Page 1

Refill April 2012


this issue Blue Key Honorees P.1 Faculty Research P.2 Student Orgs and Alumni P.3 Events, Annual Golf Outing P.4


Sobczak, Barton, Whitner, Iachini, and HIll

CPPS Blue Key Honorees Two College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences staffers, Deborah Sobczak, director of student services for the preprofessional division, and Jeff Barton, the college’s director of development, were selected as honorary members of the Blue Key Class of 2011-2012. The Blue Key National Honor Fraternity selected Sobczak

and Barton for their outstanding leadership, scholarship

and service. Both Sobczak and Barton are UT alumni, each having earned a bachelor’s in business administration. In addition to the two staff members honored by Blue Key, three pharmacy students were also honored: Jangus Whitner, Angelo Iachini, and Ian Hill.

UT’s Blue Crew defines itself as “a secret society of spirited individuals who represent the pride inside of every Rocket...fully dedicated to instituting, reviving, and maintaining The University of Toledo's Traditions.” Each year at Songfest, the graduating members of Blue Crew are unmasked and revealed to the world. This year’s unmasking revealed the college’s very own Jordan Maddocks, a P3 PharmD student.

Leading the Way


CPPS faculty members make their marks on the research community Dr. Bill Messer, Chair, Department of Pharmacology, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, recently published a paper in the March issue of the Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, which is a leading j o ur nal in t he field o f pharm aco log y. T he paper represents a collaboration between research teams at The University of Illinois at Chicago (led by Dr. Michael Ragozzino), Mithridion, Inc. (led by Dr. Trevor Twose) and The University of Toledo. The paper describes the memory and cognitive enhancing effects of CDD -0102A, a compound that was originally developed at The University of Toledo. The compound could be of use in treating memory and cognitive deficits associated with neurological disorders including Alzheimer's disease and schizophrenia. Dr. Jim Slama, Department of Medicinal and Biological Chemistry, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, has published two research articles in the Journal of Biological Chemistry that were selected as “Papers of the Week” for January 2012. The Papers of the Week are selected by the journal’s Associate Editors and Editorial Board Members and represent the top 1% of papers reviewed in terms of significance and overall importance. Dr. Slama’s published papers are entitled “Photoaffinity Labeling of High Affinity Nicotinic Acid Adenine Dinucleotide Phosphate (NAADP)Binding Proteins in Sea Urchin Egg” and “Photoaffinity Labeling

of Nicotinic Acid Adenine Dinucleotide Phosphate (NAADP) Targets in Mammalian Cells.” Dr. Sharrel Pinto, Department of Pharmacy Practice, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, was selected by the American Pharmaceutical Association (APhA) to join the Medication Therapy Management (MTM) taskforce. The taskforce, which includes experts from academia, government, managed care, private practice and industry, identifies the best evidence available in support of MTM services and assists APhA with the development of advocacy resources. Dr. Ezdihar Hassoun, Department of Pharmacology, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, coauthored a chapter in the book entitled The AH Receptor in Biology and Toxicology; the book is published by Wiley. D r . K e n n e t h A le x a n d e r , Department of Pharmacy Practice, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, presented a poster of the proposed Cosmetic Science curriculum to the November Meeting of the Great Lakes Chapter of the Society of Cosmetic Scientists in Cleveland, OH. Dr. Alexander plans to bring a cosmetic science bachelor’s program to UT; this program will be unique in this region of the country.

Dr. Wissam AbouAlaiwi, a postdoctoral fellow in the pharmacology lab of Dr. Surya



collaborated with Dr. Nauli and Dr. Ingrid Rodriguez of ProMedica’s Department of Emergency and Intensive Care to produce research that was recently published as a video article in the Journal of Visualized Experiments. The article, entitled


Karyotyping to Study Chromosome Abnormalities in Humans and Mice with Polycystic Kidney Disease," introduces the use of Spectral Karyotyping (SKY) to provide reliable information on chromosome abnormalities.

ALUMNI ACHIEVEMENTS BSPS Alumnus becomes Fulbright Scholar

Student Focus Student Organizations and Research

Students from the UT chapter of Student Society of Health-System Pharmacists (SSHP) recently attended the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Midyear Clinical Meeting in New Orleans. The UT chapter presented a poster at the Student Society Showcase to describe the chapter’s “Operation Immunization” community outreach program. The students shown in the picture are (L to R): Caitlin Steward, Andrew Wash, Rachel Rocha, and Andrea Smith (they are all P4s). Also, two UT P4 students, Kelli Cole and Michelle Piel, represented UT in the ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition at the meeting. The current president, Heather Wimer, and immediate past president, Rebecca Barney, of the UT SSHP chapter recently earned leadership awards from ASHP. The chapter was also honored with certificate of official ASHP-SSHP recognition for 2011-2012, an honor that is given to very few chapters nationwide. The UT chapter of Sigma Xi was one of 17 of the 522 national chapters to earn a program award. Under the leadership of chapter adviser Dr. Fred Williams, the chapter presented research posters at the 4th Annual Posters at the Capitol: Undergraduate Research in Northwest Ohio. Posters at the

Capitol is a venue for undergraduate researchers to present their research posters to members at the statehouse in Columbus.

S t e v e n Lombardo, BSPS 2011, is the first Fulbright scholar in the 107year history of the College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Mr. Lombardo was the valedictorian of his graduating class and has a significant interest in research throughout his undergraduate career. Mr. Lombardo, who studied pharmacology and toxicology, is now conducting a year of study with Dr. Mary Collins of the Faculty of Pharmacy at The University of Sydney, Australia. Subsequently, Mr. Lombardo will pursue a PhD in neuroscience at Wake Forest University. Read more

Alumnus Earns APhA Honor David Bright, PharmD ‘08, is the recipient of the 2012 American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Distinguished New Practitioner Award. According to APhA, the Distinguished New Practitioner Award “ recognizes a new practitioner, within his/her first five years of practice, who has demonstrated distinctive achievements in mentorship, service and commitment to the profession of pharmacy.” After completing the PharmD program at UT, Dr. Bright completed UT’s Kroger community residency program in 2009. Following his residency, Dr. Bright joined the faculty of Ohio Northern University.

PharmD Preceptor Forum April 19, 2012 9:00 am—1:00pm The Pharmacy Preceptor Forum and Preceptor Appreciation Luncheon are open to any pharmacist who is currently precepting or who is interested in precepting students. The featured speaker is Marialice Bennett, BS, RPh, Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, Pharmacy Practice and Administration at OSU College of Pharmacy and President of the APhA Board of Trustees, 2011-2012. She will speak on the topic of How to Teach Professionalism. Participants will earn 3 hours of CE. Register online

College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences 3000 Arlington Avenue Toledo, Ohio 43614 419.383.1904

April 2012 Refill  
April 2012 Refill  

The monthly e-newsletter of The University of Toledo College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences