__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 8

June 1, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you. Local Heroes

Page # 4 Los Gatos Events

Page # 9 Vicious Attack of Pierluigi Oliverio Unwarranted

Page # 11 Luis Morales A 2010 Santa Teresa High School graduate and San Jose, California, native is currently serving with a U.S. Navy strike fighter squadron which flies one of the world’s most advanced warplanes. Airman Luis Morales is an aviation structural mechanic with the Mighty Shrikes of VFA 94, which operates out of Naval Air Station

Lemoore. A Navy aviation structural mechanic is responsible for repair and maintenance of the hydraulics, wheels and complete outside structure of the jet. “Growing up, I learned to show up on time and apply myself and see things all the way to the end,” Morales said. “Commitment is important. It has helped me in every way in my

military service.” Members of VFA 94 work with the F/A 18 Super Hornet, one of the most advanced aircraft in the world. The Super Hornet takes off from and lands on Navy aircraft carriers at sea and is

Continued on Page 6 Y1Z

Candid Camera’s 8 Decades of Smiles! With Peter Funt

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051


When...Where Keith Moon: The Real Me”

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

3Below Theaters & Lounge presents “Keith Moon: The Real Me” (The true story of the legendary drummer for The Who). Please Note: This show includes explicit language and mature themes of drug use and sexuality. Parental discretion is advised. Keith Moon: The Real Me (the true story of the legendary drummer for The Who) explodes on the stage with the turmoil and excitement of the wildest drummer in rock and roll history.  A living legend during his lifetime, Keith Moon still stands as the pinnacle of rockstar extremism—both in life and music. The play explores the mind of Keith Moon, as he attempts to save himself from the unbearable burden of living up to (or down to) his self-created legend of ‘Moon the Loon’. As Keith fights his demons, he takes the audience on a journey through his early struggles, his joining The Who, and their rise as one of the world’s greatest rock bands. By the show’s end, the audience intimately knows the

man behind the myth— his acute vulnerability and insecurity, and his struggle to escape the ever-looming Rock ‘n’ Roll crash landing. What the critics are saying:  “A tour de force performance...Keith Moon: The Real Me is much more than a concert recreation...[it] channel’s Moon’s persona…Berry is incandescent as Moon… musicology research is spot on…Berry’s acting as close as can be to a real historical figure…not just for rock enthusiasts…a well-crafted dramatic biography that anyone who follows pop culture can enjoy.” - Steve Murray, “For All Events”  “Reborn Who drummer Keith Moon rocks…Mick Berry doesn’t just tell the story… he also plays Moon’s drum parts on some of the band’s biggest hits. Sometimes…both at the same time…wonderfully dynamic…Even when he’s drumming on his legs… it’s terribly compelling… eerie accuracy…when he picks up those sticks, he’s

Y2Z

on fire. - Sam Hurwitt, “Marin Independent Journal”  “Fantastic…absolutely incredible job…of actually trying to take on the life essence. You almost really believe he’s playing right there along with The Who.” -Alan Samson, “Stepping Out”, New Orleans “Berry replicates the drum parts that are too

good to miss including a note for note Won’t Get Fooled Again.” - Keith Spera, “Eat Play Live”, The New Orleans Advocate “… multi-talented Berry explains the man who gave The Who’s 1964 hit “I Can’t Explain” and other classics – many of which are performed during this exciting, engaging play – their throbbing beat.” - Ed Rampell, “Rock Cellar Magazine”, Los Angeles “In ‘Keith Moon: The Real Me,’ Berry becomes both Keith moons” the rock-star drummer and the tragic figure. Berry’s performance—as a writer, actor and drummer—is a tour de force.” - Hank Schlinger, “Culture Spot Los Angeles”

Six Performances Only!  

June 15 – 24, 2018 Friday, June 15th and Saturday, June 16th at 7:30pm Sunday, June 17th at 7:00pm Friday, June 22nd and Saturday, June 23rd at 7:30pm Sunday, 24th at 2:00pm 3Below Theaters & Lounge 288 S. Second Street (corner of San Carlos Street) San Jose, CA 95113. Validated parking in the garage attached to the venue.  

Tickets

$40 At the door $30 Advance sales (or Senior, Military, Students) $20 for age 30 and under $20 for Club 3B Members Online at www.3Belowtheaters.com or 408.404.7711


Los Gatos Events

Looking for a new way to hydrate after a long run? Join our Los Gatos team the first Thursday of the month for a 3-6 mile run around the neighborhood, kicking off from the store and ending at Loma Brewing Company for a featured beer of the month. June 7, 2018 http://arunnersmind.com/

Y4Z


District 2 News Housing Town Hall Recap & Resources Thank you to the community members who joined my office, retired Santa Clara County Principal Planner Don Weden, and City of San Jose Housing Department Know Your Rights representatives at last Thursday’s District 2 Housing Town Hall. I hope you found it as informative as we did! For those of you who were not able to make it, I would like to share with you the meeting recap and resources. You may view the entire District 2 Housing Town Hall meeting on my Facebook page and view the Housing Department

Know Your Rights PowerPoint presentation online. Here are the highlights of the meeting: Santa Clara County is changing. Why? • Santa Clara County is projected to add 300,000 people (the equivalent of two Sunnyvales) over the next 10-15 years • Two-thirds of the population growth will come from people ages 65 and older – because people are living longer • Santa Clara County is becoming more urban to keep up with the demand of the population • We need to act urgently to prepare for

our rapidly increasing and aging population • We must plan our City not for what we see now, but for the future Rental rights and recent changes for tenants and landlords in San Jose • Rent Stabilization Program • Mobilehome Rent Ordinance • Apartment Rent Ordinance • Tenant Protection Ordinance • Ellis Act Ordinance

Y5Z


Serving Well Local Heroes capable of conducting air-to-air combat as well as striking targets on land. It is approximately 61 feet long, has a loaded weight of 51,000 lbs., and a max speed of 1,190 miles per hour. Operating from sea aboard aircraft carriers, the Super Hornet gives the Navy the power to protect America’s interests anywhere, at any time. The versatile jet has the ability to destroy targets located hundreds of miles inland, without the need to get another country’s permission to operate within its borders. “Strike Fighter Wing, U. S. Pacific Fleet, based at Naval Air Station Lemoore, California, is the heart of Naval Aviation,” said Capt. James S. Bates, Deputy Commodore, Strike Fighter Wing, U.S. Pacific. “The sailors assigned to SFWP always exceed expectations and

produce amazing results through team work and dedication to their department, squadron, the U.S. Navy and their family. Naval Aviation is a challenging occupation, but our sailors work day in and day out to provide fully mission capable aircraft and fully qualified aircrew to ensure leadership is able to answer national level tasking. I am humbled to be able to lead the sailors of SFWP and I am proud to call Lemoore my home.” As a member of one of the U.S. Navy’s most relied-upon assets, Morales and other sailors know they are part of a legacy that will last beyond their lifetimes providing the Navy the nation needs. “I am the first one in my family to join the military,” said Morales. “I wanted something different and to change

my surroundings with a new challenge.” What Morales likes the most about this command is the way they all take care of each other. “Serving in the Navy makes me proud to be a part of something bigger than myself,” Morales said.

Christen Castro A San Jose, California, native and 2016 Independence High

Y6Z

School graduate is serving in the U.S. Navy forwarddeployed aboard USS Blue Ridge.  Seaman Christen Castro is serving aboard the ship operating out of Yokosuka, Japan.  The ship routinely deploys to protect alliances, enhance partnerships, and be ready to respond if a natural disaster occurs in the region.  A Navy seaman is responsible for maintaining the material readiness of the ship.  Castro is proud to serve in the Pacific and fondly recalls memories of San Jose.  “I was always taught to respect my elders, the importance of getting my daily duties completed and keeping everything maintained,” said Castro.  Moments like that makes it worth serving around the world ready at all times to defend America’s interests. With more than 50 percent of the world’s shipping tonnage and a third of the world’s crude oil passing through the region, the United States has historic and enduring interests in this part of the world.  The Navy’s presence in Yokosuka is part of that long-standing commitment, explained Navy officials.  USS Blue Ridge serves as the flagship for

the U.S. Seventh Fleet. It is one of only two U.S. Navy command ships in the world, providing command and control for fleet commanders. “Being forwarddeployed feels great, I feel like we are actually making a difference,” said Castro.  As a member of one of the U.S. Navy’s most relied-upon assets, Castro and other sailors know they are part of a legacy that will last beyond their lifetimes providing the Navy the nation needs.   “Being in the Navy, I learned how to get out of my shell and build leadership roles,” said Castro. “Serving in the Navy means I get to continue my family’s tradition of service. I have six uncles in the military and I am the first female in my family to join. I want to be a role model for my siblings and family.”  Seventh Fleet, which is celebrating its 75th year in 2018, spans more than 124 million square kilometers, stretching from the International Date Line to the India/ Pakistan border; and from the Kuril Islands in the North to the Antarctic in the South. Seventh Fleet’s area of operation encompasses 36 maritime countries and 50 percent of the world’s population with between 50-70 U.S. ships and submarines, 140 aircraft, and approximately 20,000 Sailors in the 7th Fleet.


Family Matters Time To Expand Kingdom Family Resources is excited to announce an opportunity to participate in Mental Health Education classes that will help you and your family have an understanding of what is happening emotionally,mentally, physically, and spiritually. NOW is the time to invest in yourself and your family so you can live the life you were born to live! You can register on the website to guarantee a seat www.kingdomfamilyresources.com and look for the page “Mental Health Education” or you can pay cash or check at the door. Child care will not be provided at this time. Some of the topics include: Trauma in the Family and the impact on emotions, mind, and body, Mental Health and Faith, Managing Depression, Anxiety, Bipolar Disorders, Healing family relationships, Special Education needs, Substance use, and more! Come on out and join us- make the investment in yourself and your familyNOW is the time to do it! If you need more information email us at ejskingdomlife2012@yahoo.com or call us at 408 800-7821 We Look forward to seeing you there! Every 4th Thursday of the Month starting May 24th from 7 pm to 8:30 pm Silicon Valley Business Center 1900 Camden Avenue, San Jose 95124 $20.00 per individual; $30 for 2 or more persons

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

For more information visit BHPrinting.com or email dave@BHPrinting.com Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More Y7Z

Denied Benefits? Unable To Work?

We Can Help!

Helping Helping 1000’s Get 1000’s Get The Benefits Benefits The They They Deserve Deserve

Fighting For Your

SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS For Over 35 Years!

1

Do You Qualify For Disability Benefits? Call For A FREE Evaluation

2

Assisting With: - Initial Applications - Denied Claims - Hearings

3

We Simplify The Process & Strive For Quick Claim Approval.*

You Could Be Eligible To Receive: • Steady Monthly Income Depending On Your Paid In Amount • A Lump Sum Payment Of Benefits Owed From Back-pay • Health Insurance (Medicare, Medicaid Or Both) • Annual Cost Of Living Increases

Call Now For A FREE Evaluation

(855) 454-9395 Bill Gordon & Associates, a nationwide practice, represents clients before the Social Security Administration. Member of the TX & NM Bar Associations. Mail: 1420 NW St Washington D.C. Office: Broward County, FL. Services may be provided by associated attorneys licensed in other states. * The process for determining each applicant’s disability benefits varies greatly, and can take upwards of two years.


Good Health Hurry and Register for Out Run Lupus!

Help us raise $100,000 to improve lives impacted by lupus. You may qualify for discounts on...

Medicare Supplement Insurance Are you taking advantage of all the discounts and benefits* available to you? They include: u Early enrollment discount

We invite you to Northern California’s largest lupus awareness event, the Outrun Lupus 5K. Now in our 24th year, 2018’s Outrun Lupus 5K expects to welcome nearly 1,000 runners and walkers, friends, family members, community members and exhibitors. Get competitive or just have fun. Put a team together or come by yourself ready to meet new friends! Oh, and Outrun Lupus 5K isn’t just pet friendly, you can enter your four-legged bestie in our Mascot Contest! Prizes are not just for pups, of course. Top Run finishers will receive medals, and awards await top fundraisers and teams.

u Direct deposit discount

If you have any questions, you can reach us at communications@lfnc.org or 408-954-8600.

u Household discount u Multi-policy discount

1-888-689-7639

u Dental and vision care discounts u Free gym or health club memberships

Find a low-premium Medicare Supplement plan from a top-rated company. Plus discounts and benefits you may be missing! Call today. *Discounts and benefits vary by plan and by state. Call for details on plans/discounts available in your area. Not connected with or endorsed by the U.S. Government or the federal Medicare program. Insurance advertisement. Insuractive, Inc. Insurance licensed in all 50 states & DC. CA license #0167772. AW18-1003

Registration Pricing Runners: $40 Walkers: $30 Children 12 and under (running or walking): $15 Registration prices include a T-shirt for each participant. Additional fundraising incentives to be announced. Saturday, June 9, 2018 | 8:00 am. Guadalupe Gardens | 438 Coleman Avenue, San Jose, CA Y8Z


Opinion Vicious Attack of Pierluigi Oliverio Unwarranted

Ones’ good name and reputation is a most prized possession It is unconscionable for any person or entity to maliciously endeavor to destroy another persons reputation The lack of integrity the public special interest groups showed recently when they maliciously sought to destroy the reputation of Pierluigi Oliverio, candidate for Santa Clara County Supervisor, is a disgrace. The “hit pieces” compared a man of honor to a predator. The Mercury News, that actually endorsed another candidate in this race, spoke out eloquently against the public employee groups shocking and untrue attack on Pierluigi Oliverio (5/20/18 editorial). It is hard to believe that Mr. Oliverio’s opponents would condone such disgusting tactics-but do so by remaining silent. All candidates have to campaign on political records and differences, but one’s reputation is precious. It is shocking that the union leadership

would allow such an attack. This speaks volumes about them as individuals. Money rather than what is true must be very important to them. We all admire those honorable people who work in local government. We trust them and are grateful for their service. We hold them in esteem and teach our children to respect them. It is hard

for us to believe that they could have known about this disgusting and completely untrue attack on Pierluigi Oliverio. So with that said, why haven’t the opposition candidates and the union membership come out and condemned this material? Keep in mind it may be Mr. Oliverio today, but it might be you or your family tomorrow. We

have to restore honesty, decency and integrity in politics by electing representatives that do not condone this kind of tactic. To paraphrase: Pierluigi said, why would anybody who honestly wants to represent the people ever agree to run for office if only those who represent special interests are left

unscathed. We are the folks who pay the taxes to support the city and county. It is time for us to speak up for what is right. The #MeToo.. movement is very serious and courageous and far too long in coming but should not be used as a weapon for unscrupulous personal gain. Soon those who have a real case of abuse will not be believed. As women and mothers we are frightened that anyone could make any unsubstantiated or untrue statement against a male member of our family that causes them to be condemned, maligned and considered guilty in the public arena. Horrifying. The public employee leadership and those they represent who wrote, approved and funded the flyer that dishonestly discredited Pierluigi Oliverio should hang their heads in shame. Sincerely,

Barbara Campisi Marcia Giachetti Debra Bohn Lisa Berry Barbara Ross Mim Bloom Donna Nicoletti Rebecca Morici Claudia Folzman Jing Li Diana Merino

Paid Endorsement

Y9Z


Worship Directory Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church

Hillside Church San Jose

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Smile! Candid Camera’s 8 Decades of Smiles! With Peter Funt 3Below Theaters & Lounge presents “ Candid Camera’s 8 Decades of Smiles! With Peter Funt”. This show has pleased audiences nationwide. Peter’s hilarious stage comedy is blended with clips, quips and behind-the-scenes tales from the show’s funniest moments. Candid Camera holds a unique place in entertainment history as the only show to have produced new episodes in each of the last eight decades – from Allen Funt’s debut in 1948 through Peter Funt’s  (Allen’s son) recent run on TV Land. Peter’s latest show was a “Top Pick” in People Magazine and praised by The New York Times.

The stage show incorporates the best Candid Camera clips in a fast-paced, laugh-filled romp through the decades. Peter’s topical humor is blended with audience participation and special surprises to make the show a great night of gun. Peter joined his dad as co-host in the 1980s and took over as host in the 90s. Over his own four decades, peter has hosted more than 200 network episodes. He also appears on numerous talk shows, authored the book “Cautiously Optimistic,”

and writes a nationally syndicated newspaper column. Peter joined his dad as cohost in the 1980s and took over as host in the 90s. Over his own four decades, Peter has hosted more than 200 network episodes. He also appears on numerous talk shows, authored the book “Cautiously Optimistic,” and writes a nationally syndicated newspaper column. The premise of the show involved concealing cameras so as to film ordinary people being confronted with unusual (sometimes outlandish) situations. When the joke was revealed, victims would be told the show’s catchphrase,

“Smile, you’re on Candid Camera.” A “secret” of the show is that much of Candid Camera was shot in and around downtown Monterey, California. Monterey is the home of the Funt family and they kept offices there even when working in Los Angeles. Why Monterey?  Well, according to an

interview given earlier this year by Peter Funt to Monterey County NOW, Monterey was a crosssection of the U.S.. “It’s all here,” Funt explained. “There is no identifiable accent, no tilt toward one generation. So many people are transplants, anyway. That’s our secret ingredient.”

Three Performances Only!   July 27 - 29, 2018 Friday, July 27 at 7:30pm Saturday, July 28 at 7:30pm Sunday, July 29 at 2:00pm

3Below Theaters & Lounge 288 S. Second Street (corner of San Carlos Street) San Jose, CA 95113 Validated parking in the garage attached to the venue.

Tickets

$45 At the door $40 Advance Orders $36 (Senior, Military, Students) Online at www.3Belowtheaters.com or 408.404.7711

Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y 11 Z


Doing Good What Matters Most Reprint

Rainbow Funding & Realty • 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

(800) 782 - LOAN

www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Cathy De Maria, Lynne Keast, Carolyn Anderson, Vicki Hagberg, Diane Strachowski

Valle Monte League is an all-volunteer organization dedicated to raising funds that provide and promote better mental health in the community through the following mental health agencies:

Home & Away...Help is on the way! MobileHelp is the premiere Medical Alert System that provides emergency coverage inside your home and throughout the USA.

FR GIFEE T

W/P URC HAS E

To get Life Saving Information and a FREE BROCHURE, call MobileHelp today!

For more information, please visit our website: www.vallemonte.org

• No equipment to buy. • Sign up in minutes. Activation is simple. • No long term contract.

Optional Fall Button™ with Automatic Fall Detect ■ ■

Comfortable and lightweight Signals for help even when you can’t press your button*

Call for a FREE Brochure!

1-888-358-6120 $

Get your free Emergency Key Holder when you purchase a MobileHelp service plan.

$

$

MobileHelp Exclusive Offer

FREE Emergency Key Holder

Offer valid while supplies last.

29 95

$

VALU

E!

$

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Fall Button™ is not intended to replace a caregiver for users dealing with serious health issues. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is an FDA registered company. MHP-06631A

For full story, go to http://southvalleyreview.com Y 13 Z


Summer Eats Children & Teens Will Receive Free Lunch at the Library this Summer San José Public Library Vows to Combat Malnutrition through its Free Summer Food Program

The San José Public Library kicked-off its 5th annual Free Summer Food Program during a community celebration

that marked the beginning of an important 9-week program which aims to combat child hunger and is designed to fuel

a child’s future through healthy meals. The kick-off event began with a story time featuring the San Jose

Y 14 Z

Earthquakes, followed by opening remarks by community leaders who then helped serve lunch to children and their families. The goal is to reach 250 students per day across the seven participating library locations that are set to serve lunch five days per week from June 11 – August 10, 2018. Locations for the program are selected based on percentage of low income residents and individuals eligible for the free and reduced-price meals program in their service area. The participating branches are: Biblioteca Latinoamericana, Dr. Roberto Cruz-Alum Rock, Educational Park, Edenvale, Hillview, Joyce Ellington and Tully Community. Last summer, the library served 18,688 meals and has served nearly 50,000 meals

since its launch in 2014. Summer lunch studies show that nutrition is directly connected to the academic success of students. In Santa Clara County, 30% of our youth is living in food insecure households. When being out of school, many students may not have access to healthy meals. SJPL and its partners (YMCA, California Summer Meal Coalition, Revolution Foods, Second Harvest Food Bank) are committed to nourishing the development of students and ensure kids are well nourished before heading back to school. In addition to receiving nutritious meals, children and teens are provided with recreational and learning activities to support their holistic development. For more information, visit: sjpl.org/summerfood


Senate Passes Preposal to Boost Mental Health Funding in Schools

Sen. Beall’s Bill Creates Partnership Between Schools and Counties to Help Students

Action to bolster mental health services in schools and help students was approved by the Senate today. By a 32-0 vote, Senator Jim Beall’s legislation to fund children’s crisis mental health services at equal levels to adult services, advanced to the Assembly for consideration. Under Senate Bill 1019, a competitive

grant program would be established to fund partnerships between county MediCal providers and local education agencies, including crisis outreach services for students with behavioral health needs. The proposal will generate tens of millions of dollars in federal health funds by partnering schools with eligible MediCal

providers who can be reimbursed for services. “Schools are the best place to identify children in need of mental health treatment and link them to services. Early intervention and prevention will improve student outcomes both inside and outside the classroom.’’ Beall said, “SB 1019 provides the needed resources so

kids can excel in their academic and personal lives.’’ SB 1019 brings parity in the division of Proposition 63 grant funding under previous legislation passed in 2013, creating a 50-50 split in spending between juveniles and adults. The bill solves an issue raised by state Mental Health Services Accountability Commission findings that found just 15 percent of the funding available from the first round of

Peer Provider Certification Bill Advances to Assembly Senator Jim Beall’s bill to increase the effectiveness of mental health and addiction supportive services that also reduces state costs was approved today by the Senate. Senate Bill 906 passed on a unanimous vote. SB 906 proposes to certify qualified peer providers -- people with lived experiences as family members, clients, or caretakers of individuals recovering from addiction or mental

illness – to provide support services that help their clients complete their treatments or therapies. “A peer provider who has a unique understanding of the challenges their client faces can make all the difference in that person’s path toward a healthier life,’’ Beall said. “Often peer providers share not just lived experience but the language and culture with the people they serve.”

If SB 906 is signed into law, California would join more than 40 other states that have already adopted such peer provider programs, establishing clear and basic standards for peer training and certification. “California inexplicably has fallen behind the rest of the nation on this issue,’’ Beall said. “The federal government urges states to adopt certification programs because they help standardize best Y 15 Z

practices.’’ Research studies have determined peer support car improve client functioning and satisfaction, and reduce both depression and hospitalizations. Under SB 906, the Department of Health Care Services would establish a certification program and standards for peer support providers. In addition, the bill also directs to seek federal waivers to dramatically reduce state costs. A 50

triage grants issued under the wellness act went to programs serving schoolage children. The findings revealed that out of a total of $32 million in funding, fewer than $5 million went to programs serving children. The Investment in Mental Health Wellness Act, ratified in 2013, expanded California’s ability to provide crisis intervention assistance, including mobile crisis support teams and triage personnel. percent match for state peer support provider programs is available under guidelines established by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid. SB 906 is sponsored by the Steinberg Institute and supported by the National Alliance on Mental Illness. Senator Joel Anderson, R-Alpine, is a joint author. Senators Robert Hertzberg, D-Van Nuys, and Dr. Richard Pan, (D-Sacramento) are co-authors. The bill now goes to the state Assembly for consideration.


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review June 1, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 8

The Bay Area Review June 1, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 8