__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 11

June 2, 2020

Black Youth Are Central Force in California George Floyd Protests Antonio Ray Harvey | California Black Media

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Open Mindset

By Perry Clark LMFT #110594

Protestors at the State Capitol

There are many aspects to the protests occurring in cities and towns up and down the state of California. One that stands out is the participation of young, Black people. Outspoken, courageous, and committed, these young African Americans have become, by default, the anchors in a mass movement sparked by the

brutal murder of George Floyd in Minnesota. Although they are diverse group of Black youth – by political identification, education, where they are from in the state, and more – they are all uniquely equipped to articulate and bear witness to the racial and economic injustices that a multiracial coalition of Californians have now

made their cause. “At the end of the day everybody here is united, and we all want justice for George Floyd. Period,” said Jamier Sale, 28, cofounder of Cell Block By Cell Block, a communitybased organization in Sacramento that focuses on criminal justice reform. [Continued on Page 14]

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

See Page 6

See Page 10

The presence of COVID-19 over the last few months has generated both fear and compassion in the world. It has also resulted in much change. These changes affect how we work, how we gather, and how we see ourselves. For many, these changes have exposed fear, doubt, anger, and ignorance. For others, it has brought opportunities, new skills, strength, and a sense of

See Page 11

connection. Why has this been the response? Is it due to business models that were never designed to include crises, greed, desire for power, or simply to us being uncomfortable in our own bodies and emotions? It is all a result of how we process change. What is the mindset (fixed or open) we operate from when the constant presence of change ebbs and flows in our lives?

[Continued on Page 7]


June 2, 2020

Public Health

Updated County of Santa Clara Health Officer Order Allows for Restricted Reopening

Minority Owned Business Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda McElroy Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor - public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry Photographer: Andy Nguyen http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

TBAR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of The Bay Area Review. All submissions become the property of Triple e Media Group, LLC and cannot be acknowledged.

County of Santa Clara Health Officer Dr. Sara Cody today announced amendments to the current Shelter in Place Order that will allow multiple sectors and activities to resume, including in-store retail, outdoor dining, all manufacturing, small service businesses, childcare and summer programs, as well as religious, cultural, and civic activities. The updates will go into effect on Friday, June 5th. “As a community and as a nation, we are experiencing some of the most difficult and challenging times many of us have ever experienced. The COVID-19 virus has had an impact on every aspect of our lives. It has been particularly devasting to low income communities and communities of color in our county and across our state and nation. This has been compounded by structural inequities that exist in our society that are unjust, persistent, and damaging,” said County Health Officer Dr. Sara Cody. “The global pandemic is ongoing, and we must continue to protect the health and wellbeing of our entire community, especially those most vulnerable to serious illness and death from

COVID-19. Public Health is about ensuring health in every sense of the word: from diseases like COVID-19, and from social and economic impacts on health too. For all those reasons, we have chosen to be measured in how and when we reopen,” said County Health Officer Dr. Sara Cody. We will continue to assess our COVID-19 indicators to ensure that we can continue to identify infections, ensure people can safely isolate, and prevent COVID-19 infections and their spread whenever possible. And we will continue to work closely with low income communities and people of color to carefully plan and implement measures that address the needs for testing, safe isolation, work safety, and prevention of the spread of COVID-19. Key metrics regarding containment of COVID-19 in Santa Clara County include: • Testing is steadily increasing and the positivity rate is decreasing across the County, including in communities and environments where people are at greatest risk and where the County has done significant outreach;

• Rates of COVID-19 across the County are low and holding steady, including in populations at greater risk; • Hospitalization rates are low and steady across the County; • Outbreaks in skilled nursing facilities have been successfully contained; and • Case investigation and contact tracing capacity is steadily increasing and is staying ahead of demand. In light of this progress, the updated order expands previously permitted business activity to include outdoor dining at restaurants and in-store shopping at retail locations, subject to limitations and social distancing guidelines. Nocontact in-home services like house cleaning, and other low-contact service businesses such as shoe repair will be allowed to reopen. All children are now permitted to take part in childcare, summer

camps, summer school, or other educational and recreational programs, so long as groups are limited to 12 or fewer. Outdoor gatherings of up to 25 will be allowed for religious services and cultural ceremonies. Any outdoor recreational activities that do not involve physical contact and adhere to social distancing protocols, such as swimming pools, will be allowed to resume. Also, car-based gatherings will now be permitted, including drive-in theaters. Earlier today, Public Health Officers across the Bay Area issued a joint statement affirming their commitment “to work together as a region; to ensure our decisions are data-driven; to take steps that are measured, careful, and to allow sufficient time between significant changes.” Today’s announcement builds on the May 4, 2020 and May 22, 2020 amendments to the Order, which respectively allowed construction and outdoor businesses to resume operation with health and safety precautions in place and permitted retail businesses to open for curbside pickup along with associated manufacturing and logistics.

www.sccgov.org


June 2, 2020

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley Relaunches Critical Home Repair Program This Week Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley, the local affiliate of Rebuilding Together, the leading national nonprofit organization with a mission to repair the homes of people in need and revitalize our communities, has announced that their critical home repair program will be relaunching this week with enhanced safety precautions in place. Their work focuses on improvements such as grab bars and railings, half steps, wheelchair ramps or lifts, raised toilets, minor

plumbing or electrical, carpentry, and painting. Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley repairs homes making them safer for our most vulnerable neighbors including seniors, veterans, people with disabilities and families with young children. Repairs are made at no cost to the recipient. This program is partially funded by local cities and the county through the Housing and Community Development Act, CDBG program. “We are proceeding with extreme caution as we enter clients’ homes, wearing PPE, taking temperatures regularly, and more,” said Executive Director, Deanne Everton. “Ensuring that the older adults, people with disabilities, and other vulnerable populations we serve are safe is our top priority.” Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is deeply connected in our community and work every day to improve the safety and health of our

neighbors. Rebuilding Together was started under the idea that every person should help their neighbors and give back to their community. Those values remain true today. Though much of the work was suspended in response to the Santa Clara County shelter-inplace ordinance, they are again offering critical home repairs for lowincome homeowners. Those homeowners in need should call 408-5789519 and leave a message. About Rebuilding Together Rebuilding Together is the leading national nonprofit organization with a mission to repair the homes of people in need and revitalize our communities. Each year, Rebuilding Together affiliates and nearly 100,000 volunteers complete about 10,000 rebuild projects. Since 1991, Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley (RTSV) has provided critical repairs and accessibility modifications

Page 3

Helping Hands

for low-income homeowners, primarily seniors, individuals with disabilities, and families with children – and nonprofit community organizations. In previous years, more than 2,000 volunteers gathered annually to transform homes and lives by improving the safety and health of homes and revitalizing communities. All work is provided at no cost to the recipient, with materials provided through donations and funds from area businesses, organizations, government, and private

individuals. Since inception, over 37,000 local volunteers have renovated over 4,300 homes and facilities in the local community. With so many lowincome homeowners on their waiting list, and hundreds of individual projects already approved to start before the shelter in place order, the organization expects many more low-income homeowners will require their critical home repair services in the coming year. Learn more at www. rebuildingtogethersv. org.

Place Your Ad Here! Promote Your business with Us! Email The Bay Area Review at advertising@thebayareareview.com or call (408) 898 - 7534


Page 4

June 2, 2020

Los Gatos Local

0

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE Demolition

r--------------- ,-------------------•

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF:: Any proJ· ect

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


June 2, 2020

Gov. Newsom Extends Statewide Freeze on Evictions Until July On Friday, Gov. Gavin Newsom issued an executive order halting evictions for renters across California until July 28. The order, according to the governor’s office, authorizes local governments in California to extend moratoriums on evictions to protect their residents who can’t afford to pay rents because of the coronavirus crisis. The initial order Newsom issued in March a couple of weeks after declaring a State of Emergency in California early March, was scheduled to expire on May 31. “People shouldn’t lose or be forced out of their home because of the spread of COVID-19,” said Gov. Newsom on March 16 when he first issued the order. “Over

the next few weeks, everyone will have to make sacrifices – but a place to live shouldn’t be one of them. I strongly encourage cities and counties take up this authority to protect Californians.” Then on March 16, the governor strengthened the order by issued a ban on enforcement of eviction orders by local authorities or courts for renters affected by the global pandemic. Once the moratorium is lifted, though, tenants could still be liable to pay back rent to their landlords. On May 27, the Senate Housing Committee voted yes on SB 1410, a bill, introduced by Sen. Lena Gonzalez (D-Long Beach). If passed and signed into law, SB 1410 would provide temporary

Hard Times

financial assistance to California renters. The state would make direct payments to landlords for as much as 80% of unpaid rent for tenants across the state, Tenants would only qualify if their nonpayment due to the COVID-19 crisis. Gov. Newsom’s executive order Friday included other provisions, too. Among them were a directive to the Deparment of Motor Vehicles to extend mail-in renewals for driver’s licenses and identification cards. It also lifted restrictions that prevented after-school and childcare programs from serving children of essential workers, and dropped the requirement to take an assessment test for Californians enrolled in the teacher preparation program during the 2019-

20 school year. Follow Gov. Newsom on social media to keep up-to-date on California news.

@GavinNewsom @gavinnewsom @GavinNewsom

ATTENTION COMMUNITY! Is anyone in the Bay Area looking for a very practical way to help others during this time? I work at Cristo Rey San Jose Jesuit High School in East San Jose. We serve all low income - primarily Latino- students. Since the shelter-in-place started, we have been distributing food to our families every Tuesday. As this shelter-in-place continues, our families have indicated growing food insecurities as many have lost their jobs. The ask...if you would like to help us make sure our families have enough food on their tables, we could use more food to supplement our current program. Next time you go to the grocery store or order online, would you consider buying a second bag of potatoes or another jar of peanut butter for our families? I would be happy to arrange a physically distant pick-up and make sure the food makes it directly to our families! I would be happy to answer more questions if you have any! -Linda Nguyen Ed.D. Educational Leadership for Social Justice, Student | LMU M.A. Theological Studies, 2017 | LMU B.A. Business Administration, 2013 | LMU 310 619 8647

Page 5

What we need - Loaves of sliced bread - Peanut Butter - Jelly - Butter - Pasta - Pasta Sauce - Bags of potatoes - Bags of oranges - Bags of apples - Flour - Laundry Detergent - Clorox/Lysol Wipes - Clorox/Lysol Cleaner - HOT CHEETOS and ARIZONA ICED TEAS lol


Page 6

June 2, 2020

Bay Area Strong

Statement Issued by Santa Clara Mayor Lisa M. Gillmor Regarding Bay Area Protests Statement from Mayor Lisa M. Gillmor: This critical time of battling COVID-19 has been a huge challenge for our residents and our country. Now, we are faced with protests in more than 100 cities directly related to the recent tragic death of George Floyd due to the gross misconduct of several Minneapolis police officers. We as a community need to acknowledge the horrific incident with Mr. Floyd, listen to the protesters and their message, and support peaceful expressions, however difficult. As for the City of Santa Clara, we want to make sure our residents

are safe, especially during this unsettling time. Please stay tuned for additional actions by the City Manager to keep Santa Clara safe. As your mayor, the City Council and I are concerned about your safety and that of your family. I am in close contact with our Chief of Police Pat Nikolai and with City Manager Deanna J. Santana. We will continue to keep you informed on relevant news and updates. Please be safe and stay close to home. About the City of Santa Clara Located at the heart of Silicon Valley about 45 miles south of San

Francisco, the City of Santa Clara truly is “The Center of What’s Possible.” Incorporated in 1852, Santa Clara covers an area of 19.3 square miles with an estimated population of 129,498. Santa Clara is home to an extraordinary array of high-tech companies, including Applied Materials, HewlettPackard, Intel, Nvidia, Oracle, and Ericsson. The City of Santa Clara is also home to Santa Clara University, California’s Great America Theme Park, and Levi’s® Stadium, home of the San Francisco 49ers and SB50. For more information, go to SantaClaraCA.gov.

FINE GARDENER (408) 423 - 9488 www.finegardener.net

Design • Build • Irrigate Smaller Projects Welcome! Spring is for planting: flower and veggie beds, drought tolerant/pollinator gardens, uncommon trees and shrubs. We serve the Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Saratoga, Monte Sereno, Los Gatos, Campbell, West San Jose, and Santa Clara areas.

Lisa M. Gillmor Office Email: MayorandCouncil@santaclaraca.gov Direct Email: lgillmor@santaclaraca.gov Office Phone: (408) 615-2250 Office Fax: (408 241-6771

One solution for oxygen at home, away, and for travel Introducing the INOGEN ONE It’s oxygen therapy on your terms No more tanks to refill. No more deliveries. No more hassles with travel. The INOGEN ONE portable oxygen concentrator is designed to provide unparalleled freedom for oxygen therapy users. It’s small, lightweight, clinically proven for stationary and portable use, during the day and at night, and can go virtually anywhere — even on most airlines. Inogen accepts Medicare and many private insurances!

Reclaim Your Freedom And Independence NOW!

Call Inogen Today To Request Your FREE Info Kit

1-650-383-1866 © 2020 Inogen, Inc. All rights reserved.

MKT-P0108


June 2, 2020

Open Mindset [Continued From Page 1]

A fixed mindset is involved with the feeling of fear and strife that we see expressed now as a reaction to change. Much of how the world has been normalized in our lives has been centered on aversion to loss and subtraction. We must avoid anything that will cause discomfort. The process of change is viewed as a threat. It holds people accountable and highlights the loss that is experienced through that change. In this mindset, fear is the response at the forefront and people act upon this fear in the presence of change. The open mindset sees the opposite. It sees change as an opportunity that things can be different and not always bad. The process of adaptation isn’t a threat to who we are but is, instead, a continuation of that which

is already going on. It the “let’s move with it, not against it” mindset. The fear is lessoned by the understanding that we will still be here after change has finished. There may be discomfort, however, the change that happens doesn’t equal harm. Thusly, we can respond to the change from a place of long-term choices and well-being. So what are ways we can function from a open mindset and work with and/or accept change? We can ask ourselves: 1. What is being changed? 2. How many things/ ideas/processes are actually being changed beyond what is easily seen? 3. How did I come to be connected to what is being changed? Was it due to something or someone changing before this?

4. What are the potential things I gain from this? 5. When I have accepted change in the past, how have things been easier? Whether it is the change of a job, the ending/beginning of a relationship, or a change in responsibilities, we are always making some form of transition. Transition is another word for change. Acting from a fixed mindset will always cause greater mental stress. Operating from a open mindset does not take away the mental stress but it opens us to the possibility for greater gains. Both our upbringing and choices are a part of the process we explore when addressing healing in mental health. This is part of the practice that a mental health professional can assist you with so that you may thrive, grow, and enjoy life.

Dental Insurance Get the dental care you deserve with dental insurance from Physicians Mutual Insurance Company. It can help cover the services you’re most likely to use —

Cleanings

X-rays

Fillings

Crowns

Perry Clark LMFT #110594

Untangle & Grow Counseling 25 N. 14th, Ste. 505, San Jose , Ca 95112 (408) 890-7554 (Google voice) (408)503- 0026 (Fax) Pclark@untangleandgrowcounseling.com www.untangleandgrowcounseling.com

GUARANTEED

Life Insurance

up to $15,000.00

Dentures

Modified Whole Life Insurance from Physicians Life Insurance Company

Preventive care starts right away

Cash to help pay your funeral, medical bills or other final expenses.

Helps cover over 350 services Go to any dentist you want – but save more with one in our network

• Guaranteed acceptance ages 45 to 85* • No medical exam, no health questions • Lock in your rate for life

No deductible, no annual maximum

Call now to get this FREE

Mental Health

Here’s the information you requested on Dental insurance

Information Kit!

FIRST-CLASS MAIL

Call for your FREE Information Kit

1-855-440-8538

1-844-934-3212

or go to life55plus.info/svrev

dental50plus.com/svr

 Plus — you’ll also get a FREE l

l

Product not available in all states. Includes the Participating Providers and Preventive Benefits Rider. Acceptance guaranteed for one insurance policy/certificate of this type. Contact us for complete details about this insurance solicitation. This specific offer is not available in CO, NY; call 1-888-799-4433 or respond for similar offer. Certificate C250A (ID: C250E; PA: C250Q); Insurance Policy P150 (GA: P150GA; NY: P150NY; OK: P150OK; TN: P150TN). Rider kinds B438/B439. 6154-0120

Final Wishes Planner!

6236

*Ages may vary by state. Guaranteed for one of these life insurance policies. Benefits reduced first two years. Insurance Policy L770 (ID: L770ID; OK: L770OK; TN: L770TN).


Page 8

June 2, 2020

One Nation

America, America Editorial By Brigitte Jones Publisher

It has been a challenging few months for all of us, in ways we could never expect and thereby not have been prepared to deal with. But more recently, events have challenged the very core of who we are as a people -- a community -- a nation. How is it acceptable that a people are to be expected to live at their highest level when society

deliberately, systemically, and brutally denies them basic human rights? Our American Democracy is an ideal, and as such, is worthy of safeguarding and dare I say worth the work whenever necessary, for all concerned. Having just observed Memorial Day, in dedication to all those awe-inspiring souls who did their part to uphold this nation’s democratic ideal, how is it still in such jeopardy?

From the very beginning America, as an ideal, was worth fighting for - and that “framework” is still worth the effort on

our parts. So, yes demonstrate it’s your civic duty. As a citizen you have a voice a VOTE. Use it to achieve

the changes we aspire to for this amazing country we call home. One Nation under God.


June 2, 2020

Honolulu Mayor Announces COVID-19 Economic Recovery Initiative

Page 9

Moving Forward

Linda Hohnholz | Hawaii News Honolulu Mayor Kirk Caldwell joined Honolulu City Councilmembers today to announce a COVID-19 economic recovery initiative in partnership with the City Council’s Economic Assistance and Revitalization Committee. The City Council will establish an advisory group to help inform COVID Assistance and Revitalization efforts, and Mayor Caldwell’s administration is immediately re-organizing the current Office of Economic Development (OED) into a specialized and focused entity that captures funding, coordinates efforts, and executes programs to recover and diversify Oʻahu’s economy. “People are suffering as never before and help isn’t immediately coming from elsewhere,” said Mayor Caldwell. “We have already started deploying

our CARES funds and this initiative will expand and accelerate our ability to aid the community. This isn’t about just restoring the status quo—it’s about rebuilding Oʻahu’s economy based on our community values, not undermining them.” “This is the most important work we will do during our entire administration,” said Managing Director Roy K. Amemiya Jr. “This is about getting people back to work now in areas that can provide long-term economic security for our island. The Office of Economic Revitalization will not only help us to respond to this pandemic now, but will better prepare our economy to be more resilient in the face of future challenges.” The Oʻahu Recovery Initiative concept had been previously discussed with City Council Members by the

Administration, and will use five percent ($19 million) of the City’s first tranche of federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act funding. The proposed Office of Economic Revitalization would provide a dedicated platform to coordinate recovery work with state agencies, the business sector, and non-profit agencies to tackle the COVID-19 economic challenge. “Now more than ever it is important that we collectively assess how to move our community forward. In addition to supporting our existing local businesses and industries, we must adjust to our new reality and take steps to diversify our economy,” said Council Member Tommy Waters, Chair of the City Council’s Economic Assistance and Revitalization Committee. “This means looking at ways we can invest in new sectors, create new jobs, and meet the needs of our local families. I’m excited to bring together a stakeholder group of diverse voices to advise the City Council’s Economic Assistance

and Revitalization Committee as it works with community partners, the Mayor, and the city administration to both help our island’s residents now and lead Oahu into a more secure and resilient future. Before us is an opportunity to rise above politics as usual and work collaboratively for a better tomorrow.” The Office of Economic Revitalization will focus in three areas. First, it will ensure that COVID-19 testing is widely available and business practices are safe to help ensure that Oʻahu’s fragile economy can stay open. Second, it will directly assist Oʻahu residents and businesses to find assistance and execute CARES-funded jobs and other programs. Third, the Office will help develop and transition Oʻahu over time to a more diversified and resilient economy. “We spent the last two years talking with community as we built our Oʻahu Resilience Strategy and one of the things people from all

over the island told us is that we’re too dependent and need to increase our self-sufficiency,” said Josh Stanbro, the City’s chief resilience officer. “This effort to respond to the COVID-19 crisis in a way that puts people to work and keeps our dollars on-island is literally giving life to the advice and input we got from our residents.” Resilience Action #9 in the Oʻahu Resilience Strategy specifically called out the economic risk of an overreliance on tourism, and recommended the creation of a more robust development office to spur community investment, support local business, and foster new enterprises on Oʻahu.Target economic development sectors include local small businesses on O‘ahu, health care, innovation and technology, resilient infrastructure, housing and re-development, green energy and transportation, sustainable agriculture, regenerative tourism, and the film industry.


Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121

Satellite Internet That is Unlimited With No Hard Data Limits! 2

FREE Standard Installation

3

Limited Time Offer! Restrictions may apply.

25 Mbps Download Speed 25mbps download and 3mbps upload1

“You can get High-Speed Internet wherever you live!”

No Hard Data Limits

2

5

Wi-Fi Built-In

Connect your wireless devices at home

Call For Special Offers In Your Area Pricing varies by region

CALL TODAY - LIMITED SPECIAL OFFERS IN YOUR AREA!

1-877-695-7948

HughesNet is a registered trademark of Hughes Network Systems, LLC, an EchoStar Company. 1 The HughesNet Gen5 service plans are designed to deliver download speeds of 25 Mbps and upload speeds of 3 Mbps, but individual customers may experience different speeds at different times of the day. Speeds and uninterrupted use are not guaranteed and may vary based on a variety of factors including: the configuration of your computer, the number of concurrent users, network or Internet congestion, the capabilities and content of the Websites you are accessing, network management practices as deemed necessary, and other factors. When you connect to the HughesNet service using Wi-Fi, your experience will vary based on your proximity to the Wi-Fi source and the strength of the signal. 2 If you exceed your monthly plan data, you will experience reduced data speeds until the start of your next billing period. Reduced speeds will typically be in the range of 1 – 3 Mbps and may cause Web sites to load more slowly or affect the performance of certain activities, such as video streaming or large downloads/uploads. 3. Free standard installation applies to new Lease subscribers only. Not valid with Purchase option. Limited-time offer. Restrictions may apply. 5. Per the “5th, 6th, 7th and 8th FCC Measuring Broadband American Reports.”


Prepare for power outages with a Generac home standby generator SCHEDULE YOUR FREE IN-HOME ASSESSMENT TODAY!

650-900-9379

FREE

7-Year Extended Warranty* A $695 Value!

up/ k Pic ivery! l De

Benson’s Cleaners Services

• Full Service Dry Cleaning and Alterations • Wedding Gowns Special *Stored with Care* • Convenient Wash N Fold *We Sort, Launder, and Fold* • It’s Getting Cold! *Bring in Your comforters and blankets* • Ask about Rug Cleaning *Hand Made Persian Style* • Drapery Cleaning

Offer valid March 16, 2020 - June 30, 2020

Special Financing Available Subject to Credit Approval

408-997-6144 bensonscleaners.com

5965 Almaden Expressway #160 Mon - Fri 6:30 am - 6:30 pm Saturday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

*Terms & Conditions Apply

DONATE TODAY!

https://gardeniasociety.org/musicians-in-crisis-due-to-coronavirus-cancellations/


Page 12

June 2, 2020

Together We Stand Downtown Streets Team was recently selected as one of the 2020 Best Nonprofits To Work For. This survey and awards program is designed to identify, recognize and honor the best employers in the nonprofit industry, benefiting the industry's economy, workforce and businesses. The list is made up of 50 organizations and DST is ranked 2nd in California and 25th nationally. Learn more at https://www.streetsteam.org/ documents/2020_Best_Nonprofits_To_Work_ For_Announcement.pdf

www.streetsteam.org

he love you have shown the Team Members with your generosity during the COVID-19 crisis has been heartwarming. Your donations of phones and phone chargers mean our Team Members have access to communication. Your donations of hygiene kits, masks, and hand sanitizer have helped Team Members protect themselves against the virus and your financial contributions have given Downtown Streets Team the ability to continue to provide basic needs to 500 Team Members and to Graduates who came forward asking for help. We simply could not do this work without you. Your support also means that Team Members have been forging ahead on their paths out of homelessness. Since March 12th, 26 Team Members have found jobs and 9 have been permanently housed. These stories of resiliency and perseverance, in spite of the unprecedented time we are in, are inspiring stories like Cristóbal’s in Salinas. Cristóbal fell into homelessness after his wife’s passing. He was crippled by grief and

overwhelmed by the responsibility of raising four children alone. After connecting with DST, Cristóbal fast tracked his way out of homelessness and his efforts could not be derailed by COVID offices were closed and resources were not widely available. However, in April, Cristóbal and his children moved into their very own apartment. The children were so happy to finally have space to call their own and be sleeping in beds and Cristóbal was relieved to have everyone safely inside. We’d like to give a special thanks to Annette Hancock and the Phoenix Room for her quick work to help furnish the new apartment and we’d like to wish Cristóbal well as he begins a new chapter in his life. As we look forward to getting back into the community under new social distancing and safety rules, we want to assure you that our leadership team is prioritizing the health and

safety of Team Members, staff, and the community at-large. We will supply personal protection, require sanitization of tools, and will practice safe social distancing. When we are allowed, we will be back cleaning up our streets and waterways. We will be sending frequent updates about our timeline for relaunch in each community.


June 2, 2020

Hunger At Home Transforms Amid Covid-19 Outbreak Those who work in the food service and hospitality industry showed a united front -by being a good neighbor for their fellow workers so impacted by the COVID-19 shut down. Many of our Bay Area hotels, restaurants, performance venues and stadium workers are in immediate need of the basics for living; food, housing, employment and financial assistance to sustain their families. Our local organization, that takes up the challenge of food insecurity; Hunger at Home put out an urgent call to its Corporate Sponsors to answer this need, and what a GREAT response. “I’m proud that Meriwest Credit Union is a sponsor of Hunger At Home. Volunteering at Hunger At Home and giving back to our community during these challenging times, has been a rewarding experience for me”. - Melody Criner, Business Development Officer, Meriwest Credit Union #PeopleHelpingPeople #MeriwestCreditUnion Hunger at Home is best known for partnering with convention centers, hotels, stadiums, entertainment venues and high-end tech company cafeterias to distribute surplus food and supplies

to charitable organizations to feed those in need. In response to the crisis, professional chefs and hospitality executives from such Bay Area entertainment venues as Oracle Park, Levi’s Stadium, and Chase Center are transforming tons of donated food items into delicious, healthy, balanced meals for those in need. “It’s like Iron Chef,” says Paul Bernardt, executive chef for The Lodge at Pebble Beach. “We don’t know what’s going to be donated, so our job is to look through what we have and compose a well-balanced dish with protein, starch, and a vegetable — something that is nutritional and also tastes great.” Due to a decline in donations, Hunger at Home must purchase food to supplement its food production. Chef Bernardt and his fellow culinary crew members volunteered at Hunger at Home for years. Today, their delicious food is available directly to anyone in

need. As the COVID-19 crisis hit, Hunger at Home took over a restaurant catering facility adjacent to its distribution headquarters in San Jose. “We immediately pivoted from food distribution to production,” says Hunger at Home founder and CEO Ewell Sterner. Since March 19th, Hunger at Home has produced and distributed well over 300,000 meals. Twice a week, a line of cars, often stretching a mile long, forms at the organization’s San Jose distribution center, where families can receive meals, bags of groceries, and Shelter in Place Kits from SHIP (a local nonprofit) containing essentials such as toilet paper, paper towels, and canned goods as well as puzzles, games, and other items for kids. The need is immense and growing, and there is no end in sight. Hunger at Home, however, offers a ray of hope, with an existing infrastructure that is only operating

Chefs prepared the meals.

Page 13

Local Heroes

at a fraction of its capacity. “We’re operating at about 10 percent of what we could provide,” says Chief Operating Officer Dinari Brown. “We’re providing 3,000 to 4,000 meals a day now. With additional donations and financial support, we could easily provide

50,000 meals a day.” With shelter-in-place extended to the end of May and restaurant, hospitality, and entertainment workers not expected to return to work for months, Hunger at Home predicts the need for support will increase and stretch well into late summer and beyond.

Lines started at 7 am.

Ready for pick-up.


Page 14

June 2, 2020

Making A Difference

Black Youth Are Central Force in California George Floyd Protests Antonio Ray Harvey | California Black Media [Continued From Page 1] Across California, Latinos, Asians, Arab Americans, and Whites — Christian, Jewish, Muslim, et al — have jumped into action with passion. But the presence of Black youth, millennials between the ages of 25 and 39 and the Generation Z crowd born in the mid-1990s to mid2000s, has become central to holding down the coalition of people raising their voices and fists in unified condemnation of police violence and discrimination. Sale, who is also a member of the Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL), a progressive political action organization, attended a demonstration at the State Capitol in Sacramento this past weekend. Thousands of people gathered at the rally to protest Floyd’s murder. Sale and other

members of the youth-led movement met officers of the California Highway Patrol (CHP) at the steps on the east side of the state building adjacent to California State Capitol Park. “You can name the names (of all the people who experienced police brutality) because everybody comes with their own history, but this is about George Floyd,” Sale told California Black Media (CBM). On Memorial Day, Floyd, 46, died in police custody after a White Minneapolis Police Deparment officer pinned him down and pressed his knee into the African American man’s neck for nearly eight minutes. A cellphone video showed Floyd telling the cops, “I can’t breathe.” Like Sacramento, at demonstrations in Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, Los Angeles,

Protestors at the State Capitol

San Diego, Long Beach, Modesto and more Golden State cities, youthful Black faces have become conspicuous in the crowds of activists and citizens calling for justice as well as peace. The Floyd tragedy shifted the country’s consciousness from the COVID-19 pandemic to the fraught and distrustful relationship, rooted in a well-documented history of violence, that persists between African Americans and law enforcement. Most of the demonstrations across the country started as peaceful marches, but, for days now, they have escalated into violent rioting and rebellions that have rocked every major city in the United States as well as in California. The riots have resulted in several deaths, mass looting, arson, vandalism, and billions of dollars in property loss. For instance, in Sacramento the movement began peacefully in the city’s oldest suburban neighborhood Oak Park on the night of May 29. Thousands of protesters, the majority of them young people, gathered to kick off the protests organized by Black Lives Sacramento (BLMS). The CHP officers expected the crowd to

Stevante Clark speaks with Tanya Faison, founder of Black Lives Matter Sacramento during the protest.

attempt a march down one of the nearby Highway 99 off-ramps. The northsouth interstate is a major California intra-state freeway that runs through the San Joaquin valley. But, according to Tanya Faison, founder of BLMS, that was not a part of the group’s protest plan. “Just to let you know, CHP is deep on the other side of that bridge. They are not going to let us get on that freeway,” Faison said, speaking into a bullhorn to the large crowd. “But one of the police stations is right around the corner.” The protestors marched a little more than a mile to the Joseph

E. Rooney Police facility of the Sacramento Police Department, a substation in South Sacramento. When they arrived, a few Sacramento Police officers emerged from the facility in riot gear toting rifles that shoot rubber bullets. The confrontation between the young people and the police was contentious, but it did not get physical. Stevante Clark, the older brother of Stephon Clark, who was killed by two Sacramento police officers in March 2018, described how he felt about the march. “This all brought me back to my brother and Eric Garner,” said Clark, 27. “We’re hurt and we


June 2, 2020

Protestors at the State Capitol

all feel the same way, though a cop has been charged. As for George Floyd, justice is still being denied. There are still killer cops on the streets.” Garner, the man who Clark was referring to, died after New York City cops held him in a chokehold in 2014. The incident happened on Staten Island, one of the city’s five boroughs. He was also African

American. The next day, Clark participated in a demonstration at the State Capitol where he and other activists met CHP officers who had formed a perimeter around the building where California’s laws are made. Grace Swint, 29, from the San Francisco Bay Area, was one of the young protesters that

Home & Away...Help is on the way! MobileHelp is the premiere Medical Alert System that provides emergency coverage inside your home and throughout the USA.

FR GIFEE T

W/P URC HAS E

To get Life Saving Information and a FREE BROCHURE, call MobileHelp today!

helped lead the rally that went on for hours. Swint told CBM that she appreciated non-Black people participating in the movement, but she had to ask them what they would do once the rallies subsided. “Personally, I’m just out here to make sure they are focusing that energy in the right place and that they know what to do when they go home,” Swint said. “This is good but it is not enough. I know for a fact that media and propaganda … they feed off of our emotions. It’s a good outlet to let those emotions and opinions out. But what are you going to do when you leave here? I need to make sure that they understand

Making A Difference that.” Since the demonstrations began in the state capital, there have been some non-fatal casualties. Late night on May 30, two protestors, one female the other male, were hit by rubber bullets when a deputy from the Sacramento County Sheriff’s Department shot them in downtown Sacramento, according to several local news reports. The female, struck in the face during the peaceful protest, is 18 years old and the male is 19. The Sheriff’s office had a different take on the situation and released a statement telling its version of the events. ‘The initial investigation indicates the subject was throwing objects at the offices and deputies prior to being struck by a less than lethal weapon that was utilized by a few of the officers

• No long term contract.

Optional Fall Button™ with Automatic Fall Detect ■ ■

Comfortable and lightweight Signals for help even when you can’t press your button*

Call for a FREE Brochure!

1-650-900-7973 $

Get your free Emergency Key Holder when you purchase a MobileHelp service plan.

$

$

MobileHelp Exclusive Offer

FREE Emergency Key Holder

Offer valid while supplies last.

29 95

$

VALU

E!

$

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Fall Button™ is not intended to replace a caregiver for users dealing with serious health issues. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is an FDA registered company. MHP-06631A

to stop the assault,” the Sheriff’s office said in a written statement. The protests continued through Sunday in Sacramento with the youth still leading the way. There were reports of store break-ins and property damage around the city that increased after nightfall. Sale said that society must begin to understand how people between the ages of 13 and 39 think. It’s a generation that must be reckoned with and they “bounce their energy off of each other’s energy,” Sale said. “Between each other, they have so many forms of communications that older people don’t know about. (If society) doesn’t absorb the energy of the youth, the youth are going to create their own organizations to replace the current organizations.”

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

• No equipment to buy. • Sign up in minutes. Activation is simple.

Page 15

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review, June 2, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 11

The Bay Area Review, June 2, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 11