__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 15

July 27, 2020

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Sunny in Morgan Hill

“Teamwork makes the dream work,” as the saying goes, and in the long shadow of the COVID-19 pandemic, teamwork has never been more important to preserving the vibrant economic life of the

City of Morgan Hill. On July 17, Morgan Hill announced its most recent bit of innovative teamwork, the PlaceBranding Partnership Opportunity, designed to support businesses and the community through the

Forgiveness, SelfImage, and Rectification

COVID-19 crisis. With many businesses allowed to operate outdoors, this latest effort helps businesses develop robust outdoor spaces that are attractive and inviting. “The future is outdoors,” says Edith Ramirez, Economic Development Director for the City of Morgan Hill.

By Perry Clark LMFT #110594

[Continued on Page 4]

There comes a point as we’re growing up where we all learn that just saying “I’m sorry” isn’t good enough. At that point, we are seeking forgiveness for our actions, which is very much centered outside of ourselves and beyond our direct control. This need for forgiveness

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

Boyd’s Tree Service

You Count Too!

See Page 13

See Page 5

See Page 16

may be sought from our parents, our siblings, or our community. As we go forward and deal with more of the things that life throws at us, things that can also relate back to blame, shame, and guilt or reacting from a place of fear rather than love, there’s always a need for the principle of forgiveness.

[Continued on Page 12]


July 27, 2020

When and Where

State of the State with Cal Matters

Minority Owned Business Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@thebayareareview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda McElroy Graphics@thebayareareview.com Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor - public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry Photographer: Andy Nguyen http://intramuralaffairs.wixsite.com/andyphoto

TBAR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of The Bay Area Review. All submissions become the property of Triple e Media Group, LLC and cannot be acknowledged.

Are you interested in learning more about California state politics and the issues that face us as Californians? CalMatters is a nonprofit, nonpartisan newsroom committed to explaining California policy and politics. Join Dave Lesher, founder and editor-inchief of CalMatters, for his overview of the state’s top issues and his report card on the administration’s response to COVID-19. Dan Walters, the iconic journalist and opinion writer, will share his

perspective and provide context to many of the issues we’re facing today. You’ll hear from Ricardo Cano, CalMatters K-12 education reporter, who has been writing about the state’s plans to educate California kids come fall, the digital divide and educational equity issues, new distance learning standards, and the many obstacles families and educators face. He will share his reporting and analysis and what you can expect to see in the months ahead.

Thursday, August 13th @ Noon Please RSVP to Andrea Santana at andrea@calmatters.org Zoom link will be sent directly to guests as they RSVP


July 27, 2020

Page 3

Morgan Hill News

In lieu of a birthday party I am planning on doing another Farmworker Caravan on Saturday, August 8th that I am inviting my family, friends and you to join me as we travel from San Jose to Monterey County. In working on these caravans I have reached out to numerous

corporations and organizations who are providing help to essential workers during this pandemic. Unfortunately I have been turned down time and again being told that farmworkers “don’t qualify” for their program or they don’t consider them “essential workers”. What could be

more essential than food? Pause. And yes, it brings a tear to my eye every time I mention it. Finally one company said yes! I was fortunate enough to be named a “Giant” as part of the Brawny® Giants Initiative, to support individuals who are working on community

initiatives during this time. They are the first company that has stepped up to support our cause and is donating 900 rolls of paper towels for our next caravan plus $7500 to support our work in helping the farmworkers. Woohoo! But before the caravan on Tuesday, July 28 I’ll be doing a historical presentation entitled Municipal Housekeepers: The Woman’s Club Movement that mentions

the many fabulous accomplishments woman made during the progressive era. Lastly, it is National Tequila Day and we can’t skip that momentous occasion without a proper toast. Below you’ll find a refreshing Mangorita recipe perfect for those hot Summer nights ¡Hasta pronto! Darlene Tenes CasaQ

Stay Connected @CasaQ

casaqbydarlene

CasaQ by Darlene

@CasaQbyDarlene

CasaQ.com

GUARANTEED

FINE GARDENER

up to $15,000.00

Design • Build • Irrigate

Life Insurance Modified Whole Life Insurance from Physicians Life Insurance Company

Cash to help pay your funeral, medical bills or other final expenses. • Guaranteed acceptance ages 45 to 85* • No medical exam, no health questions • Lock in your rate for life Call for your FREE Information Kit

1-855-440-8538

(408) 423 - 9488 www.finegardener.net

Smaller Projects Welcome! Spring is for planting: flower and veggie beds, drought tolerant/pollinator gardens, uncommon trees and shrubs.

or go to life55plus.info/svrev

 Plus — you’ll also get a FREE Final Wishes Planner!

*Ages may vary by state. Guaranteed for one of these life insurance policies. 6236 Benefits reduced first two years. Insurance Policy L770 (ID: L770ID; OK: L770OK; TN: L770TN).

We serve the Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Saratoga, Monte Sereno, Los Gatos, Campbell, West San Jose, and Santa Clara areas.


Page 4

July 27, 2020

Parents Helping Parents

Sunny in Morgan Hill [Continued From Page 1] “Helping our businesses create a strong outdoor space is key to their ability to survive and even thrive in these trying times.” Complementing the successful Morgan Hill al Fresco program, enabling restaurants and retailers to utilize sidewalks, parking lots and streets, the Place-Branding Partnership Opportunity is a small grant program that provides grants up to $2,500 to pay for landscaping, lighting, murals, and other enhancements to public spaces. The requirement is that the improvements need to be visible and enjoyable from the public right-of-way. Place-Branding Opportunity grants are made possible through a public/private partnership that allows businesses, community organizations, and residents to contribute through financial or inkind donations, discounts, or labor. “The Partnership leverages limited City funds with private donations to provide something positive to our community -- support for our businesses and the opportunity for everyone to enjoy an enhanced outdoor experience,” says Ramirez. “It allows for people to express themselves and engage in a meaningful way with the public space -- a win-win

for businesses and the community.” About the City of Morgan Hill Morgan Hill is a 45,784-resident community in Silicon Valley, just 10 miles south of San Jose. Morgan Hill shares an entrepreneurial spirit and thirst for innovation. Morgan Hill currently houses 6.5 million square feet of Industrial, R&D and manufacturing space in three large business parks. With over 17,200 employees, Morgan Hill is home to companies such Anritsu, Specialized Bicycles Components, Wolfspeed, Toray, Paramit, Marki Microwave, Golden State Assembly and Sakata Seeds. Downtown is flourishing with investment, new mixeduse projects, a boutique hotel under construction, entertainment venues, a burgeoning restaurant scene, growing public art amenities, new parks, plazas, and trails that

