__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 5

April 10, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you.

Fourth Annual Women’s Health Lunch

Page # 4 Los Gatos Events

Page # 7 District 15 News

Stanford Medicine hosted Woman’s Health Lunch at the Fairmont San Jose on Tuesday, March 20. Michelle Barsanti, Barbara Campisi, Naomi Chavez-Peters, and Liz Ferrari were the Host Committee. The festivities aimed to educate woman on Breast and Gynecological Cancers, and what every woman must know in order to take care of her health. The speakers were Oliver Dorigo and Allison W. Kurian.

Continued on Page 6 Y1Z

Page # 9 Live Long and Prosper: Interview with Nichelle Nichols

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051


When...Where 13th Annual Healthy Living Health Fair

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

A Help Button Should Go Where You Go!

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor -

To be truly independent your personal emergency device needs to work on the go.

Please limit content to 200 words or less.

Fair: Tzu Chi Foundation, On-Site Dental Care Foundation, and VSP. We thank the following agencies for their generous contributions to make this year’s event possible: El Camino Medical Foundation,

Sunday, April 22nd; 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. Sacred Heart Community Service 1381 S. First Street (at Alma)

Families can sign up for appointments at Sacred Heart’s Welcome Center from now until April 20th. The Welcome center is open Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 9am - 4pm, Tuesdays 9am -6pm, and Fridays 9am -12pm

You may qualify for discounts on...

Medicare Supplement Insurance Are you taking advantage of all the discounts and benefits* available to you?

At Home In the Car On a Walk

They include:

On Vacation

u Early enrollment discount

At the Park

u Direct deposit discount

Shopping

Anonymous letters will not be printed.

u Household discount

Stop paying for a help button that ONLY works at home!

Call today and set yourself FREE!

Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. 29lu95 e Va

u Dental and vision care discounts u Free gym or health club memberships

Find a low-premium Medicare Supplement plan from a top-rated company.

No Contracts, No Hidden Fees, No Risk Nationwide GPS Location Detection 24/7/365 Emergency Response Center

Order Now & Receive a FREE Lockbox!

u Multi-policy discount

1-888-689-7639

1-888-358-6120 $

Health Trust, and UFCW Local 5.

2018 Healthy Living Health Fair

Traditional Help Buttons

Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters.

All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

timely spot for services. If you are interested in booking an appointment for both vision and dental services, please allow for at least a 2 hour space between these appointments. This is to ensure that there is enough time to receive both services. If you are interested in opportunities to volunteer at the Health Fair and would like to sign-up, please visit the following site: http:// www.signupgenius.com/ go/10c0a4dadae2ca3f58healthy Sacred Heart, in partnership with Shir Hadash, is proud to partner with the following providers for the Health

Sunday, April 22nd, is the day of the 13th Annual Healthy Living Health Fair organized by Congregation Shir Hadash and Sacred Heart Community Service. Services that will be provided include dental exams and treatments, vision services, and medical screenings for cholesterol, blood pressure and diabetes. All services during the Health Fair are free! People interested in these services can sign up in person at Sacred Heart’s Welcome Center from now until April 20th. 2018 to book an appointment. Walk-ins are welcome on April 22nd, but are not guaranteed a

Plus discounts and benefits you may be missing! Call today.

Place your door key in this box so that emergency FDA Registered personnel can get help to you even faster.

Optional Fall Button™

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is a FDA registered Medical Device Manufacturer.

Y2Z

*Discounts and benefits vary by plan and by state. Call for details on plans/discounts available in your area. Not connected with or endorsed by the U.S. Government or the federal Medicare program. Insurance advertisement. Insuractive, Inc. Insurance licensed in all 50 states & DC. CA license #0167772. AW18-1003


Now is the perfect opportunity to clear your fines and do a good deed to help others. The Santa Clara County Library District (SCCLD) is launching a Food for Fines program with Second Harvest Food Bank, waiving up to $100 in exchange for the donation of any amount of non-perishable food. Did you recently locate an item from the library that you thought was lost long ago? We always appreciate when lost items are returned. Bring it in with your food donation and the lost item fee will be waived! Don’t have any fines but want to help? All non-perishable food donations are welcome. This is a win-win for you and our community! SCCLD Libraries are located in Campbell, Cupertino, Gilroy, Los Altos, Milpitas, Morgan Hill, and Saratoga. www.sccl.org/foodforfines

More than 85 volunteers came out on a cold and cloudy Saturday last month to help clean up San Martin. Thanks to their efforts, 1.29 tons (or 2,580 Lbs.) of litter was removed from creek and road areas in San Martin. The event was co-organized by my office, the San Martin Chamber of Commerce, the San Martin Neighborhood Alliance, GreenWaste and the Santa Clara Valley Water District. Thank you to everyone involved! To learn more about community events in San Martin, visit www.sanmartinneighbor.org or www.sanmartinchamber.org

The Exchange Club of San Jose’s Blue & Gold Service Awards Luncheon pays its highest tribute to firefighters and law enforcement who have been injured or killed in the line of duty. The Exchange Club of San Jose is a group of men and women working together to make our communities better places to live through Community Service programs, Youth Activities, and its national project, Prevention of Child Abuse. Learn more about the Exchange Club of San Jose here: https://www. facebook.com/SanJoseExchangeClub/

Please join me for “Spring Celebration, Take a Taste of the Valley of Hearts Delight” on Saturday, May 5, 2018 from 10:00 am - 3:00 pm at Martial Cottle Park in San Jose. You will experience Santa Clara Valley’s agricultural past, present, and future on land the Cottle family farmed for over 150 years. Come enjoy local arts and crafts, farm animals upclose, urban forest demonstration, antique autos and vintage farm equipment, gardening demonstrations, spring planting activities, kids activities, fresh organic produce, garden workshops, Jacobs Farm tours, live music and more! Visit the County Parks website for additional information: www. parkhere.org

Y3Z


Los Gatos Events

Benefit Dance Concert Saturday, May 19th from 8:00-9:30pm 1195 Clark Street, San Jose Tickets- Adults: $15 Students Under 12: Free 12 and over: $10 Event Brite or uscsj4768@gmail.com

Margo LeDuc And the MVP’s Bring your dancing shoes and enjoy the music to raise money for Willow Glen Cares, an organization that serves Willow Glen HS students in great need.

sponsored by:

Y4Z


Night at the Theatre Campbell’s Heritage Theatre Presents Sara Evans Following sell-outs of its last two shows, Campbell’s historic Heritage Theatre closes its 2017-2018 Season with the resilient SARA EVANS on Thursday, April 19, at 8:00pm. The evening will feature special guests TEMECULA ROAD performing the opening set. SARA EVANS has had five #1 singles, sold millions of records, won the Academy of Country Music’s Top Female Vocalist Award, and claimed a Country Music Association trophy for her signature song, “Born To Fly.” It’s tough to imagine many accomplishments she hasn’t already checked off her bucket list. And yet, with the release of her eighth studio album Words, SARA EVANS demonstrates that she’s still willing to leap into the unknown, taking greater control of her career and calling the shots in a way that’s unusual in country music – particularly unusual for a woman in the genre. Words is the first project on Evans’ own label: Born To Fly Records, appropriately named after that CMAwinning signature song, which celebrated risk and adventure. Much is familiar about Words. Evans’ voice is warm and strong, the songs are authentic and memorable,

and the actual words themselves resonate with the realities of everyday life. But the album was an eye-opening experience for Evans as a creative force. As the head of her own small, flexible company, she was able to take a streamlined approach to building it. Instead of subjecting the music to multiple departments, each with their own view of one part of her career, Evans approached it with an instinctual, gut-level focus on making a project that represents the current version of Sara Evans. “The only thing I had on my mind with this album was just Grammylevel songs and the coolest music that I can find,” she says. “I didn’t really go about it in any other way. I wasn’t catering to any part of the business. There was never a thought in my head of, ‘Will this work on country radio?’ So what has happened with the music is that it is still very much Sara Evans music. It’s just a little bit deeper than I’ve gone in the past.” For a woman who always tackled the music her own way, the new album is 100% her own. “Songs are a combination of words and melodies, and it’s the words that matter most to me,” she says. “When we go into these pitch meetings, people

always ask, ‘What are you looking for? Are you OK with doing something that’s a little more pop?’ I always tell them, ‘Just play me great lyrics.’ That’s what I’m looking for.” Evans co-wrote three of the album’s 14 songs, instinctively picking material along the way that matches her world view. Thirteen additional females racked up writing credits on the project, including Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott, Pistol Annies’ Ashley Monroe, The Isaacs’ Sonya Isaacs, Hillary Lindsey (“Blue Ain’t Your Color”), Caitlyn Smith (“Wasting All These Tears”), Heather Morgan (“Beat Of The Music”) and Liz Hengber (“For My Broken Heart”). “A Little Bit Stronger,” Evans’ pensive, heartbreak anthem that spent two weeks at #1 represents a look at the journey thus far, one that’s kept her firmly in the forefront of country music for a solid 20 years. Born and raised in Boonville, Missouri, Sara grew up listening –

Y7Z

like much of her audience – to a mix of country, pop, and rock on the radio. She began singing with the family band when she was five and made her first attempts at recording as a teenager, committing to a creative path with her move to Nashville in 1991. SARA EVAN’s résumé now includes 14 Top 20 country hits, ranging from her reassuring first #1 – “No Place That Far,” featuring background vocals by Vince Gill – to the neo-traditional “Suds In The Bucket,” to the elegant, spiky pop feel of “Slow Me Down.” Evans wants to represent the full panorama of her artistic vision. By handpicking the team around her and making self-expression the priority of her work, she’s found songs that continue to connect her to the emotional core of her audience and that adhere to that Born To Fly embrace of risk and adventure. “I don’t use the word a lot, resilient, but I would say that’s the best way to define me as a person,” Evans says. “I feel so blessed, but at the same time, there’s blood, sweat, and tears in every single

thing that I’ve gotten in this life. I have gone out and just really, really sold it, and I’m still doing that to this day.” Doing it her way. As a mom. As a record company entrepreneur. And, mostly, as a distinct artist still excited about her unique journey. Called out by The Huffington Post as one of the top new country artists to watch, and named after the town they grew up in, TEMECULA ROAD is comprised of sisters Emma and Maddie Salute, and longtime friend Dawson Anderson. They are known for their trademark harmonies and covers, which have earned praise from Carrie Underwood, Brett Eldredge, Dan + Shay, and RaeLynn. These days, it’s their original songs that are putting them on the map. Their first two singles “What If I Kissed You” and “Hoping” already have over 1MM streams on Spotify, and the trio just released their new single “Everything Without You.” On the touring side, TEMECULA ROAD has opened for Martina McBride, Josh Turner, Joe Nichols, Easton Corbin, Lee Brice, Sara Evans, Kenny Rogers, and Eli Young Band.

Individual tickets are now on sale for $69 through the Box Office, or by phone at 408-866-2700. Tickets can also be purchased online at HeritageTheatre.org.


An Apple A Day Fourth Annual Women’s Health Lunch Cont’

Oliver Dorigo, MD, PhD

Oliver Dorigo, MD, PhD, is director and associate professor in the Division of Gynecologic Oncology at Stanford. He is also the director of the Gynecologic Oncology Clinical Care Program at the Stanford Women’s Cancer Center. Dr. Dorigo joined Stanford University as the director of gynecologic oncology in April 2013. His clinical focus is the treatment of patients with gynecologic cancers, including ovarian,

cervical, endometrial, vaginal, and vulva cancer. In his surgical practice, Dr. Dorigo emphasizes the use of minimally invasive technologies, particularly laparoscopic and robotic surgery. Dr. Dorigo received his medical degree from the University of Heidelberg Medical School in Germany. He pursued residency training in obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Munich, followed by a research fellowship in cancer gene therapy at the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center in San Diego. His research has been published in various scientific journals, including the Journal of Virology, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, The Journal of Immunology, and Cancer Gene Therapy. He received his board certifications in obstetrics and gynecology in 2006

and in gynecologic oncology in 2008 from the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Allison W. Kurian, MD, MSc Allison W. Kurian, MD, MSc, is an associate professor of medicine and of health research and policy at Stanford University School of Medicine. As director of the Stanford Women’s Clinical Cancer Genetics Program, Dr. Kurian’s clinical practice centers on women at high risk

Y6Z

for developing breast and gynecologic cancers. Her research focuses on the identification of women with elevated breast and gynecologic cancer risk and on the development and evaluation of novel techniques for early cancer detection and risk reduction. Dr. Kurian received her medical degree from Harvard Medical School, trained as a resident in internal medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, and completed

her fellowship training in medical oncology along with a master’s degree in epidemiology at Stanford University. Her research has been supported by the National Institutes of Health, Komen, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the California Breast Cancer Research Program, the Cancer Research and Prevention Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the Breast Cancer Research Foundation.


District 15 News Beall Gets $10 Million For Silicon Valley Freeway Clean-Ups

Thanks to Sen. Jim Beall’s persistent urging, the California Department of Transportation will issue over $10.2 million in new contracts to clean up Silicon Valley freeways. “With this new state funding, drivers in Santa Clara County are going to see cleaner highways with less trash,’’ said Sen. Beall, chairman of the state Senate’s Transportation and Housing Committee. “Since 2014, my office has received many complaints about litter, graffiti, and increasing homeless encampments on freeways. Consequently, it’s been my goal to

get more money to remove overgrown brush and debris. Caltrans’ investment will also make our local freeways safer.’’ The increased funding is financed, in part, by Beall’s Senate Bill 1, legislation approved last year to generate $5.2 billion annually for the repair and maintenance of state and local streets, bridges, and highways. After neighborhood leaders voiced concerns about dumping and encampments, Beall established a working group of Caltrans officials and local government representatives four years ago to respond to

problems identified by residents. In order to provide the local Caltrans district with sufficient resources, Beall went to work, advocating Caltrans administrators for more local maintenance funding. Late last week, Caltrans informed Beall that two maintenance contracts, estimated

at $10.2 million, were scheduled to be approved soon. Besides clean-up, the crews will install fencing to prevent people who are homeless from establishing encampments beside freeways. Despite the passage of No Place Like Home, Senate Bill 2 (Atkins), and Senate Bill 3 (Beall), California has not yet been able to fill the funding gap from the loss of redevelopment funds and statewide housing bonds passed in the 2000s that helped create affordable housing. The critical shortage of affordable housing has been a major factor in the rise in homelessness. To provider faster help,

Beall and Senator Nancy Skinner, D-Berkeley, have introduced SB 912, a proposal to use $2 billion in one-time available revenue to accelerate housing construction for the homeless and lowincome families. The money would be invested in the state Multifamily Housing Program and supporting local government homeless housing projects. “We can’t let people languish in tents beside freeways as traffic rumbles by,’’ Beall said. “With SB 912, people who are homeless will get into safe housing so they can get the support services they need.’’

Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y7Z


Symphony Silicon Valley Presents The Creation Saturday, May 5 @ 8pm and Sunday, May 6 @ 2:30pm The California Theatre 345 South First Street San Jose, CA 95113 Joseph Haydn’s oratorio has been called ‘some of the most lovable and lifeaffirming music ever composed.’ Tickets: 408.286.2600 or http://www. symphonysiliconvalley.org/ Single Tickets range from $45 - $90

(Discounts available for seniors and students)

Conductor: John Nelson Soloists: Symphony Silicon Valley Chorale

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

For more information visit BHPrinting.com or email dave@BHPrinting.com Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More

Denied Benefits? Unable To Work?

We Can Help!

Helping Helping 1000’s Get 1000’s Get The Benefits Benefits The They They Deserve Deserve

Fighting For Your

SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS For Over 35 Years!

1

Do You Qualify For Disability Benefits? Call For A FREE Evaluation

2

Assisting With: - Initial Applications - Denied Claims - Hearings

3

We Simplify The Process & Strive For Quick Claim Approval.*

You Could Be Eligible To Receive: • Steady Monthly Income Depending On Your Paid In Amount • A Lump Sum Payment Of Benefits Owed From Back-pay • Health Insurance (Medicare, Medicaid Or Both) • Annual Cost Of Living Increases

Call Now For A FREE Evaluation

(855) 454-9395 Bill Gordon & Associates, a nationwide practice, represents clients before the Social Security Administration. Member of the TX & NM Bar Associations. Mail: 1420 NW St Washington D.C. Office: Broward County, FL. Services may be provided by associated attorneys licensed in other states. * The process for determining each applicant’s disability benefits varies greatly, and can take upwards of two years.


Live Long And Prosper Interview With Nichelle Nichols Special Assignment Brigitte Jones

The first lady of interstellar communication, Nichelle Nichols visits San Jose for this year’s Comic Con. She admits that she doesn’t make to us in the South Bay “too often, because I travel alot these days. But when I am in town, I am so delighted to be wanted by everyone here. The fans are so appreciative and warm to me that I enjoy it tremendously. My agent says, ‘you must come’. And I agree happily.” I asked Ms. Nichols when was the last time she saw Shatner; the man, the myth, the legend?

Ms. Nichols says that once during a San Diego Comic Con she and William Shatner just couldn’t help catching up because they are still such good friends. And this can take considerable time depending on how long it’s been since their last meeting. She says that both octegenarians are just “unstoppable” in their love of life at this time in their careers. I put the question to her, What trouble have you been getting into lately? And she snapped back “I’m not going to tell you” with a twinkle in her eye. But she did say that she is working on a creative project very close to her heart -- that all we in her universe should be

looking out for soon. She says everywhere she travels, “the audiences and the press have been so gracious and wonderful to me that I am energized and truly enjoy each and every visit”. My next question was to ask about her singing, to which she beamed a smile at me, saying that she started out her day with a song as she prepped in the mirror this morning. I asked if this was her GO TO SONG. “No, it was just something I recall from early days that I have played up over the years. Making music was so much a part of my coming up in show business, it was good training for all this traveling I do now.” “I am rediscovering material from those early days that applies so much to my engagements these days and I find this so good for me -- so many various musical recordings that I don’t remember how many.” When speaking of Gene Roddenberry, Ms. Nichols believe it’s clear that he was a visionary. “And absolutely one of the nicest men you could ever work with. To know him was to love him, she states. He created a family atmosphere for all of us and we admired him greatly.” Really I am so happy to receive such warm greetings from so many women and young ladies,

Y9Z

who tell me that I was an inspiration to them for getting into science and technology careers. Of course, I was just happy to be working as a young actress at the time. But somehow also being aware of how I carried myself and who was watching. It was fun and it is so much fun to see this

incredible world we live in today.” My last question touched on the mega-hit Black Panther movie, would she like a role in the sequel? “I am sure they can find a spot for me ... don’t you think!?” Let’s start an internet campaign RIGHT NOW.


Worship Directory Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church

Hillside Church San Jose

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Raving Reviews Accio Amazing! Special Assignment Amanda Faris Symphony Silicon Valley put on a riveting

CineConcert on April 7 and 8. The symphony played all of the music to Harry Potter and the

Goblet of Fire while the movie played in the background. The audience was swept away into the wizarding world with a whole new experience; laughing, crying, boo-ing,

A Whole New World Special Assignment Amanda Faris I had the greatest opportunity to see the production of Aladdin Jr. by Angels On Stage (AOS), an organization that aims the enhance the lives of children and young adults with special needs. AOS, now in its 10th season, uses an inclusive performing arts program to help build confidence, social skills, and a sense of belonging for all their Angels. The cast did a stupendous job acting, singing, dancing, and being amazing on stage. Congratulations in creating a “Whole New World”, Angels!

Y 11 Z

and cheering with each other as the nostalgic music rang through their ears. “As someone who hasn’t seen the Goblet of Fire since it first came out in theatres, this event sparked that same memory of seeing it for the first time as a kid” says event-goer Matt Lindsay, “I’m glad they have events like

this because it brings a lot of different people together - Harry Potter fans and Orchestra fans.” What a great performance by Symphony Silicon Valley, conductor Jeffrey Schindler, and composer Patrick Doyle. A great big thanks to the founders of CineConcerts, Justin Freer and Brady Beaubien.


History Remembering César Chávez

César Estrada Chávez was born in Yuma, Arizona on March 31, 1927. The family home and property was lost during the Great Depression, so they moved to California to become migrant farm workers. In 1942, Chávez dropped out of seventh grade to work in the fields full time so that his mother wouldn’t have to. He enlisted in the Navy in 1946 and served for two years. Chávez married Helen Fabela in 1948, and moved to San Jose to work as agricultural laborer. In 1952, he became an organizer for a Latino civil rights group, the Community Service Organization (CSO). He became the national director in 1958. In 1962, Chávez moved to Delano, California and co-founded the National

Farm Workers Association with Dolores Huerta. In 1965, the Agricultural Workers Organizing Committee voted to strike against grape growers in Delano, California. The head of the largely Filipino workers union Larry Itliong, sought Chávez’s participation in the strike which was set for September. The strike proved to be largely successful because of Chávez’s cooperation. Soon after, both unions merged to become the United Farm Workers (UFW). By the late 1970s, Chávez’s non-violent boycotts and strikes compelled growers to recognize the UFW as the bargaining agent for 50,000 field workers in both California and Florida. César Chávez died at

the age of 66 on April 23, 1993. He received numerous awards and honors, including the Presidential Medal of César Chávez in 1982. Photo coutesty of Ted Sahl Freedom (posthumously), Collection, MSS 1996-03-01 San Jose State University and his birth date March Library Special Collections & Archives. 31, is a state holiday in California, Colorado, and Texas. President Obama declared the date “César Chávez Day” and urged Americans to “…observe this day with appropriate service, community, and educational programs to honor César Chávez’s enduring legacy.” The historic plaza on Market Street in San Jose was renamed Plaza de César Chávez in 1993, and hosts concerts, festivals, and the annual Christmas in the Park. San Jose’s King Library hosted a special event, “Remembering César Chávez” on Now a San Jose Historic Landmark, the Chávez family home Tuesday March 27, 2018. is located at 53 Scharff Avenue in East San Jose. Photo ©Ralph M. Pearce.

Y 12 Z


On The Rocks Whiskeys of the World Whiskeys of the World held on March 22 at the San Jose Marriott. WOW!!! What a great time!

Rainbow Funding DENTAL Insurance & Realty Physicians Mutual Insurance Company

A less expensive way to help get the dental care you deserve

If you’re over 50, you can get coverage for about $1 a day*

• 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

Keep your own dentist! NO networks to worry about No wait for preventive care and no deductibles – you could get a checkup tomorrow

Coverage for over 350 procedures – including cleanings, exams, fillings, crowns…even dentures NO annual or lifetime cap on the cash benefits you can receive

FREE Information Kit

1-866-202-4857 www.dental50plus.com/74

(800) 782 - LOAN

www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

*Individual plan. Product not available in MN, MT, NH, RI, VT, WA. Acceptance guaranteed for one insurance policy/certificate of this type. Contact us for complete details about this insurance solicitation. This specific offer is not available in CO, NY; call 1-800-969-4781 or respond for similar offer. Certificate C250A (ID: C250E; PA: C250Q); Insurance Policy P150 (GA: P150GA; NY: P150NY; OK: P150OK; TN: P150TN) 6096C MB16-NM001Cc

Y 13 Z


Helping Hands Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley Transforms the lives of Homeowners and Nonprofits on April 28th. Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley will coordinate community volunteers to provide free home repairs and modifications for lowincome homeowners-seniors, veterans, and people with disabilities. This work has an immediate and tangible impact on those served-providing housing that is safer and healthier. Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley will transform 25 homes and 6 nonprofits. Annually, Rebuilding Together provides no-cost safety repairs on over 350 homes. The next rebuilding together work day is on April 28, 2018 from 9 am - 2pm. “We are committed to helping homeowners

in need maintain their housing, ensuring not just housing but a safe and healthy home”, said Beverley Jackson, Executive Director, Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley.  “We do more than fix houses; with the help of our volunteers, we will rebuild lives.” Over 1000 volunteers from all over Silicon Valley will be participating.  Among the homeowners to receive help, local recipients of service include: 1) Robert, an 88-yearold veteran, and his 79-year-old wife who worked with special needs children will be receiving much-needed home repairs and the exterior of their home painted by the SVC Redevelopment

Team.  * 195 Blossom Hill Road #278 San Jose, Ca 95123  2) Art, a Marine veteran, and his wife are both disabled.  Art is an amputee and depends on a wheelchair.  Santa Clara County Realtors Foundation will be working on bathroom upgrades, painting the exterior, and installing a new refrigerator. * 476 North 7th St. San Jose, CA 95112 3) Uplift Family Services (formerly EMQ FamiliesFirst) for 150 years has delivered behavioral health serves to California’s children and their families. Swinterton Builders will be repairing their Addiction Prevention Services Dept. 

They will receive new storage, flooring, paint, and blinds. * 232 East Gish Road, San Jose, CA 95112 Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley volunteers will be working at 30 locations in San Jose, Morgan Hill,  Gilroy, and Campbell. About Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley  Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley believes that everyone deserves to live in a safe and healthy home. For over 25 years, the non-profit organization has provided critical repairs and accessibility modifications for low-income homeowners, primarily seniors, individuals

Save the Date

Asian Pacific American Heritage Awards & Celebration May 2, 2018 @ 5:30p.m. Ceremony at Herbst Theater. Followed by reception at San Francisco City Hall

Y 14 Z

with disabilities, and families with children - and nonprofit community organizations. Each year, more than 2,000 volunteers gather to transform homes and lives by improving the safety and health of homes and revitalizing communities. All work is provided at no cost to the recipient, with materials provided through donations and funds from area businesses, organizations, government and private individuals. Since inception, over 32,000 local volunteers have renovated over 3,000 homes and facilities in the local community. Learn more at www. rebuildingtogethersv.org


Happy Hour Pebble Beach Food & Wine To say that PEBBLE BEACH FOOD & WINE is a spectacular place to explore your culinary bandwidth and your ultimate wine lovers’ dreams -- doesn’t do it justice by any means. Foodies of all descriptions and tastes came to the Monterey Coast, April 5 - 8, for this annual benefit for several local community charitable organizations: The Berkley Foundation (berkleyfoundation.org); The Boys & Girls Clubs of Monterey County (bgcmc.org); Voices for Children-CASA of Monterey County (voicesforchildrencasa.

org); Ment’or - Inspiring Culinary Excellence (mentorbkb.org); Pebble Beach Company Foundation (pbcfoundation.org). Many people made the trek in from far away destinations; Austria, France, Germany and Italy, and those able to make the trip from just down the road were represented as well; California, Oregon and Washington State. Eager crowds who came to partake of the incredible array of offerings to feast on -delights for the palate, the tummy and especially the eyes; Lexus situated a

stunning new model right at the entrance of the Grand Tastings. Whether they came to work, volunteer, host, promote and/ or rub shoulders with Celebrity Chefs and Famous/ Legendary Wine Makers -- everyone was asked to simply enjoy themselves at this annual extravaganza. Ah, but when confronted with such a dazzling gathering of like minded revelers -- Eat, drink and be merry takes on a special mantra.

Y 15 Z

To be sure this is the level at which you seek to keep your wits about you: cooking demos, wine seminars, chef smackdowns, private dinners, vendor sponsored parties, and then there is Pebble

Beach itself, which can make you a bit giddy in its own right -- what a great destination. What a fabulous time! Ciao! Abiento! Buon Apetito! Salut! Kanpai! Proost! Until next year!!


The Afro Latin Jazz Alliance Presents GRAMMY® Award-Winning Arturo O’Farrill and the Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra Live In Concert in Five Cities Throughout California May 9 - 17, 2018 The Power of Activism and Jazz, Resisting an Oppressive National Political Culture

The non-profit Afro Latin Jazz Alliance (ALJA) was established by Arturo O’Farrill in 2007 to promote Afro Latin Jazz through a comprehensive array of performance and educational programs. ALJA selfproduces the Orchestra’s annual performance season at Symphony Space (2007 - 2017), and maintains a weekly engagement for the Orchestra at the famed jazz club Birdland. The Alliance also maintains a world-class collection of Latin jazz musical scores and recordings. ALJA’s education initiatives include the Afro Latin Jazz Academy of Music in-school residency program serving public schools citywide with instrumental and ensemble instruction, and the pre-professional youth orchestra, the Fat Afro Latin Jazz Cats, which prepares the next generation of musicians. The Afro Latin Jazz Alliance maintains an administrative office inside the historic Minisink Townhouse in Central Harlem. For more information on the Afro Latin Jazz Alliance, please visit afrolatinjazz.org.

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review April 10, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 5

The Bay Area Review April 10, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 5