__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

FREE COPY

Part of your community

Have you switched to LED? Call us for details of our switch to LED service. OPEN MONDAY TO SATURDAY 9AM - 5.30PM 117-119 Wakefield Road • Aspley • Huddersfield West Yorkshire HD5 9AN

Part of your community

& surrounding areas Contact details: 01484 420800

June 2020

TEL: 01484 455777

www.simply - lighting.co.uk

Controversial plan approved By Josh Timlin

A CONTROVERSIAL plan which will see pylons removed from the Trans Pennine Trail to redirect power cables underground has been approved – despite wildlife experts claiming the scheme will eradicate an at-risk bird from the area. As part of a package with Ofgem, applicant National Grid received a share in a pot of £500m to mitigate visual impact of infrastructure at protected landscapes including a site near Dunford Bridge. The project – dubbed the first of its kind in the world – will see eight pylons along a one-and-a-quarter mile stretch taken down and the power channelled through underground cables. The scheme also scuppers rail campaigners’ ambitions to reopen Woodhead Tunnel to provide another Holme Valley rail link to Manchester, as railway infrastructure is

unable to be built on top of underground cabling buried within the former trackbed. Yorkshire Wildlife Trust spoke against the plan at a virtual planning board meeting on June 16 and blasted the loss of Wogden Foot’s wildlife. A spokesman said: “Approval of the site would undo a success story which has given the area recognition across the country. “Yorkshire Wildlife Trust is leading a national ‘back from the brink’ project on willow tits to protect and learn about them. “Willow tits are the most endangered species in the UK, but we’ve still got a decent population and we’re getting visitors to come and look at them. “They epitomise the area’s fight back from its bleak, industrial past. Coal mining brought a lot of prosperity in Yorkshire but when it left, it left a lot of habitat that

needed improvement and we’ve done a lot of work on that. “We’d love to see these pylons removed in a wellmanaged scheme, but this isn’t it. They are not more important than the extinction of a bird species.” Joe Jenkinson, head of planning at Barnsley Council, whose councillors debated the scheme, told the board’s members that ten letters of support and 47 objections had been received – though the plan was still unanimously approved. He said: “There will be a temporary diversion on the TPT for 18 months but it will still be suitable for all users - they won’t be overly disrupted by it. “The benefits of the scheme clearly outweigh the harm.” The project is the second of National Grid’s four schemes to receive planning consent, following approval being granted for the project near

Dorchester which is now under construction. The proposal for a project in the Snowdonia National Park is expected to go before planning committees in July, while a planning application for another scheme in the North Wessex Downs is due for submission next year. National Grid project manager, Michelle Clark, added: “Securing planning consent is an important step towards realising our plans to conserve and enhance this important landscape on the edge of the national park. “National Grid has been working together on the proposals with local stakeholders including representatives from the Peak District National Park, Natural England, the Trans Pennine Trail Office and Dunford Parish Council. “We will now seek to obtain other necessary permissions ahead of works starting on the site next year.”

Honley is looking blooming gorgeous...thanks to the efforts of village volunteers. A recent planting day saw volunteers put in place 1,200 plants in tubs and baskets around the village. Honley had to postpone the planned Open Gardens Festival to June 2021 so volunteers were even more determined to put on a splash of colour in this Covid-19 summer. Most villages have given up gardening for 2020 but Honley placed an order months ago to the usual supplier, a small family nursery, First Impressions, near Wakefield. Continued on page 4

Distribution is back to normal and the Holme Valley Review is now available to read online at www.holmevalleyreview.co.uk You can also follow us on Facebook and Instagram


2 – Holme Valley Review, June 2020

Holmebuild celebrates 15 years in the Holme Valley HOLMEBUILD has achieved another milestone reinforcing their reputation as Huddersfield’s premier builders’ merchant. The secret of their success is simple. They provide a professional, helpful, friendly and easy to use service on your doorstep with years of experience supplying a massive range of quality materials at a fair price. They know the importance of being able to get your

hands on what you need – and fast – so you can get back to the job. That’s why you’ll find almost every kind of building, landscaping, plumbing, electrical or DIY product you’re after on-site, ready to take away. And if they don’t have it there and then, they’ll get it ordered quickly for you. Whether it’s blocks and bricks for building, pipes and parts for plumbing, electrical wholesalers parts or timber for your next project Holmebuild stock it. You can get hold of materials for every phase of a build – from ground prep and drainage to brickwork and roofing, you needn’t go anywhere else. After 15 years of solid growth offering a great service for Holme Valley locals, the recent addition of

the plumbing and electrical divisions have cemented Holmebuild’s reputation as one of the best businesses to deal with in the area. Holmebuild is recognised locally as the go-to outlet for all building, plumbing, landscaping and DIY requirements and with

the addition of the recent electrical and plumbing divisions it has become a one stop shop. Holmebuild are open to the public and save you the time trailing into town for that tile grout, door hinge or set of screws by offering all this and more at their site in Honley.

Who needs to tackle Leeds Road when they’ve got the goods on your doorstep? The vast knowledge and years of experience of the local Holmebuild team means they can help you out with advice, tips and pointers to ensure you get the best product for the job first time, every time.

With more than 8,000 product lines in stock Holmebuild is also extremely competitive on price. Whether trade or DIY, a warm welcome awaits all customers, old and new at Holmebuild, Queen Square Mill, Huddersfield Road, Honley HD9 6QZ 01484 666688

AWARD WINNING PATIO DISPLAY ELECTRICAL DIVISION

KNOWLEDGEABLE AND FRIENDLY LOCAL STAFF

PLUMBING DIVISION

Queen Square Mills, Huddersfield Road, Honley HD9 6QZ Opeining Times: Mon - Fri 7.00am - 5.00pm Sat 7.00am - 4.00pm

Honley 01484 666688 HOLMEBUILD.CO.UK


Holme Valley Review, June 2020 – 3

‘Drive thru’ event reunites families during pandemic STAFF at a Meltham care home have helped to reunite families for the first time in 12 weeks thanks to lifestyle manager Jessica Skirrow’s ‘Relative Drive-thru’ idea. The team at Greenacres were able to ensure residents received a 30-minute visit from their loved ones. Each visit was carefully planned by Jess, as she ensured that families maintained a safe social distance and complied with government guidelines throughout. She said: “It was a pleasure to put this event able to chat, laugh, sing and Taylor added: “We have together for our residents play music from their cars. had such a brilliant time and their families. Families and staff reuniting our residents with “I am so pleased with how commented on how their families. much we have been able to emotional the visits have “It was a very emotional help our residents stay in been, saying families were afternoon – watching the contact with their loved ones cheerfully honking their cars come round the corner throughout, and the ‘Relative horns as a sign of their and then looking at our Drive-thru’ has been such a gratitude when they left. residents’ faces when they hit. Prior to the visits every saw their families was “They have been smiling resident at the 64-bed home amazing. all afternoon.” wrote and posted special “I would like to say a huge As relatives drove up to messages of love to their thank you to my team for the home they saw their families inside handmade, organising this and a big loved ones excitedly waiting decorated cards. thank you to our relatives for for them outside and were General manager Verity joining us.” A series of small group workshops are being organised to seek the views of young families about local housing. The EcoHOLMEs charity is running the workshops online using Zoom until the end of June. Places are limited so to get in touch, email info@ ecoholmes.org.ukSome of the issues up for discussion include design features for homes with young children, eco features, the look and footprint of housing and inter-generational living. EcoHOLMEs is a new group that aims to answer questions about affordable future housing needs in the Holme Valley. It is currently looking for feedback. Look at the website www.ecoholmes.org.uk

Back to normal

Three draft architect plans have been prepared for All Saints Church in Netherthong to allow feedback on how the internal space can be reconfigured to bring it into wider use as a community hub as well as a place of worship. The Netherthong Community Partnership charity was formed in 2019 to work with the church and the community to make the church building a more accessible and a useable space for the whole community. The plans are now available for the community to view and comment on in the church notice board, the Londis shop in Netherthong village and on the Netherthong Village Community Group and NCP Facebook pages. Feedback can also be sent to netherthongcp@gmail.com or on paper feedback forms which can be found in the Londis, submissions by July 17.

BROCKHOLES based S W Interior Designs is gradually getting back to normal working with orders coming in for new kitchens and an appointment system for the showroom. Like many other local businesses, SW Interior Designs had to close during the main lockdown period but now Lee Wood and the team are delighted to be open as normal. He said: “We have put an appointments system in place for homeowners wanting to visit our kitchen showroom to avoid having too many people arriving at the same time. “All the necessary Government safety requirements and distancing measurements have been put in place. “After reopening we are getting really busy again with many people already placing their orders for new kitchens.’’ S W Interior Designs is based at Rock Works, Brockholes and has a showroom and manufacturing base all under one roof. Customers are welcome to call in at any time and see how work on their new kitchen is progressing as it is being manufactured and assembled by the experienced kitchen design team. The showroom, which is open six days a week including Saturdays 10am to 4pm, has an extensive selection of both traditional and contemporary kitchen styles along with a whole host of accessories, sinks and taps. Take a look at the website www. swinteriordesigns.co.uk for more information and to see a gallery of completed kitchens.

Dovestone Reservoir

Calls for local beauty spot to be temporarily closed A LOCAL beauty spot – popular with people from the Holme Valley – should be temporarily closed to the public according to a community leader. Dovestone Reservoir, which attracts walkers from all over the local area, is being overrun with uncaring visitors and renegade motorists says Dr Andrew Taylor from the nearby Greenfield and Grasscroft Community Association. Double yellow lines have recently been painted on the A635 Holmfirth to Greenfield Road by Oldham Council to stop motorists parking

on the main road near Dovestone. Recently cars parked on the A635 near the reservoir caused traffic chaos. Dr Taylor, who is also a member of the Oldham Mountain Rescue Team, is fearful of more fires on local moorland due to visitors continuing to light barbecues. During the recent lockdown period, visitor numbers have increased and resulted in large amounts of litter, disregard for people marshalling the car parking area and a flouting of the Covid-19 restrictions. Closed

toilet facilities have also resulted in public excrement. He said: “The Dovestone area is being ravaged by a small minority that happens to be large in number and possess none of the attributes of a caring society. “Local residents are being driven to distraction and ground staff, both professional and voluntary, are doing their utmost and failing against the odds.’’ He has written to his local MP and Andy Burnham, Mayor of Greater Manchester to ask for steps to be taken to protect this valuable local rural gem.


