__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

KOIGU MAGAZINE

ISSUE 10

(R)


Koigu Wool started out as a small operation with

Maie hand spinning and dyeing the fleece from the Landra flock. The name Koigu was chosen to honor Harry’s ancestral home in Estonia. Taiu helped her mother with the daily farm work, spinning and dyeing, and after graduating from the University, she put all of her energy into making the company economically viable. In the end, the mother-daughter duo decided it was time to put the herd to pasture and outsource their wool, working closely with a mill that would spin the fine merino to their specifications. The resulting yarn was Koigu’s signature Premium Merino. This yarn was like nothing the knitting world had ever experienced before. Soft and light, the yarn became a superstar and demand skyrocketed. For the first 5 years, KPPPM was produced in the Landra farmhouse kitchen, though the operation grew so big, it was eventually necessary to build a 4500 square foot wool shed to house the yarn production. Today, the business is constantly growing. Koigu has added many additional yarns to compliment their Premium Merino: Kersti, a DK weight crepe, Mori, Othello, Sparkle, Chelsea and Lace. With demand as high as ever, the Koigu yarn is still dyed, hanked, labeled and shipped by the Landra women and a small handful of local employees. While they use the efficiency of machines where they can, every skein shipped from their warehouse is lovingly painted by hand and truly a unique work of art.

Koigu

®

Magazine Issue 10

Contributors: Janice Sumpton, Charles Voth, Deborah Newton, Swaran Dhaliwal, Marji La Ferniere, Irina Poludnenko , Maria Leigh, Unjung Yun, Melissa Leapman, Monika Haas, Lisa Doherty, Caroline Dick, Joanna Clayson, Julia Marten, Kersti Landra, Maie Landra, Taiu Landra How to reach us for editorial, or pattern questions Email: magazine@koigu.com Manufactured and printed in Canada Koigu® Magazine, Issue No.10 Offices are Box 158, Chatsworth, Ontario, N0H1G0 Canada ©All rights reserved. 2018-2019 No part of this magazine may be copied or reproduced by any means without written permission from Koigu®. Recommended price - Single copies $12.95 US and Canada

www.koigu.com


1.Badjeros Scarf By Irina Poludnenko Koigu KPPPM one skein each [P768 (A), P850 (B), P818 (C)] Koigu KPM one skein each [1020 (D), 2320 (E), 1010 (F)];


2. Maria Sweater by Melissa Leapman Koigu Chelsea Aran, 12 (14, 16) skeins of #C818


3. Notawa Shawl By Charles Voth Koigu KPPPM 1 skein each [ P506B (A), P309A (B), P912 (C)] ; 2 skeins each [P408 (D), P818 (E), P805 (F)


4. Surrey Long Vest by Unjung Yun Koigu KPPPM 2 skeins each of P950 (A), P708(D), P715(F), P763(H), P765(J); 1 skein of P735(B). Koigu KPM 2 skeins each of 5341(C), 5412(G), 2361(I), 5311(E) or 2 Pantina Paint Packs


5. Elora Cardigan by Deborah Newton Koigu KPM 7 skeins 2504 (MC); 1 skein each 2290 (CC1), 5415 (CC2)


6. Georgette Silk Lace By Maie Landra Koigu Karmen Silk 6 skeins KS231;


7.Leaf Triangle Shawl by Unjung Yun Koigu KPPPM 2 skeins each [P458 (A), P535 (B), P003 (C), P495 (D)]


8. Charlotte’s Web Shawl By Maie Landra 1 Gradient Olive Family pack KPPPM #P971(A), #P972 (B), #P973(C), #P974(D) and #P975(E) 1 skein ea.


