__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 1

January 12, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you. Albert’s Mission

Page # 6 Dia de Los Tres Reyes / Three King Day

Page # 11 Beall Acts to Restore Homeowner’s Bill of Rights

GREAT NEWS!!! Over the Christmas Break, I met with Mr. Michael Payne-Alex, Chairman of Santa Teresa High School’s Board of Teachers, and he’s excited about the possibilities of our Chapter Mentoring the African Americans and Latinos Students at Santa Teresa High School. He and I discussed the Great need to have our Chapter involved at Santa Teresa and he was extremely pleased that we were targeting both African Americans and Latinos. He said “no other organization has targeted both Minority Groups and the need is great as there

Page # 12 District 1 News

has been some tensions at Santa Teresa between these two Youths”. I explained to him that though our focus had been on our African American Young men, we’ve had several Latino Youth from previous CuBu @Bernal

who graduated and now attend Santa Teresa. Mr. Payne-Alex is also over Santa Teresa High School’s Black

Continued on Page 3 Y1Z

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 *Coming Soon* 95037 + 95051


When...Where You Belong at 3Below

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

After a long hiatus, Guggenheim Entertainment, which previously operated The Retro Dome at San Jose’s Westgate Shopping Center and offered programming at Century 25 in San Jose and Camera Cinemas in Campbell, has found a home to resume its awardwinning and audience acclaimed programming in downtown San Jose. Shannon Guggenheim, Scott Evan Guggenheim and Stephen Guggenheim, GE’s creative trio, have taken over operations at Camera 3 Cinemas in Downtown San Jose, reimagining it into 3Below Theaters and Lounge, a community gathering spot for stage, screen and socializing. Appropriately named 3Below as a nod to the theaters’ location – three theaters below the 2nd Street and San Carlos parking structure – the complex, run in conjunction with Jack NyBloom of Camera 3 Entertainment, is currently undergoing a major renovation and will emerge in January 2018 as a host for live theatre, revival movie screenings,

interactive films, comedy, live music and events like Broadway Karaoke and Open Mic Nights, as well as classes and children’s programming. Initially, Camera 3’s redesign includes a full renovation of the main theater, restrooms and lobby with additional upgrades visible throughout the complex. Sleek, smooth, shining silver elements and cool colors will create a contemporary look and are a throwback to midcentury, yet decisively modern, design. New, comfortable seats will be installed in each of the three theaters, and an inviting café will attract passersby with food and drinks prior to shows and throughout the day. Theater 3, 3Below’s largest, 250-seat theater will serve as the site for professional theatre productions performed by Actor’s Equity Association (AEA) actors, as well as a family and teen theatre series, intimate operas, musicals in concert, interactive sing-along and quotealong events, talent shows, a summer musical

Programming will kick off with The Sound of Music Sing-Along, January 11-14, immediately followed by the theatrical production of Sondheim on Sondheim, an intimate look at the father of the modern musical, running Jan. 18 - Feb. 4 Visit www.3belowtheaters.com for tickets and more information. Y2Z

theatre conservatory for aspiring young actors and film festivals, including Cinequest. Silicon Valley’s longest running comedy show, ComedySportz, will remain in 3Below’s 99-seat theater, and its weekly performances and classes will continue throughout construction, while the smallest, 89-seat theater will be home to revival films, movie marathons and double features, art and independent films, documentaries and sensory-friendly screenings. The theatre will also host youth programming that includes Saturday morning cartoons,

Slapstick Sunday events and pajama parties. Another exciting aspect is 3Below’s Pix & Pints Café and Lounge. Dining options will range from sandwiches and snacks to hot and cold foods that are themed around programming (think: Raiders of the Lost Artichoke and Harry Potter Pinwheels). A selection of soft drinks, coffee, tea, beer and wine will also be available. The lounge, imagined as a community gathering spot, will be home to family game nights, Broadway karaoke, evenings of cabaret and musical theatre, opera, pop, rock and stand-up comedy open mic nights


Breaking Boundaries Albert’s Mission Con’t Student Union that meets on Wednesday’s during lunch. He invited me to a Black Student Union Meeting on Wednesday, January 10th. I explained to him that I thought that would be a great opportunity to initiate the conversation about “FOREVER FEBRUARY Social Media Campaign!!!”. The Social Media Campaign’s initiative is to Educate, Engage, and Challenge Intermediate and High School Students

to eradicate the use of the “N-WORD” during Black History Month and beyond. Mr. Payne-Alex, admitted he too had tried in years past, to do the same thing, but it didn’t have the impact he’d like. He felt that me being African American, would have a GREATER IMPACT on such an initiative with our Youth.

@ The 100 BLACK MEN OF SILICON VALLEY, Inc. are Excited to be @SANTA TERESA HIGH SCHOOL , to present our

“CuBu” Mentoring & 100 Young Warriors Programs!!! Albert S. Wright,

100BMOSV Coordinator

Rainbow Funding & Realty • 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

(800) 782 - LOAN

www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Y3Z

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215


Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us!


Traditions Dia de Los Tres Reyes / Three King Day

The twelve days of Christmas begin on Christmas Day, December 25th and end on the Twelfth Night, January 5th. On January 6th, traditionally the last day of the Christmas season, is when we celebrate the Feast of the Epiphany or

Three Kings Day. In Mexico, Spain and other Latin-American countries it is when children receive the majority of their gifts from the Three Kings rather than from Santa Claus at Christmas. Before going to bed the

children place their old shoes or a box filled with grass or hay under their bed for the camels with a wish list on top for the Three Kings. In the morning the shoes or box is filled with toys & gifts from the Three Kings. According to legend

based on scripture (Matthew 2:1-12) this day commemorates the Three Wise Men, Melchior, Gaspar and Baltazar, who followed the star to Bethlehem, bringing gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh. They travel to Bethlehem, and along the way encountered King Herod, whom they tell of the birth of the new King.

Herod orders them to find the baby and return to tell him where the Messiah could be found so that he may pay homage. After being warned by God in a dream that they should not return to Herod because he planned on killing the baby, they returned to their own countries another way. The scripture does mention the three gifts but does not say how many came to visit. It was always assumed that if there were three gifts, then there were probably three people. Scholars estimate the number to be 2-12, possibly more. Are you wondering why they make such a big deal out of when the Kings came and not when the shepherds or others visited? It’s because the “Kings” (Wise Men or Magi) who brought gifts to the infant Jesus were the first Gentiles (non-Jews) to acknowledge Jesus as “King” and in doing so, the first to reveal that Jesus came for all people, from all nations and races.

Submitted by Darlene Tenes

Y6Z


Sweet Treats Wednesday, January 17th

Rosca de Reyes / Three Kings Bread

Meet the Winemaker, Janu Goelz of Alara Cellars 5:30pm-7:30pm Where Fashion Meets Wine Behind Alara Cellars was an inspiration to bring together Janu’s two loves—Wine and Fashion. Fashion illustration can vary from being whimsical and flirty to bold and provocative. This is also the case for wine. Come by and see how Janu has handcrafted her wines with the direct art of the fashion for a harmonious show— “Vin à la mode”

Submitted by Darlene Tenes

Saturday, January 20th

Rosca de Reyes or Three Kings Bread is a round sweet bread traditionally eaten on Día de los Reyes. The holiday is sometimes referred to as the Twelfth Night because it falls twelve days after Christmas, but is also known as Epiphany and marks the day the Wise Men are believed to have visited the Christ Child.  The bread is shaped in the form of a wreath and usually has candied fruit on top, and a figurine of a baby baked inside. It’s often simply called “rosca.” This sweet bread is similar to King Cake which is eaten in New Orleans during Carnival

season. In Mexico it is customary for friends and family to get together on January 6 to eat rosca. Usually each person cuts their own slice and the one who gets a piece of rosca with the baby figurine is expected to host a party on Día de la Candelaria or Candlemas, which is celebrated on February 2nd. On that day, the traditional food is tamales. Nowadays bakers tend to put several baby figurines in the rosca, so the responsibility for making or buying the tamales can be shared among several people. 

Live Music with “Hootenanny” 7pm-10pm “Hootenanny, is a 3-piece acoustic band, playing great eclectic pop & rock songs from the 60-90’s. The Grapevine | 408-659-6208 www.grapevinemorganhill.com

Rainbow Funding and Realty More than 35 years of experience. Call the office that knows where the deals are.

www.rainbowfunding.com

1 (800) 782 - LOAN

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Morgan Hill $799,495

Hayward $519,000

Pleasanton $295,000

4 bed 3 bath 1900 sq feet

4 bed 2 bath 1800 sq feet

3 bed 2 bath 1,296 sq feet

Y7Z


Making A Difference Local Community Group Serves San José and the Greater Bay Area By Derek Grasty

The 100 Black Men of America, Inc. is a national organization that focuses on serving the community. “Real Men Giving Real Time.” The 100 Black Men organization focuses on these five areas: Mentoring, Education, Health and Wellness, Economic Empowerment, and Leadership Development. The organization believes in the concept of, “What they see is what they’ll be,” and provides positive role models for our youth. Mentoring is the cornerstone of the 100 Black Men of America, Inc. The social, cultural, emotional and unique needs of youth,

particularly AfricanAmerican males (and Latino males), are addressed through one-onone and group mentoring relationships by Chapter members. Education is the key to opportunity and is embedded in the mission of the organization. Health and Wellness is a vital component of a successful individual and a thriving community. Economic Empowerment is necessary to create a just society, for without empowerment there is no self-sufficiency. Leadership and Development and the cultivation of our next generation of leaders is a worthwhile investment.

The local chapter, of the 100 Black Men of Silicon Valley, Inc. (100 BMSV) has been working diligently to support our youth and community. For example, the local chapter has provided technology tours to youth throughout the Bay Area. These tech tours included excursion field trips to Lam Research, Cisco Systems, Microsoft and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Students heard from engineers, designers and men and women

A Great Start For 2018! 15% Off All New Client Orders! Quality • Service • Graphic Design Banners • Magnets • Forms • Brochures Business Cards • Specialty Items And More

in aerospace. Students learned a great deal about these STEM related industries and were able to discover new and exciting career opportunities. Additionally, the 100 Black Men of Silicon Valley most recently participated in a gift

giving event in San José to support youth and their families who have lost their fathers. The 100 BMSV continues to serve our community and youth through mentoring and other community-based activities.

Denied Benefits? Unable To Work?

We Can Help!

Helping Helping 1000’s Get 1000’s Get The Benefits Benefits The They They Deserve Deserve

Fighting For Your

SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS For Over 35 Years!

1

Do You Qualify For Disability Benefits? Call For A FREE Evaluation

2

Assisting With: - Initial Applications - Denied Claims - Hearings

3

We Simplify The Process & Strive For Quick Claim Approval.*

You Could Be Eligible To Receive:

(408) 264 - 7500

BHPrinting.com

Blossom Hill

Printing Company

• Steady Monthly Income Depending On Your Paid In Amount • A Lump Sum Payment Of Benefits Owed From Back-pay • Health Insurance (Medicare, Medicaid Or Both) • Annual Cost Of Living Increases

Call Now For A FREE Evaluation

(855) 454-9395 Bill Gordon & Associates, a nationwide practice, represents clients before the Social Security Administration. Member of the TX & NM Bar Associations. Mail: 1420 NW St Washington D.C. Office: Broward County, FL. Services may be provided by associated attorneys licensed in other states. * The process for determining each applicant’s disability benefits varies greatly, and can take upwards of two years.

Y8Z


LO VERSION

REVERSE MORTGAGE PROGRAMS u IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, HOW DOES THIS

{ DO I NEED TO BE SUFFERING A FINANCIAL HARDSHIP TO

v DO MY CHILDREN/FAMILY MEMBERS LOSE THEIR

| ARE THERE ANY RESTRICTIONS ON HOW I CAN SPEND

WORK? There are many misconceptions about reverse mortgages, so it is important to know the facts. A reverse mortgage, or HECM (Home Equity Conversion Mortgage) is a federally insured loan that allows you to tap into the equity you have built up in your home. INHERITANCE? No. A borrower may designate an heir of their choosing. The heir(s) will inherit the home after the last surviving borrower passes away and may then choose to keep (by paying off the amount of reverse mortgage balance) or sell the home. Should they choose to sell, any remaining equity after paying off the loan (minus interest and/or fees) would be theirs.

QUALIFY? No. It is another common misconception that reverse mortgages are only available to those who are struggling financially. In fact, many affluent borrowers who work with financial planners are using this as a tool to better their quality of life during retirement.

MY LOAN PROCEEDS? There are no restrictions once any existing mortgages or liens are paid off. Many reverse mortgage borrowers use their cash payments to delay their Social Security payments, pay medical bills, travel or simply supplement their retirement income.

} HOW DO I QUALIFY?

w IF I HAVE AN EXISTING MORTGAGE, CAN I GET A

REVERSE MORTGAGE? Yes. Many borrowers use a reverse mortgage to pay off their existing mortgage and eliminate their monthly mortgage payment. In many cases, there is a line of credit left over for the borrower.

x HOW MUCH DO I QUALIFY FOR? The amount you can

• Be 62 years or older • Must be living in home as primary residence; vacation homes and investment properties do not qualify • Complete a HUD-approved counseling session • Must be able to pay homeowners taxes, insurance and any applicable HOA fees

borrow is dependent on several factors including: age, home appraisal value and current interest rates.

y WILL A REVERSE MORTGAGE AFFECT MY SOCIAL

SECURITY OR MEDICARE BENEFITS? You should always check with your tax specialist before applying, however, in general, a reverse mortgage does not affect Social Security and/or Medicare.

Linda Weilert Reverse Mortgage Professional

NMLS #719190 | NMLS #1074463

z WILL THE BANK OWN MY HOME? The bank does not

take ownership of your home, they simply extend a loan to you. You continue to own and live in your home and are responsible for payment of property taxes, required insurance and any applicable HOA fees.

OPENMORTGAGE .COM Rev. 04/17

NMLS#2975

nmlsconsumeraccess.org

408-647-7600 | 408-656-3751 LindaWeilert@openmortgage.com http://lindaweilert.openmortgage.com CA CA-DOC719190 Licensed by the Department of Business Oversight under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act, #4170030


Worship Directory Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church 5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

To showcase your listing in our Worship Directory or if you have any questions, please email editor@southvalleyreveiw.com.


With several key provisions of the California Homeowner’s Bill of Rights lapsing on Jan. 1, Sen. Jim Beall, (D-San Jose), quickly introduced legislation today to renew them, continuing important mortgage and foreclosure protections that borrowers have relied on to save their homes. “Senate Bill 818 will restore the rights, the safeguards, which have helped thousands of people keep their homes,’’ said Beall, who serves as the chairman of the Transportation and Housing Committee. “We do not want people to lose these rights, which had existed for the past five years. “The need for the Homeowner’s Bill of Rights is especially critical because so many families hit by wildfires in Northern and Southern California will be coping with financial setbacks as they seek to rebuild their homes.’’ Sen. Toni Atkins, (D-San Diego), who is coauthoring SB 818, said, “I am proud to join Senator Beall in his effort to extend protections for California families at risk of losing their

homes, and I thank him for his leadership on this critical issue. In addition to creating more housing opportunities for all Californians, we must do everything in our power to support struggling homeowners who are fighting foreclosure.” Among the rights Senate Bill 818 would restore are critical protections against dual tracking – when servicers simultaneously enter loan modification negotiations with borrowers while continuing foreclosure. The bill also continues other HBOR protections, including: ·        The right to appeal the denial of a loan modification application ·        Requirements that loan servicers provide homeowners with written notices to confirm receipt of their loan modifications applications and whether any necessary application items are missing. ·        Requirements that servicers send written denial notices with sufficient information and sufficient time to appeal a questionable denial. . The Homeowner’s Bill of Rights was passed and signed into law in 2012 to stop what Gov. Brown described

then as the “abusive tactics’’ of loan servicers “who would push foreclosure behind the back of an unsuspecting homeowner.’’ From 2008 to 2011, foreclosures had cost one million Californians their homes. Experts say the need to keep alive HBOR’s robust protections is just as great today as in 2012. Kevin Stein, Deputy Director, California Reinvestment Coalition: “The California Homeowner Bill of Rights was landmark legislation that brought reasonable protections to families who were unnecessarily losing their homes because of the aggressive and unfair foreclosure practices of banks, Wall Street firms and mortgage loan servicers. Foreclosures may have dipped for now, but Californians today are no less deserving of the fair chance to keep their homes that HBOR provided. And, it is just as necessary to ensure lenders and servicers continue to be held accountable in order to prevent abuses that propelled unsuspecting households into foreclosure. We thank Senator Beall for

authoring this important bill that will extend much needed protections to California homeowners.” Lisa Sitkin, Senior Staff Attorney, National Housing Law Project: “Having basic procedural protections during the loan modification application process has saved families’ homes. Losing these protections -including the opportunity to appeal a wrongful denial before a foreclosure goes forward -- increases the risk of an avoidable foreclosure.’’ Maeve Elise Brown, Esq., Executive Director, Housing and Economic Rights Advocates: “California homeowners deserve the full protections of the original HBOR which proved itself to be an effective and much needed protection for homeowners against procedural abuses that were forcing them into foreclosure.’’ Lisa Hershey, Executive Director, Housing California: “A California law that has been saving homeowners from unfair, preventable foreclosures for the last five years must be extended beyond its

2017 year-end sunset, or the state will be taking a giant step backwards in the fight to ensure all Californians have homes. We support Senator Beall in his effort to extend the Homeowners Bill of Rights to safeguard families, neighborhoods and our economy, and to further the state’s work in reversing exclusionary homeownership policies.” The importance of the HBOR can’t be exaggerated for homeowners who have used it stay in their homes and negotiate a loan modification. Listen to homeowners like Steve Kipgen, who are using the HBOR as leverage against questionable actions by lenders and loan servicers. “The Homeowner’s Bill of Rights gives me the opportunity to fight it,’’ said Kipgen, an Orangevale resident. “I would be homeless without the Homeowner’s Bill of Rights.’’ Also co-authoring the bill are Assemblymember David Chui, who is a principal co-author; Assemblymembers Rob Bonta and Kevin Mullin; Senators Cathleen Galgiani, Jerry Hill, and Scott Weiner.


District 1 News Wasserman 2017 Recap Every day, Santa County County employees work hard to provide “Real. Life. Help.” for our nearly 2 million residents. Many of the County’s vital services go unnoticed and unseen. Here are a few highlights from the past 12 months that we accomplished on the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors: Adding housing. We approved funding for local housing developments that will benefit special needs seniors and the chronically homeless, funded by the 2016 $950 million affordable housing bond (Measure A). The six projects in Cupertino, Gilroy, Morgan Hill and San Jose will add over 350 units to the housing supply. Helping the homelessness. We worked with cities and providers to expand cold weather shelter services to add beds and ramp up warming centers for homeless individuals and families. More than 1,700 homeless were housed the previous year according to the 2016 Annual Report for the Community Plan

to End Homelessness. Transporting older adults. In September, we started a new door-to-door transportation program – R.Y.D.E (Reach Your Destination Easily) -- for adults ages 55 and older living in the West Valley Cities. Discounts of up to 90% off the standard fees are available for those who meet income qualifications. This pilot program is supported in partnership by Santa Clara County, VTA, the Saratoga Area Senior Coordinating Council (SASCC), West Valley Community Services (WVCS), and the five West Valley Cities: Los Gatos, Saratoga, Cupertino, Campbell, and Monte Sereno. Caring for our animals. In November, we announced that planning and funding has begun to replace our current antiquated animal shelter in San Martin with a modern Animal Services Center designed to be a welcoming destination for visitors focused on animal welfare, care and education. Learn more about the new Animal

Services Center and make a donation online: www. countypet.org. Planning for parks. We launched a comprehensive update to the County Parks Department Strategic Plan to chart the course for the Parks Department’s next 20 years. The outcomes will support programs and provide facilities for the more than 2.5 million visitors enjoy Santa Clara County’s 29 parks each year. Responding to disasters. In March, we responded to flooding, mudslides and road failures with support and resources to local agencies, jurisdictions and the community, including property tax relief for qualified homeowners. $35 million in road repairs are ongoing in many areas and progress can be followed on the County Roads website. Opening the VMC medical center. In December, the Sobrato Pavilion at Valley Medical Center opened its doors. The long-awaited sixstory, 370,000-squarefoot, 168 room state-

Y 12 Z

of-the-art building, is named after Silicon Valley philanthropist John Sobrato, in appreciation of his generous $5 million donation to the project. Reforming jails and public safety. In January, we approved body worn cameras for 1,142 sheriff deputies and jail officers. The goal is to help restore trust and confidence in law enforcement. By using this technology, the public can be protected against officer misconduct, and officers can be protected from unfounded allegations. Jail reform efforts continue to be a priority with improvements to the public website, making it more user-friendly with a robust search capability, meeting schedules, and searchable updates of more than 600 jail reform recommendations. Preserving agriculture and the environment. Working with the Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority, we launched the Santa Clara Valley Agricultural Plan in order to conserve the Santa Clara Valley’s farmland and ranchland

as an innovative climate change mitigation and economic development strategy. In the past 20 years alone, Santa Clara County has lost 45% of its farmland, and much of the 27,000 acres remaining are at continued risk of conversion as a result of intense land development pressure. Celebrating local wine month. We declared September “Wine Month” in Santa Clara County, and celebrated the 3 year old Santa Clara Valley Wine Trail, a 28-mile loop showcasing 25+ wineries throughout Morgan Hill, San Martin and Gilroy. Adopting children. There were 157 children who were formally adopted by local families in Santa Clara County. The County’s Department of Family and Children’s Services manages foster care and adoption services to provide a stable and supportive home for children in need. I wish each of you a healthy 2018 and I look forward to another productive year on the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors. As always, you can reach my office at (408) 2995010, or you can email me at district1@bos.sccgov. org. Mike Wasserman Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors, District 1


Leadership Annamaria’s Installation Speech Ladies and Gentlemen, It truly is a blessing to be surrounded by such amazing friends and colleagues. This is a beautiful day of celebration for the Women’s Council and I want to thank you for making it extra special with your presence. This gathering exemplifies the mission of the Women’s Council of Realtors: “We are a network of successful REALTORS®, advancing women as professionals and leaders in business, the industry and the communities we serve.” It seems like it was yesterday that I was standing in front of room with a little over a 100 people making a strong declaration of leadership and excellence. 2012 was an important year for this network- Women’s Council of Realtor’s Silicon Valley ended the year with a Gold Award of Excellence! 2012 was also the most tragic year in the history of my life. I lost my dears son unexpectedly…the healing process has been challenging. It was through my darkest moments where I learned to embrace loss and found an even greater purpose for my life. This is where I learned the true meaning of resiliency… I thank everyone from the bottom of my heart for supporting me through the most critical times in my life. I appreciate the Women’s Council of Realtor’s at a local and greater scale. Thank you!! I am happy to say that today I stand stronger than ever. I am looking into the future of our network with a whole new perspective. I am empowered and inspired and it’s because of you! With all this being said, this is a call to arms to all the women in this room. It’s time that we come together, support each other, and build on the momentum of last year’s brave voices of all the women that came forward. Our goal this year is to continue the healing process for all women in our communities. Women’s Council of Realtor’s Silicon Valley will be acknowledged as a dynamic organization that is here to make a greater and powerful impact in the Bay Area. At this time, I would like to take a moment to acknowledge all the amazing men in this room. I want thank you for supporting us to reach our individual and collective success. You all know that when women are successful, it creates a ripple effect. When women are successful and happy everybody is happy, because we know how to share the love. I strongly believe this is the beginning of great things for in the life of Women’s Council of Realtors Chapter of Silicon Valley. As I stand here looking through the eyes of a leader, I speak in faith and with excitement because I see a positive future for this network that follows the foundation that our previous leaders have set before us. This year will be about reinforcing and establishing strong relationships. Because we understand what it means to serve in our industry, and how important the network can be to our members, we are committed to taking action and making this an enjoyable experience for everyone involved. Our goal is to provide valuable tools, training and networking so that together we can succeed. 2018 will be a successful year for everyone because we are committed to leading with passion. I would like to extend a personal invitation to everyone in this room to become a part of the Excellence in the Women’s Council of Realtors Silicon Valley. This is a place where you will find education, credibility, networking and leadership opportunities, but more importantly a place of friendship and support. At this time I would like to invite the 2018 Leadership Team to stand and come forward as I call your name:

1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8.

Brigitte Jones Media and Communication’s chair. Sheryl Martinez, Marketing and Social Media. Kimberly Allan, Hospitality and membership. Rosy Davalos, Treasurer Claudia Mendivil, Secretary Cynthia Sanchez, Singh, Education and Programs Director Tracey McNeely, Membership Director Francine Terrell, President-elect

Please help me welcome the new face of the Women’s Council of Realtor’s Silicon Valley! Thank you for the honor to represent you as Women’s Council of Realtor’s 2018 President! We welcome the opportunity to partner up in your success for 2018. https://www.wcr.org

Y 14 Z


Classic Enjoyment A Night with the Italians Mission Chamber Orchestra of San Jose (MCOSJ) brings the warmth and romance of Italy to the Trianon Theatre in its concert “A Night with the Italians” on Saturday evening, February 10th. “It’s a musical escape to Italy,” says Music Director Emily Ray “with romantic orchestral pieces, songs, and well-known arias, all by great Italian composers”. Tenor Pasquale Esposito, perhaps best known to audiences through his 2015 PBS television special celebrating Enrico Caruso, joins the orchestra as soloist in favorite operatic arias and songs from his Italian home town, the city of Naples. The concert also features a Rossini Overture and orchestral works by Martucci, Verdi and Mascagni. “A Night with the Italians” is a concert of audience favorites and romantic music just in

time for Valentine’s day. The program includes well-loved arias from Italian opera, such as La donna è mobile, and Nessun dorma, as well as timelessly popular songs such as ‘O Sole Mio and Come Back to Sorrento. The concert opens with orchestral sparkle in Rossini’s Overture, L’Italiana in Algeri, and the emotional element abounds in Mascagni’s Intermezzo from Cavalleria Rusticana. Accomplished student performers from Evergreen Valley High School join MCOSJ strings for the Andantino and Prestissimo from Verdi’s Symphony for Strings. The Giga and Notturno for orchestra by Guiseppe Martucci (18561909) are less familiar – he was the rare Italian composer of his era who did not write primarily for opera, and his works were championed by the great conductor Arturo Toscanini, among others. About the Soloist

Pasquale Esposito is a classically trained tenor who was born and raised in Naples, Italy. He immigrated to the US in 1998, where he studied vocal performance at SJSU under the direction of Joseph Frank. He made his San Francisco Opera debut in 2015 with a principal role in Marco Tutino’s “Two Women”, which won him praise for his “airy charm” (New York Times), and as a “charismatic and dulcet toned” artist (San Francisco Chronicle). In 2015 Mr. Esposito released his first PBS Special, a “docu-concert” celebrating the great tenor Enrico Caruso. Following its success nationally, his second special, celebrating the piazzas of Italy, will be released in March 2018. Mr. Esposito has collaborated with Emily Ray and the Mission Chamber Orchestra since 2009, and continues to share his rich Italian culture and music with

Saturday, Feb. 10, 2018, 7:30pm: Trianon Theater, 72 N 5th St, San Jose, CA 95112 TICKETS: Available online at www.missionchamber.org and at the door: General - $25 Senior - $20 Student under 25 with ID - $12 Child under 12 - $10

of Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, calling it “thrilling to hear.” MCOSJ features world class artists as well as emerging professional soloists. MCOSJ has given the world premieres of more than twenty works and the West Coast or South Bay premieres of many others. Brilliant Classics recently released a disc of A.J. Fernandes’ Violin Concerto featuring violinist Carlos Damas accompanied by the orchestra. MCOSJ caters to a broad audience, featuring classical repertoire and modern works by composers from around the world. Select high school musicians are invited to join the orchestra in many of its concerts.

audiences in the Bay Area through his signature repertoire, including Italian opera arias and Neapolitan songs. For more information, visit www.pasqualeesposito. com. About Mission Chamber Orchestra of San Jose Founded by conductor and musical director Emily Ray in 1996, Mission Chamber Orchestra of San Jose (MCOSJ) is a volunteer orchestra performing professional quality concerts in the South Bay. The 35- to 50-piece orchestra is known for its innovative programming that surprises and delights its listeners. In May 2011, the San Francisco Classical Voice praised MCOSJ’s performance

MORE HD CHANNELS, FASTER INTERNET AND UNLIMITED VOICE.

• Speeds up to 60Mbps • Unlimited data – no data caps

SPECTRUM INTERNET™

29

AS LOW AS

$

99 /per mo. for 12 mos when bundled*

Blazing fast Internet is available and can be yours with Spectrum Internet™ With speeds starting at 60 Mbps

125+ CHANNELS UP TO 60MBPS UNLIMITED CALLING

SPECTRUM TRIPLE PLAYTM TV, INTERNET AND VOICE

89

$ from

97 /mo each for 12 mos when bundled*

CONTACT YOUR LOCAL AUTHORIZED RETAILER

Free parking is available.

866-799-2094 *Bundle price for TV Select, Internet and Voice is $89.97/mo. for year 1; standard rates apply after year 1. Available Internet speeds may vary by address. WiFi: Equipment, activation and installation fees apply. Services subject to all applicable service terms and conditions, subject to change. Services not available in all areas. Restrictions apply. All Rights Reserved. ©2017 Charter Communications.

Y 15 Z


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review January 12, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 1

The Bay Area Review January 12, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 1