__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 9

May 4, 2020

Conservation Grazing on the San Mateo Coast

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

People Who Give Us Hope: Trina Hineser

Aerial view of Toto Ranch looking south. Dry Creek and Tunitas Creek riparian corridors comprise much of the northern border of the ranch. Photo credit: POST

Commendations to the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District (MROSD) Board members for their unanimous approval of a five-year conservation grazing lease with the Markegard family on the

953-acre Toto Ranch, just south of Tunitas Creek on the San Mateo coast. Conservation grazing is distinguished from conventional ranching in that its primary purpose is to carry out conservation goals of protecting and

increasing grassland habitat biodiversity. MROSD has adopted conservation grazing goals on coastal Open Space Preserves that (1) maintain and enhance the biodiversity of threatened grassland habitat, (2) manage vegetation fuel for fire protection, and (3) support local coastal agricultural uses. [Continued on Page 9]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

See Page 6

See Page 10

On March 1, Trina Hineser became the new Executive Director of the Land Trust of Santa Clara Valley, a nonprofit that protects natural habitat and agricultural lands in Santa Clara County through conservation easements and land acquisition. We are very pleased to see Trina, who graduated from Green Foothills’ Community

See Page 11

Advocates Leadership Academy in 2018, step into this leadership role. While the Land Trust has faced some very challenging times over its 22 year history, Trina is equal to the task and excited by the opportunity to elevate the organization’s work and impact. [Continued on Page 9]


May 4, 2020

From Crisis to Recovory

Minority Owned Business Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda McElroy Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor - public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry Photographer: Andy Nguyen http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

TBAR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less.

To our Stanford Live family, Like all of you, our team is living in uncertain times. May and June are traditionally allocated to winding down one season and launching the next. Instead, our days are currently spent sheltering in place, social distancing, and finding remnants of human connection in daily Zoom meetings and virtual happy hours with co-workers, friends, and family. We continue to be cultural omnivores, albeit through other mediums. Recorded music, livestreams, film, and literature are providing the escapism required to keep us sane. The question that we’re all grappling with is this: What will Stanford

Live and the arts and entertainment industries look like in the coming months and years? At the moment, no one has an answer. The best we can do is map out a number of potential scenarios that enable us to pivot as external environmental factors continue to shift around us. With that in mind, please know that we are still planning to move forward with our 2020–21 season launch on May 27. We’ll be planning a virtual event where you can hear directly from our team about the exciting performances we have in store next year, with your drink and snack of choice in hand! Stay tuned for more details. While there will

certainly be a number of caveats as we continue our journey, it is of utmost importance that we strive to support both Stanford’s academic mission and our beloved artists, while keeping our audiences and staff safe. As we move from crisis to recovery, we firmly believe that the arts will play a central role in making society whole again. We thank you—our Stanford Live family—for going on this journey with us and hope that we can all be together again soon.

For ongoing live performance curated especially for you, be sure to visit our digital season and follow us on Facebook and Instagram. Stay well and take care— we miss you! Sincerely, Chris Lorway, Executive Director, Stanford Live

Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of The Bay Area Review. All submissions become the property of Triple e Media Group, LLC and cannot be acknowledged.

May celebrates Lupus Awareness Month and we'll be finishing the month with a bang, virtually— with our 26th Annual Outrun Lupus 5K run/walk on Saturday May 30! Since we can’t run/walk together, we can at least share our 5K running and walking experiences online, and spread critical awareness about lupus amid this COVID-19 health pandemic. Participation is easy!

1: Register to participate from a location of your choice 2: Track your time and course (with Strava or MapMyRun phone apps). 3: Upload your times to the Outrun Lupus 5K website

The Outrun Lupus Virtual 5K, now in its 26th year, benefits the Lupus Foundation of Northern California, whose focus continues to be on the needs of lupus patients and families in the Northern California region. The Foundation provides innovative programs that reach patients here and beyond our borders. If you cannot sign-up for the virtual 5K, please consider creating a fundraising team or making a donation. Thank you for your participation and support!

Registration is Open! Let's #OUTRUNLUPUS

https://runsignup.com/Race/ Register/?raceId=74078


May 4, 2020

Happy APA Heritage Month and Welcome to the Virtual Celebration! In the United States, the month of May each year is celebrated as Asian Pacific American Heritage Month. This annual celebration came about in 1978 when President Jimmy Carter signed into law a Joint Resolution of the Congress of the United States designating the month of May for the celebration of Asian and Pacific Islanders culture and heritage. In 2005, a new community tradition was born in San Francisco when Mayor Gavin Newsom embraced the proposal by former OCA National President Claudine Cheng, to launch an annual official celebration of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month in San Francisco. The Mayor’s APA Heritage Celebration Committee, comprising of a diverse group of APA community representatives, was established to coordinate this community celebration. In 2010, the

APA Heritage Foundation was incorporated as a nonprofit organization to help secure sponsorships and resources needed to carry on the annual festivities. Over the years, this annual community celebration has been made possible through the generous support of businesses and community sponsors as well as professional services. This year is a little different due to the current situtaion of COVID-19. With the social distancing ordanance in place, during the month of May this year, we welcome you to post stories and share events relevant to the recognition and celebration of APA Heritage Month in our Facebook Group. Go to https://www.facebook. com/groups/apaheritage/ amd join our group to begin sharing! Be healthy and safe, and enjoy all the art and cultural programs from your home, brought to

you by the APA Heritage Foundation, Asian Art Museum, Center for Asian American Media and the San Francisco Public Library.

Page 3

Celebrate Asian American films, music and performances have been an important part in the nation’s

appreciation of diverse cultures. We are excited to share programs from CAAMFest. Learn more at https://apaheritage. org/online/film/.

The San Francisco Public Library has put together a list of fantastic Asian Pacific Islander American Heritage Month 2020 resources guide that illuminates Asian American stories. Check it out at https:// apaheritage.org/online/ read-learn/

Lean into #MuseumFromHome and engage with art at a distance. We hope these resources will keep your spirits up and the inspiration flowing. Learn More at https:// apaheritage.org/online/ asian-art/

Place Your Ad Here! Promote Your business with Us! Email The Bay Area Review at advertising@thebayareareview.com or call (408) 898 - 7534


Page 4

May 4, 2020

Public Health

New Public Health Order Changes Rules for Some Businesses

We want you to be aware of several changes to the Santa Clara County Public Health Order that might affect your business. The new Public Health Order goes into effect May 4. It replaces the previous order, and will extend through May 31. The changes include: • Construction is now allowed to proceed, as long as projects comply with new safety protocols. • Several types of “outdoor businesses,” such as landscaping and plant nurseries,

may also resume operations with enhanced safety protocols. • Childcare establishments, summer camps, schools, and other educational and recreational programs can operate under limited circumstances to serve essential workers. • In their Social Distancing Protocols, essential businesses must now ensure that personnel and

customers wear face coverings when entering their facilities (except those customers for whom face coverings are not recommended, like very young children). The new Order is available at the County website: https://www. sccgov.org/sites/covid19/ Pages/order-healthofficer-050420.aspx With best wishes for your health and the success of your business, Office of Economic Development Team.

The City of San Jose wants you and your employees to have important information

0

about the COVID-19 pandemic and is sending this email to the emergency contact address that you gave the City when your business registered in the San Jose tax system or that you provided later. If you would like to receive these notices at an additional address you can subscribe to one or more of the following distributions: BusinessOwnerSpace. com Notices – Small businesses can keep informed about workshops and other services offered by over 30 small business assistance organization programs through this subscription. SJ Economy Notices – The City of San Jose Office of Economic Development sends out a regular notice about

issues of interest to San Jose businesses. Go to https://www.sanjoseca. gov/news-stories/news/ enotification. City of San Jose COVID-19 Flash Reports – Updates and announcements from the City of San Jose about COVID-19 are distributed in the morning and late afternoon to subscribers. Subscribe at https:// www.sanjoseca.gov/ news-stories/news/ enotification. Go to https://www. sjeconomy.com/why-sanjose/covid-19-guidance for City of San Jose COVID-19 Updates.

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE Demolition

r--------------- ,-------------------•

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF:: Any proJ· ect

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


May 4, 2020

Page 5

District 1 News

VMC Heroes Honored With the lights of a few dozen first responder vehicles lighting the way to work Wednesday, medical staff members at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center in San Jose were greeted with applause, cheers and signs of support from first responders. Agencies including the San Jose Police Department, Santa Clara County Sheriff’s Office, Campbell Police

Department, San Jose Fire Department and Santa Clara County Fire Department lined up on both sides of Turner Drive

Property Tax Relief In order to provide some tax relief for property owners, my colleagues and I approved waiving late penalties and costs related to the Secured Property Tax bills that were due on April 10, 2020. Normally, late payments earn a 10% penalty. If you have

already paid your taxes with penalties, you can expect a refund of the penalties over the next few weeks. If you haven’t paid yet, go to https:// payments.sccgov.org/ propertytax for more information.

The workers must be 16 years of age and come with a signed Codes of Conduct. They must wear close-toed, non-skid shoes such as sneakers. They must have hair covered, e.g., baseball caps, hairnets. They need

long pants or knee-length shorts, with shirts/tops that are modest and not revealing. For further information, please go to marthas-kitchen.org and click to volunteer or donations.

about 6:30 a.m. to greet some of those battling on the frontlines of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Serving a Need Martha’s Kitchen has fed the valley’s low-income, families, homeless, and seniors for over 30 years. During this most stressful times, M.K. has been deemed as an “essential service” and are proud to announce they will continue to serve the Bay Area residents with meals-to-go bags. It is the best option to provide meals during the COVID-19 crisis. C.E.O of MK, Bill Lee states, “Martha’s Kitchen’s greatest need besides donations is to fill positions of volunteers to prep and serve our neighbors. We need both morning and

afternoon volunteers on Tuesday and Wednesday, though we need morning volunteers probably even more so right now.” Lee goes on to say, “It takes a cast of thousands (donors and volunteers) to feed the hungry at M.K.” The Kitchen dubbed ‘the little soup kitchen that could’ has been operating in Silicon Valley since 1981. Mrs. Benton, a Willow Glen resident who saw a need, started Martha’s Kitchen. Many homeless men needed a meal. She decided she would convert her garage into a feeding station. She started by serving peanut butter sandwiches.

The need was great and she soon realized she needed a bigger hall to feed people who would go for days without a meal. Nowadays, the hall in the parking lot of Sacred Heart Catholic Church in Willow Glen serves hundreds of clients each week. The need is so great and the resources a few. Lee states, “Our dedicated volunteers collect donated food, prepares it, and serves meals each week. We believe we have found the best volunteers anyone could ask for”. The volunteer guidelines are as followes:


Page 6

May 4, 2020

District 4 News Dear D4 residents, As we approach our seventh week of shelter In in place, I am reaching out today because I want to say on behalf of our Board and our public health officials – thank you. Our community has stepped up and stayed home. That action of staying home, which literally feels like non-action, has saved lives. Yet, this action has also come at an enormous cost to many businesses and lives. We are now in a place where we must balance the continued necessity of protecting life with mitigating the impacts to our social fabric and economy. So many of us are ready to think about how we roll back the strict rules under which we are all living. The number of new cases has flattened, but not yet dramatically

diminished. Our hospitals are managing the number of new admissions and building steadier supplies of personal protective equipment, but skilled nursing facilities continue to be hotbeds of transmission. We need to increase the number of trained field workers who can conduct thorough contact tracing so we can do targeted isolations rather than the current widespread quarantine. We have accomplished a heroic amount of good, but we aren’t ready to breathe a sigh of relief. Over the next five weeks, some businesses will begin to reopen. The majority of us must continue to stay home, stay away from one another and stay healthy. Santa Clara County and our partners led the Country in instituting a shelter in

place order. We can lead again through a phased, carefully thought out re-opening. We can and must prioritize those who have been most negatively impacted by the virus and attendant shut downs: tens of thousands of our neighbors have lost their jobs and are worried about losing their homes, feeding their children, paying their bills and finding new work. While numerous federal and state programs are being stood up to support those who are struggling, the road will still be fraught with challenge and we have to look out for those who might otherwise be forgotten or left behind.

