Page 1

Editor: Janice Hermsen: janice@lrpnv.com facebook.com/ Bookhound1000

linkedin.com/ in/lrpprin ng

@LeRuePress

Are we a newspaper? No...Are we a magazine? No...Are we a newsle er? Not really any of those. So what are we? We are a publica on in print and online designed to provide informa on: for fun, for what’s happening, for things you might want to see in other publica ons, but don’t. We look for stories that could go viral...at the very least, stories that are interes ng. The point is to “Share It!” February 15 —March 14, 2016

Presidential candidates: In their own words About the author, Ben Carson  A More Perfect Union: What We the  People Can Do to Reclaim Our  Cons tu onal Liber es  Oct 6, 2015  by Ben Carson M.D. and Candy  Carson  One Na on: What We Can All Do to  Save America's Future  Sep 1, 2015  by Ben Carson M.D. and Candy  Carson  Nevada and South Carolina are part of the early states to caucus or hold primaries for the U.S. Presiden al candidates. A lot is wri en about poten al presiden al candidates by supporters and those who oppose them. Each of the candidates have wri en books about their lives, their careers and their thoughts about poli cs. Even the “non‐ tradi onal” candidates have released books tou ng their causes and themselves. Though there may be other books about the candidates by other authors, the choices included are only releases authored by the candidate, listed in alphabe cal order, not by party or preference with a link to an author page on Amazon if it is available.     

Ben Carson

Ben Carson speaking at the Presiden al Family Forum in Des Moines, Iowa on November 20, 2015. Author Gage Skidmore

Janice Hermsen available from the author.

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Gi ed Hands: The Ben Carson Story  Nov 26, 1996  by Ben Carson and Cecil Murphey 

Hillary Clinton speaking at an event in Des Moines, Iowa. Date 24 January 2016 Author Gage Skidmore

You Have a Brain: A Teen's Guide to  T.H.I.N.K. B.I.G.  Feb 3, 2015  by Ben Carson M.D. and Gregg Lewis 

About the author, Hillary Rodham Clinton Hard Choices Apr 28, 2015 by Hillary Rodham Clinton

America the Beau ful: Rediscovering What  Made This Na on Great  Jan 22, 2013  by Ben Carson M.D. and Candy Carson 

Living History Apr 19, 2004 by Hillary Rodham Clinton

My Life: Based on the Book Gi ed Hands  Jul 14, 2015  by Ben Carson M.D. and Cecil Murphey Take the Risk: Learning to Iden fy, Choose, and Live with Acceptable Risk Dec 19, 2007 by Ben Carson M.D. and Gregg Lewis Ben Carson Oct 1992 by Ben Carson and Cecil Murphey

It Takes a Village, Tenth Anniversary Edi on Dec 12, 2006 by Hillary Rodham Clinton An Invita on To The White House : At Home With History Nov 14, 2000 by Hillary Rodham Clinton The Unique Voice of Hillary Rodham Clinton: A Portrait in Her Own Words Feb 1997 by Hillary Rodham Clinton and Claire G. Osborne

Not intended to be a complete list of tles

Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

What’s the Story?® Share it! Page 2

Floyd Sneed: In Black & White

Inside this issue: Janice Hermsen: Presidential candidates: In their own words

1

Brian T. Shirley: It’s not always about the money!

3

Dennis DuPerault: Thing to think about

3

Ken Roberts: Money tips for the new year

6

Mike Aloia: Walk the turtle-Acceptnce

7

Searching for cancer’s cure in a marijuana leaf

8

Richard G. Pugh: Nevada’s Lake Pyramid War-1860

9

D.M. Stoddard, MBA: Connecting with your reader

10

Music: Velvet Duo John Palmore and Patricia Esters

11

Independent bookstores: Nevada and S. Carolina

12

Take the quiz: You may know more than you think

13

2016 release of Classic Drummer Hall of Fame inductee, Floyd Sneed. Floyd Sneed: In Black & White is a wi y, entertaining and insigh ul book full of stories never told by drummer, Floyd Sneed of Three Dog Night, S.S. Fools and Dog & KATT bands from the 60s through the 80s.

Follow Floyd on Twitter @FloydSneedDrums

© Hinton Design

FINAL BREATH Gift Book: $14.95 Hard Cover: $49.95 100% of profits to Wynema Ranch Wild Horse Sanctuary

Eddie & Shari Floyd

A story of love and hope  Get your copy today: http://www.leruepress.com/FinalBreath Contact the editor: janice@lrpnv.com

2016: Barn Yarns by Eddie Floyd

A good cowboy yarn!” By Dennis Hill

Go to lrpnv.com or amazon.com for your copy of Nevada Heartland: The Place Names of Carson City, Douglas, Lyon and Storey Counties, Nevada

Nevada Heartland The Place Names of Carson City, Douglas, Lyon and Storey Counties, Nevada by Mary B. Ansari, LHD ISBN 978-1-938814-80-8 301 pages 8”x10”

ISBN 978‐1‐938814‐ 96‐9 147 Pages Published by LeRue Books

Wholesale and bulk pricing available. E-mail lrp@lrpnv.com Retail. $29.95 Men on this ad and get 15% off the retail price when you buy direct from the publisher lrpnv.com

Retail: $14.95

Order today at 775.356.1004 or toll free at 844.987.8679 (844‐WT‐STORY) lrp@lrpnv.com

Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

Brian T. Shirley As I write this, I’m thinking back on one of the most important tours of my life and career. I did a one week, six show tour of Japan at military camps on Fuji and Okinawa. This was a huge break for me and I felt truly blessed to be able to do it. I will never forget that tour. To get flown, fed and paid good money to entertain the troops is truly an honor. To say my mind has been preoccupied by the event I’m doing in June would be an understatement; then I got a phone call. Sean O’Neil, a comedian out of Myrtle Beach, called to let me know he had a gig in Charleston, SC where I live. He could not do it because of unforeseen circumstances. He called me on a Monday and this show was that Friday, so it was last minute. I told him I could do it and he gave my number to Karen, the lady in charge of the show. Karen called and let me know the info about the show, including the pay, which was well below what a comedian would normally get paid for a 45 minute set. We came to an agreement on money and I got the details of the show. It was to be in a hotel conference not too far from where I live and for a group sponsored by The VFW. I did not remember a lot of what Karen said because I was driving and had a lot on my mind to begin with. The group I was to entertain was The South Carolina Physically Handicapped Society. There were a lot of folks in wheel chairs of different ages. There were also

Dennis DuPerault  Whatever you do, don’t think about how your tongue feels in your mouth. You’re thinking about it, aren’t you?

What’s the Story?™ Share it! Page 3

It’s not always about the money! different degrees of impairment that I will not go into out of respect for these fine human beings. Ten or maybe only five years ago, I would have been quite anxious about doing 45 minutes for this crowd by myself. There was no stage ligh ng, no music playing before the show, no “comedy club” ambiance. But here I was. I had agreed to do this, agreed to the money and considered myself a professional. Let me just say at this point that I’ve done less me in country clubs for more than twice the money I was ge ng paid, performed at the world famous Atlan s Resort and traveled the ocean with Carnival Cruise Lines making people laugh. These all sound great, but I had more fun entertaining this group than any performance I’ve given at a country club. Continued on page 7

Grab a Steamin’ Wienie and a copy of What’s the Story® at Sinbad’s

Things to think about  Listen to What’s the Story weekly on KCKQ 1180 AM (streaming at h p://amm.streamon.fm) for more trivia.

From Buzz Feed: 18 Things That Get Weirder and Weirder the More You Think About Them.

Dennis DuPerault, author of Auto Emo ons 101 and co‐host on What’s the Story?® loves to talk about cars. His column will provide ps and tricks and mul ‐faceted informa on. He might mix it up a li le, but you can ask him anything you want about cars. Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?® Share it!

Page 4

Continued from page 1

Not intended to be a complete list of tles available from the author.      

Not intended to be a complete list of tles available from the author.

John Kasich Marco Rubio

Ted Cruz     Official portrait of U.S. Senator Ted Cruz (R‐ TX). Date 2013 Author United States Senate About the author, Ted Cruz A Time for Truth: Reigni ng the Promise of America Jun 30, 2015 by Ted Cruz Not intended to be a complete list of tles available from the author.

In the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years. -Abraham Lincoln

John Kasich Date 4 January 2011 Author Office of Ohio Governor John R. Kasich About the author, John Kasich

Marco Rubio speaking at an event in Des Moines, Iowa. Date 2015 Author Gage Skidmore

Every Other Monday: Twenty Years of Life, Lunch, Faith, and Friendship Jun 7, 2011 by John Kasich

About the author, Marco Rubio An American Son: A Memoir May 28, 2013 by Marco Rubio

Courage Is Contagious: Ordinary People Doing Extraordinary Things To Change The Face Of America Oct 19, 1999 by John Kasich

Not intended to be a complete list of tles available from the author.

Bernie Sanders

Stand for Something: The Ba le for America's Soul May 10, 2006 by John Kasich Courage Is Contagious Oct 20, 1998 by John Kasich

U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders of Vermont Date February 2007 Author United States Congress Continued on page 4

Where can you find “What’s the Story?” in print? Sinbad’s, S McCarran, Sparks, NV Reno Town Mall: Buy Nevada First and America Ma ers Media, 4001 S. Virginia Street, Reno, NV A to Zen in Carson City, 1801 Carson Street, Carson City, NV Dr. Forsythe’s office , LeRue Press, 280 Greg Street #10, Reno, NV and all around Reno and Sparks at local businesses, restaurants, beauty salons, re stores, via Brian T. Shirley in South Carolina and, of course, online at www.lrpnv.com or www.issuu.com by searching LeRue Press. Can’t get to any of those loca ons. Want a copy? Contact us at lrp@lrpnv.com or call 775.356.1004 or 844‐987‐8679 (844‐WT‐STORY)

Business Services   

Mailboxes: $25/month‐We receive and forward mail Virtual Office: $125/month‐Business address, telephone answering, conference room, mailbox and street address Conference Room: Rent by the hour ($15/hour), the day, the week 280 Greg St. #10, Reno, NV 89502 775.356.1004

Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

What’s the Story?™ Share it! Page 5

Continued from page 3

No author biography available via Amazon, source used for all author biographies used in this ar cle Outsider in the White House Sep 28, 2015 by Bernie Sanders and John Nichols The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class Mar 1, 2011 by Bernie Sanders Conscience of a Progressive: The Best Speeches of Bernie Sanders, In Congress, 1991‐2015, Abridged and Annotated... Feb 1, 2016 by Bernie Sanders Bernie Sanders: The Li le Black Book (The Li le Black Book 2016 Presiden al Elec on) (Volume 1) Jan 1, 2016 by S. C. Hollister and Bernie Sanders The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class Jan 7, 2012 by Bernie Sanders Bernie Sanders's Speech: The Complete Historical Filibuster on Economic Inequality, the Declining Middle Class... Jun 13, 2015 by Bernie Sanders Bernie Sanders for President and The Communist Manifesto: Large Print Edi on November 3, 2015 by Bernie Sanders and Karl Marx Bernie's Speech: Complete and Unedited Jun 1, 2015 by Bernie Sanders Milk Money: Cash, Cows, and the Death of the American Dairy Farm Oct 9, 2012 by Kirk Kardashian and Bernie

Sanders

by Donald J. Trump

Outsider in the House Sep 17, 1998 by Bernie Sanders and Huck Gutman

Trump: The Art of the Deal Dec 23, 2009 by Donald J. Trump and Tony Schwartz

Not intended to be a complete list of tles available from the author.

Trump: How to Get Rich Dec 28, 2004 by Donald J. Trump and Meredith McIver

Donald J. Trump

Mr. Donald Trump New Hampshire Town Hall on August 19th, 2015 at Pinkerton Academy in Derry, NH by Michael Vadon Date 19 August 2015 Author Michael Vadon About the author, Donald J. Trump Crippled America: How to Make America Great Again Nov 3, 2015 by Donald J. Trump Donald Trump: Make America Great Again: Donald Trump on Primaries, Illegal Immigrants, Terrorism, Hillary Clinton... Sep 15, 2015 by DONALD J. TRUMP and CAPITOL PUBLISHING Time to Get Tough: Make America Great Again! Aug 31, 2015

Trump: The Best Real Estate Advice I Ever Received: 100 Top Experts Share Their Strategies Jul 23, 2012 by Donald J. Trump Midas Touch: Why Some Entrepreneurs Get Rich‐And Why Most Don't Oct 4, 2011 by Donald J. Trump and Robert T. Kiyosaki Think Big: Make It Happen in Business and Life Sep 30, 2008 by Donald J. Trump and Bill Zanker Trump Never Give Up: How I Turned My Biggest Challenges into Success Jan 18, 2008 by Donald J. Trump and Meredith McIver Trump 101: The Way to Success Oct 20, 2006 by Donald J. Trump and Meredith McIver Not intended to be a complete list of tles available from the author.

The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are. -Joseph Campbell, writer

Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?® Share it!

Page 6

Ken Roberts

Money tips for the new year

The start of a new year can be a good me to sit down and do some planning for the future. An important step in financial planning is se ng realis c, achievable goals and reviewing them periodically to stay on track. It’s important to set a budget for your essen al purchases so you know how much to have set aside for food, gas, rent or mortgage, clothing and other everyday expenses. If you want to re re someday you’ll need to understand how much money it will take for you to re re the way you want to and plan accordingly. Verify your social security benefits and any other pension benefits you’re en tled to. If you have access to a qualified re rement plan at work, like a 401k you should take advantage of that. Most employers offer some sort of matching contribu on and you should contribute at least enough to earn the full match from your employer. That way your ini al contribu ons will double in addi on to any earned investment returns. Individuals who don’t have access to an employer sponsored re rement plan should set up an IRA and make regular contribu ons. Contribu ons to a tradi onal IRA are tax deduc ble up to the limits, your investments will grow tax deferred and it won’t be subject to income tax un l you start making withdrawals. Withdrawals before age 59 ½ can be subject to a penalty as well, unless they’re for a first me home purchase, disability or another qualifying event. Contribu ons to a Roth IRA are not tax deduc ble, but once made the funds grow without tax and are not subject to income tax upon withdrawal. Typically, Roth IRAs are be er for younger people. There are many calculators available online that

can help you determine which type of IRA is best for your situa on. HSAs or health savings accounts can be good re rement planning tools as well. If your health insurance is HSA compa ble, contribu ng to the HSA can be another good way to allow money to grow tax deferred. If the funds in your HSA account don’t get used for medical expenses they can be put to work towards re rement down the road. Saving for college might be another one of your goals if you have children. College educa ons are very expensive these days and it’s difficult to get a good job anymore without one. Using a tax deferred 529 plan will allow you to get money invested and allow those funds to grow without tax and not be subject to taxa on upon withdrawal if they are used for qualified educa on expenses. Decide what your long term financial goals are, set up a budget and fund your long term investment accounts early and o en. Ken Roberts is the author of “The Tactical Option Investor” and the host  of Ken’s Bulls and Bears heard on America Matters radio. Ken has been  in the securities business for over twenty years and had worked as an  investment advisor, branch manager, professional trader and portfolio  manager. Over the course of his career he has earned NASD series  3,6,7,9,10,56 and 63 designations and is a CMT Level II candidate. Ken  also writes a weekly column in the Sierra Sun newspaper, is a  contributing author to Seeking Alpha and writes a column for the Wall  Street Journal Market Watch. He has completed advanced finance  courses at the New York Institute of Finance. You can reach Ken at 800‐ 535‐4253. 

There were kids in this crowd as well, so I had to be squeaky clean. No ma er what or where I go in my career, I will never forget this show. It’s hard to explain, but for me, this show is just as important as my trip to Japan. To know I could bring joy and laughter to these folks does my heart well. They made the show, they were the reward! Their laughter and the way Karen would not let me leave the stage at the end of the show when she came up to close out my por on, brings tears to my eyes when I think about it. She made sure to thank me again and gave me a big hug before I got off the stage. I did not get a ‘Make Me Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?® Share it!

Page 7

“Walk the Turtle”

Mike Aloia

Acceptance To unite our mind, body, and spirit is to awaken to the understanding of wisdom and knowledge that has been dormant deep within the fabric of our cells; to follow the guidance is to trust our self. Silence of the mind is an exercise we must implement in order to not be able to intimidate ourselves, to never second guess our natural instincts and to be true to the visions and dreams we chase.

Perfection is the simplicity of beauty that surrounds our hearts and is felt inside the soul, visions seen when we close our eyes can stir the tears of passion during an emotional rescue. Significance to each of our lives is bestowed within the signature of who we are, we carry the burdens inside as we also learn to let go of the baggage we tend to drag around; time will heal all.

As we walk the turtle we feel love in the air as we breathe each moment of life, a fragile and precious gift is to wake up and smell the flowers and to embrace your journey as we fulfill our destiny. Mike Aloia is a father of two daughters and a proud grandfather. He is 50 years old and lives in Jacksonville, Florida. Mike is mul ‐talented: a cartoonist, comedian, musician, songwriter, actor, columnist, and the CEO of American Hearts Radio, LLC Entertainment Network. He has experience in web TV, radio entertainment produc on, ar st management, and other aspects of entertainment. His column “Walk the Turtle” are his thoughts on slowing down, taking it easy, and enjoying life. Mike's work can be found in the following places: www.americanheartsradio.com www.facebook.com/americanheartsradio www.harmonybooking.com

YOUR AD HERE! Only $15 for a business card size ad. (3‐1/2” x 2”) Just provide Camera ready art. In a pdf or jpeg, 300 dpi (dots per inch). That’s less than 1 cent per printed copy. 2500 per month printed and distributed throughout Reno/ Sparks/Carson City plus online impressions. Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?® Share it! Page 8

Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

Searching for Cancer’s Cure In A Marijuana Leaf Prejudices Must Be Overcome So the Plant’s Potential Can Be Explored, Doctor Says Press Release: February 6, 2016, Reno, NV‐ It’s clear that the movement to legalize medical marijuana has picked up steam in recent years, but less clear is just how potent a medicine the leafy substance can be. While a growing number of studies have raised the tantalizing possibility that marijuana could provide a cure for cancer, the medical community at large has been hesitant to make any defini ve proclama ons, instead saying more study is needed. But Dr. James W. Forsythe, an oncologist and author of the book “Stoned: The Truth About Medical Marijuana and Hemp Oil” (www.drforsythe.com), is less reluctant than others to tout the use of marijuana to treat cancer. He says the chemical THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) in marijuana appears to be effec ve in a acking and killing cancer cells, and the medical community and government should be more aggressive in studying and ul mately proclaiming marijuana’s potency as a cancer treatment. “Certainly, no medicine should ever be touted as a 100 percent guaranteed cure for cancer or any other disease,” Forsythe says. “But I do think there needs to be some official acknowledgement of the ability of THC and other basic ingredients from marijuana to obliterate cancer.” Medical marijuana is now legal in 23 states and the District of Columbia, but the federal government s ll lists it as a Schedule I controlled substance. The federal government’s refusal to legalize marijuana has led to numerous condi ons being placed on researchers and is deterring scien fic study of the medicinal strength of cannabinoids, the natural components in the cannabis plant, according to the American Cancer Society. The society has said federal officials should examine op ons consistent with federal law for enabling more scien fic study of marijuana. Despite the restric ons, some research is happening. For example, studies in mice and rats have shown that cannabinoids may inhibit tumor growth by causing cell death, blocking cell growth, and blocking the development of blood vessels needed by tumors to grow, according to the Na onal Cancer Ins tute at the Na onal Ins tute for Health. Laboratory and animal studies have shown that cannabinoids may be able to kill cancer cells while protec ng normal cells. That hasn’t been enough to inspire scien sts to declare marijuana as an answer to the fight against cancer just yet. More o en, marijuana is used to treat the symptoms of cancer, such as pain, or the side effects from chemotherapy, such as

nausea and vomi ng. Different strains of marijuana are considered the best for a acking different symptoms, Forsythe says. Those strains come in dozens of varie es and they sport exo c names, such as Blueberry, Tangerine Dream and Morning Star. Forsythe says a few examples of symptoms and the marijuana strains that can address them include: • Nausea. Chemotherapy treatments are notorious for leaving pa ents nauseous. Some of the marijuana strains effec ve in controlling nausea are: Afghanica, OG Kush, Sour Diesel and Tangerine Dream, • Pain. Many strains are said to be able to control pain, including Afghanica, Alaskan Thunder, Bay 11, Blueberry, Morning Star and OG Kush. • Stress and anxiety. Some of the stress and anxiety cancer pa ents feel can be alleviated with strains such as Afghanica, Blueberry, Jack Herer, Morning Star and Tangerine Dream. “Marijuana can be used to treat a number of diseases and ailments,” Forsythe says. “Unfortunately, many people are s ll against the use of marijuana in any form or for any reason. It’s important to try to open their minds so that they realize the poten al marijuana has to improve, and maybe even save, the lives of so many people.” About Dr. James W. Forsythe Dr. James W. Forsythe, an integra ve medical oncologist, is the author of more than 20 books, including his most recent, “Stoned: The Truth About Medical Marijuana and Hemp Oil” (www.drforsythe.com). He received his undergraduate degree from the University of California at Berkeley and earned his medical degree from University of California, San Francisco. Today he operates the Century Wellness Clinic in Reno, Nev.

Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?® Share it! Page 9

Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

Richard G. Pugh In his book, A Saw, Pocket  Instrument, and Two Ounces of  Whiskey Dr. Anton Sohn recorded an incident in early 1860 in northwestern Nevada later described as the Lake Pyramid War. This large, picturesque high desert lake, Lake Pyramid, is replenished by flows from the Truckee River which meanders down from Lake Tahoe (originally named Lake Bigler) through Truckee, CA and Reno and Sparks, NV. On the eastern edge of the lake is a stone structure resembling an Egyp an pyramid; thus the name. In late April that year two young Paiute Indian girls went missing a er leaving camp to dig for roots. When their chief was told, he gathered a small group of tribesmen who traveled to Williams’ Sta on some fi een miles south where the girls were being held and demanded their return. Nego a ons followed and a er their release a fight broke out and the two white men alleged to have kidnapped the girls were quickly killed and another was drowned in the Truckee River. Williams’ Sta on was burned to the ground. A rela vely large group of charged‐up residents from Genoa, Carson City, Silver City, and Virginia City, calling themselves The Carson City Rangers, gathered and set out for the Paiute stronghold at Lake Pyramid to punish the encamped Indians. This leaderless, ill‐advised, and poorly organized band engaged the Paiutes and the ensuing ba le was not a pre y sight. The Rangers which numbered some 105 miners, farmers and town folk paid the price for such an impulsive a ack and 76 of their number were killed outright. The remaining 29 totally routed fighters returned to their homes from this ill‐fated debacle later called a ‘massacre’. The news of this ‘Uprising’ spread through

Nevada’s Lake Pyramid War-1860 California and all over the West and many frightened residents began fleeing the area across Sierra Nevada mountains for safety. Military troops from California joined a civilian company of over 700 men named “The Carson Valley Expedi on” and moved on Lake Pyramid killing an es mated 160 Paiutes while suffering minimal casual es. What followed were sporadic a acks by Indian tribes (Shoshone, Paiute, Utes, and Washoe) throughout the region which threatened travelers and residents and even the newly established federal postal service. The Pony Express route across the central basin had 47 sta ons from Windover in the east, to Genoa at the foot of the Sierra Nevada mountains, and con nued westward to Su er’s Fort (Sacramento). This placed the trail right in the middle of this Indian insurgency and riders were frequently a acked and their horses stolen or killed which required comple on of the ten mile distances between sta ons on foot. The Pony Express, begun in early 1860 was terminated some eighteen months later with the advent of the telegraph and the bankruptcy of the company. The federal government responded by building numerous forts and sta ons in the western Great Basin

Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).

Con nued on page 11


What’s the Story?® Share it! Page 8

Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

D. M. Stoddard, MBA What is the biggest ques on for a self‐ published author – how do I connect with my reader? Your masterpiece is in the distribu on channels, including such partners as Ingrams, Createspace, and Amzaon, along with hundreds of thousands of other likeable covers. Over the last five years, the push as been to sell through social media, but that does not work for every book. I spend as much or more me on social media as I do wri ng my manuscripts and no one seems to have defini ve proof whether Twi er, Facebook, Pinterest, or some other applica on provides a be er avenue to readers, crea ng more book sales. To complicate ma ers, what works for one author probably won’t work for another, par cularly across genres. The old formula for marke ng – product, price, posi on, and promo on – may not be as reliable as it once was, but the goal remains the same. Find the cross sec on for readers, author/sellers, and marke ng. Bull’s‐eye! If you spend all your me pos ng in an applica on where your readers never browse, the image of “do it yourself”, self‐publishing author is quickly strained. And if you find that nook where your readers reside, spending too much me can be just as counterproduc ve. A good strategic (marke ng) plan will help. To ease your stress, build your partnerships with other authors and author groups. Like the three musketeers, “one for all and all for one”, the success of one author helps all the others in a group. Groups, like Writers’ Café which I belong to, offer a great and necessary service; I have learned a lot through their website, but it is really easy to get lost in the crowd. I suggest supplemen ng your professional memberships with small, successful groups that are focused in your genre. For example, I am a member of the Fantasy/Sci‐Fi Net. When an author’s fan finishes his/ her most recent book, they are going to look for another book. If your cover is in the mix, you gain exposure. As the connec ng conduit between readers and authors/sellers con nues to evolve, I believe independent publishers (i.e. non‐tradi onal) may offer addi onal op ons. A local independent publisher may offer print services that will allow authors to avoid shipping fees from larger distributors. Partnering with local publisher/printers

Connecting with your reader could also increase your visibility to poten al readers. Consignment agreements for local sales could give you access to their events and your book could add to their selec on. If your book does well, it might grow to a publishing opportunity. If that goes well, maybe a larger publisher will no ce. The bo om line is that you must do two things: be innova ve, and be willing to change. We are no longer in the stable world of brick and mortar. D.M. Stoddard has a Master’s degree and has studied  Chinese, Spanish, and Tagalog, although English   Is now his only func onal language. He is re red from the United  States Navy and currently works for   the State of Nevada. He and his son wrote and published Lost  Kingdom of Terrace Xul, The Bard’s   Song© for the song in chapter nine of The Legend of Jerrod. D.M.  used watercolors to paint the sword on his first book and oils to paint  the dagger on his second book. He did the maps in pen and ink for  both.    As an author, he was most influenced by J.R.R. Tolkien. He  was also influenced by Terry Brooks, Anne McCaffrey, and David  Eddings. The most influen al quote D.M. Stoddard heard was from  his crea ve wri ng professor: “Just keep wri ng.”    Contacts:   kingdomtorrence@aol.com   Twi er: @kingdomtorrence   www.KingdomOfTorrence.com 

Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?® Share it!

Page 11

Music:

“Velvet” Duo, John Palmore and Patricia Esters

Enjoy R&B, Motown, Blues, Jazz, Funk, Disco or Country? Then “Velvet” should be on your list of choices to see in person if you live in or near California or Nevada. John Palmore and Pat Esters are the duo that make “Velvet” so special. Both are music veterans who have performed with various ar sts throughout the years. John Palmore, keyboardist and vocalist has traveled the world playing for ar sts such as Jackie Wilson, Mary Wells, ZZ Hill, Wilson Picket, Joe Simon, Percy Sledge and the Pla ers. He was the musical director, keyboardist and arranger for Bill Pinkney’s “Original Dri ers” for many years. Pat Esters is a dynamic and versa le vocalist covering all genres. To see where they are playing, go to h p:// www.palmorebrothersband.com/calendar.html Continued from page 3

Laugh!” feeling from these people. These people wanted to laugh, that’s the correct a tude to have at a comedy show. I, like anyone else needs to pay my bills, but it’s not always about the money. These people may have their limita ons but I felt more joy in that room than at most of the comedy clubs I’ve ever been. These folks showed me that joy truly does come from inside.

Brian is an author, former radio host, comedian and philosopher. He has been in the comedy business for over 20 years in  Canada, the U.S. and the Bahamas. He lives in Charleston, South Carolina.     Last year, he went to Japan to entertain the U.S. Marine Corp where he opened for headliner Jackie Fabulous, a stand‐up  comedian herself. To book Brian, Contact him via his Facebook page: h ps://www.facebook.com/brian.t.shirley.5?fref=ts 

Pick up your copy of the books below at your favorite retailer or contact the publisher, LeRue Press, LLC at 775-849-3814 or toll free at 844-987-8679 (844-WT-STORY) or online at www.lrpnv.com. Go to contact us. I Am That Fool 

Exploring Sand Harbor 

Pick Me, Pick Me 

Amazing Mom 

Meet Ryan Brown: egotistical, brilliant trial lawyer By Rick Cornell

Includes color photos and maps while kayaking at Sand Harbor. By Beachy Orr 72 pages, $19.95

Miguel can’t stop bouncing in his seat and waving his hands…

Early Reader  To all the "Amazing Moms" and the things they do every day. By Nichole Truax, Ed.D.;28 pages

196 pages; $12.95

By Elizabeth Horton 36 pages; $14.95

Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?® Share it! Page 12

Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

Independent bookstores Nevada and South Carolina New and used books Look at the bookstores the Book Hound found! Nevada

Used hardcover and paperback as low as

75‐85% off retail price. Example: Hardcover retails at $24.95

85% off retail=$3.75

New Books & Used Books

So cover retails at $7.99

75% off retail=$2.00

LeRue Press (LRP) 280 Greg St. #10 Reno, NV 89502 775.356.1004 844.987.8579 (844.WT.STORY) www.lrpnv.com

New Books priced as marked Cookbooks Arts & Cra s Poli cs, fic on and mysteries galore! In great condi on!

Reno Book Gallery 1203 Rock Blvd. Sparks, NV 775.356.8900 Buy Nevada First 4001 S. Virginia St. (Reno Town Mall) Reno, NV 775.384.3153 Grassroots Books 660 E Grove St. Reno, NV 775.828.2665 His Word‐Parable Chris an Store 6815 Sierra Center Pkwy 775.853.2665 LeRue Press, LLC 280 Greg St. #10 Reno, NV 775.356.1004 Sundance Bookstore & Music 121 California Ave. Reno, NV 775.786.1188

Carson City A to Zen 1801 N. Carson St. Carson City, NV 775.461‐3311 Dog‐Eared Books 361 Fairview Dr. Carson City, NV 89701 775.884.2848

Morley’s Books 201 W. King St. Carson City, NV 775.883.3932

Las Vegas BooksOrBooks 3460 E. Sunset Road, Suite R Las Vegas, Nv 702.522.797 Henderson 19 W. Pacific Ave. Henderson, NV 702.697.0001

South Carolina Charleston Blue Bicycle Books 20 King St. Charleston, S.C 843.722.2666

Summerville Here Be Books and Games 4650 Ladson Rd. Summerville, SC 83.694.1498

Beaufort Beaufort Bookstore 2127 Boundary St Beaufort, SC 29902 843.525‐.1066

Camden Books on Broad 944 Broad Street Camden, SC 29020 803‐713‐READ

Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?® Share it!

Page 13

Con nued from page 9

area. By July 1860 reconstruc on on Williams’ Sta on, reduced to ashes earlier in the year, was begun and renamed Fort Churchill. Small temporary camps and larger posts were also built to house troops to cope with sporadic hos li es from Indians. These skirmishes and ba les pi ng the farmers, ranchers, and miners and federal troops against indigenous Indian tribes

Have a good story to tell? Can you do it in 50 words...exactly? Give us a good headline and then tell your story in 50 words… exactly! Talk about what you do, make up a story or talk about your business. No ads allowed; just tell your story, very, very succinctly. For Twitter lovers, that’s about 450 characters more or less.

popula ng the area would con nue for many years in this vast region called the Great American Desert. This desert would not become the Nevada Territory un l 1860 and would not be named the State of Nevada by President Lincoln un l 1864. These hos li es in the region had their origin in no small part as a result of the Lake Pyramid war.

