Page 1

JUNE 2018

THE

10 Inuential

MOST

Educational Leaders in

2018

Monica Malhotra Kandhari Managing Director

Monica Malhotra Kandhari A Positively Competitive Person with an Innovative Mindset


Editorial

‘‘ Education: A Way of Life, Beyond just Earning Degrees

E

ducation is not the learning of facts, but the training of the mind to think.” – Albert Einstein, one of the most celebrated scientists in the world.

Most of us do not know the real definition of education and while participating in the rat-race, we often start pushing and forcing our next generations to run in that race much before they are able to walk properly. And, the most ironical part is that leaving aside the child’s concern, or asking the child about the choices he/she wants to make, we start planning about a child, its education, its career and its profession even before the baby is born. As soon as the baby comes out of its mother’s womb, it starts rolling into the roller coaster of life and slowly forgets to live in the real sense. The baby loses its innocence & childhood, and turns into an adult person without even realizing when and how it loses the precious moments of its life. Nowadays, many educational institutions are more into making children more literate and enable them getting a settled lifestyle with a handsome job, but during the course, it forgets to transform children into real human beings. Today its high time, as the world is already filled with fast pacing humans, look much like robots. In reality, people are getting educated with degrees from prestigious universities, but where is real education? Where is the happiness? Where is the peace? Where is the kindness? Where is the joy? These are the questions still widely left unanswered. Educational degrees can definitely earn us bread and better the degree one carries, better the quality of bread one can afford. Ironically, the Quality- Education which can make us really educated human beings is still under formation. Once the spiritual leader Swami Vivekananda said, “To me the very essence of education is concentration of mind, not the collecting of facts. If I had to do my education over again, and had any voice in the matter, I would not study facts at all. I would develop the power of concentration and detachment, and then with a perfect instrument I could collect facts at will. Side by side, in the child, should be developed the power of concentration and detachment.” So, it is time for the emergence of educators willing to follow the path of Swami Vivekananda, and give their best into shaping tomorrow’s future. Be it through the use of technology, educative methods, or by the means of revolution, it’s the clan of educational leaders only which can bring back the originality of education and teach people to be real human beings, happy, kind and joyful beings capable of fighting life’s challenges with ease and equal eagerness for helping others to live. T R

Rajarshi Chatterjee


CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Nupur Srivastava, Durgesh Kodnani

Mayur Koli Shweta

JUNE 2018


CONTENTS COVER STORY

08

Monica Malhotra Kandhari: A Positively Competitive Person with an Innovative Mindset

SPECIAL PROFILE

INTERVIEW

28

Edu-tech Leader Of The Month

Prakash Dantuluri: A Creative Edu-preneur Developing Milestones in the Education Industry

ARTICLES 22 36

CAREER TALK

Exceptional Career Options in Music providing tremendous amount of Scope for Aspirants

EDITOR'S CHOICE

Today's Educational Leaders: Mentors to All & Influencers to Many

Pratish Nair

16

An Optimistic Storyteller Guiding Students to be Exceptional Entrepreneurs


Expert’s Speak The future of career and opportunities in Travel Tourism

CXO 34

20

Anuradha Jain

A Fervent Educator Redefining Education Sphere

Dr. Manjula Pooja Shroff

PROFILE

26

A Passionate Edupreneur Empowering Students to Succeed in all Spheres of Life

Pratik Gandhi

32

Reforming Higher Education System through Experimental Learning Processes

Rohit Manglik

40

42

A Passionate Educationist Bridging Education and Technology and Renovating Education Industry

Shalini Mehrotra

A Harbinger of Change in Indian Education Sector


The

10

MOST Influential T R

Educational Leaders in 2018

Inuential Educational Leaders: Giving Shape to Tomorrow’s Future

A

s Robert Harold Schuller, an American Christian televangelist, pastor, motivational speaker, and author says, “Problems are not stop signs, they are guidelines.” This is precisely how leaders see the problems as and that is what makes them successful, somewhat inspirational leaders. Moreover, hearing stories of such leaders is no less than a journey full of motivation. Let’s hear the life stories of such leaders who are making the change in the world of education. To bring forward such inspirational figures into the limelight, we have come up with this special edition focusing on “The 10 Most Influential Educational Leaders in 2018”. On the Cover of this edition, we have, Monica Malhotra Kandhari: A Positively Competitive Person with an innovative mindset. Monica is not just an entrepreneur; she is beyond that. Apart from being an influential business leader, she is an award-winning author, an exceptional writer who contributes majorly to numerous well-known media publications, and also a motivator who continuously inspires her team to innovate new products and business processes. She serves as the Managing Director of MBD Group, which is a leading education solution providing company with a rich experience of over six decades. It’s not the end; rather, this is the beginning. After such an extraordinary story, we have Prakash Dantuluri as the Edu-Tech Leader of the Month. Prakash is a creative edu-preneur developing milestones in the education industry. Along with the story of such an interesting and influencing educational leader, we have enlisted many other educators that are creating milestones in the education industry. Among many others, we have, Rohit Manglik: A Passionate Educationist Bridging Education and Technology and Renovating Education Industry; Pratik Gandhi: Reforming Higher Education System through Experimental Learning Processes; Dr. Manjula Pooja Shroff: A Passionate Edupreneur Empowering Students to Succeed in all Spheres of Life; Anuradha Jain: A Fervent Educator Redefining Education Sphere; and Shalini Mehrotra: A Harbinger of Change in Indian Education Sector. Along so many interesting profiles, we have also many other influencing educational leaders as Ali Asgar Kagzi, Piyush Kumar, and Abhishek Bajaj. The edition also comes up with an interview with Pratish Nair, Managing Director and Founder of The Prahlad Kakar School of Branding and Entrepreneurship, where he talked about his journey, his life story from the beginning of his career and how he is contributing to the world of education and aspiring hundreds of students to lead the nation with extraordinary entrepreneurship skills. To motivate the readers, Prof. David Hangsing, Batch-in-Charge and professor in Marketing in PIBM, shared an article on “The future of career and opportunities in Travel Tourism”. To take a step and ignite the young minds of the nation, our in-house editors have contributed masterly drafted articles on “Exceptional Career Options in Music providing tremendous amount of Scope for Aspirants” and “Today’s Educational Leaders: Mentors to All & Influencers to Many”. It’s time to flip through the pages and enjoy a memorable and inspiring experience.

T R


The

10

MOST InfluentialT R

Educational Leaders in 2018

A Positively Competitive Person with an Innovative Mindset


Monica Malhotra Kandhari Managing Director


G

one are the days when the term “Women’s Empowerment” had anything to do with women, which invoked images of women crossing hurdles and breaking stereotypes. Today, women have created their own identity. They aren’t just travelling to space for science and humanity; they are leading countries, guiding teams and setting extraordinary benchmarks in every section of society. Meet Monica Malhotra Kandhari, Managing Director at MBD Group, a leading education solution providing company with a rich experience of over six decades. Interestingly, MBD Group is the only publishing house in India with complete backward and forward integration which offers every facility right from the self-owned manufacturing unit to in-house pre-press facilities, in-house printing and binding units and a distribution network with 29 branches all across India. While playing a pioneering role in uplifting the educational sector, Monica guides her team to leverage its experience in developing the latest technology to set a benchmark in the industry. Factors which place Monica beyond just an Entrepreneur

media publications, and also a motivator who continuously inspires her team to innovate new products and business processes. Describing herself Monica says, “I am a positively competitive person, where often people get jealous, I get motivated. I am always inclined to innovate newer products and business processes.” Her contribution to the world of education has earned her numerous achievements including Outstanding Business Woman Award for the Year 2015 by PHD Chamber; the Global Punjabi Society Award in the field of publishing in 2013; the Naari Shakti Sammaan by the Adhaar Foundation in 2011; Indira Gandhi Priyadarshini Award 2007; Shiromani Award by the Noida Mahila Udyami Sansthan; Pride of Noida Award for the Most Inspirational Female Achiever; 18th Talented Ladies Awards by Bharat Nirman in May 2006; IMM Top Women Entrepreneur Awards by the Institute of Marketing Management and the Young Achiever Award of Year 2006. This extraordinary business woman has also been honoured by Femina Women Achievers Award for Excellence in Education & Coaching Sector. A Journey which Turned Passion into Profession

It would be wrong to call Monica just an entrepreneur; she is beyond that. Apart from being an influential business leader, she is an award-winning author, an exceptional writer who contributes majorly to numerous well-known

Monica was born in Jalandhar, Punjab, and moved to Delhi when she was in class 9. She grew up in Delhi in an atmosphere that promoted simple living and high thinking


and was encouraged to keep learning and follow her heart. It was then that she started following her dreams, and with her family’s support, especially her mother’s, her dreams became a reality. Passion for a job, hard work, sincerity and dedication are the ingredients which guarantee success. Similarly, Monica, with her passion for singing, dancing and basketball, turned out her to be a district level basketball player, a distinction holder in singing and a postgraduate degree in dancing. Soon she developed a zeal for business and she joined the family business at the age of fifteen. There she worked on making books as well as on the shop floor of the factory. Advised by her father, Ashok Kumar Malhotra, Founder of the MBD Group, she devoted herself to learning the trade rather than learning the tricks of the trade. That is what emerged as the turning point of her life and that is where her entrepreneurial journey began.

A IDEALLY MOST PERSISTENCE HARD CAREER SHOULD

BE BASED ON A PERSON’S APTITUDE AND AND

NOT

INTEREST ONLY ON THE COMPENSATION. WHAT MATTERS THE

AND

IS THE

WORK

WHICH

WILL EVENTUALLY

ENABLE THE PERSON TO IN ANY CHOSEN FIELD SUCCEED


has ventured globally with the launch of its first publishing branch in South Africa (Cape Town). Interestingly MBD turned out to be the only Indian origin publisher to be included in the National Catalogue of South Africa. The company now has presence in the Middle East and other countries including Sri Lanka. Along with such extraordinary achievements, the company has also introduced numerous other products including MBD Disha — a Capacity Building Programme for Teachers, Principals and school Educators in India. Monica spoke about MBD Group’s unique learning and development curriculum called Management and Supervisory Development Programme in hospitality aiming to bring out the best in the leaders of tomorrow. Speaking about the programme, Monica said “It aims to enlighten young and dynamic aspirants and make them achieve their goals. The programme focuses on core entrepreneurial competencies such as generating ideas, assessing viability, launch pad networking, management tools, business plans and fundraising as well as topics such as e-marketing, sustainability and work-life balance.” Monica has always been inclined towards developing new techniques in the e-learning field of education. She has guided the team of experts in her company to develop ‘MBD Alchemie’, a highly interactive e-learning platform which is aimed at providing affordable mass education to every learner through standardised content. Under her direction, the company has forayed into the Skill Development, Capacity Building and Virtual Reality (VR) space in education and has launched other e-learning apps and educational content such as MBD Nytra (AR App), MBD Smartbooks and MBD NYX (Collaborative Classrooms). Monica has even guided the team to introduce Robotics in school education system in line with STEM education to ignite the scientific spark in creative young minds. About the Extraordinarily Innovative Company Creating Impact in the Education Industry With the belief, determination and perseverance of her father, Monica involves herself in not only mentoring the team but also helping those innovating new things and opening new branches. Under her guidance the company has spread its branches in various sectors including e-learning, hospitality, real estate, mall development and management, ICT infrastructure, skill development, capacity building, stationery and magazine and paper manufacturing. Now the company

Talking about the company’s current status and its future goals, Monica said, “So far the Skill Division has trained 8800 learners and aims to skill train 1 a million learners by 2020. As an individual, I see myself in the pursuit of lifelong learning and helping MBD Group achieve greater heights and explore new avenues for growth. MBD group will continue to diversify and explore new avenues all the while taking along all stakeholders in the growth story.” An Educator’s Vision The visionary leader Monica shared her thoughts about a student’s life and said, “A student’s life is often fraught with challenges and distractions and the learnings and knowledge accumulated during this phase will lay the foundation for a successful life ahead. We at MBD would like to advise students to be confident of their abilities and be persistent and face the challenging times.” Monica’s advice for the future of the nation, i.e., students is, “A career should ideally be based on a person’s aptitude and interest and not only on the compensation. What matters the most is the persistence and hard work which will eventually enable the person to succeed in any chosen field.” T R


Curtis Institute Of Music 1726 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19103, USA www.curtis.edu


The

10

MOST Influential T R

Educational Leaders in 2018 Name of the Organization

Management

Location of the Organization

Bulbul Apps bulbulapps.com

Prakash Dantuluri Founder & CEO

Flat No: 2A, Second Floor, Spaces And More Business Plot No 98&99, Lumbini Layout, Gachibowli Hyderabad Tg Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

EduGorilla edugorilla.com

Rohit Manglik Founder & CEO

12/651 First Floor Opp. Arvindo Park, Near Jama Masjid, Indira Nagar, Lucknow India

Edulab edulab.in

Pratik Gandhi Founder

15, Dhamji Shamji Estate, Mahakali Caves road, Off Chakala, Andheri East, Mumbai – India.

Genext Students genextstudents.com

Ali Asgar Kagzi Co-founder & Director

41, 4th Floor, B Wing, Mittal Towers Nariman Point, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

Kalorex kalorex.org

Dr. Manjula Pooja Shroff MD & CEO

Kalorex House, Block No. 9A, Abhishree Corporate Park, Opp. Shell Petrol Pump, Ambli Road, Ahmedabad

MBD Group. mbdgroup.com

Monica Malhotra Kandhari Managing Director

MBD House, Gulab Bhawan, 6, Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, New Delhi.

Mahavir Public Senior Secondary School mahaveerpublicschool.org

Anuradha Jain Principal

Vardhmaan Path, C Scheme, Arjun Nagar, Panch Batti, C Scheme, Ashok Nagar, Jaipur, Rajasthan

urtutors urtutors.com

Piyush Kumar Founder & CEO

#561, 4th cross, KPC Layout, Kasavanahalli, Central Jail Road, Sarjapura, Bengaluru, Karnataka

Vidya Devi Jindal School vdjs.edu.in

Shalini Mehrotra Principal

Delhi Road, Hisar, Haryana Pin

Zeroinfy zeroinfy.com

Abhishek Bajaj Founder

187, IA Block, Sector III, IA Block, Sector III, Salt Lake City, Kolkata, West Bengal


Pratish Nair:

Storyte er An Optimistic

Guiding

Students to be Exceptional Entrepreneurs

16

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


INTERVIEW WITH THE KNOWLEDGE REVIEW

I

t is not easy to be an entrepreneur, but it’s definitely not impossible. With power comes responsibility, with profit comes loss and with education comes dignity. While having an interview with Pratish Nair, Managing Director and Founder of The Prahlad Kakar School of Branding and Entrepreneurship, he talked about his journey, his life story from the beginning of his career and how he is contributing to the world of education and aspiring hundreds of students to lead the nation with extraordinary entrepreneurship skills. 1. Kindly brief us in short about you and your journey since the beginning of your career. I have always been a very optimistic, go getter person with a can-do attitude. Though I belonged from a business family, I have always yearned to do things on my own terms. My family business, Century Logistics is a 34-year-old company with IINR 100 Crores plus turnover. Our family is also into trading and film productions under the banner- Kashi films. However, I have drawn learning’s from various stages in my career. My first ever job was working at Dolce & Gabbana in London post my MBA. While I enjoyed my stint there, I met different entrepreneurs. Entrepreneurship evoked extreme interest in me. Therefore, after returning to India, I established my export company Alba Buys under my father’s guidance. With a distinct penchant for creativity, I additionally started a Rarity production which is primarily into content creation. Few years down the line, during an interaction with a friend we discussed the idea of starting “Crossroads Training Solutions”, which caters to leadership training and team building. Soon we bought the idea into practice and merely in a span of 5 months; we grew from having 5 clients to 120 plus customers. Alongside this, I also started an event management company which did not continue for a long time but definitely helped me commence various industry connects. The important factor that I learnt during my phase of work was that; an adult never learns, they only want to experience and grow with training on the job. I