9.Arizona Cactus Cardigan Design by Maie Landra Koigu Kersti Merino Crepe 3(4,4) skeins K1510 (A), 2(3,3) skeins K1515 (B), 2(3,3) skeins K1505 (C),13 (14,14) skeins of K704 (D)


10.Westport Sweater by Melissa Leapman Koigu Kersti 4 (5, 6) skeins of K615 (A); 14 (16, 18) skeins of K2150 (B)


11.Rousseau Collar Jacket by Unjung Yun Koigu KPPPM 6 skeins P900(A); 5 skeins P333(B);


12.Four-Wedge Shawl by Melissa Leapman Koigu KPPPM 5 skeins of P356; Koigu KPM, 3 skeins of 5345


13.Rythme Waves Cardigan By Monika Haas Koigu KPPPM Gradient Family Colour Set “Rust”, 3(4,4)


14.Dylan Comfy Pullover By Swaran Dhaliwal Koigu Othello O150D 10 skeins,


15. Jager Pullover By Deborah Newton Koigu Kersti 17 skeins of K711;


16.Koigu Country Club Jacket By Maie Landra Koigu Chelsea Aran, 10 (11, 12) skeins #C718 main colour (A), 6(7,8) skeins #C5410 colour(B)


17.Kara Cozy Cardi By Janice Sumpton Koigu Chelsea Aran 9 (10),(11) skeins for S (M),(L) C3013;


18. Reversible Two Tone A-Line Jacket By Swaran Dhaliwal Koigu Chelsea Aran 9 skeins C5513 (colour A), 7 skeins C5511 (colour B)


18. Bancroft Cardigan By Deborah Newton Koigu Othello 13 skeins O2432;


19. Spiral Tunic by Maria Leigh Koigu KPPPM 1 skein P818; 2 skeins each - P351, P849, P320, P741; 1(2,2,2) skein(s) P466;


20. Vortex Shawl by Melissa Leapman Koigu KPPPM Pencil Box [10 x 25g demi skeins / 87yd (80m)]


21. Holmes Wrap by Marji LaFreniere Koigu KPPPM 2 skeins each P951(A), P952 (B), P954 (C) P955 (D) [Main section is made in 4 of the colors of the gray gradient family]; 1 skein P623


22. Zigazaya Socks by Caroline Dick Koigu KPM MC 1 (1,2) skeins, CC 1 (1,1) skeins, Large Sample shown in MC 5373, CC 1025 (Medium Sample MC 1025, CC 1200)


23. Log Cabin Wristlings By Lisa Doherty Koigu KPPPM Pencil Box, [10 x 25g demi skeins / 87yd (80m)]

24. Marled Sequence Wristlings By Lisa Doherty Koigu KPPPM Pencil Pack [10 x 25g demi skeins / 87yd (80m)]


25.Krystina by Melissa Leapman Koigu Kersti Merino Crepe 18 (20, 22) skeins K2410


Full Service Koigu Local Yarn Stores Australia

Yarn & Co PtyLtd www.yarnandco.com Yarn Glorious Yarn, www.yarngloriousyarn.com.au Knit Purl Yarn Boutique, www.knitpurl.com.au

Canada - Alberta

Pudding Yarn www.puddingyarn.com The Fibre Nook www.thefibrenook.com

Georgia

Strings and Sticks Yarn Shoppe www.stringsandstitches.com

Fuzzy Goat Yarns www.fuzzygoatyarns.com

Illinois

Mosaic Yarn Studio Ltd www.mosaicyarnstudio.com

Three Bags Full Knitting Studio www.threebagsfullknittingstudio.com

Louisiana

The Quarter Stitch, www.quarterstitch.com

Indiana

British Columbia

Knitting off Broadway www.knittingoffbroadway.com Sheep’s Clothing www.knitdoctor.com

Ontario

A Great Yarn www.agreatyarn.com Flock www.flockack.com Webs, www.yarn.com

Black Sheep Yarn Ltd www.blacksheepyarns.ca Knit2 Yarns www.knit2yarns.com Three Bags Full www.threebagsfull.ca Passion Knit www.passionknit.ca Wabi Sabi www.wabi-sabi.ca Sue 2 Knits and Yarn www.sue2knits.com Handknit Yarn Studio www.handknityarnstudio.ca Purlin’J’s Roving Yarn Company www.purlinjs.ca Shall We Knit www.shallweknit.ca Unraveled www.unraveled.ca

Quebec

Massachusetts

Michigan

Michigan Fine Yarn www.miknitboutique.com Ewe-nique Knits, Nautical Yarns, www.nauticalyarn.com Crafty Lady Trio, www.craftyladytrio.com

Minnesota

Northfield Yarn www.northfieldyarn.com

Espace Tricot www.espacetricot.com France Laine et Tricot www.laine-et-tricot.com

YarnScout www.yarnscout.com Brave Dog Knits, www.bravedogknits.com

Knit Café Co Ltd www.knitcafe.co.kr My Knit www.myknit.com

Pins and Needles www.pinsandneedles.biz The Blue Purl www.thebluepurl.com

Di Lana, www. dilanaedaltrestorie.it

Adirondack Yarns www.adirondackyarns.com Chiagu www.chiagu.com Knitty City www.knittycity.com Purl www.purlsoho.com String www.stringyarns.com The Knitting Place www.theknittingplaceny.com

Korea Italy

United Kingdom

Fig Tree Yarns www.figtreeyarns.co.uk Loop www.loopknittingshop.com Love Knitting www.loveknitting.com

Japan

Montana

New Jersey New York

Nebraska

Amirisu www.amirisu.com Atti’s Socks Shop www.attisock.com

Personal Threads Boutique www.personalthreads.com

Ain’s Yarn Design www.ains-yarndesign.ch

Jimmy Beans Wool, www.jimmybeanswool.com

Strikk www.strikk.se

Spain

Hillsborough Yarn Shop, www.hillsboroughyarn.com Great Yarns, www. greatyarns.net Salty Sheep Yarn Shop, www.thesaltysheep.com

Germany

Loops Knitting www.loopslove.com

Finland

Riikka Piika Ky www.riikkapiikka.fi

Sewickley Yarns www.sewickleyyarns.com Echo Valley Fiber www.echovalleyfiber.com

Jessica Knits www.jessicaknits.com

Gauge www.gaugeyarn.com The Knitting Cup, www.theknittingcup.com Twisted Yarns, www.twistedyarnstexas.com

Switzerland Sweden

Club de la Aguja www.clubdelaaguja.com Nitka, www.nitka.es Die Mercerie www.diemercerie.com

United States - Alaska The Hive on the Creek www.thehiveonthecreek.com Arizona Califorinia

Atelier Yarn Marin www.atelieryarns.com Ewe- Baa Street Yarns www.ewe-baastreetyarns.com Kitterly www.kitterly.com Uncommon Threads www.uncommonthreadsyarn.com Wildfiber www.wildfiber.com

Colorado

Nevada

North Carolina

Oklahoma

Pennsylvania Texas

Virginia

Magpie Knits, www.magpieknits.com

Washington

Churchmouse Yarns and Teas www.churchmouseyarns.com

Great Yarn www.greatyarns.com Little Knits www.littleknits.com

Washington DC

Colourful Yarns www.colorfulyarns.com

Looped Yarn Works www.loopedyarnworks.com

Connecticut

Needles’n Pins www.needlesnpinsyarnshoppe.com

Shuttles Spindles and Skeins www.shuttlesspindlesandskeins.com

Marji’s Yarncraft www.marjisyarncrafts.com

Wisconsin


Michigan Fine Yarns You Knit, We inspire

37519 Ann Arbor Rd Livonia MI 48150 Phone: 734-462-2800 micustomboutique@gmail.com www.miknitboutique.com

Largest selection of Koigu in Michigan


Michigan Fine Yarns You Knit, We inspire

Reversible Two Tone A-Line Jacket by Swaran Dhaliwal, Michigan Fine Yarns

37519 Ann Arbor Rd Livonia MI 48150 Phone: 734-462-2800

micustomboutique@gmail.com

www.miknitboutique.com

Largest selection of Koigu in Michigan

Profile for KOIGU

KOIGU MAGAZINE 10  

Koigu Magazine #10 beautiful knit patterns in gorgeous yarns such as KPM, KPPPM, Kersti and more. Patterns include cowls, socks, cardigans,...

KOIGU MAGAZINE 10  

Koigu Magazine #10 beautiful knit patterns in gorgeous yarns such as KPM, KPPPM, Kersti and more. Patterns include cowls, socks, cardigans,...

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded