__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 12

June 16, 2020

San José Public Library launches SJPL Express Pickup at select locations across San José

The San José Public Library (SJPL) launched its new service, SJPL Express Pickup on June 15. SJPL Express Pickup is a contactless service that allows library members to place requests and borrow physical items from the library’s catalog – something they had not been able to do

since SJPL’s last day of operations on March 16, due to the current pandemic. In preparation of the new service, SJPL opened its catalog portal to allow library members to begin placing holds on items last Monday, June 8. In just one week, over 10,000 library items were requested, and the

Express Pickup webpage registered over 12,000 pageviews. “Our priority has always been to provide our customers with access to their libraries, and the information, resources, and services that libraries offer. [Continued on Page 7]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

See Page 6

See Page 10

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Dear District 2 neighbors, People across our country are crying out in pain and anger. We join them in the demand for justice until every life has equal value and opportunity. Let us fight for police accountability, and let us still respect our City and our fellow community members. I do not believe that violence from any group is the answer.

See Page 11

Let us highlight the momentum and voices of peaceful protesters. To my fellow leaders and neighbors, we must make San José a more equitable place for all residents. Please read the following statement from Councilmembers Peralez, Carrasco, Esparza, Arenas, and myself calling for bold, lasting systemic changes within our institutions: [Continued on Page 14]


June 16, 2020

When and Where

Minority Owned Business Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda McElroy Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor - public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry Photographer: Andy Nguyen http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

TBAR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of The Bay Area Review. All submissions become the property of Triple e Media Group, LLC and cannot be acknowledged.

On Tuesday, June 30 the TEA time virtual speaker series will kick off with historian Darlene Tenes of CasaQ talking about the Castro Women in California. She will cover the history of California from indegenous times until it became a US state, when the Castros arrived on the Anza Expedition to the tumultuous marriage of Carmel Castro and the infamous Thomas Fallon who some people consider a hero and others a villian. The TEA time speaker series, which aims to Teach, Engage & Activate guests, is a joint effort with the San Jose Woman’s Club, La Raza Historical Society and Latina Coalition funded by the Santa Clara County Office of Women’s Policy To register, go to https://www.eventbrite.com/e/castro-women-a-historical-telenovela-tickets109546295920?utm_source=Copy+of+Chit-Chat+-+Farmworker+Cruise%2C+Verano+Salad%2C+Pandemic+Kits &utm_campaign=Comfort+Foods&utm_medium=email More than a million farmworkers aren’t hunkered down at home. They are working long hours for little pay in fields, orchards and packing plants to keep food on our tables. Join us in thanking these essential workers by providing them with non-perishable foods & other essential supplies. Pack up your car with donations from family & friends, then we will caravan in individual cars from San Jose, CA to South County. To register, go to https://www.eventbrite. com/e/farmworker-relief-drivecruise-tickets-108815762876?utm_ source=Copy+of+Chit-Chat+-+Fa rmworker+Cruise%2C+Verano +Salad%2C+Pandemic+Kits&u tm_campaign=Comfort+Foods&utm_ medium=email If you are unable to participate you can send monetary donations to Catholic Charities of Santa Clara County at https://www.catholiccharitiesscc.org/ farmworker-relief-drive or mail donations to: Catholic Charities of Santa Clara County 2625 Zanker Road San Jose, CA 95134


June 16, 2020

COVID-19 Cases at Construction Sites Highlight Need for Continued Vigilance Multiple cases of COVID-19 identified this week among construction workers, including at four construction sites in Santa Clara County, underscore the need for the construction industry to adhere to social distancing and safety protocols. The largest outbreak occurred at a construction site in Mountain View, where there have been 10 confirmed cases and more than 30 potential exposures. The construction company operating the site proactively notified the Public Health Department as soon as they learned of the first case, has voluntarily closed at the request of the County until further notice, and has been working collaboratively with Public Health. “These cases

emphasize the fact that we are still in the midst of a pandemic,” said County Health Officer Dr. Sara Cody. “With additional sectors reopening, it is vital that everyone carefully follow social distancing protocols to ensure that workers are safe. This includes keeping physical distance and wearing a face covering.” Three other sites, two

in San Jose and one in Milpitas, have each had between three and five cases. These three sites have also voluntarily closed at the request of the County Public Health Department as potential exposures are investigated by County staff. In addition, nine more construction sites in the county have had at least one confirmed case, and the County is working

The DMV opened the remaining field offices that were temporarily closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Employees at 169 field offices will assist customers with current appointments and limited transactions that require an in-person visit. Behind-the-wheel drive tests are not yet available, and the DMV continues to recommend that customers use its online services. Once the DMV has accommodated customers with appointments, the DMV will begin offering a limited number of new appointments. Customers are required to wear face coverings and remain six feet apart in line. Customers are offered text messages that will allow them to wait outside the building until notified. Entry into the building is metered, and customers may experience extended wait times. The DMV has expanded its “DMV Express” option to all field offices, allowing customers to fill out the online application for REAL ID, upload documents at home and receive an expedited experience at a local DMV office. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the federal government extended the REAL ID enforcement date to October 1, 2021. For more information, go to https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/news-andmedia/dmv-reopens-remaining-field-offices-to-public/

Page 3

Public Health

with the operators of those sites to determine if there are additional infected persons associated with those sites. The County Public Health Department continues to monitor new cases of COVID-19 carefully and follow up appropriately to stop outbreaks. County officials also continue to collaborate with construction trade and labor organizations to ensure information on prevention practices is being disseminated, and to educate the construction industry on protocols that must be followed. Under the

current Health Officer order, construction activities are allowed to operate but must strictly comply with safety and social distancing protocols specific to the construction industry. Construction activities were allowed to resume on May 4, 2020. To keep up-to-date on local COVID-19 news, visit https://www.sccgov. org/sites/covid19/Pages/ home.aspx.

FINE GARDENER (408) 423 - 9488 www.finegardener.net

Design • Build • Irrigate Smaller Projects Welcome! Spring is for planting: flower and veggie beds, drought tolerant/pollinator gardens, uncommon trees and shrubs. We serve the Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Saratoga, Monte Sereno, Los Gatos, Campbell, West San Jose, and Santa Clara areas.


Page 4

June 16, 2020

All In

Together We Stand Dear Families: Parents Helping Parents is against racism and discrimination in all forms. We believe that all individuals have a right to build a bright future with dignity and respect, free from fear and violence. We believe that all of our neighbors, in all of our communities, should never fear driving, running, shopping, playing outside, or simply being home. Over the past week, we have witnessed the overwhelming responses to gross injustice in our communities and throughout our nation. These injustices are unacceptable and wrong.

We hear and see those working to dismantle systemic racism and discrimination. Today we renew our commitment to stand together in support of our entire community. Together we stand with Black and all communities of color. We are committed to and fully respect families throughout our community regardless of ability, race, immigration status, religion, diagnosis, sexual orientation, or gender identity. Together we stand in support of those asking for justice from the trauma and wrongdoing wrought upon so many families for generations. We continue to raise our

voice against racism, injustice, discrimination, and violence. Together we stand to continually reassess our efforts to diminish disparity in our community. We are committed to working together with our families and partners to create a community that is inclusive and accessible to all. Together we stand to work closely with local leaders, elected officials, community partners, and families and individuals on how we can build the brightest future for all. We are committed to supporting efforts that are inclusive and equitable. Together we stand to build a bright future for ALL. - Maria Daane, Executive Director, Parents Helping Parents

Prejudice is a burden that confuses the past, threatens the future and renders the present inaccessible. ~ Maya Angelou

Stay Connected with PHP Parents Helping Parents Sobrato Center for Nonprofits - San Jose 1400 Parkmoor Ave. Suite 100 San Jose, CA 95126 408-727-5775 info@php.com www.php.com

The mission of Parents Helping Parents is to help children and adults with special needs receive the support and services they need to reach their full potential by providing information, training, and resources to build strong families and improve systems of care. Parents Helping Parents (PHP) is a nonprofit organization that provides information, training, individual assistance, and resources. PHP is not a law firm or legal service agency, and as such, the information contained in this email or in phone conversations is provided for the purpose of informing the review, but should not be considered legal advice. For legal advice, you should consult an attorney.

@ParentsHelpingParentsSanJose

@phpderechos @phpeducation Parents Helping Parents Parents Helping Parents Your donation makes a difference! Go to

https://www.php.com/?form=buildbrightfutures

to support Parents Helping Parents today!


One solution for oxygen at home, away, and for travel

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

Introducing the INOGEN ONE It’s oxygen therapy on your terms No more tanks to refill. No more deliveries. No more hassles with travel. The INOGEN ONE portable oxygen concentrator is designed to provide unparalleled freedom for oxygen therapy users. It’s small, lightweight, clinically proven for stationary and portable use, during the day and at night, and can go virtually anywhere — even on most airlines. Inogen accepts Medicare and many private insurances!

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Reclaim Your Freedom And Independence NOW!

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

Call Inogen Today To Request Your FREE Info Kit

1-650-383-1866

408-371-5040

© 2020 Inogen, Inc. All rights reserved.

Contractor License #665121

Satellite Internet That is Unlimited With No Hard Data Limits! 2

FREE Standard Installation

3

Limited Time Offer! Restrictions may apply.

MKT-P0108

GUARANTEED

Life Insurance

up to $15,000.00 Modified Whole Life Insurance from Physicians Life Insurance Company

25 Mbps Download Speed 25mbps download and 3mbps upload1

Cash to help pay your funeral, medical bills or other final expenses.

“You can get High-Speed Internet wherever you live!”

No Hard Data Limits

2

5

Wi-Fi Built-In

Connect your wireless devices at home

Call For Special Offers In Your Area Pricing varies by region

CALL TODAY - LIMITED SPECIAL OFFERS IN YOUR AREA!

1-877-695-7948

HughesNet is a registered trademark of Hughes Network Systems, LLC, an EchoStar Company. 1 The HughesNet Gen5 service plans are designed to deliver download speeds of 25 Mbps and upload speeds of 3 Mbps, but individual customers may experience different speeds at different times of the day. Speeds and uninterrupted use are not guaranteed and may vary based on a variety of factors including: the configuration of your computer, the number of concurrent users, network or Internet congestion, the capabilities and content of the Websites you are accessing, network management practices as deemed necessary, and other factors. When you connect to the HughesNet service using Wi-Fi, your experience will vary based on your proximity to the Wi-Fi source and the strength of the signal. 2 If you exceed your monthly plan data, you will experience reduced data speeds until the start of your next billing period. Reduced speeds will typically be in the range of 1 – 3 Mbps and may cause Web sites to load more slowly or affect the performance of certain activities, such as video streaming or large downloads/uploads. 3. Free standard installation applies to new Lease subscribers only. Not valid with Purchase option. Limited-time offer. Restrictions may apply. 5. Per the “5th, 6th, 7th and 8th FCC Measuring Broadband American Reports.”

• Guaranteed acceptance ages 45 to 85* • No medical exam, no health questions • Lock in your rate for life Call for your FREE Information Kit

1-855-440-8538 or go to life55plus.info/svrev

 Plus — you’ll also get a FREE Final Wishes Planner!

*Ages may vary by state. Guaranteed for one of these life insurance policies. 6236 Benefits reduced first two years. Insurance Policy L770 (ID: L770ID; OK: L770OK; TN: L770TN).


Call us today for a free consultation whether you are looking to buy, sell, rent or invest!

Whether you are thinking about

buying or selling a home ...the time to act is now.

We’ll list any home for $9,500*

Real estate prices have climbed and interest rates have fallen.

Agents: Join BRG Realty & Make More Money!

We have an in-house mortgage option.

RESIDENTIAL BUY & SELL COMMERCIAL BUY & SELL INVESTING & DEVELOPMENT

Shannon Farrell VP of Operations & Realtor Extraordinaire

408-896-5351

Get all of your real estate questions answered with our incredible team of experts!

BRG

Realty Corp CA DRE # 00984218

Gregg Bunker President/CEO Real Estate Executive 408-781-1725

1900 Camden Ave., San Jose 95124

Call us: 408-558-3600

*Restrictions apply. Talk with us to see if your property qualifies for this $9,500 listing offer.

VISIT US ONLINE AT BRGREALTYCORP.COM


June 16, 2020

San José Public Library launches SJPL Express Pickup at select locations across San José

[Continued From Page 1]

Though required to keep our physical buildings closed, we introduced SJPL Express Pickup service, and the response from the residents has been overwhelming. Our digital collection has always remained available, but our communities still want their books, and we are thrilled to be able to offer them again,” said Library Director, Jill Bourne. To celebrate the launch of this new service, news media was invited to stop by the Edenvale Branch

Library where staff were working diligently to fulfill orders as library members began to arrive to pick up their orders. This specific location had nearly 1,100 requests. To ensure the wellbeing of library staff and customers, SJPL Express Pickup is an outdoor service that requires the practice of social distancing. In addition, all library materials are being quarantined for three-days before being released to the public. SJPL Express Pickup will be available MondaySaturday from 1-6 p.m.

Page 7

Good Reads

at several SJPL locations. For more information, visit: sjpl.org/ ExpressPickup. At the same time, select SJPL locations, including the Edenvale Branch Library, kickedoff its annual Free Summer Food Program by handing out grab and go meals and activities to children and teens (ages 2-18). The Summer Food Program runs from Monday-Friday from 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. until August 7th. For details, visit: sjpl.org/ SummerFood

Dental Insurance Get the dental care you deserve with dental insurance from Physicians Mutual Insurance Company. It can help cover the services you’re most likely to use —

Cleanings

X-rays

Fillings

Crowns

Dentures

Preventive care starts right away Helps cover over 350 services Go to any dentist you want – but save more with one in our network No deductible, no annual maximum

Call now to get this FREE

Here’s the information you requested on Dental insurance

Information Kit!

1-844-934-3212 dental50plus.com/svr l

Product not available in all states. Includes the Participating Providers and Preventive Benefits Rider. Acceptance guaranteed for one insurance policy/certificate of this type. Contact us for complete details about this insurance solicitation. This specific offer is not available in CO, NY; call 1-888-799-4433 or respond for similar offer. Certificate C250A (ID: C250E; PA: C250Q); Insurance Policy P150 (GA: P150GA; NY: P150NY; OK: P150OK; TN: P150TN). Rider kinds B438/B439. 6154-0120

FIRS


Page 8

June 16, 2020

Justice for All

Justice...When? Ebone Monet and Antonio Ray Harvey California Black Media Author and investigative journalist Ida B. Wells-Barnett, a staunch crusader against lynching at the turn of the last century, would likely have been included among the hundreds of thousands of people calling for a thorough investigation into recent hanging deaths of two Black men in California and another in New York. Wells-Barnett (July 16, 1862 - March 25, 1931) led one of the most aggressive anti-lynching campaigns through the Black press, beginning in the 1890s right up to her death about 40 years later. Wells wrapped statistics in touching stories that personalized the brutal lynchings and other racebased crimes happening in towns across the Deep South, bringing them to the attention of people across the country and in other parts of the world. Now more than 150 years later, Los Angeles County called in California state Attorney General Xavier Becerra to keep an eye on the investigation of a Palmdale man found hanging from a tree last week. Although local authorities have listed suicide as the likely cause of death in both instances, people in California and across the

county are demanding more transparency in the investigations of the separate hanging deaths of the African American men. On May 31, San Bernardino Sheriff’s deputies responded to a report of a man found hanging from a tree in Victorville, a desert city nearly 100 miles northeast of Los Angeles. On June 13, authorities released information identifying the man, who was homeless, as 38-yearold Malcolm Harsch. He died at a makeshift encampment for unsheltered people where officials believed he lived, close to Victorville City Library. It took the San Bernardino Sheriff’s Office 10 days to release information about Harsch’s death. The delay in releasing information about this case is the crux of many complaints being lodged against law enforcement in San Bernardino County. People are incredulous about authorities preliminarily deciding that Harsch’s hanging was a suicide. The comment sections of the Sheriff’s social media accounts include calls for investigators to release more information about the case People are also

questioning if Harsch was lynched. About 52 miles away, the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department is investigating another hanging in Palmdale. Saturday people gathered at Poncitlán Square park near a tree outside of City Hall. That is where 24-year-old Robert Fuller’s body was found hanging on Wednesday June 10. City officials have backpedaled since initially saying that Fuller’s death was likely a suicide. Last Friday, authorities in Palmdale told people who crowed into a City Council meeting on Friday that there is no security footage from outside of city hall. Activists are also calling on the New York Police Department to conduct a deeper investigation into the death of an unidentified Black man who authorities say died from another apparent suicide.

He was discovered hanging from a tree in a park in the Inwood neighborhood of northern Manhattan near the Hudson River during the early morning hours of June 9. Investigators in New York are conducting an autopsy to get to the root of his cause of death. On Sunday, Los Angeles County Sheriff Alex Villanueva announced that State Attorney General Xavier Becerra will “monitor” the Fuller investigation. On Twitter Villanueva described his choice to bring in Becerra as part of his “commitment to transparency”. On Monday, Becerra told California Black Media he dispatched a team of investigators to Palmdale. “They will assess what has been done so far by the local investigators, with the L.A. County Sheriff’s Department, and we will assist moving forward,” said Becerra.

“We are an independent agency and our work we do on behalf of the Department of Justice — and we will do that as best we can.” A “Justice for Robert Fuller” petition has nearly reached its 300,000-signature goal. Petition organizers question if Fuller was possibly the victim of a lynching. They cite heightened emotions caused by recent Black Lives Matters (BLM) protests as a possible factor. Hundreds of people reportedly took part in Palmdale BLM demonstration a week prior to Fuller’s death. Despite creating some traffic issues, authorities say the demonstrations were peaceful. Over the weekend Fuller’s family and supporters held rallies to demand an independent investigation into his death. They reject the suicide claim presented by the Sheriff’s office. Instead in the Change.


June 16, 2020

org petition they point to the community’s past “history of racism and negligence”. The Southern Poverty Law Center reports that Victorville and the surrounding county is home to several antigovernment and antiimmigration hate groups. In 2012, a man was found hanging from an electric wire in an incident police believed was a suicide. Still, Victor Valley News reports that San Bernardino Sheriff’s officials said there is no indication of foul play. A similar online petition is gaining signatures for Malcolm Harsch. Twenty-three thousand people have signed petition to seek a thorough investigation. The Harsch family told Victor Valley News that law enforcement’s assessment of suicide possibly linked to the coronavirus was off base. “He didn’t seem to be

depressed to anyone who truly knew him. Everyone who knew our brother was shocked to hear that he allegedly hung himself and don’t believe it to be true as well as the people who were there when his body was discovered. The explanation of suicide does not seem plausible,” it reads, Sheriff Villanueva scheduled a virtual town hall on Monday. He said residents can talk with law enforcement and get more information about the case. In both Palmdale and Victorville authorities say the investigations are ongoing. During her life, WellsBarnett put all of her resources into journalism and bought a stake in the Memphis Free Speech newspaper. After three of her friends were lynched by a mob in 1892, her journey as a social reformer. She lectured about the atrocities of

lynching all over Great Britain. Her three friends’ deaths changed her life. Today, the end of the lives of three Black men, brings back the memory of Wells-Barnett’s cause. Lynching is defined as a form of violence in which mobs, consisting mostly of non-Black people in the Deep South states, executed a person without the fairness of a jury trial. This practice soared after the Emancipation Proclamation freed slaves in 1865 and continued for about 100 years. Graphic photos of lynchings, many in a spectator setting, still circulate in various forms of media, including U.S.

Justice for All postal cards. The National Memorial For Peace and Justice (NMPJ) in Montgomery, Ala., is the first memorial dedicated to the legacy of enslaved Black people and Black people terrorized by lynching. In May of 2020, 89 years after her death,

Wells-Barnett was posthumously awarded a Pulitzer Prize for her journalism. “The way to right wrongs is to turn the light of truth upon them,” Wells-Barnett once wrote. To sign the petition, go to https://www.change. org/p/victorville-justicefor-malcom-harsch

Prepare for power outages with a Generac home standby generator SCHEDULE YOUR FREE IN-HOME ASSESSMENT TODAY!

650-900-9379

FREE

7-Year Extended Warranty* A $695 Value! Offer valid March 16, 2020 - June 30, 2020

DONATE TODAY!

https://gardeniasociety.org/musicians-in-crisis-due-to-coronavirus-cancellations/

Page 9

Special Financing Available Subject to Credit Approval

*Terms & Conditions Apply


ATTENTION COMMUNITY! Is anyone in the Bay Area looking for a very practical way to help others during this time? I work at Cristo Rey San Jose Jesuit High School in East San Jose. We serve all low income - primarily Latino- students. Since the shelter-in-place started, we have been distributing food to our families every Tuesday. As this shelter-in-place continues, our families have indicated growing food insecurities as many have lost their jobs. The ask...if you would like to help us make sure our families have enough food on their tables, we could use more food to supplement our current program. Next time you go to the grocery store or order online, would you consider buying a second bag of potatoes or another jar of peanut butter for our families? I would be happy to arrange a physically distant pick-up and make sure the food makes it directly to our families! I would be happy to answer more questions if you have any! -Linda Nguyen Ed.D. Educational Leadership for Social Justice, Student | LMU M.A. Theological Studies, 2017 | LMU B.A. Business Administration, 2013 | LMU 310 619 8647

What we need - Loaves of sliced bread - Peanut Butter - Jelly - Butter - Pasta - Pasta Sauce - Bags of potatoes - Bags of oranges - Bags of apples - Flour - Laundry Detergent - Clorox/Lysol Wipes - Clorox/Lysol Cleaner - HOT CHEETOS and ARIZONA ICED TEAS lol


June 16, 2020

Page 11

Santa Clara News

COVID-19 Update This is a summary of the City of Santa Clara’s latest response efforts along with impacts to local events and City programs/services due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) public health emergency. Current Developments • As counties across the state are gradually reopening business, keep in mind that COVID-19 is still here and still spreading. - Here are a few tips on how to shop safely: - Wear a face covering. - Stay at least six feet away from others who are not part of your household. - Avoid touching your face. - Wash your hands when you get home. • Gyms and fitness centers are not approved to be open in Santa Clara County - While parts of California allow gyms and fitness centers to be open in accordance with Stage 3 of the State’s Resilience Roadmap, Santa Clara County is not there yet. - When there is a discrepancy in the State and County public health orders, the stricter of the two must be followed. - Santa Clara County is in Stage 2 of the State’s Resilience Roadmap. • While Santa Clara County continues its phased approach to reopening, there are some people who are at higher risk for serious COVID-19 illness than others. - According to public health officials, older adults and people with underlying health conditions are more likely to develop more serious symptoms and to require more intensive medical care. - As a result, the County Public Health Department strongly urges individuals who are at higher risk of severe illness from COVID-19 to stay home. - Other precautions include frequently washing hands with soap and water and staying away from people who are ill. - For more information about precautions that individuals who are at higher risk should take, visit the County Public Health website. City Programs and Services • The Santa Clara City Library will begin contactless curbside pickup at Central Park Library starting Monday, June 15. - Patrons who receive a notice that their holds are ready to be picked up may visit the Central Park Library, 2635 Homestead Road, during the following hours: Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Wednesdays: 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. - In accordance with the County of Santa Clara’s updated Shelter-in-Place order and public health and safety protocols, here’s how the contactless curbside library pickup will work: • Library staff will direct patrons, who received a notice that their holds are ready for pickup, to park in designated spots at the front of the Central Park Library. • Call the number on the sign and give your information from your Holds Pickup Notice. For faster service, please have your library card number available. • Staff will check the material out and deliver in a bag to the table where you are parked. • If the patron needs assistance, staff are happy to load it into the vehicle following all social distancing and safety protocols. Please wear a face covering if exiting your vehicle. • Returns will also be accepted through the Central Park Library walk-up book drop during these hours. • All returned materials will be quarantined for 72 hours; requests may be delayed. - However, there is no need for patrons to return items at this time. • All Santa Clara city libraries remain closed to the public. • During the library closure, due dates have been extended and no fines will be charged. - For more information, visit the Library website, SClibrary.org, or call 408-615-2900 weekdays, 10 a.m.- 2 p.m. Mini-Summer Camps This summer, the City’s Parks & Recreation Department will offer several mini-camp sessions from July 6 to August 7 in compliance with social distancing and health and safety protocols. • Camp cohorts of 12 campers, ages 7 to 12, will be offered at each camp site. • Campers with siblings will be accommodated, when possible, in the same group. • Due to current State and County public health guidelines, children may not attend more than one camp at a time. Also, children may not move from one program to another more often than every three weeks. • The virtual Recreation Activity Guide and registration for residents will begin on Monday, June 15. • For more information, contact the Community Recreation Center at 408-615-3140


Page 12

June 16, 2020

District 3 News

BART Update https://icsbd.org Delivering Mission Essential Services during COVID-19 Pandemic - a California Regulated Utilities Companies’ Perspective Attend this webinar to:

• Get insight on the impact and challenges of COVID-19 has on California investor-owned utilities companies’ supply chain and sourcing process. • Learn best practices for diverse businesses to market their products and services during and post coronavirus pandemic. • Learn about new safety and health policies in contracting with utilities companies post COVID-19. • Position your business for upcoming opportunities.

Presenters:

Stacie Harwood, Program Manager, Supplier Diversity, T-Mobile

Lisa Roben, Supplier Diversity Program Manager, Comcast

VTA built the 10-mile extension from the BART Warm Springs Station in Fremont, adding two new transit centers in Milpitas and Berryessa, where BART will connect with VTA transit services. In Milpitas, passengers will be able to connect to the new VTA Orange Light

Rail Line and ride north to Mountain View, or south to the Alum Rock Transit Center. VTA bus service connects with both new stations, providing dozens of routes across the County. Phase II, currently in design and engineering stages, will extend service from the Berryessa Transit Center to stations at 28th Street/Little Portugal, Downtown San José, and Diridon Station with the end of service in Santa Clara.

Because of Shelter in Place Orders, BART operates from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. on weekdays and 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. on weekends. Click here for current schedules. Face coverings are required to ride on BART or VTA light rail or buses. As the region began to reopen, BART created a 15-step plan to welcome back riders. For more information, go to https://www.bart. gov

Lauren R. James, Communications and Supplier Diversity, Suburban Water Systems

Free New Testing Sites Open The County Health System deployed COVID-19 teams into areas across the County to provide free diagnostic tests, beginning on Tuesday, June 15. No appointments are necessary.

Register at https://cacapital.ecenterdirect.com/events/827553

• Overfelt High School, 1835 Cunningham Ave, San Jose, 1 to 7 p.m., Tuesday through Friday, and 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday. • Palo Alto City Hall, 250 Hamilton Avenue, Palo Alto, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesday through Friday. • Cupertino Creekside Park, 10455 Miller Avenue, Cupertino, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., Tuesday through Thursday. • Los Altos City Hall Community Meeting Chambers, 1 North San Antonio Road, Los Altos, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Tuesday. • Consulate General of Mexico in San José, 302 Enzo Drive #200, San Jose, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Friday. • Roots Clinic at Antioch Baptist Church, 268 East Julian Street, San Jose, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Wednesday.

Place Your Ad Here! Promote Your business with Us! Email The Bay Area Review at advertising@thebayareareview.com or call (408) 898 - 7534


June 16, 2020

Bartlett: Adequate Systems in Place for ReOpening of Jamaica’s Tourism Sector Jamaica’s Minister of Tourism, Hon Edmund Bartlett has expressed confidence that adequate systems have been put in place for the reopening of Jamaica’s tourism industry. This, as he lauded the efforts of tourism partners and stakeholders for the preparations that have been made at the Sangster International Airport to facilitate the smooth reopening of the sector on Monday (June 15). Minister Bartlett and key stakeholders had a walk-through of all areas of the airport through which the passengers will travel, with special emphasis on Immigration and Customs, before being

tested for signs of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) prior to departing the airport for their respective vacation spots. Minister Bartlett said the logistics were in place to enable as seamless a process as is possible for the dawning of a new era in tourism. He commended all partners and players who have been working overtime to make sure all parts come together effectively. He underscored that the airport team

Home & Away...Help is on the way! MobileHelp is the premiere Medical Alert System that provides emergency coverage inside your home and throughout the USA.

FR GIFEE T

W/P URC HAS E

To get Life Saving Information and a FREE BROCHURE, call MobileHelp today!

Moving Forward

had introduced numerous changes to facilitate social distancing consistent with stipulated health protocols. Furnishings within the airport have been arranged, technology to capture the temperature of passengers and sanitization stations installed to satisfy health requirements under COVID-19. While maintaining that the processing of arriving passengers on Monday “will not be an insurmountable task,” Minister Bartlett said: “We’re really hoping that our locals and visitors alike will have an experience that they will be comfortable with bearing in mind the many

challenges posed by this pandemic. This is a very unique situation and we are doing our best to manage it properly.” He said while everything was being done “we also ask for understanding that this is not perfection where everything will necessarily go as we planned but certainly what we have done is to put in place that which will enable a start on which we can now work to achieve perfection.” Included in the highlevel team that toured the facility were Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health & Wellness, Dunstan Bryan; Chief Medical Officer, Dr Jacqueline BisasorMcKenzie; Regional Technical Director, Western Regional Health Authority, Dr Diane Campbell-Stennett; Director of Tourism,

• No long term contract.

Optional Fall Button™ with Automatic Fall Detect ■ ■

Comfortable and lightweight Signals for help even when you can’t press your button*

Call for a FREE Brochure!

1-650-900-7973 $

Get your free Emergency Key Holder when you purchase a MobileHelp service plan.

$

$

MobileHelp Exclusive Offer

FREE Emergency Key Holder

Offer valid while supplies last.

29 95

$

VALU

E!

$

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Fall Button™ is not intended to replace a caregiver for users dealing with serious health issues. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is an FDA registered company. MHP-06631A

Donovan White; Senior Advisor/Strategist in the Ministry of Tourism, Delano Seiveright, President of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association, Omar Robinson; Director of Projects, Tourism Product Development Company (TPDCo), Stephen Edwards; JTB Regional Director, Odette Dyer and JDF Captain Jevan Brown, in charge of logistics. The airport team was led by Chief Executive Officer, Shane Munroe and Chief Operations Officer, Peter Hall. The reopening of the sector will commence with some six flights landing at the Sangster International Airport from Jetblue, American and Delta Airlines. Passengers will be a mix of tourists and Jamaicans returning home. #rebuildingtravel

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

• No equipment to buy. • Sign up in minutes. Activation is simple.

Page 13

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025


Page 14

June 16, 2020

District 2 News “Since the horrific killing of George Floyd by a police officer in Minneapolis last Monday, protests over his death, and over systemic racism throughout our nation’s law enforcement agencies, have taken place in cities throughout the country, including one in downtown San José on Friday, May 29th, which tragically resulted in violence. Our hearts ache for the pain and anger that we know so many of our residents are feeling, particularly in our communities of color, and we share in that pain and anger as well. We hear our residents’ cries and demands for justice. It is clear to us that this moment, though deeply painful, presents an opportune time for us to make lasting, systemic change at our institutions for which so many people throughout our country are crying out. This includes the City of San José. Over a year ago, we brought forward a proposal that would

finally begin to include equity into our City’s budgetary process, ensuring that our historically disadvantaged communities of color receive the targeted resources and investment necessary to uplift them and ensuring they are able to share in the prosperity of Silicon Valley. These are communities that struggled for decades under discriminatory practices such as redlining, and which continue to bear the deep wounds of these practices, wounds which will not heal unless we act. Bold action to address the longstanding inequity in our communities is the only remedy. In both our response to the longstanding inequities in our system and the current crisis at hand, we must embrace meaningful action. Words and vague commitments will not cut it. We must ensure fair and equitable resources are made accessible and we must ensure communities are involved in the decision-

making process that impacts the principles of distributional equity and process equity. As a City, our annual budget process presents the most impactful opportunity to take this action, and as we enter another recession we urge the Mayor and our colleagues on the Council to join us in meeting this moment, delivering the structural changes that our communities need in order to thrive and ensuring the impacts of a recession do not once again disproportionately affect already disadvantaged communities of color. Speaking on the unrest over Civil Rights that was sweeping the country in 1967, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. reflected that “our nation’s summers of riots are caused by our nation’s winters of delay. And as long as America postpones justice, we stand in the position of having these recurrences of violence and riots over and over again.” Generations of San Joséans have been waiting and struggling, for Equity, with decades of quiet patience, and

0

faith in our system of government to deliver that change. But that patience has grown thin, as it has in communities and cities throughout our country. On top of longstanding structural inequities affecting our communities of color, we find ourselves reaching our third month in a public health and economic crisis which has disproportionately impacted these same communities, worsening this divide, and creating even more desperation. As we ask our residents to uphold their end of the social contract, we, as leaders, must uphold ours, and work to deliver the systemic change that is needed to bring not only the absence of tension, but the presence of justice.” Keeping our community safe and healthy is a priority for my District 2 Team, and the best way we can do that right now is by providing you with important resources. In this newsletter, please find valuable information, resources, and links about District 2 community updates, San José policy updates, Census 2020, and

navigating COVID-19. Stay safe and look out for each other during this difficult time. We will get through this. Learn more about our City and neighborhoods in my past monthly newsletters from 2017, 2018, 2019, and this year, which include resources and information, policy and community updates, upcoming events, and a visual, in-depth recap of the work we’ve done together. You can find these newsletters at https://www.sanjoseca. gov/your-government/ departments/citycouncil/members/ district-2/newsletters. My goal has always been to empower the community and make City Hall accessible to you -- to give you a voice in local government. I invite you to join me as I advocate for a more equitable San José and make our home a better place to live, work, and play. In community, Sergio Jimenez

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE Demolition

r--------------- ,-------------------•

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF:: Any proJ· ect

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


June 16, 2020

Black Lives Matter Founder Finds Hope in Global Protests Over George Floyd’s Murder

Page 15

Making A Difference

By Gail Berkley | The San Francisco Sun Reporter For Black Lives Matter co-founder Alicia Garza, the widespread global protests and activism that followed the murder of George Floyd, an unarmed Black man, by Minnesota police have been heartening — and they make her feel hopeful for the future. At the same time, she said, “It’s bittersweet that it takes someone being murdered on camera to get to the point of conversation that we’re in.” “I was horrified,” Garza said of viewing the video of Floyd’s life being taken by a White police officer with his knee on Floyd’s neck. “Every time a Black person is murdered by police there is something disturbing about it.” She added, in this case, “Just the callousness of it; and him calling for his mother. There’s just so much in there that’s horrifying. It’s just a brutal reminder of how Black lives don’t matter in this country.” Garza, who lives in Oakland, is Strategy and Partnerships Director for the National Domestic Workers Alliance and Principal at the Black Futures Lab. Seeing Black Lives Matter (BLM) signs held by protestors in all 50 states, including in many small towns with few Black residents, Garza said, “It’s humbling to

see it and to have been a small part of it.” She is heartened that people are awakening. Garza said she is also pleased that many celebrities who have large platforms are using them now to push for change. She said the Black Futures Lab has a strategy for helping celebrities to use their platforms for the movement. “When they use their platforms to activate people, it’s an important way to save our democracy. It makes us active and engaged participants.” “I got to take over Selena Gomez’ Instagram last week. It was awesome.” She said people are really hungry for information. “We’ve been doing a lot of work and talk about what’s going on. When folks like Selena do that, it engages people in issues of our time. I plan to work with her through this election cycle”. Garza said she will also be taking over Lady Gaga’s social media in the coming week. “We’re really focused on transferring this energy into political power.” She said it’s important to change the people who are making the rules and those who aren’t enforcing the rules. She cited as an example the recent election in Georgia where voters in predominantly

Black areas waited hours to vote. Movement for Black Lives is not just about police violence. It’s about how Black lives are devalued. Black Lives Matter is for an opportunity for us to recognize and uphold the right to humanity and dignity for Black people. She said Black people also have to work “to remove the negatives we’ve internalized about ourselves.” “For people who are not Black, there’s also work to do.” She said it’s not only about changing the rules, but also about a culture shift. “That’s what I think we’re seeing now. It’s going to take all of us staying committed.” She said the millions joining protests following the murders of George Floyd, Ahmaud Auberry and Breonna Taylor were sparked by “a powder keg waiting to happen.” “People are mad about a lot of stuff. We’re all tender right now. It’s an election year. We find ourselves in a global pandemic. The lack of human touch… and being able to gather. Because of that we also have the expansion of an economic crisis. Not only are people trying to stay healthy, they’re trying to pay their bills.” “What we can all agree on is that policing is not serving the people that

Co-Founder Alicia Garza

they’re supposed to serve. When we’re afraid of the police that’s not serving. Whenever I see tanks, rubber bullets, and tear gas being used -we pay for that. Are we keeping people safe? We’ve been defunding the Black community for a long time.” “Defund the Police” is a controversial slogan that has been held by some protestors. Garza said that slogan comes from the Movement for Black Lives, a coalition that includes BLM. “This work is something many organizations have been doing for many years,” she said. “It’s really about getting a handle on how we’re spending our money.” She cited the fact that education funds have been cut, the postal service is near bankrupt, and thousands of homeless are living on the streets. “We’re using police to deal with homeless. You don’t send a nurse to deal with a drug cartel.” “We did the largest survey of Black America

in 2018 - The Black Census Project. The overwhelming majority said in the past six months they’d had a negative experience with the police.” She said what she supports is “limiting the size, scope and role police play in our communities. Police also need consequences when harm is enacted. Police unions are a huge, huge issue. They block transparency for officers.” Speaking of another campaign that’s getting national attention Project Zero’s “8 That Can’t Wait,” Garza cautioned, “We have to be wary of things that are a quick fix.” She said “8 That Can’t Wait,” s campaign that pushes proposals for police reforms, “doesn’t deal with the real issue here: nobody should be above the law.” “Public safety is not about bloated police budgets. It’s about expanding the safety net for Black people,” she concluded.


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review, June 16, 2020  

ISSUU Verbiage: The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 12

The Bay Area Review, June 16, 2020  

ISSUU Verbiage: The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 12