__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 3

February 23, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you. Into the Year of the Dog!

Page # 3 Steindorf Brings AR Into Classrooms

Page # 7 District 2 News

Page # 14 Moulin Rouge Gala

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95037 95051 *COMING SOON* 95126 95128

Continued on Page 13 Y1Z


When...Where Fuego del Destino - Destiny of Fire Spend a special evening with Rosario “La Farruca” Montoya, one of flamenco’s greatest dancers noted for her passionate movements that are both authentic and energetic. La Farruca will delight with “Destiny of Fire” (Fuego del Destino), a work of intimate, visceral flamenco, from the very essence of the culture of the gypsies. This performance will feature a special collaboration of dancer Natalia Del Mar “La Serrata”, along with singers Juanilloro de Jerez and El Quini, in addition guitarist, Raul Vicenti.

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business

This outstanding world-renowned ensemble of musicians will delight the audience with excellent original compositions and choreography, displaying the sensuality, emotion, elegance, and power of the art of Andalusia, Southern Spain, flamenco.

President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com

March 17, 2018 – 7:30 pm. Mountain View C. P. A.                          500 Castro St. Mountain View    CA 94041                                   

Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com

                                 

Tickets

$39, $45,  $50,  $55     Online: www.mvcpa.com                Phone: 650-903-6000  

Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

A Help Button Should Go Where You Go!

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor -

To be truly independent your personal emergency device needs to work on the go.

Please limit content to 200 words or less.

Medicare Supplement Insurance Are you taking advantage of all the discounts and benefits* available to you?

Traditional Help Buttons

Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters.

At Home In the Car On a Walk

They include:

On Vacation

u Early enrollment discount

At the Park

u Direct deposit discount

Shopping

Anonymous letters will not be printed.

u Household discount

Stop paying for a help button that ONLY works at home!

Call today and set yourself FREE!

Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

You may qualify for discounts on...

1-888-689-7639

1-888-358-6120 $

29lu95 e Va

u Dental and vision care discounts u Free gym or health club memberships

Find a low-premium Medicare Supplement plan from a top-rated company.

No Contracts, No Hidden Fees, No Risk Nationwide GPS Location Detection 24/7/365 Emergency Response Center

Order Now & Receive a FREE Lockbox!

u Multi-policy discount

Plus discounts and benefits you may be missing! Call today.

Place your door key in this box so that emergency FDA Registered personnel can get help to you even faster.

Optional Fall Button™

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is a FDA registered Medical Device Manufacturer.

Y2Z

*Discounts and benefits vary by plan and by state. Call for details on plans/discounts available in your area. Not connected with or endorsed by the U.S. Government or the federal Medicare program. Insurance advertisement. Insuractive, Inc. Insurance licensed in all 50 states & DC. CA license #0167772. AW18-1003


More Than Reality Steindorf Brings AR Into Classrooms with Google Expedition’s AR Pioneer Program Students at Steindorf STEAM Magnet School will dive into augmented reality (AR) as part of Google Expedition’s AR Pioneer Program. According to Google Expedition’s description of the program, AR allows students to go on educational virtual reality field trips in the comfort of their own classroom by observing and exploring digital objects right in front them. Teachers lead the expedition of immersive lessons while students use smart phones or tablets to view objects

in AR related to lessons on topics that address a variety of California Common Core and Next Generation Standards: from dinosaurs, the human circulatory system, and probability, to DaVinci’s Inventions, Renaissance Art, The Space Race, and more. Google Expeditions webpages explain that “Expeditions AR uses Google’s AR technology to map the physical classroom and place 3D objects. Students can walk all around the objects, get

in close to spot details, and step back to see the full picture.” “We are honored Google chose us to be a part of this groundbreaking

advancement in education. As a STEAM school we’re always looking for opportunities to bridge innovative teaching strategies with the wealth of resources in our technologycentered community,” explained Steindorf Principal Kristi Schwiebert. “Google Expedition’s AR Pioneer Program is a perfect example of how we can take advantage of opportunities that spark student interest and imagination, and nurture

their desire to learn even more, both inside and outside the classroom.” The Google Expedition’s AR Pioneer Program was held at Steindorf on Tuesday, February 13. Now in its second year, Steindorf STEAM Magnet School in the Cambrian School District emphasizes project based learning and design thinking strategies for students in kindergarten through eighth grade. Steindorf is located at 3001 Ross Ave, San Jose, CA 95124