FINE GARDENER (408) 423 - 9488 www.finegardener.net

Design • Build • Irrigate Smaller Projects Welcome! Spring is for planting: flower and veggie beds, drought tolerant/pollinator gardens, uncommon trees and shrubs. We serve the Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Saratoga, Monte Sereno, Los Gatos, Campbell, West San Jose, and Santa Clara areas.

Many County residents will face significantly greater need at the same time our local expenses are sky rocketing and revenues are being significantly dismissed. Tough times lie ahead. And yet, when we look ahead to recovery, I think about many of the innovations that this public health crisis has in many ways forced upon us and I hope that as we move back into an active economy, we don’t lose those lessons. We have made changes in the way we work, learn, engage with health care providers, approach criminal detention and value our social connections. We have seen what we can and cant live without. We have seen how vital childcare is to a functioning workforce. We have stepped up to deliver food, sew masks, contribute dollars and expand internet access. We have publicly declared that many of our lowest

wage workers are our most ESSENTIAL workers, so we had better recognize them as such when the crisis passes. Whatever that future holds will be dependent on the partnerships and collaboration that we form and strengthen now to work together to combat this crisis and the way we hold ourselves accountable today, not for a return to the old normal but to a new, higher baseline that leaves no one behind, will be our greatest legacy. -Supervisor Susan Ellenberg Website: https://www. sccgov.org/sites/d4/Pages/ home.aspx Phone: (408) 299-5040 Fax: (408) 299-2038 Email: supervisor. ellenberg@bos.sccgov.org​​​​​​​

Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors 70 W Hedding St. San Jose, CA 95110

SAVE THE DATE Saturday, May 9, 11:00 AM

District 4 Virtual Townhall

Hosted By Assemblymember Evan Low & Supervisor Susan Ellenberg


May 4, 2020

Interview Spotlight

In case you missed the announcement in our newsletter last week, here is the first of a series of interviews with our scholars. Our Latinx Scholar Chat is an interview series with our Latinos in Technology Scholarship Recipients and the President and CEO of the Hispanic Foundation of Silicon Valley, Ron Gonzales. This interview series dives deep into the lives of our

scholars and unveils what they are currently working towards, one conversation at a time. We kick off our first interview with Shaneen Britton, a 2018 scholarship recipient who is wrapping up her last semester at the University of California - Santa Cruz. As she prepares to graduate with a degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in a few weeks, she sets her

sights on obtaining a Ph.D. next in pursuit of her dream job. You don’t want to miss out on this conversation between Shaneen Britton and Ron Gonzales. If you like what you see, let us know by subscribing to our Youtube channel and leave a comment! Stay tuned for our next interview. Although Latinos represent 28% of the total population in Silicon Valley, only 3% are in the high tech work force. With 39% of the K-12 student population identified as Latino, we anticipate the challenge to continue growing. The Latinos in

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025

Interview Highlight

To view the Interview, go to https://www.youtube. com/watch?v=rCvTXEcVwXM&feature=youtu.be

Technology Scholarship supports Latino college students in 2 ways: • Financial. We will financially support Latino students who have declared a major in a STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) related field. • Internships. We will pipeline our scholars into summer internship programs with our investors (with the hope that job offers are made

upon graduation.) This program will provide up to 100 scholarships annually for three (3) years to incoming Latino college juniors who have chosen a STEM (science, technology, engineering, math) related major. Additionally, sponsoring corporate investors will provide summer internships to the scholarship recipients.

One solution for oxygen at home, away, and for travel Introducing the INOGEN ONE It’s oxygen therapy on your terms No more tanks to refill. No more deliveries. No more hassles with travel. The INOGEN ONE portable oxygen concentrator is designed to provide unparalleled freedom for oxygen therapy users. It’s small, lightweight, clinically proven for stationary and portable use, during the day and at night, and can go virtually anywhere — even on most airlines. Inogen accepts Medicare and many private insurances!

Reclaim Your Freedom And Independence NOW!

Call Inogen Today To Request Your FREE Info Kit

1-650-383-1866 © 2020 Inogen, Inc. All rights reserved.

MKT-P0108


May 4, 2020

Conservation Grazing on the San Mateo Coast

[Continued From Page 1] The Markegard family uses what is referred to as regenerative grazing practices. These practices improve soil health, conserve water, enhance the diversity of native plant and animal communities, and help foster appreciation for the coastside’s rural agricultural heritage. We look forward to more ranchers adopting conservation grazing

practices that help achieve MROSD goals in the future. Supportive of MROSD Coastside Mission Statement Green Foothills has been supportive of MROSD’s Coastside Mission Statement that it adopted after expanding its boundaries to include the coast in 2004: “To acquire and preserve in perpetuity open space land and agricultural

land of regional significance, protect and restore the natural environment, preserve rural character, encourage viable agricultural use of land resources, and provide opportunities for ecologically sensitive public enjoyment and education.” We wanted to be sure that the productive farm fields and hillside grazing lands remain in agricultural use, wherever

Happy Star Wars Day May the 4 T H Be With You

Page 9

Coastside Views feasible. While strict zoning regulations have prevented subdivision of large land holdings on the coast, the increased value of farmland over time has threatened to replace family farms with McMansions, often with only token farming or none at all. MROSD and its conservation partner, Peninsula Open Space Trust (POST) have stepped up to help support

small, local farmers and ranchers while preserving open space and providing for public access. We welcome their efforts as it’s more important than ever to have sustainable, viable, local sources of food to increase our resilience to the effects of climate change and help people who live in increasingly urbanized areas feel a connection to our productive farmlands.


Satellite Internet That is Unlimited With No Hard Data Limits! 2

FREE Standard Installation

3

Limited Time Offer! Restrictions may apply.

25 Mbps Download Speed 25mbps download and 3mbps upload1

“You can get High-Speed Internet wherever you live!”

No Hard Data Limits

2

5

Wi-Fi Built-In

Connect your wireless devices at home

Call For Special Offers In Your Area Pricing varies by region

CALL TODAY - LIMITED SPECIAL OFFERS IN YOUR AREA!

1-877-695-7948

HughesNet is a registered trademark of Hughes Network Systems, LLC, an EchoStar Company. 1 The HughesNet Gen5 service plans are designed to deliver download speeds of 25 Mbps and upload speeds of 3 Mbps, but individual customers may experience different speeds at different times of the day. Speeds and uninterrupted use are not guaranteed and may vary based on a variety of factors including: the configuration of your computer, the number of concurrent users, network or Internet congestion, the capabilities and content of the Websites you are accessing, network management practices as deemed necessary, and other factors. When you connect to the HughesNet service using Wi-Fi, your experience will vary based on your proximity to the Wi-Fi source and the strength of the signal. 2 If you exceed your monthly plan data, you will experience reduced data speeds until the start of your next billing period. Reduced speeds will typically be in the range of 1 – 3 Mbps and may cause Web sites to load more slowly or affect the performance of certain activities, such as video streaming or large downloads/uploads. 3. Free standard installation applies to new Lease subscribers only. Not valid with Purchase option. Limited-time offer. Restrictions may apply. 5. Per the “5th, 6th, 7th and 8th FCC Measuring Broadband American Reports.”

Home & Away...Help is on the way! MobileHelp is the premiere Medical Alert System that provides emergency coverage inside your home and throughout the USA.

FRE E G W/P IFT URC HAS E

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

To get Life Saving Information and a FREE BROCHURE, call MobileHelp today! • No equipment to buy. • Sign up in minutes. Activation is simple. • No long term contract.

Optional Fall Button™ with Automatic Fall Detect ■ ■

Comfortable and lightweight Signals for help even when you can’t press your button*

Call for a FREE Brochure!

1-650-900-7973 $

FREE Emergency Key Holder

Get your free Emergency Key Holder when you purchase a MobileHelp service plan.

$

$

MobileHelp Exclusive Offer

Offer valid while supplies last.

29 95

$

VALU

E!

$

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Fall Button™ is not intended to replace a caregiver for users dealing with serious health issues. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is an FDA registered company. MHP-06631A

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121


Prepare for power outages with a Generac home standby generator SCHEDULE YOUR FREE IN-HOME ASSESSMENT TODAY!

650-900-9379

FREE

7-Year Extended Warranty* A $695 Value!

up/ k Pic ivery! l De

Benson’s Cleaners Services

• Full Service Dry Cleaning and Alterations • Wedding Gowns Special *Stored with Care* • Convenient Wash N Fold *We Sort, Launder, and Fold* • It’s Getting Cold! *Bring in Your comforters and blankets* • Ask about Rug Cleaning *Hand Made Persian Style* • Drapery Cleaning

Offer valid March 16, 2020 - June 30, 2020

Special Financing Available Subject to Credit Approval

408-997-6144 bensonscleaners.com

5965 Almaden Expressway #160 Mon - Fri 6:30 am - 6:30 pm Saturday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

*Terms & Conditions Apply

DONATE TODAY!

https://gardeniasociety.org/musicians-in-crisis-due-to-coronavirus-cancellations/


Page 12

May 4, 2020

District 17 News

4th Emergency COVID-19 Response Bill Passes

Last month, Congress passed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act which provided much needed financial support to individuals and businesses struggling during the COVID-19 crisis. One of the programs created by the CARES Act was the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP), which provided much-need loans to small businesses, but recently ran out of money. Speaker Pelosi and I co-wrote a letter calling on Treasury Secretary Mnuchin to protect employees working for start-up small businesses

across Silicon Valley. To fix this, Congress just passed a new relief package that provides an additional $310 billion to the loan program in order to help struggling businesses weather the storm and keep employees on payroll. The bill also authorizes $75 billion to support hospitals and other health care providers and $25 billion to expand COVID-19 testing. This crisis is far from over, so we must take the preventative steps necessary to slow the spread while still protecting and stimulating our economy.

District Office Update Our Santa Clara office has received hundreds of requests regarding the repatriation of U.S. Citizens abroad, small business loans, stimulus checks, housing insecurity, and unemployment assistance. When a constituent inquiry is not a federal level issue, our staff provides direct resources and contact information to the pertinent agency that can provide needed services. In addition to the COVID-19 requests that we are handling, our office continues to work on immigration,

Veterans Affairs, Social Security, Medicare, and Internal Revenue Service casework. This pandemic has affected thousands of constituents and it is our privilege and duty to provide support during such a time. Please call my office at (408) 436-2720 between 9:00am and 5:00pm Monday-Friday if you need assistance. Your call will be promptly answered (remotely) by my staff. You can also contact me online at any time at Khanna.house.gov/ contact. We are ready to help.

Appointment to White House Reopening America Task Force The COVID-19 crisis has had significant negative effects on our economy, health care system, and daily lives. The American people need action, support, and direction from the federal government. I have stayed in touch with Silicon Valley residents to provide information and to hear from so many of you seriously affected by this crisis. The Small Business Administration’s Paycheck Protection Program is stretched thin and millions of

Americans are filing for unemployment every week. We need a path forward. That’s why I, along with several of my colleagues, accepted President Trump’s invitation to serve on the bipartisan White House Coronavirus Advisory Council. While I have proposed legislation providing recurring cash payments to most Americans for up to one year, the long-term solution for the economy is to get people back to work. However, we must do so in the safest, most

responsible way possible. The task at hand is too important for partisanship, so as a member of the Council, I will continue fighting for people to receive the relief they need now to make it to the other side of COVID-19. I am also calling for massive investment in advanced manufacturing, innovative scientific advancement, and smart technology, so that we can reduce our dependence on China, Germany, and help prevent a global catastrophe like this in the future.

Essential Workers Bill of Rights Essential workers are on the frontlines of this pandemic, and many are working in high-risk conditions without the appropriate equipment, safety standards, or job protections. They aren’t just doctors and nurses, but also grocery and drug store employees, delivery drivers, and many others. These workers have proven themselves integral to keeping this country functioning during the pandemic and they deserve better support and protection,

which is why I joined with Senator Elizabeth Warren to introduce the Essential Workers Bill of Rights, the tenets of which are outlined below. 1. Health and safety protections 2. Robust compensation 3. Protections for collective bargaining 4. Universal paid sick, family, and medical leave 5. Protection for whistleblowers 6. An end to worker

misclassification 7. Health care security 8. Support for childcare 9. Treating workers as experts 10. Holding corporations accountable While many of us shelter-in-place and work from home, these workers risk their health and safety to keep our essential industries going. We count on them to support us, but now we need to make sure they can count on us to support them.


3-4 Person Office Space For Rent! $1500/month Roughtly 180 ft2

408-558-3600 1900 Camden Avenue San Jose, CA 95124 siliconvalleyworkspace.com

We care deeply about your health, wellness, and safety. In these unnerving times we want to express our appreciation to our community as we work together to safely navigate the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19). For members wondering if it is safe and or legal to come to SVBC the answer is YES. After reviewing the Order Of The Health Officer and discussing with the Dave Cortese we have concluded that we are EXEMPT from the shut down. We are an essential business as we house Mail Service for all members and small business operations. We are to continue working to assist our members during the crisis. Here are some of the things we are doing in response to the coronavirus: • We have intensified cleaning procedures and are working more deeply to disinfect the entire facility daily to prevent germs from spreading and to ensure your safety. • We are closely monitoring the guidance of local health officials and the CDC and are following all recommendations to provide for our guests safety and comfort in our facilty. • Given the uncertainty surrounding the coronavirus, if you have a reservation and feel sick or otherwise do not feel up to coming in, please reach out to us and we will provide you with a credit, cancelling, rescheduling and or assist you with any questions you may have. • If you plan on coming to the office, please practice social distancing in our facility. Lets try to stay 6ft apart and please remember to wash your hands frequently.

Please know we are here for you! You can reach us at 408-518-9284 or email Gregg, Tina or Nelia. Hours of operation are to remain the same, Monday-Thursday 8:30-6pm and Friday 8:30-5pm. Be well, and stay safe! SVBC STAFF


Page 14

May 4, 2020

Community Highlight

People Who Give Us Hope: Trina Hineser

[Continued From Page 1]

Over 15 Years of Community Service For Trina it’s never been about the size of her role in any given endeavor, it’s about helping to obtain the best outcome. This has been true since her first foray into community advocacy more than 15 years ago. It began with her involvement in a case of horse abuse across from her home in San Martin, in southern Santa Clara County. Along with other neighbors, Trina gathered documentation of violations and brought it to the attention of the County’s District Attorney and helped connect horse rescue organizations with the County’s Animal Services. The owner

of the animals was eventually convicted and sentenced to jail time and strong restrictions were imposed on his owning animals in the future. The incident served as a catalyst to greater commitment to her community and the environment. A strong believer in acting on what you want changed, Trina became involved in the San Martin Neighborhood Alliance (SMNA), a nonprofit working to protect the community’s rural atmosphere through responsible growth and community engagement. First helping with graffiti removal efforts and a scholarship program for various community endeavors, Trina went on to become a SMNA Board

Touch of London Wellness Retreat 1275 Lincoln Ave Suite 8 A&B San Jose, CA 95125 408-297-4899 www.violetjspa.com wellness@violetjspa.com Violet Johnson is a retired nurse, midwife, and psychologist from England. She has numerous credentials in cosmetology, aromatherapy, and infant massage. She is a public speaker and specialist in multinational skin care and has worked in Willow Glen for 20+ years.

Director and served six years as Board President. During her tenure as SMNA President, she instituted quarterly meetings with guest speakers from a variety of agencies that allowed the community to relay and discuss issues of concern and receive timely and relevant information. The community valued these meetings to the point that SMNA had to change their meeting location to accommodate the increase in residents’ attendance. Trina also led the SMNA through a number of significant land use issues, including joining Green Foothills in opposing the City of Morgan Hill’s plans to annex and develop on farmland in the Southeast Quadrant, an area adjacent to San Martin. Her appointment to the San Martin Planning Advisory Committee (SMPAC), which she now chairs, has provided her with another outlet to weigh in on land

• Natural Skin Care Products • Luxuary Facials • Massage Therapy • Custom Nutritional Plans

use matters that affect her community. As a member of SMPAC, she has worked with the County’s Planning Department to increase the committee’s visibility and voice in its advisory role to the County Planning Commission and Board of Supervisors and advanced the discussion about the future of this rural community. Lifting Others into Leadership Roles In 2019, Trina stepped down from her role as SMNA Board President and became a Director Emeritus. She credits Green Foothills’ Community Advocates Leadership Academy (CALA) for providing her with the valuable advice of knowing when to take a step back to enable others to step into a leadership role. Implementing this advice helped SMNA transition to new leadership after having Trina be the driving force of the group for more than 6 years. Appreciating the knowledge gained as part of the CALA 2018 cohort, Trina encouraged other Board members to apply for the program. Since then, two other SMNA Board members have graduated from CALA. From Horticulture to Land Conservation Once a political

science major who switched to horticulture, Trina’s journey so far has woven political and environmental issues together in service of her community. From visits to County Supervisors’ offices to champion San Martin land use and code enforcement issues, to writing articles in local newspapers highlighting challenges faced by her community, to bringing neighbors together for Trash Bash events for which she gained support from the County, Trina’s persistent efforts have earned her the respect of San Martin residents. But for Trina, the most gratifying part of her work has been facilitating connections that bring people together to find solutions to issues big and small. We know that this will serve her well in her new Executive Director role, working collaboratively with other agencies and organizations like Green Foothills to protect the natural habitats and agricultural lands of Santa Clara County.


May 4, 2020

Page 15

City Update 24-hour Friendship Line for Seniors

4th of July All-City Picnic and Fireworks Extravaganza Cancelled Cancellation of annual City of Santa Clara event based on latest State and County public health orders Due to the coronavirus pandemic, Santa Clara city leadership has made the very difficult decision to cancel this year’s 4th of July All-City Picnic & Fireworks Extravaganza. Based on Governor Gavin Newsom’s update this week where he laid out his roadmap for re-opening California with 4 stages, coupled with the revised local order that goes into effect May 4, cancelling the Independence Day celebration was the safest option for Santa Clara, given the seriousness of this public health emergency. “During the COVID-19 outbreak, we are all making sacrifices for the health, safety and well-being of everyone in our community,” said Mayor Lisa M. Gillmor. “Cancelling our 4th of July festivities – one of our city’s most popular events – is in the best interest of all Santa Clarans and was not taken

lightly. I very much look forward to the day when we can all come together again and celebrate our resilient city.” Cancelling the event now also avoids the expenditure of City funds on advanced vendor contracts for the event that typically features live entertainment, carnival games, food and fireworks. The City’s 4th of July All-City Picnic and Fireworks Extravaganza is a very popular community event with about 10,000 participants. Per the current Shelter-in-Place orders, the public is advised to stay home and practice social distancing. Mass gatherings are also

not allowed. The last time Santa Clara canceled its 4th of July event was during the Great Recession for economic reasons. About the City of Santa Clara Located at the heart of Silicon Valley about 45 miles south of San Francisco, the City of Santa Clara truly is “The Center of What’s Possible.” Incorporated in 1852, Santa Clara covers an area of 19.3 square miles with an estimated population of 129,498. Santa Clara is home to an extraordinary array of high-tech companies, including Applied Materials, HewlettPackard, Intel, Nvidia, Oracle, and Ericsson. The City of Santa Clara is also home to Santa Clara University, California’s Great America Theme Park, and Levi’s® Stadium, home of the San Francisco 49ers and SB50. For more information, go to SantaClaraCA.gov.

Are you a Senior living alone? Do you have elderly parents or friends who might need some help? The Institute of Aging 24-hour toll-free Friendship Line is a crisis line for older adults and adults living with disabilities. Specialists at the Friendship Line offer emotional support, elder abuse reporting, well-being checks, grief support, active suicide prevention, as well as information and referrals for isolated individuals. Call the Friendship Line at 800-971-0016.

Resister Today

https://streetsteam.networkforgood.com/ events/20642-shelter-without-placeunderstanding-the-impact-of-covid-19-on-ourunhoused-neighbors-event-four-helping-at-atime-of-crisis


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review, May 4, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 9

The Bay Area Review, May 4, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 9