4 – Holme Valley Review, June 2020

Village looks blooming lovely By Susan Hampshire

HONLEY is looking blooming gorgeous... thanks to the efforts of village volunteers. A recent planting day saw volunteers put in place 1,200 plants in tubs and baskets around the village. Honley had to postpone the planned Open Gardens Festival to June 2021 so volunteers were even more determined to put on a splash of colour

in this Covid-19 summer. Most villages have given up gardening for 2020 but Honley placed an order months ago to the usual supplier, a small family nursery, First Impressions, near Wakefield. The scheme is organised by Sylvia Sellen from Friends of Honley, in partnership with Honley businesses and Kirklees Rural. Sylvia said: “It would have been all too easy to cancel, but

that wouldn’t have helped our supplier, superb local businesses or residents. “Let’s face it, watching plants unfurl under the heat of the summer sun, gives us something to look forward to, which we all need at the present time” In early June, lorry loads of plants arrived, along with teams of socially distanced volunteers who worked diligently to plant 1,200 items of summer bedding

at each junction of the village, installing dozens of hanging baskets as they went. Plants were also delivered to those in independent living at Burhouse Court and Roundway, where Kath Kay and Carol Makepeace added: “It’s great to be able to get outside and talk to our neighbours, whilst doing something together that’s safe and enjoyable.”   In readiness for the

day when residents can move freely, Honley’s pubs are now dressed to impress with floral colour in abundance alongside Honley’s independent businesses. The scheme is funded by Kirklees Rural, local business and a Community Co-Op Grant and has gone from strength to strength over the last five years. In 2021 the village has been invited to enter RHS in Bloom.

PARISH COUNCIL NEWS

Neighbourhood Development Plan Further developments to be considered by Full Council under COVID-19 THE Neighbourhood Development Plan Steering Group has now finalised the Submission Plan which, following consideration at our Planning Committee, will now be considered for endorsement by Full Council on June 29. The Plan is accompanied by two key documents: n Consultation Statement, outlining all the community engagement we have undertaken since 2016, and a n Basic Conditions Statement, outlining how the Plan fits with both the Kirklees Local Plan and the Peak District National

Park Local Plan. All three documents are available on our website’s Neighbourhood Plan page alongside comprehensive response tables outlining how all consultation feedback has been considered

Now, is the time of the year that the Council would normally be advertising its accounts and publishing its Annual Report summarising its work over the year just gone. However, the pandemic has delayed proceedings. The publications of the said documents will be delayed until after late July.

in developing the Plan, and all our supporting documentation. Once Full Council has considered and endorsed the Plan, it will then be formally submitted to Kirklees Council and the Peak District

National Park Authority so they can publish it for further Regulation 16 consultation. Following this, the Plan will be considered by an Independent Planning Examiner later in the year and then progress, with any modifications recommended by the Examiner, to a public referendum in May 2021 (this is the earliest date permitted due to Coronavirus legislation). If 50 per cent of all those who vote in the referendum, vote in favour, the NDP will then be ‘made’ and thereafter formally influence planning decisions.

Grant awarded to Mutual Aid group THE Parish Council recently made a grant of £2000 to Holme Valley COVID-19 Mutual Aid group to enable it to pay expenses to volunteers who provided vital services

like delivering supplies and medication to people selfisolating in the Holme Valley. Thank you to all those helping our community to weather this pandemic.

THE Parish Council has had to continually adjust the way it works and manages its business under the developing circumstances of the pandemic. For example, having suspended all Council meetings on March 23, the Council has recently re-started its meetings online via the Zoom platform. One of the Council’s concerns about moving to virtual meetings was a worry that some Councillors might be excluded from the process by a lack of computer knowhow. But all Councillors have fully committed to the process, have engaged with the technology, and each has contributed to virtual meetings to debate and vote on decisions of the Council. Thus the Council is returning to much of its regular business including, for example, the processing of grant applications. The schedule of upcoming Council meetings and Committee meetings can be found on the Parish Council website (www. holmevalleyparishcouncil.gov. uk) and members of the public are encouraged to request

invites to attend the virtual meetings from the Clerk. With the Council’s officers, too, while the Clerk and Deputy Clerk do, in the main, still work from home, they now have occasional office days at the Civic Hall. However, they never share the office at the same time and follow other agreed guidance on infection-control. The Council office remains closed to the general public for the time being. The Council’s maintenance contractor has recently returned to his duties maintaining the Council’s many public benches across the Holme Valley. However, his other responsibility involving the day-to-day management of the Holmfirth public toilets remains suspended, but how long it is until they reopen is currently under review. Some other Council-funded services like the minibus service likewise remain suspended, but the Council is hopeful that things will begin to return to normal as guidance from the government changes.


Police operation on speeding drivers is declared a success By Josh Timlin

A POLICE operation aimed at cracking down on speeding drivers using the Holme Valley’s picturesque roads has been hailed as a huge success. Social distancing was also covered in the blitz around the area in midJune and a ward councillor, who accompanied officers throughout the day, says the exercise was a model of community engagement. “The community engagement aspect was brilliant,” said Coun David Greenhough. “And we want to keep that going – especially considering what is going on in the world right now.” Four teams of officers covered the whole area – from Penistone’s centre to villages such as Hade Edge, Thurgoland and Ingbirchworth. Working with the speed camera partnership, police issued speeding tickets to a number of motorists and others were advised to

watch their speed. “The officers were not heavy-handed but there was enforcement,” said Coun Greenhough, who regularly patrols the area with police. “Poor weather meant fewer people were out and about but these ops are planned well in advance and you can’t rely on conditions being just as you would want them. “But the presence sent out the message that this is a live issue. “Going forward we want

to keep this community engagement going. “We have new senior officers in place and new PCs coming through so hopefully we can build proper engagement and trust. “We want people to work hand in hand with the police, something that is especially relevant just now. “Police and community are on opposite sides in some places and I don’t want to see this area be one of those places.”

Holme Valley Review, June 2020 – 5

Wildlife venture out of their usual habitats in lockdown MANY local people across the Holme Valley have noticed an abundance of wildlife and loud birdsong in their gardens during the lengthy lockdown period. This is something echoed by the National Trust whose rangers and gardeners report birds and mammals venturing out of their usual territories. Rare sightings and uncharacteristic behaviours have been noted by staff at the Trust, who say the absence of visitors appears to have made wildlife bolder, with birds and mammals venturing out of their usual habitats. On our doorstep in the Peak District, rangers have reported being able to hear the call of the curlew in areas that are normally

much busier. There have been reports nationally of peregrine falcons nesting in castle ruins, partridges wandering in car parks and cuckoos callings in places not heard for years. Plants too have been taking advantage of the quiet, with delicate forest floor species like bluebells and wood anemones flourishing this year. Ben McCarthy, head of nature conservation at the National Trust, said: “It has only been weeks but wildlife seems to be enjoying the breathing space. “With less traffic and fewer people, we’ve heard deafening levels of birdsong and seen famous monuments and formal gardens colonised by wildlife. “Nature’s recovery is still

a long way off, but the fact that people are noticing what’s around them is something to be celebrated. We hope this renewed sense of value for the outdoors will continue, with people making the most of their urban and rural green spaces and supporting their local conservation projects.” As attractions like the National Trust prepare to open again, he said: “Over the last few weeks we’ve seen endangered birds, as well as more common wildlife, expanding their territories and nesting in places they wouldn’t normally. “As the lockdown begins to be eased, we all need to play our part to ensure that this wildlife remains undisturbed.’’

Hourly and Live-in Home Care by The Care Collection

website homecare.co.uk The company also received a “Good” rating in all five areas from CQC with the inspector noting “without exception, all the people that we spoke to told us staff provided personalised care and support that was extremely responsive to the needs of the people who used the service”. Commenting on the CQC inspection rating, Catherine added: “We are incredibly proud to have received this rating. By recruiting caring and committed people and putting our Clients’ needs at the forefront of our service, we have created a compassionate culture which ensures we deliver a service that the community can rely on and trust.” To learn more about The Care Collection, please get in touch on 01484 521712 or office@thecarecollection. co.uk or visitwww. thecarecollection.co.uk

Award winning Home Care in Kirklees Services range from Companionship, Domestic Support and Personal Care through to more Complex Care. The length of service can be tailored from 1 hour visits to 24/7 care. TOP

20 AWARD

19

live-in care where a dedicated carer lives with the client 24 hours a day, seven days a week to meet all their needs. The Care Collection’s hourly and live-in care service offers numerous benefits over care homes. First and foremost, it allows people to stay in the comfort and security of their own home, surrounded by cherished memories; they can maintain their independence and freedom to set their own schedule and live life the way they choose. Hourly home care is also a more cost-effective option and live-in care is especially economical for couples who would otherwise be required to pay for two beds in a care home. In both 2018 and 2019 The Care Collection was recognised as one of the top 20 home care providers in Yorkshire based on client reviews on independent review

20

THE Care Collection’s hourly and live-in home care service provides a life-enhancing alternative to a care home enabling individuals in Kirkless to continue to enjoy life and independence at home. Drawing on many years’ care experience, Honley resident Catherine Haigh founded The Care Collection to raise the standards of Home Care. She said: “During my time working in care I saw poor practice and lack of knowledge, with many care companies being run with inadequate leadership by people with no care experience. I felt compelled to help and so The Care Collection was born.” The Care Collection develops and implements a model of home care delivery which is entirely clientfocussed, enabling people to lead meaningful and active lives. Continuity of staff is key to the service they offer, and they ensure their carers have time to care through minimum one-hour visits. The hourly home care services range from support with everyday living including companionship, domestic support, medication assistance and personal care through to more complex care for people with conditions such as Dementia, Parkinson’s and Diabetes. They also provide

01484 521712 | www.TheCareCollection.co.uk | Office@TheCareCollection.co.uk The Care Collection, Unit 25, Queens Square Business Park, Holmfirth HD9 6QZ


6 – Holme Valley Review, June 2020

Lido remembered in old cine footage

By Susan Hampshire

OLD cine footage has been reviving memories of by-gone days in the Holme Valley when Holmfirth had its own lido. The story of Holmfirth Lido – an outdoor swimming pool accessed via Goose Green – was committed to film in 1999 by two members of the former Huddersfield Cine Club Trevor Spencer and David Whitworth. Recently the film footage has re-emerged to tell the story of Holmfirth’s tourist attraction in the 1930s and 1940s. The film was so good that Trevor and David were awarded the Denham Gold Trophy at Movie 2000 from the International Amateur Film and Video Festival. Trevor said: “The original footage is from the 1930s when Holmfirth Lido was fully operational. “The old film was found years later in a mill being cleared in Milnsbridge and was given to Huddersfield Cine Club to look after.

I can remember going to Holmfirth to look where the remains of the old lido were in the grounds of Lido House in New Fold. “David and myself managed to contact some of the people who could remember the lido and they gave very graphic accounts of how cold the water was originally, coming straight from a spring which ran off Holme Moss. “As time passed, heating and filtration were fitted to the pool. “It was originally known as Bailey’s Bath, named after its creator Joseph Bailey.’’ The film begins with the news that as well as ‘Last of the Summer Wine’, Holmfirth also had another tourist attraction which attracted visitors from far and wide, just a stone’s throw from Nora Batty’s cottage which was made famous years ago by the BBC TV programme. Holmfirth Lido was described as a `magnet for thousands of pleasure

seekers’ and was the idea of Joseph Bailey who had a joinery business based in New Fold Joinery Works. This former woollen mill had a small dam/mill pond where local people often used to paddle. The film includes an interview with Katharine Ballantyne, who was Joseph’s daughter. She explained that her father had the idea to turn the dam into a more modern swimming pool. Access to the pool was via Goose Green, the old road to Cartworth Moor, with the ladies changing rooms in the old mill and the men’s changing in a shed at the top of the banking. The lido was screened off with a high fence. Katharine explained that the spring water which supplied the lido was extremely cold. The water was from a spring which served the old Cartworth Township. Within weeks of opening in August 1930, the boiler in the mill was ready to supply

heated water to the shallow end and at first, great clouds of steam could be seen as the lido was supplied with warm water. In time the whole pool area was concreted and terracing added at the sides for spectators. The film tells viewers that Holmfirth Lido was known for miles around with people coming to swim from Manchester, Sheffield, Wakefield and other nearby towns. The pool was regularly packed with swimmers of all ages. In 1933 a new filtration system was fitted and to celebrate, a swimming gala was held which included a swimming display from four-year-old Tom Ward from Ashton-under-Lyne, described as `a boy wonder’. In 1934 the Bailey family moved into Lido House which they built with a flat roof to avoid blocking the evening sun from the bathers below. Over the years the pool was used by local schoolchildren and

Katharine recalled one occasion in May when schoolchildren visited the pool to find it snowing in Holmfirth - but they still had to go in and swim while their teacher stood on the edge wearing his overcoat. She said that children from nearby Nabb School were among those who regularly used the pool. Holmfirth Lido was open from the end of April to early October and in 1932 electric lighting was installed to allow midnight bathing. In 1936 a glass canopy was built behind a chute at the far end of the pool to shelter swimmers from the weather coming from Holme Moss. A little shop opened to sell refreshments and particularly popular were cups of hot Oxo which sold for one old penny. In 1936, old reports say that a rival pool was opened at a house off Greenfield Road but this pool was quite exposed and never succeeded.

The old 16mm cine film was made by Huddersfield Cine Club founder member Kenneth Lockwood who captured the fun and carefree atmosphere of the time. The Lido operated during the war years but after Joseph’s death in August 1948, his family ran it for another season before it closed in 1949. Attempts to find a buyer were unsuccessful and the pool was drained in 1952 and the fixtures dismantled. n In more recent times the former Huddersfield Cine Club has renamed itself as Huddersfield Film Makers Club. At the moment its meetings have been affected by Government restrictions but in normal times, it meets twice a month at Paddock Conservative Club. If anyone is interested in joining or going along to a meeting when restrictions ease, call 01484 658248 or visit www. huddersfieldfilmmakersclub. org.uk

Online learning helps children’s studies during school closures Proven Methods • Qualified Teachers • Personalised Learning Programmes At Kip McGrath, our focus is to help your child reach their full potential

4 Maths 4 English 4 Primary 4 Secondary 4 SATS 4 GCSEs 4 Entrance Exams Kip McGrath Education Centre Holmfirth First Floor, 36 Victoria Street, Holmfirth, HD9 7DE

Tel 01484 508880 I www.kipmcgrath.co.uk

WE are currently living through history. None of us know how long it will be before schools are operating ‘normally’, yet it looks as though it will be some time. We are faced with the monumental task of keeping our children motivated well enough to learn for themselves. Many schools have sent out work packs, but it is down to parents to ensure that the work is completed. Many parents are struggling with this. What will happen next year when GCSE candidates will still be expected to take the examinations, even though they have missed a considerable

amount of their education? We might be able to help. Kip McGrath has been delivering online tuition for over three years. It is an incredibly effective means of educating a student. So how does it work? It works very much in the same way that in-centre sessions are taught. It uses the Kip McGrath resources and a student is taught in a virtual classroom with a qualified and experienced teacher in real time. Students really thrive on the online lessons when they realise that much is as it is in-centre. We use a bespoke curriculum, unique to your child’s strengths and individual needs, which is

fully in line with the National Curriculum. We are able to deliver tuition from early readers right through to GCSE and even some adult learners. Most learners will have one 80-minute session per week. We use lots of positive reinforcement to encourage our students to feel motivated. It is incredibly beneficial. If you are interested in finding out more then visit www. kipmcgrath.co.uk where you can also book a FREE assessment We will reopen for in-centre lessons as soon as the Government gives us the go-ahead.


Holme Valley Review, June 2020 – 7

Residents are urged to avoid using barbecues By Josh Timlin HOLME Valley residents considering lighting a disposable barbecue when returning to the area’s outdoor beauty spots have been urged to refrain – after emergency services rushed to put out a ‘nearcatastrophic’ blaze last month. Fire crews were part of a team involved in tackling fast-spreading flames which resulted in an estimated 1,500 hectares - the equivalent of almost 2,000 football pitches – of moorland near Holmfirth being ruined last year and sprang into action again. Firefighters joined gamekeepers and farmers near High Bradfield, on the edge of the Peak District, to combat the fire which eyewitnesses claimed was caused by a disposable barbecue. Simon Gurney, of The Moorland Association, said: “Yet again a disaster has been averted thanks to the efforts of gamekeepers and land managers who are there, round the clock, to tackle this kind of outbreak.

“We were lucky this time that there was not a southerly wind to fan the flames up over the edge to the heather tops. “That would have been an unstoppable inferno due to the massive fuel load that the government has allowed to build up alongside inaction to mitigate wildfire. “The huge private investment in firefighting equipment and gamekeeper expertise is totally undervalued, but perhaps the disaster averted will bring into sharp focus the lessons that must now be learned and acted upon. “These landscapes must be managed by man, or wildfire will manage them for us.” Given the severity of grassland fires last year, which saw more than 1,000 reports being made with a particular rise between May and August, multicouncil appeals have been to the public to take responsibility. “As well as the obvious dangers to people and the potentially huge financial cost to property damage,

putting out grassland fires takes up fire crews’ valuable time which could be needed elsewhere to save a life,” a Kirklees Council spokesman said. “Much of the grassed areas the council own are also important wildlife habitats, not only offering safe havens for groundnesting birds and small mammals, but they are also rich in invertebrate food and home to many pollinating insects. “Given how easily fires can be accidentally started by disposable barbecues, we urge the public to seriously consider the likely consequences of their actions before purposefully lighting one.” Swathes of the Holme Valley’s countryside is owned by Yorkshire Water, where it is illegal to use disposable barbecues or start any fire, although barbecues are permitted in some other council-owned areas. Lisa Harrowsmith, land and property lead surveyor for Yorkshire Water, added: “It is illegal to have barbecues on moorland and we have seen recently

the huge damage they can cause. “Wildfires are not only dangerous but devastate local ecosystems in many ways. “They can destroy peat soils formed over thousands of years, which results in loss of valuable habitat and wildlife such as birds, reptiles and insects. “The source of much of the water we use in Yorkshire comes from our moorland catchment zones. “The problem with wildfires is that they cause this land to dry out, which increases peat sediment getting into reservoirs and causes water colour problems. “It is therefore vital that we limit their occurrences rather than having to keep paying more money to treat the water. “Our aim is to reduce the incidents of wildfire, ensure best practice on current managed moors by gamekeepers, and minimise the impacts of wildfires when they do occur.”

Rec named on annual index CLIFF Recreation Ground, which overlooks Holmfirth, is listed in the 2020 Fields in Trust Green Space Index. This annual barometer from the Fields in Trust organisation confirms there are millions of people in the UK without easy access to a local park or green space. Despite the current importance to get out into the fresh air, Fields in Trust say the situation could get much worse if the provision of green space is not protected. Yorkshire, The East Midlands, London, the North East and the North West all fall below the minimum level. The 2020 index shows 2,852 legally protected UK spaces which includes Cliff Recreation Ground, protected under the Queen Elizabeth 11 Fields historic protection programme. This programme protects nearly 1,400 spaces including children’s playgrounds, bicycle trails, woodlands, nature reserves and coastal paths. Cliff Recreation Ground first opened to the public over 100 years ago.

At the Holme Valley Review, we try to get things right but occasionally, we make mistakes. If you have a complaint about a story featured in our newspaper, please contact the newsdesk on 01226 734262 or by email: editorial@barnsley-chronicle. co.uk We abide by the Editors’ Code of Practice as demanded by the Independent Press Standards Organisation. For details on the code and what to do should you be unsatisfied with the way we handle your complaint, please visit www. ipso.co.uk

Farmers Robert and David Nicholson of Cannon Hall Farm. Photo credit: Guzelian Ltd

Farmers win award for daily broadcasts THE farmers of Cannon Hall Farm have scooped a national award after thousands of people said daily broadcasts have lifted their spirits during lockdown. The Telegraph’s Lockdown Awards received more than 1,500 nominations across 11 categories from bakers and makers to teachers, singers, photographers and farmers like Robert and David Nicholson of Cannon Hall Farm. The farm secured more than 10,000 votes from people who had been watching their daily broadcasts. A spokesman for the awards said: “It was spirit raising to hear of how brothers Robert and David Nicholson of Cannon Hall Farm have been broadcasting uplifting snapshots of life on their farm via Facebook Live

since lockdown began, and were nominated for our hugely popular Lockdown Lift category award, by over 30 avid fans. “These Yorkshire farmers – who have been streaming lamb and goat kid births live for us to enjoy at home – are nothing short of extraordinary. “Like so many inspiring people across the country, they have come up with fun, unique and determined ways – laudable for sheer innovation – to keep morale up, even on the darkest days.   “It was our pleasure and privilege to name them as our Lockdown Lift award winners. “ Robert and David continue their live broadcasts – and thanks to their popularity have secured a spot on the new Channel 5 TV Show ‘This Week on The Farm’.

made to your own specification

Ltd

CROSSLEY MILLS, HONLEY • 01484 666333 Established 20 years

Open as usual

DANIEL Fitzpatrick and his team at Honley based Oak and Pine By Design are now open as normal and glad to be back doing what they do best. As business gradually starts to pick up after the enforced lockdown, Dan says he welcomes enquiries from new and existing customers looking for his handcrafted kitchens and other bespoke items for their homes. Based at Unit 3, Crossley Mills, Honley, the business also has a showroom which is open Monday to Friday 9am to 5.30pm and Saturday 10am to 2pm. The showroom is now open to the public as normal. All aspects of the business – kitchens, furniture making, paint stripping service and woodturning – are all now up and running as normal. During the shutdown period of the last few weeks, Dan was kept busy with his Double Dipper paint stripping service, ideal to bring doors, gates, railings and outdoor furniture back to life. Dan is known primarily for his beautiful handcrafted kitchens which can transform your home and living space and are available in a choice of European Oak, American Oak, Pine, Beech, Mahogany or Walnut. He also makes furniture to order for all rooms of the house. Take a look at the website www. handmadekitchensyorkshire.co.uk to see examples of his work.

• Bespoke Kitchens and Bedrooms • Furniture and Staircase Restoration • Oak Flooring • New and Reclaimed Doors • Woodturning Spindles After

DOUBLE DIPPER PAINT STRIPPING SERVICE We carry out a comprehensive furniture stripping and restoration service. Original door and furniture stripping from any era, also cast iron & metal.

Before

Before

Visit www. doubledipper paintstrippers.co.uk

After

Open Mon - Fri 9am - 5.30pm • Sat 10am - 2pm www.handmadekitchensyorkshire.co.uk www.spindleswoodturning.com

Visit our showroom and workshops at Unit 3, Crossley Mills, New Mill Road, Honley HD9 6PL (next to Safari Sam play gym)


8 – Holme Valley Review, June 2020

Military campaigner Joe Pinguey

Campaigner working to mark VJ Day A DETERMINED effort to mark a second wartime milestone is being made by Penistone’s military campaigner Joe Pinguey. He is working on ways to honour the 75th anniversary of VJ Day – Victory over Japan – in August and the idea is already taking shape. Disappointed that events to pay tribute to VE75 Day last month were cancelled due to the lockdown, Joe is working flat out to ensure some kind of commemoration goes ahead in August. With the help of Marlene Marshall of Penistone Archives, he is appealing for any veterans’ relatives to make contact. “I would like them to get in touch if they had a relative who served with the ‘Forgotten Army’ and the Burma Campaign during the Second World War,” said Joe, who intends to compile a roll of honour for the VJ75 anniversary. Also, with the help of resident Jack Briggs and ward alliance funding, Joe has designed a dual-purpose VE-VJ woven flag which is being produced by Flagmakers near Chesterfield and which will be displayed on the ceremonial flagpole at Penistone Grammar School on appropriate dates every year. And if he can get some VJ memorabilia, the war memorial will be decorated again for VJ75 Day on Saturday, August 15. “I will do my utmost to carry on supporting such anniversaries as the veterans of such events are diminishing every year,” said Joe.

Honley residents Bernadette Couldwell, Dorothy Allport and Roger Bray who are part of the pioneering pen pal scheme.

Pen pal project unites generations By Susan Hampshire

A PIONEERING pen pal project is uniting the generations in Honley. The project was set up by Honley Volunteers co-ordinator Sylvia Sellen and the head of Honley CE (VC) Junior, Infant and Nursery School, Linda Goodall, to address the loneliness of those in self isolation and that of school children at home during Covid-19. The project marries people in isolation, due to health issues or age, with junior school pupils. A short profile and a photograph of the isolated person is sent to teachers who then allocate appropriate pen pal partnerships. Linda said: “The Pen Pal project is a wonderful example of how intergenerational communications can benefit both children and those finding themselves isolated and lonely. “For some time, we

The card designed by schoolchildren to promote the pen pal scheme. and love learning about have been trying to their pen-pal. forge safe and beneficial “We are adding people relationships between every day and plan to generations and this idea integrate the scheme into has blossomed into a our curriculum.’’ truly magical reality. The pen pals include: “Community volunteers n Dorothy Allport has have identified more lived in Honley for 60 than 40 people so far years and although she in Honley who would benefit from being part of has help with shopping and gardening, she the scheme – and other is missing her usual volunteers have been activities and seeing her busy gathering personal family. stories and photographs “My letter from George to pass to the children. “The children can’t wait is smashing,” she said. “It is so lovely to have a to receive their replies

connection with children and we have a love of photography in common. “The letters have really brought a smile to my face.” n Retired solicitor Bernadette Couldwell is a champion for education and has loved the communication with her pen pal. She said: “It was great to hear from William; it cheered me up no end and it is a wonderful letter, all typed up for me so it is easy to read. “It is a great project that connects the generations and would not have happened if it wasn’t for the pandemic.” n Roger Bray usually loves to get out and join in every social event he can. If he wasn’t having to self-isolate he would be singing in three choirs. The letters from his pen pal have helped Roger feel more involved in the wider community He said: “I’m amazed

at how far young people have progressed in school nowadays. “Josh’s letters are so well written. “It is nice to see that Josh is so advanced; he will do well.’’ Sylvia is hoping to secure a small grant to supply paper and stamps and run the scheme with Honley Library, the perfect home to provide a positive legacy for Honley. It has even been mentioned in the national press by Telegraph columnist Bryony Gordon who asked for local ‘Corona Heroes’ nominations. Local resident Jenny Lockwood nominated Sylvia, putting Honley on the map again. The Rev Martin Short of St Mary’s Church said: “This is a fantastic project that has really connected young and old. “I hope it will continue even when we move back into a new reality.’’

Reservoir car parks reopened after restrictions lifted CAR parks at Digley and Langsett Reservoirs were among the first to be reopened to visitors by Yorkshire Water after worries about coronavirus forced their closure. Since Government

guidelines have eased, restrictions have been lifted on several reservoir car parks across the county. Yorkshire Water is asking people to observe social distancing while out walking.

Other reservoir car parks will continue to be assessed. The opening of the Digley Reservoir car park comes just weeks after problems with car parking on reservoir approach roads which

on one occasion caused access problems for a fire engine. There has also been an appeal nationwide for walkers to take their litter home from the countryside and parks. Over the recent Spring

Bank Holiday, there was a big increase in the amount of litter left behind. Emergency services also want to remind people about the dangers of barbecues following a fire at Digley Reservoir.

Keeping members fit Waiting times ANNE Little and her team at the local tALkactive organisation are doing all they can to help their members stay fit with online classes and Zoom sessions. With tALKactive’s Zumba and Pilates classes having to close during lockdown, Anne and her team have come up with innovative ways of making regular fitness classes still available. As tALKactive celebrates its 10th anniversary, Anne has recorded online workout classes which can be accessed any time and as often as you like at www.talkactive. thinkific.com You can also register at this website for a free trial of recorded ZUMBA, ZUMBA Gold and Pilates classes. She is also hosting these classes live on Zoom for those who want to exercise at home and enjoy a social get together at the same time. For more information about how to get involved and experience classes on ZOOM, contact anne@talkactive.co.uk or ring 07899751049.

Anne Little ZUMBA Gold is for active older adults and those returning to fitness. Anne said: “It is even more important for people to stay active at this difficult time.’’ tALKactive specialises in fitness for the over 50s and those returning to exercise. Normally it holds classes all over the local area. Anne also runs chair-based Just Movement classes for older people and is doing all she can to help elderly members avoid isolation by helping them get online. Go to www.talkactive.co.uk for more information.

LOCAL people wanting to use the valley’s waste recycling centres can now check the waiting times. Regularly updated details are now available to view on the Kirklees website at www.kirklees.gov.uk/wastesites Maps also show the area where motorists should queue. Those using the recently reopened tips at Bent Ley Road, Meltham and Bromley Farm off Barnsley Road, Upper Cumberworth will find the waiting times updated on a regular basis. This is to ensure everyone can stay two metres apart with only a few vehicles allowed into each waste centre at a time. Queues will be closed if there are issues for blue light services and key workers. Queues can also be closed if motorists are unlikely to reach the front of the queue before closing times. If the queue is full, motorists are likely to be turned away while numbers reduce. Waste centres were reopened a few weeks ago following an upsurge in fly tipping. One particularly bad area of fly tipping was on Holme Moss where much of the rubbish was dumped on the Derbyshire side of the border.


Holme Valley Review, June 2020 – 9

Firms struggling to access government cash should call MP By Josh Timlin

BUSINESSES struggling to access government coronavirus cash are being urged to contact a local MP for help. Miriam Cates admits the scheme to help firms survive the lockdown ‘has its flaws’. But she says she can take up individual cases where problems are cropping up. “If people are struggling, they should reach out for help,” said Miriam, MP for Penistone and Stocksbridge. “Business support is coming through and my message is to those who have applied and are having problems, get in touch with me. The scheme is improving but it is not without its flaws. I can take up individual cases as I know this help is often critical.” Miriam says she has had a lot of contact from businesses, forming a high proportion of her casework. Firms are asking what support is out there. “I can break it down for individuals as there is a lot

of new information and I can direct people in the right direction,” she said. “A small but significant number trying to access the business loan scheme have had problems and government has now issued new rules to banks regarding loan guarantees. Things have improved, so for those who maybe failed first time around, give it another go. If there are still problems, I am happy to try to help. “The aim is keep businesses afloat and if that is not happening we need to take another look. “I know many small concerns are unsure as to how their firms can carry on.” Miriam praised local councils for their handling of the lockdown situation. “I know the council has been quick to issue rate relief grants and that is fantastic,” she said. “The authority has also dealt with some cases of hardship due to anxiety about what the next few months will bring.

“Councils continue to do a brilliant job in redeploying staff and helping businesses with grants. I am really impressed. So a big thank you to all concerned.” Carol Topham from Wakefield The MP feels the lockdown (Blacker Hall Farm Shop) measures are going well, adding: “Reality is kicking in and we can’t stop a negative impact of some kind. It is hard - the main thing is to keep people in work so we can recover when the time is right.” She thinks the that, in FAMILY run Blacker Hall some ways, the next phase Farm Shop has shown of the lockdown will be its support to Carers of easier. Wakefield and District as “We are getting into the part of National Carers week habit of a different life and by donating 20 of its sweet have worked through the Treat Boxes for carers and immediate changes,” she their loved ones to enjoy at said. “But the more we miss face-to-face contact and loss home. The Carers of Wakefield of income there could be and District organisation difficult relationships in the support unpaid carers who home. look after elderly, disabled “Some people are also or seriously ill relatives and going to have to start making decisions about their friends. This year they are unable health. Some conditions will to celebrate National Carers become urgent if not dealt week with their usual annual with.”

Carers and District Organisation (left) and Tracy Rose

Farm shop shows support for carers with donations carers break due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The event usually provides a welcome respite and allows carers to recharge their batteries and relax from their caring role for a short time. Carol Topham and Kay Sanderson, carer support and liaison workers, collected the Treat Boxes from the Farm Shop to make a special doorstep delivery to the carer network. They said: “Our carer network and their loved ones were absolutely delighted

to receive these lovely Treat Boxes and we are very thankful for Blacker Hall Farm Shop for its generosity.” The team from Blacker Hall Farm Shop in Wakefield said: “We wanted to treat local unpaid carers during this uncertain time. “We know that they are all working so hard behind closed doors to support their loved ones and we are delighted to have the opportunity to recognise their dedication.’’


• Tyres • Batteries • Exhausts • Service • MOT • Engine Computer • Diagnostics • Service & Sensor • Lights Reset • Brake Replacement

SERVICING

CUSTOMERS

SINCE 1981

WE ARE NOW A BLACKLION TYRES DEALER

NOW INSTALLED THE ABSOLUTE LATEST IN 4 WHEEL ALIGNMENT • SAVINGS TO BE MADE ON BRAKE REPLACEMENT • ONLY PREMIUM PRODUCTS USED • QUICK AND RELIABLE SERVICE EVERY TIME

PLEASE, PLEASE REMEMBER TO CHECK YOUR TYRES! REMEMBER CHARLIE’S TYRE SHOPS ARE WITH YOU ALL THE WAY!

MELTHAM TYRE & EXHAUST CENTRE CHARLIE’S TYRE SHOP WHY BUY USED TYRES 25 CARLILE STREET, CROSS ROADS, NEW MILL ROAD, WHEN YOU CAN BUY NEW MELTHAM HD9 4NP HONLEY TEL: 01484 854 600 TEL: 01484 666 916 SOMETIMES FOR LESS AT LAST, the government are about to take steps and regulate part worn tyres fitted

i.e. the safety, the age and the condition. All this is due to a large number of campaigns following tyre related accidents and deaths on the road. Tyre manufacturers state that when a tyre is removed after a period of time it should be scrapped and NOT reused!


Holme Valley Review, June 2020 – 11

Summer Motoring Keeping your vehicle in a good condition AS MORE and more people return to work and are using their cars instead of public transport, it’s even more important to keep vehicles in good condition. Many workers are choosing to drive at the moment, rather than travel by bus or train, to keep themselves as safe as possible. Local garages are now open as normal and available to help you keep your car in good shape for those essential work journeys. Whether you need a service, MOT or a repair, your local garage is able to help. Show your support for local businesses like garages at this critical time and help them survive in this difficult economic time.

PARKSIDE GARAGE Things are getting back to normal at Huddersfield’s Parkside Garage in Somerset Road. Although the garage remained open with a reduced staff during the lockdown period, proprietor Mick Leech says it is now becoming easier to get vehicle parts as suppliers reopen and get back to normal working. During lockdown Parkside Garage remained open for its loyal customers and carried out servicing, MOTs and Car parking charges throughout Kirklees are to be waived until September to encourage people to visit town centres and help build a stronger local economy. Councillor Peter McBride, Cabinet Member for Regeneration, said: “Retailers are working hard to make sure people can shop safely. As we have seen at supermarkets and food stores over recent weeks, this means limiting how many people can shop at one time and queueing outside when it gets busy. So please keep your distance, be patient and be kind to each other and the people who are serving you. It’s also worth remembering that our parks and open spaces remain available for people who want to get some fresh air or meet in a socially distanced group of up to six people.”

repairs as usual. Although the garage is a Jaguar and Land Rover specialist, it also welcomes all other motorists and makes of cars. Mick said that screens and appropriate distancing have been put in place for customers and hand sanitiser is available. Any motorist who wishes to have their car MOT carried out on the normal date and not wait for the extension recently announced by the Department of Transport is welcome to contact Mick and his team. Members of the highly skilled garage team have a wealth of experience gained over many years in the automotive industry. The Parkside Garage has all the latest diagnostic

equipment which allows mechanics to test, solve, repair and reset any issues your vehicle may have. Customers can now find it even easier to use the Parkside Garage services with a new online appointment booking system. Simply go to the website www.theparksidegarage. co.uk and follow the instructions to get your appointment date and time confirmed.

CHARLIE’S TYRES The business owner of Charlie’s Tyre Shop says he wishes to thank all his loyal customers for their support during the coronavirus pandemic. Mike said: “Because of their support, we managed to

stay open without the need to furlough any staff.’’ Charlie’s Tyre Shop has been serving the local community since 1981 and is the name many Holme Valley motorists rely on. With tyre shops in both Honley and Meltham, it’s the place to go for tyres and much more. Established in 1981 at Crossroads, New Mill Road, Honley and in 2004 at Meltham Tyre & Exhaust Centre in Carlile Street, Meltham, Charlie’s Tyres looks after hundreds of local

motorists every year. Mike also wants to draw people’s attention to a scam letter he has recently received, posted directly to his home address. Mike feels that others need to be aware that such letters are circulating. The letter from a Hong Kong bank informs Mike that he is a beneficiary of monies from a deceased man with the same surname. The writer then proposes that he and Mike split the money 50/50 and keep the matter confidential. He said: “What really concerned me was that the letter was sent with my name, address and postcode.’’ Scams Awareness Fortnight 2020, a national campaign, is currently running until the end of June and is drawing particular attention to scams emerging due to coronavirus.

MUSLIN HALL GARAGE Local Holme Valley motorists always trust the longestablished Muslin Hall Garage on New Mill Road,

Holmfirth to look after all their motoring needs. It’s business as usual during the current crisis as garage owner Steve Parr and his team aim to do their very best to keep everyone’s cars running efficiently. Steve says the garage is working as normal and adhering to all the Covid-19 regulations. Established well over 40 years in the Holme Valley, the garage is always happy to carry out vehicle servicing, MOTs, brake checks and much more. The garage, which has its own MOT testing station, also offers mechanical repairs, air conditioning checks, tyres, exhausts and vehicle diagnostics. Steve says local motorists are welcome to bring their vehicle in for MOT on the original due date if they so wish, rather than extend the date by six months as agreed by the Department of Transport. All models of cars are welcome along with vans and light commercials. The garage is open six days a week including Saturday mornings.


12 – Holme Valley Review, June 2020

MP ‘puts neck on the line’ in adviser row By Josh Timlin

LOCAL MP Miriam Cates says she has ‘put her neck on the line’ in the Dominic Cummings row. The Penistone and Stocksbridge representative appeared on prime-time BBC last month to speak up for the Prime Minister’s chief adviser. And a backlash from across the country has even included ‘some could break in. nasty abuse’ amid public We’ve now installed CCTV anger over allegations and, while reviewing footage, that Mr Cummings broke discovered that our bottle coronavirus lockdown rules fed lambs like to roam when by travelling from London they think no one’s looking. to Durham with his wife and They were strolling around child. the yard, grazing the front “But I have had plenty of field and relaxing on the supportive messages too,” patio before returning to said Miriam. their paddock in time for “I have represented the their morning feed. people of Penistone and told In the coming weeks we the government what people hope to receive information think on both sides of the about how and when we argument.” can reopen our bed and Miriam spoke out during breakfast. the daily pandemic update It is sad maintaining an after Mr Cummings gave a empty building. lengthy press conference A few of our wholesale explaining why he travelled farm shop customers are 260 miles when people were also returning and we are being told to ‘stay home’. continuing to deliver fruit, He claims he and his wife veg and bread alongside our were showing signs of illness meat to local residents. and he wanted to secure The feedback from childcare from family. customers has been brilliant. She said she did the highprofile programme because the issue is something about which she feels strongly as a parent of three children herself. “I accept Dominic Cummings’ explanation and

Busy getting through jobs WE’VE accomplished so much on the farm this past month that we can hardly believe it’s only June. We’re usually chasing our tails by now with a growing list of fine weather tasks. Andrew sheared 55 of our ewes with Anna and Emily’s help (I say help, they soon discovered the wool bag makes a perfect sun bathing mat) and taken our first cut of silage. Our silage yield is down two thirds compared to last year, but the grass was good so the silage we have should be nutritious. The dry weather is now causing problems. Like many gardens our reseeding is in much need of rain, and flow of water from our spring has started to slow. We haven’t been this short of water for a good few

years, and if we don’t have significant rainfall soon we may have to cart tanker loads of water onto the farm. The reseeded grass has been slow to grow and weeds have started to take over. We’ve sprayed the weeds and resown the bare patches with clover – fingers crossed it will establish and we’ll get a reasonable yield. Earlier in the month we had an attempted robbery at the farmhouse. We are light sleepers, ever since we had our quad bike stolen a couple of years ago, so fortunately, woke and disturbed them before they

Miriam Cates what he said was telling in that he knows others might not have done the same but that any reasonable person could understand why he did what he did,” said Miriam. “Having looked at the lockdown laws, it is clear to me that a person could leave home to get help for a vulnerable person or child. “I totally understand why people are angry and frustrated, but I think this has largely been down to a number of incorrect reports. “I have tried to put myself in Dominic Cummings’ position in terms of being a target, having threats made at his home and mobs of reporters at the door. “That is not normal. To feel your wife and child could become unwell in those circumstances. Everyone has been facing hardship in this crisis and many far worse than Mr Cummings. “But we should not be quick to judge. Parents have a right to protect their children but Dominic Cummings is not above the law.” Miriam says Mr Cummings

should not resign, adding: “There is no doubt it is a very difficult situation. It has dominated the media and it has been bad for the Conservative party. “But Boris Johnson has confidence in Dominic Cummings. He has not done anything illegal so should he be sacked because he is unpopular? “I have had a lot of backlash from across the country about my views, hundreds of emails and some nasty abuse but also supportive emails and posts on Facebook. “This is a difficult one. I have to do what I think is right. It is a matter of personal opinion and judgment. “It is time to move on now and deal with coronavirus. Certain sections of the media dislike Dominic Cummings but this is not a time for politics. “I have put my neck on the line. But just because someone is in the public eye does not mean they don’t have a right to protect their children.” Elected in last December’s general election, this was the first time Miriam has appeared on a flagship BBC news programme. Her name was put forward by Conservative HQ as a ‘balancing’ speaker in the Cummings debate. “I have previously done regional TV and Sky,” she said. “But this was a great experience.”

NOW AVAILABLE TO READ ONLINE www.holmevalleyreview.co.uk

DID YOU KNOW... • • • •

We print 16,500 copies per month. It is distributed to over 250 selected pick-up points around the Holme Valley and as far away as Wakefield, Penistone and Greenfield and all the villages in-between. Pick up your copy at local Co-operative stores and supermarkets Morrisons, Sainsbury’s and Tesco. Due to the current situation some of the smaller retail business are closed we have now doubled the copies distributed in supermarkets, co-operatives and our key selected pick up points which are fully open for business as usual. BEFORE AND AFTER: Chef Adam March has helped raise more than £2,500 for charity.

Adam’s close shave for charity To book your advertising space contact Gillian Cooper. Mobile: 07810 108003 E-mail: gilliancooper007@btinternet.com

For editorial/news stories contact Susan Hampshire. Mobile: 07952 978904 E-mail: editorialcopy@live.co.uk

PROFESSIONAL chef Adam March has literally had a ‘close shave’ experience. He’s just had all the hair cut off his head by his veterinary nurse wife Sally to help raise more than £2,500 for NHS Charities Together. Adam is group support head chef with The Coaching Inn Group, which operates the Old Bridge in Holmfirth, and 16 other hotels and inns in market towns across the country. He joined 11 other

group colleagues in a collective head shave via Zoom because everyone is currently on home furlough due to the xoronavirus epidemic. “To look a bit silly for a few weeks is an insignificant price to pay, in order to help out the NHS in some small way during these times ,” he said. Adam, who began his sponsored charity hair growing exercise 12 weeks ago, spends his working

life providing catering and relief head chef support right across the group from North Wales to the east coast. Chief executive Kevin Charity said group colleagues were doing their utmost to make a positive difference by supporting NHS charities and other good causes during these troubling times. Readers can contribute to the head shave fund at https://www.justgiving.com/ fundraising/teamwhr


Holme Valley Review, June 2020 – 13

As the nation gets it retail revival under way, shops and businesses are opening up across the Holme Valley and beyond. Now that non-essential shops have been given the go-ahead to open up, shopkeepers have put the necessary social distancing measures in place and opened up their doors to the shopping public once more. Even those businesses who can’t yet fully open yet are adapting so they can keep business running and supply their customers with take-aways. As towns and villages gradually come back to life, it’s really important to give them your support at this crucial time. Whether it’s foodstuffs, luxuries or homewares you’re looking for, shop local and maintain the neighbourhood spirit which has endured during this coronavirus crisis.

Simply Lighting

Bon Chocolat

Sons of the North SONS of the North at Armitage Bridge is now open every day with a pop-up cafe. This means you can still get many of your favourites from the popular cafe even during these difficult times. Luke and the team have worked hard to carry on supplying their valued loyal customers with the food they love. Open from 10am to 2pm, food and drink on sale includes the usual `Sons’ coffees using Dark Woods beans, sandwiches, paninis, ice cream, assorted cakes and tray bakes. Always a favourite, you can also order breakfast butties on Saturdays and Sundays, either online or by ringing 01484 508599. Order from 8am ready to collect from 10am (last telephone orders 12.30pm). These are available with bacon, sausage, fried egg, black pudding, mushrooms and hash browns. There is a wide choice of panini including bacon, brie and cranberry as well as Yorkshire halloumi with roast veg, and chicken, mozzarella and pesto,. Don’t worry if the weather is wet, there is a gazebo to keep you dry while you wait. Remember you can also buy deli items, cheese, wines and beers as well from the Sons of the North shop.

BON Chocolat has reopened for business after the lockdown limitations. It’s been a challenging time during the Covid-19 lockdown for everyone but the local high street has certainly felt the effect as independent businesses strive to adapt their business model to suit the everchanging retail environment. After months of trading solely online, Bon Chocolat has reopened its doors for instore purchasing. Opening hours may be temporarily reduced to 10am-3pm Monday to Saturday (closed Sundays), but customers can now browse the tempting treats for themselves. Following Government guidelines, social distancing measures have been put into place in store as well as an enhancement to the usual level of cleanliness to ensure the safety of staff and customers alike. For those opting to remain at home, Bon Chocolat is still running the reliable online ordering system, with reduced charges for local delivery: £1.50 for HD9 postcodes, £2.50 for other HD postcodes. The usual £5.99 courier rate still applies for deliveries elsewhere. Whether you are looking for a gift or something for you to indulge in, Bon Chocolat has something to suit every occasion. Pop into store, browse online, email or telephone for a bespoke shopping experience.

Blacker Hall Farm Shop

BY choosing to shop locally, you are supporting a family business and jobs for more than 140 local people. Indirectly you are also keeping our Yorkshire farmers, growers and small producers in business too. On behalf of all these people, we would like to say how much we appreciate it and thank you for your support. 80 per cent of everything

You can now read the Holme Valley Review online at www. holmevalley review.co.uk We’re also on Facebook @ holmevalley review

we sell at Blacker Hall Farm Shop is either made on-site or home-reared on our family farm. Everything else on offer is from other expert local producers and growers, so you can be assured that when you shop with us, you are getting the very best

fresh, local produce around! Blacker Hall Farm Shop is open seven days a week and we have social distancing measures in place for a safe shopping experience. You can also take advantage of our new Drive Thru Shop or online Click & Collect service. Further information can be found on our website www.blackerhallfarmshop. co.uk

NOW open as normal, the Simply Lighting showroom at Aspley reports that business is gradually picking up. With new ranges of both indoor and outdoor lighting, there is plenty of choice for the coming season. To allow social distancing and protect customers and staff, the showroom has been divided up into zones, a system which is working well so far. Hand sanitiser is also available for customers to use. Graham Reading, who runs Simply Lighting, said: “It’s going well so far. Business was a bit quiet at first but is picking up as people realise we are open. “Our new stock is now on display and we have a particularly good selection of lighting for gardens and the exterior of the home.’’ During lockdown Simply Lighting maintained its business presence with its online shop but Graham says it’s good to be back in the showroom. The showroom on Wakefield Road at Aspley is open six days a week.

Granite Worktops UK Ltd

THE Aspley showroom of Granite Worktops UK Ltd is now open again, Monday to Saturday. Business owners Paul and Deborah Bond say they are delighted to get back to normal business and welcome anyone looking for help and advice on either a granite or quartz worktop for their home. The showroom, open 10am to 4pm, has a selection of styles for people to choose from. Wipes and hand sanitizer are available for customers entering the showroom to help them feel as safe as possible. The business now offers a repair service to existing granite, quartz or Corian worktops which is carried out by Paul, so if your existing granite or quartz worktop has a chip or is damaged, get in touch for help with a repair. During lockdown the business kept its online presence, offering quotes and information by email or on the phone. The manufacturing side of the business reopened in May. All work is personally overseen by Paul and Deborah who pride themselves on high quality workmanship and complete customer satisfaction. Granite Worktops UK Ltd has worktops for all budgets from affordable ranges to more expensive.

Yorkshire Country Properties LOOKING for a new home? Take a look at Deynebrook in Netherthong. We are used to operating within health and safety guidelines and when the coronavirus UK lockdown was announced, we adapted our working practises to ensure that building work at our Deynebrook site did not stop. Construction and communication have remained open across the lockdown period, we’ve just had to adapt to using more digital channels to achieve this and ensure we’re adhering to social distancing guidelines.

Our onsite Marketing Suite has now been adapted in accordance with the latest Government guidance and we will continue with strict social distancing measures wherever face-toface contact is required. The Marketing Suite at Deynebrook is NOW OPEN again and our sales team is excited to welcome clients and visitors once more for exclusive appointments (booked in advance). Where customers wish to meet us in person or physically view our houses, it can be arranged with our team. All appointments must be

booked in advance and we cannot accommodate walkins until the Government announce that it is safe to do so. With the first of our properties on track to complete soon, we’re looking forward to welcoming our first home owners to their dream home! If you’d like to meet with our sales team to discuss properties, customisation and upgrade options or view a property in person, please contact our sales manager Sam on 01484 559454 or email hello@ yorkshirecountryproperties.

POP UP CAFE

FAMILY RUN BUSINESS OFFERING OUTSTANDING QUALITY & SERVICE

SHOWROOM

97 WAKEFIELD ROAD ASPLEY HUDDERSFIELD HD5 9AB TEL: 01484 516133 W W W . G R A N I T E U K LT D . C O M

SHOWROOM OPENING TIMES MON-SAT 10:00AM-4:00PM • SUN CLOSED

Open very day from 10am - 2pm Sandwiches • Paninis Assorted cakes and Tray Bakes Selection of Coffees • Ice Cream Breakfast Butties Sat/Sun

order on line or tel 01484 508599 to collect from 10am ( last orders 12.30pm)

NORTH LIGHT GALLERY BROOKS MILL BANKFOOT LANE ARMITAGE BRIDGE HD4 7NP e mail luke@sonsofthenorth.co.uk

Hoping to re-open July 4th


14 – Holme Valley Review, June 2020

Choir members make history in lockdown Plans to make region greener move ahead

reflected in the council’s local Walking and Cycling Strategic Framework. Plans currently under consideration include work on safety issues arising from insufficient pedestrian space for safe walking, including crowding at points in town and village centres and schools. The council will also look to create more space for safe local exercise around local parks and provide green alternatives to cars and public transport for key workers which may involve cycling facilities on key routes. Councillor Shabir Pandor, Leader of Kirklees Council said: “For as terrible and as difficult as the coronavirus pandemic has been, it has also taught us a lot. “One of those key lessons is that there is a genuine appetite for cycling, running and walking not just in Kirklees but across the world. I hope that something we take away from this is a renewed focus on travelling in an active and environmentally friendly way. “As a council we have two main roles and that is to make sure people who want to cycle or walk to work can do so in a safe way and also that we actively promote this as an option to people.”

LOCAL plans are moving ahead to encourage more residents to walk and cycle for work and leisure beyond the coronavirus pandemic. The Government wants to reduce the amount of people relying on public transport and cars so has made £2billion available to support projects such as cycle and walking routes via the Active Travel fund. Part of the local priority to tackle the Climate Emergency and throw weight behind these types of initiatives. The use of public transport and motor vehicles across the local area has substantially reduced during the coronavirus pandemic. The effects of these changes can already be seen with clearer roads and a notable reduction in air pollution. Kirklees Council is keen to build on this beyond the current lockdown period. The council is currently working on a number of initiatives to improve conditions for cyclists and pedestrians, including improvements to roads. There will also be work to encourage and enable behaviour change and to better promote active travel as a choice. All of these initiatives are

RADCLIFFE FUNERAL  SERVICE   Incorporating  F.  Lindley  &  Son  01484  682732  

By Susan Hampshire

MEMBERS of Honley Male Voice Choir have been making history..... still singing during the lockdown. As well as holding their first ever “virtual” AGM in the history of the choir, members have also been holding twice weekly rehearsals using Zoom technology. The choir has also produced two videos in support of NHS and key workers which have been viewed over a thousand times on YouTube. At the virtual AGM, over 30 members gathered on-line to hear reports from the president, chairman and musical director. The meeting also saw a presentation to Choir Member of the Year with the Ben Kinder (the choir’s founder) Trophy. This year the award went to Chris Flanagan for all his fundraising efforts. Life Membership was given to four choir members who had all given 40 years service to the choir – Gordon Boothroyd, Danny Bullett, Tony Sharpe and Keith Walker. Sadly, Danny died shortly afterwards. Honley Male Voice Choir is also delighted to announce the release of the first virtual performance of Howard

and concert programme are currently suspended due to the coronavirus situation, we have been busy staying safe, staying positive and taking care of ourselves and our loved ones. “When I heard the YouTube song demo, I contacted Howard to enquire whether an arrangement existed for male voice choirs, as I thought it would fit perfectly with our existing repertoire. “Thankfully there was, and so we set about learning and rehearsing the piece individually and during online video rehearsals using rehearsal tracks with the help of Catherine Hall-Smith, our accompanist. Howard then

set the challenge to be the first choir to post the arrangement online. “The song makes reference to Hindu/ Buddhist texts, the words of which resonate strongly with the selfless work undertaken by wonderful NHS staff and support staff for which we are all extremely grateful.’’ Howard Goodall has congratulated the choir on being the first to upload the arrangement. If there are any male singers who would like to join HMVC please get in touch. The choir is always looking for new patrons and sponsors who might wish to help financially. Look at the website www.honleymvc.co.uk

Parliamentary Corner

16 Westgate,   Honley,   Holmfirth,   HD9  6AA.  

with Jason McCartney MP

Raising local issues virtually

01484 662324  

www.radcliffefuneralservice.co.uk  

                           

Choir members enjoy their virtual singing conducted by Steven Roberts. Goodall’s latest work “Loving Kindness” written specifically for Aled Jones. A link to the YouTube video can be found here: www.youtube.com/ watch?v=kUGYBuuu010 The piece is dedicated to the sacrifice and courage of health workers during the 2020 COVID-19 pandemic and was written to help raise money for HEROES, a charity founded by NHS workers, for NHS workers from doctors and nurses to cleaners and porters. A link to the HEROES website can be found here: www.helpthemhelpus. co.uk Steven Roberts, musical director of Honley Male Voice Choir, said: “Although our rehearsals

An Independent  family  business  established  1964    

Jason McCartney

Farm shop

Mouthwatering Aberdeen Angus beef, succulent lamb & scrumptious pork reared in the Holme Valley.

Home delivery to HD9 www.coddysfarm.co.uk info@coddysfarm.co.uk · 07714588822

I’M WRITING this month’s column from my home in Honley where I’m ready for another day of the virtual Parliament. It’s not ideal as opportunities to question ministers are limited with ballots to decide who can raise issues. It’s still very strange putting my suit on to go to my small spare bedroom to do a Parliamentary question via my laptop. I’ve also got conference calls to a health minister and the Secretary for State for Transport where I can raise local issues on behalf of constituents and help influence government actions and policy as we tackle this Covid pandemic. We had a Zoom call with the Prime Minister and I was pleased to be chosen to speak to him first. Me and my team continue to work remotely helping hundreds of constituents

with a huge range of issues, everything from helping get dozens of constituents stranded abroad home safely, helping local businesses and employees access financial support to answering many questions about the latest government advice. I’ve also been working closely with senior officers at the council who are delivering business support grants – they’ve delivered over £75m in grants to help more than 7,000 local businesses who have been impacted by the Covid restrictions. I’ve also been supporting local residents worried about planning applications in Netherthong and Netherton. This really is such a challenging time for all of us but so many local people have stepped forward to help others. From the volunteers at the Holme Valley Covid Mutual Aid Group and the

Thongsbridge Food Bank to the wonderful ladies of the Holme Valley Stitchers who are making scrubs for local hospitals, surgeries and care homes. Thank you to all of them and of course to our NHS key workers, our carers, our emergency workers, our teachers, our posties, our delivery drivers, our public transport staff, our refuse collectors, our local shopkeepers, our volunteers and our kind neighbours. Please continue to stay safe, please continue to think of others and please continue to heed the guidance being given. We will get through this. Please get in touch if you need my help with any issue. My phone number for my new constituency office, which is being answered remotely, is 01484 443975 or you can email me at jason. mccartney.mp@parliament. uk.


Holme Valley Review, June 2020 – 15

Schools to undergo work during summer holidays By Susan Hampshire SEVERAL local schools are included in a new programme of works announced by Kirklees Council. Most of the work is scheduled to be carried out during the 2020 summer school holidays. Cabinet members have agreed the £3.4million funding, which will be used to replace and upgrade facilities across at least 25 different primary and secondary schools in Kirklees. A broad range of works will include kitchen refurbishments, roofing improvements, new electrical systems and the replacement of inefficient boilers. The works will bring necessary improvements to school buildings, making them more environmentally friendly and ensuring that pupils and staff are safe warm, dry and secure. Local schools set to benefit from the new works include Honley CE (VC) Junior, Infant and Nursery

School which is to have a kitchen refurbishment and also a boiler plant replacement. Denby Dale First and Nursery School and Hepworth Junior and Infant School will both benefit from rewiring work. Roofing work is to be carried out at Meltham CE Primary School and replacement lighting is to be fitted at Netherthong Primary School. Councillor Carole Pattison, Cabinet member for Learning, Aspiration and Communities, said: “Schools around the country have been going through an unprecedented time as most of their pupils are at home due to Covid-19, but we have not lost our focus on investing in the future. “As well as supporting schools in so many other ways, we were keen to agree this funding so that improvement works could start as soon as possible. “We are planning to carry out the works during school holiday periods so that the impact is minimised for

staff, children and families. Enhancing the condition of our schools, and making sure they provide a comfortable environment, has a positive effect on teaching and learning, helping pupils to enjoy the best start in life.” Coun. Graham Turner, Cabinet member for Corporate, said: “We prioritise the projects based on need, but they will all support the council’s Climate Emergency work by reducing the Kirklees carbon footprint. “School buildings will benefit from the greater use of sustainable technology, including through energyefficient heating, better insulation and modern, energy-saving lighting. “This will cut the usage of energy and, at a time when many schools are facing major financial challenges, it will also save money by reducing bills. “We want everyone who uses school buildings and facilities to experience a high-quality, clean and green environment.”

Hardship Fund donates £4,000 to households

HOLME Valley South Covid19 Hardship Fund has already donated £4,000 to more than 30 households with more money in the pot to help those in need. Residents in Holme Valley South are able to apply for financial assistance during the corona crisis thanks to Councillor Paul Davies, Longley Farm and Holmfirth Tech, in its role of Community Anchor. Together the group has established a hardship fund for local people with an immediate financial need as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic. So far the fund, which is not means tested and is eligible to all residents in the ward, has donated £4,320 to an appreciative 32 households who applied. Some of the reasons that people have applied show how many are falling on hard times owing to a situation that is out of their control. One family had their cooker condemned and wouldn’t have been able to replace it without the fund. Another elderly applicant, whose wellbeing was being affected negatively as they dealt with the loss of a family member and lack of funds, was heightened when they were unable to replace a washing machine. The fund has had considerable positive feedback from recipients:

n Thank you so much this is hugely appreciated, I am sat here crying, you will never know how much this is going to help our family. I hope one day I can contribute to this amazing fund. Thank you so, so much. n Thank you so much, this has been a difficult time for my family, your help is greatly appreciated. Is there anything I can do to show my appreciation? n Dear Holme Valley South Hardship Fund and the Panel. I really cannot thank you enough and am so, so pleased and relieved that you have approved my application. What wonderful, amazing people you all are. This makes a huge difference and I am so very grateful. I’m so sorry that I had to ask and could go to a food bank but just felt embarrassed and didn’t want to bump into anybody I knew. My family is so happy too. Thank you. n Once I’m back on track and turned things around I would be interested in supporting you and your organisation further. Thank you so much, With gratitude, love and a big

virtual hug! Sarah Broxton, Holmfirth Tech’s centre manager, said: “It’s such a great thing to be able to help those in need and we still have funds available to help households. “To apply, Holme Valley South residents just need to click on the link below to find more details or visit The Tech’s site home page. “We are of course still grateful to receive donations too so we can help even more people.” The grant is aimed at those who find themselves unable to cover basic necessities, such as food, heating, housing, or childcare, that cannot otherwise be addressed by the existing benefits system or the various Covid-19 government support packages. It is provided as a stopgap only and not as a long term solution to financial hardship. For more information about the fund click this link https://bit.ly/HVSCovidFund or visit https://holmfirthtech. wildapricot.org and find information and links on the home page. Donations are also welcome through The Tech’s site.

Soul Choir creates uplifting video of Gladys Knight hit SOUL Choir Holmfirth has created an uplifting video singing ‘Midnight Train to Georgia’ as it carries on virtually meeting each Wednesday through Lockdown. Dan Price is leading the choir through Zoom videoconferencing to sing and add support to each other with a pre-30 minute chat to check in with each other before the music starts. He has used his musical and video technical skills to produce an entertaining video that is being loved by everyone that sees it. Soul Choir was formed by Dan Price in 2018 when he made it his mission to form a choir to sing soul, blues and gospel tunes. The group originally met at Holmfirth Tech on Wednesday evenings, but since early April Dan has moved the group online. Lynne Hybberd, Soul Choir member, said: “We love the final result of Midnight Train to Georgia, which gave us all a giggle during isolation. Being a sociable bunch, we

now meet up in small Zoom groups for a half hour chat before grabbing a drink to reconvene in the Zoom choir. “We’ve encountered all the usual problems of time lags and techno hitches but helped each other along on Whatsapp and email. “We’ve all found a few more skills here as well as learning many belting songs like how to sing into our phones and be silly on camera. “Dan and Soul Choir has really helped us stay together, as Al Green would say, through what can sometimes be a difficult time. Dan is a bit of a hero to us all.” Dan said: “ I absolutely

love the Soul Choir members, they are a great, crazy bunch who really know how to have fun and support each other. “It was a labour of love putting the video together but really worth it and the feedback we have had for all our songs including ‘Sittin’ on the Dock of the Bay’, ‘My Girl’ and our former anthem ‘Lean on Me’ has been overwhelming. I’m really proud of what we’ve achieved together.” After being saddened by the death of Bill Withers, Dan and his choir are now attempting ‘Lovely Day’ as a tribute to him and an antidote to the world’s current troubles. You can see the choir’s latest video Midnight Train to Georgia and other Soul Choir ‘hits’ on Dan’s YouTube Channel https://bit.ly/ DanPriceSoulChoir. If you are interested in joining the choir or just finding out more about it please visit the Facebook page https://www.facebook. com/soulchoirholmfirth/

Help still available for the isolated and vulnerable HELP is still available for the isolated and vulnerable from volunteers and mutual aid organisations. Although numbers needing assistance has dropped, support is still there while needed. Duggs Carre from the Holme Valley Mutual Aid group said he believes one of the main issues now for many local people is anxiety and worries about going out. He said: “The group is still very much operational but things are quieter. “Our volunteers are still helping with deliveries for the local food banks but we are starting to see a difference in demand. “Some valley residents are still relying on our volunteers for shopping and prescriptions.’’

“We are finding that a lot of people are quite scared of leaving their homes to go out.”

“We are finding that a lot of people are quite scared of leaving their homes to go out. “I’m sure there are going to be real problems with isolation, loneliness and anxiety in the aftermath of the initial lockdown period.’’ If you need help you can still call the Holme Valley group on 01484 212056 or contact by emailing support@holme valleymutualaid.co,uk In Meltham, some slight changes have recently been made to Meltham.Org which was set up as a community

support hub to help local residents at the start of the pandemic. Meltham.Org is now looking for stories of life in lockdown. Videos, photos, poems, diaries and stories can all be uploaded now on the website www.meltham.org Content will be archived for future generations and there is also a plan to create a theatre production about experiences in lockdown. Meltham.Org is still helping local people every day with shopping, prescription deliveries and much more. If you need help, take a look at the website www. meltham.org or telephone 01484 799505 or the Meltham Crossroads Centre on 01484 854400.


ENSURE YOUR HOME IS A TRUE REFLECTION OF YOU. WORK WITH US,

BESPOKE YOUR PROPERTY TO SUIT YOUR LIFESTYLE. PROUDLY INTRODUCING THE NEXT PHASE AT OUR DEYNEBROOK SITE IN NETHERTHONG: PLOTS 19, 20 & 21 Yorkshire Country Properties are very much open for business and pleased to offer these wonderful four bedroom family homes forming part of this exclusive development. These imposing properties offer approximately 2400 Sq Ft of internal living space spread across three floors. Guaranteed to satisfy a variety of buyers with their versatility and scale. Enter each property on the ground floor into a generous entrance hall with feature staircase. This level also offering access to a large double garage, utility room, w/c, study and adaptable gym/ cinema room. The first floor comprises a useful w/c, cloakroom with the hallway leading to a Browse our website:

large open plan kitchen/dining/ lounge (with an option to separate - customer choice).

bathroom. Also on this level, a large family bathroom with separate bath and walk in shower.

This breath-taking space offers a dual aspect with bi-fold doors to the front and back, allowing light to flood in throughout the day. The lounge leads to a feature balcony maximising the stunning Holme Valley vista. A luxurious Neptune kitchen and high specification flooring throughout makes this space the perfect area for entertaining.

Externally these properties are built in our trademark authentic Yorkshire stone and offer large driveways with space for two cars and a peaceful rear garden with landscaped terrace and lawned area.

Upstairs to four generous double bedrooms, one with en suite bathroom and all with high quality built in wardrobes. The stylish 3.6m x 4.6m master suite offers a bank of large fitted wardrobes and a generous en suite

These homes offer an abundance of high specification items as standard including under floor heating throughout living areas, Rangemaster cooker and fitted wardrobes to all four bedrooms. Many other upgrades and options are available for consideration during the unique process of bespoking your home with Yorkshire Country Properties.

We wish all our customers a safe and healthy few weeks ahead. If you require any further information about the project then please ring or visit our website.

A RANGE OF UNIQUE PROPERTIES STILL AVAILABLE AT OUR NETHERTHONG DEVELOPMENT, FROM

ONE BEDROOM STARTER COTTAGES TO FIVE

BEDROOM FAMILY HOMES.

www.yorkshirecountryproperties.co.uk or Contact us on 01484 599454 to discuss the range of properties we have to offer.

JUST RELEASED! STUNNING FOUR BEDROOM HOMES IN THE HEART OF THE HOLME VALLEY: PLOTS 19, 20 & 21 OUR STUNNING NEW DEVELOPMENT AT DEYNEBROOK, NETHERTHONG

CALL OUR FRIENDLY SALES TEAM ON:

01484 599454 PLOTS 19, 20, 21

£650,000 CALL OUR FRIENDLY SALES TEAM ON:

01484 599 454

Profile for HolmeValleyReview

Holme Valley Review - June 2020  

Holme Valley Review is a popular monthly newspaper covering all things local from the Holme Valley Area.

Holme Valley Review - June 2020  

Holme Valley Review is a popular monthly newspaper covering all things local from the Holme Valley Area.

Advertisement

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded