__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 6

March 28, 2020

Governor Newsom and Mayor Liccardo to Tour Bloom Energy Ventilator Refurbishing Site

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

World of Pinot Noir 2020

Governor Gavin Newsom

KR Sridhar, CEO

Mayor Sam Liccardo

Getting the Facts

Governor Gavin Newsom visited the Bloom Energy ventilator refurbishing site in Sunnyvale on Saturday, March 28 with San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo. Through a partnership with the state, the company has transformed its production facility to quickly refurbish lifesaving ventilators that the state had held in storage. The Governor and the Mayor toured the site and met with company leadership before hosting a pooled press conference. [Continued on Page 9]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

See Page 6

See Page 8

[Continued on Page 12]

See Page 8


March 28, 2020

Bringing the Stage to You

Minority Owned Business Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda McElroy Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor - public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry Photographer: Andy Nguyen http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

TBAR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of The Bay Area Review. All submissions become the property of Triple e Media Group, LLC and cannot be acknowledged.

As you know, "the show must go on" is a mantra in our business. Unfortunately, these times have made it challenging to experience live performance together as a community. Our hearts are with artists and audiences around the world who are dealing with uprooted tours, cancellations, and more—and the healthcare workers and volunteers holding our communities together. We are also so grateful for the kind notes we've received from patrons and the hard work of our staff during this unprecedented time. We can't wait to be back in action when the time is right. So—in the spirit of show-biz, we've pulled together a "digital season" that brings many of the artists who were scheduled to perform at Stanford Live straight into your homes. Pour yourself your favorite beverage—no protective lids required—and enjoy the show at https:// live.stanford.edu/node/1780.


March 28, 2020

A Note from our Executive Director

Page 3

Public Notice

With the acceleration of domestic coronavirus developments, Stanford University has extended its previous restrictions on large-scale university gatherings to now include events of over 35 people through May 15. As a result, Stanford Live is canceling all performances within that timeframe. Due to recent shelter-in-place mandates from Santa Clara county, our team is working remotely until April 7. Below is a list of all Stanford Live cancellations at this time: • 4/1 Film Screening: Birth of a Movement • 4/1 & 4/2 Choir of St John’s College, Cambridge • 4/3 Bang on a Can All-Stars • 4/4 Gong Linna: Cloud River Mountain • 4/5 Invoke Multi-String Quartet • 4/8 Margaret Atwood in Conversation • 4/10 St. Lawrence String Quartet: Good Friday Liturgical Performance • 4/10 Songs of Protest: Bruce Cockburn • 4/15 Rebirth of a Nation • 4/16 Film Screening: Queen of Ireland • 4/16 Daniel Caesar & Jessie Reyez at Frost Amphitheater, copresented with Goldenvoice • 4/18 Maria Schneider Orchestra • 4/18 Oysterhead at Frost Amphitheater, copresented with Goldenvoice • 4/22–4/26 Scott Joplin’s Treemonisha • 4/27 Sarah Chang with Telegraph String Quartet • 5/1 & 5/2 Malpaso Dance Company • 5/3 Lang Lang • 5/6 Van Anh Vo & the V’AV Ensemble • 5/6 Rob Kapilow’s What Makes It Great? The Music of Cole Porter • 5/7 Rob Kapilow’s What Makes It Great? John Adams’ Shaker Loops • 5/13 New Century Chamber Orchestra with Daniel Hope • 5/31 Necati Çelik with Denise Gill Updates on Frost Amphitheater performances will be available in the coming days. Updates on the performance of “Is This A Room” running May 14–16 will be available in the coming weeks. For the latest on all performances, please visit our performance visit our calendar page. As cancellations of performances and gatherings have rapidly become more widespread in the wake of COVID-19, the financial impact on artists and presenters around the world has become a harsh reality. If you would like to support our mission during this difficult time, please consider donating your ticket as a tax-deductible gift to Stanford Live. For donations, visit live.stanford.edu/changes. For refunds, contact the Bing Box Office at 650.724.2464 or by email at bingboxoffice@ stanford.edu. Our box office hours are Tue–Fri, 12pm–5pm. We thank you in advance for your patience as our team manages the high volume of calls and inquiries during this time. As this situation evolves, we will reach out to all ticket-buyers with additional information. Continuing updates will be available for the university community at healthalerts.stanford.edu. We know that this news may be a great disappointment to many, and we sincerely thank you for your support during this difficult and unprecedented time in the performing arts world.

Sincerely, Chris Lorway, Executive Director Stanford Live


Page 4

March 28, 2020

Los Gatos Local

Our website is updated with all the restaurants (members & non-members) available for takeout & delivery, as well as member merchants to interact with remotely. And a list of our member that are "essential services" who are open.

https://www.losgatoschamber.com/ Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson Test Positive for Coronavirus businesses-open

https://www.losgatosca.gov/2584/COVID-19

Merchants With Online and/or Remote Services


March 28, 2020 Dear Constituents:

Page 5

District 15 News

Millions of Californians have already been impacted by COVID-19 and as we start to adjust to our new normal, it is important for us to find ways to safely help one another. Today, in that spirit, I joined over 30 of my colleagues in asking Governor Newsom to do more for California’s renters. Currently, only 50 of the 539 cities and counties in our state have put temporary eviction bans in place. It is vital that the entire state adopts this moratorium.

With many renters out of work and rent due the first week of April, it is critical that the state acts swiftly to assure tenants will not be evicted. Governor Newsom announced a plan to help homeowners across the state today, and now we need a plan for all of California’s renters. These are unprecedented times and they call for unprecedented measures. I am hard at work meeting with my fellow legislators advocating for a statewide solution. Stay Safe & Healthy, Senator Jim Beall

Website: https://sd15.senate.ca.gov/ Email: Senator.Beall@senate.ca.gov

Out of concern for public safety and the recommendations of health officials, we have cancelled the 2020 Rotary Club of Los Gatos Great Race on April 19. However, we are excited to offer an alternative safe event during the absence of any group activities in the next 3-4 weeks: The Great Social Distancing Race. In ordinary times, we have always felt virtual races have been the refuge of race directors who don’t want to put in the work. However, these are not ordinary times and we thought people would enjoy an opportunity to do something semi-organized in a safe environment. Our virtual race allows you to run 4 miles in a venue and at a time of your choice prior to May 1. Time and distance verification is encouraged through Strava, Garmin, or Asics Runkeeper for which you were all sent an email for a free download when you registered for the Great Race. However, it is not required and the honor system will be respected. More details can be found at www.lggreatrace.com.

Silicon Valley Business Center Presents

PlUG & PLAY CAFE Grand Opening Celebration

March Special - Half off your drink orders a selection of salads, pastries and small bites to enjoy Now offering Peets Fine Coffee Roasts: 8AM to 3PM 1900 Camden Avenue San Jose, CA 95124 408-558-3600


Page 6

March 28, 2020

Public Health

COVID-19 Update (March 25, 2020, 5:15 p.m.) This is a summary of the City of Santa Clara’s latest response efforts along with impacts to local events and City programs/services due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) public health emergency. Current Developments • As of Wednesday, March 25, the City’s Emergency Operations Center (EOC) is now fully activated to increase our ability to maintain situational awareness, manage resources, and coordinate public information for this rapidly evolving situation. • The EOC became partially activated on March 11, 2020. • School closures have been extended through May 1, 2020

to help prevent the further spread of COVID-19. • The Santa Clara County Office of Education stated, “Education will continue through flexible learning, meals will continue to be provided and, where possible, childcare may be arranged.” • At the Tuesday, March 24 special meeting, the City Council unanimously approved an urgency ordinance to prevent evictions for residential tenants who are experiencing the loss of income due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Mayor Lisa M. Gillmor, who’s a landlord, abstained from the vote. • The ordinance is in effect

immediately and will expire on May 8, 2020 unless extended by the City Council. • Affected tenants will have to provide proof that they suffered substantial loss of income due to COVID-19

FINE GARDENER (408) 423 - 9488 www.finegardener.net

Design • Build • Irrigate Smaller Projects Welcome! Spring is for planting: flower and veggie beds, drought tolerant/pollinator gardens, uncommon trees and shrubs. We serve the Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Saratoga, Monte Sereno, Los Gatos, Campbell, West San Jose, and Santa Clara areas.

in order to receive eviction protections under the moratorium • In addition to the urgency ordinance, the Council adopted an ordinance that would be effective May 7, 2020. The regular

ordinance will expire on August 5, 2020. • Also, at Tuesday’s special meeting, the Council directed the development of a COVID-19 Small Business Relief program for consideration in the near future. • The State’s and County’s

Call for Contractors! Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is hiring local contractors to repair roofs, perform plumbing and electrical work, carpentry, flooring and other special projects in homes throughout Santa Clara County. If you are you a licensed contractor looking to expand your client base, please contact us! Minority and women-owned contractors are encouraged to apply. Learn more at:

http://contractors.rtsv.org Qualifications: • Licensed General Contractor, HVAC, Electrician, Plumber, or Roofer • General Liability Insurance and Worker's Comp (if applicable)

Contact: Kevin McCarthy 408.578.9519 ext. 1007, kevin@rtsv.org 1701 South 7th St., #10 San Jose, CA 95112

www.rtsv.org


March 28, 2020 “Stay-at-Home” order, along with directing all businesses and governmental agencies to cease non-essential operations, is impacting the financial health of many small businesses. • The Council has approved the allocation of $250,000 for this relief program for small businesses located in Santa Clara and directed staff to return to the April 7 Council meeting with a program for Council consideration. • On Thursday, March 26, the City is partnering with Santa Clara Unified School District to supplement their school meals program by distributing breakfast and lunch bags for the weekend. The supplemental program is possible, thanks to assistance from the School District, Spectra Venue Management and Levy Premium Food Services. • The Healthy Meals Santa Clara temporary program is for kids who live in Santa Clara and are currently signed up for the school lunch program. • The distribution

on Thursdays will take place from 2-3:30 p.m. at the following locations: - Cabrillo Middle School, 2550 Cabrillo Ave. - Don Callejon School, 4176 Lick Mill Blvd. - Wilcox High School, 3250 Monroe St. - Santa Clara Senior Center, 1303 Fremont St. • For everyone’s safety, please follow the traffic cones and staff instructions on site. • Remember, County Public Health’s COVID-19 social distancing protocols are in effect. • The County of Santa Clara Public Health Department issued a statement on Monday, March 24, concerning plans for the Federal Medical Station that’s being assessed for the Santa Clara Convention Center. • According to the County Public Health Department, “Plans for the Federal Medical Station (FMS) at the City of Santa Clara Convention Center have been adjusted. The FMS will serve less-acute COVID-19 cases and provide increased capacity for our healthcare

system.” • The FMS is expected to open in the next week or two. Donations • Silicon Valley Community Foundation has established three funds to provide assistance to residents, small businesses and nonprofit organizations, within Santa Clara County, that are impacted by COVID-19. • For more information on how to donate to SVCF’s COVID-19 Regional Response Fund, go to https://www.

Public Health siliconvalleycf. org/coronavirusfund Meetings The City Council will hold its next meeting on Tuesday, March 31. The only scheduled item for that meeting is an update on COVID-19. The Council also approved changing dates for upcoming meeting in April. The April 14 meeting is now rescheduled for April 7 and the April 21 meeting is rescheduled for April 28. City Programs and Services - Silicon Valley Power • Silicon Valley

Touch of London Wellness Retreat 1275 Lincoln Ave Suite 8 A&B San Jose, CA 95125 408-297-4899 www.violetjspa.com wellness@violetjspa.com Violet Johnson is a retired nurse, midwife, and psychologist from England. She has numerous credentials in cosmetology, aromatherapy, and infant massage. She is a public speaker and specialist in multinational skin care and has worked in Willow Glen for 20+ years.

Power will not shut off service due to non-payment. This applies to both residential and commercial customers and will remain in effect during this public health emergency. • All planned outages have been suspended during this health emergency as well. Subscribe to the City News eNotification list at https://www.santaclaraca. gov/i-want-to/stayinformed/sign-up-forcity-news-info to receive the latest updates on this public health emergency.

• Natural Skin Care Products • Luxuary Facials • Massage Therapy • Custom Nutritional Plans


DONATE TODAY!

https://gardeniasociety.org/musicians-in-crisis-due-to-coronavirus-cancellations/

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

up/ k Pic ivery! l De

Benson’s Cleaners Services

• Full Service Dry Cleaning and Alterations • Wedding Gowns Special *Stored with Care* • Convenient Wash N Fold *We Sort, Launder, and Fold* • It’s Getting Cold! *Bring in Your comforters and blankets* • Ask about Rug Cleaning *Hand Made Persian Style* • Drapery Cleaning 408-997-6144 bensonscleaners.com

5965 Almaden Expressway #160 Mon - Fri 6:30 am - 6:30 pm Saturday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121


March 28, 2020

WHERE IS NANCY?

This documentary is the unflinching look at the aftermath of the earlyonset Alzheimer diagnosis for Nancy Paulikas, at 54 years old. About a year and a half later she walks away, while on a family outing to the L.A. Museum of Art and, as a result, her family is made aware of the inconsistencies in services, procedures and policies to help find Nancy. Director, Thiago Dadalt had actually just completed his film, Chocolate in 2016 and preparing for it’s premier when his actress in Chocolate saw a Missing Poster for Nancy. This was the start of an immediate introduction to Kirk, Nancy’s husband, who was invited to the premier of Thiago’s movie. And the subject matter for that film was

on such a similar topic that it was too much of a coincidence not to make this situation a part of the press coverage at the premier. Kirk relays, “my aim was to get Nancy’s story out to the public as best I could. Time was of the essence in locating her. At first, in those early days of this I had 60 or so people at my house as volunteers but that began to dwindle down as the days/weeks grew on without much information to work with. Luckily, Nancy and I had friends and resources to help coordinate and tackle the problem of her missing; but the police, social services and health care system were of little to no help dealing with our situation. Thiago had kept in touch, and really expressed a desire to shine a light on Nancy’s story and all the issues that I and her parents had experienced -- how best to address the growing

problem of missingvulnerable people. At this point, Nancy had been missing for a year. Where was she? Lost in the homeless population of L.A.? The documentary allowed us to bring attention to the fact that Nancy’s story was not unique, but it could be a case to get changes made to the overall system. A county supervisor got involved once the documentary was completed and, it actually had a screening at the L.A. Museum of Art ... complete with news coverage. It was that county supervisor who started a task force to address a better means of coordinating agencies, services and county health resources for the growing population of those at risk. The Los Angeles Board of Supervisors passed 17 recommendations that are now guidelines for such instances. And resulted in a very simple solution to a very real problem of what can be done immediately to locate such a missing person -- register for a specific

0

Page 9

Cinequest

Newsom and Liccardo Tour Bloom Energy

[Continued From Page 1]

To view the press conference, visit the Office of the Governor of California’s twitter page: @CAgovernor or go to https://www.kqed.org/coronavirus. Follow Governor Newsom • Facebook:@GavinNewsom) • Twitter: @GavinNewsom • Instagram: @gavinnewsom • Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/ MayorGavinNewsom • Website: https://www.gov.ca.gov Follow Mayor Liccardo • Faceboo: @SamLiccardo1 • Twitter: @sliccardo • Instagram: @samliccardo • Website: SJMayor.org identity bracelet. This device can be activated and help track the autistic child, dementia patient or otherwise at-risk person, quickly”. Nancy was a vibrant, accomplished woman, with many friends and family in her community -- but she got lost. Thiago and Kirk were looking forward to showing the film at Palm Springs Festival on

March 31 and then on to Newport Beach Festival -these have been cancelled until further notice due to COVID - 19 quarantines. But this is such a timely subject matter for so many in our communities that it is their hope that the conversation and lessons learned from this tragedy are put to good use. The identity bracelet is a remarkable and simple fix.

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE

r--------------- ,-------------------•

Demolition

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF: Any proJ· ect :

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


3-4 Person Office Space For Rent! $1500/month Roughtly 180 ft2

408-558-3600 1900 Camden Avenue San Jose, CA 95124 siliconvalleyworkspace.com

We care deeply about your health, wellness, and safety. In these unnerving times we want to express our appreciation to our community as we work together to safely navigate the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19). For members wondering if it is safe and or legal to come to SVBC the answer is YES. After reviewing the Order Of The Health Officer and discussing with the Dave Cortese we have concluded that we are EXEMPT from the shut down. We are an essential business as we house Mail Service for all members and small business operations. We are to continue working to assist our members during the crisis. Here are some of the things we are doing in response to the coronavirus: • We have intensified cleaning procedures and are working more deeply to disinfect the entire facility daily to prevent germs from spreading and to ensure your safety. • We are closely monitoring the guidance of local health officials and the CDC and are following all recommendations to provide for our guests safety and comfort in our facilty. • Given the uncertainty surrounding the coronavirus, if you have a reservation and feel sick or otherwise do not feel up to coming in, please reach out to us and we will provide you with a credit, cancelling, rescheduling and or assist you with any questions you may have. • If you plan on coming to the office, please practice social distancing in our facility. Lets try to stay 6ft apart and please remember to wash your hands frequently.

Please know we are here for you! You can reach us at 408-518-9284 or email Gregg, Tina or Nelia. Hours of operation are to remain the same, Monday-Thursday 8:30-6pm and Friday 8:30-5pm. Be well, and stay safe! SVBC STAFF


Residential Only

Additions Bathrooms Kitchens Whole House FREE ESTIMATES

415-964-9203 Residential Only

408-608-8246

info@esiremodeling.com


Page 12

March 28, 2020

Take A Break

World of Pinot Noir 2020

[Continued From Page 1]

Craig and Kathryn Hall hosted a grand tasting as part of World of Pinot Noir 2020 gathering, introducing their recent New York Times Best Selling book, A Perfect Score. Kathryn grew up in the

wine producing industry and is a natural hostess, she loves any opportunity to share how the intricate connection between wine growers and the wine loving public - is worth celebrating. Hall Wines offers

a selection of wines (signature Cabernet Sauvignon) at their Napa Valley tasting rooms and two winery locations. Wine Club memberships also available. Check out Hall Wines on Twitter, Facebook and hallwines.com for updated Calendar of Events

Glorious Day of Glorious Wines

Kathryn Signing Her Book

A Tasting Experience

Joy of the Vines

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025

Vino in the Vineyard


One solution for oxygen at home, away, and for travel

Satellite Internet That is Unlimited With No Hard Data Limits! 2

Introducing the INOGEN ONE It’s oxygen therapy on your terms No more tanks to refill. No more deliveries. No more hassles with travel. The INOGEN ONE portable oxygen concentrator is designed to provide unparalleled freedom for oxygen therapy users. It’s small, lightweight, clinically proven for stationary and portable use, during the day and at night, and can go virtually anywhere — even on most airlines. Inogen accepts Medicare and many private insurances!

Reclaim Your Freedom And Independence NOW!

FREE Standard Installation

3

Limited Time Offer! Restrictions may apply.

25 Mbps Download Speed 25mbps download and 3mbps upload1

“You can get High-Speed Internet wherever you live!”

No Hard Data Limits

2

5

Wi-Fi Built-In

Connect your wireless devices at home

Call For Special Offers In Your Area

Call Inogen Today To Request Your FREE Info Kit

Pricing varies by region

CALL TODAY - LIMITED SPECIAL OFFERS IN YOUR AREA!

1-877-695-7948

1-650-383-1866 © 2020 Inogen, Inc. All rights reserved.

Prepare for power outages with a Generac home standby generator

MKT-P0108

HughesNet is a registered trademark of Hughes Network Systems, LLC, an EchoStar Company. 1 The HughesNet Gen5 service plans are designed to deliver download speeds of 25 Mbps and upload speeds of 3 Mbps, but individual customers may experience different speeds at different times of the day. Speeds and uninterrupted use are not guaranteed and may vary based on a variety of factors including: the configuration of your computer, the number of concurrent users, network or Internet congestion, the capabilities and content of the Websites you are accessing, network management practices as deemed necessary, and other factors. When you connect to the HughesNet service using Wi-Fi, your experience will vary based on your proximity to the Wi-Fi source and the strength of the signal. 2 If you exceed your monthly plan data, you will experience reduced data speeds until the start of your next billing period. Reduced speeds will typically be in the range of 1 – 3 Mbps and may cause Web sites to load more slowly or affect the performance of certain activities, such as video streaming or large downloads/uploads. 3. Free standard installation applies to new Lease subscribers only. Not valid with Purchase option. Limited-time offer. Restrictions may apply. 5. Per the “5th, 6th, 7th and 8th FCC Measuring Broadband American Reports.”

Home & Away...Help is on the way! MobileHelp is the premiere Medical Alert System that provides emergency coverage inside your home and throughout the USA.

FRE E G W/P IFT URC HAS E

To get Life Saving Information and a FREE BROCHURE, call MobileHelp today! • No equipment to buy. • Sign up in minutes. Activation is simple. • No long term contract.

Optional Fall Button™ with Automatic Fall Detect ■ ■

Comfortable and lightweight Signals for help even when you can’t press your button*

SCHEDULE YOUR FREE IN-HOME ASSESSMENT TODAY!

650-900-9379

FREE

7-Year Extended Warranty* A $695 Value!

Call for a FREE Brochure!

1-650-900-7973 $

Get your free Emergency Key Holder when you purchase a MobileHelp service plan.

Offer valid March 16, 2020 - June 30, 2020

Special Financing Available Subject to Credit Approval

*Terms & Conditions Apply

$

$

MobileHelp Exclusive Offer

FREE Emergency Key Holder

Offer valid while supplies last.

29 95

$

VALU

E!

$

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Fall Button™ is not intended to replace a caregiver for users dealing with serious health issues. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is an FDA registered company. MHP-06631A


Page 14

March 28, 2020

Helping Hands

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley Updates During the COVID-19 Outbreak Dear Rebuilding Together Advocates, As an organization, Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is deeply connected to our community and works every day to improve the safety and health of our neighbors. Rebuilding Together was started under the idea that every person should help their neighbors and give back to their community. Those values remain true today.

During times like these, we must continue to care for one another and protect one another, especially our older neighbors. The spread of COVID-19 has made our work more challenging, but we will persevere. Our work remains critical as we help our neighbors shelter in place. We do continue to provide emergency repairs, specifically for those impacted by the

Helping to Provide Emergency Supplies We are deeply connected in our community and we work every day to improve the safety and health of our neighbors in need. This week, we donated these items to the Silicon Valley Council of Nonprofits so that they could be distributed to those with the most need: • over 450 N95 masks • lightweight masks • liquid hand soap

• safety glasses • safety goggles • nitrile gloves and latex gloves Please consider donating any extra emergency items like these that you might have to the American Red Cross, United Way, Valley Medical Center, or other vetted organizations. Together we can work to support our neighbors in need. #WeAreRebuilders

coronavirus who have no hot water or heat, and are making those repairs through our vetted contractors. We have begun calling clients to perform wellness checks to ensure that they are safe at home, having compiled a list of relevant, timely resources that we can pass on when needed. See the links below for volunteer opportunities and portals that offer

vetted and reliable ways to offer assistance should you choose to volunteer where most needed. And just yesterday, we inventoried our warehouse supplies and donated materials such as N95 masks, gloves, and goggles to a clearinghouse organized by Silicon Valley Council of Nonprofits to distribute appropriately. Together we can work to support our neighbors

in need and prevent visits to already overwhelmed hospitals. I remain available via phone at 408-578-9519 x1008 or email at deanne@rtsv.org. In solidarity, Deanne Everton Executive Director

Where to Volunteer We know the amazing Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley army of volunteers is looking for some way to safely help those in need during the Santa Clara County shelter in place ordinance. Though we are unable to support volunteer efforts at this

time, many of our sister nonprofit organizations are in desperate need of volunteers. Go to San Jose’s Silicon Valley Strong website at https:// www.sanjoseca.gov/yourgovernment/departmentsoffices/mayor-and-citycouncil/mayor-s-office/ san-jose-strong/volunteer

to learn more. Please share any other volunteer opportunities that you know of with Volunteer Coordinator, Tamika Cox, tamika@ rtsv.org and we’ll include them in our next e-news. Stay safe and healthy!

The Red Cross is Looking for Blood Donors If you can, consider donating blood at the Red Cross. They are reporting that they are in need of healthy blood donors. For more information, go to https://www.redcross.org/ local/california/northern-california-coastal/about-us/locations/ silicon-valley.html.


March 28, 2020

AARP Homefit Guide Now’s a great time to perform a home fitness assessment! The HomeFit Guide created by AARP is a great tool to help everyone learn how to keep our homes safe. This is becoming an increasingly important task during the California shelter in place order and we are spending much more time in our homes. To view the whole guide, go to https://rebuildingtogethersv.us4.list-manage.com/track/ click?u=0a441ea83ab5bda776f0ff94b&id=1a18fc8794&e=693eaf24f2 [Re]Build is a movement to repair homes and revitalize communities across the country. Through [Re]Build, Rebuilding Together is accelerating its work to support families with young children, seniors, veterans, people with disabilities and victims of a disaster. The goal of the campaign is to transform neighborhoods throughout the country into vibrant places, restoring pride, dignity, and hope in every community. Thank you for being a [Re]Builder!

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley 1701 S 7th St Ste 10 San Jose, CA 95112-6000 Take a moment to follow us on social media and join the conversation! Your shares help us spread the word about our services and mission. @RTSiliconValley https://www.flickr.com/people/rtsv/ rtsiliconvalley https://www.linkedin.com/company/rebuilding-together-silicon-valley

Page 15

Helping Hands

Help Rebuilding Together Keep Our Community Safe Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is responding to our community’s needs by offering emergency repairs, specifically to those impacted by the coronavirus who have no heat or hot water in their home. We have set up a COVID-19 Emergency Repairs Fund that will help those with the most need during this crisis. Supporting Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley’s COVID-19 emergency repairs fund will help our local community meet the increased demand for critical home repairs that keep seniors and families safe and healthy. Donated funds will provide home repairs and modifications that will allow elderly, low-income and other at-risk populations to safely shelter in place, perform status checks on elderly populations and helping them access food and medicine. Together we can work to support our neighbors in need and prevent visits to already overwhelmed hospitals. To donate, go to https://www.mightycause.com/ story/Rtsiliconvalley.

Tax ID: 77-0289381

RTSiliconValley https://www.youtube.com/user/RebuildingTogetherSV https://rebuildingtogethersv.org info@rebuildingtogethersv.org

Place Your Ad Here! Promote Your business with Us! Email The Bay Area Review at advertising@thebayareareview.com or call (408) 898 - 7534


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review, March 28, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 6

The Bay Area Review, March 28, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 6