__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 18

October 19, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you Leadership Starts Early

Approximately 4000++ young people converged on Independence High School, Sunday October 13.

Incredible, eager and very vocal was this group of INTERACT young leaders in training. District 5170 for Bay

Area Rotary Clubs was responsible for these ambitious and focused teams who were ready to prove their readiness [...]

Continued on Page 10

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051 Y1Z


When...Where SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Photographer Andy Nguyen Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor, Public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Symphony Silicon Valley Continues the Harry Potter Film Concert Series with Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix You-Know-Who™ is not the only one who has returned—Harry Potter™, Ron Weasley™, and Hermione Granger™ are back as well in this unforgettable concert event. Relive the magic with Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix™ displayed on a giant screen in high-definition and accompanied by a symphonic orchestra. Experience Harry and his friends race through the Department of Mysteries, practice Defense Against the Dark Arts in secret, and endure Professor Umbridge™ with Nicholas Hooper’s iconic score.  The Harry Potter Film Concert Series, which is another magical experience from J.K. Rowling’s Wizarding World, kicked off in June 2016 with Harry Potter and the Socerer’s Stone and Symphony Silicon Valley is presenting the complete series of films through 2019. Now in his fifth year at Hogwarts, Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) learns that many in the wizarding community do not know the truth of his encounter with Lord Voldemort. Cornelius Fudge, minister of Magic, appoints his toady, Dolores Umbridge, as Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, for he fears that professor

Dumbledore will take his job. But her teaching is deficient and her methods, cruel, so Harry prepares a group of students to defend the school against a rising tide of evil. Featuring a colorful and inspiring score by Nicholas Hooper, the soundtrack to Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix takes the moviegoer to the next level of magical enchantment right along with Harry and his friends.   This film concert series has been created

by CineConcerts, in partnership with Warner Bros. Consumer Products, and will be conducted by its creator and Producer, Justin Freer. He explains, “The Harry Potter film series continues to be a once-in-a-lifetime cultural phenomenon that delights millions of fans around the world. It is with great pleasure that we introduced for the first time ever an opportunity to experience the award-winning music scores played live by a symphony orchestra, all

while the beloved film is simultaneously projected onto the big screen. It is an unforgettable event.”  Brady Beaubien of CineConcerts and Concert Producer for the Harry Potter Film Concert Series added, “Harry Potter is synonymous with excitement around the world and we hope that by performing this incredible music with the full movie, audiences will enjoy returning to this world, and to the many wonderful magical characters that inhabit it.”

Tickets $45 to $95

(408) 286-2600 or online at www.symphonysiliconvalley.org San Jose Center for the Performing Arts 255 S. Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95113   Saturday, November 3 at 2:30pm Saturday, November 3 at 7:30pm Sunday, November November 4 at 1:30pm Y2Z


Worship Directory First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church 5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

Hillside Church San Jose 545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

Sunrise Valley Baptist Church

5860 Blossom Avenue (at Blossom & Calero) San Jose, CA 95123 (408) 225 - 0200 www.sunrisevbc.org “Rejoice in the Lord always! And again I say rejoice!” Come join us in a traditional worship service that is steeped in the old hymns of our faith and rooted in expository Bible preaching. A friendly congregation will encourage your heart. Our Wonderful Savior, Jesus Christ, offers peace, love & joy. On Sunday we have Sunday School at 9:30 am; Sunday Morning Worship at 10:45 am; and Sunday Evening Worship at 6:00 pm. On Wednesday Evening we have Awana at 7:00 pm (Children’s Bible Clubs K-6; Sept May) and Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting at 7:00 pm.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Helping Hands Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley Transforms the lives of 22 Homeowners and 3 Nonprofits on Oct 27th

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley will coordinate community volunteers to provide free home repairs and modifications for lowincome homeowners-seniors, veterans, and people with disabilities. This work has an immediate and tangible impact on those served-providing housing that is safer and healthier. Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley will transform 22 homes and 3 nonprofits. Annually, Rebuilding Together provides no-cost safety repairs on over 350 homes.

“We are committed to helping homeowners in need maintain their housing, ensuring not just housing but a safe and healthy home”, said Beverley Jackson, Executive Director, Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley.  “We do more than fix houses; with the help of our volunteers, we will rebuild lives.” Over 1000 volunteers from all over Silicon Valley will be participating. These are a few of the homeowners and nonprofits to receive help, local recipients of service include:

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!! Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com • Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute

1. Via Service - Via West has been helping individuals 0 - 95 with disabilities and special needs since 1945. Amazon will be repairing their campground so these children will be able to come to their camp and experience activities and learn independent living skills. *13851 Stevens Canyon Road. Cupertino 95014 2. Arcele, an 86 year old widow of a Marine Corps veteran, will be receiving muchneeded repairs from HGA Architects. *3300 Narvaez Ave. #66 San Jose, 95136 3. Silicon Valley Rotary Clubs will join forces to repair 6 homes. • Rotary Club of Gilroy will be repairing 2 homes. * 8282 Murray Ave. #16 Gilroy 95020 and 8282 Murray Ave. #63 Gilroy 95020 • Morgan Hill Rotary will be repairing 1 home at * 275 Burnett Ave #104 Morgan Hill 95037 • Rotary Club of Los Gatos will be repairing 1 home at * Y4Z

1741 Galewood Ct. San Jose 95133 • Rotary Club of Cupertino will be repairing 1 home at * 2415 Lascar Place San Jose, 95136 • Rotary Club of San Jose and Rotary Club of Santa Clara will be repairing *2716 King Rd. San Jose 95122 Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley volunteers will be working at 25 locations in San Jose, Morgan Hill, Gilroy, Cupertino, and Los Gatos. About Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley believes that everyone deserves to live in a safe and healthy home. For over 25 years, the non-profit organization has provided critical repairs and

accessibility modifications for low-income homeowners, primarily seniors, individuals with disabilities, and families with children - and nonprofit community organizations. Each year, more than 2,000 volunteers gather to transform homes and lives by improving the safety and health of homes and revitalizing communities. All work is provided at no cost to the recipient, with materials provided through donations and funds from area businesses, organizations, government and private individuals. Since inception, over 32,000 local volunteers have renovated over 3,000 homes and facilities in the local community. Learn more at www. rebuildingtogethersv.org


AACSA 40th Anniversary Gala San Jose’s own African American Community Service Agency held it’s 40th Anniversary Gala recently; With a mission to grow outreach to our communities through service programs and educational experiences that will allow all to thrive when exemplifying “Strength in Unity”.

Save up to $111/month* on your Medicare supplement insurance plan.

Call 1-855-669-8212 Call for a fast and free rate quote today. No cost. No obligation. *Source: Savings are the monthly premium difference between the plan with the highest premium and the plan with the lowest Plan F premium for women age 65 in certain ZIP codes on the eHealth platform, according to an October 2017 eHealth analysis. Medicare.com is a non-government resource operated by eHealthInsurance Services, Inc., an insurance agency. This is a solicitation of insurance. Not connected with or endorsed by the U.S. government or federal Medicare program. Savings are not guaranteed.

AACSA - OUTSTANDING TEAM

Guest Speaker; Susan L. Taylor Editor-in-Chief Emeritus, ESSENCE

Susan L. Taylor with Tyler Maxwell Gordon; Amazing young man of 12-years old with his portrait of Susan. Tyler has been a professional Artist for just over a year.

Y5Z

Kaiser Permanente Hosted Table


Andy Nguyen

Special Assignment http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto “Fifty years ago, Spartan student-athletes Tommie Smith, 1969 Social Science, 2005 Honorary Doctorate, and John Carlos, 2005 honorary Doctorate, raised their gloved fists on the Olympic medal stand in a salute for human rights. As members of the Olympic Project for Human Rights (OPHR), their courageous stand  sent a powerful message to the world about the role athletes can play in creating change.”

Left to Right, Dr. Harry Edwards, emeritus of sociology at the University of California at Berkeley and Founder of the Olympic Project for Human Rights and Dr. Mary Papazian, President of San Jose State University.

John Carlos, Olympic medalist in the 200-meter sprint and member of the Olympic Project for Human Rights

- Mary A . Papazian, SJSU President

Tommie Smith, the Olympic gold in the 200-meter sprint at the 1968 games in Mexico City

Panelists (Left to Right) Spencer Haywood, Cleve Livingston, Paul Haffman, Wyomia Tyus, John Carlos, Tommie Smith, and Moderator Kenneth Shropshire

Y6Z


Andy Nguyen

Special Assignment http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

Wyomia Tyrus is the first person to win consecutive Olympic gold medals in the 100-meter dash in 1964 and 1968.

Tommie Smith, ’69 Social Science, ’05 Honorary Doctorate, and John Carlos, ’05 Honorary Doctorate, pose with the sculpture at San Jose State University that commemorates the courageous stand they took 50 years ago at the 1968 Olympics in Mexico City. Photo: Josie Lepe

Awed by a living history.

Panelists (Left to Right) C. Keith Harrison, Damion Thomas, Toni Smith-Thompson, Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, and Moderator Bill Rhoden

Y7Z


Making a Difference Teen Challenge; Annual Benefit and Celebration Teen Challenge held its Annual Benefit and Celebration, October 11 at Bethel Church of San Jose. A night to acknowledge the hard work and break achievements by everyone involved in Teen Challenge. 60 years ago someone decided that, at the time, young people needed an opportunity out of the awful circumstances they had gotten themselves into. That man David Wilkerson, possibly couldn’t imagine the scope of his legacy today.  The number of people, literally, rescued by this program is incalculable. But in souls and hearts for the many program participants, their families, sponsors, employers/employees, program workers and their communities impacted -- we are all richly rewarded with these people’s contribution to society.

TEEN CHALLENGE LIVING THE LEGACY Sing it loud, Sing it proud

https://www.teenchallengeusa.com

Tech ConneXt 16 HBCU were represented at Black Enterprise’s recent Tech ConneXt in the Bay Area.

3 local Media compadres representing; Radio is Harrison Chastang, Print is Brigitte Jones, and Digital Media is Ron Griffin

Y8Z


Excellent academics in a nurturing environment.

1198 Redmond Avenue San Jose, 95120 408.268.0794 www.holyspirit-school.org


Rotary Kids Leadership Starts Early to tackle community issues - head on. INTERACT is the service club portion of “young� Rotary that gives 12 - 18 years olds the opportunity to make a difference - real time - all the while fitting in a bit of fun. The purpose of INTERACT Club is to provide opportunities for these young people to work together in world fellowship dedicated to service and international understanding. This is to recognize and develop constructive leadership and personal integrity.

Revved Up

Aziz Akbari, Director Alameda County Water District

Y 10 Z

Early to rise, early to prize.


Good Conversation IBM Executive Lunch III IBM in Foster City held its 3rd in a series of a yearly gathering; cwith a call to a diverse group to join in conversation on Leadership, Diversity and Can we have it both ways; What does it take for those with high quality - hard earned careers to achieve an optimum quality of work life? Attendess came to hear how speakers from throughout the Bay Area share experiences of inclusion and commitments each has made and continues to make - with an everyday push for progress through actions and talent preparedness to guide you to that next professional opportunity.  The consensus of the crowd:  High skill set matched with focused ambition: such is a person who can not be held down or back -- for long.  “Ideas behind event: To bring together the Bay Area wide talented women

non technical and sales professions to provide a networking, mentoring, talent preparedness forum for their career journey. Opportunities to hear through the years from leaders in a range of fields over the last 6 years. Progressed: The event has started as a breakfast in the south bay IBM location with a capacity attendance of 290 each year, that included speed mentoring, panel, keynote and ending the day in the afternoon with an informal lunch to a shortened agenda with mid Bay Area location as Foster City that starts with lunch, keynote and panel. Surprising moment: After the second “Executive Breakfast” in 2014, the strong feedback was to expand the panel to 1 hour and to eliminate the speed mentoring as it was too open in conversation and attendees wanted private career conversations and would not get too deep in to their questions in an

open setting.” -Terry Davis, IBM San Francisco Site HR Leader, Senior HR Partner, Hybrid Cloud, Watson & Cloud Platform

“A lot of excellent material was shared over

Y 11 Z

the course of the session. I left wondering if there might be a way to share it with those outside the room to serve as: • A resource for individuals and groups not able to attend • A record of what was shared for future reference • A foundation upon

which to build in future sessions or other efforts The broader idea being to move an inspiring event for those in attendance at the time to being part of a shared learning that lives on and grows.” -Peter DiGiammarino Professional CEO


Shake It Off Millions of Californians Prepare to Participate in Annual ShakeOut Earthquake Drill Millions of Californians will take an important step toward earthquake safety this Thursday, Oct. 18, at 10:18 a.m. during the 10th annual Great California ShakeOut drill, by practicing how to “Drop, Cover, and Hold On” when the ground shakes. Most Californians live within 30 miles of an active fault. Scientists say there is a 99 percent chance of a magnitude 6.7 or greater earthquake striking our state within the next 30 years. “Knowing what to do when the ground shakes should be instinctive for everyone who lives in California,” said California Earthquake Authority (CEA) CEO Glenn Pomeroy. “This simple drill will save lives the next time California is hit by a powerful earthquake.” CEA is the notfor-profit provider of residential earthquake insurance in California and now insures more than 1 million homes. CEA has lowered rates by over 50 percent since

it was established in the wake of the 1994 Northridge earthquake, and now offers a wide range of coverage and deductible options. In addition to providing earthquake insurance, CEA has teamed up with the California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) to establish the Earthquake Brace + Bolt (EBB) program to help owners of older houses reduce expensive shake damage by bracing their raised foundation and bolting their house to the foundation in accordance with current building codes. Since the launch of EBB in 2013, more than 6,400 homeowners have received grants of up to $3,000 from EBB to retrofit their houses. “When the ground shakes under an older house that hasn’t been properly retrofitted, the house can act as if a rug has been pulled out from underneath it,” said Pomeroy. “Houses built prior to 1980 often topple completely off their foundation in an

earthquake and may not be livable for a couple of years—if they can be repaired at all.” Registration for the 2019 EBB seismic retrofit grant program is now open through Nov. 13 for eligible homeowners in select ZIP Codes. About CEA The California Earthquake Authority (CEA) is a not-forprofit, privately funded, publicly managed organization that provides residential earthquake insurance and encourages Californians to reduce their risk of earthquake loss. Learn more at EarthquakeAuthority.com.

Y 12 Z


0 0 . 9 9 1 $

Silicon Valley Business Center

per month for 6 months with agreement to rent for 6 months

25 Workstations Available

15

http://www.siliconvalleyworkspace.com 1-408-558-3600

1900 Camden Ave, San Jose, CA 95124

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

For more information visit BHPrinting.com or email dave@BHPrinting.com Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More

BOOK YOUR VACATION NOW – CALL FOR LIMITED TIME SAVINGS upto 2 FOR 1 Ultimate Hawaii Save $ New England & SAVINGS 900

Canadian Maritimes Cruise

15 days from $3,798* $1,899*

Departs September 11 & 25, 2018

Starting in Boston, explore the highlights of New England and the Canadian Maritimes. Visit an historic mansion in Newport, Rhode Island before enjoying the famous shores of Cape Cod. Board the Norwegian Dawn and sail to Portland, Halifax, Charlottetown, Gaspésie and La Baie. Following your cruise, explore Quebec City, Montreal and the Green Mountains of Vermont, all bedecked in vibrant fall colors. Port stops vary for the southbound cruise.

OR

Tour with Pearl Harbor Experience

per couple

13 days from $2,249* $1,799*

Departs weekly year-round

Enjoy a fully-escorted four island Hawaiian vacation with beachfront lodging on Kauai, Maui, and the “Big Island” of Hawaii, and in gorgeous Waikiki on Oahu. Includes a Pearl Harbor experience with stops at the USS Arizona Memorial and Battleship Missouri, historic Lahaina, Volcanoes National Park, plus our Farewell Feast with authentic Hawaiian entertainment and food. Price includes three interisland flights, baggage handling, and sightseeing.

FREE BEVERAGE PACKAGE OR INTERNET

YMT Vacations – the escorted tour experts since 1967! TM

Promo code N7017

1-877-818-2936

*Prices are per person based on double occupancy plus up to 299 taxes & fees. Cruise pricing based on lowest cabin category after 2for1 savings; upgrades available. Single supplement and seasonal surcharges may apply. Add-on airfare available. Free Beverage Package or Internet requires purchase of Ocean View Cabin or Balcony Cabin (and applies to 1st and 2nd guests occupying a cabin, for the cruise portion of the tour only). Free Beverage Package or Internet requires additional service charges and is subject to NCL terms & conditions and are subject to change. For full Set Sail terms and conditions ask your Travel Consultant. Offers apply to new bookings only, made by 7/31/18. Other terms and conditions may apply. Ask your Travel Consultant for details. $


D2 News Dear neighbors, Community members consistently approach me about the cleanliness, or lack thereof, of our City streets. Like most issues, there is no single, all-encompassing solution to our challenges with blight. The reality is that trash is a drain on City resources, and it impacts how we feel about our community.

#D2CleanStreets Initiative

Making our community cleaner is a priority for my office, which is why I have secured nearly $200,000 from the City’s budget to kick off several programs that are part of my action plan to help #beautifySJ, starting with District 2. My team and I are launching the #D2CleanStreets Initiative in South San Jose, a multi-faceted approach to combating the blight plaguing our streets. This initiative starts with three steps: 1. Downtown Streets Team: I know that we have notoriously blighted areas in District 2. I am hoping to change that by enlisting Downtown Streets Team (DST), a non-profit organization that contributes to a cleaner community. DST launched their empowering work experience program that engages homeless and at-risk individuals by having them clean up trash, litter, and graffiti while providing basic-need gift cards and hygiene kits on Thursday, October 18. This project is a one-year agreement with DST to clean up Monterey Road from Branham Lane to Ford Road three days a week and the corner of Blossom Hill Road and Snell Avenue one day a week. Additionally, the project shall have measurable benchmarks for items such as the amount of trash collected and the number of individuals engaged. DST will work with the District 2 Council Office to evaluate the effectiveness and impact of the project. 2. Project Hope: My office is also kicking off efforts to build community resilience and activation along the high-need area of Roeder Avenue and Roundtable Drive through Project Hope. Project Hope is a community-driven initiative led by the City’s Anti-Graffiti & Anti-Litter Program. It is a unique and innovative neighborhood engagement and improvement program that aims to improve the quality of life by addressing challenges comprehensively and collaboratively. Project Hope’s objective is to develop strong new community leaders and action-oriented neighborhood organizations. Program leaders have dedicated the next year to meeting with residents and getting them involved. If you share my vision of making our neighborhoods safer, cleaner, and more engaged, please contact Greg.Cajina@sanjoseca.gov. 3. Monterey Road Sound Wall: Over the years, District 2 has struggled with clearing graffiti along the Monterey Road sound wall. The greatest obstacle in tackling this problem is gaining permission to access the train tracks, which are Union Pacific property. Though I recognize the courage of neighbors who have taken it upon themselves to paint over the graffiti, we need a long term solution to this ongoing problem. My City Council colleagues and I have directed the City Attorney to negotiate a Memorandum of Understanding with Union Pacific to gain access to the train tracks. Having this access will allow us to clean the fence and potentially abate unsafe homeless encampments along the tracks. This is just one of my many long term solutions to making Monterey Road the “grand boulevard” our community deserves. I hope you recognize that my goal is to lead our community towards a cleaner version of itself. However, I cannot do this alone -- I need your support. I sincerely thank everyone who already contributes to community beautification projects. From Neighborhood Associations to student volunteers to park goers, we all have a civic responsibility to pitch in, clean our community, and work towards #D2CleanStreets. Visit my website for more information about #D2CleanStreets, and join our community efforts! Please contact my office if you have any questions.

In community, Sergio Jimenez District 2 Councilmember

Y 14 Z


OUT WITH CABLE. IN WITH SAVINGS. Get a $100 AT&T Visa® Reward Card† when you sign up for DIRECTV SELECT ™ Package or above. MUST MAINTAIN SVC & REDEEM W/IN 75 DAYS (CARD IN 4 WKS). Ends 9/30/18. Restrs apply. See below for offer details.

SELECT

INCLUDES: ™

All Included Package

35

$

00

MO. Plus taxes.

For 12 Months w/ 24-mo. agmt. Autopay & Paperless bill req’d. $78/mo. in months 13-24 (subject to change).*

Over 155 channels Monthly fee for a Genie® HD DVR

PLUS: Stream shows anytime on up to 5 screens simultaneously – no add’l equipment, no extra cost with the DIRECTV App.^

FOR CHILDREN AGES 2–8

Content/channels/functionality varies. Data charges may apply.

“This site is amazing! My children are excited to learn and they don’t want to stop. Thank you so much! ”

—Mother of 3- and 5-year-old girls

*$35 ACTIVATION, EARLY TERMINATION FEE OF $20/MO. FOR EACH MONTH REMAINING ON AGMT., EQUIPMENT NON-RETURN & ADD’L FEES APPLY. Price incl. SELECT All Included Pkg. , and is after $5/mo. autopay & paperless bill discount for 12 mo. Pay $40/mo. + taxes until discount starts w/in 3 bills . New approved residential customers only (equipment lease req’d). Credit card req’d (except MA & PA). Restr’s apply.

Ask me how to Bundle and save. CALL TODAY!

Special Offer

IV SUPPORT HOLDINGS LLC

855-532-1951 SELECT ALL INCLUDED PACKAGE OFFER: Ends 9/30/18. Available only in the U.S. (excludes Puerto Rico and U.S.V.I.). 1st & 2nd Year Pricing: $35 for first 12 mos. only. After 12 mos. or loss of eligibility then-prevailing rate applies (currently $78/mo. for SELECT All Included) unless canceled or changed prior to end of the promo period. Pricing subject to change. $5/mo. Discount: Must enroll in autopay & paperless bill within 30 days of TV activation to receive bill credit starting in 1-3 bill cycles. First-time credit will include all credits earned since meeting offer requirements. Must maintain autopay/paperless bill and valid email address to continue credits. No credits in 2nd year for autopay/paperless bill. Includes: SELECT All Included TV Pkg, monthly service & equipment fees for one Genie HD DVR, and standard pro installation. Exclusions: Price excludes applicable use tax expense surcharge on retail value of installation, custom installation, equipment upgrades/add-ons (min. $99 one-time fee & $7/mo. fee for each extra receiver/DIRECTV Ready TV/Device), and certain other add’l fees & charges. Different offers may apply for eligible multi-dwelling-unit and telco customers. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. Offers may not be combined with other promotional offers on the same services and may be modified or discontinued at any time without notice. Other conditions apply to all offers. †$100 REWARD CARD: Requires purchase of qualifying TV package (min. $35/mo promo price after discount that start w/i 3 bills & may req. AutoPay) through card fulfillment. Qualifying Packages: SELECT or above. Select locations. For new residential customers in the U.S. (excludes Puerto Rico and U.S.V.I.). Residents of select multi-dwelling units are not eligible for this offer. Reward Card: Will be sent letter with redemption requirements. Redemption req’d w/in 75 days from reward notification mail date. Reward Card delivered within 3-4 weeks after redemption to customers who maintain qualifying service from installation date and through reward fulfillment. Card expires at month-end 6 mos after issuance. No cash access. For cardholder agreement, go to rewardcenter.att.com/myrewardcard/agreement_FSV.pdf. AT&T Reward Card issued by U.S. Bank National Association, pursuant to license from Visa U.S.A. Inc. May not be combined with other promotional offers on same services and may be modified or discontinued at any time without notice. Offer ends 9/30/18. ©2018 AT&T Intellectual Property. All Rights Reserved. AT&T, Globe logo, DIRECTV, and all other DIRECTV marks contained herein are trademarks of AT&T Intellectual Property and/or AT&T affiliated companies. All other marks are the property of their respective owners.

FREE

More Than

9,000

F OR 3 0 D A Y S !

LEARNING GAMES AND ACTIVITIES

On Computer or Mobile Devices!

Visit ABCmouse.com/gift24 to redeem this offer.

Senior Market Sales_MB_5.0 x 6.0_AW18-1008

TM & © 2018 Age of Learning, Inc.

ADVANCED HEARING AID TECHNOLOGY

“I was amazed! Sounds I hadn’t heard in years came back to me!” — Don W., Sherman, TX

For Less Than $200

We Cover What MEDICARE Does Not

How can a hearing aid that costs less than $200 be every bit as good as one that sells for $2,250 or more?

At last! Affordable coverage1 for the important health services2 that Medicare does not cover. Dental: Use any dentist – including your own! Cleanings,

evaluations, x-rays, fillings, extractions crowns, bridges, dentures & more! Up to $2,500 annual benefit.

Vision: Our plan helps with exams, lenses, frames, contacts,

The answer: Although tremendous strides have been made in Advanced Hearing Aid Technology, those cost reductions have not been passed on to you. Until now... MDHearingAid® uses the same kind of Advanced Hearing Aid Technology incorporated into hearing aids that cost thousands more at a small fraction of the price. Over 300,000 satisfied MDHearingAid customers agree: High-quality, FDA-registered hearing aids don’t have to cost a fortune. The fact is, you don’t need to spend thousands for a hearing aid. MDHearingAid is a medical-grade hearing aid offering sophistication and high performance, and works right out of the box with no time-consuming “adjustment” appointments. You can contact a licensed hearing specialist conveniently online or by phone — even after your purchase at no cost. No other company provides such extensive support. Now that you know...why pay more?

fittings & more!

Can a Hearing Aid Delay or Prevent Alzheimer’s and Dementia?

Hearing: Hearing exam and hearing aids up to $500 annually

A study by the National Institute on Aging suggests older individuals with hearing loss are significantly more likely to develop Alzheimer’s and dementia over time than those who retain their hearing. They suggest that an intervention — such as a hearing aid — could delay or prevent this by improving hearing!

as part of your policy-year maximum benefit.

Get more information at:

TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OUR 45-DAY RISK-FREE TRIAL!

www.WeCoverDVH.com/valley 1. Policy provisions and benefits may vary from state to state. Some benefits may not be available in all states. 2. Dental and Vision plans may be purchased individually. Hearing plan available as part of a Dental/Vision package.

AW18-1008

Hearing is believing and we invite you to try this nearly invisible hearing aid with no annoying whistling or background noise for yourself. If you are not completely satisfied with your MDHearingAid, return it within 45 days for a FULL REFUND. Use Code HQ99 and get

For the Lowest Price Call

1-855-993-3921

FREE Batteries for 1 Year Plus FREE Shipping


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review October 19, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 18

The Bay Area Review October 19, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 18