Page 1

Mama MARCH 2019 • ISSUE 26

The Magazine for Stylish Mums

Fair Share KAT GORDON ON EQUAL PARENTING

Annabel Karmel SUCCESSFUL WEANING MADE SIMPLE

MUMMY DEAREST Perfect gifts for Mother’s Day

B U M PS &

B E YO N D

ISSUE 26 • MARCH 2019

New-wave antenatal classes

THE MAGAZINE FOR ST YLISH MUMS

MAMA_March19_COVER (Conflicted copy from Helen’s MacBook Pro on 2019-01-30).indd 2

05/02/2019 13:50


OOHNOO.indd 1

05/02/2019 10:30


mama WELCOME

contents MARCH 2019

76

88

56

66

54 AGENDA 14  What’s On

Arts and entertainment for the month ahead

16 New Books March’s best new releases ESSENTIALS 21  Mum’s the Word

Gift inspiration for Mother’s Day

MAMAHOOD 25  Insta-Mama

Charlotte Kewley on kids styling and social media

26  Woman in Work ON THE COVER: Noe & Zoe SS19, noe-zoe.com

A new approach to antenatal classes with Alex Kohansky

32  B irth Story With Mamawell founder Rosie Stockley

FASHION 42  Rite of Spring

Style solutions for the changing seasons from Bellerose

12

HOME & INTERIORS 72 Gimme Shelter Rodrigo Moreno Masey’s multipurpose ‘shed’ space

74 In the Studio Wallpaper designer Katie Bourne

50 The Clash Patterns collide in the new range

TRAVEL 84 Arabian Nights Family-friendly luxury in the

WELLNESS 60  Yummy Mummy

88 Meet the Moomins A trip to the theme park inspired

66  Hit Subscribe

RESOURCES 94 Dual Purpose Kat Gordon on equal parenting

from Berlin brand Noe and Zoe

Annabel Karmel spills the beans on her new edition of ‘Weaning’

The rise and rise of Bump to Box

Middle East

by the world-famous Finns

March 2019  |  9

MAMA_March19_CONTENTS_HB.indd 9

05/02/2019 12:25


MUTSY.indd 1

08/08/2018 16:40


mama WELCOME

STYLE NOTES P. 46

Editor’s

LETTER

WE LOVE BOOKS P. 18

MUM ON A MISSION P. 33

I

n recent issues, we’ve talked a lot about self-care. Indeed, it crops up again in this, our Mother’s Day issue. No doubt it matters – but how do mums of preschool-age children actually find the time to practise it? One way forward might be a more equal division of labour between mums and dads – and this month we hear from novelist Kat Gordon about her experience of co-parenting. It’s a subject that should be receiving as much airtime as motherhood itself, if only to help redress the traditional imbalance of childcare labour in the home. As International Women’s Day approaches, it’s also a good time to reflect on the myriad ways modern women are navigating parenthood. As always, we’ve interviewed a host of inspiring mums who share how they make motherhood work for them and their career or business. Elsewhere, we’ve got the next in our series of birth stories (I LOVE a birth story), as well as some allimportant gift suggestions for Mother’s Day. It’s not until you become a mum yourself that you fully comprehend the sacrifices your own mother made. I hope you enjoy the issue, mamas. Keep doing what you’re doing! BEAUTY NOTES P. 70

Hel en Ba r on E DITOR

@hel_bow helen.baron@zest-media.com

T h e M a g a z i n e Fo r S t y l i s h M u m s

Senior Designer: PAWEL KUBA Mid-weight Designer: REBECCA NOONAN Designer: CATHERINE PERKINS Finance Director: JERRIE KOLECI Director: ROCHELLE STREATER Managing Director: SHERIF SHALTOUT

Part of the

LON DON OFFICE : 197-199 City Road, London EC1V 1JN, UK

@ A B S O L U T E LY M A M A

absolutely-mama .co.uk Editor UK: HELEN BARON Contributing Editor: CARLY GLENDINNING Assistant Editor: FlORA THOMAS Social Media Editor: JESSICA SHALTOUT Specialist Manager: ZARINA KAPASI Parenting Portfolio Manager: LEAH DAY Marketing Manager: LUCIE PEARCE Art Director: PHIL COUZENS

ABU DHABI OFFICE: FACT M.E FZ-LLC, Office 907E, TwoFour54, Park Rotana Complex, P.O Box 769328, Abu Dhabi UAE

For editorial enquiries please email: helen.baron@zest-media.com For advertising enquiries please email: rochelle@zest-media.com For media partnership enquiries please email: lucie@zest-media.com

Absolutely Mama supports

zest.london To read the latest issue of Absolutely Mama subscribe at gb.readly.com/absolutelymama

Zest Media Publications Ltd. cannot accept responsibility for unsolicited submissions, manuscripts and photographs. While every care is taken, prices and details are subject to change and Zest Media Publications Ltd. take no responsibility for omissions or errors. We reserve the right to publish and edit any letters. All rights reserved.

March 2019

MAMA_Mrch19_EDS LETTER_FINAL_HB.indd 11

|

11

05/02/2019 13:41


10 things we Absolutely

LOV E The products and brands getting our attention this month

SHARP LINES

Art Attack

Fi ng e r in the Nos e This irreverent French brand lives up to its moniker with its SS19 collection, which sees cool streetwear styles adorned with the gonzo designs of illustrator Stevie Gee. Ideal for little skaters. fingerinthenose.com

Racil Buyer-turned-designer Racil Chalhoub takes inspiration from the smoking jackets she fell in love with as a young girl. Combining Savile Row materials with influences from her native Beirut, her collections feature sleek tailoring that transcends seasons. racil.com

PEACE PIECE

Libe r ty Lon d on The venerable London department store and fabric designer has applied its pattern nous to slinky sleep masks in smoothest silk. Luxurious, enchanting and an ideal gift for a new mum taking daytime naps. £65; liberty.co.uk

12

|

STAND & DELIVER

B a mb i n o Mi o The leading reusable nappy brand has introduced its own changing bag, complete with a waterproof ‘messy pocket’ for dirty nappies (or wet swimwear, for that matter). Unisex styling and capacious storage make it a safe buy. £79.99; bambinomio.com

absolutely-mama.co.uk

MAMA_March19_Ten_Things_HB.indd 12

05/02/2019 09:13


ma m a LOVES

FINGER FAMILY

Velvet Touch

G ra h a m & G reen Style up your look with one of these sumptuous velvet pouches. Add to any outfit as a chic clutch purse or use it to hold makeup, stationery or valuables. From £11.95; grahamandgreen.co.uk

Na i l mati c This fun nail polish set includes a polish for mum and one for her little one. It wins us over on several counts. First, the packaging is recyclable. Second, the product is ultra washable. And finally, kids love it – so it’s a guaranteed hit. £14; smallable.com

GET THE GLAZE

or’s Editick P

Mil o Made These ceramic tumblers and wine glasses have an unglazed base and matte blue and gloss white glaze at upper sections.Designed and made by Hackney’s Milo Made Ceramics, they are stocked at nearby A New Tribe, £120 anewtribe.co.uk

UNDER COVER

S ava g e x Fe nt y Not content with shaking up the beauty market, Rihanna has turned her hand to underwear. Her Savage x Fenty lingerie is a celebration of the female form in all shapes and sizes. £43.99; zalando.co.uk

High Roller

Swif ty Kids aged 7 and up will love the SwiftyIXI scooter, clearly designed with style in mind but also maxing out on safety features (front and rear brakes, reflective tyre-strips) and durability. Best of British. £349; bobbyrabbit.co.uk

LITTLE TREASURES

Ma ma s & Pa pa s Mamas & Papas Rose Gold collection brings a contemporary finish to traditional keepsake gifts, including a trinket box and brush-and-comb set – so you can mark a much-loved new arrival in style. From £10; mamasandpapas.com

March 2019

MAMA_March19_Ten_Things_HB.indd 13

|

13

05/02/2019 09:13


Baby care the natural way

Reclaim motherhood as a positive, stress-free experience

Through our online training with local consultants,Babyopathy can help nurture more babies from conception, through pregnancy, birth and throughout baby’s first years. for more information visit

babyopathy.com BABYOPATHY.indd 1

11/01/2019 11:24


agenda H A LF T E R M AC T I V I T I E S & E V E N T S p . 16  •   O U R M O N T H LY R E A D I N G R O U N D - U P p . 18

Wild child • NATIONAL TRUST •

Get messy, muddy and back in touch with nature this half-term with the National Trust’s family events and activites, nationwide. nationaltrust.org.uk

March 2019  |  1 5

Mama_March_19_Agend_Opener.indd 15

05/02/2019 13:53


W H AT ’ S ON Rave with your baby this month, and make the most of the great outdoors

3 S H OWS FO R TH E S E A S O N On the menu: magical merfolk and a Kaleidoscope of sound

The Boy and the Mermaid 2nd March Little Lyric Theatre, Hammersmith

Can an unlikely friendship save the Town On The Sea from catastrophe? Join three fishermen as they weave a fishy tale of musical merfolk and menacing monsters. lyric.co.uk

Mathilda and the Orange Balloon Until 17 February •  UK tour

A diverse cast of deaf and hearing actors take to the stage to tell the story of Mathilda, a little grey sheep. dhensemble.com

Editor’s Pick

New

ARRIVAL Ongoing • London Zoo

Keepers at ZSL have welcomed a new stripy member to the family, Asim. The Sumatran tiger is an endangered species, and Asim is one of only 400 left in the world. He has been brought into the zoo in the hope of hearing teeny tiny tiger feet sometimes in the future. Asim is a confident cat known for being very affectionate. zsl.org

Passion 12 - 31 March • The Peacock, Sadlers Wells

World-renowned Japanese taiko drumming troupe, Yamato, bring a thunderous performance to Sadler’s Wells. Expect a kaleidoscope of sound through an assortment of drums, cymbals and flutes. sadlerswells.com

16  | absolutely-mama.co.uk

MAMA_March19_Agenda.indd 16

05/02/2019 13:43


agen d a

EVENTS

Tiger Tea Until 3 March Blickling Estate, Norfolk

Since it was first published in 1968, The Tiger Who Came to Tea continues to spread the joy of reading to audiences of all ages. Little ones can enjoy dressing up and playing with a life-size tiger, while surrounded by displays of Judith Kerr’s delightful illustrations. Hunt tiny tigers who are hiding around the house or try the tiger-themed trail in the garden, just pick up a children’s map at reception to help your explorers find their way around. nationaltrust.org.uk

BABY R AVE

C Ongoing Cloud Twelve

Marvellous

MISTAKES

loud Twelve is a family-minded, private member wellness club in the heart of Notting Hill. Baby Raves, held in the play & learn space, provide fun for families while bringing the community together through dance and movement. Children can also enjoy face painting and themed events throughout the year.

Ongoing at weekends, everyday over half-term Science Museum

ind out about the most amazing, colourful and loud inventions which came from marvellous mistakes in history at the family storytelling sessions. For older kids, head to the Cracking Chemistry sessions to celebrate 150 years since the creation of the period table - with experiments including balloons to cake. sciencemuseum.org.uk

F

cloudtwelve.co.uk

English Heritage Adventures

G LO B ETROT TE R S’ SA FA R I

18 - 22 February Eltham Palace and Gardens

Explore the palace as you search for exotic animals loved by the Courtaulds. Discover the palace’s surprising past as you head off on a safari and get stuck into games in the Great Hall. english-heritage.org.uk

FAIRY TRAIL

S EC R ET S & S P I E S

Embark on a fairy quest as you explore the gardens of Brodsworth Hall. Set out on an adventure trail to see if you can spot any fairy villagers, or join the fairy hunter as she searches high and low, sharing stories along the way. english-heritage.org.uk

Calling all super sleuths, secret agents and investigators! Sharpen your detective skills with hands-on training in disguise, code cracking and clues at one of England’s most significant castles. english-heritage.org.uk

16 - 24 February Brodsworth Hall and Gardens

18 - 22 February Dover Castle

March 2019

MAMA_March19_Agenda.indd 17

|

17

05/02/2019 13:43


We love

BOOKS Ahead of Book Day on March 7 and Women’s Day on March 8, check out this month’s freshest releases

Wo r d s F L O R A T H O M A S

ART HISTORY

BRAVE BUNNY A L I T T L E B I T B R AV E By Nicola Kinnear

Logan is setting off on his first adventure, but he’d rather dust his shell collection than go outside. Nicola Kinnear takes us on a fun, reassuring journey that shows us just how brave we can be. £6.99;  scholastic.co.uk

18

|

THE EAR By Piret Raud

A weird and wonderful book inspired by Vincent Van Gogh’s ear (or lack thereof). Acutely aware of how small she is in the big, wide world, Ear doesn’t know who she is without the head she was attached to. Intricate and beautiful illustrations accompany this funny and at times bizarre story book. £9.95; thamesandhudson.com

absolutely-mama.co.uk

• MAMA_Feb_18_BOOKS_CP_HB.indd 18

05/02/2019 09:23


agen d a

BOOKS

GIRL POWER

POWE R TO TH E PR I N CE S S By Vita Murrow

Illustrated by Julia Bereciartu

“Everyone thinks we just marry princes and live happily ever after.” With International Women’s Day on the horizon (8 March), what better time to remind our little ones about what a real princess looks like. This lovely book is all about girl power and it’ll make you laugh to boot. £12.99;  waterstones.com

ALL THINGS GREAT AND SMALL W H AT M AT T E R S M O S T By Emma Dodd

This book asks us what matters most? Is it being very big or being super-small? Is it having lots of stuff or not that much at all? A poignant book which will strike a chord with parents and children alike, highlighting the importance of taking pleasure in all things great and small. £7.99;  templarco.co.uk

O N E FO R PA PA S S I D E BY S I D E By Chris Raschka

A heartfelt and playful ode to the father-child relationship by two-time Caldecott-Medal-winning author Chris Raschka. With minimal text and maximum emotion, each stanza presents three scenarios in which the father and child’s roles are subtly balanced. £12.95;  phaidon.co.uk

Lift The Flap H E LLO M RS E LE PHANT By Sam Boughton

Th is lift-the-flap board book is brought to life by playful, vibrant illustrations. Little ones will love saying hello to a whole host of amazing African animals, brought to life with deft humour and memorable comparisons. There are big flaps to lift and many discoveries to make. £8.99;  templarco.co.uk

U N D E R TH E S E A THE LITTLE MERMAID A Disney Animated Classic

Relive the magic through this enchanting retelling of the classic animated film. With a foreword by Eric Goldberg, a Disney animator and director, this sumptuous edition will be treasured for years to come. £12.99;  templarco.co.uk

March 2019

• MAMA_Feb_18_BOOKS_CP_HB.indd 19

|

19

05/02/2019 09:24


CHEEKY RASCALS.indd 1

06/12/2018 15:23


M OT H E R ’ S DAY G I F T S p . 2 3

Wrap Around • ERGOBABY•

The AuraWrap offers everything you need in a sling: lightweight, comfy fabric; reliable support for your bundle of joy; cool colours and patterns and – all importantly – genuine ease of use. Even sling novices will get the hang of tying it in no time. £49.90; ergobaby.co.uk

March 2019  |  21

MAMA_March19_BABY ESSENTIALS OPENER_HB.indd 21

05/02/2019 09:30


HAUCK.indd 1

05/12/2018 14:09


essentials

MERCI MAMAN The Duchess Necklace , £119 mercimamanboutique.com

MOTHER’S DAY

VERDANT ALCHEMY Drift Off Bath Oil, £32 verdantalchemy.co.uk

NAZAN SCHNAPP Sublime Hydrating Treatment Essence, £61 jolie.co.uk

GORGIAS LONDON Complete Night Repair Oil, £44.95 gorgiaslondon.com AXIOLOGY Vegan Lipsticks, £25; gloworganicbrighton.co.uk LOQUETLONDON.COM

HAECKELS Hand Care Rituals Gift Set, £49 haeckels.co.uk

M OT H E R LOV E EYM Rose, Geranium and Camomile Candle, £39 eymnaturals.com

Don’t forget that all-important Mother’s Day gift

SOL Hand-blown Reusable Coffee Cup, £19; trouva.com

r’s editock pi

PARCEL LONDON Girl’s Night £57 parcel.london.com LIEWOOD Dora Weekend Bag in Rusty, £42 beyondthestork.co.uk March 2019

Mama_March19_MOTHERS DAY GIFTS.indd 23

|

23

05/02/2019 09:46


BBZEN.indd 1

06/11/2018 10:57


essentials

MOTHER’S DAY

In Bloom Celebrate Mother’s Day with the prettiest spring flowers

GISELA GRAHAM giselagraham.co.uk

BRIDGMAN bridgman.co.uk

PETALON petalon.shop

MAGIC FLOWER COMPANY magicflowercompany.co.uk

FREDDIE’S FLOWERS freddiesflowers.com

THE ODD FLOWER theoddflower.com

March 2019

MAMA_March19_FLOWER PAGE_HB.indd 25

|

25

05/02/2019 09:53


BFB.indd 1

11/01/2019 14:18


mamahood ST Y LI N G K I D S ’ FA S H I O N W I T H C H A R LOT T E K E W LE Y p . 2 9 • A LE X KO H A N S K Y O N N E W-WAV E A N T E N ATA L C L A S S E S p . 3 0 •  R O C H E LLE H U M E ’ S D E B U T B O O K FO R C H I LD R E N p . 3 4

Beyond Bump • IN THIS SECTION •

The modern mama is nothing if not creative, and we’re continually impressed by the variety of ways women set out to reshape their careers to fit around family life. This month we share insights from a kids’ stylist, a pop-star turned children’s author, and the entrepreneur reinventing antenatal classes. Enjoy...

March 2019  |  27

Mama_March19_MAMAHOOD_OPENER_HB.indd 27

05/02/2019 11:02


JOIE.indd 1

04/01/2019 16:25


mamah o o d

INTERVIEW

out if you’re feeling low or insecure. It’s so easy to compare your life to the insta-filtered images of others. It can also be a time-waster. I sometimes have to stop myself scrolling. Also, all the algorithm stuff! I just don’t understand it or do it right. I’m such a bad instagrammer! And I find stories really terrifying. I’m trying to improve but I’m scared of being annoying!

~

INSTA MAMA Charlotte Kewley aka @thelittlestylist on working in kids fashion

Q How did you get into kids styling and what do you love about your job? A I was a womenswear stylist and fashion editor previously. I worked on magazines, with brands and celebrities. But I put my back out while styling a photoshoot when I was five months pregnant with my first child (there’s a lot of lifting and physical work involved in being a stylist – all those bags and

suitcases we lug around!) and realised I couldn’t shoot for a while, so I landed a role working on the shopping pages of a parenting magazine. It introduced me to the world of baby and kidswear and I fell in love. After having my own children, it became even more of an obsession, so I decided to focus purely on the kids’ side. I launched my blog and Instagram in January 2018 as I wanted a digital platform from which to share all of my baby and kidswear finds. I’d love to think it’s a bit of a modern resource for parents – making shopping for and dressing little ones easier. I have so many plans to grow it this year, I’d just love a few more hours in the day! Q How instrumental is Instagram to your blog? A Hugely. I (aim to) update it daily and it’s the main driver of traffic to the blog itself. I’m always timeshort because I also style shoots and contribute to magazines and have my children, so if I don’t have time to do a full blog post I can pop up an insta one from my phone. It also means I can share new brands and bargains as soon as I find them and connect with brands and an audience worldwide. Q What are the downsides of the platform as you see them? A It’s definitely not the place to hang

“ I D O N’ T D O I N STAGRAM R I GHT! I’M S U C H A BAD I N STAG RAMMER”

~

Q What’s your most popular blog post? A I had to look this up. A pic of both my kids in their favourite Nights by Wilder star pyjamas! Hilariously my third most popular post ever is of a Little People, Big Dreams Vivienne Westwood book that I wasn’t even going to post (I stick to baby and kids’ fashion as a rule) but I had nothing else so put it up… none of the little still-life flatlays I love and spend ages fussing over! Maybe I should actually take note of this. Q Do you follow similar accounts or different ones? Any faves? A A mixture. I have a personal account which is more of a portfolio and I follow my friends or personal fashion favourites on that. On @ thelittlestylist I tend to follow accounts with a kidswear focus. Two of my favourites are @pandorasykes and @ ellestrauss. I love @apolinakids. And does anyone not love or want to be @ courtneyadamo and @vanessabreuer? I do also find @susiejverrill hilarious. thelittlestylist.com

March 2019  |  29

MAMA_March19_Instamama_HB.indd 29

05/02/2019 10:24


~

“I NEVER IMAGINED THAT WE’D BE WHERE WE ARE TODAY”

~

woman in

WORK Alex Kohansky on upping the ante for antenatal classes Inter view HELEN BARON

Q How did you get into this line of work? A I used to work in TV, producing and directing documentaries. I loved it, but the job often required me to be away from home for long-periods of time. When I became pregnant with my first baby, I dreamed of finding a career that would fit better around family life and allow me to work from home. During my first pregnancy (we now have three children) my husband and I took antenatal classes, which we really enjoyed, but I saw lots of ways that the overall experience could be modernised and improved. Once my baby had arrived, the group of friends I’d made through the classes became invaluable to me – and I wanted to create that for others, as well as deliver a fantastic experience. I launched Bump & Baby Club to do all this, but with a more modern approach to antenatal classes, which was heavy on the social element. I also wanted to create a concept that really included the partners and dads as well. I managed to find a brilliant antenatal instructor and, together with lots of input from new parents, we created what we hoped was an ideal antenatal course. I found a great venue, created a website and went about trying to let expectant parents know that we existed! At the time it was a really exciting project, but I never imagined that we’d be where we are today – 45 instructors,

30  | absolutely-mama.co.uk

MAMA_March19_WOMAN IN WORK_HB.indd 30

05/02/2019 09:58


mama h ood

Q&A

tough – make sure to be gentle on yourself and don’t hesitate to seek support if you’re struggling.

35 locations and waiting lists. I’m extremely grateful! We’re keen to meet demand, so where there are waiting lists we’re offering more classes and opening new venues. Q What are the things that every expectant parent needs to know to prepare themselves for pregnancy and beyond? A In my (totally biased) opinion, it’s really important to take an antenatal course! I am also a big fan of hypnobirthing. If you’re not taking a course, you should research your options and choices surrounding labour and birth and discuss them with your partner. If you are passionate about having a natural birth, it’s still important to learn about pain-relief, c-sections and other interventions. It is best to be as prepared as possible for every birth possibility as the more informed you are, the calmer and more confident you’ll feel during labour. I think it’s also important to learn some basic baby care skills, such as how to feed and soothe your baby, and how to ensure he or she is sleeping safely. Spotting the signs that your baby is unwell is also high up on my priority list, alongside baby first aid. That is why we offer baby first aid as part of our antenatal course package. Being prepared for the changes that your body and will go through and knowing there are some steep emotional curves ahead is super important too. Perhaps above all, I think it’s crucial to know that the transition to parenthood can, at times, be really

Q What are the benefits of joining an antenatal class? A The friendships you make are invaluable. We facilitate friendships by bringing together couples who live in a specific local area and whose babies are due within a month of each other. That way you can help each other though the rollercoaster of pregnancy and early parenthood – sharing the joys, supporting each other through the lows, and alleviating the boring times between. High quality antenatal classes cut through the overwhelming amount of information online and deliver the important messages in an enjoyable way. Our sessions are interactive and tailored to the group, and our experts try to create an environment where people are relaxed enough to ask them anything. I have always been really honest about the fact a lot of the learning will take place ‘on the job’. Our role is to make the journey as smooth as possible and give people the confidence to relax, read their baby’s cues and go with their instincts. While helping to create lifelong friendships along the way. Q What makes your approach different? A Our classes are unbiased, non-judgemental and the information is all evidence-based. By the time a client walks through our doors, they’ve already heard the message ‘Breast is Best’ and been exposed to all the health promotion via their hospital. We don’t believe it’s our role to promote breastfeeding, natural birth, or a particular type of parenting style – we’re here to educate people so they’re as prepared as possible for any path they choose. We run our courses in warm, welcoming venues and place an emphasis on the social

side of things. We provide an afternoon tea as part of the package, supplied by our partner Gail’s Bakery, and alongside our courses we’ve run some really cool pregnancy pop-up events: sunset rooftop yoga, supper clubs in funky venues, cooking demos and more. We never stand still, we’re always seeking out new opportunities and brand partners to create memorable experiences for our clients. Today’s parents-to-be really care about the quality of the instructor. We put a huge effort into finding experts that people love, and their support doesn’t end when the course finishes. We have also shaken up the class concept by including baby first aid as part of the course package - it’s one of the most important things you can learn, and a few of our clients have been able to use the techniques to save their baby in traumatic situations. Ultimately, what I set out to do with Bump & Baby Club is change the face and reputation of antenatal and hypnobirthing classes. I want to shift the perception and show everyone how fun, sociable and valuable antenatal classes can be. Q What’s next? Have you thought about connecting mums who missed out on ‘new wave’ services the first time round? A For now we’re focused on expanding our courses into new areas – we already have plans to spread into Surrey and Sussex – while maintaining our commitment to working with only the very best instructors. It would also be lovely to bring together parents with toddlers and we receive enquiries every day from people looking to take a course for baby number two. bumpandbabyclub.com March 2019  |  31

MAMA_March19_WOMAN IN WORK_HB.indd 31

05/02/2019 09:59


A good night’s sleep...

10% off every order* use code AM10

Our mission is to provide parents with an extensive choice of children’s sleeping bags offering exceptional quality and value, and to become a household name synonymous with sleep safety for children of all ages.

Slumbersac ardently supports a peaceful night’s sleep for both children and their parents. Visit us on

SLUMBERSAC.indd 1

01202 825081 slumbersac.co.uk

*Excludes sale items

11/01/2019 17:11


mamah o od PROFILE

Mum on a

MISSION

Amawrap founder Shabs Kwofie on turning baby-carrying into a career

F

acing the challenges of becoming a parent turned one mum into a business success story. Shabs Kwofie was once a city highflier, working for Citibank in Canary Wharf. As demanding as that was, it did not prepare her for the changes that she was about to experience when she had her first child. An emergency caesarean, inability to breastfeed and no support network took Shabs down a spiral which turned into postnatal depression. And to find her way out, Shabs did what she excelled at – research. Research on postnatal depression and breastfeeding led her to make incredible discoveries around skin-to-skin contact. Resolving to venture out more, she faced another challenge – the fact that her East London flat had no lift to take her pushchair down to the street. Looking to her ancestry, where her family historically used slings to carry their babies, she fashioned her own

SHABS KWOFIE

baby wrap to get her out of her apartment. This was a turning point and she credits the sling with helping her overcome postnatal depression. Due to local demand Shabs started selling slings to fellow mums and Amawrap was born. Seven years on, the business is booming with parents worldwide now using her cotton carriers. The babywearing guru has since been vocal about the benefits of skin-to-skin contact, with the stylish slings also providing a handsfree alternative to prams. Shabs says: “Using a baby sling provides skin-to-skin contact, encouraging the release of endorphins including oxytocin. I’m convinced wearing the baby wrap helped me overcome my own baby blues.” The wraps, made from 100% cotton, come in 12 bold colours and the latest addition to the fabrics family are two enchanting prints, Moroccan Star and Posy Rosy. In Shabs’ words: “I

decided to dedicate myself to Amawrap, gave up my day job and never looked back. “Being a mum for the first time is daunting and you feel so vulnerable. At Amawrap our main aim is to help with advice about babywearing, to help mums feel like they are in control again. If we can help these mums feel even a little bit more empowered then I feel we have done our job.” amawrap.com March 2019  |  33

MAMA_March19_AMAWRAP FEATURE-2.indd 33

05/02/2019 15:01


Each to their

OWN Rochelle Humes on her new children’s book, The Mega Magic Hair Swap Wo r d s F L O R A T H O M A S

R

ochelle Humes is fast becoming a household name. From her early days as a member of S Club Juniors – which afforded her six top-ten hits – to stardom with The Saturdays (earning her another 13), she has gone on to presenting roles with This Morning, Children in Need and The Xtra Factor. Rochelle, who is married to Marvin Humes, has a five-year-old daughter and a second daughter who turns two this month. Following a conversation with her eldest child, she’s on a mission to improve diversity in children’s literature. The book is about two best friends, Mai and Rosa. Mai, who has curly hair, wishes her locks were straight like Rosa’s, but when a magical coconut grants her wish, she quickly realises her tresses were perfect the way they were. We spoke to Rochelle to ask her all about her new book, her advice for mamas and her plans for the future.

34

|

Q Congratulations on your first children’s book, it’s gorgeous. A I’m really, really proud of it. Q Tell me about the moment you decided to write a children’s book. A As soon as I had children, really. As a parent you’re surrounded by books from the beginning; they become such an ingrained part of your life. Bedtime is all about books in our household, it’s a special time for me and my little ones, it’s our time. My daughter started to ask me to make up stories for her in the evenings. I’d be getting back from a long day at work and I found myself struggling not to say something I’d already said! The publishing world is super behind in terms of diversity and representation when it comes to characters in children’s books. It’s important for children to recognise themselves in the books they read, considering it’s often their first real love. I hadn’t really acknowledged the lack

absolutely-mama.co.uk

Mama_march19_INTERVIEW w Rochelle Humes_HB.indd 34

05/02/2019 10:30


mamah o o d INTERVIEW

~

“WITH YOUR FIRST CHILD, THERE’S MAD PRESSURE TO GET EVERYTHING RIGHT”

~

March 2019

Mama_march19_INTERVIEW w Rochelle Humes_HB.indd 35

|

35

05/02/2019 15:02

Profile for Zest Media London

Absolutely Mama March 2019 Preview  

Absolutely Mama March 2019 Preview