make Downtown a more walkable, bike friendly destination. Recent public art installations include a glass staircase that glows like a lantern at night and resembles the Poppy Jasper stone, a 10x10 foot tarantula made of motorcycle headlights, a playful crosswalk that showcases the local wild life amidst the grapevines, a colorful metal installation that represents the valley in between two mountain ranges made of bicycle wheels, a bronze family of deer, an aluminum steel tree with rotating baskets, murals, decorated utility boxes, and colorful bicycle racks. For more information, visit www. choosemorganhill.com About the Morgan Hill Place-Branding Partnership Program The Economic Development Team is excited to announce the Morgan Hill Place-Branding Partnership—a small grant program designed to support businesses and

community through this COVID-19 pandemic. Grants will be up to $2,500 to pay for materials and could fund parklet enhancements, landscaping, lighting, murals, pop-up parks,

creation of new public space, activation of existing parks, plazas, and public spaces. Activations need to be visible and enjoyable from the public right-of-way.


Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121

One solution for oxygen at home, away, and for travel Introducing the INOGEN ONE It’s oxygen therapy on your terms No more tanks to refill. No more deliveries. No more hassles with travel. The INOGEN ONE portable oxygen concentrator is designed to provide unparalleled freedom for oxygen therapy users. It’s small, lightweight, clinically proven for stationary and portable use, during the day and at night, and can go virtually anywhere — even on most airlines. Inogen accepts Medicare and many private insurances!

Reclaim Your Freedom And Independence NOW!

Call Inogen Today To Request Your FREE Info Kit

1-650-383-1866 © 2020 Inogen, Inc. All rights reserved.

MKT-P0108


Page 6

July 27, 2020

Travel

Global Hotel Industry Continues to Struggle With Effects of COVID-19 by Harry S. Johnson

As the second quarter of 2020 closed, global regions continued to struggle with the effects of the coronavirus, with some areas jumping the gun on reopening (others better) and worry over further spikes that could thwart the hotel industry’s ability to get back to some semblance of normalcy. U.S. Relapse Globally, anemic occupancy continues to choke off revenue and profitability. In the U.S., which continues to lead in global cases and deaths, RevPAR in June was down 87.3% year-overyear, but hoteliers could take solace that the metric

was 67% higher than it was in May. Unfortunately, the same could not be said for profit. GOPPAR in the month was down 118% YOY and a gain in the metric from April to May was short-lived, sliding back, down 14% in June over the prior month. Conversely, total revenue per available room (TRevPAR) saw an uptick in June over May, up 67%, but still down 87.9% YOY. The month-over-month decline in profit is a function of an uptick in expenses. Total overhead costs were down YOY, like most costs, but bounced up in June over May, climbing 53%.

DONATE TODAY!

https://gardeniasociety.org/musicians-in-crisisdue-to-coronavirus-cancellations/

Concurrently, labor costs bounded upward MOM, up 39%. While the expense line jumped, it’s not an altogether ominous sign for the hotel industry, illustrating that some jobs are either being filled or brought back as more hotels reopen. Second-quarter GOPPAR was down 119% compared to the same period in 2019. Year-to-date GOPPAR is down 85% over the same period in 2019. Asia-Pacific Promise If there is one region to look at for hospitality hope, it’s Asia-Pacific. Out of all the regions tracked, it’s the only one to have turned in positive GOPPAR in June. At $3.58, it’s small, but any positivity is grounds for applause. It’s the first time the metric has turned positive since February, when COVID-19 made its might first known. Helping fuel the growth was an occupancy rate that climbed to 32.2% for the month, 2.2 percentage points higher than in February. The 5.6-percentage-point jump in June occupancy over May still did not lead to any pricing power, with hoteliers content to try and fan RevPAR by volume rather than rate. The trouble is, it has the potential to be ephemeral. Some countries in AsiaPacific are experiencing sharp climbs in new cases of COVID-19,

including India, which became the third country to record more than 1 million cumulative cases, while Indonesia overtook China as the country with the highest number of confirmed cases in East Asia. Other countries, including Australia and Japan, appear to be experiencing a second wave of infections. All bad signs for what now can be considered a fledgling hotel industry. June, however, showed hope, with many key metrics up on a monthly basis, including RevPAR (up 22.7%) and TRevPAR (up 31.4%). In another show of confidence, total revenue from F&B was up 42.2%, an indication that guests aren’t just making their way back to hotels for sleep, but to eat. Second-quarter GOPPAR was down 108.4% over the same period last year. Europe’s Complication In Europe, which has had relative success containing the spread of COVID-19—though new worry has emerged— hotel performance hasn’t matched, as travel demand remains spotty, resulting

in double-digit declines for most key performance metrics in June. With the summer season now in full swing, many European countries are dependent on the traveler spend that arrives with it. However, the EU bloc’s ban of certain countries, including the U.S., makes that reliance difficult. RevPAR in the region was down 94.6% YOY, with average rates below €100 coupled with sub10% occupancy rates. Choked off ancillary revenue streams resulted in a 92% YOY decline in TRevPAR in June; on an optimistic note, it was up 57% on May, the potential result of many countries thawing out their economies. Contrary to the U.S., Europe saw MOM gains in profit, with GOPPAR still in negative territory, but up 20% over May. YOY GOPPAR is down 115% YOY. Total overhead costs were up 8% MOM and labor costs saw a minimal jump. GOPPAR in the second quarter was down 122% over the same period in 2019. Middle East


July 27, 2020

Turns South The Middle East did not have the same luck as Asia-Pacific, trending closer to the U.S. and Europe. While occupancy was higher than both the U.S. and Europe in June, it gave back 2 percentage points from May. However, average rate did see nominal growth over the same period, resulting in a small 2.3% uptick in RevPAR. Like RevPAR, TRevPAR saw a slight increase in June over May, up 5.3%, but off 55% from March. The small rise in total revenue was bolstered by an uptick in total F&B revenue, which climbed to a double-digit dollar amount, the first time it’s been in that territory also since March. On a gloomier note for hotel owners, profitability did not follow suit. Like the U.S., GOPPAR was down on a MOM basis in June, declining 43% over May. It’s a striking figure since GOPPAR had been trending in the right direction since it first plummeted into negative territory in April at $-15.56. May saw GOPPAR rise, but June’s $-18.27 figure was the lowest ever recorded in a month in the region. It was also down 140.6% YOY. An increase in expenses helped erase revenue gains. Total overheads on a peravailable-room basis were up 16.7% MOM, as were labor costs, up 8.7%. Like other regions, the Middle East is

seeing surges of its own, prompting some countries to turn again to lockdowns. A full lockdown will be imposed across Iraq during the Eid Al-Adha holiday, which runs from July 31 to August 3. The holy festival is the second of two Islamic holidays celebrated each year. The first, Eid Al-Fitr, which runs for two days in May, was blamed for a surge in cases after restrictions were relaxed. GOPPAR in the second quarter was down 123.2% over the same period in 2019. Conclusion All hoping for a V-shaped recovery in the hotel sector can now see that the succeeding months will be choppy at best. Perhaps no industry is impacted or shaped more by external forces than the hotel industry, which lives and dies on the free movement of people. When that movement is impeded, courtesy of COVID-19, demand sharply recedes, leaving a black stain on hotel revenue and profit. Until the traveling public is fully confident again, which may not come until a vaccine is produced (which has hurdles of its own) or, absent that, a precipitous fall in cases, the hotel industry could be stuck in a rut and will have to rely on savvy to safeguard the bottom line. #rebuildingtravel

Page 7

Travel


Page 8

July 27, 2020

Op Ed

Opinion: How Can Working Parents Still Teach Their Kids at Home This Fall? By Joe W. Bowers Jr. | California Black Media Last Friday, Gov. Newsom held a press briefing to announce his “Pandemic Plan for Learning and Safe Schools.” Although his plan offers clear guidance on when and how schools should reopen, it doesn’t answer some pressing questions. The governor’s plan incorporates the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) framework that establishes a baseline of standards for K-12 schools to reopen for in-person instruction for the 2020-2021 school year and under what circumstances schools

Yes!WE’RE

would have to shut down and return to distance learning. Guidance for colleges and universities is still being finalized. Newsom’s plan for elementary and secondary education during the COVID-19 pandemic focuses on five key requirements: (1) safe in-person school based on local health data, (2) strong mask requirements for anyone in school, (3) physical distancing requirements and other adaptations, (4) regular testing and dedicated contact tracing for outbreaks at schools, and (5) rigorous distance

OPEN

Juices and Smoothies

Business Directory

(408) 677-4144

www.intero.com

www.sanjoseca.gov

www.losgatoschamber.com

www.premieronecu.org

range Sunrise

Contact us to be listed @ (408) 898 -7534

learning. California schools closed for in-person instruction in mid-March as part of a broader set of CDPH recommendations intended to reduce transmission of SARSCoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. Under Newsom’s plan public and private schools in California counties on the state’s coronavirus watch list must stay closed for in-person instruction until the county has remained off the list for 14 days. Thirty-two counties — including Los Angeles, San Diego, Alameda, and Sacramento — are currently on the state’s monitoring list because of their COVID-19 transmission levels and hospitalization rates. Eighty to 90 % of the state’s students live in these counties and if the status of their county doesn’t change will have to start the school year distance learning. Newsom said, “Learning is nonnegotiable. The virus will be with us for a year or more and school districts must provide meaningful instruction in the midst of this pandemic.” With his announcement coming just weeks before many of the state’s 1,000 school districts were

planning to resume with a hybrid of in-person instruction and distance learning, teachers and parents welcomed Newsom’s updated school opening guidelines because of their concerns about whether schools could open safely with the state experiencing a surge of COVID-19 cases. California Teachers Association (CTA) President E. Toby Boyd said, “Today’s updated guidance from Governor Newsom through the California Department of Public Health is a good step in providing some clarity and uniformity across the state. We cannot reopen unless it is safe!” Newsom expects schools in counties on the coronavirus watch list to offer rigorous distance learning. “The word rigorous is foundational,” he said. “If we are going to have distance learning, and we will, to make sure that it’s real, that we address equity, we address the divide and its quality

to rigorous distance learning.” The education budget allocates $5.3 billion specifically to mitigate learning loss due to the shortcomings of distance learning and it sets requirements to ensure schools provide rigorous and gradeappropriate instruction. Schools districts are required to provide — devices and internet connectivity; daily, live interaction with teachers and other students; class assignments that are challenging and equivalent to in-person instruction; and targeted support and interventions for English learners and special education students. During the press briefing Newsom said, “Students, staff, and parents, all prefer inclassroom instruction, but only if it can be done safely.” Schools in counties not on the watch list when beginning in-person instruction must require students and staff in third


July 27, 2020 grade and above to wear a mask or face covering. Second grade students and below are strongly encouraged but not required to wear masks. If a student arrives for school without a face covering, one is supposed to be provided by the school. CDPH requires all staff to stay 6 feet from one another and the students. Students should maintain 6 feet from one another when possible. Schools must provide increased sanitation, including the installing of hand-washing stations and periodic disinfectant efforts. Staff in every California school is recommended to be tested for COVID-19 periodically. The state will provide resources and technical assistance for tracing COVID-19 outbreaks in school settings. Anyone entering school must be given a health

screen. Students or staff found to have a fever or other symptoms must go home immediately. If anyone in a student or staff member’s household is sick, they should stay home. When at least 5% of the student body and staff are diagnosed with COVID-19, a school will shut down and begin offering distance learning. An entire school district should close if 25 % or more of its schools have closed due to COVID-19 within 14 days, and in consultation with the local public health department. Districts may reopen after 14 days, also in consultation with the local public health department. Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond said, “Today’s guidance from the California Department of Public Health lays out clear metrics for our schools so that they can best understand the

conditions when they must close.” “Gov. Newsom has heeded the call for additional guidance on the issue of reopening schools, and continues to prioritize the health and safety of communities,” according to California School Board Association CEO and Executive Director Vernon M. Billy. Newsom has provided needed clarity to school districts on when and how to open and close schools and signed a budget that included distance learning standards. However, important questions remain unanswered. Two important ones are: What will be done about the ineffective and inadequate online teaching many students — especially Black and Brown students — experienced during the strict stay-at-home order last Spring, and, with kids at home, how will we address the needs of working parents?

ATTENTION COMMUNITY! Is anyone in the Bay Area looking for a very practical way to help others during this time? I work at Cristo Rey San Jose Jesuit High School in East San Jose. We serve all low income - primarily Latino- students. Since the shelter-in-place started, we have been distributing food to our families every Tuesday. As this shelter-in-place continues, our families have indicated growing food insecurities as many have lost their jobs. The ask...if you would like to help us make sure our families have enough food on their tables, we could use more food to supplement our current program. Next time you go to the grocery store or order online, would you consider buying a second bag of potatoes or another jar of peanut butter for our families? I would be happy to arrange a physically distant pick-up and make sure the food makes it directly to our families! I would be happy to answer more questions if you have any! -Linda Nguyen Ed.D. Educational Leadership for Social Justice, Student | LMU M.A. Theological Studies, 2017 | LMU B.A. Business Administration, 2013 | LMU 310 619 8647

What we need - Loaves of sliced bread - Peanut Butter - Jelly - Butter - Pasta - Pasta Sauce - Bags of potatoes - Bags of oranges - Bags of apples - Flour - Laundry Detergent - Clorox/Lysol Wipes - Clorox/Lysol Cleaner - HOT CHEETOS and ARIZONA ICED TEAS lol

Page 9

Op Ed


Page 10

July 27, 2020

Mental Health

Forgiveness, SelfImage, and Rectification By Perry Clark LMFT #110594

[Continued From Page 1] But for forgiveness to be effective, it must first and foremost not originate from outside ourselves, it must come from within ourselves. And that process goes from recognizing that we need forgiveness, addressing the illusions around our own sense of self, and then beginning the process of rectification with those outside of ourselves. When we talk about forgiveness, it is usually in the context of forgiving others. Yet, that never addresses the feelings and hurt that we may be feeling inside ourselves, especially when the situation is something that we feel righteous about. For forgiveness to be effective in healing, it has to start within the self before it can be offered to those outside of ourselves. This requires us to see our feelings for what they are, even if the feeling is in a context that would present us in a bad light. Such feelings may conflict with how we perceive ourselves. One of the biggest issues we have to address is recognizing and dealing with the fact that we are experiencing this expression, and that it may not match our own sense of who we are. The idea that we may want

to see harm/suffering in another person goes counter to our own selfimage. So the goal of getting recognition of our pain from them may be left unfulfilled. We have the greatest power to change this by forgiving ourselves first. This allows us to be able to move forward even if the people around us are not capable of providing that emotional recognition of our feelings and needs that were not met. At which point, once we are able to acknowledge these things, we move into the acts of atonement and amendment, which require actual actions to rectify the situation. This is when we shift focus from within ourselves to the outside world and we find ourselves back at the statement “sorry isn’t good enough.” The act of rectification is the a necessary steps of “doing” versus “saying.” Many of the struggles we face everyday, as well as in the greater context of our society and the world, can be addressed by first recognizing the forgiveness that must occur within ourselves, then extending it outwardly, so that the outward expression is reflective of the inward expression. An example is when a child breaks a vase. That vase, to the child, is just

an object. To the parent, it may have been a gift from a loved one who has passed or maybe the first item they bought with their own money when they moved out on their own. The sentimentality of the object is greater for the parent, and causes them to lash out at the child. The child says “I’m sorry.” And as far as the child is aware, they mean what they say. And yet the parent will attempt to blame, shame, and guilt the child because the parent is acting from a place of reaction and their own hurt. Forgiving the child for the accident may not come across their mind. The fact of the parent’s hurt makes the apology from the child not sufficient. It is assumed in this scenario that the child must make an apology and ask for forgiveness. It is the parent who must practice forgiveness, as they watch the child pout, cry, or become distant. The parent must say “I forgive myself for being angry at my child who didn’t know what this meant to me.” The self-image the parent is under, is that the child’s understanding of the world and experiences would recognize the sentimentality this object holds for the parent or that the child’s action was due to malicious intent. The feeling that they are a bad parent because they shouted at their child perpetuates the blame, shame, guilt, and hurt feelings that create distance in the relationship. By recognizing the

hurt that they felt, and acknowledging that they lost their temper, this provides the opportunity for healing and actual forgiveness for their moment of not being a parent, but being a person. The rectification comes by taking the child aside, explaining what was important to them about the vase. Then the parent ideally should spend time with the child to connect, and have fun, and honor their relationship as being as important as the vase. This example, while simplified, is necessary on larger levels from the

disagreements between siblings, to couples, and ultimately, to our greater society. Harm is done due to the difficulties associated with blame, shame, and guilt, plus the reactions of fear, all which work to protect the ego. Uncovering and processing these experiences is part of improving our well-being, and part of a deeper practice of mental health. Seeking out help with this is part of moving forward in life. The act of seeking help is, in its own way, an act of forgiveness.

Perry Clark LMFT #110594

Untangle & Grow Counseling 816 N. 1st St.,Ste.203, San Jose , Ca 95112 (408) 890-7554 (Google voice) (408)503- 0026 (Fax)

Pclark@untangleandgrowcounseling.com www.untangleandgrowcounseling.com


ph

e

e lif astro ES!

Call for Contractors!

Sa fr

om

a

a at T ng i a l c N U i I v t

E EV

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is hiring local contractors to repair roofs, perform plumbing and electrical work, carpentry, flooring and other special projects in homes throughout Santa Clara County.

I live

alone

po

te

n

RY

10

M

but I’m never alone. I have Life Alert.

If you are you a licensed contractor looking to expand your client base, please contact us! Minority and women-owned contractors are encouraged to apply. Learn more at:

®

One press of a button sends help fast, 24/7, even when you can’t reach a phone.

http://contractors.rtsv.org Qualifications: • Licensed General Contractor, HVAC, Electrician, Plumber, or Roofer • General Liability Insurance and Worker's Comp (if applicable)

Contact: Kevin McCarthy 408.578.9519 ext. 1007, kevin@rtsv.org

AS SEEN ON

TV

For a FREE brochure call:

1701 South 7th St., #10 San Jose, CA 95112

1-650-383-1263

www.rtsv.org

Prepare for power outages with a Generac home standby generator SCHEDULE YOUR FREE IN-HOME ASSESSMENT TODAY!

650-900-9379

FREE

7-Year Extended Warranty* A $695 Value! Offer valid March 16, 2020 - Sept 6, 2020

Special Financing Available Subject to Credit Approval

*Terms & Conditions Apply

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025


Page 12

July 27, 2020

SAFE, CLEAN, SPACIOUS PROFESSIONAL WORKSPACE

Business Spotlight

Welcome to BRG Realty, Jeff Mentzos

When you’re ready to get back to work out of home, we’re your new professional office space.

We welcome Realtor Jeff Mentzos to the BRG Realty team! You can call Jeff with your Silicon Valley real estate needs at (408) 425-7953

The Silicon Valley Business Center is going above and beyond to maintain a safe, sanitized professional work space for all your hourly, temporary or long-term office needs. Our facility is cleaned repeatedly throughout the day, and our cleaning crew goes through the facility every night with over 2 gallons of disinfectant spray to assure the health of every member and visitor.

Visit BRG Realty Online at https://www.brgrealtycorp.com

Call us at (408) 558-3600 to speak with Nelia or Gregg today or go to https://siliconvalleybusinesscenter.net

Join us for food, drinks and live music by Ali Kahn from 5-8 pm, August 24, 2020 at the Silicon Valley Business Center for an outdoor networking mixer and birthday bash in support of BunkerLabs.org and in celebration of Gregg Bunker’s 70th trip around the sun! We’ll be celebrating outdoors to promote safe social distancing while we mingle and enjoy. Silicon Valley Business Center 1900 Camden Avenue, San Jose, CA 95124

0

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE Demolition

r--------------- ,-------------------•

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF:: Any proJ· ect

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


Call us today for a free consultation whether you are looking to buy, sell, rent or invest!

Whether you are thinking about

buying or selling a home ...the time to act is now.

We’ll list any home for $9,500*

Real estate prices have climbed and interest rates have fallen.

Agents: Join BRG Realty & Make More Money!

We have an in-house mortgage option.

RESIDENTIAL BUY & SELL COMMERCIAL BUY & SELL INVESTING & DEVELOPMENT

Shannon Farrell VP of Operations & Realtor Extraordinaire

408-896-5351

Get all of your real estate questions answered with our incredible team of experts!

BRG

Realty Corp CA DRE # 00984218

Gregg Bunker President/CEO Real Estate Executive 408-781-1725

1900 Camden Ave., San Jose 95124

Call us: 408-558-3600

*Restrictions apply. Talk with us to see if your property qualifies for this $9,500 listing offer.

VISIT US ONLINE AT BRGREALTYCORP.COM


Page 14

July 27, 2020

District 4 News Dear District 4 Resident, The purpose of this article is to share with you a memo I submitted to the County Executive Officer, Dr Jeff Smith. The intent was to clearly lay out my priorities as we approach a series of budget workshops in advance of approving the County’s Fiscal Year 2020-2021 budget on August 21. When I joined the Board of Supervisors in January 2019, I learned that it hadn’t been the Board’s practice to collectively decide upon shared goals or priorities as they relate to budgeting decisions. I requested a special meeting to serve this purpose and am appreciative of President Chavez’s support and scheduling of such a session. This special budget priority meeting, scheduled for August 12 at 1:30 p.m., will allow each of the five Supervisors to share our priorities for the coming year. Particularly in this time

of both greatly enhanced need and dramatically decreased resources, I am hopeful that we will arrive at some shared vision that will guide our decisions over the next year or longer. We are going to have to make very difficult decisions and it will be immensely helpful if we have a shared framework in which to do so. I look forward to learning more about the priorities of my colleagues and to finding common ground. I invite you to follow this process and weigh in at any time. MY PRIORITIES

1: ADEQUATELY FUND THE CORONAVIRUS RESPONSE: Although the right decision at the time, the shelter in place was never meant to be

West Hedding East Wing, 10th Floor San Jose, CA 95110 a long term solution to addressing this novel virus. It did, however, buy us valuable time to shore up our hospital capacity while gaining an understanding of the nature of the virus, learning how to contain the spread, and determining what supports were needed to be put in place to allow us to re-open safely. We were also able to provide some immediate financial relief to people who lost jobs as a result of the SIP order. Now, in order to continue to re-open and re-build our economy, we must prioritize funding the tools that will support

Phone: (408) 299-5040 Fax: (408) 299-2038 Email: supervisor.ellenberg@ bos.sccgov.org​​​​​​​

that paradigm. Funding to enhance and support our ongoing response must include: • Widespread testing and tracing with robust isolation supports offered to all cases and contacts. Those who are ineligible for telework or paid sick leave, and those that are food or housing insecure, must be provided proactive outreach and support. • A comprehensive public health communications campaign regarding adherence to social distancing and masking protocols with expanded engagement of higher

risk populations and a wide array of methods of outreach including direct mail, promatoras, and business engagement. • A plan for economic recovery support with resources targeted towards those who lost jobs or income as a result of the shelter-in-place order. • Ongoing investment in our public health infrastructure with regard both to preparedness for the current pandemic and possible future demands including lab and testing capacity, trained case investigators, necessary PPE and medical supplies.

Place Your Ad Here!

Promote Your business with Us! Email The Bay Area Review at advertising@thebayareareview.com or call (408) 898 - 7534


July 27, 2020

2: SUPPORT AND UPLIFT VULNERABLE & MARGINALIZED POPULATIONS: This health crisis has shown us how our vulnerable and marginalized communities are being disproportionately affected. The County’s primary responsibility is to offer a strong safety net and I want to see us do through two areas of focus: health and human services and justice reform. Health and Human Services: • Set up a Children’s Policy Office to build efficient, non redundant coordination of all County services and special initiatives that are focused on serving children. • Prioritize investment in child health, well being and prevention of trauma to reap long-term community benefits. Specifically, fund black infant health and maternal health programs, childcare for County employees, universal meal programs for children, digital equity and expanded mental/behavioral health services at every school site in the County that does not currently have or have capacity to build a partnership for these services. • Protect the resources that serve the most vulnerable members of our community including IHSS, foster children and families, pretrial and

re-entry services, School Linked Services and older adults. • Prioritize investment in prevention and early intervention using social services and behavioral health services to address issues related to mental and behavioral health, condition of being unhoused, Intimate Partner Violence and substance use disorders Justice Reform: • Increase investment in social workers and mental/behavioral health providers in order to significantly limit the need for law enforcement response to situations involving people in crisis. Law enforcement response should be reserved for situations involving real-time violent crimes. • Focus resources on programs that divert individuals from incarceration to programs that do not contribute to trauma, are more rehabilitative and cost significantly less than jail.

3: INVEST IN CAPACITIES THAT STRENGTHEN THE COUNTY’S OPERATIONAL CAPACITY: To achieve the above goals, the County must be a highperforming organization that invests in its people and in continuous improvement. To do that, I want to see the County

take steps to: • Further facilitate teleworking and investigate how a more remote workforce could result in decreased facilities costs. • Reduce complexities in hiring and procurement, empowering departments to make decisions more efficiently and directly • Invest in performance evaluation and costbenefit analysis of all County programs and services. Discontinue programs and services that do not produce results or who’s costs outweigh their benefits. • Invest in childcare for County employees to improve worker capacity, retention and satisfaction. While it is far easier to declare priorities than to determine where Santa Clara County should reduce spending, my preferences would be to defer all nonessential, non-required capital projects that would rely on general fund dollars, release funding allocated for unfilled vacancies, seek out operational efficiencies in the hospital system to reduce reliance on general fund subsidy, spend down reserves to a prudent minimum and shift funding from programs that facilitate incarceration to those that provide services that address underlying social crises.

Page 15

District 4 News We also must ensure spending is responsible, transparent, and accountable. These actions are important in any fiscal climate, not just when the budget is tight. In order for our County to weather the tough times and thrive in the better ones, we must have a commitment to doing business in a manner that achieves the very best value for the public dollars we are entrusted to spend. Grounding every decision in equity will ensure that I continue to strive towards fairness

and justice in how our County treats residents, clients, employees, and all who live and work in the County, ensuring that those who are in greatest need are prioritized and that every decision is made only after taking into account whether it may disproportionately impact historically marginalized populations. Using my framework for prioritizing children and families in every situation will allow me to make decisions that are consistent, defensible, and rooted in my values.

Dental Insurance Get the dental care you deserve with dental insurance from Physicians Mutual Insurance Company. It can help cover the services you’re most likely to use —

Cleanings

X-rays

Fillings

Crowns

Dentures

Preventive care starts right away Helps cover over 350 services Go to any dentist you want – but save more with one in our network No deductible, no annual maximum

Call now to get this FREE

Here’s the information you requested on Dental insurance

Information Kit!

1-844-934-3212 dental50plus.com/svr l

Product not available in all states. Includes the Participating Providers and Preventive Benefits Rider. Acceptance guaranteed for one insurance policy/certificate of this type. Contact us for complete details about this insurance solicitation. This specific offer is not available in CO, NY; call 1-888-799-4433 or respond for similar offer. Certificate C250A (ID: C250E; PA: C250Q); Insurance Policy P150 (GA: P150GA; NY: P150NY; OK: P150OK; TN: P150TN). Rider kinds B438/B439. 6154-0120

FIRST-CL


Page 16

July 27, 2020

San Jose News

County Extends Eviction Moratorium to August 31, 2020 Santa Clara County Eviction Moratorium extended through August 31, 2020 The County’s commercial and residential eviction moratorium has been extended through August 31, 2020. Once the moratorium expires, all tenants will have up to 6 months to repay at least 50% of the past-due rent and a further six months to repay all outstanding past due rent. The County requires landlords to inform tenants of their repayment rights​under the moratorium prior to initiating any repayment plan with the tenant. Read the updated County FAQ for more detailed information. You can call the County’s COVID-19 Business Call Center at (408) 961-5500, Monday Friday, 8am-5pm, for any inquires related to your business or workplace.

Quy Luật Tạm Ngừng Đuổi Người Thuê Ra Khỏi Nhà được gia hạn thêm cho hết ngày 31 tháng Tám, 2020. Quy luật tạm ngừng đuổi những người thuê doanh nghiệp và người thuê nhà của Quận Hạt được gia tiếp cho đến hết ngày 31 tháng Tám, 2020. Khi quy luật này hết hạn, tất cả những người thuê có đến 6 tháng để hoàn trả lại ít nhất 50% số tiền thuê đã quá hạn và thêm sáu tháng nữa để trả hết số tiền còn lại. Quận Hạt yêu cầu chủ nhà thông báo quyền lợi hoàn trả tiền thuê dựa theo lệnh tạm ngừng trục xuất này với những người thuê trước khi sắp xếp kế hoanch hoàn trả tiền thuê. Đọc cập nhật Các Câu Hỏi Thường Gặp (FAQ) để biết thêm chi tiết. Quý vị có thể gọi Trung Tâm Trợ Giúp Doanh Nghiệp Trong Thời Gian

COVID-19 của Quận Hạt qua số (408) 961-5500, thứ Hai – thứ Sáu, 8 giờ sáng – 5 giờ chiều, cho bất cứ thắc mắc nào liên quan đến doanh nghiệp hay nơi làm việc của quý vị. La Moratoria de Desalojo del Condado de Santa Clara se extendió hasta el 31 de Agosto de 2020 La Moratoria de Desalojo comercial y residencial del Condado se ha extendido hasta el 31 de Agosto de 2020. Una vez que la moratoria expire, todos los inquilinos tendrán hasta 6 meses para pagar al menos el 50% de la renta vencida y otros seis meses para pagar el balance de toda la renta vencida. El Condado requiere que los propietarios informen a los inquilinos sobre sus derechos de pago bajo la moratoria antes de iniciar cualquier plan de pago con el inquilino. Lea las Preguntas Frecuentes actualizadas del Condado para obtener información más detallada. Puede llamar al Centro de Negocios COVID-19 del Condado al (408) 9615500, de Lunes a Viernes, de 8 a.m. a 5 p.m., para cualquier pregunta

relacionada con su negocio o lugar de trabajo. 聖塔克拉拉縣驅逐暫 停令延期至2020年8月 31日 聖塔克拉拉縣的商 業和住宅驅逐暫停時 間已延長至2020年8 月31日https://www. sccgov.org/sites/osh/ EvictionMoratorium/ Pages/home.aspx。 當暫停令期滿後,所有 租戶將有最多6個月的 時間來償還至少50% 的逾期租金,另外加上 額外的6個月的時間來 償還所有未償還的逾 期租金 https://www. sccgov.org/sites/osh/ EvictionMoratorium/ Documents/ Notice%20of%20 Tenant%27s%20 Repayment%20Rights. pdf。 縣政府要求房 東在與租戶開始任何 還款計劃之前,須將 暫停令的還款權利告 知租戶。 閱讀更新 的縣府常見問答條例 (FAQ https://www. sccgov.org/sites/osh/ EvictionMoratorium/ Pages/FAQs.aspx)以 獲取更多詳細資訊。 您 可以在周一至週五上午8 點至下午5點撥打(408 )961-5500致電縣府的 COVID-19企業客服中 心,以查詢與您的業務 或工作場所有關的任何 資訊。

圣塔克拉拉县驱逐暂 停令延期至2020年8月 31日 圣塔克拉拉县的商 业和住宅驱逐暂停时 间已延长至2020年8 月31日https://www. sccgov.org/sites/osh/ EvictionMoratorium/ Pages/home.aspx。 当暂停令期满后,所 有租户将有最多6个月 的时间来偿还至少50 %的逾期租金,另外加 上额外的6个月的时间 来偿还所有未偿还的逾 期租金https://www. sccgov.org/sites/osh/ EvictionMoratorium/ Documents/ Notice%20of%20 Tenant%27s%20 Repayment%20 Rights.pdf。县政府要 求房东在与租户开始 任何还款计划之前, 须将暂停令的还款权 利告知租户。阅读更 新的县府常见问答条 例(FAQ https://www. sccgov.org/sites/osh/ EvictionMoratorium/ Pages/FAQs.aspx)以 获取更多详细资讯。您 可以在周一至周五上午8 点至下午5点拨打(408 )961-5500致电县府的 COVID-19企业客服中 心,以查询与您的业务 或工作场所有关的任何 资讯。


July 27, 2020

COVID-19 Mitigation and Response The following is information about the City of San José’s response to mitigate the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and reduce the number of people infected. The following is information about the City of San José’s response to mitigate the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and reduce the number of people infected.

School of Arts and Culture at MHP Offers Drive-Thru Food Distribution: In partnership with Second Harvest Food Bank, City of San José community partner the School of Arts and Culture at Mexican Heritage Plaza (the School) is providing free food distribution every 1st and 3rd Monday of the month from 10 a.m. to noon. The School is committed to meeting community needs in response to COVID-19 and subsequent recovery efforts. This year-long program will provide a total of 10,800 boxes of food and feed 43,200 people. The location is 1700 Alum Rock Avenue, San José. Please enter the King Road parking lot to register and be directed to the food pick-up. If you would like to volunteer (positions include registration personnel, traffic controllers, food distribution handlers and others), sign up through the MHP food distribution volunteer online form. Parks, Recreation and Neighborhood Services Releases Second Episode of “A Walk In The Park”: The Parks, Recreation and Neighborhood Services (PRNS) Department has launched the second episode in their new

podcast series, “A Walk in the Park.” Learn how PRNS’ essential services are reaching people of all ages, abilities, and walks of life during the pandemic. In this episode, two recreation program specialists from the Recreation and Neighborhood Services Division share their experiences pivoting from recreational programming to providing essential services, such as food distribution and virtual resources. Learn more about PRNS at https:// bit.ly/ESSENTIALPRNS and share the following hashtags: #WeAreParksandRec #EssentialServices. Downtown Parking Changes: Updates to the City’s Parking Program that were approved by City Council on June 23 are scheduled to take effect Monday, August 3. The first 90 minutes of parking will be free at all City parking garages (except Convention Center and City Hall – City Hall garage remains closed to the public). To reduce touch points and face-to-face interactions, people will no longer need to get a validation from a participating business to enjoy the perk of free parking. In addition, employees working in the

downtown and earning $20 or less per hour will now be eligible to receive a 50% discount on monthly parking permits (visit ParkSJ.org for more information). The City’s August 3 transition back to paid parking will also include reactivating the parking meters and resuming parking enforcement within the downtown core. To assist with the turnover of parking spaces and increase availability for customers, parking compliance officers will expand their current patrols for safety-related parking violations to include meter, restricted curbs (like red, blue, yellow, green, and white curbs), and other related violations. For details visit ParkSJ.org for more information. San Jose McEnery Convention Center and San Jose Theaters are GBAC STAR Facility Accredited: San Jose McEnery Convention Center and the San José Theaters announced that they have received the Global Biorisk Advisory Council (GBAC) STAR™ facility accreditation. This announcement makes the San Jose McEnery Convention Center the first convention center in Northern California to

A person’s risk for COVID-19 is not related to race, ethnicity or culture. City employees must abide by the Discrimination and Harassment policy, and treat colleagues and members of the public with courtesy and respect. Discrimination and/or Harassment of any kind is a violation of the policies and will not be tolerated.

Page 17

San Jose News be industry-accredited in outbreak and infectious diseases preparation and response. Simultaneously, the four venues that make up the San Jose Theaters lead the way in being the first GBAC STAR accredited performing arts venues on the west coast and among the first in the entire country. It is the cleaning industry’s only accreditation for prevention, response, and recovery. GBAC STAR establishes protocols and procedures, offers expertled training and assesses

a facility’s preparedness for biorisk situations of infectious diseases (such as COVID-19). For more information, view Team San Jose’s press release. COVID-19 Testing is FREE for everyone! No health insurance or doctor’s note is required, and it does not impact your immigration status. Come and get tested Tuesday, July 28 to Saturday, August 1. Testing will be available at the locations and times below, no appointment is needed.

Oak Grove High School (Student Center) 285 Blossom Hill Rd. San Jose, CA 95123 Tuesday to Friday, July 28 - 31, 1 pm to 6 pm Saturday, August 1, 9 am to 2 pm S. County Annex (formerly Antonio Del Buono School) 9300 Wren Ave Gilroy, CA 95020 Tuesday to Friday, July 28 - 31, 10 am to 4 pm Santa Clara County Office of Education (San Jose Room) 1290 Ridder Park San Jose, CA 95131 Tuesday to Friday, July 28 - 31, 10 am to 3 pm

Home & Away...Help is on the way! MobileHelp is the premiere Medical Alert System that provides emergency coverage inside your home and throughout the USA.

FR GIFEE T

W/P URC HAS E

To get Life Saving Information and a FREE BROCHURE, call MobileHelp today! • No equipment to buy. • Sign up in minutes. Activation is simple. • No long term contract.

Optional Fall Button™ with Automatic Fall Detect ■ ■

Comfortable and lightweight Signals for help even when you can’t press your button*

Call for a FREE Brochure!

1-650-900-7973 $

Get your free Emergency Key Holder when you purchase a MobileHelp service plan.

$

$

MobileHelp Exclusive Offer

FREE Emergency Key Holder

Offer valid while supplies last.

29 95

$

VALU

E!

$

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Fall Button™ is not intended to replace a caregiver for users dealing with serious health issues. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is an FDA registered company. MHP-06631A


Page 18

July 27, 2020

District 17 News

House Approves a Green Infrastructure Bill I proudly voted in favor of H.R. 2, the Moving Forward Act, which would provide $1.5 trillion for green infrastructure improvements. If enacted, this bill would allocate $500 billion in the transportation budget to reduce emissions. Much of that would be accomplished by fixing crumbling roads and bridges, upgrading public transit to reduce their emissions, and electrifying the U.S. Postal Service fleet. The Moving Forward Act also includes: • $100 billion for low income schools • $100 billion for public housing • $100 billion for broadband internet

access • $70 billion for clean energy projects • $30 billion to upgrade hospitals • $4.5 billion to replace lead pipes leading into homes. America’s infrastructure needs improvement, especially in response to the COVID-19 health crisis and the economic fallout resulting from massive job losses. Upgrading our infrastructure will not only provide a strong foundation for our economy once it reopens, but also jobs for Americans eager to get back to work and contribute to our economic recovery.

Satellite Internet That is Unlimited With No Hard Data Limits! 2

FREE Standard Installation

3

Limited Time Offer! Restrictions may apply.

25 Mbps Download Speed 25mbps download and 3mbps upload1

“You can get High-Speed Internet wherever you live!”

No Hard Data Limits

2

Our district office staff is still working diligently on casework related to the COVID-19 pandemic and its economic impact while continuing to push forward on important local issues. Last week my staff met virtually with the South Bay Odor Stakeholders’ Group to work toward solving ongoing odor issues in Milpitas. Here are a few important updates: 1) The Bay Area Air Quality Management

District South Bay Odor study will proceed in August & October as planned, as will the full winter sampling schedule. 2) There is a new agreement to limit the transportation of organic material between processing sites on Newby Island, which appears to have already reduced the odor.

3) After a COVIDrelated pause, the City of Milpitas’s separate Odor Impact Study will restart soon, in coordination with the South Bay Odor Source Study. As always, if you have anything you want to bring to our attention, please contact the district office in Santa Clara.

Constituent Services Caseworkers in my Santa Clara office are available to help Silicon Valley residents navigate the bureaucracy of federal agencies and any other concerns during the COVID-19 crisis. My staff can help you solve problems with immigration, visas, Social

Security payments and VA paperwork, among other areas. Please call my office at (408) 436-2720 between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm Monday-Friday if you need assistance. Your call will be promptly answered (remotely) by my staff. You can also contact me online at any

time at Khanna.house. gov/contact. While we are unable to meet inperson, my staff is ready to help. Visit my website for more information: https://khanna.house. gov/services/help-with-afederal-agency

5

Wi-Fi Built-In

Connect your wireless devices at home

Call For Special Offers In Your Area Pricing varies by region

CALL TODAY - LIMITED SPECIAL OFFERS IN YOUR AREA!

1-877-695-7948

Updates in the District

HughesNet is a registered trademark of Hughes Network Systems, LLC, an EchoStar Company. 1 The HughesNet Gen5 service plans are designed to deliver download speeds of 25 Mbps and upload speeds of 3 Mbps, but individual customers may experience different speeds at different times of the day. Speeds and uninterrupted use are not guaranteed and may vary based on a variety of factors including: the configuration of your computer, the number of concurrent users, network or Internet congestion, the capabilities and content of the Websites you are accessing, network management practices as deemed necessary, and other factors. When you connect to the HughesNet service using Wi-Fi, your experience will vary based on your proximity to the Wi-Fi source and the strength of the signal. 2 If you exceed your monthly plan data, you will experience reduced data speeds until the start of your next billing period. Reduced speeds will typically be in the range of 1 – 3 Mbps and may cause Web sites to load more slowly or affect the performance of certain activities, such as video streaming or large downloads/uploads. 3. Free standard installation applies to new Lease subscribers only. Not valid with Purchase option. Limited-time offer. Restrictions may apply. 5. Per the “5th, 6th, 7th and 8th FCC Measuring Broadband American Reports.”

Stay Connected @RepRoKhanna

reprokhanna

@RepRoKhanna

Rep. Ro Khanna


July 27, 2020

For 90% of Students, School Will be Online By CALMATTERS | Sacramento Observer It’s official: At least 90% of California students will begin the school year with online learning. The order, which Gov. Gavin Newsom announced Friday, marks an unprecedented level of state intervention into the operations of more than 1,000 local districts. It also carries massive implications for working parents, the battered economy, and learning gaps already exacerbated by distance learning in the spring. Newsom: “Our students, our teachers, staff and certainly parents, we all prefer inclassroom instruction for all the obvious reasons — social and emotional, foundationally — but only, only if it can be done safely.” Assemblymember Kevin Kiley, a Rocklin Republican: “(Friday’s) decision elevates the appearance of safety over actual safety. … The impacts of school closures will be devastating

for working parents, academic equity, and mental health.” Under the new mandate — which applies to both public and private schools — campuses in the 33 counties being monitored by the state for virus spread are prohibited from reopening until they spend 14 consecutive days off the watch list. In schools allowed to reopen, staff and students in third grade and above are required to wear face masks. Staff must keep six feet apart from students and each other and will be tested regularly. If more than 5% of staff and students test positive, the school must close. If more

than 25% of schools in a district close, the district must close. Faced with another Zoom-only semester, an increasing number of California parents are moving to formally homeschool their children or form “learning pods,” small groups of children taught by a private tutor — options largely unavailable to low-income, workingclass families that could further widen the state’s achievement gap. Audrey Shoemaker, a Spring Valley parent: “Today you can’t have two parents working if you want your kid to have an education.”

Page 19

Education


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review, July 27, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 15

The Bay Area Review, July 27, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 15