__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

FOLLOW US ON @sophreview

LIKE US ON /southphillyreview

Vol. 72 No. 28 | July 21, 2021 southphillyreview.com

A South Philly journalist and podcast host walked to Atlantic City over the weekend By Tom Beck SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW

On April 24, 2019, at the end of the first season of his podcast, Jason Peters, a Philly journalist and host of the 2100 podcast, made a promise. If his podcast amassed 15,000 downloads, he’d walk from Philadelphia to Atlantic City. “It was a pipe dream at the time,” said Peters. Fast forward to this past Friday and Peters, a South Philly resident, was wearing a pair of very comfortable Skechers walking shoes at Cherry Street Pier. “The only thing I did to prep was I bought these shoes,” said Peters. “I looked at blogs for, like, three minutes.” The Skechers, of course, were bought to prepare for the walk. Peters has since blown by his 15,000 download goal. “We're way above that,” he said. “I'm beyond 40,000 and I decided I was going to take the walk and rather than doing it for no reason at all, I’d do it for a cause.” That’s where Carlos Aponte, executive director of We Love Philly, comes in. “Jason had the idea [for the walk], and then he came to me,” said Aponte. “I think he needed words of encouragement because I'm the positive guy and I was like, well if you're asking me, see WEEKEND WALK, page 6 >> PHOTO BY TOM BECK

Carlos Aponte (left) and Jason Peters prepare for their walk at the Cherry Street Pier on Friday afternoon. Serving Philadelphia, Montgomery and Bucks

RAMPS • ELEVATORS • SEAT LIFTS NEW • USED • RENTALS We buy back new and used stairglides for 5 years

Call Now For A FREE Home Evaluation 215-808-3298

$300 off

Stair Lift New Equipment Not valid with any other discount or coupon.


2

SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

FAMOUS BIRTHDAYS

CALENDAR

July 21

AUGUST 12

Josh Hartnett, Movie Actor (43) Cat Stevens, Folk Singer (73)

Battery Recycling Event - From 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at SOSNA Triangle Plaza at 23rd and South streets. Vicinity Energy and South of South Neighborhood Association will host battery recycling collection events during SOSNA’s Music at the Triangle. Bring your used batteries, and they will get recycled. Accepted batteries include lead acid, nickel cadmium, lithium ion and alkaline batteries.

July 22

Selena Gomez, Pop Singer (29) Shawn Michaels, Wrestler (56)

July 23

Monica Lewinsky, Ex-White House Intern (48) Daniel Radcliffe, Movie Actor (32)

July 24

Lynda Carter, TV Actress (70) Jennifer Lopez, Pop Singer (52)

July 25

Matt LeBlanc, TV Actor (54) Alvin Kamara, Football Player (26)

July 26

Sandra Bullock, Movie Actress (57) Kate Beckinsale, Movie Actress (48)

Follow us on social media today!

July 27

Triple H, Wrestler (52) Alex Rodriguez, Baseball Player (46)

SOCIAL SECURITY DISABILITY Aggressive, Compassionate and Competent handling of your

SSD or SSI case

New applications Appeals of denials Hearings COVID-19 job loss S O C I AL

20% fee discount for South Philly residents (zip codes: 19145, -46, -47 & -48)

S E CU RI T Y

A D V O C A CY

F I R M

Capista & Capista NM-00465327

T R U S T E D

N A M E

www.CapistaOnline.com

(215) 232-7100

NM-00466827

◈ A


SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM South Philly Review Chronicle

3

TM

800 Lombard Street Washington Square West Philiadelphia, PA 19147 s o u t h p h i l l y r e v i e w . c o m

Cardella .................................................... 4 Puzzle Page ........................................... 11 Classifieds .............................................. 13 Real Estate............................................. 12

Cedrone’s Flowers

SOUTH PHIL ADELPHIA’S COMMUNIT Y NE W SPAPER FOUNDED 1947 215-336-2500

130 Twinbridge Drive Pennsauken, NJ 08110

COO Perry Corsetti pcorsetti@newspapermediagroup.com Publisher John Gallo jgallo@southphillyreview.com General Manager Brandon Chamberlain bchamberlain@newspapermediagroup.com

Community Papers Circulation Verification Service

For the most Important day of your life

Associate Editors Tom Beck tbeck@newspapermediagroup.com Mark Zimmaro mzimmaro@newspapermediagroup.com

PH: 215.629.9858 CELL: 215.990.7812 cedronesflowers.com

Editorial news@southphillyreview.com Socials and obituaries social.obits@southphillyreview.com

instagram.com/cedrones_flowers

G

D

:

UARANTEED ELIVERY IF YOU LIVE WITHIN OUR CIRCULATION AREA AND DO NOT RECEIVE YOUR SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW BY 6:00 P.M. WEDNESDAY THE WEEK OF PUBLICATION, CALL OUR CIRCULATION DEPARTMENT AT 856-663-9588

Janet Cedrone Alvarez, Prop

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Publisher reserves the right to accept or reject any advertising submitted. Publisher assumes no responsibility for errors made except to reprint that portion of any ad having an error. Display ad rates available upon request. Advertisers: Check your ads weekly. The Review can be responsible only the first time an ad appears. © 2015 R.P.M. Philly, LLC.

D N AN DED. 0873 O S PER NEE 35TER RSON 856-5 N U CO ERY PE LL JOE IV CA DEL FT/PT . Y PA EAT

ADOPT THIS PET

Big Sam is the man Sam is a happy, large, 100-pound, 2-year-old chocolate lab mix. He’s house trained, has great house manners (although he does drool a lot when he smells food) and doesn’t need to be crated. He loves to cuddle, especially on the couch and in bed. He is strong and learning leash manners. He would make a great running partner. He’s like Velcro because he sticks close to his people at all times. He’s very smart, eager to please, and will do anything for a treat. He loves his two large senior foster siblings but doesn’t realize his size and strength sometimes and gets rough. He would love to live with another young, big and playful dog(s) or by himself if you promise to play fetch and run around with him. Because of his exuberant energy and size, he cannot live with cats, small pets or small children. He suffers from stranger anxiety, so a home without a lot of visitors in and out would be best for him. He reacts with a loud bark, which sounds very intimidating, but he’s all bark, no bite. He needs someone who is experienced, confident, full of energy and patient who can work with him on this anxiety and his quirks, and make him feel secure. In return, he promises to give you so much unconditional love and snuggles that it will be worth it! Visit homeatlastdogrescue.com. For more adoptables, head over to Facebook.com/mumsandmutts.

GR

Download our App

CARIELLO’S I P

Home Style Cooking 2135 Wolf Street Philadelphia, PA

Hours: Sunday-Thurs: 10am-11pm Friday-Sat.: 10am - 1 am A Philadelphia Tradition since 1986 code 10off

BEST DEALS IN THE CITY!


4

SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

Salvi and Me

In the movies, growing up is always sunny days, blueberry pie and fishing holes. Kids don’t grow up in urban movies. They get shot. And maybe the movies are closer to the truth than reality for too many kids, but not in my case. Not too many guys have been friends longer than Salvi and me. It must be at least 75 years, then we stopped counting. Everybody should have a friend like Salvi in their lives. I enjoy reminding Salvi that he is 2 months older than me. It annoys him. We enjoy annoying one another. We’re competitive. Always have been. Come to think of it, our entire friendship is built upon trying to beat one another. Whether it be Monopoly when we were kids playing on the living room floor. Now as old geezers at the kitchen table playing at something called APBA Baseball. Salvi has been there as long as I can remember trying to beat my brains out. I met Salvi in grade school. He was a natural childhood villain. Loved to play the part. My earliest memories are of being part of a gang of kids chasing after Salvi once school let out. Don’t know why. We never bullied anybody, but we went after Salvi like he was the bad guy in a western that we would see in a movie at the Colonial Theater at a Saturday matinee. I don’t know what we would’ve done if we ever caught Salvi. We never hurt any kid. It was like something clicked in our brain when chasing after him. But Salvi was too fast for us. And hours later, we’d be playing Monopoly like the best of friends, which we were. He lived one house over from my grandfather with his two wonderful aunts. Antoinette had old-world charm and could run a five-star kitchen. Mary was one of the guys who you wished wasn’t a girl so she could play sports with you. Salvi and I spent a lot of time in the old schoolyard at 8th and Wolf. Organized sports wasn’t part of our lives back then. The tools of city kids were broomsticks and “pimple balls.” You sliced them with a razor and got all the juice out for a good half-ball. Kept them whole for stickball — until they got a bubble on top and had to be cut into half balls or they burst. Our entire world was the schoolyard. We loved every rock of that place. The schoolyard is still there, but no no one plays stickball anymore. I don’t know whether to mourn that fact.

Tom

Cardella

The kids are from other countries with other traditions. But I can’t help thinking that we lost something when we lost stickball. Salvi and I weren’t great athletes. Neither of us ever would’ve thought about playing on real fields with real bats and balls. We were schoolyard athletes competing within scant blocks of both of my grandfathers’ homes and less than a block from Salvi’s. We didn’t realize it, but it was the last time America’s kids would live and play in a safe cocoon surrounded by love and community. Maybe I only feel that way. In May of 1978, I joined a handful of my friends to visit the Hall of Fame and purchased APBA, the baseball board game. Five of them, including Salvi, began playing a board game — APBA Baseball. We formed a league. Each guy “managed” a past champion. Really just a set of cards. With a shaker and a pair of dice, we transported ourselves to big-league cities. The winner of the 40-game schedule was treated to a neighborhood dinner. We lived for Thursday night at 8 p.m. And the most fun was surviving Salvi’s trash talk. It seemed so unfair when it happened. Ronnie died. Within two weeks after we noticed him coughing, he was gone. The gentlest and kindest of us all. Never won a title in 10 years. Uncomplaining into that good night. When Ben passed, I thought I couldn’t play anymore, but I did. Though it was never the same after that. Frank, not one of the original group, died of ALS a couple of years ago. And it came down to Salvi and me. We who’ve fought so hard to beat one another all these years. To make it easier on me and my various ailments, we’ve moved all the games to the afternoon, once a week to my place. Salvi brings shrimp rolls on the odd and I buy the faux hoagies on the even weeks (hoagies with low-salt turkey and cheese, no tomatoes to help my potassium count). We still trash talk, but Salvi is winning more regularly. The bitterest pill was right after I suffered an attack of COVID. I blew a 3-0 lead in the series and lost 4-3. Pull back the camera on two old guys at a kitchen table. They shout and pound the table and curse their fate. On the table are what appears to be playing cards and a big piece of cardboard shaped like a baseball field. Both guys face one another. Diet sodas and half-eaten shrimp rolls nearby. I look at Salvi. Salvi looks at me. Fade to black. •• Follow Tom Cardella on Facebook.

Send your letters to the editor:

news@southphillyreview.com

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR

Nice to go down Memory Lane As a lifelong resident of South Philadelphia, I was fascinated by Tom Waring's report on the new book by sisters Natalie and Tricia Pompilio listing and describing many buildings and business sites that no longer exist in Philadelphia ("Book chronicles what Philly used to be," July 14). Oh the memories! The book, This Used to be Philadelphia, while it contains descriptions of sites citywide, also lists some in South Philly that I remember well. Not many people realize, for example, that the giant lot on the 1400 block of Passyunk Avenue, where the Acme Market and other buildings now exist, was once the location of Moyamensing Prison. I recall passing by its gigantic walls on the way from my school, Annunciation BVM, to our church at 10th and Dickinson. I can still remember passing prisoners, under guard, doing some sidewalk cleaning as we walked by in line. And, by the way, that Annunciation parish school, originally the Wilson School, was sold years ago and turned into condominiums. And just for the record, I must add that my alma mater, Saint Maria Goretti High School for girls, exists now as co-ed Sts. Neumann-Goretti High. The changes never stop. Waring's book report mentions a movie theater at 4th and South. I wonder if the book also chronicles any other South Philly movie theaters like The Broadway Theater on South

Broad Street across the street from the Savoia Theater. Both are long gone. Also there was a movie theater on the 1600 block of Passyunk Avenue called the Alhambra. It later was transformed into a dance hall and also a roller rink. Now it is a parking lot. In the ‘40s and ‘50s before television, these local theaters were among the scattered neighborhood movie houses where children could go for Saturday matinees and cartoons. Oh and the cost of admission for kids then was 10 cents. Of course, I also remember Palumbo's cabaret and Bok High School. I also recall looking out my dad's car window as we passed Grace Kelly's house in East Falls. And we ate often at the original Horn and Hardart Automat on Chestnut Street. You could actually go up to a display, put your quarters into a slot, and a tiny door would open to let you have your choice of ready-to-eat food. I never actually attended American Bandstand, but watched it on television. We all had our favorite celebrity teenagers, of course, like singer Annette Funicello. Many thanks to Tom Waring for also listing all the places where this historic record is available. And, of course, thanks to the wonderful authors, Natalie and Tricia Pompilio, for recording these almost forgotten places for posterity. Gloria C. Endres

New law could help prevent overdose deaths By Jonathan Koehler On June 30, in a bipartisan effort, new landmark legislation was signed into law by Gov. Tom Wolf. Act 41 of 2021, also called Heather’s Law, was introduced by Democratic Rep. Mark Longietti and Republican Rep. Eric Nelson of Westmoreland County. Heather’s Law was authored by Nelson and is aimed to improve the notification standards when a person leaves a substance abuse treatment facility against medical advice. Nelson dubbed Act 41 of 2021 as “Heather’s Law” to pay homage and acknowledge a young woman named Heather from Allegheny County. Heather was a woman who checked herself out of a substance abuse treatment facility. No one in Heather’s family was notified when Heather left treatment. Heather passed away from an overdose about 12 hours later. On March 17, Heather’s Law was initially introduced to the House Committee on Human Services. Shortly after, on June 30, Wolf signed Heather’s Law into law. Heather’s Law requires that Pennsylvania inpatient treatment facilities, many of which are located in Philadelphia, notify the client’s designated emergency contact within 12 hours of a cli-

ent leaving a treatment facility against medical (or “staff”) advice. However, the law smartly protects victims of abuse by suspending the notification requirements if the inpatient treatment facility knows about allegations that the emergency contact abuses the client. This law is a game-changer. The statistics are out from 2020, a year where many people experienced dramatic change, strife and hardships in their personal and professional lives. The numbers are not optimistic. In 2020, over 93,000 individual lives were cut short by overdose deaths. Overdose deaths are a record high that dwarfs the 72,000 tragedies from 2019. The COVID-19 pandemic, as anticipated, exacerbated the hardships of people fighting through addiction, mental illness and co-occurring disorders. These effects from COVID-19 are, of course, compounded by the staggering drug supply that is tainted with Fentanyl and other opioids, which involved over 69,000 of the 93,000 total overdose deaths. In 2020, drug overdose deaths in Philadelphia surpassed deaths in 2018 and 2019. Over 86% of the overdoses in Philadelphia, a proportion greater than the 2020 national rates, involved opioids like Fentanyl. See LETTERS, page 5>>


SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

news

GRAND LODGE OF PENNSYLVANIA Sons and Daughters of Italy

Kimmel reopening in October

Serving the Italian-American community for over 100 years. The oldest Italian-American organization in Pennsylvania with 72 filial lodges and over 15,000 members statewide. We offer various memberships, Life Insurance Benefits and Annuity Policies. We stand committed to remembering who we are and what we have contributed.

NM-00467373

The Kimmel Cultural Campus is announcing the return of live Broadway programming to Philadelphia in the fall. Here is the schedule through next summer: Hamilton (Oct. 20 to Nov. 28, Academy of Music); Rain – A Tribute to The Beatles (Oct. 29-31, Merriam Theater); Anastasia (Nov. 23-28, Merriam Theater); Stomp (Dec. 28 to Jan. 2, Merriam Theater); Pretty Woman: The Musical (Jan. 4-16, Academy of Music); Hadestown (Feb. 9-20, Academy of Music);

LETTERS

Beautiful – The Carole King Musical (Feb. 22-27, Academy of Music); Rent: 25th Anniversary Farewell Tour (March 4-6, Merriam Theater); Oklahoma! (March 8-20, Forrest Theatre); Waitress (March 29 to April 3, Academy of Music); Hairspray (May 16-22, Merriam Theater); To Kill A Mockingbird (July 12-24, Academy of Music); and Dear Evan Hansen (Aug. 16-28, Forrest Theatre). For more information, call 215-893-1955 or visit kimmelcenter.org. ••

Celebrating 46 Years of Educational Excellence and Developing Christian Character Closing for the Summer Aug. 16th-Aug. 27th School Starts Aug. 30th

<< Continued from page 4

This new law empowers substance abuse facilities to be more proactive in protecting their patients and our struggling community members. In Heather’s case, her life could have been saved by alerting her designated emergency contact. It does not take much effort to reflect and identify someone who has been negatively affected or passed away from a substance use disorder. It is also not a stretch to think their life could have been saved if someone was there for them, too. Substance abuse, among other things, is a disease of connections. It is a multi-faceted ailment that affects the body, mind and spirit. It takes a whole community to help the person heal. To that end, this law allows substance abuse treatment facilities to rely on a person’s social capital and their peers. Of course, this law is not a panacea. It will not resolve the struggle and fight a person with a substance use disorder is constantly experiencing. However, the law does place an extra measure to

Michael Cerruti, State President 1518 Walnut St., Suite 1410 Philadelphia, PA 19102 215-592-1713

prevent tragic losses of life. The requirements set forth by Heather’s Law offer great reward by relying on the principle that an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. Keeping our community members alive long enough to heal will heal our city from the crisis we are experiencing right before us. Much like the compounding effect of COVID-19, isolation and Fentanyl, healing people also has a compounding effect. If the adage “hurt people, hurt people” is true, then the opposite must also be true, “healed people, heal people.” This is best shown through the life-saving work performed by organizations like Unity Recovery and its sister organization, Unity Taqueria, which seeks to hire people in recovery. In short, while the statistics are not optimistic, the law is. •• Jonathan Koehler is a Philadelphia resident and paralegal in long-term recovery from a substance use disorder.

Find Local News Online at:

southphillyreview.com

YOUR SOURCE FOR LOCAL NEWS, EVENTS AND COMMUNITY HAPPENINGS!

FOLLOW US ON @sophreview

LIKE US ON /southphillyreview

5


6

SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

BRIEFS

WEEKEND WALK

<< Continued from page 1

Saval wants ICE detainees released State Sen. Nikil Saval is calling for the immediate release of detainees at York County Prison, being operated by U.S. Immigrations and Customs Enforcement. ICE will soon be leaving the prison, but detainees will be transferred to another facility. “Federal and state government officials have a choice: to perpetuate the harm done to people who seek to become citizens of our country, or to take a stand on the right side of history and release them to the care of their communities,” Saval said. “Justice for those incarcerated by ICE at York County Prison means returning Pennsylvanians to their families, their support systems and their legal representation. It means returning people to the lives that they hope to build right here with us in our commonwealth.” ••

PHOTO BY TOM BECK

PHOTO BY SHAREEF MOHAMMED

Carlos Aponte (left) and Jason Peters show off their Philly to AC T-shirts at the Cherry Street Pier on Friday afternoon.

Luke Benato delivered a pristine pair of brand new New Balances to Peters late Saturday night.

I think we should make it about education and get the students involved.” After conferring with Aponte, Peters decided to do the walk to raise awareness and money for We Love Philly, which is a nonprofit organization that runs a high school accredited program designed to empower students using their content creation, mindfulness and community volunteerism and community engagement skills. On top of that, Aponte decided to join Peters on his walk. “I told Carlos and he was, like, 'I'll walk with you. Let's do it together,’ ” said Peters. We Love Philly was looking specifically to raise $30,000 for an initiative called Project Ownership. The money is aimed at purchasing a shipping container, which will be turned into a house. Students in the Project Ownership class will list the house on Airbnb and take care of it each semester. “The students will do all the work, maintain it, use it to make money, learn about ownership, the value of property and all of that in the process,” said Aponte. “It's teaching real-life skills to people.” So on Friday evening at 6, Peters and Aponte departed the Cherry Street Pier on foot and headed to the Benjamin Franklin Bridge. They walked about 15 miles that night, another 21 on Saturday and finished up the rest of the 62-mile trip on Sunday as they dipped their feet into the Atlantic Ocean. “It was freezing,” Aponte said, anticlimactically, in a post-walk interview with SPR Monday morning. Among the people greeting them at the beach

were several students from We Love Philly and a drumline. Aponte and Peters spent Sunday night at Peters’ shorehouse. “I told Carlos I’m not leaving the house today,” Peters said Monday. Peters added that the hardest part of the trip was the last 5 miles, during which they could see the high-rise hotels and casinos but were still relatively far away. “It’s absolutely brutal because you’re so close yet so far,” said Peters. By the end of the trip, We Love Philly had raised $12,800 toward its $30,000 goal. There were only a handful of hiccups throughout the trip. For instance, the shoes Peters purchased for the trip turned out to be less than ideal. “Both my feet are entirely covered in blisters,” he said. Peters tweeted out that he’d pay $100 plus the cost of new shoes to anyone who brought him sneakers during the trip. Within a few hours, a 25-year-old named Luke Benato arrived with a pair of New Balance running shoes on Saturday evening. The only other hiccup was when a “crazy person,” as Peters put it, pulled a knife on him and Aponte as they were walking past The Lamp Motel along White Horse Pike. “It was just a crazy person,” said Peters. “We scurried away.” Above all, Peters and Aponte are mostly happy the whole event is now behind them. “Yesterday was a series of accomplishments,” said Peters. “We walked a marathon [on the last day of the walk], which neither of us have ever done. I was just happy to get it over with.” ••

Kids needed for technology league Coded by Kids’ 1Philadelphia initiative is launching an Innovation League for kids ages 12-18 looking to build their technology and leadership skills. The league is open to 100 students across the city. Students will attend weekly practices and events and compete with other teams citywide. Coaches are also being sought for six teams of 10-15 students each. To learn more about becoming a coach, visit https://www.1phl.org/residents/. At the end of the season, the teams with the highest rankings will compete in the Innovation Bowl, the league’s culminating championship event, for a cash grand prize. Registration is free. To register or for more information, go to https://enroll.codedbykids. com/cbk-innovation-league/. ••

Program to help seniors Hands from the Heart Home Healthcare Services, an expanding privately owned and operated home care company, has partnered with The Hairston Foundation for Social Justice to help seniors in the Philadelphia region age safely at home. The partners announced the local expansion of a national program developed by nurses at the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing known as “CAPABLE,” which stands for Community Aging in Place - Advancing Better Living for Elders. CAPABLE is designed to make it easier for seniors to age in place at home. The program focuses primarily on low-income seniors and has proven to enhance the health and quality of life

Follow us at: facebook.com/SouthPhillyReview

of participants. CAPABLE teams a nurse, an occupational therapist and a handy worker to collectively address physical challenges caused by the aging process that make it difficult for seniors to continue living at home, improving safety and independence. HFTH is enrolling eligible seniors. All services are free. HFTH and the Hairston Foundation are also seeking community partnerships to provide program funding. Contact Christine Hunsberger-Smith for more information at 484-270-4501, Ext. 401 or capable@handsfromtheheart.org. ••

Jehovah’s convention virtual The Convention of Jehovah’s Witnesses, typically held locally at the Liacouras Center, is taking place in a virtual format for the second year in a row. In all, there will be nearly 6,000 virtual conventions in 240 countries. Powerful by Faith is the theme of the global event, which is being delivered in more than 500 languages over six weekends during July and August. The program will be available in six installments corresponding to morning and afternoon sessions. All are invited to attend the free event by going to www.jw.org. ••

Recycle used batteries Vicinity Energy and ACV Enviro will be hosting a battery recycling event during South of South Neighborhood Association’s upcoming Music In The Triangle performance. Used batteries can be brought on Thursday, Aug. 12, for recycling. The companies can accept lead acid, nickel cadmium, lithium ion and alkaline batteries. The recycling event and musical performance will be from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at Triangle Plaza, 23rd and South streets. ••

Nashville-Memphis trip Polish American Cultural Center Happy Travelers are organizing a seven-day trip to Nashville and Memphis from Oct. 10 through Oct. 16. The trip will consist of two nights in Gaylords Opryland, tickets to the Grand Old Opry, Elvis experience in Graceland with a tour of his mansion and guided tours of Nashville and Memphis. Call Theresa Romanowski at 215-813-2780 or 215-922-1700. ••


SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

CITY PIZZA

2 LOCATIONS:

      (215) 389-5555

        (215) 755-8888

Pick-Up & Delivery Available. Limited Delivery Area. $1.00 CHARGE. We Accept VISA/Master card! Large 16” Pizza $9.95 2 Large 16” Pizzas $16.95

SPECIALTY PIZZAS CONTINUED

Large Sicilian- $12.75 Sicilian Toppings- $1.50 Specialty Sicilian- $15.75 Combo of 3 Items- $16.80 Special (7 Toppings)- $18.75

Sweet & Spicy Chicken Pizza.....1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45

PIZZAS All pizzas available on a Round, Sicilian or Old Style Crust Grilled Chicken, Meatballs, or Cutlets on pizza is an additional $5.00

Tomato Sauce .......................................................7.75 Plain......................................................................... 9.95 White....................................................................... 9.95 Extra Cheese........................................................11.45 Pepperoni .............................................................11.45 Sausage.................................................................11.45 Bacon......................................................................11.45 Ham .........................................................................11.45 Hot Peppers.........................................................11.45 Mushrooms..........................................................11.45 Onions....................................................................11.45 Roasted Peppers...............................................11.45 Beef..........................................................................11.45 Black Olives.........................................................11.45 Anchovies.............................................................11.45 Spinach..................................................................11.45 Broccoli..................................................................11.45 Banana Pepper...................................................11.45 Long Hots.............................................................12.95 *Steak....................................................................12.95 *Broccoli Rabe..................................................12.95 *Potato..................................................................12.95 *Chicken Steak...................................................2.95 *Ricotta................................................................12.95 *Eggplant .............................................................12.95 Combo 3 items..................................................13.95 Special- 7 Toppings .........................................15.45 *Denotes a Double Topping

SPECIALTY PIZZAS Upside Down Pizza...................................... $12.45 Thin Square w/Cheese on the bottom & Sauce on top

Philly Dilly............. 1/2-$12.45 Whole-$13.45 Fresh garlic, three cheese spiced w/dill pickle on top

Taco Pizza..........................................................$14.75

Mozzarella, Cheddar, Lite Hots, Beef, Doritos, Lettuce & Tomatoes

Margarita Pizza.... 1/2-$11.95 Whole-$12.95 Chicken Parm Pizza......................................$14.75 Mozzarella, Provolone, Sauce & Diced Chicken Cutlets

Bacon-Cheddar Cheeseburger..... 1/2-$12.45 Whole-$13.45 A blend of Mozzarella, Cheddar, Fresh Ground Beef & Smoked Bacon

Chicken Bacon Ranch...................... 1/2-$12.45 Whole-$13.45 (Your Pizza Starts with) a layer of Mozzarella, Chicken Steak, Bacon, Tomatoes & Topped with Ranch Dressing

Buffalo, Barbecue or

NM-00466691

Choose from our Red or White Pizza, topped with Chicken Steak & Hot Sauce, Hot Honey or Barbecue Sauce

City Steak or Chicken Steak ...1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45

A blend of Mozzarella, American, Cheddar with freshly cooked steak with choice of onions or peppers

Spicy Italian........1/2- $12.95 Whole- $13.95

Provolone & Mozzarella cheese, Sausage or Pulled Pork, Long Hots & Fried Onions

The Veg. Italian ..1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45 Sharp Provolone & Mozzarella, topped w/grilled Eggplant, Broccoli Rabe & Roasted Peppers

Spinach Supreme...............1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45

Sharp Provolone & Spinach, topped w/a light layer of onion, smoked bacon & fresh tomatoes

“The Prosciutto Gia” (16th Only)...........1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45

Sharp Provolone & Spinach ,topped w/a light layer of onion, smoked bacon & fresh tomatoes

Smothered Fry Pizza ........................1/2- $12.75 Whole- $14.75

Our Fresh Hand Tossed Pizza Smothered with French Fries, 3 cheeses, Bacon & Ranch Dressing

Breakfast Pizza .1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45 Starting w/a layer of Mozzarella, Scrambled Eggs, Bacon, Sausage & Ham w/Maple Syrup

Pulled Pork..........1/2- $12.95 Whole- $13.95 Onions, Pineapple, American cheese on a white pie topped with homemade pulled pork

Boardwalk Pizza.............................................$11.45 Thin Crust w/light sauce & two cheeses

City Old Style Pizza ..................................... $12.45

A thin crust square, brushed with olive oil, fresh garlic & Romano cheese with a layer of thin sliced mozzarella and topped with crushed plum tomatoes

City’s Pizzaz........1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45 A blend of Mozzarella, American & Cheddar with your choice of peppers & topped with Fresh Tomatoes

The Veggie............1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45 Your choice of Four of any of our Vegetables

Meat Lover’s Pizza ........................1/2- $12.75 Whole- $14.75 Pepperoni, Sausage, Beef, Bacon, Ham

The Smokey & Swiss................1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45 Start with a layer of Swiss Cheese, Mozzarella & Spices, then topped with Smoked Ham

Chicken Italian Pizza .......................1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45 Garlic oil, sharp provolone & mozzarella cheese, spiced, tomatoes, onions & thinly sliced prosciutto topped w/balsamic vinegar and arugula

Grilled Chicken Italian Pizza ...................$15.25 Round or thin square, Sharp Provolone & Mozzarella, Chicken Steak & choice of Spinach or Broccoli Rabe

Hawaiian Pizza ..1/2- $12.45 Whole- $13.45 Mozzarella & Spices topped with Smoked Ham & Crushed Pineapple

SALADS Tossed Salad....................................................... 4.95 Tuna Salad.............................................................5.95 Chef Salad............................................................. 7.45 Grilled Chicken Salad 2 Pcs..........................8.95 Chicken Cutlet Salad 2 Pcs...........................8.95 Antipasto Salad..................................................8.95

HOT SANDWICHES Hot Sandwich Trays Available......Sm- 62.00.....Lg- 75.00

Steak........................................................................ 7.45 Cheese Steak....................................................... 7.95 Pizza Steak............................................................ 7.95 Cheese Steak Hoagie.......................................7.95 Chicken Steak ..................................................... 7.45 Chicken Cheese Steak.....................................7.95 Homemade Meatball........................................7.45 w/Mozzarella..............7.95 Sausage & Gravy................................................ 7.95 Buffalo Chicken Steak.....................................7.95 w/Hot Sauce & American Cheese- Blue Cheese optional

Sausage Mix (w/Peppers, Onions, Potatoes)................... 7.25 w/Ch 7.95 Olive Oil & Garlic

Hamburger............................................................4.25 Lettuce & Tomato add $0.25 Cheeseburger...................................................... 4.75 Lettuce & Tomato add $0.25 Grilled Chicken ................................................... 7.45 w/Lettuce & Tomato on Long Roll

Chicken Cutlet (Homemade).......................7.45 Hoagie .....................................................................8.25 Parm.........................................................................8.25 Italian.......................................................................8.45 Buffalo.............$7.45 w/Blue Cheese...$7.95 Veggie Italian ....................................................... 7.25 Broccoli Rabe, Grilled Eggplant & Roasted Peppers

Veggie Italian with Cheese.............................7.75 Egg & Peppers........................ 6.35 w/Ch...6.85 Egg & Potatoes....................... 6.35 w/Ch...6.85 Hot Roast beef (Snyder Only)......................7.45 w/Ch...7.95 Hot Roast Pork (Snyder Only)......................7.45 w/Ch...7.95 Pulled Pork................................7.45 w/Ch...7.95 Turn any Sandwich into a Platter for additional $2.25

SPECIALS MONDAY- $1.00 Off All Pizza RollBackMondays- 2 Cheese Pizzas- $15.95 TUESDAY- 1 Free Topping Each Pizza WEDNESDAY- $2.00 Off Sicilian Pizza THURSDAY- $1.00 Off Old Style Pizza

OPEN FOR LUNCH

HOURS: Mon. thru Thurs.- 11 a.m. to 10 p.m. Fri. & Sat.-11 a.m. to 11 p.m. Sun.- 12 noon to 11 p.m. Ask About Our Daily & Nightly Specials Special Rates For Schools & Mummers Organization Dough Made Fresh Daily We accept VISA, Master card, Discover & Amex Quick Pick-Up- Quick Delivery Delivery Charge: $1.00 (locations may vary)

215-755-8888 2700S.16thSt 215-389-5555 Front&SnyderAve.

FEATURING STROMBOLI & CALZONES Choose a Favorite Pizza Topping to Stuff Inside!

Stromboli...........................Sm $8.95 Lg $11.95 Pepperoni, Sausage & Cheese, Ham & Cheese, Broccoli & Cheese, Spinach & Cheese, Eggplant & Cheese

Italian Stromboli

Sm $10.75 Lg $13.75

Ham, Salami, Sausage, Pepperoni, Cappicola, Provolone & Mozzarella

Cheesesteak Chicken Cheesesteak

Specialty Stromboli.... Sm $11.75 Lg $14.75 Smoked Ham & Spinach with American Cheddar & Mozzarella

Chicken Steak, Broccoli Rabe, Roasted Peppers with American & Mozzarella Buffalo Chicken Cheesesteak

Mozzarella,American & Hot Sauce-Ask for Blue Cheese

Meatball Stromboli

with Provolone, Mozzarella & Sauce Chicken Cutlet with Provolone, Mozzarella & Sauce

Calzones............................................................. $6.25 Stuffed with Ricotta & Mozzarella

Extras....................................................................$0.75 Cheese, Pepperoni & Cheese, Broccoli & Cheese, Eggplant & Cheese, Ham Cheese, Sausage & Cheese, Spinach & Cheese

PLATTERS Served with French Fries & Cole Slaw. Add 20 oz Soda to any platter for $1.50

10 Wing Platter...................................................11.20 Cheesesteak.......................................................10.00 Hamburger........................................................... 6.50 Cheeseburger..................................................... 6.95 Chicken Fingers..................................................8.45 Popcorn Chicken................................................8.45 Popcorn Shrimp .................................................8.45 Chicken Nuggets (9).........................................8.45 ANY SANDWICH CAN BE WRAPPED. WHITE, WHEAT ,or TOMATO BASIL Turn your Wrap into a Platter for an additional $2.25

WINGS

FRESH SEAFOOD Platters Served w/Fries & Coleslaw

Breaded Flounder (Platter)(2 ....................12.25 Breaded Shrimp (Platter)(10 .....................10.95 Breaded Clams (Platter..................................8.25 Crabcake platter (2 PC) (16th only..........12.95 Combo Flounder, Shrimp, Breaded Clams (Platter)...............................12.95 Breaded Shrimp (10)........................................8.95 Fried Clams.....6.45 Flounder Hoagie...8.45 Crab Cake Round Roll (1) ( 16th only).......7.45

HOAGIES Old Italian.............7.95 Italian.................7.65 Ham & Cheese..................................................... 7.65 Turkey & Cheese................................................. 7.65 Tuna & Cheese..................................................... 7.65 Roast Beef & Cheese Swiss or Mozz ........8.25 Choice of American, Pepper jack, Swiss, Provolone, Sharp Provolone .50 extra

Hoagie Trays Available Small- 54.00 Large- 68.00

FROM THE FRYER French Fries..........3.95 Curly Fries..........3.95 Cheese Fries.........4.75 Mozz. Fries..........4.95 Pizza Fries..............................................................5.25 Old Bay Fries.........................................................5.95 Coated in Old Bay, Smothered American Cheese

Smothered Fries (3) cheeses, bacon & ranch dressing .....6.25 Smothered City Steak/Chicken Fries..... 6.95 American, Mozzarella, Cheddar, sauce

Smothered Buffalo Chicken Fr. Fries....... 6.95 American, Mozzarella, Cheddar, Hot Sauce, Ranch

Smothered Chicken Bacon Ranch Fries 6.95 American,Mozzarella,Cheddar

Onion Rings.....4.25 Popcorn Chicken.....5.45 Popcorn Shrimp ................................................ 6.45 Mozzarella Sticks................................................6.15 Chicken Nuggets(9) .........................................5.45 Chicken Fingers..................................................6.25 Buffalo Chicken Fingers.................................6.75 w/Ranch, Bleu Cheese................................7.75 Smothered Chicken Fingers..........................7.75 Pepperoni Logs (4)............................................ 5.75 Cheesesteak Logs (3).......................................5.45 Buffalo Chicken Logs (3)................................5.45 Poppers..........5.45 Broccoli Bites..........5.65 Fried Ravioli..........5.45 Pizza Rolls..........1.65 Mac & Cheese Wedges....................................5.45 Funnel Cake Fries w/powdered sugar......5.35

Hot, Mild, Honey BBQ, Sriracha, Hot Honey

Extra Sides: Dressings-$0.50, Cup of Cheese- $1.25, Hot Sauce & BBQ- $0.75, Blue Cheese & Celery- $0.75

Breaded (Wing Dings) 10...9.45 20...17.90 50...42.95 Plain...................10...8.95 20...16.90 50...41.95 Boneless......... 10...7.95 20...14.95 50...35.95

PIZZA, WING & 2 LITER

Served with Blue Cheese & Celery Extra cup of Hot, Mild, Honey BBQ, Blue Cheese or Celery $0.50 Each

SPECIALS FORPLAIN&BONELESS:

*1 Lg. Cheese Pizza, 10 Wings, 2L.....$20.75 *1 Lg. Cheese Pizza, 20 Wings, 2L.....$27.75 *2 Lg. Cheese Pizzas, 20 Wings, 2L- $33.75 *FORBREADEDWINGS,ITWILLBE $1.00EXTRA

7


SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

Get Immediate Cash for Gold! It’s Fast. It’s Simple.

Immediate

Receive Instant Payment

CASH GOLD FOR

8

Turn Your Gold Into Cash!

It’s the fastest way to put extra cash in your pocket! Cash in on Gold’s record breaking high prices today!

(1-800-340-3166) Highest prices paid for all types of gold!

Bring in this a e iv e c e r d n a d a

10% Cash Bonus ase $250 when we purch r jewlery or more of you

10K, 14K, 18K, 22K, 24K, as well as broken, unworn and unwanted jewelry.

2 DAYS ONLY!


SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

It’s Time To Turn Your Broken and Unworn Gold Jewelry Into Immediate Cash! Receiving CASH has never been so EASY! Read what our valuable customers are saying about Immediate Cash for Gold’s incredible offers! “I took my jewelry to Immediate Cash for Gold and was astonished, amazed and speechless at the amount I received. I couldn’t believe it! Bring your pieces in - broken, stoneless, etc. You will be amazed at what you will receive!” Barbara J. “ I am astonished! I got more money for my broken gold chains than I ever imagined.” Donna S. “ I gathered my broken gold jewelry and other items that I haven’t worn in years and brought them to Immediate Cash for Gold not knowing what to expect. I was floored! I got enough money to pay for a cruise I always wanted.” Sandra J. “ It’s for real! My mismatched gold earrings sat in my jewelry box for years. I saw the ad and brought them to Immediate Cash for Gold. I got so much money that I told all my family and friends about it. Now they’re cashing in, too.” Linda T. “It’s amazing that my broken and unwearable jewelry could put so much extra needed cash in my pocket. It couldn’t have come at a better time of the year!” Tom P. “It’s incredible! I didn’t think my old jewelry was worth so much!” Glenn O. What Are You Waiting For? Gather Up Your Broken and Unwanted Jewelry and Cash In This Saturday & Sunday!

CASH GOLD FOR

THIS SATURDAY & SUNDAY ONLY! Sat July 24th and Sun July 25th

Immediate

Get the most CASH for your Gold, Platinum, Silver & Diamonds! • Broken Gold Jewelry • Scrap Gold Jewelry • Mismatched Gold Earrings • Gold Necklaces • Gold Lockets • Gold Bracelets • Gold Bangles • Gold Pendants • Gold Wedding Bands • Gold Coins • Gold Pins • Gold Brooches • Gold Charms • Gold Watches • Diamond Jewelry • Silver Coins (1964 & Prior) • Sterling Flat Ware • Cocktail Rings • Cluster Rings • Class Rings • Jewelry with Missing Stones • Medals

This Saturday and Sunday Only, July 24th & 25th Saturday 10am-5pm • Sunday 10am-5pm COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT

PHILA. SOUTH AT THE NAVY YARD, 1001 INTREPID AVE., PHILA. PA 19112, USS NEW JERSEY SUITE

NO APPOINTMENT NECESSARY • FREE ADMISSION • FREE PARKING • ONSITE SECURITY

9


10

SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

NEWS

SOSNA, mural arts unveil new street mural designs at Grad Hospital elementary schools By Tom Beck South Philly Review

Representatives from SOSNA, City Council and local schools gathered in Julian Abele Park Friday afternoon to unveil new street mural designs for the intersections of 17th and Christian and 17th and Montrose, located on the western side of Edward Stanton School, and the intersections of 20th and Catharine and 21st and Catharine, located on the northern side of Chester Arthur School. The purpose of the street murals is twofold; the murals will beautify the neighborhood and will also be part of an effort to “daylight” the intersections, which is the practice of eliminating cars within 20 feet of crosswalks in an effort to make pedestrians, cyclists and cars more visible to students and everybody else who utilizes the intersection. “When you go into the suburbs … I've always seen traffic-calming measures next to schools along those particular corridors,” said Councilmember Kenyatta Johnson, who spoke at the unveiling. “So when I saw that SOSNA was taking up this particular measure, it warmed my heart because at the end of the day we must keep our young people safe.” More than 10 years ago, SOSNA developed a neighborhood walkability plan and has been implementing changes like the street murals since then. “The reason we are undertaking this project is because it can be difficult and dangerous to cross the streets in our neighborhood as cars often park too close or right in the intersections,” said SOSNA representative Kristen Albee. “Cars parked in these areas make it hard for pedestrians - especially children, who are shorter - to see and be seen behind parked and idling vehicles while trying to cross the street.” Albee told SPR that SOSNA is currently waiting for the city’s streets department to paint lines in the street. Once the lines are painted, the civic expects to hold “community paint days” to fill in the design, which was created by South Philly-based artist Calo Rosa. The community paint days are expected to happen in late August. Rosa, who was born in San Salva-

dor, said he was “glad” to be involved in the project and praised the hard work community members did to put the plan together. “I'm just like the last bit of the project where you put the color in - the easy part,” he said. “The work behind it has been the most important thing.” Jane Golden, executive director of Mural Arts Philadelphia, was also present at the unveiling. “When [SOSNA] called us about this to use art to help foster a safer and more aesthetically pleasing pedestrian experience by creating safe pathways to schools, we were thrilled,” she said. “Through this project we're going to raise awareness of the importance of traffic safety and hopefully it will help protect your life.” The design process included community and school engagement during the COVID-19 pandemic, which allowed neighbors and students to participate in the creation of the mural ideas. “The most important thing, the beautiful side of all of this, is giving young people a voice,” said Council-

Catharine st.

member Isaiah Thomas. “What does it mean for that young person who had an opportunity to have a stake in what their community looks like when we tell them you can make a difference, you can be the change you want to see?” Arthur School principal Mary Libby echoes Thomas’s sentiment. “Engaging the schools at both the schools through active participation in the design process created oppor-

Christian st.

tunities for the students to learn about Mural Arts as an artform and traffic safety as a communal responsibility,” she said. “In the years to come, our students will take pride in knowing that their contributions have had influence beyond themselves.” The design features Rosa’s bright colors, along with fun shapes, numbers and letters, appropriate for being in such close proximity to two elementary schools.

Montrose st.

For more information about participating in the community paint days, Albee said to reach out to SOSNA executive director Nicole Koedyker at nicoleatsosna@gmail.com. ••

Tickets on sale for XPN festival

Tedeschi Trucks

Pigeons Playing Ping Pong

Tickets are on sale for WXPN’s XPoNential Music Festival, scheduled for Sept. 17-19 at Wiggins Park and the adjacent BB&T Pavilion on the Camden, New Jersey waterfront. Performers will include Tedeschi Trucks: Fireside Live, with special guest Pigeons Playing Ping Pong; Tommy Conwell and the Young Rumblers; Great Time; Anna Shoemaker; Arthur Thomas and the Funkitorium; Stella Ruze; and Hoochi Coochi.

Previously announced artists were Dawes, Los Lobos, The Record Company, Shovels & Rope, Ani DiFranco, Strand of Oaks, Devon Gilfillian, Nicole Atkins, Cory Henry, Adia Victoria, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, Jade Bird, Sierra Ferrell, Sofia Valdes, Michaela Anne, Paul Beaubrun and Lakou Mizik. Additional performers will be announced. For more information, go to xpnfest.org. ••


SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

11

CROSSWORD THEME: LEGENDARY ATHLETES ACROSS 1. *Baseball’s “The Say Hey Kid” 5. TV tube in days of yore 8. Proof of age, pl. 11. Medicinal succulent 12. Toward shelter, nautically 13. White heron 15. Poet ____ Angelou 16. Where a bib is tied 17. Taste like grapes 18. *First African American t play in MLB 20. Chap or fella 21. Do like Etna 22. Auction set 23. Property defacer 26. Italian vermouth brand 30. 2nd largest bird in world 31. Informal wear 34. “The Man Who ____ Too Much” 35. Relating to Scandinavia 37. Chicken ____ ____ king 38. Nearsited one 39. Bear in the sky 40. The largest Asian antelope 42. *Dolphin great ____ Marino 43. Reusable painting pattern 45. Stands out 47. Cotillion V.I.P. 48. Deli item 50. Cain’s brother 52. *a.k.a. The Great Bambino 55. Oyster gem 56. Dwarf buffalo 57. Algonquian people 59. Body trunk 60. Hay spot 61. *”Battle of the Sexes” champion 62. A in FANBOYS 63. Altitude, for short 64. “Comme ci, comme Áa”

DOWN 1. Mom in Scotland 2. Wing-shaped 3. Walk-the-dog toy 4. Bottom of the ocean 5. Fastener 6. Move a plant 7. *Pele or Bob Feller when they debuted 8. Armenia's neighbor 9. Cabinet div. 10. Dirty dwelling 12. Declares invalid 13. Encourage, two words 14. *NHL's "The Great One" 19. Very angry 22. Type of English course, for short 23. Where women are from? 24. "To death" in France 25. Florence Nightingale, e.g. 26. Mountain goat terrain 27. Opposite of cathode 28. Himalayan country 29. *Track and field star of 1936 Olympics 32. Frozen rain 33. "____ at ease" 36. *He simultaneously played in MLB and NFL 38. Ginger beer in a cocktail, e.g. 40. Pen point 41. Sea in the Mediterranean 44. Yo-Yo Ma's instrument 46. Talks like a chicken 48. Overfamiliar from overuse 49. Terminate, as in mission 50. Same as eon 51. Shakespeare, a.k.a. ____ of Avon 52. "Ali ____ and the 40 Thieves" 53. *Tinker, Evers and Chance, e.g. 54. Egg-layers 55. Parent volunteer organization 58. Id's partner

SUDOKU

This Week’s

SUDOKU ANSWERS This Week’s

CROSSWORD ANSWERS


12

SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

NM-00459750

   

                         


SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

CLASSIFIEDS

WEEKLY

General Employment

General Employment

Traffic Plan seeks FT Flagger to set up & control traffic around construction sites. A valid driver license is a must, good pay & benefits. If interested please fill out an application at 510 Hertzog Boulevard King Of Prussia, PA 19406 on Mondays 9am -12pm or apply online at or online at www.trafficplan.com

SIGN COMPANY - MULTIPLE JOB OPENINGS Forman Sign Co, based in Northeast Philadelphia is seeking a F/T Service/ Installation Helpers & Shop Help to join our team. * We are a 76 year old family owned and operated company with an average employee tenure of 15+ years. * Ideal candidate must be reliable, willing to learn, and have a valid US Driver's License. * Hours Monday-Friday 7:00-3:30 with plenty of OT available. * We offer insurance, 401K, holiday/vacation and sick pay. * Salary based on experience with advancement opportunities. Please send resume and any questions to: info@formansign.com or call 215-827-6500 to set up an interview. General Employment

HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

EMPLOYMENT WEEKLY

GENERAL AND TREATMENT FOSTER PARENTS NEEDED Open your heart and home to children of all ages New Foundations, Inc. 215-203-8733 www.nfi4kids.org

TO PLACE A CLASSIFIED LINER ADVERTISING: RECRUITMENT DISPLAY AD CALL 215-355-1234

(856) 404-5406

southphillyreview.com

Prayer Thank You

CARRIE ZHAO CASH FOR YOUR HOME!!!

267-210-8523

WE HAVE CASH BUYERS WHO WANT PHILLY REAL ESTATE YOUR PROPERTY, IN ANY CONDITION. 1118 S. 12TH ST, PHLA., PA 19147 CALL CARRIE TODAY FOR A FREE 267-639-5583 EVALUATION. 267-210-8523 CARRIEZHAO888@GMAIL.COM

Helper needed for Cleaning Service. Must be able to climb 2 stories. No exp. necessary. Cash paid daily. 267-257-4742

Thinking of selling, buying or renting?

Local South Philly Haunted House looking for haunters & make up artists. Go to: frightfactoryphilly.com or Call 215.33.ghost

NIGHT WATCHMAN Early evenings. 2 days a week. Must pass background check/ experience pref'd. Ideal for retired person. Serious inquires only! jpaluba@mutualindustries.com PAID RESEARCH SUBJECT SPACE MISSION SIMULATION 8 day study of resilience at U. of PA. Must be healthy, about 27-55 yr. old with BS/BA or military exp.Compensated time & travel. Call 215-573-5855 U PENN RESEARCH STUDY Are you or someone you know living with HIV and struggling with feeling down lately? You may be eligible for a research study using an FDA approved antidepressant medication and teletherapy at the U OF PA. 10 wk study. Must be 18–70 years old & HIV positive. Compensation provided. Call 215-573-2881.

RECEPTIONIST needed ASAP, Mon. thru Fri, 9am-5pm. Call Jennifer 215-291-1300

SUB WORK OUT- Repair Washer/Dryer, C/A, Cement, Block, Stucco Work 267-861-1122 Teaching Position - F/T Teacher Assistants PT/FT, experience preferred. Email resume: amanda@alphabetacademy .com

Veterinarian Assistant to help Dr. at small animal hospital. Call: 215-468-2814

1217 N 15th, 3 apartment lot with approved plan and permits for sale ,$250k 13xx S. Taylor St, 3 bed 1.5 bath, $249k 18xx W. Norris St, 2 apartments, student housing, $560k 18xx S. 16th St, grocery store plus apartment, $429k

Call Carrie Zhao 267-210-8523

$CASH$ For Your Home BHHS FOX & ROACH REALTORS

Real Estate Wanted

CASH FOR HOMES Fair and Honest Prices for Homes Sold in As is Cond Quick Closing Call 24hrs KMC RE 215-868-2669 AUTOS FOR SALE Autos for Sale

2011 Cadillac DTS Platinum, Black on black, 94K, $9,999. Call 215-852-3488 Junk Cars

TOP $$$ PAID FOR JUNK CARS Free Pick Up 24 Hour Service    PA 215-730-0900 NM-00465090

$300 & UP For Running Vehicles Also Highest Cash For Junk Vehicles Same Day Services New and Used Parts Sold

215-203-0993

GENERAL SERVICES

SAME DAY SERVICE

APPLIANCE WIZARD

Junk Cars

Any Condition Free Towing Same Day Service

FOR RENT

(Never Known To Fail)

O most beautiful Flower of Mount Carmel, Fruitful Vine, Splendor of Heaven, Blessed Mother of the Son of God, Immaculate Virgin, assist me in my necessity. O Star of the Sea, help me and show me here you are my mother. O Holy Mary Mother of God, Queen of Heaven and Earth. I humbly beseech you from the bottom of my heart to succor me in my necessity (make request). There are none that can withstand your power. O Mary conceived without sin, pray for us who have recourse to thee (3 times). Holy Mary, I place this cause in your hands (3 times). Say this prayer for 3 consecutive days then you must publish and it will be granted to you. K.F.

AUTOS FOR SALE

WE BUY CARS & TRUCKS & HEAVY EQUIPMENT

Cell: 215-432-6350

Prayer To The Blessed Virgin

Appliance Repairs

No Commission. No Fees. For Immediate Sale, Call

Joe Catroppa

NM-00464688

FULL TIME FLAGGER

Real Estate for Sale

$300 to $5000 Cash

Paid Guaranteed!

267-229-1970

CKS WE BUY CARS & TRU h Paid! Cas Any condition. Same day pick up.

up to 10,000

215-605-4429 TOP $$$ PAID FOR JUNK CARS FREE PICK UP 24HR SERVICE NJ 609-367-4437 OR IN PA 215-730-0900 MERCHANDISE FOR SALE For Sale

HOUSEHOLD ITEMS-2 Curios, plastic & wood storage bins, etc. 856-796-6674 Wanted to Buy

CASH PAID FOR ANTIQUES • OLD FURNITURE GOLD & SILVER JEWELRY • ANY COINS ESTATES PURCHASHED

Call WALT ANYTIME 215-275-2048

NM-00466375

CLASSIFIED DISPLAY ADVERTISING:

215-354-3070 southphillyreview.com

Family Owned and Operated

       

             

EXPERT REPAIRS ON

                   

NO SERVICE CHARGE WITH REPAIRS SERVING ALL PHILADELPHIA 215-342-2667 SOUTH ASK ABOUT OUR FIRST TIME CUSTOMER DISCOUNT

AMBER Refrigerator Service NM-00466373

EMPLOYMENT

PERSONALS

• Specializing all makes Refrigerators & Freezers • No service charge if repaired • Senior citizen discount 10%

2520 S. 17th St

215-336-3409

NICK’S APPLIANCE SERVICE    Refrigerators

Gas & Electric Ranges NM-00465143

EMPLOYMENT

VISIT US AT SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

REAL ESTATE SALE

NM-00466370

facebook.com/employmentweeklymagazine broadstreetclassifieds.com TO PLACE A RECRUITMENT DISPLAY AD CALL MITCHELL SMITH AT 856-404-5406

DISPLAY ADVERTISING: 215.354.3070 LINER ADVERTISING: 215.355.1234

ALL WORK GUARANTEED

215-923-1032 Appliance Sick Call Nick!

Exterminating

BOB’S

EXTERMINATING

Licensed by Dept of Agriculture, Health & Safety Division Established 1967 We Are State Certified For Bed Bugs. Pet Friendly & Child Safe.

Licensed & Insured

Lic # (BU7515)

EMPLOYMENT

13

215-465-8023

BOBSEXTERMINATING.COM

McGarrigle Pest Control Family Owned Since 1958

1 0% Off with this ad Bed Bugs, Roaches & Mice

Police & Firefighter Discounts

Marc McGarrigle, Owner 215.431.3278


14

SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

CLASSIFIEDS

DISPLAY: 215.354.3070 | LINERS: 215.355.1234 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM HOME IMPROVEMENT

HOME IMPROVEMENT

HOME IMPROVEMENT

Air Conditioning

Electrician

Handyman

SIMPSON’S

AL FILIPPONE

24 HOUR EMERGENCY SERVICE

WWW.FILIPPONEELECTRIC.COM

HEATING & COOLING

215-732-5339 856-728-3364

Email: simpsonheating@comcast.net Lic. & Ins. Lic.#13VH09399900 (Owner) George Simpson III

ELECTRIC

FOR ALL YOUR ELECTRICAL NEEDS

DON’T PAY MORE, SAVE MONEY        WE’LL BEAT ANY WRITTEN ESTIMATE NO JOB TOO BIG OR SMALL

***ALL MAJOR CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED***

FREE ESTIMATES

Pa Lic#053919, Phila. Elec. Lic #18313

Sales • Service • Installation

215-336-6010

No Job Too Small

SENIOR CITIZEN

We Will Beat Any Written Estimate

Free estimate

100 AMP SPECIAL DISCOUNT

SUMMER SPECIAL Have your Electrical Service Cable checked for frayness.

LIC. & INS PA 04729

NM-00466374

NM-00466372

Brick Pointing FREE ESTIMATES

215-271-2498

24-Hour emergency service

(Lic. No. A53890)

    

215-783-3844 MATARAZZO & SON

Call 215-463-3987 (Emergency 215-432-7025)

ALL CALLS WILL BE ANSWERED IN A FLASH!

Bongiovanni Electric PAGS POINTINGLLC Sam (formerly Santo and Sons) BRICK POINTING STONE POINTING PAINTING STUCCO NO JOB TOO SMALL OR TOO LARGE LIC. & INS.

FREE ESTIMATE ON ANY JOB No Job Too Small or Too Big

Sr. Citz Disc. PA 076214

A Family Business Since 1978

Licensed & Insured Lic. 37341

All Calls Will Be Answered Promptly

CALL

HOME IMPROVEMENT

267-240-7396

CALL

LOCAL HANDYMEN SERVICES

A QUICK DRY SOLUTION

NO JOB TOO SMALL Basement Waterproofing • Sump Pumps Foundation Repair • Concrete Work • Brick Pointing

267.581.4873 LICENSE & INSURED • PA LIC. #134963

aquickdrysolutionllc.com

To advertise in SPR call: DISPLAY:

Fencing

FENCO FENCE Chain link, vinyl, wood. Free estimates. 267-278-4102

FREE ESTIMATES • 267-240-4422 ANOTHER JOB DONE

HANDYMAN General Contractor

Nobody beats Our Prices! All Home Repairs:

From The Basement To The Roof What is your job? I Do It All.

Why Pay More? Save Money!

SMALL TO LARGE JOBS

We beat competitor’s prices! Plumbing • Electrical • Carpentry • Roofing Painting • Drywall • Spackling Garbage Disposals • Tile Repairs • Bathrooms • Kitchens • Vanities Sinks Repair Leaky Toilets Tubs Floors installed • Laminate and Wood • Cement Work • Ceiling Fans • TV Wall Mounts Siding • Insulation • Grouting • Caulking Door, Windows & Storm Windows Experienced & Professional Work Washer/Dryer Repair Central A/C Repair Sewer & Drain Cleaning Power Washing & Sanitize Free & Beat Any estimate AVAILABLE 24/7 SPECIAL LOW PRICE ON BUILDING POWDER ROOMS HOT WATER TANKS FAUCETS & DRAINS

267-861-1122 NEIGHBORHOOD GUY

Painting Painting, Drywall, & Misc. Handyman Repairs Exp. Licensed, & Insured Call David (267) 333-8502

To advertise in SPR call: DISPLAY:

LINER 215-354-3070 215-354-3070 CLASSIFIED ADVERTISING: LINERS: LINERS: 215-355-1234 215-355-1234 215-355-1234

southphillyreview.com

southphillyreview.com

JIM

From honey do list to repairs and home renovations, WE WILL DO IT. Serving the Philadelphia area for 20 years

CALL FRANK

Cement Work

WANT YOUR BUSINESS IN THE

southphillyreview.com

SPR CLASSIFIEDS DISPLAY ADVERTISING: 215.354.3070 LINER ADVERTISING: 215.355.1234

VISIT US AT SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM


SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

CLASSIFIEDS

15

DISPLAY: 215.354.3070 | LINERS: 215.355.1234 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM HOME IMPROVEMENT

HOME IMPROVEMENT

Plumbing

Roofing

Funari Public Adjusters

                        

CALL US IMMEDIATELY ®

215-271-9582 

    

CHECK

SPR

Lic. # 533066

HOME: (215)463-4720 CELL: (267)252-4900 BORN, RAISED, & SERVING SOUTH PHILLY FOR OVER 30 YEARS

A Plus



   

215-988-9004

FORTUNA HOME IMPROVEMENT, LLC

FORTUNA ROOFING SIDING • WINDOWS • DOORS • DECKS

Residential & Commercial

FREE ESTIMATES

“The only family in the Review EVERY WEEK Since 1967”

     Senior Citizen Discounts

Celebrating

FIRST!

           #26194    As Low As                     PA034244

87 Years

$450.00*

& 4 Generations NO ONE INSTALLS A BETTER ROOF AT A BETTER PRICE THAN FORTUNA... NO ONE! CALL ANYTIME

6 TIME AWARDED!!!

A RATED BY THE BBB!

215-805-0556 / 215-468-3925 www.fortunaroofing.com

YES , WE DID IT AGAIN 2021 SOUTH PHILLY ROOFER OF THE YEAR WE DO PATCHWORK – EVEN OVER ONE ROOM! ALUMINUM COATINGS STARTING AT $225 FREE ESTIMATES · SENIOR CITIZEN DISCOUNTS · ROOF CERTIFICATIONS NEW RUBBER ROOF FROM $995* • ALUMINUM COATINGS FROM $225* * S O M E R E S T R I C T I O N S A P P LY

SUMMER SPECIAL ROOF SERVICE STARTING AT

$199!

®

Roofing

Windows

SENIOR CITIZEN DISCOUNT

POLICE & FIRE DISCOUNT

southphillyreview.com

SOUTH PHILLY’S MOST RECOMMENDED, RELIABLE & HONEST ROOFERS! ALL ROOFS PRICED INDIVIDUALLY...NO GIMMICKS STRUGGLING TO MAKE ENDS MEET? CALL FOR A FREE ESTIMATE WE CAN HELP! DEAL DIRECT PLUS OWNER ON EVERY JOB!

Roofing

CLASSIFIEDS

TO ADVERTISE IN SPR CALL: DISPLAY: 215-354-3070 LINERS: 215-355-1234

 

Leak Experts ROOFING Find

R. RHOADS & SONS ROOFING INC. Over 20 Years Experience - Owner Operated

                     Insured & Lic #46941

215-888-2963 FREE ESTIMATES

VETERAN’S DISCOUNT

   

As a home owner you are entitled to compensation from water damage. We will review your Home Owners €‚ ƒ  € in Wall, Floor or Ceiling policy in the convenience of your home and answer all          your questions. Representing home owners and business        claims caused by FIRE, SMOKE, WATER, WIND, THEFT or €‚ ƒ „„, … †„ ‡ VANDALISM.

PETER CARLOMANGO &SONS The Hard To

NM-00464860

If You Have Water Damage Caused By:

      ­  

HAPPY WINDOWS Shutters, 2-Inch Wood, Pleated Shades, Roman Shades, Drapes, Verticals, Mini-Blinds

Discount Price With Installation

Call Eileen

215-465-7525

CHECK SPR CLASSIFIEDS FIRST

JOBS • GENERAL SERVICES • HOME IMPROVEMENT PROFESSIONAL SERVICES • AND MORE!

DISPLAY: 215.354.3070 • LINERS: 215.355.1234


16

SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW | JULY 21, 2021 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

Expires 7-31-21

NM-00467606

Profile for South Philly Review

South Philly Review Current Edition  

South Philly Review Current Edition  

Advertisement

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded