Papunya Tula: 50 Years 1971 - 2021

Page 1

Papunya Tula: 50 years1971 - 2021 26 February - 4 April 2021 S.H. Ervin Gallery

Papunya Tula: 50 years 1971 - 2021 Curated by Christopher Hodges

When a small group of men began painting at Papunya in 1971 using a visual language derived from their own culture, no one could have imagined the significance it would have over the next five decades. This transformative moment was the start of the Papunya Tula school of painting that has endured and thrives today, in the process changing the face of art in Australia forever.

exhibiting artists

Doreen Reid Nakamarra c.1955-2009 Elizabeth Marks Nakamarra 1959 Narrabri Nakamarra c.1950-2010 Winnie Nakamarra c.1961 Edith Nampitjinpa c. 1970 Inyuwa Nampitjinpa c.1922-99 Joan Nampitjinpa 1971 Kawayi Nampitjinpa c.1938 Kayi Kayi Nampitjinpa c.1946-2014 Marlene Nampitjinpa 1969 Nyurapayia Nampitjinpa c.1935-2013 Yuyuya Nampitjinpa c.1946 Mantua Nangala c.1959 Tatali Nangala c.1925-99 Yinarupa Nangala c.1959 Brenda Napaltjarri 1958 Eileen Napaltjarri 1956 Katarra Butler Napaltjarri c.1946 Monica Napaltjarri c.1960 Ngoia Napaltjarri 1943 Tjunkiya Napaltjarri c.1928-2009 Wintjiya Napaltjarri c.1933-2014 Lorna Napanangka 1961 Lorna Brown Napanangka c.1962 Makinti Napanangka c.1930-2011 Pirrmangka Napanangka c.1940-2001 Walangkura Napanangka c.1946-2015 Walangkura Napanangka (Uta Uta’s Widow) Florrie Watson Napangati c.1950


Mary Napangati c.1953 Nanyuma Napangati c.1944 Yalti Napangati c.1969 Yukultji Napangati c.1971 Kim Napurrula c.1960 Ningura Napurrula c.1938-2013 Rubilee Napurrula c.1960 Walangkura Reid Napurrula c.1930-2004 Lucy Loomoo Nungurayi c.1935 Naata Nungurrayi c.1932 Nancy Nungurrayi c.1935-2012 Pantjiya Nungurrayi c.1936 Andrew Tolson Tjakamarra 1976 Barney Campbell Tjakamarra c.1946-2006 Freddy West Tjakamarra c. 1932 -1994 Long Jack Phillipus Tjakamarra c.1932-2020 Michael Nelson Tjakamarra c.1949-2020 (Old Mick) Wallankarri Tjakamarra c. 1910 -1996 Richard Yukenbarri Tjakamarra c.1960 Anatjari Tjampitjinpa c. 1927-99 Dini Campbell Tjampitjinpa c.1945-2000 Dinny Nolan Tjampitjinpa c. 1928 Kaapa Tjampitjinpa c.1926 - 1989 Kenny Willliams Tjampitjinpa c.1950 Martin Tjampitjinpa c.1965-2007 Maxie Tjampitjinpa c. 1945 - 1997 Old Walter Tjampitjinpa c.1912 –1980 Pegleg Tjampitjinpa c.1920-2006 Raymond Maxwell Tjampitjinpa c.1955 Ronnie Tjampitjinpa c.1942 Aubrey Tjangala c. 1977 Jeffrey Zimran Tjangala 1976 Ray James Tjangala c.1958 Uta Uta Tjangala c.1920 -1990 Aaron Kingsley Tjapaltjarri c.1963 Benny Tjapaltjarri c.1935-2006

Billy Stockman Tjapaltjarri c. 1927- 2015 Charlie Tjapangati c.1949 Charlie Egalie Tjapaltjarri c. 1935 - 2002 Clifford Possum Tjapaltjarri c.1932 - 2002 Hilary Tjapaltjarri c.1941-2017 Joseph Jurra Tjapaltjarri c.1952 Lindsay Corby Tjapaltjarri c.1954 Mick Namarari Tjapaltjarri c. 1926-1998 Mitchell Gibson Tjapaltjarri 1985 Raymond Tjapaltjarri c.1967 Warlimpirrnga Tjapaltjarri c. 1959 Pinta Pinta Tjapanangka c.1928-99 Paddy Lewis Tjapanangka c.1920-2010 Kanya Tjapangati c. 1951 Matthew Tjapangati c.1961 Nolan Tjapangati c.1945 Nyilyari Tjapangati c.1965 Old Tutuma Tjapangati c. 1915 - 1987 Timmy Payungka Tjapangati c.1937-2000 Shorty Lunguta Tjungurrayi c. 1914 - 1987 Two Bob Tjungurrayi c.1938 - 2000 Charlie Tararu Tjungurrayi c 1925 - 1999 Charlie Wallabi Tjungurrayi c.1945 George Tjungurrayi c.1943 George Ward Tjungurrayi c.1955 Patrick Tjungurrayi c.1935-2018 Willy Tjungurrayi c.1930-2018 Yala Yala Gibbs Tjungurrayi c.1928-99 Bobby West Tjupurrula c.1958 Joey West Tjupurrula c.1968 John West Tjupurrula c.1968 Johnny Warangkula Tjupurrula c.1918 - 2001 Johnny Yungut Tjupurrula c.1930-2016 Matthew West Tjupurrula c.1979 Murphy Tjupurrula c.1943 - 2014 Turkey Tolson Tjupurrula c.1938 - 2001


This landmark exhibition was only possible through the combined efforts of so many committed people. First of course are the artists, past and present, whose art has changed the nation in such a profound way. This exhibition acknowledges their continuous contribution for 50 years. To their company, Papunya Tula Artists, who have given the exhibition their full support. To their director, Paul Sweeney and his team for their vital role. Thanks too to the many private collectors who have loaned their precious works that document the 50 year evolution of Australia’s longest continuous art movement. Special thanks to Jane Watters, director of the S.H. Ervin Gallery, for acknowledging the great significance of the 50 year anniversary of painting beginning at Papunya and for hosting this exhibition in this beautiful space. The S.H. Ervin Gallery is a credit to the National Trust and their wonderful support of the visual arts. Thanks to my team at Utopia Art Sydney, Bryan Hooper, Brett Stone and Allana McAfee for their tireless support. CH, 2021

published by Utopia Art Sydney telephone: + 61 2 9319 6437 email: installation photography Allana McAfee © Utopia Art Sydney