__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

2018 ANNUAL REVIEW


This page, clockwise from top: Tree of Codes, photo by Prudence Upton. Tribunal, photo by Prudence Upton. Gotye Presents a Tribute to Jean-Jacques Perrey, photo by Stuart Armitt. Highly Sprung, photo by Jamie Williams. Four Thousand Fish at Barangaroo Reserve, photo by Jamie Williams. Opposite, clockwise from top left: Symphony Under the Stars, photo by Jamie Williams. 16 Lovers Lane, photo by Prudence Upton. Barber Shop Chronicles, photo by Prudence Upton. Model Citizens, photo by Jamie Williams. Meriton Festival Village, photo by Prudence Upton. Briefs: Close Encounters, photo by Prudence Upton.


SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

1


Meriton Festival Village, photo by Prudence Upton

2


5

SNAPSHOT 2018

6

ARTISTIC VISION

11

CONTENTS

A MESSAGE FROM WESLEY ENOCH

ACCESSIBILITY 30 MARKETING 34 PARTNERSHIPS 44 PHILANTHROPHY 48 COMMUNITY 52 SUPPORTERS 54 THANKS 56

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

3


Meow Meow’s Pandemonium, photo by Prudence Upton.

4


Sydney Festival is a celebration of our city and an invitation to residents and visitors to explore myriad faces of Sydney. A festival is a time to gather with friends and family and build memories that bind you through conversation, experiences and a sense of a shared life. In 2018, we gave audiences the opportunity to experience the intimate and the large scale. From one-on-one performance pieces like Monroe & Associates and VR work WHIST to our huge free outdoor concert Symphony Under the Stars, the Festival delivered performances in all shapes and sizes. Our mission states that “we excite, unite and ignite Sydney in January”, and this year, we achieved that with a huge range of programs to suit every taste. With almost 150 different activities on offer, it was hard not to find something for everyone. From the familyfriendly Circus Oz work Model Citizens to Rhys Chatham’s avant-garde A Crimson Grail, largescale dance work Tree of Codes and our Bayala Indigenous language classes, Sydney Festival provided a platform for audiences and artists to enter dialogues on cultural ambitions and what makes their city tick. The Festival prides itself on being at the edge of change and prototyping a cultural vocabulary for the future. In 2018, we presented works that not only held great artistic value, but also contributed to a local and global political discourse. The Town Hall Affair and Pussy Riot Theatre: Riot Days held a mirror to human rights and women’s liberation; RIOT and Briefs: Close Encounters challenged inequality with messages of hope; our large-scale works Jurassic Plastic and Four Thousand Fish at Barangaroo Reserve shared important messages about sustainability with young and old alike.

We are proud of our mass appeal and our strategic projects that build a complex picture of our city. Our Indigenous program is a source of pride and knowledge as our country negotiates our presence on this continent and our history here. This year, we expanded our Bayala language program and shared diverse First Nations stories through our Blak Out program. Our commitment to embracing our whole city through programming in Western Sydney provides both challenges and rewards through partnerships and perseverance. We grew our audience at Symphony Under the Stars at The Crescent in Parramatta Park, and saw an unprecedented audience in Western Sydney. Overall, we owe a huge debt of gratitude to the people who help make Sydney Festival possible. We thank you all, from our amazingly dedicated volunteers who give their time and energy, to the many expert staff who bring their skills to bear in realising one of the most complex cultural undertakings in the country, through to

hundreds of artists from around the world who share their artistry and vision with us, and of course the people of Sydney and our visitors who turn up in their hundreds of thousands to partake in Sydney Festival. We couldn’t do this without the assistance of our government partners – Create NSW, Destination NSW, Barangaroo Delivery Authority, City of Sydney and City of Parramatta – who, together with our corporate partners and Festival donors, allow us to share the Festival with a broad range of people across the city. A huge thank you.

Love,

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

5


23

133

DAYS

51

VENUES

EVENTS

FESTIVAL ATTENDANCE TURNOVER $20.3M FREE EVENTS

INCOME

MERITON FESTIVAL VILLAGE ART INSTALLATIONS OUTDOOR CONCERT SERIES SPECIAL EVENTS LANGUAGE CLASSES, TALKS & PARTNER ACTIVATIONS

TOTAL FREE TOTAL D TICKETE NCE ATTENDA

148,214 116,399 34,642 6,391 4,982

27%

OPERATING INCOME

25%

CORPORATE PARTNERSHIPS & PHILANTHROPY

310,628

28%

STATE GOVERNMENT INVESTMENT

20%

LOCAL GOVERNMENT & OTHER INVESTMENT

140,653

TOTAL ATTENDANCE

451,281

EXPENDITURE

51%

PROGRAMMING

25%

OPERATING COSTS

6%

MARKETING & COMMUNICATIONS

18% 6

INCLUDING BOX OFFICE, CATERING, VENUE HIRE & OTHER

INCLUDING STAFF

CONTRA OPERATING & OTHER


SNAPSHOT 2018

47 FREE

688

PERFORMANCES

EVENTS

VISITOR ORIGIN OVER S 8% EAS INTERSTATE 5%

SYDNEY 81%

ONAL REGIW 6% NS

ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD INCOME

AGE BRACKET

UNDER $20,000

2.1%

$20,001–$40,000

4.3%

$40,001–$60,000

6.3%

18–24 11%

$60,001–$80,000

11.0%

25–34 30%

$80,001–$100,000 13.0% $100,001–125,000

15.4%

$125,001–$150,000 12.2% $150,001–$175,000 12.1% $175,001–$200,00

8.3%

$200,001–$250,000 7.5% MORE THAN $250,000 7.7%

15–17 1%

35–44 26% 45–54 16% 55–64 9% 65–74 6% 75+

1% SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

7


RIOT, photo by Prudence Upton.

8


SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

9


Barber Shop Chronicles, photo by Prudence Upton.

10


15 8

ARTISTIC VISION

12

WORLD PREMIERES

AUSTRALIAN EXCLUSIVES AUSTRALIAN PREMIERES

862 ARTISTS 612

250

AUSTRALIAN ARTISTS

INTERNATIONAL ARTISTS

FROM

22 COUNTRIES ARGENTINA, AUSTRALIA, BELGIUM, CANADA, CHINA, DENMARK, ESTONIA, FRANCE, GERMANY, ICELAND, IRAQ, IRELAND, JAPAN, MALAYSIA, MALI, MEXICO, NEW ZEALAND, RUSSIA, SOUTH AFRICA, TUNISIA, UK, USA

IN 51 VENUES

CIRCUS MUSIC COMEDY

WORKSHOPS

THEATRE VISUAL ARTS

CLASSICAL MUSIC

OPERA

INSTALLATIONS

VR

CABARET TALKS DANCE

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

11


M A R G O R P 8 201 GERMAINE GREER

FERRYTHON

MY NAME IS JIMI 10 MINUTE DANCE PARTIES BY JOF

BARBER SHOP CHRONICLES

VILLAGE POOLS

CONTINUUM

JURASSIC PLASTIC MY URRWAI

THE BOMB

THE DAISY THEATRE YOU ANIMAL, YOU

HIGHLY SPRUNG

AQUASONIC

LISA REIHANA CINEMANIA

BACKBONE

MAARJA NUUT SHABAKA AND THE ANCESTORS

ALICE IN WONDERLAND

THE TOWN HALL AFFAIR TRIBUNAL ANALOGUE BODY IN A DIGITAL WORLD CIRCUS COMES TO TOWN 16 LOVERS LANE

TREETELLOF CODES

OPERA IN THE DOMAIN

CONSUMING THE WORLD

REMBRANDT LIVE

DAVÍÐ ÞÓR JÓNSSON

THE WIDER EARTH

IT’S NOT FOR EVERYONE

MOUNT EERIE AND JULIE BYRNE

WILD BORE GOLDNER STRING QUARTET

GOLDNER STRING QUARTET

EMMA DONOVAN AND THE PUTBACKS

MODEL CITIZENS

BRIEFS: CLOSE ENCOUNTERS BARAYA: SING UP COUNTRY WARM TIES

GOTYE PRESENTS A TRIBUTE TO JEAN-JACQUES PERREY

NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD WITH LIVE SCORE BY MORRICONE YOUTH

12


BAYALA: LANGUAGE CLASSES

KARAOKE CAROUSEL

MISSION SONGS PROJECT – 1957 PALM ISLAND STRIKE

JOIN THE DOTS

MONROE & ASSOCIATES

FÉMINA

SEIDLER SALON SERIES

JLIN

WHIST SEA SICK

DAN DAW EMEL MATHLOUTHI BROKEN GLASS BEAST

FLYING TRAPEZE WORKSHOPS

FOUR THOUSAND FISH AT BARANGAROO RESERVE

GENEVIEVE LACEY, DANIEL YEADON AND NEIL PERES DA COSTA

BARAYA: SING UP COUNTRY IN YOUR DREAMS LADY RIZO: RED, WHITE AND INDIGO

BASSEKOU KOUYATÉ & NGONI BA

VOX CLAMANTIS

GLITTERBOX BY ZIN

FLEABAG LORDS OF STRUT: ABSOLUTE LEGENDS MEOW MEOW’S PANDEMONIUM RIOT PUSSY RIOT THEATRE: RIOT DAYS 52 ARTISTS, 52 ACTIONS LUCAS ABELA AND THE TEMPLE OF DIN

RAHIM ALHAJ AND KARIM WASFI

RHYS CHATHAM’S A CRIMSON GRAIL (100 GUITAR ORCHESTRA)

AERIALIZE WORKSHOPS

WORLD WITHOUT US

CELLA

GHOST TRAIN

BAYALA: OUT OF THE VAULTS TRYGVE WAKENSHAW: NAUTILUS ALDOUS HARDING BAMBULA: PAUL GRABOWSKY AND THE WILFRED BROTHERS

SYMPHONY UNDER THE STARS MAD MAX WITH LIVE SCORE BY MORRICONE YOUTH

KATHARINA GROSSE: THE HORSE TROTTED ANOTHER COUPLE OF METRES, THEN IT STOPPED

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

13


Clockwise from top left: Lady Rizo, photo by Prudence Upton. Symphony Under the Stars, photo by Jamie Williams. Alice in Wonderland, photo by Clare Hawley. The Town Hall Affair, photo by Prudence Upton. Vox Clamantis, photo by Jamie Williams. The Wider Earth, photo by Jamie Williams. Opposite, clockwise from top left: The Daisy Theatre, photo by Prudence Upton. AquaSonic, photo by Prudence Upton. Lisa Reihana Cinemania, photo by Prudence Upton. Fleabag, photo by Jamie Williams. Rembrandt Live, photo by Jamie Williams. Pussy Riot Theatre: Riot Days, photo by Prudence Upton.

14


SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

15


ARTISTIC VISION TRANSFORMING SPACES Sydney Festival has a long history of working in new spaces and helping Sydneysiders discover new aspects of their city. The Seidler Salon Series invited audiences to explore the architecture of Harry Seidler & Associates throughout the city. Enjoying a combination of a music program and a series of talks hosted by Simon Marnie, audiences explored the connections of music and architecture, the Seidler legacy and the shaping of the city. Large-scale installation Jurassic Plastic transformed Lower Town Hall into a colourful toy landscape with a serious message about sustainability, while Four Thousand Fish at Barangaroo Reserve saw the Festival use Nawi Cove and the Cutaway to share the story of fisherwoman Barangaroo. Meanwhile, German artist Katharina Grosse took over the Carriageworks public space with her work The Horse Trotted Another Couple of Metres, Then It Stopped. We again transformed Hyde Park into the Meriton Festival Village, this year adding the Village Sideshow – complete with a doubledecker karaoke carousel and VR ghost train – to offer audiences a new take on the traditional fun park. In Western Sydney, St Bartholomew’s Church and Cemetery were used to great effect to explore First Nations death and mourning rituals in Broken Glass, and Circus City again took over Prince Alfred Square in Parramatta with Circus Oz bringing their Big Top to town. Parks, big tops, town halls, waterways, nooks and crannies all come alive at Sydney Festival to challenge you to see your city differently.

Broken Glass, photo by Jamie Williams.

16


MULTIPLE VENUES Rose Seidler House, photo by Nicholas Watt.

spaces, notably our About an Hour In 2018, Sydney Festival programmed works in 51 venues program and the major installation by Katharina Grosse. across the wider Sydney region and Western Sydney. To present Sydney Festival in so This year saw a strong program many locations, we rely on the ongoing support of a range of at Carriageworks with over 20 works filling venues and public partners. Thanks to them, you

could find us in venues including Sydney Opera House, Barangaroo Reserve, Seymour Centre, City Recital Hall, UTS, Art Gallery of NSW, Blacktown Arts Centre, The Crescent at Parramatta Park, State Theatre, ICC Sydney, Riverside Theatres and Campbelltown Arts Centre among others.

Carriageworks, photo by Prudence Upton.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

17


ARTISTIC VISION

Four Thousand Fish at Barangaroo Reserve, photo by by Jamie Williams.

18


FOUR THOUSAND FISH AT BARANGAROO RESERVE The Barangaroo Delivery Authority is a dedicated Festival partner and through an ongoing committed relationship we have been able to negotiate works of scale and cultural ambition. Joint commission, Four Thousand Fish at Barangaroo Reserve, led by curator/artist Emily McDaniel, was a work that talked to the history of the woman Barangaroo, the site Barangaroo

and an allegorical story of the early colony that resonated with all who heard it. The installation spoke to where we have come from and gave Sydneysiders a chance to engage in a culturally aware, environmentally aware and historically aware project. Audiences spent hours sitting and listening to the stories and taking part in the ceremonial creation of ice fish.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

19


ARTISTIC VISION ENGAGING WITH GLOBAL ARTISTS As an international arts festival, we bring the best of the world to Sydney in January with an eclectic array of performance works that challenge and build our understanding of the world. Historically, international arts festivals were about exposing local audiences and artists to new trends and movements occurring across the globe. Today Sydney Festival also provides a platform for Australian artists to be seen on a world stage alongside the best international talent.

Tree of Codes brought together three titans of the international arts scene and played at the new Darling Harbour Theatre, ICC Sydney. New York’s The Wooster Group brought us The Town Hall Affair, their revisiting of a 1971 town hall debate about feminism, which was witnessed in person by Germaine Greer for the first time in Sydney. Danish ensemble Between Music gave us AquaSonic, the surprise hit of the Festival featuring underwater music, while Pussy Riot from Russia raged through the telling of their story of oppression and survival. Joyous storytelling from the National Theatre production of Barber Shop Chronicles brought to life the experience of the African diaspora, and Ronnie Burkett from Canada demonstrated his amazing mastery in The Daisy Theatre, a tour de force two-hour solo puppetry work. Our extensive music program included the bomb, Mad Max and Night of the Living Dead with live score by Morricone Youth, Emel Mathlouthi, Vox Clamantis, Rhys Chatham’s A Crimson Grail (100 Guitar Orchestra) and much more.

The Town Hall Affair, photo by Prudence Upton.

20


The Wider Earth, photo by Jamie Williams.

AUSTRALIAN STORIES Alongside international gems, we presented world-class shows from Australian artists. From the extraordinary live art circus work of acrobat’s It’s Not For Everyone through to the one-onone performance installation Monroe & Associates to the sublimely talented Meow Meow in her marathon work with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, these shows told us about ourselves and our theatrical traditions in this country. More exceptional Festival experiences were delivered by Australian artists and companies, including Dead Puppet Society’s sold-out success The Wider Earth, Gotye’s homage to Jean-Jacques Perrey, The Go-Betweens tribute show 16 Lovers Lane, and Cella by internationally acclaimed Paul White and Narelle Benjamin, to name just a few.

Cella, photo by Prudence Upton.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

21


ARTISTIC VISION INDIGENOUS PROGRAM In 2018 we continued our commitment to Indigenous programming through our Blak Out program. My Name is Jimi and My Urrwai saw the expansion of our partnership with Belvoir and the storytelling of artists from the Torres Strait. Bayala, our Indigenous language project, saw another sold-out series of classes and the moving Baraya song project saw close to 300 local choir singers perform a song on 26 January that acknowledged our history and colonial starting points. Tribunal brought the Indigenous and asylum seeker experience under the same roof and Bambula, with Paul Grabowsky and The Wilfred Brothers, fused lndigenous language and culture with jazz. Telling Australian First Nations stories is an extension of our dedication to reflecting the stories of our country.

My Name is Jimi, photo by Daniel Boud.

22


From top: You Animal, You, photo by Prudence Upton. Beast, photo by Prudence Upton. Join the Dots, photo by Prudence Upton.

NEW WORKS & NEW VOICES The ability to take risks and showcase the new is an ongoing role for Sydney Festival. Alongside bringing acclaimed works to Sydney in January, we commission new work and seek out new voices. You Animal, You by Force Majeure was supported by the Festival over a number of years, and we helped to bring it to fruition as a world premiere in 2018. Join the Dots, which brought young people from Japan and Australia together in an online interactive installation, was a huge hit, as was the brand-new commission of Ghost Train by Jonnine Standish and Jasmin Tarasin. A new feminist take on Alice in Wonderland by Mary Anne Butler sat alongside the world premiere of My Urrwai, a one-woman performance from Ghenoa Gela. The Australian Brandenburg Orchestra brought Rembrandt and the Dutch Masters alive at the Art Gallery of NSW in the world premiere production Rembrandt Live; other notable new voices were the collaboration of Adrienne Truscott, Ursula Martinez and Zoë Coombs Marr in Wild Bore and Beast by Dan Daw.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

23


ARTISTIC VISION FREE & TICKETED EXPERIENCES Sydney Festival is synonymous with the best of the world in ticketed and free events. The Meriton Festival Village is a regular offering that mixes the best free experiences with ticketed shows, which included Spiegeltent favourites Briefs: Close Encounters and RIOT in 2018. Free attractions included the very popular Glitterbox by zin, the Village Pools and Lucas Abela and the Temple of Din. This year we had large-scale free installations with Four Thousand Fish at Barangaroo Reserve and Jurassic Plastic by Japanese artist Hiroshi Fuji, which were favourites with kids and adults alike. We presented free exhibitions at galleries across the city and Western Sydney, and through our Knowledge Partner University of Technology Sydney (UTS) and Media Partner The Sydney Morning Herald, we offered post-show discussions and forums around artistic through lines within the program. Critical Path also helped illuminate our dance programming through a dedicated series of free artist talks. Our ticketed program was diverse, ranging from the family-friendly Circus Oz work Model Citizens to adults-only puppet show The Daisy Theatre and exuberant theatre piece Barber Shop Chronicles. In 2018 we saw ticket sales exceed the fiveyear average.

MERITON FESTIVAL VILLAGE

Briefs: Close Encounters, photo by Prudence Upton. Opposite page: Top: Glitterbox by zin, photo by Jamie Williams. Middle left: Ghost Train, photo by Jamie Williams. Middle right: Madame Tulalah’s Magnificent Box, photo by Jamie Williams. Lower: Village Sideshow, photo by Jamie Williams.

24

This year we created two precincts within the Meriton Festival Village – the Village Green and the Village Sideshow presented by China Southern Airlines. The Village Green included food and beverage spaces and the Magic Mirrors Spiegeltent, which was home to two house shows – RIOT and Briefs: Close Encounters. This was the first time we have had two house shows running in repertory and we found great success at the box office and with audience opinion.


VILLAGE SIDESHOW PRESENTED BY CHINA SOUTHERN AIRLINES New to Sydney Festival in 2018, the Village Sideshow was a freaky fun park full of unusual art experiences, and its atmosphere was a huge winner for those who attended. Visitors could experience the world premiere of the virtual reality Ghost Train ride, belt out a tune atop the Karaoke Carousel, throw shapes in a shipping container at 10 Minute Dance Parties by JOF, have their future divined at Madame Tulalah’s Magnificent Box, and explore many more free offerings. The Sideshow’s free art attractions allowed visitors to interact with the roving Party Bot and Crate Expectations, cool off in between shows at the Village Pools, step inside the infinity tunnel Continuum, have a micro-party in Glitterbox by zin, create a cacophony with hybrid pinball machines and musical instruments in Lucas Abela and the Temple of Din, and step on stage with Sydney Dance Company in their VR experience Stuck in the Middle With You. The Sideshow also played host to our Love is Love Wedding Reception, a free event on 9 January that celebrated the first day same-sex couples could formally marry in Australia.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

25


ARTISTIC VISION WESTERN SYDNEY Sydney Festival is committed to being a festival for all of Sydney. The Festival reaches beyond city boundaries and engages with other local government areas to deliver a broad-ranging program. Partnerships are the key to developing relationships with wider Sydney audiences. We continue to have a great impact in Parramatta through our relationship with Riverside Theatres, Parramatta Parklands and City of Parramatta. Our Circus City program, Symphony Under the Stars and Alice in Wonderland saw a huge growth in audiences.

Circus Comes to Town, photo by Jamie Williams. Opposite page, clockwise from top:

Circus City, photo by Jamie Williams. Highly Sprung at Circus Comes to Town, photo by Jamie Williams. Model Citizens, photo by Jamie Williams.

26

Campbelltown Arts Centre continued to be a hub for Sydney Festival, with Lisa Reihana’s work Cinemania (featuring elements from the highly acclaimed Venice Biennale showing in the New Zealand Pavilion) and Jessie Lloyd’s Mission Songs Project – 1957 Palm Island Strike while Blacktown Arts Centre and Blacktown City Council partnered with Moogahlin Performing Arts to present the moving and disturbing Broken Glass.


CIRCUS CITY For the second year running, Sydney Festival brought the circus to Parramatta, this time focusing on the best of Australian circus. Spread across Prince Alfred Square and Riverside Theatres, Circus City launched with Circus Comes to Town, a free evening party featuring live music, roving circus artists, a circus playground, and numerous solo performances including a straightjacket escape from a 20-metre-high crane. We partnered with Circus Oz in their 40th anniversary year to present Model Citizens, the first time the company has delivered a show in a big top in Western Sydney. We saw a doubling of audiences at Circus City through ticketed and free performances and workshops. Local company Legs On The Wall brought their trampoline playground to Prince Alfred Square for their energetic show Highly Sprung, which played free of charge, while youth circus company Aeralize ran free workshops for kids of all abilities. At Riverside Theatres we presented a Sydney Festival, Melbourne Festival and Adelaide Festival commission from Gravity & Other Myths. Backbone was a stellar success and one of the most talked-about performances of the Festival. The National Youth Circus Symposium added a strong industry connection to the program including keynote addresses, industry workshops, practical skills development and debate. With ArtsHub giving our circus program five stars, we look forward to continuing this success in 2019.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

27


Symphony Under the Stars, photo by Jamie Williams.

28


SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

29


ACCESSIBILITY

Clockwise from top: RIOT Auslan interpreted performance, photo by Prudence Upton. The Wider Earth tactile tour, photo by John Arnold. Barber Shop Chronicles tactile tour, photo by Jamie Williams.

DISABILITY ACCESS Accessibility for all audience members on all levels is vital to Sydney Festival, and our commitment was greater than ever in 2018. We introduced more Auslan, tactile tours and audio-described performances and, as usual, produced the program brochure in a wide variety of formats including braille, audio CD and MP3. Our website again offered a searchable ranking system to allow people to easily determine which performances were offering different forms of access, and videos in Auslan helped people who are Deaf to access information in their own language. Advice from people with lived experience of disability via a newly established Access and Inclusion Advisory Panel enabled the Festival to enhance inclusion and reduce barriers to access. 30

CAP 2 CAPTIONED PERFORMANCES 10 AUSLAN INTERPRETED PERFORMANCES 5 PERFORMANCES WITH AUDIO DESCRIPTION 6 TACTILE TOURS 2 RELAXED PERFORMANCES 51 VENUES WERE WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE (ALL) 28 FULLY ACCESSIBLE WORKSHOPS 4 ACCESSIBILITY PODCASTS PRODUCED


Left: Circus Comes to Town, photo by Jamie Williams. Below: Katharina Grosse and her work The Horse Trotted Another Couple of Metres, Then It Stopped at Carriageworks, photo by Prudence Upton.

47 10,887

FREE EVENTS

310,628

FREE & CHEAP EVENTS

ATTENDANCE AT FREE EVENTS

TOTAL DISCOUNTED TICKETS SOLD

1,131 1,265

TO ARTS INDUSTRY AND COMMUNITY

TIX FOR NEXT TO NIX SOLD AT $26

Accessible ticket pricing is important to Sydney Festival. We offered a range of performances either free of charge or at a discounted rate. To develop younger audiences, we offered an under 30s price for contemporary ballet Tree of Codes, and partnered with Playwave to provide access to heavily discounted tickets for teenagers.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

31


Artist Hiroshi Fuji and his work Jurassic Plastic, photo by Prudence Upton.

32


SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

33


MARKETING A successful marketing campaign rolled out locally, nationally and in key international markets from August 2017 until February 2018. Special thanks to our media partners across digital, print, radio, TV and outdoor for their help in creating exceptional impact and results.

Photos by Jamie Williams.

34


ADVERTISING

565 63 8 4 3

DIGITAL PRINT

RADIO

TV

80 30

CINEMA

ADVERTISING IN

20

78 VIDEOSCREATED 1.5M VIDEO VIEWS

PRINT PUBLICATIONS

2,191 OUT OF HOME PLACEMENTS

BUS & TAXI BACKS

TRAIN AND LIGHT RAIL PLACEMENTS

74

289

IN PARRAMATTA

IN SYDNEY CBD, BROADWAY & NEWTOWN

STREET FLAGS

STREET FLAGS

(LARGE-FORMAT DIGITAL BILLBOARDS, STREET FURNITURE, RAILWAY BILLBOARDS, SCREENS, STREET POSTERS, TRANSIT)

WAYFINDING DECALS IN SYDNEY CBD & PARRAMATTA

14 MILLION DISTRIBUTION CHANNELS PEER TO PEER FESTIVAL VENUES SPONSOR VENUES RECEPTION DESKS COMMUTER HUBS DIRECT MAIL HOTELS & HOSTELS TOURIST INFORMATION CENTRES OFFICES CAFÉS RESTAURANTS SHOPPING CENTRES COUNCIL DISTRIBUTION RUNS

110

15 2 INFORMATION STRUCTURES IN THE SYDNEY CBD

INFORMATION STRUCTURES IN PARRAMATTA

CUMULATIVE OUTDOOR ADVERTISING REACH* *TOTAL REACH DATA VIA APN, ADSHEL, TORCH MEDIA & NONSTOP MEDIA.

439,185

PIECES OF COLLATERAL CREATED

63,185

100,000

150,000

WESTERN SYDNEY PROGRAMS

FESTIVAL PROGRAMS

30,000 96,000

POST CARDS & FLYERS

BAR COASTERS

MINI-GUIDES & SCHEDULES

33,100 DAYBILLS

(17 DIFFERENT VARIATIONS) SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

35


MARKETING

SYDNEY FESTIVAL WEBSITE

NEW SYDNEY FESTIVAL STORIES SECTION ON WEBSITE

36

YOUR #SYDFEST PICS PAGE ON WEBSITE


5%

TOP 10 WEBSITE USERS WORLDWIDE

WEBSITE ACCESS

UK

55%

USA

0.4% GERMANY

1.05M 36%

1.6% TOTAL

VISITS TO THE WEBSITE

86%

AUSTRALIA

SWEDEN, SOUTH KOREA, INDIA, CANADA, FRANCE

0.6%

NEW ZEALAND VIA MOBILE

VIA DESKTOP

VIA TABLET

10,931,417

IMPRESSIONS ACROSS FACEBOOK, INSTAGRAM & TWITTER DURING JANUARY 2018

22,550

USES OF #SYDFEST HASHTAG OVER THE CAMPAIGN PERIOD

138,847

160,800

42,727

94,685

19,096

122

FACEBOOK FANS

TWITTER FOLLOWERS

ENGAGEMENTS

DURING JANUARY 2018

CLICKS DURING JANUARY

2.3M

587,816

TOTAL REACH

TOTAL TWITTER IMPRESSIONS

DURING JANUARY 2018

DURING JANUARY 2018

5 FACEBOOK LIVE STREAMS

DIGITAL

3%

9%

INSTAGRAM FOLLOWERS

POSTS ON INSTAGRAM DURING JANUARY 2018

191,965

VIEWS OF INSTAGRAM STORIES DURING JANUARY 2018

4 ARTIST TAKEOVERS OF INSTAGRAM STORIES

565 DIGITAL ADS WITH 72.2M REACH OUTBRAIN

1725.3M ADS

ONLINE MEDIA

92 ADS

GOOGLE SEARCH / GOOGLE DISPLAY / SOCIAL MEDIA

456 ADS 46.9M IMPRESSIONS

IMPRESSIONS

112

EMAIL CAMPAIGNS SENT TO

89,000

SUBSCRIBERS PLUS THIRD-PARTY EMAILS (DURING CAMPAIGN PERIOD)

57

FESTIVAL STORIES PUBLISHED (NEW BLOG)

READ

30,946 TIMES

54

PRE-SHOW EMAILS SENT

70%

OPEN RATE AVERAGE

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

37


MARKETING

1,922 likes

7,948 likes

@Kcjmd10 on Instagram

8,804 likes

SYDNEY. Get to RIOT. Powerful call to arms and big love filled display of ferocious talent and spirit. Beauty concoction of spoken word, song, dance and cabaret. Solidarity @betty_grumble on Twitter The Wider Earth is one of the most visually stunning & beautifully theatrical productions I’ve ever seen. @deadpuppets animals are divine & @thetomconroy incredible as Charles Darwin. Want to see it a million more times! @tamatthetheatre on Twitter

38

R I O T!!! We had a ball!

When you put visual artist Olafur Eliasson, producer Jamie xx and choreographer Wayne McGregor together, you kinda don’t know what to focus on. In the best of ways. ‘Tree of Codes’ was gobsmackingly good @zanrowe on Twitter I just watched Circus Oz’s Model Citizens as part of the #SydneyFestival. UNBELIEVABLE. A must see for ages. The hoola hoops and combined soundtrack was my highlight @dahdah on Twitter

FourThousandFish @sydney_festival is deadly. Simple, interactive, beautiful storytelling @mirri_claire on Twitter Loved Dan Daw’s Beast @sydney_festival @Carriageworks this week! such powerful physicality and nuance. go see it folks @hellojeffkhan on Twitter Briefs: Close Encounters is a MUST see at #sydfest – amazing entertainment with a strong political critique of contemporary #auspol. Book. Tix. Now @joshpallas on Twitter


4,084 likes

@Eden_dessalegn on Instagram

All those who haven’t seen it!! Go watch Barber Shop Chronicles at the @seymourcentre

1,794 likes

5,648 likes SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

39


MARKETING

Sydney Festival media launch, photo by Prudence Upton.

40


2.68B

POTENTIAL AUDIENCE REACH

PUBLICITY

Sydney Festival’s 2018 campaign received six months of strong coverage, starting with an early release in August of three centrepiece shows AquaSonic, The Town Hall Affair and RIOT. The early launch gave these core shows an extra push in the media, resulting in 227 pieces of cumulative coverage, and a potential reach of 131.1 million, spreading awareness of the festival before the official program launch in October. Overall the campaign saw 6,227 mentions in the media, with a potential reach of 2.68 billion and an advertising spend equivalent of $26.43 million.

Online media produced the most coverage with 3,526 mentions, followed by TV and radio with 2,359 and 342 mentions in print pieces. The coverage was a mix of artist interviews, preview pieces, news pieces and reviews, with 147 publications attending the Festival to review events. In January, we had 17 media calls to generate further news coverage across the city, including one that took place in the middle of Sydney Harbour with the circus troupe Gravity & Other Myths displaying their dizzying balancing skills on a giant floating platform. The campaign rolled out nationally and internationally with dedicated publicists in key overseas markets supporting the Sydney team.

7 2 6,2

FESTIVAL MENTIONS IN THE MEDIA

$26,430,600 VALUE IN AD SPACE PRESS COVERAGE DROVE

32,571 VISITS

TO THE SYDNEY FESTIVAL WEBSITE

BETWEEN AUGUST 2017 & FEBRUARY 2018

342 PRINT ARTICLES IN NATIONAL & LOCAL PRINT MEDIA

17

MEDIA CALLS

171

MEDIA ATTENDED

185

RESULTING PIECES OF COVERAGE

RESULTING IN POTENTIAL AUDIENCE REACH OF

710.4M

Backbone media call, photo by Jamie Williams.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

41


PUBLICITY

“[TRIBUNAL IS] AN EMOTIONAL AND, AT TIMES, DIFFICULT SHOW TO WATCH. IT’S ALSO HARD TO IMAGINE A MORE IMPORTANT TOPIC FOR THEATRE TO TACKLE RIGHT NOW” DAILY REVIEW

“LISA REIHANA’S “[BARBER SHOP CHRONICLES CINEMANIA IS A] BRILLIANTLY – EXQUISITE UPBEAT, MULTI-LAYERED EXPLORATION OF COMMUNITY” IMMERSIVE EXPERIENCE IS LIMELIGHT

A MUST-SEE”

THE GUARDIAN “A CRIMSON GRAIL (100 GUITAR ORCHESTRA) IS THE KIND OF UNFORGETTABLE MUSICAL EXPERIENCE YOU CAN ONLY GET LIVE, AND “RIOT IS, QUITE THAT ALL TOO RARELY” SIMPLY, A TIME OUT

“WITH LITTLE MORE THAN THEIR GUITARS AND THEIR VOICES, BOTH JULIE BYRNE AND MOUNT EERIE FILLED CITY RECITAL HALL WITH ENORMOUS BEAUTY FOR AN ENORMOUS AND VERY LUCKY CROWD” SYDNEY SCOOP

FABULOUS SPECTACLE”

THEMUSIC.COM.AU “BEAST IS AN INTELLIGENT WORK BY AN IMPORTANT, UNAFRAID ARTIST” DANCE INFORMA

42


“THE MERE EXISTENCE OF [BRIEFS: CLOSE ENCOUNTERS] IS RADICAL” TIME OUT “[BACKBONE] HAS THE EXCITEMENT OF CIRCUS AT ITS BEST COMBINED WITH THE GRACE AND CHOREOGRAPHIC LINE OF DANCE, AND THE MAGICAL UNDERCURRENTS OF GOOD THEATRE” THE SYDNEY MORNING HERALD

“THE WIDER EARTH IS A GENUINELY UNIQUE PIECE OF THEATRE IN THE WAY IT COMBINES SO MANY FORMS BUT DOES SO IN A FASHION THAT BOTH SEEMS EFFORTLESS FOR THE CAST AND EASILY CONSUMABLE FOR THE AUDIENCE” NOVA 96.9

“MY NAME IS JIMI IS AN EXPERIENCE UNLIKE ANY OTHER YOU WILL HAVE IN A THEATRE THIS YEAR. IT’S A CHANCE TO LEARN ABOUT THE HISTORY OF A TRIBE YOU WILL NOT KNOW AND AN OPPORTUNITY TO TAKE PART IN THE PRESERVATION OF ITS CHERISHED CULTURE” THEATRE PEOPLE

“THIS 2018 CIRCUS PROGRAM FROM SYDNEY FESTIVAL SERVES TO HIGHLIGHT THE EXCITING WORLD-CLASS, LEADING-EDGE NATURE OF CONTEMPORARY CIRCUS PERFORMANCE HAPPENING IN AUSTRALIA RIGHT NOW” ARTSHUB

“CIRCUS OZ SCORES A BIG HIT WITH ITS NEW SHOW MODEL CITIZENS” THE DAILY TELEGRAPH

A I D E M IN THE SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

43


We would like to thank all our partners for contributing to the 2018 Festival. Your support enables Sydney Festival to continue as the largest annual arts and cultural festival in Australia, celebrating our city in summer over the month of January. Corporate social responsibility plays a vital role for many of our partners who are committed to giving back to the community by supporting an event that educates, inspires, enriches and enhances the lives of many.

44

Sydney Festival creates bespoke partnerships to meet varied business and marketing objectives, which can include on-site activations, event alignments, extensive marketing campaigns and business-to-business networking opportunities with our government, corporate and media partners.

Village Sideshow presented by China Southern Airlines in the Meriton Festival Village. Opposite, clockwise from top: Four Thousand Fish at Barangaroo Reserve, photo by Prudence Upton. Circus City at Prince Alfred Square, photo by Jamie Williams. Ferrython, photo by Jamie Williams. UTS Big Thinking Forum, photo by Prudence Upton.


GOVERNMENT & COMMUNITY PARTNERS Special thanks must go to our two founding partners, the State Government through Create NSW, and City of Sydney. Their continued investment in the Festival ensures that we can deliver a high-calibre program every year, and at exceptional venues across the city. Our strategic partnership with Destination NSW drives an interstate and international audience to Sydney through collaborative marketing and PR campaigns. The Festival program continues to expand in Western Sydney, made possible by the support of the City of Parramatta. This year, Prince Alfred Square was transformed into Circus City, and played home to the Circus Oz Big Top for the major production Model Citizens. In partnership with the Barangaroo Delivery Authority, we presented our major free art installation Four Thousand Fish at Barangaroo Reserve, a stunning work that brought the community together to celebrate the influential and resilient Cammeraygal woman Barangaroo, after whom the place is named. UTS remains the Knowledge Partner of the Festival, and we expanded our Big Thinking Forums and Bayala language program – an exploration and celebration of Indigenous heritage in Sydney. UTS also hosted the launch of our 2018 program in its Great Hall. Harbour City Ferries continued to support our annual event Ferrython, the hugely popular Australia Day tradition where participants and visitors gather on the foreshore to barrack for their favourite ferry.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

45


PARTNERSHIPS

CORPORATE PARTNERS China Southern Airlines, the Festival’s official international airline partner, confirmed its support as a Major Partner for the next three years. China Southern Airlines presented the Village Sideshow in Meriton Festival Village, a fun park filled with wild, wonderful and bizarre attractions, and was also aligned to our major free outdoor concert Symphony Under the Stars at The Crescent, Parramatta Park. Meriton Suites continued as the naming rights partner to Meriton Festival Village, our central hub in Hyde Park, which was open for the duration of the Festival. We also welcomed beverage partners, Tyrrell’s Wine, Four Pillars Gin and 4 Pines. Sydney Airport was aligned to our major free art installation Jurassic Plastic, which attracted a family audience to Lower Town Hall. Hyundai continued as our official vehicle partner, and supplied the Festival with cars to transport artists across the city. We rely on media partners to help promote the program to a local, interstate and international audience, and in 2018, they included Major Partner APN Outdoor, ABC, Torch Media, Channel 9, Westfield, nova 96.9 and The Sydney Morning Herald. Special thanks goes to our valued production partners TDC, EPS and Chameleon Touring Systems.

46

Clockwise from top: Tyrell’s and Pimm’s bars, photo by Jamie Williams. Nova 96.9 photo wall, photo by Prudence Upton. Meriton Festival Village entrance, photo by Jamie Williams. China Southern Airlines activation, photo by Jamie Williams.


FESTIVAL FEASTS Now in its 18th year, Festival Feasts is a successful program, offering our audience a unique dining experience during the month of January. This year we partnered with Good Food via The Sydney Morning Herald to promote the program to a NSW audience. Twenty restaurants in the Sydney CBD, Inner West and Parramatta joined the program, contributing to the celebratory atmosphere of Sydney Festival while playing an active role in strengthening the economic prosperity of Sydney.

Clockwise from top: The Sydney Morning Herald Barber Shop Chronicles Q&A with the Artists, photo by Prudence Upton. Screen at Westfield Parramatta, photo by Jamie Williams. 4 Pines bar at Meriton Festival Village, photo by Prudence Upton.

To learn more about Sydney Festival and partnership opportunities, please contact Brooke Ravens, Senior Sponsorship Manager on (02) 8248 6565 or brooke.ravens@sydneyfestival.org.au.

Cover of Festival Feasts edition of Good Food. Tix for Next to Nix booth at World Square, photo by Prudence Upton.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

47


PHILANTHROPY DONOR ONLY TRAVEL OPPORTUNITIES THE BENEFITS OF BEING A DONOR Sydney Festival is a non-profit organisation. We receive core funding from the NSW State Government and the City of Sydney and raise other needed revenue through corporate partnerships and philanthropy.

Private donors play an increasing role in enabling us to realise the Festival’s mission. They enjoy both being part of the journey and an enticing array of insider experiences and other exclusive benefits.

EXCLUSIVE EVENTS ARTIST PARTY AT GOVERNMENT HOUSE Clockwise from top: Top image: Peter Freedman AM, Previe Villadarez, His Excellency General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Ret’d), Governor of NSW, Wesley Enoch, photo by Jamie Williams. Peter Freedman AM, Harry Triguboff AO, photo by Jamie Williams. Tom Hayward, Chris Tooher, Rhae Shaw, Chris Shaw, photo by Jamie Williams. Camilla Drover, Jules Maxwell, Wesley Enoch, Penelope Seidler AM, David Mathlin, Dr Kathryn Lovric, photo by Jamie Williams.

“I’M SUPPORTING THE COUNTRY THAT GAVE ME EVERYTHING AND THE CITY THAT I LOVE” PETER FREEDMAN AM, OWNER AND FOUNDER OF RØDE MICROPHONES

48


FESTIVAL PREVIEW DINNER AT BETA BAR AND GALLERY Top right: Larissa Behrendt, Wesley Enoch. Second row left: Janice Hitz, Emma Cosgrove, Joe Drew, David Mathlin, Marita Supplee, photo by Prudence Upton. Second row right: John Millyard, Robyn Martin-Weber, Jules Maxwell, Front: Jo Millyard, photo by Prudence Upton. Third row left: Vicki Liberman, Adam Liberman, photo by Liz Cartwright. Third row right: Beau and Paris Neilson, photo by Liz Cartwright. Bottom row left: Dawn McGuire, Dr Kathryn Lovric, Dr Roger Allan, Dr Mark McGuire, photo by Liz Cartwright.

TREE OF CODES OPENING NIGHT PRE-SHOW EVENT

Bottom row right: Ray Wilson OAM, Isidoro Feldman, photo by Liz Cartwright.

REMBRANDT LIVE VIP OPENING NIGHT

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

49


PHILANTHROPY BARBER SHOP CHRONICLES PRE-SHOW EVENT Top left: Peter Lowry OAM, Richard Scheinberg AM, Jacqui Scheinberg, Wesley Enoch, photo by Prudence Upton. Top right: Liz Laverty, Suzanne Maple-Brown, Jonathan Casson, photo by Prudence Upton. Middle left: Alex Hunyor, Ros Hunyor, Carolyn Lowry OAM, Anthony Maple-Brown, photo by Prudence Upton. Middle right: Wesley Enoch, Prime Minister of Australia, Malcolm Turnbull, Lucy Turnbull AO, Chris Tooher, photo by Prudence Upton. Lower left: Dawn McGuire, Ronnie Burkett and ‘Schnitzel’. Right: Fiona Martin-Weber, Bayo Gbadamosi, photo by Jamie Williams. Lower right: David Mathlin, Malcolm Moir and the RIOT crew.

UP CLOSE & PERSONAL EXPERIENCES WITH ARTISTS

“WE HAD A LOVELY TIME LAST NIGHT. THANK YOU. ALWAYS INTERESTING PEOPLE AND SUCH A BEAUTIFUL VENUE, HOW COULD ONE NOT HAVE A GOOD TIME?” FIONA MARTIN-WEBER

50


EXCLUSIVE TRAVEL OPPORTUNITIES DONOR TRIP TO MANCHESTER INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL AND FESTIVAL D’AIX-EN-PROVENCE Clockwise from top: The group with Wesley Enoch and former Festival Director Lieven Bertels at the Whitworth Art Gallery, Manchester. The group, Château La Coste, Provence. Angus Hayward, Flying Trapeze Workshop, Circus City. Cathy Cameron and Andrew Cameron AM, Mucem, Marseilles.

“WE BRING HOME WONDERFUL MEMORIES, [OF] INTERESTING SHOWS IN MANCHESTER, SUNNY DAYS IN AIX WITH GOOD WINE, FOOD AND OF COURSE THE COMPANY!” VICKI LIBERMAN

TAKE THE LEAP IN 2019 Learn more about the Philanthropy program and the difference you can make. The program offers different levels of support with a variety of benefits including priority booking, VIP access and exclusive event invitations. Visit sydneyfestival.org.au/support or contact Marita Supplee on (02) 8248 6510 or marita.supplee@sydneyfestival.org.au for further details.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

51


RECONCILIATION ACTION PLAN Sydney Festival is now five years into its Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP) journey. We remain committed to working towards improving outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians by creating and fostering an organisational environment that cherishes respect, creates opportunity and builds cultural awareness. Sydney Festival is proud to have Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians working in many facets of the organisation, from administration and programming to leadership positions including our Festival Director and members of the board. Our RAP commitment is also reflected in the work we produce and present, and the artists and creators we engage. The Festival continues to explore opportunities to improve access and support for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists and arts workers, and we look forward to developing our RAP for 2018–20. We thank all the Elders, artists and advisers who have helped guide us on this journey.

WugulOra Morning Ceremony, photo by Jamie Williams.

ARTS INDUSTRY As a leader and participant in the global cultural landscape, Sydney Festival is committed to connecting artists with each other and the wider community. We’re active participants in global and local conversations, and foster an engaged, connected and inspired arts community. This year, we deepened our engagement with the Australian circus community, and worked with our Circus Advisory Group for the second year running. Consultation with this group helped to shape our Circus City program, which included multiple industry and professional development events – the National Youth Circus Symposium and Circus Industry Forum for sector leaders and circus industry, and the Finding New Circus and Exploring New Circus Apparatus laboratories for practising circus artists. The Sydney Festival Arts Industry Program entered its 5th year in 2018. In total, 247 artists and arts workers joined the program and could access reduced price tickets and priority entry to the Meriton Festival Village. Circus Oz, photo by Jamie Williams.

52


VOLUNTEERS Sydney Festival would not be possible without our dedicated and generous volunteers, who contribute their time to engage with our patrons and help create better customer experiences. This year we added a Sydney Festival Ambassador role, which created a presence and customer engagement opportunity at more venues than previously and allowed for better integration with partnering venues. The Festival’s volunteer program involved 335 volunteers working more than 2,000 shifts. Our enthusiastic volunteers embraced many roles on the ground and behind the scenes, from compiling materials for artists and staff to invigilating art installations, providing information and directions at venues, assisting with free installations, engaging patrons in activities and collecting donations. The program again involved 23 team leaders who supervised volunteers across various Festival venues. The team leader program provides a great opportunity for graduates or young professionals to build their leadership and organisational skills. Eventeamwork joined us for the sixth year to manage our volunteer program.

INTERNS Sydney Festival hosted 13 internship placements in 2018 for students attending NSW, Queensland and Victorian universities. Roles spanned production, programming, marketing and sponsorship, with each role aligned with the intern’s individual study needs, and provided hands-on experience. Interns also benefited from exposure to the strategic planning and administration required to deliver an international arts festival. A number of 2017 interns returned to the Festival in paid roles in 2018, highlighting the invaluable experience and network gained through our internship program. We thank our 2018 interns for sharing their energy and enthusiasm, and wish them the very best for the future.

Above: Jurassic Plastic, photo by Jamie Williams. Below: Volunteer team.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

53


SUPPORTERS SYDNEY FESTIVAL WISHES TO THANK THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUALS, FOUNDATIONS AND ORGANISATIONS FOR THEIR GENEROUS DONATIONS OVER THE LAST 12 MONTHS: MAJOR DONOR $300k+ Peter Freedman AM

FESTIVAL HEROES $10k+

Altaire Productions MAJOR DONORS $50k+ Robert Albert AO and Libby Albert CRM Foundation John Barrer Neilson Foundation Larissa Behrendt and Michael Lavarch AO MAJOR PROJECT DONORS $20k+ Wesley Enoch The Martin-Weber Family Vic and Katie French Drs Kathryn Lovric and Roger Allan Tom Hayward and Fiona Rockend Martin-Weber DIRECTOR’S CIRCLE $20k+ David Kirk MBE and Brigit Kirk Anonymous (1) Dawn and Dr Mark McGuire Antoinette Albert Julianne Maxwell Andrew Cameron AM David Mathlin and Camilla Drover and Cathy Cameron Penelope Seidler AM Michael Crouch AC Dr Jennifer Solomon and Peter Hunt AM Peter Solomon Adam and Vicki Liberman Roslyn Packer AO

ASSOCIATE PRODUCERS $5k+ Damien Butler The Arcadia Group Marco Belgiorno-Zegna AM and Angela Belgiorno-Zegna Jonathan and Judith Casson Diane Eilert Roslyn and Alex Hunyor Elizabeth Laverty Dr Carolyn Lowry OAM and Peter Lowry OAM Robyn Martin-Weber Jo and John Millyard Villa & Villa P/L Kim Williams AM and Catherine Dovey Ray Wilson OAM Dr Heather Worth

FESTIVAL LOVERS $1k+ Dr Anne Amigo Gil Appleton Anne Blau

CORPORATE PARTNERS MAJOR PARTNER

SPECIAL DISTINGUISHED PARTNERS

DISTINGUISHED PARTNERS

STAR PARTNERS

FESTIVAL LAWYERS

54

Paddy Carney Angela Clarke Darren Dale Danny and Kathleen Gilbert Christina Green Julian Knights Jennifer Lindsay Rajni and Pawan Luthra Sandy Martin Ann McFarlane Lyndall McNally Stephen Menzies Virginia Pursell Mary Read Justine Roche Christina and Terry Smith Victoria Taylor Christopher Tooher

SYDNEY FESTIVAL BOARD PATRON His Excellency General, The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Ret’d), Governor of New South Wales

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Chair – David Kirk MBE Larissa Behrendt David Borger Andrew Cameron AM Paddy Carney Angela Clark Darren Dale Diana Eilert Matthew Melhuish

VALE MICHAEL CROUCH AC

Gone but not forgotten


GOVERNMENT AND COMMUNITY PARTNERS PRINCIPAL PARTNERS

PRINCIPAL GOVERNMENT PARTNER

STRATEGIC PARTNERS

SPECIAL DISTINGUISHED PARTNERS

DISTINGUISHED PARTNER

STAR PARTNERS

MEDIA PARTNERS MAJOR PARTNER

SPECIAL DISTINGUISHED PARTNERS

DISTINGUISHED PARTNERS

STAR PARTNERS

FBi RADIO

ACMN

Marketing & Advertising

BUSINESS SUPPORTERS

CONTRIBUTORS

RESTAURANT PARTNERS

Hapag-Lloyd Local Measure Showtime Marketing Staging Rentals & Construction

Artbank Australia Bar Coco CloudWave Flowers at Kirribilli Four Pillars Gin RDA Research Safety Culture Serenova St Vincent de Paul Society

360 Bar Alpha Restaurant Bishop Sessa BLACK Bar & Grill Bowery Lane Buckley’s Cafe Sydney

Chefs Gallery Town Hall Chiswick at the Gallery The Dining Room at Park Hyatt Sydney The Emporium Parramatta Fat Noodle INDU

CORPORATE CLUB Kindred Kittyhawk La Rosa The Strand Madame Shanghai The Malaya Mejico Steel Bar and Grill

Cameron Brae Group

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

55


THANKS

THE FOLLOWING COMPANIES AND PRODUCTIONS ACKNOWLEDGE THE SUPPORT OF: The Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.

Acrobat, Artspace, Cake Industries, Campbelltown Arts Centre, Cella, Circus Oz, Force Majeure, Lucas Abela, Moogahlin Performing Arts, Performing Lines, PYT | Fairfield, Queensland Theatre, Seidler Salon Series, Sydney Dance Company, Tell

Bayala – Let's Speak Sydney Language, Campbelltown Arts Centre, Carriageworks, Cella, Force Majeure, Legs On The Wall, Moogahlin Performing Arts, Performing Lines, Opera Australia, PYT | Fairfield, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Sydney Dance Company 16 LOVERS LANE Queensland Music Festival, Robert Forster, Katie Noonan 52 ARTISTS 52 ACTIONS Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, City of Sydney ALDOUS HARDING Laneway Festival AQUASONIC Produced by FuturePerfect Productions, New York. Co-produced by Aarhus 2017 European Capital of Culture. With support from the Danish Arts Foundation, Aarhus Municipality and DJBFA. BARBER SHOP CHRONICLES Co-commissioned by Fuel and the National Theatre. Development funded by Arts Council England with the support of Fuel, National Theatre, West Yorkshire Playhouse, The Binks Trust, British Council ZA, Òran Mór and A Play, a Pie and a Pint. BAYALA – LET’S SPEAK SYDNEY LANGUAGE We would like to acknowledge the Sydney Language Project Advisory Group: Uncle Charles ‘Chicka’ Madden, Uncle Allen Madden, Aunty Jacinta Tobin, Professor Jakelin Troy, Professor Larissa Behrendt. We would like to acknowledge the support of the following: Caroline Butler-Bowdon, Mark Goggin, Sydney Living Museums, NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet, Ronald Briggs, Samantha Hagan, Melissa Jackson, Kirsten Thorpe and the State Library of NSW. BEAST Supported by The Greenwich Dance & Trinity Laban Partnership, Candoco Dance Company, South East Dance and Metal Peterborough and funded by the Greenwich Dance & Trinity Laban Partnership, Swedish Performing Arts Biennale and Arts Council England (Grants for the Arts). 56

BROKEN GLASS Blacktown Arts, Blacktown City Council, Bundanon Trust, Packer Family Foundation and Crown Resorts Foundation, Joseph Medcalf, Moogahlin Performing Arts CELLA Premiered in co-production with COLOURS International Dance Festival 2017 with support from the Tanja Liedtke Foundation. Supported during development by the Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch. CIRCUS CITY We would like to acknowledge the Circus Advisory Group: Alice Cadwell, Jodie Farrugia, Joshua Hoare, Gail Kelly, Bel Macedone, Chelsea McGuffin and Loki Rickus. THE DAISY THEATRE Presented with the support of the Canada Council for the Arts and the Ontario Arts Council. FERRYTHON Harbour City Ferries FLEABAG DryWrite, Soho Theatre HIGHLY SPRUNG Co-commissioned in 2017 by City of Sydney for Art and About, and is supported by Mr Trampoline. IT'S NOT FOR EVERYONE Marguerite Pepper, Ryan Taplin GHOST TRAIN TINDERBOX FOUNDATIONS JOIN THE DOTS Australia-Japan Foundation, Japan Foundation JURASSIC PLASTIC Cleanaway, St Vincent de Paul KATHARINA GROSSE: THE HORSE TROTTED ANOTHER COUPLE OF METRES, THEN IT STOPPED This project is supported by Schwartz Carriageworks, BresicWhitney, Sydney Festival, City of Sydney and GoetheInstitute Australia. LISA REIHANA CINEMANIA Campbelltown City Council, Creative New Zealand, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Ta-maki, Patrons of New Zealand at Venice LORDS OF STRUT: ABSOLUTE LEGENDS Arts Council of Ireland, Cork County Council, Pavilion Theatre, Greywood Arts, the Ark, Exchange House MISSION SONGS PROJECT – 1957 PALM ISLAND STRIKE Campbelltown City Council and Archie Roach Foundation MODEL CITIZENS Creative Victoria MONROE & ASSOCIATES Supported by the State Government of Western Australia through the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries. Originally presented with The Blue Room Theatre’s Summer Nights at Fringe World 2015.

MY NAME IS JIMI Queensland Theatre OPERA AUSTRALIA Creative Victoria REMBRANDT LIVE Carole Lamerton, Robyn Martin-Weber, Margaret Olley Art Trust, Peter Weiss AO, Ray Wilson OAM RIOT Originally co-produced by Dublin Fringe Festival and supported by the Arts Council of Ireland. SEIDLER SALON SERIES Penelope Seidler AM STUCK IN THE MIDDLE WITH YOU Sydney Dance Company, Gideon Obarzanek, Matthew Bate, Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI), Jumpgate VR, Closer Productions, Creative Victoria TELL The Bardas Foundation, The Besen Foundation, Gandel Philanthropy, Festivals Australia, Hugh D.T. Williamson Foundation, UNSW Galleries TREE OF CODES Commissioned by Manchester International Festival, Park Avenue Armory, FAENA ART, Paris Opera Ballet, Sadler’s Wells and European Capital of Culture Aarhus 2017. Produced by Manchester International Festival, Paris Opera Ballet and Studio Wayne McGregor. TRIBUNAL Griffin Theatre Company, Sidney Myer Fund, Fairfield City Council WARM TIES Co-commissioned by Artspace and the Institute of Contemporary Art (London). Development and presentation supported by commissioning partner the Keir Foundation. WHIST Co-produced by Gulbenkian Canterbury and tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf. Supported by Arts Council England and South East Dance. WORLD WITHOUT US Theatre Royal Plymouth (UK), Arts Centre Vooruit (BE), Richard Jordan Productions (UK) THE WIDER EARTH Originally developed with support from St Ann’s Warehouse. Supported by Australian Communities Foundation, Hamer Family Fund, English Family Foundation and Queensland Government. THANK YOU Michael Abbott, Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Advisory Panel, Access & Inclusion Advisory Panel, Accessible Arts, Emma Bedford, Caroline Brosnan, Tanya Bush, City of Sydney, Uncle Max Eulo, Mark Hammer, Adam McGowan, Metropolitan Local Aboriginal Land Council, Paul Nunnari, Vision Australia, Fiona Winning, Chris Zajko, our volunteers and interns.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL STAFF FESTIVAL DIRECTOR Wesley Enoch EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Christopher Tooher FINANCE & OPERATIONS Head of Finance & Operations Katie Parker Finance Manager Jennifer Stallard Accounts Assistant Julie Crawford Payroll & Cash Manager Carina Mision Executive Assistant Corey Zerna Administration Officer Courtney Lewis Administration Assistant Sheraya Brown-Leslie Special Projects Coordinator Fiona Jackson PROGRAMMING Acting Head of Programming Rachael Azzopardi Producer, Major Outdoor Events Vernon Guest Producer, Theatre & Dance Brendan O’Connell Program Manager – Music Stuart Rogers Festival Site Designer Pip Runciman Programming Associates Ione Davis, Rachel Grimes-Carmichael Music Coordinator Tom Riordan Project Managers Lauren Eisinger, Bianca Moseley Programming Administrator Rebecca Gribble Spiegeltent Project Manager Michael Cutrupi MARKETING & CUSTOMER SERVICES Head of Marketing & Customer Services Tina Walsberger Marketing & Digital Manager Alicia Kish Publications Editor Nick Jarvis Marketing & Publications Coordinator Raymond Phan Marketing Coordinator Andy Currums Digital Marketing Coordinator Annie Loo Communications Manager Hugo Mintz Publicists Danielle Farrugia, Stephanie Payne, Isabella Feros Publicity Coordinator Elizabeth Elias

Graphic Design Managers Anais Taylor, Kirsten Willey Graphic Designer Margaux Bowdler Signage Coordinator Rebecca Fortune Ticketing Manager Tara Easlea-Harding Ticketing Systems Coordinators Erin Garman, Sarah Toner Ticketing Operations Coordinator Shirrah Comeadow Guest Ticketing Coordinator Kim Walsh, Chloe Culpin DEVELOPMENT Head of Development Malcolm Moir Philanthropy Manager Marita Supplee Senior Sponsorship Manager Brooke Ravens Sponsorship Manager Amalina Whitaker Sponsorship Executive Jane You Sponsorship Coordinator Alana Gatley PRODUCTION Head of Production John Bayley Production Manager Clark Corby Production Coordinator Alycia Bangma Production Coordinator Tom Webster Project Manager – Barangaroo Elise Brokensha Festival Village Venue Manager Gordon Rymer Production Assistant Romy McKanna Transport Coordinator Kat Anastasiou-Bell Crew Coordinator Chantal Roberts Project Manager – Parramatta Sophie Lukersmith Accessibility Consultant Paul Nunnari Safety Consultant Jon Corbishley CATERING CONSULTANTS Motti+Smith FESTIVAL DESIGN AGENCY Alphabet Studio COPYWRITERS Elissa Blake, Lenny Ann Low, Andrew P Street MAGAZINE PRINTING PMP Print VOLUNTEER MANAGEMENT Eventeamwork


Clockwise from top left: Tree of Codes, photo by Prudence Upton. AquaSonic, photo by Jamie Williams. Aldous Harding, photo by Jamie Williams. Meriton Festival Village, photo by Jamie Williams. Rhys Chatham’s A Crimson Grail (100 Guitar Orchestra), photo by Prudence Upton. Ferrython, photo by Jamie Williams.

SYDNEY FESTIVAL 2018 ANNUAL REVIEW

57


Level 5, 10 Hickson Road The Rocks NSW 2000 Australia T +61 2 8248 6500 F +61 2 8248 6599 E mail@sydneyfestival.org.au sydneyfestival.org.au

Profile for Sydney Festival

Sydney Festival 2018 Annual Review  

Sydney Festival 2018 Annual Review  

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded