Page 1

Support London’s Air Ambulance

London’s Air Ambulance Annual Review 2014/15


As a charity, it is only through the support of the community we serve that we can save the lives of critically injured people in London. Thank you.

2


Contents Page

Our Trustees Mark Vickers (Chairman) Sam Walker (Deputy Chairman) Dr Gareth Davies (Chairman until August 2014) Maxine Jordan Paul Lavender Professor David Lockey Dr Anne Weaver (resigned July 2014) Michael Weiss (resigned April 2015)

Chairman’s Report

4

Chief Executive Officer’s Report

6

Medical Director’s Report

8

A Year in Highlights

10

2014 Mission Map

11

About London’s Air Ambulance

12

Our NHS Partners

13

Our Mission & Values

14

Delivering on Our Mission

15

Our Strategic Objectives

16

Sharing Medical Innovation Through the Media

17

Our Patients

18

The Institute of Pre-Hospital Care

20

Patient Liaison Nurse

21

Our Supporters

22

Our Corporate Supporters

24

Our Trust, Foundation & Livery Company Supporters

25

Our Finances

26

Thank You to Our Sponsors & Patrons

27

Thank You to Our Supporters

28

3


t r o p e R s ’ Chairman The provision of world class pre-hospital care to the people of London remains at the root of everything we do. Our mission is to deliver highly professional medical treatment to critically injured patients. The supreme skills of our pilots and firecrews, and the outstanding performance of our Chief Executive and his management team, and the dedication and commitment of our staff and volunteers make up an organisation of which our many stakeholders can be justifiably proud.

We have achieved a huge amount over a short time but we cannot be complacent and there is still a great deal of work to be done for London’s Air Ambulance to establish and maintain its status as one of the pre-eminent air ambulance charities in the world. I am delighted to report that this last financial year has been one of transformational success for the charity. The significant investments that have been made in the organisation over the last 24 months have started to yield material dividends and the charity has delivered a very healthy financial performance across all of its key metrics. Aggregate consolidated income increased by £3,279,880 representing a year-on year increase of 68.3% and the charity has returned to a state of financial surplus after the loss that was incurred in the prior year. The impact of our positive financial performance has been felt across London as we successfully delivered on a number of strategic initiatives, not least the introduction of extended daylight flying hours in March 2015, which has enabled us to reach a further 67 critically injured patients by air in the first summer of operation. Our brand new rapid response and fundraising car fleet was also finalised and became operational during the year in review. Our financial surplus has allowed the Trustees to pursue the objective of sustainability for the charity, as we have increased our operational reserve cover from 2.5 months to 2.9 months. Additionally we have set aside a proportion of funds to be applied towards settlement of the balloon payment, which falls due under the current aircraft financing arrangement in December 2017.

4


We are thrilled to have now completed the purchase of our second MD902 Explorer helicopter, which occurred post this review period. Whilst this is a truly exciting development for London, we still have much work to do to get the aircraft ready for UK HEMS operations and we look forward to sharing an operational date with our supporters in due course. All of these initiatives are helping to create a more robust and resilient emergency medical service for the capital, thereby helping us to fulfil our mission of providing our patients with the world’s most effective pre-hospital care. The challenge for the organisation now is to re-set the strategy for the coming years and we are actively progressing in this regard, alongside our key partners, notably Barts Health NHS Trust and the London Ambulance Service. Notwithstanding our strong financial performance this year, the cost of operating and delivering the service, with extended daylight flying hours and a second helicopter, will increase by £1.2 million p.a. Therefore the focus on fundraising and income generation remains relentless as we drive towards financial sustainability. The charity sector has been subjected to some close scrutiny in recent times, against a backdrop of negative media stories and diminishing public perception. The Board of Trustees at London’s Air Ambulance have recognised that it needs to continue evolving, both in support of an increasingly dynamic and fast-growing charity, but also to ensure that it is appropriately focused on governance, risk and resource allocation. The Board itself is in the process of being reconstituted, not only in terms of personnel but also in terms of its governance framework and, since my appointment as Chairman, we have implemented a Board Charter, a Code of

Conduct and appropriate terms of reference so that we can continue to comply with the various regulatory bodies that oversee our business operations, and that we can continue to be transparent and accountable in all that we do. As a charitable organisation working in partnership with public sector bodies, such as the NHS, we believe in and indeed welcome an appropriate level of challenge and scrutiny from donors, partners and stakeholders alike. With a re-formed Board of Trustees in place, I am increasingly confident that we can stand up to such scrutiny and that we can support London’s Air Ambulance in the ongoing delivery of its mission and public benefit to the people of London. On behalf of the Board of Trustees, I would like to say a heartfelt ‘thank you’ to all our supporters, both existing and new, for their generosity and trust. We are humbled by your support and remain committed to be the very best that we can be in looking after our patients and delivering world class care at every opportunity.

Mark Vickers Chairman London’s Air Ambulance

5


t r o p e R ’s r e c i f f O e v i t u Chief Exec Financial year 2014/15 was a highly successful one for London's Air Ambulance. When I joined the organisation in late 2012, there were some key areas of focus for me as CEO that I felt were pre-requisites for us to be considered a high performing charity that could stand alongside the worldclass standards already set by our clinical and operational teams. There needed to be a more clearly defined strategy; a meaningful investment in our people and our infrastructure and, ultimately, a heightened purpose and clarity to our communications, both internally and externally to our supporters and stakeholders. In turn, all of that needed to be underpinned by a cohesive income generation plan that both diversified our revenues and enhanced the quality of those streams through a relentless approach to cultivating sustainable and mutually reinforcing partnerships.

6

I am therefore thrilled to be able to update you on our progress in this annual report. Strategically, we delivered on our promise to extend our daylight flying hours to sunset each day in the summer for the first time in our history; and through the 'Your London, Your Helicopter' fundraising campaign, we are closer than ever to realising our aspiration of getting a second helicopter into operation for London. At the time of writing, we have raised, or had pledged, almost ÂŁ4 million towards our target of ÂŁ6 million. Our investment in people is also paying dividends, and we have attracted significant talent to the organisation in this timeframe, as well as developing the people that we have. Our employees are required to live our values of Passion, Teamwork, Resilience, Transparency, Excellence and Professionalism and this has been built into our performance management frameworks, all aligned to our strategy and mission. We are developing a track record of promoting from within, and we will be undertaking further initiatives in the coming year to help develop a pipeline of talent for the challenges ahead, including participating in sector wide graduate and diversity initiatives. Our internal communications strategy has developed at pace over the year in review and there are a variety of internal platforms in place that facilitate the dissemination of information and progress. Externally, we believe our brand is emerging as a trustworthy and dynamic one in the social sector. Our digital and social media footprint is growing and we continue to build constructive relationships with both print and broadcast media.


Ultimately I am most proud of how all of the above has dovetailed to deliver the charity's most successful ever fundraising year. Our audited accounts show that we raised a total of £8,082,060 in consolidated income to the year ending 31st March 2015, an increase of 68.3% on the previous year. Due to the investments alluded to above, and accounting for a material increase in pro-bono professional services, our consolidated costs also rose during the same period, to a total of £6,050,368, albeit at the much slower incremental rate of 25.6% over the previous year. As our Chairman rightly states, earlier in this Review, the charity sector is very much under the spotlight at this juncture and stories of fundraising malpractice, weak governance and breaches to data protection are now front page tabloid news. Public perception of charities is at its lowest point for seven years, according to sector research. Against this backdrop I am therefore particularly delighted with our financial performance in this financial year. Whilst we continue to innovate in the fundraising arena and drive more commercial revenues into our business model, we constantly review our practices and procedures to ensure that we are engaging with our supporters in a way that is ethical and moral and which go beyond the thresholds laid out by our regulatory bodies, including the Charities Commission and the Gambling Commission (for our society lottery scheme). We are members of the Fundraising Review Standards Board and we take our approach to supporter engagement and fundraising very seriously.

I would like to say a special thank you to all those that volunteer their time and skills to London’s Air Ambulance as without you there is so much that we couldn’t get done and the charity simply wouldn’t be on the positive path that it currently is without your contribution. Thank you to all our supporters who have helped make this financial year such a standout success. Everything we do is focused on providing our patients with the best possible outcome and we endeavour to remember that our life saving service is mandated by you, the people of London and for your benefit. I am truly excited by the next stage of our development, and I would like to personally place on record my thanks to the team here at London’s Air Ambulance, including clinicians who volunteer their time through our Emeritus programme; for your unwavering commitment, passion and ambition for the service. Ours is a truly rewarding and humbling charity to be associated with and I am deeply privileged to be your CEO.

Graham Hodgkin CEO London’s Air Ambulance

7


t r o p e R s ’ r o t c e r i D l a c Medi The global problem of serious injury, or ‘trauma’, remains the biggest cause of death in people under the age of 45 in the UK. The partnership between London’s Air Ambulance, Barts Health NHS Trust and the London Ambulance Service goes from strength to strength in leading the challenge to this disease, not just in London but throughout the UK and the rest of the world. This year, we performed the world’s first pre-hospital Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta (REBOA). This procedure is used to control catastrophic pelvic bleeding, an injury that is most commonly associated with serious cycling incidents and falls from significant heights. This new technique allows us to prevent a patient from bleeding to death before they reach hospital. This is a ground breaking initiative and one of the most notable developments in pre-hospital care since we pioneered pre-hospital thoracotomy (open heart surgery) at the roadside. REBOA has already saved the lives of people in London and will go on to benefit many others through the UK and beyond as the procedure is taken up by other services.

8

The introduction of extended daylight flying hours has also been a significant development for the service. For seriously injured patients every second counts and getting to their side as soon as possible is vital, the London’s Air Ambulance helicopter makes this possible. We are getting to more patients and in a more timely and effective way. The impact of extended daylight flying hours cannot be understated. The Institute of Pre-hospital Care at London’s Air Ambulance has provided a powerful platform for research, innovation and education in pre-hospital care. 2014/15 has been a pivotal year for The Institute, with the very first cohort of students accepted to the UK’s first Intercalated BSc degree in Pre-Hospital Medicine. Delivered in partnership with Queen Mary University London the course is an unprecedented opportunity to develop the specialty field of pre-hospital emergency medicine. I have no doubt the incredible financial boost which the charity has delivered this year will translate into lives saved in London and beyond as we continue to innovate and lead the world in pre-hospital emergency care. Thank you for your generosity,

Dr Gareth Davies Trustee & Medical Director London’s Air Ambulance


9


Public appeal for a 2nd helicopter ‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ campaign launched

Life-saving dispatch app launched

Documentary series: Over 3 million watched our work

A Year in Highlights World’s first pre-hospital REBOA performed

Daylight flying hours extended

London Freemasons pledge £2 million towards the 2nd helicopter campaign

10

Charles Newitt, Chief Operating Officer appointed

New livery of rapid response cars revealed

Awarded £1,000,000 by Chancellor of Exchequer

Autumn Reception with City Livery Companies at Barber-Surgeons’ Hall

£120,000 raised at Silver Gala Ball


p a M n o i s s i 2014 M 69 55 32

82

67

Hillingdon

66

City Of London

Wandsworth

93

101

40

47 Lambeth

104

Southwark

66

76

36

Redbridge

Hackney

Islington

Richmond upon Thames

17

Waltham Forest

Haringey

45 29

Kensington & Chelsea

41 19

1806 PATIENTS

120 38 43

Hounslow

45

In 2014 our advanced trauma doctors and paramedics treated

Camden

Westminster

Hammersmith & Fulham

9

51

Brent

Ealing

57

Barnet

Harrow

55

Enfield

44

Newham

Havering

Barking & Dagenham

Tower Hamlets

55

Greenwich

31

Lewisham

Bexley

30

Outside London

Merton

56

Kingston

21

Sutton

66

Bromley

Croydon

11


e c n a l u b m A r i A ’s n o d n o L About

London’s Air Ambulance is the charity that delivers an advanced trauma team to critically injured people in London in partnership with Barts Health NHS Trust and the London Ambulance Service. The service provides pre-hospital medical care at the scene of the incident and serves the 10 million people that live, work and travel within the M25. Based at The Royal London Hospital and founded in 1989, the service operates 24/7 with the single helicopter operating in daylight and rapid response cars taking over at night or adverse weather conditions.

12

The team, which at all times includes an advanced trauma doctor and paramedic, perform advanced medical interventions normally only found in the hospital emergency department in time critical, life threatening situations. Missions commonly involve serious road traffic collisions, falls from height, industrial accidents, assaults and injuries on the rail network. The Physician Response Unit car, staffed by a doctor and a London Ambulance Service paramedic carries specialist drugs and equipment to treat a range of medical incidents including patients who suffer from cardiac arrest. A high level of diagnostics and treatment can be initiated on-scene, giving the optimal outcome for the patient and often avoiding admission to an Emergency Department and use of an ambulance asset with many patients receiving diagnosis or treatment in their home or community. London’s Air Ambulance has an international reputation for clinical excellence and delivers pioneering procedures which have been adopted across the world, including pre-hospital open heart surgery, blood transfusion and now REBOA.


s r e n t r a P S H N r u O

The longstanding partnerships we have with Barts Health NHS Trust and the London Ambulance Service are invaluable to our work. Barts Health NHS Trust provides direct financial support and the helipad facility at The Royal London Hospital, our operational home. It also employs and remunerates the advanced trauma doctors who are seconded to the service. The London Ambulance Service similarly provides funded paramedics who are seconded to the service.

London Ambulance Service

As part of their duty roster with us, seconded paramedics rotate to operate from the London Ambulance Service Emergency Operating Centre and are responsible for dispatching us to the most critically injured people in London; our service simply cannot be delivered without them.

13


s e u l a V & n o i s s i M r u O

Mission Our mission is to provide our patients with the world’s most innovative and effective pre-hospital care. Values

Our values sit at the centre of everything we do.

Passion We believe that our passion drives us and makes our organisation unique.

Teamwork We each perform a critical role and together we provide our world-leading service to enhance the outcome for patients.

Professionalism We each strive to be the very best in our field and to deliver it in the most effective way possible.

14

Excellence We constantly innovate in order to achieve excellence in all that we do.

Resilience We demonstrate flexibility and strength in our determination to achieve our goals, often in the most extreme of situations.

Transparency We demonstrate honesty and integrity through the openness of our communication.


n o i s s i M r u O n o g n i Deliver In the calendar year 2014 we treated 1806 critically injured patients. We strive to find new ways to enhance the outcomes for our patients through innovation, both in clinical interventions and our operations, ensuring we fulfil our mission of providing our patients with the world’s most effective pre-hospital care.

Our Firsts in 2014/15

Extended daylight flying hours introduced

World’s first pre-hospital REBOA performed

For the first time in our history, we have been flying longer hours during the summer months of 2015. From 29 March 2015, the start of BST, until 2 September 2015 we deployed a second flight crew each day and have been able to deliver our advanced trauma team to critically injured people in London via helicopter every day until sunset. Previously, due to flight restrictions of 12 hours for a single crew, our medical team had to revert to a rapid response car at 18.45.

We performed the world’s first roadside balloon surgery to control internal bleeding. Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta (REBOA), a technique used first in the Emergency Department at The Royal London Hospital of Barts Health NHS Trust, is a significant innovation to control haemorrhage in trauma patients at the scene of their accident. On average we are deployed five times a day to deliver lifesaving medical interventions to people critically injured in the Capital. Many of these patients are suffering from catastrophic bleeding. Tragically some die at the scene as a result of their severe blood loss and never make it to hospital. London’s Air Ambulance can now perform REBOA on patients suffering severe pelvic haemorrhage, an injury most commonly associated with cycling incidents and falls from height. During the period of this review, we performed the REBOA procedure twice with both patients surviving their life-threatening injuries.

The introduction of extended daylight flying hours enabled us to reach, and treat, 67 patients by aircraft.

Dispatch app A revolutionary new mobile app and EE’s 4G network are helping us save lives by reducing the time it takes to dispatch our advanced trauma teams by up to two minutes. Developed by mobile app developer Mubaloo and EE, the app increases emergency dispatch efficiency by automatically providing London’s Air Ambulance trauma teams with incident information via EE 4G directly to iPads which helps us reach patients quicker than ever before.

15


s e v i t c e j b O c i g e t a r Our St

As we come to the end of our current three year plan, we are now starting to develop our strategy for 2020 and beyond. As well as continuing to deliver on our mission as previously outlined, our strategic objectives for 2015/2016 will include: • Delivering greater resilience through bringing into service a second helicopter combined with the extension of our daylight flying hours. • Continuing the successful growth of the Institute of Pre-Hospital Care (“The Institute”). • Developing and delivering a schools’ outreach programme. • Working closely with Barts Health NHS Trust and the London Ambulance Service to deliver improved pre-hospital care procedures and pathways.

16

• Continuing to expand on the success of the role of the Patient Liaison Nurse. This is a truly exciting era of development for London’s Air Ambulance and other initiatives will be embarked upon as our planning phase concludes, all of which will be underpinned by our improving financial performance.


a i d e M e h t h g u o r h T n o i t a v Sharing Inno We have long pioneered innovation in trauma care and have an international reputation for a world class standard of care. Our work, delivered in partnership with Barts Health NHS Trust and London Ambulance Service, continues to be showcased in high-profile TV documentaries, raising awareness of and sharing the innovative medical procedures performed in the pre-hospital environment in London.

Channel 5’s ‘Trauma Doctors’

BBC2’s ‘An Hour to Save Your Life’

Channel 5's 'Trauma Doctors: Every Second Counts' returned for a second series in May 2014, providing an insight into the thought processes and decision making that takes place when our advanced trauma team is treating London’s most critically injured. Viewers saw our team in action and making the split second decisions in time-critical situations. Over 1 million people tuned in to watch the series.

The three-part second series returned to BBC Two in 2015, capturing life-saving medical situations at the roadside, and at The Royal London Hospital. The series included many of our pre-hospital innovations: roadside open heart surgery, blood transfusion and REBOA – the innovative balloon surgery used to combat catastrophic bleeding which we pioneered in 2014. Over 2 million people tuned in to watch the series. Dr Gareth Davies, Trustee and Medical Director, said: “Our aim is to provide our patients with the world’s most innovative and effective pre-hospital care. The documentaries we chose to participate in capture procedures and chains of care, to try to reverse the dying process and literally bring patients back from the brink of death. With their vast viewership, these programmes allow us to raise awareness of our pre-hospital innovations and how they change the prospects of patients who previously might not have survived their injuries”.

17


s t n e i t a P r Ou

ORHAN’S STORY When Orhan got off the bus, he was hit by a lorry and thrown 80 feet along the road. He had a swelling on his brain, a lacerated liver, heavily bruised lungs and multiple fractures to his face. From that moment every minute made a difference to the 13 year old. Our advanced trauma team sedated Orhan on scene to prevent further damage to his brain and immediately airlifted him to hospital. “My son got the treatment he would have received in the Emergency Department – right there, on the ground. When Orhan woke up in the children's intensive care unit, he knew who we were and he had no life changing injuries. It was such a relief for our family,” said Orhan’s mother. Orhan is now back at school and has made a full recovery.

IAN’S STORY

Ian fell 15 feet, landing on his back, onto concrete after a football match at Wembley. He fractured his skull, broke six bones in his back and was at great risk of his spine splintering into his spinal cord and paralysing him for life. “That day, I came dangerously close to never walking again. The doctor and paramedic from London´s Air Ambulance put me in an induced coma and packaged me, securing my spine to prevent further spinal injury. I was millimetres away from puncturing my spinal cord and it is still unreal for me to think that I could have been paralysed today if I was moved in a wrong way.” said Ian. Ian is now back at work. Not only can he walk again, he can lift his youngest daughter into his arms.

18


Andrew suffered a severe brain injury after falling off a staircase. Our advanced trauma team anaesthetised him on scene and he spent four days in an induced coma. Weeks after sustaining this potentially life changing injury, Andrew married his fiancée.

Mac’s heart stopped after he was stabbed in the chest at a party. Our advanced trauma team brought him back to life with on-scene open heart surgery and blood transfusion. Mac is remarkably now back at work and as an ambassador for the charity.

We would like to thank all our patients who shared their story to help raise awareness and funds for our vital work. Our patients are at the heart of everything we do so it’s crucial their voices are heard.

MECHANISM OF INJURY 33% Road Traffic Collisions 27% Falls from Height 24% Penetrating Trauma 16% Other

When his motorcycle collided with a lorry, James sustained severe head injuries, his lungs had collapsed and he broke his shoulder and elbow. Our advanced trauma team performed surgery at the roadside to re-inflate James’ lungs before airlifting him to the hospital. He has now returned to running his own business and is riding again.

Following treatment on scene, we airlifted Caitlin to hospital after she was hit by a bus in front of her school. The children saw our helicopter land and rallied behind our charity, raising almost £5,000. Caitlin is now back at school with her friends.

19


e r a C l a t i p s o H e r P f o The Institute London’s Air Ambulance has been a leader in the development and practice of pre-hospital care in the UK and abroad for the last 26 years. In 2013, The Institute of Pre-Hospital Care at London’s Air Ambulance (“The Institute”) was founded to drive excellence in pre-hospital care standards and practice through research, innovation and education; and by fostering collaboration across medical disciplines and institutions dedicated to improving outcomes for people afflicted by critical injury and illness.

Education The Institute’s education practice is led by Dr Gareth Grier. The Institute and Queen Mary University of London’s Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry have partnered to create the UK’s first Intercalated BSc degree in Pre-Hospital Medicine. Pre-hospital medicine is an innovative and growing field that is now recognised as a sub-specialty by the General Medical Council. 2014/15 was a pivotal year for the BSc degree with the very first cohort of 11 students achieving outstanding results and setting a high standard for the course. As part of multidisciplinary training, The Institute runs a Pre-Hospital Care Course, an Underground Training Course simulating incidents on the train network in realistic settings and works closely with the military. Dr Gareth Grier, Institute Director, said: “The Institute was founded to be a world-class training institute to educate the next generation of trauma doctors; to innovate and research; and foster collaboration across medical disciplines and institutions dedicated to improving outcomes for people afflicted by critical injury and illness. It has been an exceptionally busy year for the Institute and I am delighted that we are making a significant impact on this vision.”

20

Research The Institute’s research practice, led by Professor David Lockey, uses London’s Air Ambulance’s twenty-six years of patient data to study the effectiveness of pre-hospital medical interventions, to address other topics of pressing concern to the international pre-hospital care community. In 2014/15, The Institute's clinical leadership contributed to seven publications, covering topics ranging from pre-hospital anaesthesia, intubation and airway management to reporting of pre-hospital major incident medical management.

Innovation The Institute’s innovation practice, led by Dr Gareth Davies, works closely with London’s Air Ambulance operations to devise safer, faster and more effective options for treating critically injured and ill patients in a pre-hospital environment.


e s r u N n o Patient Liais Now in its second year, the role of the London's Air Ambulance Patient Liaison Nurse assists patients with their transition back to independent living. This role bridges the gap between the rapid on-scene pre-hospital treatment that the charity is renowned for and the patient’s long-term recovery.

The initiative to appoint a Patient Liaison Nurse stemmed from a need to provide an interface between our medical service and our patients during their long and often difficult recoveries. Sadly, many of our patients sustain injuries that have a substantial physical and mental impact on their lives. Previously London's Air Ambulance was only resourced to treat our patients at their moment of greatest need, hand over their care to specialist teams at the hospital Emergency Department and then typically have no further contact.

received. Our charity is now able to evaluate and improve medical interventions as guided by patient feedback and enhanced outcome records, helping to improve the systems used for treating critically ill patients. Over the last financial year, Frank has established support networks for our patients by identifying and creating working relationships with a number of charitable organisations, including Samaritans and Limbless Association, and established alternative health care providers that are equipped to support patients and their families through the rehabilitation process. In 2014/15, Frank followed up with 220 patients to provide vital post trauma support and guidance.

Thanks to a generous grant from The City of London Corporation’s charity, City Bridge Trust, to fund the role for three years, our Patient Liaison Nurse, Frank Chege, has been able to assist those most vulnerable patients through what is likely to be the most challenging time of their lives, the transition from injury and disability to recovery and independent life. Now Frank provides face-to-face support to patients and their families, answering their questions and identifying un-met needs. By facilitating reunions between patients and the London's Air Ambulance paramedic and doctor that delivered their care, Frank has offered our patients the opportunity to find out what happened to them and feedback on the care they

21


s r e t r o p p Our Su

We are incredibly humbled to have so many passionate, dedicated and generous supporters making our work possible. We rely on your support to maintain and enhance our lifesaving service. Thanks to you, we can continue to deliver our advanced trauma team to critically injured people 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We can be by a patient’s side within minutes of their injury to perform advanced medical procedures, normally only found in the hospital’s Emergency Department. In February 2015 our ‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ campaign was launched to raise the funds needed to acquire and sustain a second helicopter and extend our daylight flying hours for five years. Our supporters have risen to the challenge and we are incredibly grateful for this.

Thank you for helping us give our patients the best possible chance of survival and recovery. 22

Support from Corporates We are a dynamic and innovative organisation with an inspirational and truly compelling cause. We are passionate about creating mutually beneficial partnerships and ensuring that working with us is a rewarding and exciting experience. We work with a range of corporate partners and continue to benefit from corporate support in a variety of ways; sponsor partners for our helicopter and rapid response cars, charity of the year partnerships, cause-related marketing and corporate donations.


Support from Trusts, Foundations and Livery Companies We are supported by a growing range of Trusts, Foundations and Livery Companies. We share their values and priorities, with a commitment to excellence, innovation and highly impactful use of funding. Donations and grants are awarded to support our core services, specific innovative projects, life-saving medical equipment or for groundbreaking educational outreach projects. Our Livery Company supporters have highlighted that our charity resonates with them because of their deepseated history of addressing the challenges facing London, and commitment to building upon their heritage and remaining highly relevant in today’s society.

Support from Individuals Over the year we have achieved our objective of growing our regular giving programmes by increasing both the number of supporters who take part in our weekly lottery and those who donate to us monthly. The funds generated from individual supporters through regular giving are sustainable and unrestricted, which helps us plan and deliver the services we provide, with a greater degree of confidence and sustainability. As the charity matures and we increase our community of loyal supporters, gifts in Wills will be an important future income stream for us. It is the individuals who have supported London's Air Ambulance in their lifetime, who are passionate about making sure our work lives on, that will choose to leave a gift in their Will.

Many people take part in challenge events and raise money through sponsorship. We have a range of London charity events including abseiling, running and cycling or supporters can hold their own event to raise money for us.

Support from the Community

Support from our Volunteers

Many Londoners feel proud to be associated with and to raise funds for London's Air Ambulance. There is a genuine sense of ownership and, as a result, we have a very strong fundraising programme within the communities we serve. Local clubs and societies hold events. We run stalls and bucket collections throughout London and many shops, pubs and restaurants host our collection pots which, as well as providing significant income, also raise awareness of our vital work and our charitable status.

Our dedicated volunteers are key to making our fundraising a success and act as ambassadors for the charity. We could not achieve all that we do without them. Our volunteers help out at events, support our charity office team and work within the local community to raise awareness and funds.

23


s r e t r o p p u S e t a r o Our Corp Phoenix Group

Hogan Lovells

In 2014, staff from Phoenix Group chose London's Air Ambulance as one of its two charity partners for the year with an aim to raise £140,000 to be split equally between us and Midlands Air Ambulance Charity.

Hogan Lovells came on board as a charity partner in 2014 for a period of two years, aiming to raise £50,000 in the first year - to be split equally between London’s Air Ambulance and Lend with Care.

Staff rose to the challenge, abseiling, cycling, trekking and running in events up and down the country whilst clients and stakeholders supported through a gala dinner and an auction. Staff engagement and commitment to the air ambulances led to extensive fundraising involvement and individual challenge participation along with creative ideas including a ‘Big Sleep Out’ and a ‘Gunge the Manager’ event at their Head Office. The company raised a staggering £230,000 in just 12 months and the relationship has proved so successful that it has been extended for a further two years.

24

With a busy fundraising calendar including a spin-athon, abseiling, swishing and pub quizzes, staff were also keen to utilise their talents and the Hogan Lovells choir sang at the London's Air Ambulance Christmas Carol Service 2014. Additionally the aviation team at Hogan Lovells is providing probono support on the acquisition and financing of our second helicopter. Following the success of the 18 months, having raised £80,000 in 2014 alone, Hogan Lovells decided to extend the charity partnership with London’s Air Ambulance to three years.


& n o i t a d n u o F , t s u s r r T e t r o p Our p u S y n a p m Livery Co

London Freemasons

Livery Companies

Mactaggart Third Fund

We are delighted to partner with London Freemasons to help raise funds to acquire and sustain a vital second helicopter. The partnership, which aims to raise £2 million between March 2015 and spring 2017, will represent the most significant current contribution from a single organisation to the London’s Air Ambulance ‘Your London, Your Helicopter’ campaign.

In October 2014 London's Air Ambulance hosted an Autumn Reception at the Barber Surgeons’ Hall. We are very grateful to the Worshipful Company of Barbers for making this wonderful venue available to us for the evening. Following this event, a number of the City Livery Companies awarded donations to support our life-saving core service and medical equipment vitally needed by the charity.

The Mactaggart Third Fund has been a committed supporter of London’s Air Ambulance for a number of years. In 2014, the Trustees enhanced this support by providing Special Project funding for a much needed second ultrasound scanner for our service. The additional ultrasound is absolutely vital to our most recent clinical innovation, REBOA. This groundbreaking new procedure was first carried out in 2014 and represents the world’s first balloon surgery to control catastrophic pelvic bleeding. Later in the year, the Trustees also part-funded the purchase of a third ultrasound scanner.

In March 2015, London Freemasons launched the appeal to its 40,000 members across 1,350 lodges in London to fundraise towards the £2 million target. London Freemasons kicked off the partnership with a cheque presentation of £250,000 at their Annual General Meeting where members of the London’s Air Ambulance operational and clinical teams gave an address. London Freemasons will hold fundraising events, dinners and collections from individual lodge donations until the £2 million target is raised.

We look forward to continuing to work closely with the Livery Companies of London in the upcoming financial year. For a full list of our Livery Company supporters, please see page 30.

The generous support of the Mactaggart Third Fund has allowed us to have a full REBOA kit available 24/7 for our medical teams to utilise in both the helicopter and rapid response cars, with back up and contingency for each and to support our clinical training.

25


s e c n a n i Our F OUR INCOME (%)

£6,879,789

INDIVIDUALS 8% TRUSTS & FOUNDATIONS 9% GIFTS IN KIND 13%

EVENTS 7%

£4,855,159

GOVERNANCE 3%

COLLECTIONS 1% CORPORATE GIVING 5%

OUR EXPENDITURE (%)

BARTS NHS TRUST 17% LIBOR GRANT 15%

COST OF GENERATING VOLUNTARY INCOME 37%

CHARITABLE ACTIVITIES 60%

COMMERCIAL ARM (MERCHANDISE, LOTTERY, SPONSORSHIPS)

25%

Note: Based on stand-alone charity audited accounts and excludes investment income

It costs approximately £6 million (consolidated cost) per year for the service of advanced trauma care to be provided to critically injured patients in London, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. In 2014/15 London’s Air Ambulance raised £6,879,789 excluding investment income of £7,082 (72% more than last year) from individuals, trusts and foundations, companies, community groups and statutory grants. We are extremely grateful for the generosity of our partners and supporters and rely on this in order to continue saving lives and improving patient outcome.

26

We are absolutely committed to spending our money as efficiently as possible and scrutinise how every pound is used. The majority of our income (60p in every pound) is spent directly on delivering an advanced trauma team to critically injured people in London. We spend on average 3p of every pound on governance. We believe it is important to invest in fundraising because this allows us to secure sustainable income for the charity in the future. For every £1 we spend on fundraising we generate more than £4 in income.

In 2015/16 we are continuing to fundraise to support a second helicopter for five years – currently London is the only major capital city with one emergency helicopter. A second helicopter will provide resilience and cover during periods of maintenance. For the first time in our history we have been able to provide extended helicopter coverage during summer daylight hours. This is costing our charity an additional £1.2 million a year.


s r o s n o p S r u O o t u o Thank Y We would like to extend a special thank you to our helicopter and rapid response car sponsors:

greener smar ter

travel

s n o r t a P r u O o t u o Y Thank The Earl of Arran

Mike Hussey

Maurice Thompson

Lord Maxwell Beaverbrook

Sir George Iacobescu CBE

Baroness Jo Valentine

Philippe Chappatte Esq

Dr Hilary Jones

His Grace, The Duke of Westminster

The Rt Rev. & Rt Hon. Dr Richard Chartres

Julia Leal

General Sir Roger Wheeler GCB, CBE

Glenn Earle

Sir Stirling Moss OBE

Paul White

Martin Gilbert

Sir Stephen O'Brien CBE

Dr Alastair Wilson OBE

Ward Hamilton

Jeremy Sandelson

Bernardo Hartogs

Sir Harry Solomon

27


s r e t r o p p u S r u O o t u o Y k n a h T

On behalf of everyone at London’s Air Ambulance, our patients and their families, we would like to say a heartfelt thank you to the many individuals, companies and trusts that have supported us this year. Our work simply wouldn’t be possible without you. Corporate Supporters

