__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

ANNUAL REVIEW 2019/20 Chief Executive’s Report It’s always a strange exercise, sitting down to write a review of the last financial year and our ambitions for the coming year, looking backward and forward at the same time. But it’s never felt quite as strange as it does this year. Everything before March 2020 feels like another lifetime. For this reason, we report here on some of our more recent work in response to the Covid-19 pandemic, as it seemed so odd not to! Last year, with our new strategy, we detailed our aim to become a more broad-based local funder, supporting more climate change and arts projects, as well as addressing disadvantage and building strong communities. We made significant progress in both of these areas, with the Rampion Fund, Nino Fund and Brighton Rock Fund, as well as the new Crawley Cultural Fund. We also continued to develop a mixed economy of grant-making, adding very small, fast-track grants and larger, strategic grants to our main grants programme. The Argus Appeal Fund enabled us to successfully trial smaller fast-track grants. The Brighton & Hove Homelessness Fund, set up by an anonymous donor, enabled us to make a single grant towards the capital costs of the ‘No Second Night Out’ project, a hub for homelessness services in Brighton & Hove. We feel sure that this major new fund will attract support from other donors and have a significant impact on homelessness in the city. In autumn 2019, we launched Sussex Uncovered 3, which presents a range of data about Sussex, both in print and on a regularly updated sister website. This continues to guide our grant-making. The challenges we have all faced in the last six months are beyond anything we might have SUSSEX COMMUNITY FOUNDATION ANNUAL REVIEW 2019/20

imagined before. Our fund holders, donors and the Sussex public were incredibly generous and swift to respond to our appeals for support. Most of all, how our communities responded to those challenges was nothing short of inspirational, pulling together in a strategic and co-ordinated way to respond to the immediate and pressing needs of people in that first lockdown. We are proud to have played our part through the Sussex Crisis Fund, giving £2.5 million in 550 grants in just eight months. My heartfelt thanks go to our staff and trustees who worked tirelessly to get funds out to where they were needed as quickly as was humanly possible. And so to the future. The success of a community foundation is built on its ability to bring people together for a common cause. The coronavirus crisis is likely to have a dramatic impact on many people’s lives for some time to come and will make existing inequalities and disadvantage greater still. Sussex Community Foundation is needed now more than ever to bring together local philanthropists and the most impactful local charities, to address the urgent needs of our communities today and for the long term.

KEVIN RICHMOND CHIEF EXECUTIVE, SUSSEX COMMUNITY FOUNDATION NOVEMBER 2020


OUR YEAR Sussex Uncovered In November 2019, we published our third Sussex Uncovered report which showed that there was a steep rise in homelessness and insecure housing across Sussex. People identified as ‘being in priority need’ had risen by 38% in the four years between 2014 and 2018. The report, which contains a wealth of data about Sussex communities across a range of datasets, can be viewed at www.sussexgiving.org.uk/sussexuncovered2019 Alongside the report, we developed a unique sister website, regularly updated, where you can dig deeper to find the data most relevant and useful to you – www.sussexuncovered.communityinsight.org The site now includes data about Covid-19 vulnerability in Sussex.

Annual meeting Our 2019 annual meeting was held in December at the Gurjar Hindu Union in Crawley where the then Mayor of Crawley, Councillor Raj Sharma, presented the first awards from our new Crawley Cultural Fund (in partnership with Arts Council England).

SUSSEX COMMUNITY FOUNDATION ANNUAL REVIEW 2019/20


Sussex Crisis Fund An annual report usually focuses on activity for the previous year. However, 2020 has been so extraordinary that, in this review, we want to tell you more of what we have done in response to the Covid-19 pandemic. The response to the pandemic by Sussex people was immediate and inspirational. Charities adapted their services and ways of working and our donors were quick and generous to give. Thank you all, once again, for all your support. www.sussexgiving.org.uk/thank-you The Sussex Crisis Fund made its first grants within ten days. High priority areas for funding in the first few weeks included access to food and medicines, health issues, loneliness and isolation, particularly for older people. The fund was kick-started by generous donations from the Argus Appeal and American Express and, as part of a network of community foundations nationally, we partnered with the National Emergencies Trust and the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport to distribute their funding to grassroots groups. We also had amazing support from generous local people, companies, charitable trusts and local authorities, such as East Sussex County Council. To date, we have given over 550 grants worth over £2.5 million to support local charities and community groups doing amazing work at the very heart of their communities. We will continue to support them, as we all head into an uncertain winter.

SMALL PERFORMANCE ADVENTURES Another area that needed immediate investment was technology to enable groups to adapt to new ways of working. “In our original proposal we had hoped to reach 150 people in total. Through our Facebook group we reached a much wider community of over 800 people and people had the opportunity to connect with people across the globe. “We had never considered the possibility of working through Zoom and, although we look forward to a more in-person style of working, we know that we can now connect with participants digitally which can be useful for future work and when we want to develop our work over a broader geographic range.”

Photograph Darren Cool

BRIGHTON CAULDRON quickly established a food hub,

SUSSEX COMMUNITY FOUNDATION ANNUAL REVIEW 2019/20

providing ethnically diverse food, when the Covid-19 pandemic arrived. They received a grant of £5,000 to cover operational costs and volunteer expenses. “We consulted local families and found out that other food banks do not cater for ethnically diverse food,” says Joydeep Dutta, pictured here. “We have been catering to the specific dietary needs and preference of Black, Asian and minority ethnic families and these types of food can be more expensive. The fund has helped us to meet these specific needs and also to deliver the food parcels, so users do not have to visit the hub which can help overcome any reluctance some people feel about using a food bank.”


Thriving communities Our new strategy highlighted three key areas where we want to redouble our energies and focus. They were: investing in voluntary sector infrastructure, increasing diversity and inclusion and tackling climate change.

Voluntary action

Diversity and inclusion

At the heart of our thriving voluntary sector in Sussex is a network of community voluntary action organisations, which nurture and support new and existing charities and community groups across the county.

We want to better reflect the communities we serve across all areas of the organisation and our work.

We have worked closely with this network, this year more than ever before, investing in them to deliver Covid-19 emergency support, as well as longer term capacity building, work with Black, Asian and minority ethnic communities, digital inclusion, and volunteering. We have also supported Diversity Resource International to employ a race equality community development worker. We are working with them, and other infrastructure bodies, to ensure that we meet the needs of Black, Asian and minority ethnic communities more effectively in the future.

ROTHER VOLUNTARY ACTION received a £10,000 grant from our Sussex Crisis Fund to further explore the emerging community needs and to develop a specific training and support programme to enable local mutual aid groups that had sprung up in the community over the first lockdown, to develop, adapt and thrive. Plus, the grant will help them to improve their offices and upgrade their digital capacity to deliver support remotely.

THE TRUST FOR DEVELOPING COMMUNITIES delivers community-led solutions to tackling inequality in Brighton & Hove. We have funded them £10,000 over six months to support the development of a stronger, more robust and sustainable Black, Asian and ethnic minority-led sector in Brighton & Hove.

Climate change We signed up to the Funders Commitment to Climate Change, which commits us to enact a range of measures to help tackle climate change. This year, we have worked towards disinvesting from carbon industries and moving towards investments that actively address climate change. Read more here: https://sussexgiving.org.uk/greening-our-investments/

THE RAMPION FUND Since launching the Rampion Fund at Sussex Community Foundation three years ago, the fund has given over £1.5 million in grants to projects, in a specific geographical area, that encourage renewables, sustainability, energy efficiency, marine ecology, nature conservation and environmental improvements.

THE OUSE AND ADUR RIVERS TRUST received

Left to right: Linda Kerrison, Peter King and Alistair Whitby of the Ouse and Adur Rivers Trust, and supporter Alex Tristram.

SUSSEX COMMUNITY FOUNDATION ANNUAL REVIEW 2019/20

a grant of £19,000 from the Rampion Fund to support the creation of a new river trail and 6.9 hectares of hand-sown wildflower meadows, which will provide unrestricted access to a historically private area of land.


OUR THANKS We would be nothing without our fundholders, donors and supporters. FUNDS*  Iwill Fund # Adur Relief Fund Aisbitt Family Fund Albert Van den Bergh / Glover Fund Alex and William De Winton Trust Fund Alta Fund American Express Fund Amy Hart Fund Anjoli Stewart Fund ARDIS Fund Argus Appeal Fund Arthur & Doreen Green Fund Arthur & Doreen Green Property Fund Arthur & Rosemary Kay Fund Azalea Fund B&H Homelessness Fund B&H Legacy Fund - Children & Young People B&H Legacy Fund - Libraries Beechlands Fund Boltini Fund Brenda Ford Fund Brighton & Hove Arts Fund Brighton & Hove Fund Brighton Rock Fund Britton Family Fund Building Stronger Britain Together Fund Carpenter Box Fund CJR Family Fund Cragwood Fund Crawley Cultural Fund Cullum Family Trust Fund Dame Elizabeth Nash Fund David & Karen Allam Fund Dexam Fund Dulverton Trust Fund East Brighton Trust Fund East Sussex High Sheriff Fund East Sussex Women of the Year Fund Fairfield Fund Fangorn Fund Field Family Fund Fleming Family Fund Frank and Lorna’s Fund Gatwick Foundation Fund Glebe Fund Glenn & Phyllida Earle Fund Gurney Charitable Trust Fund Ian Askew Charitable Trust Fund Innes Fund Inspire Fund Isaac Ganas Fund Jim & Audrey Buttimer Fund John Laing Charitable Trust Fund Joyce Lomas Fund Kim Addison Fund Knighton Fund

L aing Fund Lawson Endowment for Sussex Lewes & District Flood & Disaster Relief Fund Lewes Fund Leyden House Fund Lisbet Rausing & Peter Baldwin End of Life Care Fund Little Cheyne Court Wind Farm Fund Madeleine Fund Margaret Greenhough Fund Marit & Hans Rausing Fund Martin Family Fund Meads Fund Millicent Mather Fund Munday Family Fund Nationwide Fund Newhaven EZ Community Fund Nick & Gill Wills Fund Nino Fund Noel Bennett Fund Open Door Fund Paddy Boyle Fund Peel Family Fund Pankhurst Fire Fund Pegasus Fund Price Family Fund Pro Bono Fund Purple Fund Rampion Fund Rooney Foundation Fund Royal London Fund Rye Capital Projects Fund Rye Fund Sachs Trust Fund Selits Fund Shoreham Air Show Fund Sierra Gorda Fund Surviving Winter Fund Sussex Giving Fund Tampon Tax Fund Tracey Allen Memorial Fund Tulip Family Fund West Sussex High Sheriff Fund Westdene Fund Westoute Fund William Alexander Fund William Reed Fund Worthing & Adur Fund Young People’s Fund

DONORS AND SUPPORTERS  dams & Remers LLP A Aldama Foundation Arts Council England The Arts Fair Mr James and Lady Emma Barnard (The Barness Trust) Birthday House Trust Bluecoat Wealth Management Ltd CAF UK Anthea & Jeremy Carver Eshcon Ltd Esmée Fairbairn Foundation Gatwick Airport Ltd Grocers’ Charity Hall & Woodhouse Ltd Jonathan Harris Legh Charitable Trust Lilyford Lady Lloyd of Berwick Patricia Routledge Charitable Trust Professional Working Solutions Ltd The River Trust The Estate of Andrew Stewart-Roberts David & Hilary Tupper UK Community Foundations W & E Harris Charitable Trust Friends of Sussex Community Foundation ...and many other individual donors.

SPECIAL THANKS TO  iolet Hancock DL, V High Sheriff of East Sussex Davina Irwin-Clark, High Sheriff of West Sussex Jacquie and Harry Brunjes Patrick Burgess OBE DL Folkington’s Investment Solutions Miles Jenner DL Sir Richard Kleinwort DL Caroline & Jonathan Lucas The Museum of the Order of St John South of England Agricultural Society Stephen Welton Wiston Estates

* as of 31 March 2020

SUSSEX CRISIS FUND We would also like to especially thank the many people, organisations and Sussex Community Foundation fundholders who gave generously to the Sussex Crisis Fund in its first few days of operation in March 2020.

SUSSEX COMMUNITY FOUNDATION ANNUAL REVIEW 2019/20


OUR FINANCE This summary is extracted from the statutory financial information approved by the Board of Sussex Community Foundation on 29 July 2020. Copies of the full statutory accounts, the unqualified auditors report and the trustees report are available from Sussex Community Foundation’s registered address. Keith Hollis Chairman On behalf of the trustees of Sussex Community Foundation

STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL ACTIVITIES FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 MARCH 2020 INCOMING RESOURCES Total incoming and endowments

Unrestricted Restricted Endowment Total Total funds funds funds 2020 2019

565,287

2,834,823

568,012

91,150

0

0

3,968,122

7,434,917

EXPENDITURE ON: Raising funds

91,150 67,483

Charitable activities: Grants awarded

2,428,924 1,866,931

0

2,428,924

0

Other direct charitable expenditure

458,782

286,819

194,461

940,062

939,014

Total resources expended

549,932

2,715,743

194,461

3,460,136

2,873,428

0

0

(394,424)

(394,424)

1,174,274

15,355

119,080

(20,873)

113,562

5,735,763

0

818,815

(818,815)

0

0

15,355

937,895

(839,688)

113,562

5,735,763

Fund balances at 1 April 2019

434,922

1,392,272

21,519,732

23,346,926 17,611,163

Fund balances at 31 March 2020

450,277

2,330,167

20,680,044

23,460,488 23,346,926

Net (loss)/gain on investments Net (outgoing)/incoming resources before transfers Gross transfers between funds Net movement in funds

SUSSEX COMMUNITY FOUNDATION ANNUAL REVIEW 2019/20


BALANCE SHEET AT 31 MARCH 2020

TOTAL VALUE OF GRANTS AWARDED 2020 2019 £ £

Fixed assets Tangible assets

961

1,282

Investments

20,162,164

20,569,815

20,163,125

20,571,097

Investments

400,190

1,921,345

3,719,722

2,865,923

Creditors falling due within one year

(422,359) (90,094)

Net current assets

3,297,363 2,775,829 23,460,488

23,346,926

General reserves – for core operating costs

15% 14%

6%

Advance people’s physical and mental health, wellbeing and safety

£971,201

Represented by: Restricted funds – grant funds awaiting distribution

40%

0 0 3,319,532

Endowment fund

6%

944,578

Cash at bank and in hand

Net assets

GRANTS BY IMPACT CATEGORY TOTAL AWARDED

19%

Current assets Debtors

£2,428,924

20,680,044

21,519,732

2,330,167

1,392,272

450,277

434,922

23,460,488

23,346,926

Connect people with the arts, culture and heritage

£134,245 Improve life skills, education, employability and enterprise

£332,438 Maximise ability to strengthen community cohesion and build social capacity

£374,055

FOR EVERY £1 INVESTED IN FUNDRAISING, WE RAISED £44

SUSSEX COMMUNITY FOUNDATION ANNUAL REVIEW 2019/20

Promote reduction of isolation and disadvantage and access to local services

£462,140  ransform access to, and engagement with, T the environment and public spaces

£154,845


OUR PEOPLE FOUNDER AND PRESIDENTS

AMBASSADORS

STAFF

Founder

David Allam DL

Adrian Barrott  Grants Officer

The 10th Duke of Richmond and Gordon

Steve Allen

Stephen Chamberlain  Head of Philanthropy

Tracey Allen*

Hannah Clay  Head of Grant Programmes

Joint Presidents

Lady Emma Barnard DL

Toni Darton  Philanthropy Manager

Peter Field  Lord Lieutenant of East Sussex

Andrew Blackman DL

Zoe Gandey  Communications Assistant

Susan Pyper  Lord Lieutenant of West Sussex

Charles Drayson

Pete Jones  Grants Officer

Jeremy Field Patron

Diana Garnham

Miranda Kemp  Communications and Marketing Manager

The 11th Duke of Richmond and Gordon

Kathy Gore OBE DL

Rex Mankelow  Resources Manager

Caroline Greenhalgh

Kevin Richmond  Chief Executive

TRUSTEES (as at October 2020)

Neil Hart DL

Jackie Turner  Executive Assistant

Georgina Hovey

Tracy Williams  Grants Administrator

Trevor James Caroline Lucas

Sessional administrators:

Consuelo Brooke Maggie Burgess Rodney Buse Julia Carrette Jonica Fox Nikki Glover David Hill Keith Hollis (Chairman) Brian Mills

Jonathan Lucas Caroline Nicholls DL Denise Patterson DL Graham Peters DL Humphrey Price Juliet Smith JP DL

Tracy Glendinning-Smith Julia Lenton Tammy McCann Monika Munzinger Sarah Wilson

David Tate OBE DL

OUR ADVISORS

Patricia Woolgar

Knill James LLP  Registered auditors

Martin Roberts Mark Spofforth OBE Patrick Stevens

Sarasin & Partners LLP  Investment managers CCLA Investment Management Adams & Remers LLP  Solicitors

Pamela Stiles

* We were very saddened to hear the news that Tracey Allen passed away during the year. We send our love to all her family and friends. She is greatly missed.

Quality accredited by UK Community Foundations .

Sussex Community Foundation 15 Western Road, Lewes, East Sussex BN7 1RL 01273 409440 info@sussexgiving.org.uk www.sussexgiving.org.uk Company Limited by Guarantee No. 5670692  Registered in England and Wales  Registered Charity 1113226

Design by Wave wave.coop Images by Darren Cool (unless stated) dcoolimages.com

Profile for Sussex Community Foundation

Sussex Communty Foundation annual report 2019-2020