Chevron Deference Pre-decision

Page 1


The Chevron Deference Working Team

What Is Chevron Deference?

Nearly 40 years ago, the U.S. Supreme Court's ruling in Chevron v. Natural Resources Defense Council established the principle of Chevron deference, signaling that courts should defer to an agency's reasonable interpretation of an ambiguous statute it is charged with administering. This doctrine recognizes that federal agencies possess specialized expertise, surpassing that of courts and Congress, in interpreting certain kinds of laws. Consequently, when faced with ambiguity, courts are required to defer to such agency interpretations as long as they are deemed reasonable. However, recent Supreme Court proceedings suggest that Chevron deference may be facing significant scrutiny, with some justices signaling a readiness to either abandon or substantially limit the doctrine.

Why Does It Matter?

The potential overhaul of Chevron deference would mark a fundamental shift in administrative law, with far-reaching implications across the federal government. Given that agencies often rely on highly trained experts to interpret and implement federal laws, any changes to Chevron deference would necessitate the reevaluation and potential redrafting of laws and regulations.

How We Can Help

Holland & Knight is strategically positioned to address these evolving concerns on behalf of our clients.

Drawing on a diverse array of experience across the firm, we have assembled a dedicated team capable of navigating the complexities surrounding Chevron deference. Leveraging our robust regulatory, litigation and public policy practices, we provide our clients with a distinct competitive advantage. Unlike others who have scaled back their regulatory practices, we have continued to strengthen ours, offering comprehensive regulatory experience, litigation proficiency and legislative drafting skills.

Contact Us

Lynn Calkins

Partner

Washington, D.C. | 202.457.7041 Nashville | 615.850.8959 lynn.calkins@hklaw.com

Rich Gold

Partner | Washington, D.C. 202.457 7143 rich.gold@hklaw.com

Andy Emerson

Partner | Washington, D.C. 202.469.5118 andrew.emerson@hklaw.com

Steven Gordon

Partner | Washington, D.C. 202.457.7038 steven.gordon@hklaw.com

Dimitri Karakitsos Partner | Washington, D.C. 202.469 5132

dimitri.karakitsos@hklaw.com

Timothy Taylor Partner | Tysons, VA 703.720.8643 timothy.taylor@hklaw.com

John Wood Partner | Washington, D.C. 202.469.5628

john.f.wood@hklaw.com

Amy O'Brien Associate | Washington, D.C. 202.469.5520 amy.obrien@hklaw.com

Rafe Petersen Partner | Washington, D.C. 202.419.2481 rafe.peterson@hklaw.com

Christine Walz Partner | New York 212.513.3368 christine.walz@hklaw.com

Brent Cooper Associate | Washington, D.C. 202.469.5622 brent.cooper@hklaw.com

Alexandra Ward Associate | Washington, D.C. 202.469.5622 alexandra.ward@hklaw.com

Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.