28

Aker Solutions

CHP Consulting

Galliard

Ashurst

CIS Security

Heron

Aspen Insurance

Daiwa Capital Markets

Hogan Lovells

A-Z Maps

Deloitte

HSBC

Berkeley Group

Fairview

Informa

BlackRock

Fidelity Worldwide Investments

International SOS

Canary Wharf Group

Frogmore

LDC


M&G Investments

Phoenix Group

Slater & Gordon

Marcol

Reuben Brothers

UIB

MBN Events

RLM Finsbury

Vocalink

Mubuloo

Rothschild

Xchanging

Ocean Outdoors

Shipleys

XL Group

Oracle Corporation

Simmons & Simmons

Zoll

Parkeray

Skanska

29


Trust, Foundation & Livery Company Supporters

30

The A&L Sussman Charitable Trust

The Heathside Charitable Trust

The Adint Charitable Trust

The Helianthus Charitable Trust

The Adrian Swire Charitable Trust

The Henderson Foundation

The Baker Charitable Trust

The Highfields Trust

The Beale Trust

The Hintze Family Charitable Trust

The Beaverbrook Foundation

The Honourable Society of the Middle Temple

The Bothwell Charitable Trust

The Hospital Saturday Fund

The Brian Maguire Charitable Trust

The Human Aid UK Foundation

The Broad Street Ward Club

The Inch Trust

The CA Redfern Charitable Foundation

The JDR Charitable Trust

The Chandris Foundation

The John & Lorna Trust

The City Bridge Trust

The Kass Charitable Trust

The Doris Pacey Charitable Foundation

The Khoo Teck Puat UK Foundation

The Doughty Hanson Charitable Trust

The Kirsh Foundation

The Edith Murphy Foundation

The Leeds Building Society Charitable Foundation

The Ettling Charitable Trust

The Lexus Foundation

The Fitton Trust

The London Freemasons

The Foresters Charity Stewards UK Trust

The London Parachute Regimental Association

The Freemasons’ Grand Charity

The Mackintosh Foundation

The Galaxy Hot Chocolate Fund

The Mactaggart Third Fund

The Gerald Ronson Charitable Trust

The Michael & Anna Wix Charitable Trust

The Golden Bottle Trust

The Michael & Ruth Jacobs Charitable Trust

The Guild of Freeman of the City of London

The Misses Barrie Charitable Trust


The Mistra Trust

The WAB Trust

The Modiano Charitable Trust

The Warshaw Family Charitable Trust

The Mrs Hilda Beer Charitable Trust

The Weaver Family Trust

The Mrs Maud Van Norden's Charitable Foundation

The Worshipful Company of Blacksmiths

The Oddfellows West London District Lodge (No 10011)

The Worshipful Company of Builder Merchants

The Ormsby Charitable Trust

The Worshipful Company of Carmen

The Orr Mackintosh Foundation

The Worshipful Company of Chartered Secretaries &

The Polo Charity Trust

Administrators Charitable Trust

The Rest-Harrow Trust

The Worshipful Company of Drapers

The Romeera Foundation

The Worshipful Company of Educators

The S A Brihi-Brightwell Charitable Trust

The Worshipful Company of Firefighters

The Sandra Charitable Trust

The Worshipful Company of Fletchers

The Sir Victor Blank Charitable Settlement

The Worshipful Company of Glovers

The SNR Denton UK LLP Charitable Trust

The Worshipful Company of Gold & Silver Wyre Drawers

The Spear Charitable Trust

The Worshipful Company of Launderers

The St James's Place Foundation

The Worshipful Company of Management Consultants

The Stanley Grundy Foundation Ltd

The Worshipful Company of Pewterers

The Swire Charitable Trust

The Worshipful Company of Security Professionals

The Tinsley Charitable Trust

The Worshipful Company of Spectacle Makers

The Trevor Chinn Charitable Trust No 2

The Worshipful Company of Tallow Chandlers

The Vandervell Foundation

The Worshipful Company of Tax Advisors

The Virgin Unite Foundation

The XI'AN 2009 Trust

The Vodafone Foundation

31


For more information please contact: Graham Hodgkin, Chief Executive Officer E g.hodgkin@londonsairambulance.co.uk T 020 7220 5470 @LDNairamb London’s Air Ambulance visit londonsairambulance.co.uk Registered Charity London’s Air Ambulance is the registered charity that delivers an advanced trauma team to critically injured people in London. Registered Charity (801013).

Profile for London's Air Ambulance

London's Air Ambulance Annual Review 2014/15  

London's Air Ambulance Annual Review 2014/15  

Advertisement