__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

17-18

Year in Rev iew


2

‡

TABLE OF CONTENTS

4 STUDENTS

14 FACULTY & SCHOOL

24 ALUMNI & COMMUNITY bizhornet@emporia.edu 620-341-5523 ESU.Business bizhornet1 bizhornet Emporia State University School of Business

emporia.edu/business

35 FACULTY & STAFF DIRECTORY


DEAN’S WELCOME

DEAN’S WELCOME Greetings from Emporia State University. It is my pleasure to be your Dean of the School of Business. I have just completed my second academic year, and I am so proud of our students, faculty, and alumni and their many accomplishments. My goal as Dean is for our School of Business to provide students with the life-changing experiences (in and out of the classroom) that prepare them for their future. We know you will enjoy learning about our accomplishments and meeting our students, faculty, and alumni. Some of those highlights include our AACSB reaccreditation, our top finishes at Phi Beta Lambda Nationals, and winning the first ever Kansas Collegiate Case Competition. I look forward to the opportunity to see you on campus or at one of our events. GO HORNETS!

Ed Bashaw, PhD School of Business Dean and Jones Distinguished Professor ebashaw@emporia.edu

33


IN

Th S

S tudents

B i m i

O s t w a e t t S t s a m r n


STUDENTS

BETA GAMMA SIGMA

5

INDUCTION AND SCHOOL OF BUSINESS FALL SCHOLARSHIP RECEPTION The School of Business had the opportunity to recognize its donors, scholarship recipients, and Beta Gamma Sigma initiates at the annual Fall Scholarship Reception and Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) induction. BGS is the highest international business school honor society available only to those at AACSB accredited institutions. ESU’s chapter qualified for Highest Honors again in 2017. For the Fall 2017, BGS inducted 24 members into their chapter, including chapter honoree, Susan Thomas (BS ‘86 psychology with a minor in business), founder and CEO of 10Fold in San Francisco, California (pictured below). Over 200 School of Business scholarship recipients were invited to attend this event, illustrating the extensive network of community, alumni, faculty, and donors that join to make student education possible. Students receiving the Distinguished Business Scholarship, the Preston Scholarship, and the Reeble Scholarship were recognized on stage for their accomplishments. Susan Thomas served as the keynote speaker for the afternoon, touching on her experience in marketing communications and public relations services for technology companies for more than 20 years.


6

STUDENTS

S

S

Spring Honors Banquet and Beta Gamma Sigma Induction The School of Business Honors Banquet is a time to honor our outstanding students and induct new students into Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS). We recognize our senior honor graduates who have earned a 3.5 or better cumulative grade point average, and the recipients of our School of Business Awards (see photos below). For the Spring 2018 event, BGS inducted 9 members into their chapter, including chapter honoree Greg Kossover (BSB ‘85 accounting), who also served as our keynote speaker for the evening (pictured left). Greg has served as Executive VP and CFO at Equity Bank since October 2013. Prior to that, he served as CEO of Value Place, LLC, one of the largest economy extended stay lodging franchises in the United States. Greg has previously served on the ESU Foundation’s Finance Committee.

Outstanding School of Business Senior: Franzi Willenbuecher, business administration

Business Faculty Endowed Student Scholarship recipient: Caleb Weins, accounting

NBEA Award of Merit recipient: Paul Reichenberger, business education

Stephen J. Butcher MBA recipient: Shane Swink, business administration

W d b y t a f t a i t f

A b n d a

D i a t T h e n a t m h t


STUDENTS

STEVEN WILLIAMS SUCCESSFUL RETURN When it comes to school, Steven Williams has not always been the dedicated, driven student and person he is today, but next May, he will be receiving his business degree. Like many students in their younger years, the Americus, Kansas, native found himself without the urge to perform at his best in the classroom. He was smart but lazy, and after doing the bare minimum to maintain a C average, he graduated from Emporia High School in 1991. “When I graduated high school, that wasn’t enough,” Williams said about his thoughts for his future after high school. However, after not seeing a lot of opportunities in Emporia and realizing his performance in high school was going to make college expensive, Williams opted for a career in the Army, following the footsteps of his father. After serving three years in Hawaii, Steven returned to Emporia to begin working on his college degree. However, after realizing that not much had changed in the way he approached school, Williams dropped out in the Fall of 1996, and what he planned on being “just a semester off,” turned into nearly 20 years. During that time, Williams did very well for himself. He got married in 2012, and held a few different positions ranging from branch manager of a sales company, to project manager at Sprint, one of the largest telecommunications companies in the world. Steven is currently a Technical Analyst at the Federal Reserve Bank in Kansas City. During his time at Sprint, he always talked about going back to school. However, fear of not being able to transfer credits kept him from taking the next steps. After scheduling an advising appointment at ESU-KC, and an unfortunate layoff from Sprint after 15 years, Steven returned to the classroom at ESU in the spring of 2017, this time, with a different mindset. “In my return to school, I have found I actually like school” he said. “I wish I could talk to my younger self now. It’s about doing the work. Having the instructors work with me was great.”

As a first-generation student, in May of 2019, Williams will be the first in his family to walk across the stage and graduate with his degree in business administration. When asked about his experiences in the classroom at ESU, Williams said it has been the people that really helped him succeed. “ESU has been super as far as helping me out and helping me along the way. I have met a lot of people that are good friends now. The ESU faculty really work with you. They want you to succeed. ESU is really a class act.” He is considering enrolling in the MBA program after he enjoys his summer off.

Currently, Steven lives in Independence, Missouri, with his wife Tammy. In his free time, Williams enjoys working out to stay in shape and doing volunteer work. After he gets his degree, Williams plans to apply for a supervisor position at the bank, something he says his degree will help him with, and potentially return to school once more to pursue a master’s degree.

BLUE KEY HONOR SOCIETY After rechartering the organization in 2012, the Emporia State University chapter of Blue Key Honor Society has worked fervently to recreate the quality of leadership and service to which its membership has historically been devoted. Blue Key members have committed to annual recognition of campus leaders and their contributions as well as the development of new leadership initiatives that instill the best values onto students of the University.

Blue Key membership is open to the top juniors and seniors that have established dominant credibility in scholarship, leadership, and service. On April 18, 2018, Blue Key Honor Society formally introduced their new members for 2018. Of the 23 inducted, six were School of Business: Alex McAnerney, accounting Michael Webb, business administration (18–19 ASG President) Makenzie Moore, business administration Jarrod Fisher, computer science Christina Brunton, business administration Gracie Dautel, accounting

7


8

STUDENTS

E

CAPITOL

H

FEDERAL

C

SCHOLARS

S B

In 2002, Emporia State was the first of seven Kansas higher education institutions to partner with Capitol Federal in a scholarship program preparing business students for the challenges of the future. The 2017–18 Capitol Federal scholars were celebrated during the annual luncheon on October 17, 2017, at the Sauder Alumni Center. Recognizing high-achieving students in Emporia State’s School of Business, this program’s scholarships are renewable annually. This means a student who becomes a Capitol Federal Scholar as a freshman will remain eligible through graduate school as long as he or she maintains the required minimum 3.25 grade point average.

BETA ALPHA PSI

Ten BizHornets, majoring in either accounting or information systems, were initiated into Beta Alpha Psi (BAP) on January 25, 2018. BAP is an International Honorary Organization for Financial Information Professionals. In 2017, Beta Alpha Psi was also recognized internationally as a Distinguished Chapter, far exceeding the baseline requirements of Beta Alpha Psi and excelling in the areas of academics, professionalism, and leadership. Thank you to Dr. George Durler and Dr. Liz Diers for their leadership!

HURRICANE HELPERS

Our BizHornets paid it forward in La Grange, TX, with United Methodist Campus Ministry. Carlyn Hartsock, marketing, went with five other Hornets on a mission trip to clean up from the 2017 hurricanes. What a giving way to spend your spring break. That definitely deserves a high five!


A

STUDENTS

ESU INAUGURAL

HULT PRIZE COMPETITION

The Hult Prize is the world’s largest student movement for social good and welcomes college and university students from all over the world to compete and show their talents. This year, the Hult Prize challenged students to create innovative businesses to harness the power of energy to transform the lives of 10 million people using one of six principle dimensions: connectivity, education, agriculture, water, mobility, and health.

STUDENTS TRAVEL TO BOSTON & MEXICO CITY

Amir Ammar, Hult Prize ESU Campus Director, an exchange student from Tunisia, had a goal of sending ESU students to the Hult Prize competition, something that no other Kansas university had ever done. After applying to be a campus director, Amir received notification that ESU had been accepted as a competing school. “This competition could show the world that ESU has brilliant, diligent students that can change the world,” says Amir. Dr. Bashaw is grateful for Amir’s perseverance. “We appreciate Amir’s grit when it came to this competition. His vision was to have ESU accepted as a competing school in the Hult Prize, and he made that happen. Because of his hard work, seven Hornets had oncein-a-lifetime, real-life experiences.” On December 9, 2017, two teams qualified to compete in the Hult Prize Regional competitions. Judges for this initial round were Ken Bazil, Lisa Brumbaugh, Craig Garrison, Don Hill, and Casey Woods. The first place team competed in Boston, MA, March 9­–10. The participants were team leader Ifeanyi Okonkwo, MBA, from Nigeria; Carissa McAfee, junior, management, from Valley Falls; and Farhan Sadique, senior, marketing/management, information systems minor, from India. At the Boston Regionals, the team pitched their idea of “Sun Time,” a backpack with a solar-powered battery large enough to power small appliances. The battery would charge during the day, and at night, could be used to power lights for homework or work later into the evening such as basket weaving to earn more money for their family. The target was aimed at Nigeria and India, but would be sold in America for a profit. Their 6-minute presentation was judged by three individuals and were asked back for questions an hour later. Farhan Sadique describes his favorite part of the competition was hearing the judges validate their idea, “They had great input on our idea. We had a good concept, and that was gratifying.” Carissa McAfee gained a lot from the experience, “We were in a room full of social entrepreneurs, and being from a small town, this was a real business setting, with real-world ideas, to help other economies.” The second place team competed in Mexico City March 16–17. The participants were Mohammad Daouk, senior, computer science, information systems minor, from Lebanon; Warrick Rodgers, senior, computer science, information systems minor, from Zimbabwe; Emilia Flores, junior, chemistry, from Ecuador; and Saandhyarag Sasidhar, junior, information systems/marketing, from United Arab Emirates (team leader). The team’s project was “Project Carthage,” which uses SolarReserve’s patented solar thermal energy storage technology in the uninhabited Saharan Desert to generate power, with the goal of Africa becoming completely independent of fossil fuels in 20 years. Saandhyarag Sasidhar said of his experience, “We’re immensely proud and happy to have received this unique opportunity to represent Emporia State University on such a big stage. Great networking, unbelievable experiences, and life-long friends! What more could you ask for?” To learn more about Hult Prize, go to http://www.hultprize.org. You can also follow ESU’s current Hult Prize competition at http://hultprizeat.com/ emporiastate.

9


10

STUDENTS

INTERNSHIPS HERE’S WHAT SOME OF OUR STUDENTS HAD TO SAY ABOUT THEIR INTERNSHIPS

During the 2017–2018 academic year, the BizHornet Center coordinated 51 internships. One of our goals is to help provide these life-changing experiences which help our students get ready for their careers.

T

“ m C

JESS ACOSTA, BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION “I am a sales/management Intern at the Sherwin William’s Paint company. My main duties include selling and promoting products, checking inventory, promoting e-commerce, training employees new to Sherwin, and providing excellent customer service to all customers.”

GRAYCE MCALLISTER, BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION “During my internship with GMCE Start-Up Hub in Haifa, Israel, I worked on two different projects and audited an MBA entrepreneurship and start-up business class. The two projects were (1) researching the coffee industry and writing a business proposal to bring a coffee accelerator to Haifa and (2) researching and writing a market analysis for the Medical Cannabis industry.”

LUKE PALMER, MASTER OF ACCOUNTANCY

“I am a finance intern in the treasury department at Phillips 66 in Bartlesville, OK. On a day to day basis, I audit travel and procurement reports to see that the expenses the employees are reporting have a business value to the company.”

WYATT PORTER, ACCOUNTING “I am a finance intern working in the financial accounting group for Phillips 66 as well as the payroll and benefits accounting group. My main duties include capital lease accounting, government reporting, payroll tax filings, and assisting with various other projects. Over the summer, I have gained valuable skills in applying what I learned in school to the functions of accounting within Phillips 66. This internship has been a great experience for me in learning, having fun, and even volunteering time in the community of Bartlesville.”

“ B C i p r m


. s a

STUDENTS

TRENTON RIETZKE, MARKETING

“At CenCon of Kansas, I am a marketing agent and job site foreman on occasion. I market and sell rock to customers as well as advertise the other business ventures that CenCon of Kansas is involved in. It has been a pleasant experience!”

DEVYN SMITH, MARKETING “Strong City Preservation Alliance is an amazing nonprofit organization that has taught me a lot about fundraising and community pride, and it also taught me the value of the past. Through this internship, I had the opportunity to work with an amazing group of people that love their town and have a desire to preserve its rich history. Thank you Strong City Preservation Alliance for allowing me to gain skills I can use toward my major and future career and for giving me a new outlook on the importance in preserving a town’s historic buildings. It makes me have a new found pride in my own hometown.”

ROBERT SNYDER, MARKETING

“As a Marketing Intern at Emery Sapp & Sons (ESS), I serve on the Marketing + Business Development team and report directly to the Director of Marketing + Client Relations. I am responsible for supporting a wide variety of marketing projects including internal and external communication campaigns, business development proposals, digital media and video production, graphic design, and special events. My responsibilities also include assisting with the development of the marketing budget, marketing planning, and market research.”

HEMING SUN, COMPUTER SCIENCE

“I am an intern at Hisense TV in Qingdao, China, working as a software engineer. I am responsible for the development of TV software based on the ARM. I carry out software code maintenance, optimization, and other work. During the internship, I learned to keep a modest and positive attitude, good relations with colleagues, and attach importance to teamwork.”

