Page 1

I N S I D E + B O O K C L U B + D A N N Y K AT Z + E A T I N G O U T + H E A LT H + F I T N E S S

JUNE 13-19, 2018

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

TOP OF THE

MORNING

N E WS B R E A KFA S T ’ S R E CIPE FO R SU C CE S S

MELBOURNE’S BEST PROPERTIES INSIDE EASTERN


Artist’s Impression

ICONIC GARDEN LIVING ABOVE THE NEW GLEN C O M I N G S O O N T O G L E N WAV E R L E Y Situated above The New Glen shopping centre, Sky Garden offers luxury apartments, over 4,000m2 of exquisite gardens and world-class amenities exclusive to residents. With premium retail and entertainment on your door step, Sky Garden is set to become a landmark address in Melbourne’s vibrant east. Register now for an exclusive preview

S K YGA R D E N R E S I D E N C E S .C O M . AU

GRENADE GLE552

Ricky Chen: 0499 388 988 Ivan U: 0499 688 988


FIRST PERSON

I am Sonya Tsakalakis … and I’m a bibliotherapist My first language is Greek, but I picked up English quickly and learned to read in prep, where my school librarian, Mrs Bowen, introduced me to the wonder of reading. I had a hard time adjusting to school, and reading was a rescue. I could retreat somewhere with a book and find solace in a much more beautiful, magical, congenial world than the one I was experiencing. Before becoming a bibliotherapist (Literary Hand and The School of Life), I had a variety of other jobs, including as a genetic counsellor and community educator. In about 2009, I read an article in The Guardian about bibliotherapy called “The Reading Cure”. It’s a concept that hails from ancient Greece, literally meaning book therapy. The article described the process of group bibliotherapy, run by an organisation called The Reader in London, where people read aloud, sharing stories and insights. The idea resonated with me, and I wanted to learn more, so I went to the State Library to look it up. Then, I went to London to train with the Reader Organisation, and started running groups when I returned. Later, I trained with Ella Berthoud, who was one of the founders of bibliotherapy at The School Of Life in London, to conduct bibliotherapy, one on one. When people book a bibliotherapy session with me they’re sent a detailed preliminary questionnaire. Next, we have a consultation in person or by Skype, which gives me a more expansive sense of what they hope to gain from the session. Ultimately, I put together a literary “prescription” tailor made to their needs and challenges and aligned with their interests. It’s about choosing the books that have resonance to uplift and nourish. There’s a number of reasons why people book a bibliotherapy session. Dissatisfaction at work, grief and loneliness are big ones. Sometimes, though, people just want to be inspired by reading again, or take a different reading direction, or have a need to feel a sense of adventure. Sometimes the issues are heavy, but my training and background in genetic counselling helps me to keep the session contained. My prescriptions mostly contain fiction, but I do include a mix of translated works, classics, contemporary fiction and poetry. ●

A S T O L D T O M E G C R AW F O R D ● PH O T O J U LIA N KI N G M A

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

3


EASTERN

Competitions

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300 editorial@domain.com.au

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to www.theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions

EDITOR \ EMILY POWER

and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, June 17.

DEPUTY EDITOR \ JESSICA DALE ONLINE EDITOR \ ADRIAN LOWE PICTURE EDITOR \ KYLIE THOMSON PROOFREADER \ NICOLE BITTAR SENIOR DESIGNER \ COLLEEN CHIN QUAN DESIGNER \ EMMA STAUGHTON EDITORIAL ASSISTANT \ KENDALL BOYD MANAGING EDITOR \ ALICE STOLZ REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ REBECCA WARNER \ 0448 317 687 \ rebeccawarner@domain.com.au REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ GEORGIE McLEOD \ 9249 5286 \ gmcleod@theweeklyreview.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 69,573 COPIES

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Virginia Trioli and Michael Rowland. Photographed by Julian Kingma

WIN \ COCONUT BOWL

WIN \ CHAMELEON

WIN \ YARRA VALLEY SHORTEST

GIFT PACK WORTH $100

JUNCTION MEAL WORTH $350

LUNCH GETAWAY WORTH $490

Say goodbye to plain white

Win dinner for six including drinks at

Enjoy a relaxing weekend of food,

ceramic plates with your chance to

Chameleon Junction in Moorabbin.

wine and live music at the Yarra

win one of three CocoBowlz gift

The atmosphere is vibrant, with a

Valley Shortest Lunch on June 23

packs. Not only are the bowls

stylish interior and diverse menu,

and 24. The prize includes a double

beautiful, but they are also natural,

waking up Moorabbin with a feel-

pass, food and wine vouchers, and

organic and eco friendly.

good approach to food.

one night’s stay at RACV Healesville.

● cocobowlz.com.au

● chameleonjunction.com.au

● shortestlunch.com.au

Congratulations to the following winners from May 30: Alanna Lehmann, Merril Bolton, Lucinda Borketey. Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for details. All winners will be contacted direct by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

Siena College and Whitefriars College present

Susan Alberti Auditorium, Siena College

Book at www.sienaconnect.com.au/event/achorusline

Conceived and Originally Directed and Choreographed by Michael Bennett Book by James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante • Music by Marvin Hamlisch • Lyrics by Edward Kleban • Co Choreographed by Bob Avian Original Broadway production produced by the New York Shakespeare Festival, Joseph Papp, Producer, in association with Plum Productions, Inc. Adaptation and support materials for the High School Edition Developed by iTheatrics Under the supervision of Timothy Allen McDonald A CHORUS LINE High School Edition is presented by permission of ORiGiN™ Theatrical on behalf of Tams-Witmark Music Library, Inc.

4

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


The editor’s desk THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

The view

BY JUSTIN McMANUS \ Melbourne

Taken on August 3, 2017, at Melbourne Central at 7.23am. ●

In the breakneck arena of breakfast TV, Virginia Trioli and Michael Rowland are having the last laugh. ABC’s News Breakfast, of which they are hosts, has bucked the downward trend of brekkie-program ratings, proving that at a time in which social media blasts a cacophony of news bites, there is still a burning hunger for stories with a cerebral edge. Seven’s Goliath, Sunrise, and Nine’s popular Today still claim the lion’s share of viewers, but the ABC’s achievements are an intriguing example. Writer Peter Wilmoth met Michael and Virginia to unpick why more people are tuning into Aunty. ●

● 1/80 sec ● f/4.0 ● ISO 2000

CHECK US OUT ONLINE

+ Eat & Drink + Style & Design + Homes & Architecture + Travel & Lifestyle + Arts & Entertainment + Education & Innovation

ARE YOU A BUDDING STREET PHOTOGRAPHER? If you have a great snap of the city, we’d love to feature it on this page.

FOLLOW US @THEWEEKLYREVIEW FAC E B O O K

I N S TAG R A M

Send your best high-resolution shot to theview@theweeklyreview.com.au FOR SOME HELPFUL TIPS, VISIT \ theweeklyreview.com.au/theview

YO U T U B E

ROAR YOUR WAY

AT THE JAGUAR UNLEASHED END OF FINANCIAL YEAR EVENT With exceptional savings across the range* there’s never been a better time to defy definition and experience the iconic design, breathtaking luxury and pulse-racing performance of a Jaguar. Also available on Jaguar Guaranteed Future Value†. Available for a strictly limited time only, so get in quick. Visit Doncaster Jaguar today. Doncaster Jaguar 573 Doncaster Road, Doncaster. Tel: 9848 8888. doncaster.jaguar.com.au LMCT11617 71265

*Offer applies to new and demonstrator Jaguar vehicles ordered between 01.05.18 to 30.06.18 and delivered by 31.07.18 while stocks last. Jaguar reserves the right to extend any offer. †The Jaguar Guaranteed Future Value Program is available to approved applicants of Jaguar Financial Services only. Terms and Conditions apply, please consult your Retailer. Jaguar Financial Services is a trading name of Volkswagen Financial Services Australia Pty Limited ABN 20 097 071 460, Australian Credit Licence 389344.

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

5


WO R D S ● PE T E R WI L M O T H

PI C T U R E ● J U LIA N KI N G M A

T

he ABC’s News Breakfast program is the quiet achiever of breakfast TV. And even without the benefit of a large commercial TV marketing budget or Sunrise’s “cash cow” giving away fistfuls of dollars, the program is, unlike its competitors, increasing its audience. “We do provide the intelligent alternative and for whatever reason people who might have been rusted-on viewers to the other breakfast shows on the commercial stations are coming across us,” cohost Michael Rowland says. “They’re sick of what they’ve been watching for years. We offer the light stuff – we do light and shade – but we are called news breakfast for a reason. “Our mission as ABC news journalists is to provide our viewers with news updates and treat them as intelligent beings.” In March, The Age assessed breakfast television numbers, reporting that as commercial breakfast shows shed viewers, News Breakfast is holding up well, and that since 2016 its ratings had grown

frivolous manner. The opposing shows might better be described as entertainment. Nothing wrong with that. But this is what it says; a newsbreakfast program.” News Breakfast has some serious talent at its disposal, including the program’s original co-host in 2008. “Barrie Cassidy is in my view one of this country’s pre-eminent political commentators,” Rowland says. “He calls it as it is. There’s a huge switch-on factor when Barrie’s on at 7.30 every Friday.” Trioli notes the program has access to “some of the best foreign correspondents that Australian journalism has to offer, and they’re with us on a daily basis,” she says. “They’re always bringing their top-flight analysis, that’s absolute gold. These reporters are at the absolute top of their game and they’re there every morning for you.” The show’s credibility means many agenda setters choose News Breakfast to appear on. “Some of the names they get: lots of politicians; it’s serious stuff,” says Allen.

MICHAEL

on VIRGINIA

“Whip smart, fantastic ability to laugh at herself and everything else that goes on on this wonderful show.”

WAKE-UP CALL IN AN ERA OF FAST TWEETS AND CLICK BAIT, THE ABC’S BREAKFAST SHOW IS THRIVING ON A SMART APPROACH almost three per cent, and the two years before they jumped 48 per cent. Media watchers are putting it down to a mix of intelligent reporting, the talent and appeal of the hosts and credibility. “There is still a yearning for trustworthy news,” says Steve Allen, of Fusion Strategy. “While the public enjoys the alternative, it’s not quite the same. For the majority of the time theirs is entertainment with news mixed in.” Allen says hosts Virginia Trioli and Michael Rowland have the right mix of smarts and warmth. “Michael is a very good communicator, warm and friendly, and with Virginia you’ve got to be on your toes. They’re well rounded.” Veteran media commentator Harold Mitchell believes it’s all about trust. “You earn the trust you deserve,” he says. “People want it to be reliable. News Breakfast is news at its base but it’s not treated in a

6

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

“If you want to have a more rounded feel for the story you have to be into this program,” he says. The timing means Australian viewers get what Rowland calls “first dibs on the 50,000 tweets that Donald Trump has issued that day” through Zoe Daniel, Conor Duffy or Stephanie March as well as its correspondents in Europe. Trioli and Rowland have worked together for eight of the show’s 10 years. “I really enjoy working with Virginia,” he says. “I think she is the ABC’s best interviewer in news and current affairs. Whip smart, fantastic ability to laugh at herself and everything else that goes on on this wonderful show.” “It’s an extraordinary relationship,” Trioli says. “When you’re sort of flung together you can’t possibly imagine or anticipate that it’s going to work. Part of you is thinking ‘Christ Almighty, in a

VIRGINIA

on MICHAEL

“His news judgement is unerring and impeccable but, at the same time, he has a great sense of fun.”


sense we probably spend more hours together closely than we would with our partners, and at a vulnerable hour of the morning. But it’s worked so well right from the very beginning’. “I’ve said this on air: Michael has probably the best news sense of anyone I’ve ever worked with. His news judgement is unerring and impeccable but, at the same time, he has a great sense of fun. There’s extraordinary trust; that’s the only way it will work. Someone’s leaning, someone’s falling … it’s trusting and it’s affectionate and it’s the joy of this show.” Their personalities are on display more now, which, Rowland says, is “essential for breakfast TV because people feel as though they know us”. “Anybody can read an auto cue but it takes a certain person to have the intelligence to ask serious questions but also to show their human side.”

T

rioli says there was a day when the show changed. “It was when our floor director Joe jumped behind the couch and the camera cut back to us too quickly and Joe was fixing our mikes,” she says. “At that moment we both lost it. We are human beings; we are real; yes we present the news and do it damn well but there’s more to us, more going on in our hearts and our minds and we don’t mind you seeing it. “Our informal motto has always been ‘We send you away smarter’,” Trioli says. “We’re unapologetic about knowing that even though we’re in the breakfast slot and it’s morning television, there was no point in you coming to us unless we were there to properly inform you. “What’s probably developed and changed over the years is we’ve come out more as individuals, showing more of ourselves, and what’s come with that is more of a conversational, engaging, more magazine approach, when needed.” In light of the recent budget freeze for the ABC announced in the Federal Budget, Harold Mitchell stresses the program’s importance for the broadcaster. ““News News Breakfast is a very important stake in the ground for the believability of the ABC,” he says. “At any point when there might be budget cuts from time to time, News Breakfast should be protected. It is a cornerstone of the ABC.” ●

ABC NEWS BREAKFAST \ Monday to Friday, 6am-9am on ABC TV. ● Book Club with Michael Rowland, page 9

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

7


DANNY K ATZ \ HOME TRUTHS

T

he suburban Aussie backyard used to be so big. It was a vast expanse of patchy, weedy grass with a couple of old trees on the side, a rusty Hills Hoist in the middle, and somewhere down the front, if you looked really hard, tucked away in a tiny corner, a house. No one knew what to do with all that backyard. It was too big to mow, too huge to water, so it became just a place where kids played cricket and adults burnt dead leaves on weekends for fun. There were distant parts of the backyard that you’d never even explored – scary parts where the morning glory grew. That stuff would grab you by its tendrils and drag you into its lair. You couldn’t even bitch about it from far away – it could read lips. Then one day in the late 1990s people started waking up in their cramped little homes, their arms bunched in tight, their knees jammed against their chin – and they looked out the window at their

vast backyards; the Hills Hoists twirling happily in the morning breeze, waving assorted pairs of undies in its Hills-Hoisty hands. And these people said to themselves, “this is ridiculous! Why is my house so small and my backyard so big? I’m going to do something about this!” But they said it silently in their head, in case the morning glory was listening. So builders were brought in to knock out walls and pop extra rooms on to the back of the house like boxy haemorrhoids. Trees were cut down and mulched. The Hills Hoist was yanked out and dumped in a skip. The morning glory was poisoned and died slowly, reaching out its tendrils for pity and a drink of water, but it got neither. The suburban Aussie backyard was half the size now, but it was a bit more manageable.

People put down nice decking, turned their homes into an “entertainer’s paradise” even though they never ended up doing any entertaining, but at least they had the option if they ever did. Then, in the mid-2000s, these people gazed out again at their gardens and thought, “why do I have all these plants? What’s the point of plants? They just photosynthesise and make oxygen – and who needs oxygen when you could have a home theatre, a guest annexe and a sculpture studio and foundry?” So the builders were brought back to knock out more walls, until the backyard was solid house. All that was left was a tiny strip of “Zen courtyard”, just big enough for one person, if you balanced on one foot on a Japanese river pebble. The big, expansive suburban Aussie backyard was no more. But one day in the early 2010s, people began thinking, “you know what would be nice? A bit more greenery. Hey, maybe I should build a vertical backyard up the side of the house. “Yeah, with patchy, weedy grass, a couple of sideways trees, a patch of morning glory, a sideways Hills Hoist ...” ●

Trusted for over 43 years,

to produce a great outcome, not just a low price. Registered Building Practitioner DB-L 41495

WINNER 2014 & 2015 HIA VICTORIAN HOUSING KITCHEN & BATHROOM DESIGN AWARDS Visit the showroom at 194 Canterbury Rd, Canterbury | Phone: 9888 5100 | www.letstalkkitchens.com.au 8

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


MICHAEL ROWL AND \ BOOK CLUB

Beauty and the beasts LAST MONTH

A

s one Australia’s top fashion designers, Alannah Hill’s name is associated with glamour, red carpets and that trademark eccentricity. But in this searingly raw memoir, Hill reveals a childhood and adolescence marred by physical, emotional and sexual abuse. Butterfly on a Pin opens with Hill’s mother, Aileen, trying to kill herself and in short order we are introduced to her alcoholic and distant father, Jimmy, and a family struggling to survive in a tiny Tasmanian applegrowing town. We follow Hill’s escape to Hobart, where she writes about being raped in a grim boarding house, and her arrival in Melbourne with $50 in her pocket. From there, some of the book’s bleakness starts to lift. We learn how, in the early 1980s, Hill was plucked from waiting tables to help run the Indigo boutique on Chapel Street and from there launched her own fashion empire. We get a heady insight into the world of catwalks and couture with a liberal dose of name dropping. Carla Zampatti, Alex Perry, Nick Cave, Michael Hutchence and the Minogue sisters all play cameo roles. But no matter how well Hill succeeds, grinding disappointment is never far away. She’s unlucky in love. And, of course, Hill eventually has to walk away from her fashion brand after falling out with her financial backer. Writing the memoir has clearly been a cathartic experience (“I couldn’t type the past out fast enough,” she says). It’s a life story that will stay with you for a long time. ●

THE GREATER GOOD \ By Tim Ayliffe $29.99, out now

● simonandschuster. com.au

THE NOWHERE CHILD

THE NEXT READ

T H E R E VI E W

YO U R SAY

\ By Christian White $32.99, out June 26

● affirmpress.com.au

Go to The Weekly Review’s Facebook page to share your mini reviews

Top 10 books \ J U N E 1

THE BAREFOOT INVESTOR \ By Scott Pape $29.95, John Wiley

2

WEIRDO #10: MESSY WEIRD! \ By Anh Do $14.99, Scholastic

3

THE SUBTLE ART OF NOT GIVING A F*CK \ By Mark Manson $29.99, Pan Macmillan

BUTTERFLY ON A PIN \ By Alannah Hill $32.95, out

4

THE SHEPHERD’S HUT \ By Tim Winton

5

CSIRO LOW-CARB EVERY DAY \

now ● hardiegrant.com

$39.99, Hamish Hamilton By Grant Brinkworth & Dr. Pennie Taylor $34.99, Pan Macmillan

M I C H A E L’ S L A S T WO R D

“A harrowing, warts-and-all account of

6

By Jordan B Peterson $35, Allen Lane 7

TERRY’S DUMB DOT STORY: A TREEHOUSE TALE \

how a staggeringly tough childhood produced one Australia’s fashion stars.”

12 RULES FOR LIFE \

By Andy Griffiths $2, Pan Macmillan 8

THE LOST FLOWERS OF ALICE HART \

9

THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW \

By Holly Ringland $32.99, Harper Collins By AJ Finn $29.99, Harper Collins 10 THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ \ By

Michael Rowland is the co-host of ABC News Breakfast, weekdays from 6am on ABC TV

Heather Morris $29.99, Echo Publishing SOURCE: NIELSEN BOOKSCAN

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

9


Sale

L

now $2599

F

C

save $700



bayleather.com.au

discover massive savings storewide


FAIR PRICE F U R N I T U R E

G A L L E R Y

Coming Soon!


BY M I C H A E L H A R D E N

DRINK

JAKE RODEN

List with a twist

PA S SAG E T O I N D IA BHANG \ 1/2A Mitchell Street, Brunswick. 9383 2488

● eatdrinkbhang.com

12

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Cocktails are not first things that come to mind when thinking about Indian restaurants. A Kingfisher lager, perhaps, or a lassi of some description are more likely go-tos. Beer and lassi are on the drinks menu at Bhang, an excellent twolevel bar and restaurant in Brunswick, but the on-theme cocktails being shaken and mixed at the downstairs bar are more worthy of attention. Bhang’s cocktail list shows how adaptable and accommodating cocktails can be. Bartender Hamish Drummond gives classic cocktails an Indian flourish via chai syrups, hemp-seed orgette, chai infused vermouth, Darjeeling tea syrup and flavours like star anise, turmeric and tamarind. Drummond clearly understands these flavours and his short, sharp cocktail list impresses with its balance and restraint. The Haldi Amigo is the Bhang take on a margarita with the usual tequila (Tromba) and citrus base given a salt and turmeric rim that adds colour and a layer of pungent complexity. The Indian Lady has gin infused with lemon rind, cumin and cinnamon shaken with chai syrup, Cointreau, lemon juice and an egg white. Bhang has a happy hour every evening from 5pm to 7pm and this is where the cocktail experiments get an airing. It’s a good chance to preview what might be up for a permanent slot on the next cocktail menu and to hand over less money for the privilege. ●


HERE’S CHEERS

TAKING THE CAKE

After eight years, Matt

The team behind The Nevermind

The French native who grew to

bounds? Make a booking at one

Wilkinson is closing Pope Joan

Bar has opened a Euro-inspired

fame at Le Petit Gateau has

of these restaurants.

on Sunday, June 24, to make way

wine bar with a Spanish-leaning

opened a patisserie-slash-cafe,

for a seven-storey apartment

menu at the bottom of a new

Pierrick Boyer Cafe Patisserie,

Endless Italian at Figo Cantina

block. Favourite dishes have

development. Their 140-plus

combining sweet treats with

every Sunday, $35.

reappeared on a comeback

wines cater to all locals, from

Melbourne’s brunch-oriented

menu, while Friday nights are

“mid-20s Hawthorn who haven’t

lifestyle. Start with soft shell

Bottomless yum cha at David’s

perfect for a feed and farewell.

moved northside yet” to “been

crab scrambled eggs and finish

on weekends, $38 to $40.

The Pie Shop will remain open. ●

living in Hawthorn 55 years”. ●

with a single-serve lemon tart. ●

Pope Joan, 77-79 Nicholson

Luton Wine Bar, 8 Luton Lane,

Pierrick Boyer Café Patisserie,

Indulge in the Friday-night

Street, Brunswick East

Hawthorn

31 Izett Street, Prahran

seafood buffet at The

popejoan.com.au

lutonlanewine.com.au

pierrickboyer.com.au

Conservatory at Crown, $120.

COMPILED BY SOFIA LEVIN

JENNA FAHEY-WHITE

3 OF A KIND

ANNIKA KAFCALOUDIS

LIT TLE BITES LAST RITES

ALL YOU CAN EAT \ Have an appetite that knows no

OPEN SATUR DAY: Doncaster Westfield & Box Hill BRANCHes

SAturdAy 16 TH JUNE

Come on in Visit bankofmelbourne.com.au/opensaturday to find a branch near you.

Drop in this Saturday and talk to our one of our specialists about your home loan needs. The Detail: Credit criteria, fees and charges, terms and conditions may apply. © 2018 Bank of Melbourne – A Division of Westpac Banking Corporation ABN 33 007 457 141 AFSL and Australian credit licence 233714.

WBC01287BOM 0518

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

13


THE ROAST

Using their loaf

BEC DICKINSON

H

F R O M T H E OV E N AT WI L D LI F E BA K E RY

uw Murdoch is a bread head. A loaf of casalinga was his first love (age 10, Babka, Fitzroy) but sourdough (age 31, Tartine, San Francisco) is what really got him fired up. Murdoch loved the loaf so much he ended his sixyear stint at Market Lane Coffee and started his own gig, Wild Life Bakery, in a former mechanic’s. He’s still good buds with the MLC crew and says: “I’m probably biased, but I think it’s the best coffee in Melbourne!” Guess which beans he uses? Murdoch nabbed MLC’s architect, too, Sarah Trotter – a mate, who’s done an open, minimalist fitout with understated style. The best bit? It’s big. There’s room for pushers (a hit with parent groups) WO R D S ● N I N A R O U S S E AU

Looking forward to an active later life? Start thinking about it now. Australians are living longer. And that means there’s a lot more life to enjoy. Whatever you’re looking forward to, the government has programs to assist Australians to be better prepared. The government is providing over $22 million to sporting and other local organisations to help you stay healthy, active and connected. There are lots of ways to live the life you want.

Visit longliveyou.gov.au

longliveyou.gov.au

Authorised by the Australian Government, Canberra.

14

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


The house blend

Must-have dish

Short macchiato, made with Market

Toasted sandwich with kimchi and cheddar;

Lane Coffee Seasonal Espresso, a sweet,

the new cult sanga in town. ●

balanced brew that pairs well with, or without, milk. ●

and space for dogs to rehydrate out front after a romp in the off-lead park across the road. Despite Murdoch’s passion for baking, he decided to stay a barista/front-of-house guy, and team up with Brad Tobin (ex-Woodfrog Bakery). “We didn’t want a super holey, open loaf because we wanted to do toasties,” Murdoch says, “and we wanted a much darker bake than a lot of bakeries are prepared to do.” The house sourdough is a top result: a moist, cakey interior with an almost nutty, black-brown crust. The menu is a tight list of all-brunch options, and not an eggs-ben in sight. “Our menu is different from a lot of brunch cafes,” Murdoch says.

“Every other cafe does eggs on toast and I thought that was a bit boring.” The toasties rock, maybe filled with caramelised onion and Comte, a mild French alpine cheese used in fondue and known as “a good melter”. A spread of Saint David Dairy’s cultured butter on the outside gives the bread its golden glow. Fermentation also informs the menu (it is called “Wild Life”, after all) appearing in a zippy misosesame dressing in the spelt and brown rice bowl and kimchi toastie, the new cult sanga in town. It’s a fat, rollicking ride of thick-cut brioche, sharp cheddar and kimchi, a mild brew fermented with miso, instead of shrimp paste and fish sauce, to

keep it vegetarian. “The people who order it are a bit obsessed,” says Murdoch, as are fans of the hamand-cheese croissant. Murdoch is vego and meat is a newish menu item here, all of it free-range and ethically sourced from Andrew McConnell’s flash Meatsmith butchery. “Turns out people like eating ham!” laughs Murdoch, who was surprised at the H&C croissant runout. You can add braised free-range lamb shoulder to the shakshuka if you like, a fiery dish of slowcooked runny yolkers with spicy capsicum. Kids, dogs, solo with wifi for company – if you’re looking for a brunch hang, this one’s a good ’un. ●

● Wild Life Bakery ● 90 Albert Street, Brunswick East ● wildlifebakery.com

7-YEAR UNLIMITED KM WARRANTY ^ 7-YEARPREMIUM ROADSIDE ASSIST ON A HU HUGE UGE RANGE OF MODELS

LET’S HELP YOU INTO A HONDA *Offers available at participating Honda Dealers, while stocks last, on selected new and ex-demo Jazz, City, Civic Hatch, Civic Sedan, Accord, CR-V and Odyssey models purchased 01.05.18-30.06.18 and delivered before 30.06.18. Offers available on selected new and ex-demo HR-V models while stocks last. Private buyers only. See honda.com.au/offers for full vehicle applicability. Honda reserves reserves the right to change or extend any offers. ^7-Year Unlimited Kilometre Warranty available on selected new and ex-demo vehicles, ve except those used for commercial purposes, where a 7-year/200,000 kilometre (whichever occurs first) warranty is applicable. Please Please visit honda.com.au/warranty for full terms and conditions. HOD2881/HP/D T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

15


TRAM ROUTE 109 \ STOP 19 -22

Pho-nomenal

J

ust about as controversial as declaring you don’t like pho on the streets of Ho Chi Minh, is naming the best Vietnamese restaurant on Victoria Street in Richmond. But one thing is for sure, if you want to eat quality Vietnamese food, you hop off the 109 tram at Victoria Street and take yourself for a wander. The street is crowded with dining options so, resolute to the old-school approach, I decide where to eat based on crowds. Here the food is fast and the meals come cheap, although this is not at all relative to the quality or flavour. There’s everybody here from local solo diners coming for their weekly fix, large family groups, to those like myself, who venture in for a taste of authentic Vietnamese. Although, despite our different dining dynamics, we all have one thing in

T R A D IT I O N O N VI C T O R IA S T R E E T

Sale on 16th & 17th June

common, the need for a quality bowl of pho. Like my Vietnamese comrades at the table next to me, I attempt to effortlessly demolish my bowl with chopsticks in one hand and a spoon in the other. I’m not so adept, but equally content. In fact, talking with Phuoc Thanh Bakery owner Danny Nguy, we agree the food standard here is high, and in his eyes, better than Vietnam. There is some truth in that, as $4.50 later I devour a pork banh mi, post pho. Holla Coffee Roasters, a green leafy oasis, serving Saigon Scrambled Eggs and Crompton Coffee, offer a few bowls of overnight simmered pho, alongside their small menu, to the regulars. If you do happen to miss out, follow your nose up the street, and you may stumble across a new favourite. But be prepared for some debate. ●

WO R D S & PI C T U R E S ● B E C D I C KI N S O N

Sale - Fireplaces and BBQ’s 16/17th June Brilliant Heat. Beautiful to Watch.

®

woodheating

Woodheating

Plus many more……….. 1/177 Para Road, Greensborough, Vic, 3088 p. 03 9432 3500 16

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

e. sales@cfab.com.au w. www.cfab.com.au


Not to miss …

EAT \ PHO CHU THE

SHOP \ MINH PHAT SUPERMARKET

EXPLORE \ ORIENT CURIO

This restaurant specialises in pho. Their $12

To explore more of the exotic, Minh Phat

This antique furniture store, boasts home

medium bowl satisfies generously and their

Supermarket is kitted out with some of the

decor sourced from Asia. The winding

Vietnamese iced coffee is another best-seller.

hardest to find Asian ingredients, including

corners showcase ceramics, woodcarvings,

For banh-mi rolls that are baked in house,

dried octopus, scallop stock and green

occasional bamboo pieces and vintage hand-

Phuoc Thanh Bakery offers a generous $4.50

Sriracha for the chilli enthusiasts. There’s also

painted scrolls. Specialising in furniture from

vegetable, meat and herb packed roll. ●

an array of Asian cookware available. ●

China, Tibet, Mongolia, each is handpicked. ●

270 Victoria Street, Richmond

2-8 Nicholson Street, Abbotsford

471 Victoria Street, Abbotsford

● 9428 7797

● 9429 4028

● orientcurio.com.au

More bench More storage More style More features More finishes

More choice More experience More kitchen Less $$$$$ Free Quote

Showrooms open 7 Days 9-5

n e i ia d Ma ctor Vi

*Oakleigh 1430 Dandenong Rd 889 Wellington Rd Rowville Doncaster East 860 Doncaster Rd

9530 4777 9755 4888 9755 4888

Member of HIA, NKBA & CMA, RPB (Registered building practioners) www.smithandsmith.com.au

Custom made kitchens made direct from own workshop

Beautiful bespoke Kitchens at friendly prices

Australia’s biggest kitchen showroom* © Copyright Smith & Smith Cabinet Makers Pty. Ltd. 2009 Reproduction in any form is prohibited, all rights reserved

G4866443AF-dp18Apr

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

17


SAM WOOD \ FITNESS

Snooze and you lose

W

hen it comes to our health, we all know that it’s essential to both get enough sleep and move our body often. However, when you’re run down and exhausted you might be left wondering – is it more important to prioritise a few extra Zs or push yourself to get up and go? Here are some factors to consider when you’re having that debate with yourself under the doona on cold winter mornings. THE CASE FOR SLEEP \ The body needs sleep to

give you the energy to take on your busy day ahead, but too often we forget that its benefits to our overall health goes far beyond just this. Sleep is essential to keep our immune system in tip-top shape and help us avoid illness. It helps the brain function at an optimal level, benefiting your cognitive abilities and emotional

state and of course makes you a much more pleasant person to be around. When you’re getting your workouts ticked off each day, sleep is essential to help the body rejuvenate and recover. So, when your muscles are aching from smashing out your training each day, a good night’s sleep can be just what the doctor ordered to help you get back to tip-top condition. Still not convinced of the endless benefits of sleep? Lack of sleep can cause intense cravings for bad food, increase your appetite and lead to overeating. When you’re well rested you’re way more likely to make sensible food choices throughout the day and therefore less likely to grab that Mars Bar at 3pm for a much-needed burst of energy. Like most things, when you treat the cause of the problem, you find the solution. So, instead of focusing on getting those extra hours in the

The one carat Diamond specialists

Always

Azena

Alea

michaelwilson.com.au 725 Main Road Eltham phone +61 3 9439 3111

18

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


morning, my advice is to instead focus on getting a better night’s sleep by going to bed at the same time each night, ensuring your environment is sleep friendly and avoiding technology before bed.

GET UP AND GO

ISTOCK

THE CASE FOR WORKING OUT \ I understand that

hitting the snooze button and skipping your workout for a few more hours’ sleep can be very tempting. However, something I always tell my 28ers is that you will never regret the workout that you have just done. It all comes down to those split-second decisions where you can go left or right, so make sure you’re putting everything in your favour to make sure you get up and go. My tips are to put your phone on the other side of the room so when your alarm goes off you’re forced to get out of bed and always lay out your workout clothes the night before.

UNHAPPY WITH YOUR CURRENT STYLE OR COLOUR?

I’m always saying that fitting exercise into your day won’t give you less time; it’ll give you more and, more often than not, you will find that waking up and getting it done will actually give you more energy to tackle the day ahead. An added bonus of committing to exercise in the morning is that endorphins are produced early on in the day, which can sharpen your focus and clear your mind. Ok, so there’s no prizes for guessing what my recommendation usually is when it comes to sleeping in versus working out. Of course, when we’re really sick we need to listen to our body and get extra rest. But if it is simply a case of willing yourself out of bed to do what you know you need to do on those winter mornings, then take this advice and make it your best working-out winter yet. ● ● 28bysamwood.com

JUNE WINTER SALE

Alex Hairdressing Our friendly and experienced team with many years of experience will help you select a colour or style to suit you and your lifestyle.

Established 27 years Shop 63, Tunstall Square, East Doncaster, 3109

20% OFF

Selected Blinds and Curtains

Ph: 9842 9203 Balwyn North, 290 Doncaster Road 9857 7884

Now is the time to buy, with 20% off selected curtains and blinds this June. We have many solutions to help with home insulation, to save on energy costs this Winter. This offer valid from June 1 until June 30. 2018 www.decorator.net.au www.decoratorbalwyn.luxaflex.com.au

decorator

Family owned and operated for 30 years T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

19


50% SOLD

ARTIST IMPRESSION — INCREDIBLE VIEWS — CITY SKYLINE

STYLISH 2 & 3 BED RESIDENCES NOW SELLING With only 35 Boutique residences, these flexible floor plans are designed to be lived in, offering large, open space with spectacular views. Visit the display suite 399 Manningham Road, Doncaster Display suite open

Tues, Wed, Sat & Sun 1pm — 4pm Thurs 3pm — 6pm For more information contact David Li 0420 986 679 or Cathy Li 0458 999 018 manningdoncaster.com.au

ARTIST IMPRESSION — SOPHISTICATED FINISHES — KITCHEN


EDUCATION & INNOVATION

SIENA COLLEGE’S CONVENT & CLOISTERS SPECIAL PROMOTION

Learning Spaces

S

iena College is opening its iconic historic convent and cloisters to neighbours and the community on July 21, prior to their restoration as the school’s gateway and official entrance later this year. Built by the Riversdale Road-based Dominican Order and the Camberwell community to educate girls, the multi-domed 1939 Byzantine-revival convent and cloisters have always been the spiritual heart of the Catholic college. Once the sacred preserve of the closed order of Dominican sisters who founded and ran Siena College from 1940, the convent more recently accommodated Siena’s music and drama departments. Restoration of the convent and cloisters is the fourth and final pillar of the school’s Butterfly philanthropic campaign, which centred on the design and construction of a new learning centre, the $8 million St Catherine’s Centre that opened in 2016. The project includes a new school reception, offices for the principal and the deputy principal responsible for faith, a boardroom and a heritage centre to share the college’s religious and academic history, including a recreation of the prioress’ quarters to show how the sisters lived. Principal Gaynor Robson-Garth says Italian architect and engineer Hamleto Agabiti designed the convent and cloisters. The Italianate style of the buildings and gardens reflects the Dominican Order’s early beginnings in Spain and Italy. “The convent exudes a sense of peace and tranquillity supporting the prayer and contemplation that continues to be integral to the college today,” she says. Robson-Garth says from the outset as a college within the Dominican Order, Siena was committed to the acquisition of new knowledge through learning. The Siena Convent is a place of special beauty that breathes and visibly manifests the tradition and 800-year history that Siena College is part of. An alumnae wall added to the convent in 2017 (pictured right) honours the sisters, staff and past students. The restoration project is scheduled for completion in time for the 2019 school year. ●

THE HISTORIC CONVENT

DISCOVER SIENA’S ICONIC HERITAGE Siena College is inviting neighbours and the community to visit its convent and cloisters on Saturday, July 21 from 10am to noon. Visitors can see the arched cloisters that surround an internal garden courtyard and lead to the circular five-domed chapel. On the convent’s upper level, regular floor indentations mark former walls of the sisters’ cells. Reminiscent of Italian churches, the building was deemed highly significant in 1991. ●

LIZ MCLACHLAN

SIENA COLLEGE \ 815 Riversdale Road, Camberwell. ● 03 9835 0200 ● www.siena.vic.edu.au

21

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


FEATURE HOUSE BLACKBURN NORTH \ 29 BRIDGEFORD AVENUE 3

2

2

T

here is something of a homestead atmosphere about the attractive grey house with the bluestone garden wall in Bridgeford Avenue. The bullnose roof and return verandah, in particular, bring to mind country houses and wide open spaces. Inside, the home is elegant and stylish with spacious rooms and an easy floor plan. A delicate palette of pale grey and white sets the tone for the sophisticated decor and the general effect is as fresh as the morning. Glowing parquetry floors flow through the living areas and the lounge room’s cosy feel is enhanced by the ornate timber fireplace. A study nook is tucked away off the dining area and has a window to the verandah. The kitchen has ample storage, subway tiles and stainless steel appliances. Double doors lead from here to the huge covered deck. The main bedroom, which is exceptionally large and has an en suite, a built-in louvre wardrobe as well as a walk-in wardrobe, also opens to this relaxing deck. Two further bedrooms share the family bathroom. All bedrooms are carpeted. The house is set in low-maintenance gardens with timber retaining walls and paved areas. The back garden is completely closed off creating a secure place for children and pets to play. Ducted heating, split-system airconditioning and ceiling fans have been fitted. The garden benefits from water tanks and the tandem carport and workshop has an automatic door. The family-friendly neighbourhood is quiet with neat streets lined with trees and well-maintained homes with attractive gardens. No. 29 is within walking distance of Whitehorse and St Philip’s primary schools and Blackburn High School is easily accessible. North Blackburn Shopping Centre and Blackburn Station Village take care of shopping requirements and the Eastern Freeway is easily accessible. Parks and reserves are sprinkled throughout the neighbourhood. Blackburn Lake Sanctuary is an excellent place for families to enjoy the walking trails and wildlife. Take a picnic and listen to the birdsong and the soundtrack of the natural bushland. ● BEVERLEY JOHANSON property@domain.com.au

FINAL WORD “STYLISH, CLASSIC AND FILLED WITH LIGHT; THIS CLASSY, RENOVATED CHARACTER WEATHERBOARD IN A SUPERB POSITION WILL GIVE YOU PLENTY OF ENJOYMENT FOR YEARS TO COME.” DANIEL BULLEN – AGENT

AGENT \ Jellis Craig 9908 5700 PRICE \ $1.1 million – $1.2 million AUCTION \ June 16 at 3pm Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

SHORTLIST YOUR FAVOURITE HOMES WITH THE DOMAIN APP 22

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

DOWNLOAD THE DOMAIN APP SEE MORE IMAGES, FLOORPLANS & PROPERTY DETAILS


BOX HILL NORTH \ 5 MCKEAN STREET 4

2

4

Californian bungalows dress up beautifully with their spacious rooms, timber trim, detailed ceilings and decorative windows. It’s a lovely combination and this home in McKean Street shows off all the features in the best possible light. The original rooms have been meticulously detailed. The formal lounge and dining rooms, with their elaborate timber fireplaces, are particularly attractive. The main bedroom, and a secondary bedroom, are also in the original section of the ground floor along with the kitchen which has Fischer and Paykel appliances. The open-plan family room at the northfacing rear opens to an al fresco area. On the first floor are two bedrooms, a bathroom and a retreat. The house has gas ducted heating, split-system airconditioning and a security system. It is zoned for Box Hill High School and walking distance to Our Lady of Sion College. Box Hill Central, with its shopping and transport, is close as are parks and sporting facilities. ● BEVERLEY JOHANSON

AGENT \ Fletchers 9831 3480 PRICE \ $1.4 million – $1.5 million AUCTION \ June 16 at 11am Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

TEMPLESTOWE LOWER \ 13 ALFRED STREET

DONCASTER \ 2 HIGHVIEW DRIVE

4

3

2

2

2

1

This two-storey contemporary home is all about comfort and convenience. The front door opens to a tiled, open-plan living domain inclusive of the kitchen with steel appliances and stone benches. Sliding doors open to a decked outdoor entertaining area. The main bedroom with a walk-in wardrobe and en suite runs off the living area, while a staircase leads to down to a powder room, laundry and internal access to the double garage. Upstairs is a central retreat, the three remaining bedrooms, main bathroom and another powder room. Other property features include a shed, water tank, ducted heating and cooling. ● AMELIA BARNES

This solid brick, post-war home sits on a huge allotment of more than 1000 square metres, providing plenty of space for a future pool, extension, well-equipped outdoor entertaining area or expansive landscaped garden. The home is oriented to offer as much north-facing light as possible, particularly in the open-plan zone that occupies half of the ground floor anchored by the central kitchen. The rest of the ground level has the three bedrooms (one without wardrobes) and the study, plus the laundry and two bathrooms. A basement level includes a games room and storage space. There is a heating and cooling and a single garage. ● AMELIA BARNES

AGENT \ RT Edgar 8888 2000 PRICE \ $980,000 – $1.07 million AUCTION \ June 23 at 11.30am

AGENT \ Barry Plant 9842 8888 PRICE \ $1.4 million – $1.5 million AUCTION \ June 23 at 3pm

Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

Scan the code with the Domain app to view listing

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

23


24

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

25


26

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

27


28

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


2/21 LABURNUM STREET, BLACKBURN

AUCTION THIS SATURDAY

SOPHISTICA TED LIVING AT Set in the heart of one of Blackburn’s famous tree lined streets, this stylish renovated villa unit has everything you could want and more. Single level and immaculately presented, enjoy the abundance of light and tranquil setting this magnificent residence offers. The impressive and free flowing floorplan comprises an elongated hallway upon entry, expansive formal lounge room with bay windows, separate dining room and opulent kitchen with large family/meals area. There are three generous bedrooms including the master suite with bay windows, walk in robe and ensuite with dual basins. The second and third bedrooms are cleverly zoned off the hallway which are serviced by the fully tiled family bathroom and separate toilet. The secure private courtyard offers a low maintenance lifestyle and is ideal for all year round entertaining.

3

A

2

B

2

C

SAT A URDAY AT A 16TH JUNE 2018 @ 11:00AM AY INSPECT C CT

Weds 13th June 5:00pm-5:30pm Sat 16th June @ 10:30am-11:00am

C NTA CO T CT TA C

Anthony Molinaro 0411 061 796 Y n Sun 0410 949 088 Ya

9894 2044

Suite 2,, 14-16 Blackburn Road,, Blackburn T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

29


Doncaster East $740,000

Doncaster $1,750,000

Donvale $1,150,000

Doncaster East $1,366,000

Doncaster $1,555,000

Bulleen $685,000

Doncaster East $1,200,000

Bulleen $1,230,000

Balwyn North $1,585,000

Doncaster $860,000

Doncaster $3,760,000

Blackburn North $908,000

Doncaster $1,335,000

Box Hill North $1,501,000

Forest Hill $646,000

Doncaster East $1,362,000

152 properties sold in 90 days.

Doncaster East $1,451,000

Here’s just some of our exceptional results...

Doncaster East $815,000

Donvale $1,670,000

Bulleen $1,005,000

Nunawading $603,000

Warrandyte South $1,845,000

Donvale $1,754,000

Mitcham $1,400,000

Donvale $998,000

Bulleen $1,320,000

Donvale $1,060,000

Doncaste $1,998,000

Templestowe $2,900,000

Warrandyte $2,050,000

Doncaster $1,420,000

Templestowe $1,330,000

Mitcham $730,000

Bulleen $1,302,000

Manningham 9842 8888

Whitehorse 9878 0222

Eltham 9431 1243


Donvale $1,225,000

Doncaster $650,000

Lower Plenty $445,000

Templestowe $1,290,000

Doncaster $1,600,000

Warrandyte $3,250,000

Donvale $820,000

Vermont $897,500

Mitcham $1,140,000

Blackburn North $1,038,000

Templestowe Lower $1,150,000

Eltham North $865,000

Templestowe Lower $903,500

Templestowe $655,000

Templestowe Lower $900,000

Doncaster East $700,000

An experienced sales team with the know-how to get properties sold (and for a great price!) in this marketplace.

Templestowe Lower $1,045,000

We have an overflow of buyers still wanting to purchase. If you are considering selling, contact us today to take advantage of our large excess buyer pool.

Doncaster $1,413,000

Donvale $1,261,000

Bulleen $2,430,000

Doncaster East $829,000

Eltham $885,000

Box Hill North $720,000

Bulleen $1,200,000

Vermont South $735,500

Nunawading $704,000

Box Hill South $1,615,000

Vermont $901,000

Doncaster East $1,326,000

Doncaster East $1,330,000

Doncaster East $1,550,000

Bulleen $1,770,000

Eltham $766,000

Montmorency $855,000

Start with Excellence.


Park Orchards 9-11 Arundel Road

32

5

4

A Tuscan lifestyle set in the tranquillity of Park Orchards.

SALE BY SET DATEÂŽ Tues 10th July at 6.00pm

Embrace a privileged and lavish lifestyle in this custom designed five-bedroom Italian Villa of unparalleled quality with its own boutique vineyard. Soaring across three spectacular levels with panoramic views, experience the culture and lifestyle of Tuscany in the best street in tranquil Park Orchards.

INSPECT Inspection By Appointment Only

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

4

1

CONTACT Theo Politis 0415 030 088 Spiro Drossos 0425 709 479 Manningham / Whitehorse 03 9842 8888 / 03 9878 0222


Templestowe 18 Bamfield Close

5

Prestige living in a first-class location.

PRIVATE SALE

Perfectly scaled and proportioned on a coveted north-facing acre (approx.) to capture the sweeping panoramic views to the south, this carefully-considered Georgian residence delivers a peerless living experience in an exclusive Templestowe precinct.

INSPECT Saturday 1-2pm

PRICE $3.5m

3

1

4

CONTACT Spiro Drossos 0425 709 479 Tony Tuccitto 0407 144 390 Manningham / Whitehorse 03 9842 8888 / 03 9878 0222

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

33


Doncaster East 57 Deep Creek Drive

34

6

4

A stunning example of style and sophistication.

SALE BY SET DATEÂŽ Tue, 26th Jun at 6:00pm

This extraordinary lifestyle property includes stone benches through all contemporary kitchen, bathroom and laundry surfaces, an abundance of living space, refined kitchen with high-end appliances, a resort-style backyard with inground pool, tennis court and pool house, plus ducted heating, cooling and much more.

INSPECT Thu & Sat 1.30-2pm

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

3

1

CONTACT Adele Kocuk 0412 255 919 Sam Kocuk 0419 311 222 Manningham 03 9842 8888


Donvale 14 Jolen Court

A tranquil family sanctuary in a prized court location. Nestled on the footsteps of parkland and sprawled across four levels that comfortably accommodate five bedrooms, three bathrooms, multiple living areas, study and two outdoor entertaining areas, finally you have the chance to live harmoniously with the in-laws whilst maintaining a level of privacy.

5

FOR FORSALE SALE PRICE $1.59m INSPECT Inspection By Appointment

3

2 CONTACT Mark Di Giulio 0407 863 179 Robert Di Giulio 0428 273 739 Manningham / Whitehorse 03 9842 8888 / 03 9878 0222

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

35


Blackburn 10A Wellington Avenue

36

3

Serene Sanctuary in a Prestige Position.

AUCTION Sat, 23rd Jun at 11:00am

This exquisite residence features multiple living areas and entertaining decks, beautiful French doors, kitchen with stainless steel appliances and bedrooms with robes. A magnificent backyard sanctuary features a tranquil pond and manicured greenery while climate control, timber venetians and a single garage are bonuses.

INSPECT Thu 4-4.30pm & Sat 11-11.30am

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

1

1 CONTACT Paul Antonio 0458 264 909 Jack Stack 0400 434 030 Whitehorse / Manningham 03 9878 0222 - 03 9842 8888


Doncaster 1 Cantala Drive

Just Listed.

4

2

Renovated to absolute perfection.

AUCTION Sat, 30th Jun at 10:00am

No expense was spared in meticulously renovating this contemporary single-level showpiece — and it shows. Completely gutted and refurbished to the highest of standards in a five-star Doncaster location, this strong and solid one-owner fourbedroom family residence is therefore essentially brand new!

INSPECT Thu 2.30-3pm, Sat 1.30-2pm & Sun 12.30-1pm

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

2 CONTACT Michael Steenhuis 0400 499 601 Edison Kong 0435 841 615 Manningham 03 9842 8888

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

37


Bulleen 88 Golden Way

38

Just Listed.

4

Prime position and a freeflowing floorplan.

AUCTION Sat 7th July at 11am

This sprawling family residence features multiple living areas, kitchen with feature stainless steel gas cooking and oven, bedrooms with robes and a master with walkin robe and en-suite. Outdoor entertaining, ducted heating and evaporative cooling add to an impressive package of style and space.

INSPECT Thu 1.30-2pm & 10.30-11am

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

2

2 CONTACT Mark Di Giulio 0407 863 179 David Napoleone 0425 740 922 Manningham 03 9842 8888


Nunawading 3/44 Efron Street

A stylish choice. Dressed in a stylish tone and set in a premier neighbourhood offering swift access to bus services, the Eastern Freeway, Nunawading train station, schools and trendy cafes, a modern way of life awaits the astute buyer of this sleek single-level town residence.

Just Listed.

3

2

AUCTION Sat, 30th Jun at 2:00pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Thu 10.30-11am, Sat 3.30-4pm & Sun 1.30-2pm

1 CONTACT Michael Steenhuis 0400 499 601 Matt Sealey 0430 569 655 Whitehorse 03 9878 0222

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

39


Doncaster 2/21-23 Outhwaite Avenue

Stylishly renovated with convenience at every turn. Enter Manningham as an owner-occupier or investor in true style with this smartly renovated three-bedroom, single-level unit, which boasts a deceptively spacious yet low maintenance 300sqm (approx.) allotment and walking distance access to the Koonung Creek Reserve and Park & Ride.

40

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Just Listed.

3

1

Sat 30th June at 1pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Thu 12.30-1pm, Sat 11.30-12pm & Sun 10.30-11am

2 CONTACT Juliette Zhou 0456 999 669

Manningham 03 9842 8888


Templestowe 204/2-6 Anderson Street

Just Listed.

2

Smart and stylish on the footsteps of Templestowe

SALE BY SET DATE® Tues 3rd July at 6.00pm

Experience a lifestyle like never before with this contemporary second-floor apartment, which has been beautifully crafted with an unflinching commitment to quality in a dream location within a stone’s throw of the boutique shops and cafes of Templestowe Village.

INSPECT Thu 12.30-1pm & Sat 1.30-2pm

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

2

1 CONTACT Jim Kapsalis 0488 837 653

Manningham 03 9842 8888

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

41


Templestowe Lower 282 Templestowe Road

42

Just Listed.

3

1

Side-by-side development beckons with a 22.8m frontage!

AUCTION Sat, 30th Jun at 12:00pm

Hidden on a service road on the footsteps of Finns Reserve, this excellent threebedroom home represents an opportunity of a lifetime. Develop side-by-side townhouses on the large 774sqm (approx.) block (STCA) or move straight in and enjoy the two living areas and huge entertaining area!

INSPECT Thu & Sat 10.30-11am

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

2

1

CONTACT Tony Tuccitto 0407 144 390 Ruth Birch Manningham 03 9842 8888


Now available for lease. Balwyn North 8 Mountain View Rd 5 BR, 3 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $1200 PW Balwyn North 10 Cumberland Ave 5 BR, 3 Bath, 2 Car Avail June 15 $560 PW Blackburn 12/13 Main St 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $345 PW Blackburn South 2A Raleigh St 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $410 PW Box Hill North 4/680 Elgar Rd 3 BR, 1 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $395 PW Box Hill North 641 Middleborough Rd 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $490 PW Bulleen 6 Balwyn Rd 3 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $420 PW Bulleen 61 Pinnacle Cres 5 BR, 3 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $595 PW Bulleen 7/102-106 Thompsons Rd 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $450 PW Bulleen 21 Lincoln Dr 4 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $625 PW Bulleen 16 Victoria St 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail July 2 $500 PW Canterbury 195 Prospect Hill Rd 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail July 7 $990 PW Doncaster 4/3 Grosvenor St 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail June 18 $485 PW Doncaster 3/1-3 Frank St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail June 21 $520 PW Doncaster 53 Botanic Dr 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $560 PW Doncaster 5/36 Westield Dr 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail July 10 $510 PW Doncaster East 22 Capricorn Ave 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $550 PW Doncaster East 2/5 Leura St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail June 16 $650 PW Doncaster East 94 Leeds St 3 BR, 2 Bath Avail Now $400 PW

Barry Plant Manningham 9842 8888

Doncaster East 6 Nolan Cl 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail June 29 $800 PW Doncaster East 17/207-209 Reynolds Rd 3 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $420 PW Doncaster East 8 Romsey Rise 4 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail June 22 $530 PW Doncaster East 23 Romsey Rise 3 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail July 2 $490 PW Doncaster East 35 Tracey St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $430 PW Mitcham 13 Ian Cres 7 BR, 3 Bath, 3 Car Avail Now $700 PW Mitcham 317B/1 Colombo St 2 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail June 18 $385 PW Nunawading 213 Central Rd 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $560 PW Park Orchards 630 Park Rd 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $850 PW Ringwood 1/1 Maidstone St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $475 PW Ringwood 5/4 Nelson St 2 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $360 PW Templestowe 36-38 Serpells Rd 4 BR, 2 Bath, 8 Car Avail Now $1100 PW Templestowe 1A Hakea St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $560 PW Templestowe Lower 33A Herlihys Rd 3 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $495 PW Templestowe Lower 2/97 Hodgson St 4 BR, 3 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $650 PW Templestowe Lower 65 Lowan Ave 3 BR, 2 Bath, 3 Car Avail Now $530 PW Templestowe Lower 8 Lauri Ann St 3 BR, 1 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $530 PW Templestowe Lower 1/24 Parker St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $580 PW Templestowe Lower 32 Ashford St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail June 16 $480 PW

Barry Plant Whitehorse 9878 0222

Start with Excellence.

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

43


44

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

45


46

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

47


$OIUHG6WUHHW7HPSOHVWRZH/RZHU ĞĂƵƚŝĨƵůůLJĂƉƉŽŝŶƚĞĚĂŶĚƉƌŝǀĂƚĞůLJƉŽƐŝƚŝŽŶĞĚŝŶĂĨĂŵŝůLJͲĨĂǀŽƵƌĞĚůŽĐĂůĞ͕ƚŚŝƐĨŽƵƌͲďĞĚƌŽŽŵ͕ƚǁŽͲďĂƚŚƌŽŽŵŚŽŵĞŽĨĨĞƌƐůƵdžƵƌLJĂŶĚĐŽŶǀĞŶŝĞŶĐĞĨŽƌ ĨĂŵŝůŝĞƐ͕ŝŶǀĞƐƚŽƌƐĂŶĚĚŽǁŶƐŝnjĞƌƐĂůŝŬĞ͘ĂƚŚĞĚŝŶŶĂƚƵƌĂůůŝŐŚƚ͕ƚŚĞŽƉĞŶͲƉůĂŶůĂLJŽƵƚĞŶĐŽƵƌĂŐĞƐŝŶĚŽŽƌͲŽƵƚĚŽŽƌĞŶƚĞƌƚĂŝŶŝŶŐǁŝƚŚŚŽƐƚĞƐƐŬŝƚĐŚĞŶ ĂŶĚƐƵŶͲŬŝƐƐĞĚĂůĨƌĞƐĐŽĚĞĐŬ͕ǁŚŝůĞĂƉƌŝǀĂƚĞůLJnjŽŶĞĚŵĂƐƚĞƌƐƵŝƚĞŝŶǀŝƚĞƐƌĞƐƚĂŶĚƌĞƚƌĞĂƚĨƌŽŵƵƉƐƚĂŝƌƐďĞĚƌŽŽŵƐĂŶĚŬŝĚƐ͛ƌĞƚƌĞĂƚ͘ŽŵƉůĞƚĞǁŝƚŚ ĚŽƵďůĞŐĂƌĂŐĞ͕ƚŚĞŚŽŵĞĞŶũŽLJƐĞĂƐLJĂĐĐĞƐƐƚŽĞůŝƚĞƉƵďůŝĐĂŶĚƉƌŝǀĂƚĞƐĐŚŽŽůƐĂŶĚƚŚĞĂƐƚĞƌŶĨƌĞĞǁĂLJ͕ǁŝƚŚƐŚŽƉƉŝŶŐ͕ĞĂƚĞƌŝĞƐĂŶĚƚƌĂŶƐƉŽƌƚũƵƐƚ ƉĂĐĞƐĨƌŽŵŝƚƐƚŚƌĞƐŚŽůĚ͘ ϭϯĂůĨƌĞĚƐƚƌĞĞƚͲƚĞŵƉůĞƐƚŽǁĞůŽǁĞƌ͘ĐŽŵ hd/KE^ĂƚƵƌĚĂLJϮϯƌĚ:ƵŶĞĂƚϭϭ͗ϯϬĂŵ;hŶůĞƐƐ^ŽůĚWƌŝŽƌͿ s/tdŚƵƌƐĚĂLJϱ͘ϯϬͲϲ͘ϬϬƉŵ͕^ĂƚƵƌĚĂLJϭϭ͘ϬϬͲϭϭ͘ϯϬĂŵΘ^ƵŶĚĂLJϭϬ͘ϬϬͲϭϬ͘ϯϬĂŵ WĂƵů/ďƌĂŚŝŵϬϰϯϮϱϮϮϱϳϳͮƌĨĂŶDŽŵĞŶŝϬϰϮϲϮϵϵϳϰϵͮ:ĂŵĞƐ,ĂƚnjŽůŽƐϬϰϭϴϱϭϴϲϵϰ 48

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


.\UHQLD&RXUW:DUUDQG\WH ƐƉĞĐƚĂĐƵůĂƌƐƚĂƚĞŵĞŶƚŽĨƐƚLJůĞĂŶĚƐĐĂůĞ͕ƚŚŝƐŵĂƐƚĞƌƉŝĞĐĞŽĨŵŽĚĞƌŶĂƌĐŚŝƚĞĐƚƵƌĞƐƉƌĂǁůƐĂĐƌŽƐƐŽŶĞͲĂĐƌĞ;ĂƉƉƌŽdž͘ͿŽĨůĂŶĚƐĐĂƉĞĚŐĂƌĚĞŶƐ͕ ďŽĂƐƚŝŶŐďƌĞĂƚŚƚĂŬŝŶŐǀŝĞǁƐŽǀĞƌƚŚĞzĂƌƌĂZŝǀĞƌ͛ƐƉĂƌŬůĂŶĚƐ͘ůĞŶĚŝŶŐƐƉĂĐŝŽƵƐŶĞƐƐĂŶĚŽƉƵůĞŶĐĞŝŶĂĨŝǀĞͲďĞĚƌŽŽŵ͕ƚǁŽͲďĂƚŚƌŽŽŵůĂLJŽƵƚƉůƵƐŬŝĚƐ͛ ƐƚƵĚLJĂŶĚŚŽŵĞŽĨĨŝĐĞ͕ƚŚĞŚŽŵĞďĞƐƚŽǁƐƌĞůĂdžĂƚŝŽŶĂŶĚƌĞĐƌĞĂƚŝŽŶƚŚƌŽƵŐŚŝŶĚŽŽƌͲŽƵƚĚŽŽƌƉŽŽůƐŝĚĞƌĞĐƌĞĂƚŝŽŶ͘/ƚƐŵƵůƚŝƉůĞůŝǀŝŶŐƐƉĂĐĞƐŽĨĨĞƌ ƉƌŝǀĂƚĞƌĞƚƌĞĂƚ͕ŝŶĐůƵĚŝŶŐĂŚŽŵĞƚŚĞĂƚƌĞ͕ŬŝĚƐ͛ƌĞƚƌĞĂƚ͕ĂŶĚŵĂŶͲĐĂǀĞ͕ƉůƵƐĂǀĂƐƚůŝǀŝŶŐĚŽŵĂŝŶƚŽĚŝŶĞĂŶĚĞŶƚĞƌƚĂŝŶ͕ƉƌŽǀŝĚŝŶŐĂŚĞĂǀĞŶůLJůŝĨĞƐƚLJůĞ ǁŝƚŚĂůůĂŵĞŶŝƚŝĞƐĐůŽƐĞďLJ͘ ϭϲŬLJƌĞŶŝĂĐŽƵƌƚͲǁĂƌƌĂŶĚLJƚĞ͘ĐŽŵ yWZ^^/KE^K&/EdZ^důŽƐŝŶŐdƵĞƐĚĂLJ:ƵŶĞϭϵƚŚĂƚϲ͘ϬϬƉŵ;hŶůĞƐƐ^ŽůĚWƌŝŽƌͿ s/tdŚƵƌƐĚĂLJϮ͘ϬϬͲϮ͘ϰϱƉŵ͕^ĂƚƵƌĚĂLJϯ͘ϬϬͲϯ͘ϰϱƉŵΘDŽŶĚĂLJϰ͘ϯϬͲϱ͘ϭϱƉŵ :ĂŵĞƐ,ĂƚnjŽůŽƐϬϰϭϴϱϭϴϲϵϰͮ<ĂƚŚLJWƵƌĐĞůůϬϰϭϭϲϭϵϯϯϲ T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

49


+HDOHVYLOOH<DUUD*OHQ5RDG7DUUDZDUUD ƚƌĞĞĐŚĂŶŐĞŽĨƚƌĂŶƐĐĞŶĚĞŶƚďĞĂƵƚLJŽŶĂƉƉƌŽdžŝŵĂƚĞůLJϮϲ͘ϱĂĐƌĞƐ͕ƚŚŝƐƉƌŽƉĞƌƚLJƉƌĞƐĞŶƚƐĂƐƵďůŝŵĞůŝĨĞƐƚLJůĞŽĨƚƌĂŶƋƵŝůůŝƚLJĂŶĚƉƌŝǀĂĐLJ͘ŽƌĚĞƌĞĚďLJ ƉĂŶŽƌĂŵŝĐǁŝŶĚŽǁƐĂďƐŽƌďŝŶŐŵĂŐŶŝĨŝĐĞŶƚǀŝƐƚĂƐ͕ƚŚĞŚŽŵĞŵĞůĚƐƋƵĂŝŶƚĨĂƌŵŚŽƵƐĞƐƚLJůŝŶŐǁŝƚŚŵŽĚĞƌŶůƵdžƵƌLJ͘&ŽƌŵĂůĂŶĚĐĂƐƵĂůůŝǀŝŶŐƐƉĂĐĞƐ ĐĂƚĞƌƚŽƚŚĞŵĂƐƐĞƐ͕ĞŶŚĂŶĐĞĚďLJƐƵŶĚƌĞŶĐŚĞĚĂůĨƌĞƐĐŽĞŶƚĞƌƚĂŝŶŝŶŐŝŶƚŚĞŚŽŵĞ͛ƐĞdžƚƌĂǀĂŐĂŶƚĨŽƵƌͲďĞĚƌŽŽŵ͕ƚǁŽͲďĂƚŚƌŽŽŵůĂLJŽƵƚ͘ŽŵƉůĞƚĞǁŝƚŚ ĚĂŵƐĂŶĚďĂƌŶƐ͕ĂŶĚĂďƵŶĚĂŶƚŽƉƉŽƌƚƵŶŝƚŝĞƐƚŽŵŝdžďƵƐŝŶĞƐƐǁŝƚŚƉůĞĂƐƵƌĞ͕ƚŚŝƐĚŝǀŝŶĞĞŶǀŝƌŽŶŵĞŶƚŝƐĞƋƵŝĚŝƐƚĂŶƚƚŽƚŚĞůŝĨĞƐƚLJůĞĚĞƐƚŝŶĂƚŝŽŶƐŽĨ ,ĞĂůĞƐǀŝůůĞĂŶĚzĂƌƌĂ'ůĞŶ͘

ϯϴϲŚĞĂůĞƐǀŝůůĞͲLJĂƌƌĂŐůĞŶƌŽĂĚͲƚĂƌƌĂǁĂƌƌĂ͘ĐŽŵ ϯϴϲŚĞĂůĞƐǀŝůůĞͲLJĂƌƌĂŐůĞŶƌŽĂĚͲƚĂƌƌĂǁĂƌƌĂ͘ĐŽŵ

&KZ^> &KZ^> Zd'Z<ĂƚŚLJWƵƌĐĞůůϬϰϭϭϲϭϵϯϯϲͮ'ůĞŶŽƵƚŝŶŚŽϬϰϬϵϳϳϵϯϵϵͮƌƚĞĚŐĂƌ͘ĐŽŵ͘ĂƵ <ĂƚŚLJWƵƌĐĞůůϬϰϭϭϲϭϵϯϯϲͮ'ůĞŶŽƵƚŝŶŚŽϬϰϬϵϳϳϵϯϵϵ KE:hEd/KE>'Ed/ĂŶsŝŶĞϬϰϴϴϭϳϵϳϲϳͮĞǀŝĞǁ͘ĐŽŵ͘ĂƵ 50

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


&DSHOOD3ODFH'RQFDVWHU(DVW KĐĐƵƉLJŝŶŐϳϳϴŵϮ;ĂƉƉƌŽdž͘ͿŝŶĂůĞĂĨLJĐƵůͲĚĞͲƐĂĐ͕ƚŚŝƐ ĨŽƵƌͲďĞĚƌŽŽŵ͕ƚŚƌĞĞͲďĂƚŚƌŽŽŵƉůƵƐƐƚƵĚLJŚŽŵĞ ŽĨĨĞƌƐĂƌĞůĂdžŝŶŐĂŶĚůƵdžƵƌŝŽƵƐĨĂŵŝůLJůŝĨĞƐƚLJůĞ͘&ŽƌŵĂů ĂŶĚĐĂƐƵĂůůŝǀŝŶŐĚŽŵĂŝŶƐƐƉŝůůŽŶƚŽĂƐŚĞůƚĞƌĞĚ ĂůĨƌĞƐĐŽĚĞĐŬĨŽƌŵŽĚĞƌŶŝŶĚŽŽƌͲŽƵƚĚŽŽƌůŝǀŝŶŐ͕ ĐŽŵƉůĞŵĞŶƚĞĚďLJĂĐĞŶƚƌĂů͕ĨƵůůLJͲĂƉƉŽŝŶƚĞĚƚŝŵďĞƌ ŬŝƚĐŚĞŶ͘tŝƚŚĂĐŚŽŝĐĞŽĨƵƉƐƚĂŝƌƐŽƌĚŽǁŶƐƚĂŝƌƐ ŵĂƐƚĞƌďĞĚƌŽŽŵƐŝŶĐůƵĚŝŶŐĞŶƐƵŝƚĞƐƚŽĞĂĐŚ͕ƉůƵƐ ƉĂƌĞŶƚƐ͛ƌĞƚƌĞĂƚ͕ĞŶũŽLJĂŶƵůƚŝŵĂƚĞůLJƉƌŝǀĂƚĞůŝĨĞƐƚLJůĞ͕ njŽŶĞĚĨŽƌĂƐƚŽŶĐĂƐƚĞƌ^ĞĐŽŶĚĂƌLJŽůůĞŐĞ͕ĂŶĚ ǁŝƚŚŝŶǁĂůŬŝŶŐĚŝƐƚĂŶĐĞŽĨĂƚ:ƵŵƉWĂƌŬ͕ŽŶďƵƌŶ ƐŚŽƉƉŝŶŐĂŶĚĞĂƚĞƌŝĞƐ͕ĂŶĚĐŝƚLJͲďŽƵŶĚƚƌĂŶƐƉŽƌƚ͘

ϲĐĂƉĞůůĂƉůĂĐĞͲĚŽŶĐĂƐƚĞƌĞĂƐƚ͘ĐŽŵ hd/KE^ĂƚƵƌĚĂLJϮϯƌĚ:ƵŶĞĂƚϮ͗ϬϬƉŵ;hŶůĞƐƐ^ŽůĚWƌŝŽƌͿ s/tdŚƵƌƐĚĂLJϰ͘ϬϬͲ͘ϰ͘ϯϬƉŵ͕^ĂƚƵƌĚĂLJϭϮ͘ϬϬͲϭϮ͘ϯϬƉŵ Θ^ƵŶĚĂLJϭϬ͘ϬϬͲϭϬ͘ϯϬĂŵ :ĂŵĞƐ,ĂƚnjŽůŽƐϬϰϭϴϱϭϴϲϵϰ WĞƚĞƌ^ĂŚŝŶŝĚŝƐϬϰϮϮϲϬϬϴϰϬ

Brand New Display Homes Open Now!

Clydevale, Highgrove & Berwick Waters Display Village Open Sat, Sun, Mon, Tues & Wed from 12-5pm

From $286,674

On Display at Berwick Waters Estate

Armadale Attic 32.08sq

Craftsmanship. With its high pitched roof and quality pressed bricks The Armadale Attic is a big family home that seamlessly blends federation style with contemporary living  ­€ ‚ƒ„…†­‡­‚†­‚ˆ‰„Š‹ŒŽŽŽ„‘­ ­ Œ’ €­ŒŽŒ’‡‡†„Š­­‚ ­ „ƒ­ ­‹‚ƒ „… ­Œƒ“­‚”„„‚‡ˆ• ­–‚ƒŽ­–Œ€Œ‡‡­—‚ …‚„ƒ ­‚­‡˜‹Œ ­Ž­‡‡™ŠŽŒ†šŒ‡ ­‡ŽŒ›­Ž‚’­Œ‡ €„‚Œ€­˜­€„‚Œ‘­…‚­‹„‚›—Œ€Š‚­‚ŒŽ‡ˆ• ­›Œ€ ­œ…ƒŒŽ†œŒŒ’‚­…„‚ƒ­­‚Œƒ­ activity hub which includes a beautiful traditional kitchen complete with mantelpiece and walk-in pantry. Upstairs is the master suite with WIR and glamourous ensuite. We will adapt this space to suit your lifestyle! There is also a large separate theatre room, proof of the generous living space the Armadale Attic has to offer and a covered alfresco area, the perfect place to spend those warm summer nights.

BERWICK WATERS Littleshore Crescent CLYDE NORTH Melway 131 A9

CLYDEVALE

Welsh Crescent CLYDE NORTH Melway 134 K2

HIGHGROVE

TIMBERTOP

Callow Street CLYDE NORTH Melway 134 K6

Clovelly Way OFFICER Melway 214 E2

Contact: 1300 773 643 www.premierbuilders.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

51


1A Barrina Street. Blackburn South 3A

2B

2C

276m2 approx.

Of this stylish BV property on a compact, low maintenance allot orientated to preferred nthly aspect. Comp living, dining/family, y mod kit, y, 3brms, ens & family bths/2 WCs & 2 car accom with remote roller dr. Ideal 1st home, retirement or superb investment ppy with bus/train/shopping, Laburnum PS & Box Hill HS within easy reach. Inspect Thur 11.00-11.30am Sat 11.00 - 11.30am

Auction Sat 30th June 11.00am Contact Brad Ellis 0418 394 062 Anna Tran 0413 439 438

hockingstuart.com.au

34 Husband Road. Forest Hill 3A

1B

2C

675m2 approx.

On generous allot 675m2 boasting a wider 17. 75m 7. frontage orientated to preferred nthly aspect ideal family home suit further extension, superb ongoing invest @ $450pw or superior allot for your dream home only mins to Forest Hill Chase, schools, swimming & sports centre.

Auction Sat 23rd June 1.00pm

Inspect Thur 1.00-1.30pm Sat 11.45 - 12.15pm

Contact Brad Ellis 0418 394 062 Anna Tran 0413 439 438

hockingstuart.com.au

52

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


networkclassifieds.com.au

Trades & Services

Online: networkclassifieds.com.au (24/7) Phone: 1300 666 808 (Open 8.30-5pm Mon-Fri) Fax: 03 5945 0667 Email: sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

u

TERMITE CONTROL T SPECIALIS

s ned busines - Family ow iders ite quotes ● Mice ● Sp ts Free term Ra ● ● Ants Wasps ● Termites ckroaches ● Bees & cil Certificates ● Co s ● Coun ntrol.com.a

co rangerpest

(include your name, address and phone number)

2064941v5

We accept payment by:

ction hase inspe

● Pre purc

VISA/MASTERCARD/EFTPOS

sured

In Qualified &

(1.5% credit card processing fee applies. Cheques and money orders can be posted in or hand delivered to our local office)

0488 097

005

Call 1300 666 808

Ask about our discounted ongoing advertising rates and how choosing more newspapers gives your advertising more impact and saves you money...

V

rk Netwo irls at “The g sifieds are Clas easy tic and fantas ith. We are w l e to dea ppy with th a very h nse we are o the resp g from gettin ly Review.” k e e The W Andrew -

Builders & Building Services

V

REPLACEMENTS

30% OFF

FREE THIS MONTH QUOTES

V

heating & hot water

experts

Designer Quality at Factory Prices!

Trade in on your old hot water system

Seniors Discounts Written Guarantees

9998 2596

Electricians

*CONDITIONS APPLY

Employment

section of Network Classifieds.

• Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

Find your Local Professionals in our

Trades & Services section of Network Classifieds.

V

Furniture Removals

ALL VIC REMOVALS & STORAGE Cheap boxes 4 sale

G6616651AA-dc11Feb

Packing, Pianos, Antiques and Billiard Tables, Local, Country & Interstate. No job too small. Unwanted goods, or rubbish taken to tip. All areas from $89p/h (min 2 hours), 24 hours/7 days

V

Pest Control

9310 1070 - 0403 046 998

Bathroom & Kitchens

V 12355605-EPJ26-17

12383841-ACM15-18

1156305-HM40-14

J.L. Hutt Electrical

24 HOUR SERVICE Rec: 17824

Electricians

1152285-PB36-14

12388308-ACM22-18

Cost Effective Property Enhancement Value Adding Pre Sale Makeovers Wood Rot / Window Repairs / Handyman Work Established 1993 / Fully Insured / Clean Workers Paul 0408 528801

Garden Services

AMAZING GARDEN SERVICES Specialist in • Lawn mowing • Edging Pruning / Hedge Trimming • Regular Maintenance • Rubbish Removals • Tree Lopping • Gutter Cleaning

Call Joe 0498 375 094 - 7 days

Your advert can appear in print and online!

rangerpestcontrol.com.au

TERMITE CONTROL SPECIALIST

1129931-RC16-14

www.cldb.com.au

Painters/Decorators

Jason 1300 644 698

12330353-ACM46-16

s PLANTATION SHUTTERS Ph: 9379 0123 FREE QUOTE s ALL TYPES OF BLINDS QUICKEST INSTALL SENIORS DISCOUNT s CANVAS SUNBLINDS

SHOWERS | BATHROOMS s2EPAIRAND2ESEALLEAKINGSHOWERS s2EPLACEBROKENTILESANDREGROUT s2EPAIROR2EPLACESHOWER3CREENS FREE QUOTE / PENSIONER DISCOUNT Call Paul 0400 854 853 3ERVICINGMELBOURNE

All Brands

100*

mepaint.com.au

V

Awnings, Blinds & Curtains

REPAIR REGROUT RESEAL

Gas Heating Installation / Repairs Hot Water Service Repair

V

Blackburn North Electricians

V

Heating

12386308-RC19-18

brearleybuilders@gmail.com

1177862-RC13-15

24/7

GREG: 0414 516 050

KEVIN 0419 371 625 V

Glass/Glazing

ALL BROKEN GLASS

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise.

12378161-HM06-18

All Classifieds: 1.30pm Friday

V

Grow your business with Trades and Services

Placing your classified advert is so easy...

DEADLINES

Trades Business Profile

12322 12 220577-CG36-1 -16

V

12381861-CG12-18

Deadline

-14 1129931-RC16

V

Place your ad in print and online www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Free termite quotes - Family owned business ● Termites ● Ants ● Rats ● Mice ● Spiders ● Cockroaches ● Bees & Wasps 2064941v5

● Pre purchase inspections ● Council Certificates

Qualified & Insured

0488 097 005

Place Your Classified Ads Online

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au

1233681-LN27-16

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

53


V

Call Us Today...

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

12387538-RC21-18

FOR OUR FAST & FRIENDLY SERVICE!

SPECIALIST INSTALLED TODAY

1300 361 979 0407 674 808

9998 2905

V

Member HIA and MBA

Australian Government endorsed Installer

SENIORS CARD

V

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: • Floor & Wall Tiles • Old & New Homes • Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

We NEVER

Close

0432 774 645

Lic. 104391

V

1216352-LB06-16

9703 1530

www.windows1.net.au

General Classifieds

Tiling

AARON’S TILING

WELCOME HERE

12351179-CG19-17

www.Ser viceToday.com.au

Window Replacement Service Timber or Aluminium Free Measure and quote

www.antennaspecialist.com.au

yes we can

SERVICING DONVALE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

WINDOWS 1

FREE QUOTES PENSIONER DISCOUNTS

V

Adult Services

&%' %URWKHO

2SHQKRXUV

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

Manhattan Terrace

V

$100/ 30mins Open 7 days

554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

SWA4281be

48 Davies Avenue, Sunshine North 9364 0770 SWA6566B

Slim Susie or Paige

Classy attractive 40s brunette Gorgeous 36yo BBW blonde We visit you 0438 665 032 SWA4133E

QUALIFIED ARBORISTS *Not available with any other voucher or coupon

Check out our customer reviews @

ÜÜÜ°ÌÀiivÝ°Vœ“°>Õ 100% Satisfaction Guarantee

SN1090434-PJ37-13

Maison D’Amour passionate ladies 18+ from $80

PH: 1300 TREEFX (873339)

0420 102 762 1238802412 24-SN21-1 N21-18

r ne io nt! s n u Pe isco D

OFF

THIS MONTH ONLY

FREE QUOTE

Motoring V

Auto Services/ Repair

OCR

Old Cars Removed WE PAY YOU UP TO

500

$

For Any Old Car TODAY

9798 3364 LMCT 10227

Announcements section of Network Classifieds.

Find your Local Specialist in our 12352678-CG22-17

25

www.delconways.com.au

Buy & Sell in our

ABN 20 410 687 524

%

section of Network Classifieds.

Find it in the

TREE SERVICE

Pruning & Removal of Trees & Shrubs Stump Removal Hedges Mulching & Mulch Sales Full Insurance Cover

Ph: 9888 4044

Real Estate

Outcall Escorts 24/7 9488 4779 swa 4281be

HIGH TREE Winter Special

Cleaning in private homes Car and mobile phone essential

Buy, Rent & Sell in our

YOUNG BLONDES 12366233-LB39-17

Safe Tree and Stump Removal UÊ Ý«iÀÌÊ*À՘ˆ˜}ÊUÊÀiiÊ+՜ÌiÃ

HOME CLEANER WANTED

Rainbow Dolls

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front)

Tree Lopping/Surgery

Positions Vacant

Adult Services

1235322622-PB22-17

Donvale Plumbers ANTENNA

Windows

12390419-DJ25-18

Television/Video/Audio

10 10 

V

1193032-LN31-15

Plumbing

G6723428AA-dc29Apr

V

Employment

12327459-PB42-16

Trades & Services

Professional Services section of Network Classifieds.

Motoring section of Network Classifieds.

0409 14 15 19 rakruyt@aol.com

Richard or Daniel Kruyt

Sell your item for FREE in print and online www.networkclassifieds.com.au * Private party only * Items must be under $100 * 4 weeks in print and online 12376255-HM03-18

54

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


Degani Bakery Cafe Box Hill South

Melbourne’s deck care and maintenance professional’s. Residential and commercial. We do it all from deck sanding, cleaning, sealing, washing to deck maintenance and finally deck refinishing! Continually delivering a beautiful and long lasting deck surface. No job too big or small. Give us a call, email or visit our website for more information. phone: 1800 DECKCLEAN (1800 332 525) email: info@deckseal.com.au www.deckseal.com.au

12389223-ACM24-18

Fully Licensed Open for Breakfeast & Lunch Catering/ Functions We deliver

winter 10%OFF ORDERS* OFF WARWICK FABRICS sale AND20% UP TO 50% OFF FLOOR STOCK CUSTOM MADE

Ph: (03) 8679 3479

Degani Trading hours Mon-Fri: 6.30am - 5pm Sat-Sun: 8am - 5pm Public Holidays: 8.30am - 3.30pm

shop 5, 313 Middleborough Road Box Hill South

12390843-RA25-18

Custom Made: Blinds & Drapes | Poles | Tracks Awnings | Shutters | Upholstery | Cushions

1346 Toorak Road, Camberwell P. 9889 2213

Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm, Saturday 10am - 3pm

FREE MEASURE & QUOTE

nextfurnishings.com.au

[*CONDITIONS APPLY] images supplied by Warwick Fabrics

Old Treasury Building, 20 Spring Street, Melbourne www.otb.org.au 9651 2233

To advertise on this page phone Tania on 5945 0636

12389233-CG25-18

‘Gold Rush: 20 Objects, 20 Stories’ presents the turbulent tale of Victoria’s gold rush through just 20 objects. From intriguing archaeological artefacts, to a frilled crinoline dress, each object has an unexpected story to tell. The gold rushes of the 1850s transformed Victoria. Overnight Melbourne became a global port, as the lure of gold proved irresistible. People in their thousands flocked from Europe, America and China for the chance to escape lives of relentless toil. For Aboriginal Victorians gold meant further dispossession. But it also presented opportunities, as objects in this exhibition will suggest. ‘Gold Rush: 20 Objects, 20 Stories’ is presented by Old Treasury Building in partnership with Public Record Office Victoria.

12390285-RC24-18

12390634-DJ25-18


E FY DEALS M{ZD{

CX-5

MAXX SPORT • Satellite Navigation • Bluetooth® + more FROM ONLY

EOFY TAX TIME BONUSES END JUNE 30! m{ZD{ 2 NEO SEDAN AND HATCH

m{zd{3 NEO SPORT SEDAN AND HATCH

• Smart City Brake Support • Bluetooth® + more

• 16-inch alloy wheels • Reverse camera + more

FROM ONLY

FROM ONLY

$16,990°

$21,490+

DRIVEAWAY

+$500

DRIVEAWAY

TAX TIME BONUS

#

m{ZD{ CX-3 NEO

SPORT S •S Smart City Brake Support •R Reverse Camera + more

• Smart City Brake Support • Bluetooth® + more FROM ONLY

m{ZD{ CX-9 m

FROM ONLY

$45,990»

$22,490

ø

$35,990

DRIVEAWAY

LAST CHANCE

TO WIN A MAZDA2! To celebrate Max Kirwan’s 50th anniversary, we’re giving away golden goodies. Purchase a new, demo or used vehicle before June 30 and spin our prize wheel to win instant golden goodies, plus go into the draw to win a Mazda2 Neo!*

DRIVEAWAY

DRIVEAWAY

+$500 TAX TIME BONUS

#

+$500 TAX TIME BONUS#

120 BELL STREET PRESTON

LMCT 1293

9480 3555 AH: Guang 0401 541 323 | www.maxkirwan.com.au

EOFY offers valid until 30 June 2018. Private Buyers only. Images for illustrative purposes only. ‡ Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda CX-5 Maxx Sport Petrol FWD. ° Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda2 Neo manual sedan or hatch. ø Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda CX-3 Neo manual FWD. » Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda CX-9 Sport Petrol FWD. + Recommended Promotional Driveaway Price for Mazda3 Neo Sport manual sedan or hatch. # Bonus offer ends 30 June 2018. Mazda2 not available in gold. * Promotion is available to private and small business buyers of new, used or demonstrator vehicles only between 1/6/18 and 30/6/18. Government and large fleet purchases excluded. See www.maxkirwan.com.au/goforgold for full terms & conditions. 102840

Find out more at maxkirwan.com.au

The Weekly Review Eastern  

June 13-19, 2018

The Weekly Review Eastern  

June 13-19, 2018

Advertisement