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

shared the idea of starting a school of branding to Prahlad Kakar, under his name and he was thrilled to hear about it. Soon the school came into establishment and we started off with 4 students; by the end of our first year we had 32 students. On the whole I would describe my journey to be a smooth and organic transition. Have always been passionate about movies and now I sit in a college where everybody is a filmmaker- it’s a very happy feeling. It is like the fish has finally found its pond. 2. Being the Managing Director and Founder of a renowned educational institution, how do you think you are contributing to the educational world? How are your contributions creating a positive impact in the upliftment of the society? PKSBE teaches its students to breach the barrier of fear which inhibits creativity and growth and at the same time be socially conscious. Most importantly, as a collaborative effort we help our students learn, create and be the change they aspire to make for the upliftment of the society. 3. How would you describe yourself in one-word or one-sentence? I consider myself to be an optimistic person who is a risk taker. 4. Tell us about your passion, aim and goals that are relevant to the education industry. My passion is story-telling. My aim is to create a world class institution that nurtures both professional and personal development of aspiring entrepreneurs. My goal is to make sure that these budding entrepreneurs are risk-takers, ethical, productive and prepared. 5. What is that one thing which always keeps you motivated? Every budding entrepreneur aspires to reap the fruits of success; and a platform like PKSBE gives me an opportunity to contribute to the bigger picture that these entrepreneurs envision. This factor of being able to help students overcome their fears and make

17


My

6. We would like to hear about your views on the contributions of Ad Guru-Prahlad Kakar and what is that thing that every student must learn from him? Firstly to mention, Prahlad Kakar has greatly influenced the advertising industry in India by bringing appropriate “regional Indianness” and values into an urban context through his work. Apart from being the Chairman and Founder of PKSBE, the most important contribution of Prahlad Kakar according to me, is providing the institute and students with his creative genius and knowledge of over 30 years. The students should greatly be inspired by the Ad-Guru’s way of creating brand stories and the most important element they should

18

gbudding oal

is to

make sure that these

entrepreneurs

are

them believe in their dreams is what keeps me motivated.

risk-takers, ethical,

productive and prepared

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


learn is, the art of telling and selling a story in 30 seconds in the most engaging way possible. 7. After leading the Creative Section of a renowned organization for a decade, what made you decide to found The Prahlad Kakar School of Branding and Entrepreneurship? Tell us something about the institute and how it is contributing to the educational industry? With what mission, vision and goal, did you establish the institute? My work in the past made me believe that an adult never learns they only want to experience and grow with training on the job. It was this thought that primarily lead me to found The Prahlad Kakar School of Branding and Entrepreneurship. At PKSBE, we understand the need to create Entrepreneurs and Advertising Film Making professionals and we work collaboratively towards this goal. Our students are educated to be entrepreneurs rather than just “employees”. Prahlad Kakar and I established PKSBE with a vision to develop a world class institution to support the careers and personal development of successful entrepreneurs who will go on to create significant impact globally. Our mission is to train the students to become business leaders who are ethical, entrepreneurial, productive and socially conscious. (Reference from the PKSBE official website) 8. In short, can your brief us about the distinguished courses of the institute? It would be really helpful, if you can share with us about the career opportunities/ placements and financial aids provided by the institute. PKSBE’s academia essentially focuses on two courses. Ad Film-Making & Branding (1 year) this course helps individuals to develop an independent thinking and learn about the technicalities of advertising and storytelling. Whereas, Fellowship in Business and Entrepreneurship (2 years) caters to provide the students with, theoretical and practical knowledge which helps them develop capabilities for entrepreneurship (risk intelligence), decision making, crisis management, to name a few.

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

To enroll for either of the courses, the applicants must be above 18 years of age. They must assemble and prepare a variety of materials that will help the institute assess their qualifications. The material includes, drafting an essay which helps PKSBE understand the applicant and his/her purpose of joining us. This is followed by a psychometric test and lastly a personal interview by the core team. For information on financial aids, the interested applicants can refer to www.vidyalakshmi.co.in 9. Challenges are a crucial part of every business personality. What are the major challenges that you have faced during the establishment of this institute? Making sure there is effective communication with our students and other clients are the basic everyday challenges, I believe. At PKSBE, fortunately, we have faced no ground-breaking challenges. We take one step at a time, learn new things everyday and just go with the flow. 10. Kindly state us your memorable achievements and your institute’s achievements under your leadership. Aspiring entrepreneurs join our institute with dreams and determination to succeed. At PKSBE, our students are able to make their dreams come into reality; not the dreams of decay and hopelessness but the dreams of joy and success. Witnessing how they overcome their initial frustration and be the person they truly want to be; according to me is our biggest achievement. We at PKSBE are proud to create happy, passionate and committed entrepreneurs; who in the near future strive to make a positive impact in the society. 11. What would you advice to the growing youth of the nation? My advice to the budding entrepreneurs would be, to develop the ability of risk-taking and a can-do attitude. Also, the path to success will have some challenges; so be persistent and never give-up. T R

19


Anuradha Jain: Anuradha Jain, Principal

A

mbitious and amiable, Mrs. Anuradha Jain serves Mahavir Public School Pungh, Sunder Nagar, as its Principal for the last 14 years. An electronics engineer by education, Mrs. Anuradha aimed to do something bigger, something more impactful and something that would bring a positive change in the society and that is what turned her into a staunch academician. Not just an ordinary academician, Mrs. Anuradha is an award-winning educator. Her extraordinary contributions helped her to earn the “Best Principal Award” by Science Olympiad and numerous others at the state and national levels. Mrs. Anuradha started her career as a lecturer in a Government College immediately after earning the degree from Samart Ashok Technological Institute, Vidisha. Her students’ feedback turned her life, and that is what instigated her to pave a path towards an extraordinary future in academic sector. For the last 29 years, she has been devotedly working with teachers and students and playing a lead role in inspiring them. Her devotion towards education has led her to win multiple awards and win various summits at the national level. Recently, she has been awarded 100 Highly Effective Principals Awards 2017 by AKS Education Awards at New Delhi on 22nd April 2018.

20

A Fervent Educator Redefining Education Sphere

Mrs. Anuradha’s efforts helped her school to win multiple valuable awards and to name a few are: Awards as one of the best CBSE schools in the country at CED 2nd International EduSummit & EDU Awards Centre for Educational Development and one of the Best School Award by the Lovely Professional University at New Delhi by former President Pranav Mukherjee. Initiatives Driven by the Leader Being a teacher isn’t easy, but being a leader is even more difficult. Moreover, Mrs. Anuradha, being a fervent woman with a desire to bring change in the sphere of education, contributes her best to the society. She leads her team of Mahavir to adopt the park area of Govt. Hospital Sunder Nagar. Every year the students and teachers visit the nursing home and SAKAR mentally ill children at home. This sensitizes the learners to their moral responsibilities for the society. The students are aware of global warming and other threats to nature. For this the students, NCC cadets, and teachers plant saplings. Under Mrs. Anuradha’s guidance, the school actively involves itself in cleanliness drive from time to time. The school also heartily involves itself in Anti-Tobacco Day driven by the Police Department. Mrs. Anuradha further states, ‘Our contribution was also in Red Cross Fair where

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


all the profit was given to them. I believe in “Charity begins at home,” so my effort is to open the windows of knowledge to the students of this town.’ So that, when these students go to different states for higher education, they spread the spark of knowledge to others which has been lit by Mrs. Anuradha and her school. To inculcate the feeling of nationalism and patriotism various national festivals are organized and celebrated in the school premises. Along with celebrations of the festivals of every religion, it gives exposure to the learners about the problems our country is currently facing. Mrs. Anuradha leads Mahavir Public School to organize different workshops and lectures to make society aware of the reality of the nation. “I believe that every child has got some potential in him. We as teacher work the bestquality in them by giving them the right opportunity” expresses Mrs. Anuradha. Along with day to day activities, the sports day and the annual day are the most awaited events of the school. While talking about methods to create an impact in the society while helping students bring out their real potential, Mrs. Anuradha expressed, “Learners should come out of the cocoon of fear and break the chains of doubts.”

T H E

‘‘

‘‘

The only person you are destined to become is the person you decide to be

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

Leader’s Mantra of Success Motivated by self, Mrs. Anuradha is a woman who believes in continuous efforts. She says that all is not well at times and the competition is vast, and it is always challenging to satisfy the learners. There are numerous distracting objects which keep the students continually pulling away from the right career choices. Also, being positive is the key that Mrs. Anuradha follows to keep herself focused. Mrs. Anuradha shares insights about her life and says, “I think I’m born to quench the thirst of knowledge to the ones who need it. I get encouraged when students get placements in their dream colleges. I cannot control my tears when poor ladies come and thank me for free education to their wards and are themselves in tears. Yes, I cry with them as the tears fall due to mutual bond with the parents, a pride for the child, fulfillment of trust bestowed on me and for the bright future of the child; I trust my students, so they also do.” About the School Creating Benchmarks in the Education Industry With a focus to teach in a playful way to the juniors and seniors in a way that they can enjoy the learning process and be able to relate it to their life, Mahavir Public School offers quality education

to the students from LKG to Sr. Secondary level. The school understands the requirements of each student judged by various innovative parameters and provide guidelines based on that. “No Coaching” outside the school, is the motto of the institute, and that is why the highly trained and very well experienced faculties at the school provides education in a manner that teaching and coaching go hand in hand. The students here enjoy the best-in-class facilities and classrooms equipped with latest technologies. Most interestingly, the school offers fee concessions to students belonging to economically backward classes. “Our mission is to fulfill everyone’s ambitions,” concludes Mrs. Anuradha. The Leader’s Message to the Tomorrow’s Future Willpower and desire when adequately combined make an irresistible pair. You should choose positive thoughts and be with positive people. Spread positivity around you. The only person you are destined to become is the person you decide to be. Adopt new techniques and technologies, be constructive. Moreover, don’t be a slave to gadgets like mobile and laptop rather be a master of yourself. T R

21


22

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


CAREER TALK

M

EXCEPTIONAL

CAREER

Music

Options In

PROVIDING

TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF

SCOPE FOR

Aspirants T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

usic can change the world because it can change people.” says Bono, an Irish musician.

There are numerous professions in the world. To get into these various professions, people of different age, gender, financial background, literacy levels, and time zones work to satisfy their basic needs and sometimes even wants. All these people are totally different from each other as everyone has a different lifestyle. The one thing which is common among all the people across globe is music. Music is one thing which never changes and goes beyond boundaries. It is one such medium which can communicate even over the barbed wires. No matter what the state of mind is music can always accompany one. Be it the times of joy, or in the times of grief, music always heals and makes the flow with its exotic waves. People prefer listening to music from various genres like folk, jazz, rock, pop, electronic and many more. In order to enjoy such variety of music, musicians need to create it by taking lots of efforts and practice. Singers, composers, songwriters, producers, musical instrument players like guitarist, drummer, pianist, are individuals from various walks of life who choose music as their professional careers. Apart from these, there are many other career options in the music industry which many would have not heard of. Music Journalism Journalism involves an extensive amount of research which is followed by writing daily news or stories, reviewing articles, events, and interviewing various personalities from their respective fields. Similarly, music journalists are individuals who carry out

23


research on various events and happenings of the music industry. Writing articles and reviews about new music releases and live performances is another prime task in this profession. Music journalists get to interview various musicians, renowned artists and also people involved behind the music development process. They have the freedom to work as freelancers or can even be employed by print, broadcast, or online media organizations. This career is most suitable for people who love music and also have the passion for reporting. As far as education is concerned, Staffordshire University at Staffordshire, England, The University of Texas at Austin, Berklee College of Music and Mumbai University are some well-known universities that offer various courses in music journalism. These courses can help an individual in criticizing music with certain amount of authority. Instead of a program in music journalism, a course in English, Communications or Journalism may also be useful. Audio Engineering It is also referred to as sound, recording, or vocal engineering. The job of an audio engineer is a technical one as it revolves around the instruments, equipment and machinery used in a recording studio. This machinery is used to record, mix, synchronize, or reproduce music, voices, or sound effects for the production of movies, music recordings, live shows, or video games. Audio engineers have high employment opportunities in radio stations, advertising firms, TV channels, designing firms, recording studios, animation, movie production and much more. Individuals aspiring to be an audio engineer may come from backgrounds such as physics, computer science, acoustics, electrical

24

engineering, or electronics. Lawrence Technological University in Michigan, SAE Institute located in The Netherlands and Soundtech Media Institute of Chennai provide the necessary programs in audio engineering. Music Therapy As interesting and unique as the term sounds, music therapy is the process in which music is used for the physical, physiological, mental, and social well-being of individuals. A therapy is carried out by listening to music, singing, or playing a musical instrument depending upon the complexity of problems faced by an individual. It is a proven fact that listening to music and musical instruments soothes the body and mind. When trained therapists apply this phenomenon in hospitals, rehabilitation centres, schools, and nursing homes, it helps them in the treatment of wide array of problems like depression, anxiety, hypertension, and many other concerns. Music helps in dealing with not just the stressful situations at workplaces but also the various issues in day-to-day life. The right knowledge about music and a background in medicine or biology are necessary to create a career in this field. The Arizona State University located in Temple, Arizona offers a bachelor’s degree course in music therapy.

their music, they face many challenges by playing the best music they can which gives them many chances to practice. This increases their competency and also helps them to earn a living by doing what they love the most. Cruise ship musicians can earn hefty amounts of money and also have almost nothing to spend upon as their travel, accommodation and food are looked after. They do not have to worry about laundry, cleaning, grocery, rent, or electricity bills while working on a ship. Which musician would not love to live such a life where one gets to follow their passion and travel the world for free? Moreover, apart from knowing every bit about the instrument they play, they do not require any other educational qualifications. Therefore, this career is for the ones who are carefree or wanderers. Along with the recreational cruise, this sector offers numerous careers in navy ships too. Music can be played, sung, heard, written, or even mixed. In today’s world where retro music is recreated and remixed, there is tremendous amount of scope in opting music as a career option. An individual who loves writing can be a songwriter or music journalist. One can apply one’s skills in the healthcare sector by turning into a music therapist. Basically there are innumerable options to choose from in the music industry. And, all one needs to pursue such a career is a passion towards music. T R

Cruise Ship Musician A Cruise Ship consists of a wide variety of musicians like pianist, drummer, musical director, sidemen, and band leader. Being on one ship for around four to six months, these musicians get to not only entertain the entire crowd but also meet many new people from all around the world. In order to keep the crowd engaged with

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


Dr. Manjula Pooja Shroff Dr. Manjula Pooja Shroff, MD & CEO

E

ven though we often say that gone are the days when girls were raised to get married, give birth and take care of the families, the perception still exists at numerous remote villages and even multiple urban areas of India. It was often considered that education was not a necessity for women as it was a belief that there is no connect between their responsibilities and the role of education in their lives. Being born in a royal family of Orissa and with a traditional as well as a conservative upbringing, Dr. Manjula Pooja Shroff considers herself to be privileged to get a chance to attend modern schools and receive quality education. Being born in an era when education was not considered to be crucial for women in several parts of the nation, let’s hear the inspiring story of Dr. Manjula Pooja Shroff, a woman who was passionate about higher education since a very young age. Educated with a prestigious management program of IIM Ahmedabad and then achieving a Doctorate in Business Administration from Commonwealth University – London, Dr. Shroff has set milestones in the world of education. About 23 years ago, Dr. Shroff moved to Ahmedabad to begin her professional journey. She was the one who brought DPS in Gujarat as a partnership school with DPS Society. This single step not only created one of the largest

26

A Passionate Edupreneur Empowering Students to Succeed in all Spheres of Life educational institutes in Gujarat, but also set a landmark in her illustrious career. Down the line, she has contributed primarily with her sheer dedication and hard-work towards helping the institute earn numerous awards and recognitions all around the country. Being a leader, she attributes the success of the institute to her team of teachers which she believes impeccably helped taking the institutions to the height of academic excellence. About the Organization which is Synonymous with “Education par Excellence” About two decades back, Dr. Shroff established Kalorex with an aim to create a mark in the education industry with innovative solutions pertaining to contemporary problems faced by the sector. It is a professionally managed autonomous institution focusing its activities on K-12 education since its inception in 1995. So far, under the able guidance of Dr. Shroff, the company now has two Delhi Public Schools (in Bopal and East Ahmedabad) and Calorx Public Schools at Rajula, Mundra, Ghatlodia (Ahmedabad), Bharuch and Jaipur offering CBSE curriculum. It also has Calorx Olive International School as a full spectrum IB School under its banner. Dr. Shroff is devoting her every possible effort to enhance the success of this organization with even higher

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


‘‘

‘‘

Always be life- long learners and make responsible choices. Your and your country’s future depends on the choices you make

magnitude. With her efforts, Kalorex Pre-School chain is also fast growing. Most interestingly, apart from its presence in numerous cities in Gujarat, the institute has vastly expanded its services to Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, and Karnataka too. This extraordinary institution also offers a well-researched pre-school curriculum incorporating the best of Reggio Amelia, Piaget, Multiple Intelligences and Montessori methods. As a promise to cater to every section of the society, Dr. Shroff has emerged with the projects like Visamo Kids Foundation for the underprivileged children and Kalorex Prerna for the students facing learning difficulties. Parallel to these projects, Dr. Shroff also motivates her team to work towards upliftment of unskilled women, by imparting them vocational training under the institute VEDIC – Vocational Educational Development Institute of Calorx. “Success never comes overnight”. Seconding the same, Dr. Shroff had to devote immense hard work and dedicate extraordinary efforts for enabling her company achieve these heights. Her efforts helped the company to grow from 12 to 40 plus

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

institutes in eight cities across India. She has further plans of expansion in the near future in many more cities. Under the Kalorex banner, her efforts have realized the nurturing of more than 12,000 students for more than 24 diverse nationalities.

students’ interest in class activities alive. The Kalorex Taxonomy is designed for ‘SHAPING GLOCAL LEARNERS’, which means maintaining a global outlook within the local environments,” adds Dr. Shroff.

Consistent and Constant Efforts Balance the Wheel

Staying updated and adapting with the time is the key to strive in the ever-changing industry. And, to achieve that Dr. Shroff helps students in all of her institutes to get an ample exposure to the best career options through internships and various counseling programs. It ensures that 21st century skills are aptly inculcated while keeping the needs of the future in mind.

Consistent efforts and constant belief in its vision to reach all possible target groups of the society, with a mission to achieve excellence in K-12 education, innovation and professionalism, Kalorex is excelling in its space. While talking about the organization further, Dr. Shroff expanded, “So while we do have institutes which have an elite clientele, we also have institutes where the middle and upper middle sections find their niche. With that we also offer schooling, boarding and lodging facilities to underprivileged students in VISAMO KIDS FOUNDATION and ensure they get quality education in our partner schools.” “It is through teachers that the best messages and values can be conveyed. Our teachers get trained towards the best pedagogies and classroom practices and that keeps their and the

A Leader’s Motivation Dr. Shroff shared her motivational factor and said, “My motivation and inspiration comes by seeing my students doing well in life and placed in good institutes and companies. This keeps me planning for more exciting opportunities for them through various initiatives.” T R

27


Prakash Dantuluri Founder & CEO

Prakash Dantuluri A Creative Edu-preneur Developing Milestones in the Education Industry

B

e it an education industry, retail, a manufacturing or any other industry, behind a successful business entity lays a creative mind that masterminds the organization with innovative inputs and drives it towards success. One such mastermind is Prakash Dantuluri, the Founder and CEO of Bulbul Apps. Every successful position comes not just with passion but also sacriďŹ ces. Though he started his career as a programmer and worked in the US as an

28

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


EDU-TECH LEADER OF THE MONTH

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO SURROUND YOURSELF WITH PEOPLE WHO WILL HELP YOU TO LEARN Enterprise Architect, at the peak of his career, Prakash decided to pursue and explore his creative passions. To build something on his own and create something extraordinary, Prakash quit his well-paid job and sacrificed his settled life in the US for coming back to India. Since then, he has been working on at the intersection of Technology and Storytelling. To take a step ahead in the creative web, he produced and directed multiple feature films. Sooner, he emerged with the idea of Bulbul Apps. An idea that is a perfect combination of technology and storytelling application. That’s what defines the DNA of the company. The Beginning Story With a vision to enable artists for creating local content at global quality for kids, Prakash established Bulbul Apps. Right at the launch, Bulbul Apps became India’s no. 1 Kids app. More interestingly, Prakash’s idea was an instant big hit and not only in India, Bulbul Apps became No. 1 in more than 20 countries. Bulbul Apps is a library of interactive story books with artists from all over the world contributing to it. It had more than 20 Million individual story book downloads in its first year alone. While talking about the inception story of the company, Prakash says, “It was quite tempting to monetize the success with ad revenue. But we focused on a long term solution that’s actually beneficial to the kids and the parents. T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

Education topped it. We had to work to orient the solution towards education and to work with the best educational institutions in India to deploy it India wide.” On its way towards to success, Prakash took multiple technology initiatives to bring down the cost of mobile first content production by a factor of 10. The company then made pan India deployment of this technology to as many preschools as possible in less than a year. Prakash shares his experience and talks about the processes those drove him on the right path and helped to emerge with the perfect solution. “We learned a lot about class room challenges after we deployed our preschool solution. There were so many assumptions that we made sitting in our design room. But when we sat in the classroom during product testing phase, we started empathizing with the teacher. We later made teacher a key player in the solution. I feel, today we have a balanced solution. I am sure we will continue to learn,” expresses Prakash. Prakash adds, “Pre-school education is the foundation of learning. I want it to be world class and accessible to every child on this planet.” About the Innovative Company Delivering Exceptional Edu-Solutions Bulbul Apps leverage technology to produce world class preschool educational content for kids all over

the world. It has developed a unique way for making artists, educators and academicians collaborate and create mobile first content. Prakash further adds, “We want to continue to accelerate on this. Both the technology innovation and the amount of content we produce.” While setting landmarks in the education sector, Prakash drives the Bulbul Apps under the clear view of following missions: · To completely eliminate technology barriers to produce interactive content on smartphones and tablets. · To create a library format that maximizes reach and localization. · To help publishers, artists and teams produce local content at global quality About the Memories that Lasted Forever While talking about the challenges faced in his career, Prakash adds a funny note and says, “I didn’t have many challenges in my academic career. The only drawback I see is, I had no idea what I was doing.” Like every other ordinary boy, Prakash too pursued engineering studies and he made a successful career out of that. Though creative spirit turned him to be an extraordinary Edu-preneur, Prakash still cherishes his days of engineering. It was then when he made friends for a lifetime and earned lifetime memories.

29


Building Blocks for a Successful Entrepreneurship “Coming up with an educational solution is challenging in multiple ways. The first challenge is that it has multiple stakeholders involved. The business owner, school principal, academic team, teaching staff, parents and of course, the students. Everyone is involved. It’s a delicate chain. You have to keep everyone’s interest in mind,” -Prakash expresses.

Unlike other typical startups, Bulbul Apps was never a business where the entrepreneur finds a problem and comes up with a fix and sells it. The major challenge here stood out to be the notion “profit vs. nonprofit”. In this sector, many institutions are nonprofit. They work in a completely different way and at different timeliness than ‘for profit’ organizations. But to make progress, what Prakash did is, “We had to learn to work with both the types of organizations.”

Do whatever you do, with conviction, sincerity and discipline. That's all matters at the end

He further states, “The biggest challenge for me is to convince myself, my team, my investors about the time it takes. It takes a really LONG time in this segment to arrive at a solution, to deploy it, to make people use it and to derive tangible outcomes from it.” The world’s one of the greatest scientist Albert Einstein once said, “The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing.” Similarly, Prakash always suggests students to be curious. He further says, “I embrace it fully. I read tons about that topic. I meet people. I watch the industry. I analyze the competition. I subscribe to twitter feed of the people from that industry.” While talking about Prakash’s experience of working with students, Prakash expresses, “I worked with 1000s of fresh graduates and interns throughout my professional career. The ones who are differentiated from the rest are the ones who put those extra hours in the beginning of their career.” He further adds, “It is very important to surround yourself with right information from right sources and right set of people who you want to learn from.” An Educator’s Message to the Students

Prakash talks about the current Indian scenario and states that there is tremendous societal pressure on the students. He further states that there are certain benchmarks or milestones which every Indian student must hit within a certain age and in that process, they rush towards achieving that while they forget living the actual life in process. To overcome that problem, Prakash’s sincere advice is “Ignore it”.

As most educators say, Prakash too states that every child is different and every person is different. Apparently, every one experiences a different situation, the choices they make are different and clearly, the lessons they learn are different from each other. In a nutshell the edupreneur stated, “Applying a single yard stick to everyone or applying someone else’ yardstick to our lives is not fair. Do whatever you do, with conviction, sincerity and discipline. That’s all matters at the end.” He further expanded the discussion and stated that every career is prospering and organizations, SMBs and Startups are ready to pay anything for the right talent. The only thing running short is talent. So, Prakash suggests that instead of looking for the right career options, it is time to look out for the ways to upgrade the skills to be a world-class performer, irrespective of the field, Prakash’s ultimate mantra to success is “Stay curious. Read. Learn. Do. Fail. Improve. Repeat.” T R

30

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


32

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

33


The future of career

Opportin Travel unities &

DAVID HANGSING

Tourism

A

About The Author Prof. David Hangsing, an alumnus of Indian Institute of Management Bangalore and National Institute of Technology Silchar, is currently the Batch-in-Charge and professor in Marketing in PIBM. His areas of interest include Basics of Marketing and Marketing Research.

34

s per the report released by UNWTO World Tourism Barometer, international tourist arrivals grew by a remarkable 7% in 2017 to reach a total of 1322 million. According to the report released by the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, the number of international tourist arrival in India in 2016 reached 14.57 million with 9.7% annual growth rate while the number of domestic tourist visit stands at 1613.55 million with an

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


EXPERT’S SPEAK

annual growth rate of 12.68%. Tourism continues to play an essential role as a foreign exchange earner for the country. In 2016, foreign exchange earnings from tourist were US$ 22.92 billion as compared to US$ 21.07 billion in 2015, registering a growth of 8.8%. Due to the growing will of people to escape from their regular schedule and experience different culture and lifestyle as well as due to increasing disposable income of the people, both domestic and international tourism will continue to grow in the future. Travel tourism being an experiential service, i.e., a service in which the focus is on the experience coming from the interaction between the customer and the organization, the emphasis would be given on this quality of service provided to the customer. Without the ability to provide an impeccable service to customers, an organization in this sector will not survive. Technological progress and tourism have been going hand in hand for years. Innovation is playing an increasing role in service and is particularly crucial for the travel tourism industry. Innovation could be based on technology or unique service provided by an enterprise. Competition in the market is a driving force behind innovation. For an individual enterprise, innovation can be a means of survival in competition with others. In many cases, innovations will be the result of changed customer requirements. This also applies to the travel and tourism industry, where the road to success lies in creating products that tourists and other travelers are willing to pay for. For example, Airbnb has changed the way how tourist book their hotels to stay in a while on their vacation. Rather than booking traditional hotels, tourist can book apartments, homestays or a room with amenities at a lower price through Airbnb. As a graduate or specialist in Travel Tourism, there will be many opportunities to innovate and thereby create value for both the organization and customers. Tourists are making higher demands of suppliers concerning service, knowledge, and competence. Human capital is therefore essential in the travel and tourism industry, and the quality of the product offered by the enterprise depends on the people employed. This is where career and opportunity in travel tourism lie. The education offered should reflect the travel and tourism industry’s competency requirements. The travel and tourism industry’s competency requirements are affected by trends and developments in the market. The education offered should be able to imbibe the changes in the travel and tourism industry’s competency requirements to ensure that the

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

industry has access to personnel with relevant qualifications of a high standard. Branding and promotion of an experience, event, place or service are critical in the travel tourism sector. One would think of the Taj Mahal as a must-see when a person plans to visit India, or one cannot ignore to experience the cherry blossom while in Japan in spring. The FIFA World Cup 2018 in Russia, for instance, has resulted in more people traveling to the country despite higher airfares and hotels rate. There are a lot of untapped tourist places in India which could be explored by the tourist. For example, rural tourism in India, especially in North East India, is still at a very virgin stage. From a social point of view, rural tourism may contribute to maintaining the population in rural areas, promoting the preservation of natural scenarios and traditional cultures, rehabilitating depressed areas and improving the socioeconomic conditions of (often poor) small producers. It may also be a channel to help women, young people, and socially vulnerable groups (e.g., native communities) enter into the labor market, get better jobs, or find new sources of revenues. Thus the role of a person working in this sector is significant as its influence in uplifting the social status of a specific section of the society. An organization needs to connect with customers regularly through various media such as blogs, videos, and websites. Engagement with customers through contest and games is required to keep hold of the customers. The newsletter should regularly be sent to customers to update them about the latest news or updates in travel tourism. A person who is looking forward to a career in travel tourism should possess content writing skill and be creative and innovative to provide unique services to customers. An organization which communicates effectively with its target customer is AirAsia. AirAsia Berhad is a Malaysian low-cost airline headquartered near Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia flying to more than 20 countries. The company sends regular updates about new routes, sales and offers, new blog and other offerings. The company is very active in social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram to name a few and it offers its monthly magazine downloadable on its website. This enables the company to survive and grow even though the sector is very competitive. T R

35


TODAY’S EDUCATIONAL LEADERS

EDITOR'S CHOICE

MENTORS TO ALL & INFLUENCERS TO MANY

A

n age-old couplet from Hindu mythology briefly translates to ‘When My Teacher is standing with The God, whom shall I greet first? It shall definitely be the Teacher; after all he was the one who made me aware about the significance of God in the first place!’ Such has been the timeless beauty of ‘Master-Pupil’ relationship in our mother-land that this bonding has

36

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


maintained its gravity since ages without even being stained a tad due to the changing tides of the time.

has done nothing but elevated the importance and relevance of this profession at large.

Because Background Matters

Teachers have never been the part of On-Screen Glitters that we see. They are the ones who sing the success scores from background. Teachers are a critical foundation of every society’s long-term robustness. They have always been. Teachers not only help enriching young minds, children, and adults with the knowledge and skills they

Though, with the passage of time the definition of Teachers and the Art of Teaching per-se has changed a lot. Its rainbow of benefaction has expanded widely. Its role and significance has too attained some inflation. But all these T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

37


need to fulfill their potentials, but also, enable them to feel the freedom of excellence. India has a deep-rooted history as far as the field of education is concerned and the contribution, talent and skills of our very own educationalists, teachers and lecturers have been acknowledged globally. Disruption of Status-quo Famous Ecologist Charles Darwin had very rightly said “If One wants to Survive, one needs to Change”. Adaptation with the changing times is the key to survival. Our educational sector needs the same. It needs to adapt with the changing needs of our society. It needs to build the platform over which our today’s and the up- coming generations can flourish. The Education and Learning’s being imparted to the student-clan across the country needs a deep introspection. What is being imparted, how it is being imparted, whom it is being imparted? All these needs to be addressed. Small changes in the educational sector will lead to greater cascading effects and changes in our society. There is a dire need of some substantial reforms, and this brings the 21st Century Educationists and The Educational Leaders into the central picture. Educational leaders have an influential role in inspiring, motivating, affirming and also challenging or extending the practice and pedagogy of educators. Besides, catering and acknowledging the requirements of student community, the Educational Leaders have an all-important responsibility to meet the satisfaction of the Teacher’s community as well. Empowerment of the ‘Vital Cogs’ The Dream of Students Empowerment will be a far-cry from realization if the interests of the teachers and educators are not given the deserving importance. Their wings shall always be given the strength to fly if we want the students’ community to attain greater heights. Of late, there have been a lot of talks about the ‘Need of Freedom in Educational Sector.’ The question arises do we really need this? If needed, in what terms?

theme of this year’s World Teacher’s Day. It recognizes the challenges many encounter in their professional lives across the globe and also reaffirms the value of empowered teachers. Freedom is critical for teachers at every steps of education either it can be primary, secondary or higher levels. This supports their ability to explore, innovate and stay up-to-date on the latest research. There is a need to eliminate the restrictions in academic freedom which undermines the quality of education that teachers can deliver. Today’s educational leaders always strive to achieve this freedom. Educationalist – A Catalyst & a Facilitator The Educational Leaders have to wear multiple hats in order to effectively deliver their responsibilities. If one day he needs to be a Resource Provider, the next day he might be required to be an Instructional Specialist. He/she is the one who not only shapes the curriculum but also the one who acts a classroom supporter, a learning facilitator, a leader, a learner and a mentor, all at the same time! More importantly, besides helping the students achieving their dreams, the Educational Leaders have to take care of the Educators and the Teachers too. The Educational Leaders are the mentors and leaders for the teachers as much as they are for the students. If someone is lucky at one point in his/her life an inspiring leader will change the way they see the world. All the educators on this list have done that, in various ways, for teachers, students and lifelong learner across the globe. They have created cutting-edge tools to increase access to learning and anticipated the challenges and opportunities of the 21st century. They are playing a vital role in inspiring other teachers to give the best of themselves in the classroom. In a wide range of ways, these educators are innovating the ways we learn. Let us all celebrate the lives of Enlightened Hearts on this list who have always kept the benefit of society above their own. Enlightened Hearts strengthens the empowered hands, Empowered Hands shape educated minds & Educated Minds create a better society. T R

Around the world, far too many teachers don’t have support and freedom they need to do their important jobs. That’s why “Teaching in Freedom, Empowering Teachers” is the

38

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


ALTIUS HOSPITAL Hightech Laparoscopy Gynaecology Hospital HIGHLIGHTS OF TRAINING Basic to Advanced Endoscopy Covering all aspects on Laparoscopy and Hysteroscopy Special Emphasis on Pelvic Anatomy Pelvi trainer Sessions Lectures and Seminars Laparoscopic Suturing on Dummys Hystero trainer Session Electrosurgery Hands on Training under Supervision Authenticated Training Certicates (FOGSI recognized) Proctor and Mentoring after Training LEARNING UNDER UPERVISION PELVIC TRAINER GROUP DISCUSSION

ENTIRE RANGE OF SURGERIES TACKLING COMPLICATIONS DIFFERENT TYPES OF HYSTERECTOMIES

HANDS ON TRAINING ON PATIENTS INFERTILITY SURGERIES TROUBLE SHOOTING TYPES AND TRICS ELECTROSURGERY

HYSTEROSCOPIC SURGERIES SEMINARS & WORKSHOPS

ADDRESS #6/63, 59th Cross, 4th Block, Rajajainagar, (opp) to MEI Polytechnic, Near Ram Mandir, Bangalore–560 010. 080–23151873, 9900031842 endoram2006@yahoo.in

www.laparoscopicsurgeries.com

www.altiushospital.com


Rohit Manglik: Rohit Manglik, Founder & CEO

S

uccess doesn’t come overnight. Neither the monetary capital nor a strong business background can build a successful foundation.

Let’s hear the story of Rohit Manglik, the one who perfectly justifies the above statement. Rohit is the Founder and CEO of EduGorilla, a one-stop solution to cater to the needs of students and Educational Institutes to connect, share and support each other. The Family, First Rohit belongs to a family of four members including his parents and sister and hails from Farrukhabad, a tier-III town of Uttar Pradesh. Being the son of a renowned psychiatrist, Rohit’s life has always been ambitious. Together, his parents help people recover mental problems and cure certain disorders at their psychiatric hospital. The Inception of an Innovative Company It’s definitely not easy to take the family business forward and conquer new heights, but it’s even more difficult to build an empire out of nothing. Different from various aspects, unique of its kind, Rohit didn’t walk into the trail that had already been built. He took a step ahead of others and dreamt something beyond what people thought technology could do. He created his own milestones. Rohit moved ahead and took the step towards his dream enterprise with a vision to create a top education community that empowers students and institutes to

40

A Passionate Educationist Bridging Education and Technology and Renovating Education Industry connect, share and support each other. He imagined a futuristic world where each element of the educational ecosystem has the resources to improve itself. And, that is when EduGorilla emerged. Transforming Dreams into Real-life Milestones Rohit’s extraordinary efforts turned a fine-tuned idea into a successful business entity. Under his guidance, the company is today the largest counseling institute in the country which brings together the students and the parents on a single informed platform. EduGorilla is now also the largest marketplace in the country to provide thousands of free study materials to students. Rohit’s passion towards education and his efforts towards upliftment of the nation’s education system not only earned him the title of a “Passionate Educationist” but also helped him achieve numerous recognitions from various reputed organizations. He was even invited as a speaker at the World Education Summit organized by the Government of Dubai, where he was the youngest educationist to speak at the dais. For his extraordinary contributions, Rohit is often invited to various events to share his views with the public. Some of the popular events of which he was a part include Business-world and VC Circle, where he discussed issues which bridge education with the thoughts of other luminaries. And, most interestingly, Rohit led EduGorilla to

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


be one amongst the six major startups in Uttar Pradesh. An Innovative Idea that Turned into a Business During one of Rohit’s visits to his hometown, he met some talented and ambitious students who were lost amidst the web of their career. That is when Rohit came up with an idea to provide an end-to-end solution to every student, irrespective of the stage of his/her career. While talking about the inception story of his company, Rohit further expanded and said, “This prompted me to come up with EduGorilla which is an online EdTech start-up and has immensely helped lakhs of students avail benefits ranging from downloading free study material (more than 74,500 of them) to free counseling for competitive exams to relevant educational articles (30,200 plus articles) and much more.” He added, “We also did a phenomenal groundwork study by personally visiting places to counsel students of all ages via our expert psychologists. Recently, we collaborated with a renowned NGO called FUEL to counsel students in various districts of Haryana. Our work was even appreciated by Prakash Javadkar, Human Resource Development Minister of India.”

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

About the Company which Aims to Renovate the Edu-Industry EduGorilla is a multi-dimensional community for students and Institutes. So far, the company has profiled 57,132 plus coaching institutes and 6,00,000 plus schools to keep students/parents on an informed platform. Its Marketplace is abuzz with 74,539 plus study material. 200 plus career-streams have been analyzed in detail to help students make up their career plan. EduGorilla’s forum has questions from students and answers from subject matter specialists with 10,739 plus interactions. Today, EduGorilla has 40,00,000 plus monthly site visits, 30,00,000 plus subscribers, 37% MoM Growth, 4,00,000 plus Members in Facebook Groups and 12,000 plus followers on Twitter. Rohit expresses, “Additionally, with the way it has phenomenally grown in the past, I can only expect things to be better.” Under Rohit’s guidance, the company strives to achieve its vision by equipping students with the right resources free of cost. It also provides free of cost study materials, detailed profiling of coaching institutes and schools. He has led the team to help students along with their parents with a detailed analysis of various courses, coaching institutes, examinations and concurrent trends.

‘‘

‘‘

Our never-say-die attitude motivates each of us

Being in this ever-growing and highly competitive industry, the survival becomes more difficult with each passing day. Rohit says that no matter what the situation turns out, no matter how difficult things get, his family and his teams at the office always keeps him motivated. He further talks about his inspirational tools and says, “I, along with my colleagues, face issues of our company head-on. And our never-say-die attitude motivates each of us.” An Educator’s Advice for the Aspiring Future-makers The most important aspect for the students is unarguably the advancement of their career in the right direction. For this, I would like to tell the students to be alert regarding the dynamic job-trends as well as the fast-technological developments. The reason is, in the coming times, the technological front all over the world will be changing day by day, and jobs will follow the suit. After all, a couple of decade’s back who would have thought that one could make a career in Search Engine Optimization. There is a little use of an army of unemployed if it’s not future-oriented and isn’t ready for the ever-changing needs of any industry. T R

41


Shalini Mehrotra: Shalini Mehrotra, Principal

H

ow do we define ourselves? It’s not Who We Are or What We Think; rather it’s What We Do that actually defines us.

Today, among numerous individuals talking about reforms in the educational sector, we have found one remarkable leader Shalini Mehrotra who truly believes in ‘doing’ the things, rather than talking about it. She is the one who actually walks the talk. She is the one who continually exerts herself for disrupting the status-quo. Change starts with you. And, it is a well-known proverb, “Be the change that you want to see in others”. With all of her actions validating the dedication & commitment to change; Shalini Mehrotra has actually personified this statement in a true sense. Deep-Rooted Association with ‘The System’ Hailing from Kanpur, Ms Shalini Mehrotra has had a glittering academic record right from the outset. Before starting her career in the education sector, she acquired a Master’s degree in Physics with specialization in Electronics and a Master in Education with a major in Curriculum Development and Advance Techniques of Instructions.

42

A Harbinger of Change in Indian Education Sector

Her 22 Year long and still flourishing career started as a Physics teacher and during the course, she has evolved to be a principal of one of the leading all girls’ residential school in the country. She spent most of her professional life in esteemed boarding schools of the country. In the span, she has travelled across multiple parts of the country. The schools she has been associated with are - Mayo College Girls’ School; Ajmer, Assam Valley School, Assam, The Scindia School, Gwalior and Vidya Devi Jindal School, Hisar Ms Mehrotra has earlier held various leadership positions in premier Public Schools in different parts of the country. From Head of the Department to the Dean of Academics followed by the position of the first woman Vice Principal in The Scindia School she is currently the Principal of Vidya Devi Jindal School- an all girls’ residential school ranked in top five in the country by Education World Survey 2017. The AKS Education Awards have recently conferred Principal Ms. Shalini Mehrotra with the 100 Highly Effective Principals Award of 2017. The Philosophy of ‘Change in Approach’ There is no dearth of talent in our country. All we need today is a changed perspective and perception towards nourishing and utilizing the same. In her journey as an educator, Shalini Mehrotra believes that all children deserve

JUNE 2018

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW


a quality education and must have access to all learning opportunities, especially equality in education for girls. While she has always been a passionate and caring teacher, her vision as a leader has been to create an environment where the children can be active learners rather than passive observers in a teacher centric classroom. Being associated with the most reputed boarding schools in the country, she feels empowered with a diverse and innovative approach as an academic leader. Quite significantly, she believes in ‘teaching each child as the subject, and not to teach several subjects to a child’. This pedagogy involves not only experiential learning strategies that foster critical thinking but also empowers every child physically, emotionally, socially, and spiritually for the overall well-being of a child. With this philosophy at its core, she continues to strengthen the child’s foundation through the rigorous child-centric curriculum for imparting holistic development. She is a true advocate of real education that lies way beyond textbooks. Awards and Accolades Vidya Devi Jindal School has been awarded ‘First Ranked Boarding School in Haryana’ by Education World for the last five consecutive

T H E

N O W L E DEducation. G E RInnovation. E V I Success EW

JUNE 2018

years and Fifth Ranked at the National level, recipient of Performance Excellence Trophy by The Indian Merchant’s Chamber Mumbai under Ramakrishna Bajaj National Quality Awards in the education sector for the year 2014 & 2018, Awarded The Tony Blair “Face to Faith”- Outstanding Award 2015-valid for three years, and Generation Global Appreciation Certificate 2016-17 and British Council International School Award for the fifth- time in a row. Faculty achievements · Dr. Rajesh Kumar and Dr. Geeta Rani from the faculty of Arts have been conferred the Raja Maan Singh Tomar National Art Award and NIFA National Art Award respectively. They were also a part of a painting competition held in Delhi on the occasion of World Environment Day wherein 1145 artists painted for two hours establishing a Guinness record. · Dr. Rajesh from the faculty of Fine Arts has co-authored a book Kala Darpan. · It is a matter of great pride that Mr Sanjeev Kumar, Coordinator Sports, has been appointed Basketball India Referee of level B by the Basketball Federation of India.

‘‘

‘‘

We aim to make the girls of VDJS become sensitive towards the educational needs of the underprivileged

The school also has a robust career counseling cell which guides the students all through their educational journey so that they make wise choices in the selection of the subjects which would aid them later in getting into the colleges of their preferences and aptitude. Also, girls meet the stringent cutoffs of DU and other colleges/ Universities of their choice by virtue of their good scores and their all-round excellence. Message for the Rising Youth Shalini advises the rising youth that it doesn’t matter what profession or career they choose; they should be clear about their purpose in life, eventually that is what defines true education. She further adds that health & happiness are the two most important aspects of this century, not only for the students but for each one of us. To attain these aspects, she reminded of the prayer said by St. Francis of Assisi which according to her is the most powerful prayer: ‘Father grant that I may never so much seek to be consoled as to console, not so much seek to be understood as to understand.’ T R

43


The 10 Most Influential Educational Leaders in 2018  

To bring forward such inspirational figures into the limelight, we have come up with this special edition focusing on “The 10 Most Influenti...

The 10 Most Influential Educational Leaders in 2018  

To bring forward such inspirational figures into the limelight, we have come up with this special edition focusing on “The 10 Most Influenti...

Advertisement