__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 10

May 18, 2020

“YOU CAN’T QUARANTINE KINDNESS” SHIRT DESIGN CONTEST HAS A WINNER

Coastal Kids Health Care hosted a press conference om Thursday, May 7 announcing the winners to their “You Can’t Quarantine Kindness” t-shirt design contest. Artists from 0-21 submitted original artwork for the chance to be featured on one of their t-shirts. Contestants received two free shirts-one for themselves and one for someone of their choosing (i.e. Coastal Kids nurse, your favorite mail carrier, a hardworking teacher, mom). Shirt purchases will help fund CKHC’s inhome care for medically fragile kids. CKHC’s resources have been stretched tremendously due to COVID-19. Hospitals around the Bay Area are doing everything possible to avoid having children in their facilities.

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Reaction & Response: R & R DuringCOVID-19 By Perry Clark LMFT #110594

The news recently reported that the “Shelter in place” order has been extended. At the same time, there are protests and pushes to open business’ before solid standards for people’s protection are in place.

[Continued on Page 9]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

See Page 6

See Page 10

See Page 11

Ultimately, there are at least two forces in action in this. These forces are not necessarily at odds with each other but are at odds with the situation and the consequences that come from COVID-19. [Continued on Page 2]


May 18, 2020

Mental Health

Reaction & Response: R & R DuringCOVID-19

[Continued From Page 1]

Minority Owned Business Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda McElroy Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor - public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry Photographer: Andy Nguyen http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

TBAR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of The Bay Area Review. All submissions become the property of Triple e Media Group, LLC and cannot be acknowledged.

One force is Reaction & Fear. The other is Response & Love. The force of Reaction & Fear is based in the survival systems of flight, fight, & freeze. These systems are great when the car in front of us moves into our lane unexpectedly or when throwing a punch. These survival systems are based on dealings with momentary, fast acting issues. They are based in the fear that the body is in danger and it has only seconds to act. Yet, as the world has become more complex, this system has morphed into one that causes people to become more easily manipulated against their best selfinterest. Decisions that are made with this force can extend towards future consequences - some small; others larger and long lasting. The force of Response & Love, on the other hand, is based on future, long-term thinking that use our experiences as a guide. With those experiences and awareness of the world around us we can make predictions based on the constants that we have come to know. We know that if we do not hit the breaks or swerve, we will hit the car that has moved into our lane unexpectedly. However,

we could also hit something if we shift into the other lane or shoulder. Hitting the brakes poses a risk of being hit from behind. We also can take our foot off the accelerator and honk the horn to make them aware of our presence. These choices give us a measure of control over which response we will take and depend on how we love not only ourselves but those around us. Any choice has potential consequences and we take that into consideration. In the choices we face while driving, there are risks of damaging the vehicle as well as risks of not damaging the vehicle. However, sometimes, not damaging the vehicle ends up putting someone else in danger. There are multiple factors we can account for, giving us a view of all the consequences, the ability to avoid some, the the ability to accept others for the long term future. Our physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual health is effected by and dependent on whether we are operating with the force of Reaction & Fear or Response & Love. On the grand scale, each of these forces are present in the choice to protest to open business’ before protections are designed and put in place. They are also a part of the choice to extend the

“Shelter in Place” order to lessen the exposure of risk as to not overload the medical systems. Despite the what is said, the greatest chance of getting through this pandemic is keeping our medical system going long term. On a smaller scale, these forces are present in our daily lives at home. For example, how we choose to react to working from home with the kids constantly making noise or asking for a snack; working in an essential position and adapting to ever changing policies; or acknowledging the difficulties that our family, peers, and ourselves are having with all of this, and accepting it. Are we fighting this pandemic head on (going to work, wearing masks, or keeping our distance) or are we fleeing from it (acting as if it does not exist)? Neither of these forces are working against each other because they both are present in our decisions all the time. The only change is the percentage of which

we are using in our decision making. 50-50? 70-30? 15-85? So what percentage of either force influences the decision to go get your hair done instead of staying home? How much of our past pain and trauma coincide with our ability to accept and be resilient causes the decision to explode at our children or spouse and then seek out a bottle? What percentage of anxiety causes us to refrain from talking to a friend via phone or teleconference instead of reaching out? All of our decisions are based in the forces of Reaction & Fear and Response & Love that are present in the moment. If you would like to explore these dynamics and their influences on you and your life choices, look into your mental health. Once you identify which is the predominate force at play in you decision making, you can change it or accept it. Please contact a licensed Mental Health Professional.

Perry Clark LMFT #110594

Untangle & Grow Counseling 25 N. 14th, Ste. 505, San Jose , Ca 95112 (408) 890-7554 (Google voice) (408)503- 0026 (Fax)

Pclark@untangleandgrowcounseling.com www.untangleandgrowcounseling.com


May 18, 2020 Over the last several weeks our community has worked together to bend the COVID-19 curve and protect our hospitals from becoming overwhelmed. So far, we’ve seen encouraging outcomes, but our work isn’t done quite yet. You’ve probably heard that the Health Officer of the County of Santa Clara County has modified our stay at home order. I understand that this brings up many emotions, including perhaps some hope and disappointment, but it’s critical that our collective efforts continue so we do not lose the progress we’ve achieved. Below you’ll find some more helpful information on COVID-19 and our county’s response. Because of the substantial progress our community has achieved in slowing the spread of COVID-19, this updated Shelter-in-Place Order allows certain additional businesses and activities to resume, subject to restrictions to reduce transmission risk. The Order also makes important changes to the Social Distancing Protocol requirements for all operating businesses. This new Order will

What changes does this new Order make? The May 22 Order allows several new categories of businesses and activities to reopen, subject to specific conditions and limitations. It also keeps key restrictions in place, requiring people to stay in their homes except when engaging in certain essential or allowed activities. The activities and businesses allowed to reopen under the new order are referred to as “Additional Activities” and “Additional Businesses” and are explained in Append ices C-1 and C-2 to the Order. These and other significant changes are highlighted below.

only for curbside/outside pickup or by delivery. Customers are not allowed to enter these retail stores. These retail stores must also comply with several additional operating conditions, including: - They cannot move goods outside the store to display and sell. - They must limit the number of workers inside the facility as described in the Order. - They must have direct access to a sidewalk, street, outdoor walkway, parking lot, or alley for pickup. • The Order also allows businesses that support these retail businesses to resume operating, including those that manufacture goods sold at these stores and businesses that provide warehousing and distribution services. • Outdoor museums, historical sites, and publicly accessible gardens are allowed to reopen, but visitors are restricted to outdoor areas.

Additional Businesses: • Retail stores may reopen for sales, but

Additional Activities: The May 22nd Order allows people to

go into effect at 12:01 am on Friday, May 22, 2020, and will remain in effect until the Health Officer amends or rescinds it. This new Order replaces the prior order, which went into effect on May 4, 2020. We refer to the May 4 order as the “Prior Order” and this new Order as the “May 22nd Order” or “Order.”

Page 3

District 15 News

participate in car parades, so long as they ride in cars only with members of their households and do not leave the cars during the parade or stop to gather at a fixed location. Bicycles and motorcycles are not allowed to join car parades. Social Distancing Protocol: • The May 22nd Order updates the Social Distancing Protocol (Appendix A to the Order) to incorporate new State of California requirements for training personnel and other measures. • To operate, all businesses must complete a Social Distancing Protocol using the new template or update their Protocols to incorporate the new requirements. A copy of the Protocol must be distributed to all employees. • To show that they are implementing the Social Distancing

Protocol to keep their staff and customers safe from COVID-19, all businesses must print and post in a prominent place near the entrance to the businesses (1) a COVID-19 PREPARED Sign and (2) a Social Distancing Protocol Visitor Information Sheet. Both the Sign and Visitor Information Sheet can be found in Appendix A to the Order. • All businesses must post signage required in the Social Distancing Protocol to educate customers about health and safety requirements. Sign templates are available on the County’s website. Sincerely, Jim Beall Senator, 15th District

https://sd15.senate.ca.gov/ Senator.Beall@senate.ca.gov

Place Your Ad Here! Promote Your business with Us! Email The Bay Area Review at advertising@thebayareareview.com or call (408) 898 - 7534


Page 4

May 18, 2020

Public Health

Santa Clara Hospitals Part of National COVID-19 Convalescent Plasma Study As one of the hardest hit locations in California, treatment options for hospitalized COVID-19 patients is of critical importance. The clinical staff at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, O’Connor Hospital and St. Louise Regional Hospital are participating in a Mayo Clinic sponsored research study regarding convalescent plasma. The study began at all three facilities on April 9, 2020. COVID-19 convalescent plasma is being made available to eligible, admitted patients who are critically ill and determined to be at highrisk for developing severe symptoms. Goals of the research include determining whether plasma from people who have recovered from

COVID-19 can improve oxygenation and reduce the requirement for mechanical ventilation, intensive care unit (ICU) admission, and death; and if the COVID-19 convalescent plasma assists in the treatment of SARS-CoV-2 infection by providing patients with antibodies against the virus, while waiting for patients’ immune system to mount an effective response. Physicians are hopeful that this intervention will provide clinical improvements, but it is too early to arrive at any conclusion. “Infections like the new coronavirus are dangerous because we do not have antibodies against them. We hope to learn if supplying antibodies can save

lives,” says Dr. Dayani Nualles-Percy, the lead investigator of the study at SCVMC. “Given the lack of natural immunity and the lack of a vaccine, plasma therapy may help to provide the body what it needs to fight the infection.” The Food and Drug Administration has issued guidance for the use of investigational COVID-19 convalescent plasma, including expanded access to convalescent plasma given the unprecedented nature of this infection and the lack of effective treatment.

0

If you have recovered from COVID-19 you may be eligible to donate convalescent plasma and can donate at: • American Red Cross at https://www. redcrossblood.org/ donate-blood/dlp/ plasma-donationsfrom-recoveredcovid-19-patients.

htmlite • FDA COVID-19 plasma donation at https://www.fda. gov/emergencypreparednessand-response/ coronavirusdisease-2019covid-19/donatecovid-19-plasma).

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE Demolition

r--------------- ,-------------------•

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF:: Any proJ· ect

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


May 18, 2020

Introducing Our 2020 Outrun Lupus Virtual 5K Honoree! MEET FRANCIS NGUYEN

Francis was 11 years old when he was diagnosed with (SLE) systemic lupus erythematosus in 2017. Before his diagnosis he was an active, friendly, confident boy who would only wear shorts. Within a few short months, everything changed. The first day back to the new school year, no one seemed to recognize him physically with long pants, long-sleeve shirts, a brim hat and a completely different person. Francis had difficulty regaining confidence and barely talked to anyone. He felt lonely and isolated. During this difficult time he and his family found support from the Lupus Foundation of Northern California. He was welcomed into

the community with open arms and hearts. He found that he was not alone in this fight. Francis gradually regained confidence and started socializing and engaging again. Francis realized that his life would not be normal

like the other kids and he also wanted to help other young lupus patients. He and his parents started the Lupus Youth Support Group. This group is open to kids from 6-17 and meets every month to share information about the Lupus experience,

Community diagnosis, treatment and to support each other during the difficult time. Francis strongly believes one day there will be a cure for Lupus just as there is always a light at the end of the tunnel. He counts on everyone who would join him in the Outrun Lupus Virtual 5K and make a difference. Francis is forever grateful for the love, support, and prayers from his family, friends and community. We honor Francis and his commitment to improving the lives of fellow youth with Lupus and are pleased to announce Francis is the honoree at our 26th Annual Outrun Lupus 5K—for his

inspiration, courage, and persistence—we applaud Francis! Be sure to join Team Francis on Saturday May 30th for the Outrun Lupus Virtual 5K 2020. To register or learn more go to https://runsignup. com/Race/CA/Campbell/ OutrunLupus5K

ATTENTION COMMUNITY! Is anyone in the Bay Area looking for a very practical way to help others during this time? I work at Cristo Rey San Jose Jesuit High School in East San Jose. We serve all low income - primarily Latino- students. Since the shelter-in-place started, we have been distributing food to our families every Tuesday. As this shelter-in-place continues, our families have indicated growing food insecurities as many have lost their jobs. The ask...if you would like to help us make sure our families have enough food on their tables, we could use more food to supplement our current program. Next time you go to the grocery store or order online, would you consider buying a second bag of potatoes or another jar of peanut butter for our families? I would be happy to arrange a physically distant pick-up and make sure the food makes it directly to our families! I would be happy to answer more questions if you have any! -Linda Nguyen Ed.D. Educational Leadership for Social Justice, Student | LMU M.A. Theological Studies, 2017 | LMU B.A. Business Administration, 2013 | LMU 310 619 8647

Page 5

What we need - Loaves of sliced bread - Peanut Butter - Jelly - Butter - Pasta - Pasta Sauce - Bags of potatoes - Bags of oranges - Bags of apples - Flour - Laundry Detergent - Clorox/Lysol Wipes - Clorox/Lysol Cleaner - HOT CHEETOS and ARIZONA ICED TEAS lol


Page 6

May 18, 2020

Bittersweet Goodbye

Assistant Chief of Police Dan Winter Announces Retirement after 32 Years in Law Enforcement On Friday, May 15, Assistant Chief of Police Dan Winter announced his intentions to retire next month after serving in law enforcement for 32 years. Winter was hired by the Santa Clara Police Department in 1999. Winter said he’s continuing his law enforcement journey by accepting a security leadership role with Intel Corporation which is headquartered in Santa Clara. “I have been friends with Dan for decades and am not at all surprised that he was recruited by a multinational technology company due to his law enforcement expertise and strong leadership qualities,” said Chief of Police Pat Nikolai. “He

has been an invaluable resource to me as I transitioned to Chief. I have appreciated his support and willingness to share ideas for the future of the department. Dan will be sorely missed by everyone here at the Santa Clara Police Department.” “Dan’s departure is a great loss to our police force,” said City Manager Deanna J. Santana. “Dan’s proven he’s a distinguished law enforcement professional, and I’ve very much appreciated his professionalism as we worked through some challenging issues together and wish him the very best. This is also a testament to our Police Department producing really good public

safety professionals who premiere tech firms want to recruit.” Per the City Charter, City Manager Santana is the appointing authority for City officers and employees. She is committed to working collaboratively with elected Chief of Police Nikolai in the selection of the next person for this police command position. Winter’s last day with the department will be in June 2020. For more details about Dan’s law enforcement career, view his bio at https://www. santaclaraca.gov/ourcity/departments-g-z/ police-department/ about-us/commandstaff-bios/bios-chief-ofpolice-dan-winter.

FINE GARDENER (408) 423 - 9488 www.finegardener.net

Design • Build • Irrigate Smaller Projects Welcome! Spring is for planting: flower and veggie beds, drought tolerant/pollinator gardens, uncommon trees and shrubs. We serve the Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Saratoga, Monte Sereno, Los Gatos, Campbell, West San Jose, and Santa Clara areas.

One solution for oxygen at home, away, and for travel Introducing the INOGEN ONE It’s oxygen therapy on your terms No more tanks to refill. No more deliveries. No more hassles with travel. The INOGEN ONE portable oxygen concentrator is designed to provide unparalleled freedom for oxygen therapy users. It’s small, lightweight, clinically proven for stationary and portable use, during the day and at night, and can go virtually anywhere — even on most airlines. Inogen accepts Medicare and many private insurances!

Reclaim Your Freedom And Independence NOW!

Call Inogen Today To Request Your FREE Info Kit

1-650-383-1866 © 2020 Inogen, Inc. All rights reserved.

MKT-P0108


May 18, 2020

COVID-19 HAS TRANSFORMED HUNGER AT HOME

Helping Hands

Organization continues to provide food to its nonprofit partners feeding hungry and homeless individuals in Silicon Valley

500 cars wait at 7AM despite Hunger at Home starting distribution at 11AM

Shelter-in-place orders have decimated many Silicon Valley businesses leaving hundreds of thousands of workers jobless. In response, Hunger at Home transformed its business model, using its massive food production and distribution capacity to provide meals and groceries directly to those who are suddenly food insecure. Hunger at Home has brought together professional chefs and hospitality executives from such Bay Area entertainment venues as Oracle Park, Levi’s Stadium, and Chase Center to prepare critical food for those in need locally. Since mid-March, they have turned tons of donated food into over 300,000 delicious, wellbalanced meals and have given grocery bags to those who may go hungry without assistance.

About Hunger at Home Each day in Silicon Valley, tens of thousands of pounds of excess food and surplus goods are dumped in our landfills and go to waste. In a Valley where one in three people experience food insecurity, Hunger at Home was created to connect this food and goods to those in need. Hunger at Home partners with local convention centers, hotels, and sports stadiums to collect excess food and goods to distribute to the homeless and hungry through a robust nonprofit network. To date, Hunger at Home has donated 3 million meals locally and helped distribute much needed goods like towels, blankets, kitchen items, and hygiene kits. Hunger at Home also proudly assists its charity and nonprofit partners with job placement and equipment needs. www.

hungerathome.org. Hunger at Home Distribution Center, 1560 Berger Drive, San Jose, CA 95112.

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025


May 18, 2020

“YOU CAN’T QUARANTINE KINDNESS” SHIRT DESIGN CONTEST HAS A WINNER

[Continued From Page 1] CKHC is taking on more children than they ever have before to help keep them safe in their homes. “We may all experience different things, but we all deserve kindness. Showing kindness and being genuine in every interaction you are a part of can have a larger impact than you realize.” — Kelli Keady, 1st Place Winner (ages 14-21) “Kindness is important right now because people are struggling, and we need to help them.” — Elise Rosenthal. 1st Place Winner (ages 8-13) “When people wear

masks you can’t tell if they are smiling. Hopefully, these shirts will make people smile and remind everyone to be kind during this very difficult time.” — Terry Downing (mother of a child being cared for by CKHC) About Coastal Kids Home Care Coastal Kids Home Care is California’s only nonprofit pediatric home health agency, improving the quality of life for children healing from injury or shortterm illness, coping with chronic condition or developmental delays, and those facing the end-oflife.

To all of our participants, We want to say THANK YOU. Thank you for sharing your art and your stories of kindness in quarantine with us. Your artistic talents will bring compassionate medical care to kids all in the comfort of home. With love, CKHC TEAM Would you like one of these t-shirts? Order today at https://www. bonfire.com/store/ coastalkidshomecare/.

Page 9

Making a Difference


Satellite Internet That is Unlimited With No Hard Data Limits! 2

FREE Standard Installation

3

Limited Time Offer! Restrictions may apply.

25 Mbps Download Speed 25mbps download and 3mbps upload1

“You can get High-Speed Internet wherever you live!”

No Hard Data Limits

2

5

Wi-Fi Built-In

Connect your wireless devices at home

Call For Special Offers In Your Area Pricing varies by region

CALL TODAY - LIMITED SPECIAL OFFERS IN YOUR AREA!

1-877-695-7948

HughesNet is a registered trademark of Hughes Network Systems, LLC, an EchoStar Company. 1 The HughesNet Gen5 service plans are designed to deliver download speeds of 25 Mbps and upload speeds of 3 Mbps, but individual customers may experience different speeds at different times of the day. Speeds and uninterrupted use are not guaranteed and may vary based on a variety of factors including: the configuration of your computer, the number of concurrent users, network or Internet congestion, the capabilities and content of the Websites you are accessing, network management practices as deemed necessary, and other factors. When you connect to the HughesNet service using Wi-Fi, your experience will vary based on your proximity to the Wi-Fi source and the strength of the signal. 2 If you exceed your monthly plan data, you will experience reduced data speeds until the start of your next billing period. Reduced speeds will typically be in the range of 1 – 3 Mbps and may cause Web sites to load more slowly or affect the performance of certain activities, such as video streaming or large downloads/uploads. 3. Free standard installation applies to new Lease subscribers only. Not valid with Purchase option. Limited-time offer. Restrictions may apply. 5. Per the “5th, 6th, 7th and 8th FCC Measuring Broadband American Reports.”

669-214-0508

Home & Away...Help is on the way! MobileHelp is the premiere Medical Alert System that provides emergency coverage inside your home and throughout the USA.

FRE E G W/P IFT URC HAS E

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

To get Life Saving Information and a FREE BROCHURE, call MobileHelp today! • No equipment to buy. • Sign up in minutes. Activation is simple. • No long term contract.

Optional Fall Button™ with Automatic Fall Detect ■ ■

Comfortable and lightweight Signals for help even when you can’t press your button*

Call for a FREE Brochure!

1-650-900-7973 $

FREE Emergency Key Holder

Get your free Emergency Key Holder when you purchase a MobileHelp service plan.

$

$

MobileHelp Exclusive Offer

Offer valid while supplies last.

29 95

$

VALU

E!

$

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Fall Button™ is not intended to replace a caregiver for users dealing with serious health issues. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is an FDA registered company. MHP-06631A

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121


Prepare for power outages with a Generac home standby generator SCHEDULE YOUR FREE IN-HOME ASSESSMENT TODAY!

650-900-9379

FREE

7-Year Extended Warranty* A $695 Value!

up/ k Pic ivery! l De

Benson’s Cleaners Services

• Full Service Dry Cleaning and Alterations • Wedding Gowns Special *Stored with Care* • Convenient Wash N Fold *We Sort, Launder, and Fold* • It’s Getting Cold! *Bring in Your comforters and blankets* • Ask about Rug Cleaning *Hand Made Persian Style* • Drapery Cleaning

Offer valid March 16, 2020 - June 30, 2020

Special Financing Available Subject to Credit Approval

408-997-6144 bensonscleaners.com

5965 Almaden Expressway #160 Mon - Fri 6:30 am - 6:30 pm Saturday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

*Terms & Conditions Apply

DONATE TODAY!

https://gardeniasociety.org/musicians-in-crisis-due-to-coronavirus-cancellations/


Page 12

May 18, 2020

Los Gatos Local

#FeedTheNeed #FEEDtheNEEDBAYAREA is an community-driven emergency fund to provide immediate economic relief to the most vulnerable citizens in the Los Gatos area, including seniors, displaced Los Gatos employees and medical workers at our local hospitals. This effort is a partnership with the Los Gatos Chamber of Commerce and Live Oak Senior Nutrition and Service Center. With the help of your donations, our team of volunteers, neighboring restaurants, and community agencies provides FREE hot meals to local non-profit agencies, local hospitals, shut-in senior citizens, and low-income families in the Los Gatos area. #FEEDtheNEEDBAYAREA allows Los Gatos restaurants keep a portion of their staff employed by preparing meals at a flat rate. DONATE NOW at https://www.gofundme.com/f/feed-the-elderly-affected-bycovid19: Every $10 donation = 1 hot meal for someone in need. Donations can also be mailed to Los Gatos Chamber Hospitality Fund, 10 Station Way, Los Gatos, CA 95030 Thank you for helping us #FeedTheNeed. Alex Hult, owner and founder of Flights Restaurants, immediately reacted to shelter-in-place order across the Bay Area in the wake of the national crisis. He wanted to keep his employees and other restaurant workers in Los Gatos employed, so began

Show us your sidewalk chalk art! Post a photo of your sidewalk chalk artwork, and share to Instagram with the hashtag #LGsidewalkchalk. On June 1st, Mayor Jensen will pick a winner who will win a gift card to a local Los Gatos business! #LGsidewalkchalk #contest #losgatoslibrary #losgatosca


3-4 Person Office Space For Rent! $1500/month Roughtly 180 ft2

408-558-3600 1900 Camden Avenue San Jose, CA 95124 siliconvalleyworkspace.com

We care deeply about your health, wellness, and safety. In these unnerving times we want to express our appreciation to our community as we work together to safely navigate the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19). For members wondering if it is safe and or legal to come to SVBC the answer is YES. After reviewing the Order Of The Health Officer and discussing with the Dave Cortese we have concluded that we are EXEMPT from the shut down. We are an essential business as we house Mail Service for all members and small business operations. We are to continue working to assist our members during the crisis. Here are some of the things we are doing in response to the coronavirus: • We have intensified cleaning procedures and are working more deeply to disinfect the entire facility daily to prevent germs from spreading and to ensure your safety. • We are closely monitoring the guidance of local health officials and the CDC and are following all recommendations to provide for our guests safety and comfort in our facilty. • Given the uncertainty surrounding the coronavirus, if you have a reservation and feel sick or otherwise do not feel up to coming in, please reach out to us and we will provide you with a credit, cancelling, rescheduling and or assist you with any questions you may have. • If you plan on coming to the office, please practice social distancing in our facility. Lets try to stay 6ft apart and please remember to wash your hands frequently.

Please know we are here for you! You can reach us at 408-518-9284 or email Gregg, Tina or Nelia. Hours of operation are to remain the same, Monday-Thursday 8:30-6pm and Friday 8:30-5pm. Be well, and stay safe! SVBC STAFF


Page 14

May 18, 2020

Call to Arms

Santa Clara Calls For Volunteers Contact Tracers

The County of Santa Clara is seeking volunteers to support the vital function of case investigation and contact tracing. This function will ensure that we collectively can quickly contain transmission of the Coronavirus to small clusters and prevent widespread transmission that leads to exponential case growth and an overwhelmed healthcare system. Contact tracing capacity is one of five key indicators monitored by Bay Area Health Officers as they consider further easing shelter-in-place

orders. Today’s announcement continues the County’s intensive efforts to scaleup contact tracing, with a goal of building a workforce of nearly 1,000 people -- more than twice the size of the existing Public Health Department. County workers have shifted their duties to respond to the pandemic as contact tracers. To supplement this effort, volunteers from the community are needed to fill key roles. All members of our community are encouraged to join this effort by completing an

online survey to share their interest, skills, and availability. The County’s goal is that a majority of the contact tracing staff and volunteers have capability in languages other than English, particularly Spanish and Vietnamese. This work can be done from home as long as volunteers have reliable internet, access to a computer, and a place to make private phone calls. The volunteer application website is available at www.sccgov. org/icanhelp. Contact tracing prevents additional cases by interrupting chains of transmission, or the spread of the virus, especially by people who don’t yet know they have COVID-19 or who don’t feel sick. As shelter-inplace restrictions are rolled back, there will be an increased number of contacts to each new COVID-19 case, and the Public Health Department anticipates it will need to reach up to 21,000 contacts of exposed individuals each week at the peaks of transmission.

“Right now our daily case counts and the number of people they have come in contact with remain low, thanks to the community’s effort to shelter in place over the past weeks,” said Dr. Sarah Rudman, Assistant Health Officer. “Contact tracing is a fundamental public health strategy that we use for many contagious diseases. In order to ease restrictions, we know that we need to be prepared to reach out to every case, ensure they are able to safely isolate, and prevent further transmission by notifying any person with whom they have been in close contact, which will require this significant expansion of our contact tracing team.” Volunteers will be teamed with Public Health Department staff; other County, City, and local government workers redeployed as Disaster Service Workers; and newly hired staff and contractors. Team members will interview cases, call potential contacts, enter and

manage data, and identify resources needed to ensure appropriate follow up and compliance with isolation and quarantine. They will receive training from the County and nonprofit partner Heluna Health on interviewing skills, contact tracing software, privacy obligations, and other topics. “We have been heartened by the immense interest from our community to work together as we respond to this pandemic,” said County Executive Dr. Jeffrey Smith. “Effective response to COVID-19 takes all of us, working together, and volunteers are a key part of our contact tracing community outreach. If you are interested in joining us, please take a look at the requirements and apply.” Read more about the County’s expanding case investigation and contact tracing work at https:// www.sccgov.org/sites/ covid19/Pages/contacttracing.aspx?mc_ cid=b076405456&mc_ eid=c4fcc9a7b1.

Free Home Repairs for Eligible Homeowners! No cost critical repairs and safety modifications are available to Low-Income Santa Clara County homeowners through Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley. This program is partially funded by local cities and the county through the Housing and Community Development Act, CDBG program. Some of their work has been suspended in response to the shelter in place order, but low income homeowners who occupy their home needing critical repairs or safety modifications should contact Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley at 408.578.9519 or go to www.rtsv.org. Prospective clients should leave a message regarding their need and their call will be returned as soon as possible.


May 18, 2020 Dear Friends,

Page 15

District 3 News

As Santa Clara County ramps up its COVID-19 testing capacity, one of the key tools to determining the health of our community, the Public Health Department has revised its recommendations for testing categories. Of course, anyone with symptoms – fever, cough, trouble breathing – should consult a medical provider to discuss his or her condition and seek testing. The Public Health webpage has recommendations for what to do if you are sick. The Public Health Department is also recommending testing for many categories of people even if they do not have symptoms of COVID-19, including: • Those who were notified that they were exposed to someone who was confirmed to have COVID-19. • Those who work in high-risk congregate settings such as skilled nursing facilities, other long-term care facilities, jails, or shelters. • All hospital employees, including healthcare workers and essential service employees. • Other healthcare workers, first responders, and essential service employees, including grocery clerks, utility workers, food supply workers, or others with frequent contact with the public. • All patients in hospitals, including those who are undergoing elective surgeries or procedures. • Anyone over age 60 OR anyone of any age with chronic medical conditions that increase the risk of severe COVID-19 illness. The County has increased the number of free testing sites, including three in San Jose and one in Gilroy: • Community testing is available at the Santa Clara County Fairgrounds, 344 Tully Road, and at the San José PAL Stadium, 680 S 34th Street, to anyone who meets the testing criteria. This testing is offered through Project Baseline, a project of the State of California and Verily. Visit the screening tool at https://www.projectbaseline.com/study/covid-19/eligibility/ to determine if you are eligible for these services. Testing at the Fairgrounds is a free, drive-through service. Testing at the PAL Stadium is a free walkup and drive-through service for participants walking or driving to the location. Both sites operate from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., Monday through Friday. • Two new COVID-19 testing sites have opened at James Lick High School in San Jose, 2951 Alum Rock Avenue, and Christopher High School in Gilroy, 850 Day Road. Both sites operate from 7 a.m. to noon and 1 to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday. Tests are by appointment only. Appointments can be made by calling 1-888-634-1123 or visiting lhi.care/covidtesting. Anyone who meets the testing criteria can be tested regardless of insurance or immigration status. Appointment and testing services will be available in English and Spanish. These sites are operated through a County partnership with the State, OptumServe and the Santa Clara County Office of Education. Click here to schedule a free test. For more information on testing, visit the Public Health Testing webpage at https://www.sccgov.org/sites/covid19/Pages/covid19-testing. aspx#who. As always, you can reach my office at 408-299-5030, email me at dave.cortese@bos.sccgov.org or visit the District 3 webpage at supervisorcortese.org. Don’t Forget to follw me on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

Stay safe, Dave Cortese County Supervisor, Third District @davecortese

@davecortesegov

@DaveCortese


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review, May 18, 2020  

ISSUU Verbiage: The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 10

The Bay Area Review, May 18, 2020  

ISSUU Verbiage: The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 10