__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 16

September 22, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you

Tech-a-Thon: Bright Minds of the Future

Page # 4 Dan Moskowitz on Real Estate

Page # 10 Worship Directory SV BLACK CHAMBER TEAM MADE IT LOOK EASY

Quite a crowd of people got up and out early to the San Jose Tech Museum this past weekend, to attend SV Black Chamber’s TECH A THON. All came to participate, support and/or engage with each other for the sake of defining a path for our young people to discover a bright and relevant future  -sustained career-life.  Great questions were asked by the attendees; both kids and adults, and insightful answers were given to encourage broader thinking on the

subject at hand. No time to waste. It’s prep time for all concerned, in order to meet the coming needs of our challenging educational, employment and societal issues with those being left out of the equation. How else are we to achieve true robust and thriving America - for all in the global economy. Saturday’s Science & Technology kickoff celebration was a tremendous success as nearly 150 people, made up of parents, youths and volunteers, enjoyed

the many exhibits of the San Jose Tech Museum of Innovation and our wonderful guest speakers and panelist. Kids even had an opportunity to compete in a 10min Tech Challenge. At the end of the day, we can help decide how our youth are positioned for success in this now 21st global economy. We have a plan, but we need you, the “Village”. Call and ask how you can participate or help.

Continued on Page 6 Y1Z

Page # 13 District 1 News

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051


When...Where SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Photographer Andy Nguyen Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor, Public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Benjamin Grosvenor and Charlie Albright Highlight Steinway Society Season 24 A line-up of international piano stars awaits classical music lovers in the 24th season of Steinway Society - The Bay Area. The season launches on September 15 and includes a concert each month through May 11, 2019. “This season’s artists are all top international performers who are widely praised for their depth of artistry as well as their audience appeal,” said Lorrin Koran, MD, President of the Board for Steinway Society — The Bay Area. “They are artists that add greatly to the luster of the classical music coming to Silicon Valley next season.” THE CONCERT LINE-UP: • October 13 (Saturday) - Vladimir Ovhinnikov • November 11 (Sunday) - Henry Kramer

• December 8 (Saturday) – Sandra Wright Shen • January 12, 2019 (Saturday) - Kate Liu • February 10 (Sunday) – Vyacheslav Gryaznov • March 12 (Tuesday) – Benjamin Grosvenor • April 6 (Saturday) – Nikolay Khozyainov • May 11 (Saturday) – Charlie Albright PERFORMANCE LOCATIONS: All performances in the 2018-19 season will be held at the Trianon Theatre, 72 North 5th Street in downtown San Jose, with the exception of the October 13 and March 12 concerts which will be held at McAfee Performing Arts Center at 20300 Herriman Avenue (just off Saratoga Sunnyvale Road) in Saratoga.

International piano star Benjamin Grosvenor

TICKETS/INFO: www.steinwaysociety.com or (408) 990-0872 Season Subscriptions (8 concerts): $225-$360 Mini-Series Subscription (4 concerts): $125-$200 Single Tickets: $40-$60. Senior/Student Discounts Available

Save up to $111/month* on your Medicare supplement insurance plan.

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!!

Call 1-855-669-8212 Call for a fast and free rate quote today. No cost. No obligation. *Source: Savings are the monthly premium difference between the plan with the highest premium and the plan with the lowest Plan F premium for women age 65 in certain ZIP codes on the eHealth platform, according to an October 2017 eHealth analysis. Medicare.com is a non-government resource operated by eHealthInsurance Services, Inc., an insurance agency. This is a solicitation of insurance. Not connected with or endorsed by the U.S. government or federal Medicare program. Savings are not guaranteed.

Y2Z

Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com • Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute


Back to Realty Dan Moskowitz on Real Estate

THE SANTA CLARA MARRIOTT SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA

Kris Vallotton

Bishop Vaughn McLaughlin

Ed & Ruth Silvoso Dave Gibbons Pastor Po-Ling Wong

Apostle Daniel Wilson

Poncho Murguia

Derek Johnson with Jesus Culture

ALSO FEATURING Barbara Chan Michael Brown Clifford Daugherty AND MANY MORE!

Loren Cunningham

GLOBAL-CONFERENCE.TRANSFORMOURWORLD.ORG

One of the richest real estate markets in the country is coolingBut……..thats only because the fire over the past year was blazing out of control! According to Daniel Moskowitz of Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage in Los Gatos California, He gets asked every day what is going on. Homeowners and Buyers have been paying even closer attention to the Real Estate market. We asked Dan, a well respected Real Estate Professional in our area, how he responds. According to MLS listings statistics, average home values of Single Family, townhomes and condominiums hit a high in March 2018 of $1,541,752. That is an

Y4Z

increase over October 2017 of $1,309,148 or a 15% increase in values in a short 5 months. Since then the average sales price has dropped back to $1,326,148 or about a 1 % increase in values of all year over year. That means this portion of the Silicon Valley, the hottest real estate in the country is still on the rise. The reason for the crazy spike was because of the ridiculously low inventory in the area at the beginning of this year. Lack of available homes made for an extremely competitive market and crazy bidding wars that drove the market unusually high. With the prices being pushed way up, many people who had been considering a move have listed their homes. This has saturated the market in our area and has given buyers plenty of choices., thus slowing the market down. Average marketing time is up to about 20 days. Last month there were 1,818 Listed Homes and 1,337 current sales in Santa Clara County. This leaves a surplus of 481 homes. Buyers are waiting to see what else is coming knowing that every week brings more options.

With our friends with cash from overseas and our locals, (highly skilled and educated population) still gaining jobs in our market and a great need to own a home in the area as opposed to living and commuting from far away or renting, our market should remain stable. Lets think about it! There are plenty of families with incomes over $300k per year who need homes and more on the way. Business is booming and we are seeing new companies coming and existing companies expanding to the surrounding, more affordable areas. This brings even more high income earners and a need for housing. These facts point to little concern for a real estate disaster in this area in the near future. Just because we are not exploding with crazy appreciation of 15% in a 5 month period doesn’t mean we are in trouble. One of my sellers in a home in Sunnyvale is so happy to sell her home today at the same value as October last year. She will take her appreciation pay off her home loan and go to Austin Texas and buy a big house and pay cash………No Mortgage Payment……… Karen Schenone of Diversified Mortgage with over 35 years in the business says, ’”We know interest rates have risen about ½ of a percent. This


Back to Realty means a $1,000.000 loan has increased by $300.00 per month. She says STOP panicking and start buying homes. Homes in the Silicon Valley go up over time and make money and our families need to live in them.” Buyers have unprecedented access to so much information online are buying smart, looking at comps and making more conservative offers. The typical buyer is wanting a home that is completely updated because they don’t have the time to worry about picking out tile and paint colors, interviewing contractors for a remodel project. They need to work hard to pay the mortgage. Investors are buying fixers but really negotiating the price to be in their favor. Our advice, if you are thinking of selling, work with an agent that has connections to prepare your home before listing. Curb appeal, cleanliness and very little deferred

maintenance will get your home sold fast at the highest price. We have guided our investors and homeowners for years on how to get top dollar for their properties. A great agent takes the stress out of selling by really taking the lead on getting the repairs done. For Buyers, shop around for the best home loans, there are a lot of great plans. Do not get swayed into anything other than a conventional loan and buy for the long-term. It is not the time to take risks with a no interest short term loan. Real estate is a solid investment. Do not be afraid to buy, they do not make more California property! Get your little piece of this

great Bay Area. Daniel Moskowitz has been selling homes for over 35 years. He has helped over 1000 families obtain homeownership. He has also donated his time and money to help hundreds of families in financial hardships to work with their lenders to keep their homes. He works with Coldwell Banker Residential Services in Los Gatos, CA. He can be reached at 408-401-3557 or at dan@ danmoskowitz.com

Brookdale, San Jose hosted Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren to give a STATE OF THE BAY AREA talk. Brookdale holds a thriving weekly Political Forum group with their residents. Cyndi Goble, the Resident's Program Director says, "We have residents on both sides of the political spectrum and while they disagree on almost everything ... they hold their discussions and debates with extreme respect for one another. "We hope to show the Bay Area how 'polite' and ‘politics' can go together."   Pictured are Bill Barrett, Zoe Lofgren, Bob McLean and Cyndi Goble. 

Y5Z


Tech-a-thon http://www.blackchamber.com “This world in which we live equally distributes talent. The problem is it does not equally distribute opportunities. The Black Chamber of Silicon Valley is committed to changing the outcomes for our youth. The Global Leadership Forum is proud to partner with the BCSV and agrees it is an imperative to teach our youth how to seize the opportunities of their choosing, and in turn transform our communities.” - Kendall Norris CEO Global Leadership Forum “I was really impressed with the event and hopefully will be able to host a future STEM techathon event on the Merritt campus.” - Jason Holloway Merritt College Dean of Math Science & Applied Tech

“As a chamber, it’s our job to help create the next generation of tech entrepreneurs. It takes a village to raise a child and create a diverse workforce.” - Carl Davis Jr President & Executive Director

SOME OF THE ATTENDEES

SHELLYE ARCHAMBEAU, KEYNOTE SPEAKER with CARL DAVIS, JR PRESIDENT OF SV BLACK CHAMBER

Chris Norwood, Moderator - CEO Bay Area Tutoring Associates Kendall Norris, CEO Global Leadership Forum Natasha Reed, Civil Engineer with City of SF Sharee Joseph, President the STEM Future Fdn Danny McLane, Founder/CEO Jamii Technology Dr.Garey Johnson, Pilot, Engineer, Quantum Physics, Stanford Graduate

Y6Z


LIBRARY TOURS Discover the hidden treasures of the

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library

Level Babel - Lower

Fiction/Fic

tion - First Floor

Owl of Minerva - Seventh Floor

FREE DROP-IN TOURS AVAILABLE Thursdays • 11:30 a.m. Groups of 10+ should register in advance by visiting: sjpl.org/Tours Become a Library Tour Guide: sjpl.org/Volunteer


Andy Nguyen

Special Assignment http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto Salt Stained Exhibit on Saturday, 09/08/2018 at 6pm. Location: Art Object Gallery, 592 N. 5th Street. San Jose, CA 95112. Hosted by the Chopstick Alley Art. Artists: Binh Danh, Lola & Kenneth, Thinh Thi Truong, Trinh Mai, and Tuan Tran Trami Cron Nguyen, Executive Director of Chopsticks Alley Art said, “The Salt Stained Exhibit fulfilled our organization’s desire to bring together different communities in San Jose to celebrate Southeast Asian Artists.” Pictured Left: Trami Cron, Executive Director of Chopsticks Alley Art

Left to Right: Susan Sayre Batton, Oshman Executive Director; Van Lan Truong, Board Member of Chopsticks Alley Art; and Kalpana Guha

Van-Anh Vanessa Vo 2009 Emmy Award Winner

Kenneth Ronquillo, Leigh Weimers Emerging Artist Award 2018 winner

Artist Trinh Mai said, “This has been a very special experience for me to have been invited back to my home town of San Jose to share my artwork and my family history with our community. I’d like to express my deepest gratitude to our beloved community for supporting the Arts and our cherished freedom of expression; to my fellow artists who strive to make that good, honest, fulfilling work; to the San Jose Museum of Art who continues to help bring Vietnamese artists’ voices to light; to Art Object Gallery for providing a space for us to gather in celebration of our culture, history, and ideas; and of course, to the amazing Chopsticks Alley team who work with such wholehearted dedication in cultivating the growth of Vietnamese American / Southeast Asian community through Art.”  Pictured Left: Mrs. Vietnam California 2018, BichLien Nguyen and Artist Trinh Mai Y8Z


NBAA Closes Out 2018 Regional Forums With Successful Show in San Jose “The future of business aviation looks bright, and technologies on the horizon make this an exciting time to be in the industry, but only if we meet challenges head on and work together to make a difference.” That was the message NBAA President and CEO Ed Bolen delivered to the 1,800 attendees at the Sept. 6 NBAA Regional Forum in San Jose, CA. The final forum of 2018 provided a chance for NBAA to thank its members and other industry stakeholders for their successful efforts in mobilizing to fight back ATC-privatization proposals, and also to discuss challenges ahead.

“How are we going to attract and retain people into this industry, that we know is so important, so rewarding?” Bolen asked attendees. “We have a great industry, but people don’t always know who we are, they don’t know that our airplanes help companies be more efficient and productive.” The industry he said, needs to get that word out to keep business aviation strong, and that means attending career day events, speaking with high school and college students, holding events at general aviation airports across the country and other efforts. “Can you imagine a better place to make

your career than business aviation?” Bolen said. “Our industry is uniquely interesting, uniquely challenging and in a lot of ways, uniquely inspiring. That’s who we are.” An education session at the forum took Bolen’s premise a step further,

Silicon Valley Business Center

as millennial speaker and author Jeff Butler presented data and case studies to help better understand how to bridge

the gap between different generations within the workforce. [...]

Full Article: https://www.nbaa.org/events/ forums/2018SJC/nbaa-closes-out-2018-regionalforums-with-successful-show-in-san-jose.php

0 0 . 9 9 $1

per month for 6 months with agreement to rent for 6 months

25 Workstations Available http://www.siliconvalleyworkspace.com 1-408-558-3600

1900 Camden Ave, San Jose, CA 95124


Worship Directory First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church 5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

Hillside Church San Jose 545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

Sunrise Valley Baptist Church

5860 Blossom Avenue (at Blossom & Calero) San Jose, CA 95123 (408) 225 - 0200 www.sunrisevbc.org “Rejoice in the Lord always! And again I say rejoice!” Come join us in a traditional worship service that is steeped in the old hymns of our faith and rooted in expository Bible preaching. A friendly congregation will encourage your heart. Our Wonderful Savior, Jesus Christ, offers peace, love & joy. On Sunday we have Sunday School at 9:30 am; Sunday Morning Worship at 10:45 am; and Sunday Evening Worship at 6:00 pm. On Wednesday Evening we have Awana at 7:00 pm (Children’s Bible Clubs K-6; Sept May) and Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting at 7:00 pm.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Beall’s Homeowner Bill of Rights Signed Into Law Senator Jim Beall, D-San Jose, chairman of the Senate Transportation and Housing Committee, issues this statement on today’s ratification of SB 818 by Governor Brown today to restore the Homeowner Bill of Rights, which had lapsed on Jan. 1, 2018: “Californians can once again count on the protections that helped thousands of homeowners hold onto their houses during the 2008 financial crisis. The protections under SB 818 will provide borrowers with a fair and clear process when they enter

negotiations with lenders to modify their home loans. “With the restoration of the Homeowner Bill of Rights, dual tracking will be outlawed and borrowers will be given sufficient time to appeal a denial of a loan modification request. Lenders will have to provide timely notifications on the status of a loan modification application and homeowners will have the right to appeal denials. “I thank Governor Brown for support of SB 818. My thanks also go to the many advocates who helped

me get this bill through the Legislature and onto the Governor’s desk, including the Housing and Economic Rights Advocates; the National Housing Law Project; the California Low-Income Consumers Coalition; the California Reinvestment Coalition; the Center for Responsible Lending; the California Labor Federation; and the California Alliance for Retired American.’’

Y 11 Z

Councilman Johnny Khamis with Patty Barbaccia, tireless Festival Chair of ALmaden Valley Women’s Club Almaden Lake Park was again the Festival location with an estimated crowd of 20,000 for a great time!


Rods and Wheelers The Rod and Wheelers hot rod club was formed in 1952 and is still going strong. The club promotes street rodding, safety, family unity and camaraderie among the members and other car enthusiasts. We invite you to take a tour of our web site, meet the members and view the cars they drive. For more: go to rodsandwheelers.net

Once a month, Rod and Wheelers chooses a different retirement community to host a car show. We could all use a little ‘Vroom-Vroom’ in our lives.

PHOTOS COURTESY OF George Shifano Y 12 Z


Is this your dog? It could be! This charming 1-year-old German Shepherd mix – Sheba -- is currently waiting for her furever home at the County’s Animal Shelter in San Martin. Our No-Kill Shelter has dozens of adoptable dogs, cats and even a few rabbits and other pets, ready for you to bring them home. If you are not currently looking to adopt but want to help our animals, consider signing up for Foster Field Trips and Shelter Sleepovers. We know that well-socialized animals are more likely to be adopted, so the next time you are going out for a coffee or for a hike in a County Park, swing by and take an adoptable adult dog along for the ride! The staff will set you up with everything you need for the outing and you will be providing an adoptable dog some real-world exposure and a greatly-appreciated break from the Shelter. Learn more at www.countypet.org California’s ongoing dry spell has caused hazardous conditions year-round. Recent fires in urban areas like Santa Rosa, Redding, and Ventura are a reminder for everyone that fires can occur anywhere, and populated residential neighborhoods are not exempt. To help prevent the spread of fire to structures and residential areas, maintain grass and weeds below six inches for 10 feet horizontally on both sides of all roadways, including driveways, and create a 30 foot minimum barrier around your home. County Weed Abatement services are currently provided by contract to the cities of Campbell, Cupertino, Gilroy, Los Altos Hills, Los Gatos, Milpitas, Monte Sereno, Morgan Hill, Palo Alto, Santa Clara, and Saratoga. Underdeveloped/vacant parcels within San Jose and all unincorporated areas of the County are also covered. Learn more about the County’s Weed Abatement Program and read the Minimum Fire Safety Standards to see how fire safe your property is. The public can report hazards in residential properties, vacant lots, or rural areas via the Weed Hazard App by simply uploading a picture and providing a location. Other reporting methods include online, via email SCC. WeedAbatement@cep.sccgov.org and by phone – 408-282-3145.  I am proud to announce that Tony Bowden has been appointed the new Fire Chief for the Santa Clara County Fire Department (County Fire). He served most recently as Assistant Chief, and is replacing outgoing Fire Chief Ken Kehmna, who retired after nearly three decades with the department. Chief Bowden is a trusted, dedicated leader who knows our County and cares about our residents. I have no doubt that he will maintain the level of excellence for which County Fire is known. The Santa Clara County Fire Department provides emergency response and preparedness services to unincorporated areas of Santa Clara County, and the communities of Campbell, Cupertino, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Los Gatos, Monte Sereno and Saratoga. As County Fire Chief, Bowden also serves as the Santa Clara County Fire Marshal. Learn more about the Santa Clara County Fire Department here: www.sccfd.org. Homelessness doesn’t end when an encampment is cleared out or with handing out blankets. Homelessness ends when people have a home, which is why the County is working closely with cities to build 5,100 affordable housing units for vulnerable populations. These housing projects are well-planned in accordance with city regulations and take into account the neighborhoods, access to services, and cost effectiveness. These new housing units are funded by Measure A – the $950 million November 2016 affordable housing bond that was approved by 67% of Santa Clara County voters. To learn more about how the County is housing the homeless and to support efforts to end homelessness, please take some time to learn more about the challenges we face and solutions that work. Look through the tools, review the FAQs and check the latest action alerts from  the County Office of Supportive Housing: https://www.sccgov.org/sites/yes/Pages/home.aspx More than 250 seniors received expert training from the Office of the District Attorney on how to avoid becoming victims of fraud. Our events in San Jose, Los Gatos and Morgan Hill were well-attended with engaged residents who are now savvy, fraud-detecting Super-Seniors! A special thank you to Deputy District Attorney Ann Huntley and Criminal Investigator Dale Morgan for their outstanding and engaging presentations. And thank you to staff at the Almaden Community Center, Los Gatos-Saratoga Adult Recreation Center, and the Morgan Hill Centennial Recreation Senior Center for hosting these important community events. If you were unable to attend but would like to learn more, please visit the District Attorney’s website. As always, you can reach my office at (408) 299-5010, or you can email me at district1@bos.sccgov.org. Mike Wasserman Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors, District 1

Y 13 Z


Come Tech With Us at TechConneXt 2018 hosted by Black Enterprise at the Marriott Waterfront from Oct. 8–9 in San Francisco. It will present a unique, unparalleled opportunity to engage, empower, and recruit the best black tech talent. At TechConneXt you will discover opportunities with tech companies, find funding sources for your business, and connect with established tech leaders. Network with speakers such as Amber Grimes, Van Lathan, Angela Yee and more; you simply cannot miss it! Register today at www.blackenterprise.com/ techconnext.

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

For more information visit BHPrinting.com or email dave@BHPrinting.com Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More


OUT WITH CABLE. IN WITH SAVINGS. Get a $100 AT&T Visa® Reward Card† when you sign up for DIRECTV SELECT ™ Package or above. MUST MAINTAIN SVC & REDEEM W/IN 75 DAYS (CARD IN 4 WKS). Ends 9/30/18. Restrs apply. See below for offer details.

SELECT

INCLUDES: ™

All Included Package

35

$

00

MO. Plus taxes.

For 12 Months w/ 24-mo. agmt. Autopay & Paperless bill req’d. $78/mo. in months 13-24 (subject to change).*

Over 155 channels Monthly fee for a Genie® HD DVR

PLUS: Stream shows anytime on up to 5 screens simultaneously – no add’l equipment, no extra cost with the DIRECTV App.^

FOR CHILDREN AGES 2–8

Content/channels/functionality varies. Data charges may apply.

“This site is amazing! My children are excited to learn and they don’t want to stop. Thank you so much! ”

—Mother of 3- and 5-year-old girls

*$35 ACTIVATION, EARLY TERMINATION FEE OF $20/MO. FOR EACH MONTH REMAINING ON AGMT., EQUIPMENT NON-RETURN & ADD’L FEES APPLY. Price incl. SELECT All Included Pkg. , and is after $5/mo. autopay & paperless bill discount for 12 mo. Pay $40/mo. + taxes until discount starts w/in 3 bills . New approved residential customers only (equipment lease req’d). Credit card req’d (except MA & PA). Restr’s apply.

Ask me how to Bundle and save. CALL TODAY!

Special Offer

IV SUPPORT HOLDINGS LLC

855-532-1951 SELECT ALL INCLUDED PACKAGE OFFER: Ends 9/30/18. Available only in the U.S. (excludes Puerto Rico and U.S.V.I.). 1st & 2nd Year Pricing: $35 for first 12 mos. only. After 12 mos. or loss of eligibility then-prevailing rate applies (currently $78/mo. for SELECT All Included) unless canceled or changed prior to end of the promo period. Pricing subject to change. $5/mo. Discount: Must enroll in autopay & paperless bill within 30 days of TV activation to receive bill credit starting in 1-3 bill cycles. First-time credit will include all credits earned since meeting offer requirements. Must maintain autopay/paperless bill and valid email address to continue credits. No credits in 2nd year for autopay/paperless bill. Includes: SELECT All Included TV Pkg, monthly service & equipment fees for one Genie HD DVR, and standard pro installation. Exclusions: Price excludes applicable use tax expense surcharge on retail value of installation, custom installation, equipment upgrades/add-ons (min. $99 one-time fee & $7/mo. fee for each extra receiver/DIRECTV Ready TV/Device), and certain other add’l fees & charges. Different offers may apply for eligible multi-dwelling-unit and telco customers. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. Offers may not be combined with other promotional offers on the same services and may be modified or discontinued at any time without notice. Other conditions apply to all offers. †$100 REWARD CARD: Requires purchase of qualifying TV package (min. $35/mo promo price after discount that start w/i 3 bills & may req. AutoPay) through card fulfillment. Qualifying Packages: SELECT or above. Select locations. For new residential customers in the U.S. (excludes Puerto Rico and U.S.V.I.). Residents of select multi-dwelling units are not eligible for this offer. Reward Card: Will be sent letter with redemption requirements. Redemption req’d w/in 75 days from reward notification mail date. Reward Card delivered within 3-4 weeks after redemption to customers who maintain qualifying service from installation date and through reward fulfillment. Card expires at month-end 6 mos after issuance. No cash access. For cardholder agreement, go to rewardcenter.att.com/myrewardcard/agreement_FSV.pdf. AT&T Reward Card issued by U.S. Bank National Association, pursuant to license from Visa U.S.A. Inc. May not be combined with other promotional offers on same services and may be modified or discontinued at any time without notice. Offer ends 9/30/18. ©2018 AT&T Intellectual Property. All Rights Reserved. AT&T, Globe logo, DIRECTV, and all other DIRECTV marks contained herein are trademarks of AT&T Intellectual Property and/or AT&T affiliated companies. All other marks are the property of their respective owners.

FREE

More Than

9,000

F OR 3 0 D A Y S !

LEARNING GAMES AND ACTIVITIES

On Computer or Mobile Devices!

Visit ABCmouse.com/gift24 to redeem this offer.

Senior Market Sales_MB_5.0 x 6.0_AW18-1008

TM & © 2018 Age of Learning, Inc.

ADVANCED HEARING AID TECHNOLOGY

“I was amazed! Sounds I hadn’t heard in years came back to me!” — Don W., Sherman, TX

For Less Than $200

We Cover What MEDICARE Does Not

How can a hearing aid that costs less than $200 be every bit as good as one that sells for $2,250 or more?

At last! Affordable coverage1 for the important health services2 that Medicare does not cover. Dental: Use any dentist – including your own! Cleanings,

evaluations, x-rays, fillings, extractions crowns, bridges, dentures & more! Up to $2,500 annual benefit.

Vision: Our plan helps with exams, lenses, frames, contacts,

The answer: Although tremendous strides have been made in Advanced Hearing Aid Technology, those cost reductions have not been passed on to you. Until now... MDHearingAid® uses the same kind of Advanced Hearing Aid Technology incorporated into hearing aids that cost thousands more at a small fraction of the price. Over 300,000 satisfied MDHearingAid customers agree: High-quality, FDA-registered hearing aids don’t have to cost a fortune. The fact is, you don’t need to spend thousands for a hearing aid. MDHearingAid is a medical-grade hearing aid offering sophistication and high performance, and works right out of the box with no time-consuming “adjustment” appointments. You can contact a licensed hearing specialist conveniently online or by phone — even after your purchase at no cost. No other company provides such extensive support. Now that you know...why pay more?

fittings & more!

Can a Hearing Aid Delay or Prevent Alzheimer’s and Dementia?

Hearing: Hearing exam and hearing aids up to $500 annually

A study by the National Institute on Aging suggests older individuals with hearing loss are significantly more likely to develop Alzheimer’s and dementia over time than those who retain their hearing. They suggest that an intervention — such as a hearing aid — could delay or prevent this by improving hearing!

as part of your policy-year maximum benefit.

Get more information at:

TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR 45-DAY RISK-FREE TRIAL!

www.WeCoverDVH.com/valley 1. Policy provisions and benefits may vary from state to state. Some benefits may not be available in all states. 2. Dental and Vision plans may be purchased individually. Hearing plan available as part of a Dental/Vision package.

AW18-1008

Hearing is believing and we invite you to try this nearly invisible hearing aid with no annoying whistling or background noise for yourself. If you are not completely satisfied with your MDHearingAid, return it within 45 days for a FULL REFUND. Use Code HQ99 and get

For the Lowest Price Call

1-855-993-3921

FREE Batteries for 1 Year Plus FREE Shipping


Make Your Backyard

Pay �our Mortgage! -

Easy to asse111ble cottage kits Old World quality crafts111anship Many 111odels to choose fro111 Affordable!

Call: 1-855-872-7868

www.UnforgettableFireLLC.com www.UnforgettableTinyHouse.com

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review September 22, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 16

The Bay Area Review September 22, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 16