__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 1, NO. 14

September 15, 2017

Better at knowing what matters to you. Page # 5

Ole’ San Jose Jazz

Celebrated for its annual Summer Fest and Winter Fest programming, the iconic Bay Area institution San Jose Jazz is proud to present a Fall concert series featuring an exceptional lineup of artists including O.F.N.I. Trio featuring bassist Pablo M. Caminero (Cafe Stritch: Sept. 16), Danilo Pérez featuring Adam Cruz and Ben Street: Panamonk (Cafe Stritch: Oct. 8), and René Marie & Experiment in Truth (Cafe

Stritch: Nov. 14). San Jose Jazz hosts its Fall concert series exclusively at San Jose’s premier jazz club, Cafe Stritch, the perfect intimate setting pairing world-renowned talent with a full artisanal food and cocktail menu. Presented by SPAIN arts & culture with support from the SpainUSA Foundation, Pablo M. Caminero showcases his trio O.F.N.I. (Objecto Flamenco No Identificado) to San Jose

audiences prior to their performance at Monterey Jazz Festival. GRAMMY® Award-nominated Danilo Pérez revives his celebrated project Panamonk in tribute to piano great Thelonious Monk. The recording Panamonk has been touted by DownBeat magazine as one of the most important piano albums in the history of jazz. Motéma Music recording artist René Marie brings her longtime trio Experiment in Truth to Cafe Stritch. Hailed in a story by NPR’s All Things Considered as being “one of the rare artists today who invites comparison with Civil Rights-era singers Nina Simone and Abbey Lincoln,” Marie is a bold vocalist who sings true to the power of music by channeling her own personal triumphs. Pablo

Continued on Page 10 Y1Z

Councilmember Jimenez Stands With DACA

Page # 9 Shop With a Cop

Page # 13 Our Corner of the Valley

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 *Coming Soon* 95037 + 95051


When...Where SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less.

A Benefit for the Berkeley Food & Housing Project Join us for a spectacular fashion show on Fourth Street! We are so excited to introduce this new event where clothing and accessory shops on Fourth Street get a chance to show you their hottest fall and winter looks. Models will strut a 75-foot catwalk down the middle of Fourth Street beginning at 5PM and 7PM, each show kicking off with fanciful Venetian masks and costumes from Castle in the Air.    After each show, one-hour popup sales take place in participating shops. All hair, make-up, and accessories will be created by Fourth Street talent. Donated gift bags will be raffled off prior to show with the proceeds going to the Berkeley Food & Housing Project.  Beer and wine, food booths, and a DJ round out this exciting evening event on Fourth Street.

Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Y2Z


WWW.MYACTIONSPOT.COM

OUR SEPTEMBER EVENTS September 20, 2017 - Ventrock Ventures: Fireside Chat with Steve Goldberg. Do you have a great idea? Do you want to be an entrepreneur? What it takes to get funded? What investors are looking for? If you are looking for answers to your questions, please come and join us! September 23, 2017 - Integrating With Social ABIs - Slack, Twitter & Facebook. This workshop is for women, trans and nonbinary folks only! Join Bear Douglas for a 3 hour interactive workshop to learn how to incorporate Twitter, Facebook and Slack into your hackathon project. September 29, 2017 - Friday Nights @ ACTIONSPOT. Join us Friday Night for drinks, food, and meet new friends, expand your network, and connect with entrepreneurs and professionals from around Silicon Valley. This open-house event is all about unwinding at the end of your week and making great connections along the way.


Making A Difference Andy Nugyen’s Speech at the Reception of “Three Open Doors” Exhibition Photographer KimLien Dang in this event to fund raise for abused and neglected children in Vietnam. The funds “Welcome to our will directly “Three Open Doors” benefit to the Friends Exhibition. I am Andy of Hue Foundation, Nguyen, a senior at San which houses a Children Jose State University Shelter and supports majoring in Art and many kids and families Photography. facing hardship in Hue It’s an honor for City. They take in kids me to take part in this that face trafficking or exhibition. My passion is serious abuse from the to create photographs that community and transform reflect and communicate them into young leaders. the human spirit by Please sponsors a child capturing the ordinary or a meal and make a moments in the city life or difference. Please connect in nature, both in Vietnam with Jenny if you wish and America. In this to learn more about the exhibition, I share photos organization. showing the beauty of Last but not least, I Vietnam, Nature, and would like to express spirit of people in Santa my deep gratitude Clara County. and appreciation to Beside showcasing those who support our our works, I am proud to exhibitions. Thank you, work with Ms. Jenny Do, Vice Mayor City of San Photographer Duc Le and Jose Magdalena Carrasco, the Office of Cultural Affairs of San Jose City, Ms. Thuy Viviane Phan, Keith Nguyen, Ms. Dan Thanh, Mr. Trong Khoi, Victoria Vice Mayor Magdalena Carrasco and Andy Thuy Vi Nguyen and many

gave us a hand. It is an honor to all of us that the Assemblyman Kansen Chu and Mrs. Daisy Chu, Assemblyman Ash Kalra, Mayor of Cupertino Savita Vaidhyanathan, Councilman Tam Nguyen and Councilman Jones Chappie and other leaders in our community have attend our reception. Also many thanks to those who support my work. Please consider to purchase the photo showcased here. Proceeds will go to benefit the Children Shelter of Friends of Hue. Because of you, I will continue my passion in photography and help others. My goal is to play a small part in further generating resources to help special needs children around the world. All children need our love and support. Thank you in advance for the gift of sharing my work and being part of this humanitarian effort. Please enjoy the reception and support the children through our photography sale today.” The “Three Open Doors” photography exhibition opened its doors at the Trianon Theatre Art Gallery on Friday August 25, 2017. It will run through Friday, September 22, 2017 until 12:30pm. This event will directly benefit children in Vietnam by providing resources for their education

Y4Z

through the Friends of Hue Foundation. Photographers featured are DucTe Le, KimLien Dang, and Andy Nguyen. The Trianon Theater Art

Gallery is located at 72 North 5th Street, San Jose, CA, 95112. For more information visit http://www. friendsofhue.org/

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!! Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com • Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute


D2 News Councilmember Jimenez Stands With DACA Councilmember Sergio Jimenez, an immigrant from Mexico who gained lawful status through amnesty, was disheartened by the termination of a program that brought nearly a million immigrant youth out of the shadows. In 2012, President Obama, through his executive authority, created DACA, a program that allowed immigrants who were brought to the United States as children to apply for a work permit, obtain a social security number, and gain protection from deportation. Nearly one million previously undocumented youth applied for the program. For the last five years DACA has given these immigrants job opportunities, access to health care, and most importantly, peace of mind and a sense of security in the United States. Today, Donald Trump took that all away, leaving uncertainty and distrust. “Today’s announcement was no shock. We knew this was coming because we cannot expect more from a President who has called immigrants criminals and rapists, campaigned on building a wall, and attempted to ban Muslims from our Country within his first few days in office. We have been hit hard with this sad news, but we will keep organizing and continue the fight

for comprehensive immigration reforms. Let us not forget that DACA youth are a force to be reckoned with. They have led their fight for justice and equality with fearlessness and resilience. I urge our elected officials in Congress to act immediately to protect all DACA recipients. I want every DACA youth in San Jose to know that we stand beside you, we will fight with you, and we will do whatever we can to protect you.” As a result of DACA, recipients across the country have obtained better paying jobs, bought their first home, began college, and opened a business -all while contributing to our economy and communities. DACA recipients are lawyers, nurses, activists, parents -- human beings deserving of the right to pursue the American Dream. With this announcement, Trump has derailed the American Dream; he has told some of the most productive members of our society that they can no longer work in the US. This action will cost our economy billions of dollars. It is undeniable that DACA youth have contributed tremendously to our nation and the City of San Jose. As a welcoming City, we are compelled to reassure our community that we stand in solidarity with them.

El concejal Sergio Jiménez, un inmigrante de México que ganó el estatus legal a través de la amnistía, esta desanimado por la terminación de un programa que logró sacar a casi un millón de jóvenes inmigrantes de las sombras. En 2012, el presidente Barack Obama, a través de su autoridad ejecutiva, creó DACA, un programa que permitió a los inmigrantes que fueron traídos a los Estados Unidos como niños solicitar un permiso de trabajo, obtener un número de seguro social y obtener protección de la deportación. Casi un millón de jóvenes previamente indocumentados solicitaron el programa. Durante los últimos cinco años DACA ha brindado oportunidades de empleo, acceso a cuidado de salud y más importante, tranquilidad y un sentido de seguridad en los Estados Unidos para cienes de miles de jóvenes. Hoy, Donald Trump termino todo eso, dejando incertidumbre y desconfianza. “El anuncio de hoy no fue sorpresa. Sabíamos que esto vendría porque no podemos esperar más de un presidente que ha llamado criminal y violador al inmigrante, inicio su campaña sobre la construcción de un muro, y trató de prohibir a los musulmanes de nuestro país en sus primeros días de en cargo.

Y5Z

Moreno Hauling Same day Clean Up & Go Trash Hauling

Residential/Commercial Trash Removal, Hauling, Garage, Hoarder Cleanouts, Home/Rentals Clean-ups, YARD SERVICE, Shed/Deck Removal. Fire safety! Moving Assistance In/Out. Senior/Military Discounts

We Take Everything! We Do All The Loading!

(408) 729-0630

7 DAYS – RAIN OR SHINE! Hemos sido duramente golpeados con esta triste noticia, pero seguiremos organizándonos y continuaremos la lucha por una reforma inmigratoria comprehensiva. No olvidemos que los jóvenes de DACA son una fuerza que no podemos descontar. Han liderado su lucha por la justicia y la igualdad con valentía y resistencia. Le obligo a nuestros elegidos en el Congreso que actúen inmediatamente para proteger a todos los beneficiarios de DACA. Quiero que todos los jóvenes de DACA en San José sepan que estamos a su lado, lucharemos con ustedes y haremos todo lo que podamos para protegerlos.” Beneficiarios de DACA en todo el país han obtenido empleo mejor pagado, comprado su primer hogar, comenzado la universidad, y han abierto negocios - todo esto mientras contribuían a nuestra economía y comunidad. Los beneficiarios de DACA son abogados, enfermeros,

activistas, padres--seres humanos que merecen el derecho de lograr el sueño americano. Con este anuncio, Trump ha descarrilado el sueño americano; les ha dicho a los miembros más productivos de nuestra sociedad que ya no pueden trabajar en los Estados Unidos. Esta acción le costará miles de millones de dólares a nuestra economía. Es indiscutible que los jóvenes de DACA han contribuido tremendamente a nuestra nación y a la Ciudad de San José. Como ciudad, tenemos la obligación de tranquilizar a nuestra comunidad y asegurarles que estamos solidaridad con ellos. Si eres beneficario de DACA, infórmate y busque ayuda! If you are a DACA recipient, get informed and seek help! www.ilrc.org/sites/ default/files/resources/ community_advisory_-_ end_of_dacav2.pdf www.uscis.gov/ daca2017


IN THE VINEYARDS GUGLIELMO WINERY

Sunday Sept 24th

Captivating audiences around the world with powerful vocals combined with charming comedic banter, ALFIO effortlessly brings all generations of music lovers together. Internationally renowned star ALFIO successfully debuted ‘ALFIO In Concert’ nationally on Public Television PBS and is bringing his world class Outdoor Concert to the wonderful Guglielmo Winery in Morgan Hill. An Australian native of Italian descent, tenor-trained ALFIO brings passion to his performances and draws constant comparisons to superstars Andrea Bocelli, Frank Sinatra and Elvis Presley to which he pays tribute to in his show. This charismatic singer/songwriter/musician takes you on a sentimental journey with much loved classics, pop standards and his acclaimed award winning original compositions... this is truly a show not to be missed!

Wine & Light Fare by Aldo’s 5:00 | Concert 6:00

VIP $75.00 | Regular $65.00 Discounts for “Guglielmo Wine Group” Members

Tickets: 408-779-2145 or www.guglielmowinery.com Guglielmo Winery -1480 E. Main Ave, Morgan Hill, CA 95037 But if you have to miss this concert, please visit our 92-year-old family | www.alfiomusic.com winerywww.guglielmowinery.com on another day! We are in your local wine country and are open 7 days a week from 10am to 5pm, except for 5 major Holidays! Guglielmo Winery - 1480 E. Main Ave, Morgan Hill, CA 95037 www.guglielmowinery.com www.alfiomusic.com


NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Rainbow Funding and Realty www.rainbowfunding.com

8 Bedroom 6 Bath Magnificent newly refurbished home with hardwood floor and lots of natural lighting. $1,234, 492

More than 35 years of experience. Call the office that knows where the deals are.

1 (800) 782 - LOAN Silicon Valle y Prop er ty Management Group 53 Years of Combined Property Management & O wnership Experience Specializing in Palo Alto & Surrounding Communities 8 sq.ince 199ey E , on s S orn

on rs rtie Att obent Propel Estatep An Eyeay! R e d e ea id

Davd Investlmifornia Red To K David T e

o

n Call Ca itio wne s O censed er Pos erty a H p t i • Pro Bet AL • Is ne is tment O s e • No ur Inv Yo

SVPMG provides exceptional commercial and residential property management services with a unique advantage - There are no property managers with more knowledge or more experience to keep your risk as low as feasible and your return on investment as high as possible. We offer 6 guarantees. Contact to learn more! 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6.

siliconvalleypropertymanagementgoup.com

FEE GUARANTEE RESPONSE GUARANTEE TRANSPARENCY GUARANTEE SERVICE GUARANTEE PAYMENT GUARANTEE SATISFACTION GUARANTEE

408.838.5113

david@svpmg.net

We’re Keeping Your Rental Property... Safe. Secure. Profitable. So you don’t have to. And with a real estate attorney and a Silicon Valley real estate developer on staff to guide and protect you and your property, we maximize your ROI (return on investment).


Community Shop With A Cop

On Saturday, Aug. 26th , the Shop with a Cop Foundation of Silicon Valley hosted it’s “Fiesta with a Purpose” fundraiser at the Scottish Rite Center, San Jose.  The Foundation was celebrating  10th years of giving back to the community and

supporting education programs  for underserved youth. The foundation was recognized by local elected officials who presented the Executive Dir. with commendations from  the Co. Board of supervisors and a  CA State Assembly resolution for their volunteer  work in the community   on the behalf of  law enforcement. Over 400 guests enjoyed, premium tequila tastings,dancing to live salsa music margaritas and a delicious Mexican buffet.The

Jorge Sanchez and Proud Mom

foundation recognized their corp. sponsors like Google, Chevron, Knight Foundation, Target and Bank of America. Honoree of the evening and receiving  the Community Impact Award  was Former SF 49er, Dennis Brown for his involvement with the foundation and youth.  Over $40,00 was raised from the silent and live auction and corp. sponsorship.  The mission of the Shop with the  Cop Foundation is dedicated to enhancing the lives of under-served youth

and families in the community with an emphasis in the areas of education, character development, and rebuilding trust between the community and the police.  For more information

Jorge Sanchez a word of thanks

on how you can support the Shop with a Cop Foundation of Silicon Valley, you may go to their website at , www. shopwithacopsv.org or by calling (669) 2262663. Shop with Cop is a registered 501 C -3.  

Dennis Brown and Darrell Cortez

Place Your Ad Here! Email the South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y9Z


Ole’ Jazz Ole’ San Jose Jazz: Highlights of Confirmed Artists Caminero & O.F.N.I. Trio Pablo M. Caminero is renowned in his native Spain who’s collaborated with the likes of Ultra High Flamenco, Abe Rabade Trio, Jorge Pardo, Gerardo Nuñez, bandArt, Hippocampus, Chano Dominguez, Niño Josele, Rocio Molina, Enrike Solinís, Rosario La Tremendita, and a long list of flamenco, jazz, classical and baroque music projects. Caminero has released four albums on the BOST label, including his third album, O.F.N.I. (Objecto Flamenco No Identificado), and his debut as a jazz flamenco composer. On the album, his double bass

performance takes centerstage. In live performance, Caminero works alongside some of the most recognized international jazz members; musicians with an open interpretation of contemporary jazz, both European jazz and American jazz, and a deep approach to Flamenco. The pianist Moises Sanchez and the drummer Borja Barrueta, together with Caminero, offer singular arrangements within the jazz flamenco world.

Danilo Pérez featuring Adam Cruz and Ben Street: Panamonk As a performer and innovator, Danilo Pérez has made his own considerable mark in jazz. 20 years ago, Pérez recorded an album celebrating Thelonious Monk’s legacy. On his famed recording, Panamonk, Pérez explored Monk’s music and style through a contemporary jazz lens with his idiosyncratic Panamanian flair. The New York Times called it “a masterpiece of jazz synthesis,” and said, “Mr. Pérez’s approach was refreshing in its irreverence: rather than try to be as faithful as possible to Monk’s distinctive rhythms and harmonies, he used Monk’s vision as a jumping-off point for his own individuality as an improviser.” Thelonious Monk continues to be universally regarded as one of jazz’s greatest icons and his enduring influence is still paramount today. In

Y 10 Z

celebration of Monk’s centennial, Pérez revisits Panamonk with his trio and brings his fresh take on the music to San Jose, CA. Pérez has toured and/ or recorded with artists such as Dizzy Gillespie United Nations Orchestra, Jack DeJohnette, Charlie Haden, Michael Brecker, Joe Lovano, Tito Puente, Wynton Marsalis, and Roy Haynes. In 2000, Pérez joined Wayne Shorter, to form Shorter’s great quartet with John Patitucci and Brian Blade. Since 2003 he has been touring with a regular trio featuring Ben Street and Adam Cruz. Pérez currently serves as UNESCO Artist for Peace, Cultural Ambassador to the Republic of Panama, Founder and Artistic Director of the Panama Jazz Festival, and Artistic

Director of the Berklee Global Jazz Institute at Boston’s Berklee College of Music. His latest album, Children Of The Light, a collaboration with Wayne Shorter Quartet members John Patitucci and Brian Blade, was released on Mack Avenue in September 2015. Rene Marie & Experiment in Truth In a span of two decades, 11 recordings and countless stage performances, vocalist René Marie has cemented her reputation as not only a singer but also a composer, arranger, theatrical performer and teacher. Guided and tempered by powerful life lessons and rooted in jazz traditions laid down by Ella Fitzgerald, Dinah Washington and other leading ladies of past generations, she borrows various elements of folk, R&B and even classical and country to create a captivating hybrid style. Her body of work is musical, but it’s more than just music. It’s an


exploration of the bright and dark corners of the human experience, and an affirmation of the power of the human spirit. René’s self-produced CD, Renaissance, was released in 1999. In 2000, she signed onto the MaxJazz label and recorded four more over the next four years: How Can I Keep from Singing? (2000), Vertigo (2001), Live at Jazz Standard (2003) and Serene Renegade (2004). René joined the Motéma label with the 2011 release of Voice of My Beautiful Country, followed later that same year by Black Lace Freudian Slip. Her

Ole’ Jazz

2013 follow-up, I Wanna Be Evil: With Love To Eartha Kitt, earned a GRAMMY® nomination in the Best Jazz Vocals category. The newest installment in her ever-expanding body of work is Sound of Red, a CD released on Motéma Music in April 2016. It’s her first album of all-original material, an 11-song set that provides insightful glimpses into the many small but profound turning points that are part of an individual life. René’s clever songcraft and sensual vocal delivery make those personal moments

not only meaningful but enlightening to a broad audience. About San Jose Jazz Founded in 1986, San Jose Jazz is a public benefit corporation celebrating jazz as a dynamic, evolving art form and is producer of the annual San Jose Jazz Summer Fest and Winter Fest. With its singular music programming and innovative educational offerings, San Jose Jazz preserves the jazz tradition while actively supporting the next generation of performers within the genre and beyond. For more information, please visit sanjosejazz.org.

O.F.N.I. Trio: Saturday, September 16, $15 ($10 SJZ members) advance/$17 door, 7pm Danilo Pérez featuring Adam Cruz and Ben Street: Panamonk Sunday, October 8, $35 ($30 members) advance; $40 door, 6pm

t n e m e v o Home Impr inting

René Marie & Experiment in Truth: Tuesday, November 14, $30 ($25 SJZ members) advance; $35 door, 7pm

& Pa Handyman

Cafe Stritch 374 S 1st St, San Jose, CA 95113

Take a Gamble - support a great charitable organization: “Serving the Children of the World” Kiwanis Club of Almaden Valley

At Nordahl Hall - 580 W. Parr Avenue - Los Gatos, CA Cocktails/Hors d oeuvres at 5:00; Casino from 6:00-9:00 Raffle at 9:15 (Great prizes - exchange your winnings for tickets) Please register online at: www.kiwanisclubofalmadenvalley.com

Free Estimates (408) 646 - 8907 • • • • • •

Tickets $75 on line; $95 at the door

Re-ups available during play (if you’re having fun) Come have a great time - Dress casual or to the 9s

Y 11 Z

Dry Rot Wood Repairs Carpentry & Stucco Fence Repairs Sheet Rock & Texture Painting & Match Touch-ups 25 Years Experience


Valley Extra Our Corner of The Valley By Scott Taper

A friend once said, when Lockheed was in a severe downturn (during an extended period of peace), “What we need is a good old-fashioned enemy”. It surprised me to him say it, but it didn’t surprise me that it was true. I was well aware of Dwight Eisenhower’s warning when he left office: “Beware the military-industrial complex!”. Other leaders of foreign governments have also acknowledged that the United States “needs a war every four years to grow its economy”. And it certainly does appear that way. Since WWII, when the US emerged virtually unscathed by the conflict during the war, with all of its factories still working and the dollar was stable, the economy of the US has thrived during and immediately after wartime. Now we are engaged in several wars. The War in Afghanistan

and Iraq solidified George Bush’s presidential second term as he proclaimed “You don’t change horse’s…”. Now besides fighting those two wars, we are now engaged in fighting terrorism. The war on Terrorism has spawned new efforts in cyber warfare to prevent the spread of misinformation and radicalization of people throughout the world, but especially here in the US. The tech industry has been buoyed by such an infusion of investment. Lastly, we have experienced a significant increase in xenophobia, fear of strangers and immigrants, and racism that has pushed the sales of guns to a new level of ridiculousness, aided by the propaganda by the NRA that has gone far beyond protection of the right to bear arms. In fact, the NRA has even suggested war against the US government. The US has been turned against itself. For instance, our president has

said “why hasn’t any tried to remove confederate monuments before”. Well, Mr. President, I offer the following essay penned by W.E.B. DuBois in 1928 regarding monuments to Robert E. Lee: “Each year on the 19th of January there is renewed effort to canonize Robert E. Lee, the greatest confederate general. His personal comeliness, his aristocratic birth and his military prowess all call for the verdict of greatness and genius. But one thing–one terrible fact–militates against this and that is the inescapable truth that Robert E. Lee led a bloody war to perpetuate slavery. Copperheads like the New York Times may magisterially declare: “of course, he never fought for slavery.” Well, for what did he fight? State rights? Nonsense. The South cared only for State Rights as a weapon to defend slavery. If nationalism had been a stronger defense of the slave system than particularism, the South would have been as nationalistic in 1861 as it had been in 1812. No. People do not go to war for abstract theories of government. They fight

Y 13 Z

Scott Taper is a biweekly contributor who consults in the field of commercialization and licensing of patented technologies/consumer products. Send inquiries to staper@scitechcal.com with subject line ”Our Corner of the Valley” for property and privilege and that was what Virginia fought for in the Civil War. And Lee followed Virginia. He followed Virginia not because he particularly loved slavery (although he certainly did not hate it), but because he did not have the moral courage to stand against his family and his clan. Lee hesitated and hung his head in shame because he was asked to lead armies against human progress and Christian decency and did not dare refuse. He surrendered not to Grant, but to Negro Emancipation. Today we can best perpetuate his memory and his nobler traits not by falsifying his moral debacle, but by explaining it to the young white south. What Lee did in 1861, other Lees are doing in 1928. They lack the moral courage to stand up for justice to the Negro because of the overwhelming public opinion of their social environment. Their fathers in the past have condoned lynching and mob violence, just as today they acquiesce in the disfranchisement of educated and worthy

black citizens, provide wretchedly inadequate public schools for Negro children and endorse a public treatment of sickness, poverty and crime which disgraces civilization. It is the punishment of the South that its Robert Lees and Jefferson Davises will always be tall, handsome and wellborn. That their courage will be physical and not moral. That their leadership will be weak compliance with public opinion and never costly and unswerving revolt for justice and right. it is ridiculous to seek to excuse Robert Lee as the most formidable agency this nation ever raised to make 4 million human beings goods instead of men. Either he knew what slavery meant when he helped maim and murder thousands in its defense, or he did not. If he did not he was a fool. If he did, Robert Lee was a traitor and a rebel–not indeed to his country, but to humanity and humanity’s God.” Let’s stop lining the pockets of corporations with blood money.


San Jose Jazz

The Whispers, Main Stage

Alan Harris Quartet At Jade Leaf Lounge

Awarded Best Mortgage Broker 2016

Rainbow Funding & Realty • 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

Main Stage in Plaza de Cesar Chavez

(800) 782 - LOAN www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Call today!

Jazz by 5 at the Hammer Theatre

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Y 14 Z


San Jose Jazz Ask about our 3.5% Total Commission!!! Kids are back to school and it is a great time to list your home!!!

SJZ Boombox Stage

Crowd Groovin’

Tom Merigan Realtor/Altas Realty

Office: (408) 559 - 1069 Cell: (408) 329 - 3150 Email: tmerigan@yahoo.com BRE# 01319061

Tom is your 95123 Area Specialist!!

Alan Harris Quartet at Jade leaf Lounge

Y 15 Z


THE

GOSS

REAL

SOLD $180,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

E S TAT E

GROUP

SOLD $156,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

PRESENTS

SOLD $150,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

1650 Trona Way, Willow Glen

2014 Admiral Way, North San Jose

1118 Abbott Avenue, Campbell

4 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,678 SF | $1,175,000

5 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 2,533 SF | $1,231,000

4 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 3,826 SF | $2,500,000

NOW IS THE RIGHT TIME TO SELL! Inventories are at historic lows! CALL ME TODAY to find out your home’s new value!

COMING SOON 16185 LOS GATOS BLVD, SUITE 205 LOS GATOS, CA 95032 CalBRE #01526679

3/2 1,209 SF Cambrian Townhome $725,000 4/2 1,127 SF Santa Clara Single Family $950,000

EACH OFFICE IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED

THINKING OF SELLING YOUR HOME? Call me today at (408) 234-0417 or go online to www.DougsHomeValues.com for a quick, no hassle online home valuation!

SOLD $30,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

I Don’t Just List Homes...I Sell Them!

SOLD $63,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

SOLD $41,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

1915 Coastland Avenue, Willow Glen

495 Suisse Drive, Blossom Valley

1382 Pierce Ranch Road, Almaden Valley

3 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,641 SF | $1,225,000

4 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,826 SF | $993,000

4 Bedrooms | 2.5 Baths | 2,233 SF | $1,440,000

DOUG GOSS

BROKER ASSOCIATE CRS,CRP,GRI,ABR 408-267-4663 DGOSS@KW.COM CalBRE #01182111

LOS GATOS OFFICE

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD., SUITE 105 LOS GATOS, CA 95032

ALMADEN VALLEY OFFICE

5671 SANTA TERESA BLVD., SUITE 103 SAN JOSE, CA 95123

TheGossRealEstateGroup.com

CalBRE #01526679

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review September 15, 2017  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 1, Number 14

The Bay Area Review September 15, 2017  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 1, Number 14