A er coming to Reno from Charleston, S.C. in 1973 to accept the posi on of CEO of the Nevada State Medical Associa on and serving as Director of Physician Rela ons at Washoe Medical Center for two years, Pugh re red in 1990. Later he helped establish Health Access Washoe County (HAWC) and served as Board Member and President for several years. He has served as Adjunct Clinical Instructor at the University of Nevada School of Medicine and authored four books through the History of Medicine Program there.

Send to lrp@lrpnv.com.

Take the quiz! You may know more than you think! 1. Who was the only US president never to marry?

11. The Patella is commonly known as what?

2. 'The Buck Stops Here' was a phrase associated with which president? 12. In computing what is Ram short for? 3. Which president was the first to visit communist China?

13. Which organ secretes insulin?

4. Which president lived at the Hermitage?

14. Who was the first actor to refuse an Oscar?

5. Name the four US presidents that were assassinated?

15. Which group of people produces the Watchtower magazine?

6. Which Civil War general went on to become president?

16. Adolf Hitler became chancellor of Germany in which year?

7. Name the four Presidents that feature on Mount Rushmore?

17. Who composed 'Peer Gynt'?

8. Which President spent several weeks in a sanitarium after a nervous breakdown at the age of 24?

18. Who was the youngest ever American President? 19. How many episodes of Fawlty Towers were made?

9. Which President had a cat named socks? 20. What name is given to a cross fruit of tangerines and grapefruits? 10. Which president had polio as an adult? (Answers on back page) Courtesy: http://www.pubquizreference.co.uk Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


W h a t ’s t h e s t o r y ? ™ Sh a r e i t ! 280 Greg Street, Suite 10 Reno, NV 89502 Toll Free: 844.987.8679 (844-WT-STORY) In northern Nevada: 775.356.1004 E-mail: lrp@lrpnv.com

It’s all about solutions for your business or writing project. The opinions expressed are by the authors and do not reflect the opinions of LeRue Press (LRP) or any of its partners or affiliates.

Start your week

with us and

end it with us!

Book Hound: Monday 4-4:30 P.M.

What’s the Story? Friday 11-12 p.m.

Ta l k Ta l k Ta l k ! Yup, that’s what our guests do. They share their stories with you every week. Monday– 4 p.m. Pacific What’s the Story? Radio Show.  Whether it’s leadership, a new business or comedians on the road, we’re here every Friday to share the story. What’s your story? Contact us at www.lrpnv.com Friday– 11 a.m. Pacific The Book Hound Radio Show. Love books? We do. We interview emerging, debut authors AND your favorite best‐selling author. Listen on KCKQ AM 1180 in northern Nevada or streaming live at h p://amm.streamon.fm

Did you know? Brought to you by LRP Printing~Publishing~Business Center Did you know: There are 5 different types of publishing avenues to take? (according to Jane Friedman, columnist for Publisher’s Weekly) * * * * *

Traditional Partnership Fully Assisted DIY Plus Distributor DIY Direct

Did you know: LeRue Press offers all these avenues for your book publishing? * Traditional: Submissions are opening up in 2016. Check the website for guidelines in January. * Partnership: Make an appointment to find out if we are the right publisher for your project * Fully assisted: We work with you to create your project, your way. We offer suggestions. Final decisions are yours. * DIY plus distribution: We can print your project and provide distribution options. * DIY Direct: You’ve done it all, you would like us to carry your book. Let’s get it available for purchase. You can reach us at 775.356.1004

Celebrate Veterans Throughout the year, remember and honor the troops that are serving and the veterans that have served..

Thank you for your service

1. John Buchanan 2. Harry S. Truman 3. Richard Nixon 4. Andrew Jackson 5. Abraham Lincoln, William McKinley, James Garfield & John F. Kennedy 6. Ulysses S. Grant 7. Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, George Washington & Theodore Roosevelt 8. Warren G. Harding 9. Bill Clinton 10. Franklin Roosevelt

11. Kneecap 12. Random Access Memory 13. Pancreas 14. George C. Sco 15. Jehovah's Witness 16. 1933 17. Edward Grieg 18. Theodore Roosevelt 19. 12 20. Ugli Fruit

“What’s the Story?®” is a monthly publica on of LeRue Press (LRP). No part of this publica on may be reprinted without permission. But we’d love it if you shared it! It is available in print and online. Go to www.lrpnv.com or www.issuu.com and search LeRue Press. Copyright, 2015‐2016, LeRue Press. No part of this publica on may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).

What's the story February, 2016  

What are the candidates really saying? Take a look for yourself...books they have written. Brian T. Shirley, Ken Roberts, Dennis DuPerault,...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you