Page 1

finding new

best of the food blogs 2011


Get inspired. Find new flavors. Need some new recipe ideas? The net is a great resource, but only if you know where to look. You don’t have time to test every tasty-sounding idea you find, so you might turn to Epicurious or Cooks Illustrated for vetted recipes. But when you want to jumpstart your creativity and get insight into the next big trends and what flavors are hot in cities around the country, you turn to food blogs. In May, Saveur Magazine announced the winners of their annual Best Food Blog awards. Starting with 40,000 entries, they narrowed the field to six finalists in 17 categories. We present 12 groups here with links to the winners and finalists. For the full list, Google “Saveur Top Food Blogs 2011.” Whether you’re new to food blogs or you’ve been browsing them for years, these sites will open your eyes and your imagination to new items, flavors and culinary possibilities. Now find a computer, a comfy chair and enjoy!

Pear, Apple & Fennel Salad from Canelle et Vanille cannelle-vanille.blogspot.com


best cooking blog winner: Smitten Kitchen www.smittenkitchen.com

finalists 101 Cookbooks www.101cookbooks.com I Made That www.lookimadethat.com Lottie and Doof www.lottieanddoof.com Sprouted Kitchen www.sproutedkitchen.com The Wednesday Chef www.thewednesdaychef.com

best original savory recipe finalists Local Lemons Sweet Corn, Chilis, and Burrata over Fettuccine http://bit.ly/rhdiII Delicious Days Caesar Salad - Kind Of, But Better http://bit.ly/o4C5gN Dinner: A Love Story Baked Sausages with Apples & Potatoes http://bit.ly/odXgWi Eating Brooklyn Farro Salad with Roasted Red Grapes, Kale and Swiss Chard http://bit.ly/ohf3Wy Melissa Clark Braised Pork Shoulder with Tomatoes, Cinnamon, and Olives over Polenta http://bit.ly/niidSs

winner: 101 Cookbooks

‘Quinoa Skillet Bread’


best baking and desserts blog winner: Joy the Baker www.joythebaker.com/blog

finalists Desserts for Breakfast www.dessertsforbreakfast.com Eat the Love www.eatthelove.com Evan’s Kitchen Ramblings http://bossacafez.blogspot.com She Who Eats http://shewhoeats.blogspot.com Sprinkle Bakes www.sprinklebakes.com

best original baking and desserts recipe winner: Cafe Fernando

‘Brownies with Hazelnut Butter and Chocolate Lace’ http://cafefernando.com/brownies-for-dolce-gabbana

finalists Beyond the Plate ‘Bomboloni with Meyer Lemon Curd’ http://bit.ly/olFe17 Seven Spoons ‘Frozen Eton Mess’ http://bit.ly/qAfqfU La Tartine Gourmande ‘Spiced Pumpkin Pots de Crème with Sautéed Apples and Pistachios’ http://bit.ly/rkmOTm Sprinkle Bakes ‘Crown Jewel Cake’ http://bit.ly/qHUYLf


best wine or beer blog winner: Vinography www.vinography.com

finalists Alice Feiring www.alicefeiring.com Blog About Beer www.blogaboutbeer.com Good Wine Under $20 www.goodwineunder20.blogspot.com Washington Beer Blog www.washingtonbeerblog.com Wine Terroirs www.wineterroirs.com

best cocktail blog winner: Drink Dogma http://drinkdogma.com

finalists Alcademics www.alcademics.com Cask Strength http://caskstrength.wordpress.com Cocktailians www.cocktailians.com Jeffrey Morganthaler www.jereymorgenthaler.com Kaiser Penguin www.kaiserpenguin.com


best restaurant / dining coverage winner: The Girl Who Ate Everything www.roboppy.net/food

finalists Immaculate Infatuation www.immaculateinfatuation.com Kevin Eats www.kevineats.com Skillet Doux www.skilletdoux.com The Delicious Life www.thedeliciouslife.com The Ulterior Epicure http://ulteriorepicure.com

best kitchen tools & hardware winner: The Kitchn finalists Delicious Days ‘How to Organize Your Spices’ http://bit.ly/rjqbYw Food in Jars Equipment http://bit.ly/nN4Py8 Kitchen Generation www.kitchengeneration.com Lifehacker ‘The Geek’s Guide to Rebooting Your Kitchen’ http://lifehac.kr/nV8IQX Regrettably Edible 11 Crappy Kitchen Tools to Avoid http://bit.ly/pVZpcL

www.thekitchn.com


best food photography winner: What Katie Ate www.whatkatieate.blogspot.com

finalists 101 Cookbooks 101cookbooks.com Beyond the Plate www.beyondtheplate.net Not Without Salt www.notwithoutsalt.com Seven Spoons www.sevenspoons.net Sunday Suppers http://sunday-suppers.com

best video content winner: Food Wishes http://foodwishes.blogspot.com

finalists Epic Meal Time http://epicmealtime.com Food Curated http://foodcurated.com Food52 www.food52.com Perennial Plate www.theperennialplate.com Sky Full of Bacon www.skyfullofbacon.com


best regional cuisine blog winner: Homesick Texan http://homesicktexan.blogspot.com

finalists Indian Simmer www.indiansimmer.com Jun Belen http://blog.junbelen.com Just Hungry www.justhungry.com Lucullian Delights www.luculliandelights.com She Simmers www.shesimmers.com

best cook-through blog winner: The Bitten Word finalists Alinea at Home www.alineaathome.com Cookbook Archaeology www.cookbookarchaeology.com Momofuku for Two http://momofukufor2.com Nose to Tail at Home www.nosetotailathome.com The Way We Ate http://thewayweate.net

www.thebittenword.com

Best Food Blogs 2011  

Saveur Magazine's annual Food Blog awards, 2011.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you