Issuu on Google+

x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:49

Page 1

international

Annual Review building global friendship

2009


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:49

Page 2

Review of the year This has been yet another busy year for CISV International, our National and Promotional Associations and Chapters. We held 205 international programmes and 36 local activities for over 10,000 participants worldwide. It is exciting to consider the actions we have inspired those participants to take and the difference that, together, we can make. We came to the end of our most recent Strategic Plan in 2009. Its success is evident on every page of this Annual Review. The development of our education and training content, delivery and resources has exceeded our hopes and expectations. We have increased our level of cooperation with other Non Governmental Organizations; partnerships that have bought great benefit, including joint educational research opportunities.

CISV Archive

A comprehensive review of our programme hospitality and fees structure, combined with long-range programme planning, allows us to look forward to enhanced financial security in a difficult economic climate. Our Chapters are stronger and making a real impact in their local communities. An International Taskforce of Inclusive Practices has spearheaded inclusion awareness-raising initiatives. We are mindful that appreciating and valuing diversity is one of our

2

CISV INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL REVIEW 2009 REVIEW OF THE YEAR

four educational principles and demands our constant attention, both in our programmes and within the organization. We now look ahead with our new three year Strategic Plan. The result of an organization-wide consultation process, this Strategic Plan was approved at the Annual International Meeting (AIM) 2009. CISV is committed to working for a more just and peaceful world through educating children, young people and adults to inspire them to be active global citizens. To help us realise this ambition, the focus of our Strategic Plan is on increasing the quantity and enhancing the quality of our educational programmes, projects and activities. Over the next three years, we will be concentrating our efforts on the continuous improvement of our education and training. Central to this will be two important research projects evaluating the impact of our new educational resources and our Train The Trainer structure. We will also be introducing measures to make sure we take a consistent approach in our international and national trainings. Our Chapters and their volunteers are our life-blood. They actively contribute, educate and inspire by organizing our


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:49

Page 3

Arne-Christian Haukeland, President, Norway

A new publication made an incredible impact on CISV and beyond in 2009. ‘Passport’ quickly become essential reading and is a marvellous introduction to CISV, Peace Education and Active Global Citizenship.

Junko Imanishi, Vice-President, Japan

local activities and international programmes. To help them continue to strengthen and grow, we have committed over the coming three years to providing them with effective support structures, resources and networking opportunities.

approved at our AIM. Our particular thanks for his considerable contribution to this process must go to Brett Vottero of CISV USA, who was duly appointed the first President of the Company.

We have an important purpose and message that we want to share with as many individuals, communities and organizations as possible. Our third area of focus is on raising our profile in a way that is consistent, effective and engaging. To help guide our activities, in 2010 we will be carrying out a wide-ranging review of all of our communications. Our 2010 AIM will provide the venue for the launch of our year-long 60th Anniversary celebrations, which will give us a wonder ful opportunity to publicise who we, what we believe and how we put our beliefs into action to as wide an audience as possible.

As I near the end of my term as President of CISV International, I see so much to be proud of and celebrate. It has been an enormous privilege to serve as President of our wonder ful organization and to work and meet with so many of our volunteers and staff. I want to thank my colleagues on the International Executive Committee, our Secretary General and our staff at the International Office and in various National Association offices. Most of all, I want to thank our dedicated volunteers at every level around the world without whom we simply could not organize and operate. We have a vision of creating a more just and peaceful world through educating and inspiring action. It is only through our shared commitment and hard work that we can achieve so much and dream so high.

An event of some note for CISV International in 2009 was the setting up of our own insurance company. CISV International has long been concerned to find a stable and cost-effective solution to our global public liability insurance needs. Following investigation, the CISV International Insurance Company (CISV IIC) was officially set up in the US state of Kentucky in late 2009. The first Board of CISV IIC was

Adam Axelsson, Executive Trustee, Sweden

Lene Eltvik, Executive Trustee, Norway

Jeff Parliament, Executive Trustee, Canada

Arne-Christian Haukeland, President of CISV International, on behalf of the International Executive and the Secretary General.

Gabrielle Mandell, Secretary General, Canada/Great Britain

For a copy of our Annual Report and financial statements, or for more detailed information on our current and previous Strategic Plans, please visit http://resources.cisv.org

3


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:49

Page 4

CISV Passport brought the philosophy of Peace Education back to life. It reminds me why I'm doing this.

Teemu Alanen, CISV Finland

CISV educates and inspires action Educate

Act

As an international Peace Education organization CISV inspires action through a network of local Chapters, educational programmes and projects. CISV’s Peace Education focuses on four key content areas: ● Diversity ● Human Rights ● Conflict and Resolution ● Sustainable Development

CISV inspires action based on upholding, celebrating and protecting our universal human rights, diversity within communities and the natural environment. We believe that through these actions and learning about peaceful ways to resolve conflicts, each of us can contribute to achieving our vision.

Inspire

These content areas are directly linked to our four educational principles, which unite and inspire us as an organization. ●

We appreciate the similarities between people and value their differences

We encourage the resolution of conflict through peaceful means

We support social justice and equality of opportunity for all

We support the creation of sustainable solutions to problems relating to our impact upon each other and the natural world.

They reflect the issues that are important to us and the ideals we uphold. CISV Archive

4

CISV INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL REVIEW 2009 CISV’S PURPOSE

All of our programmes and activities are designed to encourage volunteers and participants to think about how they can make a positive difference in the world. In other words, how they can become become Active Global Citizens. Naturally this means different things for different people depending on their age and circumstances. For example, this may mean an eleven year old planning to give a presentation to her school on the need for them to take on an environmental project, or a fifteen year old raising awareness of racism within a group of friends, or an adult planning to get actively involved in a community based project for refugees.


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 5

Passport for Peace Education CISV has a dynamic and distinctive approach to Peace Education, which is described clearly in the Passport. This handy, passport-sized booklet is an easy-to-read introduction to CISV’s Peace Education, our principles, content areas and methods. But more than that, it is a clear declaration of who we are, what we believe and what we aspire to achieve. Launched in April 2009, the Passport has now been distributed worldwide and is at the core of all our programmes, training and profile raising. Passport has quickly become an essential item in the CISVer’s toolkit; as a reminder of experience gained, a motivator to action and a great way to spread the word about CISV and active global citizenship. Thanks to our National Associations, the Passport is now available in Spanish, Turkish, Portuguese, Danish, with versions in Italian, French, Hebrew and Japanese underway. This helps make the Passport even more accessible and reinforces our commitment to educating and inspiring even more people to become Active Global Citizens. For more information about Passport and Peace Education in CISV, contact us at: international@cisv.org

CISV has a vision of a more just and peaceful world. We believe that we can all take responsibility for making this possible.

5

Bertil Hron, CISV Sweden


x90210_CISV_p3_lf_x90032_CISV_p3_lf 15/07/2010 14:49 Page 6

The programme was useful for us as parents as well as for our children. CISV’s purpose is to prepare individuals to become active and contributing members of a peaceful society and I felt that the programme really helped achieve this objective.

Interchange family, CISV Egypt

Educating and Inspiring Active Global Citizens CISV uses an informal approach called experiential learning in all of our programmes, which can be described as ‘learning by doing’. It is an active, effective and fun way to learn and develop the attitudes, skills and knowledge needed to become an Active Global Citizen.

Village 11 year-olds/28 days

Interchange 12 – 15 year-olds/14 – 28 days

Early life experiences shape the way we see the world

Our cultures begin in our homes

Early life experiences shape the way we see the world. CISV Villages are international camps that inspire children to imagine a more just and peaceful world. The children come together from many different countries to take part in a variety of educational, cultural and fun activities. A Village creates a safe setting in which children from around the world learn about each other’s lives and how to communicate, cooperate and live together. The Village learning experiences, and the friendships made, last a lifetime.

This exchange programme promotes intercultural learning by placing participants from one Chapter with families from another Chapter in a different country. The exchange has two phases, one in each country, allowing each participant to be both a visitor and a host. Not only is this a profound cultural experience for the young participants, but it also engages the whole family, and potentially the broader community, in the learning experience.

Summer Camp 14 – 15 year-olds/21 days

Seminar Camp 17 – 18 year-olds/21 days

Young people learn when given the chance to lead

Exchanging ideas; a powerful tool for global learning

Young people learn when given the chance to lead. International Summer Camps encourage the young people to take a leading role in planning and organising activities. The participants and adult leaders plan activities around a theme drawn from CISV’s Peace Education content, for example identity, democracy, environmental protection. Summer Camps provide great opportunities for young people to learn about how these issues are thought about and dealt with in different countries and cultures. Just as importantly, they make friends and gain a wider appreciation of how life is for people in different countries.

This personally challenging, intensive programme is coordinated by the young people who are participating in it. They develop their own agenda and explore global issues based on their own backgrounds and interests, through activities and in-depth discussions. Seminar Camp’s group-living environment encourages them to collaborate, and to take a creative approach to problem-solving and resolving differences that can arise from healthy discussion.

6

CISV INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL REVIEW 2009 OUR EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMMES


x90032_CISV_p2_lf_x90032_CISV_p2_lf 14/07/2010 11:24 Page 7

We want all of our participants to have wonderful and exciting educational experiences. We are committed to delivering programmes that are fun, exciting and importantly, have Peace Education at their very core. CISV’s Peace Education is developed directly from our educational principles, our Statement of Purpose and our vision of a more just and peaceful world. We have an evaluation framework that helps us to ensure that all of our programmes meet our standards. We also collect evidence that helps us to share best practice and improve what we do, year on year.

7

Walter Ring, CISV Austria


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 8

The international interaction was intense and captivating, the opportunity was an eye opener for me . . . I am certain that my experience at the Youth Meeting has immensely improved my personal development in leadership and organizational skills

Steve Tene, CISV Kenya

Learning by doing In 2009, 16 countries hosted 36 Mosaic projects for 2,400 participants. There was a record number of Youth Meetings; first time hosts were CISV Algeria, Kenya and Slovenia.

Youth Meeting 12 – 19+ year-olds/8 or 15 days

Mosaic All ages/Any length

Small gatherings inspire big ideas

Local communities reflect the wider world

Youth meetings bring groups of participants together from different countries within the region. They explore aspects of Peace Education related to a specific theme and share their different perspectives. They also think about how they can apply what they have gained from their experience, such as knowledge of the theme along with planning and communication skills, within their own community.

Mosaic offers our Chapters a model for community-based Peace Education. Each project responds to local needs and interests in meaningful ways. Most of the projects are planned and delivered in cooperation with partner organizations and come in many shapes and sizes. Mosaic projects create an authentic learning experience for local participants of all ages and deliver a benefit to the wider community.

International People’s Project (IPP)

Junior Branch 11 – 25 year-olds/ongoing

19+ years/14 – 23 days

Peace Education is a global movement

Go out, find out, help out International People’s Projects are innovative learning programmes that actively contribute toward identified needs within a community. In partnership with a local organization, a group of participants from different countries work together on community projects related to a specific theme, like environmental degradation or immigration. When they are not working on the project, participants bring knowledge of the chosen theme from their own cultural contexts and take turns leading educational activities.

8

CISV INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL REVIEW 2009 OUR EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMMES

Junior Branch is an international network of young people taking local action, while inspiring and enabling others to do the same. Based in our Chapters, Junior Branches are self-governing groups that organize activities throughout the year. While each Junior Branch group is different, they all work towards common goals and strive to build inclusive communities through Peace Education.


x90210_CISV_p3_lf_x90032_CISV_p3_lf 15/07/2010 14:49 Page 9

IPP volunteers working on a regeneration project alongside townspeople of Farafra, Egypt

Strong communities are built by active citizens All of these programmes and so much more happen within CISV’s Chapters. CISV has Chapters in over 200 towns and cities worldwide. While each is very different, they are all communities of active global citizens. Chapters are locally organized and open to anyone who would like to join. They are made up of individuals and families and they hold events, run projects and host programmes, all of which contribute towards a more just and peaceful world.

For more information on our Chapters, Junior Branch and programmes, please visit www.cisv.org 9

CISV Egypt


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 10

Our last programme training was delivered using some of the tools introduced by Train The Trainer and it made a great impact on the people involved.

“

CISV El Salvador

Training for excellence CISV invests a great deal of time, effort and money in training. This is because we believe that high quality training for our volunteers means a high quality experience for those who take part in our programmes and chapter based activities. In 2009 we provided training for hundreds of volunteers around the world. We match their enthusiasm and commitment with the skills and knowledge they need to be able to plan and deliver effective and exciting educational experiences. As a demonstration of how highly we value all our volunteer trainers, we have established a certified Train The Trainer (TTT) programme. This contributes to the continuing development of our trainers and also acts as an effective communication pathway for introducing new initiatives into the organization. TTTs are delivered by our International Pool of Trainers, a specialist group of volunteer training professionals. In 2009, 89 of our volunteer trainers completed TTT successfully. Our TTTs take place at our Regional Training Forums, which were held in each of our regions for the first time in 2009.

CISV Guatemala

10

CISV INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL REVIEW 2009 TRAINING IN CISV

The impact of training – a personal view For me training and learning are the two key elements in CISV. The creative way in which we teach participants to fully understand the world and each other is amazing and inspiring. I love to be right in the middle of that. The TTT brought me a lot of insights into training methods, but also into the 'things you don't think of', like group development and a positive learning environment. Now, as a trainer of TTTs I hope to bring the same inspiration to future trainers, but I also really like to be inspired myself. My best moments are when I am training and learning at the same time; it makes every experience new and challenging. Florentine Versteeg CISV Brazil, formerly CISV Netherlands Florentine is a new member of our International Pool of Trainers


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 11

Experiential learning or ‘learning by doing’ is an active, effective and fun way to learn – for our programme participants and for our volunteer trainers.

11

Monica Figueroa, CISV Guatemala


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 12

Each of our chapters has organized camps where we invite like-minded-organizations and the disadvantaged children they work with to participate. These camps are run by our Junior Branch...we share philosophies with these other organizations and our Juniors learn about the issues they are working to address.

Acting with others CISV Indonesia

“If you think you are too small to have an impact, try going to bed with a mosquito in the room” Mosquito Tactics a coffee table book about peace education CISV Sweden

CISV International is a Non Governmental Organization (NGO) in operational relations with UNESCO and holds Participatory Status with the Council of Europe. Along with cooperation, conducting and contributing to research in the field of inter-cultural peace education is one of CISV’s founding goals. As part of our commitment to this work we have developed strong links with Birkbeck College, University of London, Newcastle University and the University of Modena and Reggio Emilia. Twelve CISV camps have provided the research material for ‘Dialogue in Intercultural Communities’, a book on communication and active participation in education systems in intercultural settings. The book, due to be published in early 2010, is a collection of essays, edited by Claudio Baraldi of University of Modena e Reggio Emilia. At the local level, our CISV members in our Chapters work closely with other organizations to develop community based projects. Our Mosaic programme and Junior Branches around the world have been particularly effective in finding partner organizations, with which they can share ideas and resources to make a positive difference in their communities.

12

CISV INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL REVIEW 2009 ACTING WITH OTHERS

Mosquito Tactics – making an impact! Launched on the world at AIM 2009, the thought-provoking Mosquito Tactics: A book about Peace Education, was an immediate success! An ambitious project of CISV Sweden, Mosquito Tactics was supported with funding from the Swedish National Commission for UNESCO and the Folke Bernadotte Academy. Mosquito Tactics examines what we mean by peace and the obstacles to achieving it. It explores the theory of structural violence, where issues and injustices such as racism, gender discrimination and poverty must be addressed in order to achieve peace. The book not only educates; it is also an inspiring call to action, showing the reader how they can make an impact! For enquiries about Mosquito Tactics, please contact CISV Sweden.


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 13

Key plans for 2010 We will launch our 60th Anniversary Our 2010 Annual International Meeting will be hosted by CISV Germany, in Berlin 2010 will be the CISV Year of Diversity We will undertake research projects in partnership with Birkbeck College and Ohio University

CISV Algeria and CISV Romania will host their first Seminar Camps CISV Vietnam will host our Asia-Pacific regional meeting and Regional Training Forum for the first time

CISV Slovenia will host its first Youth Meeting Our National Associations are planning a record number of IPPs and Summer Camps The Board of CISV International will elect a new International Executive Committee We will undertake a comprehensive review of our internal and external communications The CISV International Office will host a ‘Writeshop’, for CISV international trainers from all areas in order to develop common training goals

13

CISV Guatemala


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 14

In 2010 we will concentrate on Diversity and explore what that really means for us as an organization, in our communities and among different nations.

Focussing on Human Rights To celebrate the United Nations International Year of Human Rights Learning, in 2009 we focussed upon Human Rights in all of our programmes. Some themed their entire programme or projects around human rights and social justice, where others ran a human rights awareness activity. The following projects are some great examples.

I believe the Killer Fashion Revolution workshop was an interactive way to approach Human Rights issues through some of the hidden ethical issues of fashion. The participants became more aware of the neglect of Human Rights in the fashion industry and were given the knowledge, skills and attitudes to become more ethical consumers. Participants were also inspired to re-cycle and adapt clothing to expand the life-span of their own wardrobes.

Many of the clothes we wear are related to war, without our even knowing. The idea of the Killer Fashion Revolution was to examine war-related fashion and transform it to create new garments that promote human rights. By exploring Human Rights through fashion, we raise our awareness through something that is part of our daily lives.

The Killer Fashion Revolution was also a part of my Masters Thesis for Aalto University, School of Art and Design. It will also be part of the Amnesty International Human Rights Arts Festival in Maryland USA in 2010.

“Fashion hacktivism for human rights!�

So, how does this work? The first Killer Fashion Revolution workshop was a Mosaic project. Fourteen participants, aged 14 to 30, and four partner organizers spent a weekend together discovering how our every-day fashion relates to war, understanding the complexities of Human Rights and creating ethical clothing designs. Linda Kronman, CISV Finland

14

CISV INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL REVIEW 2009 HUMAN RIGHTS FOCUS

Linda Kronman, CISV Finland Visit www.killerfashionrevolution.com to read more about this exciting project.


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 15

Participants at the Killer Fashion Revolution workshop

The Junior Branch (JB) in CISV Germany traditionally hosts an educational weekend called NaJuWo. For their 2009 NaJuWo, they chose the theme of ‘Human Rights Education’ to support the CISV focus on Human Rights for the year. The group got exposed to the concept of Human Rights and explored how the idea of human rights came about. They dived into the history of human rights and questioned whether there would be a new draft of the Human Rights Declaration in the future. Through discussions and activities, everyone gained new attitudes, skills and knowledge. We truly believe that this was a great example of how we can use themes to further our educational goals. JB Germany is one example among the many JBs that use themes to explore CISV Peace Education and our four content areas. It is a great opportunity for JBs, Chapters, National Associations, programmes, regions and CISV International to work together in unity under the same educational challenge! Maru Ayam and Rou El Shimi, CISV International Junior Representatives

15

Linda Kronman, CISV Finland


x90032_CISV_p2_lf_x90032_CISV_p2_lf 14/07/2010 11:24 Page 16

CISV. . . has given me the clear idea that a better world can be built . . . starting from your immediate surroundings

Active CISVers CISV has very much shaped my life, together with my family and Colombian values. It has strengthened my leadership skills and has given me an important scenario to develop them. But overall, it has given me the clear idea that a better world can be built, and that one can always work hard to achieve this; starting from your immediate surroundings, but also in national or global arenas. And – saving the best for last – it gave me the chance to meet my wife; the fascinating Italian, Alice Beccaro (former Youth Meeting Chair)! I am one of many CISVers who has studied International Relations, and am now finishing my MSc. in Development Studies. As CISV gave me the opportunity to become an active citizen, my career really started at the age of 15, when I got acquainted with project management, development, human rights and citizen's participation. I led the International Cooperation Programme for the UK government in Colombia and served as Executive Director of a Human Rights NGO. I currently continue to work in the field of democracy and development, with a new project: the foundation of an NGO that one day will be international. Starting from this year it will be working to strengthen civil society organizations in Colombia: helping them become stronger and organizationally mature, CISV Archive

16

CISV INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL REVIEW 2009 ACTING FOR PEACE

helping society understand why they are important, and building bridges between them, the Government, and the private sector. I always thought that with the change that came with globalization and the so called ‘information era’, our organization would need to adapt to that new setting. Indeed, we now have more cultural diversity in our cities than in our international camps. I believe that Mosaic will be the strategic programme that will bring all our other programmes together, and that will help CISV be out there in permanent contact with reality, with the problems of our new world, and actively finding new solutions. My vision is for CISV to become one of the top 10 global volunteer organisations, but grown stronger professionally, with larger geographical coverage, and present with deployed teams helping communities struck by violence, poverty or natural disasters. CISV will always be relevant, as we are one of the few organizations that actually has solutions for the major problems that societies will be facing in the future. Juan Carlos Lozano Herrera, Trustee CISV Colombia, former Chair of the International Mosaic Committee


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 17

At a Seminar Camp you have participants from all over the world and even though each of us wanted to be represented as an individual, our nation and culture is an important part of our identity. In discussions it could sometimes be hard to be understood or understand each other, because we have such different views due to our different backgrounds. For some, one opinion could be looked upon as just wrong and not an opinion that you disagree with. From this I've learned to put myself in other peoples’ positions and try to understand their reasons for their opinion. I also learned to jump at opportunities and not be scared to make a fool out of myself. If I want to help out in society I shouldn't be scared to do so. I was inspired by everyone at my Seminar Camp. They all mean a lot to me still, and even one year after, many thoughts go to all those good friends I made. They inspired me to do what I'm best at and not to be afraid of being criticised and laughed at it for it. You can make a difference even if it's a small difference or if it means that it will take some time and effort. Kristine Moshuus, CISV Norway

I first became involved with CISV when my friend Hestia Utomo, the founder of CISV Indonesia, asked me to help build up our National Association. I was very active with other youth organizations but Hestia convinced me and another friend, Rose Marie Kartodirjo, that CISV was where we should concentrate our time. I am proud of so much that we have achieved with CISV Indonesia. Helping to build friendship among people and families with different religions, cultures, education and languages - especially because Indonesia is so diverse culturally and religiously. Seeing our Juniors develop their leadership skills and also our parents growing with their organizational skills. And most of all, the togetherness we have among friends with the CISV Spirit. CISV Indonesia feels like a child I have helped to take care of since it was a baby and now I am helping it to grow to be an adult. CISV Indonesia will be 20 years old in 2011 and I am still inspired by CISV to keep it developing and working for our future. Mira Wisendha, CISV Indonesia, President of Cendrawasih Chapter

17

Johan Sundell, CISV Sweden


x90032_CISV_p2_lf_x90032_CISV_p2_lf 14/07/2010 11:24 Page 18

The Ito funding helped free the staff from funding concerns and left them more time for planning and organizing better activities.

Diana Pimentel, CISV Portugal.

Support us to make a difference The vast majority of CISV fundraising is undertaken at a local and national level, with our National Associations and Chapters receiving vital support from individuals, businesses, trusts, foundations and government grants. To all of our supporters around the world and our fundraisers, thank you!

Want to help us to make a difference? You CISV International can help today by getting in touch with your CISV International is extremely grateful to our local CISV Chapter or National Association. supporters. With their assistance, we are able to You can help deliver one of our international programmes or local projects You can get involved in the running of your local Chapter (if you don’t have a local Chapter, perhaps you could help us to get one started!) You can give money or gifts-in-kind to support our activities and programmes You can work with us to develop community initiatives on local issues

invest in the development of our educational programmes, support emerging National Associations, widen access to our activities, and to develop and deliver training for our volunteers.

Our thanks to: Alkacon OCCE, Germany Business Link, Great Britain Patti DeMar Hauver on behalf of the Andrew R DeMar Charitable Trust, USA DnB NOR, Norway Four Acre Trust, GB

Published with the support of the European Community budget line “Support for bodies active at the European level in the field of youth.” This publication is the responsibility of CISV International Ltd. The European Commission is not responsible in any way for the publication, the information it contains or any use that may be made of that information.

For details of your nearest Chapter, please get in touch with the CISV National Association in your country – you will find their email address on the back cover.

18

CISV INTERNATIONAL ANNUAL REVIEW 2009 OUR SUPPORTERS

Aon Limited Deltec International Courier European Commission Microsoft Ito Foundation U.S.A. John Shors, USA Potts Printers, GB


x90032_CISV_p1_lf.qxd:x90032_CISV_p1_lf

12/7/10

12:50

Page 19

2009 statistics

CISV International is a federation of volunteer-led National Associations and Promotional Associations. Each Association comprises one or more local CISV Chapters and youth-run Junior Branches. Since our first Village in 1951, our volunteers have organized 5,851 CISV international programmes for 222,298 participants.

CISV International Officials Executive Committee PRESIDENT Arne-Christian Haukeland, Norway VICE PRESIDENT Junko Imanishi, Japan EXECUTIVE TRUSTEE Lene Eltvik, Norway EXECUTIVE TRUSTEE Adam Axelsson, Sweden EXECUTIVE TRUSTEE Jeff Parliament, Canada SECRETARY GENERAL Gabrielle Mandell, Canada/Great Britain Committee Chairpersons Programmes INTERCHANGE Cynthia Canas Escoto, Costa Rica INTERNATIONAL PEOPLE’S PROJECT Soren Vindfeld, Denmark/Norway MOSAIC Per Olsson, Sweden SEMINAR CAMP Bernardo Santana, Brazil SUMMER CAMP Basma Hosny, Egypt VILLAGE Noam Wakrat, Israel YOUTH MEETING Ana Maria Buritica, Colombia Operations FINANCE Mona El Shibiny, Egypt RISK MANAGEMENT Brett Vottero, USA INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY Lars Lorentz Ludvigsen, Norway

Development ORGANIZATIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Ana de Sampaio, Portugal

Regional Coordinators ASIA PACIFIC Tom Adarme, Philippines EUROPE SOUTH Iris Dagan, Israel EUROPE CENTRAL Ronit Sharir, Israel EUROPE NORTH Ida Ragnarsson, Sweden AMERICAS Andrea Garzon, Colombia Education Department EDUCATION OFFICER

Kiran Hingorani, Great Britain

EVALUATION AND RESEARCH Jennifer Watson, Great Britain LEADER TRAINING Monica Berrocal, Costa Rica INTERNATIONAL POOL OF TRAINERS Bjorn Samming, Denmark EDUCATION CONTENT Rodolfo Zuniga, Costa Rica/Sweden

Profile Raising Department COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER Denise Farrar, Great Britain EXTERNAL RELATIONS Graeme Munro, Australia ORGANIZATIONAL RELATIONS Bastian Kuentzel, Germany INTERNATIONAL JUNIOR REPRESENTATIVES

Maru Ayam, Argentina Rou El Shimi, Egypt HONORARY COUNSELLORS

Jim Beaumont, Great Britain Arne Lankoff, Germany Ruth Lund, Denmark Concha de Monroy, Guatemala Raymond Shrader, USA Cathy Knoop, USA FOUNDER

Doris Allen, USA (1901-2002)

Hinrich Fock, Sweden David Lister, Great Britain Peter McKay, Great Britain Gunvor Herne Nordlund, Sweden Nati Toribio, Philippines

National Associations Member Associations

First CISV Delegation

Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Bulgaria Canada Colombia Costa Rica Czech Republic Denmark Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Faroe Isles Finland France Germany Great Britain Greece Guatemala Honduras Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Israel Italy Japan Jordan Korea Latvia Lebanon Luxembourg Mexico Netherlands New Zealand Norway Philippines Poland

1955 1979 1951 1952 1955 1979 1958 1979 1955 1993 1951 1994 1956 1970 1978 1953 1951 1951 1951 1977 1955 1983 1957 1954 1956 1965 1957 1952 1958 1980 1965 1993 1975 1955 1951 1959 1980 1951 1962 1957

Total 2009 Int Participants

83 42 197 53 478 36 398 155 102 60 267 65 100 30 45 170 400 536 189 26 114 1 45 79 45 117 88 552 132 69 41 24 41 32 168 170 31 456 120 62

Int Activities Number of Hosted 2009 Chapters

1 1 10 1 24 1 13 7 1 3 11 1 3 0 1 6 16 24 5 2 2 0 2 2 1 3 2 28 3 0 1 0 0 0 5 7 1 18 2 2

1 2 4 2 10 1 12 2 1 1 10 1 1 1 1 8 8 10 5 1 1 1 1 1 3 2 2 12 4 1 1 1 1 1 2 1 2 17 5 3

Member Associations

First CISV Delegation

Portugal Spain Sweden Switzerland Thailand Turkey United States

1961 1961 1951 1952 1978 1952 1951

Sub Total

Total 2009 Int Participants

Int Activities Number of Hosted 2009 Chapters

224 288 443 30 110 44 602

7 10 20 0 2 0 26

2 3 17 1 1 1 23

7,560

275

192

Promotional Associations Promotional Associations

First CISV Delegation

Total 2009 Int Participants

Int Activities Hosted 2009

Community Groups

1977 2006

29 0

1 0

1 1

2006 1984 1996 1971 1993 2006 2000 2007 1971 1957 1956 1969 2002 2003 2004 2004

2 2 83 5 14 17 13 15 7 15 25 45 14 18 0 20

0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 2 0 1 0 0

1 1 1 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Sub Total

324

8

19

OVERALL

7,884

283*

211

Algeria Belarus Bosnia & Herzegovina Chile China Cote d’Ivoire Estonia Georgia Greenland Hong Kong Kenya Lithuania Peru Romania Russia Slovenia Ukraine Vietnam

AIM and IJBC data are included in 2009 Association statistics. *For the purposes of national hosting statistics, each Interchange phase is deemed to be one international activity.

In addition, 16 CISV Associations organized 36 Mosaic projects in local communities involving approximately 2400 participants

19


x90210_CISV_p3_lf_x90032_CISV_p3_lf 15/07/2010 14:49 Page 20

Contact us CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV

Algeria – algeria@cisv.org Argentina – argentina@cisv.org Australia – australia@cisv.org Austria – austria@cisv.org Belgium – belgium@cisv.org Brazil – brazil@cisv.org Bulgaria – bulgaria@cisv.org Canada – canada@cisv.org China – china@cisv.org Colombia – colombia@cisv.org Costa Rica – costa.rica@cisv.org Czech Republic – czech.republic@cisv.org Denmark – denmark@cisv.org Ecuador – ecuador@cisv.org Egypt – egypt@cisv.org El Salvador – el.salvador@cisv.org Estonia – estonia@cisv.org Faroe Islands – faroe.isles@cisv.org Finland – finland@cisv.org France – france@cisv.org Georgia – georgia@cisv.org Germany – germany@cisv.org Great Britain – great.britain@cisv.org Greece – greece@cisv.org Greenland – greenland@cisv.org Guatemala – guatemala@cisv.org Honduras – honduras@cisv.org Hong Kong – hong.kong@cisv.org Hungary – hungary@cisv.org Iceland – iceland@cisv.org India – india@cisv.org

CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV CISV

Indonesia – indonesia@cisv.org Israel – israel@cisv.org Italy – italy@cisv.org Cote d’Ivoire – ivory.coast@cisv.org Japan – japan@cisv.org Jordan – Jordan@cisv.org Kenya – kenya@cisv.org Korea – korea@cisv.org Latvia – latvia@cisv.org Lebanon – lebanon@cisv.org Lithuania – lithuania@cisv.org Luxembourg – luxembourg@cisv.org Mexico – mexico@cisv.org Netherlands – netherlands@cisv.org New Zealand – new.zealand@cisv.org Norway – norway@cisv.org Peru – peru@cisv.org Philippines – philippines@cisv.org Poland – poland@cisv.org Portugal – portugal@cisv.org Romania – romania@cisv.org Russia – russia@cisv.org Slovenia – slovenia@cisv.org Spain – spain@cisv.org Sweden – sweden@cisv.org Switzerland – switzerland@cisv.org Thailand – thailand@cisv.org Turkey – turkey@cisv.org USA – usa@cisv.org Vietnam – vietnam@cisv.org

REGISTERED ADDRESS

CISV International, MEA House, Ellison Place, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8XS, England REGISTERED CHARITY 1073308 CISV INTERNATIONAL IS A COMPANY LIMITED BY GUARANTEE, REGISTRATION 3672838

Tel: +[44 - 191] 232 4998 Fax: +[44 - 191] 261 4710 Email: International@cisv.org

www.cisv.org

A Publication of CISV International Programme descriptions: Alex Neuman, CISV Canada Design & Production Coordination: George Brown. Front cover photo: Johan Sundell, CISV Sweden. Back: CISV Guatemala


CISV International Annual Review 2009