your generosity, our long term aspiration of acquiring a second helicopter and extending our daylight flying hours became reality this financial year. Following the ‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ fundraising campaign, we raised sufficient funds to achieve these objectives. The resilience and additional coverage this expansion provides to our service and London is invaluable. Second helicopter We acquired the second helicopter, an MD902 Explorer, now registered as G-LNDN, towards the end of 2015. The impact is a rise in operational availability from 83% with one helicopter, to 98%, or nearly 600 hours of additional availability, with two helicopters in the first nine months of 2016. When we can fly, we can be by your side up to eight times faster than in a car. This can be a life-saving difference to our critically injured patients, for whom minutes to receive treatment can be the difference between life and death. Flying longer in the summer For the first time in our history, we also flew longer during the summer months. From 29th March to 2nd September 2015 (156 days) we were able to deliver our advanced 16

Patient Liaison Nurse trauma team to critically injured people in London via our helicopter every day until sunset. This resulted in 314 additional hours of helicopter coverage during which it was despatched on 90 missions (of which 23 were cancelled after launch) with 67 patients being treated who could be reached more quickly by air. These extensions to the service were a momentous milestone for London’s Air Ambulance, which could not have been achieved without the dedication, determination and generosity of our supporters, employees and countless individuals and organisations across London. You can read more about the ‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ campaign on pages 18-21. HELIMED: an interactive educational STEM app Our Outreach Programme reached a new milestone during the year with the final development stages of the HELIMED app, readying for launch in June 2016. The innovative HELIMED app gives secondary school pupils an exciting opportunity to complete four life-saving missions, all in a race against time as a doctor, paramedic or pilot, to encourage interest in medical care and science. We are partnering with schools to ensure alignment with science curriculums and roll out the app across the capital to around 2,000 schoolchildren in the coming year.

The lives of our patients change in a matter of seconds. One moment, they are simply going about their daily lives, the next they might wake up in Intensive Care with potentially life changing injuries. Our Patient Liaison Nurse is here to assist them, and their families, with what is likely to be the most challenging time of their lives – the transition from critical injury back to independent living. The role has been designed to bridge the gap between the rapid on-scene treatment that our charity is renowned for and the patient’s long term recovery. Frank Chege, our Patient Liaison Nurse, provides this face to face support and guidance. This work includes: • Following up directly with patients and families to provide vital post trauma support and guidance. This has included a total of 360 bedside visits during the reporting period.

• Developing a bereavement consultation service and a bereavement leaflet, in conjunction with the road safety charity, Brake, to provide essential guidance and support to bereaved families. There were seven consultation services delivered in the reporting period. Through working closely with our patients, we have identified a demand to further support our patients by developing an inclusive peer network – running patient forums, events and facilitating sharing of stories and blogs that enable patients to work through recovery together. A grant from The City of London Corporation’s charity, City Bridge Trust, enabled us to fund this role for the first time in October 2013. We are thrilled that the Trust has decided to continue to fund this initiative for a further two years.

• Establishing support networks by acting as a patient advocate to identify and create working relationships with a number of charitable organisations, including Samaritans and Limbless Association, and establishing health care providers that are equipped to support patients and their families through the rehabilitation process. During the year, 101 patients were sign-posted to other charitable organisations. 17


‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ Campaign We want to make sure we can get to our patients as quickly as possible. To be able to do this every day, every daylight hour possible, we needed a second helicopter. In 2015, our then single helicopter was unavailable for the equivalent of 62 days for planned and unplanned maintenance reasons, including 25.5 days for its annual maintenance.

Thank You to All Who Contributed In our largest ever fundraising drive ‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ we called on the people and organisations of London to join together in owning the solution to London’s vital need for a second helicopter. The campaign launched in February 2015 with the ambition to raise £6 million to acquire and sustain a second helicopter and extend our daylight flying hours for five years. Twiggy “I love London. I grew up in North West London and now live in Kensington. When I learnt London’s Air Ambulance needed to raise money for a second helicopter, I wanted to help this life-saving charity in any way I could. It could be me, you, or one of our beloved friends or family that one day need their help.”

18

To date over £4.2 million has successfully been raised or committed towards the ‘Your London, Your helicopter’ campaign. We are so grateful for the support shown by individuals, corporates, trusts and foundations, liveries and all the others who contributed, including HM Treasury who donated £1 million from the banking fine fund. A huge thank you to all for their generosity. Sandra, Beckenham “I hope and pray we never need the service but I want to be there for those that do. It shocked me that their only helicopter was out of service for 62 days. I was once in a traffic jam and I saw the air ambulance come down and land in the middle of the road - it gave me shivers.” Clare, Fulham ‘I am donating as someone who cycles in London in recognition of the great work that London’s Air Ambulance does for those injured on the roads of our city.’

Alan, London “I am very happy that London’s Air Ambulance now has two helicopters with which to work, so as to get to an accident or major incident quickly, therefore helping to SAVE lives.” Anne, Central London ‘It seems wrong that with the high population of London we only had one helicopter. I’ve worked in healthcare and I’m aware of the importance of the air ambulance. I often see it flying overhead and think - thank god we have something that can get through the traffic.’ Jonathan, Bromley “Such an important feature of London life. I always pause for thought when I see it buzz overhead and a second will simply extend the good work.”

19


Special Thank You to the London Freemasons We are humbled by the generosity of the London Freemasons, who pledged an amazing £2 million to the ‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ campaign. Tony Shields, London Freemasons Metropolitan Grand Charity Steward, explaining their support for us: “London’s Air Ambulance delivers an incredible service 24 hours a day, 365 days a year and we are proud to be raising funds to help this superb charity acquire and sustain a vital second helicopter”

Second Helicopter Goes Operational This tremendous donation from the London Freemasons was instrumental in allowing us to acquire the second helicopter, convert the aircraft to meet European aviation regulations, provide its medical refit and cover some running costs for the extended service. Commenting on the arrival of the second helicopter, Metropolitan Grand Master, Sir Michael Snyder, said: “This is a proud day for London and for all London Freemasons. Our £2 million pledge is being raised by personal contributions from London Freemasons meetings in Lodges across London. I am delighted that our members have responded to the need in such a generous and immediate fashion, helping to make London a safer city.” We are most grateful to all the London Freemasons’ individual members, Lodges and Chapters that have raised funds in support of this partnership.

20

Subsequent to the purchase, work was undertaken on the helicopter to meet European (EASA) and UK (CAA) aviation regulations and to provide the same medical interior as our existing aircraft. G-LNDN became operational on 25th January 2016, in time to replace our, until then only, helicopter (registered as G-EHMS) during its scheduled annual maintenance commencing on 28th January 2016. The annual maintenance left G-EHMS unavailable for 30 days. Previously, this would have left the people of London without a dedicated emergency medical helicopter during this period. Thanks to the second helicopter, our advanced trauma team reached and treated 49 patients by air during this period, clearly the most effective way of delivering our service to our patients when minutes are vital for survival and recovery.

21


Our Strategic Objectives 2016/17

24 Hours, 7 Days a Week In partnership with Barts Health NHS Trust and the London Ambulance Service, continuing the provision of a 24 hours per day, 7 days a week service using our helicopters and fleet of rapid response cars

Undertake Major Incident Exercises Working with emergency services across London to undertake exercises to plan how London responds to major incidents

Support Patients

Education

Innovation and Research

Fundraising Groups

Charities and Schools

Rapid Response Cars

Continue to support patients and their families on their road to recovery through our Patient Liaison Nurse whilst also looking to increase the capacity of this crucial function

Further development of our education capability via The Institute of Pre-Hospital Care in helping prepare doctors and paramedics to deliver the highest possible standards of clinical care

Continue to undertake pre-hospital care research and produce publications driving world-class innovation and research

Create community fundraising groups in every borough and continue delivery of the community outreach programme

Explore opportunities for closer working partnerships and joint outreach programmes with charities and schools, including taking the HELIMED app into schools across London

To upgrade our rapid response car fleet with minimal disruption to the continuity and resilience of our operational service

Our overall strategic aim is to secure long-term diversified sustainable income streams to enable London’s Air Ambulance to achieve its goals. This includes:

Partnerships

Community Fundraising

Grants and Donations

Legacy Campaign

Major Donor Initiatives

Summer Raffle

Developing Donors

Investing in Volunteers

Increasing the number of corporate partnerships and sponsorships

Growing community fundraising

Securing long-term grants and donations from charitable trusts, foundations and livery companies and statutory sources

Launching a legacy campaign

Delivering major donor initiatives

Operating a summer raffle in addition to our regular Christmas raffle

Growing and developing individual donors to drive regular giving through our lottery and individual giving portfolio

Achieve Investing in Volunteers accreditation as part of our volunteer programme*

*We began the process for ‘Investing in Volunteers’ accreditation, the UK quality standard for all organisations that involve volunteers in their work, in 2015 to show that we value our volunteers and encourage their development. The accreditation was awarded to us in October 2016.

22

23


The Institute of Pre-Hospital Care In 2013, The Institute of Pre-Hospital Care at London’s Air Ambulance (“The Institute”) was founded to drive excellence in pre-hospital care standards and practice through research, innovation and education, and by fostering collaboration across medical disciplines and institutions dedicated to improving outcomes for people afflicted by critical injury and illness.

Research Centre in California and other students have been accepted to present their work at national and international conferences. We were proud to have one of our BSc students present at the European Resuscitation Council on ‘Emergency Preservation Resuscitation’, otherwise known as ‘suspended animation’, where patients might be cooled to extreme temperatures in order to save lives.

Education The Institute’s education practice is led by Dr Gareth Grier. The Institute and Queen Mary University of London’s Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry are now in the third year of running the UK’s first Intercalated BSc degree in Pre-Hospital Medicine. Pre-hospital medicine is an innovative and growing field that is now recognised as a subspecialty by the General Medical Council.

“The first term of the BSc has more than exceeded my expectations of what the course would offer both in content, experiential opportunities and exceptional teaching. The highlights were Friday clinical shifts. Observing the London’s Air Ambulance teams work together in order to treat patients in the most challenging environments with catastrophic injuries has certainly been beyond inspiring and a highlight of the course so far. I can only look forward to the next two semesters with excitement and enthusiasm for what lies ahead.” Robert Willmore, 2015/16 BSc student and Beaverbrook Scholar

2015/16 was a momentous year for the BSc degree with the second cohort of 17 students achieving outstanding results and setting yet higher standards. Furthermore, two outstanding students from this cohort were selected to receive our Beaverbrook Scholarship, kindly supported by The Beaverbrook Foundation. The scholarship programme provides additional financial support for students to further develop their skills and learning and attend an appropriate international or national conference related to their studies. The Institute is excited that one of our inaugural scholars has recently completed a human factors internship at NASA Ames 24

As part of multidisciplinary training, The Institute continues to run a number of other world-class courses and training programmes. It works closely with other organisations and institutions to deliver bespoke courses on various aspects of pre-hospital trauma and medical care e.g. the military. This year the Institute launched two new courses: a High Performance Workshop with UK Sport and the UK’s first PEER course (Pre-Hospital and Emergency Department Endovascular

Resuscitation), accredited by the Royal College of Emergency Medicine and run internally in collaboration with Barts Health NHS Trust and Queen Mary University of London. Dr Gareth Grier, Institute Director, said: “The Institute not only delivers leading education programmes for clinicians of the present but will create the talent pool for pre-hospital doctors and paramedics for the years to come. It has been overwhelming to see the quality of work produced by our BSc students, and to thrive off their energy and enthusiasm. We are now in a great position to significantly expand the impact of our education programme and our team is ready to raise our bar to a new level in the coming year.” Research The Institute’s research practice, led by Professor David Lockey, uses London’s Air Ambulance’s 27 years of patient data to study the effectiveness of pre-hospital medical interventions, to address other topics of pressing concern to the international pre-hospital care community. In 2015/16, London’s Air Ambulance contributed to many publications, abstracts and presentations in the UK and overseas during the year. After two years at London’s Air Ambulance Dr Marius Rehn, who was spending a proportion of his time doing research and quality improvement projects, has returned to Norway. He has published five papers and several more are expected in the coming year. In recognition of his research efforts he has been made an Associate Professor at the University of Oslo. Dr Kate Crewdson an ex Registrar with an

Honorary contract at London’s Air Ambulance has been working on a higher degree based on pre-hospital airway management. Some of her work has been carried out in conjunction with the national Trauma Audit and Research Network and we are expecting a number of high quality publications in the coming year as well as the completion of her thesis. In addition to the ‘in-house’ projects we are examining a number of collaborative projects with in-hospital experts and research groups, which have the potential to develop funded high impact projects and move us to the next level of research in partnership with established research programmes and institutions. Innovation The Institute’s innovation practice, led by Dr Gareth Davies, works closely with London’s Air Ambulance operations to devise safer, faster and more effective options for treating critically injured and ill patients in a pre-hospital environment. A notable achievement this year was the publication of a landmark paper looking at the effects of impact to the head on the breathing patterns of patients. This paper has reconsidered the way that pre-hospital and emergency clinicians across the world think about brain injury. This type of conceptual innovation is something that London’s Air Ambulance has pioneered for many years and is where we see a large impact on services worldwide. 25


£8.7 million

li v

tte

Lo

%

l,

*The 2014/15 and 2015/16 results have been adjusted to reflect the changes to charity reporting guidelines, Statement of Recommended Practice 2015.

Where our funding came from

How we spent our funding

How resilient are we?

In 2015/16 we raised £10.7 million (consolidated income) from our supporters and partners, a year on year increase of 12.4% (2015: £9.5 million). This growth has been driven by all income streams, including gifts in kind, but most notably from Trusts & Foundations, which raised £1,654,851 (+ £1,027,862 vs 2015), and the Lottery, which raised £3,224,187 (+ £483,577 vs 2015).

It cost approximately £8.7 million (consolidated costs) to provide London with an advanced trauma care service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nearly £6 million went towards funding our charitable activities and included: • Significant expenditure to purchase, conduct initial maintenance and modifications on our new helicopter (G-LNDN) • Increased maintenance costs on our original helicopter (G-EHMS) due to its age • Flying the first full season of extended daylight hours

As of 31 March 2016 we have sufficient unrestricted cash reserves to fund 4.1 months of group wide expenditure should all our funding sources cease. This cash balance has allowed us to partially repay the financing for our new helicopter (G-LNDN) in August 2016 with a final repayment planned for January 2016. In addition the outstanding balance due on our existing helicopter (G-EHMS) was fully settled in October 2016. This will mean that for the first time in its history, the Charity will own all its assets and can focus on achieving the target unrestricted cash cover of 9 months while continuing to invest in its charitable activities.

Our supporters have donated generously both in cash and gifts in kind and every stream of income has been vital to the incredible success and expansion we have seen in this financial year. This income has provided us with the ability to buy and bring our second helicopter into service and increase our financial resilience. Included within gifts in kind is the value of our clinical staff provided by our partners, Barts Health NHS Trust and the London Ambulance Service, which is currently £1.3 million per annum.

£1 spent

ai

30

Other Income Streams

et

Lottery

(R

Trusts & Foundations

Every

68p ic

e

£4.8 million

£4.8 million

£3.7 million

or sh

er ci

ns

m

po

,S

32p

ry

11% Bart s He 2% alth Ce NHS ntr Trus al G t ove rnm en tG ran ts

ing fund rais s

de

m

)

al

s

In

ip

e ut t it

2012/13

2013/14

£10.7 million

Expenses

5

%

Co

Income

nts

ve %E

Total Income £10.7 million

1%

2014/15

£4.2 million

d 19

lle

Co

£7.4 million

po Co r 8%

Kin

1%

2015/16 *

ns

io ct

£9.5 million

ra

te

Gi v

in g

8% In divid uals

£6,182,163

£5,852,790

Gift s in

£3,224,187

£2,740,610

£1,654,851

Income 2015

ts & Trus 5% 1 ation

Income 2016

£626,989

d Foun

Our Finances

e ri

v n g o ur ser

For every £1 we spend on raising funds, we generate £4 in income We are committed to further diversify and grow the sources of our income to ensure sustainability and resilience of the vital service and London in general. In every £1 we spend • 68p was spent on delivering our services • 32p was spent on raising funds Our Charitable Spending Ratio1, as calculated by the Charity Commission BETA version, is 75% in 2015/16 vs 68% in 2014/15. This is calculated as charitable spending (including governance costs) as a percentage of our income available for charitable spending.

1

Calculated using the methodology published by the Charity Commission on the BETA version – www.beta.charitycommission.gov.uk

26

27


Documentaries

Year in Review

‘Trauma Doctors’: Every Second Counts

An Hour to Save Your Life

‘Trauma Doctors’ returned to Channel 5 in spring 2016 for its third series. The programme followed the London’s Air Ambulance team and the staff at The Royal London Hospital, the UK’s leading trauma centre where our helipad is based, as they diagnosed and treated critically injured patients.

Series three of BBC Two’s documentary ‘An Hour to Save Your Life’ returned in summer 2016, following air ambulance and hospital crews from across the country as they took part in lifesaving missions, treating the most seriously injured patients. This hugely popular programme captured the public’s imagination with nearly two million people watching each episode.

‘Trauma Doctors’ allows the audience to witness this specialist group of clinicians making the split second decisions that can make the difference between life and death. Viewers were offered a rare insight into trauma doctors’ and paramedics’ thoughts and decision-making processes through both on-scene and reflective interviews. An average of 1 million people tuned in to each of the six episodes.

London’s Air Ambulance featured in all four parts of the documentary, with the film crew following our medical teams in our rapid response cars and Physician Response Unit. The hour after a serious injury is the most critical in determining the patient’s survival and recovery. The programme looked at the care provided at the roadside during this period – referred to as the golden hour - but also followed patients through treatment and onto recovery, an emotional journey that served to emphasise the incredible work our medical crew, other emergency service and hospital staff undertake every single day.

As I reflect on my tenure as Chief Executive of London’s Air Ambulance, I do so with a sense of great satisfaction and pride at how far the organisation has come in recent years. Indeed, much of that success has crystallised in the financial year 2015/16 under review. Our strategy to diversify and grow our revenue streams has delivered fantastic results as the Charity has delivered yet another record year in underlying income generation. Over and above the ongoing investments in service delivery, this level of financial performance also gives us much greater resilience and drives the Charity towards a sustainable future. The milestone moment of course has been the acquisition of our second helicopter, and the launch of G-LNDN in January 2016 is an achievement that we can all be proud - the team at London’s Air Ambulance and all of you, our supporters. This has been supplemented by the continuation of extended daylight flying hours in the summer months, which, combined, helps us to deliver our advanced trauma care to more patients via air. London’s Air Ambulance rightly has a reputation for innovation and this has been enhanced again through clinical world-firsts, including roadside REBOA; the continuing scale and reach of our research programmes and the educational developments within The Institute of Pre-Hospital Care. The ground-breaking work we do for our patients during their rehabilitation to support their return to normal living has been humbling, and we have secured additional funding to extend the scope of our Patient Liaison Nurse role.

The operational, aviation and clinical teams at London’s Air Ambulance are truly world-class and the team at the Charity have now evolved to a similar level, with ambitious and passionate talent across the organisation, all living our values of passion, professionalism, teamwork, excellence and resilience, with absolute transparency to all of you as our stakeholders. We couldn’t have done any of this without our wonderful pool of committed volunteers, whose ranks have also grown during the year in review. The accreditation of our volunteer programme through ‘Investing in Volunteers’ is also a significant achievement. I would also like to acknowledge the professionalism and dedication of our clinical and operational partners, notably London Ambulance Service and The Royal London Hospital, part of Barts Health NHS Trust. It’s only together, within the context of the London Trauma Network and alongside the other Major Trauma Centres in the capital, that we can jointly deliver advanced pre-hospital care to our patients. I’ve said many times since I joined the Charity in late 2012 that being CEO of London’s Air Ambulance will be the best job I’ll ever do, and that has proven to be true. It’s been a privilege for me to lead this incredible organisation and I leave both humbled by your support, and deeply grateful for it. The support you have given me personally, and the organisation overall, has been inspiring and ultimately our success is down to you, and to the wonderful team of people at London’s Air Ambulance. Whilst I am retiring as CEO, I will now join you as a supporter and a volunteer and I will do everything I can in the future to help the Charity grow, to enhance its profile and to continue to be recognised as a world-leader in the provision of pre-hospital care. Thank you again for everything you have done.

Graham Hodgkin CEO London’s Air Ambulance 28

29


Thank You to Our Supporters None of the amazing achievements you’ve read about in this annual review would have been possible without our supporters. Thank you to the many individuals, companies, organisations and trusts who have given their money, time and energy to make sure we can continue to be there when our patients need us. We are incredibly grateful to have so many passionate, dedicated and generous people making our work possible. From everyone at London’s Air Ambulance, our patients and their families, thank you for everything you do to help us save lives in London.

Our Volunteers We rely on the assistance of volunteers to make the Charity a success and we greatly appreciate the hard work and dedication they bring. Volunteers carry out a range of roles, including fundraising collections, coordinating collection pots, working in our shop, selling merchandise at external events, giving talks in the community and supporting our office based activities. In 2015/16, a total of 154 volunteers supported the charity, with 65 taking part in volunteering activity on a regular basis (more than once a month). This includes ten volunteers who regularly man our shop at The Royal London Hospital and six volunteers who drive our fundraising cars, distributing and collecting donation pots every week. During National Air Ambulance Week 2015, 121 volunteers took part in the Charity’s collections across London which contributed significantly to its success. We began the process for ‘Investing in Volunteers’ accreditation, the UK quality standard for all organisations that involve volunteers in their work, in 2015 to show that we value our volunteers and encourage their development. The accreditation was awarded to us in October 2016.

30

Our Individual Supporters It’s humbling to know that it is the support of the population we serve – the 10 million people who live, work and travel within the M25 – that gets us to the side of our patients. We have over 45,000 people playing our weekly lottery. The London’s Air Ambulance Lottery is a significant part of our income and continues to grow. At the end of March 2016 the number of chances in our Lottery had increased to 67,000 (some players have more than one chance). This is a growth of 25% over the year.

We run a full calendar of challenge events that anyone can take part in to raise money through sponsorship. People can challenge themselves by cycling, running, taking on obstacle courses or abseiling. The abseil is an annual London’s Air Ambulance event where fundraisers drop off the side of The Royal London Hospital, the home to our helipad. It was another fantastic year for the three day event with 190 participants, including Larry Lamb and a number of patients raising in excess of £50,000 for the charity.

We continue to increase the number of people supporting us with regular donations, both directly and via the Payroll Giving Scheme. One particularly successful event was a direct response TV advert and social media advertising following the Channel 5 documentary Trauma Doctors. You can read more about Trauma Doctors on page 28.

31


Our Patrons

Our Corporate Supporters

The Earl of Arran Lord Maxwell Beaverbrook Philippe Chappatte Esq The Rt Rev. & Rt Hon. Dr Richard Chartres Glenn Earle Martin Gilbert Ward Hamilton Bernardo Hartogs Mike Hussey Sir George Iacobescu CBE Dr Hilary Jones Julia Leal Sir Stirling Moss OBE Sir Stephen O’Brien CBE Jeremy Sandelson Sir Harry Solomon Maurice Thompson Baroness Jo Valentine General Sir Roger Wheeler GCB, CBE Paul White Dr Alastair Wilson OBE

Aberdeen Asset Management Alfa Allianz Ashurst CIS Security Clinic Coco di Mama Connect + EE Elite Insurance Euronext Fidelity International Finsbury Foxtons Geographers’ A-Z Map Company Limited Gratte Brothers Haysmacintyre Hogan Lovells HSBC Hyperion Foundation International SOS IPUG JDC Promotions Joseph Joseph

32

Lawson’s LDC Leigh Day Liberty Specialty Markets Lloyds Global Transaction Banking MFS International Mills & Reeve LLP O’Donovan Waste Disposal Ocean Outdoor Phoenix Group Progressive Media Group RBS Rothschild Santander SMBC TFA – The Flooring Association The London Helicopter Thomson Reuters Tokio Marine Kiln Transport Planning Associates Tysers UIB VocaLink Wells Fargo XL Catlin / Xuber

Our Sponsors

Corporate Supporter Case Study

Our bright red helicopters and immediately discernible rapid response cars are highly visible and recognised throughout London. Brand association with our vehicles is a fantastic opportunity for companies to leverage their profile to the community they serve – their employees, stakeholders and customers. Thank you to our sponsors; this level of commitment makes a massive difference to our ability to fund life-saving and innovative treatment:

Hogan Lovells

Foxtons City of London (October 2016) London Freemasons Volkswagen Group Leasing

Our partnership with Hogan Lovells saw yet another amazing year. Our relationship with this international law firm started when their staff voted to support us via a two year charity partnership beginning in January 2014. Hogan Lovell’s link to London’s Air Ambulance goes back to the 2005 London bombings. At the time, Hogan Lovells was brought in to help victims and their families claim compensation, and their staff were impressed by our charity’s work. Hogan Lovells’ aircraft finance practice carried out the legal work involved in purchasing our second helicopter on an entirely pro bono basis. The team was involved in the worldwide hunt for a suitable second-hand aircraft, oversaw the complex purchase negotiations and advised on loans and financing. Hogan Lovells’ also supported us via their very own fundraising and awareness campaigns. In 2015, their staff raised more than £60,000 through a number of events, including quiz nights, wine tastings, ballroom dancing competitions, sponsored runs, walks and abseils. Following the success of the initial two years, Hogan Lovells chose to extend the partnership for an additional year. Their activity in 2015/16 resulted in Hogan Lovells winning Best Charity Law Firm at the Third Sector Awards 2016.

33


Our Trusts, Foundations and Livery Company Supporters

John Laing Charitable Trust

The Baker Charitable Trust

The Hobson Charity

The Roger Vere Foundation

Worshipful Company of Fan Makers

Joseph Strong Frazer Trust

The Bothwell Charitable Trust

The Honourable Company of Air Pilots

Worshipful Company of Glovers

JWW Charitable Trust

The Chandris Foundation

The Hospital Saturday Fund

The Simmons & Simmons Charitable Foundation

The City of London Corporation’s charity, City Bridge Trust

The Jean and Hugh Dinan Charitable Trust

The Sir Victor Blank Charitable Settlement

Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks

The Company of Arts Scholars Charitable Trust

The John and Cecilia Gordon Charitable Trust

The Spear Charitable Trust The Stanley Foster Charitable Tust

The County Air Ambulance Trust

The Lennox Hannay Charitable Trust

Worshipful Company of Security Professionals Trust

The Derek Butler Trust

The LTSB Foundation

The Thousandth Man – Richard Burns Charitable Trust

Worshipful Company of Tin Plate Workers Alias Wire Workers

The Doris Pacey Charitable Foundation

The Mackintosh Foundation

The Tinsley Foundation

Worshipful Company of Tylers and bricklayers Worshipful Company of Vintners

We are grateful to be supported by a growing range of Trusts, Foundations and Livery Companies.

Khoo Teck Puat UK Foundation

A S & Mrs E M Lloyd Charitable Trust

London & Capital Foundation

Aspect Charitable Trust

Macquarie Group Foundation

Austin and Hope Pilkington Trust

Miss G.M Marriage’s Charitable Trust

Aviva Community Fund

Modiano Charitable Trust

BALPA Benevolent Fund

Morant Charitable Trust

The Mactaggart Third Fund

Beaverbrook Foundation

Mrs Hilda Beer Charitable Trust

The Dr. Mortimer and Theresa Sackler Foundation

The Trevor Chinn Charitable Trust No 2

The Marie Helen Luen Charitable Trust

The Vandervell Foundation

C.A. Redfern Charitable Foundation

Mrs Maud van Norden’s Charitable Foundation

The Edith Murphy Foundation

The Masons Company Charitable Trust

The Warshaw Family Charitable Trust

The Ettling Charitable Trust

The Michael and Anna Wix Charitable Trust

The Wyn and Ken Lo Memorial Foundation

The Michael and Ruth Jacobs Charitable Trust

W.Wing Yip and Brothers Foundation

Cisco Foundation Clare King Charitable Trust

Lloyd’s Charities’ Trust

New Quadrant Foundation Ormsby Charitable Trust

The Frank and Dorothy Poulden Charitable Trust

Falcon Trust

Roger Raymond Charitable Trust

The Fuellers Charitable Trust Fund

Foresters Charity Stewards UK Trust

Shanly Foundation

The Gerald Micklem Charitable Trust

Guild of Freemen of the City of London

Tallow Chandlers Benevolent Fund

The Gledswood Charitable Trust

Hamamelis Trust

The A & L Sussman Charitable Trust

The Golden Bottle Trust

The Parachute Regimental Association: London

Highfields Trust

The Air Pilots Benevolent Fund

The Heathside Charitable Trust

The Persula Foundation

Jane Caplin Settlement

The Albert Hunt Trust

The Helianthus Charitable Trust

The Phillips Family Charitable Trust

John and Lorna Trust

The Astor Foundation

The Highfields Trust

The Rest-Harrow Trust

David and Claudia Harding Foundation

34

The Mishcon Family Charitable Trust The Misses Barrie Charitable Trust

Worshipful Company of Gunmakers Worshipful Company of Plaisterers

Weaver Family Trust Westminster Foundation Worshipful Company of Actuaries Worshipful Company of Builders Merchants Worshipful Company of Carmen Worshipful Company of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators Trust

Photography courtesy of Lee Parker and Mattew Bell. 35


For more information please contact: E info@londonsairambulance.co.uk T 020 3023 3300 @LDNairamb London’s Air Ambulance visit londonsairambulance.co.uk Registered Charity London’s Air Ambulance is the registered charity that delivers an advanced trauma team to critically injured people in London. Registered Charity (801013). Design by GeoMedia : GeoMedia.co.uk

Profile for London's Air Ambulance

LAA Annual review 2015/16  

LAA Annual review 2015/16  

Advertisement