Page 1


Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Review of the Year 2015-2016

Celebrating 175 Years of Great Music-Making


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Chairman’s Foreword I am delighted to have been appointed Chairman of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic during the 175th year of its founding in 2015.

Professor Nigel Weatherill FREng Chairman

It is a very exciting time to be joining the organisation, which has achieved so much under the stewardship of our out-going Chairman Lorraine Rogers, not least, international acclaim for the Orchestra’s music-making under the baton of Vasily Petrenko and the continuing development of an extensive learning programme and the recent completion of the major refurbishment of our home, Liverpool Philharmonic Hall.

These achievements have come about through the hard work and talent of many people; brilliant musicians, staff, executive and fellow board members and with the continuing support of our funders, donors, supporters and audiences.

I would like to pay particular thanks to the Mayor of Liverpool, Joe Anderson OBE, Liverpool City Council and Arts Council England. Their commitment has been both financial and is a demonstration of their understanding and valuing of Liverpool Philharmonic’s role in our city and as part of the UK’s wider music and creative industries.

4 |

Such support has never been more important. The success of recent years has happened in the context of a financial downturn which has created challenges for all of us. The costs of an organisation such as this one, with a world class orchestra and as diverse a musical offer as any in the country, means that we will always require the support and help of funders, donors, sponsors and audiences who value what we do.

Investec Wealth & Investment and Liverpool John Moores University are Liverpool Philharmonic’s Principal Partners. These partnerships are borne from relationships that stretch back many years and are a demonstration of all three organisations’ deep commitment to Liverpool.

As Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive of Liverpool John Moores University, I was delighted that our institution was able to contribute to the 175th anniversary celebrations of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and to recognise the remarkable achievements of a true ambassador of music and the city of Liverpool by conferring our highest organisational honour, our Corporate Award at our

Graduation Ceremony in 2015. I have joined a great team at the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, with a strong and committed Board and a dynamic and talented community of musicians, senior management and staff.

Working with the team, I look forward to making my contribution to ensuring the continuing success of an organisation that holds a unique place in Liverpool’s heart and contributes so much to its musical and cultural life.


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Chief Executive’s Statement During our 2014/15 and 2015/16 concert seasons, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic has been celebrating 175 years of music making. Those music lovers who came together in January 1840 to form the Liverpool Philharmonic Society cannot have imagined that they were laying the foundations for the organisation we know today; one with one of the UK’s greatest orchestras, and a music and learning programme that reaches right into the communities of Liverpool and beyond.

Michael Eakin Chief Executive

At the centre of our celebrations has been the redevelopment of Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, with a ÂŁ14.5m investment both into the historic fabric of the Hall, and into a new extension at the rear of the original building. This has been a major undertaking, and an investment into ensuring that our beautiful Hall is cherished and provides the kind of facilities we need for the decades ahead.

We closed the Hall for five and a half months between May and November 2014, though we still delivered an extensive artistic and learning programme and have achieved remarkable audiences for our concerts and other activity. We were determined that despite the building works we would maintain our artistic ambition and quality right across every area of our work. I hope that this review of our 175th anniversary gives some flavour of how we have been able to do this.

The support of many people has been critical. Our major funders Arts Council England and Liverpool City Council have continued to show great faith in us by supporting both our core work and the Hall redevelopment. We are grateful to our Principal Partners, Investec Wealth & Investment and Liverpool John Moores University for their sustained support. Classic FM, our media partner since 2001, extended our partnership for a further five years to 2020, and broadcast weekly programmes of live and recorded performances by the Orchestra and Choir throughout 2015.

A number of trusts and foundations and private donors have been extremely generous with support for our Hall redevelopment, for our concert and learning programmes, and our work in reaching new audiences. And we are incredibly fortunate in having such great support.

I am grateful also to the Board for their commitment and expertise which has been invaluable as ever. In particular I would like to thank Lorraine Rogers, who stepped down as Chairman at our AGM in November 2015 at the end of her second term, for her support, and her stewardship of nine remarkable years in the history of Liverpool Philharmonic.

Welcome to Professor Nigel Weatherill, Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive of Liverpool John Moores University who succeeds Lorraine as Chairman for an initial three-year term.

It has been a busy and challenging year and I would like to thank everyone in the company for the incredible work and dedication they have shown throughout. Whether performing onstage, working in learning settings, or working behind the scenes, our team of great people have worked incredibly hard and with great professionalism.

| 5


Review of the Year 2015-2016

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and its associated ensembles presented an outstanding programme of concerts and events in Liverpool, across the UK and internationally Liverpool Philharmonic Hall closed on 24 May 2014 for the major refurbishment of our Grade II* listed home. An electrifying final concert of the season the night before by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Choir and Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir included the world premiere of Poltroons in Paradise, commissioned from Stewart Copeland founder member and former drummer of seminal 80s band The Police. With our Hope Street home temporarily closed, the 2014/15 season and the beginning of our 175th anniversary celebrations got underway in Liverpool in October at Liverpool Cathedral with Vasily Petrenko conducting the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir in the world premiere of the brilliant young American composer Nico Muhly’s Second Service.

S Liverpool Philharmonic’s 175th Anniversary Birthday Cake

6 |

The Orchestra returned to Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, still in the midst of the refurbishment programme, with a concert programme that included the world premiere of the late James Horner’s Pas De Deux written for Norwegian brother and sister team, Mari and Håkon Samuelsen.

T Vasily Petrenko the Orchestra, the Samuelsens and James Horner

‘Horner has produced a lilting, luxuriant pastorale, intertwining the soloists, in mainly relaxed manner, against an orchestral accompaniment reminiscent of Vaughan Williams.’

AAAA review November 2014


Review of the Year 2015-2016

‘It was a wonderful celebration of an amazing achievement and I discovered Mendelssohn’s Die Erste Walpurgisnacht for the first time!’

Robin Facebook/175

T Vasily Petrenko and Orchestra acknowledge applause after our 175th anniversary concert

The performance in the same concert of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.5 marked the start of our celebration of the great Russian composer’s music, born 175 years ago in 1840, the same year that Liverpool Philharmonic was founded. Over the 2014/15 and 2015/16 concert seasons, the Orchestra has explored some of the composer’s greatest and most popular works, with Vasily Petrenko conducting all six of the composer’s symphonies.

Thursday, 12 March 2015 marked the 175th anniversary to the day of Liverpool Philharmonic’s very first concert, organised by a group of Liverpool music lovers, and performed at Mr Lassell’s Saloon on Great Richmond Street in Everton.

Marking other important musical anniversaries, Thomas Dausgaard conducted the Orchestra in Sibelius’s last three symphonies, Nos. 5, 6 and 7 during the 150th anniversary of the composer’s birth.

Beethoven’s Symphony No.9, and Mendelssohn’s Die Erst Wurlpurgisnacht, a work also performed on the occasion of the Liverpool Philharmonic’s 75th anniversary in 1915, was performed by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir and guest soloists conducted by Vasily Petrenko. The milestone was celebrated with two concerts on 12 and 14 March, performed to a sold-out Liverpool Philharmonic Hall.

‘The founder members of the Liverpool Philharmonic Society, formed 175 years ago, would have been staggered to discover the wonders that grew from their inaugural concert held in Mr Lassell’s Saloon, a room chiefly used for dancing lessons. The current Philharmonic Hall would be startling enough. But the biggest shock would certainly be the splendour and size of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, an orchestra taken to the peak of perfection under Vasily Petrenko, its principal conductor. This celebration concert showed us a world-class band testing its mettle on Beethoven’s Ninth. It was difficult to know what to admire more: the orchestra’s sheen, its warmth, its power, or the electrifying precision of attack.’

AAAAA review, March 2015

| 7


Review of the Year 2015-2016

14 Premieres commisioned for our 175th Anniversary

Whilst celebrating our history Liverpool Philharmonic continues to look to the future. With new work central to our artistic programme, Liverpool Philharmonic premiered, commissioned, and with international partners, cocommissioned leading composers to write music showcasing our ensembles and principal players. 25 October 2014

Nico Muhly Second Service Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir

World Premiere - Liverpool Philharmonic 175th anniversary commission

‘... a through-composed setting of the Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis ... beautifully sung and often touching.’

Review of Second Service October 2014

12 February 2015

Tan Dun Wolf Totem

Soloist Marcel Becker double bass

13 & 14 November 2014

James Horner Pas de Deux

soloists Mari Samuelsen violin Håkon Samuelsen cello

World Premiere - Commission kindly supported by Ship Owner Tom Wilhelmsen Foundation

‘...handsomely played by siblings Mari and Hakon Samuelsen.’

World Premiere - Commission UK Premiere - Co-commission by Liverpool Philharmonic with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam, St. Louis Symphony, Taiwan Philharmonic (NSO), and the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

‘… Marcel Becker, the RLPO’s principal bass played with great skill. Tan Dun was in his usual element, prettily blending musical traditions from East and West.’

AAAA review

20 November 2014

Michael Torke Concerto for Orchestra World Premiere - Liverpool Philharmonic 175th anniversary commission

‘... user friendly, buzzing with syncopated energy and enticingly orchestrated. It is also superbly and ingeniously crafted.’

28 March 2015

Sir James MacMillan Little Mass Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir, Liverpool Philharmonic Training Choir, Melody Makers

World Premiere - Commission supported by Sally Groves OBE and Mary and Jonathan Groves to mark the centenary of the Orchestra’s former principal conductor, Sir Charles Groves, and premiered in the month he would have celebrated his 100th birthday.

8 |

‘Not only is this the orchestra’s 175th anniversary year, but this concert also honoured the centenary of Sir Charles Groves, at the helm at Liverpool between 196377. His family were present, and had supported the world premiere of James MacMillan’s Little Mass. Its 25 minutes reveal a masterpiece of choral and orchestral writing which courageously and wonderfully expresses the fear of faith, the terrors as well as the comforts of belief, and spiritual darkness as well as light.’

AAAAA review, April 2015


Review of the Year 2015-2016

7 May 2015

3 November 2015

10 & 11 March 2015

World Premiere - Liverpool Philharmonic 175th anniversary commission

World Premiere performed by Ensemble 10/10, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic’s Contemporary Music Group at Buxton Opera House.

World Premiere - Liverpool Philharmonic 175th anniversary commission

Graham Fitkin Intimate Curve

Nigel Osborne Bosnian Voices

buxtonfestivalfringe.blogspot.co.uk

‘... stunning new Concerto for Orchestra, Intimate Curve, continues the series of special commissions for the Orchestra in Liverpool Philharmonic’s 175th year. Fitkin describes this piece by saying ‘all the musicians become soloists for the night as the spotlight of scrutiny swings unerringly from instrument to instrument.’

‘Nigel Osborne's work urges us to reach out to people who are doing their best to rebuild communities free of fear, hatred and violence. People who dare to hope.’

Einaudi Piano Concerto ‘Domino’ Wetlands UK premiere

26 May 2016

Qigang Chen Luan Tan (Variations for Orchestra)

UK Premiere commissioned by Liverpool Philharmonic, Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra and Radio France.

19 March 2016

The Unthanks A Symphonic Adventure with The Unthanks and Orchestra - Folk Songs old and new World Premiere - Liverpool Philharmonic 175th anniversary commission

T Top: L to R: Damian Iorio, Ludovico Einaudi and pianist Ji Liu rehearse Domino Bottom L: Christian Lindberg R: The Unthanks

22 September 2015

Nigel Hess A Celebration Overture

World Premiere supported by The Rushworth Foundation at Classic FM Live at London’s Royal Albert Hall

8 October 2o15

Robin Holloway ‘Europa and the Bull’ for Tuba and Orchestra

World Premiere – commissioned by Liverpool Philharmonic with San Francisco Symphony.

18 February 2016

Timothy Jackson Six Lancashire Folksong Settings

World Premiere of a version for symphony orchestra

3 March 2016

Christian Lindberg Concerto for Wind and Brass

World Premiere - Liverpool Philharmonic 175th anniversary commission

‘Robin Holloway’s tuba concerto gave expressive voice to an orchestral underdog, while the RLPO sounded thrilling under an empathic Andrew Manze. The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic’s heroic principal tuba Robin Haggart fully conveyed the profound, singing quality achievable from this very large yet surprisingly expressive horn.’

| 9


Review of the Year 2015-2016

10 |


Review of the Year 2015-2016

International artists and ensembles performed with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra including ...

Soloists Marcel Becker Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra principal double bass Isabelle Faust violin Ning Feng violin Vilde Frang violin Kirill Gerstein piano Boris Giltburg piano Augustin Hadelich violin Robin Haggart Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra principal Tuba Alina Ibragimova violin Jennifer Johnston mezzo-soprano Lisa Larsson soprano Jesus Le처n tenor Paul Lewis piano Tasmin Little violin Ji Lui piano Nikolai Lugansky piano Timothy McAllister saxophone Marina Rebeka soprano Kathryn Rudge mezzo-soprano Claire Rutter soprano Daniel Muller Schott cello Giovanni Sollima cello Mari and H책kon Samuelsen violin & cello Simon Trp훾eski piano Nobuyuki Tsujii piano Alisa Weilerstein cello Conductors Darrel Ang Sir Andrew Davis CBE Conductor Emeritus from April 2015 Thomas Dausgaard Ton Koopman Manuel L처pez-Gomez Speranza Scappucci Sir James MacMillan Andrew Manze Carlos Miguel Prieto Yan Pascal Tortelier Nathalie Stutzmann

| 11


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Artists in Residence ARTISTS in RESIDENCE

S L to R: Paul Lewis Giovanni Sollima Julian Rachlin Nathalie Stutzmann The Unthanks

In a series launched in 2013, five internationally renowned musicians accepted invitations to be Liverpool Philharmonic’s Artists in Residence during our 175th anniversary celebrations. Liverpool-born pianist Paul Lewis is one of the world’s greatest living virtuosos. In May 2015, audiences enjoyed his glorious account of Brahms’s Piano Concerto No.1 before his planned residency was unfortunately disrupted through injury.

‘… this week marks the 12th time in as many years that the keyboard virtuoso has revisited the hall, not as an audience member but as a soloist playing with the band he used to watch as a child.’

12 |

Palermo-born composer and cellist Giovanni Sollima returned to Liverpool following his thrilling performances in 2012. He performed some of his own compositions alongside fellow cellist (and regular collaborator) Monika Leskovar and with the Orchestra’s Principal Cello, Jonathan Aasgaard and brought Italian panache to Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations for cello and orchestra.

Julian Rachlin is one of the most exciting and respected violinists of our time. During his residency, he performed as conductor, soloist and chamber musician in a diverse set of programmes which showcased his many talents including as soloist with the Orchestra in Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No.1 and Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto; he performed as both violinist and conductor with the Orchestra in a concert of music by Mozart and Mendelssohn; played both violin and viola with five musicians of the the Orchestra in Brahm’s Sextet and Quintet; and conducted the Orchestra in their mutual debuts at Buxton Opera House.

Nathalie Stutzmann first performed with the Orchestra in January 2015 conducting Liverpool Philharmonic’s annual performance of Handel’s Messiah. Returning as Artist in Residence in early 2016, illness sadly prevented Liverpool enjoying her performance in recital of Schubert’s Winterreise. However her return to Liverpool in Spring 2016 to conduct Bach’s St. Matthew Passion is highly anticipated.

Mercury Prize-nominated folk duo, The Unthanks, i.e. sisters Rachel and Becky Unthank, with pianist Adrian McNally performed with the Orchestra conducted by Charles Hazlewood in a concert that included the world premiere of some new arrangements as part of Liverpool Philharmonic 175th Anniversary Commissions series, alongside symphonic explorations of their most popular and wellloved songs from their 10-year career.


Review of the Year 2015-2016

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir Excelled

‘Merseyside has a proud contribution to the making of Messiah, as Handel passed through Chester en route to the work’s premiere in Dublin in 1742. Yet with a performance history that stretches back over 150 years, Liverpool’s annual Messiah is one of the longest-established in the country.’

An extremely busy and challenging season for our dedicated singers, under the tutelage of our Chorus Master Ian Tracey, featured performances of Bach’s St. John Passion, Britten’s Welcome Ode, Nico Muhly’s Second Service, Fauré’s Requiem, Handel’s Messiah, Mozart’s Exultate, jubilate, Rossini’s Stabat Mater, Mendelsshohn’s Die erste Walpurgisnacht, Mahler’s Resurrection Symphony, Elgar’s The Dream of Gerontius and Orff’s Carmina Burana.

As always, the Choir, with the wonderful young voices of Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir were centre-stage for our annual Spirit of Christmas concerts, conducted by Ian Tracey and presented by Classic FM’s John Suchet.

Q Spirit of Christmas

| 13


Review of the Year 2015-2016

14 |


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Vasily Petrenko Chief Conductor

Our Chief Conductor’s dynamic musical partnership with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, now in its tenth year, continues as a golden era in our 175 year history, in the concert hall and in broadcasts and recordings.

During our 175th anniversary, Vasily’s concerts with the Orchestra in Liverpool, across the UK and internationally – he led the Orchestra on tour in China, Japan (an inaugural tour), the Czech Republic and Romania benefit both Liverpool Philharmonic and our city, as do his high profile positions and engagements with other international orchestras.

Vasily is also Chief Conductor of the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra and Principal Guest Conductor of the Mikhailovsky Theatre in St Petersburg in Russia, his native city, and where his professional career began in the mid-1990s. In September 2015, he took up the baton as Chief Conductor of the European Union Youth Orchestra, succeeding Vladimir Ashkenazy.

‘Other Russian conductors have given us valuable perspectives on Elgar: Yevgeny Svetlanov and Gennady Rozhdestvensky in particular. But this is more than that. A sense of the long, fluid, intensely (but never exaggeratedly) expressive line ... rich in mood and character, strong in overall conception ... The lasting impression is of a conductor with an intelligent, informed but deep love of this music.’

April 2015 review of the recording of Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra’s recording of Elgar’s Symphony No.1 and Cockaigne Overture (ONYX)

T Vasily Petrenko in concert with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

S Vasily Petrenko backstage at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

| 15


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Sir Andrew Davis CBE Conductor Emeritus

One of Britain’s most distinguished conductors, Sir Andrew Davis CBE returned to Liverpool in April 2015 to conduct the Orchestra, Choir and guest soloists in Mahler’s ‘Resurrection’ Symphony and to accept the honorary title of Conductor Emeritus of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. In a typically modest acceptance speech, he told a packed audience: ‘To use one of my mother’s favourite expressions, you could have knocked me down with a feather.’

Sir Andrew follows the late conductors Vernon Handley CBE and Sir Charles Mackerras who held the Conductor Emeritus title from 1997-2008 and 2009-2010 respectively. Sir Andrew’s association with Liverpool dates back to the early 1960s and the start of his career when he first appeared with the Orchestra in its conducting competition in 1963. Sir Andrew has conducted the Orchestra many times since.

Q Sir Andrew Davis CBE presented with his certificate as Conductor Emeritus by Chief Executive, Michael Eakin

16 |

‘Conductor Emeritus tears through Mahler. If Munch’s Scream could talk, this is what it might have sounded like.’

AAAA

review, October 2015


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Welcome

Distinguished Service

With the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra playing to critical and audience acclaim, we appointed seven exceptional musicians to key positions in the Orchestra.

A number of our musicians, singers and staff members celebrated 25 years with Liverpool Philharmonic and are now Honorary Life Members of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society.

Andrew Harvey joint assistant leader

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Ashley Frampton (pictured below), double bass

Mihkel Kerem joint assistant leader Zoe Kitson cor anglais James Pattinson violin

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir Maggie Casaus, Gary Jones, Andrew McGowan, Gillian Winstanley and Sylvia Bawden (pictured above with Michael Eakin), who celebrated 50 years singing with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir and is now the Choir’s longest-serving soprano.

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Administration Patricia Peter, Facilities Manager (retired in January 2015)

Dr Christopher Mimnagh who has served as Liverpool Philharmonic’s GP under the non-profit British Association for Performing Arts Medicine scheme.

Sameeta Gahir principal piccolo Benjamin Mellefont principal clarinet Nuno Carapina section player, first violins

Our thanks and best wishes to all who have left Liverpool Philharmonic during the year.

Walter Weller Principal Conductor 1977-1980 Walter Weller passed away in June 2015 at the age of 75. He first conducted the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra in 1975. He was Principal Conductor from 1977 to 1980, his first UK appointment which led to periods with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. As well as concerts in Liverpool, Walter Weller led the

Orchestra and Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir on tours in Yugoslavia, Austria and Germany. His distinguished discography includes a recording of Martinu’s Symphony No.4 with our Orchestra. He returned to Liverpool as a guest conductor on a number of occasions and as a very fine musician will be remembered with great respect and affection in Liverpool. | 17


Review of the Year 2015-2016

In addition to the Orchestra’s programme Liverpool Philharmonic welcomed a fantastic roll-call of international artists, bands and ensembles in concerts, including... Joan Armatrading Bellowhead John Bishop Mary Black and Clannad Blue Michael Bolton Calexico Roseanne Cash Echo & the Bunnymen Elvis Costello Toumani and Sidiki Diabaté Bryan Ferry Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita John Grant and the Royal Northern Sinfonia Dr John Heritage Blues Orchestra Jools Holland & his Rhythm & Blues Orchestra Holly Johnson Stewart Lee Lulu Imelda May Don McLean Mike and the Mechanics Sarah Millican National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain Graham Norton Orquestra Buena Vista Social Club® Mavis Staples Seasick Steve Frank Skinner

Staff Benda Bilili Suzanne Vega The Human League The Lightning Seeds with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra The Overtones The Seekers Rufus Wainwright

18 |


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Chamber Music

Carducci String Quartet Esher Quartet Pacifica Quartet Gould Piano Trio Ji Liu piano Kyung-wha Chung violin, Kevin Kenner piano Paul Lewis piano Pascal & Ami Rogé piano duo Giovanni Sollima and Moniker Leskovar cellos Simon Trpčeski piano with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic

‘Essentially turning The Philharmonic into a Mardi Gras party, the Doctor played numbers from throughout his long history beginning with New Orleans standard Iko Iko, right up to his latest album, last year’s SkeDat-De-Dat: The Spirit of Satch. A true living legend.’ Review of Dr John

Orchestra principals, James Clark joint leader and Jonathan Aasgaard cello Ruth Wall harp

QT

‘“I’m in Liverpool, the city of love,” he (Elvis) proclaimed, as he greeted the packed Philharmonic crowd. “It’s good to be home. I’m going to play only songs about love and happiness.” This was truly a spectacular show, from a musical legend with a songbook so dizzyingly good it sets your head spinning.’

AAAA review 2015

Ian McCulloch performing with The Lighnting Seeds and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

‘Still processing... #TheSeekers @liverpoolphil Loved them for 40 years, ever since I knew how to work the record player. #EmotionalTimes’ Gary / Twitter

‘The untouchable @Elvis Costello tonight@liverpoolphil. My first time in the grand old hall since spit and polish. Nowhere else I’d rather be.’ Alan / Twitter

‘Phrase you're looking for to describe @IanZBroudie @liverpoolphil tonight is #smashedit brilliant’ Gary / Twitter

Q Elvis Costello

| 19


Review of the Year 2015-2016

It’s Liverpool Calling UNESCO City of Music

And in September 2015, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra performed at Classic FM Live at the Royal Albert Hall (right) as part of our 175th anniversary celbrations

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra toured to 16 international cities as part of our 175th anniversary celebrations.

China for a 7 concert-date tour taking in Shenzhen, Shanghai, Suzhou, Nanjing, Jinan, Tianjin and Beijing.

Japan for an 8 concert-date tour and the Orchestra’s first visit to this country, taking in Tokyo, Osaka, Otsu, Yokohama, Nagoya, Saitama and Fukuoka.

Czech Republic for a 3 concertdate tour to the Prague Spring Festival and Ostrava Music Festival.

Romania for a 2 concert-date tour to Bucharest’s George Enescu Festival.

‘Through our principal partnership, we have embarked upon joint international ventures with the Orchestra, most recently during their recent tour to China.’

SQ In rehearsal with Japanese pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii during the Orchestra’s first tour to Japan in January 2015.

20 |

Professor Nigel Weatherill Vice Chancellor Liverpool John Moores University (Liverpool Philharmonic Principal Partner, along with Investec Wealth & Investment); Chairman of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Liverpool International Music Festival The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra launched the inaugural Liverpool International Music Festival in 2013, with a concert in Sefton Park conducted by Vasily Petrenko. They returned in 2014 reprising their concert of May 2014 at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall with Ian Broudie and the Lightning Seeds, and in August 2015, performed alongside another of the city’s legendary bands, Echo and the Bunnymen.

| 21


Review of the Year 2015-2016

On the Record in our 175th Anniversary Year

Shostakovich The Complete Symphonies Nos. 1-15 (11 CDs)

Elgar Symphony No. 1 and Cockaigne Overture

‘Petrenko’s remarkable Liverpool Shostakovich cycle is a world-class achievement.’

‘The Royal Liverpudlians have this music in their blood, of course, but they respond to Petrenko’s youthful impetus with playing of the highest order. This outstanding disc opens with a rollicking account of Cockaigne, one of the wittiest I know.’

‘Petrenko and the RLPO have achieved a triumph. The orchestral playing is ripe, detailed, lithe, concentrated and intense.’

Q Vasily Petrenko, Mari and Håkon Samuelsen and the late James Horner during rehearsals of the composer’s Pas de Deux.

22 |

The Tchaikovsky Album Capriccio Italien, Romeo and Juliet, Francesca Da Rimini, 1812 Overture

James Horner Pas de Deux

‘... a reminder of how Petrenko and the RLPO can be so special. An absolute knockout…it’s going to be a remarkable Tchaikovsky cycle if this is anything to go by.’

review of the start of the Orchestra’s concert celebration of Tchaikovsky’s 175th anniversary during 2015

AAAA

Jesús León Bel Canto


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Our Home Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Our Grade II* listed home, like the Orchestra, is a Liverpool icon in its own right. It’s a place in the city that so many who live here experience at some stage during their lives.

| 23


Review of the Year 2015-2016

QX Liverpool Philharmonic Hall’s new-look Grand Foyer and auditorium; and some of the artists who have appeared in our new venue, Music Room; Tom Robinson, John Bramwell and Connie Lush.

The ÂŁ14.5 million investment to refurbish our much-loved home got underway in May 2014 and was completed in Autumn 2015, including a brand new, more intimate performance space, Music Room. And we have improved the front of house welcome for our audiences, including lift access to all parts of the Hall for the first time. Backstage and production facilities for our resident musicians and visiting artists have been transformed, including new warm-up rooms, practice and dressing rooms with properly conditioned places to store valuable instruments

The opening of the full Liverpool Philharmonic complex has been one of the highlights of our 175th anniversary celebrations.

24 |


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Q Cast at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

It has been a crucial investment in our players and artists, audiences and partners and saw Liverpool Philharmonic make another major step in we what are striving to achieve for our city: a world class concert venue, an ensemble of musicians that are second to none, and a learning programme that is a leader in its field.

The magnificent support of our Principal Funders, Arts Council England and Liverpool City Council, many trusts and foundations and the incredible generosity of individual donors has made our ambitions for our home a reality.

Audiences Despite Liverpool Philharmonic Hall being closed for close to six months Liverpool Philharmonic presented

355 concerts and events during 2015

A grand total of

275,660 tickets were sold for Liverpool Philharmonic concerts and events

82,825 people heard the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra perform in Liverpool

Liverpool Philharmonic’s learning programme is fundamental to our mission to bring worldclass music-making to people of all ages across our city.

Our programme is delivered with partners including Arts Council England, Liverpool City Council, Liverpool Resonate Music Education Hub, National Foundation for Youth Music and the Paul Hamlyn Foundation. Liverpool Philharmonic delivered

3,682 music workshops with a total attendance of

Liverpool Philharmonic began working in partnership with Mersey Care NHS Trust in 2008, providing professional musicians from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra for a Musician in Residence programme on two mental health inpatient wards in Liverpool. We now have 7 lead musicians, Georgina Aasgaard (cello), Amanda Burvill (clarinet), Rachel Jones (viola), Rebecca Walters (viola), Eleanor Hudson (harp), Wendy de St Paer (violin) and Gareth Owen (voice) who use music to enhance the wellbeing and recovery of adults throughout Mersey Care’s mental health hospitals and clinical settings in Liverpool and Sefton.

67,859 including children, young families and adults

‘Fast becoming one of our favourite new spaces in the city, Music Room is one of those smart interventions that makes you think, what took us so long? A place to discover really new music ... This month alone, you can be exposed to more genuinely thrilling new musical experiences here than an entire month’s worth of 6Music playlists.’

Living Music with Mersey Care NHS Trust

T Young audience members enjoy one of Liverpool Philharmonic’s children’s workshops

February 2016

| 25


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Schools’ Concerts

15

schools concerts in 2015 attended by close to

19,000

children and teachers from

200

schools from across Liverpool and the North West.

Our Schools’ Concerts provide an exciting introduction to classical music performed by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, with enchanting and engaging music carefully chosen to enrich the music and wider school curriculum and enthral young audiences.

This year’s concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall featured ten concerts for Key Stage 2 & 3 pupils, devised and presented by Liverpool Philharmonic’s popular family concerts presenter Alasdair Malloy and five concerts for Key Stage 1 pupils, presented by author and CBeebies presenter Cerrie Burnell.

Supported by Youth Music, we delivered our year-long Tuning In to Children child-led, early years programme in Anfield, Everton and Kensington Children’s Centres. Our partnership with All Saints Primary in Anfield uses music to enhance child development and wellbeing, confidence and musical skills.

We continued our support of music education partnerships with Resonate Music Hub (Liverpool), Knowsley Music Education Hub, side-by-side symphonic days for local young musicians at Grade 5 and above with Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, and continued

Sefton Junior Philharmonic children’s orchestra days and schools projects with Sefton Music Education Partnership.

We continued to support performance, composition and music education training of undergraduates and postgraduates through teaching, coaching and 28 student placements with Liverpool Hope University, University of Liverpool and the Royal Northern College of Music.

S Top: Alasdair Malloy Bottom: Cerrie Burnell

26 |

SQ In Harmony Liverpool’s 7th Birthday Concert


Review of the Year 2015-2016

In Harmony Liverpool

In Harmony Liverpool is continuing to grow in reach and breadth, including children continuing to make excellent musical progress in Everton Children’s Orchestra and associated ensembles.

In March 2016, young musicians from Everton celebrated seven years of our ground-breaking In Harmony Liverpool programme with our annual celebration concert at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall. More than 220 young musicians from Everton, performed alongside musicians of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra to packed audience of family, friends and guests.

In 2015, Liverpool Philharmonic, Faith Primary School and our community partners in Everton welcomed Everton Nursery School and The Beacon CE Primary School into the In Harmony Liverpool ‘family.’

In Harmony Liverpool’s reach has now grown from working with 84 children when the programme was established in Faith Primary School in 2009 to 720 children aged 0-17 and their families in 2016, all taking part in orchestral music-making of the highest quality every week, free of charge, in and out of school. Two new reports produced by evaluation consultant Dr Susanne Burns and University of Liverpool’s Professor Jude Robinson in 2016 revealed the positive impacts of In Harmony Liverpool on children, their families and the wider community.

R Culture Minister Ed Vaizey and Vasily Petrenko at Beacon CE Primary School

‘The Phil is really big … I like showing off at work about it. It’s like Liverpool FC coming in to teach football’ Parent, Burns Report

The Burns and Robinson reports reveal that In Harmony Liverpool has played a prominent role in children’s educational achievement, both through musical skills development and performance, and in other academic subjects such as Maths and English, in their wellbeing, particularly aspiration and resilience, as well as their sense of belonging and pride in their community. Parents and families are more engaged with their children’s learning, and their school and community.

‘I love the way it sounds when we all play together, that’s why I like playing as part of an orchestra. When you listen to us, try to imagine the pictures that the music creates in your mind. My advice to the newest members of our orchestra is ‘Never give up!’ Hollie Satchell, Cello, Faith Primary School Year 6

| 27


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company ‘The Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir rose to the challenges of James MacMillan’s strikingly original new mass. The only little thing about it (Little Mass) is the voices ... the Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir was augmented by its feeder organisations, whose youngest members are only seven years old ... the superb junior singers took the dissonant intervals and difficult entrances in their stride.’

AAAA review, March 2015 28 |

Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company launched at the end of 2015 to support the talented the young members of Liverpool Philharmonic’s youth ensembles by providing them with a wide range of opportunities to develop their creative, performance and leadership skills.

Activities are supported and facilitated by exceptional and inspiring professionals from across the music and creative industries in order that Youth Company members can benefit from their experience, inspiration and expertise. Youth Company members have so enjoyed master classes with locally-born mezzo soprano Jennifer Johnston, violinist Julian Rachlin during his recent tenure as Liverpool Philharmonic’s Artist in Residence, conductor Andrew

Manze and composer, conductor and trombone player, Christian Lindberg.

The world premiere of Sir James MacMillan’s Little Mass saw all three of Liverpool Philharmonic’s children’s choirs, Melody Makers (aged 7-9), Training Choir (9-11) and Youth Choir (12-18) singing together. Little Mass was a six month project for the children’s choirs, under the direction of Simon Emery, Artistic Director, Youth Ensembles and Alison White, director of Melody Makers and Liverpool Philharmonic Training Choir. MacMillan also rehearsed the choirs on several occasions. The work was a challenging one for our young singers, and they all rose to the occasion and a new level of performance with the results delighting both Liverpool

Philharmonic and Sir James MacMillan.

The audience for the sold-out premiere, which attracted excellent national reviews, included a large number of family and friends of the young singers, several attending a concert for the first time.

‘It was amazing we loved it. I was so lucky to have my little girl in the Melody Makers. She was and is so proud of herself.’ Claire, Little Mass


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Supporting Young Composers

Liverpool Philharmonic launched a new annual competition for young North West composers, a 175th anniversary initiative continuing our commitment to the commissioning and performance of new music as well as our interest in supporting emerging, home-grown creative talent.

In December 2015, we announced 23-year-old Bethan MorganWilliams as the winner of the inaugural Christopher Brooks Competition Prize. Bethan wins £1,000 and a year’s complimentary membership of The British Academy of Songwriters, Composers & Authors (BASCA).

Bethan will benefit from a bespoke programme of workshops, masterclasses and mentoring from resident and visiting musicians, conductors, composers, performers and other industry professionals associated with Liverpool Philharmonic. She will also develop her composition and teaching practice through access to Liverpool Philharmonic’s programme for children and young people.

In an associated project, Hamish Hutson-Hill (age 15), Ben RuttHoward (age 16) and Tommy Geddes (age 17) were selected for support through Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company’s inaugural Rushworth Young Composers Scheme for 14-18 year olds.

In February 2016, they each presented a new compositions performed to a capacity audience in Music Room by members of Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company, which comprises of members of Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Orchestra (young people aged 13 – 23 years) and Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir (young people aged 12-18 years). – Liverpool Philharmonic is grateful to Lancashire Sinfonietta Legacy Fund, The Rushworth Foundation and BASCA for their support of the Christopher Brooks Composition Prize, and The Rushworth Foundation for support of the Rushworth Young Composers Scheme.

US Musicians and singers from Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, Youth and Training Choirs and Melody Makers

Q Vasily Petrenko and Bethan-Morgan Williams

| 29


Review of the Year 2015-2016

LEAP INTO LIVE IC! MUS On becoming one of five organisations within the UK to be awarded a major gift of £500,000 from the Paul Hamlyn Foundation as part of their 25th anniversary celebrations in 2013, Liverpool Philharmonic established Leap Into Live Music! which is now successfully building new audiences for live music in Liverpool. The project focusses on families and individuals who through a variety of circumstances including economic disadvantage, access needs, or lack of confidence, would not consider visiting Liverpool Philharmonic to hear and enjoy music-making of the highest quality in their own city.

Liverpool Philharmonic has successfully established the scheme through partnerships with a number of Children’s Centres in Liverpool; housing associations and community groups through Liverpool Centre for Voluntary Service; employers including the Park Foods Group, National Museums Liverpool; and health services through the Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust.

1,950

70%

individuals have registered to date for the scheme since its launch and over

of all registered individuals/families live in Liverpool Philharmonic’s targeted areas and communities for drawing attenders and include the Liverpool wards of Anfield, Everton, Kensington, Kirkdale and Toxteth.

7,000 tickets have been allocated.

‘I would just like to say a big thank you for the opportunities we have had to attend the events this season, we’ve had a wonderful time, and been able to see some great performances that we would not normally have been able to attend. I think this initiative has been excellent, and would like to congratulate you all on its success.’ Leap into Live Music! member

30 |


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Celebrating 175 Years of the Original Liverpool Sound Liverpool 175 Anniversary Exhibition

Our exhibition celebrated the long and fascinating history of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, from its founding by a group of Liverpool music-lovers in 1840, to the present day, as the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra. Presented in the beautiful Hornby Library and Picton Reading Room at Liverpool Central Library, it drew on many of the thousands of

historic records in Liverpool Philharmonic’s publicly accessible archive held in a state of the art repository at Liverpool Record Office based in Central Library. The collection is a treasure trove of artefacts and records relating to artists, music and musical events connected with Liverpool Philharmonic and Liverpool’s rich musical heritage.

The exhibition also included memories of Liverpool Philharmonic shared by Sir Simon Rattle, Elvis Costello, Andy McCluskey of OMD, Graham Johns and Ruth Davies from the Orchestra and audience members, Michael Eakin and Sandra Parr the late Mr Walter Hurst and Miss Mary Riddoch, both of whom started their concert-going in the 1940s.

Special Honour Liverpool John Moores University conferred its highest organisational honour, the Corporate Award on the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic at the University’s Graduation Ceremony at Liverpool Cathedral in November 2015.

The citation in support of the award spoke of ‘the remarkable achievements of this true ambassador of music and the city of Liverpool’ and our place ‘at the very heart of Liverpool’s cultural life as well as being a global ambassador for the city’.

| 31


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic would like to say thank you

Many individuals, organisations, businesses, trusts and foundations have generously supported our music-making in and out of the concert hall, our learning programme and the major refurbishment of Liverpool Philharmonic Hall. They have been advocates for Liverpool Philharmonic and our unique ability to provide music-making of the highest quality in and for Liverpool, now a designated UNESCO City of Music, and as ambassadors for our city in the UK and internationally. Thank you to ...

T Vasily Petrenko and Mayor of Liverpool, Joe Anderson OBE

Our principal funders Arts Council England and Liverpool City Council continue to make significant investment in our artistic and learning programmes, and have provided major support for the refurbishment of Liverpool Philharmonic Hall.

Our principal partners Investec Wealth & Investment extended their long-term sponsorship by an unprecedented five-years commencing with the start of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra’s 2015/2016 season in September, through to the end of 2019/2020 season. A key element of the partnership is the Henry E Rensburg Series named after the company’s founder, who established the business in

Liverpool in the 19th century. The firm will continue to support Liverpool Philharmonic’s prestigious Chamber Music Series presented in the City’s St. George’s Hall Concert Room and In Harmony Liverpool.

‘We are delighted to be able to provide long-term support to such a wonderful institution. We value highly our relationship with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic – it has become a core element of both our local and UK-wide cultural sponsorship and engagement.’

‘There are few sponsorships around the country, particularly outside London, with this kind of long-term investment and sense of partnership, a showcase for the mutually beneficial relationship that can exist between culture and commerce. It is a further testament to Investec’s impressive commitment to Liverpool and the cultural life of the city.’

David Owen, Senior Investment Director at Investec Wealth & Investment

32 |

Thanks to the City of Liverpool for its financial support

Michael Eakin, Chief Executive of Liverpool Philharmonic


R Michael Eakin, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Chief Executive, Professor Nigel Weatherill, LJMU Vice-Chancellor, Sir Brian Leveson, LJMU Chancellor and members of the University’s Student Opportunities Team.

As a Principal Partner since 2013, Liverpool John Moores University supports our concert series, and gives the University’s students the opportunity to experience our world-class musicmaking through the LJMU Student Pass initiative.

LJMU also supported the Orchestra’s second tour to China and we were delighted that in our 175th anniversary year, the University conferred Liverpool Philharmonic with their Corporate Award. Our Chief Conductor is an Honorary Fellow of LJMU.

LJMU’s Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive, Professor Nigel Weatherill was appointed Chairman of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic at our AGM in November 2015.

‘Vasily Petrenko is a great friend of the University as an Honorary Fellow, participating in our Roscoe Lectures series, and in our degree ceremonies, to the delight of our graduates.’

Professor Nigel Weatherill, Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive, Liverpool John Moores University, Chairman of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic

Our Sponsors During our 175th anniversary celebrations, corporate members Hill Dickinson sponsored Season Opening (12 & 13 November 2014) and Mahler’s ‘Resurrection’ (29 & 30 April 2015) and Classic FM Hall of Fame (24 & 25 September 2015); David M Robinson sponsored Spirit of Christmas (five concerts in both December 2014 and 2015); and Weightmans sponsored Classic

FM Hall of Fame (14 & 15 January 2015) and Fairy Tales (3 & 4 December 2015); Smith and Sons sponsored Petrenko’s Mahler (12 & 13 November 2015) to celebrate their own 175th Anniversary. The Rushworth Foundation sponsored Petrenko’s Shostakovich (21 & 22 January 2016) and Maestro! Tour Management sponsored Discover the Classics.

! TO U R M A N A G E M E N T

The Rushworth Foundation

T L to R David Owen, Investec Wealth & Investment Senior Investment Direcor, Michael Eakin, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Chief Executive, Vasily Petrenko, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Chief Conductor and Jon Seal, Investec Wealth & Investment Chartered Wealth Manager

The Rushworth Foundation The Rushworth Foundation has been established by Jonathan Rushworth whose family were founders of Liverpool’s famous music retail and pipe organ building business, Rushworth & Dreaper.

The Foundation continues a 175year tradition of support for music and the arts.

Liverpool Philharmonic is grateful for the Foundation’s support of the Christopher Brooks Composition Prize with Lancashire Sinfonietta Legacy Fund and for support of the Rushworth Young Composers Scheme.

In 2015, the Rushworth Foundation also supported a third annual concert by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Petrenko’s Shostakovich (21 & 22 January 2016).

The Rushworth Foundation

| 33


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Broadcast News

Our Partnership Marking our 175th anniversary celebrations Classic FM, relocated from London to broadcast live from Liverpool on Thursday 12 March 2015 to mark the 175th anniversary year to the day of Liverpool Philharmonic’s very first concert, organised by a group of Liverpool music lovers.

The celebrations culminated in the live broadcast of Liverpool Philharmonic: Celebrating 175 Years from Liverpool Philharmonic Hall.

The day formed part of Classic FM’s year-long celebration during 2015 of our award-winning partnership, established in 2001. On Fridays throughout 2015, the station broadcast concerts by the Orchestra recorded exclusively at

Liverpool Philharmonic Hall on the station’s The Full Works programme.

And Vasily Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra returned to the Royal Albert Hall for Classic FM Live during which a further five-year extension to our award-winning partnership to 2020 was announced from the stage by presenter John Suchet.

W L to R: Liverpool Philharmonic’s Sandra Parr, Classic FM Presenter Anne-Marie Minhall and Managing Editor, Sam Jackson and Vasily Petrenko

X Classic FM’s Production Team broadcasting our concert live from backstage at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall on 12 March 2015

BBC Radio BBC recorded for live and deferred broadcast on Radio 3, concerts throughout our 175th anniversary year in 2015, with more concert broadcasts scheduled during the latter part of our 2015/16 season.

Liverpool Philharmonic is grateful to broadcast partners for sharing our music-making from Liverpool across the UK and beyond. 34 |

‘The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic’s 175th anniversary is a major event in the classical music calendar. Classic FM is proud to lead the celebrations and underline our commitment to bringing live music from the UK’s leading orchestras to our 5.6 million listeners.’ Sam Jackson, Managing Editor of Classic FM.


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Liverpool Philharmonic generates over two thirds of its own income through sources including box office, orchestral engagements, broadcast and recordings, hires of Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, bars and catering and fundraising Liverpool Philharmonic Capital Development Programme

£7,062,000

Core Public Funding (Arts Council England, Liverpool City Council and other public funding)

£2,824,000

Liverpool Philharmonic Hall Earned Income

Some of the many leading artists who performed with the Orchestra or in recital during the year, from top left to right: Paul Lewis, Vladimir Ashkenazy, John Wilson, Bryn Terfel, Simon Trpc˘eski, Alina Ibragimova, Désirée Rancatore, Steven Osborne and Midori.

£1,342,000

Total income 2014/2015 £15,398,000 (Financial year ending 31 March 2015)

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Box Office Income

£1,589,000

Fundraising

£690,000

Other Earned Income (including Learning programmes, Hired engagements, Recordings, Broadcasts)

£1,891,000

| 35


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Our Donors In Memory of Mike Atkinson, Kate Banbury, Michael Bates & Elizabeth Marchbank, Bob Bell, Robin Bloxsidge & Nick Riddle, Peter & Geraldine Bounds, Bill & Christina Bowley, Paul Brett, John & Patricia Britland Horne, Mrs Angela Brodbelt, Peter & Margaret Brooks, Richard & Jenny Bryson, Austin & Helen Carty, Susan Davies in memory of Iris Caulfield, Ms Y Charlett, Liz Christie - In Memory of Stuart, Mrs Valerie Connolly, Peter de Figueiredo & Julian Treuherz, Michael & Kim Eakin, Mr & Mrs RB Ellison, Peter Eyre, MJ Feltham, Kay & Mike Fox, Dr Albert E Gallon, Mr J Gillespie, WJ & SH Gilpin, Vanessa & Clement Goldstone, John Goodsir CBE, John Telford Gorner, Dr J Graham, Dr & Mrs S Grant, Alma Griffiths, Mel & Delia Grodner, Mr Jonathan Groves, Ken Grundy, Michael D Handley & Edward J Davies, Dr Tony Harvey, Peter Heath, Paul & Christen Herbert, The Heswall Friends, Brian & Colleen Higgins, Jane & Stephen Howarth, Terence Hurst, Peter & Margaret Johnson, Tim & Julia Jones, Mr Eryl Wynne Jones and in memory of Mair, I Jones & R Curley, Robert & Rose Kingston, Mr Anthony Knifton, Mr Edward Landor, Sheila Loyden, David & Indira Maddison, Maureen Malkinson, John Maxwell, Mr & Mrs JP Monaghan, Mr Richard & Mrs Diana Morris, Hugh & Juliet Morton, Bob & Anne Neate, In Memory of Mr Thomas Anthony Nugent, In Memory of Mr RHP Oliver, Gill Porter, Neville Powell, The Preston Friends, Mr Gary Pritchard, BA Proctor, Russell Race, Susan Rattle, Miss Mary Riddoch, Aldham

36 |

Robarts, David M Robinson, Philip & Jane Rooney, Diana & Alan Sheridan, Mr AW Shone, Peter B. and Margaret Smith, Jonny & Gillian Stone, Bill Tavener, Jeffrey Taylor, Mr E Thomas, Collin E. Thompson in Memory of Jill Carr, Maggie Tillett, Steve Valiant & Ellen Jones, CP & JM Vellenoweth, In Memory of Mrs Anne Wolff, Ralph & Mary Yardley, Roland Zollner & Colin Parr. Dr & Mrs RS Ahearn, Derek Arden, Dr Brian & Dr Irina Axcell, Mrs Jean Bingham, Roy Braithwaite, Lyn Braithwaite, Jill Conlan, Mr F I Cottrell, Mr A & Mrs E Coulter, Barbara F Crellin, Duncan & Susan Crewe, Mr David Dixson, Lorna Dobson, Sean & Diana Duncan, Fr Bernard Eager, CHE, Mr & Mrs A Gauntlett, Peter & Rachel Giblin, Robert & Jennifer Gill, Nigel & Tilly Gilmour QC, Mr & Mrs G Goodchild, Peter & Gwen Goodhew, Mr & Mrs R Greenwood, Claire Hetherington, Jackie Hine, Mr P Hodges, Mike Howden & Teri Holmes, Mr & Mrs K Kelly, Dr WE & Mrs JM Kenyon, Mr & Mrs Akwok, Richard & Greer Lacey, Mr & Mrs SG Laing, Mrs J Marwing, Mersey Lime Limited, RIS Meadows OBE DL, KJA O'Brien, Oswestry Concert Goers, Elizabeth & Frank Povall, Paul Radford, Peter & Susan Rathe, CA Reilly, Mr & Mrs J Rodgers, Mrs Nancy Rothwell, Jon & Sally Sheard, In Memory of Winifred M Sheldon 1915-2012, Nigel Smith, Ingrid Spiegl, Miss Carmel Stewart, Mr John Sutcliffe, Mrs BM Sweetlove, Dr & Mrs James Thomson, Kathy Taphouse, Dorothy Taylor, Alan Turnock, Peter Urquhart, Vera West, Mr Kevin F Wilde, Mr & Mrs D.B. Williams, Eric & Val Winstanley, Raymond Wood, Eric Wright Frics, Dr & Mrs A Zsigmond.

Mr J A Akroyd, Doreen Allan, Peter Allan, Catherine Allen, Mr Christopher Allen, Helen Allwood, Diane Anderson, Ann Ap-Thomas, Miss Kate Arnold, David C Ashton, Margaret Atherton - In Memory of Duncan Atherton, Mr Howard Atkinson - In Memory of Marie Atkinson, Mr David Aubrey, Prof David J Bacon, Trevor J Baker, Richard Banyard, Pauline Barker, Mr John Barker, Mr Philip Barker, Richard & Sheila Barton, Rosemary Barton, Miss Ann Barton, Mrs Janet Bates, Sylvia Bawden RLPC, Norma Beaumont, Mrs Leonie Beavers, Mrs B Beckitt, Mr David Beechey, Elizabeth Bell, Mr J & Mrs K Benn, Brian & Ruth Bennett, Jane Bennett, Wanda Bentley, Mrs Katrina Bishop, Mr John Bithell, Peter & Diane Blackburn, Rt Revd Richard Blackburn, Mr J Bloneley, Albert & Jo Bloor, Mr A Bond, Miss L Bonnett, Mrs K Boothroyd, Mr & Mrs MG Bowman, Don & Hilary Boyd, Nigel & Su Bramley, Ms Elizabeth Brennan, Mr Brian Brennan, Mr & Mrs Brierly, John Brindley, Mrs D Brining, RF Britton, Mr Keith Broster, Gordon & Jean Brown, Mrs S Brown, Ms S Brown, Ruth LP Brown, Mrs P Browning, Douglas Bruns, Mrs AM Brzezicki, Mr Anthony Buckley, Brian Bull, Revd Donald Bullen, Mr Andrew Bunting, Mr E & Mrs M Burchall, Mrs A Burgoyne, Professor & Mrs PG Burke, W & MI Burke, Mr & Mrs RJ Burkey, Mr DJ & Mrs ME Burns, Mr Nigel Burrows, R J Burton, Ms Sue Byron, Effie Cadwallader, Mrs Lynn Caldwell, Cambrian Cleaning, Mr & Mrs Campbell, Mr B Campbell, Ms Rachel Carr, Mr & Mrs Carr, Mrs AG Carr, Janet Carver, Robert Neil Carver, Maggie Casaus, Brian Case, Jo Cassidy, Dr M & JE Caswell, Mrs Alison Cearns, Mrs Gillian Chamberlain, Mr Michael Chambers, Mrs E Chappell, Mr G Chorley, Elspeth Christie, R Christie, Mr Ian Clague, Mr BE Clarke, SH Clarke, Mrs JC Cleaver, Mr Edward Clement-Evans, Irene Clements, Mr C M Coates, Miss Elizabeth Cochrane, Ms Maria Cody, Mrs Alison Cohen, Mrs Deborah Coker, Mrs Drey Cole, Steve Collett, Mr David Collins, Elizabeth Collins, Sheelah Collins, Mr & Mrs J & L Collins, K & S Conolly, Mrs L Conway, Mr S Cook, Jim Cooke, Mr DL & Mrs K Cooper, Andrew Cornall, Sally Cottrell, Jenny Couldrey, David Cowan, Mr Norman Cowley, Mr PL Cox, Mr Reg Cox, Brian D Crabtree, Vanessa Crabtree, Mr JM Creagh, Mr David Crelley, Marcus & Paula Crompton, Shelagh Crosbie, Jean Cross, Miss C Cross, Mr & Mrs D Crumpton, Ben

Crutchley, Jennie Cunningham, Howard Curtis, Dr PJR Cuthbertson, Mr P Dagley, Mr Ian Dalrymple, Mrs Eileen Daniels- In Memory of William Daniels, Dr Anne Davidson Lund, Mr & Mrs K Davies, Ms Nicola Jane Davies, Sue Davies, Dr Paul Davis, Barbara Davison, Hazel Dawes, Rod & Heidi Dawson, Laura Dean, Ann Dean, Philip Derwas, Edward Devine, RE Devonport, Peter Deyes, Mrs Netta Dixon, Mr Alan Dodd, Mrs Jan Doran, Ms Vanessa Doswell, Mrs P Downey, Dr P Drury, Robert Duffield, Philip Duffy, Mr James Duggan, Carol & Bill Duncan, Christina Duncan, Mr H Dunne, James Durkin, Kenneth Duvall, Sarah Dyas, George Eakin, Bryan & Frances Eastwood, Mr & Mrs J K P Edwards, Mrs Judith Edwards, Mr Matthew Edwards, Michael Egerton, Mrs P Evans, Prof Rhiannon Evans and Dr Graham McLean, Mrs Catherine Evans, Dr Lucy Everington, Mrs Judith Ewen, Gill Faragher, Mr TG Ferguson, Robert & Pamela Ferguson, John Findlow, David Finnegan, Edith Firth, Prof JR & Mrs EA Fisher, David W Fletcher, Graham Fletcher, Mr Mike Filtcroft, Miss A Fontana, Michael Formby, Dr Ewen Forrest, Jill Forrest-Biggs, Jennifer Forsyth, Mr & Mrs BW Fowler, Mrs A Fox, Mrs D Frazer, Ms Jean GadsbySegal, Mrs Sue Gaffney, Joyce & Carole Gardner, Ray Gardner, Arthur William Garnett, Mr & Mrs K Garrity, Peter Gayward, Joan Geldeard, Marjorie Gentle, Mrs Barbara Gibbons, Mrs Kathleen Gibson, Mr & Mrs David Gibson, Mr Lawrence Gibson, Dorothy H Gill, Takako Nishitani Gilliat, Mr D & Mrs B Gilyard, Mrs E A Goodwin, Dr Melita Gordon, Derek & Julia Gould, Mrs M Gray, Victor Greenberg, Geoff Greenhalgh, Mr & Mrs R Greenway, BM & L Gregory, Rob Gregory, Michael Griffith, Adrian & Clare Griffiths, J Grimes, Mr Grisenthwaite, Commander R Grist MBE RN, Ms L Grounds, Dr Carolyn Grundy, Mat & Ann Grunnill, Mr & Mrs M Gubbins, Miss Colette Halliday, Hamilton Family, John Hancock, Ms Sarah Hannam, Dr. Susan Harding, Keith & Maureen Hardwick, Mrs G Hargreaves, Dr F & Mrs S Harkins, Pam Harper, Valerie & Ken Harper, Michael Harris, Taran Harris, Malcolm Harris, Heather Harrison, Linda Harrison, Mr A Harrison, Mr Michael Harrison, Victoria Harrison, Mr Colin Hart, Mrs D Hartell, Michael Harvey, Mr Nigel Harvey, Fatima Hassan, Mrs A Hastings, Veronica Hateley, Mrs Noreen Hayden, Ms Catherine Hayes, Paul & Pauline


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Hayward, Wendy Hazlehurst, DA Hebbert, Sue Hedgecock, Robert Henderson, Mr John Henthorn, Marilyn Heywood, Dr Garth Higginbotham, Bernard and Vivienne Higgins, Barry Highcock, Mr David Hindle, Gordon P Hoare, K Hodgson, Mr Peter Hodgson, Mrs R Hoggarth, L & R Holden, Mr Ken Holding, Mr & Mrs NA Holladay, Irene and Tony Holland, Mrs Joan Holland, Viv Hollinshead, Brian Hollis, Christine and David Holloway, JR & CA Holmes, Rod & Sally Holmes, Sara Holroyd, David Holt, Ruth and David Honour, Mr David Horner, Sue Horrocks, Miss R Horsfall, Drs Robert & Clare Howard, Mr Paul Howard, Rob & Val Howell, Ms Maureen Howell, Mr & Mrs David Hughes, Mrs M Hughes, Mr RJ Hughes, Mr & Mrs D Hugo, Prof Derek Hull, Clare Hulme, Dr Clive Hunt, In Memory of Mr Walter Hurst, Mrs Iris Hyland, Ian & Lizzie, Mr & Mrs JC Igglesden, Ms MA Iliss, Colin & Cally Ince, John and Barb Ingham, RS Ireland, Mr J Ireland, Mrs Ann Ives, Mr & Mrs Izzett, Philip Jackman, Diane Jackson, Stephanie L Jackson, Mr John Jaeger, Mr Philip Jenkins, Mr Jeremiah & Ms Shearer, Fiona Jerreat, Dr Joekes, Mrs R Johnson, Barbara Johnston, Jan Jones, Lincoln & Bel Jones, Mr & Mrs R Jones, Rhona Jones, Mr Gary Jones, Mr TAS Jones, Sarah Jones, Sybil Anne Jones, Wyn & Sarah Jones, Dr Caroline Jones, Dennis Jones & Cynthia Fenton, Michael Jubb, Ms Stefanie Kappler, Mr & Mrs F Kaye, Professor Keaton, Mrs Katherine Keegan, Mr David Kell, Jennifer & Alice Kelley, Mrs Deryn Kelly, Fr K Kelly, Rosalind Kelly, Mr S Kelly, Mary Kennan, David Kenyon, Mr Colin Kenyon, Mr John Keogh, Phil & Cath Kightley, Mrs M Kirby, Mr David Kite, Mr David Kell, Mrs Deryn Kelly, Rosalind Kelly, Mr S Kelly, Mary Kennan, David Kenyon, Mr Colin Kenyon, Mr John Keogh, Phil & Cath Kightley, Mrs M Kirby, Mr David Kite, Philip Kitts, Alison Knight, SA Knowles, Dr & Mrs W La Frenais, Mr R Lavender, Joan M Lawrence Hall, Mr R Le Blanc, Paul Leach, Nicola Leather, Mr & Mrs Nick Ledingham, Eileen Lee, Linda Leggett, Ms Jean Leigh, Mrs Darrah Lemon, Dr F & Mrs JM Levy, Dr F Levy, Mrs AM Lewis, David Lewis, Richard Lewis, Susan Lewis, Douglas Ligertwood, Anne & Don Littler, Mr Francis Littler, Liverpool Pilotage Services Limited, Mr A Lloyd, Mrs Helen Lloyd, T Lockyer, Mr Philip Lodge, Dr & Mrs Looker, Rob Lovatt, A & H Lovelady, PS & SI Lucas, Alison Lui, Sheila Lupton, Mrs M Lynch, Miss PL

Mackenzie, Mr John MacLeod, Mr Chirstopher Maj, Mr S Malone, Mr Peter Manley, Mrs J Markham, Mr W Marlowe, Gillian Marsh & David Watson, Mr & Mrs Simon Marsh, Dr David & Mrs Katy Marsh, Mr J & Mrs B Martin, Dr VJ Martlew, Mrs Penelope Martin, Michelle Maskell, Mrs D Mason, W H Mason, Mrs Patricia Mason, Alan Matthews, Ms Fiona Matthews, Dr Tom & Mrs Jo Mawdsley, Mr J Mawdsley, Mrs Helen Mayles, Jane Mc Donnell, Mr S McAleny, Mr John Mcarthur, Marguerita McBride, JR & IM McCann, Christopher McCormack, David McCrave & Alma Yaniv, Mr D McCubbin, Mr Bryan McDonagh, Mr McEvoy, Stella McGann, Mr Jim McGinley, Andrew McGowan, Mrs V McGraw, B McGree, Mr J McGurk, Mr John McIntosh, Andrew McKnight, Ms PD McMullan, Mrs Pamela McNamara, John McNay, Chris & Maureen McParlin, Mr Jim McPhillips, Mr Bryan McVey, Dr Pam Melding, Mr DG Mellors, Mr Malcolm Mentha, Mrs Maureen Mercer, Mr Merrick, Mr Richard Merritt, Margaret Metcalf - In Memory of John, Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King, Miss Barbara Meynell, J & W Middlehurst, Miss Catherine Miles, Irene Miller, HJ Mills, Mr Barry Minnery, Dr & Mrs B Mintz, Mr Paul Molyneux, Robin & Ann Moor, Mrs Wendy Moore, Valerie & Elfed Morgan, Mrs Denise Morgan, P Morton, Paul Mullen, Mr & Mrs A Munro, Mr P Myatt, Mrs M Nathanson, Steve Nelson, Mrs Esther Neophytou, Professor Emeritus Peter Newstead, Dr Cliona Ni Bhrolchain, Mr G Nilsen, Kay Nixon, Alan & Enid Nixon, Rt Rev B M Noble, Mrs Sheila Nuttall, Dr F & Mrs L Nye, Michelle O'Callaghan, TF & T O'Dempsey, Mr & Mrs AC O'Donnell, Mr Bill Ogle, Mrs M O'Hare, Mr & Mrs R O'Keefe, Margaret & Stuart Osborne, Mrs M Osborne, Kevin O'Toole, AH & JA Otsa, Mr RG & Mrs M K Owen, Mrs Angela Palmer, Mr Richard Parkes, Jim Parkhouse, Chris Hardaker & June Parkins, Mr JD Parkinson, Sandra Parr, Miss Katharyn Parry, Cerys Parry, Alexander Parsons, Jeremy Paterson-Fox, Hannah Payne, Miss Rachel Payne, Mrs Barbara Peachment, Andrew Pearce, J & B Pearson, Messrs Peckham, Morris & Sons, Margaret Pegg, Dorothy Penkman, Janice Perkins, ML & S Perks, Malcolm Perry, P & L Dvelt Ltd, Jorgen Petersen, Mrs J Phillips, Elaine Phillipson, Mr C & Mrs J Pickavance, Alan Platt, Mary Rose Pointon, Mr Geoffrey Ponton, Mrs Hazel Poole,

Geoffrey Poole, Ms Anne Pope, Mrs N Porter, Mr & Mrs Michael Potts, Mr David Powell, Peter and Frances Powers, Mr Eric Preston, Mrs Rowena Preston, Helen Pritchard, Mr Dudley Pritchard, Mr Andrew Prothero, Celia Prussia, Mr Paul Radcliffe, Mr PF Raven, WD & PIR Reading, Mrs Kate Redpath, Barbara Reece, Mrs Bryony Reeve, Malcolm & Margaret Reid, Mrs Doreen Reynolds, Mr A Rice, Eric Rice, Mrs S Richards, Joyce A Ridpath, G & M Ridpath/Bland, Ms Kari Robert, CM Roberts, Mr G Roberts, Jane Roberts, Kevin Roberts, Mrs Sheila M Roberts, Ms BH Roberts, Susan Roberts, Mrs A Roberts, Ms C Roberts, Mr Keith Roberts, Mrs I Roberts Bulmer, John Robertson, Mrs MF Robertson, Dr Derek Robinson, Mr I Robinson, Miss C Robinson, Ms Christine Robson, Maureen Roca, Howard & Sue Rogers, Martin Rogers, Mr P & Mrs J Rooney, Eileen Kinley & Lewis Rosenbloom, William & Julia Rosser, The Rotary Club of Liverpool Garston, Mrs ER Rowlands, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir, N Rudd, Miss Ella Ryrie, John T Sage, Mr T Salter, Theresa Sanderson, Mr & Mrs J Sargent, Mike Saunders, Mr & Mrs David Sayle, Andrew Scorah, David Scott, C & M Scudamore, Karen Segal, Andrew & Jane Selby, Mr JR Settle, Mr Michael Shankland, Jim & Barbara Shapton, Miss AC Sharples, Paul Sharrock, Mr JA Shields, Marie Shellard, Dr John A Sills, Aurora Sim, S J Redmond & E N Simpson, Miss Katherine Skinner, Mr & Mrs JW Slatcher, Mr J Slater, Marion Slater, Colin Smith, Mrs Margaret F Smith, Royston & Sarah Smith, Sir Harold Kroto FRS, Romain Rabot & Catherine Wal, Susan Smith, Mr Colin Smith, Mr L Smith, Mr T Smith, Peter Somerfield & Amanda Branson, Mrs Olga South, Chris Southern, Dennis Southwick, Vincent Burke In Memoriam, Mr Carl Spurling, Mr Michael Stankiewicz, Mrs R Staveley-Taylor, John & Judy Stead, Dr Murray Steele, Mrs EM Stephenson, Philip Stern, Mr & Mrs Stevens, Mrs MJ Stevenson, Mrs Marian Steventon, Brian & Denise Stickels, P. Stock, John and Carmel Sullivan, Mrs A Sumner, Peter Sumption, Mrs Yeemay Sung, Anna Sutherland, Norman Swain, Mrs Christine Sweeney, Ms Rachel Sweeney, Martyn Harris & Michael Sykes, Synergy Colour Printers, Dr Juliet Szestak, Mr JC & Mrs CJ Talbot, Captain & Mrs Taylor, Dorothy Taylor, Mr I Taylor, Mr Paul Taylor, Mr John Taylor, Mr Thomas Teague, Phil and Jan Teague, Ian & Devra Teiger, Mrs PA Temple, Professor & Mrs AB

Templeman, Mr & Mrs B Thaxter, Dennis Thomas, Derek Thew, E Rosemary Thomas, Geoffrey & Susan Thomas, Ms Helena Thomas, Mr Stephen Thomas, Mrs Eleanor Thomas, Mrs Angela Thomas, Dr DJ Thompson, Drs B & R Thompson, M & C Thompson, Mr & Mrs WG Thorpe, Mr N Threlfall, Mr JR & Mrs CM Thwaite, Mr Michael Tomkinson, Mrs I Tomley, Reverend M & Mrs W A Tompkins, Mrs Monica Toosey, Prof Ian Tracey, Jo Travis, Sue Tresidder, Dr Geoffrey Tresise, Nancy M Tuke, Mr & Mrs Tyler, Mr David Tyson, Rosemary Urion - In Memory of Allan Urion, Dr Peter Vardy, Andrew Vaughan, Mr & Mrs KF Vearncombe, Professor Julian Verbov JP, Mr Ben Vlies, Mr & Mrs D & W Wade, Ms Jennifer Waite, Angela Walker, Mary Wall, Mrs Barbara Wall, John Wallace, David Walters, Joan Walters, Mrs Anne Walton, Roy & Betty Walton, Colin Wardale, Janet & David Wareing, Brenda Waterson, Mr & Mrs JR Watson, John W H Watt, R J Watts, Professor Andrew Wawn, Mrs Pauleen Wearing, Angela West, Julia Westwell, Miss Catherine Whitehall, Mr Marc Whiteside-Ehlen, PJ Whitfield, Ms Margaret Whitfield, Daphne Wigmore, Mrs P Wilkinson, Mr T Willcock, Anthony Williams, Barry Williams, Mr Terry Williams, Mrs Hannah Williams, Miss Glenys Williams, LM Wills, Karen Wilson, Helen Winch, Gillian Winstanley, Ruth Winterburn, Prof Neil Winterton, Roger Withenshaw, Mr Michael Withy, Roy & Eleanor Wood, Dr Geoffrey Woodcock, Richard Woods, Dr Richard Woolford, Jean & Richard Worth, A. F. Wright, Andrew Wright, Mr & Mrs R Wright, Niall Wright, Peter & Sue Wright, Mr Tim Wright, Miss C Wright, J Wylie, Paul & Ann Wynn, Mr & Mrs GR Wynne, John Young, Joyce Yoxon, Alan Yuill, Kathleen Zimak

| 37


Review of the Year 2015-2016

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic is grateful to the organisations, businesses, trusts and foundations who support our artistic programmes and learning and engagement activities. PRINCIPAL FUNDERS

IN-KIND SPONSORS

Thanks to the City of Liverpool for its financial support IN HARMONY LIVERPOOL

PRINCIPAL PARTNERS

MEDIA PARTNER Austin & Hope Pilkington Trust | The Eric and Margaret Kinder Charitable Trust | The Ernest Cook Trust | Everton Nursery School and Family Centre | The Grodner Family | The Hemby Trust | Liverpooljazz | Lord Leverhulme’s Charitable Trust | The Oglesby Charitable Trust In Harmony Fund | The Rushworth Foundation | West Lancashire Freemasons Charity | Anonymous donors

SPONSORS

OTHER PUBLIC DONORS

!

The Rushworth Foundation

TO U R M A N A G E M E N T

TRUSTS AND FOUNDATIONS CORPORATE MEMBERS

THE KENNETH STERN TRUST

AFL Insurance Brokers | Andrew Collinge | Kirwans Solicitors Liverpool John Lennon Airport | MgMaStudio/architecture | O2 Pierhead Housing Association | R S Clare & Co. Ltd | Tilney Bestinvest

HOTEL PARTNER

HIGHER EDUCATION PARTNER

DIGITAL PARTNER

The Leslie Bibby Fund | The Hilda Black Charitable Trust | Solomon and Isabel Blankstone Charitable Trust | The Amelia Chadwick Trust | The Earl of Derby’s Charitable Trust | John Fairclough Charitable Trust | J Paul Getty Jr Charitable Trust | The Granada Foundation | Paul Hamlyn Foundation | Hemby Charitable Trust | The Eric and Margaret Kinder Charitable Trust Award | Duchy of Lancaster Benevolent Fund | The Eric and Dorothy Leach Charitable Trust | Lancashire Sinfonietta Legacy Fund | The Linbury Trust | Lord Leverhulme’s Charitable Trust | The Newstead Charity | The Louis Nicholas Residuary Charitable Trust | Cecil Pilkington Charitable Trust | Sir Alastair Pilkington’s Trust | Pilkington General Charity | The Ravensdale Trust | The Rayne Foundation | The Rushworth Foundation | The J A Shone Memorial Trust | The Claude Ballard Southall Memorial Charity | The Standfield Charitable Trust | The Steel Charitable Trust | The Kenneth Stern Trust | The Tavener Charitable Trust | The Tung Foundation | West Lancashire Freemasons’ Charity | The Margaret Wethered Trust | Sir Donald and Lady Edna Wilson Charitable Trust

Liverpool Philharmonic is particularly grateful for the support and friendship of Miss Mary Riddoch. And thank you to everyone who supports the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic through membership, patronage or donations, or by donating their time.

38 |


Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, Hope Street, Liverpool, L1 9BP Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society. A company limited by guarantee. Registered in England number 88235. Registered Charity Number 230538. Stage Door 0151 210 2895 Box Office 0151 709 3789 info@liverpoolphil.com liverpoolphil.com Designed by Paul Hooley Commissioned photography Mark McNulty

Review of the Year 2015-2016  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you