DENTAL Insurance Rainbow Funding & Realty Physicians Mutual Insurance Company

A less expensive way to help get the dental care you deserve

If you’re over 50, you can get coverage for about $1 a day*

• 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

Keep your own dentist! NO networks to worry about No wait for preventive care and no deductibles – you could get a checkup tomorrow

Coverage for over 350 procedures – including cleanings, exams, fillings, crowns…even dentures NO annual or lifetime cap on the cash benefits you can receive

FREE Information Kit

1-866-202-4857 www.dental50plus.com/74

*Individual plan. Product not available in MN, MT, NH, RI, VT, WA. Acceptance guaranteed for one insurance policy/certificate of this type. Contact us for complete details about this insurance solicitation. This specific offer is not available in CO, NY; call 1-800-969-4781 or respond for similar offer. Certificate C250A (ID: C250E; PA: C250Q); Insurance Policy P150 (GA: P150GA; NY: P150NY; OK: P150OK; TN: P150TN) 6096C MB16-NM001Cc

(800) 782 - LOAN

www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Y3Z

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215


Los Gatos Events March 3 @ Noon Celebrate Southern Kitchen’s 25 Anniversary with a Ribbon Cutting and champagne toast. This family-owned restaurant is dedicated to providing outstanding service, a welcoming environment and wholesome quality food with a touch of southern flavor. Come on in and taste the quality and feel the love of southern hospitality in northern California. 27 E. Main Street, Los Gatos

March 10 @ 2-4pm Join us in the opening of our newest health and fitness center, Trilogy on Los Gatos Boulevard. Trilogy helps people of all ages and fitness levels achieve their best self by focusing on their fitness, strength, and wellbeing. Trilogy is a family-owned business, the result of a lifelong dream of helping others. 15445 Los Gatos Boulevard,Los Gatos

Y4Z


From the left; Regina Zaliznyak, Jessica Olivas, Sushanta Bhandarkar, Nick Lampkin, Zaid Hanna, Shilpa Muthye, Ashourina Hanna, Shaan Rashid and Denise Lamirato

Almaden Intero is Proud to Honor The Hanna Group!! Congratulations to Zaid Hanna & The Hanna Group on an Incredible 2017! The ones just keep on coming! #1 Agent in San Jose volume #1 Agent in San Jose in Units Closed Top 1% Nation Wide and #2 at Intero with Closed Units

I would like to personally Congratulate The Hanna Group for reaching the stratosphere. It has been both an honor and a pleasure to know and work with such a hard working man and his team. When they say it takes a village, it really does. Congrats The Hanna Group on a job well done. - Brian McDermott

What are people saying about Zaid and his amazing Team? Take a look for yourself! “Zaid and his team are hands down the best that you can get! He has laid an extremely assisting, detail oriented yet simple process that helps and empowers you in getting what you are looking for. He is honest, very friendly and a joy to work with. From start to closing, everything was proactively taken care of me…”- Shankar S. “I typically don’t care for realtors. I have had bad luck with realtors’ over the last 28 years selling and buying homes. However, I was really impressed with Zaid and his staff. I found Zaid to be smart. His experienced really shined. Zaid sold our home in one day with 12 offers for $131,000 more than going neighborhood comps. It took me awhile to comprehend what had happened. I just could not believe what I was hearing...” - Bert D. “It was a seemingly daunting task to fix up my place, organize 9 years’ worth of stuff and most importantly pick the right realtor. Choosing my realtor meant a world of difference in sales price, ease of the selling process, online & in person exposure, negotiating skills, repairs, staging, honest terms, professionalism and almost above all that the friendly bond I formed with my realtor. That’s why with full weight I’m recommending that you get a sit down with Zaid Hanna of Almaden Interro Group...” - Sean I. “Zaid and his group were indispensable in our search for a new home while also selling our old house in a single weekend showing. Without their help we would have missed out on our dream home. Not only did we achieve the dream house but also at a great price negotiated by Zaid...” - Mazen L. “To be completely honest, I am one of those people that rarely trust realtors! Zaid and his team changed my perspective! From the moment I decided to sell my condo, it all went by so smooth and fast that at the end I could not believe it was all done! Zaid pays extreme attention to your specific needs and tries his best to achieve what is best for you, honestly and actively!” - Yasaman A.

“We have helped 133 families just in 2017 alone, and 437 since 2004.” -Hanna Group


Helping Hands Rebuilding Day Sign Ups Open March 7! Our Spring Rebuilding Day is coming up quick on April 28th! Mark your calendars that sign-ups open on March 7th. The work you put in on Rebuilding Day keeps our neighbors and communities safe. Come join us to help our neighbors in need! Rebuilding Day is our bi-annual home repair blitz, pulling together over a thousand volunteers and dozens of sponsors to repair and rehabilitate nonprofit facilities and the homes of our neighbors in need. Our Rebuilding

Day program provides both major and minor repairs and renovations that result in lifechanging improvements for the homeowners and organizations served. As houses are transformed, neighborhoods and communities find hope and pride restored. Can’t make it on April 28th? That’s okay, but save the date for our Fall Rebuilding Day on October 27th, 2018 NOW so you don’t miss out! Calling all Photographers! You are needed to

capture the spirit of our volunteers, the stories of our homeowners, and the progress of our projects. Please send this invitation to fellow photographers who may be interested. If mornings aren’t your thing... We have just the opportunity for you. On Rebuilding Day, we are in need of volunteers to join us at our warehouse to help with the return of supplies from the projects taking place that day. Your energy is welcome from 3 - 7 PM to greet

our tired project leaders and help with unloading and sorting their returned supplies. If interested

and available please respond to volunteer@ rebuildingtogetersv.org. Thank you!

To volunteer for our spring Rebuilding Day, go to

http://rebuildingtogethersiliconvalley.force.com

We have many volunteer jobs that need Your expertise!

Fun at the Museum Children’s Discovery Museum of San Jose kicked off the Lunar New Year with a fun and handson children’s celebration. To learn more about the Children’s Discovery Museum of San Jose, visit www.cdm.org

Y6Z


District 2 News Dear Residents of District 2, As you will recall on December 12, 2017, the City Council approved the recommended Bridge Housing Community (BHC) scoring criteria and directed staff to, among other things, complete the following: • Rank all the candidate sites and select the top three locations based on the scoring criteria; • Initiate California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) analysis on the top three candidate sites; • Proceed with targeted community outreach in the neighborhoods directly adjacent to the candidate sites.  For the last several weeks, I have been monitoring the Housing Department regarding BHC. An informational memo has been released identifying the top the three candidate sites for further BHC analysis. The top three candidate sites are: 1. The southwest quadrant of freeways 280/680/101, in Council District 7 2. Mabury Rd., in Council District 3; 3. Hellyer Ave. near Silicon Valley Blvd., in Council District 2.   Now that the top three candidate sites have been identified, the next steps are to initiate CEQA analysis and begin the approved community outreach process. CEQA analysis will take anywhere from 19-20 weeks to complete. Once the environmental review is complete, staff will provide a full report with recommendations to the City Council. This report will inform Council’s final site selection.   Concurrently with the environmental review, the Housing Department along with my office will conduct candidate site outreach to adjacent neighborhoods and businesses. These meetings will be open to public and will provide an opportunity to ask questions and share comments.  The candidate site in our District 2 is located on the west side of Hellyer Ave., north of Silicon Valley Blvd. This site is City owned, vacant, and currently zoned Industrial Park (IP). Due to funding restrictions, the City will select only one of three candidate sites for the development of a BHC.  Rest assured that the two locations on Monterey Rd. that were of concern to our residents have NOT been selected as candidate sites and are NOT under consideration.   I understand that BHC has been a controversial topic in District 2. As I have stated from the beginning, I believe BHC’s are worth pursuing as long as the process is equitable across all districts and the community is given a chance to participate. I remain fully committed to implementing a multitude of programs and resources to address our homeless crisis. As a City and as a community, we have a long way to go to fully eliminate homelessness. As a District, we are not immune to the consequences of our housing crisis, therefore, we cannot expect to be immune Community Meeting in District 2 from participating in a solution.  Re: Bridge Housing Community  If you have questions or concerns, please contact my Chief of Staff Vanessa Sandoval at vanessa.sandoval@sanjoseca.gov, or at 408-535-4925.  Thank you for being involved in our community. I hope that you will read and Thursday, March 1, 2018  appreciate the resources provided above and that you will encourage others to do @ 6:30 p.m.  the same.   Wyndham Hotel In community, Councilmember Sergio Jimenez 399 Silicon Valley Blvd. 

Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y7Z


Sponsorships still available for the ALL STAR/WORLD GAMES 2018! Go to worldgamestournament.org to join the games!

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

For more information visit BHPrinting.com or email dave@BHPrinting.com Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More

Denied Benefits? Unable To Work?

We Can Help!

Helping Helping 1000’s Get 1000’s Get The Benefits Benefits The They They Deserve Deserve

Fighting For Your

SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS For Over 35 Years!

1

Do You Qualify For Disability Benefits? Call For A FREE Evaluation

2

Assisting With: - Initial Applications - Denied Claims - Hearings

3

We Simplify The Process & Strive For Quick Claim Approval.*

You Could Be Eligible To Receive: • Steady Monthly Income Depending On Your Paid In Amount • A Lump Sum Payment Of Benefits Owed From Back-pay • Health Insurance (Medicare, Medicaid Or Both) • Annual Cost Of Living Increases

Call Now For A FREE Evaluation

(855) 454-9395 Bill Gordon & Associates, a nationwide practice, represents clients before the Social Security Administration. Member of the TX & NM Bar Associations. Mail: 1420 NW St Washington D.C. Office: Broward County, FL. Services may be provided by associated attorneys licensed in other states. * The process for determining each applicant’s disability benefits varies greatly, and can take upwards of two years.


LO VERSION

REVERSE MORTGAGE PROGRAMS u IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, HOW DOES THIS

{ DO I NEED TO BE SUFFERING A FINANCIAL HARDSHIP TO

v DO MY CHILDREN/FAMILY MEMBERS LOSE THEIR

| ARE THERE ANY RESTRICTIONS ON HOW I CAN SPEND

WORK? There are many misconceptions about reverse mortgages, so it is important to know the facts. A reverse mortgage, or HECM (Home Equity Conversion Mortgage) is a federally insured loan that allows you to tap into the equity you have built up in your home. INHERITANCE? No. A borrower may designate an heir of their choosing. The heir(s) will inherit the home after the last surviving borrower passes away and may then choose to keep (by paying off the amount of reverse mortgage balance) or sell the home. Should they choose to sell, any remaining equity after paying off the loan (minus interest and/or fees) would be theirs.

QUALIFY? No. It is another common misconception that reverse mortgages are only available to those who are struggling financially. In fact, many affluent borrowers who work with financial planners are using this as a tool to better their quality of life during retirement.

MY LOAN PROCEEDS? There are no restrictions once any existing mortgages or liens are paid off. Many reverse mortgage borrowers use their cash payments to delay their Social Security payments, pay medical bills, travel or simply supplement their retirement income.

} HOW DO I QUALIFY?

w IF I HAVE AN EXISTING MORTGAGE, CAN I GET A

REVERSE MORTGAGE? Yes. Many borrowers use a reverse mortgage to pay off their existing mortgage and eliminate their monthly mortgage payment. In many cases, there is a line of credit left over for the borrower.

x HOW MUCH DO I QUALIFY FOR? The amount you can

• Be 62 years or older • Must be living in home as primary residence; vacation homes and investment properties do not qualify • Complete a HUD-approved counseling session • Must be able to pay homeowners taxes, insurance and any applicable HOA fees

borrow is dependent on several factors including: age, home appraisal value and current interest rates.

y WILL A REVERSE MORTGAGE AFFECT MY SOCIAL

SECURITY OR MEDICARE BENEFITS? You should always check with your tax specialist before applying, however, in general, a reverse mortgage does not affect Social Security and/or Medicare.

Linda Weilert Reverse Mortgage Professional

NMLS #719190 | NMLS #1074463

z WILL THE BANK OWN MY HOME? The bank does not

take ownership of your home, they simply extend a loan to you. You continue to own and live in your home and are responsible for payment of property taxes, required insurance and any applicable HOA fees.

OPENMORTGAGE .COM Rev. 04/17

NMLS#2975

nmlsconsumeraccess.org

408-647-7600 | 408-656-3751 LindaWeilert@openmortgage.com http://lindaweilert.openmortgage.com CA CA-DOC719190 Licensed by the Department of Business Oversight under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act, #4170030


Worship Directory Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church

Hillside Church San Jose

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Beauty at Work Allied Artist West Joins Martha’s Kitchen

ADULT LEARNER ORIENTATION Improve Basic Reading and Writing Skills Partners in Reading offers FREE one-to-one tutoring, small group instruction, computer lessons, classes, workshops, family programs and more! Basic Requirements:  Must be at least 18 years old  Live or work in San José  English skills must be at a conversational level  Minimum commitment of 6 months at 3 hours per week with a tutor

MONDAY, MARCH 26, 2018

6:00 p.m. — 8:30 p.m. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library 150 E. San Fernando St. San José, CA 95112 (408) 808-2361

Contact Partners in Reading to register today! (408) 808-2361 par.sjpl@sjlibrary.org www.sjpl.org/par To arrange an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act for library-sponsored events, please call 408-808-2361 at least three business days prior to the event.

sjpl.org/PAR

#SJPLPAR

/PartnersInReading.SJPL

llied Artist West (AAW) a group of Bay Area artists, who have a prestigious body of award winning work, will be lending their talents to a unique fundraiser for Martha’s Kitchen, a non-profit soup kitchen in Silicon Valley. Sam Pearson, the President of AAW came up with the idea of having his group of artist replicate two original art pieces. The art works will then be auctioned off sometime in September, October, or November. He sketched small sections of two works from famous artist on 8” X 8” (NOT 8 ft X 8 ft) canvases asking 24 artists to paint a replica piece of the art staying true to the stick of the works (lights and darks). He did not tell the artist who painted the pieces or what were the names of the art works. The two famous paintings, now “updated” in pieces are Manet’s 1872 “Berthe Morisot with a Bouquet of Violets” and Vermeer’s 1665 “Girl with a Pearl Earring”. Pearson states “Allied Artists West is a Professional Artist’s Group in Santa Clara County. Members

Y 11 Z

are nationally-known professional artists who have received awards, juried art competitions and exhibits, or who have been published. To highlight a few of our members, Pat Suggs was given the title Master Pastelist by The Pastel Society of America; Ed Lucey has been honored by Artist Magazine as one of its best 10 artists over the age of 60; Veronica Gross was recently named one of Watercolor Artist magazine’s 15 most recognized watercolorists after taking 1st place in the Watercolor West International competition; Yao Pi Hsu won best of show in the 2015 Triton Museum’s Statewide 2d Art Competition, entitling

her to a one person show at the museum; and Carole Rafferty, an artist member of the prestigious California Art Club took 1st placed in the 2015 Los Gatos Plein Air Competition, a competition which drew artists from all over the nation. Gary Coleman won best of show for both the 2014 and 2016 Pacific Art League “All Abstract” competition”. The art auction fundraiser will benefit Martha’s Kitchen, a nonprofit soup kitchen that has fed over 4 million homeless, in-need families, and seniors. Martha’s Kitchen executive director, Edita Cruz states, ”Martha’s Kitchen was founded by Lousie Benson, the ‘Mother Theresa of San Jose’. Mrs. Benson fed many homeless clients out of her garage. The ‘little soup kitchen that could’ has one mission stated by Benson: feed the hungry with dignity; no questions asked, no judgements made.” For more information about the auction or to donate call 408293-6111 or go to marthas-kitchen. org.


Thank You! Thank You For Making History!

LFNC raises record $157,000 at 5th Annual Purple Ribbon Awards On Saturday February 10, Lupus Foundation of Northern California marked the occasion of our 40th anniversary with the 5th Annual Purple Ribbon Awards. A 70s themed evening in honor of our founding in 1978, the evening was truly historic. We made history with 40 years of service to the lupus community. And we made history with the highest grossing fundraising event ever, raising $157,000 from this evening thanks to your generosity. We are humbled not simply by the dollar amount you helped us raise but by the trust you have shown in LFNC. THANK YOU. Saturday evening started with a silent auction and cocktail hour buzzing with excitement

and ended with an hour on the dance floor. The main ballroom at the San Jose Marriott buzzed from bidding on Live Auction items and rose on its feet to honor this year’s Face of Lupus, Elizabeth Beck. LFNC Founder Jo Dewhirst was presented with commendations from the office of the Mayor of San Jose and from the office of Congressman Ro Khanna. Khanna’s office also honored others with commendations. Finally, LFNC was privileged to honor those who made outstanding contributions to the lupus community:

• R. Elaine Lambert, M.D., Outstanding Commitment to Treatment and Research • Jason Rodriguez, Outstanding Community Service • Elizabeth Beck, Outstanding Youth Leader • Sarah & Vinnie, Alice Radio, Outstanding Media Ally • Asana, Outstanding Corporate Wellness

2018 Purple Ribbon Recipients

LFNC Founder Jo Dewhirst and admirers.

Erin Badillo and her amazing team!

Y 12 Z


Into the Year of the Dog!

Westfield Valley Fair hosted the Silicon Valley Lunar Near Year Celebrations on Saturday, Feb. 17th.


SVR After Dark Moulin Rouge Gala Gene Campbell, all around great guy and owner of The Glass House party space, threw a Moulin Rouge themed Valentines party on February 17. A portion of the ticket sales were given to Downtown Streets Team.

Y 14 Z


Advocates Kingdom Family Resources is a community based Mental Health service that is dedicated to the education, healing, growth and preservation of all families. “Our vision is to restore a heart, restore a family and transform lives for a lifetime. In order for families to be strong and healthy -- each member need to be strong and healthy.”

Greetings from Kingdom Family Resources! As we look around our community and listen to the news about the events that are happening around the world, there is one thing that will continue to help us look forward into the future: HOPE. Have you ever had a situation or experience that left you wondering “how am I going to get through this”? So many families face difficulties daily, whether that be financial, marital, and/or children who are struggling with disabilities. Families go through divorce, have unexpected deaths, and generations that experience incarceration. Some young people are struggling with understanding their identity, and parents feel like they have lost their child to gangs and the streets. What is the one thing that will help you hold on? It is HOPE. What is the one thing that will motivate you to keep getting up in spite of what you are facing? It is HOPE. According to the dictionary, HOPE is “a feeling of a certain expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen”. I want to encourage you to not allow life and situations to diminish your hope for your family and your life. You and I were made to endure and take opportunity to make something good out of something tough. Psychiatrist and Neurologist Victor Frankle said that “the last of human freedoms - the ability to choose one’s attitude in a given set of circumstances” In every situation you face, challenge your beliefs if they are opposite of HOPE. Don’t allow circumstance to cloud your ability to have HOPE. Kingdom Family Resources believes in empowering families to continue to HOPE; no matter what your family is facing. You may not always know how you will get through it, but, if you choose to, you will see HOPE in action – hold on to HOPE! Elizabeth J. Stewart, LMFT 96324 Kingdom Family Resources

Increasing Children’s Access to Mental Health Services To increase mental health funding for children, a proposal to allocate at least half of grant funding for triage services available under the Mental Health Wellness Act for youth 18 years and younger was introduced today by Senator Jim Beall, D-San Jose. “The majority of mental health and crisis intervention funding is targeted for adults but we should remember the needs of children are no less important,’’ said Beall, who serves as chairman of the Senate Mental Health Caucus. “It

is crucial to get children who are experiencing a mental health crisis quickly connected to treatment and counseling. “If the state can get kids the early help they need, it will defuse future problems and make their future brighter. Parity in funding is a simple step that does not cost the state more money but will benefit children for the rest of their lives – and that’s good for California.’’ Senate Bill 1019 targets an issue raised by the state Mental Health Services Accountability Commission, which

found that just 15 percent of the funding available through the first round of triage grants issued under the wellness act went to programs that served school-age children. Of the $32 million that was reserved for crisis triage programs, less than $5 million went to programs that served children. When compared with adults, children in California appear to have a greater need for mental health services. Approximately 1 in 20 adults suffers from a serious mental illness

Y 15 Z

that makes it difficult to carry out major life activities. The rate among children is even higher: 1 in 13 suffers from a mental illness that limits participation in daily activities, according to findings by the California Health Care Foundation. SB 1019 also creates a competitive grant program to support partnerships between counties and local education agencies that include crisis

outreach services by Medi-Cal providers for students with behavioral and emotional needs. The Mental Health Wellness Act of 2013 was aimed at expanding the state’s ability to provide crisis intervention assistance, including as crisis stabilization, rehabilitative services, mobile crisis support teams, and triage personnel.


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review February 23, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 3

The Bay Area Review February 23, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 3