11


12

STUDENTS

EMPORIA STATE

PHI BETA LAMBDA CHAPTER

STUDENTS PLACE IN TOP 10 NATIONAL LEADERSHIP CONFERENCE Five School of Business students placed in the Top 10 in the nation at the 2018 Phi Beta Lambda National Leadership Conference held in Baltimore, MD. Eight students, along with PBL advisor James Willingham, traveled to Baltimore to compete at the event June 23–26, 2018: Paul Frost – junior accounting major from Concordia Mackenzie Hofstra – sophomore psychology major from Ozawkie Karoline Kennedy – sophomore business administration major from Derby Rob Lara – senior business administration major from Emporia Madison Orrange – senior accounting major from Drexel, MO Kimberly Raygoza – junior business administration major from Emporia Ashley Rietcheck – sophomore accounting major from Rossville Carolina Taylor – senior accounting major from Ashburn, MO At the conference, Karoline Kennedy received two first places finishes— Madison Orrange, Ashley Rietcheck, Rob Lara, Karoline Kennedy, and Carolina Taylor at the PBL one in Business Presentation and one in Public Speaking. “The Leadership National Conference. Conference is an experience that I will never forget,” she said. “Through this conference, I rode on a train for the first time, found an amazing Baltimore cookie shop, made connections with people from all over the country, and learned that hard work really does pay off. If someone were to tell me nine months ago at my first PBL meeting that I would be a national champion, I probably would have laughed. But after 13 rewrites and countless sleepless nights working on my presentations, I am proud to say that I am the national champion in not one but two events. This experience is one that I will never forget, and it has given me the confidence to know that I can do anything I set my mind to. Thank you to everyone that was involved in helping me turn this dream into reality.” Four other students placed at the National Leadership Conference: Rob Lara – Fifth place, Impromptu Speaking Carolina Taylor – Sixth place, Cost Accounting Ashley Rietcheck and Madison Orrange – Eighth place, Accounting Analysis & Decision Making Dr. Ed Bashaw is very proud of the whole team. “These students exemplify what Emporia State University and the School of Business are all about. Organizations like Phi Beta Lambda give our students high-impact learning experiences that supplement what they learn in the classroom. These opportunities such as traveling to Baltimore give our students leadership skills and the competitive advantage they need when they graduate. Their talent, hard work, and poise led them to their successes at PBL’s national competition, and I couldn’t be more proud of them.” Earlier this year, 14 students from ESU’s PBL competed at the 2018 Kansas State Leadership Conference (pictured left), collectively placing 29 times and qualifying 12 students for the 2018 National Leadership Conference.


STUDENTS

Emporia State Wins the First Annual Kansas Collegiate Case

Competition

A team of three School of Business students competed and finished in first place at the First Annual Kansas Collegiate Case Competition powered by Cerner on September 29, 2017. The BizHornet team members included (pictured left to right) Emna Rejaibi, freshman computer science exchange student from Tunisia; Saandhyarag Sasidhar, sophomore from United Arab Emirates, majoring in information systems and marketing; and Mohammad Daouk, senior from Lebanon, majoring in computer science and minoring in information systems and math. The team advisor was Dr. Mohammed Sajedur Rahman, assistant professor of information systems. In an effort to increase camaraderie and connections among college students in the state of Kansas, Kansas University’s Undergraduate Business Council, in conjunction with Cerner Corporation of Kansas City, MO, developed this case competition for all of the Kansas Regent universities. According to Cerner, the competition helps students explore and develop their ability to create innovative solutions to realworld business challenges. The case focused on developing a resourcing strategy to meet the needs of supporting Cerner’s global client base. Teams were given the opportunity to analyze trends and make data-driven recommendations to improve business operations, all the while gaining exposure and developing real-world skills including data validation, analysis and reporting, and business presentations. Each university hosted the case competition on their respective campus to determine the top team. The colleges competing included Emporia State University, University of Kansas, Kansas State University, Pittsburg State University, and Ft. Hays University. Four Emporia State teams competed on campus on September 22. The teams were judged by School of Business faculty. The winning team of Daouk, Rejaibi, and Sasidhar went on to compete against the other college teams on September 29 at Cerner in Kansas City. They each won $150 and were able to bring home the coveted trophy to showcase at Emporia State University. Mohammad, Emna, and Saandhyarag worked swiftly to earn their award. They had three days to get their cases ready to present to the panel of ESU judges, and when they were awarded first place at ESU, they had only another four days to prep for the final competition at CASE. Their case results focused on predicting workload for 2018 for all Cerner’s regional offices, distributing that workload based on cost per region, and finally, optimizing ways to distribute resources for savings. Mohammad really appreciated the opportunity to compete. “It was a lot of work, but the experience was worth it. I enjoyed the chance to speak with top-level professionals in a company such as Cerner,” he says. Emna and Saandhyarag mirrored Mohammad’s comments and added that there were a lot of challenges along the way, including the pressure of pulling this presentation together in such a short time. Dr. Rahman, the team’s advisor, explains that this win is truly a reflection of the top quality students at Emporia State. “I am extremely proud of Mohammad, Emna, and Saandhyarag,” he says. “We want our students to be able to work through problems better than the rest. We come out of the classroom as good problem solvers, and this achievement confirms that statement. It all translates back to the work we do with them in the classroom. I believe our students set the bar very high for rest of the schools in Kansas for future competitions.”

13


Faculty + School


FAC U LT Y & S C H O O L

AACSB Reaffirms Accreditation for Emporia State’s School of Business

The School of Business at Emporia State University has received an extension of its business accreditation by AACSB International—The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Founded in 1916, AACSB is the longest-serving global accrediting body for business schools and the largest business education network connecting students, educators, and businesses worldwide. For over a century, AACSB accreditation has been synonymous with the highest standards in business education and has been earned by less than 5 percent of the world’s business schools. “AACSB congratulates each institution on their achievement,” said Stephanie M. Bryant, executive vice president and chief accreditation officer of AACSB. “Every AACSB-accredited school has demonstrated a focus on excellence in all areas, including teaching, research, curricula development, and student learning. The intense peer-review process exemplifies their commitment to quality business education.” To maintain accreditation, the School of Business completed a rigorous internal review that demonstrated its continued commitment to 14 quality standards related to faculty qualification, strategic management of resources, interactions of faculty and students, as well as a commitment to continuous improvement and achievement of learning goals in degree programs. Dr. Ed Bashaw explains the importance of this reaccreditation, “Our mission is to provide access to innovative business preparation for limitless opportunities in the region and beyond. This mission is the guide for everything we do here, from hiring faculty to the programs we offer. Extending our AACSB Accreditation reaffirms our commitment to the quality of education our students expect and deserve.” “The School of Business strives to maintain quality of instruction, an exceptional learning environment, and continued distinguished recognition on several platforms,” said Dr. David Cordle, ESU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. “By affirming reaccreditation by AACSB, we accomplished this.” ESU President Allison Garrett is proud the School of Business has been accredited by AACSB since 2002. “Meeting and exceeding AACSB standards allows the School of Business to deliver degree programs with qualified faculty and produce outstanding graduates,” she said. “In fact, five of the six degrees awarded by the School of Business achieved a 100 percent placement rate with an average of 99 percent for all six degrees.” AACSB reaccreditation celebrations were held over the summer in Emporia, Wichita, Topeka, and Kansas City. Thank you to our wonderful host Chris Waldeck ’89, President of Lee / Rock & Republic in KC and Greg Kossover ‘85 , Executive VP and CFO, Equity Bank, Wichita. It was fun getting together with so many alumni to celebrate an amazing achievement.

15


16

‥

FAC U LT Y & S C H O O L

BIZFEST

On August 30, 2017, over 250 students piled into the KSTC Ball Room to learn more about the School of Business at the 5th Annual BizFest. Students walked around the Ball Room to booths featuring student organizations, school resources, centers, and more. After enjoying the nacho bar, attendees were welcomed by Dr. Ed Bashaw. Brad Clark, (BSB ’84 marketing, business administration) kicked off the festivities with some motivational words about how being an alumni from ESU can offer you endless opportunities. School of Business faculty and staff highlighted resources within the School, career opportunities, and upcoming activities. The event wrapped up with Minute-To-Win-It games.

ESU KSBDC HIGHLIGHTS The ESU Kansas Small Business Development Center (KSBDC) is one of eight regional centers in Kansas. Its mission is to increase prosperity of and jobs generated by small businesses through advising, specialized analytical tools, research, and training of entrepreneurs and small businesses. Any small business located or intending to locate within the service area may receive assistance from the ESU KSBDC. The KSBDC is part of the School of Business and is led by its Director, Lisa Brumbaugh. The KSBDC worked with 120 clients for 1,200 hours of one-on-one consulting. The return on investment for every dollar invested in the Kansas SBDC at ESU was $10.90. The data shown below are the highlights of their clients for calendar year 2017.

$987,086 sales increase. 83 jobs created and retained. Helped start 12 businesses located in eight Kansas counties. Helped start-up and existing businesses find capital of $3,277,762. Collaborative partnerships were developed and maintained with a number of organizations. Presented 13 workshops with 92 participants.

B

C G


S

FAC U LT Y & S C H O O L

BIZHORNET

CENTER GETS NEW SPACE

‥

In the last Year In Review, we shared with you the story of the gift from the William & Aloha Preston Family Trust to build the Preston Family Student Complex, located on the lower level of Cremer Hall. BizHornet staff moved into the new space in May 2018, Cremer Hall room 128. School of Business students have been enjoying the new area. Construction will begin soon on the remaining half of the Complex, which will be adjacent to the BizHornet Center and will provide new spaces for business clubs to meet and additional conversation areas. The BizHornet Center is a student-focused center that provides advising and information on topics including careers, internships, student organizations, and scholarships.

William & Aloha Preston

CAREER DAY October 18, 2017, the School of Business welcomed 35 high schools and 547 students to take part in the annual High School Career Day. These students had the opportunity to travel to our campus, take part in three separate educational sessions, and learn more about our Emporia State University and different business careers.

17


18

FAC U LT Y & S C H O O L

EMPORIA ENTREPRENEUR CHALLENGE Carissa McAfee Wins 2018 Emporia Entrepreneur Challenge

Carissa McAfee was announced the winner of the Emporia Entrepreneur Challenge (EEC) on March 13, 2018, as part of the annual EEC Community Showcase. Seventeen teams from ESU and one team from Flint Hills Technical College presented their business proposals to a team of judges and the community during the event. These teams were selected from an original pool of 41 teams. The competition consisted of three rounds: an executive summary review, oral presentation, and community showcase. Teams were judged on innovation, concept, market potential, feasibility, business model, competition, and service to society. The winners were announced following a short pitch from the finalists which included the top three winners plus an additional team, Austin Lingenfelter and Mason Esch with iMatter, who came in fourth place. “The students who entered this competition have had a great experience!” says Dr. Ed Bashaw. “This competition is a true example of high-impact learning, something we pride ourselves with at ESU. All of the winners are very passionate about their idea, and I believe they will pursue their concepts well past the competition.” First place and $2,500 was awarded to Carissa McAfee, an ESU junior management major from Valley Falls, for “Expression Through Art,” a hybrid nonprofit that envisions a world where arts opportunities are offered for every special needs individual in order to foster confidence, communication, and peer interaction. “Competing in the Emporia Entrepreneur Challenge has helped me develop a concept that I am very passionate about,” says Carissa. “The feedback I’ve received from the judges and the faculty here at the School of Business has helped me reach this point in the competition. It has been an amazing experience that I am very grateful for!”

E

S f t s c

C a n m

Th t

A m E

J D

J L E

A o t

Th D

Carissa McAfee and DeWayne Sanford represented the School of Business at the Kansas Entrepreneur Challenge where they both received Honorable Mention.


E

FAC U LT Y & S C H O O L

ENTREPRENEUR CHALLENGE Second place and $1,500 was awarded to DeWayne Sanford, ESU junior business administration major from Lawton, OK, for his business idea, “Team Soulja,” a self-service dog wash that will give a convenient and comfortable place for customers to wash their dog without the hassle of cleanup at home. “This event was an amazing experience,” says DeWayne. “What it showed me is that the community supports it. They loved the idea so much that they want to see it in Emporia soon. So this challenge helped me build a small client base, and I am grateful for that.”

l s

Clinton Henderson, ESU senior business administration major, minoring in geography, from Junction City, won third place and $500 for “iCare,” a venture idea that will supply children within the foster care system with book bags filled with their needs. Clinton comments, “It was an amazing learning experience. All the feedback I received was awesome because it showed me that the last two years of work haven’t been for nothing.”

e e

The three winners traveled to Manhattan on April 24 with the top two, Carissa McAfee and DeWayne Sanford, presenting their business concepts at the Kansas Entrepreneur Challenge and received Honorable Mention.

n y

r

e . s

As a complement to the EEC, 36 teams participated in the Elevator Challenge on February 5, with some of the same teams moving on to compete in the EEC. Winners were: Best Pitch - Carissa McAfee; Best Idea - Austin Lingenfelter and Mason Esch; Judges Choice - Bailey Reinhardt. Thank you to Rich Avery, owner of Pizza Ranch, for judging this event. Judges for the first round of the EEC competition (grading the executive summaries) included: Dr. Steve Catt, ESU; Kim Dhority, FHTC; Dr. Douglass Smith, ESU; and Dr. Marian Riedy, ESU. Judges for the second (oral presentations) and final rounds (Community Showcase) included Rick Becker, Mulready’s Pub; Lisa Brumbaugh, Kansas Small Business Development Center; Jessica Buchholz, Emporia Main Street; Jeanine McKenna, Emporia Chamber of Commerce; Ryan O’Meara, ESU; Kim Redeker, The Sweet Granada; and Greg Yotz, Vektek. Another component of the challenge included Share Your Story Night hosted by the Emporia Area Chamber of Commerce on April 10. The top four teams delivered their pitches again to a group of local business professionals for feedback to improve their concepts. The EEC Committee included Dr. Jeff Muldoon, ESU, EEC Director; Dr. Sheryl Lidzy, ESU; Beth Ginter, ESU; and Kim Dhority, FHTC.

Carissa McAfee, DeWayne Sanford, and Clinton Henderson were the top three winners in the Entrepreneur Challenge.

Austin Lingenfelter, Mason Esch, and Carissa McAfee were winners of the Elevator Challenge.

19


20

‥

FAC U LT Y A N D S C H O O L

KANSAS BUSINESS

HALL OF FAME

2018 KANSAS BUSINESS HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES A bullwhacker turned store-owner and a Kansas newsman were the 2018 Kansas Business Hall of Fame inductees. The late Robert M. Wright and Bill Kurtis were recognized at the KBHF induction ceremony during the 46th annual Team Kansas Awards Banquet held on June 5, 2018. Business leaders selected for the KBHF are widely known for their contributions to Kansas and are recognized as role models. The KBHF recognizes historical contributors and present-day leaders who have made private enterprise work in Kansas and throughout the country.

Robert M. Wright Historical Inductee

Bill Kurtis

Contemporary Inductee

At the age of 16, Robert Wright took an overland trip to Denver, CO, as a trader, crossing the plains by wagon and coach. Wright was also a contractor for hauling grain and cutting hay and wood during this time. His experiences landed him a job as a post trader and as a representative of Dodge County in the Legislation at Fort Dodge in 1867. By 1872, Wright owned one of the largest commercial empires in the area, a general store in Dodge City. Bill Kurtis, a Florida native, graduated from The University of Kansas in 1962 with a degree in journalism. While seeking his Juris Doctorate at Washburn University, Kurtis worked as a television reporter in the area. Soon after experiencing and reporting an F5 tornado, Bill Kurtis abandoned his law degree and decided to pursue broadcasting at CBS in Chicago. Giving up his promising law degree proved to be an appropriate decision as he soon gained the respect of viewers, providing him with exceptional opportunities. Best known for hosting shows such as American Justice, Investigative Reports, and Cold Case Files, Kurtis also worked in a few films and television commercials. Kurtis now resides in Sedan, where he renovated old buildings, such as donut shops, gift shops, and convenience stores, into tourist attractions. In 2005, Kurtis founded Tallgrass Beef Co., focusing on the health and environmental benefits of organic, grass-fed beef. Between working with his company and renovating old Kansas towns, Kurtis still manages to appear in some television commercials. The ceremony marked 30 years of inductions into the Kansas Business Hall of Fame, which is located in Cremer Hall on the ESU campus. To read more about the inductees, please go to http://www.ksbhf.org.


FAC U LT Y & S C H O O L

High school students across the state competed in the first statewide Kansas Business Hall of Fame (KBHF) essay contest. The contest was open to students in Grades 9–12 in Kansas. Home school entries were accepted. Original essays were based on research of a Kansas Business Hall of Fame honoree inducted into one of two categories, Historical or Contemporary. Students could read about the inductees and choose one that inspired them. They were encouraged to use their own personal thoughts and views that best pertained to the theme and themselves. Fifty-four entries from six Kansas high schools (Emporia, Liberal, Manhattan, Olathe Northwest, Quinter, and South Gray) were judged by a panel of business professionals and business faculty. Seven total cash prizes, graciously donated by the Kansas Chamber of Commerce, were awarded to the top three essays overall ($100 each) and for the top essay (from the remaining essays) in each grade, 9–12 ($50 each). The top three winners were invited to attend the 46th Annual Team Kansas Awards Banquet. Below were the winning authors and the KBHF inductee they wrote about:

KANSAS BUSINESS

HALL OF FAME Essay Contest

Top three $100 winners: Rebekah Kitch, senior from Quinter High School, inductee Jack Goldstein Haylee Weiss, junior from Emporia High School, inductee Olive Beach Trudy Martens, sophomore from South Gray High School, inductee Walter Chrysler

Top $50 winners from each grade: Melvin Le, freshman from Liberal High School, inductee William Allen White Ian Hayden, sophomore from Emporia High School, inductee William Lear Nicholas Cammarn, junior from Emporia High School, inductee Philip Anschutz Isaac McBroom, senior from Emporia High School, inductee Gary Burrell Rebekah Kitch and her mom

RETIREMENTS

The School of Business would like to recognize Dr. Kevin Coulson for his outstanding contributions to the Emporia State academic community. Coulson retired as a Professor of Marketing after a 17–year teaching career at ESU. Coulson received his BS in Marine Transportation from the United States Merchant Marine Academy in 1975, his MBA from the University of Missouri-Columbia in 1985, and his Doctor of Philosophy in Business Administration from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1993. While at ESU, Coulson was active on several committees and councils, most recently on the Faculty Senate, President’s Strategic Planning Cabinet, and Campus Master Plan Advisor.

DR. KEVIN COULSON

21


22

‥

FAC U LT Y A N D S C H O O L

Koch Center – New Director The Koch Center for Leadership and Ethics humanizes business education by introducing students and the public to principled entrepreneurship and the moral free enterprise system necessary to support it. The Center promotes the principles of individual liberty and diversity, the rule of law, and economic freedom at Emporia State and within the surrounding community. The new Director of the Koch Center for Leadership and Ethics is Dr. Derek Yonai. He is passionate about engaging students in the world of ideas and teaching them that business, properly understood, is inherently a social endeavor.

E

2

2

2

2

2 The Center works toward the following objectives: Increasing student engagement in humanized business education and principled entrepreneurship education in Kansas and around the United States Providing curriculum and training teachers to educate students about the benefits of trade and its relationship to dignified human flourishing Increasing public awareness of the roles principled entrepreneurship and economic freedom play in maintaining a creative and flourishing society Developing skills and talents in students as actors of social change Developing and coordinating professional development opportunities for Emporia faculty

CHINA

CONNECTIONS President Allison Garrett and Drs. Ed Bashaw, Mark Daly, and Lei Wen spent two weeks in China last summer connecting with Chinese educational partners and alumni. Some of the campuses they visited include Jiangsu University of Science and Technology; SCNU Shibei Campus; and ZJNU, Jinhua.

H

A A B B B C C F G G G H I I J K S


FAC U LT Y & S C H O O L

ENROLLMENT NUMBERS 2013

132

716

2014

160

848

733

MAJOR DISTRIBUTION

COMPUTER SCIENCE 8.8%

893

802

23

BUSINESS EDUCATION 2.1%

2015 174

‡

976

INFORMATION SYSTEMS 10.9%

BUSINESS

ADMINISTRATION

37.9%

2016 152

786

2017

153

750 Graduates

Undergraduates

938 903

MANAGEMENT 8.3%

MARKETING 11.9% ACCOUNTING 20.1%

HOME OF OUR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS (33 COUNTRIES)

Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Belarus Bolivia Canada China France Georgia Germany Ghana Hungary India Indonesia Japan Kazakhstan South Korea

Lebanon New Zealand Nigeria Norway Paraguay Russia Saudi Arabia Spain Syria Tajikistan Thailand Tunisia Turkmenistan United Kingdom Vietnam Zimbabwe


Alumni + Community.


A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

25

2017 DISTINGUISHED

ALUMNI

DR. DAN S. DEINES MSBA 1974

Dr. Dan S. Deines received his bachelor of arts in history at Fort Hays State University in 1970 and earned a master of science in business administration from Emporia State in 1974. In 1982, he joined the faculty at Kansas State University and in 1984 became a member of the Kansas Society of Certified Public Accountants (KSCPA). In 2005, he served as the chair of the KSCPA. After obtaining his Ph.D. in accounting at the University of Nebraska in 1985, Dan was influential in designing and implementing the nationally recognized curriculum revision at Kansas State that was awarded one of 11 Accounting Education Change Commission grants in 1990. Dan served on and later chaired the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants’ (AICPA) Accounting Careers subcommittee and was named a CPA Pathfinder by the AICPA in 1999. He also volunteered as a member of the AICPA’s Accounting Education Executive Committee, Leadership Development Task Force, Financial Literacy Commission, Member Advisory Panel, Pre-Education Certification Committee, and as a participant in the Pathways Supply Chain initiative. In 2007, Dan was awarded the AICPA’s Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award. The AICPA recognized him a second time in 2014, becoming the 23rd recipient of their Special Recognition Award. This award honors individuals who have contributed to the success of a professional initiative through outstanding contributions. Dan has received the KSCPA’s Outstanding Educator Award and is a member of the American Accounting Association, as he has served on numerous committees for the association. He also was the interim head of Kansas State’s Department of Accounting from 2012–2014. He has authored or co-authored several journal articles and is the co-author, with Penne Ainsworth, of the textbook Introduction to Accounting: An Integrated Approach. Dan has made numerous presentations at professional and academic meetings and has lectured extensively on curriculum and recruitment topics. Currently, Dan serves as professor in the Department of Accounting and head of Accounting Pilot and Bridge Project at Kansas State University and has held the KPMG Ralph Crouch Professor Chair of Accounting for 22 years. The goal of the Accounting Pilot and Bridge Project is to have the College Board adopt accounting as part of its advanced placement curriculum. He has also received the Kansas State College of Business Administration’s Outstanding Teaching and Advising Awards. Dan has been married to his wife Linda for 47 years. They have one daughter, Jennifer Barton, and two grandchildren, Jackson and Julia.


26

A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

2017 DISTINGUISHED Alumni

JIM TRECEK BSE 1966

Jim Trecek, a farm-boy native and high school graduate of Cuba, KS, has had careers in many different fields, including a venture capitalist, strategic planner, counter intelligence officer, corporate public relations officer, television executive, and more. His illustrious career began as an Emporia State undergraduate. Jim held three on-campus jobs during his time as a Hornet. Those included him being the University’s first sports information director, the associate editor of the Bulletin (Emporia State’s newspaper), and the editorial assistant for the Sunflower (Emporia State’s yearbook). He went on to graduate from Emporia State in 1966 with his undergraduate degree in English. Once graduating from Emporia State, he became a college preparatory English, speech, and creative writing teacher and was a debate and assistant baseball coach at Great Bend Senior High School. Additionally, he held a second position in Great Bend as the Great Bend Daily Tribune’s daily sports columnist and summer managing editor of the morning edition newspaper. While pursuing his master’s degree in 1968 at the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg, MO, Jim served as the sports information director and assistant public relations coordinator. In 1970, he completed his requirements for a Master of Arts in communications from Central Missouri. Jim became the founder, president, and chairman of Associated Communications, Inc. in 1977 after roles as a public relations representative at Skelly Oil Company and the vice president of Webb Advertising in Tulsa, OK. Through Associated Communications, he consulted the startups of worldwide sports television leader Entertainment Sports Programming Network (ESPN) and the Christian Broadcasting Network (CBN) and was a major partner responsible for the national satellite distribution of WGN America, the Prevue Guide, the Music Group, and a number of other satellite-delivered audio devices. Jim moved to New York City in 1985 as senior vice president for a year at Tempo Enterprises. While there, he was responsible for the creation and founding of the Travel Channel. Funded by Trans World Airlines (TWA), he became the Travel Channel’s executive vice president of the worldwide cable TV network and served as vice president and COO of television-network services at TWA from 1985–1988. Since 2002, Jim has served in numerous other roles, including project director of the Knowledge Management Center. During this role, he worked with the Department of Homeland Security. As the president and CEO of Red Source Global, LLC, his counter terrorism intelligence and related security information about the Global War on Terrorism allowed him to gain top security clearance. Currently, Jim is a partner with Kansas City-based GreenG LLC in the areas of developing technology, economics, and applications for waste-to-energy applications and oil/water separation. He is married to his wife Barbara. He has four children—Heather, Hillarie, Kyle, and Matt—and also has seven grandchildren.

Dan Deines, Jim Trecek, and John Moyer were featured panelists during Homecoming. Faculty and students enjoyed the opportunity to ask them questions about their college experiences and careers.

2


s r .

a

a d

s s

c d g e .

e s k

g ,

A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

27

2017 OUTSTANDING RECENT GRADUATE

JOHN MOYER BSB 2008 MBA 2018

John became the Global Technical Project Manager for Cerner Technology Services of Kansas City in 2015. He manages health information technology solutions projects in the United Kingdom, France, Australia, Canada, and United Arab Emirates. His responsibilities include operational improvement, code upgrades, building cloud environments, opening data centers in new markets, and building diverse teams with broad technical skills for multiple countries. Earlier, John was IT Business Development Consultant for Hallmark Cards, Kansas City, and led an effort that resulted in a $12-million-plus cost savings. Promoted to Technical Project Lead for Field Service Optimization in 2012, he led a project to replace 14,000 mobile devices for 55,000 retail locations in the United States, Puerto Rico, and Canada using SAP Afaria Mobile Device Management development and implementation. He managed the initiative to rollout corporate email and video to 14,000 field users. As Hallmark’s Project Manager of Field Service Security Remediation in 2014, John was responsible for all phases of a project to enhance security features, including two factor authentication, on Motorola TC55 and Apple iPad mobile devices. Moyer is a Motorola TC55 device expert on Android 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean) platform. He is currently a member of the Emporia State Information Systems Advisory Council.

$832,000 Amount of dollars given to the School of Business from alumni & friends in the academic year 17–18.

Thank you to our amazing alumni and friends who made an investment in Emporia State’s future. Your gifts, regardless of size, help relieve the financial burden of our BizHornets and help improve our program and facilities. Your generosity is greatly appreciated.


28

A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

COMMERCIAL INSURANCE WORKSHOP 13 BizHornets spent a couple days over Spring Break in Chicago for a Commercial Insurance Workshop hosted by alumni John Stibal with Unum and Mark Kendall with HUB International. Great high-impact learning experiences for these students!

J

DYNAMIC NAMED 2017 BUSINESS DISCS OF THE YEAR Jeremy J. Rusco (BSB ‘06 business administration), Emporia, was honored with the Emporia Area Chamber and Visitors Bureau 2017 Business of the Year for his business, Dynamic Discs. Dynamic Discs started in 2005 as Jeremy’s college-based eBay hobby while he attended Emporia State University. Jeremy had no dreams of it being anything other than a hobby that was going to sell a couple discs a week. Over the next several years, it was evident that Dynamic Discs could become more than a hobby. In 2007, the first unofficial, parttime employees were hired and paid in disc golf merchandise. These employees are still with Dynamic Discs today. In 2010, the business was moved out of his house and into a rental space. Less than a year later, they moved to 912 Commercial Street, where the Dynamic Discs retail location is operated. In December 2012, Dynamic Discs partnered up with Latitude 64 to produce golf discs. Dynamic Distribution formed in October 2013, and the warehouse opened which created even more opportunity.

E


A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

29

JUMPSTART KANSAS Grant Winners Announced

Emporia State University and the Kansas Small Business Development Center partnered with the Kansas Department of Commerce to present Kansas entrepreneurs the opportunity to apply for government funding. These funds are intended to be used to create new businesses or expand existing businesses with innovative products, services, or processes. JumpStart Kansas aims to provide support to business opportunities showing the potential to generate sales and create jobs in their respective region. Grants awarded were in amounts up to $10,000. The businesses funded by this grant will display new products, services, methods, or applications of a better solution. Upon completion of the application, projects were judged by an Emporia State review board, and the final approval determined by the Kansas Department of Commerce. Applications were open to Kansas-based individuals and companies residing in the following counties: Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Coffey, Cowley, Greenwood, Elk, Lyon, Marion, Morris, and Osage. Seven businesses within the neighboring communities of Emporia State University were awarded JumpStart Kansas grants in 2017.

Etiquette Luncheon BizHornets in the Professional Development and Leadership for Accounting Majors class and high school students from Emporia, Northern Heights, Olpe, and Hartford enjoyed the Etiquette Luncheon sponsored by Tim (BSB ‘86 accounting) & Kristi Wright of Emporia. June Coleman, Director of Career Services, led the presentation on proper dining etiquette with an amazing meal from Sodexo. Thank you Tim & Kristi for your support of our students!

Kim Redeker with The Sweet Granada. Congratulations to the following grant recipients: The Building Center, Marion Exodus Files, LLC, Emporia The Sweet Granada, Emporia Flint Hills Game Birds, Burlington Great Plains Design Center, New Strawn Bobwhite Vines, LLC, Hartford Ellen Plumb’s City Bookstore, Emporia


30

A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

MENTOR

PROGRAM Steve Stone (BSB ‘17 information systems) mentors two accounting students, Madison Orrange (left) and Carolina Taylor.

Young adults who were at-risk for falling off track but had a mentor are: 55% more likely to enroll in college 78% more likely to volunteer regularly 90% are interested in becoming a mentor 130% more likely to hold leadership positions. mentoring.org

Community and Business Enhancement Tours

Mentoring can be defined in many different ways. Within the School of Business, mentoring is a program that we feel is vital to our student’s professional success. The program consists of monthly correspondence between mentor and mentee on selected topics that correlate with resume critique, industry trends, professional goals, and networking. Mentors and mentees are placed together by their career choices, hobbies, interests, and what they indicate on their application as important to them. Great pride is taken to ensure each relationship is a beneficial match and will be meaningful to both parties. The program started in 2014 with the vision to benefit not only our students, but those alumni and friends that wish to give back to their alma mater. In 2017– 2018, the program held 46 successful matches between mentors and mentees. If you are interested in becoming a mentor or mentee, please go to emporia.edu/ business/mentorprogram/ and fill out the application form.

Community and Business Enhancement Tours, sponsored by Emporia Main Street and the School of Business, were held in the Fall of 2017. The tours were open to all ESU students and gave them an opportunity to explore downtown businesses, learn about potential careers, and earn free Main Street Bucks! The four different tour dates included the following businesses: The Sweet Granada, Granada Coffee Company, Twin Rivers, Uncommon Threads, Eclectic Bikes, Studio 504, Cowgirl Glamour Boutique, and Gravel City Roasters.


A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

WALDECK FAMILY 2018 EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP SUMMIT In partnership with the Emporia Area Chamber of Commerce and Convention & Visitors Bureau, the School of Business hosted the first annual Executive Leadership Summit on April 20, 2018. The summit featured three of our top alumni who were recognized by the Kansas City Business Journal as “Women Who Mean Business.” The event was sponsored by the Waldeck Family, Design Resources Inc., 2S Inc., Hopkins, and Teresa Martin Lockton Companies. Thank you to our steering committee for all their hard work planning this event: Jeanine McKenna, Joyce French, and Dr. Ed Bashaw.

Denise Kruse ’82

Women Who Mean Business - 2006 Denise Kruse is the CEO and owner of AdamsGabbert. AdamsGabbert is dedicated to improving business results and operations for their clients in the areas of people, process, and systems. Services include recruiting talent and providing strategic consulting in areas such as business process improvement, project management, and ensuring that organizational change can be sustained. Denise is a currently on the boards of two privately held companies. Additionally, she is on the board of the American Heart Association, was founding Chair and is currently a Director for Win|Win for KC (dedicated to gender diversity of corporate boards and corporate officers), and is a regional board director for the Make-A-Wish Foundation. She was honored as a KC Woman of Influence in 2008.

Teresa Martin ’81

Women Who Mean Business - 2003 Teresa Martin is Senior Vice President and Producer for Lockton Companies. She has been with Lockton since 1993 and is responsible for overseeing client relationships, advising clients on strategies and business issues, guiding service teams, and developing new client relationships. Teresa works with a mix of local and regional middle-market to large clients, focusing on construction, manufacturing, financial services, and M&A sectors. She has been active in various industry and community organizations and currently serves on the following: Emporia State University Foundation Board of Trustees, Emporia State University School of Business Alliance, and Women’s Intersport Network (WIN for KC) Advisory Board. Teresa was recognized as an Ingram’s Magazine Women Executives - KC in 2008.

31


32

A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

Linda Sinnett ’79 & ’14 Women Who Mean Business - 2015

Linda serves as Chief Financial Officer for Design Resources, a multi-company apparel group. Linda is a former recipient of the CFO of the Year award presented by the Kansas City Business Journal. Linda has also been recognized as Member of the Year of Financial Executives International. Recently, Linda has been nominated for the ATHENA award, which is presented annually by the KC Chamber and honors a person who has achieved the highest level of professional excellence, devoted time and energy to the community, and especially opened the doors of leadership opportunity to women. She is a board member of Bra Couture Kansas City, a fund-raising group for un-insured and underinsured Kansas City area cancer patients.

Left: Denise Kruse, Teresa Martin, and Linda Sinnett accept their appreciation gifts following the Summit.

EXECUTIVE HOUR Craig (BSB ‘86 business administration) and Brad Clark (BSB ‘84 marketing, business administration), brothers and alumni of ESU, hosted a series of “Executive Hour” presentations, a forum to deliver realworld information on select topics, outline the relevance of the topic for a new college graduate, and make themselves available for questions. They held six presentations, three in each semester to a packed room.

A


R

A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

33

ALUMNI ACCOMPLISHMENTS CAREER ADVANCEMENTS

Alen H. Hodzic (BSB ‘07 accounting), New York, NY, has been named Chief of Staff for the Northeast Region of Grant Thorton LLP. Hayley N. Jirak (BSB ‘16 business administration), Overland Park, recently

became an associate account manager at Lockton Affinity.

Dr. Lea R. Gimenez (BS ‘04 economics),

Paraguay, is the Minister of Finance in the country of Paraguay. She is the only woman in charge of finance.

Corina Nour (MBA ‘11 accounting, business administration), Belmont, CA, is the new lead internal auditor at Intuit in San Francisco.

John A. Stibal (BSB ‘82 business administration), Chicago, IL, was recently

promoted to senior vice president of Sales and Client Management at UNUM.

Rodney S. Whittmer (BSE ‘92 business education), Holton, has

been selected as the KASSP Area 1 2017–2018 High School Principal of the Year.

RETIREMENTS Jeff A. Beims (BSE ‘91 business education & social sciences), Saint Francis, recently retired from Saint Francis High School after teaching American and World History as well as coaching for 25 years there.

Chuck L. Grimwood (BSB ‘73 accounting), Emporia, recently retired from Mark II Lumber after 46 years in the business.

LTC Rapheal “Joe” Hamilton Ph.D. (BSB ‘95 accounting), West Point, NY, retired from his

position as assistant professor at the U.S. Military Academy West Point Department of Behavioral Sciences & Leadership. He was also one of ten recipients of the 2007 Elijah Watts Sells Award and was named a Recent Outstanding Alum of the Academy.

Rick J. Hyman (BSB ‘70 business administration), Annandale, NJ, has retired

after 47 years from Coverage One as a national account manager.

Connie N. Lindell (AS ‘76 secretarial, BSE ‘77 business, MS ‘84 business education),

Baldwin City, recently retired from Santa Fe Trail High School after 38 years.

Linda S. Peters (BSE ‘73 business education), Hillsboro, recently retired after a 43

year teaching career.


34

A LU M N I & C O M M U N I T Y

Mike L. Petitjean (BSE ‘70 business education, MS ‘78 business education),

Newton, recently retired from Ameriprise.

Larry A. Schmidt (BSB ‘71 business administration), Moundridge, recently retired from Mid-Kansas Credit Union after a 32 year career.

Denise Kruse (BSB ‘82 business administration) for being recognized in Ingram’s magazine as a member of Women ExecutivesKansas City.

Jim (BSB ‘74 business administration) & Kathy Kessler, Karen Sommers, and Vern (BSB ‘66 business administration) & Susie Swanson received the University Service Citation Award.

ACCOLADES Howard West (BSB ‘05 computer information systems, MS ‘07 intructional design technology), Cambridge, MA, was

recently the recipient of the IDS 2017 Global Mentoring Excellence Award.

Bronte Bailey (‘16 business education)

received the 2018 High School Entrepreneur Educator of the Year from the Center for the Advancement of Entrepreneurship.

Scott S. Anderson (BSB ‘91 accounting),

Topeka, has been chosen as one of five members to be appointed to the Kansas Development Finance Authority Board by (then) Governor Brownback.

Dr. Diane M. (Prior) DeBacker (BSB ‘82 business education), Topeka, has been

appointed by (then) Governor Brownback as Executive Director of Business and Education Innovation at the Kansas Department of Commerce.

Luke Palmer (BSB ‘18 accounting & information systems)

was inducted in the Sigma Tau Gamma Noble Man Hall of Fame during the fraternity’s Grand Conclave in Phoenix June. He was named a finalists for the Sigma Tau Gamma’s Ellsworth C. Dent Undergraduate Man of the Year.

Linda S. (Brogan) Sinnett (BS ‘79 business administration, MBA ‘14), Overland Park; Teresa A. (Harms) Martin (BS ‘81 public affairs, BS ‘81 business administration), Kansas City, MO; and Denise L. (Smoot) Kruse (BSB ‘82 business administration), Overland Park, were honored guests at a KC Alumni event

for being featured in the Kansas City Business Journal as a past recipient of “Women Who Mean Business.”


Faculty + Staff Directory


36

D I R E C T O RY 2 0 1 8 – 2 0 1 9

CURRENT FACULTY 2018–2019 *Indicates New Faculty

DR. ED BASHAW

DEAN, SCHOOL OF BUSINESS JONES DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR ebashaw@emporia.edu

DR. MARC FUSARO

ASSOCIATE DEAN ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR – ECONOMICS mfusaro@emporia.edu

DR. LIZ DIERS

CHAIR ASSISTANT PROFESSOR –ACCOUNTING ldiers@emporia.edu

DR. JOYCE ZHOU

DR. MOHAMMAD CHOWDHURY

PROFESSOR – BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION mchowdhu@emporia.edu

DR. GEORGE DURLER PROFESSOR – ACCOUNTING mdurler@emporia.edu

MR. LARRY FALCETTO

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR – ACCOUNTING lfalcett@emporia.edu

DR. LIDAN (ALICE) FAN

CHAIR ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR – MARKETING xzhou@emporia.edu

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – COMPUTER SCIENCE lfan@emporia.edu

DR. ANTONINA (TONYA) BAUMAN

DR. JAVIER FLORES

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – MANAGEMENT abauman@emporia.edu

DR. JUAN CHAVARRIA

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – INFORMATION SYSTEMS jchavar1@emporia.edu

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – INFORMATION SYSTEMS jflores6@emporia.edu

DR. DIPAK GHOSH PROFESSOR – ECONOMICS dghosh@emporia.edu


D I R E C T O RY 2 0 1 8 – 2 0 1 9

DR. DANIEL HASKIN

*DR. DAEHYUN MOON

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR – ACCOUNTING dhaskin@emporia.edu

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION dmoon@emporia.edu

*DR. CHUANDI (CHARLIE) JIANG

DR. JEFF MULDOON

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – MARKETING cjiang1@emporia.edu

DR. SHAWN KEOUGH

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR – MANAGEMENT skeough@emporia.edu

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – MANAGEMENT jmuldoon@emporia.edu

DR. MOHAMMED SAJEDUR RAHMAN ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – INFORMATION SYSTEMS mrahman@emporia.edu

DR. GEETHALAKSHMI

SHIVANAPURA LAKSHMIKANTH ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – INFORMATION SYSTEMS glakshmi@emporia.edu

DR. STEVEN LOVETT

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION slovett1@emporia.edu

DR. CAROL LUCY

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – MANAGEMENT clucy@emporia.edu

DR. DONALD MILLER

PROFESSOR EMERITUS – MANAGEMENT dmiller1@emporia.edu

DR. JOHN RICH

PROFESSOR – ACCOUNTING jrich@emporia.edu

DR. MARIAN RIEDY

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR – BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION mriedy@emporia.edu

*DR. WILL SENN

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – INFORMATION SYSTEMS wsenn@emporia.edu

DR. DOUGLASS SMITH

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – INFORMATION SYSTEMS dsmith35@emporia.edu

37


38

D I R E C T O RY 2 0 1 8 – 2 0 1 9

A DR. TANJA STEIGNER

DR. DEREK YONAI

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR – FINANCE tsteigne@emporia.edu

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR – BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION & ECONOMICS dyonai@emporia.edu

DR. CHRISTOPHER STONE

DR. JUN YU

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – MANAGEMENT cstone6@emporia.edu

DR. LEI WEN

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR –ACCOUNTING/ FINANCE lwen@emporia.edu

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR – MARKETING jyu@emporia.edu

DR. QIANCHENG (JAMES) ZHENG

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR – FINANCE qzheng@emporia.edu

BIZHORNET CENTER

BETH GINTER

DIRECTOR, STUDENT SERVICES AND MARKETING eginter@emporia.edu

SHELBY CLARK

ADMINISTRATIVE SPECIALIST ACADEMIC ADVISOR sclark14@emporia.edu

LETICIA RUST

STUDENT SERVICES PROFESSIONAL lrust1@emporia.edu

JAMES WILLINGHAM COORDINATOR, GRADUATE AND CAREER SERVICES jwilling@emporia.edu

DEENA WILSON ACADEMIC ADVISOR dwilson2@emporia.edu

K


D I R E C T O RY 2 0 1 8 – 2 0 1 9

39

ADMINISTRATIVE

GLENDA ESTES

EXECUTIVE ASSOCIATE gestes@emporia.edu

LINDA OREAR

ADMINISTRATIVE SPECIALIST lorear@emporia.edu

KANSAS SMALL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT CENTER

LISA BRUMBAUGH DIRECTOR lbrumbau@emporia.edu

TOM BYLER

BUSINESS ADVISOR tbyler@emporia.edu

JILL COOK

COORDINATOR jcook11@emporia.edu


VISION

The School of Business will produce technologically advanced graduates with holistic, professional education for a dynamic, global environment.

MISSION STATEMENT

Our mission is to provide access to innovative business preparation for limitless opportunities in the region and beyond.

1 Kellogg Circle, Campus Box 4039 Emporia, KS 66801

Profile for Emporia State University

School of Business 2017-2018 Year in Review  

School of Business 2017-2018 Year in Review  

Profile for esupub